THE REVIEW OF POLITICS

University of Notre Dame Summer 1991

THE REVIEW OF POLITICS

Editor DONALD P. KOMMERS

Managing Editor
DENNIS WM MORAN

Book Review Editor
WALTER NICGORSKI

Associate Editors

Philip Gleason E. A. Goerner Alasdair MacIntyre Thomas Werge

Former Editors

Waldemar Gurian M. A. Fitzsimons Thomas Stritch Frederick J. Crosson

Editorial Advisory Board

Henry J. Abraham University of Virginia

Charles W. Anderson

University of

Wisconsin-Madison

Shlomo Avineri Hebrew University

of Jerusalem

Robert F. Byrnes
Indiana University

Ernest L. Fortin

Boston College

Gerald Garvey
Princeton University

Arend Lijphart

University of California-San Diego Theodore J. Lowi Cornell University

Harvey C. Mansfield Harvard University

> Mary Nichols Fordham University

Arlene Saxonhouse University of Michigan

Kenneth W. Thompson University of Virginia

> Glenn Tinder University of Massachusetts-Boston

Catherine Zuckert Carleton College

Editorial Intern V. Bradley Lewis

THE REVIEW OF POLITICS, without neglecting the analysis of institutions and techniques, is primarily interested in the philosophical and historical approach to political realities.

The articles in The Review of Politics are indexed in the International Index to Periodicals and the Index of Catholic Periodicals and abstracted in the International Political Science Abstracts. They are abstracted and indexed in ABC POL. SCI. and HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS and SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX.

THE REVIEW OF POLITICS (ISSN 0034-6705) is published quarterly for \$25.00 per year in the United States (Individual, \$20.00); foreign \$28.00 (Individual, \$23.00); single copies, \$10.00 (domestic) and \$11.00 (foreign) by The University of Notre Dame, P.O. Box B, Notre Dame, IN 46556. Second-class postage paid at Notre Dame, IN. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to THE REVIEW OF POLITICS, P.O. Box B, Notre Dame, IN 46556.

THE REVIEW OF POLITICS

Published Quarterly by the University of Notre Dame, Indiana

Vol. 5	3 Summer 1991 N	Jo. 3
Lewis	P. HINCHMAN AND SANDRA K. HINCHMAN Existentialism Politicized: Arendt's Debt to Jaspers	435
Rober	T MAYER	
	Hannah Arendt, National Socialism and the Project of Foundation	469
Тном	as K. Lindsay	
	The "God-Like Man" versus the "Best Laws": Politics and Religion in Aristotle's Politics	
Chari	es Lockhart	
	American Exceptionalism and Social Security: Complementary Cultural and Structural Contributions to Social Program Development	510
GERHA	art Niemeyer	
	On Authority and Alienation: A Meditation	530
Reviews	:	
	Glen E. Thurow: Thinking Through the Modern Executive Review of Harvey C. Mansfield, Jr.'s Taming the Prince: The Ambivalence of Executive Power	547
	John Brademas: America's Second Most Powerful Office Review of Ronald M. Peters, Jr.'s <i>The American Speakership: The Office in</i>	
	Historical Perspective	549
	Mentioned in the Constitution and Other Unorthodox Views Alan Gibson: Madison's Thinking in the Later Years	551
	Review of Drew R. McCoy's The Last of the Fathers: James Madison and the Republican Legacy	555
	Review of Arnold Sparr's To Promote, Defend and Redeem: The Catholic Literary Revival and the Cultural Transformation of American Catholicism, 1920-	
	1960	559

INSTRUCTIONS TO CONTRIBUTORS

All manuscripts should be submitted in QUADRUPLICATE to The Review of Politics, Box B. Notre Dame, IN 46556. If the return of the manuscript is desired, a stamped, self-addressed envelope should be enclosed. All typewritten material should be double-spaced, including notes and quotations; photocopies of a good quality are acceptable. The Review follows the Chicago Manual of Style for standards of citation, punctuation, and other editorial considerations. The normal length of manuscripts published is 25-30 pages. Longer manuscripts will be evaluated in light of the limited printing space available. Since manuscripts are evaluated anonymously they should not bear the author's name or institutional affiliation. Submissions should be sent with an ABSTRACT of 100-150 words. All correspondence regarding book reviews should be sent to Mr. Walter Nicgorski at the above address.

Contributors to This Issue

Sandra K. Hinchman is Associate Professor of Government in St. Lawrence University. Lewis P. Hinchman is Associate Professor of Government in Clarkson University-Potsdam. Robert Mayer is Assistant Professor of Political Science in Loyola University. Thomas K. Lindsay is a member of the Political Science Department in the University of Northern Iowa where he teaches political philosophy. Charles Lockhart is Professor of Political Science in Texas Christian University. Gerhart Niemeyer is Professor Emeritus of Government in the University of Notre Dame; he also serves as Canon in the Episcopal Cathedral of St. James in South Bend, Indiana.

GLEN E. THUROW is Graduate Dean of Liberal Arts in the University of Dallas. John Brademas, before becoming President of New York University, served 22 years as United States Representative in Congress from Indiana's Third Congressional District. Kent A. Kirwan is a member of the Political Science Department in the University of Nebraska at Omaha. ALAN GIBSON is Adjunct Assistant Professor of Government in the University of Notre Dame. David L. Salvaterra teaches history in Loras College. Gerard Wegemer teaches English literature in the University of Dallas. Dante Germino is Professor of Political Science in the University of Virginia. Stephen M. Fallon is a member of Notre Dame's Program of Liberal Studies. PATRICK J. C. Powers teaches politics in Assumption College. Edward J. Harpham is Associate Professor of Government and Political Economy in the University of Texas at Dallas. Kerry H. Whiteside is Associate Professor of Government in Franklin and Marshall College. Elliot Bartky is a member of the Political Science Department in Indiana University-Purdue University at Fort Wayne. JAMES W. MULLER is Associate Professor of Political Science in the University of Alaska, Anchorage.

THE MAXWELL PRIZES

IN EUROPEAN STUDIES



International Society for the Study of European Ideas Sponsored by the European Cultural Foundation and

History of European Ideas

The International Society for the Study of European Ideas (ISSEI) announces the 1991/92 Maxwell Prizes to be awarded for the two best essays in European Studies. They are offered by Robert Maxwell, Publisher, Pergamon Press, the patron of the Society. The 1991/92 prizes will be US\$1,000 each.

Themes for 1991/92

I: The End of History?

II: Language and National Identity

RULES

- The competition is open to any candidate regardless of age.
- * The essay must be submitted not later than 31 December 1991.
- The essay should be original and of interest to the general reader. No essay will be considered which has previously been published or is being considered for publication elsewhere.
- Manuscripts, typed double-spaced on A4 paper, should be submitted preferably in English and follow the guidelines for authors published in History of European Ideas.
- The winners will be notified by post prior to the prize being announced.
- The decision of the judges will be final. The two winning essays will be published in History of European Ideas.

To enter an essay into the competition please send three copies and a short curriculum vitae to:

P. Purvey, Secretary, ISSEI,
Pergamon Press plc, Headington Hill Hall,
Oxford OX3 0BW, U.K.