2022 MCDM Junior Researcher Best Paper Award

Roman Słowiński 2022 Jury Chair Poznań University of Technology, Poland



Mohammad Ghaderi, Pompeu Fabra University, Spain (right) with Roman Słowiński, the 2022 Jury Chair, Poznań University of Technology, Poland (left) was selected as the winner by the Jury

The MCDM Junior Research Best Paper Award is bestowed by the MCDM Section of INFORMS. It recognizes outstanding papers in the field of MCDM written by a junior researcher or a team of junior researchers.

The judging criteria for this award are:

- novelty in theoretical, methodological, or applied research in MCDM (50%),
- relevance to real-life applications (30%),
- potential impact of the obtained results on society (20%).

1

Vol. 14 Issue 3 2022 ISSN 1936-6744 https://doi.org/10.13033/ijahp.v14i3.1068 This Award was first given in 2018. The rules in the 2022 edition state (https://connect.informs.org/multiple-criteria-decision-making/awards/new-item2):

- A candidate must be the single author or the leading coauthor of an article. A team of candidates must consist of the leading coauthors of an article.
- The article must be written in the English language and published electronically in a peer-reviewed journal between January 1, 2019 and January 1, 2022.
- All candidates must be within seven years of graduation from their Ph.D. program by January 1, 2022.
- All candidates must be members of the MCDM Section of INFORMS.
- All candidates must be nominated by a MCDM Section member.
- Executive Board members of INFORMS MCDM will serve as the judges.
- Up to five finalists will present their papers in the award session.
- The winner will receive a cash award of \$500, while all finalists who are not selected as the winner will receive an honorable mention.

Leading junior author	Nominating MCDM member
Merve Bodur	Serpil Sayin
Mohammad Dehghanimohammadabadi	Violeta Cvetkoska
Sune Lauth Gadegaard	Serpil Sayin
Mohammad Ghaderi	Núria Agell
Marc Juanpera	Mohammad Dehghani
Jiapeng Liu	Sarah Ben Amor
Seyedabdolhossein (Abdi) Mehvar	Lisa Scholten
Lucia Roselli	Danielle Costa Morais
Eleftherios Siskos	Salvatore Corrente
Michal Tomczyk	Jyrki Wallenius

The following ten researchers were Award candidates in 2022:

The 2022 Jury was composed of the following members of the Executive Board:

Cristiano Cavalcante, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco Marco Cinelli, Leiden University Salvatore Greco, University of Catania Ozlem Karsu, Bilkent University Caroline Mota, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco Firdevs Ulus, Bilkent University Roman Słowiński, Poznań University of Technology (chair)

The Jury carefully evaluated all ten papers and decided to invite the following five finalists to a special session of the MCDM Section at the 2022 INFORMS meeting in Indianapolis:

Leading junior author	Article reference
Merve Bodur University of Toronto Canada	David Bergman, Merve Bodur, Carlos Cardonha, Andre A. Cire (2021): Network models for multiobjective discrete optimization. <i>INFORMS Journal on Computing</i> 34(2): 990-1005.
Sune Lauth Gadegaard Aarhus University Denmark	Sune Lauth Gadegaard, Lars Relund Nielsen, Matthias Ehrgott (2019): Bi-objective branch-and-cut algorithms based on LP relaxation and bound sets. <i>INFORMS Journal on Computing</i> 31(4): 790-804.
Mohammad Ghaderi Pompeu Fabra University, Spain	Mohammad Ghaderi, Miłosz Kadziński (2021): Incorporating uncovered structural patterns in value functions construction. <i>Omega</i> 99: 102203.
Jiapeng Liu Xi'an Jiaotong University, China	Jiapeng Liu, Miłosz Kadziński, Xiuwu Liao, Xiaoxin Mao (2021): Data-driven preference learning methods for value- driven multiple criteria sorting with interacting criteria. <i>INFORMS Journal on Computing</i> 33(2): 586-606.
Eleftherios Siskos Paul Scherrer Institut Switzerland	Eleftherios Siskos, Peter Burgherr (2022): Multicriteria decision support for the evaluation of electricity supply resilience: Exploration of interacting criteria. <i>European Journal of</i> <i>Operational Research</i> 298: 611-626.

3 Vol. 14 Issue 3 2022 ISSN 1936-6744 https://doi.org/10.13033/ijahp.v14i3.1068



Finalists with Roman Słowiński, the 2022 Jury Chair, Poznań University of Technology (on left), from left to right, Sune Lauth Gadegaard, Aarhus University, Denmark; Eleftherios Siskos, Paul Scherrer Institut Switzerland; Merve Bodur, University of Toronto, Canada; and Mohammad Ghaderi
Pompeu Fabra University, Spain (the winner). Jiapeng Liu, Xi'an Jiaotong University, China could not attend the meeting.

All five finalists received a diploma at the business meeting of the MCDM Section on October 16, 2022. The winner selected by the Jury was Mohammad Ghaderi, Pompeu Fabra University, Spain. This was a great success for the MCDM/A community to receive ten nominations and to have five finalists for this award!