

The Arbutus Review is produced by the Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation at the University of Victoria. The Arbutus Review was created to showcase the articles, projects, and installations that result from the Jamie Cassels Undergraduate Research Award (JCURA) program. JCURA was instituted in 2009 as the Undergraduate Research Scholarship program the then Vice-President Academic and Provost, and current University president, Jamie Cassels. It was designed to support and create truly formative research experiences for exceptional undergraduate students. The Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation administers the award nomination process on behalf of the Provost's Office. In addition to submissions that were the result of JCURA research, The Arbutus Review sometimes publishes other exceptional work from students in departments across campus.

## Acknowledgments

Each of the articles published in this journal is sponsored by a faculty member at the University of Victoria. For the articles in this issue, we would like to thank the following instructors for their support of an undergraduate research paper.

**Dr. Annalee Lepp**, Department of Gender Studies *Author*: Jacqueline Kittel

**Dr. Francisco Colino**, Department of Exercise Science, Physical & Health Education *Authors*: Meghan McGowan, Camille Hémond-Hill, & Justine Nakazawa

**Dr. Heather Alexander**, Division of Medical Sciences *Authors*: Rachel Rickaby & Jeanine Sinclair

**Dr. Brian Thom**, Department of Anthropology *Author*: Michael Graeme

**Dr. Mihai Sima**, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering *Author*: Brosnan Yuen

**Dr. David Scott**, Department of Philosophy *Author*: Andrada-Elena Holmgren

As well, all submissions are reviewed blind by at least two readers. These readers are graduate students, researchers, instructors, and emeriti from the University of Victoria. We thank them for their very valuable contributions to *The Arbutus Review*.

John Buxcey Ilamparithi Thirumarai Chelvan Aidan Collier Elise Forest-Hammond Nova Hanson Katie Harms Philippe Lucas Alexa Norton Claire Sauvage-Mar Thomas Service S. Gokhun Tanyer David Vogt Jordan Wadden Ryan Wong Ramin Zaeim The Arbutus Review would also like to thank others whose ideas, work and guidance have contributed to the journal.

Laurene Sheilds, Executive Director of the UVic Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation

**Inba Kehoe**, Copyright Officer and Scholarly Communication Librarian, who provides guidance to the journal and oversees the Online Journal Systems software that allows us to publish online

Madeline Walker, Arbutus Review Editor and typesetter, UVic Centre for Academic Communication Coordinator

**Shailoo Bedi**, Director (Student Academic Success) of the UVic Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation; *Arbutus Review* Managing Editor; and Director, Academic Commons and Strategic Assessment, UVic Libraries

## Zachary Adams for help with LaTeX

The opinions expressed in *The Arbutus Review* are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent those of the Editors of the journal or the University of Victoria. *The Arbutus Review* is a peer-reviewed journal. While every effort is made by the Editorial Board to ensure that *The Arbutus Review* contains no inaccurate or misleading citations, opinions, or statements, the information and opinions contained within are the sole responsibility of the authors. Accordingly, the Publisher, the Editorial Board, the Editors, the Advisory Board, and their respective employees and volunteers accept no responsibility or liability for the consequences of any inaccurate or misleading information, opinion or statement.

For more information about the journal, you can contact: Shailoo Bedi, PhD Director (Student Academic Success) Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation University of Victoria ltcassocdirsas@uvic.ca

Madeline Walker, PhD Coordinator, Centre for Academic Communication Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation University of Victoria cacpc@uvic.ca