The Arbutus Review is produced by the Learning and Teaching Centre (LTC) and the McPherson Library. It has a small print run and can be found online at http://journals.uvic.ca/index.php/arbutus.

The Arbutus Review was created to showcase the articles, projects, and installations that result from the Jamie Cassels Undergraduate Research Award (JCURA) program. JCURA was instituted in 2009-10 as the Undergraduate Research Scholarship program by the then Vice-President Academic and Provost, and current University President, Dr. Jamie Cassels. It was designed to provide support and create truly formative learning experiences for exceptional undergraduate students who might not otherwise obtain direct research experience. The LTC administers the award nomination process on behalf of the Provost's Office.

More recent issues of *The Arbutus Review* have accepted submissions that were not produced with the support of a JCURA award in order to encourage undergraduate research. All papers, projects, and creations are accompanied by a supporting letter from the student's instructor.

Publishing a journal is the work of many people. The people listed below have been integral to the creation and production of *The Arbutus Review*.

- Teresa Dawson, Director of the Learning and Teaching Centre, who created the Journal
- Inba Kehoe, Scholarly Communications and Copyright Officer of the Library, who shepherds the online portion of the Journal
- Laurie Waye, Managing Editor of the Journal and Manager of the Writing Centre
- Michael Lukas, Guest editor of the Journal
- Shu-min Huang, Journal Designer and Coordinator of the Writing Centre

In addition to the team that publishes the journal, there are two more sets of people to acknowledge: the peer reviewers and the supporting instructors.

All submissions are reviewed blind by at least two readers. These readers are graduate students, researchers, staff, and alumni from the University of Victoria. We thank them for their valuable contributions to *The Arbutus Review*.

Akina Umemoto Helen Kennedy
Anirban Kar Ilijc Albanese
Behn Skovgaard Andersen Jennifer Smith
Bethany Coulthard Jonathan Schmid
Brendan Boyd Judy Walsh

Brian Coleman

Brian Vatne

Carrie Hill

Christina Suzanne

Clarise Lim

Constance Sobsey

Emma Hughes

Julia Serena Ready

Leslie Bragg

Linnea Gay Perry

Marion Selfridge

Scott Kouri

Scott Kouri

Stephanie Field

Heike Lettari

We also thank the instructors who supported their students' submissions. Their weaving together of research into the undergraduate experience has enriched their students' education.

- Dr. Alexandra D'Arcy, Department of Linguistics
- Dr. Charlotte Schallié, Department of Germanic and Slavic Studies
- Dr. Daniella Constantinescu, Department of Mechanical Engineering
- Dr. Jillianne Code, Faculty of Education
- Dr. Kevin Walby, Department of Sociology
- Dr. Laura Cowen, Department of Mathematics and Statistics
- Dr. Martin Adams, Department of Pacific and Asian Studies
- Dr. Rustom Bhiladvala, Department of Mechanical Engineering
- Dr. Valerie Irvine, Faculty of Education