*The Arbutus Review* is produced by the Learning and Teaching Centre and the McPherson Library. It is an online journal with a small print run. The online version can be found at

http://journals.uvic.ca/index.php/arbutus

The Arbutus Review was created to showcase the articles, projects, and installations that result from the Jamie Cassels Undergraduate Research Award (JCURA) program. JCURA was instituted in 2009–10 as the Undergraduate Research Scholarship program by the then Vice-President Academic and Provost, and current university President, Dr. Jamie Cassels. It was designed to provide support and create tryly formative learning experiences for exceptional undergraduate students who might not otherwise obtain direct research experience. The LTC administers the award nomination process on behalf of the Provost's Office.

More recent issues of *The Arbutus Review* have accepted submissions that were not produced with the support of a JCURA award in order to encourage undergraduate research. All papers, projects, and creations are accompanied by a supporting letter from the student;s instructor.

Publishing a journal is the work of many people. The people listed below have been integral to the creation and production of *The Arbutus Review*.

- Teresa Dawson, Director of the Learning and Teaching Centre, who created the journal
- Inba Kehoe, Scholarly Communications and Copyright Officer of the Library, who shepherds the online portion of the Journal
- Laurie Waye, Managing Editor of the Journal and Associate Director (Student Academic Success), Learning and Teaching Centre
- Dan Lett, Guest Editor, Designer and Typesetter of the Journal

In addition to the team that publishes the Journal, there are two more sets of people to acknowledge: the peer reviewers and the supporting instructors.

All submissions are reviewed blind by at least two readers. These readers are graduate students, researchers, staff, and alumni from the University of Victoria. We thank them for their valuable contribution to *The Arbutus Review*.

Behn Skovgaard Andersen Brian Coleman
Bryan Eric Benner Caroline Winter
Carrie Hill Chelsea Wilson
Christina Suzanne Christine Twerdoclib

Constance Sobsey
Cori Thompson
Emma Hughes
Felipe de Lucia Lobo
Holly Hoffmann
Jeff Rapoch
Jodi Rempel
Judy Walsh

Katie Bullen Katherine Burnett

Keith Cherry Kimberlee Graham-Knight

Leslie Bragg Natalia Yang

Natasha Foster Omolara Isiolaotan
Pamela Savage Ramsay Malange
Robyn Joyce Sarah Hutchison
Susan Karim Teboho Makalima
Timothy Palmer Victoria Domonkos

We also thank the instructors who supported their students' submissions. Their weaving together of research into the undergraduate experience has enriched their students' education.

Dr. Caroline Fox, Department of Geography

Dr. Alexandrine Boudreault-Fournier, Department of Anthropology

Prof. Colin J. Bennett, Department of Political Science

Dr. Brian Thom, Department of Anthropology

Dr. Chris Auld, Economics

Dr. Gord Miller, School of Child and Youth Care

Dr. Marie Vautier, Department of French

Dr. Allan Antliff, Department of Art History and Visual Studies

Dr. Charlotte Reading, School of Public Health and Social Policy

Emily Avray (PhD cand.), Department of English