Electronic Communications of the EASST Volume 70 (2014)



Proceedings of the 14th International Workshop on Automated Verification of Critical Systems (AVoCS 2014)

Preface

3 pages

Guest Editors: Marieke Huisman, Jaco van de Pol

Managing Editors: Tiziana Margaria, Julia Padberg, Gabriele Taentzer

ECEASST Home Page: http://www.easst.org/eceasst/

ISSN 1863-2122



Preface

AVoCS 2014, the *14th International Workshop on Automated Verification of Critical Systems* has been hosted by the University of Twente, and has taken place in Enschede, Netherlands, on 24th–26th September 2014.

Its aim is to contribute to the interaction and exchange of ideas among members of the international research community on tools and techniques for the verification of critical systems. The subject is to be interpreted broadly and inclusively. It covers all aspects of automated verification, including model checking, theorem proving, SAT/SMT constraint solving, abstract interpretation, and refinement pertaining to various types of critical systems which need to meet stringent dependability requirements (safety-critical, business-critical, performance-critical, etc.). Contributions that describe different techniques, or industrial case studies are encouraged.

The workshop programme consisted of contributed papers and three keynote speakers. We are grateful to Alastair Donaldson, Imperial College London, Guy Broadfoot, and Laura Kovács, Chalmers University of Technology, for accepting our invitation to address the workshop. Out of 25 submitted papers, 13 papers have been accepted (i.e., an acceptance rate of 50%) as full papers to be presented during the workshop, and are published in the current volume of the Electronic Communications of the EASST. In addition, these proceedings also contain an invited paper by Alastair Donaldson, and invited abstracts by Guy Broadfoot, and Laura Kovács. In addition, also 9 research ideas were presented during the workshop.

We would like to thank the Steering Committee for the opportunity to host the workshop at the University of Twente. We also would like to thank the Programme Committee and external reviewers for their efforts in reviewing the contributed papers in order to ensure a high quality workshop.

Further, we also thank Holger Schlingloff and Markus Roggenbach, for organising the *Model-based design and analysis of cyber-physical systems SPES_XT Summer School*, co-located with AVoCS 2014.

We are grateful to Formal Methods Europe for providing us the financial means to waive the registration fee for several students participating in the workshop. We are also grateful to the Aspasia Fund of the University of Twente for financially supporting the travel and stay of Laura Kovács. Finally, we are grateful to CTIT for providing a guarantee subsidy.

Finally, special thanks go to Joke Lammerink and Wojciech Mostowski for their efforts in helping to make the workshop a success.

November 2014 University of Twente Workshop Programme Chairs

Marieke Huisman

Jaco van de Pol

1 / 3 Volume 70 (2014)



Programme Committee

- John Derrick, University of Sheffield, U.K.
- Mike Dodds, University of York, U.K.
- Wan Fokkink, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands
- Michael Goldsmith, University of Oxford, U.K.
- Jan Friso Groote, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
- Anne Haxthausen, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
- Keijo Heljanko, Aalto University, Finland
- Marieke Huisman, University of Twente, Netherlands (co-chair)
- Temesghen Kahsai, NASA Ames Research Center, U.S.A.
- Gerald Luettgen, University of Bamberg, Germany
- Radu Mateescu, INRIA Grenoble Rhône-Alpes, France
- Stephan Merz, INRIA Nancy & LORIA, France
- Markus Roggenbach, Swansea University, U.K.
- Marco Roveri, FBK-irst, Italy
- Thomas Santen, Microsoft Research, Germany
- Bernard Steffen, Technical University Dortmund, Germany
- Jan Strejček, Masaryk University, Czech Republic
- Jun Sun, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore
- Tayssir Touili, LIAFA, CNRS & University Paris Diderot, France
- Helen Treharne, University of Surrey, U.K.
- Jaco van de Pol, University of Twente, Netherlands (co-chair)
- Laurent Voisin, Systerel, France
- Kirsten Winter, University of Queensland, Australia

Proc. AVoCS 2014 2 / 3



Additional Reviewers

- František Blahoudek
- Pieter Cuijpers
- Sascha Fendrich
- Alberto Griggio
- Matthias Güdemann
- Alexander Heußner
- Falk Howar
- Jeremy Jacob
- Phillip James
- Fatma Jebali

- Sergio Mover
- Johannes Neubauer
- Christopher M. Poskitt
- Olli Saarikivi
- Wendelin Serwe
- Antti Tapani Siirtola
- Marek Trtík
- Wieger Wesselink
- David White
- Stephan Windmüller

Steering Committee

- Michael Goldsmith, University of Oxford, U.K.
- Stephan Merz, INRIA Nancy & LORIA, France
- Markus Roggenbach, Swansea University, U.K.

Local Organisers

- Marieke Huisman
- Wojciech Mostowski (publicity chair)
- Jaco van de Pol
- Joke Lammerink

3 / 3 Volume 70 (2014)