

The Arbutus Review is produced by the Learning and Teaching Centre at the University of Victoria. The Arbutus Review was created to showcase the articles, projects, and installations that result from the Jamie Cassels Undergraduate Research Award (JCURA) program. JCURA was instituted in 2009 as the Undergraduate Research Scholarship program by the then Vice-President Academic and Provost, and current University president, Dr. Jamie Cassels. It was designed to support and create truly formative learning experiences for exceptional undergraduate students who might not otherwise obtain direct research experience. The LTC administers the award nomination process on behalf of the Provost's Office. In addition to submission that were the result of JCURA research, The Arbutus Review publishes other exceptional work from departments across campus.

Acknowledgments

Each of the articles published in this journal is sponsored by a faculty member at the University of Victoria. For the articles in this issue, we would like to thank the following instructors for their support of an undergraduate research paper:

Dr. Hélène Cazes, Department of French

Author: Brynn Fader

Dr. Claire Carlin, Department of French and Associate Dean of Graduate Studies

Author: Taryn Burgar

Dr. Paul Bramadat, Centre for Study in Religion and Society and Dr. Siobhan Chandler,

School of Nursing

Author: Samantha A. Bahan

Dr. Debra Sheets, School of Nursing

Author: Richelle Stanley

Dr. Li Shih Huang, Department of Linguistics

Author: Jeness Weisgerber

Dr. Alexandra D'Arcy, Department of Linguistics, Director of the Sociolinguistics Research

Lab, and Vice-Chair, Human Research Ethics Board

Author: Alexah Konnelly

Dr. Kathy Sanford, Faculty of Education

Author: Rachel C. Lallouz

Dr. Min Zhou, Department of Sociology

Author: Leila Mazhari

Jillian Harvey, Department of Geography and staff member of University of Victoria Tree-

Ring Laboratory

Author: Jesse Wood

As well, all submissions are reviewed blind by two readers. These readers are graduate students, researchers, instructors, and emeriti from the University of Victoria. We thank them for their very valuable contributions to *The Arbutus Review*.

Behn Skovgaard Andersen
Bryan Eric Benner
Chelsea Wilson
Constance Sobsey
Cori Thompson
David Lark
Fanie Collardeau
Heike Lettrari
Jeff Rapoch
Jodi Rempel

Katherine Bullen Katherine Burnett Leslie Bragg Natasha Foster Pamela Savage Ramsay Malange Regan Shrumm Timothy Palmer Xiaoqian Guo

The Arbutus Review also relies on the work, ideas, and guidance of others.

Teresa Dawson, Director of the Learning and Teaching Centre, who created the journal

Inba Kehoe, Scholarly Communications and Copyright Officer of the Library, who oversees the Online Journal Systems software that allows us to publish online and provides guidance on publication issues

Laurie Waye, Managing Editor of the journal and Associate Director (Student Academic Success), Learning and Teaching Centre

Allie Simpson, Editor, Writing Coach, and Typesetter of the journal

Joëlle Alice Ouellette-Michaud, Editor and Writing Coach for the articles written in French

The opinions expressed in *The Arbutus Review* are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent those of the Editors of the journal or the University of Victoria. *The Arbutus Review* is a peer-reviewed journal. While every effort is made by the Editorial Board to ensure that *The Arbutus Review* contains no inaccurate or misleading citations, opinions or statements, the information and opinions contained within are the sole responsibility of the authors. Accordingly, the Publisher, the Editorial Board, the Editors and their respective employees and volunteers accept no responsibility or liability for the consequences of any inaccurate or misleading information, opinion or statement.

For more information about the journal, you can contact:

Laurie Waye, PhD Associate Director (Student Academic Success) Learning Teaching Centre University of Victoria ltcassocdirsas@uvic.ca

3