Acknowledgment to Reviewers

The quality of the papers in Pythagoras crucially depends on the expertise and commitment of our peer reviewers.

Reviewing is an important part of scholarly work, making a substantial contribution to the field. Reviewers' comments serve two purposes, guided by two inter-dependent objectives:

- Pythagoras wishes to publish only original papers of the highest possible quality, making a meaningful contribution to the field. Reviewers advise the Editor on the scholarly merits of the manuscript to help him evaluate the manuscript and to decide whether or not to publish it. Reviewers are encouraged to reject a manuscript if it is scientifically flawed, merely sets out observations with no analysis, provides no new insights, or is of insufficient interest to warrant publication.
- Pythagoras is committed to support authors in the mathematics education community. Reviewers help the author to improve the quality of the manuscript. Reviewers are encouraged to write their comments in a constructive and supportive manner and to be sufficiently detailed to enable the author to improve the paper and make the kind of changes that can eventually lead to acceptance.

The following summary of outcomes of the reviewing process in 2010 shows that our reviewers do well in achieving both objectives:

No. manuscripts processed	26
Accept without changes	0 (0,0%)
Accept with <i>minor changes</i> (to the satisfaction of the Editor)	5 (19,2%)
Reconsider after major revisions (re-submit, then re-review)	7 (26,9%)
Reject – the paper is not acceptable to be published in Pythagoras	14 (53,8%)

We would like to sincerely thank the following people who have recently acted as reviewers for *Pythagoras*. We very much appreciate their time, expertise and support of *Pythagoras* amidst pressures of work.

Benadette Ainemani	AnnaPaula Lombard
Humphrey Atebe	Caroline Long
Margot Berger	Sizwe Mabizela
Piera Biccard	Elmarie Meyer
Hennie Boshoff	Johan Meyer
Lynn Bowie	Andile Mji
Aarnout Brombacher	Henri Moolman
Iben Christiansen	Hanlie Murray
Michael de Villiers	Willy Mwakapenda
Clement Dlamini	Marc North
Tim Dunne	Craig Pournara
Stephan du Toit	Cas Prinsloo
Tony Essien	Mark Schäfer
Washiela Fish	Gerrit Stols
Vera Frith	Nick Taylor
Rajendran Govender	Lindiwe Tshabalala
Vasuthavan Govender	Vijay Reddy
Piet Human	Ingrid Sapire
Belinda Huntley	Manare Setati
Prince Jaca	Jessica Sherman
Mark Jacobs	Marthie van der Walt
Shaheeda Jaffer	Nelis Vermeulen
Zonia Jooste	Renuka Vithal
Cyril Julie	John Webb
Luckson Kaino	Dirk Wessels
Erna Lampen	Helena Wessels