Electronic Communications of the EASST Volume 72 (2015)



Proceedings of the 15th International Workshop on Automated Verification of Critical Systems (AVoCS 2015)

Preface

2 pages

Guest Editors: Gudmund Grov, Andrew Ireland ECEASST Home Page: http://www.easst.org/eceasst/

ISSN 1863-2122



Preface

The 15th International Workshop on Automated Verification of Critical Systems (AVoCS 2015) was hosted by the School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences within Heriot-Watt University on September 2 - 4, 2015. The workshop took place in the headquarters of the International Centre for Mathematical Sciences (ICMS), located in the historic old town of Edinburgh. The 6th AI4FM workshop, which was held on 1 September, was co-located with AVoCS.

The workshop programme consisted of regular papers, research ideas papers and two keynote speakers – Don Sannella (Contemplate Ltd & the University of Edinburgh, UK) and Colin O'Halloran (D-RisQ Software Systems & the University of Oxford, UK). We are particularly grateful to Don and Colin for their contributions to AVoCS 2015.

We are grateful for the sponsorship provided by Altran, D-RisQ Software Systems, Formal Methods Europe (FME) and the Scottish Informatics and Computer Science Alliance (SICSA). Sponsorship from Altran, FME and SICSA was used to support student attending AVoCS and AI4FM.

24 papers were submitted to AVoCS, from which 15 were accepted for presentation at the workshop and publication in the PreProceedings. 14 of these have been accepted for this Post-Proceedings, together with the two invited talks. We also received 8 research ideas papers, of which 6 were presented at the workshop and included in the PreProceedings. These do not how-ever appear in the PostProceedings. New to AVoCS 2015 was two discussion-based sessions for the research ideas papers.

We would like to thank our excellent programme committee and additional reviewers for their efforts in ensuring a high quality workshop and proceedings. Thanks also to the AVoCS steering committee for giving us the opportunity to host a very successful AVoCS 2015 in Edinburgh.

We would like to thank Andrius Velykis and Leo Freitas, who, together with Gudmund Grov, were the organisers of the AI4FM 2015 workshop. We would also like to thank: the organisers of AVoCS 2014 for all the help and use of their LATEX template; staff within the School of MACS for all the support; the Blonde restaurant for an excellent workshop dinner; and particularly Audrey Brown and her colleagues at ICMS, for all the help with local arrangements.

Finally, special thanks go to Yuhui Lin. We are greatly indebted to all the work that he has done. He has far exceeded the remit of a Local Arrangements and Publicity Chair.

November 2015 Heriot-Watt University Workshop Programme Chairs Gudmund Grov Andrew Ireland



Programme Committee

- Ernie Cohen, University of Pennsylvania, USA
- Ewen Denney, NASA Ames, USA
- Jean-Christophe Filliâtre, CNRS, France
- Michael Goldsmith, University of Oxford, UK
- Gudmund Grov, Heriot-Watt University, UK (co-chair)
- Keijo Heljanko, Aalto University, Finland
- Mike Hinchey, University of Limerick, Ireland
- Marieke Huisman, University of Twente, Netherlands
- Andrew Ireland, Heriot-Watt University, UK (co-chair)
- Gerwin Klein, NICTA/UNSW, Australia
- Thierry Lecomte, ClearSy, France
- Yuhui Lin, Heriot-Watt University, UK
- Peter Gorm Larsen, Aarhus University, Denmark
- Panagiotis (Pete) Manolios, Northeastern University, USA
- Stephan Merz, INRIA Nancy & LORIA, France
- Hoang Nga Nguyen, University of Nottingham, UK
- Jaco van de Pol, University of Twente, Netherlands
- Markus Roggenbach, Swansea University, UK
- Marco Roveri, FBK, Italy
- Thomas Santen, Microsoft Research, Germany
- Bernard Steffen, Technical University Dortmund, Germany
- Jan Strejček, Masaryk University, Czech Republic
- Jun Sun, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore
- Tayssir Touili, CNRS & LIPN, France
- Helen Treharne, University of Surrey, UK
- Laurent Voisin, Systerel, France
- Angela Wallenburg, Altran, UK
- John Wickerson, Imperial College London, UK
- Peter Ölveczky, University of Oslo, Norway

Additional Reviewers

- Sylvain Conchon
- František Blahoudek
- Frantisek Blanoudek
 Stefan Hallerstede

- Marcio Diaz
- Jiři Barnat
- Christine Rizkallah

Steering Committee

- Michael Goldsmith, University of Oxford, U.K.
- Stephan Merz, INRIA Nancy & LORIA, France
- Markus Roggenbach, Swansea University, U.K.

Local Organisers

- Gudmund Grov
- Andrew Ireland
- Yuhui Lin (local arrangement & publicity chair)