

In an effort to facilitate the selection of appropriate peer reviewers for manuscripts for *Pythagoras*, we ask that you take a moment to update your electronic portfolio on www. http://pythagoras.org.za, allowing us better access to your areas of interest and expertise, in order to match reviewers with submitted manuscripts.

If you would like to become a reviewer, please visit the *Pythagoras* website and register as a reviewer.

To access your details on the website, follow these steps:

- 1. Log into *Pythagoras* online at http://www.pythagoras.org.za
- 2. In your 'user home' select 'edit my profile' under the heading 'my account' and insert all relevant details, bio statement and reviewing interest.

It is good practice as a reviewer to update your personal details regularly to ensure contact with you throughout your professional term as reviewer to *Pythagoras*.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require assistance in performing this task.

Rochelle Flint submissions@pythagoras. org.za Tel: +27 21 975 2602

Fax: +27 21 975 4635

Acknowledgement to reviewers

The quality of the articles in *Pythagoras* crucially depends on the expertise and commitment of our peer reviewers.

Reviewing is an important part of scholarly work, making a substantial contribution to the field. Reviewers' comments serve two purposes, guided by two inter-dependent objectives:

- Pythagoras wishes to publish only original papers of the highest possible quality, making a meaningful
 contribution to the field. Reviewers advise the Editor on the scholarly merits of the manuscript
 to help him evaluate the manuscript and to decide whether or not to publish it. Reviewers are
 encouraged to reject a manuscript if it is scientifically flawed, merely sets out observations
 with no analysis, provides no new insights, or is of insufficient interest to warrant
 publication.
- Pythagoras is committed to support authors in the mathematics education community. Reviewers
 help the author to improve the quality of their manuscript. Reviewers are encouraged to
 write their comments in a constructive and supportive manner and to be sufficiently detailed
 to enable the author to improve the paper and make the changes that may eventually lead to
 acceptance.

The following summary of outcomes of the reviewing process in 2014 shows that our reviewers do well in achieving both objectives:

No. manuscripts processed in 2014 (outcome complete)	21
Accepted without changes	0 (00.0%)
Accepted with minor changes (to the satisfaction of the Editor) ¹	5 (23.8%)
Accepted after major revisions (re-submit, then re-review) ²	5 (23.8%)
Rejected after review - not acceptable to be published in <i>Pythagoras</i> ³	6 (28.6%)
Rejected without review - not acceptable to be published in Pythagoras ⁴	5 (23.8%)

We sincerely thank the following people who have reviewed these manuscripts for *Pythagoras* in 2014. We very much appreciate their time, expertise and support of *Pythagoras* amidst pressures of work.

Ana P. Lombard	Craig Pournara
Andrew Talmadge	Cyril Julie
Aneshkumar Maharaj	David Andrich
Anita Campbell	Deonarain Brijlall
Anna Crowe	Dirk Wessels
Anna Posthuma	Duncan Samson
Ann-Sofi Röj-Lindberg	Elizabeth Burroughs
Ansie Harding	Erica Spangenberg
Anthony Essien	Hamsa Venkat
Belinda Huntley	Hennie Boshoff
Bruce Brown	Janine Hechter
Calisto Munongi	Joseph Dhlamini
Cally Kuhne	Karin Brodie
Carol Bohlmann	Kerstin Jordaan
Cheryl Reeves	Lyn Webb

- 1. Accepted after one round of review, with 'minor' changes as specified by reviewers and Editor.
- 2. Accepted after two or more rounds of review, with major changes specified by reviewers and Editor.
- 3. Includes one case where the authors did not resubmit after required to make major changes.
- 4. All submissions undergo a preliminary review by the Editor Team to ascertain if it falls within the aims and scope of *Pythagoras* and is of an acceptable standard.





If you would like to become a reviewer, please visit the *Pythagoras* website and register as a reviewer.

Reviewers (Continued):

Manare Setati Mandisa Lebitso Mdutshekelwa Ndlovu Melih Turgut Michael de Villiers Michael Murray Nancy Chitera Nelis Vermeulen Nick Taylor Paul Mokilane Piera Biccard Rajendran Govender

Sarah Bansilal

Segun Adeyefa Shaheeda Jaffer Sharon McAuliffe Sheena Rughubar-Reddy Sibawu Siyepu Tim Dunne Toni Beardon Tracy Craig Verona Leendertz Werner Olivier Zain Davis Zalman Usiskin

Zingiswa Jojo