# STRATEGY

Editors-in-Chief William C. McDowell Michael L. Harris

Senior Editor Dianne H. B. Welsh

#### **Associate Editors**

Joshua Aaron Whitney O. Peake Raj Mahto

Editorial Assistant Stacy Aaron

#### **Editorial Review Board**

Semra Ascigil Joe R. Bell Shawn Carraher Phillip E. Davis Eugene Fregetto Joseph Geiger Armand Gilinsky Michael Goldsby David Lyn Hoffman Jeffrey Hornsby Jerry Kudlats Cathleen (Folker) Leitch Robert Lussier Matthew R. Marvel Brian McKenzie Abbas Nadim John E. Prescott Neal Pruchansky Jeff Shields Leo Simpson Matthew C. Sonfield Harriet Stephenson Jude Valdez

Middle Tennessee State University East Carolina University

University of North Carolina - Greensboro

Middle Tennessee State University Western Kentucky University University of New Mexico

Middle Tennessee State University

Middle East Technical University University of Arkansas at Little Rock University of Texas at Dallas Texas State University University of Illinois at Chicago University of Idaho Sonoma State University Ball State University Metropolitan State College of Denver University of Missouri Kansas City Jacksonville University Wilfrid Laurier University Springfield College Ball State University California State University, East Bay University of New Haven University of Pittsburgh Keene State College University of North Carolina at Ashville Seattle University Hofstra University Seattle University University of Texas at San Antonio

#### © Copyright 2017 Small Business Institute®

ISSN 1081-8510 (online) ISSN 2380-1751

# 2017-2018 SBI Officers

# Small Business Institute ®



### **President:**

John H. Batchelor University of West Florida Jbatchelor1@uwf.edu

### **President-Elect:**

Deborah Cours California State University-Northridge Deborah.cours@csun.edu

### Vice President of Programs: Timothy Dunne Boise State University Timothydunne@boisestate.edu

## Vice President of Programs-Elect:

Whitney Peake Western Kentucky University Whitney.peake@wku.edu

## Secretary/Treasurer:

Joshua Aaron Middle Tennessee State University Joshua.aaron@mtsu.edu

# Vice President of Marketing and

**Communications:** Blake Escudier Entrepanalysis, LLC Blake@escudier.us

#### Vice President of Membership: Kathleen Liang

North Carolina Agriculture and Technical State University Cliang@ncat.edu

## Vice President of Research and Publications: Denise Cumberland University of Louisville

Denise.cumberland@louisville.edu

#### Vice President of Development: Shanan Gibson East Carolina University Gibsons@ecu.edu

# **Immediate Past President:**

Patrick Walker Lindenwood University Pwalker@lindenwood.edu

# **Editors, Journal of Small**

Business Strategy: William C. McDowell Middle Tennessee State University William.mcdowell@mtsu.edu

Michael L. Harris East Carolina University Harrismi@ecu.edu

#### Editor, Small Business Institute Journal Troy A. Volker University of Houston Clearlake Volker@UHCL.edu