^^ 
 
 %, 
 
 -K^ <P 
 
 A" 
 
 
 
 '■'•-% J^ ■■'■■■% 
 
 o V 
 
 '■^. '.'^. 
 
 
 
 s^ 
 
 
 
 ■^ 
 
 .«i^^ 
 
 v-0^ 
 
 •>^v^ :1 
 
 ■^' .0^ 
 
 
 V' 
 
 » . o ^ S^'^' 
 
 
 V 
 
 O) ' . . s - 
 
 A 
 
 v-* ' . . s > •<; - o , , - \ 
 
 
 
 
 
 ^^ ^^ -^ -y^i^^v ^\ ^^S&^,* ^^"^ ^>^¥^v 
 
 
 
 
 » 7' 
 
 % 
 
 
 
 >^o^ f. 
 
 o 
 o 
 
 
 
 
 t V s. »«<M7,»*o. <» 
 
 .J. . ^ V 
 
 
-^ .;Ni^»iP-,. o.r 
 
 ^-t^-< ■; 
 
 
 -^^-o^ 
 
 .-^-R*, 
 
 j;.«*-\ ''->,' 
 
 • Af^-^ 
 
 
 vl"^ '^V^^ 
 
 4 O 
 
 
 ■i^ 
 
 
 
 X o 
 
 
 
 ^<' 
 
 
 
 ,0^ c 
 
 
 
/ 
 
 LUCY R. H. CROSS. 
 
History of Northfield 
 
 NEW HAMPSHIRE 
 1 780- 1 905 
 
 IN TWO PARTS 
 
 WITH AlANY 
 
 ■ BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES AND PORTRAITS 
 
 ALSO 
 
 PICTURES OF PUBLIC BUILDINGS 
 
 AND 
 
 PRIVATE RESIDENCES 
 
 PART I 
 LUCY R.-^Hf CROSS 
 
 CONCORD, N. H. 
 
 RUMFORD PRINTING CO. 
 
 1905 
 
fiV^ 
 
 Hsn 
 
 C« 
 
 /'ya 
 
 7 
 
INTRODUCTION. 
 
 Tlie citizens of Northfield, at their annual meeting March, 
 1904, were considering- the matter of publishing a history of the 
 town. Mr. Obe G. jMorrison was present and, with a letter in 
 hand from Llr. E. G. IMorrison of Lowell, tendered to the town 
 an unconditional gift of $500 in which they equally shared. Fol- 
 lowing this, the town voted to loan a committee chosen for the 
 purpose the sum of $700, and thus the present volume was 
 assured. 
 
 A committee of 15, consisting of Major 0. C. Wj^att, Jeremiah 
 E. Smith, 0. G. Morrison, ]\lrs. E. G. Morrison, Gawn E. Gorrcll, 
 Mrs. Joseph Hill, Kate Forrest, A. B. Winslow, Anna E. Wyatt, 
 W. S. Hills, Frank Shaw, Byron Shaw, Lewis Haines and Kate 
 Hills was appointed. This committee organized, later, with 
 Major Wyatt as chairman, Kate Forrest, secretary, and W. S. 
 Ilills, treasurer. Mr. Smith, Mrs. Hills, G. E. Gorrell and Kate 
 Forrest, 0. G. and Mrs. E. G. IMorrison were chosen for the 
 executive conunittee. ]\Irs. Lucy R. H. Cross was unanimously 
 chosen to prepare the history and other sub-committees named. 
 Mr. Haines djdng, hio daughtor , ]\Iiss Ida Haines, was chosen to 
 fill his place. A. B. Winslow being unable to serve, his place 
 was filled by Mrs. Alice Corliss. 
 
 The work was at once entered upon with the expectation of 
 issuing the book on the 125th anniversary of the organization of 
 the town, June 17, 1905. This was later changed to Old Home 
 Week, at which time, though the work was unfinished, a good 
 exhibit of the advance sheets and illustrations was made. 
 
 The work received the hearty support of the whole town and 
 both historian and the several committees have met nothing but 
 generous interest and sympathy in the prosecution of their ardu- 
 ous task. The publication, after suitable investigation, was 
 awarded to the Rumford Printing Company of Concord, whose 
 reputation was ample guaranty of prompt and satisfactory ser- 
 vice. Miss Kate F. Hills, whose death was a great loss to the 
 enterprise, was charged with the sale of the books and had the 
 matter well in hand. It now appears fresh for the holidays, 
 having had a very generous advance sale. 
 
AUTHOR'S PREFACE. 
 
 The desire to perpetuate the noble deeds of one's forefathers 
 is well-nigh universal. It is not limited to any society, nor is it 
 peculiar to such peoples only as have a written language. 
 
 The Indians, knowing nothing of letters, recounted, in their 
 own peculiar ways, the exploits of their braves, and tradition 
 did for them what history does for enlightened people. It has 
 long been felt that those who love their homes and revere the 
 memory of those gone before should arrange memorials of them 
 in some way Avorthy of preservation. Hence the photographer's 
 task and the painter's skill; hence the gravestone, state, county 
 and national records; hence the well-worn leaves in the old 
 family Bible, and numberless other schemes to hand down to 
 posterity the story of well-used talents, opportunities, industry, 
 energy and enterprise. 
 
 It is the part of wisdom, too, that each generation should make 
 its own record, leave its own reputation and its example as its 
 own peculiar legacy to posteritj^ since it is no easy matter to 
 enter into the labors of others and display them in proper spirit 
 to men of other times and other modes of thought and conduct. 
 
 The writing of a single family history may seem a simple 
 affair. It was a happy thought of one, who knew whereof he 
 spoke, that ''The historian must needs launch his canoe on the 
 wide stream of the present and persistently urge it up the stream 
 to its primitive and distant sources." How tiresome a task at 
 the best only such can know as have tried to breast the current 
 and scale the fall. I will carrj^ the figure no further; if one 
 thinks the task an easy one he has but to make a single effort 
 to be disillusioned. 
 
 Prior to 1880, the year of our Centennial, the history of Nortt- 
 field lay scattered in the town record books, old deeds of property, 
 records of the courts, the memories of aged people and the 
 traditions handed down from the lips of the departed. To col- 
 lect and arrange these has been to me a pleasant task, in spite of 
 the delays of dilatory correspondents and mistakes that came 
 unavoidably from the uncertain memories of the old. It has 
 been my aim to record only reliable data and proven facts. 
 
vi author's preface. 
 
 I have made little attempt at fine writing or rhetorical em- 
 bellishment, or to climb the heights on gradations of pompous 
 climaxes, or to please the ear with successions of sweet and 
 sonorous syllables. Doubtless important matters have been over- 
 looked, but such has not been our aim. Personal feelings and 
 prejudices have been laid aside and your historian and her faith- 
 ful reviewers, to whom credit is equally due if this work 
 possesses aught of value, have sought faithfully to discharge 
 their whole duty, the most embarrassing part of which has 
 been the suppression of facts that might wound the feelings of 
 readers or hurt the reputation of our dear old town. It has 
 been only in very general terms that opinions or facts, other 
 than favorable, have been expressed. 
 
 Recognition must be given, in behalf of the town and each of 
 the committee personally, for the generous and unconditional 
 gift of 0. G. and E. G. Morrison, which made this work possible. 
 Your historian desires personally to acknowledge her indebted- 
 ness of Prof. Lucian Hunt, our Centennial orator; to the val- 
 uable work of Rev. M. T. Runnells, the Sanbornton historian, 
 as well as the able histories of other and adjoining towns; also 
 to the numberless friends scattered far and near, who have so 
 promptly and sweetly given of their valuable time and knowl- 
 edge. 
 
 Our thanks are due especially to the several clergymen who 
 have contributed sketches of the churches of their denominations 
 and to Prof. Ned Dearborn, who has given us the exhaustive and 
 interesting paper on our birds. 
 
 To such as have contributed to the embellishment of the work 
 by placing their faces and their homes upon its pages, as well as 
 to those who have enriched it by the detailed story of their own 
 and the lives of others, our grateful thanks are hereby extended, 
 and we will close with the hope that often, when pressed upon 
 too heavily by the Present, this volume may take you in fancy to 
 the still waters of the Past, to the shady paths where you loved 
 to linger in other days with the dear ones here recorded. 
 
 To the loved ones gone before; the ''absent under all skies 
 and in every clime"; to our kinsmen and kindred everywhere; 
 in fact, to each and all, whether Northfield-born or reared, this 
 book is lovingly dedicated by its author, 
 
 Lucy R. H. Cross. 
 
TABLE OF CONTENTS. 
 
 CHAPTER I. 
 
 Pages 1-12. 
 
 Historical : Name — location — seven hills — rocks — clay — 
 springs — lumber — rivers — water power — latitude — longitude — 
 settlers — Indians — forts — Rumford Colony — jealousies — Captain 
 Clough — scouts — petition for town — granted — first meeting — 
 boundaries — law suit — wild beasts — land ceded to Franklin — • 
 same returned — other land ceded — Gospel lots — parsonage land — • 
 school lots — town contained 17,000 acres, or 27 square miles — 
 early meetings — where held — town clerks — roads — ranges — • 
 bridges — vehicles used — better roads — new roads — Tilton bridge 
 — Holmes bridge — "loer" bridge — Allard or Cross bridge — bar- 
 gain with Winnipiseogee Paper Co. 
 
 CHAPTER II. 
 
 Pages 13-45. 
 
 EccLESiASTicAi^ : Efforts to build meeting-house — material — 
 location — delays — work begun — workmen — nails — ^ballusters — 
 raising — whole town — picnic dinner — cart load of bread — fish 
 and potatoes — baked beans — New England rum — good time — 
 running — leaping — wrestling — next day completed raising — in- 
 side finish — painting — pews owned by individuals — Sunday ser- 
 vices — ministers — sermons — choir — tything man — other churches 
 — house sold to the town — town meetings — sold to C. E. Tilton — 
 removal — Baptists at Oak Hill — ^Elder Young — his early life — 
 military man — preacher at Canterbury — Elder Ilarriman — Dr. 
 Harper — Jeremiah Clough — meetings held in groves — barns — 
 schoolhouses — Rev. John Chamberlain — ordained — threatened 
 shower — later services — Sunday School — biography of Rev. John 
 Chamberlain — Methodist Church — Rev. j\Iartin Reuter — Bates — 
 
 The following intermingling of business and biography is for the purpose of 
 affording greater variety and to scatter the illustrations more evenly throughout 
 the work. 
 
VIU CONTENTS. 
 
 Dustin — early members baptized in Chestnut Pond — parsonage 
 on Bay Hill — brick church built — Joseph Knowles — Josiah Am- 
 brose — 100th anniversary — 63 ministers — Revs. W. D. Cass, 
 George Storrs in 1835 mobbed in brick church — anti-slavsry 
 lecture — Rev. Silas Quimby — Congregational Church, 1823 — 
 original members — years of increase — removal to Sanbornton 
 Bridge — offer of free lot — conditions — new church built — three 
 friends — laying corner stone — name changed — later improve- 
 ments — bequests — deacons — sketch of Rev. Liba Conant — 14 
 years' service — Lucas — Corser — worship at academy — moved 
 to new church — new bell — Rev. Curtice — accused of preaching 
 politics — resignation — council refused to dismiss — seven more 
 years — Rev. Mr. Pratt — 50th anniversary — Rev. F. T. Perkins — 
 afternoon service discontinued — nine years' service — death oc- 
 curred at Burlington, Vt.- — Rev. C. B. Strong — one year's service 
 — Rev. C. C. Sampson— Bo wdoin, 1873 — became pastor 1885 — 
 sketch of Dr. Hoyt — present at 50th anniversary — delivered ad- 
 dress — made donation — 75th anniversary, July 17, 1897 — old 
 hymns — old members returned — Mrs. Cross gave address — Sun- 
 day School — Ladies' Circle — Episcopal Church — -Avhen founded 
 — why- — first members — records lost — bought jMethodist Church — 
 families included — church organized — Dr. Herrick, rector — Eas- 
 ter, 1873 — Consecration, 1875 — house sold to town — new one 
 erected in Tilton — prosperous year — -biography of Dr. Herrick — 
 Union Church — first movement — association formed — funds 
 transferred to Mr. C. E. Tilton — church begun by him — condi- 
 tions accepted by town — money raised — work pledged — many 
 names in trust deed — grove — dedication — given to town by Mr. 
 Tilton — taken in charge by selectmen — Sunday services at once 
 bfegun — Sunday School removed to it — preachers provided — 
 special meetings — Catholic ]\Iission in town hall — removed, later, 
 to new church. 
 
 CHAPTER III. 
 
 Pages 46-62. 
 
 Educational : Northfield social library — circulating — limited 
 to members — kept in houses — some few books still left — North- 
 field Improving Society — incorporated — object — constitution and 
 by-laws — terms of membership — literary board — names of mem- 
 bers — lists of books — librarian's reports — celebration in 1825 — • 
 
CONTENTS. IX 
 
 last meeting— Northfield Fraternal Library — Chase Free Library 
 — 180 volumes for Union Church — other gifts — Hall J\Iemorial 
 Library — Mrs. Cummings' gift — cost $10,000 — when built — 
 when dedicated — association formed — books given — Dr. Hall's 
 portrait — schools — first houses — teachers — girls in summer only 
 — male teachers — no fires or windows — log houses — better houses 
 — fireplaces — sometimes in private houses — names of teachers — 
 teachers boarded round — academy — superintendents of schools — 
 Liba Conant, first one — list of superintendents — women on board 
 — old customs — selling ashes — apparatus — dictionaries — New 
 Hampshire Conference Seminary — first plans — name of project- 
 ors — located at Plymouth — reconsidered — ^located at Northfield — 
 first building — school opened — cost of tuition — board — new 
 teachers^ — ^close quarters — new house needed — funds raised — new 
 charter — female college— degrees conferred — 360 students in 1857 
 — list of graduates of seminary — list of graduates from female 
 college— Union School District — formation — first officers — new 
 house — building committee — funds — cost, etc. — board of educa- 
 tion chosen — three schools — names of teachers — new building in 
 1900 — committees chosen — cost of house — male teachers — grad- 
 uates received at seminaiy. 
 
 CHAPTER IV. 
 
 Pages 63-67. 
 
 Transportation : Roads — vehicles — improvements — stages — ■ 
 Peter Smart — post riders — relay horses — coming of railroad — 
 Mr. Smith, the railroad builder — sketch — large contracts — Bos- 
 ton, Concord & Montreal Railroad — chartered — surveyed — 
 commenced — route changed — stock taken — road opened — decline 
 of stock — losses — better times — financial — Tilton & Belmont Rail- 
 road — no stock issued — when opened — Tilton & Franklin — how 
 built — date of charter — three miles in Northfield. 
 
 CHAPTER V. 
 
 Pages 68-95. 
 
 Military: First order — first militia law — Colonel Clough and 
 his scouts — troublous times — association list — 120 names — form 
 of pledge — roll of honor — names of officers — War of 1812 — 
 
X CONTENTS. 
 
 names of soldiers — minute men — home guard — officials chosen — 
 arms and uniforms — close of war — new militia laws — May train- 
 ings — Mexican War — two soldiers — War of the Rebellion — pub- 
 lic meetings — funds raised — bounties offered— substitutes secured 
 — enrollment — draft — names of volunteers — drafted men — sub- 
 stitutes — list two — list three — Maj. 0. C. Wyatt — sketch — Span- 
 ish War — three from Northfield. 
 
 CHAPTER VI. 
 
 Pages 96-105. 
 
 Industries : Farming— sawmills — Cross Mill — rafting — plank 
 — ^boards — laths — shingles — cooper's wares — 'Jeremiah Cross — 
 threshing machine — new buildings — Water Power Co. — Factory 
 Village — mill at Sondogardy Pond — other mills on outlet — Davis, 
 Piper & Plummer's shingle mill — Kendegeda Meadow Mill — ■ 
 Glidden IMeadow — J. E. Smith's lumber business — sketch — rail- 
 road builder — Maplewood stables — farms — crops — brickmaking 
 • — near Granite Mill — near Chestnut Pond — Warren L. Hill — 
 Colonel Cofran — brick for first seminary — Cross' brick yard — 
 clay exhausted — charcoal — wood for engines — business at the 
 Depot — Uncle Tucker — coal on Bean Hill — David Hill burned 
 coal — Shuttle-maker Doav — Wedgewood made round tables — 
 spinning wheels — flax-raising — sheep for wool — out of date in- 
 dustries — Cross settlement on intervale — gristmills — fulling 
 mills — jewelry — tanneries— smithies — earthenware — crockery — 
 flour mill — oil — plaster — sold out in 1805 — 200 acres bought by 
 Abraham Plummer — other parts of town had cooper shops — 
 potasheries — Industrial Club of 35 members — teamsters. 
 
 CHAPTER VII. 
 
 Pages 106-147. 
 
 Centennial, June 19, 1880 : Plans to celebrate— money raised 
 — committees appointed — J. E. Smith, president; 0. L. Cross, 
 secretary; F. J. Eastman, treasurer — services arranged for — cir- 
 culars sent out — long list of sub-committees — dinner planned — 
 music — speeches — address by Lucian Hunt — poem by Mrs. Cross 
 — many visitors — fine decorations — tables loaded— troop of horse 
 ■^all at Hannaford's Grove at Northfield Depot — Captain Wy- 
 
CONTENTS. XI 
 
 att spoke for soldier boys — letters from former residents — Fannie 
 Rice — cornet solos — Mr. Hunt's address — Mrs. Cross' poem — per- 
 sonal sketch and portrait of Professor Hunt. 
 
 CHAPTER VIII. 
 
 Pages 148-168. 
 
 Professional : Thirty-seven born in town — five Dr. Dearborns 
 and four Dr. Tebbetts — 18 lived in town, four women among the 
 list — sketches of Dr. B.oyt, Nancy Oilman, Drs. Woodbury, Whid- 
 den, A. B. Hall, Sam G. Dearborn, 0. J. Hall, Charles R. Gould, 
 Daniel Whittier and Thomas Burton Dearborn. La\\^ers : Seven 
 born in Northfield — sketches of Hon. Asa P. Cate, Judge Lucien 
 Clough, Oliver Lyford Cross, Col. W. A. Gile and Samuel War- 
 ren Forrest. IMinisters : Six born in town — sketch of Rev. B. A. 
 Rogers. Teachers: Sketches of Joseph A. Gile and Mary ]\Iar- 
 garet Gile. Dentists: C. L. True, Edwin D. Forrest (supple- 
 ment). 
 
 CHAPTER IX. 
 
 Pages 169-179. 
 
 Miscellaneous : Burying grounds — private — neighborhood- 
 public — oldest public one in town. Aqueduct : When chartered 
 — when completed — hearing held — terms made — dam built — 
 pipes laid — Hilly Brook — reservoir — capacity — length of pipe 
 laid — highest pressure — future plans. Sewers: Leave granted to 
 lay pipes, 1902 — sewer No. 1 — No. 2. Paupers and Criminals: 
 Old customs — poor bid off for support — farm bought — home 
 established — rules and regulations — names of overseers — contin- 
 ued for 43 3'ears — farm sold — poor supported at county farm — 
 Merrimack County organized courts and Legislature met at Hop- 
 kinton — extent of new county — resources. Post Office: Estab- 
 lished at Centre — Depot — Tilton — names of postmasters — sketch 
 of Daniel E. Hill — annexation to Tilton — petition to Legislature 
 of 1901 — strenuous opposition — committee appointed and hear- 
 ings held — counsel secured — hard fought battle decided February 
 27, 1902 — enthusiastic celebration. 
 
XU CONTENTS. 
 
 CHAPTER X. 
 
 Pages 180-184. 
 
 Casualties : Drownings — fires — railroad accidents — damage 
 by lightning — suicides — accidental deaths — death from hydro-, 
 phobia— carriage accidents — September gale — cold Friday — yel- 
 low day — honses wrecked by falling trees. 
 
 CHAPTER XI. 
 
 Pages 185-196. 
 
 Clubs and Societies : Cornet Band — Friendship Grange — 
 when organized — charter members — Northfield town hall, home of 
 the grange— first master — other officers — names of masters — one 
 woman held the office — -all other officers women — during this term 
 won the prize for excellent ritualistic work — degree staff of ladies 
 formed — exemplified third degree at special meeting during 
 Grange Fair — eight secretaries — 15 leeturerers — 10th anniver- 
 sary celebrated — appropriate services — many visitors present — 
 grange erected kitchen in 1893 — more than twenty years of satis- 
 factory existence — members died — New Hampshire State Grango 
 Fair — first held in 1885 — 14 later — farmers' festivals — -no objec- 
 tional features — great crowds— fine speakers — good music — • 
 Charles E. Tilton gave free use of grounds — assisted in many 
 other ways — last fair — when held — sketch of C. E. Tilton — union 
 picnics — held from 1875 to 1896 — great social events — public 
 table — good speaking — Governor Head present — Glines family 
 reunion on Mt. Polly for 11 years — Charles Glines' sketch — 
 Northfield Board of Health — when established — offices — regula- 
 tions — Woman's Club — Northfield and Tilton Club — when organ- 
 ized — first officers — object — business transacted — home talent 
 first year — social meetings — teas — gentlemen's nights — names of 
 presidents. 
 
 CHAPTER XII. 
 
 Pages 197-217. 
 
 Attractions and Festvals : The island — early history and im- 
 provements — early owners — bought by ]\Ir. Tilton, 1865 — bridge 
 built — grounds beautified — summer house erected — Memorial 
 Arch — copy of one at Rome — dimensions — inscriptions — Old 
 
CONTENTS. XUl 
 
 Home Day, 1901 — circulars of invitation — festivities — many re- 
 turning sons and daughters — E. J. Young, president of the day — 
 speeches — ^music — collation — Old Home Day, 1905, and 125th an- 
 niversary — preliminary arrangements — Avatch fires — Sunday ser- 
 vices in old church — literary exercises — collation — historical ad- 
 dress by Hon. James 0. Lyford — other speakers — evening recep- 
 tion — many visitors — summer home of Freeman B. Shedd — beau- 
 tiful views — fine grounds — many attractions — ' ' a place of beauty 
 and a joy forever. " 
 
 CHAPTER XIII. 
 
 Pages 218-223. 
 
 The Story Teller : Indian legend — trouble with the Lindseys 
 and IMillses — stolen slaves — altercation — story of Old Cohas — 
 ]\Iother Blanchard Surprised — John Cilley and the bear — the bear 
 tree — bear dragged trap — story of Millerites — ]\Iother Wadleigh 
 and the wildcats — fish stories — haunted houses — witches— snakes 
 — Osgoodites — Sally Grover — last of sect. 
 
 CHAPTER XIV. 
 
 Pages 224r-228. 
 
 Northfield Factory Village: Early settled — before 1800 — 
 first dam — Folsom's sawmill — carried away by freshet — Jere- 
 miah Sanborn rebuilt road by river — canal to Daniell's Bridge — 
 Sanborn Mill moved to Folsom site — Dam, No. 2 — Boston John 
 Clark built it — also dam for K. O. Peabody's paper mill — baker's 
 cart — bought rags — Crane came to make paper — Daniel Herrick's 
 ruse — ^business grew — moved, after some years, to other village — 
 old building became a gristmill — Smithville Factory — called, 
 "Yellow" ]\Iill — Yellow Row — old tavern — cotton mill — Smith's 
 store — sold to Peabody Brothers — batting mill — strawboard mill 
 — straw paper — sawmill on dam No. 3 — Dearborn Sanborn — 
 Thomas Elkins — woolen mill — tontine — old schoolhouse — one 
 house left — printing offices — one at Factory Village — made Bibles 
 and testaments — one at old Whittier store and on on Bav Street. 
 
XIV CONTENTS. 
 
 CHAPTER XV. 
 
 Pages 229-235. 
 
 Stores and Merchants: First store — moved to Bridge — 
 owned by Ebenezer Blauehard, who removed to Salisbury, 
 now Franklin — Glidden store at the old meeting-house — sold 
 to Oilman — later, to Gerrish & Moore — removed to village — 
 business all removed there — other stores — store at Depot — several 
 owners — burned — palm leaf hats — berries, etc. — Isaac Whittier's 
 store — post office — town clerk's office — drug store — hardware 
 store — "seven nations" — Butterfield 's store— sold to Sweatt — at 
 Factory Village — hardware store by freight depot — many busi- 
 ness men of Tilton residents of Northfield — sketches of business 
 men, 
 
 CHAPTER XVI. 
 
 Pages 236-248. 
 
 Mills and Manufacturers : First mill — fulling mill — carding 
 mill — Stephen Chase & Son — sold to Jeremiah Tilton — Benjamin 
 Chase removed to Lowell — sketch of Charles G. Chase — Jeremiah 
 Tilton — satinets — Copp's gristmill — shoddy mill above — James 
 Earnshaw— Bailey mills — later, Granite Mill — new firm — new 
 products — Kearsarge Woolen Co. — manufacturers not taxed — 
 Adam S. Ballantyne — Richard Firth — Fletcher Brothers — Arch 
 Mills— Charles Green— A. L. Hilton— sold to W. H. Carter & 
 Parsons— bought Tilton Mill— 0. & E. Morrison— sketch of 0. 
 G. Morrison — sketch of E. G. Morrison — Elm Mills Woolen Co. — 
 left Clark IMill- A. M. Dodge— steammill on cove— J. W. & C. 
 Pease — boxes and builders' supplies — Jason Foss — Ray Firth — 
 Tilton Hosiery Co.— G. E. Buell— Courtland Boynton— J. P. 
 Osborne — Buell Brothers — Carter's IMill — dress goods — amount 
 produced — G. H. Tilton Hosiery Co. — business in South — amount 
 produced — number of hands — sketch of Mr. Tilton — sketch of 
 Hon. Elmer S. Tilton — Britain IManufacturing Co. — Francis B. 
 Fay — new mill erected — leased in five years to 0. & E. IMorrison 
 — machinery sold — Tilton Optical Co. — L. W. Bugbee, superin- 
 tendent — spectacle lenses — goods produced. 
 
CONTENTS. XV 
 
 CHAPTER XVII. 
 
 Pages 249-293. 
 
 Birds of Xorthfield: Waier Birds — Divers — grebes — horned 
 grebes — pied-billed grebe— loons — red-throated loon — auk — brun- 
 nich murres — dovekie — swimmers — ^herring gull — Bonaparte gull 
 — ducks and geese — saw-bills — American merganser — hooded 
 merganser — ruddy duck — ring-necked duck — scaup duck — 
 greater scaup duck — white-winged scoter — buffle head — old 
 squaw — American golden eye — black duck — mallard- — -blue- 
 winged teal — -wood duck — Avild goose — brant goose. Herons — - 
 stake drivers — night heron — green heron — great blue heron. 
 Rails — Virginia rail — sora rail — American coot. Shore Birds — 
 Sandpipers — snipe — -Wilson snipe — lesser yellow-legs — greater 
 yellow-legs — solitary sandpiper — spotted — pectoral— least — -Bar- 
 tramian sandpipers. Plovers — semipalmated plover. Land 
 Birds — -Ruffed grouse or partridge — bob white — pigeon — passen- 
 ger pigeon — mourning dove — hawk — marsh hawk — osprey — bald 
 eagle — red-tailed, red-shouldered and broad-winged hawks — gos- 
 hawk — cooper and sharp-shinned hawks — sparrow, pigeon and 
 duck hawks. Owls — great horned, long-eared, short-eared and 
 screech owls — snowy owl — barred, Richardson, saw- whet and 
 hawk owls — belted kingfisher — cuckoo — black-billed and yellow- 
 billed cuckoo — woodpecker — arctic three-toed and American 
 thi-ee-toed woodpecker — pileated, four-toed, hairj^ downy, yel- 
 low-bellied and red-headed woodpeckers — ^liickers — yellow ham- 
 mer — wood-wall — goatsucker — swift — humming bird group — 
 night-hawk — whippoorwill — chinmey swift— ruby-throated hum- 
 mingbird — flycatcher — kingbird — great-crested flycatcher — 
 pewee, or phoebe — wood pewee — olive-sided flycatcher — alder fly- 
 catcher — 3'ellow-bellied and the least flycatcher — horned lark — 
 shore larks — jays — crows — blue and Canada jays — raven — bobo- 
 link — cowbird and bronzed grackle — purple and rusty grackles 
 — red-winged blackbird — Baltimore oriole or golden robin — 
 meadow lark — sparrows — pine grosbeak — purple finch — rose- 
 breasted grosbeak — indigo bird — crossbills — red, white-winged, 
 redpoll — siskin — American goldfinch. Terrestrial Species — 
 Sparrows — sno\vflake — vesper — Savanna and Ilenslow sparrows 
 — song, Lincoln, fox, tree, field, grasshopper, swamp, white- 
 
XVI CONTENTS. 
 
 throated, wliite-crowned sparrows — junco — towhee or chewiiik — - 
 scarlet tanager — swallows — purple Martin, cliff or eaves, barn, 
 white-bellied, tree and bank swallows — cherry bird, or cedar wax- 
 wing — shrikes — northern and migrant shrikes — vireos — red-eyed, 
 warbling, bine-headed and yellow-throated vireos — warblers — 
 parula, yellow-rumped and Tennessee warblers, also Nashville, 
 Wilson, pine, mourning, Maryland, Cape May, magnolia, Cana- 
 dian and Blackburnian w^arblers — redstart — black poll — oven 
 bird — various other species of pipits — mocking-birds — cat bird — 
 brown thrasher — wrens, house and winter — creepers — -nuthatch- 
 ers — white- and red-breasted chickadees — kinglets — thrush — 
 blue birds. 
 
 PART II. 
 
 Title Page. 
 
 Introduction. 
 
 Genealogies. (Pages 5 to 333.) Alphabetically arranged. 
 
 Appendix. (Pages 335 to 349.) Charles Haines Ayers — Do- 
 rinda Brown— Smith W. Cofran — Eugene Batchelder — Capt. 
 Thomas Clough — Edward Caskin — Edmund Douglass — Alvah 
 Ilaggett — Mark Keasor- — Sylvester Lambert — Joseph Thorp — 
 Charles H. Crockett — Joseph Greenwood — Joseph Ayers — 
 Thomas Blanchard — Cyrus Brown — Chase Coat of Arms — Mar- 
 tin Courtney — Rev. Enoch Corser — John Davis — George H. 
 Davis — Timothy Gleason — Moses Miller — Joseph Muzzey — Joel 
 Phelps — Daniel Hills' will — John Hills — Laroy Mowe — Rand — ■ 
 Joseph Sullivan Tilton — Joe R. Twombly. 
 
 Additions and Corrections (Pages 349 to 350.) 
 
 First Tax List. (Page 351.) 
 
 Old Home Day, 1905. (Page 351.) 
 
 Cry of the Human (Page 352.) 
 
 Index to Part I. 
 
 Index to Part II. 
 
LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 
 
 
 PART I. 
 
 
 Lucy R. H. Cross ...... 
 
 Frontispiece 
 
 View from Winnepesaukee River, Looking Eas1 
 
 vii 
 
 Proprietors' Map ..... 
 
 4 
 
 ]\Iap of Town . . . 
 
 7 
 
 View in 1864 
 
 . 10 
 
 •Rev. John Chamberlain .... 
 
 . 23 
 
 >/Northfield Town Hall .... 
 
 . 26 
 
 /Rev. Mareellus A. Herrick, D. D. . 
 
 . 38 
 
 v'Mrs. M. A. Herrick .... 
 
 . 38 
 
 wUnion Church . . 
 
 . 41 
 
 Hall Memorial Library .... 
 
 . 52 
 
 ^Mary Hall Cummings .... 
 
 . 52 
 
 / Pond Schoolhouse. ..... 
 
 . 54 
 
 •''N. H. Conference Seminary and Female College 
 •^Graded School 
 
 i . . 57 
 
 . 61 
 
 ' Tilton Seminary ..... 
 
 . 62 
 
 Warren H. Smith ..... 
 
 . 64 
 
 Major Otis C. Wyatt . 
 
 . 92 
 
 , Jeremiah Cross ..... 
 
 . 97 
 
 V Jeremiah Eastman Smith 
 
 . 99 
 
 1,' Prof. Lucian Hunt .... 
 
 . 145 
 
 [ Dr. Enos Hoyt 
 
 . 150 
 
 ^'Dr. Jeremiah Forrest Halls 
 
 . 151 
 
 I Dr. Nancy Smith Oilman 
 
 . 152 
 
 , Dr. Adino B. Hall .... 
 
 . 153 
 
 , Hall Coat of Arms 
 
 
 . 153 
 
 Dr. Sam 0. Dearborn 
 
 
 . 154 
 
 Dr. Obadiah J. Hall 
 
 
 . 155 
 
 Dr. Charles R. Oonld 
 
 
 . 157 
 
 Dr. Daniel B. Whittier 
 
 
 . 157 
 
 Dr. Thomas Benton Dea 
 
 rborn 
 
 . 158 
 
 Dearborn Brothers 
 
 
 . 159 
 
 Hon. Asa P. Cate . 
 
 . • 
 
 . 160 
 
XVIU 
 
 LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 
 
 ' Hon. Lucien B. Clough . 
 
 
 
 
 . 161 
 
 • Col. William A. Gile . 
 
 
 
 
 . 163 
 
 " Samuel Warren Forrest 
 
 
 
 
 . 164 
 
 "Kev. Benjamin A. Rogers 
 
 
 
 
 . 166 
 
 "Mary Margaret Gile 
 
 
 
 
 . 167 
 
 ^Luther H. Morrill . 
 
 
 
 
 . 176 
 
 ^Daniel Emery Hill 
 
 
 
 
 . 177 
 
 ^Charles Elliot Tilton . 
 
 
 
 
 . 191 
 
 ■^ Charles Glines 
 
 
 
 
 . 193 
 
 •The Island . 
 
 
 
 
 . 197 
 
 "•Souvenir Group 
 
 
 
 
 . 198 
 
 'Memorial Arch 
 
 
 
 
 . 198 
 
 "'James 0. Lyford . 
 
 
 
 
 . 204 
 
 ^Residence of F. B. Shedd 
 
 
 
 
 . 214 
 
 Chase Coat of Arms 
 
 
 
 
 236, 341 
 
 •|^ Charles G. Chase . 
 Richard Firth 
 
 
 
 
 . 237 
 
 
 
 
 . 240 
 
 Obe G. INIorrison . 
 
 
 
 
 . 242 
 
 'Mrs. Obe G. aiorrison . 
 
 
 
 
 . 242 
 
 Residence of Obe G. Morrison 
 
 
 
 
 . 242 
 
 " E. G. INIorrison 
 
 
 
 
 . 243 
 
 Mrs. E. G. Morrison 
 
 
 
 
 . 243 
 
 ~ Elm Mills . 
 
 
 
 
 . 244 
 
 'Carter's Mills 
 
 
 
 
 . 245 
 
 Plant of George H. Tilton & S 
 
 on Hosiery 
 
 Co. 
 
 
 . 245 
 
 George Henry Tilton 
 
 
 
 
 . 246 
 
 Hon. Elmer Stephen Tilton 
 
 
 
 
 . 246 
 
 Optical Works 
 
 PA 
 
 RT 11. 
 
 
 
 . 247 
 
 Charles Haines Ayers . 
 
 Samuel Butler Brown . 
 - Stephen Chase Tavern . 
 
 Thomas Stevens Clough 
 
 William Henry Clough . 
 
 Residence of the late William 
 ' Amos Moody Cogswell . 
 
 Benjamin F. Cofran 
 
 Hannah Tebbetts Curry 
 
 H. Clough 
 
LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 
 
 XIX 
 
 John S. Dearborn .... 
 
 
 
 
 89 
 
 - ]\Irs. John S. Dearborn . 
 
 
 
 
 89 
 
 V James Earnshaw .... 
 
 
 
 
 101 
 
 "^Cutting Follansby 
 
 
 
 
 110 
 
 / Jason Foss ..... 
 
 
 
 
 119 
 
 "Frank J. French .... 
 
 
 
 
 122 
 
 Benjamin F. Gale .... 
 
 
 
 
 124 
 
 Alfred A. Gile .... 
 
 
 
 
 130 
 
 ^Mrs. Alfred A. Gile 
 
 
 
 
 130 
 
 ^ Homestead of the late Alfred A. Gile 
 
 
 
 
 132 
 
 l/ James Glines .... 
 
 
 
 
 144 
 
 1^ Mrs. James Glines 
 
 
 
 
 144 
 
 i/ James Glines Homestead 
 
 
 
 
 144 
 
 ^ Residence of Gawn E. Gorrell 
 
 
 
 
 153 
 
 t/Clough Gorrell .... 
 
 
 
 
 154 
 
 1/ Mrs. Clongh Gorrell 
 
 
 
 
 154 
 
 {/ Gawn E. Gorrell . 
 
 
 
 
 154 
 
 {, Obadiah Hall, Jr 
 
 
 
 
 158 
 
 *^Parker Hannaford 
 
 
 
 
 166 
 
 t/John Heath . ' . 
 
 
 
 
 172 
 
 t Capt. David Hills Homestead 
 
 
 
 
 175 
 
 [/Susannah Cole Hills 
 
 
 
 
 175 
 
 AVarren Smith Hills Family . 
 
 
 
 
 179 
 
 ^Frank Hills 
 
 
 
 
 180 
 
 I/Mrs. Joseph Hills' Residence . 
 
 
 
 
 182 
 
 •Hon. Hiram Hodgdon . 
 
 
 
 
 184 
 
 -Deacon Joseph Hunkins 
 
 
 
 
 188 
 
 ^Roy Thurston Kimball . 
 
 
 
 
 200 
 
 ^Thomas W. Long .... 
 
 
 
 
 211 
 
 "Addie Gorrell Long 
 
 
 
 
 211 
 
 *'Morrill Moore . . 
 
 
 
 
 230 
 
 /]\rorrison Brothers 
 
 
 
 
 232 
 
 'Asa Osgood and Old Bill 
 
 
 
 
 244 
 
 ' IMary French Phelps 
 
 
 
 
 249 
 
 Abraham Waldron Rand * 
 
 
 
 
 258 
 
 ;Ianthe Blanchard Rice . 
 
 
 
 
 262 
 
 'Fannie Rice ..... 
 
 
 
 
 263 
 
 ^Enoch Rogers, Jr. .... 
 
 
 
 
 268 
 
 •Robertson Arms and Crest, with Homeste 
 
 ^d 
 
 
 
 273 
 
XX 
 
 I 
 
 LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 
 
 James P. Robertson 
 ' James L. Robertson and Mrs. Robertson 
 
 Hodgdon Family .... 
 ^ Charles H. Robertson . 
 J Late Residence of Daniel Sanborn . 
 >^ Byron Shaw .... 
 
 \/Mrs. Byron Shaw .... 
 7 Frank W. Shaw . . . ' 
 
 ,/ Jeremiah Smith .... 
 i Jeremiah Eastman Smith's Residence 
 ^ Jeremiah Tilton 's Residence . 
 i Col. Jeremiah C. Tilton 
 . Alfred Edwin Tilton 
 , Julia Batchelder Tilton 
 .. Joseph Sullivan Tilton 
 - John Clough Tebbetts 
 . Alfred Clifton Wyatt 
 ' Smith W. Cofran . 
 
 Mark G. Keasor . 
 
 . 274 
 
 2741/2 
 , 276 
 276 
 278 
 287 
 287 
 288 
 292 
 295 
 303 
 303 
 305 
 306 
 306 
 308 
 330 
 336 
 338 
 
BIOGRAPHIES. 
 
 PART I. 
 
 
 
 
 
 Ballantyne, Adam S 240 
 
 Gate, Asa P., Hon. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 160 
 
 Chamberlain, John, Rev. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 23 
 
 Chase, Charles G. . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 237 
 
 Clough, Liicien B., Hon. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 . 161 
 
 Cross, Jeremiah 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 97 
 
 Cross, Oliver L. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 162 
 
 Dearborn, Sam G., M. D. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 154 
 
 Dearborn, Thomas Benton, M. 
 
 D. 
 
 
 
 
 
 158 
 
 Eastman, Franklin J. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 232 
 
 Firth, Richard 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 240 
 
 Forrest, Samuel Warren 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 164 
 
 Gile, Joseph . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 151 
 
 Gile, Mary ]\Targaret 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 167 
 
 Gile, William A., Hon. . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 163 
 
 Gilman, Nancy Smith, M. D. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 151 
 
 Glines, Charles C. . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 193 
 
 Gould, Charles R., M. D. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 240 
 
 Hall, Adino B., M. D. . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 153 
 
 Hall, Jeremiah Forrest, M. D. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 151 
 
 Hall, Obadiah J., M. D. . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 155 
 
 Herrick, IMarcelhis A., D. D. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 38 
 
 Hill, Joseph . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 232 
 
 Hills, Daniel E. . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 177 
 
 Hoyt, Enos, INI. D. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 150 
 
 Hunt, Lucian. Prof. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 145 
 
 ]\Iorrison, E. G. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 243 
 
 Morrison, 0. G. . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 242 
 
 Rogers, Benjamin A., Rev. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 166 
 
 Smith, Jeremiah Eastman 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 99 
 
 Smith, Warren H. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 64 
 
 Tilton. Charles Elliott . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 191 
 
XXll BIOGRAPHIES. 
 
 
 
 
 
 Tilton, Elmer S., Hon . .246 
 
 Tilton, George H. . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 . 246 
 
 Tilton, Jeremiah . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 . 238 
 
 AVliicldeu, Parsons 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 . 153 
 
 Whittier, Daniel B., M. D. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 157 
 
 Woodbury, Mark R. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 . 152 
 
 PART II. 
 
 Ayers, Charles Haines ....... 14 
 
 Cofran, Benjamin Franklin 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 64 
 
 Cofran, Smith W. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 . 336 
 
 Cross, Arthur B. . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 . 70 
 
 Cross, Robert Lee . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 71 
 
 Foss, Jason . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 119 
 
 Follansby, Cutting 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 109 
 
 Gile, Alfred A. . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 180 
 
 Hannaford, Parker 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 166 
 
 Herrick, Charles . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 173 
 
 Herrick, Francis, Prof. . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 174 
 
 Hazelton, William C. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 168 
 
 Hills, Frank 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 180 
 
 Hodg'don, Hiram, Col. . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 184 
 
 Morrill, Albro David, Prof. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 235 
 
 Rand, Abraham W. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 258 
 
 Rice, lanthe Blanchard . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 262 
 
 Rice Family 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 263 
 
 Robertson Family . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 273 
 
 Shaw, Frank W. . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 288 
 
 Smith, Jeremiah . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 292 
 
 Tilton, Alfred Edwin . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 305 
 
 Tilton, Jeremiah C, Col. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 303 
 
 Tilton, Joseph Sullivan . 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 347 
 
CHAPTER I. 
 HISTORICAL. 
 
 There are many mimicipalities bearing the name of Xorthfiekl, 
 and, though each lays claim to some particular attractiveness of 
 location or embellishment, Xorthfiekl, Xew Hampshire, has many 
 claims to' consideration that no other can possess. 
 
 Although far inland, beyond the sound of the breakers' roar, 
 it hears on half its border the lap of sweet waters and the bustle 
 of industry from a hundred water wheels. Like Rome, she sits 
 on her "seven hills" and, if from her "throne of beauty" she 
 may not rule the world, she has pretty effectually ruled herself 
 for a century and a quarter. Bean Hill and Bay Hill greet the 
 morning sun and pass it along to Arch Hill and Windfall for 
 the noonday. Horse Hill and The Ledges uphold the dignity 
 of its western slope, while last, but not least, lonely, but lovely, 
 Oak Hill looks down on the shining Merrimack, a silver thread 
 in a web of green, and on a varying expanse of intervale smiling 
 with her wealth of noble elms. Worcester and the Connecticut 
 Valley alone are its rivals. 
 
 There are indications, not to be ignored, that these peaks 
 were once islands. Then our lovely Winuepesaukee, heedless 
 of the call of the Pemigewasset, flowed straight through our 
 borders. At what date, through barriers burst, she "followed 
 the setting sun Franklinward" to join the sister stream and 
 together lose themselves in our lovely Merrimack, we know not. 
 Only deep ravines, ditches, stranded boulders and our smiling 
 Sondogardy, with Wolf Swamp below, remain as incontestable 
 proof of her ancient track to the Merrimack on Canterbury inter- 
 vale. 
 
 Other indications, too, point to a time when volcanic force and 
 arctic glacier ground and crushed; when boulders tumbled from 
 mountain sides; when heat and frost, rain and atmosphere disin- 
 
 2 
 
a HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 tegrated and pulverized, and level stretches of field and forest 
 became the fixed heritage of the coming tillers of its fruitful 
 acres. These things exist and mutely tell their story by their 
 presence. 
 
 Geologists might tell you of mica, schist, quartz and conglom- 
 erates, but the first unlettered native saw in the white, cap rock 
 of Bean Hill the suspicious gleam of gold. -Enough, also, that 
 the potter and brickmaker have never lacked the clay suited to 
 their callings or the most primitive farmer lacked the rocks, big 
 or little, for his mountain fence. 
 
 Hemlock, chestnut, oak and pine, close by the forest streams, 
 where the hum of the primitve saAvmill was heard, mingled with 
 the sound of the woodman's axe, furnished materia>l for the 
 settlers' homes and a score of useful trades. Hence came the 
 fuel to counteract the frost of a thousand biting winters. 
 
 The well-digger, too, has rarely ever failed to find the buried 
 spring or stream for use of man and beast, and, though not 
 naturally a farming town, the years, with their seedtime and 
 harvest, have always brought their bounty to storehouse and 
 barn; and the flocks and herds that graze on her many hills 
 have been a source of wealth. 
 
 And what shall we say of our lovely river, whose sparkling 
 waters, seemingly delighted at any hindrance, climb joyfully 
 the ponderous water-wheel and laugh aloud at the discovery of 
 their power. 
 
 The 43d parallel of north latitude approaches it on the South 
 and it lies midway between the sixth and seventh parallels of 
 longitude, east from Washington, and 69 and 70 "West from 
 Greenwich. The traveler going due East would find himself 
 half round the world in Bordeaux, Genoa and the Crimea. 
 
 BEGINNINGS. 
 
 Northfield was set off from Canterbury June 19, 1780, and 
 was incorporated by its present name because it comprised the 
 north part of the town. In fact, the territory had long been 
 called the north fields. 
 
 Canterbury was granted to Richard Waldron and others in 
 1727 and was incorporated in 1741. The Scotch-Irish from 
 Londonderry took possession of its intervale in 1721. It was for 
 a long time the extreme border town. 
 
HISTORICAL. 3 
 
 The depredations of the Indians made a fort necessary and 
 every man provided himself with suitable means of defense. 
 Not only did the garrison and the few scattered settlers have 
 to contend with wild beasts and the cruel Indian, but there was 
 bitter jealousy between them and the Rumford colony just 
 below. 
 
 Canterbury was a New Hampshire settlement, incorporated 
 by the New Hampshire government, while Rumford (Concord) 
 was settled by ]\Iassachusetts people, and was incorporated by 
 the "Great and General Court," which gave them little help 
 and no protection. 
 
 They were angry because Canterbury was supplied with pro- 
 visions and a competent force of troops for protection, and the 
 feeling did not entirely die out until the brave soldiers of the 
 two settlements had fought side by side in the many, fast-follow- 
 ing wars. 
 
 Capt. Jeremiah Clough, who was later well known in Revolu- 
 tionary history, was furnished with scouts, who made their 
 headquarters at the fort, of which he was the commander, and 
 who, with him, roamed the wooded acres bordering the two rivers 
 and the north fields long before a settler dared choose a home 
 away from the shelter of the fort. ]\Iany of his muster-rolls are 
 still in existence. In the spring of 17-13 he had 20 men for 39 
 days and on ]\Iarch 8 the House voted to pay him £16 12s. lOd. 
 The next November he had six men, and in April and j\Iay seven 
 men. On June 2, 1741, the House voted to pay him £18 for ''ye 
 defense of the government. ' ' In anticipation of the Indian "War 
 in 1746, the garrison was strengthened and he had 11 scouts. 
 
 Captain Clough went along the \\"innepesaukee River as far 
 as the "Great Pond," with a force of 19 men. The garrison 
 furnished bread but their meat was supplied by the game in the 
 forests through which they passed. Tradition says that there 
 were often encounters with Indians and many proofs of their 
 fierce hatred. It was through and through the forests bordering 
 both rivers, on whose banks straggling bands of the St. Francis 
 Indians built their wigwams and on whose waters they paddled 
 their canoes, that the scouts passed, and from their ranks, tra- 
 dition says, came the first settlers of the north fields at the close 
 of the Indian War. 
 
4 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 They were set off from Canterbury in response to a petition 
 from the inhabitants to the Legislature, in the following terms : 
 
 ' ' State of N H, Rockingham ss 
 
 "Canterbury Mar. 30 1780 
 
 "The humble petition of ye Subscribers Inhabitants of ye 
 North part of sd Canterbury to ye Honorable ye President and 
 members of Council and house of Representatives of said State, 
 we your Humble Petitioners Living at a great Distance from ye 
 Center of the Towne Some of us nine or ten Miles and Conse- 
 quently at a very great disadvantage in joining with them all 
 Publick Town affairs, being encouraged Partly by our Living 
 in that Part of ye Town that was Laid out for what was called 
 ye upper Parish and Partly by ye Kind Reception our Request 
 met with which we made to ye Town for a dismission but more 
 particularly by our Confidence in your Honors desire to Pro- 
 mote ye Happiness of every Part of ye State Humbly Pray that 
 Honors would take our Case into your Serious Consideration 
 and grant that we together with all those Live in sd Upper 
 Part may be Erected and Incorporated into a body Politick and 
 Corporate to have Continuance in ye Name of Northfield with 
 all such Powers and Authorities Privileges Immunities and 
 Franchises which other Parishes or Towns in this state in General 
 hold Enjoy wiiich your Petitions as in duty bound Shall forever 
 pray 
 
 ' ' PETITIONES. 
 
 "William Keniston, John Cross, James Blanchard, Jona Wad- 
 leigh, William Williams, Abner Miles, Jeremiah McDaniel, Ben- 
 jamin Blanchard, Thos. Clough, Jun., Joseph Carr, Richard 
 Blanchard, Simeon Sanborn, Thos. Oilman, Charles Glidden, 
 John Dearborn, Joseph Levitt, William Forrest, Shubal Dear- 
 born, Shubal Dearborn, Juu., Jacob Merrill, Aaron Stevens, Jun., 
 Sam'l Miles, John Forrest, Nath'l Whitcher, Thos. Clough, Jacob 
 Heath, George Hancock, John Simons, Joseph Hancock, Benjm'n 
 Collins, Abram Dearborn, Will'm Hancock, NatliT Perkins, 
 James Sid Perkins, Archelus Miles, Edward Blanchard, Aaron 
 Stevens, Reuben Whitcher, Will'm Sanborn, John McDaniel, 
 Eben Kimball, Gideon Switt and Matliew Haines." 
 
 This petition was granted and the northwest part of Can- 
 terbury was set oft' and incorporated by the name of Northfield, 
 
Ni. 
 
 
COPY OF P 
 
 ^'^vtnnwitl'^th^ ?^ ^^"^ original survey which ace 
 vault with the town reconls. transferred to the 
 
ITORS' MAP. 
 
 the Proprietors' Map are to he found in the 
 lilch contains Mrs. Cross' Historical KiH'.unls.) 
 
HISTORICAL. O 
 
 and, in accordance with a vote of the town of Canterbury, passed 
 March 18, 1779, which vote also pro^^ded that Capt. Josiah 
 Miles, David Foster, Capt. Edward Blanchard and Ensign 
 Archelns Miles be a committee to run a line of division. 
 
 In October, 1780, Abial Foster of Canterbury made the fol- 
 lowing return to the General Assembly : 
 
 "Agreeable to the order of the Hon. ye General Assembly I 
 notified a meeting of the Inhabitants of the Town of Northfield 
 on the 17th day of July last past when they met and chose Town 
 Officers as the Law directs. 
 
 ' ' Abial Foster. 
 
 ''Portsmouth, Oct. 30, 1780." 
 
 The boundary line between Northfield and Canterbury lies 
 south of Bean Hill and is nine miles and 126 rods in length. 
 
 The ]\Ierrimack and "Winnepesaukee Rivers constituted its en- 
 tire western and northern boundaries. There was a dispute 
 about Gilmanton line and a vexatious lawsuit about the north 
 end of it is recalled, as the court records are still preserved. 
 While they do not give us the result of the litigation, they afford 
 us some idea of the game and wild beasts then to be found in 
 the forests, and the town in its early meetings offered annually 
 bounties on wolves, bears and wild cats. j\Ir. James Gibson, 
 Josiah ]\Iiles and John Simonds were professional hunters and 
 the latter paid for his farm at the Center, ]\Ir. Hunt says, with 
 the proceeds of a single season's hunting and trapping. 
 
 The former testified, in the suit spoken of, regarding the pres- 
 ence of moose in the vicinity of Coos and the Great Brook, and 
 surrounding meadows. Being asked as to other game, he testified 
 to the presence of beaver, sable, mink, muskrat and black cat. 
 Bears, too, were so common that Mother Blanchard was on the 
 constant watch, as her children played in the woods near her 
 door. They Avere sometimes seen on Bean Hill and the encounter 
 of John Cilley with an over-familiar one is told elsewhere. 
 
 The variety of hill and plain, meadow and woodland, seemed 
 wonderfulh' attractive and settlers came from far and near — 
 from Concord and Bow; from Hampton, Lee and Newbury, 
 ]\Iass. ; from old Salislmry and Haverhill by families and neigh- 
 borhoods. Bean and Bay Hills seemed most attractive, while 
 the ea.sy navigation of the ^Merrimack, with its many locks. 
 
b HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 brought busy families to that location, where the first business 
 houses of the town were established, as told elsewhere. 
 
 In 1828, when the new town of Franklin was organized, a 
 part of this territory was ceded to it. For some reason, not 
 recorded, the union was not agreeable and the same territory was 
 returned by an act of the Legislature of 1830, in the following 
 terms : 
 
 "Chapter 35, Page 319, A. D. 1830. 
 
 "An Act to sever the Town of Franklin and annex a part of 
 the same to Northfield. 
 
 "Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Eepresentatives in 
 General Court convened, that that part of the town of Franklin 
 in the County of ]\Ierrimack which formerly belonged to and 
 constituted a part of the town of Northfield in the County of 
 ]\Ierrimack be, and the same hereby is severed from the town of 
 Franklin and annexed to, and made a part of the town of North- 
 field and all matters and things appertaining to that section 
 of sd town of Franklin hereby annexed to sd town of Northfield, 
 be and remain in the same state and condition as if the same had 
 never been severed from sd town of Northfield. 
 
 "Samuel C. Webster, 
 
 Speaker. 
 "Joseph Harper, 
 President of the Senate. 
 " Approved, July 3, 1830, 
 
 jMathew Harvey, 
 ^'Governor of New Hampshire." 
 
 This act contains certain provisions concerning taxes, use of 
 money and officers serving out their terms, paupers, town debt, 
 etc. 
 
 In 1858, Charles Garland, Stephen Gerrish, Edward Leighton, 
 Jonathan Elkins, Milton Gerrish, J. P. Sanborn and 46 others 
 petitioned to the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives, 
 in General Court convened, at their June session of that year, 
 to be annexed to Franklin, using these words : 
 
 "The subscribers inhabitants and legal voters in the town of 
 Northfield would respectfully represent that their convenience 
 and interest would be much promoted by having that part of 
 the town of Northfield which formerly belonged to the town 
 
•> 
 
 CSV 
 
'''ILTON,B E LKN/^P 
 
lij 
 
 1 
 
HISTORICAL. 7 
 
 of Frauklin together with such other additional territory as 
 the Legislature in their wisdom direct be severed from said town 
 of Northfield and annexed to said Town of Franklin and con- 
 stitute a part thereof, and as in duty bound we will ever pray. ' ' 
 
 The petition was dated April 2, 1858. Its prayer was granted 
 and the act of annexation passed. The latter bore the signatures 
 of N. B. Bryant, speaker of the House, Austin F. Pike, president 
 of the Senate, and William Haile, governor. It was approved 
 June 27, 1861. 
 
 Another act of the Legislature of 1861 disannexed a part 
 of the homestead farms of Samuel Heath and Edward Leighton 
 from the town of Northfield and annexed the same to Franklin. 
 It bears the signatures of Edward H. Rollins, speaker, Herman 
 Foster, president of the Senate, and Nathaniel Berry, governor. 
 It was approved June 27, 1861. 
 
 For the various boundaries, see map. 
 
 Northfield was surveyed and the lots granted long before 
 1780. There were two divisions of 100-acre lots and much of 
 the Avooded section was laid out into smaller ones, said to contain 
 40 acres, though, by actual measure, each size contained an 
 excess of that quantity. They are, with hardly an exception, 
 regularly laid out. (See Proprietors' map.) 
 
 Canterbury had, at the start, set aside 1,000 acres for the sup- 
 port of the gospel. These were early sold, so that, while this 
 land was all within the limits of Northfield, none of the benefits 
 came to the new town. There were, however, two school lots, 
 one of 100 acres and another of 40 acres, and a parsonage lot 
 of 100 acres. 
 
 The 1,000 acres began, according to the early records, *'at the 
 river called Merrimack at the N. W. corner of the hundred acre 
 lot No 9 and extending up said river as the common land lies 
 till the whole tract be completed." Only four of these lay on 
 the Merrimack and five on the Winnepesaukee. No. 9 included 
 the swamp at the mouth of the Kendegeda Brook and No. 10 the 
 field north of Oscar P. Sanborn's. There were unassigned tracts 
 called "Proprietors' Commons," or "Whome Lots," which the 
 town sold to pay the surveyor's bill or to exchange for private 
 land needed for highways. The parsonage lot was sold and the 
 money is, after all these years, available for the purpose origin- 
 ally designed. The school lots were sold and the avails used for 
 
8 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 the first sehoolhouses. Xorthfield contains 17,000 acres or 27 
 square miles and was in Eockingham County until 1823. 
 
 EARLY TOWN MEETINGS. 
 
 The first meetings of the new town were held in private houses 
 and barns, as the weather allowed. James Simonds, at whose 
 house the first one was held on Tuesday, November 21, 1780, 
 was the first moderator, and Archelus Miles was the first clerk' 
 Of these early gatherings, Mr. Hunt has given so full an account 
 in his Centennial address, given in full in its appropriate piace, 
 I will not speak of it further. 
 
 It is not my purpose to give a full list of the recording- clerks 
 of the town. I wish to bear witness to the ease with which the 
 records of the early days can be studied. In 1784 the first tax 
 list was made and all accounts were set down in good form in 
 pounds, shillings and pence. The elegant penmanship of Master 
 Bowles is followed by that of Daniel Hills, and that veteran 
 school teacher, Master Josiah Ambrose. Later we see the elesant 
 hand of that fine teacher of the art, Charles M. Glines, and then 
 follow Bracket Ames, Henry T. and Charles F. Hills, Dr. Gould 
 Charles W. Tilton, Piper Dennis and E. R. Glines— a lono- list' 
 ending with L. H. Llorrill, Elmer Gale and Harry IMuzzey,' 
 making the records as legible as the printed page. 
 
 ROADS. 
 
 The early highways invariably followed the ranges. As no 
 vehicles were used, a hill or two, or a dozen, were no obstacle. 
 Rocks there were in abundance, as everywhere else, and a brook 
 of quite pretentious size, with a log felled across it for pedes- 
 trians, was quite in order. The first changes made in the line of 
 improvement was when some enterprising settler would ex- 
 change a more agreeable route for the range bordering on his 
 farm. 
 
 Sometimes the highways were made more passable by citizens, 
 who would remove the trees for the fuel they afi:'orded. Soon 
 came the call for wider roads to avoid the drifting of the winter 
 snow. This was sometimes provided for by a piece of the com- 
 mon lands being given in return. 
 
 It was not until the rush and hustle of busy life seized upon 
 our ancestors that the shortest, quickest and easiest routes to 
 
HISTORICAL, 9 
 
 church, to store and to mill began to be agitated. The daily 
 stage coach then began to wander anywhere between the third 
 and fifth ranges and the town fathers were kept busy in ex- 
 changing public ways for easier routes. Ofttimes it was for the 
 advantage of a settler to have the stage pass his door and his 
 land was freely given. When the saddle gave way to the vehicle 
 streams must be bridged and stones removed. Then came the 
 law making towns responsible for dangerous highwaj'S, and 
 vexatious suits added grave responsibilities. Every year brought 
 added demands, until we have the present almost perfect system, 
 with its road machinery and roller for the snow. The S^/o-i'Ocl 
 road from Kendegeda Brook to Sanbornton Bridge, across the 
 plains, was opened in 1857. 
 
 The petition for Bay Street from the *'Ben Hill house to an 
 elm tree on land of E. S. Wadleigh, " Avas dated September 3, 
 1849. There was much opposition to this route and both sides 
 secured eminent counsel. Hon. Franklin Pierce appeared for the 
 defendants and Judge Asa Fowler for the petitioners, and legal 
 proceedings were held. 
 
 The road from Zion's Hill to the Grange Fair grounds Avas 
 asked for in a petition, dated August 5, 1895. The petition was 
 granted and the road built the same year. The land damage was 
 only $266. 
 
 The Sanborn turnpike, across the Glidden meadow, was for 
 some years a private way. A company, consisting of Eufus 
 Boynton, Olwin Dow, George F. Weeks and A. B. Wyatt, had 
 the matter in charge. 
 
 The road from Bay Street to Jeremiah Tilton's mill was 
 ordered in 1830 and later took the name of Granite Street. 
 
 BRIDGES. 
 
 The first bridge over the Winnepesaukee was a little farther 
 to the east than the present structure by the Optical Works. 
 It was built in 1763. Three hundred pounds, old tender, were 
 voted towards its construction. 
 
 It must have been used for teams or horseback riders, as 
 Nathaniel Burley, on his way from Canterbury to his new home 
 in Sanbornton, took his family over it with horse and cows. 
 
 IMrs. Burley, says ]\Ir. Runnells, rode on horseback with her 
 two youngest children behind her. In front was a bag con- 
 taining one and a half bushels of meal. Slung over the horse's 
 
■^" HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 
 
 back, saddle-fashion, was a strawbed tick, in which was the 
 barnyard poultry. Holes had been cut in it for breathing places, 
 out of which on either side their heads protruded. 
 
 The father, with two older boys, followed on foot, drivino- 
 two cows. ° 
 
 This was in 1767. A better bridge was built in 1784 Canter- 
 bury assisting. This was carried away by an ice freshet on Feb- 
 ruary 12, 1824, together with dams and mills. 
 
 It must have been replaced at once, as it was the only public 
 means of crossing the river. The records say nothing of it It 
 was the scene of a frightful accident in 1839. Mr. Eunnells 
 says: "A six-horse stage had just left the tavern opposite. When 
 the horses were well on the bridge it fell without a moment's 
 warning. The horses became detached and went with it into the 
 water. Passengers riding on the top were thrown into the stream 
 and floated down to the dam. None of them lost their lives, but 
 only one of the horses was rescued." 
 
 It was at once rebuilt and, with occasional repairs, remained 
 until the present iron structure replaced it. 
 
 When the new road from Kendegeda Brook to Tilton across 
 land of Capt. Isaac Glines and Col. Asa P. Gate, was opened in 
 18o7, a suspension wooden bridge was put across the river, close 
 by the railroad bridge. 
 
 Not many years later it parted in the middle from the weio'ht 
 of accumulated snow and ice and went down the stream. An- 
 other wooden one, with a pier in the middle, took its place, and 
 this was taken away to make room for the present iron structure. 
 These fine iron bridges, which now span the river, were con- 
 tracted for in November, 1881, at a cost of nearly $6,000 They 
 were completed in April, 1882, the entire cost being $5,500, of 
 which Hon. C. E. Tilton contributed $500 and was the pro- 
 moter of the enterprise. The lower one cost $1,000 less than the 
 upper one. 
 
 The plate upon the elevated crosspiece over the entrance to 
 the Xorthfield end of the upper bridge bears this inscription : 
 
 Erected 1881 Pat Apr. 16 1878 
 
 Corrogated Metal Co. Builders 
 
 East Berlin Conu. 
 
 James N". Forrest, 
 Jasou Foss, 
 Gawii E. Gorrell, 
 
 Selectmen of Northjield. 
 
HISTORICAL. 11 
 
 HOLMES BRIDGE. 
 
 There was also a wooden structure spanning the river farther 
 down stream by the old Holmes jNIill, now Tilton j\Iills. 
 
 Mr. Joseph Dearborn says that the bridge was built by sub- 
 scription. "My father," said he, "furnished lumber and labor. 
 Mr. Philip Clough's farm extended south as far as the Colony 
 road and east to Colonel Cate's, including all the old Seminary 
 land and other land bordering on the river. His house stood 
 near the old sawmill and was moved when the railroad ran di- 
 rectly underneath it. This farm was bought by Mr. Holmes and 
 he needed the dwelling for a boarding house. He laid out a 
 3-rod road across the land where Park Street now runs and 
 extended it to the Colony road, purchasing a narrow strip of 
 Col. Simeon Cate for $100 to complete it." 
 
 The road from his house, later owned by Hon. A. H. Tilton, on 
 the Franklin road, down to this bridge, over it and on down past 
 the present fair grounds, w^as on his own land and was never a 
 public highwa}^, although he made a strenuous effort to make it 
 the main traveled route to Canterbury by cutting straight to the 
 Hannaford crossing, where the railroad runs. 
 
 The court, on his petition, sent out a committee, there being 
 no county commissioners then. This committee refused to do it, 
 as the town had lately extensively repaired the other road past 
 the brick church. 
 
 The Holmes bridge was not a durable structure. It became 
 unsafe for want of repairs and was used only for pedestrians 
 for some time. One end became loose and fell into the river and 
 the other was pulled down. 
 
 JEREMIAH TILTON 'S BRIDGE. 
 
 There was a bridge by the upper dam, with the north entrance 
 east of the present box shop, and the south by Dea. Andrew 
 Gilman's brickyard. This must have been the one spoken of by 
 Mr. Runnells, but located lower down the river and which he 
 says was not a substantial one, according to the boy's story of 
 its teetering as he drove across it in 1822. It may have been a 
 private affair and was used by the tovra while rebuilding the one 
 destroyed by ice. It was damaged in some way and, perhaps, 
 destroyed, as the records show a lawsuit by ]Mr. Tilton for dam- 
 
12 
 
 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 ages in 1825. It was voted a year or two later "that the select- 
 men pay him as much as they think best for use of his bridge." 
 
 THE "lOER" bridge. 
 
 The rang^e road passing the Leighton farm originally ran 
 straight to the river, over which was a bridge, which disappeared 
 long ago and was never rebuilt. One committee of the town 
 voted not to accept it and another one was chosen. I can give no 
 further history, although a good story concernino. it is told else- 
 where. The road then was changed and access^o Sanbornton 
 obtained at the Sanborn bridge. 
 
 THE CROSS BRIDGE. 
 
 The Allard bridge, later called the Cross bridge, was a short 
 one, with wooden piers, until the Winnepiseogee Paper Company 
 hroug 1 A^arren F. Daniell, agent, desired to flow their surround-' 
 mg flats by raising the dam near it and an agreement was made 
 with the town through their selectmen to allow them to raise it 
 four feet higher, to make the middle pier of stone and to erade 
 and raise the approaches. They were also to raise the Colonv 
 bridge and rebuild the abutments, maintaining both bridoes ib; 
 ever from damage by water caused by raising the Cross dam 
 
 From time to time the little structures spanning our moun- 
 tain brooks, so susceptible to spring freshets or a drenching storm 
 
 miff '' " '^''''' '' "^°^^ '^'^ brimming river" but 
 Northfield has been, with the exception of the flood of 1869, singu- 
 larly free from expense attendant on replacing bridges. 
 
CHAPTER II. 
 ECCLESIASTICAL HISTORY. 
 
 The early settlers of the town were not all godly men and 
 women, but they were descendants of the Puritans and soon set 
 themselves to erect churches and establish schools. 
 
 At a town meeting, held the 6th of March, 1783, among other 
 things, it was voted to "Build a house thurty By thirty-six for 
 the good of the Paarish to be Built Between william williams 
 and Sconduggody Brook Capt Blanchard Lieut Gliddon and 
 Reuben witcher a Committee to Par Cix A Place to Build sd 
 house. 
 "Voted 
 
 "Esq Gilman should have the Cear of Building sd House 
 "Voted 
 
 "To Raise Seventy Dolows toward Building sd hous" 
 
 On the 2d of February, 1783, it had been voted, "To act 
 upon the warrent in finding Bords, Shingil, Plank & Nails to 
 finish of the meeting hous. 
 "Voted 
 
 "To Bid of the Boords five hundred at a bid and to be deliv- 
 ered at the meeting-hous by the 5tli of March next" 
 
 Five citizens agreed to furnish five hundred boards at 9s. 6d. 
 each. 
 
 Nine others were to furnish 520 foot boards at prices varying 
 from 9s. 6d. to 13s. 6d. Ten also agreed to furnish "1000 
 shingil" at 8s. Board nails were bid off at 6s. 6d. per thousand 
 and "Shingil Nails" at 2s. 6d. and "Window froimes" at 2s. 
 6d, "1 window fraim furnished by Lieut Liford of twenty 
 four Squaires." 
 
 John ]\IcDaniel was to receive said lumber. 
 
 The records show nothing further until April 7, 1786, when 
 Lieutenant Glidden was chosen a ' ' Committee to enclose ye meet- 
 ing hous and to fioor and underpin ye soim" 
 
14 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Then came delay. IMareli 5, 1891, it was voted to "take sum 
 Method to build a town house or meeting house." A committee 
 w^as chosen for that purpose and consisted of "the former three 
 to which W™ Forrieest Mr. Thomas Cross Lieut John Cochran 
 Esq Mathews and N. G. Sanborn" were added. 
 
 They reported March 29 as follows : 
 
 "istiy for to build a house of a midling size 
 
 "2°^iy That the timber, bords. Shingles & Nails be Yendued 
 off in small quantityes 
 
 "Shuch men as shall bid off the Same on the Spot where 
 there house is to be built, the timber is to be on the Spot by June 
 1792 
 
 "3'y The house is to be fraimed and Eaised by the first of 
 September of the same year 1792 
 
 "4iy The house to be all boorded and floored and Shingled 
 in the said month of Sept." 
 
 June 7, 1791, the town voted to set the house at "the Cruch 
 of the Roads where it Crosses the main Road about Eighty Rods 
 below Esq Gilmans as the Road goes from Gilmanton to Salis- 
 bury ' ' 
 
 In March, 1792, it was voted to raise no money to build a 
 meeting-house. 
 
 March 7, 1793, it was voted to build a meeting-house and 
 Colonel Greeley, Esquire Harper and Captain McCrillis, all non- 
 residents, were chosen to pitch upon a "small place where it 
 should stand," and a new committee was appointed, only one 
 of the old board. Captain Blanchard, being retained. 
 
 March 28, 1793, the locating committee reported as follows: 
 
 "We have carefully examined the situation of sd Parish and 
 find the most convenient spot to be on Esq Charles Gliddens 
 land near his gate a Little North of Capt Stephens Haines 
 Dwelling House in sd ground we have set two stakes for the 
 front of sd house or as near as is convenient." 
 
 The report was signed by Samuel Greeley, David IMcCrillis and 
 William Harper. 
 
 The matter of location being settled, the work went steadily 
 on. All the first-class workmen were from out of town. 
 
 The nails were forged out by hand on the spot by a professional 
 who came with forge and material. Grandfather Knowles turned 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. 15 
 
 the balusters and the corner stone was probably laid without 
 ceremony. But the raising was a great event. It had been an- 
 nounced for the second week in September and great prepara- 
 tions had been made for a grand picnic dinner. Elder Crockett 
 of Sanbornton was invited to make a prayer and to give a re- 
 ligious tone to the occasion. The large granite blocks for the 
 underpinning had been put in place and the sills were laid. 
 
 Thus the ceremonies began ! Master Builder "William Durgiu 
 stood on the southeast corner with a bottle of New England rum in 
 his hand. Filling a glass, he passed it to the good minister, after 
 spilling some on the ground, and then to the dignitaries present. 
 Tradition does not say at what stage of the proceedings the long 
 and fervent prayer was offered, but it does say all drank their 
 fill. It is safe to say that none of the workmen drank to excess, 
 as it required strong arms and clear heads to swing the massive 
 timbers to their place, and not the slightest accident marred 
 the day's festivities. "When the evening shadows fell the struc- 
 ture was ready for the roof. The dense forest, east of the house, 
 from whence the large beams and rafters had been taken, fur- 
 nished an ideal place for the bountiful repast. An ox cart, 
 filled with white and brown loaves, furnished by the good women 
 of Bay Hill, had appeared in due time and, being driven to its 
 place in the shade, required the strong arm of Qapt. David 
 Hills, supplemented by his limber ox-goad, to protect it from the 
 hungry, fun-loving boys, who, no sooner routed from a rear at- 
 tack, appeared in front, and so on in rapid alternation, while 
 his good wife on horseback, with babe in arms, brought the kettle 
 strapped behind, in which ^Mother Knowles was to prepare the 
 fish and potato, which was to be the main dish of the feast. 
 
 There were baked beans, of course, and various other dishes, 
 familiar to our ancestors, all ready at the stated time. 
 
 The morrow showed greater enthusiasm and larger numbers. 
 The roof timbers were easily lifted to their places amid cheers 
 and jokes from the lookers-on, and when the ridgepole was iu 
 place one nimble lad stood on his head upon it with his feet iu 
 the air. He had previously distinguished himself by being the 
 first child born in the new town. Another bountiful feast was 
 served in the grove and the barrel of New England rum, in the 
 store building opposite, was again generously patronized. The 
 
16 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 afternoon was given up to sports of various kinds. Nimble-footed 
 boys ran races up the hill and men with sacks of potatoes on 
 their backs vied with each other in speed. They wrestled; 
 climbed trees; lifted weights; and carried each other on their 
 backs. Baseball, lawn tennis or golf had never been heard of^ 
 3^et there was no lack of sport. Night came all too soon and all 
 departed to their homes; the master builder and his trained work- 
 men rejoicing in a mechanical success; the religious men and 
 w'omen happy in being able to assist in establishing the preaching 
 of the gospel in their newly-chosen home ; and the girls and 
 boys sure they had had the one great time of their lives. 
 
 A special meeting was called at the meeting-house on Decem- 
 ber 2, 1793, to provide for finishing it. It was voted that the 
 lime and finish material, except the glass, be struck off to the 
 lowest bidder and that the work should be completed by the first 
 day of October, 1791. 
 
 The vote to paint it is not recorded until March 9, 1800, 
 
 There was probably no dedication, as the raising had exhausted 
 all the sentiment, and, besides, the house was to serve a double 
 purpose. Several special, as well as the annual town meeting, 
 had been held in it before its completion. 
 
 It did not follow the lines of modern architecture, with tower, 
 gables, cornices and pillared entrances. It w^as plain, as you see 
 it now in its severe outline and almost repulsive angularity, but 
 it was after the then prevailing style and, if not a thing of 
 beauty, was a joy for a long series of years. 
 
 The selling of the pews began to be agitated in 1820 and 
 eventually they were all owned by individuals. One sold at 
 auction on April 8, 1807, was struck off to Enoch Kogers at 
 $30.50. 
 
 All denominations worshiped in it, as the town directed at the 
 annual meeting, and for several years a certain sum of money 
 was raised to hire preachers and a suitable person was chosen to 
 expend it. In fact, in 1797, it was voted that ''The selectmen 
 supply the pulpit the ensuing year" and £30 was raised. 
 
 Let us in imagination look in upon this little company of w^or- 
 shipers of the long ago. 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. 17 
 
 SUNDAYS OF THE LONG AGO AT THE OLD MEETING-HOUSE. 
 
 Let US go back to 1820. It is a bright Sunday moruiug in 
 June. Breakfast and family worship are over. The cows are 
 milked and driven to pasture led by old Brindle with her noisy 
 bell. Cream-colored Jerseys and spotted Herefords were not 
 then known. The chores are all done and everything made 
 snug and safe, though the doors are guiltless of either bolts or 
 bars, for the ubiquitous tramp has not yet begun his travels. 
 We hastily don our home-woven garments and briskly take our 
 departure on foot, while father, mother and the younger ones of 
 our little flock are getting ready to follow on horseback. We 
 are barefooted, of course (at least at the start), and soon fall 
 in with others bound for the same shrine, until the highways and 
 byways, leading north, south, east and west, are alive with 
 coming worshipers. From out mysterious bundles come now 
 carefully-kept morocco shoes and calfskin boots, which are has- 
 tily put on by the wayside, and many a treasured silk dress is 
 hastily donned at some neighbor's house nearby. There is no 
 sweet-toned bell to ring out its call to worship or greet us as we 
 arrive, and the solemn-faced minister must set his own pace as 
 he passes slowly to his wonted place in the pulpit, beneath the 
 large sounding-board. This was the only glimpse we had of the 
 busy world and social life, and the greetings were cordial and 
 honest. Up to the horse block, close by the door, they come. 
 The sire, from his finely upholstered saddle, springs hastily down, 
 thus displaying a saddle cloth that has grown beautiful under the 
 skillful fingers of her, who now sits stately on the pillion with 
 babe in arms, perhaps, and a rosy-cheeked lad or lassie clinging 
 to her from behind. She slips proudly down, shakes out her 
 rumpled dress, puts the children in shape, while the horse is 
 led away to its hitching post. The older boys and girls have now 
 arrived and all prepare for a dignified entrance. Did they care 
 how they looked in these old times? Where else did the styles 
 have a chance to display themselves ? Who will criticize Mrs. So 
 and So if she whispers into her neighbor's ear what her last 
 web Avas colored with or how many yards of frocking she had 
 woven the past week ? Next comes the latest bride and groom on 
 their horses and elegant saddles, which formed a part of 
 their marriage dower. How gallantly he helps her to alight, 
 3 
 
18 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 and, clad in their dainty bridal garments, they march pom- 
 pously in. She is greeted with smiles and nods as he leads 
 her to her first sitting in the family pew. And still they come — 
 old Revolutionary uniforms, cocked hats, long waistcoats, knee 
 breeches, silver shoe buckles and all. jMother's calash is rather 
 large, but she thus shows she is well to do and can afford it, and, 
 besides, there is every style of headgear that can be seen in 
 a modern crowd. The square pews, like so many sheep pens, 
 are filled and the doors shut and fastened, and only the heads 
 of the taller ones are visible above the heavy grills around the 
 top. There are no cushions on the narrow plank seats that turn 
 back on their hinges as the family rises, as they are bound to do 
 during the long, long prayers, and let fall with most unseemly 
 clatter when came the ever-welcome amen. 
 
 The heavy plank seats in front of the double doors were used 
 by the communicants when the Lord's Supper was spread. They 
 were quite like modern pews, save that they were longer, and in 
 front sat the deacon in charge of that day's service, overhung 
 by the swell front of the high pulpit above. But, listen, the 
 minister rises and announces the oj)ening hymn in this wise : ' ' Let 
 us sing to the praise of God from "Watts' and Select Hymns No. 
 120, long meter," which he does not read. Good Deacon Abbott 
 now rises from his hiding place, read}^ to perform his stated 
 duty. The chorister has already selected the tune and let us 
 hope the choir has rehearsed it faithfully. The tuning fork is 
 produced and the leader, biting it, rolls his eyes toward Heaven, 
 sounds out his do, mi, sol, do, then turning to his choir, who 
 lean towards him, he gives the keynote, which they sound out 
 clear and loud. Now the lines are read by the deacon and sung 
 by the choir until the usual number of verses are accomplished. 
 
 They were not all simple tunes, for many a choice anthem was 
 sung as a voluntary, in which the deacon had no part. The 
 singers were expected to do duty on other occasions, and many 
 a sad funeral was made doubly dolorous by the misguided taste 
 that could offer such comfort as came from the old hymn : 
 
 "Hark, from the tombs a doleful sound 
 My ears attend the cry, 
 Ye living men, come view the ground 
 Where you must shortly lie." 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. 19 
 
 Then follows the long- appeal to Heaven for all ranks and 
 conditions of men, and especially for some stricken family, who 
 have sent in a written request for the prayers of the church 
 and congregation that their recent bereavement might be sancti- 
 fied to their spiritual good. 
 
 The elaborate sermon, in accordance with the prevailing cus- 
 tom, is doctrinal and elaborates the accepted creed of the church. 
 The minister spreads out his generous manuscript, announces 
 his text, and gives the almost numberless divisions and subdi- 
 visions that cluster in and around the theme. Each in turn is 
 elaborated and proved and our well-nigh exhausted spirits are 
 at last relieved by the trite announcement, **In view of this 
 subject I remark first." These were often carried to eighthly, 
 ninthly, lastly and finally. This was good old orthodox style, 
 when sermons must be long to be in good form. But we do not 
 go home even now. There is no Sunday School as yet and we 
 sit in the shade behind the house and eat apples and the ginger- 
 bread our mother so carefully provided, while the men gather 
 about the grounds in groups, talk over the coming elections or 
 discuss the weighty matters of national politics. The pastor is 
 again seen wending his way to the pulpit and so again we enter. 
 The service is an exact counterpart of the morning, save that 
 the sermon is a practical one. Just befoi"e the benediction a 
 clatter of hoofs is heard. The rider hastily dismounts and ap- 
 pears at the open door. It is the "crier," perhaps the town 
 clerk, who enters hastily and, with a loud voice, announces that 
 
 marriage is intended between and , giving the 
 
 full names. This "publishment" must be given in three differ- 
 ent public places and so the rider is off again ere we recover our 
 breath. Sometimes he prefaced the announcement with "Hear 
 ye!" and gave the added order, "If any one knows any reason 
 why this marriage should not take place, let him speak now or 
 ever after keep silence. ' ' 
 
 But we must not forget the tithingman. He, of course, is 
 present with his "rod," not unlike a modern fish pole in size and 
 length, tapering to the end. His duty it is to preserve order, 
 expel offenders and, passing from place to place in the front 
 row of the gallery, reach down to the sleepers below and tap 
 them on the head. The giggling girls and whispering boys are 
 
20 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 his especial charges, and those whose "eyes looked love to eyes 
 that spoke again," and other misdirected eyes that peeped 
 through Grandfather Knowles' balusters to some responsive ones 
 in the nearest inclosure instead of looking straight to the min- 
 ister, as they were in duty bound. 
 
 But we must not forget our colored friends for whom the 
 house had special privileges in shape of a narrow seat at the 
 top of the liight of stairs leading to the gallery. Sampson and 
 Pompey could occupy the allotted space in the east wing and 
 Phyllis and Dinah the west. Let us hope the doors were always 
 left open so the service could reach them, or that otherwise they 
 were allowed to go within the sacred enclosure. 
 
 But the end came at last, as the tired preacher closed his book 
 and said, with uplifted hand, "Peace be with you all. Amen." 
 
 The hungry and impatient horses, that have stamped and 
 neighed for the last hour, now receive their burdens and gallop 
 swiftly toward "pastures green." 
 
 Sunday night is Lovers' Night! The Isaacs and Rebeccas 
 linger a little behind. "Home tonight?" he wdiispers in a voice 
 he thinks no one hears. She answers with a nod and a blush, 
 and then they go their several ways, each and all satisfied that 
 the day has been kept, if not in accord with the third com- 
 mandment, at least according to customary usage. 
 
 After the Congregationalists went to worship at the academy, 
 this house was abandoned, except for business purposes and an 
 occasional school exhibition. 
 
 The first anniversary exercises of the Seminary were held 
 here and were attended by a great concourse. "When the town 
 bought the brick church for its business meetings, it fell into 
 decay and was owned by several private individuals in turn, 
 until purchased of Joseph Hill by Hon. C. E. Tiltou and re- 
 moved to the fair grounds, at great expense and trouble, by 
 George L. Theobald of Concord. It was put in good repair and 
 used as an exhibition hall. It seems most fitting that North- 
 field's Old Home Day exercises should be held in it. 
 
 FREEW^ILL BAPTIST CHURCH. 
 
 This sketch begins very properly with the biography of Elder 
 Winthrop Young, since Northfield and Canterbury were one 
 when this sect was first established and very soon spread to the 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. 21 
 
 utmost western limits of the town on the ]\Ierrimack River 
 intervale. 
 
 He Avas born in Barrington in 1753. "When about 22 years old 
 he married the sister of Mica j ah Otis. Mr. Young's name appears 
 with the latter 's among the nine petitioners from the Strafford 
 Church to New Durham for help, after the Shaker delusion in 
 1782, which wrecked whole churches. 
 
 In 1787 he removed to Canterbury, where he was chosen cap- 
 tain of the militia, and his tall, fine figure and courteous man- 
 ners won him esteem and renown. 
 
 In 1793 Eev. Benjamin Randall visited the town and baptized 
 a number, and Mr. Young became deeply interested and zealous. 
 
 In June, 1796, he was ordained pastor of the Free Baptist 
 Church and entered upon a useful pastorate of 35 years. 
 
 In 1798 he baptized 30 in Canterbury and in 1800 a remarkable 
 religious interest sprang up in New Hampton, chiefly through 
 his labors. Here he organized a church of 64 members and for 
 eight months the work continued until 114 had been baptized 
 and added to the church. 
 
 Besides his regular duties at home, he held meetings regularly 
 at the Oak Hill schoolhouse and Mr. Piper's barn. June, 1824, 
 was a revival season and many converts were baptized by him in 
 the river. He was often assisted by the Rev. John Harriman and, 
 still later, by the Rev. Joseph Harper, M. D., and Elders Jere- 
 miah and Joseph Clough, all of whom were ordained the same 
 day in Canterbury. 
 
 Elder Young established a church at the Oak Hill schoolhouse 
 and a Sabbath School, which was maintained for many years. 
 I\Iany of the new comers to that region were Methodists and 
 when the brick meeting-house was built, it proved more attractive 
 than the unpretentious schoolroom and many were attracted to 
 it and interest in the little society declined. 
 
 Soon after the Adventists and iMethodists held services in 
 groves and private houses during the summer months and the 
 Sunday School was very regularly maintained. In 1822, at the 
 age of 70, he was still in the work and baptized a number at 
 Northfield in 1832. After a long life, spent in loving service 
 for the ^Master, he passed suddenly into the higher life on Jan- 
 uary 6, 1832. Still the good cause did not languish. The Sun- 
 
22 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 day School flourished and meetings were held in suitable weather 
 in Thomas Chase's grove, as the schoolhouse proved inadequate. 
 
 Rev. John Chamberlain reorganized this church in 1858 and, 
 under his care, it reached a membership of 40. (See por- 
 trait and sketch.) He was ordained July 4 in the woods by the 
 Rev. J. B. Davis. A wonderful story is told by many partici- 
 pants in that service, numbering some 1,500 people, of a won- 
 derful instance of immediate answer to prayer. 
 
 During the afternoon a shower developed in the west, increas- 
 ing to alarming proportions. The crowd grew restless, as there 
 was no shelter, and soon became greatly alarmed, as the storm 
 was accompanied with deafening thunder. It crossed the river 
 and the sound of the big drops rattled in the neighboring tree 
 tops. 
 
 Coming to the front of the platform, ]\Ir. Chamberlain knelt 
 with his face to the coming storm and never was a more fervent 
 appeal made to "Him who holds the winds and waters in his 
 hand," than was there uttered. 
 
 Suddenly, as the great drops came nearer, a sharp gust of 
 wind turned the edges of the cloud aside and the storm passed 
 to the North without a drop having fallen on the crowd. The 
 effect was instant and a season of thanksgiving followed. ]\Iany 
 of those present call it a miracle to this day. 
 
 After Mr. Chamberlain's departure to other fields of labor, 
 the Belknap Quarterly Meeting Association supplied preaching 
 for one year, thus making the supply constant for a dozen 
 years. 
 
 From 1872 to 1883 Elders Higgins of Canterbury, Preseott 
 and Hadley of Franklin, Rev. John Fogg and others, students 
 from the New Hampshire Conference Seminary, furnished a con- 
 stant supply. 
 
 Mrs. James Thompson and "Willie Keniston were active in 
 reorganizing the Sunday School in 1875, and Moses Batehelder 
 served as its superintendent until his death. The old library 
 was enlarged, an organ secured, and, on the completion of Union 
 Church, moved to its present location and is still in a flourish- 
 ing condition. 
 
 The Baptist Church is now, as then, the only organization in 
 that part of the town and holds its services regularly and has 
 largely, with the Methodists, conducted the Sunday School. 
 
i 
 
 REV. JOHN CHAMBERLAIN. 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. 23 
 
 Dea. Charles H. Ayers (see portrait and sketeli) was for 
 many years its most faithful member and generous supporter. 
 
 REV. JOHN CHAMBERLAIN. 
 BY REV. FREDERICK L. WILEY. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 "To be well born is better than to be born rich." Then, in the town 
 of Loudon, state of New Hampshire, on the 27th of November, in the 
 year of our Lord 1S21, John Chamberlain entered into a goodly heri- 
 tage. His ancestry on both sides reach back through clearly mai'ked 
 lines to the colonial settlers of Massachusetts and Southern New 
 Hampshire. They bore an honorable record in the affairs of both 
 church and state. 
 
 They were mostly sturdy farmers, but among them were representa- 
 tives of all useful industries and professions. There were college men, 
 doctors, clergymen, lawyers and statesmen. They were very patriotic 
 and were active, both as soldiers and officers in all the historic wars 
 for the establishment and defence of the American nation. 
 
 John was the second of seven children born to Dea. John Abbott and 
 Polly Clough Chamberlain. Judge Sylvester Dana, law partner of 
 former president Franklin Pierce, in his memorial of Deacon Cham- 
 berlain, spoke of him as: "An honest man in whom there was no 
 guile; an intelligent man of sound judgment, who readily perceived 
 both truth and error; a fearless man who dared sustain the right, 
 however unpopular." These, with other sterling characteristics, were 
 transmitted to the subject of this sketch and to his children. 
 
 The education which John was able to glean from the district school 
 was supplemented by courses at Pembroke Academy and New Hamp- 
 ton Institution. He was an omnivorous reader, had a tenacious mem- 
 ory and was a close observer of current events. The Free Baptist 
 Church, the church of his parents, the church of his early religious 
 associations, was the church of which he became a member at con- 
 version. A long and severe struggle respecting his duty to preach 
 the Lord's gospel eventuated in his ordination on July 4, 1S5S. The 
 services were held in a beautiful grove near the Oak Hill school- 
 house in Northfield and were witnessed by more than 1,500 people. 
 
 The year following his ordination, Mr. Chamberlain traveled, as an 
 evangelist, about 5,000 miles and preached on an average one sermon 
 for each day. Near the close of 1859 he organized a church in Penacook, 
 over which he settled; but when the national war broke out nearly 
 all the male members followed him to the front and the church be- 
 came extinct. His war record was unique and brilliant. He acted 
 under a special commission from Governor Berry to care for the sick 
 and wounded soldiers of New Hampshire. In this capacity he was not 
 only a great help to disabled soldiers, but saved the state much treas- 
 ure. 
 
24 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Among the pastorates held by Mr. Chamberlain were those at Pena- 
 cook, Canterbury, Meredith Center, Meredith Oak Hill, Lisbon, Stark, 
 Lower Gilmanton, West Salisbury, Canterbury Center and Northfleld. 
 Fi'om 1881 to 1890 he was chaplain of Merrimack County Almshouse 
 where, in addition to general good work, he organized a Sunday 
 School and established a library. 
 
 Mr. Chamberlain had, to some extent, a poetic gift and composed 
 several hymns which were copied into popular collections. These he 
 sang with marked effect, notably "The Gospel Train." He was also 
 gifted in prayer and used these, with other endowments, to profit in his 
 evangelistic work. His sermons were well arranged, copiously illus- 
 trated and were generally delivered with much pathos. 
 
 His strong individuality made him seem to some a bit eccentric in 
 methods and manners. But he was abundant in good works along all 
 ordinary lines of ministerial effort and he did a work for humanity 
 that but few of his brethren were furnished by nature and grace to 
 accomplish. Exact statistics could not be found among his papei's, but 
 it is known that he officiated at a large number of weddings and 
 funerals; that he baptized hundreds of converts and that scores of 
 souls, converted under his evangelistic efforts, were gathered to church 
 membership by other pastors. 
 
 With the dawn of January 1, 1893, the liberated soul of John Cham- 
 berlain went out from its Northfleld home and up to that city "whose 
 builder and maker is God." After an impressive funeral service at 
 the Northfleld church, sustained by the Revs. J. Erskine, Lewis Mal- 
 vern, Irving W. Coombs and Frederick L. Wiley, and the Masonic 
 fraternity, the remains were borne to Bedford, N. H., for interment. 
 
 On the 9th of May, 1848, Mr. Chamberlain was married to 
 Amanda M. Johnson, who bequeathed him three children. Charles 
 Judson is a prosperous citizen of Ponkapog, Mass; Mary C, now Mrs. 
 Henry A. Aldrich, lives at Cambridge, Mass.; and Nellie B., now Mrs. 
 William W. Darrah, resides at Dedham, Mass. These are all sur- 
 rounded by happy families of their own. This wife and mother was 
 called to her celestial reward July 22, 18G7. Her successor, Irena 
 Bachelder, was inducted into the family by marriage September 29, 
 1868, and presided over the household till its disruption by death. 
 By a recent marriage she is now Mrs. Charles C. Noyes of Concord. 
 
 METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 
 BY REV. D. C. KNOWLES, D. D. 
 
 In the spring of 1804 two JMethodist preachers, Caleb Dustin 
 and Lewis Bates, were appointed to the Bridgewater circuit. 
 
 As they rode through the town of Northfleld, they were im- 
 pressed with the beauty of its hills and felt that "God ought to 
 have a work in this region for them." 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. 25 
 
 They told the people they met who they were and that they 
 would gladly hold religious services if they were desired aud 
 if any one would open his house and circulate the information. 
 
 Deacon Jonathan Clough, a Baptist residing on Bay Hill, 
 responded to their request and invited them to preach in his 
 home. The house is still in existence, having been occupied 
 through the century just closed by the descendants of the family, 
 and being very recently sold by the widow of "Wm. H. Clough. 
 
 Rev. Lewis Bates, grandfather of ex-Governor Bates of ^lassa- 
 chusetts, accepted the invitation and preached a sermon from 
 the text, *'I was a stranger and ye took me in." The people 
 were deeply interested in the discourse of this faithful itinerant 
 and requested further services, and Joseph Knowles, residing 
 on Bay Hill nearby, offered his home for a second service, which 
 was held two weeks later, Caleb Dustin preaching the sermon. 
 A regular appointment was made for a meeting every two weeks. 
 
 At one of these services, shortly after their beginning, the 
 people were deeply moved by the earnest appeals of the preacher 
 and several were converted. A class, consisting of Joseph 
 Knowles and wife, Josiah Ambrose and wife, and four sisters, 
 Susanna, Sarah, Hannah and Eunice Morse, Avas formed. Others 
 were quickly added, among whom were Alice Glidden, Lottie 
 Ellison, the mother of Benjamin F. Butler, and Mrs. Polly Wad- 
 leigh Fullerton, later Mrs. Capt. Isaac Glines, mother of Mrs. 
 William Clough, and thus was formed the nucleus of the jMetho- 
 dist Episcopal Church of Xorthfield and Tilton. 
 
 In 1805 Martin Ruter visited Xorthfield and baptized nine 
 persons in the pond on Bay Hill, and in the spring of 1806 he 
 was appointed by Bishop Hedding at the conference held in Ca- 
 naan, the first regular pastor of the church, which had been or- 
 ganized with a membership of 31 persons. 
 
 A parsonage was built for him on Bay Hill, the foundations 
 of which are still visible. By vote of the town he was permitted 
 to cut wood from the parsonage lot for his own fire, "provided 
 he leaves the fences in good order. ' ' 
 
 The ]\Iethodists were also permitted to occupy occasionally 
 the Union Church, now located on the Grange Fair ground, but 
 some, not relishing their teachings, a discussion arose and the 
 itinerants were coiitent to make use of schoolhouses, private 
 
26 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 dwellings and barns for tlieir services, until in due time a brick 
 church was built for their exclusive use, which is now the town 
 hall of Northfield. 
 
 The church grew wath amazing rapidity from conversions and 
 the influx of new settlers. Among the latter W'as Chase Wyatt, 
 an ardent jMethodist from Sandown, whose descendants are still 
 prominent factors in the church and community. The ministers 
 were not embarrassed for lack of a church in which to preach, 
 as they were equally at home in barns or forests. Their message 
 of salvation was as large as space and they longed to have the 
 whole w^orld hear it. It is said that Lewis Bates once preached 
 in the grove of Chase Wyatt and that his stentorian voice could 
 be heard a mile away on Bay Hill. 
 
 In 1814 Joseph Knowles, the first member and class leader, 
 died in great triumph. At that time the membership had in- 
 creased to 158 and their unity, zeal and faith had impressed the 
 whole community. They exercised boundless hospitality toward 
 one another and many homes were headquarters for the itiner- 
 ants and the Methodists of surrounding charges. Quarterly meet- 
 ings were great events in their spiritual experiences and not in- 
 frequently they gathered from far and near to enjoy their "love 
 feasts" and to listen to their chief ministers. This unity and 
 brotherliness impressed the people and the remark was not un- 
 common, "See how these Christians love one another." 
 
 In 1828, the new church edifice, now the Northfield tow^n house, 
 was erected and dedicated as a place of worship. 
 
 In 1835 a parsonage w^as purchased and it is still used for that 
 purpose. 
 
 In 18-11, Josiah Ambrose, one of the earliest and most influ- 
 ential members, died. He was universally respected and loved 
 for his solid worth, gentlemanly bearing and modest manliness. 
 He had been for many years a teacher in the community and 
 had w^on the love of his pupils. 
 
 In 1856 the present house of worship, located in Tilton, was 
 erected. The opposition to the transfer of the church home to 
 another town was not serious and the inhabitants of Northfield 
 soon accepted the change as for the best interests of the whole. 
 
 A long list of pastors served the church through the century. 
 At first they changed every year, and, later, every two or three 
 years, but at the present time they are privileged to remain 
 
NORTHFIELD TOWN HALL. 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. 27 
 
 tliu'ing eflScieney or until called away by the exigencies of the 
 work. 
 
 Of some of the 63 who so faithfully and ably filled the desk 
 in the brick church and later in the adjoining town, it will be 
 my duty to speak in this place. 
 
 This church celebrated its 100th anniversary in June, 1905,. 
 and from the able historical address of Rev. J. W. Adams I 
 take, in part, the following regarding some of its best known 
 preachers, who resided in Xorthfield: 
 
 REV. MARTIN RUTER. 
 
 Northfield was first recognized as one of the stations of the Metho- 
 dist Conference in 1S05 and Mr. Ruter was the first supply sent. 
 
 The town records say that there was dissent from his doctrine by 
 Gideon Sawyer and Jesse Cross and that soon after he and his fol- 
 lowers abandoned the meeting-house, which they used alternately 
 with other denominations, and held services at the Bay Hill school- 
 house and in William Knowles' barn. Their converts were baptized 
 in Chestnut Pond. He baptized the first nine members whose names 
 are given elsewhere. Dr. Adams, in his historical address at the Cen- 
 tennial anniversary, says he was born at Charlestown, Mass., April 3, 
 1785. He joined the New York Conference in 1801. He remained in 
 Northfield for several years. Three children were born here. Sybil, 
 the second daughter, was born July 15, 1810. He taught the Bay Hill 
 school and had the superintendency of the others in 1809. He was. 
 presiding elder with his home here and represented the town in the 
 Legislature of ISll. He became a learned man and was principal of 
 Newmarket Academy and Augusta, Ga., College until 1833. From 
 1834 to 1S37 he was president of Alleghany College. Mr. Adams says 
 "he was a man of a generous nature and of great natural abilities 
 and that he bore the title of D. D." He died in Texas. May 16, 1838, 
 having gone there to preach to the destitute. 
 
 REV. LEWIS BATES. 
 
 Rev. Lewis Bates came to the New England Conference in 1806. 
 He was born in 1780 and was a preacher while Mr. Ruter was presiding 
 elder. Mr. Bates was a fine pulpit orator and often held services in the 
 open air. His voice, Mr. Adams says, was "like the blast of an arch- 
 angel's trumpet" and could be heard for long distances. He was a 
 holy man and many converts followed his ministry. 
 
 These were the two men of spiritual might whose voices first heralded 
 the new evangel in Northfield. 
 
 . REV. WILLIAM D. CASS. 
 Mr. Cass is not enrolled as a regular supply but is entitled to a 
 place in Northfield history, as his wife was of the Knowles family, and 
 
28 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 still more for his great interest and labors in securing the Seminary for 
 our town. He was a powerful man in whatever he undertook. He 
 was a resident of Northfield in 1827 when the erection of the brick 
 church was undertaken and mainly through his energy and push it 
 was carried to completion and dedicated September 1, 1S2G. 
 
 REV. GEORGE STORRS. 
 
 Mr. Storrs, who filled the charge in 1829, was a man of great ability 
 and Christian zeal. He had a great following and there were many 
 -converts. He was a powerful antislavery speaker and, attempting to 
 deliver a lecture in the brick church, December 14, 1835, was dragged 
 from his knees while in prayer, taken from the church and arrested as 
 an idler and vagrant, going, a disorderly person, from place to place, 
 •etc. A hearing was held next day and he was acquitted, only to receive 
 similar treatment at Pittsfield and elsewhere. A printed circular 
 concerning the trial is still preserved. Judge Atkinson was the jus- 
 tice and Dr. Hoyt one of the chief witnesses. (See Greeley's History 
 of the Great Rebellion.) 
 
 REV. SILAS QUIMBY. 
 
 Mr. Quimby was preacher for the year 1855, which will be remem- 
 bered as the beginning of the enterprise which took from us the only 
 remaining church. 
 
 The feeling against its removal was, however, not of long duration, 
 as recorded elsewhere, and the church, although outside our borders, 
 has for more than a half century entered largely into the spiritual 
 life of the town. 
 
 These are but a few of the 62 devoted men who served the de- 
 nomination in Northfield, the pioneers in point of time or the 
 leaders in great emerg-eneies, and who were residents here. 
 
 NORTHFIELD CONGREGATIONxVL CHURCH. 
 
 Early in the spring of 1822 there was an organization formed, 
 ■called "The First Religious Society of Northfield," and $150 
 was raised for preaching, but there are no records to show what 
 denominations were included or how long the organization ex- 
 isted in Northfield. 
 
 In July of the same year the Eev. Abraham Bodwell of San- 
 bornton, the Rev. Dr. Woods of Boscawen and the Rev. Asa 
 McFarland of Concord were invited to consult with those Avho 
 were desirous of forming a Congregational Church. After 
 much deliberation it seemed advisable and an orsanization was 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. 29 
 
 effected ou July 18, 1822. There were 16 original members^ 
 namely : 
 
 Elias Abbott and wife, Elizabeth; 
 
 Obadiah Hall and wife, Hannah; 
 
 Obadiah Hall, Jr., and wife, Hannah; 
 
 Susanna Hancock; 
 
 Jeremiah Hall; 
 
 Robert Forrest and wife, Sarah ; 
 
 Ebenezer Morrison and wife, Anna ; 
 
 Mrs. Betsey Brown ; 
 
 Sally Dearborn; 
 
 Dr. Enos Hoyt; 
 
 Abagail Abbott. 
 
 Dr. Wood preached the sermon and administered the sacrament 
 ou that occasion. 
 
 Elias Abbott was chosen deacon and, a little later, Jeremiah 
 Hall was similarly honored. 
 
 Within a year the membership was increased by six and a 
 weekly prayer-meeting established, which has continued regu- 
 larly to the present time. During the 1-1 years following, 90 
 were added to its membership. 
 
 They worshiped at the meeting-house when other denomina- 
 tions were not using it. Often they met at the Centre school- 
 house; sometimes at Bay Hill and, later, at the academy at 
 Sanbornton Bridge. 
 
 The farmers, it was claimed, could more easily go to the vil- 
 lage, which was fast increasing in population, than the village 
 people could go a mile on foot to the old meeting-house ; so that 
 when a new house of worship was anticipated its location was 
 easily decided, and public worship was held in the old academy 
 thereafter. 
 
 A prominent citizen of Sanbornton Bridge, who did not sym- 
 pathize with the antislavery movement, then coming to the 
 front, offered a site free of cost provided the subject of Ameri- 
 can slavery be forever excluded from its pulpit. 
 
 There was not, however, any trouble in securing a site. 
 Three small tracts were purchased, one given and the present 
 site unanimously agreed upon. 
 
 Four prominent men. Dr. Hoyt, William Follansby, Robert 
 
30 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Gray and Esq. Samuel Tilton, agreed to furnish one third of 
 the cost and take their pay in pews. Others pledged themselves 
 to purchase and the work was begun in May, 1838, by a force 
 of workmen from Hopkinton. 
 
 Pastor and people gathered among the timbers at the laying 
 of the corner stone. Rev. Enoch Corser offered prayer. A 
 choir, consisting of Deacon Hall, Hazen Cross, Dr. Hoyt, IMiss 
 Eliza Hall and Miss Sarah Tilton, rendered appropriate music. 
 Five months later the pews were sold, the building paid for 
 and dedicated free of debt. The whole cost, including fur- 
 nishings, bell, etc., was $3,500. The bell, the only one for miles 
 around, was furnished by the Ladies' Circle. 
 
 Does my duty as historian stop here? Far from it. This 
 church has been all through the subsequent years as much — nay 
 more — a factor in the spiritual and social life of Northfield 
 than when that handful of 16 original members gathered around 
 the Lord's table for their first communion. 
 
 It now took the name of "The Northfield and Sanbornton 
 Bridge Congregational Church." 
 
 In 1867 the building was raised and an under story put in. 
 This improvement furnished a vestry and pastor's room, with 
 stairs leading to the pulpit. A kitchen was also added. Mr. 
 Bradbury T. Brown gratuitously furnished the lumber and 
 Jeremiah C. Tilton had charge of the work. 
 
 The gallery was rebuilt in 1882 and the organ placed behind 
 the desk, new seats provided and the room frescoed. It was 
 further improved in 1887 and the seating capacity greatly en- 
 larged. The memorial room, fitted up by the late Selwin Pea- 
 body in memory of his devoted wife, was dedicated January 20, 
 1888. 
 
 The church is now provided with modern improvements, in 
 all of which the Northfield members have generously done their 
 share. Of the 13 who have filled the office of deacon, 10 have 
 been residents of Northfield, as were all the charter members 
 of the church and 12 of the 20 Sunday School superintendents. 
 
 Of the many bequests, those coming from Northfield friends 
 have been in excess of those from others. Of the seven godly, 
 earnest men, who have told the "old, old story" from this desk, 
 four have dwelt within our borders and will be noticed herewith. 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. 31 
 
 Only when the books are opened in the clearer vision of Heaven 
 shall we be able to trace the dim lines and read how God's provi- 
 dence and grace have followed weak, human efforts and suppli- 
 cations. 
 
 REV. LIBA CONANT. 
 
 Rev. John Turner was the first Congregational minister to preach 
 In the old meeting-house and was followed by the Revs. Jotham and 
 Samuel Sewall. 
 
 Rev. Mr. Page of Salisbury fills the record until the coming of Rev. 
 Liba Conant, when the church was organized in 1S22. He was or- 
 dained May 29 1823. 
 
 He is characterized by one, who long sat under his preaching, as "a 
 small man with soft voice and gentle manners, one of the few of 
 whom the world is not worthy." He was a graduate of Brown Uni- 
 versity and this was his first charge. His salary was meager and his 
 father, liking the arrangement, came to reside with him to assist in 
 his support. 
 
 He was especially happy in his marriage service and his house was 
 the scene of numberless weddings. The temperance reform began 
 during his pastorate and was, as elsewhere, the occasion of opposition 
 and bitterness of feeling. The church passed a resolve "that no one 
 be received as a member who trafl&cks in or manufactures ardent 
 spirits and any member who begins to sell shall be disciplined." Mr. 
 Conant and his family were greatly endeared to his people. 
 
 Only seven came to the Lord's table at his first communion. At 
 the last one there were 106. He retired in 1S3G, after 14 years of ser- 
 vice. 
 
 Hazel Lucas followed with one year's service and then came that 
 strong, blunt, eloquent and thoroughly devoted man, 
 
 REV. ENOCH CORSER. 
 
 He was a graduate of Middlebury College in 1811. He had preached 
 in Loudon 20 years and delighted especially to teach the fundamental 
 doctrines of his belief. 
 
 His sermons were models of method, running always to fifthly and 
 sixthly, and his deductions also ran through divisions and subdivisions 
 to lastly and finally. He had a powerful voice and tremendous muscle, 
 which he sometimes used on the desk and Bible in his passages of 
 Intense fervor. Sometimes he marshaled all his powers of invective 
 against the wrong and his attacks were nothing short of storm and 
 siege. It was during his pastorate that the church occupied its new 
 house at Sanbornton Bridge. 
 
 October 29, 1840, he informed his congregation that, whereas the 
 members of the society had property worth $42,000, he could not con- 
 tinue to preach longer for $350. He retired and died at Boscawen, 
 
32 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 after several other pastorates, in ISGS. Dr. Bouton said at his funeral 
 that "he entered most heartilV into all the great missionary, charitable 
 and reformatory measures of the day, was a powerful advocate of 
 temperance and that his sympathies were with the colored race in 
 their bonds and with his country in her mighty conflict with re- 
 bellion." 
 
 REV. CORBAN CURTICE. 
 
 He was not a college graduate, but added to a good common school 
 education a four-years' academic course and three of theological train- 
 ing. His choice of the ministry as a profession was due to a painful 
 misfortune when 21 years old. He was obliged for the rest of his life 
 to go upon crutches. He gave his whole heart and life to his calling, 
 so much so that we never thought but he was one of us, though neither 
 his home nor church were within our borders. 
 
 His frank, open face, as he rode through our byways and highways, 
 smiling and bowing to all he met, was like a benediction, while the 
 ardent clasp of his hand was a thing to be remembered. He was a 
 temperance reformer and in full sympathy with the antislavery move- 
 ment and intensely loyal to the republic during the rebellion and, as 
 all advanced leaders of human thought, had to suffer for his loyalty to 
 truth, to humanity and to God. 
 
 He was accused of political preaching; many disaffected became 
 identified with a new church then being formed, while others with- 
 drew and withheld their support. His salary was in arrears and he 
 resigned his charge. A council called to dismiss him refused to do so, 
 alleging, as the report on the church records shows, that there had. 
 been no evidence presented that he had ever preached in the interest 
 of any political party or for the advancements of its objects; that the 
 imputation was really the result of an intolerant spirit entirely op- 
 posed to the free and charitable spirit of the gospel of our divine Lord. 
 He remained, many returned and confessed their error and seven more 
 years were added to his term of service, making 27 years in all. 
 
 He filled other pulpits for long or short intervals, but remained 
 among his people until his death, February 19, 1881, aged 81 years. 
 
 REV. THEODORE PRATT. 
 
 On Mr. Curtice's retirement. May 1, 1870, Rev. Mr. Pratt follov/pd 
 with a pastorate of five years. He was emphatically a man of peace 
 and by his preaching and work turned men's thoughts away from their 
 contentions to things of higher import. 
 
 The church was never in so good condition for special work as when 
 Rev. Mr. Potter, the evangelist, came to assist the churches in a series 
 of meetings which were productive of great good and brought many 
 workers into the church. The fiftieth anniversary of the founding of 
 the church occurred during his pastorate, to which in all its details he 
 gave the most loving care and, though a stranger to the returning 
 
ECCl-ESIASTICAL. 33 
 
 sons and daughters, they will ever remember the cordiality with which 
 he welcomed them back. He removed to Orfordville in 1S75. He, of 
 all the past pastors, was present at the seventy-fifth anniversary. 
 
 REV. FREDERIC T. PERKINS. 
 
 He was a graduate of Yale and had taken an extended theological 
 course. He was fully abreast of the times, simple and earnest in style, 
 and by his genuine courtesy won the love and confidence of everyone 
 he met. It was during the second year of his pastorate that the after- 
 noon service was discontinued after some debate and opposition. 
 
 He never quite enjoyed the practice of the congregation rising and 
 facing about during the singing of the first and last hymns, and made 
 several futile attempts at its discontinuance. One communion service, 
 in the absence of the choir, they all smiled to find themselves solemnly 
 regarding the organist's back. A little later, on a similar occasion, 
 both choir and organist being absent, he very facetiously told them 
 they could turn around and look at the organ if they wished. This 
 settled the matter, and soon both choir and organ came to the front. 
 
 After a service of nine years he removed to Burlington, Vt., in 1884, 
 where he died nine years later. Mr. Perkins resided in Northfield a 
 large part of the time. 
 
 REV. C. B. STRONG. 
 
 Mr. Strong was a graduate of Amherst College and later of Hartford 
 Theological Seminary. He now resides in Harwinton, Conn. He re- 
 sided in the newly-purchased parsonage on Park Street. His pastorate 
 did not cover quite the year of 1885. He and his wife were fine singers 
 and their love of sacred song rendered the weekly prayer-meetings 
 greatly attractive. He also supplied the desk at Union Church often 
 during his stay. 
 
 REV. CASSANDER C. SAMPSON. 
 
 Mr. Sampson came to the church from Pembroke. He was a grad- 
 uate of Bowdoin College in 1873 and of Andover Theological Seminary 
 in 1878. He, with the church, have just celebrated the twentieth anni- 
 versary of his settlement and the good feeling and outspoken expres- 
 sions of love and appreciation of his earnest efforts through so long a 
 term of years are his best eulogy. Members and pastors of other 
 churches united to do him honor. His influence over the young men 
 and boys has been very salutary. 
 
 In 1872 (liiriiii:: the pastorate of Kev. Theodore Pratt, the 
 church celebrated its fiftieth anniversary Avith appropriate ser- 
 vices and ceremonies lasting three days, the other churches join- 
 ing with it in the delightful festivities. Dr. Iloyt, then of 
 4 
 
34 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Framingham, Mass., to whom more than any one else is ascribed 
 the founding of the church, delivered an able address, full of 
 tender reminiscences. At its close he presented the church with 
 the sum of $300. He was then the only living charter member. 
 (See portrait and sketch in Physicians of Northfield.) 
 
 Again, on July 17 and 18, 1897, the seventy-fifth anniversary 
 was celebrated no less joyfully than the previous one. Arrange- 
 ments were carefully made by the pastor, Rev. C. C. Sampson, 
 and an able committee of the church, and the services Avill long 
 be remembered. Mrs. Lucy R. H. Cross, who united with the 
 church in 1853, gave the historical address, which, with the other 
 reports and papers, was issued in pamphlet form. Old-time 
 hymns were sung, old friendships renewed and tender memories 
 of those gone before recalled. 
 
 THE ladies' circle. 
 
 The Orthodox Female Charitable and Reading Society of 
 Northfield and Sanbornton Bridge, now the Ladies' Circle, was 
 organized in 1840 with ]\Irs. Abagail Hall, Mrs. Myra Tilton, 
 Mrs. Grace R. Hoyt, Mrs. Fanny Whittier, Mrs. Nancy Tilton, 
 Mrs. Persis Bodwell, Mrs. ]\Iehitable Atkinson, Llrs. Sally H. 
 Clisby, Mrs. Eliza Wingate, ]\Iiss Jane Corser, Mrs. Martha S. 
 Baker, Miss Sarah Tilton, Lliss S. Coleman and Miss E. A. 
 Holmes as charter members. 
 
 For many years it was the custom of the society to meet twice 
 each month at the homes of its members in turn and, after de- 
 votional exercises, while some younger members read aloud, the 
 others were engaged in sewing, knitting and braiding hats. 
 
 "Work was often taken into the circle to be done at a fair price, 
 and, with the money thus obtained, materials were purchased, 
 from which garments were made and given to the needy or sold, 
 the proceeds being used for improvements or repairs on the 
 church building, or in assisting in the payment of the minister's 
 salary, or for further missionary work. 
 
 AVhile its methods have changed with the years and a well- 
 organized missionary society carries on this feature of the earlier 
 work of the society, the policy of its founders is in the main 
 maintained, and it is still the especial delight of the circle to 
 make efficient and beautiful their church home. 
 
ECCLESIASTIC.U.. 35 
 
 The records of this society bear the names of scores of godly 
 women who have faithfully labored for this church of Clod and 
 for those "other sheep which are not of this fold." 
 
 As, one by one, in the years gone by, these mothers in Israel 
 have rested from their labors, they have bequeathed to the 
 daughters the priceless legacy of unselfish devotion to the cause 
 of Christ and humanity, and they, in turn, have zealously en- 
 tered into their inheritance. 
 
 THE EPISCOPAL CHURCH IN NORTHFIELD. 
 BY REV. LUCIUS WATERMAN, D. D. 
 
 (See picture.) 
 
 The coming of the Episcopal Church into this town requires 
 an introductory comment, and the comment may be illustrated 
 by a stor}'. In the year of grace, 1904, a certain judge in North 
 Carolina was lamenting his lack of religious opportunity. "I 
 can't go to the Episcopal Church," he said, "because it is full 
 
 of radicals, and I can't go to the Presbyterian Church 
 
 because it is full of rascals. The fact is, I have n 't any 
 
 religious privileges whatever." Of his honor's testimony as to 
 the Presbyterian Church, it is not for the present writer to 
 judge. Of the Episcopal Church it may certainly be said that 
 it has always been a refuge for the oppressed from what may be 
 fairly enough described as "pulpit persecution." Its preachers 
 have generally proclaimed the general principles of the gospel 
 as they understood them, and left the practical application of 
 those principles to burning questions of the day to the individual 
 conscience. In Protestant pulpits pretty generally there has 
 been a habit of making such burning questions a chief subject of 
 preaching, assuming (somewhat roundly and roughly) that the 
 people who did not take the preacher's side in those questions 
 were utterly and inexcusably wrong, and then denouncing all 
 those persons as either conscienceless Imaves or pitiful cowards. 
 
 The unfortunates so denounced don't like it and they get into a 
 habit of not going to church at all as the easiest refuge from the 
 storm, or (and this has happened many, many times) they take 
 shelter in going to the Episcopal Church, which thus, by its 
 absolute avoidance of party, comes to be unduly identilied in 
 the public eye with the party that is least in fashion. Thus in 
 
36 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 North Carolina today, it is men who are trying forlornly to be 
 Republicans or who are at any rate critics of the dominant 
 policies of their state, who make the Episcopal Church conspic- 
 uous by their large resort to it. Thus, on the other hand, in many 
 a New England town, 45 or 50 years ago, it was Democrats, or 
 men who, whatever their personal views about the right and 
 wrong of slave-holding, really believed that it was not the duty 
 of Northern men to break up a Southern institution at the cost 
 of a great civil war, and also really believed (what their op- 
 ponents were then loud in denying) that from a triumph of the 
 more radical elements in the new Republican party, disruption or 
 war would come, — it was such who conspicuously gave in their 
 adhesion to the Episcopal Church, as "the church which did not 
 take sides," or even founded new societies of that body. 
 
 It was this last that happened in Northfield. There were no 
 communicant members of the Episcopal Church living in the 
 town, and only two, Mr. and Mrs. James Earnshaw, English 
 people, in the town of Sanbornton. Samuel B. Rogers had spent 
 some years in a ]\Iichigan town, where there was an Episcopal 
 church, and had come to like its services and ways. He was the 
 only man in the community that owned a prayer book when the 
 subject began to be discussed. Asa P. Cate had had some books 
 sent him, inviting his attention to the claims of the Episcopal 
 Church. From these two men the movement had its beginning. 
 The book containing the records of the parish for its first 25 j^ears 
 has, most unhapply, been lost. Of the wicked carelessness that 
 is responsible for such losses it is hard to speak in measured 
 terms. Tradition preserves two curious stories. (1) At a meet- 
 ing, held to consider the forming of a new ecclesiastical society, 
 one man asked whether it was going to be quite fair to ask their 
 wives and daughters — he seems to have assumed that the men 
 would not be church members — to join a body so much spoken 
 against. The one answer that really turned the scale was, "If 
 
 it's good enough for IMrs. and ]\Iiss in Concord, 
 
 it's good enough for any of our folks." The company present 
 knew but little of the Episcopal Church, but what they knew 
 of those two good Christian women was enough. Their church 
 would do. (2) There must be a place for services and the brick 
 building owned by the Methodists was to be sold at auction. 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. 37 
 
 These bold dissenters chose out two of their number to go and 
 bid it in, carefully selecting two who would be least likely to 
 be suspected of wanting it for a church. The ruse was success- 
 ful, and the new society acquired a desirable property for its 
 start. But when the ]\Iethodist brethren found that their 
 church was to be a church again and not a blacksmith's shop or 
 such like, they were very wroth and one of their leading men 
 said that he wished that the old church had been burned down, 
 rather than to come to such a fate. 
 
 In Bishop Chase's official journal for 1860- '61, we find the 
 following entry: "December 6. I scarcely remember a more in- 
 teresting visit than one I made, in company wuth the Rev. ]\Ir. 
 Eames, to Sanbornton Bridge. We were hospitably entertained 
 at the mansion of the Hon. Samuel Tilton, to whom, and his ex- 
 cellent lady, I feel greatly indebted. In the evening Mr. Eames 
 read service and I preached to a large and attentive congregation. 
 Responses exceedingly good; music very admirable indeed, even 
 to chanting. Here is a most remarkable movement for the 
 Church. Fifty families belonging to that beautiful village, 
 which is partly in Sanbornton and partly in Xorthfield, had at 
 the time of my visit decided for the Church, and twenty of the 
 gentlemen had joined means and purchased of the Methodists a 
 good and substantial building of brick, which they proposed to 
 remodel on a liberal scale, and in all respects adapt to our ser- 
 vice. On the 5th of January, 1861, I received notice, through 
 the Clerk, of the organization of a Parish, under the name of the 
 Parish of Trinity Church, Sanbornton Bridge. Three days after 
 this I was informed that the Rev. ]\Iarcellus A. Herrick, of 
 Woodstock, Vt., had been chosen Rector, and in due time I had 
 the pleasure to learn that he had decided to accept the interesting 
 charge." 
 
 The Rev. Dr. Ilerrick was rector of the parish for nearly 15 
 years, to his death on October 31, 1875. He was a man eminent 
 in good learning and high character. In 1872 the parish bought 
 land on the Tilton side of the river and erected the present 
 church building of brick, which was first occupied on Easter 
 Day, April 13, 1873, and consecrated on Tuesday, May 25, 1875, 
 the annual convention of the diocese being held in the church on 
 the next dav. 
 
38 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 The old building was sold to the town of Xorthfield for a 
 town hall. 
 
 Rectors of the parish, since Dr. Herrick's death, have been 
 the Eev. Henry H. Hayues, a Tilton boy, 1877- '78 and 1883- '84; 
 Lucins Waterman, 1878- '83; Isaac Peck, 1884- '85; W. B. T. 
 Smith, 1886- '88; John D. Gilliland, 1889-1900; and AV. Stanley 
 Emery, the present holder of the office. 
 
 The parish now owns a rectory, the gift of the late Mrs. Hamil- 
 ton Tilton, and though ' ' the little one ' ' has not exactly ' ' become 
 a thousand," yet it is a substantial advance that Trinity Church 
 has now (1904) 99 communicants, besides having given off a 
 branch, St. Jude's Mission, Franklin, which reckons 60 more, 
 and the energy and devotion of the present rector have created 
 "the Tilton circuit," in which he reaches the astonishing num- 
 ber of 25 towns with his pastoral ministrations. 
 
 The first wardens were James Earnshaw and Jonathan W. 
 Butterfield; the first clerk, C. C. Rogers; first treasurer, J. F. 
 Taylor. Later wardens have been Asa P. Gate, Bradbury T. 
 Brown, Arthur Smythe, Alfred A. Gile, William Fletcher, Amos 
 H. Jones, Moses Garland, F. W. Fletcher, Simeon W. Smythe, 
 Fred A. Clement, I. N. Boucher, John Fletcher and Frank A. 
 Ross. 
 
 REV. M. A. HERRICK, D. D. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Marcellus Aurelius Herrick the fifth of seven children of Ebenezer 
 and Mary (Nye) Herriclt, and their first and only son who survived 
 infancy, was born August 27, 1822, at Reading, Vt., and died November 
 30, 1875, at Northfield. He was the sixth in descent from Joseph Her- 
 rick of Salem, Mass., the son of Henry Herrick, who emigrated from 
 Leicestershire, England, to Virginia early in the seventeenth century, 
 and later settled at Salem. His father, a farmer and captain of the 
 local militia, finally settled at Reading, where his children were born 
 and where he died after a long illness when his son was a boy of 10. 
 
 In his early home on a small isolated farm the boy grew up with a 
 love for the soil and for nature which lasted all his life. The family 
 physician, who had named him after two distinguished generals of the 
 Roman state, early put before him the idea of becoming a doctor. He 
 had a bright mind and great eagerness to learn, but necessity kept 
 him on the farm, where he worked with characteristic energy. In 
 fact, while trying to compete with one of the farm hands in the hay 
 field he overtaxed his strength in such a way as to handicap him for 
 life. His love of learning was unusual and seemed to be ingrained. In 
 
9 
 
 ^^ ^^P^_ ±1 /<^y/ 
 
 7 
 
MRS. M. A. HERRICK. 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. 39 
 
 those days, when there wei'e no village libraries and cheap editions 
 were scarce, it was a rare treat when a book found its way to his 
 hands, and he was ever too ready to sacrifice his dinner in order to 
 read a coveted volume. Later, some of these cherished books, like 
 Rollin's "Ancient History," formed his first literary purchases, and the 
 nucleus of his own library. 
 
 In course of time this library, his pride and never-failing resource, 
 became an unusual collection, consisting of the great classics of the 
 world, mostly in the original, and of many rare works in theology, 
 philosophy and history. It may be doubted if a larger or better selec- 
 tion of books for such a purpose was ever made on smaller resources. 
 
 From the farm, at the age of 15, he went to work in a broadcloth 
 factory, and while thus engaged the wife of the superintendent earned 
 his lifelong gratitude by her kindly interest and by giving him the 
 intellectual food he craved. It may have been at this factory that he 
 acquired a taste for mechanics which was shown later in his skill with 
 tools. He even learned the rudiments of the art of bookbinding and 
 never allowed his beloved folios to become a "ragged regiment." Some 
 of the bookcases in his study and some of the woodwork in the interior 
 of his church at Tilton were the work of his own hands. 
 
 In spite of discouragements, he still cherished the idea of becoming 
 a doctor of medicine and, with this in view, he followed the usual 
 course at that time of studying in the ofl&ce of a physician, and was 
 thus engaged for two years at Newburg, N. Y. Later, when a min- 
 ister at Woodstock, Vt., he attended lectures at its medical college, and 
 many outside of his own family had reason to be grateful for his prac- 
 tical knowledge of medicine, his fearlessness in contagious disease and 
 his skill and sympathy in nursing. 
 
 His strong religious temperament soon outweighed all other interests 
 and he resolved to devote himself to the Christian ministry, his early 
 associations naturally leading him to the Methodist communion. Upon 
 entering his first ministerial charge, he was married on June 4, 1S44, 
 to Hannah Andrews Putnam, daughter of Israel and Hannah (Andrews) 
 Putnam, of Newbury, Vt., and later of Claremont, N. H. She proved 
 a helpmeet, indeed, at a time when the life of a striving young minister 
 of the gospel was specially hard, when food and clothing were prepared 
 in the home, when comforts were few and the salaries of the country 
 clergy did not exceed the wages of the day laborer. If frail in body, 
 she was strong in spirit and equal to every task. Ever cheerful, 
 thoughtful of others and given to hospitality, she was a rare type of 
 the unselfish Christian, whose watchword, "Love is stronger than 
 death," never failed. Devoted to the last breath to her family, for 
 whom no sacrifice was too great, she outlived her husband 24 years, 
 dying at the advanced age of S2, November 12, 1S99. 
 
 After much study and reflection, the Rev. Mr. Herrick decided to 
 enter the ministry of the Episcopal Church, and on June 16, 1847, he 
 was ordained a deacon, and the following year a priest, by the Rt. 
 
40 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Rev. Carlton Chase, bishop of New Hampshire. He soon became rector 
 of St. James' parish, Woodstock, Vt., where his three surviving children 
 were born. The fourteen years spent in this place formed a period of 
 large acquisition. The boy who had longed for a higher training in 
 the schools became, through his own efforts in the school of life, a 
 scholar of unusual attainments. He was especially proficient in Latin, 
 acquiring what is rare even in these days of endowed universities, 
 libraries and fellowships, the ability to read the language with ease 
 and freedom. He was not a stranger in the literatures of six languages 
 and, besides an extensive acquaintance with the classics of the English 
 tongue, he had read most widely in the Latin and French authors; 
 at the time of the Franco-Prussian War he took up with his accustomed 
 persistence the study of German. 
 
 In 1S61 Mr. Herrick left Woodstock, Vt., with his family, in mid- 
 winter, a season long remembered for its deep snows and unusual 
 severity, and proceeded by stage and rail to Northfield, where he had 
 been Invited to undertake the foundation of the parish, since known 
 as Trinity Church. The present town hall of Northfield, formerly the 
 Methodist house of worship, but then unused, was purchased and 
 remodelled. In spite of the hard times, the parish attracted a number 
 of devoted men and women. After the close of the Civil War plans 
 were made to erect a new building in the village of Tilton. In this 
 larger undertaking money, time and skill were generously contributed. 
 The rector exercised a constant general supervision of the work, ob- 
 tained gifts from outside and gave the half of his salary upon which 
 he was dependent. The consecration of the new church on Easter Day, 
 1873, was a great event in the history of the parish. Dr. Herrick, 
 who had borne the brunt of the burden and who felt keenly the loss 
 of the late Judge Cate, who had ever been to this parish as a "tower 
 of strength," was near the close of his earthly labors. After a long 
 imprisonment in a darkened room, which a painful affection of the 
 eyes had compelled him to undergo, he was suddenly attacked by acute 
 peritonitis and on Sunday morning, November 30, 1875, just after his 
 own church bell had sounded its summons, he entered into rest. 
 
 Dr. Herrick served the diocese of New Hampshire as a member of 
 its standing committee, as delegate to the general convention and as 
 chaplain to the bishop. The degree of doctor of divinity was conferred 
 on him by Hobart College of Geneva, N. Y. His sermons were thought 
 out carefully and usually written at high speed, often at night. His 
 congregations were always sure to hear some well-considered problem 
 of religious life and thought treated in an original and convincing 
 manner. He was a thinker, — upon many subjects in advance of his 
 time, — to whom the intellectual life was bread and meat. He always 
 spoke well, but hardly a scrap of his writing has been published and 
 nothing in permanent form. This would have suited his own modest 
 opinion of his talents, for it is doubtful if he ever considered himself 
 a scholar at all. It may be said with truth that he lived a simple life 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. _ 41 
 
 on the highest plane and that in the comparatively short period of 54 
 years he achieved his chief ambitions of acquiring learning and of 
 devoting himself to the good of his fellows. 
 
 NORTHFIELD UNION CHURCH. 
 (See picture.) 
 
 For many years the people in the lower part of the town 
 had no place but their schoolrooms for social and other meetings. 
 
 In 1882 a movement was started by 0. L. Cross, Esq., to erect 
 a building- for a hall and church purposes, and an association 
 was formed and solicitors for funds sent out. 
 
 Mr. C. E. Tilton, on being asked to assist, offered on certain 
 conditions to erect the house and asked that the sums pledged 
 be made payable to him. 
 
 His offer was at once accepted by the association, which voted 
 to adjourn sine die, and a new subscription list was started. 
 
 He asked that $700 in cash be placed to his credit and $200 in 
 labor be pledged, and then issued the following circular to the 
 town : 
 
 COPY OF CIRCULAR. 
 
 "Conditions on which it is proposed by Mr. C. E. Tilton to 
 convey to the Town of Northfield the grounds, and a proposed 
 Church at Northfield Depot : 
 
 "Said Tilton proposes to convey to said Town the Lot and 
 Church to be erected thereon with such other grounds in the im- 
 mediate vicinity as may be included in said conveyance in trust 
 and for the uses and purposes and upon the conditions as herein 
 set forth and specified. 
 
 ' ' Said property shall be held by said Town forever in trust and 
 as church property exempt forever from taxation and not liable 
 in any event for any indebtedness of said town. 
 
 "The same shall be used by all Religicms Denominations on 
 equal terms and in equal proportion as to time of occupation 
 giving to each Denomination alternate Sundays if more than one 
 desires to occupy it. 
 
 "It may also be used at other times for any and all other pur- 
 poses for which such a building may with propriety be occupied. 
 
 "The persons, religious or other Societies occupying the same 
 shall pay for such use and occupation such sum or sums from 
 
42 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 time to time as may be fixed upon by the Selectmen and which 
 shall be in their judgment only sufficient to keep in a good state 
 of repair said property, pay the insurance thereon and pay all 
 the expenses of the care and supervision of said property and 
 warming and lighting said buildings providing that the same 
 shall be free for Sunday services the occupants to pay for warm- 
 ing lighting and taking care of the church when so occupied. 
 
 "The buildings shall be kept safely insured for their full 
 value, and in the event of their destruction or damage by fire, 
 any sum obtained on account of such insurance shall be expended 
 under the direction of the Selectmen in replacing or repairing 
 said buildings and placing the same in a condition equally as 
 good as before such fire. 
 
 "The schoolroom connected with said church may be used first 
 for church purposes as a vestry, kitchen or ante-room, and when 
 not in use for church purposes may be used for school purposes 
 and upon the same terms as to pay therefor as are herein pro- 
 vided in regard to said church. 
 
 "The Selectmen shall appoint annually some suitable person 
 residing near the same who shall have the care of said property ; 
 see that it is not in any way misused or abused; shall have the 
 power to let the same according to the conditions of this convey- 
 ance and collect the rents therefor and under the direction of 
 the Selectmen make such incidental repairs thereon as may be 
 necessary to keep said ■ property in a neat and tasteful state 
 of repaii-. 
 
 ' ' In case any person or Eeligious Society or Denomination shall 
 feel aggrieved at the decision of such agent in regard to the use 
 or occupation of said property, appeal may be had to the Select^ 
 men whose decision made in accordance with the conditions of 
 this conveyance shall be final and conclusive. 
 
 "The names of all persons who shall contribute toward the 
 expense of said buildings shall appear in the said ' Trust Deed. ' ' ' 
 
 The town promptly voted to accept the conditions. 
 
 The solicitors for funds met with generous responses and the 
 sums specified were easily obtained. The trust deed contained 
 nearly 90 names. The names, with amount and kind of aid 
 furnished, is to be found on pages 271- '73 of the historical 
 records of the town. 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. 43 
 
 Mr. Tilton then bought the picnic grove, sharing eqnally with 
 its owner, William G. Hannaford, in this gift, and, having se- 
 cured plans, began the erection of a meeting-house on an adjoin- 
 ing lot, which was largely the gift of 0. L. Cross, Esq., as well 
 as the adjoining land containing a well and fruit trees, J\Iay, 
 1883, with Leonard Conant in charge. The corner stone was 
 laid on ]May 24 without ceremony. A sealed leaden casket was 
 placed beneath it by Mrs. W. C. French. In this casket were 
 inclosed the following: 
 
 Copies of the Laconia Democrat, Merrimack Journal and 
 Transcript, Independent Statesman and Manchester Union, each 
 containing important letters relative to the enterprise; photo- 
 graphs, with autographs, of Hon. Charles E. Tilton and His 
 Excellency Governor Bell; and a copy of the Granite Monthly, 
 with portrait of Hon. Samuel Tilton. There was also inclosed 
 a written sketch of the church enterprise, including the history 
 of Union Church and Hall Association : transfer of funds, etc., 
 by 0. L. Cross, Esq. ; copy of the conditions accepted by the 
 town ; its check list for 1883 and its town report ; a copy of the 
 Xeic Hampshire Begister; a written sketch of Union Sunday 
 School, prepared by Mrs. James Thompson ; a copy of the New 
 Testament ; Granite Monthlies containing Prof. Lucian Hunt 's 
 Centennial Address and Mrs. L. R. H. Cross' poem; Centennial 
 card of invitation; program; napkin; spoon and other souvenirs 
 of the occasion; memorial of President Garfield; copy of the 
 Boston Globe; time-table of the B., C. & M. Railroad; photograph 
 of Judge Fowler; copy of the state ticket of both parties of the 
 election of the previous year ; official package by Postmaster Sum- 
 ner A. Dow; report of the Canterbury Fair for the previous 
 year; and some small coins contributed by the workmen, F. G. 
 Berr3% master builder ; A. L. Worthen, J. E. Dennis and Leavitt 
 and Ford Sanborn. 
 
 August found the little edifice finished and furnished. There 
 were suitable outbuildings, bell, chandelier and lamps, Avith an 
 adjoining room suitable for vestry, Sunday School, kitchen or 
 dining room. 
 
 August 21, at 2 p. m., the dedicatory service was held, a large 
 crowd filling every inch of available space. Osborne Colby and 
 C. J. Chamberlain acted as ushers. 
 
44 
 
 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Mr. Tilton, with guests, arrived promptly and, after an organ 
 voluntary, in the following direct and business-like manner, 
 presented the title deed and keys to James N. Forrest, Esq., 
 chairman of the board of selectmen: 
 
 ^^ Selectmen of North field: 
 
 ' ' In accordance with the understanding of the town you repre- 
 sent, I am now prepared, in behalf of the contributors, to de- 
 liver to you the Trust Deed for this Union Church of Northfield. 
 Gentlemen : In accepting this trust I hope you fully realize the 
 responsibility and that your management of the same will be 
 successful and equal to our expectations." 
 
 Mr. Forrest happily responded, contrasting the old Northfield 
 with the new and appropriately and feelingly thanking the donor 
 in behalf of the town for the noble gift. 
 
 Hon. L. R. Marsh of New York, law partner of the late Dan- 
 iel Webster and friend and guest of Mr. Tilton, recited an 
 original poem, jn which he expressed his belief in the Christian 
 religion and paid a compliment to his lifelong friend. 
 
 The program was as follows: 
 
 Doxology .... 
 Invocation .... 
 Music ..... 
 Scripture Lesson (Chron.) 
 Dedicatory Prayer 
 Sermon .... 
 
 Dedication Hymn (original) . 
 Remarks by visiting clergymen. 
 Benediction .... 
 
 Choir and congregation. 
 
 Rev. C. S. Nutter. 
 
 Trinity Church choir. 
 
 Rev. Henry H. Haynes. 
 
 Rev. A. D. Smith. 
 
 . Rev. Willis Hadley. 
 
 Choir. 
 
 Rev. A. D. Smith. 
 
 The Sunday School, long held at Oak Hill schoolhouse, and 
 which will be reported elsewhere, moved at once to the new quar- 
 ters with library, organ, etc., and a committee was appointed to 
 arrange for regular services. The clergymen of Tilton, Franklin 
 and Canterbury were seciu'ed for alternate Sunday afternoons 
 and the following denominations were recognized : Freewill Bap- 
 tists, Congregationalists, INIethodists and Adventists. the Baptists 
 alone having an organization. 
 
 Sunday collections, personal gifts, the parsonage fund and 
 the proceeds of an occasional entertainment furnished the neces- 
 sary funds for pulpit supply. 
 
ECCLESIASTICAL. 45 
 
 ]\Iessrs. Folger and Jackson of the State Young ]Men's Chris- 
 tian Association conducted revival services for a week early in 
 the winter of that year with good results 'and the little com- 
 munity assumed its new duties with renewed courage and nothing 
 lacking in zeal. It became also of great educational value and 
 from time to time private schools, singing classes and lyceums 
 were organized with a class of young people fully abreast with 
 those of the more favored parts of the town. 
 
 Losses by death and removal have often decreased the force 
 of workers, but the work has not only been constant but equal 
 in many lines to what its most earnest advocates hoped. 
 
 Nearly a quarter of a century has passed and the original 
 arrangements for support and supply are still in force. Preach- 
 ers of the various denominations in the adjoining villages con- 
 duct services alternately each Sunday afternoon and the Sun- 
 day School, under Osborne Colby as superintendent, is still well 
 attended. 
 
 CHURCH OF THE ASSUMPTION — CATHOLIC. 
 
 This church did not originate in Northfield, but for two years 
 during the charge of Rev. Fr. Lambert worshiped in the town 
 hall. It passed from thence to its new edifice on Chestnut 
 Street, Tilton, under charge of Rev. Fr. Finan. 
 
CHAPTER III. 
 EDUCATIONAL. 
 
 LIBRARIES. 
 
 About the year 1801 an association was formed under the name 
 of "The Xorthfield Social Library.^' 
 
 The Abbotts, Smiths, Hills, Halls, Dolloffs, Gilmans and prob- 
 ably many other families were included. Sums of money were 
 furnished by the members to purchase books, which were kept in 
 the homes of the successive librarians in different parts of the 
 town. It contained a feAv books of travel, some histories, several 
 novels and various religious works. 
 
 Its existence covered a period when few books were to be 
 found in the homes and for many years it was generously patron- 
 ized, and proved of inestimable value to those entitled to its 
 privileges. There are still a few of these volumes to be found 
 in the old homes. 
 
 "northfield improving society for the promotion op useful 
 
 know^ledge. ' ' 
 
 One of the most unique organizations I have ever seen bore 
 the above title. It was located in Northfield and was authorized 
 by an act of the Legislature in the year one thousand eight hun- 
 dred and eighteen. 
 
 It was enacted b}^ the Senate and House of Representatives in 
 General Court convened, "that Peter "Wadleigh, John Kezar, 
 John Rogers, Jonathan Clough, Jr., Jeremiah Smith, James "West 
 & their associates, and such as may hereafter associate with 
 them be, and they hereby are incorporated and made a body pol- 
 itic by the name and stile of the 'Northfield improving Society 
 for the promotion of useful knowledge,' with continuance and 
 succession forever, with all the powers and privileges incident 
 to corporations of a similar nature, and may enjoin penalties of 
 disfranchisement or fine not exceeding five dollars for each of- 
 fence, and may purchase personal estate or may make and receive 
 
EDUCATIONAL, 47 
 
 subscriptions grants and donations of the same for the benefit 
 of said society to the amount of one thousand dollars." 
 
 It was further enacted that the society meet at Northfield on 
 the first Tuesday of January to choose necessary officers and 
 that assessing and raising "monie" should be done at no other 
 time. At this time, also, the society could make rules and by- 
 laws for its government and regulations not repugnant to the 
 constitution of the state. 
 
 Peter "Wadleigh and John Kezar were empowered to call the 
 first meeting by giving personal notice to each member or posting 
 a notice 15 days prior to said meeting, at which time all officers 
 should be chosen and manner of subsequent meetings may be de- 
 termined. 
 
 In the House of Representatives, June 26, 1818, the above- 
 mentioned bill, having had three several readings, was passed to 
 be enacted and was sent to the Senate for concurrence, jMathew 
 Harvey signing the bill as speaker. 
 
 In the Senate, June 27, 1818, the bill was read a third time 
 and enacted, being signed by Jona Harvey, president. 
 
 The same day it was approved by the governor, "William 
 Plumer and Richard Bartlett, deputy secretary, attested to its 
 being a true copy. 
 
 The reception of members was also a matter of great form and 
 dignity, as will be seen from the following: 
 
 "Mr. Jonathan Clough jr recommends Wesley Knowles to 
 be 21 years of age and declares upon honor that he is desirous 
 of becoming a member of the society and if received will cheer- 
 fuly obey all its regulations. 
 
 "(Signed) Wesley Knowles. 
 
 "Northfield, Jan. 6, 1829." 
 
 He, however, was denied a membership in this august body, 
 as we find the following under date of June 5, 1826 : 
 
 "To the members of the Northfield Improving Society 
 ' * Gentlemen 
 
 "Being desirous of availing myself of the advantages re- 
 sulting from membership in your Society I take this method of 
 making known my request to become a member 
 
 "Wesley Knowles. 
 
48 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 "James B. Abbott 
 "Att 
 
 "William Gilman" 
 "This certifies that Mr Wesley Knowles is a suitable candi- 
 date for membership in the Xorthfield Improving Society 
 
 "W^iLLiAM Gilman 
 "James B. Abbott 
 "Xorthfield June 5 1826" 
 
 This probably settled the matter. 
 
 Enos Hoyt and Benjamin Haines also certified to the fitness 
 of j\Ir. Gardner Barker to become a member. 
 
 At the end of two years (1820), Nathan Wells, the president 
 (probably), makes report that in looking over the transactions 
 of the society "nothing presents itself worthy of high commenda- 
 tion. 
 
 "Xo of volumes in Library 24 
 
 " " " Acting members 8 
 
 "Amt in Treasury $1.50 
 
 "One volume has been added and it appears to have been 
 carefully preserved from injury." 
 
 He also suggests that the president and directory have power 
 to organize a literary board, consisting of themselves and such 
 others as may wish to associate with them in literary exercises. 
 
 Another paper speaks of fines and assessments and initiation 
 fees. The treasurer 's report in all shows the sum handled for the 
 year to be $5,871/^, with I3I/2 cents in the treasury. Another 
 annual report without date gives the volumes as 32, and member- 
 ship 16, with 14 honorary members. 
 
 January 6, 1826, the constitution and by-laws were amended 
 and Article 10 made to read as follows : 
 
 "It shall be the duty of every member of the Society before 
 taking a book from the Library to give an obligation in legal 
 form by which he is held in the sum of five dollars in case he 
 fails to return the book to the society or pay the damage. & the 
 Librarian shall not suffer a book to be taken from the Library 
 in any other way ' ' 
 
 The following bond is a copy of several among the records 
 of the society : 
 
EDUCATIONAL. 49 
 
 "KnoAv all men by these presents that I Robert Gray of North- 
 field in County of Merrimack & State of New Hampshire am 
 held and firmly bound to the Improving Society for the promo- 
 tion of useful knowledge in Northfield aforesaid County & State 
 aforesaid in the sum of five dollars to be paid to the aforesaid 
 Improving Society its agent or agents, to which payment well 
 & truly to be made. I bind myself my heirs executors & ad- 
 ministrators firmly by these presents, sealed with my seal and 
 dated the Eleventh day of February in the year of our Lord 
 one thousand eight hundred and thirty six — 
 ' ' The condition of this obligation is such that if the above named 
 Robert Grey shall pay or cause to be paid to the above named 
 Improving Society its agent or agents the full sum of five dol- 
 lars for each Book he shall refuse or neglect to return to the 
 Library of the above named Improving Society within three 
 months from the time of taking it then this obligation is void 
 otherwise to remain in full force and virtue 
 "Signed sealed & 
 "delivered in presence 
 "of us 
 
 "Samuel G. Hannaford 
 
 "Amos H. Morrison 
 
 "(Signed) Robert Gray" 
 
 From the various papers I collect the following list of mem- 
 bers : 
 
 J. B. Tibbitts; 
 
 Nathan Wells ; 
 
 David Evans; 
 
 Enos Hoyt ; 
 
 Liba Conant; , 
 
 "Wesley Knowles; . 
 
 Robert Gray; 
 
 Jonathan Clough, Jr.; 
 
 Daniel Hills; 
 
 John W. Merrill; 
 
 Thomas Lyford, Jr.; 
 
 John Kezer. 
 
 From the same source I have also gathered the following list 
 of books : 
 
60 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Anecdotes, 8 vols.; 
 
 Butler's Analogy; 
 
 Whelpley 's Compendium ; 
 
 Wonders of Creation, 2 vols.; 
 
 Conversations on Chemistry ; 
 
 Foster's Essays; 
 
 IMiranda's Expedition; 
 
 History of England; 
 
 Powers of Genius; 
 
 History of Greece; 
 
 Monthly Literary Journal; 
 
 Logic, Duncan's; 
 
 Log:ic, Watts'; 
 
 Quarterly IMagazine ; 
 
 History of North and South America ; 
 
 New Hampshire Gazeteer; 
 
 Stuart 's Philosopher ; 
 
 Blair's Grammar of Philosophy; 
 
 Conversations on Philosophy; 
 
 Mason's Self Knowledge; 
 
 History of the United States; 
 
 History of the Late War; 
 
 Life of Washington. 
 
 The librarian's report is a model as to exactness, as every 
 spot and rent in each book are given in detail. Thus, Mason's 
 Self Knowledge, it is recorded, has spots on pages 20, 24, 35, 
 etc., 26 in all, and a rent on page 7. 
 
 I think we must conclude that this was a school for parliamen- 
 tary drill as well as a library and debating club. 
 
 This society, May 2, 1826, voted Nathan Wells, secretary pro 
 tempore, and the members were questioned severally on the sub- 
 jects of logic, grammar, geography and history. 
 
 ]\Iay 3, 1825, this society voted to celebrate the Fourth of Juh' 
 and committees were chosen to invite all singers who would per- 
 form gratuitously and also to invite the Franklin Society of San- 
 bornton by a letter missive to its secretary. It was also voted 
 to post a notice at the meeting-house and at David Hazeltine's 
 store 15 days previous, giving notice of an oration at 2 p. m. 
 
 The record of the last meeting is dated January 4, 1842. 
 
EDUCATIONAL. 51 
 
 NORTHFIELD FRATERNAL LIBRARY SOCIETY. 
 
 November 28, 1840, an association was formed with the above 
 name. James M. Forrest, Ephraim S. Wadleigh and Warren 
 H. Smith were, with associates, charter members. 
 
 The organization, though not so formal or pretentious as the 
 Improving Society, in a lengthy preamble speaks of the posses- 
 sion of minds capable of improvement and the design of the Cre- 
 ator, who had so graciously bestowed them. It calls the time 
 emphatically an age of literature and credits it with affording 
 "literary blessings and privileges not enjoyed by any previous 
 age. ' ' 
 
 It had a constitution of seven articles and eight by-laws. The 
 ancient record contains no list of books, officers or report of its 
 continuance. 
 
 . CHASE FREE LIBR.\JIY. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 On the completion of Union Church, Charles 6. Chase of Bos- 
 ton gave a choice collection of 180 volumes for the free use of 
 the people of Northfield Depot and vicinity. 
 
 In a letter, accompanying the gift, he says: "These books 
 may become the property of the church," thus passing to the 
 town to be held in trust with the church on conditions elsewhere 
 stated. 
 
 Gardner Cook of Laconia generously donated material for a 
 bookcase, which Almon Slader and William G. Haunaford gra- 
 tuitously made and painted. 
 
 The volumes were neatly covered. 
 
 The library was opened without ceremony. Volumes now and 
 then have been donated by friends, among whom are Mrs. Chase, 
 ^Irs. William Gilman, Arthur Cross, ]\[rs. L. R. Cross, and, more 
 recently, some 30 volumes by the patrons themselves. 
 
 The past winter (1903- '04), on the solicitation of Arthur B. 
 Cross of Concord, about 400 volumes from Senator Gallinger 
 were put on the shelves, many of them being of general interest 
 and some of them highly embellished. 
 
 The various librarians have served without compensation and 
 the volumes have been given out on Sundav. 
 
52 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 HALL MEMORL^L LIBRARY. 
 (See portrait of donor.) 
 In 1885 Mrs. John Cummings of Woburn, Mass., offered the 
 town of Tilton and Northfield a library building, to cost $10,000 
 if they would furnish a suitable lot. Mrs. Cummings further 
 stated that the building would be a memorial to her husband, the 
 late Bracket Hall, M. D., of Boston, a native of Northfield. 
 
 The town promptly accepted the generous offer and elected 
 Charles E. Tilton of Tilton and Adam S. Ballantyne of North- 
 field as trustees to superintend the carrying out of the enterprise. 
 In canvassing for a building lot there was no rivalry between 
 the towns, the sole aim being to secure a suitable and accessible 
 
 location. 
 
 The first thought of all concerned turned to Deer Park, which 
 was then the property of Mrs. Charles E. Tilton. She at once 
 generously offered, not only to give the land, but to raise the 
 grade and further adorn it. 
 
 Trees were set out on the three sides and the fine piece ot 
 bronze statuary, representing a buck after Landseer, with gran- 
 ite pedestal, inscribed "1885," was included in the gift. Perfect 
 drainage was put in and an ample supply of water was secured. 
 The following description of the structure is copied from the 
 Boston Journal of August 6, 1887 : 
 
 "The building is of fine brick, with ample trimmings of 
 Springfield, Mass., sandstone and artistic terra-cotta ornamenta- 
 tions. 
 
 "The architecture is Queen Anne and the edifice consists ot a 
 main part facing the West and a right angle extension, one story 
 and half in height, finished open and is surmounted with pitched 
 roofs, slated and copper-crested. 
 
 ' ' The outside walls have numerous buttresses with windows of 
 stained glass. It has a front of forty-two feet and a depth of 
 sixty-three, with main and side entrances. 
 
 "Beside the main entrance on the right is a tablet of sandstone 
 sunk into the western wall, on which is cut an inscription setting 
 forth the memorial character of the building. Within the ap- 
 pointments are perfect in detail and artistic without a fault. 
 
 "The exterior as well as interior beauty combine to make the 
 edifice a credit to the donor as well as to the towns to which it 
 is given. The whole cost, exclusive of the lot, was about $10,500. 
 
MARY HALL CUMMINGS. 
 
EDUCATIONAL. 53 
 
 On its completion it was deeded in trust to Hon. C. E. Tilton, 
 A. S. Ballantyne and Mrs. Eliza Cofran as a free public library 
 for the two towns. 
 
 An association was formed, composed of young men, on the 
 12th of I\Iay, at which time by-laws were adopted and an agree- 
 ment between the trustees and the association, as to the use and 
 care of the building, entered into and the following officers 
 chosen : 
 
 Chairman, William P. Lang; clerk, Willie T. Ballantyne; 
 trustees, Arthur T. Cass, W. B. Fellows, Rev. C. C. Sampson, 
 Frank Hill and George S. Philbrick. Arthur T. Cass was chosen 
 treasurer and L. F. Batchelder, librarian. 
 
 Prominent citizens contributed $1,500 for books. This, with 
 a further gift of nearly 1,000 books from ]\Irs. Cummings, fur- 
 nished the library A\ath 2,300 volumes at the start. A catalogue 
 was prepared and the building was formally opened on Wednes- 
 day, October 26, 1887. 
 
 Dedicatory services were held at the IMethodist Church, Gould's 
 Orchestra furnishing music. Rev. Luther Townsend, D. D., of 
 Boston delivered a fine oration and Mrs. L. R. Cross an appro- 
 priate poem. 
 
 Rev. Dr. Knowles presented the thanks of the faculty and 
 students of the New Hampshire Conference Seminary, and Prof. 
 Lucian Hunt, the lifelong friend of Dr. Hall, gave interesting 
 reminiscences of their boyhood and school days. 
 
 W. B. Fellows, at the-close, in behalf of the trustees, invited all 
 to come and get all the benefits possible from its use. 
 
 Mrs. Cummings and Mr. and Mrs. Tilton were present and 
 were accorded a rising vote of thanks. 
 
 A fine portrait of Dr. Hall has since been placed on the walls. 
 
 SCHOOLS. 
 
 The records show that our ancestors had advanced ideas in all 
 matters pertaining to education. In 1784, at a town meeting, 
 with Edward Blanchard, moderator, the "Town voted to Raise 
 Sixty Dolers in the Perduce of the country for Schooling for the 
 present year one half in somer and the other half in the Winter." 
 They also voted to "Keep a School the Present year and to Pay 
 the School tax in Corn, Gran, & Neat Stock." The same was 
 
54 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 ''voted" for several years, "the Perduce to be laid out in school- 
 ing keeping open doors. ' ' 
 
 In 1797 they voted "to build six school-houses. The first to 
 stand near Crosses Mill brook (Oak Hill) the 2nd near Mr, Hodg- 
 don 's 3rd near the Meeting Hous. 4th on Bay Hill 5th on Bean 
 Hill : 6th near Coos Brook. ' ' They redivided and renamed these 
 in 1813. Again, in 1818, it was voted that "No. 2 should be 
 called No. 3." In 1827 No. 9, the Smithville Factory Village Dis- 
 trict, was formed from No. 5. The town voted in 1815 to give 
 Districts Nos. 6 and 7 some assistance in building their school- 
 houses. The entire school fund in 1800 was $300 ; in 1804, $400, 
 and in 1811 ' ' just what the Law points out. ' ' 
 
 These schoolrooms were palaces compared with the first ones, 
 which were built of logs, sometimes without a single pane of 
 glass, as was the first one at Oak Hill; neither were there any 
 means of warming them. Then came a better style with small 
 windows, high up, on two sides, and a broad rock fireplace in 
 the further end, with sloping floors. The buildings were square, 
 with a little porch or entry in front. The schools were mostly 
 kept in winter and only male teachers were employed, with the 
 exception, perhaps, of Sally Thornton, who was both preacher and 
 teacher and used to hold meetings in the log sehoolhouse at the 
 Center before the old meeting-house was built. 
 
 There was no lack of teachers and IMasters Bowles, Parkinson, 
 Simons and Dudley Leavitt were residents of Northfield, while 
 Masters Gleason and Sutton from Canterbury were often called 
 to duty here, which consisted chiefly in teaching the big boys the 
 three Rs, "reading, riting and rithmatic," and in administering 
 a certain amount of "thrashing" per term. They were paid for 
 this service in 1790 in ' ' wheat rye or Indian Corn, with wheat at 
 6s. rye at 4s. & Corn at 3s. or in neat stock. ' ' 
 
 The next change made provided advantages for the girls ; sum- 
 mer schools were established and more districts organized. While 
 houses were being erected, schools were often held in private 
 houses and female teachers employed. About 1800 the following 
 teachers were in service : Josiah Shirley, Polly Glidden, Nancy 
 Parkinson, Edmund Dearborn, Parmelia Ellison, Betsey Forrest, 
 Josiah Ambrose, Samuel Forrest and Rev. Martin Renter, the 
 latter in 1809. 
 
POND SCHOOLHUUSE. 
 
EDUCATIONAL. 55 
 
 Up to this period they very generally boarded around ; and the 
 men made shoes or ran pewter spoons during: the long evenings 
 to compensate for board or to earn a little extra cash. The wo- 
 men were expected to take along, as a part of their baggage, a 
 spinning wheel and bundle of "rolls" or a quantity of yarn to 
 weave into cloth in some friendly family, filling up the vacant 
 moments by assisting the children of the family seated around 
 the open fire with their evening tasks. These teachers were edu- 
 cated by Eev. Martin Renter, Rev. AVilliam Patrick of Canter- 
 bury and Rev. Liba Conant, the new minister. 
 
 Prof. Dyer H. Sanborn established a school at Sanbornton 
 Square, where some desiring privileges in advance of the district 
 schools were enrolled in 1841, and we find the names of Adino 
 B. Hall, James Henrj'-, Frank and Laroy Cofran, Jeremiah Hana- 
 ford, Benjamin A. Rogers, Henry B. Tibbetts and Sarah or Sally 
 Rogers. This was Professor Sanborn's last term there, as he es- 
 tablished a school at Sanbornton Bridge the same year, known 
 far and near as the "Old Academy." It was a celebrated school. 
 He was a model educator and the female departments, under 
 Miss Jewett, Emily and Julia Sargent, two lovely sisters from 
 New London, furnished many finely educated lady teachers for 
 Northfield. Since this time female teachers have been largely 
 employed. 
 
 The coming of the New Hampshire Conference Seminary, 
 which will be noted elsewhere, marks an epoch in the educational 
 history of the town. 
 
 SUPERINTENDENTS. 
 
 In 1823 and '24 superintendents were first employed. Rev. 
 Liba Conant was chosen and voted the sum of one dollar for 
 each school. Rev. Martin Ruter also had charge one or more 
 years. In 1826 "]\Ir. Conant was allowed the amount of his taxes 
 for visiting the schools, the other two members of the Committee 
 being expressly directed not to visit except in cases of diffi- 
 culty." 
 
 In 1833- '35 the town voted to dispense with the inspection of 
 the schools, while in 1837 it was arranged that a "Committee be 
 allowed to visit schools so far as the individual districts should 
 vote to that effect, the pay to come from the school money of 
 the district visited." 
 
56 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 This matter seems to have been settled finally and a long list 
 of educated superintendents are given, among whom are Dr. 
 Hoyt, Asa P. Gate, Alfred Gile, Eevs. Enoch Corser and Mar- 
 cellus Herrick, James N. Forrest, Solon F. Hill and many others. 
 Mrs. Lucy K. H. Cross was in charge from 1879 to 1888, when 
 the district system was abolished by act of the Legislature, and a 
 board of education, consisting of three, placed in charge. She 
 had filled the position eight years and was the first woman to 
 hold that office. Since the adoption of the new plan one or more 
 women have been continuously in the service and their presence 
 there has been beneficial and entirely satisfactory. 
 
 Before leaving the subject I wish to refer to some ancient cus- 
 toms long followed, even in well-conducted schoolrooms. It was 
 an unwritten law that the larger boys, in return for chopping 
 the term's wood for the huge fireplace, should be allowed to sell 
 the ashes at the close of the term and invest the proceeds in New 
 England rum to be divided among the children, and a half holi- 
 day or evening was given them. Some of the good Christian 
 mothers deplored this custom and Mrs. Benjamin Winslow, being- 
 present once when backlog, forestick and all the betwixt and be- 
 tween came rolling from the rocks in the big fireplace, said, 
 nearly suffocated with the smoke that filled the room, " I 'd think 
 they 'd better buy shovel and tongs than rum with the ashes." 
 A neighbor, also a visitor, present, spoke up and said : ' ' Let 'um 
 have their rum; let 'um have it. It does 'um's much good as 
 salt does sheep once in a while," and the shovel and tongs were 
 not forthcoming that term. 
 
 In another case Mr. S., who sent an apprentice boy to school, 
 concluding it was not wise to have the boy present when the 
 "treat" went round, decided to go himself and claim the boy's 
 share. The youngster was more than willing since a promised 
 flogging must take place before he could stand in line for his 
 treat. How great was the man's surprise, however, when good 
 Master Gleason stood before him with stick in hand, with the re- 
 mark: "You must take Jake's whipping if you take his rum," 
 w^hich he proceeded at once to administer. The old fellow always 
 declared it was all right and cheap enough. 
 
 It was quite the custom for the femals teachers to instruct 
 the girls in sewing or knitting, and one overworked mother 
 
EDUCATIONAL. 57 
 
 could see no reason why a man should not do the same. Accord- 
 ingly, a well-started stocking was sent along in the dinner pail 
 which, after the lessons were learned, was duly brought forth 
 much to the teacher's dismay, who invariably directed the little 
 girl, when applied to for orders as to what should be done next, 
 to "narrer. " The next answer was the same, as was the next 
 and the next. The work went home that night to "stay" nar- 
 rowed to a peak half way to the heel. 
 
 SCHOOL APPARATUS. 
 
 Until 1875 the schoolrooms of the town were entirely devoid 
 of any of the modern helps or any maps, etc. In 1880, our "Cen- 
 tennial Year," through the generosity of former pupils a copy 
 of Webster's Unabridged Dictionary was placed in every school. 
 The names of the donors accompanied each gift. The one at the 
 Centre enrolled 100 names and Oak Hill, 115. John C. Tebbetts 
 furnished one for No. 8 and the Curry family one for No. 4 
 (Rand District). Hon. John H. Goodale gave each room, in 
 memory of his talented wife, Celestia S. Mooney, a former pupil 
 and teacher, sets of writing tablets. 
 
 The next year, 1881, was a "red letter year" for the schools. 
 Mr. John Mooney and John E. Forrest had left each a bequest 
 for educational purposes and Dea. G. S. Abbott, with Messrs. 
 Cass and Goodale, their executors, presented to the schools outline 
 maps, dissected maps of New England, clocks, thermometers, 
 globes, sinks, pitchers and basins, etc., numeral frames and other 
 helps. Later, President Quimby offered prizes of tuition for ex- 
 cellence in certain branches, and Mr. Charles Chase of Boston 
 furnished valuable literature on temperance, morals, manners, 
 cruelty to animals, etc. 
 
 NEW HAMPSHIRE CONFERENCE SEMINARY AND FEMALE COLLEGE. 
 
 (See cut.) 
 
 The New Hampshire Methodist Conference originally included 
 that portion of Vermont lying east of the Green Mountains. In 
 1844 this portion was set off by itself. Their Conference Sem- 
 inary was at Newbury and the division left New Hampshire with- 
 out one. At the next session of the Conference, held at Winches- 
 ter, July, 1844, a committee of five was chosen to consider the pro- 
 
58 , HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 priety of establishing an institution and to select the most suit- 
 able place. 
 
 William D. Cass, J. Spaulding, John W. Mowry, Samuel Kelley 
 and M. Newhall were chosen as that committee. Propositions 
 were at once received from Newmarket, Plymouth and Northfield, 
 and a committee of nine was chosen to consider these and other 
 offers that might be received. 
 
 This committee was also authorized in behalf of the Con- 
 ference to enter into any arrangement necessary for the estab- 
 lishment of a school to be under the patronage of the New Hamp- 
 shire Conference, provided, "they do not involve it in pecuniary 
 liabilities." Revs. Cass, Morey, Newhall, Kelley, Elisha Adams, 
 L. D. Burrows, 0. C. Baker, J. Stevens and Eleazar Smith were 
 chosen. 
 
 The following year a report was made to the Conference that 
 Plymouth had been selected as the location on certain conditions, 
 with reference to the transfer of the "Old Academy" property 
 there. Plymouth people failed to meet the conditions and the 
 school was located at Northfield, the conditions being promptly 
 met. 
 
 Among the prominent men of the town and the adjacent \'illage 
 of Sanbornton Bridge who were greatly interested were Hon. 
 Asa P. Gate, Col. James Cofran, Hon. Samuel Tilton and Rev. W. 
 D. Cass. The latter was chosen to solicit funds. Calls for money 
 were promptly met and the building was commenced in April 
 and the school opened for the fall term in 1845. 
 
 There were no plans, contract or specifications, save that the 
 house should be 70 feet long, 40 feet wide and two stories in 
 height. Warren L. Hill made, and Colonel Cofran burned, the 
 brick for it in the yard north of the Granite ]\Iill. Darius Dock- 
 ham was employed to do the woodwork and Isaac Bodwell to lay 
 the brick. 
 
 The institution was incorporated at its opening under the name 
 of the New Hampshire Conference Seminary. Rev. and Mrs. J. 
 A. Adams and Dyer H. Sanborn, with Charles P. Ticknor, as 
 teacher of penmanship, constituted the faculty for two terms. 
 
 Mr. Ghellis Sargent erected a commodious boarding house on 
 an adjoining lot where the students were charged for board, wash- 
 ing and lodging $1.25 per week and private families received them 
 for $1.33. Tuition was only .$3 for common English and $3.50 
 
EDUCATIONAL. 59 
 
 for other branches. -Rev. Richard S. Rust, with Miss Caroline 
 Lane as preceptress, succeeded J\Ir. Adams in 1846. Prof. Dyer 
 H. Sanborn, a popular educator and author of a work on English 
 grammar and a treatise on normal teaching, was then conducting 
 a prosperous school in the "Old Academy" across the river. He 
 was asked to become one of the faculty and promptly accepted the 
 offer. Other teachers were added as needed. Dr. Rust being 
 chosen state commissioner of schools, to succeed Prof. Charles B. 
 Haddock of Dartmouth College, gave prominence to the Sem- 
 inary and brought a large niimber of advanced students. He 
 held this office until his retirement from the school. 
 
 John C. Clark succeeded him as principal. James E. Latimer 
 became associated with him in 1851. President Clark retired in 
 
 1852, leaving him at the head, which position he retained until 
 1854, and was then succeeded by Rev. Calvin S. Harrington, 
 who had been his able assistant for two years. 
 
 In 1856 the large number of enrolled students made better ac- 
 commodations necessary and plans for a new building were form- 
 ulated. At the close of the summer term the old building was 
 torn down and another begun. The main edifice was constructed 
 after the style of the old one with an added story, which 
 furnished a large audience room or hall. East and west wings, 
 three stories in height, were added, and dormitories and boarding 
 facilities were thus furnished under the same roof. 
 
 A new charter with power to confer degrees was granted by 
 the Legislature December 2, 1852. It was reported by Rev. Os- 
 mon C. Baker and the trustees voted to accept it January 15, 
 
 1853, and new courses of study were prepared. 
 
 The College was united financially with the Seminary with the 
 same board of trustees. Separate records were kept for some- 
 time; but later the title became "The New Hampshire Con- 
 ference Seminary and Female College." Rev. Dr. Harrington be- 
 came president and Mrs. Eliza Chase Harrington, who had 
 been the talented and efficient preceptress previous to her mar- 
 riage, was placed at the head of the Female College. Professor 
 Dixon, a former graduate and teacher, was retained as profes.sor 
 of mathematics with other specialists at the head of the various 
 departments, and it was justly claimed that no university or col- 
 lege had a better faculty. In 1857, 360 students were enrolled. 
 
60 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 I wish it were my duty to suitably eulogize those noble men 
 and women who left such potent impressions for good on the girls 
 and boys of Northfield, — that large army of teachers who, in our 
 public schools, passed on the grand ideas of life and conduct that 
 were so faithfully taught and lived within its walls. November 
 7, 1862, the building was destroyed by fire and the site abandoned. 
 
 The annual catalogues since then furnish all needed informa- 
 tion. The school was a prominent factor in the life of Northfield 
 for 17 years and its removal a great sorrow. 
 
 The Seminary and Female College has bestowed its honors on 
 the following young men and women, natives or residents of 
 Northfield : 
 
 Lucian Hunt, A. M., 1847; Luther C. Bean, M. D., 1847; 
 George H. Clark, 1848; La Fayette Cate, M. D., 1850; Joseph 
 Gile, A. M., 1853; Augustus B. Clark, 1854; Darius S. Dearborn, 
 1855; Rev. Charles H. Hanaford, 1856; Abram Brown, A. B., 
 1862; Lucien Knowles, 1863; John C. Tibbetts, 1867; Edward W. 
 Cross, 1876; Frank W. Shaw, 1880; Alfred C. Wyatt, 1880; 
 Charles W. Adams, 1880 ; Samuel W. Forrest, 1884 ; Charles F. 
 Sanborn, M. D., 1889; Ernest Leavitt, 1889; Alvin B. Leavitt, 
 1892 ; Harry Muzzey, 1895 ; Ray W. Firth, 1895 ; Fred Gardiner, 
 1903 ; Roger Hill, 1904 ; Leon T. Powers, 1904. 
 
 ]\Iartha D. Rand, 1847; Mary Y. Glidden, 1849; Cyminthia 
 Foss, 1852 ; Omnia 0. Howard, 1852 ; Julia M. Whitcher, 1853 ; 
 Electa A. Clark, 1855; Mary J. Smith, 1856; Nancy Simonds, 
 1856 ; Lizzie A. Chase, 1859 ; Annie M. Brown, 1860 ; Sophie T. 
 Curry, 1860 ; Josie B. Curry, 1860 ; Lucy R. Hill, 1860 ; Mattie 
 A. Smith, 1860; Augusta M. Peabody, 1861; Dora L. Haines, 
 1863 ; Hester A. R. Simonds, 1863 ; Augusta Simonds, 1865 ; 
 Hannah Curry, 1867; Viola R. Kimball, 1867; Kate Scribner, 
 1867; Anna Buzzell, 1869; Lizzie Herrick, 1869; Annie Chase, 
 1870; Laura Chase, 1871; Abbie M. Sargent, 1871; Lucie K. 
 Gile, 1872 ; Clara E. Smart, 1872 ; Myra A. Tilton, 1876 ; Helen 
 L. Gerrish, 1878; Mary E. Adams, 1879; Bessie H. Morrill, 1880; 
 Georgia A. Page, 1881 ; Kate Forrest, 1881 ; Josie Lang, 1883 ; 
 Lizzie Page, 1885; Eva G. Hill, 1889; Josephine Emery, 1890; 
 Mary Emery, 1890; Anna Gould, 1890; Ina M. Stevens, 1890; 
 Georgia Bullock, 1892; Florence Hill, 1892; Bernice M. Buell, 
 1893; Evelyn Hill, 1897; Laura M. Gardiner, 1898; Pearl M. 
 
EDUCATIONAL. 61 
 
 Hill, 1899 ; Mary A. Perthel, 1903 ; Ada L. Nelson, 1904 ; Flor- 
 ence Shaw, 1905; Grace Crockett, 1905. 
 
 Many others, not completing courses, have had their lives deep- 
 ened and broadened by longer or shorter terms of study and thus 
 fitted for success. It has ever enjoyed a liberal patronage from 
 Christian parents of every denomination and merited it, too, by 
 a large and experienced board of instructors. Its high standard 
 of scholarship, its excellent methods and its superior moral influ- 
 ence have borne abundant fruit in its long list of authors, bankers, 
 doctors, college professors, lawyers, judges and clergymen. 
 
 UNION SCHOOL DISTRICT. 
 (See picture of Graded School.) 
 
 Union district was formed by the union of Nos. 2 and 28 in 
 Tilton and No. 10 in Northfield. The first officers were appointed 
 by the selectmen April 16, 1872. They were Messrs. Balcom and 
 Garmon, A. S. Ballantyne and Samuel Tilton. There being a 
 question as to the legality of the union a special act of the Legis- 
 lature was granted. Pending this act a meeting was held May 
 28, 1872, at the schoolhouse in District No. 28. Charles F. Hill 
 was chosen clerk and W. S. Clark, Charles C. Rogers and Frank- 
 lin J. Eastman, a committee to select a site, put in a foundation 
 and superintend the erection of a new schoolhouse. 
 
 A plan by Arthur Smith for a building costing $4,400 was ac- 
 cepted and a sum of money, not exceeding $5,000, was raised to 
 cover expense of building and site ; $3,000 of this was to be raised 
 by taxation and the balance to be borrowed at a low rate of in- 
 terest. A half acre of land on the Northfield side of the river 
 was donated by ]\Ir. Eastman and work began. 
 
 In March, 1873, the building committee, having completed 
 their duty, submitted the following report : 
 
 Cost of house, $4,947.35; cost of well and pump, $183.38; 
 total, $5,130.73. 
 
 After the act of incorporation was granted, the legal voters 
 met September 4, 1872, and chose a board of education as follows : 
 Rev. ]\Iarcellus A. Herrick, Rev. Theodore C. Pratt, Rev. John 
 B. Robinson. 
 
 Three schools were at once established and the first teachers 
 employed were Miss Sargent and Miss Lizzie A. Chase, the latter 
 
62 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 remaining until 1880. From time to time new rooms were added 
 and new teachers supplied until the schools numbered six and the 
 possibilities of the house were exhausted. In 1900 it was de- 
 cided to erect a new building. A. J. Pillsbury, Sidney Taylor 
 and Arthur T. Cass were chosen a committee on finance; Lewis 
 Hoyt, Frank Hill, E. G. Morrison, on construction. William 
 Butterworth was architect and Daniel Page, builder. 
 
 The appearance of the building was highly satisfactory and the 
 committee reported a cost of $25,000. It was first occupied for 
 the winter term of 1901 and its capacity and arrangement have 
 proved eminently satisfactory. 
 
 TEACHERS. 
 
 Mr. George Clough of Warner, now of Boston, was the first 
 male principal, followed by D. W. C. Durgin, Messrs. Smith, 
 Rivard, Hulse and Seymour, the present principal, with six as- 
 sistants. The female teachers have been largely graduates and 
 trained in normal work. Mr. 0. G. Morrison, Dr. C. L. True 
 and Mrs. Charles Crockett constitute the present board. 
 
 By a law passed in 1898 graduates of this and the other town 
 schools may continue their studies free of tuition at Tilton Sem- 
 inary, the town paying $40 per capita. The Seminary thus be- 
 comes once more one of our institutions, taking the place of a 
 high school. 
 
CHAPTER IV. 
 TRANSPORTATION. 
 
 STAGES. 
 
 The first settlers of Northfield traveled on horseback for many- 
 years and hea\y loads were moved from place to place in ox carts 
 and on sleds in winter. Wheels came into use as soon as the 
 roads were made suitable for them, and thus was established one 
 of the most lucrative trades of our early settlers. Every black- 
 smith's shop had a wheelwright's contingent. At first, wagon 
 bodies were placed directly on the axles and M-ere not found to be 
 greatly conducive to comfort. This was followed by the thorough- 
 brace, and every ye^r added something to the comfort of the 
 traveler, either in vehicle or road. I need not pursue the subject 
 further. The post-rider early made his advent, and though he 
 only passed through the town to Gilmanton by a single route, he 
 was the important precursor of the present rural delivery man 
 with his pouches bursting-full of tidings, good or ill, for nearly 
 every inhabitant. It cost a dime, at least, and often more, to 
 send a greeting to one's friends or to receive theirs in return. 
 
 The year 1815 was long remembered, as it saw the first stage 
 line established in the town. Peter Smart of Concord, who later 
 married a Canterbury woman (see Smart genealogy), drove into 
 town with a gorgeously painted stagecoach, cracking his long 
 whip over the backs of two spirited horses. Mr. Ezekiel Moore, 
 the post-rider, ceased his trips and mail bags were safely tucked 
 away under the stage driver's seat. The stage was a move in 
 the right direction and was often patronized for pleasure trips. 
 Half a score could be crowded inside and the seats on the top 
 were still more desirable. Peter Smart's yarns as he rattled 
 along the main road and the consequent bursts of laughter made 
 his pa.ssage the one event of the day. The children of the two 
 schools on its route used to stop their play on its approach, line 
 up by the roadside and make their "curtchy" as though it were 
 
64 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 the king's coach, and when the number of horses was increased to 
 four, it was almost as good as going to the circus. Other drivers 
 went along this line as Mr. Smart was needed for more difficult 
 routes. The Winslows boarded the relay horses, as did Mr. 
 Morrison at the Centre and the number of bundles passed 
 out to the inhabitants along the route showed the coach to be 
 something of a pedler's cart and a delivery wagon combined. 
 Verbal messages were delivered and startling events chronicled, 
 and what an old stage driver did not know was of little account. 
 It made its last trip when the Boston, Concord & Montreal Rail- 
 road was opened to Sanbornton Bridge, May 22, 1848, and was 
 sincerely mourned, 
 
 WARREN H. SMITH. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Warren H. Smith began life as a farmer boy on his mother's farm. 
 After his school days were over he began doing winter jobs on wood 
 and lumber lots and soon drifted into a considerable business in this 
 and other lines as a teamster. He married, November 8, 1844, Eliza- 
 beth G. Glines (see Smith gen.) and had two sons. Mrs. Smith was 
 one of Northfield's most estimable daughters, scholarly, refined and 
 a true home-maker. She had been a teacher, was a fine singer, a 
 social leader in the church and a queen in her home. 
 
 Mr. Smith farmed for one year at the foot of Bean Hill, where his 
 father and others of his family had started in life. He was energetic 
 and tireless. The routine, the hard labor and slow returns of a 
 farmer's life were not equal to his ambitions. The coming, a few 
 years later, of the Boston, Concord & Montreal Railroad and its con- 
 struction offered an opening which he at once took advantage of. 
 
 He was less than 30 years of age when his first contract was under- 
 taken. He began work three miles below Sanbornton Bridge, at the 
 Winslow crossing, and constructed in all, first and last, 64 miles of 
 the Boston, Concord & Montreal road. Some of these were only 
 gradings, some track laying, others both, and several included bridge 
 and trestle work, and others included all these and many things be- 
 sides. He, at the outset, removed his family to the Clough house, 
 near the Holmes bridge and mill, where a large force of men were 
 cared for, making strenuovis days for the busy wife and her force of 
 assistants. He purchased a home in the village and removed there 
 in 1847. 
 
 Larger contracts were now undertaken, for his reputation as an ex- 
 peditious and thorough builder was at its height. Jobs far and near 
 were offered and often two separate jobs were in progress at the same 
 time. He went in 1849 to a five-mile contract for the Manchester & 
 
WARREN H. SMITH. 
 
TRANSPORTATION. 66 
 
 Lawrence Railroad and also carried the Passumpsic road to St. Johns- 
 bury from Wells River in 1850. 
 
 In 1853 he went to Connecticut for similar work on the Fishkill & 
 Providence road with Thomas Clough and Joseph Rand as his trusted 
 assistants. A contract in Tennessee was promptly despatched the 
 following year. Then came 11 miles on the Suncook Valley Railroad 
 and 15 on the Sugar River route; 25 miles from Cohasset to Duxbury, 
 Mass.; 38 on the Montpelier & Wells River Railroad and nine and a 
 half miles on the road through Franconia Notch. Nearly all these 
 contracts included grading, track laying, masonry, bridges and trestles, 
 and required large forces of men. This activity was in full force in 
 1877, when he undertook 10 miles of narrow-gauge road from Profile 
 House to Bethlehem, which he completed in one year, notwithstanding 
 there was a mile of heavy grading. 
 
 As one would suppose with so large a force of men and teams, 
 every day was a day of adventure and hairbreadth escapes, although 
 alcoholic liquoi-s were never furnished and the exacting labor was 
 accomplished on cold water and coffee. 
 
 Mr. Smith removed his family to the ancestral home on Bay Hill in 
 1874, and the farm became the rendezvous of his big teams of oxen 
 and horses. A string of a dozen or two, going and coming, was no 
 unusual sight. 
 
 The pay for these extreme labors was sometimes paid in part, some- 
 times entirely, in railroad stock, which did not always prove a bo- 
 nanza — a gold brick rather than a gold mine. 
 
 In 1867, while constructing the wooden bridge across the Pemige- 
 wasset River at Hill, he came near losing his life by falling with the 
 structure nearly 40 feet to the rocks below. A space between two 
 boulders, large enough to bear up the timbers, which formed an arch 
 above him, alone saved him from instant death. 
 
 He recalls with great pleasure a scrimmage with the State of Ver- 
 mont while building the bridge at Wells River, as the coming of his 
 line into the state was greatly deplored by a rival line. In some of 
 the encounters, stones, brickbats, spades and hoes were the missiles, 
 and injunctions were issued and courts convened. Mr. Smith was 
 victorious, however, after tiresome delays and expensive litigation, 
 and the result was the settlement forever of the boundary line be- 
 tween New Hampshire and Vermont, viz.: high-water mark on the 
 Vermont shore. 
 
 He was, until past middle life, too busy to attend much to local 
 affairs, town business or politics. He has been allied with the Re- 
 publican party since its formation and was a delegate to the Consti- 
 tutional Convention in 1880. 
 
 The death of his wife, October 10, 1898, the loss of the ancestral 
 home by fire in 1904, coupled with the almost entire loss of hearing, 
 are some of the misfortunes which attend the decline of his strenuous 
 life. 
 
 6 
 
66 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 RAILROADS. 
 
 The Boston, Concord & Montreal Railroad was chartered De- 
 cember 27, 1844, and the first contracts let in 1846. The first 
 survey through the town was not followed in the construction. 
 After crossing Kendegeda Brook on the plains, the proposed route 
 bore to the east, and depots were located in the vicinity of Bay 
 Street and the Granite Mills. This did not please the prominent 
 men who desired a station in the village. 
 
 Their wish was conceded to, and two deep cuts and two bridges 
 were thus added to the cost of the construction. Zenas Clement, 
 a lawyer, and one of the first directors, was then in business at 
 Holmes, now Tilton Mills. Thomas Chase built the roadbed from 
 Wolf Swamp to the main road crossing, Warren H. Smith the 
 remaining distance in town, and it was opened to Sanbornton 
 Bridge, May 22, 1848, with great rejoicing. All day the citizens 
 of the two towns were transported to Concord and back free of 
 charge. A platform was erected near the Elm Mills Woolen 
 Company's present site and speeches were delivered and cannon 
 fired. It was Northfield's proudest day. 
 
 John Mooney was local agent to secure funds and took a large 
 amount of stock, as did John E. Forrest, Thomas Lyford, Thomas 
 Chase, Capt. Isaac Glines, Col. Asa P. Cate, E. L. Wadleigh, Mr. 
 and Mrs. William Gilman, Warren H. Smith and Jonathan and 
 William H. Clough. Shares were $100 each and many invested 
 their last hard-earned dollar in the enterprise, the whole cost of 
 which was $2,850,000 to Woodsville. It is useless to enumerate 
 here the causes of the depreciation of stock or subsequent losses 
 and delays. The old common stock amounted to $459,600. The 
 preferred stock of $800,000 paid 6 per cent, dividends from 1867 
 until 1884, when it was leased June 1 to the Boston & Lowell road 
 for 6 per cent, on preferred for 99 years and was run as the 
 White Mountains Division of the Boston & Lowell until 1889. 
 Later, it was leased to the Boston & Maine. No interest was paid 
 the holders of the first stock for years and it became almost worth- 
 less, selling as low as $5 a share with few buyers. 
 
 It rallied somewhat, for various reasons, and in 1852 was 
 quoted at $40 a share. Many well-to-do Northfield citizens were 
 reduced almost to penury. This misfortune to the town is my 
 excuse for dwelling thus at length on this topic. In 1897 it had 
 
TRANSPORTATION. 67 
 
 reached par and commanded a large premium, being sold at 
 $160, and I am unacquainted with present quotations. It is now 
 a part of the great Boston & IMaine system, which controls and 
 operates 3,260 miles of road and represents a capital investment 
 of about $204,000,000, with $38,000,000 as the gross receipts. It 
 employs more than 25,000 men and the annual pay roll reaches 
 nearly $15,000,000. Northfield men, young and old, have had all 
 these years an added interest, not only in the line, but in the pay 
 car, that has been a welcome monthly visitor, though the sums 
 passed out in the little envelopes then would today cause a 
 strike all along the line. It has all these years furnished em- 
 plojonent for large numbers of our citizens and a large market 
 for wood and ties. Several of the most reliable conductors and 
 firemen are residents of the town. 
 
 TELTON & BELMONT RAILROAD. 
 
 But a small part of Northfield is crossed by this road, which 
 was chartered in 1883 and opened for business August 17, 1888, 
 at a cost of $48,964.79. No stock was issued, as the expense was 
 paid by the Concord & Montreal Eailroad. 
 
 TILTON & FRANKLIN RAILROAD. 
 
 It was first charted with the above name in April, 1887, and 
 provided that if built by the Northern Railroad and Concord & 
 Montreal it should be in operation by January 1, 1890, otherwise 
 Charles E. Tilton, Franklin J. Eastman, Alfred E. Tilton, George 
 S. Philbrick and others should be made a corporation empowered 
 to build said road. The charter was amended July 30, 1889, the 
 name changed to Franklin & Tilton Railroad and a new set of 
 incorporators were named. These consisted of the directors of 
 the Concord & Montreal road with the exception of A. W. Sullo- 
 way, who was made an incorporator representing the Northern 
 and Boston & Maine roads. These incorporators built the road 
 at a cost of $250,000, paid jointly by the Boston & Maine for the 
 Northern Railroad corporation. About three miles of the road 
 lies within the limits of Northfield. 
 
CHAPTER V. 
 MILITARY HISTORY. 
 
 As the history of Northfield and Canterbury is identical until 
 1780, I shall make use of the name Canterbury in the following 
 record : 
 
 New Hampshire was created by the king in council a separate 
 government in 1679, under jurisdiction of a president and coun- 
 cil. The first order issued to the province was to organize the 
 militia. This was in the only charter ever granted to this prov- 
 ince. 
 
 President John Cutt was commissioned January 1, 1680, and 
 the councillors January 22. In the president's commission was 
 the following clause as to the needs and the organizing of a 
 militia : 
 
 "order 1. 
 
 "And for ye better defence and security of all our loving sub- 
 jects within the said Province of New Hampshire our further 
 will and pleasure is, and we do hereby authorize, require and 
 command ye said President and Council for the time being, in our 
 name, and under the Seal appointed by us to be used, to give 
 and issue forth commissions from time to time to such person and 
 persons, whom they shall judge shall be best qualified for regu- 
 lating and disciplining the Militia of our said Province : and for 
 the arranging and mustering the inhabitants thereof and in- 
 structing them how to bear arms. 
 
 ' ' And that care be taken that such good discipline be observed 
 as ye said Council shall prescribe : 
 
 "Yet if any invasion shall at any time be made, or other de- 
 struction or annoyance, made or done by Indians or others upon 
 or unto our good subjects inhabiting within ye said Province of 
 New Hampshire. 
 
 "We do by these presents, for us our heirs, and successors, 
 declare, ordain and grant, that it shall and may be, lawful to 
 
MILITARY. OV 
 
 and for our said subjects so commissioned by our said Council 
 from time to time, and at all times, for their special defense and 
 safety, to encounter, expel, repel and resist by force of arms and 
 all other fitting means whatever, all and every such person or 
 persons, as shall at any time hereafter attempt or enterprise the 
 destruction, invasion or annoyance of any of our said loving sub- 
 jects, their plantations or estates." — Potter's Military History of 
 New Hampshire. 
 
 The calling of an assembly within three months was provided 
 for in this commission at Portsmouth or Strawberry Bank. 
 
 FIRST MILITIA LA"W. 
 
 Adopting the principle that in time of peace a government 
 should prepare for war, a military law was enacted by the As- 
 sembly in 1718 and this was the first attempt at anything like a 
 regular organization in the state. Heretofore it had all been left 
 to the governor and council. 
 
 It was under the new law that Colonel Clough and his scouts 
 were sent out by Gov. Penning Wentworth to protect the Can- 
 terbury settlers 1721- '-46, as given in the chapter on Early Set- 
 tlers, page 3. 
 
 After the close of the Indian "Wars the "north fields" were 
 being settled and farms cleared. There was little time for mili- 
 tary drill, only as the presence of game in the forests gave the 
 boys an opportunity to learn the use of firearms, and the stories 
 of bloody encounters had created in them a deep-settled purpose 
 to do likewise when opportunity offered. 
 
 Then, too, they were not ignorant of the increasing oppressive 
 acts of the mother country and their patriotism was at fever heat 
 long before the news of Lexington and Boston Harbor reached 
 them. Every man capable of doing military duty had long be- 
 fore been singled out and the "expected" was eagerly awaited. 
 
 It came in startling messages in 1775 "that Howe, Clinton and 
 Burgoyne had landed in Boston and that British troops were 
 arriving and that other parts of the country were actually en- 
 gaged in war." 
 
 Then came that wonderful paper called the "Association Test" 
 to the selectmen of Canterbury, as to all New Hampshire towns, 
 which I give in full. Also, another from the Continental Con- 
 gress dated March 14, 1776. 
 
70 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 After the close of the Seven Years' "War, and 1775, the Pro- 
 vincial Legislature obliged every chartered town through its 
 officers to keep on hand a supply of powder and flints ; a specified 
 number of snowshoes and bullets and each town was directed to 
 have a 'Larm List and each able-bodied man was to have a flint- 
 lock musket, two spare flints, priming wire and brush. 
 
 Later the 'Larm List became the Training Band. 
 
 Prior to 1776 Captain Clough and Lieutenant Miles com- 
 manded the men in the ' ' north fields, ' ' and later, it is said, there 
 were two companies in Northfield. 
 
 ASSOCIATION TEST. 
 
 * ' To the Selectmen of Canterbury 
 "Colony of New Hampshire 
 "In Committee of Safety 
 
 "Apr. 12 1776 
 "In order to carry the unwritten 'Resolve' of the Honorable 
 Continental Congress into execution you are requested to desire 
 all Males above twenty-one years of age (Lunaticks, Idiots, and 
 Negroes excepted) to sign to the Declaration on this paper, and 
 when so done to make return hereof together with the name or 
 names of all who shall refuse to sign the same to the General 
 Assembly or Committee of Safety of this Colony 
 
 "M. Weare. Chairman" 
 "In Congress Mar. 14 1776 Resolved, That it be recommended 
 to the several Assemblies, Conventions & Councils, or Committees 
 of Safety of the United States immediately to cause all Persons to 
 be disarmed within their respective Colonies, who are notoriously 
 disaffected to the cause of America or who have not associated, 
 and refuse to associate to defend by arms the United Colonies 
 against the hostile attempts of the British Fleets and Armies. 
 
 ' ' Charles Thompson Secretary ' ' 
 
 The response from Canterbury was prompt and conclusive. 
 One hundred and twenty names were at once placed below the 
 following pledge : 
 
 "In consequence of the above Resolution of the Hon. Conti- 
 nental Congress and to show our determination in joining our 
 American Bretheren and in defending the Lives, Liberties and 
 Properties of the Inhabitants of the United Colonies. 
 
MILITARY. 71 
 
 "We, the Suhscrihers do hereby solemnly engage and promise 
 that we will to the utmost of our Power, at the Risque of our 
 Lives and Fortunes with Arms oppose the Hostile Proceedings of 
 the British Fleets and Armies against the United American Col- 
 onies. " Of the 128 names the following 40 were from the "north 
 fields": 
 
 William Glines, Jr., Joshua Boienton, Richard Allison, Benja- 
 min Blanchard, 3d., "William ]\Ioore, Nathaniel Glines, John Mc- 
 Donald, Nehemiah McDonald, Jonathan Gile, David Blanchard, 
 Shubael Dearborn, Nathaniel Dearborn, Benjamin Blanchard, 
 Richard Blanchard, Edward Blanchard, Nathaniel "Whitcher, 
 Reuben "Whitcher, Ebenezer Kimball, "William Simonds, Josiah 
 Miles, John Hills, John Molony, Jesse Cross, John Cross, Stephen'' 
 Cross, William Hancock, Reuben Kezar, Jacob Heath, John Roen, 
 Nathaniel Perkins, John Gibson, Thomas Gibson, James Lind, 
 Perkins, Peter Hanaford, Benjamin Collins, John Forrest, John 
 Forrest, Jr., Gideon Sawyer, John Simons, Thomas Foss, Timothy 
 Hills. 
 
 Of the enrollment and equipment I cannot speak. It is known 
 that some, when the news of Lexington reached the "north 
 fields," left their ploughs in the furrows, mounted their horses 
 in citizens' clothes, and went to fight the battles of their country. 
 Many of them are enrolled in the following list, and all have a 
 place with their families in genealogical order. 
 
 Some of those whose names follow came to reside in town after 
 the close of the war and are accordingly eligible to a place on our 
 
 ROLL OF HONOR. 
 
 Elias Abbott was with Colonel Bedel in Capt. James Osgood's 
 Company of Rangers sent to Canada to fight the Indians in 1776. 
 
 Abner Flanders went September, 1776, to reinforce the Con- 
 tinental army under Capt. Benjamin Emery, to New York under 
 Colonel Baldwin. He was credited to Haverhill when enlisted. 
 
 Moses Dan forth served in the Revolutionary War. 
 
 Ezekiel Danforth also served in Canada and was killed at 
 Bemis Heights. His widow was a pensioner. 
 
 Henry Danforth served in the New Hampshire State Troops 
 in 1780 and had been in Whitcomb's Rangers before he was 17 
 years old. 
 
72 ' HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 William Forrest was with Stark at Bunker Hill. 
 Moses Cross was in Capt. James Shepard's company of Con- 
 tinental line, Northern army. 
 
 Samuel Goodwin was under Captain Calef, Colonel Wingate 
 and, later, with Captain Salter in the artillery at Fort Wash- 
 ington. He was with Capt. David Place November 5, 1775; at 
 Seavey's Island and still later with Colonel Wingate at Ticon- 
 deroga. 
 
 Caleb Aldrich was with Colonel Reed and Captain Hinds at 
 New York. 
 
 Jesse Carr was in the Continental army, 
 
 Charles Glidden had seen much service before the Revolu- 
 tionary War. He was one of 20 who fought at Bunker Hill, then 
 enrolled as First Lieutenant. 
 
 Edward Dyer was under Capt. Ebenezer Webster in 1782 in 
 the Ranger service in the upper part of the state. 
 
 George Hancock's name appears on Train Band List. He en- 
 listed and expected to go but was not called for. 
 
 Joseph Hancock was a fifer in the Revolutionary army. 
 
 Jacob Hancock was from Hampstead and came with Captain 
 Blanchard to Salisbury Fort on his way to Canada in the French 
 and Indian War. He served under Captain IMooney, was taken 
 prisoner and sent to Louisburg; returned by way of Halifax in 
 1758. He was killed at Bunker Hill. 
 
 Abraham Brown was a drummer in the army three years and 
 adjutant four years. 
 
 Cornelius Ludlow was a Revolutionary soldier. 
 
 Levi Morrill was enlisted from Epping; he moved to North- 
 field later. 
 
 John and Parker Cross were both at Bunker Hill. 
 
 Thomas Cross was also in the service. Company or place not 
 given. 
 
 Theodore Brown was under Capt. Henry Elkins in Piscataqua 
 Harbor. 
 
 William Glines (called Miller Glines) left his mill and entered 
 the service. (See Glines gen.) 
 
 William Keniston was, when 16 years old, under Stark at Ben- 
 nington. 
 
 Jonathan Gilman (see gen.) was at Bunker Hill. 
 
MILITARY. 73 
 
 Phineas Fletcher was at the surrender of Cornwallis at York- 
 town and died on his way home, as no transportation was fur- 
 nished. 
 
 Lieutenant Lyford was educated in the school of war. He was 
 appointed lieutenant in the year 1777 in Major Whitcomb's 
 ^'Core" of Rangers, and served until January, 1781, at which 
 time General Washington ordered that the officers of said corps 
 should retire on half pay for life. But Whitcomb ordered him to 
 march to headquarters whereupon Lyford and his soldiers were 
 mutinous, marched at once to North River and reported to Gen- 
 eral Heald. He at once sent a memorial to the Legislature, June 
 21, 1780, setting forth that he had been in the service in 1775 
 and complaining of bad treatment. 
 
 He must have been a trusted officer as Gen. Enoch Poor sent to 
 headquarters the following from Tieonderoga (without date) : 
 
 ' ' Last evening we sent Lieut Lyford to Split Rock on a recon- 
 aisance. Enemy there tM'o schooners, seven armed Gondolas and 
 a large no. of Batteaux. He heard guns some miles below and 
 supposes whole army on way here. Send help. We have only 
 2240 men." 
 
 Wednesday, February 9, 1780, the Legislature voted Lieut. 
 Thomas Lyford of Whitcomb Rangers should receive from the 
 treasury $560 in part for deprivation of his wages. 
 
 Richard Blanchard went with William Forrest to Bunker Hill, 
 unenlisted, in citizens' clothes. 
 
 Jonathan Wadleigh fought with his two brothers side by side 
 at Bunker Hill. * 
 
 Others in the service were Abner Miles, Shubael Dearborn, 
 Nathaniel Dearborn, Reuben Kezar, Nathaniel Perkins and Na- 
 thaniel Perkins, Jr. The former died at Bunker Hill. William 
 Rines and Joseph Glines and Lieut. Jonathan Heath also died 
 there. There were 20 in all from the "north fields" at Bunker 
 Hill. 
 
 Samuel Rogers, William Rines, Joseph Clisby, John and 
 Samuel Dinsmore, William Danford, Robert Forrest and others 
 whose names are found in Part II of this work. 
 
 Edward Blanchard was commissioned, September 5, 1775, by 
 order of ]Mathew Thornton, governor, to be captain of the New 
 Hampshire company in the Thirteenth Rei-iment of ]\Iilitia of 
 the Colony of New Hampshire. He was ordered to take instruc- 
 
74 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 tion from the Congress of said colony for the time being (in 
 recess of Congress), or the Committee of Safety or any superior 
 officer. Signed by Mathew Thornton, president; E. Thompson, 
 secretary. Dated, Exeter, September 5, 1775. 
 
 In 1790 these titles are attached to the following names on the 
 tax list: 
 
 Capt. Thomas Clough, Capt. Samuel Oilman, Col. Henry 
 Gerrish, Lieut. Jacob Heath (and captain in 1796), Capt. 
 Stephen Haines, Capt. Daniel Hills, Lieut. David Morrill, Lieut. 
 James Perkins, Ensign William Sanborn, Capt. James Shepherd, 
 Capt. Edward Blanchard, Lieut. Joseph Hancock, Adjt. and 
 Capt. Samuel Gilman, Lieut. John Cochran, Capt. Stephen 
 Haines, Lieut. Edmund Kezer, Col. Timothy Walker (non-resi- 
 dent), Ensigns Nathan Colby and William Smith, Lieut. Keuben 
 Blanchard, Lieut. David Hills, Capt. Mathew Sanborn. 
 
 WAR OF 1812. 
 
 After the return of the soldiers from the well-won victories 
 of Yorktown, Stillwater and Saratoga, there were many who 
 remained in the service and used to come out several times yearly 
 for drill unless holding a surgeon 's certificate of disability. Those 
 who had remained at home had not been idle and many joined 
 voluntary companies for home protection and these were soon 
 equipped and trained for future needs, though many deprecated 
 the reopening of hostilities. When the British had made, in 
 August, 1814, their attack on Washington and their fleets were 
 seen along the New England coast, the old spirit of '76 was re- 
 vived and the following from Northfield enlisted for the service, 
 in Capt. Ed Fuller's company, under Lieut.-Col. John Steele of 
 Peterboro for 60d. : Benjamin Rollins, Samuel Carr, Jr., John 
 Marden, Benjamin Morrill, Joseph Dalton, David Keniston, Jr., 
 Ephraim Cross, Milton Gile, John Otis, Jonathan Oile, Oalusha 
 Glidden, Jerry Blanchard, Shubael Dearborn, Josiah Ambrose 
 Woodbury. The latter was drafted, but only went to Ports- 
 mouth. 
 
 Asel Canfield, later a resident of Northfield, was in the British 
 army in Canada. 
 
 Ephraim Cross was not mustered in. 
 
 Jonathan Oile was in the Fourth United States Regiment, 
 Western Brigade, and was ordered to Vincennes. He was at the 
 battle of Tippecanoe. He was drowned. 
 
MILITARY. 75 
 
 Jerry Blanehard's record is unknown. 
 
 Shubael Dearborn, who had fought in the Eevolution, again 
 enlisted, but was too old to go. His brother also enlisted but died 
 before being mustered in. 
 
 Caleb Aldrieh went to New York under Colonel Keed and 
 Captain Hinds. 
 
 Benjamin Rollins was a musician under Col. John Steele of 
 Peterboro and Capt. Ed Fuller. He was a pensioner. He en- 
 listed for 60 days, September 28, 1814. 
 
 Samuel Carr was in the same company for the same time. 
 
 John Harden was mustered in September 28, 1814. 
 
 Benjamin Morrill enlisted for 60 days in Capt. Ed Fuller's 
 companj^ under Colonel Steele. 
 
 Joseph Dalton was mustered in September 28, 1814, for 60 
 days. 
 
 David Keniston, Jr., enlisted, in the infantry and was always 
 called the "infant." 
 
 "ancient and honorable AMERICAN COMPANY," MINUTE MEN. 
 
 This organization was in response to an order from the gov- 
 ernor that each town should organize a company of soldiers. 
 
 WHEREAS 
 
 "Some of the inhabitants of the town of Northfield who are 
 exempted by the laws of New Hampshire from bearing arms, 
 conceiving the times to be very alarming, hearing of horrid mur- 
 ders being committed by the Indians on our frontiers, and also 
 of the unjust treatment which we receive from the beligerants, 
 namely England and France with respect to our commercial 
 rights deem it a duty we owe to our revolutionary Heroes who 
 spilt their blood to gain our independence, a duty we owe to our 
 wives and children, and the warm attachment which we have for 
 our Country (viz) the United States, to volunteer ourselves to 
 be ready at short notice to repel the hostile foe and do also form 
 ourselves into a company to be in future known by the ancient 
 and honorable American company — and do pledge our honors to 
 be under good discipline and be in subjection to our superior 
 Officers which are to consist of one Coin, one Major, one Secre- 
 tary, one Surgeon, one captain one Lieut one ensign 4 Sergents 
 and 4 Corporals" 
 
76 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 "Each commissioned officer to be chosen by ballot or by the 
 company marching along single file, and giving the name of the 
 person he wishes for his officer, to a person placed to receive said 
 names — and likewise to choose a committee to frame Laws and 
 regulations for sd Company 
 
 "It is the opinion of your committee that the present company 
 know by the name of the Ancient and honorable American Com- 
 pany should consist of one Captain one Lieutenant, one Ensign, 
 4 Sargents and 4 Corporals and do so far do away the former 
 bye Laws as to remove the field officers thinking them improper 
 and unnecessary 
 
 "Sept 30, 1804 
 
 The signatures are as follows: 
 
 "A. T. Clark, Jonathan Clough, B. Blanchard, J. Dearborn, 
 J. Cross, Capt. Heath, W. Forrest, J. Eollins, Stept Colby, Israel 
 Hodgdon, Moses Goodwin, Jona Sanborn, Stephen Chase, Thomas 
 Lj'ford, Saml Dalton, S. Jewell, Lt 0. Hall, J. Gile, Saml Beede, 
 J. Dearborn, And Gilman, F. Smith, Ab. Clough, Jno. Davis, J. 
 Cilley, Jonathan Ayers, J. Smith, B. Jones, T. Clough, Abraham 
 Brown, Isaac Glines, B. Whicher, Abraham Glines, Eobert Evans, 
 Simon Gilman, J. Ambrose, J. Glines; Sergts, Lieut. Hancock, 
 1st Sargent, M. Goodwin, 2nd Sargent, J. Cilley, 3rd Sargent, T. 
 Lyford, 4th Sargent; Corporals, J. Smith, B. Jones, T. Simonds, 
 S. Chase." 
 
 "Voted that the officers uniform themselves." 
 Northfield, October, 1814. 
 
 "This day by an entire Vote of the company they agreed to 
 equip themselves and be ready for Military duty against the com- 
 mon enemy at a minute's warning in defence of this State." 
 
 ' ' We the subscribers do Volunteer our services to the Commder 
 in chief of the State of New Hampshire and do enge to equip our- 
 selves for Military duty for defending ourselves against the com- 
 mon enemy, and to be ready at a minute's warning." 
 
 This document is signed by Jona Gilman, David Keniston, 
 Timothy Hills, David Hills, Samuel Thompson, J. Molony, Cap- 
 tain Clough, John Hills, Charles Glidden, Lieut. William Han- 
 cock, F. Keniston, Jona Ayers, William Cross, Samuel Rogers. 
 
 I have no record of the battles in which all this valor displayed 
 itself but conclude that the "common enemy" was vanquished 
 
MILIT.UIY. 77 
 
 and the "hostile foe" was repelled and expelled, and that their 
 duty to those Revolutionary heroes, who spilled their blood, was 
 fully discharged. 
 
 UNCLASSIFIED ITEMS. 
 
 Timothj^ Hills was commissioned as ensign in the Tenth Com- 
 pany in the Eleventh Regiment of militia. State of New Hamp- 
 shire. 
 
 John Taylor Gilman, Governor 
 
 Sworn to before Daniel Hills, Justice of the Peace, September 
 23, 1802. 
 
 Another paper records the fact that he was asked to resign 
 June 14, 180-4, and his resignation was accepted by J. T. Gil- 
 man, Captain General. 
 
 Peter Wadleigh was chosen sergeant of this (Eleventh) regi- 
 ment, as shown by the following : 
 
 "To Peter Wadleigh Greeting 
 
 "Chosen Sergt of 10th Co. 11th Regt and officers & soldiers 
 are commanded to obey him as 1st Sergt. 
 "Oct 7. 1811 
 
 "Asa Robertson Commandant 
 11th Regt 
 "Rockingham ss 
 
 "He took oath of allegiance and oath of office before Chas. 
 M. Glidden Jr Justice Pease ' ' 
 
 He received the following order the year previous : 
 
 "Sir: 
 
 "The field officers of the Eleventh Regiment have agreed to 
 meet at Aaron Austin's in Concord the first Monday in March 
 next at ten oclock a. m. for the purpose of establishing some 
 Rule for filling up the Light Infantry & Cavalry companies in 
 said Regiment at which time and place I wish you to attend with 
 your subaltern officers if it is convenient 
 
 "From Yours &c 
 
 "Asa Foster Jr" 
 
 Another paper shows that Timothy Hills, gentleman, was con- 
 stituted and appointed captain of Company 17 in the Voluntary 
 
78 HISTORY OF NORTHFEELD. 
 
 Corps of Infantry. Signed, John Taylor Gilman, Governor, 
 October 28, 1814. (Note. — This date may be incorrect.) He 
 received the following order September 25, 1811 : 
 
 "battalion orders. 
 *' To Capt Timothy Hills 
 
 "Pursuent to Regimental Orders to me transmitted, you are 
 hereby ordered to appear with the company under your Comand 
 Equipped with Arms & Accoutrements according to law for In- 
 spection and review on Thurs. the tenth day of October next at 
 eight oclock a. m. on the Parade ground near Austin's tavern 
 in Concord and there waite further orders: You are further di- 
 rected to make out two returns of your Company and hand one 
 to the Inspector, the other to me when your Company is In- 
 spected, j 
 
 ''Signed Asa Foster 
 "Majr Second Battalion 11th Regi 
 
 ''Canterbury Sept 25, 1811 
 
 "N. B. You are desired to see that your soldiers have their 
 Powder made into Cartridges before the day of Muster. ' ' 
 
 The above papers show that Northfield citizens were not inac- 
 tive in the great struggles for liberty and self -protection, while 
 their neighbors were in active conflict with the enemy. They were 
 found among others belonging to Col. Timothy Hills. 
 
 MILITIA laws. 
 
 After the close of the M^ar, the general government, as well as 
 the state Legislature organized or reorganized the militia laws 
 and the Thirty-eighth Regiment was reorganized. It included all 
 those eligible to military duty in Northfield, Canterbury and Lou- 
 don. Asa P. Cate was colonel, Joseph Cofran, adjutant, and 
 Hiram Cilley, second lieutenant. The latter had been a captain 
 and quartermaster in the Tenth Regiment. 
 
 The new law required a certain number of companies of in- 
 fantry, one troop of cavalry and one gun. 
 
 Northfield had two companies and the May trainings and 
 militia musters were grand holidays. The expenses for these 
 were paid by the towns and the state and the latter furnished 
 arms. The last militia muster was held in 1847 (?) and the offi- 
 
MILITARY. 79 
 
 eers' drills were continued for a few years after. "When in 1861 
 the War of the Rebellion was thrust upon us there was no citizen 
 soldiery in Northfield. 
 
 There were, however, three regular organized companies in 
 the state, viz. : Lyndeborough Artillery, McCutcheon Guards of 
 New London, Canaan Grenadiers. There was besides, the Amos- 
 keag Veterans of Manchester, partly a voluntary organization. 
 
 MEXICAN WAR. 
 
 This war was fought with the regular army and no call for 
 volunteers was made. There were but two natives of Northfield 
 in service there: Joshua Smith, who died in Ohio on his way 
 home, and Whitten Ludlow, who died at Corpus Christi. 
 
 WAR OP THE REBELLION, 
 
 Northfield was not free from the universal unrest and excite- 
 ment that prevailed during the few years next preceding the out- 
 break of the Civil War. The issues of the day were ardently dis- 
 cussed in the highways and byways, the country stores and even 
 the horse sheds on Sunday, and whilom worshipers took their 
 accustomed places less intent on learning their duties to God 
 than suggestions of their duties to their fellow men or to country. 
 Nevertheless when the war had actually begun and the first call 
 of the president for assistance came, a special meeting was at 
 once called by the officers of the town to see what action should 
 be taken to fill its quota. The first action was to vote a bounty 
 of $300 to all volunteers and the same to such, now in the service 
 on short terms,, as might re-enlist. Provided a draft was neces- 
 sary, every drafted man should have a bounty of $300 and $30,- 
 000 was appropriated for that purpose. 
 
 Upon another call for troops another special meeting was called 
 and it was voted to pay every enrolled man, provided he was 
 drafted and furnished a substitute, the sum of $300. In case 
 the Legislature should increase the sum the selectmen were 
 ordered to do the same. Thirty thousand dollars was ordered 
 raised to carry out this or any other vote. In 1864, $15,000 was 
 voted and after several trials as to sum, $800 was voted to each 
 volunteer or drafted man, town notes to be given where they 
 would be accepted. 
 
80 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 An enrollment was made of all between the ages of 18 and 36, 
 which included 75 names, and those between 36 and 45 included 
 38, a total of 113. The first list was furnished the government 
 when the first draft was ordered and the following were drawn : 
 Charles B. Osgood, Oliver L. Dearborn, Josiah H. Littlefield, 
 Thomas Keniston, Frederick Keniston, Jason Foss, Sylvester W. 
 Eaton, Aram Riley, Smith W. Glines, Jesse Moore, Richard 
 Batchelder, Charles Henry Ayers, Albert Keniston, Thomas Ben- 
 ton Clark, Enoch J. Dearborn, Benjamin S. Clay, Reuben S, 
 Whicher, Wesley M. Glines, John G. Heath, William Woodbury, 
 Daniel Sanborn, Jeremiah Lake, Hazen I. Batchelder — 23 in all. 
 Several of these were for physical and other reasons exempt. 
 
 At a special meeting, held April 16, 1864, the selectmen were 
 empowered and directed to furnish substitutes for the drafted 
 men. As the war progressed nearly every man capable of doing 
 military duty, and some who were not, volunteered for the service, 
 as shown by the following list. 
 
 The final action of the town provided for a bounty for one- 
 year volunteers, $500; for two years, $800; and for three years, 
 $1,200 each. 
 
 The towns advanced the government bounty and the state 
 gave $100. In 1864 the bounties aggregated $1,200. 
 
 "our boys who wore the blue." 
 
 The following lists include the names and record of service of 
 the men who were mustered into the army of the United States in 
 the War of the Rebellion under call of July 2, 1862, and subse- 
 quent calls, and assigned to the quota of Northfield, and those 
 who went prior to that date, as well as those who were natives 
 of the town and enlisted elsewhere, 
 
 LIST L 
 
 Edmund Sanders ; Company F ; Second Regiment ; mustered in. 
 August 15, 1864, for three months; re-enlisted for three years; 
 died of disease, JNIarch 7, 1865, at Laconia. 
 
 Benjamin HxYNiVFORD ; Company D ; Fourth Regiment ; enlisted 
 in 1861 for three years ; re-enlisted from Sanbornton, 1863 ; died 
 of disease, March 18, 1864, at Beaufort, S. C. 
 
 Israel C. Hall; Company D; Fourth Regiment for three 
 years; mustered in, February 28, 1864; captured, August 16, 
 
MILITARY. 81 
 
 1864, at Deep Bottom, Va. ; wounded January 15, 1865, at Fort 
 Fisher, N. C. ; discharged June 12, 1865, at Beaufort, S. C. 
 
 Richard Dearborn ; Company D ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, August 30, 1862; captured, May 16, 1864, at Drury's Bluff, 
 Va., with Hickman's Brigade; was at Andersonville 11 months 
 and 21 days ; paroled ; discharged June 26, 1865 ; died at North- 
 field, July 16, 1901. 
 
 James S. Tilton ; Company D ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered in, 
 August 30, 1862, for three years ; mustered out as first sergeant, 
 August 23, 1865. 
 
 WiNTHROP Presby ; Company D ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, August 30, 1862, for three years; killed July 27, 1864, near 
 Petersburg, Va. 
 
 James M. Danforth ; Company I, Fourth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, August 30, 1862 ; killed August 16, 1864, at Deep Bottom, Va. 
 
 Charles Smith was taken prisoner at Petersburg and died at 
 Andersonville. 
 
 George Davison served in the Thirteenth New Hampshire 
 Volunteers. 
 
 Bradbury ]\Iorrill served in the Twelfth Regiment. He was 
 wounded in the wrist at Gettysburg. 
 
 Aaron Veasey ; Company D ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered in, 
 August 28, 1862; discharged, June 16, 1865, at Fort Schuyler, 
 N. Y. ; died at Amherst, June 21, 1904. 
 
 Curtice Whittier ; Company D ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, September 3, 1862; discharged, June 15, 1865, at Raleigh, 
 N. C. ; now resides at Meredith ; is a wool sorter. 
 
 William Parsons (or Pearsons) ; Company D ; Fourth Regi- 
 ment; mustered in, August 30, 1862; discharged, disabled, July 
 15, 1863, at Folly Island, S. C. ; he died at Northfield, December 
 12, 1876. 
 
 James S. Martin ; Company A ; Sixth Regiment ; mustered in, 
 December 31, 1863 ; discharged, February 2, 1864, at Camp Nel- 
 son, Ky. 
 
 Thomas King; Company A; Sixth Regiment; mustered in, 
 January 2, 1864; discharged, :March 20, 1864, at Pittsburg, Pa. 
 
 John Johnson; Company F; Sixth Regiment; mustered in, 
 January 4, 1864; transferred to Camp Chase, Ohio, October 24, 
 7 
 
82 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD, 
 
 1864, for Department of the Northwest, but not assigned to any 
 regiment there; discharged August 30, 1865. 
 
 Charles Marsh; Company F; Sixth Regiment; mustered in, 
 January 5, 1864; discharged, disabled, August 26, 1864, at 
 Philadelphia, Pa. 
 
 JosiAH RoBBiNS ; Company I ; Sixth Regiment ; mustered in, 
 January 1, 1864; captured, October 1, 1864, at Poplar Springs 
 Church, Va. ; released and mustered out, July 17, 1865. 
 
 Frank Elson; Company D; Seventh Regiment; mustered in, 
 October 15, 1863; captured at Olustee, Fla., February 20, 1864; 
 paroled December 24, 1864; reported on M. 0. roll, July 20, 
 
 1865, as absent sick at Annapolis, Md. 
 
 John McDaniel ; Company D ; Eighth Regiment ; mustered in, 
 December 20, 1861 ; died of disease, March 29, 1863, at New Or- 
 leans, La. 
 
 John Presby ; Company D ; Eighth Regiment ; mustered in, 
 December 20, 1861 ; appointed corporal ; re-enlisted, January 4, 
 1864; credited to Sanbornton; discharged, January 2, 1865, at 
 Natchez, Miss., as supernumerary non-commissioned officer. 
 
 Gideon Coty; Company C; Eighth Regiment; mustered in, 
 January 4, 1865; assigned to Company C, Veterans' Battalion, 
 April 30, 1865 ; mustered out, October 28, 1865. 
 
 Thomas G-ile, Jr. ; Company C ; Ninth Regiment ; mustered in, 
 July 17, 1862; was at Fredericksburg, December 13, 1862; dis- 
 charged, disabled, February 1, 1863, at Annapolis, Md. He died 
 at Tilton, 1892. 
 
 James Van Peabody ; Company C ; Ninth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, August 5, 1862; discharged, disabled, January 26, 1864, at 
 Concord. 
 
 "Walter F. Glines; Company C; Ninth Regiment; mustered 
 in, August 13, 1862; transferred to Company I, Fifteenth Vet- 
 erans' Relief Corps, April 1, 1865; discharged, July 8, 1865, at 
 Springfield, 111. ; he died at West Concord, April, 1887. 
 
 Alonzo F. HoYT; Company C; Ninth Regiment; mustered in, 
 August 13, 1862 ; died of disease, January 1, 1865, at Falmouth, 
 Va. 
 
 Amos Kendall Copp served in the Eighth Regiment and was 
 wounded at Port Hudson, May 10, 1862. 
 
 Hiram Bradley Evans served in the Ninth Regiment and died 
 
 II 
 
MILITARY. 83 
 
 in hospital, 1864, from a wound received in the Battle of the 
 Wilderness. 
 
 Herbert Goss Chase enlisted in the Ninth Regiment as a 
 musician. 
 
 Smitpi D. Corliss ; Company F ; Fifth Regiment ; died at Fal- 
 mouth, Va., 1862; he retired on account of sickness and was 
 stationed as a cook; he enlisted from Franklin. 
 
 Charles F. Corliss served in the Second Regiment, Company 
 F ; he died at Washington, D. C, on his way to the front. 
 
 Joseph Corliss served three years in Company F, Second 
 Regiment. He died at Concord, on his way home. 
 
 William H. Roberts ; Company K ; Ninth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, August 15, 1862; transferred to invalid corps; assigned to 
 Company E, Eighteenth V. R. C. ; discharged, June 24, at Wash- 
 ington, D. C. 
 
 C.VLViN W. Beck; Company D; Twelfth Regiment; mustered 
 in, September 5, 1862; discharged, disabled, February 11, 1863, 
 at Falmouth, Va. 
 
 John Dalton; Company D; Twelfth Regiment; mustered in, 
 September 5, 1862; discharged, disabled, August 25, 1863, at 
 Alexandria, Va. 
 
 Ira T. Whitcher ; Company D ; Twelfth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, September 5, 1862; discharged at Falmouth, Va., April 15, 
 1863. 
 
 George W. Niles ; Company D ; Twelfth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, September 16, 1862; wounded, July 2, 1863, at Gettysburg, 
 Pa. ; died at New York City, August 2, 1864. 
 
 Joseph Bennett; Company — ; Ninth Regiment; died at 
 Washington, D. C, as the result of wounds, January, 1863. 
 
 Frank Braley; Company F; Twelfth Regiment; mustered 
 in, September 5, 1862 ; was at Falmouth, Va., December 12, 1862 ; 
 mustered out, June 21, 1865. " 
 
 Cornelius Br.vley ; Company F ; Twelfth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, September 5, 1862; wounded. May 3, 1863, at Chancellors- 
 ville, Va. 
 
 James C. Farley; Company F; Twelfth Regiment; mustered 
 in, September 5, 1862; mustered out, June 21, 1865. 
 
 John Keniston; Company F; Twelfth Regiment; mustered 
 in, September 5, 1862; wounded at Chancellorsville, Va., May 
 
84 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 3, 1863 ; mustered out, December 13, 1863, at Falmouth, Ya. ; died 
 at Northfield, January 31, 1902. 
 
 George Koberts; Company F; Twelfth Kegiment; mustered 
 in, September 5, 1862; was at Chancellorsville ; mustered out, 
 January 21, 1865. 
 
 Charles Woodward; Company F; Twelfth Regiment; mus- 
 tered in, September 5, 1862 ; mustered out, June 21, 1865. 
 
 Byron K. Morrison; Company G; Twelfth Regiment; mus- 
 tered in, September 9, 1862; discharged, disabled, December 8, 
 1862, at Washington, D. C. ; died, October 12, 1863. 
 
 William Herrick or Bill Harriot ; Company D ; Eighth Regi- 
 ment; mustered in, December 20, 1861; wounded, June 14, 1863, 
 at Port Hudson, La. ; re-enlisted and was mustered in, January 4, 
 1864; was transferred to Company A, Veterans' Battalion, 
 Eighth New Hampshire Volunteers, January 1, 1865 ; mustered 
 out, October 28, 1865 ; he died at Belmont, May 25, 1900. 
 
 Charles W. Tilton enlisted May 1, 1861, and was elected 
 second lieutenant of Capt. Jonathan Bagiey's company, June 12, 
 1861; September 20, 1861, he was appointed second lieutenant; 
 mustered out to date, September 18, 1861; resigned commission, 
 January 16, 1862; re-enlisted in Company C, Ninth Regiment, 
 July 17, 1862; appointed first lieutenant, August 10, 1862; 
 wounded, September 17, 1862 ; resigned December 5, 1862. 
 
 Ward Gilman served in the Twelfth Regiment. He was 
 wounded at Chancellorsville by a bullet, one half of which was 
 taken from his side and is in the possession of his son; the other 
 half could not be found. He received a second wound at Drury 's 
 Bluffs from a bursting shell and was nearly blind for some years. 
 
 Wallace Chase ; Company A ; Ninth Regiment ; mustered in, 
 July 3, 1862; discharged, disabled, December 4, 1862, at Fal- 
 mouth, Va. ; re-enlisted and credited to Durham, January 19, 
 1864, and died of disease, January 5, 1865. 
 
 Ervin a. Hurd ; Company D ; Sixteenth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, October 11, 1862; mustered out, August 20, 1863. 
 
 John W. Downes ; Company C ; Eleventh Regiment ; mustered 
 in, February 23, 1863; transferred to Company C, Sixth New 
 Hampshfre Volunteers, June 1, 1865; mustered out, July 17, 
 1865. 
 
 Fred Keniston ; Company F ; Twelfth Regiment ; mustered in, 
 September 14, 1864; discharged, June 21, 1865, at Baltimore, 
 
MILITARY. 85 
 
 ]Md.; died at Manchester, probably November 10, 1902; buried 
 the 12th. 
 
 Albert McDaniel; Company H; Fifteenth Regiment; mus- 
 tered in, October 11, 1862; mustered out and re-enlisted, Sep- 
 tember 2, 186-4, for one year in Company C, Hea\'y Artillery; 
 mustered out, June 15, 1865; is now in Soldiers' Home, Togus, 
 Me. 
 
 Thomas G. Ames; Company II; Fifteenth Regiment; mus- 
 tered in, October 11, 1862, as first sergeant ; died of disease, July 
 20, 1863, at Port Hudson, La. 
 
 RuFUS H. TiLTON ; Company D ; Sixteenth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, November 11, 1862; discharged, August 20, 1863. 
 
 John "W. Piper ; Company E ; Sixteenth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, October 22, 1862, as musician ; mustered out, August 2, 1863 ; 
 again mustered in, September 13, 1864, to Eighteenth Regiment, 
 and mustered out, June 10, 1865. 
 
 Albert Brown ; Company B ; Eighteenth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, September 15, 1864; mustered out, June 10, 1865. 
 
 Arthur F, ]\Ierrill; Company D; Seventeenth Regiment; 
 mustered in, September 21, 1864; mustered out, July 29, 1865; 
 died at Providence, La., 1868. 
 
 Samuel C. Fifield; Veteran Reserve Corps; mustered in, De- 
 cember 19, 1863 ; discharged, November 13, 1864. 
 
 DeWitt C. Merrill served in Nineteenth (>\Iass.) Regiment 
 and also in the navy for four years. 
 
 Peter La. Casey (sub.); Company D; First Cavalry; mus- 
 tered in, April 30, 1864; appointed saddler. May 1, 1865; mus- 
 tered out, July 15, 1865. 
 
 George W. Keyes; Company K; First Cavalry; mustered in, 
 October 10, 1862; wounded, November 12, 1864, at Back Roads, 
 Va. : appointed corporal, April 1, 1865 ; sergeant, July 1, 1865 ; 
 mustered out, July 15, 1865 ; re-enlisted elsewhere. 
 
 James B. Gold (sub.) ; Company L; First Cavalry; mustered 
 in, December 31, 1863 ; deserted at Concord, February 21, 1864. 
 
 John ]\Iorrow tsub.) ; Company L; First Cavalry; mustered 
 in, December 31, 1863 ; deserted, February 28, 1864, at Concord. 
 
 George Smith (sub.); Company L; First New Hampshire 
 Cavalry; mustered in, January 1, 1864; supposed to have deserted 
 en route to join regiment ; no report at Washington, D. C. 
 
86 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Charles Smart; Company A; First Cavalry; mustered in, 
 March 15, 186-1; appointed sergeant, May 1, 1864; second lieu- 
 tenant, July 10, 1865, but was mustered out as sergeant, July 
 15, 1865. He was also in the First and Fifth New Hampshire 
 Regiments, credited to other towns. Resides at Peabody, Mass. 
 
 William Craigue; Company D; First Cavalry; mustered in, 
 April 30, 1864; discharged, May 11, 1865, at Concord. 
 
 Asa Dart; Company D; First Cavalry; mustered in, April 
 29, 1864; appointed company quartermaster-sergeant, March 1, 
 1865; mustered out, July 15, 1865. 
 
 LuciEN W. Knowles; Company D; First Cavalry; mustered 
 in, April 29, 1864; contracted fever in camp at Concord; died 
 at Northfield, September 3, 1864. 
 
 George Stark (sub.) ; Company D; First Cavalry; mustered 
 in, April 29, 1864, and left for parts unknown, March 18, 1865, 
 at Muddy Branch, Md. 
 
 Charles H. Davis; Company C; Ninth Regiment; mustered 
 in, July 29, 1862 ; discharged, June 10, 1865 ; served in the Wil- 
 derness campaign; was at Falmouth, South Mountain, Freder- 
 icksburg and Vicksburg, Miss. 
 
 Hiram H. Cross; Company C; Heavy Artillery; mustered in 
 for one year, September 2, 1864 ; mustered out, June 15, 1865. 
 
 Albert Titcomb ; Company G ; Heavy Artillery ; mustered in, 
 September 6, 1864, for one year ; discharged, June 15, 1865. 
 
 Joseph Mills Simonds; Company H; Heavy Artillery; mus- 
 tered in, September 17, 1864, for one year; mustered out, June 
 15, 1865. 
 
 John Dinsmore ; Company L ; Heavy Artillery ; mustered in, 
 September 19, 1864; mustered out, June 15, 1865. 
 
 Stephen Kenney (sub.) ; enlisted for three years as seaman; 
 served on Yandalia and Desoto; deserted, February 15, 1865, 
 from receiving ship at Norfolk, Va. 
 
 Clarence H. Abbott (sub.) ; enlisted for three years as sea- 
 man; served on Yandalia and Tioga; deserted, July 13, 1866, 
 from the Tioga. 
 
 John Lyons (sub.) ; enlisted for four years as seaman; served 
 on U. S. ship Colorado; deserted, March 19, 1865, at Brooklyn, 
 N. Y. ; had served three previous terms as seaman and been hon- 
 orably discharged. 
 
 II 
 
MILITARY. 87 
 
 John Kelley (sub.) ; enlisted, September 13, 1864, for four 
 years; deserted, September 19, 1864, at Portsmouth. 
 
 Joseph Sweeney (sub.) ; enlisted, September 13, 1864, for 
 four years and deserted, September 19, 1864, at Portsmouth. 
 
 James McVey (sub.) ; enlisted, July 23, 1864, for four years; 
 served on U. S. ship Vandalia; deserted, February 22, 1865, 
 from the Vandalia. 
 
 Abe Libby ; Company F ; First Regiment ; mustered in. May 
 3, 1861, for three months; mustered out, August 9, 1861; then 
 enlisted in Company H, Fourth Regiment; mustered in, Septem- 
 ber 18, 1861; transferred to Company B, United States Ar- 
 tillery, November 3, 1862; re-enlisted, February 2, 1864; dis- 
 abled and discharged, November 12, 1864. 
 
 Charles Stevens (sub.), (alias Francis Bently) ; Company 
 F ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered in, August 20, 1863 ; discharged, 
 August 23, 1865. 
 
 Peter Hilton (sub.); Company A; Third Regiment; mus- 
 tered in, August 20, 1863 ; severely wounded. May 13, 1864, at 
 Drury's Bluff, Va.; died of his wounds, May 31, 1864, at Point 
 Lookout, Md. 
 
 James Lynch (sub.); Company H; Fourth Regiment; mus- 
 tered in, August 19, 1863; deserted, May 31, 1864, at Bermuda 
 Hundred. 
 
 Charles C. Cofran ; Company C ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, September 18, 1861, as corporal ; was drowned, June 30, 1862, 
 at St. Augustine, Fla. 
 
 Charles W. York; Martin Guards, New Hampshire Volun- 
 teer Infantry; mustered in, July 25, 1864, for three months as 
 corporal; mustered out, September 16, 1864. He had served 
 previously in the First New Hampshire Artillery. 
 
 Abram L. Dearborn; Company B; Fourth Regiment; mus- 
 tered in, September 18, 1861; disabled and discharged, Septem- 
 ber 15, 1863, at Beaufort, S. C. ; credited to Exeter. 
 
 John Collins ; Company E ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered in, 
 July 26, 1864 ; wounded by explosion of magazine at Fort Fisher, 
 N. C; discharged, June 20, 1865, at Southville, N. C. 
 
 George W. Clark ; Company H ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, September 18, 1861; re-enlisted, February 20, 1864, and 
 credited to Canterbury; mustered in, February 28, 1864; de- 
 serted, October 13, 1864; reported, May 10, 1865, under presi- 
 
88 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 dent's proclamation and was discharged, May 11, 1865, at Con- 
 cord. 
 
 The following natives of Northfield enlisted elsewhere: 
 
 LIST II. 
 
 Dr. Jeremiah F. Hall, credited to Wolfeborough, was ap- 
 pointed surgeon of the Fifteenth Kegiment, November 1, 1862, 
 and went with it to Louisiana ; resigned, on account of ill health, 
 January 19, 1863 ; May 6, 1863, was chosen surgeon of the 
 First New Hampshire District, and served until the dissolution 
 of the board, August 1, 1865; resided at Portsmouth, where he 
 died, March 1, 1888. 
 
 Horace B. Evans served in the Twelfth Massachusetts Regi- 
 ment and died in hospital, May, 1864. 
 
 N. Martin Davis served in the Nineteenth United States Ar- 
 tillery ; was in the Army of the Potomac ; was discharged and re- 
 enlisted ; last discharge was dated June 6, 1877. 
 
 Walter Tibbetts enlisted in Chicago in 1863. He was at 
 Pittsburg Landing and has ever since been a helpless invalid. 
 
 Lucien Chase; Company A; Ninth Regiment; mustered in, 
 July 3, 1862 ; died of disease, August 12, 1863, on hospital boat 
 Tycoon on the Mississippi River. 
 
 Asa WiTHAM; Company D; Twelfth Regiment; mustered in, 
 September 5, 1862; discharged, disabled, August 25, 1863, at 
 Alexandria, Va. ; died, February 7, 1898, at Laconia. 
 
 Charles M. Dinsmore; Company I; Sixth Regiment; mus- 
 tered in, December 11, 1861; died of disease, October 7, 1863, 
 at Russellville, Ky. 
 
 Joseph Dinsmore ; Company I ; Sixth Regiment ; mustered in, 
 December 11, 1861; discharged, disabled, October 7, 1862, at 
 Washington, D. C. ; burned to death in his room at Tilton, 
 1889 (?). 
 
 Charles L. Arlin; Company D; Eighth Regiment; corporal; 
 mustered in, December 20, 1861, for three years; re-enlisted in 
 Company A, Veterans' Battalion, August 16, 1865. 
 
 Rev. John Chamberlain was sent by Governor Berry to look 
 after New Hampshire men anywhere and everywhere, who were 
 in the service. He was pensioned by special act of Congress. 
 He died at Northfield, January 1, 1893. 
 
MILITARY. 89 
 
 John Low Phelps ; Company C; Eleventh Regiment; was 
 taken prisoner and died in Libby Prison, November 11, 1864. 
 
 Erwin Girard Cate; sergeant; Company G; Twelfth Regi- 
 ment; was wounded in the head at Cold Harbor; was also at 
 Gettysburg. 
 
 John G. Brown enlisted in the Twelfth Regiment and died at 
 Fairmount, Va. 
 
 Jesse Kezar served three years in the Eighth Regiment, New 
 Hampshire Volunteers ; credited to Franklin. 
 
 William Kezar ; Sixteenth Regiment; enlisted for nine 
 months ; died at Concord on his return, August 29, 1863 ; credited 
 to Franklin. 
 
 Hiram Hodgdon ; sutler of the Twelfth Regiment ; credited to 
 Ashland. 
 
 Dr. Sam G. Dearborn; surgeon; Eighteenth Regiment; mus- 
 tered in, December 25, 1861; resigned, August 19, 1862; ap- 
 pointed surgeon of the Eighth Regiment, September 29, 1864, 
 but declined the appointment. He was credited to Milford. 
 
 "Willl\m a. Gile ; Company E ; Sixteenth Regiment ; mustered 
 in as sergeant, October 30, 1862, for one year; mustered out, 
 August 30, 1863 ; re-enlisted and appointed captain in Company 
 E, Eighteenth Regiment, October 1, 1864; re-enlisted in the 
 United States Colored troops. He was credited to Franklin. 
 
 Frank A. Gile; Company E; Sixteenth Regiment; mustered 
 in, November 10, 1862, for one year; mustered out, August 20, 
 1863 ; also credited to Franklin. 
 
 George Whitcher ; Company F ; Eighth Regiment ; mustered 
 in, December 20, 1861; deserted, January 20, 1862, at Man- 
 chester; credited to Sanbornton. 
 
 William C. Whittier enlisted, first, in the Fifth Massachu- 
 setts for three months; re-enlisted for three years in Company 
 D, First Massachusetts Cavalry; mustered in, September 17, 
 1861 ; re-enlisted for the third time from Newton, ^lass., on 
 Captain Mead's staff and was one of his bodyguard. He once 
 remained in his saddle for three weeks. He returned home worn 
 out and died nine days later. 
 
 Thomas Austin; Company K; Ninth Regiment; mustered in, 
 August 15, 1862: credited to Canterbury; wounded, September 
 24, 1862, at South ^Mountain, Md. ; transferred to Company 156, 
 
90 HISTORY OF NORTHFEELD, 
 
 Second Battalion, Veterans' Reserve Corps; discharged, July 15^ 
 1865, at St. Louis, Mo. 
 
 Dick Rogers ; Company G ; Fifteenth Regiment ; mustered in, 
 October 11, 1862; mustered out, August 13, 1863; credited to 
 Loudon. 
 
 George R. Clough ; Company C ; Eighth Illinois Cavalry ; 
 credited to Evanston, 111. ; died at Columbia College Hospital^ 
 Washington, D. C. 
 
 Charles W. Clough ; credited to New Boston ; joined the regu- 
 lar army under Gen. Joseph Hooker at Lookout IMountain ; was 
 retired on account of moon blindness. 
 
 Henry L. Cram enlisted from "Westfield, Mass., for three 
 years. 
 
 Joseph Perry; mustered in, July 27, 1864, as a marine for 
 four years. (This name does not appear in the Adjutant-Gen- 
 eral's list.) 
 
 James Morrison; enlisted in the First United States Ar- 
 tillery for three years; mustered in, September 26, 1863. (This 
 name is not credited to any town on the records of the Adju- 
 tant-General.) 
 
 Benjamin W. Clark ; Twelfth Regiment ; enlisted, September 
 5, 1862 ; has also no place on state records. 
 
 Walter L. Bailey ; drafted July 12, 1863 ; Company K ; Six- 
 teenth Massachusetts Regiment; transferred to the Eleventh 
 Regiment, July 13, 1863 ; credited to Natick, Mass. 
 
 Prof. Ralzo M. Manley; president of New Hampshire Con- 
 ference Seminary; was commissioned chaplain of the Sixteenth 
 Regiment and left, October 30, 1862. 
 
 Obadiah Jackson Hall; surgeon; Thirty-third Regiment^ 
 Ohio Volunteer Infantry; credited to Portsmouth, 0. 
 
 Augustus Blodgett Clark ; enlisted in the Second New York 
 as lieutenant and was later promoted to captain. 
 
 Trueworthy Lougee ; enlisted at Laconia in the Twelfth New 
 Hampshire Regiment. 
 
 Thomas Benton Clark; enlisted from Chelsea, Mass., in 
 Company L, Second Massachusetts Cavalry; mustered in, April 
 15, 1864; transferred to Veterans' Relief Corps, January 1, 1865; 
 drowned at Tilton, August 11, 1872. 
 
 Charles C. Tibbetts; enlisted in the Northern army from 
 Missouri and died of fever. 
 
MILITARY. 91 
 
 Orville F. Rogers, M. D. ; assistant surgeon; One Hundred 
 and Seventeenth United States Infantry, for three years. 
 
 Selwin B. Peabody ; entered the service in the Fortieth Massa- 
 chusetts Eegiment; was at the siege of Fort Wagner, Ten-Mile 
 Run, Drury's Bluff, Petersburg Heights, Bermuda Hundred, 
 Fair Oaks and the capture of Richmond. He was wounded at 
 Petersburg. 
 
 William C. Hazelton; enlisted as a private in the Eighth 
 Illinois Cavalry and was soon after appointed orderly sergeant; 
 three months later was chosen lieutenant and soon after com- 
 missioned as captain; served in the Army of the Potomac and 
 took part in 30 engagements ; was mustered out in 1865. 
 
 Charles H. Carlton was in the regular army three years at 
 Memphis, Tenn., as officers' clerk. 
 
 Wells Follansby served in the First Massachusetts Cavalry. 
 
 Jonathan Pearson Sanborn; captain of Company E, Six- 
 teenth Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteers ; credited to Frank- 
 lin; was in Louisiana under General Banks and was also in the 
 siege of Port Hudson. He marched his men into the place at 
 its surrender, July 8, 1863. 
 
 De Witt Clinton Sanborn; Second Regiment; credited to 
 Franklin; was killed at the second battle of Bull Run, August 
 29, 1862; was buried on the battlefield, as the enemy held the 
 ground. 
 
 David K. Nudd; Company 6; Fifteenth Regiment. 
 
 William Kezar; Sixteenth Regiment; died, August 29, 1863; 
 credited to Franklin. 
 
 Charles Rogers enlisted in the Third Vermont Regiment. 
 
 Frank ]\Iarshall Adams ; enlisted for four years as a marine 
 on the Dixie; later was on the cruisers, Helena and San Fran- 
 cisco; re-enlisted, December 30, 1904 ; has been in eastern waters 
 and visited the ports of China. 
 
 Joseph Adams was in the regular army cavalry service in the 
 Eleventh Regiment, United States Cavalry, at Des Moines; en- 
 listed for three years; returned home and re-enlisted for a sec- 
 ond term. 
 
 Dixi Crosby Hoyt; enlisted as private from Framingham, 
 Mass., at the beginning of the war; was made assistant surgeon 
 of the ]\Iassachusetts Heavy Artillery; later was post surgeon at 
 Fort Warren, Fort ]\Iacon and Newborn, N, C, where he died. 
 
92 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Lyman Barker Evans; served in the Eighth Vermont Regi- 
 ment and died in the hospital at Baton Rouge, La., September 
 13, 1864. 
 
 Hannan Piper; served in Company D, Fifteenth Regiment; 
 was mustered out, January 18, 1865. 
 
 Ends Alpheus Hoyt; assistant surgeon in the Thirty-fifth 
 ]\Iassachusetts Regiment; was in North Carolina before Rich- 
 mond and Petersburg, to the end of the war ; was wounded and 
 permanently disabled, but was, later, surgeon in Freedman's 
 Bureau a year or two. 
 
 Jefferson Rogers; credited to Loudon; Seventeenth Regi- 
 ment, Heavy Artillery. 
 
 Sylvanus Heath; surgeon; Illinois Regiment. 
 
 Caleb Heath, a minor, enlisted without the leave of his 
 parents, had charge of ambulances. 
 
 Smith W. Cofran (see portrait) ; enlisted in Company H, 
 Twentieth Massachusetts Regiment, at the beginning of the war. 
 He was in the Army of the Potomac and saw many hard-fought 
 battles. He was with his regiment at Ball's Bluff and of his 
 nine tent mates three were killed, three taken prisoners and two, 
 with himself, escaped by swimming the Potomac River. He was 
 under McClellan at Yorktown, Fair Oaks, Savage Station, White 
 Oak Swamp, Malvern Hill, during the seven daj^s' battle, South 
 Mountain and Antietam, where he was wounded by having his 
 right thigh bone fractured. He was discharged eight months 
 later. May, 1863. 
 
 list hi. 
 The following men have become citizens of Northfield since the 
 war : 
 
 MAJ. OTIS 0. WYATT. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Otis Chase Wyatt ; born in Sanbornton, April 1, 1837 ; son of 
 Nathan F. and Sally Clark Wyatt. INIarried in IManchester, 
 June 12, 1859, Susan Maria, daughter of Vinicent and Susan 
 Spinney Torr, who was born in Newmarket. He was in the meat 
 business in Manchester and Hanover. He enlisted in the First 
 Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteer Infantry, April 25, 1861, 
 in Company G. Discharged with the regiment, August 9. Re- 
 enlisted into the New Hampshire Battalion of the First Rhode 
 
1 
 
 "%^ 
 
 
 ' m:i 
 
 ™^I3J 
 
 L 
 
 aJP" 
 
 ^■S' '"^^^MT^^^ 
 
 1 
 
 \ if 
 
 » 
 
 J 
 
 '?> 
 
 
 m 
 
 • 
 
 MA.J. O. C. WYATT. 
 
MILITARY. 93 
 
 Island Cavalry, September 11, 1861, Promoted to first sergeant, 
 December 17; to second lieutenant, August 4, 1862, by Governor 
 Sprague of Rhode Island, for meritorious and gallant conduct 
 in the battle of Front Royal; and to first lieutenant, January 
 1, 1863. With his regiment he took part in the battles of Front 
 Royal, May 30; Cedar Mountain, August 9; Groveton, August 
 29 ; second battle of Bull Run, August 30 ; Chantilly, September 
 1; Hartwood Church, February 26, 1863; Kelly's Ford, March 
 17 ; Brandy Station, June 9 ; Thorough Fare Gap, June 17, 1863 ; 
 Middleburg Rapidan Station, Culpepper or White Sulphur 
 Springs, October 12; Auburn and Bristol Station, October 14. 
 Commissioned as captain of Troop B, First New Hampshire 
 Cavalry, March 3, 1864. With this regiment he took part in 
 these engagements: White Oak Swamp, June 13, 1864; Wilson's 
 Raid to the south of Petersburg, Va., June 22-July 1 ; Nottoway 
 Court House, Va., June 23; Roanoke Station and High Bridge, 
 June 25-26; Ream's Station, June 29; Back Roads, November 
 11-12; Lacey's Springs, December 20-21; Waynesborough, 
 March 2, 1865; Rude's Hill, Nort Fork Shenandoah or Mount 
 Jackson, March 6-7. In the engagement at Back Roads, Va., 
 November 12, 1864, while in command of the. regiment, he was 
 wounded in the face by a charge of buckshot. He was also 
 wounded while in command of his regiment at Rude's Hill or 
 Mount Jackson, March 6, 1865, and still carries the bullet. He 
 is an active member of the New Hampshire Veterans' organiza- 
 tion, in which he has held various offices. He was president of 
 the association in 1890. In the Grand Army of the Republic he 
 has held almost every office within the gift of his comrades, being 
 commander of the Department of New Hampshire in 1887. 
 
 He took up his residence on Zion's Hill, in this town, January 
 1, 1866, where he has since resided as a farmer. In 1875 he and 
 the late Jason Foss were elected special assessors who, with the 
 selectmen, reappraised all the real estate in the town and 
 equalized the valuation of the same for the purpose of a more 
 equable taxation. November, 1878, he was elected first super- 
 visor, which office he continued to hold until 1890. He was 
 elected moderator in November, 1883, and has held that office to 
 the present time. In November 6, 1894, he was elected represen- 
 tative to the general court for 1895- '96. In March, 1897, he 
 was elected selectman, which office he held four years and as a 
 
94 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD, 
 
 member of the board of selectmen was a most aggressive fightei 
 to maintain the integrity of the town. November 4, 1902, he was 
 elected a delegate to the convention to revise the constitution. 
 He has served ten years as a member of the town school board. 
 He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, having been made a 
 Mason in Franklin Lodge, No. 6, Lebanon, in 1860. He is a 
 charter member of Doric Lodge, No. 78, in Tilton and is a mem- 
 ber of the Methodist Episcopal Church and of Friendship 
 Grange, Patrons of Husbandry. 
 
 Charles F. Buell; Company D; First Regiment; enlisted, 
 April 27, 1861, for three months ; mustered out, August 9, 1861 ; 
 died at Northfield, February 3, 1904. 
 
 Oscar P. Sanborn; Company D; Twelfth Regiment; mus- 
 tered in, September 27, 1862; was in the Army of the Potomac 
 at Fredericksburg and was wounded at Charlottesville; was 
 taken prisoner and left on the field; was at field hospital one 
 month and at Mansion House Hospital five months; was dis- 
 charged November 18, 1863. 
 
 DavId Elmer Buell ; enlisted from the Eighth Regiment as 
 lieutenant for three years and was wounded at Port Hudson; 
 died at Franklin, July 25, 1888. 
 
 Jonas H. Dolley; enlisted in Biddeford, Me., 1862, in the 
 Maine Hea\y Artillery ; spent a year in Fort i\Ic Clary at Kittery 
 as a member of the garrison; was discharged there after one 
 year's service. 
 
 Luther Cadue; served in Company E, Fifteenth Vermont 
 Regiment; was at the battle of The Wilderness. He was dis- 
 charged September 19, 1865. 
 
 William Canfield ; Ninth New Hampshire Regiment. 
 
 Theodore Brown. 
 
 Charles H. Payson; enlisted, December 29, 1863, in Com- 
 pany E, Sixth Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteers; was mus- 
 tered out, August 25, 1865. He was in 15 hard-fought battles, 
 among which were The Wilderness, Cold Harbor and Welden 
 Railroad. (See gen.) 
 
 Oliver Prescott IMorrison; enlisted in the Ninth Regiment; 
 Company C ; was taken prisoner at Antietam, taken to Richmond 
 and exchanged; was promoted to sergeant; was ciaptured again 
 at The Wilderness, May 10, 1864, and died at Andersonville, 
 August 30, 186:1. 
 
MILITARY. 95 
 
 Benjamin Gale; enlisted from Salisbury, September 2, 1862, 
 in Company E, Sixteenth Regiment; mustered in, October 23, 
 1862, as sergeant ; served until August 20, 1863. 
 
 RoscoE DoLLEY; enlisted in 1861 at Charlestown Navy Yard 
 in the marine corps ; was put on board the Kearsarge as a gunner 
 and helped sink the Alabama in Cherbourg Harbor. Returning 
 to Boston, he was put on board another man-of-war, where he 
 served until the expiration of his term. 
 
 Samuel T. Holmes; served in Company H, Twenty-fifth 
 Regiment, Connecticut Volunteers, under Gen. B. F. Butler and, 
 later, under General Banks. 
 
 Robert Martin ; enlisted when 40 years of age from Hill as a 
 musician and was discharged, June 21, 1865, as a private. It was 
 also his duty to care for the colonel's horses. 
 
 George W. Balcom; enlisted in the Fourteenth Regiment, 
 Connecticut Volunteers; served 27 months and saw many of the 
 hardships and horrors of war. The date of his discharge, he says, 
 was the happiest day of his life. 
 
 The hardships of these struggles were not all borne by those 
 who dwelt in the "tented field" or the many who met death, 
 swift and sudden, on the bloody battlefield. Wives and children, 
 aged fathers and mothers took up and bore so patiently the life 
 work of their soldier braves and, 'mid tears and prayers, per- 
 formed the most exhausting labors that their sons might preserve 
 their birthright unimpaired. The dear old mother town, too, has 
 never ceased to cherish those who returned burdened with 
 "wounds and the lifelong scars, which are more honorable than 
 epaulet or badge. She proudly repeats their names and now 
 hands them down on the pages of her history to other generations 
 
 as her proudest legacy. 
 
 » 
 
 SPANISH WAR. 
 
 Three young men of Northfield parentage were in the Spanish 
 War. 
 
 Levi S. Dow enlisted from Concord in Company C and went 
 to Chattanooga. He was absent six months. 
 
 Elmer C. Lambert enlisted from Tilton in the regular army 
 and was sent to the Philippines. 
 
 Harry Upton Lougee enlisted from Lebanon, where he now 
 resides. 
 
CHAPTER VI. 
 
 INDUSTRIAL. 
 
 EARLY INDUSTRIES. 
 
 Farming, which is both the base and keystone which supports 
 home and society, w^as, of course, the first employment of the 
 early settlers. There were few farming tools and the work was 
 done by oxen. Every one raised his own wheat, rye, flax and 
 corn. To prepare these for use a large number of trades sprang 
 up. 
 
 First of all, the blacksmith must be located, for nothing could 
 be done without axe and saw. Then, as said elsewhere, the wheel- 
 wright 's shop appeared in close proximity to the former. This 
 was a trade, however, that required mechanical skill. Thus were 
 sawmills established and mill wheels planted. This industry 
 became more important as the years passed by. 
 
 SAWMILLS. 
 
 There was no brook in town of any size that did not furnish 
 power for one, two or three sawmills and five were driven by the 
 water of the Winnepesaukee River. 
 
 No trace exists of the one located on the land bought by the 
 Hills, David and Timothy, in 1785, and now owned by Frank 
 W. Shaw. The deed to them reserves a mill and mill yard and 
 a drift road to it. They purchased the property of a Mr. Love- 
 joy of Gilmanton, "vjdio was the second owner of Lot No. 15. (See 
 Proprietors' Map.) 
 
 No. 2. — Daniel Sanborn had a sawmill on the site of the present 
 Tilton Hosiery Mill. He bought it of "Satchwel" Clark, as the 
 records say. The power could be more profitably used and the 
 mill was sold about 1772. 
 
 No. 3.— Still further down, on the site of the Elm Mills Woolen 
 Company, was a very ancient one, dating back to colonial times. 
 Mr. Joseph Dearborn, who manufactured lumber there many 
 years, says of it : "My father, born in 1783, used to go there with 
 
JEREMIAH CROSS. 
 
INDUSTRIAL. 97 
 
 his father when a little boy." It was here that IMiller Glines and 
 wife Avere hard at work at the breaking out of the Revolutionary 
 "War. (See p. 152.) This was sold to the railroad and torn 
 down. Mr. Samuel Martin was the last occupant. This grist 
 mill underneath disappeared long, long ago. 
 
 No. 4. — The fourth mill in town was always called the Cross 
 Mill. The story of this enterprise is best told in the following 
 sketch of Mr. Cross ' life : 
 
 JEREMIAH CROSS. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Jeremiah Cross was born at Salisbury, August 28, 1802. He was 
 apprenticed at 18 years of age to John Clark, familiarly known as 
 "Boston John," a builder of meeting-houses and other diflBcult jobs, 
 especially water wheels and dams. Mr. Cross was to receive at 21 
 years of age, as was the custom, a set of tools, and his father, $200. 
 He could work nights for his clothes and spending money. He passed 
 through this period and began business for himself in December, 
 1824. He bought two acres of land on the Northleld end of the Clark 
 dam and raised a sawmill in March, 1825. This, 10 years later, 
 was burned and he found himself no better off financially than at the 
 start, except that he had gained valuable experience and credit. He 
 at once erected a new mill and entered upon a prosperous business, 
 running night and day in the busy season for many years. He se- 
 cured a landing at the mouth of the Winnepesaukee and constructed 
 a wharf, where he built large rafts, on which the products of his mill 
 were piled high and taken down the Merrimack through several locks 
 to Lowell and thence through Middlesex Canal to Charlestown market. 
 These loads consisted of boards, plank, laths, shingles, clapboards 
 and staves, with large numbers of barrels and coopers' ware. This 
 business he followed until the coming of the railroad or until the 
 locks in the river were destroyed. 
 
 He, later, enlarged his estate and added a threshing machine to his 
 mill and had a large business with the farmers of all the surrounding 
 towns. Often 30 loads of grain would stand awaiting their turn. He 
 sold to the Lowell Land and Water Power Company in 1841, taking a 
 lease back, thus continuing the business as before. He then erected fine 
 buildings on a nearby eminence and became an extensive farmer until 
 his death. 
 
 He held various offices in the town and was a lifelong Democrat, 
 as well as a member of Meridian Lodge, A. F. and A. M. He married, 
 November 12, 1828, Sarah Lyford of Pittsfield and had five children. 
 He died at Northfleld, August 11, 1872. She died at Rockport, Mass., 
 November 19, 1882. (See Cross gen.) 
 8 
 
98 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 No. 5. — There was a very large mill at Factorj^ Village, near 
 where the hall now stands, and a large yard piled high with logs 
 and finished products, extended to the canal and up to Smith 
 Street. Samuel Haines was employed here many years. 
 
 No. 6. — Thomas Clough, who bought two lots south and east of 
 Sondogardy Pond, built a dam at its outlet and raised the pond 
 sufficiently to furnish power for a mill which was in operation 
 many years, as the hillsides were covered with valuable timber. I 
 have no dates, but have often seen the wreckage of the dam. He 
 had his pick of the undivided lands in payment for some service to 
 the town and chose these lots, one of which was always called the 
 ' ' Clough Purchase. ' ' Further down the stream, where it crosses 
 the first range or Oak Hill road, a mill had been early erected, 
 which had either been destroyed by fire or had fallen to decay. 
 This brook was known in turn as Cohas, Cross and Phillips, and 
 here, in 1840, Capt. Moses Davis erected a mill, reported to have 
 been unusually fine in all its appointments (see p. 81), which 
 was run for many years by Thomas Piper, Sr., and Samuel 
 Haines. Further down the stream was one operated by the 
 Crosses. A shingle mill of the Plummer Brothers occupies 
 nearly the same site. 
 
 The Dolloff Brook, coming from Bean Hill, where John and 
 Benjamin Rogers, sons of Dea. Samuel Rogers, located, furnished 
 annually, power for a few months. The meadow, being needed 
 for other purposes, was not flowed, and so furnished large crops 
 of hay for the cheese dairy, for which this farm was noted. After 
 uniting with the two other brooks in Scondoggady meadow it 
 furnished power for the Glidden & Smith mill, and the one whose 
 ruins are a part of the seal of Northfield today, called the Old 
 Hills Mill. 
 
 There were other mills in the eastern part of the town, one 
 on what was called Tulliver Brook, and another and a chair 
 manufactory on what was called the Great Brook, where Joseph 
 Fellows was located, but these will suffice. Among the older 
 mill men we must place Jeremiah Cross, as the largest mill man 
 of his times and a leader in the business of rafting, although 
 his cousins on the intervale had used the river for that purpose 
 many years pre\aous. 
 
 Modern methods and portable steam mills have supplanted the 
 old up-and-down saw and the dams have gone to ruin and the 
 
JEREMIAH EASTMAN SMITH. 
 
INDUSTRIAL. 99 
 
 mills to decay. It would be far from the truth were I to say- 
 that the manufacture of lumber had ceased in the town. One 
 has only to look at the immense piles that line our railroad or 
 to visit the Smith meadow, on which is spread out such immense 
 quantities of plank, boards and woodpiles at the present time. 
 Jeremiah E. Smith, who carries on this great traffic, has large 
 forests as yet untouched, awaiting the woodman's axe. For other 
 facts in connection with this business see subjoined portrait and 
 sketch. 
 
 JEREMIAH EASTMAN SMITH. 
 
 It has been no easy task to assign Mr. Smith his legitimate place in 
 this "woi'k, since he has been a leader in so many great enterprises. 
 But the fact of his present engagement in the manufacture of lumber 
 products entitles him to this place. 
 
 The subject of this sketch was Sanbornton-born, but Northfield-bred. 
 Both his parents were natives of the town, who were dwelling tem- 
 porarily over the river in a dwelling occupying the site of the present 
 Jordan Hotel. They soon moved to the ancestral home on Bay Hill, 
 where they remained until its destruction by fire in 1904. Mr. Smith 
 received his education in the little red schoolhouse of the Bay Hill 
 district, and the Seminary. 
 
 He was early taught to love his country and was a lad of ten when 
 the Civil War commenced. The very flagstaff that now stands on the 
 island was standing on the square in front of his home and was wont 
 to bear aloft the Stars and Stripes, so dear to every Yankee boy's 
 heart. What was his surprise to behold one morning the Confederate 
 stars and bars floating aloft from its dizzy height. With disgust it 
 was wrenched from its halyards, seized and, quick as a flash, borne 
 to a place of hiding with a posse of rebel sympathizers close at his 
 heels. His father received it through an open window and when the 
 door was burst open it was nowhere to be seen. In fact, it never met 
 the public gaze again until his noble, patriotic mother had, with skill- 
 ful fingers, woven the cherished rag into a charming rug, one of the 
 now cherished heirlooms of the family, and it now lies where it ever 
 should have lain — trampled under foot. The story shows that for 
 which he has ever been noted — a readiness in emergencies. 
 
 Quite early in life he became associated with his father and brother 
 in the construction of railroads. Among the lines, of which they were 
 the contractors and builders, were the Suncook Valley, Old Colony, 
 Montpelier & Wells River, Bradford & Claremont, Hillsboro & Peterboro 
 and the Profile & Franconia Notch. 
 
 He was for 25 years proprietor of the Maplewood Stables and stage 
 line at Bethlehem, going there each summer with a large number of 
 horses. His accommodating spirit and jovial manner made him very 
 popular with the guests at this mountain resort. 
 
 Previous to his Maplewood days, he was owner of the hotel and 
 
100 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 
 
 livery stable at Tilton, renting the former to J. F. Bryant and the 
 latter to J. L. Loverin. In 18S6 he sold both to Mr. Loverin. Mr. 
 Smith has been nearly all his life a lumberman, but of late, more 
 especially, have his operations been on a large scale. He is also a 
 farmer and owns 1,200 acres of Northfield soil, cutting large quan- 
 tities of hay and planting many fruitful acres. He is the largest tax- 
 payer in town. 
 
 Mr. Smith is, politically, a Republican and has been three times 
 chosen by his party to represent Northfield in the Legislature. He 
 went to the centennial celebration of the battle of Bennington with 
 that body in 1877 and was again a member in 1880, our centennial year. 
 He has been for 20 years a member of the Republican State Committee, 
 is also an enthusiastic Odd Fellow and has been a member of Friend- 
 ship Grange since its organization and, also, a Mason. 
 
 In the midst of his many occupations and interests he has found 
 time to cultivate the gentle art of music and plays with expression 
 and skill almost every instrument from a "bottle organ" to the 
 violin, on which he is especially proficient. 
 
 Mr. Smith is a lover of good horses, particularly if they show speed, 
 and has been the owner of many fine animals. 
 
 BRICKMAKING. 
 
 I find four places in Northfield where brick was formerly 
 made. The first was located not far from the outlet of Chestnut 
 Pond and was carried on by Jonathan Wadleigh. There are, 
 along the brook leading to the reservoir, many indications of its 
 locality, and family tradition says he moved from Bean Hill to 
 the Morse place to be near his Idlns. 
 
 No. 2. — ^Dea. Andrew Gilman for many years manufactured 
 brick in a small way near where the upper railroad bridge now is. 
 But few cared to erect brick houses, so the demand for years was 
 for chimneys alone. 
 
 Warren L. Hill bought out the business about 1840, and here, 
 with the assistance of Col. James Cofran, the brick for the first 
 seminary was made. The business rapidly increased and some- 
 times 200,000 a year were made. Samuel Rogers leased the 
 yard later and made the brick for the second seminary. Some 
 years later the railroad bought the entire locality and the busi- 
 ness was abandoned. 
 
 No. 3. — Charles and Hiram Cross also made brick near their 
 home by the Hodgdon schoolhouse. Their trade was largely with 
 Franklin and sometimes, when ''striking," employed a dozen 
 men. This business declined only when the clay for them was 
 exhausted. 
 
 i 
 
INDUSTRIAL. 101 
 
 No. 4. — Brick was also made by the Sawyers on the Gile farm 
 at Bean Hill, but I have no facts or figures concerning it. 
 
 CHARCOAL. 
 
 There were extensive forests in the southern part of Northfield 
 and the coming of the railroad to that section made a market for 
 large quantities of wood, lumber and ties, which were shipped to 
 other markets, and immense quantities stored constantly in a 
 300-foot shed for use on the engines. IMr. Cogswell says he often 
 surveyed 2,000 cords a day. 
 
 Besides this. Deacon Ayers bought and burned into charcoal 
 thousands of cords of pine and hardwood, which was shipped to 
 Charlestown and Boston. (See Aj^ers gen.) 
 
 Benjamin F. Brown continued this business several years, 
 using a kiln made of brick close by the station. He found a 
 market in Concord. A queer old fellow, named ' ' Uncle ' ' Tucker, 
 had charge of this industry and not only owned the entire neigh- 
 borhood but the railroad as well, and he and his car, old No. 26, 
 alwaj's had the right of way. Did he want the pinch bar or any 
 other tool in the shed, he would enter and politely ask "]\Ir. 
 "Waterhouse" (?) for the loan of them and was very angry to be 
 accused of stealing. He filled an important place, however, as 
 when the kilns were filled and fired they needed his constant care 
 until drawn. David Hill and other farmers who had wood lots in 
 places difficult of access occasionally burned a sod kiln. Erastus 
 Nudd, living on the south slope of Bean Hill, close by the Forrest 
 Pond, continued the business for long years and many remember 
 his large coal van as it made its weekly trips to the Concord 
 foundries and blacksmiths' shops. 
 
 HOME-MADE CLOTH. 
 
 The home manufacture of cloth led to an extensive business 
 in spinning wheels and looms and "Shuttle" Dow and "Father" 
 Wedgewood were busy early and late, for every girl, as a part 
 of her marriage outfit, must possess one of each. To provide for 
 these the farmers must have large fields of flax and a certair* 
 number of sheep, not only for food but to furnish material for 
 cloth. These two industries declined many years since, especially 
 the former, and the latter in a large measure, until there is 
 hardly a flock of sheep to be found in the limits of the to^vn. 
 
102 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 The coming of the factories, too, with their better products, 
 brought a market for the wool and flax and a chance for the boys 
 and girls to find lucrative employment, and no one mourned 
 for the departure of the spinning wheel and loom from the homes 
 of the overworked farmers' wives. As if the butter and cheese 
 making, the drying of apples, storing away of quantities of 
 food for the winter, the mending and making for the numerous 
 household were not enough, a score of little trades came in to fill 
 their every leisure moment, among which we find many that long 
 since disappeared. 
 
 Stephen Cross lived at Boscawen but several of his sons went 
 across the river and established various kinds of business near 
 the brook draining Sondogardy Pond. They carried on their 
 business by rafts and boats, passing down the river. Here were 
 established many kinds of business. There were a grist and 
 fulling mill ; jeweler 's shop, where they manufactured gold 
 beads ; a tannery ; a blacksmith shop, where scythes were made ; 
 and a shop or kiln where they manufactured lampblack. There 
 was also a pottery where earthen-ware and crockery were made, 
 fine clay being obtained across the river. The river soon washed 
 out the supply and this trade had to be abandoned. Here was 
 also a store and shoe shop. 
 
 There was also a ferry across the river, in charge of Jesse, 
 while Thomas was merchant and overseer of much of the busi- 
 ness. They built the house owned many years by Thomas Piper 
 and it was in good repair a century later. The shingles for it 
 were home-made and were fastened to the roof with wooden pins. 
 Thomas owned and ran the flour, plaster and oil mills and the 
 wooden ware shop. All these mills were running in 1811. He 
 was one of the selectmen in 1790 and paid the largest tax in town 
 in 1796. 
 
 Mr. Goodwin says the store and shops were the gathering 
 places for the settlers for miles around, as the women came on 
 horseback with their bundles of wool to be carded and their 
 freshly-woven webs for the fulling mill. Thomas failed in 1806 
 and was obliged to sell out his thriving little village to Thomas 
 Thompson, Esq., and removed to IMontreal, where he again con- 
 tinued the same lines of business. Parker Noyes, brother of 
 Paul, came into possession of this property in 1815 and sold 200 
 acres of the land to Abraham Plummer in 1835. 
 
INDUSTRIAL. 103 
 
 POTASH. 
 
 The early settlers found it difficult to dispose of their wood and 
 timber in clearing land for their farms and before the establish- 
 ment of sawmills near at hand used to burn the immense trees 
 on the land. Later, some enterprising settler started the manu- 
 facture of potash and soon a half dozen were in full blast in 
 different parts of the town. This industry flourished but a few 
 years, as the big fireplaces of the increasing settlers furnished an 
 ample market for surplus wood and the many sawmills disposed 
 of the larger growth. This industry called for another and 
 coopers were not wanting to furnish barrels for its storage. 
 
 COOPERS. 
 
 David Timothy and John Hills were coopers in Haverhill, 
 Mass., before coming to Northfield. In fact, an abundance of 
 oak was the secret of their coming. A little shop was attached 
 to each of the early homes where the tap, tap of this industry 
 was heard early and late. There were many in other and all 
 parts of the town and this business continued until a later date, 
 though it is entirely absent at the present time. 
 
 TANNERIES. 
 
 Xo. 1. — Very early in the settlement of the town Ebenezer Mor- 
 rison came from Sanbornton and established a tannery near the 
 meeting-house at Northfield Centre, occupying the house just then 
 erected by his brother-in-law, Eobert Gray, a carpenter from 
 Salem, Mass. A tavern was kept here and the good-sized barn 
 afforded stabling for the relay horses used by Peter Smart, the 
 veteran stage driver from Plymouth to Boston, of whom more is 
 given elsewhere. 
 
 The tannery sheds bordered the brook running through the 
 field south of the house, and a thriving business was conducted 
 until 1819 when he moved to the home of his father-in-law, 
 Lieut. Thomas Lyford, on the West Hill, as it was called, where 
 he conducted the business for many years. He then removed to 
 Sanbornton Bridge, where, with his two sons, Liba C. and 
 Ebenezer, he built a steam mill for the business on the south end 
 of A. H. Tilton's upper dam, where Carter's Mill now stands. 
 It was destroyed by fire after the business declined. 
 
104 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 No. 2. — Dea. Jeremiali Hall, a tanner, came from Canterbury to 
 West Northfield, now Franklin, in 1801, and established a tan- 
 nery on the place long owned by Jonathan Scribner and at pres- 
 ent by John L. Kelley. Nine years later he removed to the bank 
 of the Winnepesaukee, opposite Sanbornton Bridge. Here he 
 continued for many years. The old "tenter-bars" along the 
 river bank for years displayed hides in all stages of the process 
 of leather making and Avere also used by his son-in-law, Benjamin 
 Chase, who was a clothier nearby. The old bark house became 
 unfit for use and, his home having been burned, he removed his 
 business to the Morrison tannery. 
 
 No. 3. — There was also a tannery at what has long been called 
 Kezar Corner, near the residence of Gawn E. Gorrell. It was 
 conducted for long years by the Keysers, father and son. There 
 was still another further to the east, carried on by IMr. Goodwin. 
 
 No. 4. — ^New methods and patented devices were later adopted 
 for the making of leather and the ease with which families came 
 to be supplied with satisfactory foot wear caused the trade to fall 
 into disuse and the half dozen tanneries of old Northfield have 
 been for a score of years only a matter of memory. 
 
 Many of the above not only tanned hides for the farmers for 
 hire but purchased them and sold the dressed leather in ]\Iassa- 
 chusetts markets. Northfield furnished an abundance of oak 
 and hemlock bark. 
 
 INDUSTRIAL CLUB. 
 
 The young people of Northfield had a decided penchant for 
 organization. Among others, one with the above name seems 
 not unworthy of mention. Annually, after the labors of the 
 harvest were over, the following class of young men used to go by 
 twos, threes or dozens with tools on their shoulders to the quarries 
 of Quincy to seek employment. Sometimes a sickly one would 
 make the trip by stage and take along the baggage for the rest. 
 This half-organized club contained these names, mostly f;:om the 
 eastern section of the town : 
 
 Mathew Whicher, Roby Sanborn, Joshua Smith, Joseph Smith, 
 Mathew Sanborn, John Smith, Asa K. Osgood, Jeremiah Cofran, 
 Andrew French, Henry Osgood, Jeremiah Rogers, William 
 Evans, Albertus Atkins, Hiram Glines, Samuel Brown, John 
 Rogers, John Brown, Chase Wyatt, Jeremiah Smith, Jr., Hiram 
 
INDUSTRIAL. 105 
 
 Tibbetts, John Colby, James Sanborn, Joseph Rand, Nathan 
 Bean, Joseph M. G. Smith, Jeremiah Colby, Daniel Sanborn, 
 "William Gilman, Franklin Hannaford, John Hannaford, 
 Ephraim Smith Wadleigh, M. Garvin. 
 
 Of this number were several who served as teamsters in the 
 quarries. 
 
 There was also a large business in transporting goods for the 
 merchants from Portsmouth and Boston, or, as they were gen- 
 erally called, "down country," and there were many profes- 
 sional teamsters. Among the latter were Chase Wyatt, Hiram 
 Glines and Samuel Forrest. Of this club several were unfor- 
 tunate enough to lose an eye and most of them laid up for them- 
 selves, not only a good round sum with which to begin life as 
 farmers, but by their strenuous labors, an old age of decrepitude 
 as well. 
 
CHAPTER VII. 
 
 NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 
 
 Northfield completed one hundred years of corporate existence 
 on June 19, 1880. The citizens of the town, having the event 
 in mind, caused the following article to be inserted in the war- 
 rant for the annual town meeting: 
 
 "Art. VII. To see what action the town will take with refer- 
 ence to celebrating the hundreth anniversary of its incorporation 
 and appropriate money therefor." 
 
 A committee was chosen, consisting of Jeremiah E. Smith, F. 
 J. Eastman, W. C. French, B. F. Cofran and 0. L. Cross and 
 one hundred dollars was voted to defray expenses. At the first 
 meeting of this committee, March '27, 1880, Jeremiah E. Smith 
 was chosen chairman, 0. L. Cross, secretary, and B. F. Cofran, 
 treasurer. Mr. Cofran declining, F. J. Eastman was chosen to 
 fill his place. It was voted to hold the celebration at Union picnic 
 grove at Northfield Depot. Others were added to the committee 
 as deemed necessary. Lucian Hunt, A. M., was secured as his- 
 torian and Mrs. Lucy R. H. Cross as poet. Circulars of invita- 
 tion were sent to former citizens, good music was secured and a 
 bountiful dinner was assured. 
 
 COPY OF CIRCULAR. 
 ' ' NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 
 
 "The town of Northfield completes One Hundred Years of 
 Corporate Existence on the 19th of June, 1880. 
 
 "Conforming to a custom that has obtained favorable recog- 
 nition; to the general desire of its Citizens; and in accordance 
 with a Resolution adopted at its last Annual March Meeting its 
 Centennial Anniversary will be Celebrated with proper ob- 
 servances and appropriate ceremonies on the day above men- 
 tioned. 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNI.VI.. 10 
 
 "Present and Former Residents are cordially invited to par- 
 ticipate. 
 
 ''J. E. Smith 
 
 'O. L. Cross 
 'F. J. Eastman 
 
 Chairman 
 Secretary 
 Treasurer 
 
 "Wm. C. French 
 "James N. Forrest 
 "Mrs. John S. Winslow 
 "Mrs. William H. Clough 
 "Mrs. Lowell M. French 
 "Mrs. John S. Dearborn." 
 
 THE decorating COMMITTEE. 
 
 Hiram Streeter, Esq., and ]\Irs. David Tebbetts, with a force 
 of volunteers, met at the grove on June 18, erected booths and 
 put in place numberless flags, streamers, mottoes, evergreen 
 wreaths and flowers. Tables were set up and all made ready for 
 the morrow. 
 
 A RED-LETTER DAY FOR NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Visitors began to assemble before eight o'clock and before the 
 first train deposited its crowd more than a thousand were on 
 the grounds. The day was warm and beautiful, one of those 
 Lowell had in mind when he asked, "What is so rare as a 
 day in June?" Not a cloud was to be seen the livelong day. 
 At noon the trains had brought large crowds and some 600 teams 
 brought large numbers from the adjoining towns. At three 
 o'clock good judges estimated the crowd as high as 4,000. 
 
 Adam S. Ballantj'ne was president of the day and Jeremiah 
 E. Smith, chief marshal. The Belknap Cornet Band was in at- 
 tendance and by their music added greatly to the day's enjoy- 
 ment. 
 
 Daniel Barnard, Esq., at the risk of open censure, referred 
 to his part in the wresting of a good-sized slice of the town 
 and securing its annexation to Franklin. 
 
 Mrs. Cross, superintendent of schools, had, by soliciting a 
 small sum from the present and former pupils, secured suffi- 
 
108 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 cient to purchase a copy of Webster's Unabridged Dictionary 
 for each schoolroom, eight in number. This presentation was 
 one of the pleasant exercises of the day. They were received by 
 James N. Forrest and delivered to the various schools. 
 
 It is safe to say that nearly every one of the old families 
 was represented on the occasion. Blanchard, Gerrish, Rogers, 
 Gate, Hill, Glidden, Glough, Haines, Dearborn, Hancock, Foss, 
 Brown, Winslow, Eastman, Smith, Hall, Ha-nnaford, Gross, Ken- 
 iston, Forrest, Ghase, Gilman, Sawyer, Sanborn, Gofran, Go- 
 nant, Hodgdon, Simonds, Glines, Gile, French and Wadleigh. 
 The fullest delegations were from the Hall and Dearborn fam- 
 ilies. Old friends met after years of separation and families 
 were again reunited. The greetings were long spoken and 
 heartfelt, as gray-haired men and women met as children and 
 mingled once more in the dear old scenes of long ago. 
 
 Eev. Liba Gonant, who was to open the exercises, was too 
 feeble to be present, and that duty was happily performed by 
 the Rev. J. W. Adams of Tilton. 
 
 Miss Fannie Rice of Lowell, a descendant of the first settler, 
 Blanchard, filled the woods with song and very graciously re- 
 sponded to several recalls. Her masterly handling of the cornet 
 called forth much enthusiasm and all will readily recall her 
 pleasant rendering of "Yankee Doodle," with variations, with 
 the band and audience joining in the chorus. 
 
 The fine historical address of Prof. Lucian Hunt of Falmouth, 
 Mass., an old teacher and resident of the town, as well as the 
 poem by Mrs. L. R. H. Gross, will be given herewith in full. 
 
 The Gongregational Ghurch of Northfield, later removed to 
 Sanbornton Bridge, was represented by its pastor, Rev. Gorban 
 Gurtice, as was the Methodist Ghurch by Rev. Mr. Adams. 
 
 There were addresses from Hon. Jeremiah Forrest Hall, M. D., 
 of Portsmouth, and Marshall P. Hall of Manchester. The 
 former spoke feelingly of the good old times, particularly his 
 school days, while the latter, from his long connection with the 
 public schools, gave a fine talk to the school children, 
 
 Mrs. Nancy Smith Gilman caused much merriment with her 
 old-time stories. 
 
 There were letters of regret and congratulation, read by 0. 
 L. Gross, Esq., and speeches by distinguished visitors. 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 109 
 
 Too much cannot be said of the collation. The large crowds 
 were abundantly supplied and a table loaded with every deli- 
 cacy was furnished for the special guests. After dinner exer- 
 cises were again resumed, and a very able paper, by Maj. 0. C. 
 Wyatt, paid a worthy tribute to those "brave old Continentals," 
 as they stood 
 
 "In their ragged regimentals swerving not 
 And in their frenzy fired the shot 
 That echoed round the world." 
 
 He also recalled the names of the boys who "wore the blue" at 
 Gettysburg, Antietam and Richmond. 
 
 The day came to a close all too soon. Trains took their loads 
 to their homes. The voice of song, of martial music, laughter, 
 cheers and chat died out in the evening air. Thanks had been 
 extended to trooper and troops; to speaker and singer; to the 
 lenders of colors and givers of flowers, and especially to the dear 
 old mother town of Canterbury, w'ho sent her sons and daugh- 
 ters in large number to honor us by their presence at our birth- 
 day feast. 
 
 The following report of the committee by Oliver L. Cross, Esq., 
 was spread upon the records of the town, with treasurer's report 
 annexed : 
 
 "Ample contributions of food were obtained by the solicita- 
 tion of the ladies who rendered timely and efficient aid from the 
 beginning to the close of the undertaking. Every call was re- 
 sponded to on the part of our citizens to make the occasion a 
 success. 
 
 "That it was so is due to the hearty co-operation of our en- 
 tire population after the time and place were definitely deter- 
 mined. 
 
 "Everything passed off pleasantly. There was neither dis- 
 turbance nor accident throughout the day and with the excep- 
 tion of dust which was everywhere universal nothing could have 
 added to the enjoyment of the proceedings. 
 
 "The literary part of services were of a high order especially 
 the Address of Prof. Lucian Hunt and the Poem of Mrs. O. L. 
 Cross. 
 
 "Hoping our successors will in 1980 celebrate the 2nd Centen- 
 nial of our grand old town with the prosperity that now rests 
 
110 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 upon lis transmitted with continuous increase we leave for them 
 this record of the first." 
 
 CENTENNIAL ADDRESS AT NORTHFIELD, NEW HAMPSHIRE. 
 Delivered June 19, 1880. 
 
 BY PKOF. LUCIAN HUXT. 
 
 After an absence of many j^ears, it is a pleasure not to be 
 expressed in words that I am permitted to meet once more this 
 great company of familiar faces, and on this bright June morn- 
 ing to assist in some slight degree to celebrate Northfield's one 
 hundreth birthday. 
 
 And it is fitting that we should celebrate this. Ever since the 
 peopling of the earth, has the custom prevailed of commemora- 
 ting the eventful days of a country's, town's, or family's his- 
 tory. 
 
 To keep in remembrance past events, all modern nations have 
 their festival days; the Greeks and Romans had their games; 
 and the Jews, their Passover, their Feast of Tabernacles, and 
 their Year of Jubilee. 
 
 But America's great festival day is destined to be the Cen- 
 tennial ; both for our republic as a whole, and for its towns 
 individually; for the Centennial commemorates the event most 
 important in the history of each — its birth. This is not possible 
 in the Old World, as the origin of every nation there is veiled 
 in the dim and distant past. Not so with us. The exact day of 
 every town's birth is known. Our great republic, the United 
 States of America, was proclaimed a nation one hundred and 
 four years ago, on the 4th of July. Our little republic, which 
 we call Northfield, was proclaimed a town just one hundred 
 years ago today — that is, on the 19th of June, 1780. 
 
 This event you resolved should not pass unobserved. And 
 with you, to resolve was to perform. And the result is this 
 grand, rousing, social reunion of the present and former inhabi- 
 tants of the town, this great outpouring and commingling of 
 good feeling and town patriotism, and this meeting of old 
 friends and revival of past associations; and, in short, this com- 
 ing together of your whole population — to bid farewell to the 
 old century and to greet the new. 
 
 We welcome you, sons and daughters of Northfield, to this 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. Ill 
 
 gathering of good will and old remembrances! "We welcome 
 you in the name of the living present, and in memory of the 
 deceased fathers! We welcome you, one and all, male and fe- 
 male, young and old, from far and near, to this wedding of the 
 past with the present ! And may this reunion result in great 
 good to our town and in a blessing to us all. 
 
 Northfield is a century old today. And since we have reached 
 this first centennial mile-stone of our town's historj^ let us 
 pause a few hours this morning from that eager looking ahead, 
 so characteristic of the Americans, and look hack — let us, I say, 
 lis of the fourth generation, look hack — over the heads of our 
 fathers, our grandfathers, our great-grandfathers — not only to 
 the event we are celebrating today — the act of incorporation — 
 but twenty years beyond — to the first settlement in 1760, and 
 render deserved honor to that hardy band of pioneers, who left 
 friends and planted their families in the deep solitude of what 
 was then a vast forest — not like the pleasant grove in which we 
 are celebrating on this 19tli of June, but tall, dark, pathless, 
 forbidding, and dangerous. 
 
 Benjamin Blanchard is generally credited as being the founder 
 of Northfield, though two years earlier Jonathan Heath is said 
 to have built a log hut on the Gerrish intervale, which was once 
 included within the limits of old Northfield, but now belongs 
 to Franklin. However that may be, by common consent, 
 Blanchard was among the first settlers within the present limits 
 of the town. 
 
 In 1760, he cut his way through an unbroken wilderness from 
 an old fort in Canterbury, and settled on what is now known 
 as Bay Hill. Blanchard was then forty-one years of age. His 
 father, Edward Blanchard, was killed twenty-two years before 
 by the Indians at the old Canterbury garrison. At this time, 
 Benjamin is supposed to have had nine children. "For several 
 years," says Mr. M. B. Goodwin of Franklin, "as far as I can 
 learn, Benjamin Blanchard and family were the only settlers 
 in Northfield. It is an interesting fact to state in this place, 
 that the first I\Iethodist church that existed on this continent 
 was erected the same year in which Benjamin Blanchard erected 
 his log house on Bay Hill — in 1760." He opened a clearing for 
 himself on what is now the farm of Ephraim S. Wadleigh — 
 his dwelling standing back of the orchard. 
 
112 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Blanchard's residence was a log hftuse — then, and for many 
 years after, the fashionable style of architecture among the 
 pioneers of Bay Hill, and of the town generally'. It was a con- 
 venient style — not showy, but having a severe Doric simplicity^ 
 quite in keeping with the character of the early inhabitants. 
 They were not capacious — containing but one, or at most, two 
 rooms, and with the big families of those days, they must at 
 times have furnished rather close quarters. But they were warm 
 and cosy — easily constructed, for the timber was close at hand 
 and a few days' labor only was required to transform it into the 
 settler's modest mansion. "When the logs were squared by the 
 axe, they formed a solid, massive structure, bidding defiance 
 to wdnds, and proof against cold and the bullets of the savages, 
 thus making at the same time comfortable homes and strong 
 fortresses. There are worse homes, let me tell you, in the world 
 even now, than the log hut. Compared with the mud hovels of 
 many parts of Europe, and the board shanties of this country, 
 it was a palace. 
 
 Here, then, Blanchard lived for several years, cut off from 
 mankind by many miles of intervening forest. We don't know, 
 but we imagine, that a feeling of loneliness would creep over 
 him sometimes', when he thought of his isolation from his fellow- 
 man. Perhaps he thought occasionally, when the perils around 
 him from beast and savage were greatest, and his struggle with 
 primeval nature the fiercest, that he was leading rather a tough 
 life. It would not be strange, if he had now and then his blue 
 days, when discouraged and heart-sick, he was ready to give up, 
 and retrace his steps back to the old Canterbury garrison. But 
 of his feelings no record tells. He must have suffered privations 
 we know — all settlers did in those times. Many a weary mile 
 may he have trudged — a bag of corn on his back — perhaps even 
 to Concord, or farther, in order to obtain a scanty supply of 
 meal for the manufacture of an occasional bannock for his house- 
 hold, or to thicken their porridge. Such groceries as sugar, tea, 
 coffee, butter, cheese, and the like, we may believe, were rare 
 visitors at his table, and wheaten bread an unknown luxury to 
 him and the little Blanchards. 
 
 But after all, this picture has its bright side. If he hadn't 
 beefsteak, he could get bear-steak, merely by burning a little 
 
 11 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 113 
 
 powder. If biscuit was wanting, potatoes, snch as new ground 
 only can produce, supplied its place; while rabbits, deer, squir- 
 rels, and partridges furnished many a delicious titbit. Besides, 
 the "Winnipiseogee — only a mile distant — teemed with millions 
 of shad, and Skendugady, no doubt, was fairly alive with the 
 delicious brook trout. 
 
 After all, Blanchard was probably a happy man. His mode 
 of life, we may suppose, gave him perfect health — he had the 
 satisfaction of seeing his clearing growing broader every year, 
 giving him more sunshine and blue sky overhead, and a greater 
 extent of tillage land beneath; while as for loveliness, his little 
 cabin was fairly running over with children, so that he might 
 be as much puzzled where to bestow his imported young Can- 
 terburyites, as was the famous old woman "who lived in a 
 shoe." His home was all the dearer to him from its seclusion. 
 He was decidedly a home body. He could n 't well be otherwise. 
 You did n 't see him lounging about the stores, or taverns, or 
 depots, or grog shops, after it was time for honest folks to be 
 abed. Institutions for loafing were not yet invented. His nest, 
 crowded with those nine Canterbury birds and their mother, 
 required and received his presence and protection each night. 
 And he kept good hours — retiring early, first taking care to rake 
 up the coals, so as to find a bed of glowing embers in the morn- 
 ing, for this was before the day of Lucifer matches, and the 
 loss of fire would have been quite a serious misfortune. 
 
 Well, in this way, the years came and went, and in process of 
 time he began to have neighbors. The first to follow him was 
 William Williams, whose daughter, widow of George Hancock, 
 died at the residence of her son, William Hancock, in Canter- 
 bury, January 14, 1860, aged one hundred years, eleven months, 
 and four days. Let her be remembered as the oldest person that 
 Xortlifield has as yet produced. We '11 see what the next century 
 can do in that respect. 
 
 Afterwards came Nathaniel and Reuben Whicher, Capt. 
 Samuel and Jonathan Oilman, and Linsey Perkins, and settled 
 on the farm where Warren H. Smith, Esq., now resides. On the 
 Perkins place, opposite Mr. Wadleigh's, was a hut used for 
 school purposes. 
 
 The first two children born in town were Aaron Collins and 
 9 
 
114 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Ezenezer Blanchard, grandson of old Benjamin and Bridget 
 Blanehard, whose birth took place in 1768. Ebenezer kept a 
 hotel on the Wadleigh farm. His father, Edward, was a prom- 
 inent man in town — twenty-five years a selectman, often moder- 
 ator at town meetings, and served as a soldier throughout the 
 Revolutionary War. The old people, Benjamin and Bridget, 
 were buried on their farm. Years after, the old lady's grave- 
 stone was found among some stones hauled to repair the well. 
 
 The settlement had now so far inci-eased that the mail route 
 from Concord to Gilmanton Corner passed over Bay Hill. The 
 first postrider was Ezekiel ]\Ioore, a native of Canterbury, 
 Avhere his son, Col. ]\Iatthias ]\I. Moore, still resides. He carried 
 the mail from 1798 to 1812, and possibly a little later. This 
 was the only regular means of communication the little settle- 
 ment had with the great outside world, and old people used to 
 tell his son, years after, with what intense anxietj^ they awaited 
 the coming of the postman, his father. After I\Ir. Lloore retired 
 from the business, his neighbor, Mr. Tallent, a young man, 
 whose death occurred but a few years ago, succeeded him. A 
 post and box stood at the end of the lane on the Blanchard place 
 for the reception of the papers deposited there by the mail car- 
 rier.. 
 
 A little farther south, down by the Smith meadow, was a log 
 hut, in which lived a ]\Ir. Colby. His wife was a weaver, and for 
 want of bars was accustomed to warp her webbs on the apple 
 trees. It would be difficult to find such fruit on our modern 
 apple trees, I reckon. 
 
 Esquire Charles Glidden was a leading man in his day, who 
 died in 1811, at the age of sixty-seven. ]\Irs. Jeremiah Smith, 
 known to you so long, was his daughter. She died at the ripe age 
 of ninety-one; and her husband, whose prosperous and useful 
 life, three additional years would have rounded out to a century, 
 after a union with her of seventy-three years, all which were 
 passed on the old homestead, and having voted for every presi- 
 dent from Washington to Lincoln, at last sunk to rest like a 
 patriarch of old, crowned with length of days, and like a shock 
 of corn, fully ripe. He left three children, viz. — Warren H. 
 Smith, Esq., now leading the life of a prosperous farmer, and 
 who maintains the honor of the patrimonial estate with becom- 
 ing dignity in the old family mansion, which has been renovated. 
 
NORTHFIEI-D CENTENNIAL. 115 
 
 modernized, improved, and beautified; Mrs. William Gilman of 
 Lexington, Mass.; and Mrs. Miles Glidden, for many years a 
 resident of Ohio. 
 
 Mr. William Gilman, a hale and vigorous gentleman of about 
 eighty, the most of his life a resident of Bay Hill, and his 
 brother Charles, now in Illinois, are sons of Jonathan Gilman, 
 who himself, or his father, was, I suppose, one of the original 
 settlers. His great-grandfather on the mother's side, came from 
 Lee, bought five hundred acres of wild land on and around Bay 
 Hill, on which he settled his sons — Reuben, Nathaniel, William 
 and Jonathan Whicher — many of whose descendants are now 
 in town. The grandfather of Mr. Westley Knowles bought his 
 farm of Nathaniel Whicher — paying for it, so the story goes, 
 with a two-year-old heifer. 
 
 Capt. Samuel Gilman, Joseph Knowles and Dr. Kezar were 
 also among the first settlers on Bay Hill. 
 
 The excellent and very pleasant farms at present owned and 
 occupied by Messrs. Monroe and William Clough, were pur- 
 chased from Capt. Samuel Gilman about the year 1802, by their 
 grandfather, Mr. Jonathan Clough, who emigrated thither from 
 Salisbury, ]\Iass., and died in 1836, aged eighty-six, leaving the 
 farms to his two sons, Jonathan and Samuel ; the former, the 
 father of William; the latter, of Monroe. Could ambition exist 
 at that early day and in such a small community? Yes. The 
 desire to excel is the same in all ages and places. Captain Gil- 
 man built a barn — the first in town, the wonder of the neighbor- 
 hood — which barn still stands on the old place. The owner of 
 W. H. Smith's farm determined to surpass it, and the next year 
 built a barn twenty-five feet longer. Whereupon Esquire Glid- 
 den built another with a still further addition of twenty-five 
 feet, and the contest ended. 
 
 Another of the pioneers of Northfield was Jonathan Wad- 
 leigh, who was a native of Kingston, N. H., served in the Revo- 
 lutionary army, lived for a while at Bean Hill, settled on the 
 south side of Bay Hill, on what was afterwards called the Am- 
 brose Woodbury farm, and finally died in Gilmanton. He was 
 the father of Judge Wadleigh, whose son, Ephraim S., still lives 
 on the first opened farm in town ; and of Mrs. Capt. Isaac Glines, 
 who, after having lived half a century or more at the Centre, 
 returned to her father's homestead on Bay Hill (now in the 
 
116 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 possession of her son, Smith W. Glines), and died at the age of 
 eighty-two, in the same room in which she was born. This much 
 for Bay Hill. 
 
 As to Bean Hill, I suppose it must have been twenty years 
 later, or more, when Lieut. Charles Glidden moved thither from 
 Nottingham, built a log hut, left his wife and two children and 
 went into the Revolutionary army. In his absence she tilled 
 the soil, felled the trees and hauled her wood with the help of 
 oxen. After his return, he bought Nehemiah McDonald's farm 
 near the old meeting-house. Mr. Glidden, his wife, and some 
 of the children were buried on said farm. His wife was a 
 Mills, and her mother, Alice Cilly. John Cilly, Robert Evans, 
 a Mr. Cofran (father of Col. James Cofran), Gideon Sawyer 
 and brother, Solomon French and brother, were early settlers 
 of this region; and William Smith, the grandfather of Warren 
 Smith, who was moved from Old Hampton by Mr. Glidden. 
 Perhaps his son, Jeremiah, came with him, as he left Old Hamp- 
 ton, where he was born, when a boy, and went to live in Canter- 
 bury. 
 
 In those early times, there was no house between Glidden 's 
 and what is now called the Rand schoolhouse — some two miles 
 or more. Ensign Sanborn, whose wife was a Harvey, lived not 
 far from there. He probably served in the army for a while. 
 
 Mrs, William Oilman, to whom I am indebted for many of 
 the above facts, relates that woods, wolves and bears were plenty 
 in those times, and carriages very scarce; so that when Esquire 
 Samuel Forrest's mother died, her corpse was carried on a bier 
 laid on poles between two horses to the graveyard by the brick 
 meeting-house, some three or four miles distant. 
 
 She further says that old General Dearborn drove the first 
 double sleigh into NoTthfield on a visit to her grandfather. 
 
 I have been able to learn but little of the pioneers and settle- 
 ment of the Centre and Eastern parts of the town, with the 
 exception of the Forrest family — a short account of which was 
 furnished me by Mr. John Sanborn, which I give in nearly his 
 own words. 
 
 "William John Forrest came from Ireland when eighteen 
 years of age, and died in Boston. Of his four sons, Robert 
 settled in Canterbury, and the others in Xorthfield — John on 
 the Leighton place, William in the Centre district, and James 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 117 
 
 on the farm now owned by James N. Forrest, his grandson. 
 Two of his daughters married Gibsons, and the other one, Mr. 
 Clongh; and all settled in Northfield. "William Forrest settled 
 in the Centre district, or rather commenced clearing the timber 
 in 1774, just before the War of the Revolution broke out. One 
 day, while felling trees, he providentially escaped death by 
 lightning, which completely demolished an a.sh tree, under which 
 he had designed to take shelter. He enlisted in the war, and 
 served his country with credit. He was the father of fourteen 
 children, of whom thirteen lived to grow up, and all except one 
 attended school liear the ^Id meeting-house." To this sketch 
 Mr. James N. Forrest adds: "My grandfather James came here — 
 on the farm where I now live — in 1784, and subdued the forest, 
 erected buildings, built roads, and left a worthy son to inherit 
 his property, and do honor to his name. My father, who was an 
 only son, named me for his father, and I have named one of my 
 sons — Samuel — for him. How long the names Avill rotate, only 
 the destiny of the family will reveal." I understand that this 
 family has furnished more teachers and held more official posi- 
 tions than any other in town. ' 
 
 Oak Hill proper, I am informed, was for the most part orig- 
 inally in the possession of Obed Clough, who was succeeded by 
 the French and Batchelder families. The latter are still repre- 
 sented in that part of the town — among whom the best known 
 face is that of "Uncle Moses," as he is familiarly called, still 
 hale, vigorous, and whole-souled — one of the i>atriarclis of the 
 town, showing to the younger generation what a life of tem- 
 perance, industry, with a good conscience, can accomplish towards 
 the attainment of old age. 
 
 I quote from ]\Ir. Goodwin again, who says, "Ensign San- 
 born, Gideon Sawyer, the brothers Arehelaus. Samuel and Abner 
 Miles, John and Jeremiah McDaniel, Nathaniel and William 
 Whicher, Capt. Thomas Clough, George and Joseph Hancock, 
 and the four brothers by the name of Cross, were in town 
 very early." These, I suppose, mostly settled in the western 
 part. "On the Crosses they had some verses running in this 
 wise ; 
 
 Cooper Jess and Merchant Tom, 
 Honest Parker and Farmer John. 
 
118 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 These Crosses had a sort of village down at their place on the 
 intervale, opposite the Webster farm. They had a coopering es- 
 tablishment, a store and a tavern there, and it was, in fact, a 
 business emporium for all that region." 
 
 The first manufacturing in town was done on what was called 
 the Cross Brook. Here, and near the Intervale and Oak Hill, 
 were made earthen and wooden ware, lumber, jewelry, and es- 
 pecially the old-fashioned gold beads. They had there a grist 
 mill, a fulling mill, and carding machine — the first in use — a 
 grocery, jeweler's shop and tailor's shop. The father of Mr. 
 William G. Hanaford had a shoe shop, and some one had a 
 blacksmith — or w^hat was then called a shoeing shop. In fact, 
 almost every branch of industry was carried on there in the very 
 first decade of the town's history. 
 
 Steven Cross, the great-grandfather of O. L. Cross, Esq., mar- 
 ried Peggy Bowen and settled near Indian Bridge, and raised a 
 family of thirteen children, who were all living when the youngest 
 was forty years old. The oldest, Abraham, married Ruth Saw- 
 yer, daughter of old Deacon Sawyer of Canterbury, who was a 
 soldier in both the French and Revolutionary w^ars, and who 
 had two sons killed at the surrender of Burgoyne, w^here the 
 father was also a soldier. Deacon Sawyer owned the ferry two 
 miles below the Cross ferry, and always attended to it himself 
 to the last year of his life, he being within two months and 
 three days of one hundred years at his death. He was the 
 father of twenty-two children, twenty of whom grew up. Abra- 
 ham Cross settled near his father Sawyer, and there Jeremiah 
 was born in 1805 ; but the year before the family had settled on 
 the Winnipiseogee and built a sawmill, ever after known as the 
 Cross Mill. Jeremiah married Miss Sarah Lyford of Pittsfield, 
 settled near the Cross Mill, and about thirty years ago built, on 
 a beautiful elevation overlooking the mill, a fine mansion in 
 which a few years since he died, leaving behind an enviable 
 character for honor, integrity and business enterprise. He was 
 buried with Masonic honors. 
 
 Among the early settlers were also the names of William 
 Kenniston and a Mr. Danforth. The latter was a soldier of the 
 Revolution, and, having been wounded, always persisted in say- 
 ing that he carried the ball still imbedded in his shoulder. The 
 statement was not credited, however, till, years after his death, 
 
 11 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 119 
 
 upon the removal of his remains, it was found that the old 
 soldier -was right, for there, firmly fixed, so that a hammer 
 was required for its extrication, was found the bullet, embedded 
 in the solid bone. 
 
 The three Miles brothers came into town in 1769 or 1770, and 
 settled on one farm ; lived -on it six or seven years, then sold it 
 to Reuben Kimball of Concord in 1776. This farm has been 
 kept in the Kimball name to the present time, Reuben giving 
 it to his son, Benjamin, who sold it to his brother, David, whose 
 descendants are still there. Reuben Kimball was a soldier of 
 the Revolution and in the battle of Bunker Hill was hit by 
 musket balls three times — once in the crown of his hat, once on 
 the powder horn which hung' at his side (which horn is now in 
 the possession of the present occupant of the farm) and once in 
 the leg, which wound never healed to the day of his death, June 
 12, 1815. 
 
 Well, Time whirls his wheel a little queerly sometimes. Now 
 here is Mr. J. A. Kimball, the last possessor of that farm, whose 
 wife is a direct descendant of Abner Miles, the first possessor of 
 said farm. Said Abner sold his right and title to the farm and 
 cut off his descendants, heirs, assigns, etc., from all right, title, 
 fee simple, forever and forever, when lo! a descendant of his 
 steps in and claims equal rights with the purchaser. And, what 
 is still more strange, it is said to be the result of a suit — not a 
 law suit — which terminated in her favor; and so the descend- 
 ants of the seller and the descendants of the purchaser both 
 share equally in the blessings of said farm. 
 
 Another excellent farm in western Northfield, which* is as 
 well cultivated as any upland farm in towTi, or perhaps in the 
 county, is the one owned and occupied by Mr. John S. Dearborn, 
 which was deeded to his grandfather, Shubael Dearborn, in 1779, 
 just one hundred and one years ago, by his great-grandfather, 
 who then lived on the Edmund Dearborn place. The deed is 
 still preserved in the old family chest. Shubael was married 
 in homespun, at twenty-six years of age, and commenced house- 
 keeping without l>ed or crockery and in a house containing only 
 one pane of glass. The story goes that he was taxed extra for 
 the glass and for every smoke in the chimney. But frugality 
 and industry overcame all obstacles in time, and Mr. Dearborn 
 lived to see himself in comfortable circumstances, with a good 
 
120 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 house to shelter him, and well furnished for the time. He was 
 obliged to haul his building material from Portsmouth with an 
 ox team. He died at the age of fifty-eight. The farm has been 
 in the family name ever since, passing from Shubael to his son 
 of the same name, and thence to his son, the present possessor, 
 John S. Dearborn. 
 
 "The Intervale upon which the Crosses and Joseph Hancock 
 settled (once a part of old Northfield, but now included within 
 the limits of Franklin) is one of the largest and richest on the 
 Merrimack. ' ' It here spreads out into a broad field of more than 
 one hundred acres, level as a prairie, a sort of delta, or minia- 
 ture Egypt, which is flowed in spring and fall, but never washed, 
 as the water sets back upon the land through a channel con- 
 necting with the Merrimack on the lower side. Portions of this 
 have been mowed for nearly a century, and still produce from 
 one to three tons per acre. Here Joseph Gerrish, Esq., settled 
 in the year 1804. He was a native of Boscawen, born in 1784 — 
 almost one hundred years ago — and was the son of Colonel 
 Henry, and grandson of Capt. Steven Gerrish, one of the first 
 settlers of Boscawen, and a native of Newbury, Mass. The great- 
 grandfather of Steven (Capt. William) came from Bristol, Eng., 
 to Newbury, where he settled in 1639 — removing thence to Bos- 
 ton in 1687. 
 
 Joseph Gerrish was a man of great shrewdness, business tact 
 and enterprise, hospitable and genial. During the War of 1812 
 he started a distillery here for the manufacture of potato whiskey, 
 which he gave up on the return of peace, and turned his atten- 
 tion more exclusively to farming, bought the George Hancocic 
 farm on an adjacent ridge, and thus enlarged his domains to 
 ample size, with due proportions of upland for grazing, and in- 
 tervale for tillage. Soon after, he removed his residence to the 
 upland farm, where with convenient buildings, good horses, 
 ample means, generous living, and a family of thirteen children, 
 he lived till his death in 1851, looked up to and respected as one 
 of the most substantial farmers Northfield has produced. His 
 wife was Susan Hancock of Northfield. After his death, his 
 broad acres were divided among his three sons — Milton, Leonard 
 and Stephen ; the two former taking the intervale, the latter, the 
 upland farm. IMilton and Leonard still abide by their inheri- 
 tance, and with full garners and contented spirits we presume 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 121 
 
 they enjoy that peculiar happiness and health a farmer's life 
 only can bring. Steven, however, after a few years of very 
 successful farming, his house being destitute of children, grew 
 lonely, we suppose, and migrated across the Merrimack, to try the 
 charms of a village life in West Franklin, where he still re- 
 sides. His place was bought by John Kelley, Esq., the present 
 possessor, in whose experienced hands the farm bids fair to keep 
 up its ancient reputation. 
 
 This is the amount of our researches respecting Oak Hill and 
 the west part. 
 
 And now, having given this imperfect sketch of the first set- 
 tlers and their acts during the first twenty years, and traced 
 their families down as fully as our information would allow, 
 it remains to exhibit them in their corporate capacity, beginning 
 with their town meetings, and following with the great raising 
 of the old meeting-house — a momentous event in its day, hardly 
 to be equalled by a centennial in our time — ^but of these matters 
 a few items must suffice for the present, as an extended account 
 will be given of them in the History of Xorthfield, which it is 
 proposed to prepare during the coming year. The following is 
 
 a copy from their earliest 
 
 » 
 
 "reighcord of meetings, &c. : 
 "At a meeting held in Xorthfield tuesday ye 21 — Xove'r 17S0 
 
 1 Voted Mr John Simons jModerator 
 
 2 Voted to a Low Mr X'athanil witchers acompt in Gifting 
 ye in Corpration. 
 
 3 Voted to Rais Monny to Buy a parrish Book 
 
 4 V to Rais Xineteen hundred Dollars to Defray Parrish 
 Chargis" 
 
 SECOND MEETING. 
 
 " At a I\Ieeting held in Xorthfield on Tuesday ye first of JMarch 
 1781, at the hous of Mr John Simons 
 
 1 Voted Capt Ednor Blanchard ]\Ioderator 
 
 2nd Voted Arche :\Iiles Clerk 
 
 3rd Voted Reuben Witcher John McDaniel Thomas Clough 
 Select Men 
 
 4 Voted Ebenesor Kimbol Constobel 
 
 5 Voted Joseph Car David Blanchard Charles Glidden Mat- 
 thew hains & Peter hunniford Servavers of liv wais 
 
122 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 6 Voted Edward Blanchard David Morrison hog Refs. 
 
 7 voted Aaron Stevens Sealer of Measur 
 
 8 Voted the Select ]\Ien be a Committy to git the Monny and 
 Beef Cauld for By the Cort. 
 
 9 voted to Raise Six thousand Dollars to Repir high ways in 
 labour at forty dollars per day. 
 
 Said Meeting adjurned to the firs of Apr at two of the Clock 
 in the After Noon at the Saim plais" 
 
 The foregoing is a full record of the first two meetings after 
 the town was incorporated. 
 
 As to how the old meeting-house was raised by the whole 
 town in convention assembled, how Master Bill Durgin framed 
 it, and Elder Crocket blessed the enterprise, how libations 
 were poured out and in, how the women cooked the dinner, how 
 the Hill women of Bay Hill furnished the bread, and Mrs, 
 Knowles and others prepared the fish, potatoes, etc., by the edge 
 of the woods, and how races were run up the east hill by men 
 with bags of grain on their shoulders, and other games; all this 
 and much more we hope to place before our hearers in the not 
 distant future, as the work is in the hands of one whose ancestor 
 kept a complete diary of the proceedings of that eventful day. 
 
 In this place, it will be appropriate, perhaps, to introduce a 
 brief account of the churches of Northfield. 
 
 The old meeting-house was originally free to all sects, but in 
 later years was occupied exclusively by the Congregationalists, 
 who abandoned it in 1841, since which it has been used only 
 for town-meetings. 
 
 In regard to common schools, the one remarkable fact is the 
 strange diminution in the number of children attending them 
 since earlier times. Why is it? The population of the town is 
 now larger. This may be accounted for in various w^ays. First, 
 the young people leave at an earlier age to obtain a more ad- 
 vanced education in the higher schools; second, families are 
 smaller; and third, the young grown-up people and young fam- 
 ilies leave town. But of this last reason I will speak further 
 on. 
 
 The first schoolhouses, of course, were made of logs, of which 
 an example has been given on Bay Hill, and were generally 
 private dwelling houses. Female teachers began to be employed 
 about 1806, and w^ere considered competent if they had mastered 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 123 
 
 the first four rules in arithmetic. In illustration of the great 
 advance made in female education since that time it is only 
 necessary to point to the many young ladies graduating each 
 year from our female colleges and other higher institutions, as has 
 witnessed this week in the Seminary near by. 
 
 The Bay Hill school, which formerly contained upwards of 
 fifty pupils, has, during the past twenty years, often been re- 
 duced to less than half a dozen. 
 
 The Centre school in former days numbered sixty, sometimes 
 reaching eighty. Here Mr. John E. Forrest, one of our oldest 
 citizens, was accustomed to attend when a boy, one of whose 
 duties was to carry for Master Gleason, who boarded at his 
 father's, a bottle of cider each day. By mistake one morning 
 he filled the bottle from the vinegar barrel. At the proper time, 
 after the wear and tear of the morning hour. Master Gleason 
 repaired to the closet where the cider was wont to be kept, and 
 disposed of a stout dram before he discovered the mistake. 
 Speechless with rage and vinegar, he could only shake his fist 
 in the face of the innocent cause of all this turmoil, at the same 
 time giving such power of expression to his face as would have 
 been highly applauded on the stage. Finally recovering his 
 speech, he roared out the threat of a flogging to the rascal. 
 Doubtless he wore a sour look the rest of the day. 
 
 Other early teachers of the Centre were Master Morrill of 
 Concord, ^Masters Bowles, Solomon Sutton of Canterbury, Josiah 
 Ambrose of Xorthfield, Phinehas Thorn and Edmund Dearborn. 
 Miss Morrill and Nancy Glidden were among the female teachers. 
 The school now numbers from fifteen to twenty. 
 
 In early times, the school in the Hodgdon district numbered 
 from seventy to one hundred, and John Cate, an old teacher, 
 took oath in a certain suit that he had one hundred and ten 
 scholars. Now there are no scholars large enough to attend, and 
 no school — one of the greatest changes in a school district that I 
 have ever known. 
 
 Among the oldest teachers Avere Ma.st^s Knapp, Parkinson, 
 Meshech Cate, John Blanchard and Edmund Dearborn. It is 
 related that ^Master Dearborn's mother used to follow her children 
 to the schoolhouse, stick in hand, whenever they were unwilling 
 to go, and as the result they all became excellent scholars. Think 
 of that, ye who rely entirely on moral suasion ! Among the fe- 
 
124 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 male teachers were Nabby Abbott, Sally Hazelton and Esther 
 Parkinson. Dudley Leavitt, the famous astronomer and almanac- 
 maker, was the first to teach in that district after the building 
 of a schoolhouse. At that time he lived at Bean Hill and boarded 
 at home, walking- to and from school each day. He wore slippers 
 and once, when passing old Squire Lyford's, one of them slipped 
 off, but he was so agile, he threw his foot into it again and passed 
 on without stopping. He was tall and commanding in person, 
 as were many of the Leavitts of those days. 
 
 Now, ha\dng tarried so long among the early fathers, and 
 gathered into one bundle the few items we could pick up here and 
 there of their settlement, families, modes of life and manners of 
 governing, let us in company glide downward two or three scores 
 of years and saunter somewhere along the middle of the century, 
 and strive to catch a glimpse of the financial situation and social 
 life of our people at that period and then by a few short steps 
 transfer ourselves to the present time. 
 
 And first I would say, that from twenty-five to seventy-five 
 years after the incorporation, the rural portion of the town 
 appears to me to have been in its most prosperous state. Village 
 life had not grown to such proportions then, the majority of 
 farmers were in middle life, with iron frames, strong arms and 
 stronger hearts, with stout boys ready to assist and plenty of 
 them, with buxom girls in equal numbers, to card, spin, weave, 
 help mother generally, and even to rake hay, when occasion 
 called, so that those freshly-opened farms fairly laughed with 
 harvests — filling the barns with hay to bursting and the garners 
 with grain. The schoolhouses were crammed with great boys, 
 little boys, middling boys and girls ditto. Those were the golden 
 days of the Northfield farmers. 
 
 "Oft did the harvest to their sickle yield, 
 
 Their furrow oft the stubborn glebe has broke, 
 
 How jocund did they drive their teams afield, 
 
 How bowed the woods beneath their sturdy stroke." 
 
 Since then village life has gained and, as a consequence in con- 
 nection with other causes, rural life has lost. 
 
 In the second place, our fathers — and mothers, as well — seemed 
 inclined to combine amusement and sociality with their daily 
 labor more than their descendants of the present day. Instead 
 of formal calls — now the fashion — the good housewife would 
 
NORTHFIEl-D CENTENNIAL. 125 
 
 often take her wheel and spend the long summer afternoon with 
 a chatty neighbor in spinning — the whir of the wheel keeping 
 time to the wagging of the tongue, and which went faster would 
 be hard to tell. 
 
 There were the raisings, when a new house w^as to be erected, 
 whether of logs or framed, when the men came from far and 
 near, with the purpose of having a high time generally, and they 
 generally had it. Then there were the shooting matches, and 
 wrestling matches, and apple parings, and quilting bees, sleigh- 
 ride parties, and coasting parties. There were the spelling- 
 schools, which were occasions J3f much interest, when the young 
 people met, chose sides and strove to surpass each other in navi- 
 gating the intricate mazes of English orthography. And there 
 were social parties, when the young men and women — often from 
 fifty to a hundred in number — would gather at the house of some 
 substantial farmer, where, before roaring fires, in spacious, old- 
 fashioned rooms, warm and comfortable, though the Weather 
 might be zero without, they would spend the all too swiftly pass- 
 ing hours in lively chat, or in playing games, such as button, 
 rolling the plate, Copenhagen, bean porridge, hot and cold, etc., 
 and in singing and marching to the songs of "Oats, peas, beans, 
 and barley grow," and "When the snow blows in the field," and 
 "Arise, my true love," etc. 
 
 0, those merry, jolly days — or rather evenings — of forty or 
 fifty years ago, when girls and boys were as thick as grasshoppers 
 in summer time! 
 
 A word about husking parties, once an important institution 
 in these regions. "When the days had begun to shorten and the 
 nights to grow frosty, and the corn had been gathered and piled 
 in huge heaps in the barns, instead of sitting solitary and alone 
 for weeks, stripping the husks from the ears, the thrift}' farmer 
 would invite his neighbors, young and old, male and female, to a 
 husking party and have his corn husked in a single night. And 
 it was an invitation in most cases gladly accepted. The .I'oke, and 
 the laugh, and the song went round — and sometimes the cider. 
 And the fortunate finder of the red ear had his rew-ard ; while all 
 were rewarded at the conclusion of the work with a bountiful 
 meal, such as the farmers' wives of those days, and their daugh- 
 ters, knew how to provide. At those supper tables the pumpkin 
 pie usually held the place of honor. "With its surface of a rich. 
 
126 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 golden color, deep, luscious, melting, with crispy circumference, 
 no husking party was held to be complete without the pumpkin 
 pie. 
 
 I had designed to speak of the militia trainings, with their 
 wonderful evolutions and equipments, and of the muster field, to 
 which our Northfield warriors marched once in the year, and of a 
 famous character always there found, by the name of Foster, 
 whose continual repetition of "yes'm, yes'm" gained him the 
 nickname of "Yes'm" the country over, and whose war cry of 
 
 "Crackers and honey, 
 Cheap for the money," 
 
 brought many a dollar to his cart, and many a meal of crackers, 
 honey, gingerbread and oranges to the hungry crowd. But want 
 of time forbids and an abler pen than mine would be required to 
 do the subject justice. 
 
 Coming down to the present time, a few statistics must suffice. 
 On the Northfield side of Tilton village, cloth is manufactured 
 to the value of $276,000 annually from two woolen mills. There 
 are smaller mills besides, wheelwright shop, etc. There is a large 
 graded school building there and over fifty dwelling houses. 
 
 The Gazetteer of 1874 says the valuation of the productions of 
 the town is $95,000 ; mechanical labor, $46,500 ; stocks and money 
 at interest, $9,648 ; deposits in savings banks, $50,911 ; stock in 
 trade, $6,425. There are nine schools in town, one of which is 
 graded. 
 
 By this we see that the manufactures are respectable and they 
 can be increased to an indefinite extent. But agriculture is the 
 principal employment of the inhabitants, and they possess many 
 fine farms under excellent cultivation. One or two facts 
 will illustrate the fertility of the soil. The trunk of a pine tree 
 for many years formed part of a highway fence below Mr. 
 Clisby's, so large that steps were cut in it to assist in climbing 
 over. And years ago there was another large pine tree cut near 
 the old meeting-house. Mr. Hiram Glines, a citizen of the town, 
 states that he once saw a pair of six-feet oxen driven upon the 
 stump and turned around on it without stepping off. 
 
 Having thus presented a few outlines of the history, and slight 
 sketches of the manners of the past, allow me a few words on the 
 natural features of this town. 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 127 
 
 Northfield was originally a part of Canterbury, from which 
 it was cut off by the act of incorporation in 1780. Military au- 
 thorities say that mountains and rivers make the best defensive 
 boundaries against invasion, and that, perhaps, was the reason 
 why the boundary line was run over the summit of Bean Hill — 
 over, I think, the topmost pinnacle — while a barrier was put be- 
 tween the people and their neighbors on the north and west by 
 the Merrimack and Wiunipiseogee rivers. If such was the design, 
 it was not a complete success, as is shown by the successive losses 
 of territory the town has suffered. And it is said that many a 
 fair daughter of the town has been lost to her parents for ever 
 and aye by the daring of some marauding young man from across 
 the border. 
 
 Northfield has a diversified aspect. It has hill and vale, up- 
 land and low plains, waving woods, smooth rolling fields, rich 
 intervale and the craggy rock. At the first glance you would 
 hardly imagine anything to be in common between this town 
 and the metropolis of New England. But in one respect there 
 is a resemblance, in which, however, we are decidedly superior 
 to the Hub. Boston was formerh^ called Tri-mountain, from the 
 fact that it was built on three hills, and the name still survives 
 in one of their principal streets — Tremont. Now Northfield has 
 just that number of hills — Bay, Bean and Oak — the least of 
 which would surpass all the city's Tri-mountains gathered into- 
 one. Theirs, they sa}^, are mountains, but mountains are so 
 abundant up this way that we call ours hills. 
 
 The surface of the town is dotted with gem-like ponds. Near 
 Mr. Winslow's on the level plain is Sondogardy, blinking at each 
 railroad train as it dashes by; and Chestnut, near the residence 
 of ]\Ir. Knowles, lies down deep in the bottom of a cavity, like 
 the crater of a volcano. 
 
 The principal rivers, I believe, wholly within the limits of the 
 town are the Skenduggardy (not Sondogardy — the Gazetteer is 
 wrong) and the Cross Brook, which ought to be named Sondo- 
 gardy, as it flows from the pond of that name, and without 
 doubt was formerly so-called. The first named river is formed 
 by the union of a branch flowing from Chestnut Pond with 
 another from the heights of Bean Hill, and empties into the 
 Winnipiseogee. It was once something of a manufacturing 
 stream, as it carried two sawmills, and more anciently, by flow- 
 
128 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 age, manufactured the Smith and Thurston meadows, but of late 
 it has given up the sawing and flowing business and seems only- 
 solicitous to find its way to the Winnipiseogee, while its few trout 
 lead a hard life in dodging the misguided anglers — who are 
 often forced to retire from its banks, sadder, if not wiser men. 
 Its sister river flows into the Merrimack, and was once noted for 
 manufactures. Nor is Northfield devoid of scenic beauty. In- 
 deed, I believe it stands pre-eminent in that respect, even among 
 the towns of New Hampshire. The view from Bay Hill, in quiet, 
 rural beauty, will compare favorably with anything of the kind 
 it has been my good fortune to see. Before you on the north is 
 spread the valley of the Winnipiseogee — with its lake of that 
 name, that "Smile of the Great Spirit" — a sail over which Ed- 
 ward Everett declared to be more charming than any he had ever 
 taken over the lakes of Switzerland — and flowing from it, with a 
 succession of bays and rapids, the river hastening forward to 
 bathe your northern boundary and to meet her sister river on 
 your western border. The valley is oval, and as you look over 
 its longest diameter j^ou see it walled around by Gunstock, Belk- 
 nap, Ossipee, Red Hill and others, like giant warders, while 
 farther away, peering over their heads, are Chocorua, Cardigan, 
 Mount Washington, and his brothers, while directly west, on your 
 left, Kearsarge raises its broad shoulders — the most symmetrical 
 of mountains, as seen from that position. The whole Winni- 
 piseogee valley probably was once filled by the waters of the 
 lake — Bay Hill reaching over to and connecting with a similar 
 elevation on the Sanbornton side — till worn down by the river, 
 which drained the valley. Dividing, one branch passed on to 
 Franklin, and the other through the middle of Northfield, making 
 Oak Hill an island. Possibly a branch passed still further east 
 converting Bean Hill into another island much larger. Thus 
 Northfield probably once consisted merely of two island hill tops. 
 
 From various parts of Bean Hill, though possibly not quite so 
 beautiful, are views more extensive and well worth seeing. 
 
 And Oak Hill with a patronizing air looks down on stalwart 
 Franklin, which nestles under its shelter. 
 
 Bean Hill is the highest elevation between this part of the 
 valley and the Atlantic. Its shoulders support many a goodly 
 farm, while the pinnacle is mostly bare rock, with stunted trees 
 in the crevices. 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNL4L. 129 
 
 The AYinnipiseogee is said to fall two hundred and thirty-two 
 feet before meeting the Pemigewasset. At the confluence of the 
 two in Franklin, the united streams take the name of Merrimack, 
 a river which is said to propel more machinery than any other 
 in the world. A Gazetteer tells me that the original name was 
 Merrymake — and a very appropriate term it would appear to be 
 to all who have seen its waters. Others say it was named from 
 Merry ]Mac, a dweller on its banks; while another authority says 
 it is an Indian word and signifies a sturgeon. 
 
 Wonderful stories were told by the fathers about the fish in 
 our beautiful rivers. Not the lean, attenuated specimens of 
 piscatory life now represented by degenerate dace, chubs and 
 perch, with occasionally a lonely pickerel, but shad and salmon — 
 fat, luscious and huge, and in such vast numbers at times as to 
 blacken the river with their backs. And w^hat was singular in 
 their habits was that though they migrated from the ocean 
 through the whole length of the IMerrimack in company, yet, on 
 reaching the fork of the two rivers at Franklin, they invariably 
 sepjirated, the shad passing up the "Winnipiseogee to deposit their 
 spawn in the lake, and the salmon up the Pemigewasset. Thus 
 the inhabitants of one valley ate shad and those of the other, 
 salmon. 
 
 Xorthfield contains about twent-seven square miles or seven- 
 teen thousand acres. She was formerly larger, but within the 
 last quarter of a century she has suffered a considerable contrac- 
 tion of her circumference, owing to the affectionate regard of 
 Her neighbors. She has become reduced — lost flesh. But for all 
 this, she's a hale, healthy, active old lady today — for a centen- 
 arian. 
 
 But seriously, though our town be contracted in dimensions, it 
 is a goodly town still. Its most picturesque, its most homelike, 
 its most rural portions, its upland farms, its brooks, ponds, 
 groves, and its three mountains yet remain to you. It is a beau- 
 tiful town, and though small, one to be proud of. 
 
 A greater loss, however, and one more to be deplored than 
 that of territory, which your town has sustained, has been the 
 constant drain for the last half century of your young men, 
 notably of your young farmers, to the cities, and especially to the 
 Far West. Some of your best lifeblood has been lost in this 
 
 10 
 
130 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 way. Had all remained, and divided and subdivided your large 
 farms into smaller ones, and emploj'ed on them the same energy 
 they have applied elsewhere, what a garden Xorthfield would 
 have been, and how your schoolhouses would have been filled, 
 in this year of 1880 ! 
 
 There was in imagination, half a century ago, more than at 
 present, I think, a halo — a romance — cast around the journey 
 towards the setting sun. ]\Ien felt sure of fortune and fame the 
 moment their feet should touch prairie land. The great West 
 was in their thoughts, in their talks, dreams, and even their 
 sports. Why, I remember well, that one of the most popular 
 songs we sung and to the music of which we marched with the 
 greatest zest, in those gatherings, of the young at the houses of the 
 substantial farmers thirty or forty years ago, of which I have 
 already spoken, was this: 
 
 "Arise, my true love, and present me your hand, 
 And we will travel to some far distant land, 
 Where the girls card and spin, and the boys rake and mow. 
 And we will settle on the banks of the pleasant 0-hi-o." 
 
 Yes, many since that time have left Xorthfield and gone to 
 the Ohio and beyond. And many more who remained had a 
 desperate longing to travel the same road. Thousands were the 
 influences operating, of course, but I have no doubt that even 
 this little song to some extent quickened the impulses of your 
 young men to desert this beautiful town, and travel to the 
 level, monotonous, muddy, fever-stricken, homesick, strange, far- 
 away expanses of the West. Yes, that was what they sung: 
 
 "We will settle on the banks of the pleasant 0-hi-o!" 
 
 But girls and boys, young men and maidens, don't you do it. 
 Don't you settle on those banks, nor on the banks of any other 
 Western river ! Do n 't put faith in the ' ' beautiful 0-hi-o ' ' — 
 I 've seen it — as long as you have the beautiful Merrimack, spark- 
 ling, rushing, full of life, compared with which the ''beautiful 
 0-hi-o" is nothing but a muddy, lazy canal, or ditch, good for 
 navigation. For beauty, for purity, for exhilarating effect, give 
 me, a thousand times give me, your Winnipiseogee ! Settle where 
 there are healthful skies, pure air, sparkling streams. Settle in 
 New England; settle in Xorthfield; or, what is better, remain 
 settled there ! 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 131 
 
 Happiness is what we are all in search of. And happiness de- 
 pends, much more than we are aware, upon local attachment. 
 And it is proverbial that local attachment is stronger in a moun- 
 tainous country than in one of plains. The Swiss are said to be 
 so afflicted with homesickness sometimes, when in foreign coun- 
 tries, such a longing to see their mountains once more, that they 
 commit suicide. Walter Scott said if he could n't see the hills of 
 Scotland once a year, he should die. Now a plain country has 
 no power. On the priaries, ever}i;hing is like everything else; 
 there is no variety ; the farms are as like each other as two peas. 
 "Whereas, in a. hill country like this, every farm has an individ- 
 uality, a decided character, that distinguishes it from every other. 
 Each man's farm is like no other man's farm. As we choose a 
 friend, or a sweetheart, not because they are just like other 
 people, but for the exact opposite — him because he is like no 
 other man and her because she is like no other woman — so, in pro- 
 cess of time a man becomes attached to his farm, especially if 
 he has lived on it long enough to become acquainted with its 
 peculiarities, because it is unlike any other man's farm. He ex- 
 periences a home feeling when he visits the hillside pasture, sees 
 an old acquaintance in every hollow, tree, brook, spring and even 
 every rock of respectable size has an individuality and a charm 
 for him, that in the course of a long life adds no small amount 
 to the sum total of his happiness. Why, said a New Hampshire 
 man to me in Iowa once, "I would give half my farm to run my 
 plough against a big rock." 
 
 0, but this is nothing but sentiment ! some one says. Perhaps 
 it is, but you will find that the most of our likes and dislikes 
 are founded on sentiment. But grant that it is sentiment — noth- 
 ing more and nothing worth, yet, if you look at the comparative 
 profits simply of eastern and western farming, I surmise that 
 you will not find the table of profit and loss to be so very much 
 against the Northfielder — even on his upland farm, to say noth- 
 ing of the intervales. Why, there are ten farms under mortgage 
 at the West to one in the East. That tells the story of profit and 
 loss. Much might also be said here of the mistake of leaving a 
 country for a city life. But time is rapidly passing and I must 
 hasten to a close. I will only say that the experience of the past 
 five or six years has wrought a change in the minds of thousands 
 on this subject. !Many a man during the past twelve months has 
 
132 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 left behind the din, the turmoil, the uncertainty of the city, and 
 gone back to where he can be blessed with 
 
 "The low of cattle, and song of birds, 
 And health, and quiet, and loving words." 
 
 And may this return tide long continue to flow upon the old 
 homesteads. 
 
 But not to the young men alone, but to the fathers of the town, 
 allow me a word. I would say, take all means to improve your 
 town. Make it desirable as a place of residence. You have good 
 land, a strong soil, better, buch better than the average of New 
 Hampshire land. Feed this soil. Beautify your farms. Make 
 your homes pleasant and strive in all ways to stop this constant 
 drain of your young men to the "West, or to the cities. You 
 have a beautiful town, as I have before said, varied, picturesque, 
 and richly endowed with capacities for improvement. Increase 
 its beauties. Adorn it in every conceivable way. And by so 
 doing, not only increase the beauty but greatly enhance the 
 market value of our town. Plant trees, make good roads, set out 
 orchards, have trim gardens, ornament your grounds, make your 
 houses neat, convenient and picturesque; in short, make every 
 farm a paradise — for you can do it — with health, industry and 
 taste. Set your faces as a flint in favor of morality and temper- 
 ance throughout your borders — in every nook and corner of the 
 town — among all classes, and especially among the young. Es- 
 tablish a public library and lend a helping hand to. every good 
 work. "What if all these should cost a little more money ? Money 
 is of no value in itself, but for what it procures. Let it procure 
 what will give you enjoyment and improve and bless j^ou and 
 yours, your life long. See to it that your public schools are as 
 good as they can be made. And when your children have grad- 
 uated from the district schools, do n 't forget that what would do 
 in your great-grandfather's days, would be totally insufficient 
 now. Then man was chiefly employed in subduing nature — in 
 felling the trees and in establishing for himself a residence. Now 
 times have changed. Knowledge is increased. Skilled labor and 
 scientific learning give power to its possessor above all his fellows. 
 A higher education is now required to keep us on a level with the 
 general intelligence of the world. 
 
 And glad am I to be able to say, that you fortunately have the 
 means of obtaining this higher education at your very doors. 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 133 
 
 The New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Female College 
 is a daughter of Northfield, whose birth took place on this side 
 of the river thirty-five years ago. Many before me have ex- 
 perienced her beneficial influence, and are nobler men and nobler 
 women today from having come in contact with her moulding 
 power. To be sure, she has moved out of town, but only across 
 the. border, to a brother hill facing the one she left, and, in fact, 
 only the northerly part of the same hill, before the river wore 
 a channel between. So that you can still claim her as a daugh- 
 ter of Northfield, who has only stepped across the way. And 
 long may she continue her influence, not only in Northfield and 
 Tilton, but throughout New Hampshire, and even extend it to the 
 remotest corners of New England. This subject of education, in 
 connection with the prosperity of your to^vn, or of any town, is 
 no small thing. My life's work has been in this cause. Thirty 
 years almost have I, in a humble way, stood in my place of 
 teacher, and every year increases my conviction of its vast im- 
 portance. For twelve years nearly has it been my fortune to 
 find a home in my present location on the seaboard. There, on 
 many a prominent headland, you will notice that a lighthouse 
 has been erected ; a lighthouse that shall send its beams far over 
 the water to guide the mariner in the dark. In the fog, or the 
 storm, or in the dim starlight, shaken by huge billows, or in the 
 calm, that light gleams forth, and tells him where he is, and 
 guides him in the right course. So may the New Hampshire 
 Conference Seminary, seated on yonder headland, that beautiful 
 headland, send forth the light of education all up and down the 
 Merrimack valley, and not stopping there, cross Kearsarge on 
 the west and Bean Hill and Gunstock on the east, and extend its 
 beams to the lake and the ocean, enlightening, guiding, blessing, 
 as long as j'our three hills shall stand, or the ]\Ierrimaek run. 
 
 And finally, cultivate town patriotism. Love your town. Ren- 
 der it more and more worthy of your love with each passing 
 year. Teach your children to love it, and make it such that they 
 must love it, ardently, devotedly, so that whether they sojourn 
 within its limits or settle far away, or wander with no fixed abode, 
 their native town will be the one bright, loved, home-like spot 
 of all the earth. 
 
 And, dear old ]\Iother Northfield, who wearest thy centennial 
 garments so well today, we, thy children, native and adopted, bid 
 
134 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 thee all hail ! May many and many a centennial be celebrated 
 within thy borders. And may each anniversary find you farther 
 aHvaneed in prosperity and happiness and m^orality than the 
 last. "May your sons be as plants grown up in their youth; 
 may your daughters be as cornerstones, polished after the simili- 
 tude of a palace ; may your garners be full, your oxen strong to 
 labor; may there be no complaining in your streets; and may 
 you be that happy people whose God is the Lord. ' ' And 
 
 "O, our fathers' God! From out whose hand 
 The centures fall like grains of sand, 
 We meet to-day, united, free. 
 And loyal to our land and Thee, 
 To thank Thee for the century done, ^ 
 
 And trust Thee for the opening one. 
 
 0, make Thou us through centuries long. 
 In peace secure, in justice strong; 
 And o'er our gift of freedom draw 
 The safeguards of the righteous law. 
 And, cast in some diviner mould, 
 Let the new century surpass the old." 
 
 NORTHFIELD, 
 
 Poem Read at the Centennial of the Town of Northfield, N. H., 
 
 June 19, 1S80. 
 
 BY JJBS. LUCY E. H. CROSS. 
 
 One would suppose that, when a century dies, 
 Some startling sign would flash upon the skies, 
 Some meteor from its sphere in errant flight 
 Would blaze in glory and go out in night. 
 That conscious nature, in a storm of tears, 
 "Would pay due tribute to the dying years. 
 But, no! the faithful sun to duty true 
 Went down last night as it was wont to do; 
 The crimson glory melted into gray. 
 Just as it did upon our natal day, 
 And fell the darkness over hill and plain, — 
 The same old story, o'er and o'er again. 
 
 Yet in the kitchens there was strange portent. 
 And "savory steams" foretold some great event, 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 135 
 
 And busy housewives looked with fondest pride 
 On culinary triumphs scattered wide. 
 The boys had blacked their boots with strenuous care, 
 The girls had got new ribbons for their hair, 
 And even Avhile the family prayers were said, 
 Bright thoughts and fancies flitted through each head. 
 To restless couches then they hied away. 
 Tomorrow's sun would bring Centennial Day. 
 
 Then Mother Northfield smoothed her apron down. 
 Took off her specs and donned her Sunday gown, 
 For one who years ago had chose to roam, — 
 Had just returned to visit friends and home. 
 I, 'neath her window, was eavesdropping then, * 
 And what I heard shall move my ready pen. 
 
 At first, she led in pleasantry and chat, 
 
 Conversed at ease of this, and then of that, 
 
 Told him of all the younger girls and boys. 
 
 Told him of all their prospects, all their joys. 
 
 Spoke of the cares that filled the passing years, 
 
 Then of the ' ' loved and lost ' ' with many tears. 
 
 And so the talk assumed a serious tone. 
 
 While she, with confidence before unlmown. 
 
 Drew up her chair and said: "My dearest John, 
 
 Thou truest of my sons and eldest born. 
 
 Tomorrow we keep holiday; and not a trace of care 
 
 Shall draw a furrow on my brow or cast a shadow there. 
 
 I've many things, to you, I fain would tell 
 
 And, since I ask it, guard each secret well ! 
 
 I've had great trials in my day, my son, 
 It were a task to tell them every one! 
 My few rough acres brought me little gold. 
 Sometimes the heat destroyed, sometimes the cold, 
 Sometimes .the summer's sky withheld the rain. 
 And meager harvests brought us little gain. 
 Three times, the heralds wild called us *To arms!' 
 Three times our hearts were filled with dire alarms, 
 Three times o'er hearthstones fell the pall of grief. 
 
136 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 And but one thought could bring the least relief. 
 Like Spartan mother, when her country's cause, 
 Her treasured hearthstones, or her sacred laws. 
 Called for her heart's blood, or her precious gold. 
 The one, nor other, I could ne 'er withhold. 
 Our prayers went with them, and in many a fight 
 Stayed up the hands that fought for home and right, 
 And, when returning with victorious arms, 
 ' With loud acclaim we gave the well-won palms; 
 And 'er- the memory of our ' fallen brave, ' 
 Who sleep at home, or in a distant grave. 
 We drop our grateful tears like April rain. 
 And thank our God they perished not in vain. 
 
 "You scarce remember, 'twas so long ago, 
 Ere first my locks could show one trace of snow. 
 When in my sixteenth summer it was said : 
 'The son of man hath not to lay his head. 
 A temple let us build, with outlines fair. 
 Finish and furnish it, with loving care; 
 Where valiant watchmen, ever on the tower 
 Of Zion, to our hearts shall call the hour. 
 And tell us of the night; and if the day 
 With its bright dawn is near or far away.' 
 Today it crumbles; all its former pride, 
 Its beauty and its worth, are laid aside. 
 Its winding stairways long have missed the feet 
 And faces dear, we loved so w^ell to meet, 
 And from the shattered sound-board resting high, 
 The old-time voices still are heard to sigh. 
 
 ' ' I dreamed last night ; again it seemed to me 
 I saw the structure as it used to be; 
 From horse-block by the door, dismounting, came 
 Full many a lofty sire and lovely dame. 
 And children, perched behind by threes or twos, 
 Marched in and filled again the ample pews. 
 They wore the same quaint garments as of yore, 
 With high-heeled shoes that clattered on the floor; 
 With powdered wigs the older men were crowned, 
 And every lass rejoiced in homespun gown. 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 137 
 
 'The old hand-stove in eveiy pew was set, 
 On which the toes of all the family met, 
 And generous neighbors heaped their fireplace higher 
 To furnish them with needed Sunday fire. 
 The deacons from their seat 'neath pulpit, now. 
 Read for the choir in accents strange and slow 
 One line of good Old Hundred; then they sung 
 Till every corner of the temple rung; 
 Then waited for a second, and again 
 Took up anew that ever sweet refrain, 
 Till choir and deacons, to their duty true, 
 The tune, by turns, had bravely struggled through. 
 
 ■ The sermon long, and long the prayers they said, 
 As all with reverence stood and bowed the head; 
 Down with a clatter came the seatings, when 
 The firm, set lips had reached at last, 'Amen.' 
 
 ' Thus worshipped sire and son for many a year ; 
 Then ties grew weak that bound these brethren dear, 
 New creeds and ways the worshippers divide, 
 No longer in the pathway, side by side. 
 They journeyed to the gates of endless day; 
 Some sought the same bright goal in different way. 
 For all of this, indeed, I little eared, 
 A nice new edifice was then prepared. 
 Part of the flock rejoiced in shepherd new. 
 And blessings came to pulpit and to pew. 
 That new brick church was long my best delight j 
 On life's dark sea a trusty beacon light. 
 
 * The other went, and so did this at last ; 
 And then another came ; another passed 
 Beyond the river, where our loved ones go. 
 Yet full in sight, to mock us in our woe. 
 "What hurt us most, they did not care to stay, — 
 So winning were our neighbors o'er the way, — 
 Till not one spire to Heaven points the way. 
 To guide my people to the 'Realms of Day.' 
 
138. HISTORY OP NORTHPIELD. 
 
 "And then came Mammon with his purse in hand, 
 To buy a railroad through my precious land. 
 "With oily tongue, he told of dividend, 
 Of stock and tariffs, stories without end, 
 Said that Dame Fortune, if Ave scorned her now, 
 Would never come again, with sunnier brow; 
 And so to make our fortune in a day. 
 We took this sure, this expeditious way, 
 We looked in vain for dividends to swell 
 Our coffers; and we learned at last full well, 
 That stocks are well enough in broker's hands. 
 But a poor exchange for houses and for lands. 
 But still, dear John, I wore no angry frown, 
 'Twas good to have a railroad through the town, 
 The whistle for the boys was very nice, 
 But then we bought it at too dear a price. 
 
 "And then, it grieved my heart full sore 
 To miss the stage coach daily from my door, 
 
 - With smart, gay horses, and with driver Smart, 
 They seemed like friends when we were called to part. 
 Besides, the friendly postman called no more. 
 But all our letters dropped at Tilton 's door, 
 And worse than this: those written home of late. 
 Have even met A^dth a more cruel fate; 
 Back as 'Dead Letters' they are sent each day, 
 'No such Post Office in the State,' they say. 
 
 "And Jane and Susan and Mehetabel, 
 And all the rest we loved so long and well. 
 Say that forbearance is no virtue more. 
 And never send a token to my door; 
 Scold their old mother for her want of care. 
 And make my burden harder still to bear. 
 
 "Then came Squire Franklin; not the sage of old, 
 The one who grasped the lightning in his hold. 
 But a spruce young fellow, famed for legal lore 
 And full of bows and smiles, approached my door; 
 'My northwest pasture he would like to buy, 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 139 
 
 He hoped his suit I sure would not deny.' 
 
 I quickly told him I could never sell, 
 
 I loved each fruitful acre far too well ; 
 
 That was my broadest and my richest field, 
 
 That, of all else, my fairest harvests yield; 
 
 That long ago I gave it all away 
 
 To children dear, that wished at home to stay; 
 
 That they would ne'er consent to have me sell 
 
 What we had prized together, long and well. 
 
 Alack-the-day ! I know not how 'twas done. 
 
 Each daughter fair, and every mother's son 
 
 Turned from the rising to the setting sun 
 
 And moved off, land and baggage, every one! 
 
 But still I lived, and still I got along; 
 
 For Hope 'mid blackest woe still sings her song, 
 
 And though for years I greatly was annoyed, 
 
 I learned to bear, what I could not avoid. 
 
 Another trouble followed soon, dear John, 
 
 My heart still burneth with a deeper wrong. 
 
 The Seminary ! best of all my joys ! 
 
 The where to educate my girls and boys. 
 
 On which I lotted with a fonder pride, 
 
 Than all my other blessings far beside ! 
 
 "When yearly came the noble and the fair, 
 
 I guarded them as with a mother 's care. 
 
 And when from out its walls by duty sent 
 
 Forth to the world, on love's best errand bent, 
 
 I almost thought them mine; and when to fame 
 
 Familiar grew full many a cherished name, 
 
 I looked upon each noble word and deed 
 
 As treasures, stored against my hour of need 
 
 Years passed away; and broader grew the walls, 
 
 And more responded to my yearly calls. 
 
 "Wise men held council ; wisdom, hand in hand 
 
 "With God and right, went forth to bless the land; 
 
 Years, happy years, all fleeted far too fast, 
 
 Of sweet security too full to last. 
 
 I little dreamed of such untimely fall, 
 
 Nor could I see the 'writing on the wall.' 
 
 How shall I tell you of that dreadful hour, 
 
140 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 When beauty yielded to the spoiler's power, 
 When ruin, blackness, woe, and bitter tears, 
 Fell swiftly o'er the hope and pride of years. 
 Oh! how I prayed, that from the ruin there. 
 Another shrine might rise, more grand and fair. 
 But ah! dear John, when rose the Phenix fair, 
 Its pinions sought to try the upper air. 
 With many a flap and flutter sought the skies. 
 And perched on yonder hill before my eyes. 
 
 "The children never call me mother, more. 
 Since they departed to that further shore; 
 And the silvery ripple of our beauteous stream 
 Has turned to wailing, mocks me in my dream ; 
 Like death's dark river now it rolls between 
 Me and the staff on which my age did lean. 
 AVith jealous eye, dear John, I can but look 
 On her, who, one by one, my blessings took ; 
 Some gloomy twilight, I expect to see 
 That Tilton ferryman come for the rest of me. 
 
 "And now of troubles let this be the last. 
 We'll close the page and seal anew the past. 
 I did not mean to pain you with my fears. 
 Nor did I call you home to feast of tears ; 
 I gave my blessing when you went away, 
 I give another that you come today. 
 I know the fruitful acres of the West, 
 For those who till them, surely must be best. 
 Today from South, and West, and everywhere, 
 A thousand benedictions fill the air. 
 I'm not a mother of her sons bereft. 
 Of true and tried ones, I have many left; 
 And when tomorrow's sun shall gild the skies. 
 You'll find no tears within your mother's eyes." 
 
 "Good night, dear boy," at length, she smiling said, 
 Put out the light, and early went to bed. 
 And so we turn from prelude, sad and long. 
 And tune the harp for our 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 141 
 
 CENTENNIAL SONG. 
 
 Sing, brothers, sisters, sing exulting lays, 
 "With restless ardor your thanksgiving raise; 
 Let your rejoicings tell with what good cheer 
 We hail the closing of our hundredth year. 
 Sweet Peace her full dominion sways the while. 
 Waves her white banner, wears her fairest smile ; 
 Our Avell ploughed acres smile with harvest fair. 
 The year's best blossoms load the summer air. 
 And with familiar visage fresh and sweet, 
 Prosperity is pouring treasures at our feet. 
 Sing praises .then, for gifts that prosper you, 
 Sing for our homes, and their defenders true. 
 Sing of the happy hours now far away, 
 Sing of the century we complete today. 
 
 The great events that filled these circling years, 
 To count then e 'en, as each in turn appears, 
 Would far exceed the little hour I claim. 
 I touch, and leave them; whisper but their name. 
 In loftier language, easier verse than mine, 
 Some readier pen shall tell to future time. 
 
 Fair-browed Invention, though, presents her claim, 
 And bids me give to song each honored name. 
 As she with pride her children leadeth forth: 
 "Behold my jewels! each of priceless worth." 
 
 First born and noblest, thousand-sinewed Steam, 
 Whose vast achievements shame our wildest dream ; 
 Born of the rushing torrent, and the heat 
 Of fierce volcanoes, when in wrath they meet; 
 Whose advent to the busy mart of trade 
 The world's resources at our feet has laid. 
 On land and sea, and down to deepest mine 
 We own its might, its power, almost divine. 
 Postman and horse we buried long ago, 
 The rattling coach became a thing too slow, 
 And ere a century dies, we must prepare 
 To Avalk the seas, and navigate the air. 
 
142 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 The forked Lightning, chained to do our will, 
 Speeds through the forest, leaps from hill to hill, 
 And round the earth in lines of lustrous light, 
 Counts space as nothing, in its magic flight. 
 Bright flash a thousand fingers in the field. 
 And startled earth her fairest harvests yield; 
 No more with sweat of brow we till the plain, 
 The wand of Progress turns it all to grain. 
 Old "Winter, when the heat the summers bring, 
 Slinks into corners, yet he still is king; 
 Seated on icebergs, with his gelid cheer 
 Dispenses coolness through the livelong year, 
 "With steam and furnace held in equipoise, 
 Adds to our comforts, heightens all our joys. 
 
 But why delay? the hours are passing on; 
 And ere we think, our festal day is gone. 
 Then let's devote the hours as fast they roll. 
 Not all to "feast of reason" but to "flow of soul.'' 
 
 All are not here, alas ; we know too well. 
 Many are gone ; indeed, the numbers tell. 
 The sad detainments of each absent heart. 
 On festal days, is but a bitter part 
 Of the unwritten history of such days; 
 Our guesses ne'er can penetrate the maze. 
 
 What brings us here? why meet we thus today? 
 Why come the loved from near and far away? 
 Why beat the drums? why hang the banners out? 
 Why wake the hills with many an answering shouts 
 Why comes the aged leaning on his staff? 
 And youth and middle age, with cheer and laugh ? 
 
 To distant firesides came the summons sweet 
 
 To meet once more, where friends and kindred meet; 
 
 And so today, with open hand and gates, 
 
 Our Mother Northfield at her banquet waits. 
 
 With face as fair and spirits just as gay, 
 
 As when in sunny childhood's happy day 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 143 
 
 Our childish eyes first scanned her genial face, 
 
 Our childish feet began life's weary race. 
 
 On wings of love she sends a smile today 
 
 To those, the unforgotten, far away. 
 
 May those, who pain and weary suffering bear, 
 
 Find "Balm in Gilead and physician there;" 
 
 And such as pine and sigh in sorest need, 
 
 God's hand to them the "Bread of Life" shall feed. 
 
 The breezes whisper many a cherished name 
 Well known to love, indeedf'if not to fame; 
 And specter lips, from out the dusty grave. 
 Ask of the legacies they dying gave. 
 What of the birthright Freedom? prize it yet? 
 That sun that rose in glory, has it set ? 
 What of the acres that we loved to till, 
 Do sons, or grandsons, occupy them still? 
 Hangs the old firelock o'er the mantle yet? 
 Has tyrant's blood our trusty blade e'er wet? 
 The family Bible old, that graced the stand. 
 And bore the marks of many a toil-stained hand, 
 Does love's pure light still gild its every page, — 
 The guide of youth, the staff of faltering age? 
 
 How crowd the questions; answer ye who dare, 
 Whisper your thoughts upon the throbbing air, 
 And dare to tell of one, in all this throng. 
 Who has not sold some birthright for a song. 
 Make new resolves; for these the hour demands. 
 And wash in innocence your faithless hands. 
 
 Now childhood, youth, manhood and age, 
 Each in your turn my loving thoughts engage; 
 I fain would leave upon each mind and heart. 
 Some lasting impress as we sadly part. 
 Time passes. Youth should find no hours to weep, 
 'T were better far that those be spent in sleep. 
 Laugh, shout and drive away the coming cloud. 
 Let not the future on your present crowd; 
 The coming years may bring you sad surprise, 
 
144 HISTORY OP NORTHFEELD. 
 
 But bar the vision from your childish eyes. 
 
 "Quaff Life's bright nectar from her mountain springs, 
 
 And laugh beneath the rainbow of her wings." 
 
 The launching ship knows naught of storm or gale, 
 
 Knows not the uses of her mast or sail; 
 
 With glistening cordage and with streamers gay 
 
 We sadly cut the cable, drift away 
 
 To sterner things; to learning's dull routine, 
 
 To days of study, sleepless nights between. 
 
 But learn of nature, she ne 'er leads astray ; 
 
 Ne'er stop to question where she points the way; 
 
 She has rare treasures for your questioning eye 
 
 In caverns deep and on the mountain high. 
 
 Learn to be thoughtful, then her features stern 
 
 Shall with the glory of her Author burn; 
 
 For through her mantling folds He deigns to show 
 
 The only glimpse we catch of Him below. 
 
 ! Manhood strong, perplexed with cares and fears, 
 
 How debt and credit fill your weary years ! 
 
 You buy and sell, yet find the balance small, 
 
 And think, if this, of human life life, is all ! 
 
 Look to the red-leaved tablets of the soul, 
 
 Scan every item, balance then the whole; 
 
 Happy if one entry on the credit side 
 
 Shall balance debtor column, long and wide; 
 
 Yet spite of labor's routine, ever grant 
 
 A tear to pity, and a hand to want. 
 
 And now to those upon whose wrinkled face 
 
 Age sits quiescent in her comely grace, 
 
 Whose silver locks, the marks of well-spent years, 
 
 Tell not of life's great harvest reaped in tears; 
 
 Go o'er the summit bravely, ne'er look back 
 
 To envy those who crowd along the track; 
 
 Nor grieve, that time has brought too soon 
 
 The evening coolness o'er the heat of noon. 
 
 What though your humble graves shall bear no name 
 
 Save what the eternal record shall proclaim, 
 
LUCIEN HUNT. 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 145 
 
 And though you mourn -with tears your lo^Aiy lot, 
 And stretch your hands for that which cometh not, 
 
 Know that all beauty, all that wealth e'er gave, 
 
 Ne'er can one heart the final trial save. 
 
 For "paths of glory lead but to the grave." 
 
 In parting, let a mother's blessing fall 
 In benediction; ^^ Peace be tvith you all." 
 
 PROF. LUCIAN HUNT. 
 
 (From Portland Board of Trade Journal, June, 1902.) 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 About a century since, there stood in the town of "Woodbury, in 
 northern Vermont, a tall and dense primeval forest of maple and cedar, 
 sloping from a lofty ridge on the north for nearly a mile to the boun- 
 dary line of Cabot on the south. 
 
 Into this wilderness there emigrated, near the beginning of the 
 last centurj', a mixed colony of old and young from Central New 
 Hampshire, numbering, perhaps, 25 or 30 individuals, and among 
 them came Anthony C. Hunt and wife, Mary, with their daughter, 
 Sarah. 
 
 On the above-mentioned northern ridge there towers an enormous 
 perpendicular granite crag, several hundred feet in height. 
 
 A few rods' south of this Mr. Hunt raised his humblest of dwellings, 
 built of rough logs, with the bark unpeeled and with the cracks and 
 crevices stuffed with moss. Uneven stones of various sizes, dug from 
 the ground, formed the fireplace and chimney, while the cellar was 
 simply an unwalled hole in the ground. 
 
 In this lowly abode the subject of our sketch. Prof. Lucian Hunt, 
 was ushered into existence 80 years ago, on the 17th of January, 1822. 
 
 Two or three years thereafter, a substantial framed house, nearby, 
 took the place of the log cabin as a dwelling — said log cabin being 
 then advanced to the dignity of a barn. 
 
 Here, when about five years old, Lucian commenced his education 
 in another log cabin, used as a schoolhouse, and at the same time 
 took his primal initiation into the mysteries of his future vocation, 
 by a thorough anointing with the oil of birch — in other words, was 
 soundly whipped because he obstinately refused to read the alphabet. 
 
 This seems a little amusing from the fact that one of Professor 
 Hunt's strong points in after years was the teaching of reading. Few 
 excelled him in that department at that time. It is a matter of fre- 
 quent occurrence for him, when journeying, to be accosted by middle- 
 aged men, his former pupils, with the remark: "Prof., all I ever knew 
 about reading I learned from you." 
 
 11 
 
146 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Prof. E. B. Andrews, former president of Brown University and, 
 later, superintendent of schools in Chicago, and now president of a 
 Western university, and who was under the instruction of Professor 
 Hunt at Powers Institute, Bernardston, Mass., for a year or more, 
 said not long since, at a public gathering of the alumni of that insti- 
 tution, "I have a pretty extensive acquaintance with academies, high 
 schools and colleges, and I can say with justice that I have never 
 known one yet where the teaching of reading was carried to such 
 perfection as it was in Powers Institute while under the charge of 
 Professor Hunt." 
 
 About four years after the framed house went up, his father and 
 the family removed to what is now Tilton, in central New Hamp- 
 shire. Here Lucian enjoyed much better educational advantages than 
 • in the thickly-wooded Woodbury country. He read through the Bible 
 when eight years of age, made satisfactory progress in English 
 branches, and when 15 commenced the study of Latin in the spring 
 under the instruction of Rev. Enoch Corser, finished Virgil the follow- 
 ing autumn and reviewed it during the evenings of the ensuing winter 
 while teaching his first school at the age of 16. 
 
 From this time he became a close student, receiving no pecuniary 
 help from any quarter, but paying his way by teaching winters and 
 earning what he could summers. One summer he went to Boston and 
 drove a milk cart four months. The product of this, with that of his 
 winter school, tided over what threatened to be a fearful dearth of 
 pocket money, and carried him swimmingly through another year. 
 In process of time, he received his degree at Wesleyan University of 
 Middletown, Conn., and not long after commenced his life work — that of 
 teaching. He was now on a level plane with the world — owing nothing 
 and owning nothing — so that whatever he earned beyond his expenses 
 was clear gain — no interest to pay, no debts to liquidate. 
 
 His first five winter schools were taught in Northfield — two at Bay 
 Hill and three at the Centre old meeting-house. The whole period of 
 his teaching covered nearly 40 years. 
 
 After having acquired the blessings of an education, a handsome 
 competency and a life vocation. Professor Hunt added to these another 
 blessing — a wife — a kind, prudent, benevolent. Christian wife — of one 
 of the finest families in Standish, Me, — in short, a helpmeet in every 
 sense of the word. 
 
 Several years ago he gave up teaching and retired to a pleasant 
 home in the beautiful village of Gorham, Me., where he passes his time 
 in reading, writing, correspondence, pursuing certain favorite studies, 
 and in rearranging, sifting, examining and introducing rare books into 
 his valuable library. 
 
 This is a collection of nearly 3,000 volumes of first-class works of 
 standard literature — in the English, Latin, Greek, French and German 
 languages, with many rare books which it would be hard to duplicate — 
 all in large type, substantial bindings, and which forms, doubtless, 
 
NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 147 
 
 one of the choicest private libraries in the state. In this the professor 
 declares he has enjoyed some of the happiest hours of his life. 
 
 Professor Hunt has been trustee of the New Hampshire Conference 
 Seminary, at Tilton, N. H., for 25 or 30 years, also, trustee of McCol- 
 lum Institute, at Mont Vernon, N. H.; is trustee of the old Seminary 
 and public library in Gorham, Me., and of various other institutions. 
 
 He is a prudent financier, his investments have turned out success- 
 fully and he now stands as one of the solid, substantial, moneyed men 
 of Gorham. 
 
 It may not be amiss to mention that as a public speaker or lecturer 
 he stands deservedly high. When but 16 a grand celebration took 
 place at Sanbornton, now Tilton, N. H. The principal event was the 
 presentation of a beautiful silk flag to a military company, artistically 
 worked by the ladies, who marched, white-robed, in long procession, 
 and presented the colors to the soldiers drawn up in martial array. 
 To Lucian was assigned the honor of receiving the flag and returning 
 thanks in behalf of the company. His speech was published extensively 
 in New Hampshire papers. 
 
 He was the orator at the centennial celebration of Northfleld, N. H., 
 June 19, 1880, where he addressed an assembly of many thousands in 
 the open air. His oration and illustrated sketch of his life were pub- 
 lished in the Granite Monthly. We omit many other occasions of a 
 similar nature, which might be adduced. 
 
CHAPTER VIII. 
 
 PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 
 
 PHYSICIANS. 
 
 Northfield seems to have been a natural breeding place for 
 doctors. There were two reasons for this. In the Dearborn and 
 Hall families the "penchant" was hereditary; and many others, 
 pupils of Dr. Hoyt, the first, or among the first, physicians in 
 town, were led to it by their acquaintance through him with the 
 medical school at Hanover and the Crosbys, his brothers-in-law, 
 there. 
 
 The following list includes only those who were born in North- 
 field: 
 
 John Kezar, 1st, 
 Eichard Molony, 
 James Abbott, 
 Jonathan Dearborn, 
 John Kezar, 2d, 
 Hiram B. Tebbetts, 
 Jeremiah F. Hall, 
 Nancy Gilman, 
 Henry Brown, 
 Adino B. Hall, 
 Sam G. Dearborn, 
 Hiram Tebbetts, 2d, 
 Samuel Roby Sanborn, 
 Luther C. Bean, 
 Alfred Gerrish, 
 Samuel Curry, 
 John Mack Gilman, 
 Nathan Tibbetts, 
 Henry Tebbetts, 
 
 Asa George Hoyt, 
 George Henry Brown, 
 Lafayette Gate, 
 Obadiah J. Hall, 
 Darius S. Dearborn, 
 Thomas Benton Dearborn, 
 Orville F. Rogers, 
 Frank A. Gile, 
 Charles H. Sanborn, 
 Charles C. Tebbetts, 
 Jonathan Dearborn, Jr., 
 Sylvester Fellows, 
 Enos Alpheus Hoyt, 
 Jeremiah Hall, 
 Jeremiah H. Lyford, 
 Marguerite Dennis, 
 Sylvanus Heath, 
 Dixi Hoyt. 
 
professionaij men and women. 149 
 
 second list, 
 
 This last contains the names of other physicians who have 
 lived or practised but were not born in Xorthfield : 
 
 Enos Hoyt, Parsons Whidden, 
 
 David M. Trecartin, Mark R. Woodbury, 
 
 Alexander T. Clark, William P. Cross, 
 
 John Clark, T. J. Sweatt, 
 
 Joseph G. Ayers, Charles Kelley, 
 
 Hiram B. Cross, . Daniel B. Whittier, 
 
 Charles R. Gould, Tolman, 
 
 Biley Lyford, Freeman, 
 
 Matliew Sanborn, Jr., Webber. 
 
 This list would be incomplete were no mention made of ]Mother 
 Martha True Clough (see Clough gen.), who came from Salis- 
 bury, Mass., and had there been known as being possessed of a 
 ' ' charmed hand. ' ' She brought with her the seeds for her medic- 
 inal garden and some of her herbs are still growing wild on the 
 farm. Her salves and bitters were known to be of great value. 
 
 Xancy Forrest Simonds was a midwife and had an extensive 
 practice. There were other women who claimed the "gift of 
 healing by the laying on of hands. ' ' Mrs. Abraham Brown had 
 the gift, as did ]Mrs. Sarah Waldron Rand, a woman celebrated 
 for her lovely character and disposition, who, it was said, never 
 saw her entire family of 10 children together. 
 
 A good story is told of her readiness in cases of emergency. 
 She was a thrifty farmer's wife and raised large flocks of turkeys. 
 One night, to her surprise, but one or two of her large flock came 
 home and, going to seek the cause, found a stray one here and 
 there staggering along the way, while others reclined at length in 
 the ditches by the roadside. An investigation followed and their 
 "craws" were found to be bursting full of the meat from oak 
 acorns. Not a moment was lost ; every crop was quickly- emptied 
 and both inside and outside deftly sewed up. The whole brood 
 was given a soft, easily digested supper and early put to roost. 
 None of them suffered any inconvenience from the surgery and 
 were present in good form at the Thanksgiving roll-call. 
 
150 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 DR. ENOS HOYT. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Dr. Exos Hoyt was born at Henniker, August 14, 1795, and was the 
 youngest of 11 children. He was early trained to habits of self-re- 
 liance, which developed a manhood of uncommon strength. 
 
 He read medicine with Dr. Asa Crosby of Gilmanton and married 
 his daughter. In 1821 he received the graduating honors of the medi- 
 cal department of Dartmouth College. 
 
 He first came to Northfield to attend the funeral of Dr. Clark, opened 
 an office at once and succeeded to his practice. It was then the cus- 
 tom for young medical students to be with older physicians and Dr. 
 Hoyt had under his instruction and in his office 40 young men, who 
 received medical degrees and stood well in the profession. 
 
 Mrs. Hoyt (Grace Reed Crosby) was born at Sandwich, September 
 29, 1802. They were married, October 24, 1822. She was a sweet-faced, 
 social woman and she and her husband were members of the church 
 choir. The whole family was a great addition to the social life of the 
 town, which clustered about their sweet, cheerful, hospitable home. 
 
 His practice was always large, but it was a lifelong principle with 
 him to so arrange as to be in the .house of God on the Sabbath and 
 at all the regular services of the church, of which he was, more than 
 any one else, the founder. The Congregationalists then worshiped 
 at the old meeting-house and he lived in the house later occupied by 
 John Mooney. It was erected by himself and here he conducted the 
 first post office in town in 1835. When the new church was built at 
 Sanbornton Bridge in 1838 he, who had been its generous supporter 
 for 16 years, furnished more than a third of the funds required and 
 took pews to that value. He was afterwards its deacon for a term of 
 years. 
 
 Thus he filled up the busy years, being greatly efficient in public 
 affairs and serving the town as clerk and superintendent of its schools. 
 He represented the town in the Legislatures of 1841 and 1842. He 
 was president and secretary of the Center District and State Medical 
 societies. 
 
 He not only ministered to diseased bodies, wrote wills and settled 
 estates, but woke in many a soul a belief in the resurrection and 
 hope of eternal life. He removed from Northfield to Framingliam, 
 Mass., in 1846, and there he completed 54 years of medical practice. 
 
 At the 50th anniversary of the Tilton and Northfield Church, July 
 18, 1872, he, its only living charter member, returned and delivered an 
 address which embodied its history for the half century, and with 
 characteristic generosity made a donation of .$300. 
 
 He died, March 25, 1875, amid the tears of both rich and poor, to 
 whom he had given many years of service, often without any or ade- 
 quate compensation. The number and variety of the interests he 
 managed to crowd into his life are a constant wonder to all who knew 
 him. 
 
 J 
 
ENOS HOYT, M. D. 
 
HON. JEREMIAH F. HALL. 
 
PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 151 
 
 DR. JEREMIAH F. HALL. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Jeremiah Forrest Hall received his early education at Sanbornton 
 and Franklin academies. He graduated from Dartmouth Medical 
 School in 1S37 at the age of 21 years and settled at Wolfeborough, 
 where he practised his profession 24 years. In 18G2 he was commis- 
 sioned surgeon of the Fifteenth New Hampshire Volunteers and ac- 
 companied the regiment to Louisiana. He was obliged to resign the 
 next year on account of ill health. May 6, 1863, he was appointed sur- 
 geon of the first district of New Hampshire, and went to Portsmouth, 
 where he remained until the dissolution of the board, August 1, 1865. 
 He remained there and practised his profession until his death. He 
 was a member of the State Medical Society and its president in 1872; 
 was also a member and president of Carroll County Medical Society, 
 and also an honorary member of Strafford County Medical Society. In 
 1874 he was elected to the New Hampshire Senate and re-elected in 
 1876. For 11 years he was director of the Lake National Bank at 
 Wolfeborough and trustee of the Five Cent Savings Bank of the same 
 place, and president of the board of trustees of Wolfeborough Academy. 
 He was trustee of the Portsmouth Trust & Guarantee Company 11 
 years, and was its president at the time of his decease. He served three 
 complete terms of four years each as trustee of the New Hampshire 
 Asylum for the Insane, and held that office at the time of his death. He 
 was also alderman of the City of Portsmouth. He has published several 
 valuable medical papers; one on "Hay Fever" (from which he suffered 
 many years), which he read at Bethlehem in 1873. He also wrote 
 poetry, and read a poem at the semi-annual gathering of the medical 
 society (with ladies) at Centre Harbor in 1874. 
 
 The following notice was printed in the Dartmouth Meviorancla at 
 the time of his death: 
 
 "In the discharge of the duties of the many positions of responsibility 
 and trust which Dr. Hall was called upon to fill, he showed rare 
 financial and executive ability and the most scrupulous integrity. He 
 stood at the head of his profession, and many families in Portsmouth 
 will miss his ready skill and inspiring confidence. Although of a ner- 
 vous temperament and afflicted for a long time by disease, he main- 
 tained to the last the genial and hearty manner that characterized 
 his life. He was one of those self-made men, so many of whom New 
 Hampshire has delighted to honor as her sons, and whose place, when 
 gone, cannot be easily filled." 
 
 DR. NANCY SMITH OILMAN. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Mrs. Nancy Smith Gilmax was born at Northfield. May 2. 1806. She 
 married on her 21st birthday William Gilman of Northfield, who ap- 
 peared in the midst of her Monday's washing and convinced her that 
 
152 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 it was a most suitable time for their prospective marriage. She 
 promptly arrayed herself in a calico dress and, in less time than it 
 takes to write it, became Mrs. William Oilman in 1831. She was a 
 natural teacher and had no need of being instructed in normal methods, 
 and even while she acted the part of a farmer's wife found time for 
 her large class of young children. Her methods were far in advance 
 of the times and almost identical with those of the modern kindergar- 
 ten. She devoted 20 years to this calling, some of them in Western 
 schools of high grades. She then studied medicine at the Boston 
 Female Medical College and practised more than 30 years. Her 
 natural aptitude as a nurse, combined with her knowledge of medicine, 
 called her into the strenuous life of the home during the last years 
 of her parents' life and after their decease she performed the same 
 tireless service for a sister who came from the West to share her 
 ministrations in her home at Lexington, Mass. She was a woman of 
 tremendous energy, an uncompromising, whole-souled champion of the 
 antislavery cause, a lecturer of great force on social customs and vices, 
 a daring advocate of woman's suffrage, and was for many years an 
 officer of the New Hampshire State Woman's Suffrage Association, and 
 was actively identified with that work in several states. She was 
 always on the side of right and justice for all. Her husband nobly 
 seconded all her efforts in these directions and they lived to celebrate 
 their golden wedding at Lexington, Mass., in 1881. Possessed of a 
 strong, brave, vigorous mind, she retained her youthful faculties to an 
 unwonted degree. In a little poem, written on her 85th birthday, she 
 says: 
 
 "At eighty-five should we repent 
 
 That life with us so far is spent? 
 
 In looking backward does it seem 
 
 We've done enough to tip the beam? 
 
 May sweet faith whisper in our ear 
 
 And say our sun is setting clear." 
 
 Mrs. Oilman died at Roxbury, Mass., May 25, 1894. 
 
 DR. MARK R. WOODBURY. 
 
 Dr. Makk R. Woodbury came to Northfield from Rumney. His wife 
 was a daughter of Dr. Burns of that place. None of their four children 
 were born here. He was a skillful practitioner and, after a few years, 
 returned to his former home. 
 
 He bought the triangular piece of land at the entrance to Bay Street 
 and moved to it with many yokes of oxen, the newly-erected home 
 of the late Darius Winslow for his residence. He sold it in 1853 to Dr. 
 Parsons Whidden, who succeeded to his practice and resided there 
 many years. 
 
NANCY SMITH OILMAN, M. D. 
 
En^^byABBXtcyiit- 
 
 ^J)e/3./^^^ 
 
PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 153 
 
 DR. PARSONS WHIDDEN. 
 
 Parsons Whidden was the sixth child of Parsons and Hannah (Doe) 
 AVhidden. He was born in Canterbury, May 22, ISOl; studied medicine 
 with Dr. Enos Hoyt of Northfield; took his degree of M. D. at Dart- 
 mouth Medical College in 1836, and soon after commenced practice 
 in Danbury and Alexandria. He next practised in Pembroke. After a 
 few years he moved to Warner, remaining there several years. In 
 1853 he returned to Northfield, purchasing the residence of Dr. Mark 
 R. Woodbury at the foot of Bay Street, and succeeding to his prac- 
 tice. A few months before his death he moved to Chichester, where 
 he died, March 29, 1869. He was deacon of the Northfield and San- 
 bornton (now Tilton) Congregational Church many years. He mar- 
 ried, January 31, 1832, Mary (Polly) P. Tilton of Sanbornton Bridge, 
 who died in Northfield, October 5, 1875, aged 72 years, 10 months. 
 They had one child, George Parsons Whidden, born July 3, 1845. 
 
 DR. ADINO B. HALL. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Adino B. Hall was born in Northfield October 
 17, 1819. He was the son of Jeremiah and Han- 
 nah Haines Hall and was the youngest of six 
 children. He was a descendant, also, of Thomas 
 Abbott of Concord, who kept a garrison near the 
 present court house, and his father was a faithful 
 deacon of the Congregational Church for 40 years. 
 Dr. Hall was a pupil of the celebrated Dyer H. 
 Sanborn at the "Square" and the "Old Academy." He read medicine 
 with Dr. Enos Hoyt and graduated at Dartmouth Medical School. 
 
 He located first at Kingston, but remained there only three years. 
 He had won confidence, however, and during his life was often called 
 there for critical cases, either in consultation or continuous practice. 
 He was the first to allow the use of cold water in typhoid fever and 
 gained great reputation and success in its use. He was never atraid 
 of anything because it was new. He was also among the first to ad- 
 minister ether. In 1852 he went abroad for study and for two years 
 followed, in the hospitals at Paris, the most noted doctors and surgeons 
 in the world. 
 
 In the fall of 1854 Dr. Hall settled in Boston, where for 40 years 
 he lived the active and self-denying life of a physician in full practice. 
 He was a born doctor; his uncles, older brother and several cousins 
 were doctors, and he was wont in his childish plays to visit imaginary 
 patients. He was courageous, had good sense, great kindness of heart, 
 a genial presence and unfailing courtesy. It was said that "He was 
 a stranger to conceit." He was satisfied to be quietly and continually 
 doing good and in receiving in turn the constant love and trust of a 
 host of friends. It has been well said that "no one but a physician 
 
154 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 can know the toil of such a life and perhaps no one else can know 
 such a reward." 
 
 During the Civil War Dr. Hall was a volunteer surgeon in McClel- 
 lan's army before Richmond, where, in 1862, he contracted malarial 
 fever in the swamps, from which he was never entirely free. He was 
 for 25 years a councilor in the Massachusetts Medical Society and an 
 active member of the Boston School Board for an equal time. He 
 married, in 1864, Mary, eldest daughter of Rev. J. P. Cowles of Ips- 
 wich, Mass. 
 
 April 16, 1880, after several cases of severe labor, overheated and 
 fasting, he suffered a chill and died of pneumonia five days later. His 
 many friends, rich and poor, rallied around him in the most distressing 
 anxiety and awaited some word of relief, which never came. He had 
 been a generous friend to the poor and they showed their apprecation 
 of it by their anxious faces and their tears. This trait of sympa- 
 thetic benevolence was an inheritance from his mother, who was 
 followed to her last resting place by a crowd of poor women she had 
 befriended. 
 
 A beautiful memorial to his memory by his devoted wife keeps both 
 their memories green here in the town of his birth and early sojourn. 
 
 DR. SAM G. DEARBORN. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Among the first settlers of Exeter, over two and a half centuries ago, 
 was a family by the name of Dearborn. The descendants of this family 
 are now to be found in every county of New Hampshire. Beginning 
 at an early date, it is worthy of note that with the Dearborn family 
 the practice of medicine has been a favorite occupation. In the last 
 century Portsmouth, North Hampton, Seabrook and Nottingham had 
 each a physician of marked reputation bearing the name, and today 
 several among the abler physicians of the state are of the same descent. 
 
 Sam Gerrish Dearborn, son of Edmund and Sarah Dearborn, was 
 born in Northfield, August 10, 1827. His father was an honest, indus- 
 trious farmer and his mother attended well to the duties of the house- 
 hold. He was educated at the district school, the Sanbornton Academy 
 and the New Hampshire Conference Seminary. 
 
 He began the study of medicine with Dr. Woodbui'y at Sanbornton 
 Bridge, in 1847, and graduated from the medical department of Dart- 
 mouth College in November, 1849. After a few months' practice at 
 East Tilton, in February, 1850, he opened an office at Mont Vernon, 
 where he soon began to acquire a reputation as a skillful, safe and sa- 
 gacious physician. 
 
 In June, 1853, Dr. Dearborn removed to Milford, where he had al- 
 ready gained some practice. For 20 years he had an increasing prac- 
 tice, not only in Milford and adjoining towns, but patients frequently 
 came from a considerable distance. Nashua being a railroad center. 
 Dr. Dearborn removed there in May, 1873. His practice there was. 
 
SAM G. DEARBORN, M. D. 
 
OBADTAH J. HALL, M. D. 
 
PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 155 
 
 perhaps, more extensive than that of any other physician in the state. 
 A large proportion of his patients came from a distance, Grafton, Belk- 
 nap and Coos counties furnishing a large number annually, and this 
 the result of no advertising other than that of his successful treat- 
 ment. 
 
 During the Rebellion Dr. Dearborn, in 1861, served one year as sur- 
 geon of the Eighth Regiment of New Hampshire Volunteers in Louisi- 
 ana, and in the summer of 1863 he served in the same position for three 
 months in the Army of the Potomac. 
 
 In politics he was a Republican, and represented Milford two years 
 in the state Legislature. Denominationally, he was associated with the 
 Unitarian Church. 
 
 On the 5th of December, 1854, he married Miss Henrietta Starrett of 
 Mont Vernon, an educated and accomplished woman. The two sons of 
 this union, Frank A. and Sam S., are prominent practitioners in Nashua. 
 The elder, Frank A., was born September 21, 1857, studied medicine at 
 the College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York, and graduated in 
 1883. 
 
 The younger son, Sam S., was born January 30, 1872, and is a grad- 
 uate of Phillips Exeter Academy, Harvard College and the Harvard 
 Medical School. 
 
 Dr. Dearborn died May 8, 1903, after a short illness. He leaves one 
 sister, Mrs. Jonathan Dearborn of Mt. Sterling, 111. 
 
 DR. O. J. HALL. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Obadiaii J.\cksox H.\ll was born at Northfield in 1826 and spent his 
 boyhood on the homestead farm. Deciding early to study medicine 
 and make its practice his life work, he studied first with his brother, 
 Jeremiah, at Wolfeborough, and went, later, to Dartmouth College, 
 where he graduated in 1850. 
 
 He located first at Lancaster but, on account of the severity of the 
 climate, removed to Wheelersburg, Scioto County, O., in 1851. Two 
 years later, after establishing a good business, he removed to Empire 
 Furnace and, later, to Junior Furnace, where he labored nine years 
 with little reward except the consciousness of having been true to 
 duty. 
 
 In December, 1861, he took charge of the Thirty-third Regiment, 
 Ohio Volunteer Infantry, in the capacity of surgeon. On account of 
 failing health he was obliged to leave his post of duty and return to 
 practice. May 7, 1862, he married Mary Elizabeth Boynton of Laconia 
 and removed to Portsmouth, O., where he lived and practised almost 
 continuously until his last illness. ^He died May 30. 186S. 
 
 His life, though short in years, was full of deeds that have lived 
 in the hearts of those for whom he worked. He united with the church 
 In early manhood and always lived in a sincere belief and trust in the 
 
156 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 teachings of the Master. He had not passed the golden milestone that 
 marks the highest point in physical or mental existence, when he lay- 
 down by the wayside and fell into that dreamless sleep that kisses 
 down his eyelids still. 
 
 He was, at his death, vice-president of the Scioto County Medical 
 Society and the tribute to his memory and worth before that body 
 was heartfelt and touching. "While yet in love with life and rap- 
 tured with the world he passed to silence and pathetic dust." 
 
 After his death, Mrs. Hall entered the public schools of Portsmouth 
 and was a faithful and beloved teacher for 16 years. She died Septem- 
 ber 1, 1889. They had two daughters. 
 
 Bessie Mary Hall, elder daughter of Dr. O. J. and Mary Boynton 
 Hall, was born in southern Ohio, but a short distance from the town 
 which has always been her home. 
 
 She was educated in the public schools of Portsmouth and graduated 
 as valedictorian of her class. 
 
 After graduation, she went to New Hampshire, remaining for a year 
 among the granite hills. While in Manchester she became much in- 
 terested in the subject of teaching, a vocation for which she had always 
 had a fondness. Returning there later she entered the training school 
 for teachers, where she successfully completed the course of training 
 in all classes of the work, from kindergarten to high school. She then 
 returned to Ohio and entered the public schools of Portsmouth. She 
 remained here for sometime as teacher in the grammar department, but 
 not being satisfied with this and looking higher, she obtained leave 
 of absence and entered Mt. Holyoke College at South Hadley, Mass., 
 taking a special course preparatory to continuing her chosen work as 
 teacher of the sciences. The time spent here proved invaluable to her 
 and before the close of the second year she was called to the position of 
 special teacher in the department of science in the high school from 
 which she was graduated. 
 
 She was devoted to her profession, enthusiastic, and thoroughly 
 awake to all the best interests of her pupils; possessed in a marked 
 degree the power of imparting knowledge; by nature a fine disci- 
 plinarian, and of a most genial temperament. Possessing these quali- 
 ties and with an ambition to reach the highest, she is a worthy ex- 
 ample of those who play such an important part in the development 
 of the world's good men and women. She is an earnest Christian and 
 identified with the church in many ways, being a member of the First 
 Presbyterian Church of Portsmouth and a teacher in its Sabbath 
 School. She married, in 1900, Arthur Titus of Portsmouth and has two 
 daughters. 
 
 Grace Forrest Hall, younger of the two daughters of Dr. O. J. Hall, 
 spent her childhood in Portsmouth, O., attending the public schools 
 of that city. After being graduated she spent one year at home and 
 then visited the East, where she remained one year, becoming ac- 
 quainted with her relatives and friends. Her stay proved no less an 
 
DANIEL BRAINARD WHITTIER. M. D. 
 
PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 157 
 
 education that that obtained in the schoolroom and had much to do with 
 shaping and developing traits of character and independence which 
 have since been prominent in her life. She went, on her return, to 
 Willis College of Shorthand at Springfield, O., soon rising to foremost 
 rank as an amanuensis and reporter of both journalistic and court 
 proceedings. She remained in the college as first assistant teacher 
 and reporter. She spends most of her time in Brooklyn, N. Y., and is 
 engaged in her chosen profession. 
 
 DR. CHARLES R. GOULD. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Dr. Charles R. Gotxd was born at Antrim, December 28, 1841. He 
 was educated at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Dart- 
 mouth Medical School. He married, December 25, 1864, Mary S. Dun- 
 bar and had three children. (See Genealogy, p. 154.) Besides an ex- 
 tensive practice, he served the town as clerk, superintendent of schools 
 and one of the board of education for Union District. His parents re- 
 sided in his home and both died there, his father on December 2, 1874, 
 and his mother, September 3, 1890. He is a fine musician and taught 
 vocal music at the Seminary, as well as being the leader of Gould's 
 orchestra. He was likewise leader of the choir of the Methodist 
 Church for 14 years. He is surgeon at the Soldiers' Home and a mem- 
 ber of the Tilton board of health. After many years' sojourn on Elm 
 Street, he removed to School Street, Tilton, whence, after a short stay, 
 he removed in 1S9G to his newly-erected home on Prospect Street. 
 
 He married (second) Mrs. Kate Russell Emons. He is a member 
 of Doric Lodge, A. F. and A. M., and past master of St. Omar Chapter, 
 Royal Arch Masons, Pythagorean Council of Laconia and Mount Horeb 
 Commandery, Knights Templar and Malta, Concord. He is also a mem- 
 ber of Harmony Lodge, I. O. O. F., of Tilton, and of the American 
 Medical Association and New Hampshire Medical Society. 
 
 DR. DANIEL BRAINARD W^HITTIER. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 The Whittier family removed to Northfield when the subject of this 
 sketch was a young child. Here his early years were passed, receiving 
 his education in the public schools and the New Hampshire Conference 
 Seminary. In 1855 he went to Iowa, intending to make a permanent 
 home, but returned after two' and a half years and commenced the 
 study of medicine in the office of W. B. Chamberlain, M. D., Keene. 
 In 1859 he attended lectures at Harvard University and in 18G1 removed 
 to Fitchburg, Mass. During the winter of 18G2~'C3, he attended medi- 
 cal lectures in the New York Homeopathic Medical College, from which 
 Institution he received a diploma. At the time of the Civil War he 
 was anxious to serve his country in the field, but on account of the 
 scanty recognition accorded homeopaths, abandoned the idea, render- 
 ing service by sending a substitute. October 14, 1858, he was married 
 
158 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 to Mary Chamberlain and proved a loving husband and father. There 
 was one daughter and two sons. 
 
 Despite the prejudice against homeopathy mentioned above, Dr. Whit- 
 tier attained great success in his profession through hard work and per- 
 sonality singularly fitted for the practice of medicine. He was revered 
 and beloved in the medical fraternity, being often sought for consul- 
 tation. He was president of both County and State Medical societies, 
 a member of the American Institute of Homeopathy, president of the 
 Gynecological Society of Massachusetts and served on the board of 
 consulting physicians and surgeons of the Westboro Insane Hospital. 
 In 1894 he was appointed on the Massachusetts State Board of Regis- 
 tration in Medicine for the term of five years. His death occurred 
 April 15, 1895. 
 
 He was possessed of no political ambitions, yet was intensely in- 
 terested in all municipal and state and national affairs, and ever la- 
 bored for the success of every good cause in the city where he resided. 
 He was a member of the school committee and indefatigable in tem- 
 perance work. There are men now living who owe largely their 
 reformation and subsequent success to his timely aid and encourage- 
 ment. He was a strong man in the Congregational Church and Sun- 
 day School, — loyal, generous and earnest. The respect and confidence 
 of the community was his, both as a practitioner and honorable Chris- 
 tian gentleman. His benefactions were numberless and many could 
 testify to his faithful attendance, unmindful of compensation. A man, 
 modest apd unassuming, ever the champion of the downtrodden; kind 
 and sympathetic to the suffering and weak; a tower of strength in time 
 of trouble. His memory is blessed. 
 
 DR. THOMAS BENTON DEARBORN. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Dr. Thomas Bentox Dearborn was for 14 years a well-known prac- 
 tising physician in Milford. He died at the age of 40 years and six 
 months. He was a native of Northfield, a member of the famous fam- 
 ily of physicians, being the youngest son of Edmund and Sarah Ger- 
 rish Dearborn. He early commenced a classical course of study at the 
 Seminary at Tilton. In 1855 he removed to Illinois with his brother 
 and joined the preparatory department of the college at Jacksonville. 
 He graduated at the State University of Indiana in 1861. While pros- 
 ecuting his studies he engaged considerably in teaching and was em- 
 ployed as principal of the high schools at Augusta and Carthage, 111. 
 He studied medicine with his uncle. Dr. Jonathan Dearborn, at Mt. 
 Sterling, 111., and also with his brothers, Drs. S. G. and H. G. Dear- 
 born, then at Milford. After attending medical lectures at Burlington, 
 Vt, and New York City, he entered the medical department of Dart- 
 mouth College, where he graduated in 1864. He soon after associated 
 himself in the practice of his profession with his brother in Milford 
 
^^.^{^T^'t^^ 
 
 '^^ 
 
DEARBORN BROTHERS. 
 
 THOMAS BENION, «, D. JESSE JUDSOII. «. D. HENRY HALE, «. ». EDIHIND GERRISH, M. li. 
 
PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 159 
 
 and pursued it with untiring devotion and eminent success until dis- 
 abled by illness. His death occurred June 10, 1879. To professional 
 skill he united the noble qualities of a true manhood. Those who knew 
 him best, knew that in all his relations of life he was honorable, up- 
 right and conscientious. 
 
 He was trained in the faith of the old Democratic party, believed in 
 Its ideas and, though never obtrusive in an expression of his political 
 views, he held them unswervingly and conformed his action thereto. 
 He won and held a very high rank as physician and surgeon. Gifted 
 by nature with keen perception and discriminating and acute in- 
 tellect, he had educated himself thoroughly for his profession, and with 
 a pressure of business appalling to one of less physical strength and 
 application, he kept himself by continuous study fresh in its latest 
 methods. He was a member of St. George Commandery, Knights Tem- 
 plar, of Nashua, King Solomon Royal Arch Chapter of Wilton, and 
 Benevolent Lodge, No. 7, of Milford. 
 
 On the 25th of September, 1873, he was married to Miss Kate L. 
 Hutchinson, only daughter of the late Judson J. Hutchinson of the 
 world-renowned Hutchinson family of singers. Their union was 
 blessed with four children, all boys, and at the time of his death the 
 youngest was but six weeks old and the oldest not five years. Now 
 they have grown to manhood and with their mother reside at the 
 old home in Milford. The boys have followed in their father's foot- 
 steps and are all doctors. The two eldest are settled in Milford and 
 are occupying the same rooms as offices that their father used many 
 years ago. The two youngest sons are at present internes in hospitals. 
 Their group picture appears on another page. They all belong to the 
 Masonic fraternity, the four brothers having joined the Milford lodge 
 together. They inherit the musical talent of their mother's family and 
 for many years bore the name of the "Dearborn Male Quartette." (See 
 group.) 
 
 LAWYERS, 
 
 Northfield has given birth to six who have chosen the practice 
 of law for their life work, and three others have made their home 
 here with office in Tilton Village. 
 
 Hon. Asa P. Gate, Hon. William A. Gile, 
 
 Augustus Clark, Samuel W. Forrest, 
 
 Benjamin A. Rogers, Hon, Lueien B. Clough, 
 
 Oliver L. Cross, Hon. James 0. L^'ford. 
 Hon. Francis A. Chase, 
 
 Rev. B. A. Rogers afterwards became a clergyman. (See por- 
 trait and sketch in Ministers of Northfield.) 
 
160 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 HON. A. P. GATE. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Asa Piper Gate was born in that part of Sanbornton, whicli is now 
 called Tilton Highlands, June 1, 1813, the son of Simeon and Lydia 
 (Durgin) Gate. The Sanbornton town history is in error in saying 
 that he was born in Northfield. His parents removed to this town 
 when he was a small child. His ancestry can now be given more fully 
 than in the volume just mentioned, Asa Piper 7 (Simeon, Jr., 6, Sim- 
 eon, Sr., 5, James 4, James 3, Edward 2, James 1) Gate, the first of this 
 family being found as a carpenter at Portsmouth in 1G57. (See a recent 
 pamphlet, "The Gate-Gates Family of New England.") 
 
 The family were of Portsmouth, Greenland and Stratham before 
 James 4 came to Sanbornton in 17G7. 
 
 The subject of this sketch was brought up in Northfield, attended 
 the academies of Sanbornton Bridge, Sanbornton Square and Bos- 
 cawen and afterwards read law with Judge George W. Nesmith of 
 Franklin, beginning in December, 1834. He was admitted to the bar in 
 August, 1838, and at once began practice at Sanbornton Bridge, making 
 his home in Northfield for the rest of his life. 
 
 He married, September 2, 1840, Glara, daughter of James and Abagail 
 Ladd Proctor of Franklin, a lady of fine presence, of high standards, 
 a fine contralto singer and devoted churchwoman. They had two 
 children, Glara Morton and Abbie Josephine, wife of Rev. Lucius 
 Waterman. The former, born May 30, 1841, was a graduate of Troy 
 Female Seminary, Poughkeepsie, N. Y., class of 18G2. The latter, Abbie, 
 born October 3, 1849, was for years an accomplished teacher on the 
 pianoforte. Dr. Waterman is rector of St. Thomas' Episcopal Ghurch 
 at Hanover. 
 
 Judge Gate lived a very quiet and simple life, a man wholly without 
 self-seeking but crowned with the absolute confidence of the com- 
 munity and much sought after for the holding of oflices and trusts. 
 Thus he was moderator at the town elections for all the years, with 
 but two exceptions, from 1838 to 1874, the year of his death, and at 
 seven presidential elections, first in 1844, and then consecutively from 
 1852 to 1872. He was a representative from Northfield in the state 
 Legislatures of 1839, 1840, 1864, 1865, 1866, a member of the state 
 Senate in 1844 and 1845, and president of the Senate in the latter 
 year. He was Democratic candidate for governor in 1858, 1859 and 
 1860; county solicitor of Merrimack Gounty, 1845-51; judge of pro- 
 bate for the same county, 1871-74, resigning a few weeks before his 
 death. He was also a railroad commissioner for three years, be- 
 ginning from 1849, when railroad men were making their early 
 struggles. He served in the state militia, reaching the rank of colonel; 
 was a trustee of the New Hampshire Gonference Seminary and secre- 
 tary of the board for some years; and president of the Gitizens' Na- 
 tional Bank of Tilton from its organization in 1865. He was also one 
 of the foremost founders and for years the chief helper of the Episcopal 
 
JUDGE ASA P. GATE. 
 
HON. LUCIEN BONAPARTE CLOUGH. 
 
PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. ICl 
 
 Church. His life was cut short by painful disease in his 61st year, the 
 date of his death being December 12, 1874. 
 
 Judge Gate was a man singularly respected and beloved. To give 
 some little definiteness to this memorial, we add brief extracts from the 
 address delivered at his funeral by the Rev. Dr. Herrick: 
 
 "It is no small thing to have had such a life lived among us, so pure 
 and blameless and above reproach; so graced with dignity and man- 
 liness of character, and withal so Christian." 
 
 "Think how as a lawyer he discouraged unnecessary litigation, and 
 honestly set himself to compose differences, and to bring about an 
 understanding between disagreeing parties. How he has labored, both 
 by precept and example, to set forth peace and godly quietness in 
 neighborhoods and families, and among all those with whom he had to 
 do, and has his part in the blessing pronounced on the peace-makers!" 
 
 "And finally, are not his deeds still with us, in some of their main 
 results, at least? He was a man of deeds rather than of words. If 
 he was reserved in speech, so much so as at times to appear reticent, 
 yet he thought the more; and his thoughts w6re fruitful — productive 
 seed-plots from which issued well-considered plans for the glory of 
 God and the good of others." 
 
 LUCIEN BONAPARTE CLOUGH. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Hox. LrciEx B. Clough, one of the pioneer citizens of Manchester and 
 a highly respected lawyer, died July 28, 1895. He was born in North- 
 field, April 17, 1823, a son of Joseph and Mehitable (Chase) Clough. 
 His parents moved to Canterbury when he was quite young. He was 
 a great-grandson of Capt. Jeremiah Clough, who commanded the first 
 military company raised in that town for the Revolutionary War, while 
 his father, Hon. Joseph Clough, was a member of the executive council 
 in 1848 and 1849. He attended the Canterbury schools, Tilton Sem- 
 inary and graduated from Dartmouth College in 1850. He taught 
 school in his earlier days and in 1853 settled in Manchester, opening a 
 law business which he continued until his death. He was judge of pro- 
 bate for Hillsborough County from 1874 to 1S7G and served many years 
 as a trustee of the city library. 
 
 Judge Clough was a born lawyer and a thorough gentleman of the 
 old school. Many of his clients placed important trusts and estates 
 in his hands, which were carefully and honestly managed year after 
 year. He was exceedingly exact and conscientious in all his dealings. 
 His word was as good as his bond. By his own sterling integrity he 
 accumulated a handsome property. 
 
 His insight in financial matters was remarkable. His years of ex- 
 perience in probate matters made him generally sought after to ad- 
 just business in banking and real estate lines. His reliability was 
 never questioned; his rare judgment was always to be depended upon. 
 He probably wrote more wills, deeds, leases and insurance policies 
 
 12 
 
162 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 than any other lawyer in the city. He was a director of the Amoskeag 
 National Bank and a trustee of the Amoskeag Savings Bank. He was 
 clerk of the Manchester Gas Light Company many years and also con- 
 ducted a large insurance business. 
 
 Judge Clough was a man of rare literary attainment, having a 
 strong taste for history. He was devoted to his family, constant in his 
 support of the church with which he was identified, loyal to the state 
 and city, true to his friends and affable to all. In a thoroughly 
 straightforward, honest, manly way he won and held a place among 
 the strong men who made Manchester what she was. After nearly 
 40 years of well-directed activity, disease struck him down and im- 
 posed upon others the duties he had discharged so faithfully and 
 well. 
 
 He married Maria Louise Dole at Augusta, Me., November 20, 1856. 
 She was born at Alma, Me., January 29, 1834, and was the daughter of 
 Albert Gallatin and Rebecca (Ford) Dole. Their children were: 
 Rebecca Louise, born at Manchester, December 16, 1863, and Albert 
 Lucien, born in the same city, June 24, 1869. The former married 
 Sherman Leland Whipple at Manchester, December 27, 1893. He was 
 born at New London, March 4, 1862. They have three children: Dor- 
 othy, born at Quebec, Canada; Katharyn Carleton, born at Brookline, 
 Mass.; and Sherman Leland, Jr., born in the same place. 
 
 Albert Lucien married Sarah Hunt at Manchester, February 28, 1905. 
 She was the daughter of Nathan Parker Hunt of that city. 
 
 OLIVER LYFORD CROSS. 
 
 Oliver L. Ckoss was born at Northfield June 11, 1836. His early 
 life was spent on the farm and in his father's extensive lumber mill. 
 He attended the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and fitted for 
 college at Franklin Academy. He was graduated from Dartmouth in 
 1862, having taught winters during his entire college and preparatory 
 course. At graduation he had the class honor of delivering the farewell 
 address to the president and faculty. In 1862 he was appointed re- 
 cruiting agent for Northfield to fill up the town's quota of soldiers 
 for the war, a position which he held until the last call was satisfied. 
 He read law with Messrs. Pike and Barnard at Franklin and was ad- 
 mitted to the New Hampshire bar April 6, 1865, and practised with the 
 late Attorney-General Barnard one year. Most of the year 1866 was 
 spent in travel in the South and West and, January 1, 1867, he located 
 in Montgomery City, Mo., where he practised until 1873. He was 
 city attorney from 1867 to 1870; mayor in 1870~'71; director and 
 clerk of Masonic Hall Association from 1868 to 1872; and was also 
 director and clerk of North Missouri Agricultural and Mechanical 
 Association. 
 
 He returned at his father's death to New Hampshire, where he en- 
 gaged in farming, insurance and local law practice at Northfield until 
 1893. He then removed to Concord. He is a Mason and Knight Tem- 
 plar. 
 
HON. W. A. GILE. 
 
PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 163 
 
 He married, November 16, 1866, Lucy R. Hill of Northfield and had 
 two sons and a daughter. (See Cross gen.) Mrs. Cross was a teacher 
 for many years previous to her marriage. She graduated from New 
 Hampshire Conference Female College in 18G0 and had charge, as 
 superintendent, of the schools of the town from 1878 to 1886 and en- 
 joys the honor of being chosen to write the history of her native town 
 in 1904. (See Hill gen. and frontispiece.) 
 
 COL. WILLIAM A. GILE. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 William Augustus Gile, third son of Alfred A. Gile, was born in 
 Northfield on his mother's 32d birthday, June 5, 1843. He was educated 
 in the public schools and the nearby academies of Tilton and Frank- 
 lin. He was much impressed with the district school system in which 
 his father had been active for many years as superintendent and had 
 reconstructed at his own expense the Hodgdon schoolhouse at a cost of 
 $300 without remuneration, save what his own and other children 
 got in the added interest they felt in new surroundings and the in- 
 creased love of the Noah Proctor and James N. Forrest style of ora- 
 tory. The school was a mile and a half distant, the academy, three, 
 and the Seminary, four miles. 
 
 In 1862 he enlisted in the army and, with his younger brother, 
 Frank, then but 17 years of age, was with General Banks at Louisiana, 
 at the Achafalyer River and swamps. Many of the regiment died of 
 disease there and both Mr. Gile and his brother returned in 1863, out 
 of health from disease also contracted there. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 He re-entered the army in October, 1864, as captain of Company E, 
 Eighteenth New Hampshire Regiment. Before their departure for 
 the front, his company visited Franklin, where he was presented by 
 Judge Nesmith with his sword, who also reviewed the company, which 
 Captain Gile commanded until the close of the war. He was assigned 
 to the Army of the Potomac under General Meade, being soon de- 
 tailed as a member of the general court martial of that division. 
 
 He was with his company at the final assault on Fort Steadman in 
 March, 1865, and at the capture of Petersburg by the Union army. 
 He was discharged in June, 1865, and in August of the same year went 
 to Texas with General Sheridan to expel the French from Mexico, 
 which was accomplished without a conflict but with a show of force 
 in the encampment of 30,000 black men on the shores of the Rio 
 Grande and the gentle suggestion by the then secretary of state. Mr. 
 Seward, "that the United States would not look with indifference upon 
 the attempt to establish a monarchy upon the borders of this repub- 
 lic," and in consequence Marshal Bajaine retired to France with his 
 army of French soldiers, containing over 30,000 men. 
 
 Upon the retirement of the French from Mexico, the army, of which 
 Captain Gile was an officer, was disbanded and, in the fall of 1867, 
 he returned home and entered the office of A. F. Pike and I. N. Blod- 
 
164 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 gett of Franklin as a student at law. From there, after a year's time, 
 during which he attended court at the sessions in Merrimack County, 
 he entered Harvard Law School and, after completing his studies, 
 entered the profession in 18G9 as co-partner with Hon. Whiting Gris- 
 wold of Greenfield, Mass., where he continued to practice until 1871. 
 He then went to Worcester and began the practice of law with Charles 
 A. Merrill, Esq., his class and roommate at Harvard. From that date 
 he has continued to practice his profession there and is called one 
 of the ablest jury advocates of the Worcester bar. 
 
 He was married in 1873 to Clara A. Dewing and had two children: 
 William W., now of New York City, and Minnie Helen, wife of Walter 
 F. Woods, a lawyer of New York. He married (second), in 1878, 
 Mary Greene Waitt and has three children: Alfred D. Gile, a cor- 
 poral in the First Heavy Artillery in the Spanish War; Margaret, 
 living at home; and Lawrence B., now in Clark College. 
 
 Mr. Gile represented the City of Worcester in the Legislature of the 
 commonwealth and was a member of the National Republican Conven- 
 tion in 1888, going on the stump for Grant and Harrison. Colonel 
 Gile was, also, for five years commander of the Worcester Conti- 
 nentals and had, also, during that time the Putnam Phalanx of Hart- 
 ford and the Amoskeag Veterans of Manchester. June 17 being the 
 annual field day of the three commands, they met as a brigade on 
 Bunker Hill day. Their last meeting was at Charlestown, June 17, 1895. 
 
 SAMUEL WARREN FORREST. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Samuel Warrex Forrest was born July 8, 1861, on the old farm in 
 East Northfield, where his great-grandfather James lived, and where 
 his grandfather Samuel and father, James Forrest, were born, lived 
 and died. On this farm he spent the years of his early manhood, 
 years filled with the toils that make up the farmer's life — the hoeing 
 and haying, the ploughing, planting and reaping, which follow each 
 other in ceaseless rotation through the changing seasons. A few weeks 
 in each year were spent in the little schoolhouse on the corner, known 
 as the Rand school, where, aided by a strong love of knowledge for its 
 own sake, he mastered the rudiments of learning and laid a good 
 foundation for future attainments. He was graduated from Tilton 
 Seminary in June, 1884, the orator of his class. In September of that 
 year he went West and spent two years of varied experience in Mis- 
 souri and Kansas. 
 
 After working for sometime in Kansas City, he pre-empted govern- 
 ment land in Ness County, Kansas, built a sod house and lived the re- 
 quired length of time on his quarter section. For several months he 
 taught school in a sod dugout on the prairie and won the respect of a 
 score or two of Western boys and girls. He had some exciting ad- 
 ventures herding cattle, riding untrained horses and in encounters 
 
SAMUEL WARREN FORREST. 
 
PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 165 
 
 with still more untrained human beings, and in the summer of 1886 
 gladly returned to the different civilization of the East. 
 
 In January, 1887, he entered Boston University Law School, where 
 he accomplished the work of three years in one and one half years, 
 graduating in June, 1888, cum laude. He was admitted to practice in 
 the highest court of Massachusetts in March, 1889. For four years 
 he was with the law firm of Niles & Carr in Lynn and then opened an 
 oflBce in Boston, where he has ever since been in active practice. He 
 was admitted to practice In the United States Circuit Court in 1894, 
 and was appointed out of a dozen applicants master in chancery for 
 Middlesex County in 1898, which office he still holds. He now oc- 
 cupies a suite of three rooms in the Winthrop building and is busy 
 with a constantly increasing practice. 
 
 Mr. Forrest inherits a logical mind from his grandfather, Samuel 
 Forrest, whose good judgment was often referred to by his fellow 
 townsmen, and a certain legal acumen from his father, who was often 
 called upon to give advice or to perform other legal duties. Some of 
 the courage and persistency of his ancestors, who braved the difficulties 
 and faced the dangers of the wilderness in the old home-seeking days, 
 have come down to this son of the house of Forrest and, together with 
 an individual determination, which cannot be daunted, and a belief 
 that nothing is impossible to him who dares attempt, have helped him 
 gain a foothold in the great city, where he is making a name and a 
 place for himself in his profession. 
 
 Mr. Forrest is a member of the Highland Club of Melrose, the New 
 Hampshire Club, the Essex Bar Association and the Middlesex Bar 
 Association. 
 
 He married, October 29, 1890, Susie R. Paul of Boston and has one 
 child, Helen Pauline, born May 20, 1893. They have a pleasant home 
 at Melrose Highlands. 
 
 CLERGYMEN. 
 
 ]\rany of the students of the New Hampshire Conference Sem- 
 inary entered the ministry. Though they spent a long time 
 among us, you will have to look in the alumni catalogue of that 
 institution for their record. 
 
 Six, who have had their birth in town, became clergymen and 
 one, whose parents removed here during his childhood. 
 
 Rev. B. A. Rogers (see subjoined sketch and portrait). Rev. 
 John Clough Tebbetts and Rev. Sylvanus Dearborn were Epis- 
 copalians. 
 
 Revs. Jeremiah and Charles II. Ilannaford, brothers, were 
 Methodists. (See genealogies.) 
 
 Revs. Oren Jerome Hancock and Samuel F. Lougee were Bap- 
 tists. (See genealogies.) 
 
166 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 REV. BENJAMIN A. ROGERS. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Benjamin A. Rogers was born at Northfield September 15, 1823. He 
 was carefully reared by his mother, who was left with a large farm 
 and other interests when the subject of this sketch was but two years 
 old. 
 
 He was an apt scholar and his ambitions to become educated were 
 carefully cherished by his resolute mother, who always sought the best 
 for herself and hers. He was a pupil of Prof. Dyer H. Sanborn at 
 the academy and became a teacher when a mere boy. He studied 
 law and was admitted to the bar in 1846, beginning the practice of 
 law at Gilmanton. 
 
 He married (first) Viola Rundlett of Sanbornton and had two chil- 
 dren, both of whom died in infancy. Mrs. Rogers died June 27, 1850. 
 He married (second) Addie Rundlett and had a son, Willie Knowles, 
 and a daughter, Lucy Viola. The former removed South with his father 
 and became a physician. He died in early manhood. The latter died, 
 October 6, 18G2, in infancy. Mrs. Rogers (second) died Augufet 15, 
 1862. He married (third) Jennie Brinsmade, and (fourth) Susan 
 Pusey. 
 
 Mr. Rogers died at Houston Heights, Texas, March 15, 1904. She 
 still resides there, as does his only living child, Mrs. Susan Rogers 
 Tempest, and his two grandchildren, Susie Elizabeth, aged four, and 
 Benjamin Tempest, aged nine years. 
 
 In 1848 Mr. Rogers formed a partnership with the late Hon. Asa 
 P. Gate and continued the practice of law until 1860, when, his health 
 failing, he removed South, where he took clerical orders and entered 
 the ministry of the Protestant Episcopal Church in December, 1863. 
 He was a distinguished and brilliant speaker and held important 
 rectorships at Downington, Penn., Austin, Waco, Georgetown and 
 Houston Heights, Tex. 
 
 TEACHERS. 
 
 JOSEPH GILE. 
 
 Joseph, eldest son of Alfred A. and Lucinda M. Gile, was born at 
 Pottsville, Penn., October 14, 1835. He removed to Northfield with his 
 parents in 1841. He grew, even when a boy, to be a great lover of books 
 and music, a taste he had small opportunities for gratifying. His 
 father, an educated man, spared no pains to give his children all avail- 
 able opportunities. He had a great desire to learn the languages and 
 began the study of Latin at 12 years of age. 
 
 His first academic work was at the Tyler Academy at Franklin and, 
 later, at the Seminary at Tilton. He completed his preparatory course 
 and entered the freshman class at Dartmouth in March, 1854, six 
 months in advance, when 17 years of age. He went at once, on grad- 
 uating to Clarence, N. Y., as principal of the high school, with his 
 
REV. B. A. ROCIERS. 
 
MARY M. GILE. 
 
PROFESSIONiVX, MEN AND WOMEN. 167 
 
 sister and several assistants. Two years later he took a similar po- 
 sition at Warsaw, N. Y. Here he enjoyed the acquaintance and friend- 
 ship of Governor Pattison, a brother of Mrs. Mark Baker of Tilton, 
 his father's friend. An increase of salary lured him to Huntington, 
 L. I., and, later, to Brooklyn, N. Y., and finally placed him at the 
 head of the New Haven schools. Here he remained in various ca- 
 pacities, as teacher, supervisor and business man, for 20 years. He 
 visited European cities to study school methods and school archi- 
 tecture. He had a great love of the beautiful and abroad and every- 
 where collected works of art and vertu. His last teaching was as 
 tutor for the sons of wealthy men who were fitting for special courses 
 at Yale. 
 
 He commenced the scientific study of music while at Hanover, but 
 had little need of masters, as he inherited from his mother, a lovely 
 German lady, a natural aptitude for it and made it a lifelong study 
 and pleasure. 
 
 In 18SG he returned to the homestead and continued its improve- 
 ment and embellishment until his death. Walls were built, drains 
 opened, trees planted, springs enlarged into ponds and water courses 
 made lovely by masonry and rustic bridges, and all the various com- 
 forts attached to a ^rst-class country estate secured. Here he retired 
 in 1896 to spend his remaining life with his sisters in the quiet en- 
 joyment of well-earned leisure. He died, after a short illness, August 
 6, 1898. 
 
 MARY MARGARET GILE. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Mary Margaret Gile was born at Northfield March 28, 1837, and 
 died at the homestead, unmarried, December 12, 1898. She was edu- 
 cated in the common schools of Northfield, Franklin Academy and the 
 New Hampshire Conference Seminary, and made teaching her life- 
 work, in which she showed remarkable industry. Her worth is noted 
 in the following from the Orange (N. J.) Woman's Club records and 
 "New Hampshire Women," in both of which associations she took 
 great delight: 
 
 "Miss Mary Margaret Gile was well born and happily endowed. 
 Family traditions increased this inheritance and her early life among 
 the New Hampshire hills made it rich indeed. Her ancestors fought 
 in the most noted battles of the Revolution. Her father, the late 
 Alfred A. Gile, was a man of fine integrity, who held his children to 
 strict account, both for their morals and their manners, while the 
 quiet influence of the mother supplemented that of the father. After 
 a thorough training in the schools of New Hampshire and Massachu- 
 setts, Miss Gile entered upon her lifework as preceptress of the Clarence 
 Academy at Clarence, N. Y., where she was associated with her brother, 
 Joseph. She next became preceptress of the Warsaw Academy at War- 
 saw. N. Y., where she remained nine years. In each of these positions 
 
168 . HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 she displayed that skill which has brought her such signal success. 
 After short terms at Cleveland, Ohio, and Worcester, Mass., she began 
 her work at East Orange, N. J., where she resided with her youngest 
 brother. Dr. Francis A. Gile. Many a successful man and woman 
 owes to Miss Gile the mental and moral impetus received in the high 
 school of this town. Here she closely identified herself with her sur- 
 roundings, being an active member of Christ Church and its Sunday 
 School, also of the Daughters of the Revolution, the Woman's Club 
 of Orange, and the Auxiliary of the Y. M. C. A. Besides her articles 
 for the newspaper and her essays, Miss Gile contributed an article en- 
 titled, 'Individual Influence upon our Nation,' to the New Jersey scrap- 
 book for the World's Fair. Her paper on the 'History of Education,' 
 written for the school of pedagogy of the University of New York, re- 
 ceived favorable comment from our best educators. She graduated 
 from this university and may truly be considered one of the pro- 
 gressive women of our time. Her personality was quiet but strong; 
 her life, noble, true and effective." 
 
CHAPTER IX. 
 MISCELLANEOUS. 
 
 BURYING GROUNDS. 
 
 Five generations of men and women, who were participants in 
 the activities of Northfield, repose peacefully in its bosom, in its 
 quiet enclosures. It was the prevailing custom in the early days 
 to bury the dead amid the shade of the orchard or on some sunny 
 hillside, near the scene of their activities. As the ancestral homes 
 passed to the ownership of others, the plan was found to be un- 
 wise and many were disinterred and taken to the larger public 
 grounds. With the exception of possibly a half dozen places, this 
 has been true of Northfield. A sizeable place in nearly every 
 school district offers free lots to the surrounding families. Many 
 desiring more pretentious beds for their last sleep have been laid 
 to rest by the shore of the "Winnipiseogee in Park Cemetery, 
 Tilton. 
 
 In 1809, Jonathan Clough, Benjamin Whitcher, Abraham 
 Simons, Theo. Brown, Nathaniel Gilman, Josiah Ambrose, David 
 Mason, Samuel Clough, Joseph ]\Iann, Henry Tebbetts, Jonathan 
 Emerson, James Forrest, husbandmen; Daniel Hills, Francis 
 Smith, John Hills, Abraham Brown, Esq., Timothy Hills, gen- 
 tlemen; and A. T. Clark, physician, bought of Stephen Chase, 
 clothier, 25 square rods of land for a burying ground on the road 
 leading from Canterbury to Sanbornton Bridge, said Chase re- 
 serving an equal right with an}' of the said persons. The deed is 
 signed by Stephen Chase and witnessed by William Knowles, un- 
 der date of January 17, 1809, the consideration being $5. This 
 lot adjoined the one on which the ^Methodist Church was built 
 in 1826 and is still known as the "Burying yard by the Brick 
 Meeting house." It has been twice enlarged towards tlie west. 
 
 The burial place on Oak Hill was a gift to the neighborhood 
 from the French family. There is no expense except the charge 
 for opening and closing graves and it is in care of Alpheus 
 Keniston. 
 
170 HISTORY OP NORTHFEELD. 
 
 The little space surrounded by a stone wall, back of the old 
 meeting-house, though, perhaps, never a public burial place, is 
 possibly the oldest one in town. The inscriptions on many of the 
 stones were illegible 25 years ago. No one has been buried there 
 since 1846. The Giles and Gliddens seem to have been the only 
 families using it. A stone, marked October 10, 1782, shows the 
 resting place of Rufus Gile. Esq. Charles Glidden died August 
 11, 1811, and some of his family, including his wife, Alice, who 
 died in 1825, aged 77, lie beside him. 
 
 The Hodgdon yard was on the farm of Joseph Cofran and he 
 sold space as desired. It was a quiet, shady spot and a popular 
 burial place. Very many of the first settlers lie there. 
 
 The enclosure at the Abbott place, close by the Kezar Hills, 
 was given by the Abbotts and Eogers and was kept in repair 
 until both families were extinct. There is another on the farm of 
 the Giles, in which a few Sawyers and many Cilleys and Giles are 
 buried. 
 
 The one at the Knowles place was never a public yard, al- 
 though some other families buried their dead there. Further to 
 the east are the Calef and Aldrich cemeteries. The Blanchards, 
 the early settlers, Lindseys and Perkins, perhaps are buried in the 
 Wadleigh orchard. Five graves are still plainly to be seen al- 
 though there are no stones or dates. 
 
 Several of the Cross family were buried by the brook on the 
 intervale, some of whom have been recently washed out. The 
 caskets in which these early settlers took their long rest were 
 formed hy hewing out a log and placing a similar one above it. 
 
 The Williams yard, as well as the brook, were named by Will- 
 iam Williams, who resided nearby. I cannot find any deeds to 
 the lots and no one knows when or how it was established or who 
 has any charge of it. It is one of the oldest in town. When the 
 railroad passed through the town, it cut oif a part of it, and 
 many bodies were moved further back into the enclosure and 
 their location forgotten. The Muzzeys, buried there some years 
 previous, were removed to an interior location to avoid the 
 grading. There is also a yard near the residence of INIr. Gorrell, 
 where the Cloughs, Gorrells and some of the Kezars are buried. 
 Still farther east are two, called the Aldrich and Calef burjang 
 grounds. There are also two family yards on Bean Hill, known 
 as the Cilley and Evans yards. 
 
MISCELLANEOUS. 171 
 
 There is no public care of any of these grounds and many of 
 them are hopelessly overrun by creeping, crawling forests. 
 
 TILTON AND NORTHFIELD AQUEDUCT COMPANY. 
 
 A charter was granted to an association, called the Tilton and 
 Nortlifield Aqueduct Company by the Legislature of 1887. It was 
 approved by. Gov. C. H. Sawyer, June 21, 1887. The object 
 was to secure pure drinking water for the village of Tilton, and 
 Chestnut Pond was the desired supply. The capital stock was 
 $18,000 and $9,000 in bonds, of which Hon. C. E. Tilton, J. J. 
 and A. J. Pillsbury and Selwin B. Peabody were equal holders. 
 
 A petition to the town of Nortlifield to lay pipes in the streets 
 was considered and a hearing ordered for August 22, which was 
 postponed to September 1, 1887. This petition was granted and 
 an agreement entered into, whereby the town would use sufficient 
 water for troughs, fires and flushing prospective sewers, etc., to 
 cover the taxes on the plant for 10 years, Tilton concurring in a 
 similar arrangement. 
 
 ]\Ir. S. J. Winslow of Pittsfield contracted to put in the plant 
 under the immediate supervision of Messrs. Tilton and Pillsbury, 
 and the work was begun at once. A 300-feet dam was built at 
 the outlet of Chestnut I*ond, sufficiently high to raise the water 
 12 or 14: feet. This- was done at a cost of $7,000. The water 
 from this dam runs unrestrained one mile to a pool and is then 
 piped to a reservoir holding 3,000,000 gallons, from which a 
 10-inch pipe or main conveys it across the fields along Bay and 
 Elm Streets to the bridge. It there divides. An eight-inch main 
 crosses the river and runs through Main Street, uniting with a 
 six-inch main running through Elm Street and over the lower 
 bridge to a point of intersection opposite the railroad station, 
 requiring in all eight miles of pipe. The descent from the reser- 
 voir is 220 feet. The highest pressure is 112 pounds to the square 
 inch at Tilton Mills. 
 
 It was later found practicable to add a mountain stream to the 
 supply. Accordingly Hilly Brook was piped one and one fourth 
 miles to change its course, from which point it flows naturally 
 into the pond. The work was completed and water turned on, 
 August 24, 1888. In 1904 the eight-inch pipe, bringing the 
 water from the pond to the reservoir, Avas supplemented by a 10- ' 
 
172 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 inch cast-iron pipe, having in view an ample and satisfactory 
 service. 
 
 Still further plans are now in progress for a greatly increased 
 supply from the Forrest Pond in Canterbury, three and a half 
 miles distant. It lies south of Bean Hill and is 280 feet higher 
 than Chestnut Pond. The aqueduct strikes the Dolloff, or 
 Rogers, Brook on its way, which is to be piped with it. This 
 brook, after receiving two or three tributaries in tlie Skendug- 
 g'ody Meadow, is known as the Kendegeda Brook. 
 
 NORTHFIELD SEWER. 
 
 The selectmen were instructed at the annual meeting, March, 
 1902, to construct a sewer if it should be petitioned for, and it 
 was exempted from taxation. A petition followed and the work 
 w^as begun the September following, by the Osgood Construction 
 Company of Nashua, Arthur W. Dudley of Manchester, civil 
 engineer ; 1,325 feet were laid on Park Street ; 850 on Elm ; 700 
 on Summer; 900 on Bay; 1,275 on Park, to Brook and to River; 
 1,150 on Vine Street; 325 on Holmes Avenue; total, 6,525 feet. 
 A flush tank was placed at the head of every line and all appli- 
 ances were Al. The deepest cut was 18 feet, under the railroad ; 
 the least, seven, with an average of 12 feet across fair ground. 
 The entire cost was $6,699.26, all of which w^as borrowed at 3l^ 
 per cent, from the citizens of the town. Cost for entrance was 
 $15 for single, $22 for double, house. 
 
 Sewer No. 2. — The Howard Avenue sewer was laid in the 
 autumn of 1903 by the selectmen, E. J. Young, Fred Scribner 
 and C. L. True. It was 1,100 feet in length and cost $618.27. 
 C. W. Sleeper, surveyor and civil engineer, made the survey. A 
 line on Vine Street had been put in the previous year, extending 
 from Oak Street to Holmes Avenue. 
 
 PAUPERS AND CRIMINALS. 
 
 The care of the criminal class and the dependent poor of the 
 town was a source of annoyance from the start. The third an- 
 nual meeting voted to "take the Buzzel family into the cear of 
 the town," and it was the custom for at least a dozen years to 
 sell the maintenance of the poor at public vendue to the lowest 
 bidder; the use of all and everything such a person possessed 
 should be a part of the price paid. Very strenuous rules and 
 
MISCELLANEOUS. 173 
 
 re^ilations were in force regarding their possessions, be they 
 land, clothing, household furniture or daily labor. The town re- 
 served the right to furnish medical attendance and in case of 
 death, paid funeral charges. 
 
 A single transaction must suffice. "Samuel Dinsmore was 
 struck off to Jacob Heath for $34, to be paid quarterly in produce 
 at the Current market price, otherwise he should be paid in 
 money at the end of the year, said Dinsmore to be considered in 
 health and to be bound by indenture." Often, a dozen or more 
 were thus provided for under varying conditions. Often, the 
 whole number were kept in a single family and a large amount 
 of work was accomplished by them. 
 
 The town poor were thus sold at auction until 1824, when the 
 selectmen purchased a farm at East Northfield of Nathaniel Gil- 
 man and all were respectably housed there, though to say it was 
 a humane movement is to put it too mildly, as the following rules 
 and regulations must be implicitly observed by both overseer and 
 pauper. 
 
 A * ' house of correction ' ' with dungeon was attached to it, and 
 Josiali Woodbury, Horace Noyes, Simeon Gate, Thomas Ghase, 
 Benjamin Eogers, Daniel Austin and George Kezar were chosen 
 "informers." Judge Peter Wadleigh drew the "Orders and 
 Regulations," receiving therefor $3. 
 
 "Section 1. There shall be a house of correction established in 
 said town into which shall be committed as the law directs all per- 
 sons found in said town of the following description viz. All 
 rogues and vagabonds, lewd, idle or disorderly persons; persons 
 going about begging, or using any subtle craft jugling or unlaw- 
 ful games or plays ; or persons pretending to have knowledge in 
 physiognomy or palmistry ; or such as pretend they can tell des- 
 tinies or fortunes, or discover by any spells or magic art, where 
 lost or stolen goods may be found ; common pipers, fidlers, run- 
 aways, stubborn children or servants, common drunkards, common 
 night walkers, common railers or brawlers, such as neglect their 
 calling or employments, mis-spend what they earn, and such as 
 do not provide for themselves or for the support of their fam- 
 ilies. 
 
 "Section 2. All or any person that shall be adjudged by the 
 proper authorities guilty of any of the offences aforesaid and 
 
174 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 sentenced to the house of correction shall be liable to be called 
 up and set to work by the Superintendent of the House of Cor- 
 rection at five oclock in the morning and employed until seven 
 oelock in the evening, from the 21st day of INIarcli to the 21st day 
 of September, and from this date to the 21st day of March fol- 
 lowing, called up at six oclock in the morning and employed until 
 nine oclock in the evening . . . All males, at an}^ of the 
 mechanical arts at farming, or husbandry or any kind of labor 
 that males usually work at, and all females ... at spin- 
 ning, weaving, Imitting, sewing or housework as females usuallj^ 
 perform unles unable on account of ill health, age or infirmity. ' ' 
 
 There are certain other rules in regard to punishments, impris- 
 onment in dungeon, etc., and strict rules governing every duty of 
 superintendent, overseers, informers and reformers. These rules 
 were modified and changed in 1840 and a new set adopted. 
 
 David Hill, Samuel Dicey, David Brown, Nathan Wells, Joseph 
 Libby, Emanuel Forrest and George S. Tibbetts were some of the 
 many superintendents employed for long or short terms. Poor 
 people who were unable to pay their taxes were allowed to work 
 them out at the poor farm. 
 
 In 1867, on the erection of the new and commodious county 
 farm home, pauper settlements were abolished and all the de- 
 pendent poor and petty criminals cared for at Boscawen. The 
 farm was sold to Benjamin Haines and James N. Forrest in 1866 
 and Northfield, at the present time, has no town or county pauper 
 and is, with a single exception, the only town in the county so 
 fortunate in this respect. We have had no criminal in state 
 prison for a long term of years and no licensed saloons. 
 
 In 1875, the expense to the town for paupers was $1,056.56; 
 in 1880, it was $600 ; in 1900, $135 ; and nothing in 1905. Some 
 of these figures were the result of contagious epidemics. 
 
 MERRIMACK COUNTY. 
 
 Before Merrimack County was instituted, Northfield was in 
 Hillsborough County and the great distance to the courts and 
 court records made a change greatly to be desired. The first effort 
 was in the line of establishing a half shire town for Upper Hills- 
 borough. Hopkinton was selected and the Legislature met there 
 for several years and the governors were inaugurated there. In 
 1823, after much debate and delay, ]\Ierrimack County was 
 
MISCELLANEOUS, 175 
 
 formed and Concord constituted the shire town. Judge Peter 
 Wadleigh was the foremost man in the town in this matter and 
 assisted largely in its establishment. It is the central county and 
 is bounded by six of the others. It is 60 miles long from Dan- 
 bury to Hooksett and 55 miles Avide from Pittsfield to Newbury. 
 It contains 505,000 acres. It then had a population of 33,000. 
 Northfield had 277 polls, 287 horses, 367 cows, 202 sheep ; money 
 on interest and in bank, $4,900; stock in trade, 57,580; mills and 
 machinery, $88,900, and real estate, $437,590. This is in strange 
 contrast to the count of 1786, probably the first ever made, of 
 Avhich the following is a true copy : 
 
 "Northfield Apr. 11*^ ye:: 1786 
 "This to sartify a greeable to an Act Past the 3: ye: 1786 a 
 trew a Count of all the Males poles is 75 and the number of 
 women and children 274 
 
 William Perkins \ 
 75 "William Forrest ? Selectmen" 
 
 274 Thomas Chase ) 
 
 Increased, in 1880, to 46,300. Northfield had, in 1823, "1. 
 meeting-house, eight school houses, six districts; no tavern; two 
 stores; five saw-mills, two clothing mills; three carding mills and 
 four tanneries." Its population, in 1820, was 1,304 and, in 1880, 
 918, a rather uncertain increase. 
 
 In 1833, the New Hampshire Register gives the following: 
 "Two meeting-houses; three stores; one tavern; two doctors; no 
 lawyer; one cotton factory; six sawmills; two grain mills; two 
 fulling mills and two carding mills. Benjamin Ambrose Chase 
 was representative to General Court and there were ten Justices 
 of the Peace viz Thomas Chase, James Cofran, Benjamin Chase, 
 Samuel Forrest, Charles Glidden, Obadiah Hall, Thomas Lyford, 
 Jeremiah Smith, Jeremiah Tilton and Peter Wadleigh. " We 
 find, for the year 1904, one church, one store, one doctor, no law- 
 yer, no minister. 
 
 POST OFFICES. 
 
 The first postal facilities were afforded by post riders and, 
 a little later, by the stage-drivers. ]\Iany old people remember 
 when the postage to Boston was 16 cents, and beyond a specified 
 distance was even more. 
 
176 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Dr. Enos Hoyt, soon after his arrival in town, caused an office 
 to be established at the Center and the letters were sorted while 
 the relay horses for the stage were being led out. Bradbury Tib- 
 betts served him as clerk. When the doctor moved nearer the 
 village the office was retained by John Mooney, who purchased 
 his house. It was later kept by Benjamin Brown until the com- 
 ing of the cars to Tilton and the discontinuance of stages. 
 
 It was then kept for some years at the store of Isaac Whittier, 
 where the Northfield grocery store now stands. There was an- 
 other over the river, kept by Archibald Clark for 20 consecutive 
 years on the spot where it now is. These were finally united and 
 we find John Taylor in charge in 1843, followed by Amos Jones 
 in 1846 and Benjamin Colby in 1850. It had heretofore been 
 kept in some store in the village. Carlos Clark was chosen in 
 1853, the first Northfield resident to hold the office. 
 
 He was followed by a short term with Bradbury ]\Iorrill in 
 charge. No other resident of the town held the position until the 
 coming of Daniel Emery Hill, whose sketch and portrait are here 
 subjoined. The office was moved to its present location during 
 his term of service. The name was changed to Tilton post office 
 in 1869. • 
 
 IMajor 0. C. Wyatt was the next from Northfield to hold the 
 place. At present, Luther H. Morrill, also from our town, with 
 quarters greatly enlarged and improved, leaves nothing to be 
 desired in the way of efficiency and promptness. ( See portrait. ) 
 
 NORTHFIELD DEPOT POST OFFICE. 
 
 Merrill M. Moore was the first holder of this office. He was a 
 trader and the mail was kept at his store. "When, later, the store 
 was burned, the office was moved to the depot and kept by Amos 
 M. Cogswell, who was also station agent. A store being built 
 later by Leonard Gerrish, he was chosen to fill the office, from 
 whom it passed to Charles Henry Ayers. After some years it 
 was discontinued, but re-established in 1870 by Sumner A. Dow, 
 who conducted it until his removal from town. It was then kept 
 by William C. French for 16 years and has recently been dis- 
 continued, since the region is now covered by two rural delivery 
 routes. 
 
LUTHER H. MORRILL. 
 
DANIEL EMERY HILL. 
 
MISCELLANEOUS. 177 
 
 DANIEL E. HILL. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Daniel Emery Hill, son of John Hill and Mahala Rollins, was born in 
 Northfield, September 7, 1833. He came of Revolutionary stock and 
 his ancestors were among the first settlers of the town, coming here 
 from Salisbury, Mass., in 1780, and settling on Bay Hill. 
 
 On the farm where his father was born Mr. Hill grew to boyhood 
 and was educated in the town district schools and at the old academy, 
 which then stood on Academy Hill, near the site of the seminary of 
 today. 
 
 In the year 1858 Mr. H:ill was united in marriage to Mary Otis 
 Young, daughter of Thomas J. and Ann Kimball Young, and great 
 granddaughter of the Rev. Winthrop Young, for 35 years— from 179C 
 to 1831— pastor of the Free Baptist Church in Canterbury. 
 
 In the ancestral home on Bay Hill the greater part of their married 
 life was spent. For a few years Mr. Hill was connected with the bag- 
 gage department of the Old Colony Railroad, when they resided in 
 Boston. In 1889 Mr. F. B. Shedd of Lowell, Mass., purchased of Mr. 
 Hill his estate on Bay Hill, for a summer residence. 
 
 After an interval of four years, during which time Mr. and Mrs. Hill 
 made an extended stay in California and claimed residence in Concord, 
 they returned to Northfield and purchased of J. G. Davis the residence 
 off Summer Street, where Mrs. Hill now lives. 
 
 Mr. Hill passed away October 2, 1899, after a very brief illness, with 
 heart disease. He was honored by his fellow-townsmen with many 
 positions of public trust. For three terms he served Merrimack 
 County as commissioner and for 10 years filled the office of postmaster 
 of Northfield and Tilton. As a representative of the Republican party, 
 of which he was a staunch supporter, Mr. Hill served his native town 
 in the Legislature of 1897. For more than a score of years he was a 
 devoted member of the Doric Lodge of Masons. 
 
 ANNEXATION TO TILTON, 
 
 A "bill" was presented to the New Hampshire Legislature in 
 1901 by citizens of Tilton and Northfield. a.sking that the "town 
 of Northfield in the county of Merrimack be and hereby is severed 
 from said county and annexed to the towTi of Tilton and made a 
 part of Belknap County." 
 
 Section two provided for all lawsuits then in progress. 
 
 Section three provided for a just division regarding county 
 debts: and other "sections," 12 in all, dealt with paupers, selling 
 town house, schools and other matters of existing alliances, etc. 
 
 This measure was backed by a petition of 45 legal voters, 10 
 of whom were owners of real estate in Northfield and another 
 13 
 
178 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 from the residents of Tilton, containing 93 names. A public 
 meeting of the citizens of Northfield was held and the town 
 authorized Messrs. 0. C. Wyatt and Frank Shaw, two of its 
 selectmen, and a special committee of four, consisting of Albert 
 C. Lord, W. S. Hill, Byron Shaw and Clarence W. Whicher, to 
 vigorously oppose the measure. They were reinforced by a peti- 
 tion containing the names of 215 legal voters and representing 
 property to the value of $400,000. 
 
 Northfield was asked to give up her name and corporate exist- 
 ence and 17,000 acres of territory. Just what the consideration 
 was is not given in the bill, unless it was given in article or section 
 eight, which reads as follows: "All real and personal property, 
 including all debts, uncollected taxes, claims and demands of 
 every kind, now owned by and due to the said town of Northfield 
 shall become the property of the town of Tilton as constituted by 
 this Act but all moneys on hand belonging to said town of North- 
 field and all money collected from outstanding claims, and money 
 received from the sale of the Northfield town house, should it be 
 voted to sell such house, after the payments of debts shall be 
 expended in the territory comprising the to\ra of Northfield as 
 constituted prior to the passage of this Act towards constructing 
 a system of sewers." 
 
 Public meetings were called and private consultations held 
 along the byways and highways. Legislative hearings, with 
 Messrs. Jewett and Plumer of Laconia and Judge W. B. Fellows 
 of Tilton as counsel for the petitioners and Judge Charles F. 
 Stone of Laconia, Sargent & Niles of Concord, Hon. E. B. S. San- 
 born and Barron Shirley as counsel for defendants, debated the 
 case with much warmth and spirit. The committee on towns 
 struggled with the question week after week and finally submitted 
 the bill February 21, 1902, in both majority and minority reports. 
 A majority of seven recommended its passage under a new 
 draft, which asked for the village portion of the town only, which 
 contained 67 per cent, of the whole valuation and 16 miles of 
 highway, leaving the balance of the town with 64 miles of high- 
 way and 33 per cent, of valuation. 
 
 The minority of five, consisting of INIessrs. IMelvin of Lyme, 
 Whiting of Tamworth, Hicks of Colebrook, Jones of New Dur- 
 ham and Andrews of Somersworth, in a report covering three 
 
MISCELLANEOUS. 179 
 
 columns of newspaper print, strenuously opposed the passage of 
 the bill in any form. 
 
 After much debate, on February 27, 1902, it was declared inex- 
 pedient to legislate by a vote of 275 to 33. The outcome caused 
 great rejoicing and many of those who favored the change in the 
 outset retracted their position long before the matter reached its 
 final issue. 
 
 A grand ratification meeting was held on the evening of March 
 7, 1902, and if the enthusiasm shown was any pledge of the love 
 of the citizens for their dear old mother town, Northfield has 
 reason to be proud of her sons and daughters. That she escaped 
 so great a peril adds a keener joy to her Old Home Day festivities. 
 
CHAPTER X. 
 
 CLIMATIC DISTURBANCES AND CASUALTIES. 
 
 Our town has been wonderfully free from climatic disturbances 
 such as have distressed the inhabitants of more favored localities, 
 but a few of minor importance I have deemed worthy of notice. 
 These will be given without chronological order or rank as to 
 importance. 
 
 In 1867 the farm buildings of John G. Brown were destroyed 
 by tire, including one horse, several hogs and 17 head of cattle. 
 Supposed to be of incendiary origin. 
 
 James Batchelder, living on Coos Brook, is supposed to have 
 fallen asleep on the bank while fishing and was drowned. 
 
 January 19, 1876, Taylor & Parker's store, on the site of the 
 present Northfield grocery company's store, with George Baker's 
 printing office, were burned. 
 
 July 3, 1865, a railroad accident occurred near the Winslow 
 crossing, whereby the engine, "Paugus," and a large number of 
 freight cars were completely wrecked and David Ferguson fatally 
 scalded. An excursion to The Weirs the next day was cancelled, 
 as the road was impassable. 
 
 In the spring of 1857 a disastrous fire occurred at Northfield 
 Depot. The wood shed, containing 400 cords of dry wood and 
 many hundred cords outside, together with wood-sawing machin- 
 ery and water tank, were totally destroyed. The fire ran through 
 the field and woods for nearly a mile. 
 
 All trains were delayed for 10 hours, the track being twisted 
 so it was impassable. 
 
 Two sad cases of drowning occurred among the students of the 
 seminary, who were at first allowed sports on the Winnepesaukee. 
 A young man named Tebbetts was drowned at the "steep eddy"' 
 while bathing, and another named Wilkins was carried over the 
 
CASUALTIES. 181 
 
 dam near the upper bridge with a boating party. All but one 
 were rescued. 
 
 "Tom Eoby's train" was derailed near the Forrest crossing 
 one intensely hot day, August, 1881 ( ?), by the spreading of the 
 rails, and Patch Clifford received injuries from which he never 
 fully recovered. 
 
 Samuel T. Holmes' barn was demolished by a cyclone, June 28, 
 1879. 
 
 Samuel Sewall's house on Bay Street burned April 26, 1877. 
 Doubtless an incendiary fire. 
 
 July, 1852, Stockdale was fatally injured in a prema- 
 ture blast in the cut below the village during the construction 
 of the Boston, Concord & Montreal Railroad. Levi Cross also 
 received fatal injuries at the same place. 
 
 Residence of Benjamin Glines struck by lightning, June 17, 
 1898, but escaped destruction. It was burned April 28, 1901. 
 
 Nat. Bean Avas frozen to death during a winter storm. 
 
 Lightning destroyed the farm buildings of Deacon Gardiner 
 S. Abbott, June, 1878. 
 
 Alonzo Collins committed suicide by shooting, February 18, 
 1886. 
 
 The old tan shed on Elm Street, after having been demolished, 
 took fire and was consumed. 
 
 B. F. Cofran's residence was burned the same time, May 27, 
 1875. Both caught from a fire across the river. ]\Ir. and jNIrs. 
 Cofran were absent from home. 
 
 George ^Mason Avas accidentally killed by falling from a load 
 of wood on Bean Hill in 1870. He was teamster for Joseph Dear- 
 born. 
 
 Benjamin Glines' and J. B. Glover's house burned, July, 1879. 
 
 Lightning struck the barn of Warren H. Smith, June, 1878. 
 
 Horace Hicks was instantly killed by being caught in a revolv- 
 ing belt in James Earnshaw's mill and horribly mutilated, in 
 1863 (?). 
 
 Fifield sat down astride a Idtchen chair. His head 
 
 dropped over the .sharp ridge and caused his death by strangula- 
 tion. He lived in East Northfield, near the Canterbury line. 
 
 The tannery near Carter's mill was l)urned, January 15. 1876. 
 
 Su.san ]\Iaria, daughter of David Hills, was fatally burned by 
 her clothing taking fire at an o^en fireplace, October 14, 18-16. 
 
182 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 The residence of E. S. Wadleigh was burned, April 22, 1881. 
 The frame proved to be of white oak. 
 
 Mrs. Mills of Concord died at the home of her daughter, Mrs. 
 Charles Robertson, June, 1879, of hydrophobia. She had been 
 bitten 18 months before. 
 
 Miles Cate fell down the cellar stairs and broke his neck. 
 
 Col. James Cofran's house was blown down while in the process 
 of erection in 185-4. 
 
 Massa H. IMorey committed suicide in 1854 by hanging. 
 
 One of the most serious losses to the town by fire was the burn- 
 ing of the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and' Female Col- 
 lege, November 7, 1862, during a storm of sleet. It was doubtless 
 the work of an incendiary. The blaze started in the southeast 
 corner of the east wing, third story, and progressed very slowly 
 in the face of a high gale. The wreckage burned until Decem- 
 ber 18. 
 
 The Da\dd Hills house at the Center burned May 24, 1885 ; ac- 
 cidental. 
 
 Willie Glines fell 25 feet from a staging on E. S. "Wadleigh's 
 house and received but slight injuries, August 5, 1881. 
 
 Thomas Benton Clark was found drowned near the lower high- 
 way bridge, August 11, 1872. 
 
 Sarah Cross was drowned while bathing in the Merrimack near 
 the Orphans' Home. 
 
 Mary Hall Morrison, aged two, was drowned in a tan pit in 
 1825. 
 
 Elizabeth Nudd was fatally burned from an outdoor fire, April 
 11, 1864. 
 
 Willis and Wallis Glines, twin brothers, were both fatally in- 
 jured by the cars at nearly the same spot. The former, Decem- 
 ber 27, 1899 ; the latter, September 4, 1886. 
 
 The old home of Asa K. Osgood was burned after his death, 
 July 25, 1900. 
 
 The buildings on the Brigham place on the main road Avere 
 burned. 
 
 Willis Carroll was killed on the railroad near the fair grounds, 
 August 23, 1904. 
 
 Charles Alonzo Gile was injured in a carriage accident, Decem- 
 ber 18, 1863, and died from its effects. 
 
CASUALTIES. 183 
 
 The farm buildings of Charles L. Barnard on Bean Hill were 
 totally destroyed by fire, December 13, 1900. 
 
 The Aldrich place was burned. This house was the scene of 
 David Smith's death. He fell from the beams of the barn and 
 broke his neck. 
 
 Job Glines died alone in a small house opposite the Deacon 
 Abbott home; found dead in the cellar. 
 
 Thomas Chase's new house on Arch Hill burned, November, 
 1855. 
 
 ]\Irs. Maud Perry of Tilton killed on the summit while berry- 
 ing. Thrown from her carriage, July, 1905. 
 
 Child of John Cilley killed by a rolling stick of timber ; away 
 from home ; brought home at night. 
 
 The residence of Jeremiah E. Smith on Bay Hill was destroyed 
 by fire, June 18, 1904. 
 
 Carlos Clark perished in a winter storm, January 3, 1861, on 
 the hill south of the Arch. His body was not found until spring. 
 
 The Beckler House was burned, June 21, 1875. 
 
 Mrs. Mahala Evans was killed, October 17, 1852, by the cars as 
 she was rescuing her daughter, a deaf mute, from the same peril, 
 close by her door. 
 
 Mrs. Almena Eiley's farm buildings burned with cattle and 
 horses, June 5, 1903 ; a total loss. 
 
 Tom Glover lived in the Job Glines house by the Abbott's at 
 the foot of Kezar hills. He was found dead at the foot of the 
 cellar stairs, where he had apparently lain a long time. He was 
 from Canterbury. 
 
 The "great September gale" occurred the 23d of the month, 
 1815. The roof was blown from the three-story house of John 
 Moloney, now owned by ]\Iiss Mary Foss, and one story was re- 
 moved when repairs were made. 
 
 "What has always been called the Cold Friday occurred Feb- 
 ruary 19, 1810, with the same fearful phenomenon here as else- 
 where, though no human lives were lost. Cattle lay down shiv- 
 ering in their stalls and Avere covered with hay, and faces and 
 ears were frost-bitten everj^where. 
 
 The 6th of September, 1881, was in Xorthfield, as elsewhere, 
 so dark that lights were needed all day and has passed into his- 
 tory as the Yellow Day. 
 
184 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 September 14, 1882, the residence of Daniel E. Hill was 
 wrecked during a wind storm by the fall of an immense elm tree 
 standing near it. 
 
 The house of Mrs. G. B. Lott was injured in a similar manner 
 in 1904. 
 
 Orlando Howe 's farm buildings burned in the summer of 1902. 
 
 January 24, 1886, a beautiful rainbow was seen in the west at 
 4.30 'clock p. m. 
 
 The stables of W. F. Daniells and Charles Kendrick at the fair 
 grounds were destroyed by fire in 1903. 
 
CHAPTER XI. 
 
 CLUBS AND SOCIETIES. 
 
 NORTHFIELD BRASS BAND. 
 
 About the year 1840 a band was organized in the west part of 
 the town ; its purpose was to furnish music'*for the old-time train- 
 ings and musters and to enliven the many gatherings of its mem- 
 bers and their friends. Capt. William Plummer Cross, though 
 not a musician himself, had charge of the business part of the 
 club and was sent to purchase the needed instruments. Benson 
 Hazelton, Rufus Manuel, William Plummer and the three Pipers 
 made up its membersliip. They were expected to serenade every 
 newly-married couple, near or far away. It existed until its 
 members were scattered. We have no date of its dismember- 
 ment. 
 
 TILTON AND NORTHFIELD CORNET BAND. 
 
 Ten years later, another band was organized at Sanbornton 
 Bridge, under the tutelage of Alonzo Bond of Boston and Henry 
 ]\Ieizner of Tilton. Solon Hill was leader and it became one of 
 the best in the country. This eventually gave place to others, 
 l)ut Xorthfield and the contiguous towns seldom lack good talent 
 that can be called together on short notice. INIr. Tilton has 
 several times encouraged some ambitious company by the gift of 
 instruments and uniforms. There is no organization at the pres- 
 ent time. 
 
 FRIENDSHIP GRANGE. 
 KATE FORREST. 
 
 When the north fields were cut off from Canterbury and be- 
 came an independent townsliip, the grange was a thing unknown, 
 ^lost of the inha])itants of the new town were patrons of the 
 ancient occupation of agriculture, l)ut they did not realize their 
 claim to "precedence over royal dynasties and titles of nobility," 
 and were content to call themselves simply farmers. 
 
186 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD, 
 
 Northfield had reached the respectable age of fourscore years, 
 when the order, "Patrons of Husbandry," was instituted in 1867 
 and had traveled five years beyond the century milestone when 
 the grange idea was planted within its borders. Once having 
 root, however, the new idea grew rapidly and on the night after 
 Christmas in the year 1885 sent out a bud of promise which be- 
 came a fruitful branch of the order, Patrons of Husbandry. The 
 holiday season of peace and goodwill was a fitting time for the 
 organization of a fraternal order, whose name should be called 
 "Friendship," and whose work should be performed in "Faith, 
 Hope and Charity." 
 
 Friendship Grange started out with these 17 charter members : 
 Jason Foss, James N. Forrest, Susan H. Foss, Obe G. IMorrison, 
 Morrill and Lovina Moore, Clarence W. Whicher, Fannie J. 
 Whicher, Mary W., Belle W. and Clyde A. Gile, Lowell M. and 
 Amanda A. French, Joseph J. Prescott, Bertha A. French and 
 Hiram H. and Sarah Cross. Of these, only 13 were present on 
 that first evening, but if any feeling of superstition existed in 
 the mind of any one it was not allowed to interfere with the work 
 in hand, and the organization was duly effected. 
 
 Among the officials present on this occasion were Hon. Nahum 
 J. Bachelder, then secretary of the State Grange, afterwards its " 
 master and, later, governor of New Hampshire ; Emri C. Hutchin- 
 son of Milford; Alfred Colby of Tilton, and W. D. Tuttle of 
 Andover. The first meeting was held in the old brick church, 
 otherwise known as the Northfield town house and, since that 
 night, as the home of the grange. 
 
 Electricity had not then been introduced into the building and 
 a few kerosene lamps and lanterns dimly lighted the large room 
 and shone fitfully upon the earnest faces of the few embryo 
 patrons gathered there. 
 
 The voice of our future governor rose to the vaulted ceiling 
 and mingled with the echoes of fervent exhortations and penny- 
 royal hymns which had ascended in the old meeting days from the 
 high-backed pews, standing in dark rows on either side of the 
 room. Perhaps, the charges given by the future state secretary, 
 Mr. Plutchinson, gained impressiveness from these echoes of the 
 past and the influence of psalm and sermon may have inspired 
 the efficiency with which these officers performed the duties of 
 that difficult first year. 
 
CLUBS AND SOCIETIES. 187 
 
 The first master of Friendship Grange was Jason Foss, with 
 Lowell ]M. French as overseer and James N. F^orrest, lecturer; 
 steward, Hiram H. Cross; assistant steward, Clyde A. Gile; chap- 
 lain, Obe G. Morrison ; treasurer, Clarance W. Whicher ; secre- 
 tary, Belle W. Gile ; gatekeeper, Morrill Moore ; Pomona, Amanda 
 A. French; Flora, Fannie Whicher; and lady assistant steward, 
 Lovina A. Moore. 
 
 George E. Locke was chosen master for the second year and 
 Mr. Foss was re-elected for the third. Lowell M. French, Lucien 
 F. Batchelder, Edwin D. Forrest, Arthur H. Hills, Ned 
 Dearborn, Arthur P. Thomas, Ora G. Ladd, Frank J. Phelps, 
 Arthur U. Lord, J. C. Flanders, vnth Arthur P. Thomas for 190-i 
 and 1905, have in succession filled the chair. Mrs. Maude W. Gil- 
 man has been the only woman to hold the office, in 1899, and dur- 
 ing her term of service the grange saw one of its most prospercfus 
 years. Her associate officers were all women and all, from the 
 master down, took great pride in committing to memory the de- 
 gree work of the order, which made it much more impressive than 
 when read from the ritual. The only prize ever won by this 
 grange for excellence in ritualistic work was during that year. 
 A degree staff, also composed of ladies, was formed during Mrs. 
 Gilman's administration and had the honor of exemplifying the 
 third degree at a special meeting of the State Grange held in 
 Tilton town hall during the Grange State Fair. 
 
 Eight secretaries, all ladies but one and all residents of Xorth- 
 field but three, have handed down to the future the treasured 
 records. 
 
 Fifteen have filled the lecturer's chair, all of whom, with a 
 single exception, have been or are now residents of our town. 
 This office is no sinecure. Upon the faithful discharge of its 
 duties depends in large measure the reputation and success of 
 the grange. Programmes must be arranged to suit the tastes of 
 all and to bring out the peculiar talent of the various members. 
 Important subjects relating to home life, farm life, social life and 
 the many burning questions of the hour nuist be discussed, essays 
 written, declamations learned, grange papers, dramas and songs 
 arranged for. If this order, and especially Friendship Grange, 
 had done nothing more than help its youth to discover their own 
 powers in some of these lines, it need never apologize for its ex- 
 istence. 
 
188 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Its tenth anniversary, December 26, 1895, was an event to be 
 remembered, not only for its inward cheer, but its outward gloom, 
 the weather not only being unpropitious but unseasonable and 
 unreasonable. Rain fell in torrents and the darkness of Erebus 
 was as noonday compared with the blackness of the moonless 
 night. The two neighboring granges invited were there, how- 
 ever, and Hon. Warren F. Daniell of Franklin, John C. Morrison 
 of Boscawen and James E. Shepard of New London. The for- 
 mer contributed a humorous poem to the occasion and the others, 
 addresses. The history of the organization for 10 years was 
 given by Lucien F. Batchelder and some wise prophecies uttered 
 by Miss Bullock, which have proved her a true prophet by since 
 coming true. There was, too, a fine address by Worthy jMaster 
 Ned Dearborn. 
 
 August, 1893, the long-needed grange kitchen was completed 
 and formally dedicated. Its acquisition was a great delight to 
 those who had so patiently endured the discomforts and incon- 
 venience of the old serving room. The town concurring and 
 assisting, the old seats were replaced by suitable chairs, electric 
 lights secured, water put in and a telephone installed. 
 
 The installation of officers has often been made a public service 
 and noted members of the State and National Granges have per- 
 formed the duty. These occasions have always borne their fruit 
 in new applications for membership. The occasional visits of the 
 Pomona are seasons of abundant cheer and the return visits no 
 less cordial, as sociability is one of the prime features of the order. 
 
 During the 20 years of its life Friendship Grange has enrolled 
 on its membership list many scores of names. Jeremiah E. Smith 
 was the first candidate initiated and is still a member in good 
 and regular standing. Some names are now enrolled as members 
 of granges in other towns. 
 
 The pages devoted to the memory of those whose faces are no 
 longer seen among us bear many treasured names of those who 
 obeyed the Great IMaster of the Universe and have gone to join 
 the great company whose work on earth is finished. 
 
 Friendship Grange has passed two decades of existence. It 
 has known vicissitudes — membership has fluctuated, interest has 
 flagged and revived again with the changing seasons, its youthful 
 enthusiasm h^s departed— but through shadow and sunshine it 
 
CLUBS xVND SOCIETIES. 189 
 
 has kept to its course, has held its place in the community and 
 fulfilled the promise of its beginning. 
 
 "Oh! happy grange, thy joys are pure 
 And free from taint of wrong, 
 Thy social seasons cheer our hearts 
 And make our spirits strong. 
 
 "In Faith and Hope we wend our way 
 From out thy sacred hall 
 Thy teachings to exemplify 
 With charity for all." 
 
 N. H. GRANGE FAIR. 
 COL. W. H. STINSON. 
 
 In 1885 the New Hampshire Grange Fair Association was 
 formed under the auspices of the Patrons of Husbandry for the 
 encouragement of agriculture and its kindred branches of domes- 
 tic industry in the state. 
 
 The history of Northfield would be incomplete without mention 
 being made of the series of 1-4 successful fairs held on the Frank- 
 lin and Tilton Driving Park grounds under its auspices, made 
 possible by the marked liberality and interest of the late Charles 
 E. Tilton. These grounds, so admirably located, easily accessible 
 by team or train, were fitted up with all necessary buildings and 
 equipments to meet all the requirements of a first-class fair and 
 its use freely donated to the grange organization. The first fair 
 was held in September, 1886, and was a noted festival and went 
 off with great acclaim. It was a great event, both in exhibit and 
 attendance. It was followed by 13 similar events, but the history 
 of the first one will suffice. 
 
 The novelty of an unadulterated farmer's fair was far reach- 
 ing. Hon. Stilson Hutchins, on opening' day, spoke for ]\Ir. Til- 
 ton, tendering the furnished grounds to the free u.se of the fair 
 association, to which Col. "\V. IT. Stinson, the president, responded, 
 giving expression to the appreciation felt by the association and 
 the grange at large for the remarkable evidence of his generosity 
 and the interest he had taken in providing such a splendid oppor- 
 tunity for the display of practical agriculture. The ^Manchester 
 High School Cadets were present with full ranks during the fair 
 and gave added attraction to the event. 
 
190 HISTORY OF NORTHFEELD. 
 
 On the second day Hon. Mood}^ Currier, governor of the state, 
 with his council and staff, accompanied by United States sen- 
 ators, members of Congress, also candidates for governor and a 
 large crowd of distinguished men from all the departments of 
 the state and representatives of the National Grange with many 
 lady guests, graced the exhibition by their presence. i\Ir. and 
 Mrs. Tilton gave a reception and dinner at the Tilton mansion 
 to a distinguished company at noon. Following this, under escort 
 of the cadets, led by Rublee's Band, the invited guests were 
 escorted to the fair grounds, where addresses were given by the 
 governor and many others. In the evening the Tilton grounds 
 and the charming village were brilliant with illumination; can- 
 non boomed, red lights burned and those who witnessed the 
 event will never forget its splendor. The displays of cattle, 
 horses, sheep, swine, poultry and farm crops were marvels in 
 quantity and quality, while in the domestic department the ladies 
 covered themselves with well-earned glory. 
 
 The 13 following fairs were conducted with the same care 
 and none of the objectionable features of other fairs which con- 
 tributed so much to their unpopularity and discontinuance were 
 allowed. They continued to be an annual festival, appreciated 
 not alone by members of the grange but by agricultural people 
 as well, and they acquired a truly enviable reputation. The 
 best speakers in the state were often heard on its. platform, not 
 least among them being Hon. Napoleon Bryant, who was always 
 warmly greeted not only for his pleasing speech and practical 
 talk, but that he honored the town by choosing one of its accom- 
 plished daughters to preside over his home and rear his children. 
 Much credit was also due the state president and his worthy as- 
 sistant, who later became our honored governor, Hon. Nahum J. 
 Bachelder, both of whom fostered in it the educational element 
 and many speakers of national reputation gave eminent counsel 
 at its gatherings. 
 
 These were a succession of splendid festivals, well ordered and 
 well patronized, the discontinuance of which, in 1900, was greatly 
 regretted. Mr. Tilton Avas, from first to last, its generous pro- 
 moter and we gladly give his portrait and sketch a place in con- 
 nection with it. 
 
CHARLES ELLIOT TILTON. 
 
CLUBS AND SOCIETIES. 191 
 
 HON. CHARLES E. TILTON./ 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Mr. Tilton was a great grandson of Deacon Nathaniel, who came 
 from Strathara, about 1771, to Sanbornton. His son, Jeremiah, erected 
 the first public house on the site of the late Loverin Hotel and was 
 identified with all the improvements of the new country. He was a 
 blacksmith and a busy man, as he believed in home manufactures. He 
 was a Revolutionary soldier and had 11 children. His son, Samuel, 
 married Myra Ames of Canterbury. She is remembered for her lovely 
 character and nobility of mind, and her devotion as wife and mother. 
 
 Charles Elliot Tilton, the subject of this sketch, was their youngest 
 son, born September 14, 1827. He attended the public schools and at 
 15 became a pupil of Prof. Dyer H. Sanborn and was later, for three 
 years, at Norwich (Vt.) Military Academy, a discipline fitting him 
 well for the strenuous life in store for him during the 30 years of 
 intense devotion to business on the Pacific slope. 
 
 He married Louisa Peabody, daughter of Jeremiah and Nancy Carter 
 Tilton, January 11, 1856. They resided in her father's home until the 
 erection of the elegant and spacious home on the heights across the 
 river, in 1SG2 and '63. Much of this time he was engaged in extensive 
 business elsewhere. Two of their three children were born there. 
 (See genealogy, pages 304, 305.) 
 
 He was offered a captain's commission on the breaking out of the 
 Mexican War by Colonel Ransom, but declined it, owing to his parents' 
 non-consent. 
 
 His older brother, Alfred, had been for sometime a merchant in New 
 York City, by whom he was employed for a season. He was not satis- 
 fied with his position there, though prospects of promotion were offered 
 and, leaving everything behind him, visited many of the West India 
 Islands with a view to future business, and prospected the Amazon 
 and Orinoco rivers in canoes with Indian guides, a feat then never 
 before undertaken by white man. It was while prospecting in South 
 America, at Caracas, Maracaybo and Panama, that the news of the dis- 
 covery of gold in California reached him and he determined to hasten 
 thither, as his travels had not been satisfactorily remunerative. He 
 had, however, acquired a valuable knowledge of the Spanish tongue 
 and joined a company of gold hunters from Vermont and was thus 
 enabled to fill the place of purchaser of supplies from the natives. 
 
 No transportation was to be had to San Francisco and he had not 
 sufficient money to purchase a ticket. His brother's reputation in New 
 York, however, secured one for him and, after great hardship and ex- 
 posure, he arrived in San Francisco. 
 
 Mr. Tilton became identified with many enterprises on the coast and 
 frontier and helped open up the Columbia and Willamette rivers to 
 navigation and was one of five to develop the Oregon Railway and 
 Navigation Company. 
 
192 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 
 
 In ISGO he, with W. S. Ladd, his cousin by marriage and a native of 
 Sanbornton Bridge, organized the first banlving-hoiise in Portland, Ore., 
 which acquired a national reputation. He retired from this in 1881. 
 He was interested in several other banking houses and at the same 
 time was engaged in transportation across the plains, furnishing large 
 trains for all points and giving his personal attention to all the details. 
 Every day was full of adventure, but, in spite of malaria, terrific 
 storms and hostile Indians, he accomplished his youthful purpose, 
 after which time he devoted his energies to the care of his large prop- 
 erty and many interests elsewhere, but with home at Tilton, which 
 was named in honor of the Tilton family. 
 
 He made many improvements and his bounty recognized not only 
 the needs of the village but the comfort of the whole, as well as their 
 pleasure. His many benefactions to the town of Northfield will be 
 noticed in detail in their proper place. 
 
 UNION PICNIC ASSOCIATION. 
 
 In the summer of 1875 Mrs. AV. C. French and Willie Keniston 
 invited a company of neighbors and friends to meet in a beautiful 
 shady grove on the bluff east of the railroad station at Northfield 
 Depot and there held a very enjoyable social gathering, inter- 
 spersed with literary exercises, music and a bountiful collation. 
 
 A place more easily accessible was chosen and another held 
 later in the season, at which many were present from all parts 
 of the town. A table 130 feet long liberally supplied and con- 
 taining, as a newspaper article reported, "90 loaves of frosted 
 cake and other things in proportion," was one of the attractive 
 features. There was also a brass band and a squadron of horse 
 containing 25 saddles, and a rare literary treat. 
 
 An association was then formed and the free use of the grove 
 was granted by its owner, William G. Hannaford, and the neces- 
 sary seats and stands erected. Their meetings were held there 
 for many years in succession. Ministers, doctors, lawyers, gov- 
 ernors and congressmen not infrequently occupied the platform 
 and the speeches there made would have claimed attention in 
 the halls of Congress. Home talent was also encouraged and 
 prominence given to the public and Sunday schools. 
 
 The third one held is especially deserving of mention, not only 
 for the presence of Gov. Natt Head, but from the fact that 1,000 
 plates were filled from a hundred-foot table. Laconia Band M^as- 
 in attendance and was remembered with an enormous cake. 
 
 Sometimes, for variety, basket lunches took the place of public: 
 
CHARLES GLINES. 
 
CLUBS AND SOCIETIES. 193 
 
 tables and, later, the gatherings were discontinued every other 
 year. The last one was held in 1896. The Glines reunions on 
 ]\Iount Polly took their place in a measure. Yet, Northfield union 
 picnics are known far and near and were for 21 years a part of 
 the life of the town and as such are deserving a place in her 
 history. 
 
 GLINES FAMILY REUNION. 
 
 This family, one of the largest in town, has gathered for 11 
 years on Mount Polly, where, with other allied families, they 
 have held an annual "feast of reason" and "flow of soul." 
 
 The location, the pine grove as well as its nearness to the rail- 
 roads, where trains have always stopped for their accommodation, 
 renders it an ideal place for such gatherings, and the yearly col- 
 lation is one of its attractive features and it is always eagerly 
 looked forward to by the widely scattered families. 
 
 Rev. Jeremiah S. Jewett and Hon. S. S. Jewett of Laconia are 
 past presidents of the association and I\Irs. J. R. Scales of Concord 
 is secretary. The subjoined sketch and portrait of Mr. Charles 
 Glines, coming too late for insertion in the family record, are 
 gladly accorded a place here. 
 
 CHARLES GLINES. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Charles Glines, youngest son of Job and Mary Dearborn Glines, was 
 born May 24, 1820, on what is known as the Windfall, where he spent 
 the early years of his life. He was employed for several years by the 
 Boston, Concord & Montreal Railroad as a section hand, but the greater 
 part of his life was spent in farming. 
 
 In the spring of 1853 he purchased the Dea. John A. Chamberlain 
 farm in Canterbury, to which he removed and upon which he spent the 
 remainder of his life. October 12, 1853, he married Mary Ann Morse, 
 daughter of Charles and Eunice Lake Morse of Canterbury. To them' 
 were born six children, the youngest only living to maturity. The 
 loss of three children within a month during an epidemic in the spring 
 of I8G3 was to him a blow from which. he never recovered. 
 
 He was gifted with a keen eye for mechanical work and was indus- 
 trious during his long life to a remarkable degree. He cared nothing 
 for politics or public life, but held the respect of his fellow-townsmen 
 for his honesty and uprightness. He took a keen interest in the 
 town of his birth and was a constant and interested attendant at the 
 Glines reunions on Mount Polly. In politics a Democrat, a member of 
 the Free Baptist Church, an honored citizen, he passed away, October 
 14 
 
194 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 20, 1902, and his remains were laid beside those of his wife and children 
 in the Williams Cemetery. 
 
 Leroy Arthur, youngest son of Charles and Mary Ann Glines, was 
 born August 10, 18G7. Married, October 9, 1900, Jessie P. Raymond of 
 Boscawen. Their children are: Raymond, born October 3, 1901, Mary 
 Eunice, born December 4, 1903. Although not active in politics, Mr. 
 Glines has held many positions of trust within the gift of his fellow- 
 townsmen. He was elected a deacon of the Congregational Church, of 
 which he is a loyal member, in 1898, and he held the office continuously 
 until the present (1905). He was secretary and treasurer of the Can- 
 terbury and Boscawen Telephone Company from its beginning in 1896 
 until the present year. At present he is engaged in the lumber business 
 in addition to farming. 
 
 BOARD OF HEALTH. 
 
 Nortlifield established a board of health in 1886. Its duties 
 are the same as those of similar organizations elsewhere, being 
 defined by statute. Each branch is a part of the state board and 
 amenable to it. At first the members were chosen by the citizens 
 in annual meeting; later, in 1898, hy a change in the law, they 
 were appointed by the selectmen, one being appointed each year 
 for a three years' term. The present members are J. E. Smith, 
 George Morrison, with John Senter as chairman. He is com- 
 pleting his tenth year of service. 
 
 woman's club. 
 
 Mrs. Croly, "Jenny June," debarred from the Press Club 
 in New York City, when Charles Dickens was entertained by 
 them, said, "Let the women have a club," and so the first one 
 sprang into existence. Its declaration of principles was the occa- 
 sion of sneers and abusive criticism and failure to o])tain either 
 sympathy or pity. Thus came "Sorosis" and, later, the "North- 
 field and Tilton Woman's Club." If that was the beginning, 
 this is not the end. A movement with such leaders as Julia Ward 
 Howe, Mary A. Livermore, Elizabeth Peabody and Louisa Alcott 
 could not long be unpopular. 
 
 The first clubs had generally for their object the raising of 
 funds for benevolent purposes and INIerrimack County claims to 
 have the earliest in America for any object, the "Female Cent 
 Union," originated by Mrs. ]\IcFarland in Concord. It has now 
 passed its centennary, has grown from a five-dollars income in 
 1805 to $4,000 yearly. 
 
CLUBS AND SOCIETIES. 195 
 
 When the war broke out Soldiers' Aid Societies and Christian 
 Commissions developed a great power for good in many ways, so 
 when there was no longer need of service in war, the energy devel- 
 oped sought other fields of labor and other objects and the present 
 century has come to be called the ' ' Woman 's Age, ' ' for the reason 
 that she has come to the front as never before in the annals of 
 history. A practical writer has said: "There have been notable 
 women in all ages, women who have ruled empires and exerted a 
 powerful influence on government; women who have led armies; 
 or have stood high in literature, art and philanthropy, but il has 
 been accomplished more by individual effort than by the eftort 
 of many." A writer in the Chautauqua said: "America has 
 reason to be proud of her women, and in every walk of life, m 
 every human pursuit, in literature, science and art, in society, on 
 the stage, in every field of human endeavor, American women 
 have shown themselves the peers of American men." 
 
 The Tilton and Northfield AVoman's Club was organized No- 
 vember 16, 1895, and is consequently 10 years of age. Of its 
 33 charter members, 15 were residents of Northfield and thus its 
 right to a place in her annals is assured. Its object was to estab- 
 lish a social center for united thought and action and at the 
 same time to investigate and discuss the many questions not only 
 pertaining to the club but the whole community and the world 
 at large. It swung into line with Mrs. Frances S. Spencer as 
 president; Mrs. ]\Iary E. Boynton as vice-president; Miss Lizzie 
 M. Page as secretary ; Mrs. Sophia T. Rogers, treasurer, and Mrs. 
 Kate C. Hill as auditor. The board of directors consisted of 
 Mrs. Georgia L. Young, Mrs. M. D. R. Baker and ]\Iary M. 
 Emery. 
 
 Its papers for the first year were all given by home talent and 
 covered a wide range of subjects and were very meritorious. 
 The social idea was made prominent and many happy occasions 
 enjoyed. With increase of membership, outside talent was avail- 
 able and the interest greatly increased. The executive committee 
 arranged the programmes and sub-committees had charge of the 
 meetings, thus bringing many into its working force. 
 
 Its musicales have been appreciated and home talent generally 
 encouraged, while "gentleman's night," with its added attraction 
 of dainty costumes and toothsome lunches, has ever been looked 
 
196 HISTORY OP NORTHPIELD. 
 
 forward to by the younger members as tlieir own especial occa- 
 sion, and in spite of all this our mothers and sisters still continue 
 to bake and wash, and nowhere w^ll be found more shining ex- 
 amples of domesticity. 
 
 Mrs. Alice Freese Durgin (recently deceased), Mrs. Kate C. 
 Hill, Mrs. Ellen Crockett, ]\Irs. Georgia L. Young, Mrs. Hannah 
 S. Philbrook, Miss Georgia Page, and Miss Lela G. Durgin have 
 filled its chair with honor and profit to the club. As to results, 
 it is acknowledged to have broken down many of the old walls 
 of church and class prejudice and been the occasion of pleasant 
 and profitable friendships, and is one of the agencies which is 
 bringing in "the kingdom." 
 
CHAPTER XII. 
 
 ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 
 
 THE ISLAND. 
 
 One of the most pleasing ornaments of our town is the little 
 island in the Winnepesaiikee River at the east of INIain Street. 
 It was at first of small size. In 1847 Solomon ]\IcNeil Wilson, 
 relative of the Ingalls brothers, artists at Sanbornton Square, 
 seeing possibilities in the location for a studio, engaged Warren 
 H. Smith, who was then constructing the railroad through the 
 deep cut in the village, to construct a temporary bridge or way 
 across the river and deposit their superfluous grade there to the 
 value of $50. This was done; but ]Mr. Wilson had then made 
 other plans and, receiving no compensation, ]Mr. Smith took the 
 land which he sold later to Jeremith Tilton. When it became, 
 with the mill, the property of James Bailey, he constructed a 
 cable bridge to it from the east shore and used it as a drying 
 place for his cloth and, later, as a vegetable garden. When the 
 canal to this mill was widened and deepened the superfluous soil 
 was added to it and, later, a similar enlargement added still 
 more to its size. 
 
 Mr. Bailey sold it in 1865 to Hon. C. E. Tilton, who at first 
 erected a wooden bridge, to be followed later by the present iron 
 one. A bank wall w^as constructed around it, the surface raised 
 and a fine summer house erected and other attractive features 
 added. It has not only been a thing of beauty but a joy forever 
 to those who have found a real place of rest in its coolness and 
 shade. It is wholly within the limits of Northfield. The design 
 for the summer house was taken from one at the Vienna Exposi- 
 tion, plans being drawn on the spot while the "Bee Hive" on the 
 top is d la Brigham Young. 
 
198 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 MEMORIAL ARCH. 
 (See picture.) 
 
 Tilton Memorial Arch is a copy of the one erected in ancient 
 Rome in the year 79 in honor of the Emperor Titns and is one 
 of three similar structures leading from the Palatine Hill to 
 the Coliseum at the foot of the hill. It was erected after his 
 death to commemorate his conquest of Judea. Its ornamentation 
 represents his victorious return and the spoils he brought are 
 represented on it. 
 
 Our arch is located on an eminence 150 feet above the river 
 and commands a varied and extensive vicAv. It is of ]\e^^m Con- 
 cord granite, 55 feet high and 40 feet wide. Between the col- 
 umns of the arch is a device in Scotch granite bearing up a Nu- 
 midian lion, the pedestal and figure weighing 50 tons, which 
 bears this inscription : 
 
 Tilton 1883 
 
 On each end of the keystone is also this inscription : 
 
 "Memorial Arch of Tilton 1882" 
 
 It was erected as a tribute to the memory of the Tilton family 
 by their appreciative descendant, Hon. Charles E. Tilton. It 
 stands in the midst of well-kept grounds, directly facing his late 
 home across the river, and comprises a dozen acres and is illu- 
 minated by four gas lamps of elaborate design. It is not only a 
 constant joy to those living near it but it is visited by large num- 
 bers of people from all parts of the country. The foundation 
 extends 16 feet below the surface and is of the most perfect 
 construction. The plan was made by the late Edward Dow of 
 Concord and Leonard Conant had charge of the construction, 
 with Daniel Donovan of Concord as expert stone-worker. 
 
 old UOME day, 1901. 
 
 (See group picture.) 
 
 Northfield celebrated its first Old Home Day, Wednesday, 
 August 21, 1901. The event had been anticipated and funds 
 appropriated at its annual meeting. Circulars of invitation had 
 been sent out bearing the following invitation : 
 
 "The Northfield, N. H., Old Home Week Committee cordially 
 invite you to unite with them in the observance of 
 
Oh 
 O 
 
w 
 
 o 
 
 1-:; 
 
 I— ( 
 
 P5 
 O 
 
 o 
 
 H 
 
 I— I 
 
 H 
 
ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIV.VLS. 199 
 
 Old Home Week, 
 
 August 17 to August 24, 1901, 
 
 and especially to be present at the public exercises in the Con- 
 gregational Church (1794) at the fair grounds on Northfield Old 
 Home Day, Wednesday, August 21. 
 
 "Very respectfully, 
 
 "Miss Kate Forrest, 
 "Mrs. Carrie B. Morrison, 
 "J. E. Smith, 
 "0. C. Wyatt, 
 "Frank French, 
 "E. J. Young." 
 
 One saw the sure promise of abundant success in names of 
 those chosen to arrange the exercises of the day and the event 
 more than fulfilled the promise. 
 
 The response to this was gratifying and the presence of so 
 many gave great satisfaction to those who had the matter in 
 charge. 
 
 The newspaper reporter said of the occasion : 
 
 All roads led to the fair grounds on that day, and all the 
 morning trains brought new visitors to swell the large number 
 already shaking bauds and recalling old times together. 
 
 At half past ten the greater part of those present repaired to 
 the old church, where the literary exercises were to take place. 
 Here in this venerable structure, which has witnessed the chang- 
 ing scenes of more than a century, were gathered some who had 
 seen it in its prime and worshipped beneath its roof; others to 
 whom it was a new and novel sight, still others w'ho remembered 
 it as the neglected and decaying structure where town meetings 
 were held, and where the winds of winter held carnival. On this 
 day, restored to something of its former glory, brightly decorated 
 with streamers of red, white and blue, filled with happy faces, 
 the old church looked as if it had found itself again and seemed 
 entirely in keeping with the occasion. Above the ancient pulpit 
 the face of the honored ex-Governor, Frank West Rollins, looked 
 down benignly upon the people whom his happj' thought had 
 caused to assemble there. Decorations of golden-rod added to the 
 brightness and beauty of the scene. When the president of the 
 day called to order, he said that he disliked to break in upon the 
 
200 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 sociability of the occasion, but a long programme had been pre- 
 pared, for which there was too little time. After a few appro- 
 priate remarks, he announced as the first number a song b^^ the 
 Shaker ladies' quartette of Canterbury. The sweet-voiced sisters 
 rendered the "Old Oaken Bucket" and nothing could have been 
 more timely. The Rev. C. C. Sampson was then called upon to 
 offer prayer. He stood in the high pulpit and once more the old 
 sounding-board echoed words of devotion. 
 
 Letters were read from Gov. Chester B. Jordan; Hon. Napo- 
 leon B. Bryant, who was unable to be present on account of the 
 celebration at Andover the same day; and from the Rev. B. A. 
 Rogers of Houston, Tex., a son of Northfield, who sent a letter 
 of interesting reminiscences in response to his invitation. Next 
 came a solo by Mrs. Emma Carleton Parker of Franklin, whose 
 mother sang in the choir of that very church in the years gone by. 
 Mrs. Parker's song, "Home Again," was very appropriate and 
 touching. 
 
 The pavilion with its long tables, adorned with flowers, loaded 
 with viands, and waited upon by a corps of ready and efficient 
 attendants was the place toward which all turned during the in- 
 termission, and here fully 300 people were entertained in a man- 
 ner which appeared to be entirely satisfactory. If "chatted food 
 is half digested food, ' ' then this should not have been a dyspeptic- 
 making occasion. The social spirit of the day was so fully in the 
 ascendancy at this time that it was hard for the people to stop 
 talking, and it was nearly two o'clock when the president again 
 called to order. The church was thronged at this session and 
 many were unable to gain entrance. Probably 600 people lis- 
 tened to a part of the exercises and it is not too great an estimate 
 to say that very nearly 1,000 people were on the grounds during 
 the afternoon. A solo by IVIrs. Alida Cogswell True very charm- 
 ingly opened the programme, after which Prof. Craven Laycoek of 
 Dartmouth College was introduced as an adopted son of North- 
 Held (a son-in-law would, perhaps, be more appropriate), and 
 spoke for a few minutes wittily and eloquently upon subjects 
 near to every heart. Another selection by the Shakers was 
 followed by the speaker of the day. Col. "William A. Gile of Wor- 
 cester, Mass., whose address was all it was expected to be — elo- 
 quent, reminiscent, inspiring. Colonel Gile, who is one of the 
 legal lights of his adopted state, was born in that part of North- 
 
ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 201 
 
 field afterwards talven possession of by Franklin. He spoke of 
 having cast his vote for town officers in the place where he was 
 then speaking, and recalled some of the old town-meeting-day 
 scenes. He drew a vivid picture of the district school of the olden 
 time, as he experienced it in the Hodgdon district under the 
 tuition of James N. Forrest. A eulogy upon the present govern- 
 ment of the United States and some amusing stories composed 
 part of this address, which we would gladly give in full did space 
 permit. Mrs. Parker 's sweet voice was heard again at this point, 
 after which Hon. James 0. Lyford was called upon. He re- 
 sponded in his usual happy manner and kept his audience pleased 
 for 15 or 20 minutes. A violin solo by Mr. Bryant came next, 
 and then Mrs. Lucy R. H. Cross, Northfield's "poet-historian," 
 was introduced. She mounted the pulpit stairs and stood where 
 no woman would have been allowed to stand and speak 100 years 
 ago. She read an original poem, descriptive of the old church in 
 its palmy days, and then spoke for several minutes upon the sub- 
 ject of home and its association. Quotations from the poets and 
 original verses made her address beautiful and appropriate. Dr. 
 Dearborn of Nashua, an aged man, spoke briefly. The exerci.ses 
 were fittingly closed with a selection by the Shaker quartette, 
 ^'Tenting Tonight," which was encored. The company then 
 separated with many expressions of satisfaction over the success 
 of the day and the pleasure which it had afforded them, and on 
 every side was heard the remark that Old Home Day would cer- 
 tainly be repeated next year. 
 
 The Tilton Cornet Band furnished music on the grounds. 
 
 OLD HOMK DAY. lOO.j. 
 
 Although the first Old Home Day in 1901 left nothing to be 
 desired by way of attendance, cordiality or literary feast, the an- 
 ticipated gathering in 1905 had a deeper significance, since it was 
 to be in part a celebration of the one hundred and twenty-fifth 
 anniversary, postponed from the date of its organization, June 
 17. The same loving and unanimous interest prevailed as on 
 the former occasion, and the forces, under the leadership of 
 Mrs. Ella Nelson, chairman of the woman's board, and Mi.ss 
 Mary E. Foss, secretary, with their able assistants, left nothing 
 undone in the line of culinary triumphs and literary feast. Let 
 it here be said that Northfield women are never found wanting 
 
202 HISTORY OP NORTHPIELD. 
 
 when occasion calls. ^lajor Wyatt, as presidins: officer of the 
 day, and Messrs. Shaw, Hills, Chase, French and Robertson were 
 equal to all other requirements, and the day — August 24 — arrived 
 with no doubts and passed, leaving no regrets. 
 
 The old church had been made beautiful with bunting and 
 flowers and the day was all that could be wished. It was hard to 
 call the chatting crowd to silence for the well-arranged pro- 
 gramme, much of which is herewith given. 
 
 The Cecilia Quartette of Franklin; the soloists, old and young; 
 with Kempl's Orchestra left nothing to be desired in the musical 
 line. The short and graceful address of Col. Thomas Dearborn 
 of Dover was well received. Mr. Dearborn has never before ad- 
 dressed the gatherings of his native town. He took for his theme 
 ''Home," the foundation of all society, and "neighborhood," the 
 real center around which the world revolves. His thoughts were 
 reminiscent and his words graceful and forceful. He made a 
 happy allusion to the sentiment on the tombstone of one of New 
 Hampshire 's most brilliant men, one who had raised himself from 
 obscurity to be one of the leading jurists of the day, viz.: "The 
 true touch-stone of civil liberty is not that all men are equal, but 
 rather that every man may become the equal of any man if lie 
 can." Were we born equal, there Avould be no incentive. We 
 must struggle to be equal and then for supremacy. The fact 
 that one has fought to excel is sure to bring out what is best, and 
 this is what the world calls success in life. He closed with the 
 following sentiment : ' ' ^lay the rising generation, to whom the 
 future affairs of this old town will ere long be entrusted, ever 
 maintain her honor and protect her boundary lines. ' ' 
 
 JNIrs. Nellie Oliver Shaw gave a semi-humorous paper, in which 
 she addressed herself to the returning sons and daughters in the 
 following graceful words : 
 
 What a numerous family is gathered in response to IMother 
 Northfield's invitation to celebrate her birthday; sons and 
 daughters, sons-in-law and daughters-in-law, step-sons and daugh- 
 ters and children by adoption ; also, the usual number of grand- 
 children, all gathered with union of sentiment, resolved to make 
 this a gala day which will linger in memory as one of the happiest 
 occasions in our lifetime. It needed no beacon lights on the hills 
 to guide the children home, though their appearance indicated 
 good cheer and a hearty welcome to all. As we turned the key 
 
ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 203 
 
 in the door of our homes today, we fastened life's cares all inside 
 and came in the spirit of a troop of happy children, invited out 
 for a play-day. 
 
 Hands will be clasped today which have been severed for years 
 and, as old friends meet, their thoughts instinctively fly to the 
 home of childhood which, in many instances, has greatly changed 
 in the passing years, yet the mental vision sees it the same as in 
 the sweet long ago. In their hearts it is a spot where the sun- 
 shine was brighter, the well-water cooler and the birds' carol 
 sweeter than elsewhere. * * * 
 
 If to bear life's burdens cheerfully, discharge its duties faith- 
 fully, to be contented in the sphere in which the higher power 
 has placed them, never beating against the bars, is to ])e great, 
 this town has produced some noble women. The diploma with 
 the seal of some famous institution transfixed is to be prized, 
 certainly, as it certifies to the fidelity with Avhich its owner has 
 pursued a certain course of study, but it is of less value than the 
 document, angel-recorded, which an illiterate woman sometimes 
 earns, and on which our Lord has written, ''She hath done what 
 she could." 
 
 One hundred and twenty-five years old ! By no stretch of im- 
 agination can we picture Northfield in its baby existence. The 
 struggles to maintain the right of a township are all unknown to 
 us, yet we appreciate all that our ancestors did to make this town 
 a desirable location for a home, and that it has many attractions 
 is evident from the fact that other towns have petitioned for some 
 of her fair lands and on several occasions she has responded with 
 generosity. 
 
 While we would not give a melancholy shade to this happy day, 
 it is proper to give a few thoughts to the loved friend* so recently 
 called to rest; also to thase who once made sunshine in the homes 
 of our childhood. On the bright shore of the Eternal River they 
 wait for us and today we may wander, perhaps, to that Silent 
 City where their hallowed dust i-eposes, as thus we muse: "Oh, 
 City of Rested Hearts and Folded Hands! Over against your 
 walls no cares shall gather like an army with lances all unsheathed 
 — for you no broken dreams, no vain regrets. Your inhabitants 
 shall never say the day is long and I am weary, or the road is 
 
 •Kate Hills. 
 
204 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 rough and my courage far spent, but in every sense their repose 
 is true rest." 
 
 ]\Ir. Samuel Warren Forrest, one of Northfield 's returning sons, 
 now master in chancery in Massachusetts, spoke on "Grit," not 
 only of the sort which filled his shoes as he guided the plow be- 
 tween the rocks on the home farm in East Northfield, but the 
 grit, the intentness of purpose, which everybody must have to 
 amount to anything in these days of fierce competition and stren- 
 uous life. 
 
 After a reminiscent speech by Hon. W. A. Gile of Worcester, 
 Mass., who was the orator of the day in 1901, and a timely paper 
 from Prof. Lucian • Hunt, came the eloquent address of Hon. 
 James 0. Lyford, an able son of our mother Canterbury, Avho 
 has on several previous festal occasions entertained and in- 
 structed us. Mr. Lyford was for some years a factor in the 
 business life of Northfield and always practically interested in 
 her welfare. He has generously given it entire for publication 
 and I earnestly commend its noble sentiments to the careful con- 
 sideration of the boys and business men of the future. 
 
 ADDRESS OF HON. JAMES 0. LYFORD. 
 
 Fellow Citizens of Northfield: 
 
 I desire to express to you my deep appreciation of your invi- 
 tation to deliver the address at this anniversary. I can but regard 
 it as the survival of that friendly interest so often shown to me 
 by the people of Northfield in days that are past. It is now 
 nearly a quarter of a century since I had neighborly association 
 with the citizens of this town. At the time of my residence in this 
 community, I could call by name most, if not all, of the citizens 
 of Northfield. As I look about me today, I miss many familiar 
 faces. They are the faces of those whose generous greeting and 
 helpful spirit encouraged me in my undertakings. They and 
 others who still survive were the friends of my youth and early 
 manhood, and there is no friendship more dear. 
 
 I should have preferred to appear here today as a former neigh- 
 bor and friend and speak to you in a reminiscent vein, recalling 
 incidents within the memory of many of us which contributed to 
 the pleasure of our association. I should like to acknowledge 
 my personal obligations to such men as your chairman, Otis C. 
 Wyatt, to Jeremiah E. Smith, Charles P. Herrick, A. B. Winslow 
 
JAMES (). FAFORD. 
 
ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS, 205 
 
 and others of the living, to James N. Forrest, Isaac Mooney, 
 Franklin J. Eastman and their contemporaries who have passed 
 away, and tell you how much their friendship meant to me in the 
 past and how pleasant is the recollection of it in the present. As 
 a practising lawyer, my first client was a respected citizen of this 
 town. If I mistake not, I performed the last legal service he re- 
 quired when I drew his will. His sincere regard for my welfare 
 continued until his death. Another citizen of Northfield signed 
 my first official bond, and there is no better evidence of friend- 
 ship. From time to time others responded to calls of mine with 
 a cheerfulness which admits of no misinterpretation. 
 
 I should like to individualize and give a just estimate of the 
 men of Northfield in my time, but any inadvertent omission would 
 mar the tribute I wish to pay to all and which is justly due to all. 
 They were men of character and purpose, strong in rugged hon- 
 esty, clear in their conception of duty, public-spirited citizens, 
 and an honor to any community. They were faithful to the 
 trusts, public or private, given to their keeping. They had a 
 pride in their town and managed its affairs with the same scru- 
 pulous care that they did their own. As I think of the leading 
 men of both Northfield and the mother town of Canterbury in 
 those days, I am glad to acknowledge my indebtedness to the in- 
 fluence they exerted by precept and example upon the young 
 men of the towns. 
 
 This occasion commemorates the one hundred and twenty-fifth 
 anniversary of the incorporation of Northfield as a separate 
 municipality. The birth of tliis town preceded by a little more 
 than a year the battle of Yorktown. Your history as a town, 
 therefore, covers the period of our national development and 
 growth as a people. The first settlers of Northfield gave freely 
 of their blood and treasure to win our independence. They as- 
 sisted in the formation of a federal government, and they and 
 their descendants have participated in all the stirring events 
 whieli have contributed to the glory and grandeur of the republic. 
 Northfield, therefore, shares with the older New England com- 
 munities the distinction of helping from the beginning in the 
 building of a nation. Iler sons and her daughters, at home and 
 abroad, have had their part in that onward movement which 
 brought these United States in a little more than a century from 
 the weakest of governments to the greatest of world powers. 
 
206 HISTORY OF NORTHFEELD, 
 
 The spirit which prompted the republic to celebrate its cen- 
 tennials is now moving the towns to appropriately observe their 
 anniversaries. There is no greater service we can render town, 
 state or nation than to commemorate the trials, the travail and the 
 sacrifices out of which the republic was born. We shall not de- 
 part far from the precepts of the fathers if we have constantly 
 in mind their example. In the honor paid to the past comes in- 
 struction for the present. 
 
 This occasion, besides being an anniversary, marks the com- 
 pletion of a narrative history of the town of Northfield. This 
 work of preserving in permanent form the records of the town- 
 ship, the achievements of its settlers and their descendants, the 
 patriotism and civic virtue of its citizens, the important events 
 interwoven with their lives, the story of their trials, tribulations 
 and trumphs is a work of your initiative, being your tribute to 
 the past and your contribution to the future. I congratulate you, 
 citizens of Northfield, on the public spirit which has prompted 
 and carried forward this undertaking, and I give you merited 
 praise for the service you have rendered to posterity. 
 
 It has been my privilege to read in advance of its publication 
 a part of this narrative, and I gladly commend the excellent and 
 conscientious work of the historian, Mrs. Lucy R. H. Cross. The 
 writing of history is largely a labor of love, for there is seldom 
 financial return adequate to the time consumed in its prepara- 
 tion. With a fidelity born of an affectionate regard for the town 
 of Northfield and its people, Mrs. Cross has performed the duty 
 you have assigned to her, and I confidently predict that your 
 verdict on her stewardship will be, ' ' Well done, good and faithful 
 servant. ' ' 
 
 If Northfield has given birth to no president, United States 
 senator, governor or other eminent public man, she has at least 
 produced her share of that type of citizens who in all crises form 
 the strong bulwark of the republic. She can rightly boast of the 
 number of her sturdy and patriotic sons. The war rolls of the 
 United States, from the time of the Revolution to our last con- 
 flict, testify to the patriotism of her people, while her progress 
 in the arts of peace is evidence of the civic pride of her citizens. 
 One distinguished citizen does not make a community, however 
 much his fame may draw attention to the place of his nativity. 
 A town or city stands for what the average intelligence and moral 
 
ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 207 
 
 stamina of its people make it. As you read the history of North- 
 field, you will find that her people have borne their share of the 
 public burdens, met every emergency with courage and fortitude, 
 kept pace Avith the march of improvement and builded a little 
 better with each succeeding generation. 
 
 What is life after all but this, a rising on our dead selves to 
 better things, a progress where the average man sees clearer, 
 thinks more sanely, lives more righteously and is more charitable 
 to his fellow men ? Says a Avriter of repute, ' ' The growing good 
 of the world is partly dependent on nnhistoric acts, and that 
 things are not so ill with you and me as they might have been is 
 half owing to the number of those who lived a faithful and hidden 
 life and rest in unvisited tombs." The modern historian has 
 recognized this in that he has written of the common people quite 
 as much as of their leaders, bringing out strongly the influence 
 of the people on the march of events. Lincoln had faith in the 
 plain people and they never failed him in his hour of trial. 
 Leaders who should have sustained him often wavered, but the 
 intelligence and good sense of the people of the towns of which 
 Northfield is a type, reasoning among themselves, decreed that Iig' 
 was right. Oftentimes the people have moved faster than the 
 leaders, and throughout our history the influence of the "little 
 republics of New England," as our towns are sometimes called, 
 has shaped the destiny of the nation. 
 
 There were two prominent citizens of Northfield to whose lives 
 I wish briefly to refer. They were men whom I knew when a 
 student at the seminary across the river but who had passed away 
 before the time of my activity here. These men were Col. Asa P. 
 Gate and the Rev. JNL A. Herrick. Both lived the best part of 
 their lives among the people of Northfield, one as a lawyer and 
 public man, the other as a clergyman. 
 
 Colonel Cate Avas the legal adviser of individuals and business 
 interests for many miles about here. Although largely an office 
 lawyer, his counsel was sought far and wide. Except that the 
 transactions were not so large, Colonel Cate was confronted with 
 the same problems that face a successful attorney in our large 
 business centei's. lie had opportunities to advise clients how they 
 could keep within the letter of the law while avoiding its spirit, 
 how to make money and yet avoid the consequences of wrong- 
 doing. 8ueh advice in the business world yields both direct and 
 
208 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 indirect returns to the constructive lawyer, for, beyond his fee^ 
 is his inside information for making investments. Yet no client 
 ever received aid from Colonel Gate in any undertaking that de- 
 frauded an unsuspecting public through sharp practice or sinis- 
 ter methods. Beyond his duty to his client lay his duty to his 
 fellow men. In every position of trust, and he held many, he was 
 guided by a scrupulous honesty which secured and held the con- 
 fidence of his fellow citizens. He prevented litigation ; he settled 
 out of court, the troubles of neighbors; he advised always the 
 straight and narrow path, and all to his own financial detriment. 
 Was his life a success ? Yes, in every sense of the word, for the 
 whole community was the better for his having lived in it. His 
 name will be remembered wdth gratitude long after the names of 
 those more strikingly prominent are forgotten, or remembered 
 only for the wrong they suffered to be done. 
 
 Dr. Herrick came here to establish a parish of the Episcopal 
 Church. Student and scholar, ripe in general information^ 
 possessing the respect of his associates in the ministry for his 
 ability, his talents could have commanded a larger and more 
 profitable field of labor. He chose, however, to abide with the 
 people with whom his lot had been cast. With a cheerful, hopeful 
 spirit he accepted all the privations incident to a small and strug- 
 gling parish. No w^ord of discontent or complaint ever passed 
 his lips. When the parish undertook to have a church of its own, 
 half of his meagre salary was only a part of his contribution to 
 the enterprise. This sacrifice on his part was not blazoned forth 
 in the public press. It is even doubtful if it were known to all 
 of his congregation, but I say to you that it counted more for 
 righteousness than any millions of tainted money. Dr. Herrick 's 
 life was an example of the simple life, yet no one can say that it 
 was not full and complete even if it w'ere circumscribed. 
 
 It is such lives as those of Colonel Cate and Dr. Herrick that 
 create and perpetuate a healthy public sentiment and transmit 
 high ideals from generation to generation. Their labors are un- 
 historie, and their tombs are unvisited, but the silent influence 
 of their example is more potent for good than the recorded bene- 
 factions of men who give from a dishonest exchequer. While we 
 continue to have such men, and they are not uncommon in our 
 day, we need have no fear for the republic. 
 
 II 
 
ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 209 
 
 The mother town of Canterbiuy and her daughter, Northfield, 
 have had close association since their separation one hundred and 
 twenty-five years ago. The similarity of names in the two towns 
 indicates much common ancestry. With Canterbury I was more 
 intimately ac(iuainted, as it was the home of my ancestors and 
 for several years my place of residence. What I could say of the 
 influential people of that town would be equally applicable to the 
 influential people of Northfield. I recall many men and women 
 of both towns, not conspicuous in public affairs, whose Avell 
 ordered lives, neighborly benefactions and constant sacrifice con- 
 tributed in no small degree to the well-being of the community. 
 Their daily deeds were no less heroic because unrecorded. They 
 were the moral fibre of the towns in which they resided. They 
 were the leaven of the whole loaf. Their silent influence reached 
 out through succeeding generations. While it is impracticable to 
 particularize their part in the constructive work of these towns, 
 it was nevertheless as important in the aggregate as was that of 
 those whose names adorn the pages of history. What New Eng- 
 land is and has been she owes to the patient work of the fathers 
 and mothers of such towns as Northfield and Canterbury, men 
 and women whose uneventful careers were cheered by no public 
 recognition, but who were content to reap reward in their gift 
 to posterity of sons and daughters reared to lives of activity and 
 usefulness. As we do honor to those w^hose lofty aspirations and 
 great endeavors have evoked the plaudits of mankind, we should 
 never be unmindful of that greater number, whose daily minis- 
 trations, creating neither present nor posthumous fame, have 
 given to the nation her highest type of citizenship. 
 
 As you recall with me the men and women of such Northfield 
 families of my time as the Abbotts, the Ayers, the Cofrans, the 
 Cloughs, the Chases, the Currys, the Dearborns, the Eastmans, 
 the Forrests, the Fletchers, the Fosses, the Giles, the Glineses, 
 the Gorrells, the ITerricks, the Hills, the Mooneys, the Philbricks, 
 the Smiths, the Tibbetts, the Whitchers, the Winslows and the 
 Wyatts, you will readily subscribe to their sterling worth and 
 credit them with their part in the making of the town. The 
 story of their Ifves is not recorded on the printed page, but they 
 were the uplift of the community. They freely gave that others 
 might receive. The impress they made upon their time is felt 
 even unto this day. 
 
 15 
 
210 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Across the river from this town is Tilton Seminary. It was 
 born on Northfield soil and cradled in its infancy and youth by 
 the loving care of the people of this community. Few there are 
 today who appreciate the work of the New England academies of 
 the last century. Erected by the self-sacrifice of a pious people, 
 representing the hopes and aspirations of some religious denom- 
 ination, often without endowment, supported almost solely by the 
 tuition of students, they sent forth in the world, not only well- 
 trained scholars, but well-moulded men and women. Their in- 
 fluence not only reached out to all parts of the country where the 
 students settled, but it related back to the towns from which the 
 students came They builded character. The young men and 
 young w^omen who w^ent out from these institutions were inspired 
 by lofty ideals. They represented the highest type of New Eng- 
 land manhood and womanhood. They in turn helped to mould 
 a healthy public opinion. Their influence is felt today as it 
 spreads out here and there all over the land where the people 
 are aroused to protest against public and private wrongs. If 
 Northfield had done nothing more than start one of these acad- 
 emies on its important career, more than one community, helped 
 by the influence of Tilton Seminary, should hold the town in 
 grateful remembrance. 
 
 The history of no New England town is complete in the mere 
 record of the achievements of its citizens. Most prodigally have 
 they contributed their sons and daughters to the settlement and 
 development of the vast area of this country beyond our New 
 England boundaries. Fiske, the historian, says that the 26,000 
 New Engianders of 1640 have increased in 250 years to 15,000,- 
 000, or one fifth of the population of the United States at the 
 time of this writing. William Stoughton, in his Election Sermon 
 of 1688, said of the people of New England at that time, "God 
 sifted a whole nation (England) that he might send choice grain 
 into a wilderness." More than a century later another sifting 
 came, that choice grain might be sent into the contiguous wilder- 
 ness of the West. Northfield has had her share in this vast emi- 
 gration, an emigration that has carried to the West, along with the 
 bone and sinew of the East, the traditions and early teachings 
 of New England. Today the New England conscience awakens 
 as well in New York, Philadelphia, Missouri, Wisconsin and 
 Colorado as it does in New Hampshire and Massachusetts. 
 
ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIViVLS. 211 
 
 It is somewhat common in our time to belittle the New England 
 character and to condemn the stern attitude of our ancestors in 
 meting out punishment to wrongdoers. It is true they were strict 
 in their code of life, frowning with severity upon violations of 
 the civil and the moral law, and little did they temper justice 
 with mercy. Yet it is the survival of their rugged honestly, tem- 
 pered as it is now by broader views of life, which in the present 
 age constitutes the public conscience that is demanding the ex- 
 posure and punishment of all forms of graft in political and 
 business life. 
 
 We have had of late revelations of Avrongdoing startling in 
 their chai"aeter. Public servants holding responsible positions 
 have been shown unfaithful to the trusts imposed upon them. 
 Men successful in business, honored bj' the confidence of their 
 fellow citizens, holding positions as trustees and directors in in- 
 stitutions where are gathered the savings of the people, have 
 proved unfaithful or criminallj^ negligent in the discharge of 
 their duty. A great insurance company, chartered for the benefit 
 of the widow and orphan, under the management of men eminent 
 in business and public life, has been exploited to enrich its lead- 
 ing officers. Names once synonymous of business integrity and 
 square dealing are now smirched with the taint of dishonor. 
 Men prominent in the financial world have lent themselves to 
 business projects which have robbed the public while enriching 
 the promoters. A society newspaper in New York is involved 
 in a scandal of blackmail to extort from the newly-rich of the 
 metropolis large sums of money to give them standing in the 
 social world or prevent the publication of scandal. From $500 
 to $10,000 have been drawn from individuals ambitious for social 
 distinction, and the publication of their names shows that it is 
 not alone the unsophisticated countryman who is the victim of the 
 bunco game. 
 
 It is not a pleasant picture that is portrayed in the newspapers 
 and magazines of the mad rush for wealth and distinction and the 
 methods employed to obtain them. The revelations would be 
 discouraging were it not that the public conscience is quick to 
 condemn and earnest that prosecution and punishment should 
 follow wrongdoing. I speak in no pessimistic mood, for this old 
 world wags much the same in all eras. Our past history is full 
 of departures from the straight and narrow path. "We are more 
 
212 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 conversant today Avith what is going on abont lis than were our 
 ancestors, because of our greater facilities for obtaining informa- 
 tion. There is not more evil in the w^orlcl. AVe are simply more 
 conscious of its existence. The duty and responsibility for cor- 
 recting w^rong, however, are no less pressing. 
 
 In a republic like ours, the seat of all power and the tribunal 
 of final resort for redressing wrong are the people. The stream 
 W'ill not rise higher than its source. Our government, national, 
 state and local, our code of business morals and our social fabric 
 will be what the people make it. The homely maxims about 
 honesty, industry, thrift, virtue and content, maxims which 
 guided our New England ancestors, are as applicable today as 
 they were a century ago. Among all that striking company who 
 of late have been involved in irregular or illegitimate business 
 transactions, what one would not today gladly exchange places 
 with him who has led a simpler life 1 
 
 We of this generation have witnessed great changes in the 
 methods of doing business. The individual and the partnership 
 are giving place to the corporation in all lines of activit5\ With 
 the incorporated company we were already familiar, but the com- 
 bining of corporations on a vast scale was both novel and start- 
 ling. Fear was entertained that these large aggregations of capi- 
 tal would monopolize industry, crush out competition and largely 
 destroy individual initiative. To add to the alarm, investors in 
 these mammoth undertakings met with large losses for the reason 
 that the promised economies of production were not sufficient to 
 pay dividends on watered stock. New problems for the American 
 people to solve are the outgrowth of these changes of business 
 methods, and a healthy public sentiment will contribute much 
 to their correct solution. 
 
 It would be as useless to protest against combination of in- 
 dustry as to protest against the replacing bf hard labor by ma- 
 chinery. It is the trend of the times made necessary to meet 
 changed conditions of civilization. It is, therefore, the evils that 
 grow out of combination of industr}'- that we have to fear and to 
 correct. We have already seen that time and experience cure 
 many defects. Like all progress, our advance in business methods 
 has been marked by costly mistakes and wide individual suffer- 
 ing. Where these have been the outcome of illegal acts, the full 
 
ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 213 
 
 force of public opinion should be raised in condemnation and the 
 power of the state invoked to punish. 
 
 In dealing with these and other problems, our Avhole reliance 
 should not be placed upon restraining statutes. The unwritten 
 law, as it is called, the law wiiich has its force in the public con- 
 science and popular approval, is quite as potent at times as 
 statutes in restraining individual ambition and greed. There 
 may be no criminal law that will reach the directors of the 
 Equitable Life Assurance Company for their misfeasance and 
 malfeasance in office, but the public condemnation which has 
 greeted the exposure of their acts of omission and commission 
 will prevent for a season, at least, others following in their foot- 
 steps. Graft of all kinds grows upon the easy toleration of the 
 public. It required a bold and flagrant steal of millions to arouse 
 the citizens of Philadelphia to the fact that their municipality 
 was honeycombed with corruption. So strongly were the grafters 
 intrenched, they were able for a time to openly defy the public. 
 What is true of Philadelphia has been shown to be true of other 
 municipalities. We cannot hope to entirely eradicate dishonesty 
 in public and business life. Wrongdoing will probably continue 
 until the end of the world, but we should be able to secure that 
 alertness of the people which will demand frequent inquiry and 
 that sensitiveness of the public to wrongdoing that will demand 
 of all public and quasi-public officials a fuller integrity than that 
 which just comes within the pale of the law. 
 
 We have had a recent striking example of the force of public 
 opinion in the election of Theodore Roosevelt to the presidency. 
 Serving out the term of his predecessor, he provoked strong op- 
 position, as all positive and earnest men do. Large financial 
 interest^ were opposed to his nomination and election. The influ- 
 ence they exerted was a power not to be despised. They had 
 made and unmade public men. They were in close touch with the 
 business pulse of the country. William J. Bl-yan had been de- 
 feated twice because the business interests had been opposed to 
 his election. Would not Roosevelt's fate be the same? 
 
 The issue, however, did not come. It was shunted aside by the 
 force of public opinion. The people believed in the honesty and 
 courage of Roosevelt. He had taken them into his confidence. 
 He was dealing in the open. There was no subterfuge, no evasion 
 
214 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 of responsibility. He might make mistakes. He might be wrong, 
 but he was doing the right as it was given him to understand it. 
 His personality soon overshadowed the questions of the hour and 
 Roosevelt was elected by an unprecedented majority, not because 
 that majority agreed upon the issues involved, but because all 
 agreed upon him. His triumphant election is an instructive 
 lesson in our politics. It is an encouragement to well-doing in 
 public life. It is a reassurance that ' ' a government of the people, 
 for the people and by the people shall not perish from the earth." 
 
 Such gatherings as these have their public use as well as their 
 social side. Here we renew old acquaintances and revive old as- 
 sociations. Here we honor those virtues of our ancestors which 
 contributed so much to the building of the town, the state and 
 the nation. Here we recall their lives of industry, thrift and 
 self-sacrifice. Here we are admonished by their precept and ex- 
 ample. Here again is presented to us the picture of the New 
 England community developing along the lines of frugality and 
 content and sending out its offspring to people the waste places. 
 
 What is the lesson of this day? It is this. We should culti- 
 vate a little more old-fashioned honesty and a little less toler- 
 ance of success gained by sharp dealing, a little more of those 
 homely attributes of the fathers and a little less love of display, a 
 little more patience in working out the problems of life and a 
 little less desire to overstep our neighbor, a little more of the 
 simple life and a little less envy of the rich. If we would give 
 force to our early instructions, if we would build a little better 
 than those who have gone before, if we would have the future 
 pay the tribute to us that we gladly pay to the past, we shall shirk 
 no duty and evade no responsibility, but keep constantly in mind 
 those things which are the foundation of true greatnQgs, con- 
 scientious endeavor and right living. 
 
 SUMMER HOME OF F. B. SHEDD. 
 
 (See cut.) 
 
 KATE FORREST. 
 
 Beautiful for situation, crowning one of the summits of Bay 
 Hill, overlooking a landscape of rare and varied charm, stands 
 the summer home of Freeman B. Shedd of Lowell, Mass. 
 In the middle eighties ]\Ir. Shedd came to Northfield and pur- 
 
Q 
 
 Q 
 
 m 
 
 M 
 
 O 
 
 o 
 
 H 
 
 Q 
 
 I— I 
 
 W 
 Pi 
 
li 
 
ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 215 
 
 chased of Daniel E. Hill the farm formerly owned by Abra- 
 ham Brown, Sr., where he erected a handsome modern house with 
 generous windows and roomy porches, and painted it after the 
 fashion of our grandfathers, a cheerful red, which contrasts 
 pleasantly with the brilliant green tints of the surrounding 
 foliage in summer and with the snowy whiteness of winter. 
 
 Tlie house is sufficiently removed from the highway to give an 
 air of seclusion, which is emphasized by the symmetrical stone 
 wall separating the grounds from the street. On the approach 
 of a carriage a wide, white gate swings automatically between 
 vine-covered posts and gives admis.sion to the broad, graveled 
 drive which sweeps in a graceful curve to the house. 
 
 It is a beautiful picture which greets the eye on a fine summer 
 morning. In the distance the mountains lift their purple and 
 azure summits against the sky — in the east the Belknaps; on the 
 west Kearsarge; in the north the Ossipees and Franconia, with 
 Chocorua lifting its jagged peak between. Moosilauke nestles 
 against the rugged slopes of Cardigan, and the Eagged mountains 
 raise their sturdy summits on the western horizon. Half hidden 
 among the hills lies the great lake, a sparkling blue gem in the 
 morning sunlight, and winding down from it, a silver ribbon 
 amidst the green forests, flows the Winnipiseogee past the spires 
 and roofs of the distant city. At our feet lies the valley with 
 its meadows and streams; beyond slopes upward the hillside, 
 dotted with farmhouse, field and orchard. 
 
 Near at hand, dew-spangled stretches of velvety green grass 
 are broken here and there by ornamental beds and borders of 
 brilliant flowers and choice shrubbery, while graceful trees in 
 groups or standing in single majesty upon the lawn, wave their 
 branches in greeting. It is to the trees that these spacious grounds 
 owe much of their beauty. A few shade trees adorned the old 
 farm and one or two of these remain. Others — graceful elms 
 and stately maples — have been transplanted from river bank, 
 roadside and pasture and have taken so kindly to their new sur- 
 roundings that one might fancy they had grown where they stand. 
 A grove of young trees near the highway is growing into a min- 
 iature forest, where pine and spruce mingle their fragrance and 
 where the birds and s(iuirrels find a congenial home. This group 
 comprises many choice varieties of both native and foreign ever- 
 
216 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 greens. Among them are the European larch, the oriental spruce, 
 Rocky JMountain spruce, mountain ash, dwarf pine and Nord- 
 man's fir, of which one specimen is vivid green in color and 
 another is a fine shade of blue. It is interesting to note the 
 points of difference and of similarity betAveen the home-grown 
 and the foreign varieties of the same species, and a lover of trees 
 finds much to study and enjoy in this pretty grove and through- 
 out the grounds. 
 
 At one side of the lawn, near the coachman's pleasant cottage, 
 is a grove of ancient oaks. Leading from this grove a road has 
 been laid out, winding down the hill, which affords one the pleas- 
 ure of a ride through the woods in the midst of woodsy sights 
 and smells, where ferns grow among the moss-covered rocks; 
 where majestic pines, a century old, wear their evergreen crowns 
 far above the earth; where spreading shrub and creeping vine 
 are permitted to grow in their own way. and where the small wild 
 denizens of the forest are unfrightened by the sound of gun or 
 woodman's axe. Branching from this is a road leading to the 
 river and this wildwood drive is one of the most attractive 
 features of the estate. 
 
 The grounds and the drives of this fine place of Mr. Shedd's 
 have been laid out, and are still carefully looked after, under the 
 direction of the head farmer, who is also a landscape gardener 
 of ability and experience. 
 
 A visit to this estate would not be complete without a call at 
 the barn where the horses and cattle are luxuriously sheltered. 
 On the way we pass the tall water tower with its screen of sil- 
 very poplars and drooping willows, cross a mowing field and 
 skirt the garden with its rows of berry bushes. The barn has 
 been remodeled and made more capacious until it is a really 
 sybaritic home for the four-footed members of the family. The 
 horses have polished finishings of South Caroline pine in their 
 quarters and enjoy roomy box-stalls, furnished with every equine 
 convenience. Beyond is a light and airy section where the cows 
 take their comfort, each with her individual drinking cup before 
 her, filled through pipes from an inexhaustible reservoir. At one 
 end of the long barn a window looks out on the clean yard, with 
 its high stone-posted fence, where the cattle take the air and chew 
 the cud of contentedness. Nearby a windmill, slowly turning on 
 
ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 217 
 
 its tall framework, lends a picturesque touch to the landscape, 
 and in the distance, with a background of misty hills, lies the 
 village in its valley beside the river, with its church spires and 
 pleasant homes clustering among the trees. 
 
 Mr. Shedd has added to his original purchase many of North- 
 field's green acres, including the large adjoining farm, whose 
 roomy, convenient dwelling house is the residence of the head 
 farmer, while, on the opposite side of the road, are sunny pas- 
 tures and dark woodlands and broad fields of waving grass or 
 ripening grain and rustling corn, which belong to the estate. 
 Trim fences and attractive roadsides add to the beauty of this fine 
 estate, which, with its matchless environment, is an ornament to 
 the town and a source of pride and pleasure to all citizens, 
 scarcely less than to its fortunate owner and his family. 
 
CHAPTER XIII. 
 
 THE STORY TELLER. 
 
 A town history to be exactly in order, it is said, must have an 
 Indian legend, a witch episode, a haunted house, a bear, fish and 
 snake story. One or two of these your historian has been cog- 
 nizant of or proven beyond a doubt; for the rest she has relied 
 on the customary authority in such matters. 
 
 Mrs. James Lindsey and Mrs. Josiah ]\liles, who lived on oppo- 
 site sides of Skenduggody Meadow, were both owners of slaves. 
 They were visited, in 1753, by the two Indians Plausaway and 
 Sebattis. Mrs. Miles sold one of them a shirt and on his un- 
 dressing in her presence to put it on she noticed some small cords, 
 called "Indian lines," wound about his body. She questioned 
 him about their use and obtained an evasive answer. It was 
 evident next morning, however, as they had each tied up and led 
 away a slave in the night — Peer from the Mileses and Tom from 
 the Lindseys. 
 
 Peer returned after a few days to tell the story, but Tom was 
 never seen. They came again the next year and being accused 
 of the theft, told them boldly that slaves were lawful booty, as 
 they had never made a treaty with the English. It is said Mrs. 
 Miles used her tongue prett}'^ freely, threats were made and toma- 
 hawks flourished and they told Mr. Miles if they ever met his 
 wife, Elisabeth, again they would have her scalp. Matters looked 
 threatening and Parson Walker of Concord was sent for, who 
 took the Indians home with him. A court w^as there held before 
 Joseph Blanchard, May 21, 1751, in which Mrs. Miles made depo- 
 sition that the slaves stolen were worth $500 (old tender). 
 
 A friendly Indian named Cohas occupied a little cabin in the 
 olden time between the present home of John S. Winslow and the 
 railroad. It was built between birch trees, one or either side, 
 but nothing is said of family. He used to hunt and fish about 
 Sondogardy Pond and its outlet was first named "Little Cohas 
 Brook." 
 
THE STORY TELLER. 219 
 
 Mother Blanehard was once surprised outside of Canterbury 
 Fort. The Indians giving chase, she, a corpulent woman, showed 
 such skill in running that they stopped to laugh while she es- 
 caped, cheered on by their cries of "porchuc, purchuc," mean- 
 ing woodchuck. 
 
 BEAR STORIES. 
 
 John Cilley, Jr., was once the victim of a serious encounter 
 with a black bear on Bean Hill. Being told by his father one 
 morning that Colonel Cof ran 's black dog was chasing their sheep 
 in a pasture full in sight, he went to drive him away and, coming 
 near them around a clump of bushes, found himself face to face 
 with a bear. He lost no time in climbing a small tree near by, 
 but not in time to evade the stroke of his paw as he ascended, 
 which took off not only his stocking and shoe but nearly all the 
 flesh from the knee down. It was years before the boy recovered 
 from the fright. 
 
 A bear caught on the upper Merrimack intervale dragged the 
 trap through fields and over stone walls and even over the 
 "Loer" bridge spoken of elsewhere on the stringers. Hunters 
 followed the trail and he was found near the Sanbornton moun- 
 tains still dragging the trap. 
 
 A large hemlock tree in the giilly at the foot of the Kezar 
 hills on the Bean Hill Road was for years called the "Bear 
 tree. ' ' On the level with the road was a row of branches form- 
 ing a circle around it. Here a large black bear found a resting 
 place and, being discovered, was promptly despatched. Mrs. 
 Forrest Cross, whose father, Edmond Douglass, lived near, al- 
 ways remembered her birthday as the da.y the bear was killed. 
 The bear tree grew to be an immense one and a few years since 
 was cut for lumber by J. E. Smith and boards and plank of 
 more than ordinary width made from the limbs. 
 
 The following story has no historic value except as it recalls 
 the exciting period in our town, as well as elsewhere, when the 
 followers of "William IMiller were daily expecting the summary 
 closing up of sublunary things : 
 
 One of the most familiar sights of my childhood was a big blue 
 umbrella sailing across our pastures and fields. Under it was a 
 little old woman called "Granny Byenton." She used to knit 
 
220 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 sale footings and take them to the store (let us say Whittier's, to 
 have the story in the toMTi), to buy snuff. Sometimes, perhaps, 
 her supply would be exhausted before she had a pair finished; 
 one, however, was all right, for her constantly recurring need 
 was sure to promptly bring the mate. She was greatly troubled 
 about the Millerites, who were trying, she thought, to bring the 
 world to an end. One day, out of breath and thoroughly fright- 
 ened, she rushed into the house to say, ' ' I hearn a gun go off, off 
 in the woods, and I thought, I wished, I hoped gracious it killed 
 every Millerite there was in the world. For, if they should bring 
 the world to an end when I'm out alone, I should be scared 
 almost to death," 
 
 WILDCATS. 
 
 Mother Wadleigh used, with a single female companion, to 
 remain alone with her little ones, while her husband took his fre- 
 quent trips for supplies to Portsmouth, and had some thrilling 
 adventures with wild beasts. One night she utilized the winter 
 fire to prepare meat for the needs of the morrow. A wildcat, 
 attracted by the scent, was heard snarling about the log barn 
 and, failing to find ingress there, was heard growling and climb- 
 ing on the roof of the log cabin, the rock chimney of which hardly 
 rose above the roof, the rod across which with the lug-pole and 
 chain (they had no "cranes" then), were being pushed aside 
 and birch bark fires were not equal to the occasion. In despera- 
 tion the children were snatched from their bed, the straw tick 
 dragged out and soon the roaring straw proved too much for the 
 frenzied animal, who made his retreat and was heard, howling 
 with pain, far into the night and found dead next day near by. 
 
 FISH STORY. 
 
 This story is but the conclusion of one begun by Professor 
 Hunt in his centennial address on page 129. The shad and 
 salmon that used to arrive at Franklin annually the last of May, 
 where the former turned to the right and the latter to the left, 
 was owing to the shad, being prompted by nature, desiring the 
 warmer waters of the lake and the salmon the cooler mountain 
 -stream. After their progress was stopped by the building of the 
 Sanborn and Eastman dams they laid for some days idle in the 
 
THE STORY TELLER. 221 
 
 current and never again, after 1814, made their apiJearance. 
 On the occasion of their last visit they were taken in large num- 
 bers and their presence over Sunday was a matter of great con- 
 cern to the good old Puritanic fathers of the town. The fish 
 warden was called on duty and the many devices to evade his 
 watchfulness furnished many a table far and near with a luscious 
 Sunday dinner, and also furnished laughable stories and jokes 
 for 5'ears afterwards. 
 
 HAUNTED HOUSES. 
 
 Northfield, so prolific in almost everj^thing, has been unable 
 to furnish a ghost story well authenticated. So, rather than be 
 found wanting, we will drop into sentiment and say with Long- 
 fellow that 
 
 "All houses wherein men have lived and died 
 Are haunted houses. Through the open doors 
 The harmless phantoms on their errands glide 
 With feet that make no sound upon the floor." 
 
 Some two houses especially claim the designation. The present 
 home of Deacon Abbott (though but few of its many occupants 
 died there) has been the abode of so many families that it must 
 enjoy a perpetual picnic. The Josiah Dearborn place has been 
 the site of three or four houses and a large number of tenants 
 and owners. I will quote further, not, however, with the view 
 of disquieting any one's titles. 
 
 "We have no title deeds to house or lands. 
 Owners and occupants of earlier dates, 
 From graves forgotten, stretch their dusty hands 
 And hold in mortmain still their old estates." 
 
 It is this ver}^ thought that gives such a charm to Old Home 
 Day, home comings and the daydreams of young and old. 
 
 WITCHES. 
 
 Mrs. Cooper Clark, who lived near the Bean Hill sehoolhonse, 
 was believed by the many pupils there to be po.ssessed by e^^l 
 spirits. She may have encouraged this belief to be free from 
 their too frequent visits. 
 
 Enoch Rogers, who performed the duty of oliore-boy at Colonel 
 Cofran's, once, when left alone to do the churning, fancied the 
 
222 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 churn contained a combination of willing- cream and the imwill- 
 ing spirit of the suspected neighbor; and the witch must be 
 burned to death, according to an old-time superstition. lie hur- 
 ried to the barn, secured the "cops pin," and after making it 
 red hot made repeated attempts to land it in the churn, scarring 
 it here and there in the process. He succeeded to his own dis- 
 comfort, but Mother Clark suffered no inconvenience. There 
 was no gilt-edged butter made at the Cofran farm that day. 
 
 A family, which shall be nameless, living not far from Sken- 
 dugoddy Meadow, had several insane members and in the olden 
 time were said to have been bewitched. An older member Avho 
 had the mania of drawing a wheelbarrow after him up and down 
 the town, Avas once frightened by its touching his heels, ran amuck 
 through the streets until the barrow was completely demolished. 
 
 SNAKES. 
 
 The vicinity of the Hodgdon schoolhouse has the reputation of 
 being a good place for snakes, not of the kind, however, 
 
 "That lie in the grass so prettily curled, 
 Waiting to snake you out of the world." 
 
 Some two years since, INIr. EdAvard Cross captured about twenty 
 black ones in an old AA'ell on his premises. A ncAvspaper adver- 
 tisement offered a good sum for some "\^armints" for a snake 
 charmer. IMr. Cross shut them up in the Hodgdon schoolhouse 
 and notified the AA^ould-be purchaser. No answer came and after 
 some delay they AA^ere all killed the day before the man arriA^ed 
 with the purchase money. 
 
 OSGOODITES. 
 
 ' 4 
 
 The folloAving Avas inadvertently omitted from the ecclesias- 
 tical history of the toAvn : 
 
 We Avill not envy the sister toAvn of Warner the honor of having 
 given birth to Jacob Osgood, the originator and leader of a sect 
 bearing his name, since Northfield claims the honor of being not 
 only the birthplace, but death-place as aatII, of the last member 
 of the clan. The membership in Northfield consisted of several 
 of the Dollof¥s, Asa Bean and the Grover family on the Wind- 
 fall. Nancy Glidden, Avife of Philip Clough, Avho lived near the 
 
THE STORY TELLER. 223 
 
 site of the Elm Mills Woolen Co., was one of the sisters and meet- 
 ings were often held at her house. The greater part of them, 
 however, resided in Canterbury Borough and near the Emery 
 sehoolhouse. 
 
 They gained few members after the first. The fathers, Osgood, 
 Ordway and Colby, used to make yearly visits and the Pond and 
 Emery schoolhouses used to howl with their unseemly exhorta- 
 tions. The}^ were wont to expend the whole of their ragged and 
 often vulgar vocabulary on the hireling ministers, doctors, law- 
 yers, abolitionists and black republicans. They thanked the Lord 
 for apples and hard cider and advocated drinking rum. They 
 healed the sick by the lajdng on of hands, refused to vote or pay 
 taxes. They did not approve of a fighting religion and so re- 
 fused to "appear armed and equipped as the law directs with 
 gun, knapsack, priming wire and brush" on training days, conse- 
 quently they were arrested and their crops and cattle sold by the 
 sheriff to pay the fines and taxes. 
 
 They were honest and correct in their lives and some excellent 
 people got entangled in their strange semi-savage worship and 
 still maintained their purity of life, but their nocturnal gather- 
 ings were the resort of the shabby crowd and of many whose 
 tastes were vulgar. Many of their numbers, fof lack of medical 
 attendance, died prematurely and the Grover family on the 
 Windfall remained alone for many years. No services were held 
 for a long time previous to the death of Sally Grover, the last of 
 the sect, September 5, 1897. They dressed in Quaker gray and 
 strove in all possible ways to be unlike others. Peace to their 
 ashes. 
 
CHAPTER XIV. 
 
 NORTHFIELD FACTORY VILLAGE. 
 
 Nortlifield Factory Village, later known as Smithville, was so 
 distinct a part of the town, I have recorded it entirely separate 
 from the other portion. It had great natural advantages and 
 was early settled. Before 1800 a dam had been erected above 
 the Sanborn Bridge, which was located somewhat farther up the 
 stream. This dam was probably built by Mr. Folsom, of whom 
 I can obtain no data save that he had a sawmill on the north 
 end of it, which was carried down the river by an ice freshet. 
 Jeremiah Sanborn, w^ho had come from Hampton in 1778, rebuilt 
 on the Nortlifield side. There was a road by the river bank ex- 
 tending quite a distance. A canal was cut through this road, 
 later, from this dam to the Daniell's Bridge, on which several 
 industries were located. This Sanborn sawmill: was afterward 
 removed to the site of the Folsom mill. 
 
 Dam No. 2. — In 1821 Boston John Clark, who has been called 
 an ' ' unlettered genius, ' ' who was, however, a born mechanic, built 
 for Kendall 0. Peabody the next dam below, long known as the 
 Aiken dam. He also erected a mill where Mr. Peabody soon be- 
 gan the manufacture of paper. Mr. Peabody had come from 
 Peterborough a few years previous and established a bakery in 
 the Avest village. He used to send out carts with his ginger- 
 bread, crackers and cakes and among other things rags were legal 
 tender. A large accumulation of these, first suggested a new 
 business. Robert Crane, a professional paper maker, became as- 
 sociated with him in the enterprise. 
 
 A paper mill, the first in the country, had just been established 
 at Exeter and Daniel Herrick, a born inventor, mechanic and 
 skillful machinist, w^as sent there, clad in the garb of a Quaker, 
 to study the machinery. He returned and built the machines for 
 the new mill. The work prospered and the mill was greatly en- 
 larged. After five j^ears, it is said, Mr. Peabody, with his brother 
 James li., and Isaac, the brother of Mr, Crane, bought seven 
 
NORTHFIELD FACTORY VILLAGE. 225 
 
 acres of land and the water privilege attached to dam No. 3 (of 
 which we shall speak hereafter) and with the addition of Jere- 
 miah F. Daniel, removed the business to the Peabody village, 
 where it has ever since been the leading industry of the town. 
 The old paper mill became a gristmill, owned and run by Mr. 
 Darling for many years. This site is now occupied by Stevens' 
 mill. 
 
 SMITHVILLE FACTORY OR YELLOW MILL. 
 
 For many years a long stretch of waste land extended from the 
 Sanborn Bridge down the river bank to the old stable and tavern 
 kept long ago by a ]\Ir. Hoyt and later by John H. Durgin. Next 
 in line stood the Batting Mill and beyond, in the midst of a broad 
 common was erected a cotton mill about 1821 by three Smith 
 brothers and John Cavender, all of Peterborough. A store ex- 
 tending out into the street was built and a row of four double 
 boarding houses erected on the river bank which are still there. 
 The canal lay in front of them, on which the new mill was built 
 for the manufacture of cotton cloth. 
 
 They were all painted yellow and in later years were known 
 as the "Yaller Mill" and "Yaller Row." The grounds about 
 were kept in fine condition, shade trees planted and a library 
 established for the free use of their operatives and others for a 
 nominal sum. This has ever since been in existence and was 
 the precursor of the present Smith Library. A family named 
 Annan, also of Peterborough, were engaged in the enterprise, 
 all of whom were a power for good in the business, social and 
 religious life of the little village. "William Smith died at Smith- 
 ville ; Robert, who had studied law previous to coming to North- 
 field, removed to St. Louis, ^lo., and James, who married Persis 
 Garland of Salisbury, also removed there and afterwards was 
 honored by a seat in the United States Senate. 
 
 The Pecil)ody brothers afterwards owned this mill, which was 
 used for various purposes until its destruction by fire in 1853. 
 
 BATTING. 
 
 Peter Goodnow was the proprietor of a mill in connection with 
 the cotton cloth manufacture for the making of batting, of which 
 Mr. John Lewis had charge. It continued after the mill ceased 
 to be used for cloth. 
 16 
 
22G HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 STRAW BOARD. 
 
 Hiram Hodgdon and John Gould made straw board in the 
 counting room of the old cotton mill for a time. Mr. Hodgdon 
 sold to Mr. Gould, who, in turn, sold to J. F. and W. F. Daniell, 
 who continued the business until the burning of the mill. 
 
 STRAW PAPER. 
 
 A. L. Fisher manufactured wrapping paper from straw in the 
 old batting mill. This business eventually passed to Peabody & 
 Daniells. 
 
 The history of the sawmill on the canal has been given elser 
 where (see page 98), so we will pass on to Dam No. 3. 
 
 The site now occupied by Sulloway's Mill was early used for 
 manufacturing purposes. Dearborn Sanborn built a dam here 
 in 1818 and established his shingle mill. Thomas Elkins had a 
 large sawmill on the Northfield end of it, where an immense busi- 
 ness was done and large rafts taken down the river to better 
 markets. 
 
 WOOLEN MILL. 
 
 It is said that Ebenezer Blanchard and Ebenezer Eastman had 
 a woolen mill here, but no facts can be obtained. It probably 
 antedated the Elkins sawmill. 
 
 A double house stood next and then the open space to Eowe's 
 store. The Carlton house is the only remaining dwelling and 
 the blacksmith shop, long since modestly retired to the rear, 
 and the cooper shop became the ]\Iarsh shoe store. The long 
 building called the Tontine, with basement on the north side, 
 was considered a fine house 75 years ago. Robert Crane built 
 it when he came with his brother, Isaac, and others to begin 
 the manufacture of paper. He occupied a part of it and James 
 Lewis (see Mills), the. other. After the departure of the Cranes 
 it was used by the Welches as an extensive tailor's shop. It 
 was removed when the Franklin and Tilton Railroad was built. 
 None of the fine churches were built in 1858 and the dwellers 
 there sought church and extended school privileges at Frank- 
 lin Village. All south of Main Street was an open pasture, ex- 
 tending to the south and east. On the south side of Central 
 Street one has found nothing for many years but the little red 
 schoolhouse, where a school was established in 1827, formed from 
 
NORTHFIELD FACTORY VILLAGE. 227 
 
 several other districts. Here all the children from the Leigh- 
 ton, Cross, Gerrish, Heath, Hancock and Kezar families used 
 to congregate and your historian, in 1851, and again in 1858, 
 tried with varying success to urge some forty or fifty ' ' tardy 
 loiterers" up the rugged hill of science. This school was united 
 with the one across Sanborn Bridge in 1858 and together occu- 
 pied Lyceum Hall building. The old schoolhouse now does duty 
 as a laundry and grain store. 
 
 The Brockway and Carlton houses still exist in a changed con- 
 dition, but the old-timer looking for familiar scenes would find 
 but little in and around the railroad station and side hill to re- 
 mind him of the old-time cow pasture and marsh land. A copy 
 of the school register for 1851 is in existence, w'hen Angeline T. 
 Sweatt was teacher and every other name on the list was Kezar. 
 (See gen.) 
 
 PRINTING OFFICES. 
 
 There was a job printing office established long ago on the site 
 of the SuUoway ]\Iills. The style of the firm was Peabody, Dan- 
 iells & Co. and the Co. was Eliphalet Ayer. They had quite a 
 business in printing Bibles, testaments and Worcester spelling 
 books. It is known that three of the Bibles are now in existence. 
 The office was in a yellow shop on the left, a little below the 
 entrance to the Daniell's Bridge. 
 
 Charles F. Hill had a job printing office for many years, until 
 his death in 1888, on Bay Street. He had a reputation for extra 
 fine work. After his death the business was transferred to Tilton 
 and became the property of H. A. Morse. 
 
 Another office established by George W. Baker was in the 
 upper story of the remodelled Whittier store, opposite the optical 
 works. A shaft was extended underground from the dam across 
 the street and thus power was obtained. It was destroyed by 
 fire and never restored. 
 
 TELEPHONES. 
 
 The board of selectmen, ]March 11, 1903, voted the privilege to 
 erect poles in the streets and highways of Northfield to the New 
 England Telegraph and Telephone Company. Conditions wex'e 
 made and duly recorded on page 266 of the town records for that 
 year. There are no country' line exchanges in Northfield, except 
 one on High Street. 
 
228 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 citizens' TELEPHONE COMPANY. 
 
 This line came from Laconia and Henry Davis was first man- 
 ager for Tilton and Northfield. Permission to erect poles has 
 been granted from time to time, until all the farming districts 
 have been covered. The first machine was installed during the 
 autumn of 1895 or 1896 and they now number 115. The present 
 manager is Harry W. Muzzey. 
 
CHAPTER XV. 
 
 STORES AND MERCHANTS. 
 
 The first store in Northfield was kept by Benjamin Blanchard 
 at the Wadleigh place on Bay Hill. This his son, Ebenezar, moved 
 later to where the Northfield Grocery Company's storehouse now 
 stands and the brown house opposite was the home of his family. 
 It is now the oldest dwelling in town. He opened a branch store 
 soon after at Salisbury, now Franklin, and his business there 
 increasing rapidly, sold out here to his clerk and removed to 
 Salisbury, where he conducted much business till his death. 
 
 Squire Charles Glidden and his son, Charles, perhaps the latter 
 alone, erected a large store at the Center, opposite the old meet- 
 ing-house, where a large business was conducted many years. 
 (See page 139, part 2.) He sold out to John Mack Oilman, who 
 was succeeded by Greenough McQuesten and John Kimball Wood- 
 man, who remained but two years. Milton Gerrish and Jacob 
 Moore purchased the house and business and removed both to 
 Sanbornton Bridge. It was the first building occupying the cor- 
 ner where the present town hall stands. 
 
 Owing to the departure of nearly all the local industries from 
 the Center to the "Bridge" (as it was called), the store opposite, 
 built by Capt. Isaac Glines, was never occupied and some years 
 later was sold and removed to become a dwelling house at the 
 village. Later, a small store on the opposite corner was kept by 
 Andrew Nudd with a small stock of groceries and tobacco. 
 
 John Moloney had a small store in the side hill opposite Josiah 
 Dearborn's, where some business and much political wire pulling 
 was done. Votes for future delivery were legal tender, as he 
 always had some coveted office in sight. Squire Glidden was his 
 political rival and often INIoloney's purchased votes went to elect 
 his rival. Smarting under defeat, he once charged Mr. Glidden 
 with a whole barrel of rum as the price of the stolen votes. 
 
 NORTHFIELD DEPOT. 
 
 A store was opened at this place about the time of the coming 
 of the railroad. Amos C. Cogswell, Charles and Augustine 
 
230 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Ayers were some of the early traders. About 1850 INIerriil IMoore 
 became manager of a large business here, making a specialty of 
 palm leaf hats and berry picking in their season. This store 
 flourished for many years until its destruction by fire. Oliver 
 L. Cross, William Keniston, Frank Moore, Samuel Emery and 
 Charles Sanborn have in later times conducted a varying business 
 here. The store has, since Mr. Sanborn's death, been discontin- 
 ued. William C. French and Sumner A. Dow carried on a con- 
 siderable meat business until 1881, the latter sending 50 lambs 
 and 200 chickens weekly to St. Paul's School, Concord, 500 lambs 
 coming in a single season from Grafton County. 
 
 Isaac Whittier, about 1840, traded where the Northfield Gro- 
 cery Store stands, in a long unpainted store with wooden shut- 
 ters. His stock was the usual variety found in country stores. It 
 was a slow business place until the coming of the post office there. 
 He was town clerk some years and much town business was trans- 
 acted there, taxes made and juries drawn. Noah Peabody and 
 James Palmer traded there later and the store was reconstructed 
 and refitted by Warren L. Hill, Esq. It was rented by J. F. 
 Taylor and Eastman as a grocery store and, later, burned. The 
 site was then occupied by a carriage and blacksmith shop until 
 its present restoration as a grocery store. 
 
 A drug store with offices above occupied the right hand 
 entrance to the bridge, where James Brown kept the Seminary 
 bookstore. Above was a dressmaking and millinery establish- 
 ment, kept by Alice and Sarah Haines, and occupied later by 
 Miss Proctor as the art studio of the seminary. 
 
 Close by, William Follansby kept a drj^ goods and grocery 
 store. He built the low one-story block, extending half the 
 length of the "beach," called the "seven nations." 
 
 Just east of this was the dwelling house and basement hard- 
 ware and tin store of Charles Joseph Wadleigh. This place alone 
 remains unchanged. 
 
 butterfield's store. 
 
 The first store at Factory Village was built and managed by 
 the Smith brothers, who conducted and owned the "Yellow 
 Mill." On their departure for St. Louis, William Butterfield of 
 
 Andover succeeded to the business. It passed in time to • 
 
 Welch of Boston, who, with his wife, conducted an extensive 
 
STORES AND MERCHANTS. 231 
 
 tailoring business in the Tontine, occupying the whole of it. The 
 store was burned in 1843 and rebuilt by John Sweatt, a good 
 Democrat and business man, who looked well after Northfield's 
 interest in that part of the town. (See Sweatt gen.) This 
 store was standing when the boom came to the little village about 
 1865 immediately after the war. 
 
 Across the way was the one-story store of Jonathan Elkins, 
 which, as his real estate business increased, passed to Nathaniel 
 Rowe and still later to Charles Chase and Benjamin Gale, who 
 kept a stock of general merchandise until the coming of the new 
 industries and the removal of their store to make way for new 
 buildings. 
 
 RUSSELL BROTHERS. 
 
 Willis and Orimal Russell were for a while in business at Fac- 
 tory Village. They were the first promoters of the business of 
 making palm leaf hats. They shipped the leaf in the rough had 
 it split and bleached, as recorded elsewhere, and doubtless were 
 proprietors of the mill, where the hats were pressed and finished. 
 They eventually removed their business to Sanbornton Bridge 
 and finally one or more of the several brothers became merchants 
 in Canada. 
 
 GREENWOOD & CROCKETT. 
 
 Edward Caskin came to Northfield from Franklin Falls 
 and erected the store on the river bank and purchased the adjoin- 
 ing residence. He established a hardware and house-furnishing 
 business, which he sold to Frank II. ]\Ierrill in 1884. After i\Ir. 
 ^Merrill's death it became the property of Joseph Greenwood, who 
 had been connected with the business six years. The firm of 
 Greenwood & Crockett was estal>lished in 1899. (See Crockett 
 gen.) 
 
 Nearly all the merchants of Tilton have been or are now 
 residents of Northfield, among whom are both members of 
 the firm of Philbrick & Hill, Charles P. Herrick, the late Frank- 
 lin J. Eastman (whose biography by Hon. John ]\I. IMitchell 
 is subjoined), also W. A. Gardner, the late Joseph Hill, Fi- 
 field Brothers, the late George F. Weeks, Batchelder Brothers, 
 the late Cutting Follansby, Elmer R. Gale and Edwin J. Young, 
 George H. Brown, the miller and grain merchant, Herbert Dolley 
 
232 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 of the firm of Phelps & DoUey, while the former is of Northfield 
 parentage ; one of the firm of Smith & Smith ; Muzzey Brothers ; 
 Lord Brothers ; Bayley & Rogers ; ]Morrison Brothers, and the 
 Bryants. In fact, it is hard to find a firm whose interests and 
 business lives are not a part of Northfield history. 
 
 JOSEPH HILL. 
 
 (See residence.) 
 
 Joseph Hill (see gen., page 182) deserves a place of honor among 
 our merchants, not only that his term of service in that capacity cov- 
 ered his whole life, but for the extent and variety of merchandise 
 handled. He began as a grocer, to which was added from time to 
 time hardware, dry goods, furniture and draperies, wood, coal, ice, 
 wooden ware, farming tools, paints and oils, lime and cement; in fact, 
 nearly every nameable article of barter or sale, and while some of 
 these lines were dropped as opportunity offered or conditions made 
 expedient, he kept a strong hold on his first ambition to be a first-class 
 dealer in high grade groceries. 
 
 His association with his brother, William P., in real estate and other 
 holdings was long and mutually satisfactory and profitable and lasted 
 40 years. 
 
 FRANK HILLS. 
 
 (See Hills gen. and portrait.) 
 
 Mr. Hills, a na1:ive and for much of his life a resident of Northfield, 
 has also been for more than thirty-four years a merchant. He began 
 as clerk for Enoch G. Philbrick. After four years he purchased, with 
 him, the interest of Joseph Hill in the grocery business. They con- 
 tinued the same line of goods in the same place until 1882, when they 
 purchased the store and stock of the late Franklin J. Eastman and 
 have ever since conducted a first-class grocery store in their present 
 quarters, with one or two side lines. Mr. Philbrick's term of service 
 covers an equal, if not longer, term. (See Philbrick gen.) 
 
 CHARLES P. HERRICK. 
 
 Mr. Herrick's term of service as druggist covers nearly thirty years, 
 first as partner with Franklin J. Eastman, then clerk and, later, owner 
 of the business of G. P. Stevens since 1883. (See Herrick gen.) 
 
 FRANKLIN J. EASTMAN. 
 
 Hon. John M. Mitchell. 
 
 Among the men whose personality and influence were dominant in 
 the life of the town for a number of years, during the perio'd of its 
 later development, was Franklin Jonathan Eastman, who came to 
 Northfield from Littleton in 18C7, purchasing an estate on Park Street, 
 where he made his home with his family for a time, but disposed of the 
 
 
STORES AND MERCHANTS. 233 
 
 same, later, to occupy the fine residence which he erected near the site 
 of the present library building. 
 
 Mr. Eastman was a native of Vermont, a representative of that sturdy 
 type of New England character, whose impress has been felt for good 
 in developing and directing the .business and public life of our most 
 prosperous and progressive communities. Born in Danville, Vt., June 
 10, 1818, a son of Jonathan and Sarah (Heath) Eastman, he was 
 educated in the public schools and at Peacham Academy, Peacham, Vt.; 
 and, after attaining his majority, he went to Littleton, where his older 
 brothers, Ebenezer and Cyrus, were engaged in business as partners in 
 an extensive general store, and entered the employ of the firm as a 
 clerk, where he remained three or four years, then removing to Barnet, 
 Vt., where he formed a partnership in trade with Robert Harvey, the 
 leading merchant of the town, which continued about eight years, when 
 he sold out and returned to Littleton and became a partner in the 
 firm with his brothers, whose business had become one of the most 
 extensive in northern New Hampshire. 
 
 Although a thorough business man and earnestly devoted to the inter- 
 ests of his firm, Mr. Eastman took an active part in public affairs, and 
 entered into the political life of the community as an earnest and 
 aggressive member of the Democratic party, with which he had been 
 allied from youth. Even in the earlier period of his residence in Lit- 
 tleton, he was found actively participating in the caucuses and conven- 
 tions of his party, it being noted that he was a member of the Littleton 
 delegation in the senatorial convention of 1841 at Franconia, when, for 
 the first time, the nomination for senator from old District No. 12, the 
 northern district of the state, which then embraced Coos, the northern 
 half of Grafton and the upper part of Carroll counties, was secured for 
 a resident of Littleton, in the person of Simeon B. Johnson. The year 
 of his return to the town, 1852, was characterized by a particularly 
 exciting political campaign, it being a presidential year and the Demo- 
 cratic candidate for the chief magistracy of the nation being that favor- 
 ite son of New Hampshire — Gen. Franklin Pierce. The first campaign 
 club ever organized by the Democrats in the town was formed at that 
 time and was known as the "Granite Club," Mr. Eastman being its 
 president. So rapidly did he gain the confidence of his party, that in 
 March following, 1853, he was its nominee for moderator and was 
 elected. 
 
 From this time forward there were close and exciting contests in 
 Littleton politics and Franklin J. Eastman, his brother, the late Col. 
 Cyrus Eastman, and Harry and George A. Bingham, who subsequently 
 became noted throughout the state, were the active leaders on the 
 Democratic side. In 1SG3, and again in 1SC4, Mr. Eastman was elected 
 to represent the town in the Legislature as the colleague of Harry 
 Bingham and it is safe to say that no town in the state was more ably 
 or faithfully represented during these exciting times of our legislative 
 history, in the midst of the war period when party spirit ran high. It 
 
234 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 v/as in 18G3 that an extra session of the Legislature was held, in 
 August, and many "war measures" were passed, including the soldiers 
 voting law, allowing the soldiers of the state to vote in the field or 
 wherever stationed and return to be made to the towns of their resi- 
 dence, which measure the Democrats generally opposed as unconstitu- 
 tional. Mr. Eastman and his colleague were, naturally, found opposing 
 this measure. In both years of his legislative service Mr. Eastman was 
 assigned to duty by the speaker, Hon. William E. Chandler, upon the 
 important committee on railroads and his judgment and sagacity were 
 found of constant value in the work of the committee. 
 
 Mr. Eastman, who, in 18.58, had withdrawn from the old firm and 
 established himself independently in business on Main Street, not only 
 continued active in the mercantile and political life of the town, but 
 also kept up the interest he had taken from the first, in all matters 
 pertaining to its material development and progress, and the general 
 welfare of the community. He was an active member of the fire com- 
 pany, organized for the protection of the village property and largely 
 composed of the business men of the place; was for a time a director 
 in the White Mountains Railroad and was instrumental in the estab- 
 lishment of a telegraph line, the first telegraph office being located in 
 his store. 
 
 He was also active in educational matters. He participated conspic- 
 uously in the movement which resulted in the consolidation of the 
 village school districts into a union district under the "Somersworth 
 Act", and upon the organization of the district he was chosen a mem- 
 ber of both the prudential and superintending committees. 
 
 Soon after this Mr. Eastman disposed of his business and real estate 
 interests in Littleton and in the following year took up his residence 
 in Northfield, establishing himself in business in general trade on the 
 Tilton side of the river, where he continued for many years, until final 
 retirement sometime before his death, April 27, 1893. 
 
 The measure of confidence and respect which he won for himself at 
 once in the town of his adoption and the interest which he evinced in 
 its public affairs, is shown by the fact that at the next annual election, 
 in March, 18G8, he was chosen to represent Northfield in the Legislature, 
 his assignment that year being to the committee on elections. For 16 
 successive years, from 1873 to 1888, inclusive, he held the responsible 
 position of town treasurer and, while he was a model of promptness 
 and accuracy in the discharge of his ordinary official duty, it is also 
 safe to say that to his judgment and sagacity, as evinced by the sound 
 practical suggestions in his annual reports, in his advice often sought 
 by the selectmen in the management of town affairs and frankly given 
 whenever occasion demanded at the annual town meetings, is due, in 
 no small measure, the economical administration and financial pros- 
 perity which the town enjoyed during this period. 
 
 Here, as in Littleton, Mr. Eastman took an interest in all matters of 
 public concern and it is noted that here he was an earnest supporter 
 and, indeed, a prim.e mover of the project for the establishment of a 
 
STORES AND MERCHANTS. 235 
 
 union school district, including the village portions of the towns of 
 Northfield and Tilton, giving the land for the site of the first school- 
 house, whicli also constitutes a part of the present lot. He also con- 
 tributed the site for the Hall Memorial Library, giving the same in 
 the name of his daughter, Mrs. Charles E. Tilton. He was prominent 
 in the movement for the formal celebration of the one hundredth anni- 
 versary of the settlement of the town, in 1883, being a member and 
 treasurer of the committee of arrangements having the matter in 
 charge. 
 
 Mr. Eastman was a man of positive convictions and uncompromising 
 fidelity thereto. He always had a reason for his position and was 
 earnest and even aggressive in presenting the same whenever occasion 
 required. He was an interesting conversationalist, a forcible speaker 
 and a vigorous and graceful writer, as was shown by his interesting 
 chapter of Littleton history, contributed on the occasion of the centen- 
 nial of that town in 1884, his subject being, "The Relations of Littleton 
 and Vermont." As a correspondent of The Laconia Democrat for a long 
 series of years he not only presented the news from the vicinity in a 
 lucid and comprehensive manner, but often discussed public questions 
 with a clearness and cogency seldom surpassed by the professional jour- 
 nalist. Conspicuous in his correspondence is found a description of 
 the new town hall of Tilton, on its completion in 1880, published in 
 The Democrat and reproduced in the Sanbornton town history. 
 
 On November 25, 1841, Mr. Eastman was united in marriage with 
 Lima H., daughter of Socrates and Mary (Bullock) Tuttle, of Barnet, 
 Vt., born September 7, 1820, w^io died June 2G, 1901. Her father was 
 an uncle of the distinguished New Jersey lawyer of the same name, 
 whose daughter became the wife of the late Garret A. Hobart, subse- 
 quently vice-president of the United States. They had children as 
 follows: 
 
 1. Frank Tuttle, born in Littleton, September, 1842; died in Barnet, 
 Vt, October 24, 1848. 
 
 2. Alice Murray, born in Barnet, Vt., in 1845; died in Littleton, Feb- 
 ruary 17, 185C. 
 
 3. Lima J., born in Barnet, Vt., in 1846; married George H. Ellis of 
 Newton, Mass. 
 
 4. Edward Dana, born in Barnet, Vt., May, 1849: died in Barnet, Sep- 
 tember 20, 1850. 
 
 5. Edward F., born in Barnet, Vt.. in 1851; died in Littleton, May 
 9, 1863. 
 
 6. Mary Adelia, born in Littleton, April 16, 1853; married Joshua P. 
 Dennis of Tilton. 
 
 7. Kate, born in Littleton in 1856; married Harvey Weeks; died in 
 New Jersey in 1886. 
 
 8. Elma Genieve, born in Littleton in 1859: married Charles E. Til- 
 ton of Tilton, December 29. 1881. 
 
 9. George W.. born in Littleton, February 22, 1861; died April 27, 
 1893. 
 
CHAPTER XVI. 
 
 MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS. 
 
 Stephen Chase was among the first to utilize 
 water power in Northfield. Bradstreet Moody 
 owned a dam across the Winnipiseogee on the 
 north end of which he had a variety of business. 
 Mr. Chase brought down some of his flowage 
 water and established a carding and fulling 
 mill in 1798 which he conducted until his death. 
 (See Chase gen.) He also kept tavern in the 
 old house still standing at the entrance to Bay 
 Street. (See cut.) He was engaged in much 
 business and was a man of wealth. His daugh- 
 ter, the wife of Archibald Clark, inherited the mill and water 
 power and after occupying it a few years sold, in 1826, to Jere- 
 miah Tilton. 
 
 It may seem to us a queer custom, but the blankets in which 
 the "rolls" were returned were invariably fastened with thorns. 
 Mr. Chase, with an eye to future needs, planted thorn bushes on 
 the waste land by the river bank. Mill, manufacturer, cards and 
 rolls long since disappeared, but the thorn hedge, like "the evil 
 that men do," lives after him to the discomfort and damage of 
 the dwellers in the vicinity of Emery Street and Howard Avenue. 
 
 CARDING AND FULLING MILL — BENJAMIN CHASE. 
 
 After the sale of the mill by the upper dam and the death of 
 Stephen Chase, his son, Benjamin, who had been associated with 
 him, erected a carding and fulling mill where the optical works 
 now stand. It was two stories in height and the carding was 
 done in the upper story. Mr. Chase built and occupied the home 
 of the late Hon. Asa P. Cate and was a man of inherited wealth 
 and large business. He was a good story teller and great humor- 
 ist. He was active in church work and a Sunday School teacher 
 for years. 
 
CHARLES G. CHASE. 
 
MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS. 237 
 
 This business declined after factories were established and 
 cloth could be bought cheaper than manufactured at home. He 
 sold to Moses IMorrill and removed to Lowell, ]\Tass., where he 
 spent the remainder of his life. TIijC old building remained 
 many years and finally burned. 
 
 A sketch and portrait of his son, Charles G. Chase, may not 
 be out of place here as he, in memory of his father, was the gen- 
 erous giver of the Chase Free Library to Union Church at North- 
 field Depot in 1883. (See page 51.) 
 
 CHARLES GREENOUGH CHASE. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Charles Greenough, son of Benjamin and Hannah (Hall) Chase, was 
 born at Northfield, July 5, 1827. He removed with his father to Lowell, 
 Mass., when 14 years of age. He graduated from the Lowell High 
 School and afterwards continued his education in Dracut, Mass. 
 
 His flrst business relations were with the firm of Shapleigh & Kelsey 
 of Boston, remaining with them until 1849, when the wholesale grocery 
 firm of Peters, Chase & Co. was established. In 1860 this firm built a 
 store at 22 Central Street and made a specialty of importing tea. In 
 1879 the firm was dissolved and Mr. Chase retired from active business. 
 
 Mr. Chase was connected with the Mercantile Library Association 
 and was one of its most prominent members. He was for several years 
 a trustee of Wheaton Seminary, also of the Homeopathic Hospital in 
 Boston. He was at one time president of the Mason Regulator" Com- 
 pany. It was he who arranged with Hon. Edward Everett and some 
 others for the special celebration of Washington's birthday and pre- 
 sented the petition to the Legislature which made it a legal holiday. 
 He was the devoted superintendent of the Sunday School of Harvard 
 Church, Brookline, Mass., for 15 years. 
 
 For seven years Mr. Chase resided at McLean Street and four years 
 on Hancock Street, Boston. In November, 1870, he purchased a home 
 in Brookline, which he occupied until his death. 
 
 On the completion of Union Church, NorthSeld, Mr. Chase gave a 
 library of 180 choice books, which has been a means of much pleasure 
 as well as profit to its many patrons. From time to time he sent 
 humane and temperance literature to the library and to the Northfield 
 schools. He was the author of a sweet little idyl, "That Old Man and 
 His Dream," written during a summer spent at the White Mountains. 
 
 Mr. Chase was a man of sterling qualities. He was benevolent in 
 disposition, unostentatious in his charities, and schools, hospitals and 
 churches received his benefits when most needed, with rare discrimin- 
 ation. 
 
 He married Relief Judith McQuesten of Plymouth. He died very sud- 
 denly on the train between Boston and his home in Brookline, Novem- 
 ber 8, 1894. Mrs. Chase died May 6, 1901. 
 
238 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Children: Mary, born at Boston, Mass., December 7, 1855; died at 
 Brookline, Mass., July 15, 1891. Charles Percy, born at Boston, March 
 30, 1858; died at Boston, March 15, 18G4. Walter Greenough, born at 
 Boston May 30, 1859; graduate of Harvard University and Harvard 
 Medical College. 
 
 JEREMIAH TILTON. 
 (See residence.) 
 
 In 182G Jeremiah Tilton, or as he was called, "Squire Jerry," bought 
 the site and privilege where now stands the George H. Tilton hosiery 
 mills of Mrs. Archibald Clark for $400. It was inherited from her 
 father's estate, the late Stephen Chase's. There was a little mill on it, 
 one story in height, one half of which served as a dwelling house. 
 The work was carding wool into rolls and fulling and naping cloth 
 that had been woven by hand in the homes around. 
 
 Mr. Tilton soon put in a brick basement, added a few jacks and looms 
 and put on the market his own style of goods, called satinets. He 
 sold, later, to the Lake Company for $5,000 a part of his right, but 
 reserved enough to always operate a certain amount of machinery. He 
 removed his family, in 1830, to his newly-erected brick house. (See 
 cut.) He married, December 9, 1816, Nancy Carter of Concord. 
 
 His first start in business was made at Chase's Brook in Franklin, 
 where he had a carding and fulling mill. In 1820 a freshet swept his 
 mill down into the Pemigewasset, whereupon he sold the privilege and 
 returned to Sanbornton Bridge and bought as stated above. Mr. Tilton 
 was twice burned out and twice rebuilt, enlarging each time, and was 
 associated for many years with his son, Jeremiah C. (see portrait), in 
 the same business. In 18G0 they sold to James Bailey of Lawrence 
 and retired from business. 
 
 He was an honest, upright man and a respected citizen. In politics 
 he was a Whig and, later, a Republican and though living in a Demo- 
 cratic town was often elected to office. Socially Mr. and Mrs. Tilton 
 were large hearted, sincere and true. He represented the town in the 
 Legislature of 1858. He died suddenly at the Bromfield House, Boston, 
 January 23, 1863, aged 69. She survived 19 years, a woman of remark- 
 able vigor and intelligence. 
 
 COPP'S GRISTMILL. 
 
 The old Morrill fitlling mill was some years later replaced by 
 a gristmill, where William Norton of Factory Village (now 
 Franklin Falls) had charge of a prosperous business. The mill 
 was the property of Mr. Copp. James Earnshaw had a shoddy 
 mill in the second story and, later, added a few looms and con- 
 tinued in business until the burning of the mill in 1867. Mr. 
 Copp replaced this mill for Richard Firth. (See Elm Mills.) 
 
MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS. 2B9 
 
 MR. JAMES BAILEY. 
 
 Mr. Bailey came to Northfield from Lawrence in 1860 and purchased 
 the mill known as Jere Tilton's satinet mill and put out the same line 
 of goods for one year. He then made army blue for the soldiers during 
 the war. He then put in broad looms and began the manufacture of 
 all-wool goods in variety and also made yarn. Black and white 
 checked goods were his specialty, when he sold out, in 18G5, to Messrs. 
 Fletcher, Firth and Ballantyne. 
 
 GRANITE MILLS. 
 
 In 1865 John and William Fletcher, with Richard Firth and 
 Adam S. Ballantyne of Methnen, bought the Bailey j\Iill and 
 continued the manufacture of many lines of woolen goods. Their 
 business increased and soon after the mill was enlarged, another 
 story added, improved motive power installed, more and broader 
 looms added and the capacity of the plant doubled and many 
 varieties of dress goods, blankets, etc., were made for 25 years. 
 
 In 1871 Mr. Firth sold his interest to the other partners and 
 took the newly-erected factory of Mr. Hazen Copp and gave it 
 the name of Elm ]\rills. 
 
 The Granite Mills, after a short ownership by Mr. Parsons 
 and later by the Kearsarge Woolen Co., were sold, in 1891, to 
 G. H. Tilton, the present owner. 
 
 EXEMPTION FROM TAXATION. 
 
 The citizens of Northfield have ever been generous with those 
 who sought to establish new industries among them. In 1867 
 they first voted to exempt from taxation for a term of 10 years 
 the Granite Mills, which had been enlarged with the view to in- 
 creased business, since which time any and all new firms locating 
 on our water front have been exempted for an equal term. In 
 1880, BuelFs Mill and business; in 1872, the Elm Mills; in 1895, 
 the Brilton Hosiery Co. and, later, W. H. Carter's woolen mill 
 and Chirk & Dodge's hosiery mill in 1889. To show the readi- 
 ness of our citizens, the following from the records of the town 
 is incontestible proof: 
 
 "At a special meeting Oct 31. 1891 lasting just 46 minutes it 
 was voted to exempt for ten years George H. Tilton's Hosiery 
 !Mill and machinery also the Kearsarge Woolen Co. & the capital 
 stock and machinery of 0. and E. Morrison." 
 
ii40 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 ADAM S. BALLANTYNE. 
 
 Mr. Ballantyne was born in Scotland, September 29, 1833, and came 
 from Methnen to Northfield in 1SG5. He was, from the first, a loyal 
 citizen of his adopted town and generously contributed to whatever 
 had for its object the betterment of the community. 
 
 He was a man of high moral standards and of more than ordinary 
 mental ability; an earnest temperance advocate and assisted largely in 
 freeing the village from saloons. Northfield honored herself in sending 
 him to the Legislature of 1881 and in choosing him president of the 
 day at her centennial anniversary. 
 
 He united with the Congregational Church in 1867; has served as 
 superintendent of its Sunday School, and been a generous contributor 
 to its many lines of work. After a residence of 15 years in the brick 
 house by the mill he removed to Tilton and since his retirement from 
 the Granite Mills has been employed in similar work at the Tilton 
 Mills. He is a member of Doric Lodge, A. F. and A. M., a trustee of 
 Hall Library and long a member of Union District board of education 
 and president of lona Savings Bank. 
 
 He married, December 7, 1865, Mittie Clough, daughter of Jeremiah 
 and Nancy Carter Tilton. They have five children. (See Ballantyne 
 gen.) 
 
 ELM MILLS AND RICHARD FIRTH. 1824-1898. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 The subject of this sketch, Richard Firth, who was so closely con- 
 nected with Northfield welfare for more than a third of a century, 
 was born in Dewsbury, Yorkshire County, Eng., on the tenth day of 
 February, 1824. His parents were in very humble circumstances and 
 he was obliged to go to work, at the age of eight, in order to help sup- 
 port the large family. When about 20 he resolved to go to America 
 and after a long and stormy voyage landed in Boston, September 4, 
 1844. I have often heard him relate that his only capital was a deter- 
 mination to succeed and a robust constitution, for when his passage 
 was paid there was little left in which to start life in a new country 
 without friends or any situation in view. 
 
 Mr. Firth secured work in the mill at Ballardvale, Mass., and grad- 
 ually rose to positions of responsibility, when the gold discovery in 
 California caused him to give up his situation and he accordingly 
 sailed from Boston around the Horn and reached California at the 
 height of the excitement, but his longing for mill life called him back 
 after an absence of two years and soon after his return he married 
 Agnes Morrison of Ballardvale, who became his loving and efficient 
 helpmate through life. Mrs. Fifth died in 1890 after prolonged suf- 
 fering. 
 
 In 1865, in company with A. S. Ballantyne and John and William 
 Fletcher, he came to Northfield and opened the Granite Mill, so-called, 
 
RICHARD FIRTH. 
 
MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS.. 241 
 
 which mill they successfully operated for many years. Later, Mr. 
 Firth severed his connection with the firm and began the manufacture 
 of woolen goods in the white mill built by Hazen Copp, Esq., and now 
 occupied by the Tilton Optical Company. This business Mr. Firth 
 conducted to within a few years of his death and as a manufacturer 
 he was eminently successful, and it is a matter of record that in all 
 his dealing with labor he had no trouble or misunderstanding. 
 
 Personally a very hard working man, at the mill early and late, with 
 a knowledge of all departments such as few men possess, he inspired 
 all by his energy and zeal. This success was only accomplished through, 
 many reverses, but his strong determination conquered all obstacles 
 and I am sure the citizens of Northfield will uphold me when I say 
 that he was one of her foremost captains of industry. 
 
 Not of those who sound their own praise, but one of those who was 
 content to work quietly, unassumingly and who have their reward in 
 gaining the goal striven for through earnest, patient endeavor. As a 
 citizen of the sister town of Tilton Mr. Firth was honored by being 
 chosen selectman several times (under his term the upper iron bridge 
 was built), and also as her representative to the Legislature in 1881, 
 as well as minor positions of trust. 
 
 Although not a member, he was a constant attendant of the Con- 
 gregational Church and has left a substantial token of his interest in 
 the form of the Agnes Firth Memorial Fund, a perpetual legacy. The 
 Tilton and Northfield Library was also remembered in his will, which, 
 shows how close he held the church and town of his adoption in his 
 heart. 
 
 Mr. Firth was also a generous contributor to all worthy objects and 
 many people have been helped and encouraged in time of need by him 
 in his quiet way. He departed this life October 7, 1898, after a short 
 illness and was buried with full Masonic honors. His body lies at rest 
 in the old South Cemetery in Andover, Mass., beside his faithful wife. 
 A son, Ray W., of Newark, N. J., is his sole survivor. An adopted 
 daughter. Mary Ella, died February 27, 1876, aged 13 years. 
 
 In concluding this sketch it might be well to add that his reward in 
 this life for a hard fought battle was the satisfaction that it had been 
 achieved by upright dealing with all men and perseverance, an ex- 
 ample v/e all would do well to copy. 
 
 ARCH MILLS. 
 
 Mr. Charles Green of En<rland and A. L. Hilton of ^Maine, in 
 1890, lea.sed the Elm Mills of Richard Firth and ehancred the 
 name to Arch ]\Iills, where, with three sets of machinery and a 
 force of 40 assistants, they made fine dress coods and cloakinp:s. 
 Their stay was .short and the bnsiness passed to ]\Ir. W. II. Carter 
 and E. P. Parsons. The latter also purchased the Granite Mills, 
 17 
 
242 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 where he manufactured doeskins and blankets. They remained 
 less than a year, the Granite Mills Co. taking the upper mill and 
 E. G. Morrison, with Mr. Carter, the Arch Mills. This business 
 passed, in 1892, to 0. & E. Morrison, who had just vacated the 
 Clark & Dodge Mill, and at once restored its former name, "The 
 Elm Mills." 
 
 OBE G. MORRISON. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Northfield's greatest pride is in its citizenship; the men and women 
 who go to make up the working force in its every day life and assure 
 its present and future progress and solidity. A farmer's son may not 
 have the softest place in the world, yet it often proves to be a good 
 training-school. Mr. Morrison, the subject of this sketch, remained 
 with his father on the farm until past 16 years of age, when he was 
 employed one year at the home of C. E. Tilton. He then entered the 
 Granite Mills at $1 a day as scourer of wool, passing from that, in 
 course, through the various grades of the business until the whole 
 routine was accomplished, some two years in all. He then passed to 
 the Elm Mills, with Richard Firth, where he remained for 20 years, a 
 good school, indeed, for a prospective manufacturer, as it gave him an 
 insight into all the details of a successful business. 
 
 In connection with this Mr. Morrison resided on and managed the 
 homestead farm; tore down the old buildings and erected new ones 
 and with pardonable pride set himself to making his surroundings 
 second to none. Rocks were removed, grounds graded, fields leveled, 
 orchard and shade trees planted, cattle and horses improved, a heavy 
 mortgage lifted and all the conveniences attached to a well ordered 
 estate secured. These were but a few of the many things accomplished 
 in those busy years. The increase of the manufacturing interests, how- 
 ever, made a change necessary. The farm was passed over to other 
 members of the family and a home erected nearer the village. 
 
 Mr. Morrison married, January 1, 1874, Mary Munsey of Gilford, and 
 has one daughter, Edith, wife of Walter Booth, connected with the 
 firm. They reside in the home and have a son, Howard Morrison 
 Booth, born .January 16, 1903. (See gen.) Mr. Morrison, though loaded 
 with the many exacting details of every day business, finds time to 
 devote to many other matters. He served the town as representative 
 in 1886 and has been one of its selectmen for several terms. Besides, 
 he has served the educational interests of Union District as one of 
 the board. He was one of the committee for the construction of the 
 new Union graded schoolhouse and from his familiarity with and often 
 personal encounters with fire has both experience and fitness for the 
 position he holds at the head of the fire department. 
 
 He united with the Congregational Church when 17 years of age and 
 
OBE G. MORRISON. 
 
MRS. OBE G. MORRISON. 
 
pq 
 
 O 
 
 O 
 
 Q 
 I— I 
 
 P5 
 
E. G. MORRISON. 
 
 ii 
 
MRS. E. G. MORRISON. 
 
MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS. 243 
 
 has since been actively identified with all its lines of Christian work 
 and was for a long term superintendent of its Sunday School. His 
 wife nobly seconds his labors in all these lines and they are both ever 
 ready with sympathy and material aid to assist any one in trouble 
 or in want. 
 
 EDWIN G. MORRISON. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Edwin G. Morrison was born at Gilford in 1862 and after his father's 
 death in 1863 remained there with his grandparents. He was educated 
 in the public schools of Gilford, Union Graded School and a short time 
 at Tilton Seminary. He had a practical turn and his education did 
 not stop with his leaving school. He spent one year in California and 
 on his return began his life work as a mill hand for Richard Firth, who 
 sent him to assist in a mill at Ashland, of which Mr. Firth was part 
 owner and proprietor. He becaime a close student of methods and 
 every detail of the prosperous business in which every onward step 
 was the result of proficiency in the one below. The work just suited 
 him and into it he threw his whole energy and enthusiasm. 
 
 Hg married, February 28, 1891, Carrie B. Glines of Northfield, who 
 by her energy and devotion to his interests has done much to ensure 
 success. She was for years his efficient bookkeeper and has rare exec- 
 utive ability and a strong and pleasing personality. Her leadership 
 of the arrangements of the Old Home celebration in 1901 clearly demon- 
 strated her ability in larger matters than the management of her own 
 household and her prompt and wise decisions make her a natural leader. 
 Mr. and Mrs. Morrison are members of the Country Club, a social or- 
 ganization of Lowell, and he is also of the Vesper Club of Tyngsboro 
 Island. He is besides a member of the Home Market Club and a mem- 
 ber of Friendship Grange. 
 
 0. & E. MORRISON. ELM MILLS WOOLEN CO. 
 
 In 1888 Mr. ]\rorrison became associated with his nephew, Ed- 
 win G. Morrison and began the mannfactnre of shoddy on the 
 Tilton end of the upper dam, where, with a building and base- 
 ment and less than half a dozen help, they conducted an increas- 
 ing bu-siness until they were burned out, rebuilt and had a second 
 loss within a year. They then occupied a part of the Clark ]\Iill 
 and with one card, one picker and one man they soon grew to fill 
 the entire building and their output came to average 1,000 pounds 
 daily. They here first used that wonderful product called wool 
 extract, which completely revolutionized the business. They here 
 suffered a third loss by fire and great loss of valuable material 
 put in but a day previous. 
 
 1^ 
 
244 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 On the retirement of INIr. Firth from the Elm Mills and the 
 departure of Messrs. Green and Hilton and their successors, the 
 Kearsarge Woolen Co., in 1892, ]\Iessrs. 0. & E. Morrison bought 
 the business and machinery, leased the building and began the 
 manufacture of repellants and ladies' dress goods and cloakings. 
 Busy, prosperous years followed. The mill was twice enlarged, 
 until it became double its original dimensions, and many lines of 
 goods produced. 
 
 In 1898 they retired from the Elm Mills, taking the name with 
 them, and leased the mill of the Britain Mfg. Co. on the lower 
 dam. Here they erected other necessary buildings and have 
 since manufactured exclusively woolen dress goods. Mr. E. G. 
 Morrison, Avliile remaining a joint owner and director in this 
 business, in 1902 leased the Merrimack ]\Iills at Lowell, where 
 he conducts on an extensive scale the manufacture of the same 
 line of goods. Their goods are sold exclusively by Derry, Miliken 
 & Co., New York City. 
 
 CLARK MILL. 
 
 Jeremiah G. Clark of Franklin, in 1888, erected a brick mill, 
 46 by 92, three stories in height near the Granite Mill and on 
 the same power. Here he began the manufacture of Shaker 
 seamless hosiery. After a few months he received into partner- 
 ship Arthur M. Dodge, who was engaged in the same business 
 across the river. This mill, after the death of Mr. Clark a few 
 years later and the removal of INIr. Dodge to Hampton, was taken 
 by 0. & E. IVIorrison for the manufacture of shodd3% until their 
 removal to the Elm ]\Iills. It is now a part of the G. H. Tiltou 
 Hosiery Mills plant. 
 
 STEAM MILL. 
 
 John W. and Charles Pease came to Northfield from IMeredith 
 in 1887 and established the manufacture of builders' supplies 
 and boxes on the cove at the foot of Howard Avenue. After a , 
 few years it passed to the ownership of «Iames Copp and, later, i 
 to Jason Foss, and still later to Ray W. Firth. It was sold, in 
 1897, to John S. York, who removed the business, in 1903, to a | 
 new shop near the fair grounds. The former site and buildings ; 
 are now the property of C. L. True and a carriage repair and | 
 wheelwright shop has been established by Corson of Lebanon and 
 
CARTER'S MILLS. 
 
PLANT OF THE GEO. H. TILTON & SON HOSIERY CO. 
 
MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS. 245 
 
 the adjoining building used as a paint shop by Mr. Carter of the 
 same place. 
 
 TILTON HOSIERY CO. 
 
 The Tilton Hosiery Co. consisted of George E. Buell, presi- 
 dent; Courtland Boynton, treasurer; James P. Osborne, Henry 
 A. Buell and Charles F. Buell. They erected a mill, in 1880, on 
 the south end of the upper Tilton dam, the site of the Morrison 
 tannery, of 70 horse power. They commenced the manufacture 
 of hosiery with two sets of machinery and their regular output 
 became 100 dozen per day M'ith 50 hands. The capacity of the 
 mill was doubled in 188-1 and fine grade machinery introduced. 
 The output became 250 dozens daily and 120 hands were em- 
 ployed. The business was closed out in 1895 and the cards and 
 spinning machinery became the property of A. D. Carter. 
 
 carter's mill. 
 (See cut.) 
 
 In 1899 Albert D. Carter of Lowell, Mass., purchased the Buell 
 Hosiery i\Iill property and, together with E. G. Morrison of the 
 firm of 0. & E. Morrison, installed machinery for the manufac- 
 ture of woolen goods of various grades and styles. They con- 
 tinued in business together until 1902, when Mr. Carter pur- 
 chased Mr. Morrison's interest. The property has since been 
 improved and additional machinery added from time to time and 
 is now equipped with five sets of cards and -lO broad looms, to- 
 gether with spinning and finishing machinery. 
 
 The output is about 35,000 yards of 54-inch goods monthly; 
 about 50 hands are employed at the present time (1905) and 
 the monthly pay roll approximates $2,500, Avith Albert S. Carter, 
 superintendent. 
 
 G. H. tilton 'S hosiery MILL. 
 (See group cut.) 
 
 The Granite Mill and the adjoining mill of Clark and Dodge, 
 with other contiguous property, became, in 1891, the property of 
 G. H. Tilton & Son of Laconia. Their business is scattered in 
 a number of states, with mills at Laconia, Tilton, Columbia, S. C, 
 and Savannah, Ga., with main oflfice in Northfield. They employ 
 in all about 1,000 operatives. Their production is very large 
 
246 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 and is confined entirely to children's cotton hosiery of many 
 styles and kinds. Their goods are sold throughout the whole 
 United States. (See Tilton gen., page 307; also, portrait and 
 sketch. ) 
 
 GEORGE ^ENRY TILTON. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Mr. George Henry Tilton, the well known hosiery manufacturer of 
 Laconia, Northfield and elsewhere, was born in Dorchester, May 13, 
 1845. He was the son of Joseph Sullivan Tilton, born at East North- 
 field in 1818. (See page 307, also supplement.) His early life was 
 passed in California, returning with his parents in 1857. He was 
 educated in the public schools and Gilford Academy. 
 
 "When the Civil War broke out he enlisted, September 14, 18G1, in 
 Company D (the Laconia company) of the Fourth New Hampshire 
 Regiment of Volunteers and served three years. In the employ of his 
 father he learned the details of the hosiery manufacturing industry, 
 which business he for many years carried on at Laconia. In 1891 he 
 purchased the Jeremiah Tilton Mills in Northfield, which he, with his 
 son, Elmer S. Tilton, are running at the present time successfully, pro- 
 ducing hosiery in large quantities and employing several hundred 
 hands. They have also large manufacturing interests in the South. 
 
 Mr. Tilton is a member of the New Hampshire Society of Colonial 
 Wars; John L. Perley, Jr., Post, No. 37, G. A. R.; the New England 
 Society of California Pioneers; and of Masonic fraternities as follows: 
 Mt. Lebanon Lodge, A. F. and A. M.; Union Chapter, Pythagorian Coun- 
 cil, and Pilgrim Commandery, K. T.; also a thirty-second degree Mason, 
 being a member of Edward A. Raymond Consistory of Nashua. 
 
 He was married at Laconia June 19, 186G, to Marietta, daughter of 
 Osgood and Mary Lamprey Randlett of Upper Gilmanton (now Bel- 
 mont), who died, August 15, 1874, leaving one son, Elmer S. Tilton. 
 Mr. Tilton married (second), April 11, 1883, in Columbia, S. C, Calista 
 E. Brown, daughter of David and Hannah Fox Brown of Sanbornton. 
 Mrs. Tilton died October 9, 1901. He married (third) at San Jose, 
 Cal., September 2, 1902, Julia Caroline Greene of San Mateo County. 
 He resides at Laconia. 
 
 ELMER STEPHEN TILTON. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Elmer Stephen Tilton, who is associated with his father in the manu- 
 facture of hosiery in Northfield, was a graduate of Laconia High School, 
 class of 1887. He retains his residence in Laconia and represented 
 Ward Three in the Legislature of 1897-'98. He was also state senator 
 for the Sixth District in 1903 and 1904. 
 
 Fraternally Mr. Tilton is a member of the various Masonic frater- 
 nities and of Mt. Belknap Lodge, No. 20, Knights of Pythias. He is a 
 
 II 
 
GEORGE HENRY TILTON. 
 
ELMER STEPHEN TILTON. 
 
MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS. 247 
 
 past master of Mt. Lebanon Lodge, No. 32, A. F. and A. M., and past 
 eminent commander of Pilgrim Commandery, Knights Templar. Mr. 
 Tilton is a thirty-second degree Mason and member of Edward A. Ray- 
 mond Consistory of Nashua and also a member of Aleppo Temple, 
 Mystic Shrine, of Boston, Mass. He married, in 1892, Lillian G. Har- 
 rington of Laconia and has three sons, Charles Henry, Elmer Har- 
 rington and Kenneth Joseph. 
 
 BRITAIN MANUFACTURING CO. 
 
 In 1893 Francis B. Fay came to Northfield from Cambridge, 
 ]\Iass., and erected a mill for the manufacture of hosiery on the 
 lower dam. A building, first-class in all its details, was erected 
 by D. M. Page, which was completed in 1894. The machinery 
 was all imported and but a part of the power Avas ever devel- 
 oped. The manufactured goods w^re fine hosiery. 
 
 Mr. Fay had previously studied law and for various reasons 
 gave up the business after five years and, leasing the mill to 
 ]\Iessrs. 0. & E. INIorrison, enlarged and fitted it for the manufac- 
 ture of woolen dress goods, selling the hosiery machinery to A. 
 L. Sulloway of Franklin Falls, and returned to the practice of 
 law. 
 
 TILTON OPTICAL COMPANY. 
 (See cut.) 
 
 This company was incorporated under the laws of the State of 
 ]\raine in 1902 and acquired the property of the Lord Bros. j\lfg. 
 Co. It was exempted from taxation for a term of 10 years. It 
 manufactures spectacle and eyeglass lenses. It is one of three 
 similar manufactories in this country and the only one to sell to 
 the retail trade. It has a capacity of 2,000 dozen "pairs of spec- 
 tacle lenses per week and employs 75 hands with a pay roll of 
 about $40,000 annually. The work consumes about 25 tons of 
 optical glass yearly, which is imported principally from Ger- 
 many. 
 
 Much of the automatic machinery is the invention and has been 
 designed and built by Lucien W. Bugbee, who is also the man- 
 ager of the plant, of which Dr. Seth W. Jones of Fi-niiklin is 
 president and Arthur T. Cass is treasurer. ]\Iore than 60,000 
 different combinations of lenses are made. 
 
 Martin Copoland & Co., of Providence, R. I., manufacturers 
 of jewelry and fine spectacle and eyeglass frames, ai-e largely 
 
248 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 interested in the business and handle the greater part of the 
 product through their offices in New York, Chicago and Provi- 
 dence. One of the three surface grinding machines used in the 
 work is the largest of the kind in the world, being 85 feet long 
 and weighing with its tools more than 40 tons. It has over 200 
 spindles and operates on some 15,000 lenses simultaneously. 
 
 The building has about 20,000 square feet of floor space, all of 
 which is given up to the manufacture of optical goods. The sev- 
 eral water-wheels deliver approximately 125 horse power, one 
 machine alone requiring from 40 to 60. The buildings were for- 
 merly used by the Elm ]\Iills Woolen Co. and this water-power 
 was one of the first in town to be developed. 
 
CHAPTER XVII. 
 
 BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Ned Dearborn, D. Sc, 
 Assistant Curator of Birds, Field Columbian Museum, Chicago, 111. 
 
 Xo other class of animals attract so much popular attention as 
 birds. And what wonder, for, in the elements of beauty in form 
 and color, melodious songs and engaging ways, they are the peers 
 of the animal kingdom. We all love birds for what they are, 
 and cherish them for Avhat they do for us as esthetic and economic 
 forces. Yet few people know by name a dozen birds, when, with 
 a little attention, they might as well know a hundred. 
 
 This chapter has been written with the hope that it will en- 
 able, especially, such inquisitive boys and girls as see much of 
 the woods and fields, yet have access to but few books, to learn 
 the names of the birds that are familiar to their eyes and ears 
 but are unknown because, to them, unnamed. 
 
 All of the species mentioned have been seen in town or in the 
 immediate vicinity by the writer or some other observer whom 
 he considers trustworthy. The descriptions, though necessarily 
 brief, touch diagnostic points, both as to families and species, 
 and, with a little experience in observing birds, will prove suf- 
 ficient. 
 
 There is an evident relation between the habits of birds and 
 their structure; those of different habits differing also jn makeup. 
 Thus we may divide them according to general habits into two 
 primary groups, namely : Water Birds and Land Birds, each of 
 which is well adapted for existence in its accepted element, but 
 illy designed for surroundings that suit the other. Now while 
 Water Bii-ds and Land Birds, eaoli group taken as a whole, pre- 
 sent great contrasts, the constituents of either group when com- 
 pared with one another show lesser contra.sts in size, form, color 
 or habits ])y wliicli they in turn are differentiated. These con- 
 trasts, then, large and little, are to be the basis of this review of 
 the birds of Northfield. 
 
250 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 WATER BIRDS. 
 
 Although the Water Birds are adapted for aquatic living, their 
 adaptations are several, and their appearances widely varied. 
 
 The Divers. (Order, Pygopodes.) 
 Here belong the grebes, loons and auks, which live on fish and 
 other Avater creatures procured by diving. They agree in having 
 narrow pointed bills and small wings, and in having their legs 
 attached to the posterior end of the body, — the better for rapid 
 swimming. 
 
 The Grebe Family. (Podicipidae.) 
 
 Grebes have very broad toes, with wide, tlat 
 Wide, flat toes. nails, webbed together only at the base. The Hol- 
 BOELL Grebe {Cohjmhus holhoellii) is a rare mi- 
 grant. Its bill is as long as its head, and both jaws taper grad- 
 ually to a sharp point. In spring it has a chestnut-red neck, but 
 in the fall and winter it is gray, like all the other grebes in those 
 seasons, but it may always be known by its superior size. Length, 
 about 18 inches. The Horned Grebe (Colijnibus auritus), also 
 a scarce migrant, has a bill shorter than its head, thus differing 
 from the last with which it agrees, however, in having both man- 
 dibles gradually tapering to a point. It is named from having 
 long feathers on each side of its head in spring, which fluff out, 
 suggesting horns. Length, about 14 inches. The Pied-billed 
 Grebe {Podllymhus podiceps) is similar in size to the last, but 
 it may be distinguished at once by its bill, of which the upper 
 mandible is arched toward the tip, making its contour quite un- 
 like that of the lower mandible, and the tip of the bill rather 
 obtuse. In spring it has a black bar across each side of the bill, 
 whence its name. This grebe is less rare than the others and a 
 possible breeder. Its nest is a floating structure of rushes and 
 flags usually in a marsh. Length, 12 to 14 inches. 
 The Loon FAjriLY. (Gaviidae.) 
 
 Loons are large divers, having the three front 
 Front toes full- ^^^^ f^^^^ webbed. The Common Loon {Gavia im- 
 
 webbed. Back 7 x • -1^.111 j 
 
 ^, J oer) IS a summer resident on the lakes and an oc- 
 gray or spotted. 
 
 Size large. casional visitor to our local waters. In spring 
 
 and summer its head is dark green, its back is 
 black, profusely marked with squarish spots of white, and its un- 
 der parts are white. A collar of alternate black and white verti- 
 
BIRDS OF NORTIIFIELD. 251 
 
 cal stripes surrounds its neck. Fall and winter birds are plain 
 gray above, but their large size affords an easy means of identifi- 
 cation. Length, 33 inches or more. Nest on shore quite near 
 water. The Red-throated Loon {Gavia lumme) is a rarity, but 
 it is to be expected at intervals as a fall migrant. Adults are 
 ashy gray above, white beneath, and chestnut on the throat. 
 Young specimens have gray backs with numerous small, round 
 spots of white. Length, 30 inches or less. 
 
 The Auk Family. (Alcidae.) 
 
 The auks belong to the sea, and appear here only by accident 
 or by an unusual and unexplainable tide of migration. They 
 have webbed toes like the loons, but their backs are solid black 
 and under parts clear white at all seasons. Brunnicii jMurres 
 {Uria lo7nvia) appeared in the fall of 1900 on Lakes Winnepe- 
 saukee and Winnisquam, and one specimen was picked up by the 
 roadside on Bean Hill where it had fallen exhausted, unable to 
 continue its flight. The entire upper parts of this murre, as it 
 appears here, are black, excepting a narrow bar of white on the 
 wings. Length, 16 to 19 inches. The Dovekie (Alle allc) has 
 been found at various times in different portions of the state as 
 far inland as this, and at least once in Merrimack County, so it 
 must be considered a possibility here. Its appearance is prob- 
 ably due to a heavy east or northeast storm, which carries the 
 unwilling migrant away from its beloved ocean. It is colored 
 like the last species, but it is only about 8i/^ inches long. 
 
 The Long-Winged Swimmers. (Order, Longipennes.) 
 
 This division is composed of the gulls and terns and a few 
 allies. They feed on fish, aquatic insects and — the gulls at least — 
 on floating garbage. Though their food is similar to that of the 
 divers, their manner of hunting it, and consequently tlieir struc- 
 ture, are very different. These birds are to the sea Avhat hawks 
 and swifts and swallows ai-e to the land. They hunt by flying 
 hitlicr ahd yon over the water ever on the lookout for a mouthful. 
 Their webbed feet come into play only when food is captured or 
 when there is need of rest. Large of wing, legs hung medially, 
 feet webbed, usually seen flying — these are characteristics of the 
 long-winged swinnners. They are abundant about the larger 
 
252 HISTORY OF NORTHFJELD. 
 
 bodies of water but only appear here as stragglers from the sea, 
 usually by way of the Merrimack River. 
 
 The Herring Gull (Larus argentatus) appears like a large 
 white hawk flapping leisurely at some distance above the water 
 which it scans for floating fish or garbage. Adults are pale blue 
 on the back and white beneath. The tips of the wings as seen 
 from below are black. The bill is about 214 inches long, rather 
 deep and arched toward the end. Immature birds are gray all 
 over. Length, about 2 feet; extent of wings, about 4i/^ feet. 
 The Bonaparte Gull {Larus Philadelphia) is tiny as compared 
 with the last species, being scarcely more than a foot in length. 
 In breeding plumage the head is black; in autumn and winter 
 it is white. The back is pale blue, the under parts are white and 
 the tips of the wings are black. Adults have white tails, but 
 immature specimens have a black band near the end, which is 
 rounded, — a form so totally unlike the forked tails of the terns 
 as to afford observers an easy clue for separating this species 
 from the terns that are of a similar size. The Common Tern 
 {Sterna hirundo) has longer, more pointed wings than the gulls, 
 and consequently an easier manner of flying. Its bill is more 
 slender and uniformly tapering to an acute point ; and its tail 
 is deeply forked. Its crown is black, back very pale blue, under 
 parts white, base of bill and feet red. It dives from aloft and 
 ascends again immediately to wing with its fish. Young birds 
 have less black on the crown and paler bills and feet than adults. 
 Length, 12 to 16 inches; extent, about 30 inches. 
 
 Ducks and Geese. (Order, Anseres.) 
 
 Ducks and geese are peculiar among our water birds in having 
 their bills covered with a leathery skin, except at the tip, which 
 bears a nail. But four ducks and one goose are common enough 
 here to be well known. They are the black duck and the wood 
 duck, which are here in spring and fall and occasionally in sum- 
 mer, and the whistler and sheldrake which are found only be- 
 tween late fall and early spring. Another duck, the hooded mer- 
 ganser, is an occasional migrant spring and fall. The Canada 
 goose is the only one ordinarily seen here. Several other ducks 
 and one other goose have been found either in town or in the 
 vicinity on one or more occasions, and these Avill be included in 
 our list, though they are but strays from other localities. 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 253 
 
 The clucks are conveniently divided into two 
 DUCKS WITH jrronps, one of which has a flap attached to the 
 
 THE HIND i • J + 1 • N- + f ■ u 
 
 ___ T ^oc-T-w hnid toe, makinfr it a quarter oi an inch or more 
 
 in width. The other ^roup lacks this flap. AVe 
 
 will consider first the group having' the hind toe lobed. 
 
 The mergansers are distinguished by nar- 
 Saw-bUls. row bills, each jaw bearing a row of tooth-like 
 
 projections along each side, whence the name 
 saw-bills, that is often applied to them. They are also called fish 
 ducks because they subsist mainly upon fish. The American 
 Merganser (Merganser americanus) is the heaviest of our ducks. 
 The head of the adult male is dark green, the fore part of the 
 back is black, the rump and tail gray, the neck and much of the 
 wings and underparts white. Females and young males have 
 reddish brown heads with a moderate crest, gray backs and white 
 bellies. Their saw-bills coupled with their large size render them 
 unmistakable. The Hooded ]\Ierbanser (Lophodijtes cucuUatus) 
 is little compared with the last species. The high circular crest, 
 1)r()wnish black, except for a conspicuous triangular area of white 
 with its apex behind the eye, makes the male a beautiful object. 
 Both sexes are mainly black above and white beneath, with more 
 or less chestnut vermiculated with narrow black lines along the 
 sides. The head of the female and young male is brown without 
 white, and the crest is small. Their saw-bills and small size are 
 sufficient for their identification. There is still another mergan- 
 ser, the red-breasted, found along the coast, but there is no record 
 that it ever occurred in. Merrimack County. 
 
 Excepting the mergansers, all our ducks have 
 Sides of bill wide, flat bills. In this division of the ducks 
 
 diverging, liaving the hind toe lobed, the bill is distinctly 
 broader toward the tip than at the base. There 
 are in it five species, all stragglers either from the ocean or the 
 AVest. The Kiddy Duck {Erismatura jamaicensis) is character- 
 ized by having the nail at the tip of its bill, as seen from above, 
 not over an eighth of an inch wide. It is a small duck with a 
 rather long, .stiff tail and a bill that is much wider near the tip 
 than at the ])ase. The Ring-necked Duck (Aythya coUaris) is 
 of modium si/e, has the nail at the tip of the bill a quarter of an 
 inch wide and a bluish, gray speculum on its wing. The male 
 
254 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 has head, neck, breast and back black, and round its neck a ring 
 of chestnut, whence its name. The Lesser Scaup Duck {Aythya 
 affinis) has the nail at the tip of its bill a quarter of an inch wide 
 like the last species, which it also resembles in size and habits, 
 but it has a white speculum bordered outwardly by a band of 
 duslry^ brown, which distinguishes it at once. The Greater 
 Scaup Duck {Aythya marila) is an exact counterpart of the 
 last in color, but it is larger and the nail at the tip of its bill is 
 five-sixteenths of an inch wide. The White-winged Scoter 
 {Oidemia deglandi) has the nail at the tip of its bill half an inch 
 wide, and a white speculum without a margin of any other color 
 on its wing. Except for this speculum and a small crescent of 
 M^hite at the rear corner of its eye, the male is black. The female 
 is dusky, but easily determined by her speculum as above. 
 
 A third division of the ducks with the hind 
 Sides of bill ^^^ lobed has the sides of the bill converging 
 
 converging, toward the tip. Of these, two are of rare occur- 
 rence, while the third is a regular winter resident 
 on the river. Both of the two rarities have the nostrils nearer 
 the base of the bill than the tip. One of them, the Buffle Head 
 (Charionetta albeola) has the nail at the tip of its bill three-six- 
 teenth of an inch wide. This is the smallest duck that we have, 
 its bill being only about an inch long. The other rarity, the Old 
 Squaw {Harelda hyemalis) — named for its scolding propensi- 
 ties — has the nail at the tip of its bill five-sixteenths of an inch 
 or more in width. The male has its middle tail feathers slender 
 and six inches or more in length. The Whisti^er or American 
 Golden-eye {Clangida clangula) has the nostrils nearer the tip 
 than the base of the bill. The adult male has a deep green head 
 with a large white spot in front of each eye. Females and im- 
 mature males have brown heads without the white spot. The 
 whistlers and the mergansers or sheldrakes, as they are often 
 called, are our winter ducks. All of the ducks w4th the hind toe 
 lobed are excellent divers. 
 
 The ducks of this group have no flap or lobe on 
 
 _ the hind toe, which is not over three-sixteenths of 
 
 LOBE. ^^^ ^^^^^^ wide. They may be called dabbling 
 
 ducks, inasmuch as they are given to feeding in 
 
 shallow water where they can reach the bottom without being 
 
 completely submerged. Their food consists mainly of vegetable 
 
BIRDS OP NORTHFIELD. 255 
 
 matter, such as seeds, roots, bulbs and foliage of aquatic plants. 
 This group may also be subdivided according- to the relative trend 
 of the sides of the bill, one division having the sides of the bill 
 slightly diverging from the base forward, while the other, con- 
 taining the wood duck alone, has the sides of the bill converging. 
 The first division is comprised of the black 
 Sides of bill duck and mallard, both large ducks having bills 
 
 inf. ^ '^^''2' over three-fourths of an inch wide, and the blue- 
 winged teal and green-winged teal, small ducks, 
 having bills less than three-fourths of an inch in width. The 
 Black Duck (Anas obscura) is an occasional breeder, but gen- 
 erally only a migrant more common in spring. Its general dusky 
 appearance and violet wing speculum bordered on each side by 
 a black line, taken with the group characters mentioned above, 
 are sufficient for its identification. The sexes are alike in color. 
 The Mallard {Anas hoscJias), the progenitor of our common do- 
 mestic ducks, is a rare visitor from the West. It is to be recog- 
 nized by its violet wing speculum with a border consisting of a 
 black line and a white line on each side. Both sexes have the 
 same speculum though they differ decidedly in general color- 
 ation. The male has the green head, white ring around its neck, 
 dark chestnut breast, and curled rump plumes of the domestic 
 duck, while the female is streaked all over, her feathers having 
 dusky centers and buff edges. The teals are also rare visitors. 
 The Blue-winged Teal (Qucrqucdula discors), after the group 
 and division are considered, is to be recognized at once by the 
 large area of blue that covers the bend of the wing. The Green- 
 winged Teal {Xcttion caVolinensis) has no blue .whatever on the 
 bend of the wing, though in size and contour it is similar to the 
 last species. 
 
 The Wood Duck (Aix sponsa) is the only 
 
 Sides of bill species of the lobeless hind-toed ducks having the 
 
 converging, sides of its bill converging toward the tip, and 
 
 also the only one to have a crested head. The 
 
 adult male is not surpa.s.sed in beauty by any duck in the world. 
 
 It is an occasional breeder and a rather common migrant. 
 
 The Wild Goose {Branta canadensis) is a common migrant. A 
 character that distinguishes it from the next species is the large 
 white area covering both cheeks and the throat. The Brant 
 
256 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 Goose {Branfa hcrncla) is much smaller than the wild poose. It 
 usually has a small patch of white on each side of the neck, but 
 none on the throat or cheeks. The only specimen ever seen in 
 this locality was killed in November, about 1891, on the Winne- 
 pesaukee River between Tilton and Franklin Falls. 
 
 We have finished the swimming birds and are now ready to 
 consider those that follow the border lands between open water 
 and dry ground — the waders. Wading birds have long legs, long 
 toes, long necks and, as a rule, long bills. Three orders are repre- 
 sented : herons, rails and sandpipers, which M'ill be dealt with in 
 turn. 
 
 The Herons. (Order, Herodiones.) 
 
 Herons are distinguished from rails by having the bill longer 
 than the middle toe including its claw, and from sandpipers by 
 their much larger size; and from both rails and sandpipers by 
 having hard spear-like bills tapering gradually down to a sharp 
 point, and by certain dense patches of short greasy feathers 
 called powder-down tracts on the under parts of the body. The 
 American Bittern (Botaurus leufiginostis), better known as the 
 Stake Driver, from the peculiar sound it makes during the breed- 
 ing season, is a summer resident, coming quite early in spi'ing 
 and staying until October or November in the marshes along the 
 river and about the ponds. The stake driver ordinarily stands 
 15 or 18 inches high, and has a general coloration of buffy brown 
 mottled and streaked with dusky, being quite different in color 
 from the night heron — the only other species approaching it in 
 size. When subjected to a close inspection, this bittern is seen to 
 have a heavy black streak on each side of the throat, and its outer 
 front toes shorter than the inner one. The nest is placed upon 
 the ground in a marsh. The Night Heron (Nyciticorax nycti- 
 corax naevHs) is similar to the bittern in size but its outer front 
 toe is longer than the inner one and it never has black on the 
 sides of its throat. It is a rare straggler here, though it is lo- 
 cally common near the coast. The adult has a black crown, deep 
 green back, wings and tail gray, neck and under parts white. It 
 is our handsomest heron. Young birds are gray streaked and 
 spotted above with white, and white streaked with gray beneath. 
 Its length is about two feet from bill to tail, and it stands about 
 18 inches high. The Green Heron [Butorides viresccns) is our 
 
BIRDS OP NORTHFIELD. 257 
 
 smallest species, measuring 18 inches or less from bill to tail, and 
 standing in ordinary posture from 8 to 10 inches in height. Its 
 crown and back are green, whence its name. It is an occasional 
 breeder but is far less common here than near the coast. Nest in 
 trees. The Great Blue Heron {Ardea herodias) is conspicuous 
 by its great size, standing from 3 to 5 feet high, according to 
 attitude. Its upper parts are grayish blue, whence its name. 
 It may occasionally breed here but there is no swamp sufficiently 
 extensive, wet or heavily timbered to meet its usual requirements. 
 Nest in tall trees. 
 
 Rails and Coots. (Order, Paludicolae.) 
 
 Such birds of this order as are found here differ from herons 
 in having the bill shorter than the middle toe with claw, and in 
 lacking powder-down tracts. They are also much smaller than the 
 herons. They differ from sandpipers and plovers in having the 
 spread wing rounded at the tip, the outer feather being shorter 
 than the one next to it. Rails live among the tall reeds, flags 
 and grass of meadows and wet marshes. They swim well though 
 their feet are no.t webbed, and, when flushed from their hiding, 
 fly with dangling legs a few rods only to drop again to cover. 
 Two species have reported from this vicinity ; both are very rare. 
 The Virginia Rail {Rallus virginianus) has a bill one and one 
 fourth inches long or more. Its back is streaked with black and 
 brown, its breast is dark cinnamon and its length is from 8 to 
 10 inches. It is only a migrant. The Sora or Carolina Rail 
 {Porzana Carolina) has a bill less than an inch long. It is dark 
 brown, streaked with white, above, and gray on the breast. 
 Adults have the throat black, but on immature birds this area is 
 white, merging gradually into the gray of the breast. Its size 
 is similar to that of the Virginia rail. This species is also but a 
 migrant. The American Coot (Fnlica amcricana) is to be dis- 
 tinguished from all other Avater birds of this region by its toes 
 which have scalloped margins along each side, making it a very 
 capable swimmer. The water, indeed, is its usual habitat. Its 
 color is slate, paler below and tinged with olive above. It is a 
 scarce migrant, though not so rare as the rails. \\^ length, bill 
 to tail, is about 1-1 inches. 
 18 
 
258 HISTORY OP NORTHPIELD. 
 
 The Shore Birds. (Order, Limicolae.) 
 
 Typical members of this order are the sandpipers and plovers 
 which follow the shores and feed upon such worms and insect 
 • lavje as abound there. They are much smaller than herons and 
 their bills are weak and covered with a sensitive skin. They do 
 not haunt reedy half-submerged marshes like the rails, and their 
 flight is strong and swift without any dangling of legs such as 
 rails show. 
 
 The Sandpiper Family. {Scolopacidae.) 
 
 Sandpipers have very slender bills, and all that occur here have 
 four toes on each foot. Of the entire family, the Woodcock 
 (Philohela minor) is most aberrant in structure and habit. Its 
 bill is two and one half to three inches long, being approximately 
 a fourth of its entire length. Its eyes are set so near the top of 
 its head that they are farther from the base of the bill than are 
 its ears. The three outer wing feathers are shorter and much 
 narrower than the fourth. It does not follow shores but pre- 
 fers alder runs and corn fields, and even dry woods in autumn. 
 The feathers of its back are black with gray or rusty edges, 
 while beneath it is of an uniform cinnamon brown. It stands 
 about 7 inches high. It is an occasional breeder here, nesting 
 in the woods on the ground. The Wilson Snipe {Gallinago deli- 
 cata) reminds one of the woodcock by having a very long bill in 
 proportion to its size, and its eyes high set, though they are not 
 so far back, being above the ears instead of behind them. Snipes 
 are migrants found occasionally on the shore, but more often in 
 the marshes. The bill is about two and one-half inches long and 
 somewhat enlarged toward the tip, where are numerous pits con- 
 taining nerves for feeling worms in the mud. The upper parts 
 are black streaked with buff and white ; the breast is mottled and 
 the belly is white. It stands about 6 inches high. 
 
 The Lesser Yellow-legs {Totanus flavipes) is named for its 
 lemon-yellow legs, which are decidedly long for the size of the 
 bird. The diagnostic character of this species are the yellow legs, 
 the white rump narrowly barred with dusky, the tail feathers all 
 showing bars and the length of the bill, which is about an inch 
 and one-half. This bird is an uncommon migrant. It stands 
 about 8 inches high. The Greater Yellow-legs {Totanus mela- 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 259 
 
 noleucus) is practically a counterpart of the lesser yellow-legs in 
 color, but it has a bill about two and one-fourth inches long, and 
 is proportionately larger in other parts. It also is a rare mi- 
 grant. Height, about 10 inches. The Solitary Sandpiper {He- 
 lodromus solitarius) has legs and bill olive green; tail, except two 
 middle feathers, white with broad dusky bars. These two char- 
 acters combined suffice to distinguish it from all other sandpipers 
 found here. Other characters are : dark olive back, each feather 
 having two or three small white spots along either edge; rump 
 duslvy; neck streaked; lower breast and belly white. Its bill is 
 about an inch and an eighth in length and it stands about 6 inches 
 high. It is a common migrant. 
 
 The Spotted Sandpiper (Actitis macularia) is a common sum- 
 mer resident along the river and about the ponds. Its legs and 
 the base of the lower mandible are pale straw color, and only the 
 outer tail feather shows even a trace of bars. The back is olive- 
 brown, spring and summer specimens having each feather with 
 one or two irregular bars of dusky. The under parts are white, 
 heavily spotted in the breeding season, but immaculate in autumn. 
 Its bill is an inch or slightly less in length, and it stands about 5 
 inches high. Its nest is on the ground, usually within a few rods 
 of the water. The Pectoral Sandpiper (Actodromas maculata) 
 is a scarce migrant. None of its tail feathers show the slightest 
 sign of a bar, but the outer one has a narrow edging of white. 
 The feathers of the back are black with rusty edges ; the rump is 
 duskj'; the neck and breast are heavily streaked, in sharp con- 
 trast to the clear, white chin and belly. Its bill is about an inch 
 and one-eighth long, and stands about 6 inches high. The Least 
 Sandpipfr (Actodromas minutilla) is colored like the last species, 
 but it is much smaller, being the smallest sandpiper in America. 
 It is only a straggling migrant here, though common, spring and 
 fall, along the coast. Its bill varies from three-fourths to fifteen- 
 sixteenths of an inch, and its height is about 4 inches. 
 
 The Bartramian Sandpipfr {Bartramia longicauda) more 
 commonly called the Upland Plover, curiously enough avoids 
 water, preferring high land. A few pairs breed regularly on 
 Bean Hill and po.ssibly elsewhere in town. It has all the struc- 
 tural characters of a sandpiper, and is not a plover at all, as may 
 be seen b}' comparison with characters of the next family. This 
 
260 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 is the only sandpiper found here that has the outer wing feather 
 barred, white and dusky. Its bill is about an inch and one-fourth 
 long and it stands about 8 inches high. 
 
 The Plover Family. (Charadriidae.) 
 
 Plovers differ from sandpipers in having, as a rule, no hind 
 toe, and a bill shorter than the head and smaller in the middle 
 than toward the tip. Their habits, however, do not differ from 
 those of the sandpipers. They resemble sandpipers in their 
 general contour, their food habits and their manner of flying. The 
 only plover that is known to visit this vicinity is the Ring-necked 
 or 9EMIPALMATED Plover {Aefjialites semipalmatus) . It is uni- 
 formly huffish gray on the back and white on the forehead and 
 underparts, except for a ring of black or dusky around the neck. 
 It stands about 5 inches high and has a bill about half an inch 
 long. 
 
 LAND BIRDS. 
 
 Although several of the so-called land birds live principally 
 near water, as for example the kingfisher, none of them are fitted 
 for wading or swimming or running over soft mud. The ground, 
 the trees and the air have each a contingent from them. The 
 ground birds have strong legs and feet and comparatively small 
 wings. The tree birds have shorter legs and toes, better adapted 
 for grasping branches, and larger wings for flitting from tree to 
 tree in search of fruits and insects. The aerial species, like the 
 swallows, have tiny legs and feet, but very long wings, capable of 
 long-sustained flight. 
 
 The Grouse Family. {Tetraonidae.) 
 
 The grouse belong to the Gallinae, the same order as hens and 
 turkeys. The Ruffed Grouse or Partridge {Bonasa umhellus) 
 is too well known to need describing. The Quail or Bob White 
 (Colinus virginianus) occasionally breeds here, but more often it 
 is to be found as a solitary visitor, whistling its clear notes about 
 the fields and open pastures on summer mornings. Its whirring 
 flight and makeup in form and color proclaim its relationship 
 to the partridge, but it has no neck plumes, its legs are bare of 
 feathers to the heel, and its weight is only about one-third that 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHPIELD, 261 
 
 oi the partrid£>e. The throat of the male is white ; of the female, 
 brown. Lengtli, about 9 inches. Nest on the ground. 
 
 The Pigeons. (Columbidae.) 
 
 The pigeons, which belong to order Columbae of world-wide 
 distribution, are so much like the domestic breeds in form and 
 habits that they do not need to have their family characters 
 paraded here. The most striking difference between the two that 
 have a place in this list and the tame blue pigeon is in their long, 
 wedge-shaped tails, which give them a somewhat different con- 
 tour. The Wild Pigeox or Passenger Pigeon (Ectopistes mi- 
 gratorius) is about of the same weight as the tame pigeon. Its 
 upper parts are grayish blue. INIales have an irridescence on 
 the sides of the neck, and a rich, purplish red breast. Females 
 have less irridescence and grayer breasts. Length, about 16 
 inches. This pigeon was formerly abundant, but it has disap- 
 peared from New England and before many years will probably 
 have vanished from the earth. The Mourning Dove {Zenaidura 
 macroura) is rare in this section, though in the southeastern por- 
 tion of the state it is fairly common. In shape and general color- 
 ation it resembles the wild pigeon, but it weighs scarcely half as 
 much and its breast is much paler. A small black spot just below 
 each ear is a notable character. Length, about 12 inches. 
 
 Hawks and Owls. (Order, liaptores.) 
 
 To this order belong the carniverous birds, which catch their 
 prey with their talons and are provided Avith hooked bills for 
 tearing flesh. 
 
 The Hawk Family. (Falconidae.) 
 
 The hawks have no feathers on their feet, and their eyes are in 
 planes oblique to the bill, which characters distinguish them from 
 the owls. An even dozen, including the bald eagle, may be 
 looked for, though two of them are very rare. 
 
 The Marsh Hawk (Circus hudsonius) is a bird of the field. 
 It courses to and fro close to the ground over fields and meadows, 
 looking for mice and frogs. It is oiu* only hawk having a white 
 spot on the rump. Males are gray and females and young, 
 brown. The average expanse of wings is about 40 inches. Ne.st 
 on the ground. The Osprey or Fisu Hawk (Pandion haliaectus 
 
262 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 carolinensis) lives entirely by fishing. It is not an uncommon 
 visitor in spring and early fall along the river. It differs from 
 the other hawks in having: the under parts entirely white, the 
 soles of its feet as rough as coarse sandpaper — the better to hold 
 fish — its outer toes capable of turning half way round to the 
 hind toe, and extremely long, crooked wings, as seen in flight. 
 Extent of spread wings, 5 feet or more. The Bald Eagle {Hali- 
 aeetns leiicocephalus) , which also depends upon fish for its main 
 diet, may be seen each summer along the river. It is so much 
 larger and blacker than any native hawk as to be unmistakable. 
 The white head and tail are not acquired till the bird is several 
 years old. It has never been known to nest in this region. Aver- 
 age specimens are 7 feet across the wings. 
 
 Of the hawks that look to the land for prey 
 UPPER MAN- Q^^fi spend most of their time in trees, six have 
 /-vTTT AM^TT ' the cutting edge of the upper mandible undulat- 
 LAR TOOTH. ^^§'' "^^^^ without any sharp notch or tooth, being 
 in this respect like the three species already de- 
 scribed, which are all easily recognizable by special characters. 
 The individuals in this group of six are not so readily diagnosed, 
 and it will, therefore, be convenient to make a further division 
 into two sub-groups of three each, according to the relation of 
 the lengths of wing and tail, when there will be little difficulty 
 in determining the name of any toothless-billed hawk that may 
 come to hand. 
 
 The hawks of this sub-group are the so-called 
 Tail not more j^en hawks. They are all summer residents. The 
 than two thirds Red-tailed Hawk {Buteo borealis) gets its name 
 as long as roldco -, t n ■ -i -r f 
 
 wing from bend fi'om the chestnut-red color or its tail. Its tour 
 
 to tip. outer wing feathers are abruptly narrowed on 
 
 the inner web and are without spots on the outer 
 web. Young birds have the tail barred instead of clear chestnut- 
 red. This hawk is occasionally seen in winter. Extent of wing, 
 50 inches or more. Nest in trees. The Eed-shouldered Hawk 
 {Buteo lineatus) is the commonest member of this sub-group. It 
 measures somewhat less than the last and weighs much less. It 
 is readily distinguished from the red-tail at any age by spots of 
 white or buff on the outer webs of its four outer wing feathers, 
 all of which, however, are abruptly narrowed on the inner web, 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 263 
 
 as on the red-tail. The tail is barred at all ages, and the bend of 
 the wing is covered with a more or less dense suffusion of cinna- 
 mon brown, whence the bird's name. Nest in trees. Both the 
 red-tail and the red-shoulder have the habit of soaring in circles 
 and crying kea, kea, kea. The Broad-winged Hawk {Buteo pla- 
 typtcrus) is decidedly smaller than the other two, being scarcely 
 more than 40 inches in extent, and is readily distinguishable from 
 them by having only three outer wing feathers with inner webs 
 abruptly narrowed. It is surprisingly tame for a hawk, but may 
 usually be recognized at some distance by wide dusky streaks 
 running down each side of the chiu from the corners of the 
 mouth. It is an occasional breeder here, nesting in trees. 
 
 The members of this sub-group have relatively 
 Tail more than short wings and long tails, the better to make 
 two thirds as quick turns in chasing flying birds, upon which 
 
 ong as e o ^ ^jjgy mainly feed. Out of the dozen hawks that 
 wing from bend 
 to tip, are found here, these three are all that are not 
 
 of more benefit than injury to man. These are 
 the chicken hawks, which raid poultry yards regularly, while 
 the other kinds do so only occasionally. Besides having the edge 
 of the upper mandible undulating like the last sub-group, and 
 agreeing among themselves in having short wings and long tails, 
 these hawks have color features in common, so their final identifi- 
 cation may rest on dimensions alone. Adults of each species are 
 slate-blue above and the under side is barred — that is, the dark 
 lines run crosswise the feathers. Specimens under a year old 
 are brown — varying from a gray to a sooty tone — above, and 
 streaked below, that is, having the dark lines running lengthwise 
 the feathers. 
 
 The GosHAW^K (Accipitcr atricapillus), a winter visitor as a 
 rule, though a possible breeder, is the largest and handsomest of 
 the lot. The colors of both young and adults are decidedly 
 lighter than those of the two following species. Its folded wing 
 is more than a foot in length. Nest in trees. The Cooper Hawk 
 {Accipiter cooperi) is a summer resident. Its folded wing is 
 from 9 to 11 inches long, and its tail is rounded at the end. The 
 SH.\j?p-sniNNED H.\.WK (Accipiter velox) bears a close resem- 
 blance to the last in color, but it is smaller, measuring from bend 
 to tip of wing only 7 to Sy^ inches. It is further distinguished 
 
264 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 by having a square tail. It is a common migrant and an occa- 
 sional breeder. It is often called the pigeon hawk, but this term 
 properly belongs to a member of the next group. 
 
 The hawks having a tooth on each cutting edge 
 UPPER MAN- Qf ii^Q upper mandible near the tip are the fal- 
 
 TV, r,,^Tr cons. This tooth, of course, can onlv be made 
 
 AN ANGU- "... 
 
 LAR TOOTH. *^^^^ when the bird is in hand, but then it is evi- 
 dent at once. They differ, further, from other 
 hawks of their size in having long and acutely pointed Mdngs. 
 There are but three in this group and of these only one is com- 
 mon. The Sparrow Hawk (Falco sparverius), our smallest 
 hawk, is characterized by a prevailing color of cinnamon-brown 
 above, and by two heavy stripes of black on each side of the face, 
 both vertical, one in front of the eye and the other above the ear. 
 It is a common migrant and an occasional breeder. It feeds 
 mainly on insects. Its folded wing measures about 7 inches. 
 Nests in holes in trees. The Pigeon Hawk (Falco columbarius) 
 is similar in size and coloring to a young sharp-shinned hawk, 
 being ashy or sooty brown above and heavily streaked beneath, 
 but its toothed bill distinguishes it at once in a close examination, 
 and even at a distance its pointed wings and rapid flight serve 
 to identify it to the practiced eye. It is a rare late spring and 
 early fall migrant. Folded wing 7 to 8 inches. The Duck 
 Hawk {Falco peregriniis anatuni) is a scarce summer resident 
 in the mountainous portions of New Hampshire, and hence prob- 
 ably occurs here as an occasional migrant. Adults are dark 
 ashy gray above, whitish on the forehead and under parts, the lat- 
 ter being barred with blackish, and conspicuously marked with 
 black check areas. Young birds are sooty brown above and 
 streaked beneath. In all stages the toothed bill and dimensions 
 make the determination of a bird in the hand certain. Lengih 
 of folded wing 13 to 14 inches. 
 
 The Owl Family. (Buhonidae.) 
 
 The owls differ from hawks in having their eyes directed for- 
 ward, in their soft fluffy plumage, and in having their toes and 
 legs feathered to the claws. We will review them in two groups : 
 one having a tuft of feathers — popularly called horns — on each 
 side of the crown of the head ; the other without them. 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 265 
 
 Of the horned owls, the Great Horned Owl 
 With horns. (Biibo virginianus) is the largest. Its length is 
 
 about two feet and extent of wing four feet. Its 
 eggs are often laid in old crows' nests, usually in ]March. This 
 is the only owl ordinarily injurious. All the rest are worthy of 
 protection, as the number of mice they annually destroy is simply 
 enormous. The Long-eared Owl {Asio ivilsonianiis) is rare. 
 Its horns are about an inch high when erect. The feathers of its 
 belly are both streaked down the middle and barred across with 
 dusky. Its length is 15 inches and extent of Avings 3 feet. Nest 
 in trees, pines or hemlocks preferred. The SnoRT-EiVRED Owl 
 (Asio accipitrinus) is a migrant, even rarer than the last, to which 
 it is similar in size. Its horns are so short as to be easily over- 
 looked, but they are evident when looked for. It is to be dis- 
 tinguished froin its long-eared relative by the difference in 
 horns and by the absence of bars on its flanks and belly, the 
 feathers being simply streaked. It is a marsh owl and usually 
 spends the day in the meadows on the ground. The Screech 
 Owl {Megascops asio) is the smallest of the horned group. It 
 is one of the commoner species. For some unknown reason, some 
 screech owls are reddish brown, while others are gray. In either 
 case there is a mottling of black all over and an oblique bar of 
 white on the shoulders. The presence of horns and the size of 
 the bird, however, regardless of color, are sufficient for its iden- 
 tification. Length, 10 inches or somewhat less; extent, about 20 
 inches. Nest in hollow tree. The ear tufts or horns of owls be- 
 longing to this group may lie so flat on the head as to pass un- 
 noticed unless the feathers are ruffed up, when they become ap- 
 parent. This ruffing process, then, is essential when one has an 
 owl in hand and wishes to ascertain its name. 
 
 The owls of this group, excepting possibly the 
 Without horns. snowy owl, show no horns by any sort of hand- 
 ling. The Snowy Owtj (Nyctea nyctea), as its 
 name implies, is white and not to be mistaken for any other spe- 
 cies. It is a rare vi.sitor in cold weather from the north. The 
 only specimen known to have actually been taken in town was 
 killed on Bean Hill in November, 1893, by Frank Robertson. 
 This species prefers cleared land to the woods, resembling the 
 short-eared owl in this respect. The snowy plumage of this owl 
 is usually more or less spotted with dark brown. In size it equals 
 
266 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 the great horned owl. Probably the commonest owl we have is 
 the Barred Owl {Syrnium varium), w'hieh is a resident, but 
 more often seen in cold Aveather when there are visitors from 
 farther north. It is ashy brown, barred with white above, and 
 ashy gray, barred with white beneath. Length, about 18 inches ; 
 extent of wings, about 40 inches. Nest usually in hollow trees. 
 The Richardson Owl {Nyctala tengmalmi richardsoni) is a rare 
 winter visitant. It is ash-brown, sparsely dotted with white, and 
 has a yellow bill, which distinguishes it from the next, the only 
 other small hornless owl in this region. Length, about 10 inches ; 
 extent, 21 to 23 inches. The Saw-wpiet Owl {Nyctala acadica), 
 a not uncommon species, is a tiny little fellow wnth a chocolate 
 brown back, spotted with white, and under parts white, streaked 
 with brown. Its bill is black. Length, not over 10 inches and 
 extent about 17 inches. Nest in hollow trees. The Hawk Owtl 
 {Surnia ulula caparoch) is an uncommon winter visitor as a rule, 
 though some years since a specimen was killed in Sanbornton in 
 the breeding season. It is accustomed to hunt by daylight, and 
 its contour is more slender than that of the other ow^ls. It is 
 dark brown, speckled with small spots of white above ; and closely 
 barred with brown and white beneath. This is our only owl 
 having its outer tail feathers an inch and a half shorter than 
 those in the middle. Length, about 16 inches; extent, about 32 
 inches. 
 
 The Kingfisher and Cuckoos. (Order, Coccyges.) 
 
 The members of this order belong mainly in the tropics. The 
 species found here have well developed wings but weak legs. 
 Though they fly well, most of their time is spent quietly perching 
 in some favorite retreat. They never hunt for food on the 
 ground, and never run about the trunks or branches of trees. 
 
 The Kingfisher Family. {Alceclinidae.) 
 
 The Belted Kingfisher {Ceryle alcyon), our sole representa- 
 tive of the kingfisher family, feeds on fish which it catches in 
 its bill by diving either from a perch over the water or from a 
 momentary hovering flight above its quarry. Its feet are totally 
 unfit for swimming, so it must rely upon its wings for progres- 
 sion in water quite as much as it does in air. It is ashy blue 
 above, and white beneath, with a bluish band across the chest. 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 267 
 
 The female has also a band of chestnut across the belly. The 
 bill, Avhicli is strong and tapering like a heron's, is about two 
 inches long. The head is adorned with a large crest. Length 
 about one foot. Nest in a hole in a sand bank. 
 
 The Cuckoo Family. (Cuculidae.) 
 
 The cuckoos are named' after their well-known cry. They and 
 the woodpeckers are our only bii'ds having two toes directed 
 backward and two forward. The cuckoos are brown above, Avhite 
 below, and have tails as long as their bodies. They frequent 
 thickets and orchards, Avhere they are especiallj^ useful as de- 
 stroyers of hairy caterpillars. The Black-billed Cuckoo 
 {Coccyzus erythrophthalmus) is the common species. Its bill is 
 black and the under side of its tail is gray, with white tips. Its 
 length is nearly a foot and its extent about 16 inches. Nest in 
 small trees, usually pines. The Yellows-billed Cuckoo 
 {Coccyzus americanus) is a rather rare and probably irregular 
 summer resident. The writer can vouch for but a single pair 
 which he found in the Belmont meadows in June, 1897. It is 
 like the last in size and general appearance, but all except the 
 tip of its lower mandible is yellow and the three outer tail 
 feathers are black beneath with white tips. Nest in trees. 
 
 The Woodpeckers. (Order, Pici.) 
 
 Woodpeckers have only two toes directed forward. They have 
 stiff tails to serve as supports in climbing trees ; and all but one 
 of our species have long cylindrical tongues. They all drill 
 holes in trees for their nests. 
 
 There are two species that are in a group by 
 Three toes. themselves because they have only three toes on 
 
 each foot, two in front and one behind. Both of 
 these species have been taken in this vicinity, though, perhaps, 
 not in this town. They are rare winter visitors from farther 
 north. The Arctic Three-toed Woodpecker {Picoidcs arcticus) 
 has its back entirely black. Its under parts are white, and its 
 sides are black, barred with white. The crown of the male is 
 yellow, that of the female being black like its back. Length 8 to 
 9 inches. The American Three-toed Woodpecker {Picoides 
 americanus) is like the last in size and color, except that down 
 the middle of its back is a white area cross-barred with black 
 lines. 
 
268 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 All the other woodpeckers have two toes on 
 Four toes. each foot directed backward. The largest is the 
 
 PiLEATED Woodpecker {Ceophloeus pileatus al- 
 hieticola), nearly the size of a crow, with a high red crest on its 
 Tiead and the inner half of its wings white. This is a resident 
 species, but it has become so scarce than not more than one or two 
 are to be seen in a year. Its length is more than 15 inches. The 
 Hairy Woodpecker {Dry abates villosus) is a fairly common resi- 
 dent. Its body is entirely white beneath and there is a white 
 area down the back and many white spots on the wings, otherwise 
 the npper parts are black. The male has a red bar across the 
 back of its head. Its lenglh is about 9 inches. The Downy 
 Woodpecker {Dryobates puhescens mcdianus) is a common resi- 
 dent. In color it is practically like the last species, but it is de- 
 cidedly smaller, being only 7 inches or less in lengih. The Yel- 
 low-bellied Woodpecker {Sphyrapicns varius) is a fairly com- 
 mon migrant and an occasional summer resident. It is slightly 
 smaller than the hairj^ woodpecker and is distinguished from all 
 of our woodpeckers by a lemon-yellow suffusion on its belly. 
 The adult male has a red throat, and both sexes have a red crown 
 and a large black spot on the breast. This is our only M'ood- 
 pecker that is not an unmixed benefit to the farmer. The Red- 
 headed Woodpecker {Melanerpcs erytliroceplmlus) is a strag- 
 gling visitor from the South or West. In size it resembles the 
 Iiairy woodpecker. The inner half of its wings, the under side 
 of its body and its rump are white. Its back is bluish black, and 
 the head and neck of adults are crimson. The head and neck of 
 young birds are a dull brownish gray, but they may be readily 
 recognized by the white that covers the inner half of the wing 
 .as in the adult. The Flicker, Yellow Hammer, Wood-Wx\ll, 
 or whatever name it may happen to bear in the household {Co- 
 laptes auratus luteus) is a curious example of a bird that has 
 adopted a mode of living unlike the rest of its tribe. It gets 
 its living from the ground, and rarely pecks trees except for a 
 nest. A large white spot on its rump, a black crescent on its 
 breast, quills that show golden yellow beneath, and a band of red 
 on its nape are its prominent color characteristics. Males have a 
 I)lack stripe on each side the lower jaw. Brown is the prevailing 
 <;olor of this species. It is a common summer resident. Its length 
 is about one foot. 
 
 dl 
 
birds of northfield. 269 
 
 The Goatsucker — Swift — Hummingbird Group. 
 
 (Order, Macrochires.) 
 
 The members of this group are classed together on the strength 
 of long, narrow wings and small, weak feet, so far as external 
 characters are concerned. 
 
 The Goatsuckers. (Caprimulgidae.) 
 
 These creatures of twilight and darkness have short, weak bills 
 but enormous mouths suitable for catching flying insects. Their 
 plumage is soft but otherwise they bear little resemblance to the 
 owls which are the only other nocturnal family of birds that we 
 have. The Night-hawk {Chordeiles virginianus) prefers 
 cleared pasture land and sometimes ventures abroad by daylight. 
 It is always to be recognized by the white spot near the middle 
 of the outer half of each wing, which is readily seen as the bird 
 flies. The male has a row of white spots across its tail near the 
 end. Its length is about 9 inches and its extent 22 inches. It 
 builds no nest, but lays its eggs upon the ground or a bare rock. 
 The Whippoorwill (Antrostomus vociferus) resembles the night- 
 hawk in size and general appearance, but it difi'ers in being a 
 bird of the woods, in having no white spot on its wings, in hav- 
 ing a row of long, stiff bristles projecting out over the mouth, 
 and in having its outer tail feathers broadly tipped Avith white. 
 Its eggs are laid on the ground, without a nest, in the woods. 
 
 The Swifts. {Micropodiclae.) 
 
 The Chimney Swift {Chaetura pelagica) is usually called the 
 chimney swallow, but it is not a swallow at all. It never alights 
 on a perch, being only able to hang to a wall. The tips of its 
 long wings, when folded, reach far beyond the end of its tail, 
 and each tail feather has a sharp spine at the end. In none of 
 these features does the swift resemble the swallow. Further, it 
 flies unlike a swallow and some of its internal structure is unlike 
 that of a swallow, — in short, swifts and swallows are not even 
 related. This species is nearly uniform .sooty-black all over, 
 though the under parts are paler than the upper. Its length is 
 about 5 inches and extent about one foot. Its nest is glued by 
 its saliva to the inside of a chimnev. 
 
270 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Hummingbirds. (Trochilidae.) 
 
 Hummingbirds belong exclusively to the New World. There 
 are about four hundred species, of which we have but one, the 
 Ruby-throated Hummingbird {Trocliilus coluhris), the smallest 
 and swiftest of our birds and the only one that can fly back- 
 wards. The female has its tail white-tipped and lacks the ruby 
 throat which is the male's chief ornament. 
 
 The Perching Birds. (Order, Passeres.) 
 
 To this order belong most of our common small birds. They 
 all have three toes in front and one behind, w^hicli are on the 
 same level and fully functional as clasping organs. 
 
 The Flycatcheks. (Tyrannidae.) 
 
 The flycatchers are a group of nervous, irritable small birds, 
 accustomed to perch on fences, mullein stocks, dead branches of 
 trees and other exposed objects, where they can watch for flying 
 insects, which they pursue, capture and bring back to their sta- 
 tion to batter and devour. They are all characterized by wide 
 and rather shallow bills of medium length. The upper mandible 
 is flanked on each side by a row of stiff bristles and slightly 
 hooked at the tip. The better known members of the family 
 characterize the whole lot. They rarely alight on the ground 
 and never seek food by creeping or hopping about branches of 
 trees. The Kingbird {Tyrannus iyrannus) was named in recog- 
 nition of its fighting qualities, which are undaunted by anything 
 in feathers from the eagle down. It nests in the scraggiest 
 apple tree on the farm and it is the farmer's best ally against- 
 hawks and crows. Its upper parts are blackish gray, while its 
 under parts and the tip of its tail are white. Its length is about 
 8 inches and extent about 14%. The Great-crested Fly- 
 catcher {Myiarckus crinitus) is a scarce summer resident of 
 the taller hard-wood and mixed timber, where it nests in hollow 
 trees. Its color characters are olive-broAvn above, ashy gray on 
 throat and breast, pale yellow on the belly and chestnut-red on 
 the inner webs of its tail feathers. Its length is nearly 9 inches 
 and extent about 13. The Pewee or Phoebe (Sayornis phoehe) 
 is the most familiar of the flycatchers, nesting in sheds, deserted 
 houses or barn cellars, flirting its tail on the barn-yard fence 
 
 J I 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 271 
 
 and making cheery sounds all about the buildings. It usually 
 rears two breeds of young each summer, to which it feeds thou- 
 sands of harmful beetles. Its upper parts are pale clove-brown, 
 darker on the head. The under parts are whitish in summer but 
 tinged with yellow in the fall. Its entire bill is blackish. Its 
 length is about 7 inches and extent about 111/2- The Wood 
 Pewee {Contopus virens), also named from its song, which is 
 pe-e-ivee long drawled, is a fairly common summer resident, 
 usually in the woods but oceasionaly in orchards. It is smaller 
 than the phoebe and darker above. It has two whitish bars on 
 each wing, and its lower mandible is pale yellow. Its length is 
 about 6 inches. Its nest is usually placed upon a horizontal 
 branch and covered w'ith lichens. The Olive-sided Flycatcher 
 (Nuttallornis dorealis) is a scarce summer resident, affecting 
 dead-topped trees, generally in swamps or near w^ater. It is 
 dark olive above, similar to the last, w'hite on the throat, belly 
 and tlanks, and heavily shaded with olive on the sides. Its bill 
 is black except the base of its lower mandible, w^hich is pale. 
 Length, 7 to 8 inches. Nest in high trees. The Alder Fly- 
 catcher {Empidonax trailUi alnorum) is confined to the prox- 
 imity of water. It summers sparingly along the river and pos- 
 sibly elsewhere. It is olive-brown above, rather lighter than the 
 wood pewee, and whitish below, with a shade of olive-gray across 
 the breast. Its under mandible is pale. Its length is nearly 6 
 inches and extent about 9 inches. The Yellow-bellied Fly- 
 catcher {Empidonax flaviventris) is a scarce migrant. Its 
 upper parts are olive-green, while its lower mandible, eye-rings, 
 wing-bars and under parts are greenish yellow. Its size is like 
 the last or slightly less. The Least Flycatcher {Empidonax 
 minimus) is a fidgety denison of orchards, crying che-bec, che- 
 hcc with upward jerks of the head that threaten dislocation. It 
 is the smallest of our flycatchers, as its name implies. It is olive- 
 gray above, with eye-rings, W'ing-bars and under parts white. 
 Length about 5 inches and extent about 8 inches. Nest usually 
 in an upright crotch. 
 
 The Horned Larks. {Alaudidae.) 
 
 The horned larks are essentially ground birds, though their 
 wings are large and they are capable of long sustained flight. 
 
272 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 But one species is to be found here, the Horned or Shore Lark 
 {Otocoris alpestris). It is a scarce visitor from the North, likely 
 to appear any time between October and April. It feeds on the 
 ground, chiefly on seeds of weeds, thus resembling a sparrow. 
 Its conspicuous features are a large black spot on the breast, 
 another running from the bill under the eye to the cheek, a 
 yellow chin, and a hind claw nearly straight and as long as the 
 toe that bears it. Its upper parts are pinkish brown, streaked 
 with dusky. Its length is about 7 inches and extent about 13. 
 
 Jays and Crows. {Corvidae.) 
 
 The Blue Jay {Cyanocitta cristafa), a resident throughout the 
 year, is well known. Its high cap and blue coat, trimmed with 
 white, combine to make the bird as striking to the eye as its 
 voice is to the ear. Its length is about 12 inches and extent about 
 17. Its nest is usually placed in a thicket of small pines or hem- 
 locks. The Canada Jay {Perisoreus Canadensis) has been re- 
 ported from other parts of this county and is likely to appear 
 here at intervals in cold weather. Its normal range is from the 
 White Mountains northward. In size and proportions it is similar 
 to the blue jay, from which, however, it differs decidedly in ap- 
 pearance. It has no cap and is not blue, but smoky gray on the 
 back, grayish white on the forehead and under parts, and very 
 fluffy of feather, for withstanding any degree of cold. The 
 Crow {Coruus hracliyrliynchos) is a permanent resident, though 
 few are to be found in winter. The Raven {Corvus corax prin- 
 cipalis) is an extremely rare cold weather visitor anywhere in 
 this state. One was killed several years ago in Canterbury, 
 Ravens are black like croAvs, but much larger, measuring about 
 2 feet in length and 4 feet in extent. 
 
 The TROuriAL Family. (Icteridae.) 
 
 This family, which includes the bobolink, blackbirds, meadow 
 larks and orioles, is intermediate in some respects between the 
 crows and sparrows. 
 
 The Bobolink {Dolichonyx oryzivorus) is a common summer 
 resident of fields. The male in his livery of black and white is 
 sometimes called the skunk blackbird. The female is yellowish 
 brown, streaked with black on the back and flanks. During the 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 273 
 
 summer moult in August the male assumes the dress of the fe- 
 male. They mnter in South America, where they moult again. 
 This time the males resume their summer dress, in which they 
 come to us about the middle of ]\Iay. Males are about Ti/^ inches 
 long. Females are somewhat smaller. The nest is placed on the 
 ground. The Cowbird {MolotJirus ater) is seen near the village 
 more often than elsewhere in this town. It is a common species 
 there during the summer. The female is notorious for lajdng 
 her eggs in the nests of other birds, to be hatched and brought 
 up by foster parents. The male has a shiny black body and a 
 brown head. Its length is nearly 8 inches. The female is slightly 
 smaller and of a grayish brown color throughout. The Bronzed 
 Grackle {Quiscala quiscida acneus) is the largest of our black- 
 birds. The head of the male varies from deep green to purple, 
 and the color of its body is shining bronze. Its length is about 
 one foot. The female is duller in color and somewhat smalJer. 
 Both sexes have long tails and yellow eyes. This species breeds 
 regularly in certain pine trees in the village. The Purple 
 GrRACKLE {Quiscola quiscula) is a geographical race of the 
 last species that lives from southern Massachusetts to Georgia, 
 east of the Alleghany JMountains. The only specimens known 
 to have been seen in New Hampshire were taken by the writer 
 in Northfield, September 13, 1902. This form differs from 
 the bronzed grackle mainlj^ in having the irridescent purple 
 or green of the neck extending down over the shoulders either 
 as solid color or as bars on a bronze ground. The Rusty 
 Grackle (Euphagus carolimis), named from the rusty aspect of 
 its fall plumage, appears here in April and October. Spring 
 birds are entirely black, but in fall the black is much obscured 
 by rusty brown. This species also has light yellow eyes. The 
 males are about 9 inches long, and the females slightly less. The 
 Red- winged Blackbird {Agelaius phocniceus) is an abundant 
 summer resident of cat-tail marshes. The males are notable for 
 their scarlet .shoulder patches that are strikingly set off by their 
 otherwise uniformly black dress. The females are dusky streaked 
 with white above, and white heavily streaked with dusky be- 
 neath. In the hand they show traces of red on the bend of the 
 wing. ]\Iales are 8 to 9 inches long and females about an inch 
 shorter. The nest is built in a low bush or bunch of cat-tails, 
 19 
 
274 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 usually in tlie middle of a pool. The Baltimore Oriole or 
 Goi;DEN Robin (Icterus galhula) makes its summer home in the 
 elms of village and farmyard. Its brilliant color and curious 
 hanging nest have brought it into general notice. The male has 
 its head, neck and back black; rump, under parts and much of 
 its tail, orange; wings, black, with two narrow bars of white. 
 Its length is nearly 8 inches. The female is duller colored and 
 smaller. The Meadow Lark {Sturnella magna) is a summer 
 resident of moist fields, but very irregular in its distribution. Its 
 underparts are yellow, with a black V on the breast. The 
 feathers of the back are black with brown tips and buff edges. 
 It feeds on the ground, but often delivers its plaintive song from 
 a fence or tree top. Length of male, about 101/4 inches. The 
 female is about an inch shorter. Nest on the ground. 
 
 The Spaerow Family. (Frindillidae.) 
 
 The sparrow family is made up of small birds, having thick 
 conical bills with which they crush the seeds that form the major 
 portion of their food, to the end that they may swallow the 
 kei-nel and reject the hull. The greater number feed from the 
 ground and spend most of their lives there. These have larger 
 feet and longer legs than those that live mainly in trees and never 
 run in the grass or scratch among fallen leaves. 
 
 . The arboreal species include the so-called gros- 
 
 ARBOREAL beaks and finches. They all show more or less 
 
 SPECIES, bright colors, in the adult plumage at least, in 
 
 contrast to the sober browns and grays of the true 
 
 sparrows, which are the terrestrial members of the family. 
 
 Four species of this group of arboreal finclies 
 Depth of bill have bills so robust that the depth at the base 
 
 cqua s I s e g equals the distance from nostril to tip. Thev are 
 trorn nostril to ^ . ± • 
 
 tjp^ the pine grosbeak, the purple finch, the rose- 
 
 breasted grosbeak and the indigo bird. The 
 Pine Grosbeak (Pinicola enucleator leucura) is a cold- weather 
 visitor of irregular, but not rare, occurrence. Adult males are 
 bright red, with dusky wings and tail, which have white edgings. 
 Females are ashy gray, with rusty orange on crown and rump. 
 Length, 8 to 9 inches. The Purple Finch (Carpodacus pur- 
 pur eus) is a summer resident, much smaller than the last, though 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 276 
 
 adult males are of a similar red color, but they have no white 
 on wings or tail, and the back is streaked with duslcy. Fe- 
 males and young males are olive-brown, streaked with dusky 
 above, and white, heavily streaked with dusky beneath. This 
 finch is a splendid singer, and is often heard in the tops of elms 
 in May and early June, where it feeds on the buds and seeds of 
 that tree. Length, about 6 inches. Nest in trees. The Rose- 
 breasted Grosbeak {Zamelodia ludoviciana) is a scarce summer 
 resident. The male is black above, excepting its rump and a 
 large spot and two bars on each wing, which are white. The 
 sides and belly are white, and the breast and wing linings are 
 carmine. The female is coarsely streaked with olive-brown and 
 buff above and white and olive-brown below. She has a broad 
 stripe of white over each eye, and another down the middle of the 
 crown. Her wing linings are saffron yellow. Length about 8 
 inches. Nest in trees. The Indigo Bird {Cyanospiza cyanea) 
 was named from the color of the male, which is deep blue above 
 and below. The female is brown above and brownish white, ob- 
 scurely streaked, beneath. The male is a persistent singer, even 
 during the heat of a summer noon, when most birds are silent. 
 Length about yi'o inches. Nest in low bushes. 
 
 The crossbills present such anomalous bills as 
 Crossbills. to set them at once apart, not only from all other 
 
 members of their familj^, but also from all other 
 birds. The upper mandible curves downward, while the lower 
 curves upward, the two crossing at the tips like a pair of scissors. 
 Neither of the two species have been known to breed here, though 
 both are occasionally to be seen at any season. Their normal 
 summer range is farther north. They usually frequent coniferous 
 trees, but in I\Iay and June they come to the elms for their seeds. 
 The male Red Crossbill (Loxia cuvirostra mi)ior) has a dull 
 red body, with dusky wings and tail. The female is olive, with a 
 tinge of yellow on breast and rump. Neither sex has bars or 
 spots of white. Length, about 6 inches. The White-winged 
 Crossbill {Loxia leucoptera) is like the last in size and contour, 
 but the male is rose-red, with black tail and wings, the latter 
 having two wide bars of white. The female is olive, where the 
 male is red. Her white wing-bars make her identity plain. Both 
 species usually go in flocks. 
 
276 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 The third and last group of the arboreal finches 
 Length 5 1-2 includes three small species easily recognizable 
 
 inches or less. by color characters. The Redpoll {Acanthis lin- 
 aria) is a winter visitor of irregular occurrence, 
 abundant if found at all. It mainly affects the birches, though 
 weed seeds attract it to the ground, when they are not covered 
 with snow. Its back and flanks are buff streaked with dusla% 
 crown shining red, chin black. Adult males have breast and 
 rump pink. Length 5 to 5i/o inches. The Siskin {Spiniis pinus) 
 is another winter comer at irregular intervals, many years going 
 by without bringing a siskin; then all at once they suddenly be- 
 come common. "When at last they do come some fall, they are as 
 likely to stay through the next summer as to go away with win- 
 ter. There is little doubt that they bred in town during the 
 summer of 1900. They feed on seeds of birches and conifers. 
 The sexes are alike, buffy brown above and white beneath, every- 
 where streaked with dusky. The bases of the wing quills are 
 lemon-yellow — seen when the wing is spread but not otherwise. 
 Length, about 4% inches. Nest usually in evergreen trees. The 
 American Goldfinch {Astragallinus iristis) is a common per- 
 manent resident, though in its sober brown winter raiment it is 
 not always recognized as the same jovial little bird in yellow 
 and black that dines off dandelion and thistle tops in dooryard 
 and highway. Males in summer are yellow, excepting crown, 
 wings and tail, which are black. Females are dull yellow with 
 dusky wings and tail. In winter both species are olive-brown 
 above and paler beneath, with dusky tail and wings, the latter 
 having two bars of white. Length about 43^ inches. Nest in 
 trees, usually maples. 
 
 These three species are similar in size and habits. They all go 
 in flocks and their notes have at least a family resemblance. 
 But the redpoll is known by its red crown and black chin, the 
 siskin by its pronounced streaked appearance, while the goldfinch 
 in winter — the only season when its identity can possibly be mis- 
 taken — has neither red ci-own, black chin, nor streaks, but two 
 white bars on each wing. 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 277 
 
 We will now take up that portion of the spar- 
 
 TERRES- PQ^y family which habitually seeks food on the 
 
 SPECIES gi'o^^iid. Of these the Snowflake {Passerina 
 
 nivalis), on account of its striking colors, may be 
 set apart by itself. It appears in flocks and only in winter. The 
 under parts and middle of wings are white ; the upper parts are 
 buffy and the tail and outer half of the wings are duslcy. Length 
 7 inches. 
 
 The rest of this division will be reviewed in three sections 
 according to the color pattern of their breasts: (1) those with 
 breasts heavily streaked; (2) those of which the adults have 
 breasts unstreaked and without any sharp color contrast be- 
 yond a single spot or blotch; and (3) those without streaks but 
 with a dark breast in abrupt contrast to a white belly. 
 
 We have five sparrows with streaked breasts 
 Breasts streaked, named and described as follows : the Vesper 
 
 Sparrow {Pooccetes gramincus), a common sum- 
 mer resident of fields and pastures, is grayish-brown above, 
 streaked with black from bill to rump. Each wing has a chestnut 
 patch at the bend. The under parts are streaked on the breast 
 and sides with dusky brown. Its middle tail feather is about 
 equal in length to the outer one. Of the streaked grayish brown 
 sparrows, this is the only one having the outer tail feather white. 
 Length about 6 inches. Nest on the ground. The Savanna 
 Sp^uirow {Passcrculus sandwichensis savanna) is a summer resi- 
 dent occurring in similar situations as, though less commonly 
 than, the last, which it resembles in general coloration, but differs 
 in having a pale yellow stripe over each eye, no chestnut on the 
 bend of the wing and no white feathers in its tail. Its breast is 
 also more extensively streaked than the vesper sparrow 's and it is 
 smaller. Length about 5iA inches. Nest on the ground. 
 
 The IIensi.ow Sparrow {Ammodramus hensloivii) is a scarce 
 summer resident in the Jeremiah E. Smith meadow and possibly 
 elsewhere. Its streaks below are confined to the breast and sides, 
 the throat and belly being unstreaked. Its back feathers are 
 blackish at the end and margined all round with white. The 
 ground color of the sides of the head and nape is light olive- 
 green. Its tail feathers are narrowly acute at the tips. Length 
 5 inches. Nest on the ground. 
 
278 . HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 The Song Sparrow {Melospiza cinerea melocla) belongs to 
 moist situations, where there are bushes, stone walls, rank weeds 
 — anything to hide it. It is an abundant resident from INIareh 
 to November, being one of the earliest birds of spring, when not 
 even a snow storm can quench its clear, sweet singing. Its 
 upper parts are streaked with gray, rusty brown and black, 
 the crown showing a gray median stripe. Below it is white 
 streaked along the sides and across the breast with black, the 
 streaks on the breast running together to make a blotch in the 
 middle. Its outer tail feathers are a quarter-inch less than the 
 middle ones. Length 6 to 7 inches. Nest on the ground or in a 
 low bush or tussock. The Lincoln Sparrow {Melospiza lin- 
 colnii) is a rare migrant or possible summer resident. Its upper 
 parts are colored almost exactly like the song sparrow, but it 
 differs below in having minute streaks on the throat as well as 
 coarser streaks on the breast and sides and in a pronounced 
 shade of buff across the breast, which bears no blotch of streaks 
 run together. Its outer tail feathers are nearly a quarter-inch 
 shorter than those in the middle. Length about 5% inches. 
 The Fox Sparrow {Passerella iliaca) is a common migrant, 
 most numerous in April and November, though it is not often 
 seen unless one visits scrubby woods, especially sprout land. Its 
 prevailing color above is rusty red, brightest on wings, rump 
 and tail, the same color appearing below as streaks on a white 
 ground. Length about 7 inches. 
 
 The breasts of the young of this group are 
 Breasts of adults more or less streaked for a few weeks after they 
 unstreaked. leave the nest, but at all subsequent periods they 
 
 show no marked color contrasts beyond an in- 
 distinct spot of dusky in the middle of the breast, which occurs 
 only in the tree sparrow. 
 
 The Chipping Sparrow {Spizella socialis), which builds its 
 frail, hair-lined nest in every orchard, is the most confiding 
 and best known of its tribe. The bill of the adult is black, the 
 crown chestnut, the back streaked with gray-brown and black, 
 and the rump pure gray. A wide stripe of white extends from 
 the bill back over each eye. The under parts are grayish white. 
 The outer tail feather is an eighth-inch longer than those in the 
 middle. None of the clear-breasted sparrows have any white 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 279 
 
 tail feathers. Immature birds of this species have pale bills 
 and streaked crowns. Length about 5I/2 inches. Nest always 
 in trees or bushes. The Tree Sparrow {Spizella nwnticola) is 
 a winter resident, most abimdant in October, November, J\larch 
 and April. It resembles the chippy in having more or less chest- 
 nut on the crown, a streaked back, gray rump, middle tail 
 feathers slightly shorter than the rest, but it differs in having a 
 blotch of dusky in the middle of the breast, more conspicuous 
 wing-bars of white, and the base of the lower mandible yellow. 
 Length about 6I/2 inches. The Field Sparrow {Spizella pusilla) 
 is a common summer denizen of open pastures bearing patches 
 of sweet fern or other low bushes, with here and there a boulder. 
 In size it is like the chippy, but its entire bill is always pale, 
 its back is more rusty and it has no white stripe over the eye, — 
 that organ being iii the middle of a circular patch of gray. 
 The outer and middle tail feathers are of about equal length. 
 Length about 5% inches. Nest in a low bush or on the ground 
 beneath one. The Grasshopper Sparrow {Coturniculus cavan- 
 nannn passcrinus) is a scarce summer resident of fields and 
 grazing lands. It has an insignificant song that has been likened 
 to the stridulations of a grasshopper, whence its name. This 
 species has a shade of buff across the breast, a dirty white 
 stripe down the middle of the crown, yellow on the edge of 
 the bend of the wing, and a tail composed of narrow, acute 
 feathers so short that its outstretched feet reach beyond it. The 
 feathers of the back are mainly black with brown tips and gray 
 edges. Length about 5 inches. Nest on the ground. 
 
 The Swamp Sparrow (Melospiza georgiana) is a common sum- 
 mer resident of meadows and marshes, where water, tall grass 
 and bushes are found together. In size and habits it resembles 
 the song sparrow. Its back is a mahogany-brown, heaA-ily striped 
 with black, its wings and tail being of a clearer and richer brown 
 than the striped area. The forehead of the male is black with a 
 narrow median strip of gray, and the crown is chestnut, bordered 
 on each side by a long stripe of gray above the e^'e. The crown 
 of the female is narrowly striped, chestnut and black, with a 
 narrow median line and wider lateral ones over each eye of gray. 
 The chin and belly of both sexes are white, the breast being 
 pale gray and the sides clear buffy l)rown. The outer tail 
 feathers are nearly a quarter-inch shorter than those in the 
 
280 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 middle. Length S^/o to 6 inches. Nest in a tuft of grass or low 
 bush. The White-throated Sparrow {Zonotricliia alhicollis) 
 is an abundant migrant and a sparse summer resident in damp 
 scrub land. Its upper parts are mahogany-brown, streaked across 
 the shoulders with black. The crown of the adult male is black 
 "with a median line of white. Females and young males have 
 more or less of brown mixed with the black of the crown, and 
 the median line is more gray or buff. The eyebrows and the 
 edge of the bend of the wing are yellow. The chin is white in 
 abrupt contrast to the gray of the breast. These characters with 
 its large size make the identification of this sparrow easy. 
 Lerigth nearly 7 inches. Nest on the ground. The White- 
 crowned Sparrow {Zonotricliia leucophrys) is a rather scarce 
 migrant. It is similar to the white-throated sparrow in size and 
 habits. It is gray, streaked with dusky brown across the 
 shoulders, clear gray on the nape and breast, dull brown on 
 rump, sides, tail and wings, — the latter having two white wing- 
 bars — and white on chin and belly, merging into the gray of the 
 breast without an abrupt contrast. The crown has a broad 
 median stripe of white joined at the back by two narrow stripes 
 of white running back from the eyes. The sides of the crown, 
 between the median and lateral stripes of w^iite, are black. 
 Young birds lack the black and white on the crown, but they may 
 be told at once from the white-throated sparrow by their gray 
 aspect and the absence of yellow from eyebrows and edges of 
 wings. Length Gi/o to 7 inches. 
 
 The two species that form this group have the 
 Lower parts un- throat and breast dark and sharply defined by 
 streaked, but contrast with the lower breast and belly which 
 
 breast and belly ^^^ ^^j^-^^ r^^^ -^^^^^ {Junco hyemalis) is an 
 m sharp contrast , ^ . 
 
 as to color. abundant migrant everywhere and a regular 
 
 breeder in small numbers about the summit of 
 Bean Hill. Its upper parts, throat, breast and sides are slate 
 color, and its bell}^ and outer tail feathers are white. Immature 
 fall specimens have a brown or pinkish tinge over the slaty por- 
 tions. Length 6 to 6I/2 inches. Nest on the ground. The Tow- 
 hee or Chewink (Pipilo eryiliroptliahnus) , named for its ring- 
 ing notes, is a common summer resident of bush pastures and 
 
 Note.— The English Sparrow {Passer domesticus) is rarely seen outside the village, 
 where it is too well known to need a description. 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 281 
 
 briar patches. The male has upper parts, throat and upper 
 breast, black; sides, chestnut; and lower breast, belly, tips of 
 three outer tail feathers and a small spot on each wing, white. 
 The female differs from the male in being brown where he is 
 black. Length 7l^ to 8I/2 inches. Nest on the ground. 
 
 The Taxagers. (Tanagridae.) 
 
 The only member of this family having a place here is the 
 Scarlet Tanager {Piranga erytliromelas) , which is to be found 
 scatteringly as a summer resident of the woods, usually where 
 there are oak trees. The male in spring and summer has a 
 scarlet body and black wings and tail. During its summer 
 moult in August the scarlet is replaced by olive-green, in which 
 livery the bird departs for its winter home. The female is 
 always olive-green, with dusky wings and tail. Length, 7 to 
 7l^ inches. Nest in trees. 
 
 The Swallows. {Hirundinidae.) 
 
 This family is so well known that no general description is 
 necessary. The Purple Martin (Progne subis) is our largest 
 species. Adult males are glossy bluish-black all over. Imma- 
 ture males and females are duller steel-blue above, and more or 
 less white below, streaked with dark gray. Length 7 inches or 
 more; extent about 16. Nest in bird houses in colonies. The 
 Cliff or Eaves Swallow {Petroclielidon lunifrons) is easily 
 distinguished from all other swallows by a large buff spot on its 
 rump. Length 5 to 5I/2 inches and extent about one foot. Nest 
 of mud, bowl-shaped, with a hole in the side, plastered up be- 
 neath the eaves of a barn or along the cross timbers of a shed, 
 almost invariably in colonies, closely set, many in a row. The 
 Barn Swallow {Clielidon erythrogastra) is characterized by a 
 deeply-forked tail and a row of white spots across the tail near 
 the end. The outer tail feathers are more than twice the length 
 of those in the middle. Its back is steel-blue, under parts chest- 
 nut, with a partial necklace of steel-blue across the breast. 
 Length 6 to 7 inches. Extent about 13 inches. Nest on roof 
 timbers of barn or shed; not in colonies. The White-bellied 
 or Tree Swallow {Iridoprocue bicolor) is lustrous steel-green 
 above and pure white below. Length, about 6 inches ; extent, 13. 
 Nest in bird houses, a hollow tree or a hole in a building. Not 
 
282 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 gregarious. The Bank Sw.vllow {Riparia riparia) is grayisli 
 brown above and white below, with a brown necklace across the 
 chest. It is common only in the vicinity of sand banks suitable 
 for drilling. It is highly gregarious. Length, 5 inches; extent^ 
 101/2. Nest in a hole, drilled by the bird itself, in a sand bank. 
 
 The Waxwings. (Avipelidae.) 
 
 The Cherry Bird or Cedar Waxv^ing (Ampelis Cedrorum) 
 is an ardent patron of cherry trees of all lands when they are in 
 fruit. Its salient points are a crested head, a strip of black from 
 the bill backward around the eye, and a line of yellow across 
 the tip of the tail. General coloration a rich purplish cinna- 
 mon. Usually seen in flocks. Length 6 to 7 inches. Nest in 
 trees, often in an apple tree. 
 
 The Shrikes. (Laniidae.) 
 
 The shrikes or butcher birds have bluish-gray backs, white 
 underparts, black wings, with a large white spot and white 
 edgings, a black tail with white tips of the feathers increasing 
 outwardly, the outer one being mainly white, a black stripe on 
 each side of the head, and the length of the tail about equal to 
 the rest of the bird. The bill is hooked at the tip. The North- 
 ern Shrike {Lanius iorealis) comes in November and goes 
 northward again in April. It is a solitary species usually seen 
 on a fence or bare tree in fields or cleared pastures. Its breast 
 is crossed by numerous fine wavy lines. It is not common. 
 Length about 10 inches. The Migrant Shrike {Lanius liido- 
 vicianus migrans) is a scarce summer resident. It is not found 
 here during the residence of the last species, from which it 
 differs in being smaller, clearer white beneath and in having 
 more black on the forehead. Length 8 to 9 inches. Nest in the 
 scraggiest apple tree or thorn tree available. It has been found 
 breeding here by G. Henry Davis of Tilton. 
 
 The Vibeo Family. (Vh-eonidae.) 
 
 The vireos are the builders of the dainty cup-shaped nests of 
 birch bark that we see, after the leaves are fallen, attached to 
 forked twigs by the roadside. These nests are attached at the 
 rim and hang down between the supporting twigs. Vireos live 
 among the foliage of trees and are sweet, voluble and persistent 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 285 
 
 singers. They are clad in sober grays above and white or yellow 
 beneath, and present none of the striking color contrasts so 
 noticeable on many of the warblers. Their bills are slightly 
 hooked at the tip. They sing as they hunt, between mouthfuls 
 as it were, the day through, instead of devoting their entire 
 energy and attention to song for an hour or so morning and 
 evening. The Eed-eyed Vireo {Vireo olivaceus) is a common 
 species everywhere in hard-wood trees, both in the woods and 
 orchards and shade trees throughout the summer. Its crown is 
 ashy gray, other upper parts plain olive, under parts white, and 
 sides tinged with yellow. A white line, bordered above by a 
 narrow black line, runs from the nostril back over each eye. 
 Its iris is reddish bro^\'n, whence its name. Its wings are without 
 bars. Length about 6 inches. The Warbling Vireo {Vireo gil- 
 vus) is less common than the last in most places, yet in the vil- 
 lage shade trees it is the prevailing vireo. It resembles the 
 red-eye, being plain olive above, including crown, and white be- 
 neath. There is an inconspicuous white line over the eye but no 
 black. The wings are without bars. Length about 5 inches. 
 The Blue-headed Vireo {Vireo soliiarius) is a rather scarce 
 summer resident, though common in migration. It comes by the 
 last of April, and its intermittent singing among the leafless. 
 boughs is then very noticeable. The top and sides of the head 
 are ashy-blue, in sharp contrast with a white line from the bill 
 to and around the eye, and the white throat. The back is green- 
 ish olive, the sides are pale yellow, and the under parts are 
 white. There are two white bars on each wing. Length about 
 51/2 inches. The Yellow-throated Vireo {Vireo favifrons) 
 is a scarce migrant. Its head and shoulders are yellowish olive,, 
 gradually turning to gray on the back and rump, the throat and 
 breast are clear yellow and the belly is white. There are two- 
 bars of white on each wing. Length about 6 inches. 
 
 The Warblers. {Minotiltidae.) 
 
 The warblers are a group of small arboreal birds, which are 
 very active in searching among foliage of trees and shrubbery 
 for insect prey, indifferent as vocalists, but, as a rule, with con- 
 tra.sty color effects that are agreeable to the eye. They average 
 smaller than the vireos and are more brightly colored. They are 
 a large and rather confusing familv of summer residents and 
 
:284 HISTORY OF NORTHFEELD. 
 
 migrants. The males are more highly colored than the females, 
 ^nd are consequently more easily identified. It is often the case 
 that females and young fall specimens are difficult to identify 
 without adult males to compare them with. The grouping of 
 this family as it appears below is based on the color of adult 
 males in spring, which is the best season to study them. The 
 first three are odd ones, not readily lending themselves to group- 
 ing on a color basis. The Parula Warbler (Compsoihlypis 
 americana usnea) is a rather scarce summer resident usually 
 found in mixed timber containing more or less hemlocks. The 
 male has its upper parts blue with a yellow area between its 
 shoulders, and two white bars on each wing. Its throat is yel- 
 low, bordered below by a collar of dusky and chestnut-bro^vn ; 
 breast yellow ; belly white. The female has a trace of the collar 
 and is less sharply marked generally. Length, about 4l^ inches. 
 Nest made of loops of long stringy moss (usnea) in trees. 
 
 The Myrtle or Yellow-rumped Warbler (Dendroica coro- 
 nata) is to be recognized at all seasons by an arrangement of yel- 
 low spots not found on any other bird of this region. One of 
 these spots is on its rump, one on its crown and one on each side 
 of its breast. This species breeds sparingly on the summit of 
 Bean Hill, and in October is abundant in orchards and pasture 
 shrubbery. Length, about 5% inches. Nest usually in low 
 .spruces. The Tennessee Warbler {HelmintJiophila peregrina) 
 is a very rare migrant. The adult male has the entire under 
 part grayish white, crown and back of neck ash gray; upper 
 parts otherwise olive green ; a stripe of white over the eye. The 
 female in spring is similar except for a suffusion of olive green 
 •over the head and under parts. All fall specimens are usually 
 entirely olive-green above and pale greenish yellow below and 
 in the stripe over the eye. Length, about 4% inches. 
 
 The Nashville Warbler (Helminthoplnla ru- 
 Under parts yel- hricapilla) is a common migrant, especially in 
 low without dis- spring, and an occasional summer resident. The 
 
 inc s rea s. male has its entire under parts greenish yellow. 
 
 iiack olive-grecn. . pi 
 
 A patch of chestnut is in the middle of the 
 
 crown ; the sides and top of the head and neck are ash-gray ; ring 
 
 around the eye white; back, wings and tail olive-green. The 
 
 female lacks the chestnut patch on the crown, otherwise she is 
 
 .^''- f 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 28& 
 
 like the male. Length, about 4i/^ inches. Nest on the ground. 
 The Wilson Warbler {Wilsonia pusilla) is a scarce migrant, 
 passing this region in May and August. Its entire under parts- 
 are clear yellow and entire iTpper parts bright olive-green, ex- 
 cepting the crown of the male, which is black. Length, about 
 4% inches. The Pine Warbler {Dendroica vigor sii) is one of 
 the earlier warblers to appear in spring, often coming the first 
 week in April. The adult male has under parts greenish yellow, 
 except the bellj^ which is whitish. Its sides are faintly streaked 
 with olive. Its upper parts are yellowish olive, except the Avings 
 and tail, which are dull olive gray, the wings having two bars of 
 dingy white. Females vary from nearly as bright as males to 
 dull olive gray all over. The song of this warbler is not dis- 
 tinguishable from that of the chipping sparrow. It is frequently 
 to be found in scattering pine trees. It is a scarce summer resi- 
 dent. Length, 5Vo to 6 inches. Nest in trees. The ]\Iarylani> 
 Yellow-throat {Geothlypis trichas) is a common summer resi- 
 dent of briar patches, hazel bushes and similar tangles, beings 
 unlike the general run of warblers in preferring a lowly station. 
 The male is easily made out by the black mask across his face^ 
 and his fussy note of alarm at the first glimpse of an intruder. 
 The female lacks the black mask, but otherwise the sexes agree 
 in having yellow throats and breasts, buff sides, white bellies: 
 and olive-green upper parts. The song of the male, we-ckee- 
 chee, we-chee-fhee, is quite pleasing. Length, about 5 inches. 
 Nest on the ground. The Connecticut Warbler {Oporornis 
 agilis) is a scarce autumn migrant, rarely or never seen in spring. 
 Its belly is always yellow. Fall specimens have the breast and 
 throat olive-brown, and the upper parts entirely olive-green. 
 Spring birds differ in having the breast olive and the head ashy 
 above. A distinguishing character at all times is a white eye- 
 ring. Length, 51/0 inches. The ^Mourning Warbler (Oporornis 
 Philadelphia) breeds in the White Mountains and is likely to 
 occur here in migration, though it is not actually known ever to- 
 have done so. The male is like that of the last species in size and 
 general appearance, having the top of the head and back of the 
 neck slate-gray, back olive-green and belly yellow, but its breast 
 and throat feathers are black with gray tips, and there is no eye- 
 ring. Females and voung males have heads, throat and breast 
 
286 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 paler and more or less yellowish. The lack of an eye-ring is 
 
 sufficient to distinguish them from similar specimens of the last 
 
 species. 
 
 Two species have under parts yellow narrowly 
 
 Under parts yel- streaked with chestnut or cinnamon. The Yel- 
 low streaked -,-1^ . ^^ , . . • \ • 
 
 ,,. , , , LOW Warbler (Dendroica aestiva) is a common 
 •with chestnut. ^ ^ 
 
 summer resident near ponds and streams. Both 
 sexes appear at a little distance to be yellow all over. The female 
 has the chestnut streaks obscure and sometimes wanting all 
 together. Length, nearly 5 inches. Nest in bushes or small 
 trees. The Yellow Palm Warbler {Dendroica palmarum Jiy- 
 pochrysea) is not uncommon as an early spring and late fall 
 migrant. It is often seen on the ground and is noticeable on 
 account of a habit of bobbing its tail. Its color characters, aside 
 from those belonging to this group, are chestnut crown, yellow 
 stripe over each eye, olive-brown back, and greenish yellow rvimp. 
 Length, 5^4 inches. 
 
 In this group of three are the warblers having 
 Under parts yel- ^j^g under parts yellow and more or less streaked 
 . , , . , with heavy lines of black. It is to be noted that 
 
 the extent of the streaked area varies in different 
 species. In the Cape May Warbler {Dendroica tigrina), a very 
 rare migrant, the black streaks are on the throat, breast and 
 sides, but do not run together to form a collar of black across 
 the breast. The male has a black crown and chestnut cheeks. 
 The sides of his neck are clear yellow, a stripe over each eye is 
 yellow in front and chestnut behind. The feathers of the back 
 are black with yellowish green edges, and the rump is yellow. 
 The female is olive above, yellowish on the rump throat and 
 breast, whitish on the sides, and under parts finely streaked with 
 dusky. Length, 5 to 51/4 inches. The Magnollv Warbler {Den- 
 droica maculosa), a rather scarce migrant, has no black streaks 
 on the throat, but on the breast they form a collar, and along 
 the sides they are heavy. The male has a gray crown, a stripe 
 of white running from the eye backward, sides of head black, 
 rump yellow, and a w^hite bar across the tail occupying about the 
 middle third of it, the basal and terminal thirds being black. 
 The female is much duller colored, but she may be identified with 
 certainty by the same white bar across the tail that the male has. 
 
BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 287 
 
 Length, 4% to 5 inches. The Canadian "Warbler {Wilsonia 
 canadensis) has its black stripes confined to a "necklace" across 
 the breast. Above it is uniformly gray except on the crown, 
 where the feathers have black centers. Eye-ring and a spot 
 on each side of the forehead yellow. Females have the neck- 
 lace obscure, but otherwise they are like the males. This is a 
 fairly common migrant and an occasional breeder. Length, 51/4 
 to dYo inches. Nest on the ground. 
 
 The male Blackburnian Warbler (Dendro- 
 Throat solid *ca blackburniae) is our only warbler having an 
 
 orange, orange throat without streaks. The belly is pale 
 yellow ; the sides are streaked with black ; crown 
 black with an orange streak over each eye, and an orange spot 
 in the middle ; back black narrowly streaked with whitish. The 
 female has throat and line over each eye yellow, and back yel- 
 lowish gray streaked with black. This species is not rare as a 
 summer resident. Length, 5i/4 to 5I/2 inches. Nest in trees, fre- 
 quently hemlocks. 
 
 The males of three species have the throat en- 
 Throat solid tirely black. The male American Redstart 
 black. (Setophaga ruticilla) has throat, breast and up- 
 per parts black, sides and inner half of wings 
 and inner half of tail orange. The female is olive above, whitish 
 beneath and yellow where the male is orange. This species is a 
 common summer resident. Length, 5 to oVo inches. Nest in trees. 
 The Black-throated Blue Warbler (Dendroica caerulescens) 
 is a rather scarce migrant here, though it breeds on the Sanborn- 
 ton mountains and possibly does so occasionally on Bean Hill. 
 The male has the throat and sides of head and body black, the 
 upper parts blue and the belly white. The bases of the outer 
 wing feathers are white. The female is whitish below and olive 
 above. The tiny white spot at the base of her outer wing feath- 
 ers is diagnostic, as no other warbler found here has it. Length, 
 about 5 inches. Nest in a low bush. The Black-throated 
 Green Warbler (Dendroica vjrens) is a common summer resi- 
 dent of pine woods. The male has the throat and sides of breast 
 black; sides of head yellow, with a line of olive through the eye; 
 upper parts olive-green. The female is similar but duller col- 
 ored. Length, about 5 inches. Nest in trees, usually pines. 
 
288 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Two species occur iu this ca'tegory. Of these 
 Under parts ^j^g Black AND White Warbler {3Iinotilta va- 
 
 w les arpy • k • yery common species, usually in the 
 
 streaked with , ^ '' ^ . , ' , i 
 
 y^^j^^ larger trees, where it creeps about the trunks and 
 
 larger branches. The male is streaked black and 
 white in about equal proportions above and on the breast. The 
 female is similar to the male, but usually with less black streaks 
 beneath. Length, about 514 inches. Nest on ground. The 
 Black-poll Warbler (Dendroica striata) is one of the later 
 warblers to appear in spring, usually passing here between the 
 20th of May and the 10th of June. In spring it is seen oftener 
 in orchards than in the woods. Fall migrants frequent pastures 
 with scattering trees and patches of gray birches. Spring males 
 have the under parts white with black streaks along the sides of 
 the neck and body; crown entirely black; back streaked, black 
 and gray; wings wdth two white bars. The spring female has 
 the crown and back olive-green streaked with black ; under parts 
 tinged with greenish yellow ; sides obscurely streaked with dusky. 
 Fall specimens are quite different, the under parts being yellow- 
 ish with obscure olive streaks ; upper parts clear olive-green from 
 bill to tail, with dusky streaks down the back; wing-bars yellow- 
 ish. Length, nearly 5I/2 inches. 
 
 The two species here included are large aber- 
 Under parts rant warblers, noticeably different from the aver- 
 
 white or yellow- ^gg warbler type. Both obtain their food from 
 
 ish, sharply ^^^^ ground, and have uniform brown backs. The 
 
 streaked with ° ' .„ . . 
 
 jjj.Q^j^ Ovenbird {Seiurus aurocapilkis) is a common 
 
 summer resident. Its song — ive-che, ive-che, we- 
 che, we-cJie, we-clie, — in forceful crescendo, is almost ear split- 
 ting at close range. It walks instead of hopping. It has a wide 
 stripe of orange-brown over the cro^^^l, flanked on each side by 
 a line of black ; otherwise, its upper parts are a golden greenish 
 brown. The sexes are alike. Length, about 6 inches. Its nest 
 is a roofed structure, Avhence its name, placed on the ground. 
 The Water-Thrush {Seiurus novehoracensis) is a citizen of 
 swamps and the margins of ponds and streams. Its most notice- 
 able characteristic is its incessantly bobbing tail. Its under parts 
 are yellowish white, streaked on the throat, breast and sides with 
 dark brown. Its upper parts are dark olive-brown. Over each 
 
BIRDS OP NORTHFIELD. 289 
 
 eye extends a line of yellowish white. Length, about 5% inches. 
 Nest on the ground. 
 
 The Chestnut-sided Warbler {Dendrolca 
 Sides chestnut ; pensylvanica) is a common summer resident, 
 belly white or usually in scrub land and small woods of deeid- 
 u y w 1 e. uous trees. The male has the throat, breast and 
 
 belly Avhite; sides chestnut; crown yellow; back streaked with 
 black and pale yellow. The female is similar but duller. The 
 Bay-breasted Warbler (Dendroica Castanea) is a scarce mi- 
 grant. The spring male is to be distinguished from the last 
 species at a glance by its throat, which is chestnut, confluent 
 with the same color on its sides, and by its crown, which, also, is 
 chestnut. Its back is gray streaked with black. The spring 
 female is duller of color, but similar to the male. Young fall 
 birds are only to be distinguished from young fall specimens of 
 the black-poll warbler, already described, by a faint tinge of 
 buff or pale chestnut on the sides. 
 
 The Pipits. {MotacilUdae.) 
 
 As but one species of this family is to be found here, the ques- 
 tion of characters maj^ be referred to the description of the 
 American Pipit (Anthus pensilvanicus) , which is but a mi- 
 grant, most in evidence in the fall when corn is in the shock. 
 Then it appears in flocks and is quite common in the harvested 
 corn fields. It is less common in spring. Its most noticeable 
 feature is an incessant jerking of the tail when it is alighted, 
 and white outer tail feathers when on the Aving. Above it is 
 olive brown slightly streaked with dusky. A line over the eye, 
 and the under parts are buffy. The hind claw is long and nearly 
 straight, similar to that of the horned lark. The sexes are alike. 
 Length, 614 to 7 inches. 
 
 The Mockixgdiro Faiiily. (Mimidae.) 
 
 Although the true mockingbird does not occur here, it is repre- 
 sented by two relatives, the catbird and brown thrasher, which 
 abundantly attest the musical ability of the family. They are 
 frequenters of thickets adjacent to grazing and tillage land, 
 where insects, worms and berries are to be had, combined with a 
 tangle to hide in. They all agree in having short, broad wings, 
 and tails approximately as long as their bodies. The Catbird 
 20 
 
290 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 {3Ji}iUS carolinrnsis) is slate colored, darker above, lighter be- 
 neath, with crown, wings and tail black. Sexes alike. It is a 
 common snmmer resident. Length, 8l^ to 9 inches. Nest in 
 bushes. The Brown Thrasher (Toxostoma rufus) is rusty- 
 brown above, and whitish spotted with dark brown on the breast 
 and sides. Sexes alike. This species is a common summer resi- 
 dent, nesting usually in thorny bushes, though occasionally on 
 the ground. Length, about 11 inches. 
 
 The Wrexs. (Troglodytidae.) 
 
 The wrens are little snuff-brown birds, usually found about 
 stone walls, brush heaps and similar lowly and obscure situa- 
 tions. They are given to scolding, and not unfrequently cock their 
 tails straight up in a very impudent fashion. The House Wren 
 (Troglodyies acdon) is a scarce summer resident, generally speak- 
 ing, though a pair or two usually breed somewhere about the 
 village each year. The sexes are alike, snuff brown above, paler 
 brown beneath, becoming nearly white on the belly, everywhere 
 indistinctly barred with wavy lines of dusky. Length, 4% to 
 5I/4 inches. Nest in holes in trees and in nesting boxes. The 
 Winter Wren {QlhiorchUus hiemalis) is a scarce migrant, but 
 probably an occasional summer resident in secluded swamps. 
 This species is usually found in tangly places in the woods. It 
 is colored much like the house wren, being deep brown above, 
 darkest on the head and brightest on the rump and paler beneath. 
 The sides and tlanks are strongly barred with dusky and whitish. 
 It is decidedly smaller than the house wren, being only about 
 4 inches long. Nest near the ground in crevices of stumps or 
 fallen logs in swamps. 
 
 The Creepers. (CertJiiidae.) 
 
 The Brown Creeper {Certhia familiaris amerkana) is the 
 little bird frequently seen in cold weather making its way by little 
 hitches up the trunks of trees, examining every crevice for in- 
 sects or their eggs. The creeper always begins at the bottom of 
 a tree and works its way upward towards the top, from whence 
 it flies diagonally downward to the butt of the next tree. Its 
 back is dark brown streaked with whitish, becoming rusty brown 
 on the rump. Its under parts are white. Its bill is slender and 
 curved slightly downwai'd, and its tail feathers are sharply 
 
BIRDS OF NORTIIFIELD. 291 
 
 pointed, beinjgr used as a prop, after the manner of a -Avoodpeeker 's 
 tail. The creeper is mainly migrant, but it is likely to be found 
 breeding now and then. Length, about dYo inches. Nest in a 
 hole in a tree or behind a splinter of bark. 
 
 The Nuthatches. (Sittidae.) 
 
 The nuthatches are queer little birds, often seen climbing about 
 the trunks and larger branches of trees in winter. Unlike the 
 creeper, they are as often seen moving with their heads downward 
 as upward, and they can run around the under side of a large 
 limb as easily as a fly. Both species breed here sparingly. The 
 male White- breasted Nuthatch {Sitta carolinensis) has a 
 grayish blue back, a black crown and white under parts. The 
 female's crown is scarcely darker than her back, otherwi.se she is 
 like the male. Length, 5i/^ to 6 inches. The nest is in a hole 
 drilled in the dead portion of a tree. The Red-breasted Nut- 
 hatch {Sitta canadoisis) is colored above quite similarly to the 
 last species, but its under parts are reddish brown. It is smaller 
 than the last species, being only 41/^ to 4% inches in length. It 
 drills its own nest hole in decayed wood and daubs fresh pine 
 pitch around the entrance. 
 
 The Chickadees. (Paridae.) 
 
 The Chickadee {Fanis atricapillus) is a well-known resident. 
 The sexes are alike, the upper parts being gray, the crown and 
 throat black, and the under parts white. Length, about 5 inches, 
 of which the tail is about half. Nest in holes in decayed trees. 
 It is a cheerful .sight in midwinter to see a troop of these hardy 
 little fellows making a circuit of the tree tops searching for their 
 daily rations. In this season of scarcity they are always glad of 
 bits of waste meat that may be put in the trees for them, and 
 the farmer cannot find a surer income from charity of any sort 
 than from what he may thus bestow on these hungry birds that 
 annually save him dollars by their persistent warfare on insects. 
 The IIuDSONiAN Chickadee {Pm-us hudsonicus) is a rare winter 
 visitant from the White Mountains. It is not actually known 
 to have occurred here, but as it has been found elsewhere in this 
 county, and even so far south as Connecticut, it may reasonably 
 be expected here. In size and appearance it is like the chicka- 
 dee, but its back is pale olive-brown and its throat and crown are 
 brown instead of black. 
 
292 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 The Kinglets. (Sylviidae.) 
 
 The kinglets, so named from having a spot of bright color on 
 the crown, are tiny birds, smaller even than the warblers. They 
 are excessively active in flitting- from twig to twig, and are often 
 seen hovering in the air for a moment beneath a leaf or a branch 
 while inspecting the lower surface. They may be distinguished 
 in the hand from the warblers by noting that the outer wing 
 feather is less than half as long as the next one to it. The outer 
 feather of a warbler's wing is always much more than half the 
 length of the second feather. The Golden-crowned Kinglet 
 (Eeguliis satrapa) is olive-green above; wings and tail dusky 
 edged with pale yellow ; and under parts whitish. The male has 
 a patch of yellow containing a median stripe of orange on its 
 crown. The female is similar, except that its crown patch is 
 entirely yellow. This species is a common migrant and an occa- 
 sional resident throughout the year. Length, about 4 inches. 
 The nest, a pendant structure of green moss, is attached to a 
 spruce branch neor the tip. The Ruby-crowned Kinglet {Eeg- 
 ulus calendula) is colored in general like the last named, but it 
 has a white eye-ring, and the male has on its crown a triangular 
 patch of red, which the female lacks. This species is only a mi- 
 grant, appearing in April and early May, and again in Septem- 
 ber and October. Length, nearly 4^/2 inches. 
 
 The Thrush Family. (Turdidae.) 
 
 The most familiar member of the thrush family is the Robin 
 (Merula migratoria) , which needs not to have either its appear- 
 ance or habits recorded here. The w^oodland thrushes, which are 
 less well-known, are like the robin in contour, but are quite dif- 
 ferent from it in color and habitat, though they all closely re- 
 semble each other. The Hermit Thrush {Ilylocichla guttata 
 pallasii) arrives from the South early in April and remains till 
 November, It lives almost exclusively in the woods, often among 
 evergreens, from whence, morning and evening, issues its clear, 
 soul-stirring song. Its upper parts are olive-brown turning to 
 tawny or rusty on the rump and tail; sides olive-gray; under 
 parts butfy white, sharply spotted with dusky. Length, 7 to 7I/2 
 inches. Nest on the ground. The Wilson Thrush {IlylocicJila 
 fuscescens) is another summer resident of practically the same 
 
BIRDS OF NORTPIPIELD. 293 
 
 size and color pattern as the last, but its entire upper parts are 
 tawny, the back and tail presenting no contrast. It is also much 
 less heavily spotted beneath than any of the other woodland 
 thrushes. Its song is of the metallic quality that characterizes 
 all its tribe, but it is not nearly so fine as that of the hermit. 
 This species is more commonly found near water than on the 
 hills. Nest on the ground or near it. The Olive-backed 
 Thrush {Hylociclila ustulata swainsonii) is a migrant. Its up- 
 per parts are uniform olive throughout; sides olive-gray; under 
 parts buffy white spotted with duslcy, much like the hermit. A 
 yellowish eye-ring is a noticeable feature. This species may be 
 looked for in May, August and September and possibly may be 
 found here in the breeding season. Length, 6% to 7l^ inches. 
 Nest in low tree. The Song Thrush {Hylociclila mustelina) is 
 a rare summer visitor. Its back is rusty brown, turning to olive 
 on the rump and tail; sides and under parts white with many 
 round spots of dusky. On a certain June morning I saw and 
 heard sing one of these thrushes near the so-called ' ' Summit ' ' on 
 the railroad. Length, 7i/^ to 8 inches. Nest in a tree. The 
 Bluebird {Sialia sialis) needs no description or encomium. It 
 is one of the few birds that everybody know^s and loves. No 
 song is more cheering than that of the bluebird as it comes to us 
 in spring, neither are any bird notes more doleful than those it 
 utters while preparing to obey that mysterious impulse from 
 within which commands it to leave us toward the end of autumn. 
 
1780-1905 
 
 History of Northfield 
 
 NEW HAMPSHIRE 
 
 PART II 
 
 GENEALOGIES 
 
 BY 
 
 LUCY R. H. CROSS 
 
 Town histories have an inestimable value. Whenever I look at a 
 row of these fat volumes, filled with the quaint, homely annals of the 
 early settlers, intermixed with genealogies and portraits, enlivened with 
 anecdotes of the old-time raisings and muster parades, bursting with 
 details of all kinds of events from Indian massacres to the contro\ersy 
 over introducing a sto\e into the meeting house: gi\ing equal space to 
 the biggest pumpkin raised in 1817 and the poor old hermit found frozen 
 to death in his hut .... whenever I look at these repositories of 
 humble items, dragnets of facts big and little, I feel that the greatness 
 of America is bound up between their swollen covers. 
 
 — Frances M. Abbott in '^Granite Monthly." 
 
 CONCORD, N. H. 
 
 RUMFORD Printing Company 
 1905 
 
INTRODUCTION. 
 
 The genealogical arrangement here employed is so simple it 
 needs no explanation. In but few cases does the record go back 
 farther than the first of the name in town. The varied orthog- 
 raphy of certain names has been noted, but no authority claimed. 
 
 Where no town is mentioned as place of birth, etc., Northfield 
 is to be understood, and the abbreviations "N. H. " have been 
 omitted. A mark of interrogation denotes uncertainty ( ?) ; "b." 
 has been used for born; "m. " for married; "d." for died, and 
 "dau. " for daughter or daughters. 
 
 It is not claimed that the names of all who served as soldiers 
 in the several wars are here recorded. They have a chapter 
 devoted to their enrollment. 
 
 ^Ministers of the gospel, lawyers, physicians, senators, judges 
 and others high in the military and civil service of the state and 
 nation stand out in goodly numbers to ennoble and brighten the 
 following pages with the record of their deeds and "words fitly 
 spoken. " To transmit these to those who shall come after us, and 
 to show what the influence of our emigrating sons and daughters 
 has been on other communities, has been a pleasant task and a 
 source of pride and satisfaction, as the flattering story has come 
 to us from all parts of the world. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 
 
 ABBOTT I. 
 
 Dea. Elias Abbott was b. in Concord, Oct. 24, 1757. Sept., 1783, m. 
 Elizabeth Buswell, b. at Kingston, Sept. 4, 1761. They, with five chil- 
 dren, came to N. in the spring of 1801 and bought one of the Leavitt 
 farms, at the foot of Bean Hill, lot No. 24 of the original survey. He 
 had served in Bedel's Regiment and went under Captain Osgood to fight 
 the Indians in Canada. He was with his two neighbors, Lieutenants 
 Lyford and Glidden, at the surrender of Fort "William Henry. His 
 name was put on the pension rolls, Dec. 15, 1830, and he drew $96 a 
 year. He was a religious man and assisted in the formation of the 
 Congregational Church in 1822, and was its first deacon, which office he 
 held until old age. He d. at 90, May 19, 1847. She d. Jan. 25, 1832. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Elias Abbott, b. at Concord, March 22, 1786. He spent most of his 
 life with or near his father, who erected him a home on the farm. He 
 m. (first) May 2, 1812, Lydia Sawyer, of N., b. July 23, 1784, and d. May 
 14, 1826. They had four children. He m. (second) Aug. 29, 1826, Sarah 
 Winslow, b. at Concord, Jan. 30, 1788; d. at N., Aug. 2, 1848; and had 
 two daughters. He m. (third) Mrs. Elinor Rogers, May 22, 1853, and 
 d. at N., Sept. 10, 1862. 
 
 Abagail Abbott, b. at Concord in 1783; became, Feb., 1829, the second 
 wife of Dea. Jeremiah Hall (see Hall gen.), and d. Aug. 25, 1864. 
 
 Betsey Abbott, b. at Concord, 1789, and d. at N., March 29, 1847. She 
 spent her whole life in loving care of her parents and outlived her 
 father but ten days. 
 
 James Blswell Abbott was for many years a popular teacher and 
 later read medicine and graduated from Dartmouth Medical College in 
 1825. M., Nov. 15, 1827, Nancy B. Rogers, his next door neighbor. At 
 her death, ten years later, m. her sister, Elisabeth A. Rogers, who d. 
 after five years. He practiced first at Canterbury as associate of the 
 late Dr. Harper, and then for a time at Boscawen. He then took up 
 his abode at Sanbornton Square as the successor of Dr. Hill, where he 
 remained until his death 26 years later. In 1843, he m. for his third 
 wife, Sarah, dau. of Joseph Gerrish of Boscawen. by whom he had four 
 children, but one of whom survives. James B. d. at 22, just as he 
 became associated with his father in business. Dr. Abbott found time 
 
6 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 
 
 in the midst of a busy practice to act as clerk of the town and to 
 supervise the schools for 22 successive years, and was superintendent 
 of the Sunday school 16 years. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of Elias and Lydia Sawyer Abbott.) 
 
 Gardner Sawyer Abbott, b. Feb. 27, 1813, has spent his whole life in 
 town and survives at the age of 92 years with faculties unimpaired, and 
 is still interested in all that transpires. He was thrice married, (first) 
 to Phebe Bus well of Bay Hill, who d. Sept. 3, 1856; (second) to Sarah 
 Jane Buswell (pub.), Jan. 5, 1857, who d. Feb. 23, 1860; (third) May, 
 1864, to Mrs. Lydia Peters of Concord, who d. March 29, 1897. He has 
 been a teacher of ability, a farmer and a trusted business man; was col- 
 lector for the town for 13 years and selectman for five. He was also 
 deacon of Northfield and Tilton Congregational Church for 18 years, 
 and its clerk until incapacitated by age. In 1878 his farm buildings 
 were struck by lightning and burned, and he has since resided at the 
 junction of the two Bay Hill roads. This house has perhaps been the 
 home of more families than any other in town. 
 
 Alfred S. Abbott, b. 1816; m., 1842, Susan Howe, and settled as a 
 farmer in Canterbury. He d. there in 1888; she d. 1890. He was 
 deacon of the Congregational Church for a long term of years. They 
 had three children, but one of whom, Almira "Willard, survives. 
 
 Emily Buswell Abbott, m.. May 18, 1841, David Webber and removed 
 to Starksboro. (See Webber gen.) 
 
 Matilda Abbott, b. 1818; m. Barnard Currier of Concord and d. 1899. 
 Several children lived to maturity and are widely scattered. 
 
 (Children of Elias and Sarah Winslow Abbott.) 
 Lydia S. Abbott, b. in 1827; m. Enoch Welch and removed to Ohio. 
 Sarah W. Abbott, b. 1832; m. Philander Walsh and removed to the 
 West, where she d., leaving five children. 
 
 ABBOTT II. 
 
 Moses Colby Abbott was b. at Ryegate, Vt., April 2, 1833. He m., 
 March 3, 1855, Mary A. Regan of Rumney, b. in Boston, Aug. 11, 1830. 
 She d. at Tilton, June 10, 1885. He m. (second) Mrs. Mary Palmer 
 Brown of N., April 27, 1889, and resides at East N. He has been a 
 blacksmith for more than fifty years; also a Methodist preacher and 
 exhorter. They had three children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Austin Clarence Abbott, b. Feb. 7, 1856, at Plymouth; m., Feb. 23, 
 1879, Nellie J. Dudley of Tilton. They now reside at Lynn, Mass., and 
 have one child, Gladys M. 
 
GENEALOGIES. ' 
 
 Frank Hazen Abbott, b. at Rumney, Sept. 4, 1857; m. Margaret Fer- 
 ritter, and resides at Oakland, Me. They have one son, John F. 
 Lucia Arabella Abbott, b. at Rumney, Sept. 4, 18G4. 
 
 ABBOTT III. 
 
 Jededia}! Abbott bought the Whidden farm on Bean Hill of Samuel 
 Libby about 187G. He was a minister and, though never having a reg- 
 ular charge, worked in the Lord's vineyard as opportunity offered, 
 mended shoes and tilled his land. He often held services in the school- 
 house and at "Worsted Church." 
 
 Though not an educated man, he had a good voice, was a ready 
 speaker and especially gifted in prayer. After his wife's death, April 
 13, 1886, he removed to Goffstown, where he d. soon after. They are 
 both buried in the cemetery by the town house. They cared for several 
 homeless children, but had none of their own. 
 
 ADAMS. 
 
 Samuel Adams, b. at Chester, Feb. 10, 1828; m., April 25, 1853, Sarah 
 A. Dunaven, b. at Enosburg, Vt, Nov. 10, 1833. They came to N. from 
 Tilton, Jan. 4, 1882. He had been a farmer at Danbury, but was em- 
 ployed later at the Tilton mills for 17 years. He served in the army 
 (see Boys in Blue). They had seven children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Abbie Annie Adams, b. at Haverhill, Mass., March 27, 1855; d. at 
 Tilton, Sept. 1, 1876. 
 
 Charles Egbert Adams, b. at Haverhill, July 27, 1858; m., Jan. 8, 
 1879, Martha B. Jarvis of Tilton. He is a fireman at the Jackson Mfg. 
 Co.'s works at Nashua, where they reside. They have three children, 
 Joseph, Frank and Minnie B. 
 
 Lal-ra Emma Adams, b. at Haverhill, Jan.. 1860; m., May 19, 1SS5, 
 Herbert Eastman, b. at Weare. He is an underwriter for an insurance 
 company at Hartford, Conn., where they reside. They have two chil- 
 dren, Herbert and Harold. 
 
 IMixnie Louise Adams, b. at Danbury, March 4, 1862; d. at Tilton, 
 April 17, 1880. 
 
 Sadie Louise Adams, b. at Danbury, Jan. 12, 1866; m., June 5, 1889, 
 George W. Bettis, b. at Morrisville, Vt., June 2, 1867. He was station 
 agent and later a machinist, at Ashland, where he now resides. They 
 have three children, Marion, Helen F. and Margaret. 
 
 Lettie May Adams, b. at Belmont, July 27, 1873, and d. there in 
 infancy. 
 
 Maria Frances Adams, b. at Danbury, July 27, 1887, and d. there. 
 
O HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Charles and Martha Jarvis Adams.) 
 Joseph Egbert Adams, b. at Tilton, Nov. 29, 1879, enlisted in the reg- 
 ular army for three years, then re-enlisted for the same term, and is 
 now stationed at Des Moines, Iowa, in the Eleventh United States Cav- 
 alry. 
 
 Frank Marshall Adams, b. at Tilton, Dec. 13, 1882. He enlisted 
 for four years as a marine on the ship Dixie, served his term and 
 re-enlisted for another term on cruisers San Francisco and Helena. He 
 m., Jan. 5, 1905, Josephine Roberts of Norfolk, Va. 
 
 MixNiE Bell Adams, b. at Tilton, Aug. 12, 1S81; resides in the home. 
 
 ALDRICH. 
 
 Caleb Aldrich of Smithfield, R. I., came to N. from Hill (New Ches- 
 ter) in 1822. Two children, b. in Smithfield, remained there, while one, 
 Windsor, came to N. with his father and remained in East N. on the 
 Sanborn farm. His sister, Harriet, also came to N. and Edwin, who 
 removed West. Caleb died at Hill. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Windsor Aldrich, b. in R. I., March 4, 1802; m. Abagail Sargent of 
 Loudon, b. June 6, 1802 (?). After her death at N., March 5, 1850, he 
 m. Olive Jenness, Oct. 27, 1850. She d. at N., Feb. 24, 18G7, and he m. 
 (third) Mrs. Mary Downing of Ellsworth. He d. Sept. 21, 1871. She 
 d. Aug. 27, 1887. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Windsor and Abagail Aldrich.) 
 Sally Sabgent Aldrich, b. at N., July 30, 1829; m. (pub.), Feb. 5, 
 1849, Charles P. Ticknor, a teacher of penmanship at the New Hamp- 
 shire Conference Seminary. He became a farmer at East N. and d. 
 there, June 30, 1860. She m. (second) Charles Sanborn of Salisbury, 
 Sept. 23, 1875. She had two children by first marriage. 
 
 Charles Sargent Aldrich, b. at N., Sept. 8, 1834; m., Oct. 10, 1863, 
 Emeline H. Jenness of Chichester, b. April 23, 1831, and d. May 17, 1869 
 They had two children. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Charles P. and Sally Ticknor.) 
 Abbie Ticknor, b. at N., March 28, 1851; m. (first), Nov. 13, 1870, 
 James H. Courser of Warner, a farmer. He d. Jan. 17, 1875. She m. 
 (second) Arthur Tucker of Warner, Dec. 25, 1894, and had three chil- 
 dren, James, Ralph and Katherine. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 9 
 
 Benxif, Tickxor, b. at N., Sept. 14, 1856; went when a boy to reside 
 with Mrs. Blaisdell and goes by her name. He m., Sept. 11, 1887, Cinda 
 
 E. Dow, and is a blacksmith in Pittsfield. 
 
 (Children of Charles and Emeline Aldrich.) 
 Emma A. Aldrich, b. at N., Feb. 1, 1854; m., Nov. 18, 1869, George 
 
 F. Rand of N. (See Rand gen.) She m. (second), Oct. 25, 1874, John 
 H. Mead of Hill, who is employed by the Boston & Maine Railroad as 
 section foreman. 
 
 Saeaii B. Aldrich, b. at N., June 23, 1860; d. unmarried at Franklin, 
 March 23, 1879. 
 
 ALLARD. 
 
 Two brothers, Jonathan and Joseph Allard, came to N. in 1810, and 
 bought the Clark and Moloney farm, afterwards the farm of Jeremiah 
 Cross. The former came from Londonderry and the latter from Sand- 
 wich. Jonathan was first taxed in 1811, and Joseph in 1815, and James 
 Madison in 1816. Joseph was a tailor by trade. He was very fastid- 
 ious in dress and, in spite of being an inveterate snuff taker, was quite 
 the "style" with body encased in corsets and surmounted with an ulti'a- 
 fashionable highland plaid cloak. He m. Polly Robinson of Canter- 
 bury, Jan. 25, 1812, and had two children. He d. at N., April 29, 1843. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 James M.\disox Allard must have been nearly of age when he came 
 to N. He remained but a few years. 
 
 Eliza Allard, m. Parkhurst and removed to Boston. 
 
 ALLISON. 
 
 The Allisons were among the early settlers in the north fields. Lot 
 55 in the second division of 100 acre lots was laid out to the right of 
 Joseph Allison. He came from Holderness and m. Sarah Haines, Aug. 
 11, 1785. A sister, probably Betsey Allison, m. Edward Dyer, Sept. 
 2, 1792. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Richard Allison inherited the lot in which Chestnut Pond is locate^ 
 He m. Susanna Smith. He removed later to French's mills in Canada. 
 There were several children; I can find the name of but one. 
 
 Mart Alliso.x, b. in Holderness; m. William Forrest. (See Forrest 
 gen.) 
 
 William Allisox was a blacksmith and lived in Canterbury. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 Anxa Allisox, m. James Forrest, and lived and d. at East N., Oct., 
 1809. She was 47 years of age. (See Forrest gen.) 
 
10 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 (Child of Richard and Susanna Smith Allison.) 
 Charlotte Allisox, b. 1792, at N. ; did not remove to Canada with 
 her parents, but remained in the family of Squire Glidden. She was a 
 noble Christian girl and devout Methodist, as was Mother Glidden. 
 They were baptized in Chestnut Pond and were among the first of that 
 sect in town. 
 
 John Butler of Nottingham owned one-third of Governor Shute's 
 reservation of 500 acres and used to send stock there for pasturage, 
 coming often himself and calling on his old friend Squire Glidden. 
 He fell in love with the busy Charlotte and when he returned from 
 the funeral of his friend, Aug. 21, 1811, took her home as his wife. 
 She was the mother of General B. F. Butler. 
 
 AMBROSE. 
 
 Dea. Josiah Ambrose was b. at Concord, 1770, and built his little 
 cabin beside the brook flowing from Chestnut Pond when the country 
 around was a howling wilderness. He m. Mollie Morse, his next door 
 neighbor, and when his little home was ready for the windows went 
 on foot to Concord and returned with the outfit on his shoulders. It 
 consisted of half a window. He was a farmer, teacher and business 
 man generally. He represented the town in the Legislature of 1S12, 
 and held every other office in the gift of the town. He d. at Daltou, 
 where he had gone on a visit to friends in 1840. His wife survived 
 him until Nov. 9, 1857, and died at 90 years of age. A niece, Betsey 
 Cotton of Boston, lived with her many years. They had no children. 
 
 AMES. 
 
 Dr. William B. Ames came from Vermont to Sanbornton Bridge and 
 d. there soon after, leaving a widow and seven children. The family- 
 came to N. about 1840. Mrs. Ames d. at N., Aug. 28, 1865, aged 71. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Michael Ames was a prominent lawyer at St. Paul and d. there in 
 1862. 
 
 William B. Ames also resided at St. Paul, Minn., and d. there about 
 1863. 
 
 Angeline Ames, b. 1825; m.. May 21, 1849. Henry Whipple, a carpen- 
 ter, of Concord, where he d. She d. at N., Jan. 20, 1868. 
 
 Sarah R. Ames, b. 1830; m., Aug. 25, 1845, Charles Henry Morrison, 
 of Concord, a cabinet maker and later in the employ of the Northern 
 Railroad. They had three sons. She d. at Concord, March 21, 1874. 
 Mr. Morrison was b. in Loudon in 1827. He went to Concord in 1850. 
 
 AuROLiNE Ames, d. at the age of 17. 
 
 RoANCY Ames, d. at the age of 15. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 11 
 
 Lyman Bracket Ames bought the drug and bookstore of Dr. Spencer 
 in June, 18G1, and remained there until associated with Mr. Kelsea in 
 Hills block in the same business in 1865. The same place is now 
 occupied by C. P. Herrick. Mr. Ames sold to Tilton & Thorpe in 1870 
 and removed to Pittsfield, where he d., Feb. 13, 1872. 
 
 Mr. Ames served the town of N. as clerk six or seven years. After 
 his removal from N. he was helpful in establishing the new town of 
 Tilton and was its representative in the Legislatures of lSG7-'68. He 
 m. March 10, 1S64, Ellen M. Shattuck of Nashua, and had four children. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Mary Ellex Ames. b. Dec. 30, 1864; d., Aug. 28, 1865. 
 Harry Bracket Ames, b. Oct. 6, 1866. 
 
 Kate Siiurtliff Ames, b. May 5, 1870; m., Jan. 18, 1894, John B. 
 Grover. 
 Louis Barton Ames, b. July 17, 1871. 
 
 ANDREWS. 
 
 Charles E. Andrews came from Boston to N. in 1900, June 20. He 
 was b. at Portland, Me., Sept. 12, 1874; m., Dec. 7, 1898, Eva Leonard, 
 b. at Chelsea, Mass., April 2, 1878. Mr. Andrews is foreman of the 
 boarding room at G. H. Tilton's hosiery mill. They have one child, 
 Edith Andrews, b. Dec. 17, 1900. They reside on Gale Avenue. 
 
 ARLIN. 
 
 JIany families bearing this name formerly lived in town. It is said 
 Esq. Thomas Chase brought the family here to be his servants, and 
 servants they and their descendants remained to the last. The name 
 dropped from the records years ago. 
 
 Samuel Arlix owned real estate in 1833. Another family seemed to 
 be fastidious in their choice of their children's names, as we find Har- 
 rison, Anderson, Manderson and Lacy. 
 
 Alice Arlix was one of the longest lived women b. in town. She 
 was b. 1798; m., 1S24, Jeremiah Dow of Canterbury, a Revolutionary 
 soldier. He left home to see about a pension and never returned. They 
 had one son, Jeremiah Dow, who lived in N. and d. at the age of 78. 
 Later she m. John Hanson of Boscawen and d. there, aged 104. Three 
 sons and a dau., Rhoda (see Dow gen.), children of John Arlin of Con- 
 cord, also lived in town. 
 
 Charles L. (see Glines II gen.) served in the Civil War, and d. at N., 
 Dec. 20, 1896 (see Boys in Blue). 
 
 Aloxzo Arlix m. Lucretia Dearborn of N. and now resides in Tilton. 
 They had six children, only two of whom are living, Ira T. and Everett. 
 The former is blind, but has great skill in the use of tools. Everett is 
 a machinist in Lakeport. 
 
12 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 ATKINSON. 
 
 Silas Atkixsox, b. at Boscawen, Dec. 20, 1781; was a miller there 
 for some years and later in the same business at Union Bridge. 
 
 He came to East N. and was a farmer on the Rand place, where he 
 d. Sept. 29, 1837. He was a brother of Judge Daniel C. Atkinson of 
 Sanbornton Bridge. But one of his seven children remained in town 
 and none were born here. Horatio resides with his son Leroy at Tilton. 
 
 After the death of Daniel and Mehitabel Tilton Atkinson, the former, 
 April 5, 1842, and the latter, Nov. 12, 1814, their two daughters came 
 to reside in the home of their aunt, Mrs. Dr. Parsons Whidden, in N. 
 and a son. Napoleon Bonaparte, removed to Madison, Ga., where he d. 
 July 12, 1904. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 AsENATH Atkixsox, b. March 17, 1817; m., Nov. 19, 1840, John M. 
 Whitcher of East N. and has since resided there. (See Whitcher gen.) 
 
 Josephine Boxapaete Atkixsox, b. at Sanbornton Bridge, Oct. 25, 
 1835, was educated at Kimball Union Academy, and was from 1863 
 to 1870 lady principal of Pinkerton Academy at Derry. She m. Jan. 
 19, 1871, Hon. John H. Goodale of Nashua (see Mooney gen.), where 
 she has resided since his death. She has one dau., Charlotte A. Good- 
 ale, wife of Henry A. Kimball of Concord. A son, John Mooney Good- 
 ale, d. in childhood. 
 
 Charlotte Atkixsox, b. Dec. 29, 1837, was educated at N. H. Con- 
 ference Seminary. She was a music teacher at Monticello, Ga., and 
 later at Concord, being a pupil of the late J. H. Morey. She resided 
 with her sister in Nashua some years until her marriage, Oct. 15, 
 1895, to Hon. John Kimball of Concord, where they now reside. 
 
 AUSTIN. 
 
 Thomas Austix was an early settler on the banks of the Merrimack, 
 on part of Gospel lot No. 1 and perhaps a part of No. 2, it being north 
 and contiguous to the Cross settlement. He was a farmer and raised 
 hops. James Robertson bought the farm and continued the business. 
 (See Robertson gen.) He later lived with his daughter Sally on the 
 north end of the homestead, where he died at the extreme old age of 
 100 years and six months. Many of his friends called on his 100th 
 anniversary, took his picture and in other ways marked the event. 
 He d. May 11, 1867. A sister, Anna, m. Abel Bachelder of Oak Hill. 
 (See Bachelder gen.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Sally Austix, b. Jan. 7, 1795; m., 1813, Robert Smith, b. at N., 1813. 
 He d. Sept. 9, 1879. She d. at Manchester. They had three dau. (See 
 Smith gen.) 
 
GENEALOGIES. 13 
 
 Samuel Austix, b. Nov. 2, 1799. A deed is on record, whereby he 
 conveyed to Richard Glines of Danville, Vt., in 1802, 32 acres of lot 
 No. 8 for $200. This is land bordering on the Merrimack River below 
 Hart Hill. He had a son, Daniel, who resides in Goffstown. 
 
 Susan Austin, m. May 20, 1817, Hazen Batchelder of Loudon. 
 
 Jeremiah Austin, b. Nov. 28, 1800; m., Nov. 20, 1823, Alice Simonds, 
 b. Dec. 22, 1803, and d. Nov. 11, 1868. He d. at 81. They had three 
 children. 
 
 Jeeusha Austin, b. April 29, 1803, d. in girlhood. 
 
 Daniel Austin, b. Dec. 1, 1804, was drowned May 4, 1841. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Mary Esther Austin, m. Daniel Beckman and removed to San- 
 bornton. They had two children, Daniel and Maryetta. 
 
 Henrietta Austin lived with her grandparents when she d. March 
 25, 1847. 
 
 Thomas Simonds Austin, b. June 15, 1830; m., June 15, 1856, Alice 
 Ludlow. He was a soldier in Civil War (see Boys in Blue). They 
 had a dau., Henrietta, and son, Thomas, who resides at Franklin. 
 
 I find also the following data that I am unable to classify: 
 
 Sally Austin, m. Benaiah Farnum, Sept. 26, 1797. 
 
 RiiODA Austin, dau. of Robert Austin, b. April, 1776. 
 
 Benjamin Austin, m. Jane Foss, Dec. 7, 1817. 
 
 Mary Austin, m. Joseph Sweatt, Nov. 20, 1823. 
 
 Anna Austin, m. Asa Roberts, June 4, 1834. 
 
 HusE Austin, m. Sally Dinsmore, 1830. 
 
 Jane Austin, m. Daniel Morse, 1835. 
 
 Annie Austin, d. Sept., 1848. 
 
 Eliza Austin, m. David Morrill, Sept. 6, 1818. 
 
 Olive Austin, m. Heath, May 11, 1789. 
 
 AVERY. 
 
 Daniel F. Avery, b. at Oilman ton, March 29, 1817; m. Mary 
 
 A. Boswell, b. Aug. 9, 1840. They came to N. and purchased the "old 
 red schoolhouse" at the corner of Hills and Summer streets and, re- 
 moving it to Vine Street, made the house now owned and occupied by 
 Cora F. Morrison. He was a machinist and d. at N. May 15, 1890. They 
 had four children, but one b. here. She m. (second) Asa Lombard and 
 removed to Franklin Falls, where she died Feb. 24, 1902. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Lucy Bell Avery, b. at Union Bridge (East Tilton), June 29, 1S61; 
 m., Nov. 1, 1891, Payson R. Clay of East Andover. He is a farmer 
 and has two children, Lena and Arthur. 
 
14 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Addie Buswell Avery, b. at Franklin, Jan. 25, 1865; m.. May 30, 1887, 
 Lester H. Metcalf, b. at Lancaster, 18C1. He was a painter but later 
 "became an M. E. clergyman. 
 
 Mat Stevens Avery, b. at Franklin, Dec. 25, 1870; m. Fred Weeks 
 of N. and d. at Andover. She left one dau., Fannie. 
 
 Charles Walter Avery, b. at N., April 14, 1873, and d. at N., Jan. 27, 
 1890. 
 
 AYERS. 
 
 CHARLES HAINES AYERS. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Charles Hai.xes Ayers, b. June 15, 1815, in Canterbury, N. H., on a 
 larm, several hundred acres of which were situated in N. and much 
 of which has been in possession of the family since 1784; d.. May 10, 
 1900. 
 
 He was the son of Jonathan Ayers, Esq., and Hannah Haines Ayers, 
 "both of English descent, ancestors of prominence and among the 
 early settlers of Kittery, Me., and Portsmouth, N. H., on his mother's 
 side as early as 1G35, his paternal grandmother, the granddaughter of 
 Andrew Pepperell, brother and business partner of Lieut.-Gen. Sir 
 William Pepperell, whose father, Col. William Pepperell, settled at 
 Kittery, Me., in 1670. M., as first wife, Almira S. Gerrish, dau. of 
 Joseph Gerrish and Susan Hancock Gerrish of N. Children: Joseph 
 Gerrish, Susan Gerrish, Charles Henry, Ellen Maria, Jonathan and 
 Benjamin Franklin. His second wife was Ellen M. Gerrish, a sister 
 of his first wife. They had one child, Almira Josephine. 
 
 He was a man of great energy and ability and for more than fifty 
 years was one of the most prominent men in N. and Canterbury in 
 social, religious and business affairs. When the railroad was built 
 in 1848 he gave the company its right of way through his land and 
 the large spring of water at Northfield Depot to induce it to locate 
 a station there, of which he was several times the station agent, 
 besides having very extensive dealing with the company in wood, 
 fencing material, railroad ties and in the preparation of wood along 
 the line for locomotives. Within a few miles of this station, when the 
 railroad was opened, were magnificent forests of heavy timber. Pine 
 trees from two to five feet in diameter were abundant, some being too 
 large to be moved without being cut into sections, and others requiring 
 twelve or more yoke of oxen to draw them to the river. Much of these 
 forests was cut off in the course of a few years and shipped from N. 
 depot. The magnitude of this business was great and Mr. Ayers took 
 a very prominent part in it, cutting off yearly from his land several 
 thousand cords of wood and much lumber, employing many hands. 
 While in partnership two years with Thomas Clough of Canterbury 
 their sales amounted to $80,000. At this time Mr. Ayers was pro- 
 
CHARLES H. AYERS. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 15 
 
 prietoi- of a large country store and also operated several brick and coal 
 kilns, both at the depot and on Bean Hill. 
 
 During the last 25 years of his life he was chiefly occupied in the 
 care of his very large farm, raising and extensively dealing in fine 
 live stock, especially Devonshire cattle, obtaining many first premiums 
 at the state agricultural fairs. 
 
 Of a strong religious nature, he became early in life a deacon and 
 one of the chief founders of the Free-will Baptist Church in Canter- 
 bury and was intimately associated in church work with the late 
 Hon. Joseph Harper, M. C, and with the Hon. Joseph Clough. Oc- 
 casionally he occupied the pulpit himself with much ability. He 
 took a chief part for many years in religious work on Oak Hill and 
 entered heart and soul into everything connected with the Union 
 Church at Northfield Depot from its very foundation, being a large 
 contributor. 
 
 One of great prominence in that church and long associated with 
 him in church and Sunday school work states that he was ever ready 
 to lend the helping hand and "was a wonderful promoter of good 
 feeling among the various denominations worshiping together in the 
 New House." 
 
 He was noted for immense physical strength and was considered 
 the strongest man connected with the Boston, Concord & Montreal 
 Railroad. 
 
 At the age of 74 he ably represented his town in the state Legisla- 
 ture, two of his brothers having represented the town in the same 
 capacity. 
 
 He was a man of distinguished personal appearance, of great force 
 of character, very generous in disposition, good to the poor and greatly 
 esteemed by his neighbors. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 J0.SEPH Gebrisii Ayers, b. in Canterbury, N. H., Nov. 3, 1S39, son of 
 Charles H. Ayers and Almira S. Gerrish Ayers, was educated at New 
 Hampton Institute, the University of Vermont and Columbia Uni- 
 versity. 
 
 He entered, from N., the 15th N. H. Volunteer Regiment in 1S62, 
 serving as second and first lieutenant until it was mustered out in 
 18C3. He was acting assistant surgeon, U. S. Army, from June to 
 Oct., 18G4, and acting assistant surgeon, U. S. Navy, from Dec, 18G4, 
 to Sept., 1866. He served continuously in the U. S. Navy as a medical 
 officer since Oct. 8, 1866. His last service afloat was as fleet surgeon 
 on the Asiatic station from 1895 to 1897. His last service on shore 
 was as medical director in charge of the U. S. naval hospital. Boston, 
 Mass., from 1S9S to 1901. He was placed on the retired list of the U. 
 S. Navy for age, Nov. 3, 1901, as medical director, U. S. N., with rank 
 of rear admiral. 
 
16 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD, 
 
 He m., July 11, 1884, Olinda Ann Austin, dau. of Rev. Alonzo E, 
 Austin and Isabella J. Camp Austin of New York City. Their chil- 
 dren were Joseph Gerrish and Charles Haines Austin. 
 
 Charles Hexry Ayers, b. in Canterbury, May 31, 1843, attended 
 the town school and New Hampton Institute. In 1863, in company 
 with Amos M. Cogswell, he was engaged in a general store at North- 
 field Depot. He afterwards sold his interest in the store and engaged 
 in the wood and lumber business. At the same time he was station 
 agent there. 
 
 In 18CG he went West and for 11 years was engaged in railroading. 
 In 1877 he returned East and engaged in farming and in the lumber 
 business with his father. In 1876 he m. Miss Martha Jane Day of 
 McKeesport, Pa., to whom two children were born, Charles Haines 
 Ayers, b. Aug. 8, 1878, who d. April 5, 1S82, and Henry Day Ayers, 
 b. July 14, 1882, at present a student in Boston University.* 
 
 AYERS 11. 
 
 Jo>'ATHAN Ayers was b. at Portsmouth, Sept. 28, 1759. He m., Feb. 
 18, 1785, Dorothy Dearing, b. March 27, 1762. She was a grand- 
 niece of Sir William Pepperell. They resided at Portsmouth until 
 1798, when they came to live in N., where he was a farmer until his 
 death, Nov. 19, 1839. She d. March 16, 1846. They had ten children. 
 "He was a well educated, upright man of broad ideas, revered by his 
 family and respected by his neighbors and townsmen, who honored 
 themselves by sending him to represent the town in the Legislatures 
 of 1805-'06-'07." Her granddaughters say: "She was a lady of re- 
 finement, devoted to her family, unselfish and helpful to all in need." 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Polly B. Ayers, b. at Portsmouth, May 25, 1786; d. at Portsmouth, 
 Nov. 24, 1796. 
 
 Phebe Ayers, b. at Portsmouth, Dec. 15, 1787, d. at N., Jan. 5, 1804. 
 
 Andrew D. Ayers, b. at Portsmouth, Nov. 17, 1789; m., 1821, Mary 
 F. Kent, and removed to N. with his parents and resided on 'the home 
 place until his removal to Greensboro, Vt., in 1848, where he died 
 July, 1853. They had seven children, all b. in N. 
 
 Sarah Pepperell Ayers, b. July 13, 1792; m. (pub.) June 1, 1831, 
 John Sanborn of Franklin, where she resided till her death, Sept., 
 1875. They had no children. 
 
 John S. Ayers, b. Sept. 1, 1794, at Portsmouth; m., Feb. 15, 1818, 
 Polly Cross of N., one of the 13 children of Jesse on the intervale. 
 He lived at East N. until 1836, when he removed to Greensboro and 
 later to Glover, Vt., where he d. Sept., 1880. They had eight chil- 
 dren, all of whom resided in Vermont and the West, except the eldest 
 daughter, Mrs. John Heath of Bristol. 
 
 * other members of this familj- inadvertantly omitted are to be found elsewhere. 
 See index. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 17 
 
 Charles D. Ayers, b. at Portsmouth, Nov. 16, 1790; m. Olive John- 
 son of Gilmanton and removed to Greensboro, Vt., where he was a 
 merchant. They had five children. A daughter, who m. Benjamin 
 French, lived in Concord and d. there in 1904, leaving a son Fred and 
 dan. Marianna. 
 
 Eliiiu D. Ayers, b. at N., May 21, 1799; m. Apphia Clark of Nichol- 
 ville, N. Y., where they resided until his death in 1872. He was a 
 merchant and had a family of seven, one of whom, Edmond B. Ayers, 
 was killed in the War of the Rebellion. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 Martix p. Ayers, b. at N., May 10, 1801; m. Hannah Johnson and 
 lived in N. and vicinity for several years. They went to Ohio in 
 1855. He d. in Pennsylvania in 1878. They had nine children, six of 
 whom are now living. Frances O. Ayers m. Moses Eastman of East 
 Concord and removed to California, where she d. 
 
 William D. Ayers, b. at N., June 27, 1803; d. in N. Y.; unmarried. 
 
 Statira M. Ayers. b. at N., Dec. 16, 1S15; lived at the old home with 
 her parents until 1840, then at Franklin until her sister's death, then 
 for a time in Dakota and later in Washington. She was the last of the 
 family and was called home in May, 1SS8. The homestead is now part 
 of the farm of G. E. Gorrell. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Andrew and Mary Kent Ayers, all b. in N.) 
 
 Sarah A. Ayers, b. May, 1822; d. in childhood. 
 
 Joseph A. Ayers, b. June, 1824, was a machinist and d., unmarried, 
 in Havana, Cuba, Oct., 1852. 
 
 Henry M. Ayers, b. Oct. 1, 1826, remained in the home at Greensboro 
 and still lives there at the age of 78; he never m. 
 
 Lucy J. Ayers, b. Feb., 1830; m. Keniston of Vermont and 
 
 d., June, 1900, leaving a son, Henry A. Keniston of Los Angeles, Cal. 
 
 Mary C. Ayers, b. at N., July 1834; m. (first) Thomas Card of New- 
 market and had a son, Elmer E.,of Spokane, Wash. ; m. (second) Jasper 
 Rollins of Hyde Park, Mass. 
 
 Caroline A. Ayebs, b. Oct., 1841, v/as for several years a teacher. 
 Later she returned to the home where she resides with her brother, 
 Henry, at Greensboro Bend, Vt. 
 
 BALLANTYNE. 
 Adam S. Ballantyne (see Granite Mills and Tilton gen.). 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 James R. B.\llantyne, b. Dec. 17, 1866; d. at Tilton, Sept. 15, 1885. 
 
 Anna C. B.\.llantyne, b. Jan. 10, 1868; m., June 26, 1895, Franklin 
 
 Downes, b. at Machias, Me. They reside at Lynn, where he Is a shoe 
 
 manufacturer. 
 
18 ■ HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Willie Tiltox Ballaxtyxe. b. May 10, 1869, resides at Tilton. 
 
 JoHx Scott Ballaxtyxe, b. Jan. 15, 1873; m., Nov. 16, 1904, Emma 
 Emerson. He is employed at Tilton with residence at East Tilton. 
 
 Kate I. Ballaxtyxe, b. June 10, 1875. 
 
 Arthur Scott Ballaxtyxe, b. Sept. 30, 1877; m., May 7, 1899, Edna 
 James, and resides in Lynn, Mass. They have two daus., Katherine 
 and Virginia. 
 
 BATCHELDER I. 
 
 Abel Batchelder, b. June 7, 1772, came to N. from Loudon and lo- 
 cated near the present Oak Hill schoolhouse. He m., June 20, 1810, 
 Anna Austin and had three sons. He d. at Alexandria, Feb. 27, 1866. 
 M. (second), Sarah Sanborn, b. Sept. 3, 1768. They had nine children. 
 Only one of the sons remained in N. Four of his sons m. four Davis 
 sisters. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Moses Batchelder came with his parents. He was b. at Loudon, Dec. 
 26, 1798. He had a twin brother, Richard, who d. May 3, ISOO, aged 
 one and a half years. He first bought the David Davis place near the 
 river but sold it later to Rev. Mr. Kidder and bought the farm of 
 Abraham Heath on the top of Oak Hill and spent the rest of his life 
 there. He was a progressive and prosperous farmer. He m., March 
 21, 1824, Mary Fox Davis and had a son and daughter. After her 
 death, Aug. 22, 1868, he m., Jan. 6, 1869, Sally B. Davis, her sister. 
 
 He was a zealous Methodist and a powerful exhorter and was super- 
 intendent of Union Sunday school for many years. He was a mili- 
 tary man and rose from the ranks to be lieutenant-colonel in the state 
 militia. He d. Oct. 12, 1881. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Richard N. S. Batchelder. b. Sept. 2, 1833; m., June 1, 1856. Lizzie 
 Brown of Canterbury, b. May 6, 1836, and d. Oct. 19, 1866. They had 
 one daughter. March 2, 1866, he m. (second) Mary Farrar of Laconia 
 .and had a dau. and two sons. He returned to his father's homestead 
 after a few years at Tilton and Laconia, where he spent the remainder 
 of his life. 
 
 He taught school for some years; then was a mill hand and, lastly, 
 a farmer, making a specialtj' of raising fruit, poultry and vegetables. 
 He was a Methodist and, like his father, superintendent of Union 
 Sunday school. 
 
 He was fatally injured, while directing a force of volunteer workmen, 
 by falling from the roof of Union Church on Thanksgiving Day, Nov. 
 24, 1898. She then with her children removed to Howard Avenue, 
 near Tilton, where she still resides. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 19 
 
 Irexe Batciieloer, b. Oct. 30, 1S44; m., 1SG2, Rev. John Chamberlain. 
 (See Chamberlain gen.) After his death she resided at the home 
 on Oak Hill until her marriage in March, 1901, to Charles Noyes of 
 Concord, with a summer home at Woodstock. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 (Child of Richard and Marj- Brown Batchelder.) 
 
 Mary E. Batchelder. b. at N., Oct. 2S, 1S57; m. Frank Bennett of 
 Hillsborough Bridge and d. there Nov., ISSl. 
 
 (Children of Richard and Mary Farrar Batchelder.) 
 
 Lizzie A. Batchelder, b. at Laconia, Aug. 22, 1S72; m., June 28, 1895, 
 George F. Fisher of Boscawen. They reside on Howard Avenue. 
 
 Willis M. Batchelder. b. at Hillsborough, April 3, 1876, is employed 
 in Philbrick & Hills' store. 
 
 Clarexce R. Batchelder, b. at Hillsborough, Feb. 10. 1S79, is em- 
 ployed in store of W. A. Gardner at Tilton. 
 
 BATCHELDER II. 
 
 Hazex Batchelder's ancestors came from England in 1G30 and 
 spread rapidly throughout New England. He was b. at Loudon in 
 1794 and settled in N. on the banks of the Merrimack river, on a 
 part of the Austin estate. He m., May 20, 1817, Susan Austin. He 
 was a good carpenter and farmer. They had five dau. and two sons. 
 He took long journeys on foot. Even after 90 years of age he, could 
 not stop to ride and it was said he would take long tramps after a 
 hard day's work just to "stretch his legs." 
 
 SusAX Batchelder, b. March 6, 1820; m. (pub.) Oct. 9, 1S55, Ira 
 Blaisdell of Salisbury Beach. He was a house builder and farmer 
 on the main road near the Pond schoolhouse, where he d. April 17, 
 1S53, leaving three children. She m. (second) Cyrus Glines. (See 
 Glines and Blaisdell gen.) 
 
 Lasura d. in early womanhood. 
 
 Abiah Batchelder m. John W. Piper, May 12, 1851. (See Piper gen.) 
 
 Julia Batchelder m. Ebenezer Philbrook and resided on Oak Hill 
 and later at Franklin Falls, where he d., leaving two sons, Albee 
 and Walter. She now resides at Watertown, Mass. Mr. Philbrook's 
 first wife was a dau. of Kinsley Batchelder. 
 
 Malixda B.\tchelder. m., April 25, 1848, Andrew Allison of Boston, 
 Mass., where she d. 
 
 John Batchelder. b. 1830; m. Almira Worsley of Swanzey. He 
 removed to Keene in 1862, where he was employed by the Humphrey 
 Mfg. Co.. builders of water wheels, until 1897. He d. while on a 
 visit to Colorado June 10, 1S9S. They have one dau., Mrs. Mary P. 
 W. Carlton. 
 
20 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Melissa Batchelder m. Elias Sargent of Vergennes, Vt., and resided 
 at Fitchburg, Mass., where he is now an engineer on the Fitchburg 
 & "Wilmington R. R. 
 
 She d. at Nashua en route for home. 
 
 They had one son, who is also an engineer on the same railroad. 
 
 BATCHELDER III. 
 
 Sarah Leavitt Batchelder came to N. in 1905 from Manchester. 
 She was the wife of Jeremiah Batchelder of Loudon, who d. there, 
 Sept. 13, 1S8S. They had six children. Mrs. Batchelder resides with 
 her son on Bay St. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Lizzie N. Batchelder, b. at Loudon, 1S71; m.. May 7, 1893, at Lou- 
 don Ridge, Ellery Jefts, b. 1869. He is a carpenter. They reside in 
 Lynn, Mass., and have one child. 
 
 William Batchelder came to N. in 1901 from Loudon. He m., 1900, 
 Georgie Wright of Gilmanton and resides on Gale Ave. They have 
 two children, Victor, b. 1901, and Helen, b. 1902. They are about to 
 erect a home on Bay St. He is employed by the Tilton Optical Co. 
 
 Jay Clifford Batchelder, b. at Loudon, June 5, 1878; graduated 
 from Gilmanton Academy, class of 1901. He remained on the farm 
 two years, removing in 1903 to N. He has purchased the residence 
 lately erected by A. H. Hough on Bay Street. He is employed 
 at the Tilton Optical Works. He is a member of Friendship Grange 
 and of Harmony Lodge, I. O. 0. F., of Tilton. 
 
 BALCOM. 
 
 Mrs. Jane Balcom came to N. from Newfound Lake. She had for- 
 merly lived in Lowell, Mass., where her husband was a conductor 
 on the Stony Brook R. R. and was accidentally killed in 1844. She 
 was employed as a dresser in A. H. Tilton's woolen mills. She re- 
 sides in Tilton. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 George W. Balcom, b. at Lowell, May 31, 1847; m., Sept. 5, 1870, 
 Mary Ella Chase, b. at N., Oct. 1, 1851. He has charge of the card- 
 ing department of Tilton Mills. He served in the Civil War (see 
 Boys in Blue). They have a son and dau. and one died in infancy. 
 They now reside on Prospect Street, Tilton. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (B. at N.) 
 Frank Grant Balcom, b. Nov. 4, 1872; m., June 28, 1904, Delphia 
 
GENEALOGIES. 21 
 
 Louise Verrill, b. in Alexandria, June 6, 1S7G. He was employed five 
 years by W. A. Gardner, grocer at Tilton, and now by the postoffice 
 department of Medford, Mass., where they reside. 
 
 Mary Ellen Balcoji, b. April 23, 1874; m., Feb. 4, 1902, Charles 
 T. Walker, b. at Boston, May 31, 1S72. He was employed for several 
 years as clerk by S. W. Taylor and is now with Bayley & Rogers in 
 the same capacity. They reside at Tilton. 
 
 BAYLEY. 
 
 Georoe C. Bayley, b. at Plymouth, Jan. 17, 1859, came to N. from 
 Tillon in 1899. He m., 1899, Annie F. Thomas, b. at St. David's, N. B., 
 1879. He is of the firm of Bayley & Rogers, grocers, of Tilton, N. H. 
 He was with his father on the farm and clerk in his meat and pro- 
 vision store until 1883, when he entered the employ of J. F. Taylor, 
 and after his death continued with S. W. Taylor until his retire- 
 ment, when he purchased the business in 1904. Mr. Bayley is a 
 member of Olive Branch Lodge, No. 16, A. F. and A. M., of Plymouth, 
 Pemigewasset Chapter, and Mt. Horeb Commandery, Knights Templar, 
 of Concord. They have a dau. Catherine S., b. at N., Sept. 22, 1900. 
 
 BARNARD. 
 
 Charles Barnard, b. at Bridgev.'ater, Nov. 12, ISGO; m., at Plymouth, 
 April 26, 1884, Anna E. Kidder, b. at Goffstown. They came to N., 
 Oct. 20, 1897. He bought the Cofran place on Bean Hill of Charles 
 Weeks, who then removed to Tilton. Dec. 13, 1900, his commodious 
 farm buildings were destroyed by fire. He rebuilt the following year, 
 living meanwhile at the home of the late Timothy Hills. Only two 
 of their six children were b. in N. Mr. Barnard is serving a second 
 term on the N. board of education. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Ralph, Pat:l, Arthur, Ruth Barnard, b. at Bridgewater. 
 Burton Barnard, b. at N., Nov. 17, 1897. 
 HiLDRETH Barnard, b. at N., 1900. 
 
 BEAN. 
 
 Hezekiah Bean came to N. from Belmont and purchased the farm 
 of Moses Garland at the Centre. He m. Mary Copp of Gilmanton. 
 They had one son, John Wesley, b. at Belmont, who d. in childhood. 
 Mr. Bean sold his farm in 1872 to Francis Stevens, removed nearer 
 the village and built the house on Park Street, now owned by Jonas 
 Dolley, where he d. May 8, 1874. Mrs. Bean d. April 24, 1S79. Each 
 
22 HISTORY OF XORTHFIELD. 
 
 d. at 64 years of age and are buried in Park cemetery. They were 
 devoted Methodists and left a liberal bequest to Tilton Seminary. 
 
 BECKLER. 
 
 Daxiel W. Beckler came to N. from Boston, Mass., in March, 1S71. 
 He was h. at Monmouth, Me. His family consisted of a wife and 
 one child. Flora, who was b. at Boston, Mass. He was an extensive 
 dealer in lumber, having a large wharf where the lumber was un- 
 loaded from steamers. He was also a contractor and builder. He 
 purchased the W. H. Cilley place and other real estate of an agent 
 in Boston and made of it a summer home and stock farm. He was 
 a lover of good horses and often had 17 or 18 thoroughbreds. He 
 lived at N. about six years when he sold to a Mr. Stetson of Boston. 
 Albert C. Lord purchased the "Matthew Whitcher place" of Mr. Stetson 
 in 1874. Mr. Beckler then removed to Boston, where he conducted 
 a livery business for several years, finally going "West. 
 
 Mary Beckler, sister of the above, m. Everard G. Powers, who 
 came with Mr. Beckler from Boston and was his foreman and farmer. 
 June 21, 1875, he removed to Tilton when the buildings were burned. 
 He m. (second) Helen F. Clifford, and carried on a trucking business 
 for several years. He is now foreman of G. H. Tilton's box shop. 
 He has one dau., Cora, b. at Boston. 
 
 BENITEZ. 
 
 Fraxcisco Bexitez was b. in Cadiz, Spain, April 1, 1822. When 
 he was ten years old a sea captain from Marblehead, Mass., spent 
 a while in the home and the boy desired to accompany him to America. 
 
 The father gave his unwilling consent only on condition that he 
 would bring him back on his next trip, a promise he could not keep 
 as the boy was not to be found when the ship sailed. He wrote his 
 parents several letters but finally no answers came. He was an apt 
 scholar and commenced his education at 15 and even took the higher 
 branches and took care of himself. He m. in Middletown, Mass., April 
 6, 1845, Hannah Merrill of Holderness, where he remained six years. 
 In 1851 he purchased a farm in Laconia and later resided at Rip- 
 ton, Vt, and Sanbornton Bays, owning two farms. These he sold 
 and came to East N., where he lived a number of years. He was 
 divorced and m. Mrs. Elizabeth Bailey, returning to Sanbornton, near 
 his daughter, where he d. Dec. 16, 1892. She d. Aug., 1894. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Maey Archer Lora Bexitez, b. at Middletown, April 5, 1846; m., 
 first, Day and had one son, Harry F. Day, who was adopted 
 
GENEALOGIES. 23 
 
 by his grandfather in 1S72 and took his name (Benitez). She m. 
 
 (second) AVescott and has one son. They reside in Saubornton. 
 
 Fraxcisco Hadley, b. at Middletown, Mass., April 15, 1850; d. in 
 Danvers, Mass., Aug. 18, 1899, leaving a wife and dau. 
 
 BLAISDELL. 
 
 Ira Blaisdell was b. at Goffstown, Sept. 30, 1815. He m.. May 2, 
 1S41, at Manchester, Susan Batchelder of N., b. March 6, 1820. He came 
 to N. and lived for a time on the Slader farm but purchased later 
 of Joseph Dearborn the place now owned by the heirs of John Watson, 
 and erected new buildings thereon. He was a farmer and carpenter 
 and had a family of three. He d. April 10, 1853. She later m. 
 Cyrus Glines of N. and d. Feb. 3, 1866. (See Glines gen.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Malixda Wilson Blaisdell, b. May 28, 1843; m., Nov. 26, 1867, 
 Byron Tobie of Manchester, where they at first resided, coming later 
 to Franklin. He was paymaster for the Winnepesaukee Paper Co. for 
 26 years. He has now a store at Hill and a farm at Profile Falls. 
 
 Mrs. Tobie is -agent for the S. P. C. A. with home on Prospect Hill, 
 Franklin Falls. 
 
 JvLiA F. Blaisdell. m., 1870, Loren Bryant of Newton, Mass., and 
 has always lived at Franklin Falls. He has been employed by the 
 International Paper Co. for a quarter of a century. 
 
 Albert J. Blaisdell, b. Thursday, May 18, 1848; m., 1868, Angle 
 Bartlett of Hill and remained for a while at Franklin, removing in 
 1880 to Hyde Park, Mass. He is a frescoer and decorative art painter 
 in and around Boston. They had three children, but one of whom 
 survives, Mrs. Bertha Moon of New York city, who is employed in 
 tapestry painting. A son d. at Boston University at the age of 26. 
 
 BLANCHARD. 
 
 Edward Blanchard, 1st., was one of the men furnished by the 
 state for scouting purposes under Capt. Jeremiah Clough, who kept the 
 old fort at Canterbury (see Military Sketch). His wife was Bridget, 
 of Scotch-Irish descent. He was killed by the Indians about 173S 
 and Bridget, his wife, who once was surprised and taken captive 
 while out after the cows, eluded her captors and showed such fleet- 
 ness in running, even though a very corpulent woman, that they 
 stopped their pursuit and shook their sides with laughter while she 
 safely arrived at the fort. 
 
 Their son Benjamin went up from the fort to the north fields in 
 1760, through the unbroken forest to the foot of Bay Hill to the farm 
 
24 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 later owned by Judge Peter Wadleigh, and made a clearing for his 
 cabin, and there later brought his wife, Bridget Fitzgerald, and nine 
 children. He was then 41 years old. He paid for his farm partly in 
 services as surveyor in running the boundary and $750 in furs. Of 
 this home and their pioneer life Mr. Hunt gives a glowing picture else- 
 where. 
 
 She d. and was buried in the orchard close by a tree that was known 
 to succeeding generations as the "Granny Tree." He d. at the home 
 of his son Edward on the Byron Shaw place but was buried here 
 and the exact spot was for many years unknown. When the present 
 Wadleigh house was built the stone was found in digging the cellar. 
 
 This farm fell to his son Edward, who sold to Lieut. Charles Glidden 
 in 1S05 for $2,000. 
 
 Mr. Blanchard was a man of great industry and mechanical skill. 
 He spent much of his time as an old man in whittling. He wore 
 pantaloons patched with woodchuck skins to protect them from wear 
 and he seemed a patriarch with his thick white hair hanging down 
 long over his shoulders. He had a brother or uncle Joseph, an officer 
 in the French and Indian War, who, in 1754, marched 600 men up to 
 Salisbury Fort, now the site of the Orphans' Home, and thence 
 through the wilderness to Crown Point and Canada. He had another 
 brother who kept a hotel in Concord in 17S5, who directed the Hills 
 to Bay Hill when they came up from Haverhill seeking new homes. 
 
 Richard Blaxchard, called "Old Sergeant," was possibly a brother 
 of Benjamin, although I have nothing but hearsay for authority. He 
 lived near Range No. 3 on the east slope of Zion's Hill. He m., for his 
 second v/ife, Handcock, dau. of Jacob, and had many chil- 
 dren. Sally d. Aug., 1S49, Billy and Jerry, the younger ones, were 
 known to many yet living, while a dau. of Sally, named Ruth, m. 
 Oilman Bennett of Hill, Dec. 16, 1849, and d., the last owner of 
 the old home. The old graveyard in the orchard has a curious variety 
 of tombstones and inscriptions. Richard was a Revolutionary soldier 
 and left his plow in the furrow and went unenlisted with William 
 Forrest to overtake the "Patriots" on the way to Bunker Hill. They 
 came back, harvested their crops and then enlisted for the war. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Elizabeth Blaxchard m. Wm. Glines and lived in the north fields 
 near the Canterbury line. (See Glines gen.) He was a Revolutionary 
 soldier and had many children. 
 
 Richard Blanchard, 1st, (son of Benjamin and Bridget Fitzgerald) 
 m. Polly Webster and lived on the "River Road," (probably the first 
 range). After his death she m. Lieut. Thomas Clough. 
 
 Edward Blanchard, who succeeded to the homestead, was a man 
 of commanding character and influence in the town, being one of the 
 selectmen of N. for 20 years. His vrife was Azuba Kezar of Snot- 
 
GENEALOGIES. 25 
 
 land, one of the early emigrants to Londonderry. They had nine 
 sons and one daughter, all of whom settled in town. 
 
 He built the Daniel Blanchard house, now the "Farms," and brought 
 the seeds for the apple trees from Hampstead. These trees have fur- 
 nished generous crops for more than three-quarters of a century. 
 
 His possessions, besides the 150 acres of homestead, comprised the 
 farms of Abraham Brown, Jason Foss, the Gile farm and a part of the 
 estate held for many years by Thomas Chase, Esq. 
 
 He settled all his married children around him and made a home 
 for his father (the first settler) in his old age. 
 
 He, with his wife and six children, are buried in the Hodgdon 
 burying ground. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of Edward and Azuba Kezar Blanchard.) 
 
 Ebenezer Blaxchakd, son of Benjamin, opened a store on Bay Hill 
 at the homestead. In 17S9 he sold out to Squire Glidden. 
 
 He m. Sarah Smith of Windham, Nov., 1794. He was b. June 12, 
 17GS, she on March 7, 1774. 
 
 They had six children, all b. at Bay Hill. He moved his store 
 to Sanbornton Bridge, close by the end of the bridge. Quarters soon 
 became too small, for "Squire Blanchard was a thrifty man," so he 
 purchased the brown house that is still standing at an age of over 
 100 years, the property of W. S. Hill, and business and family found 
 shelter under the same roof. Soon after a larger store was erected 
 where Morrill & Co.'s storehouse stands. Here he left his business to 
 a partner and bought the "Old Joe Noyes place" at Salisbury, now 
 Franklin. Here he lived and traded, Mr. Goodwin says, 40 years. 
 
 He d. in 1847. None of the children located in N. In 1820, when 
 the Franklin Congregational Church was being built, he gave the site 
 and took a large number of pews, and was called the "Father of the 
 enterprise." His dau. Isabella became Mrs. James West of Concord, 
 who later dwelt many years in the home, caring for her mother in her 
 declining years, and lived to extreme age. Alice, wife of Kendall 
 0. Peabody, Mrs. Stephen Kendrick and Edward and Ebenezer, Jr., 
 all lived and d. at Franklin. 
 
 Richard Blanchard, 2d., m., April 10, ISOG, Hannah, dau. of Daniel 
 Hills, and had a dau. Hannah. 
 
 His father had given him the Brown place and erected on it a two- 
 story double house, which is still in a good state of preservation 
 and is now owned by Byron Shaw, Esq. He had just moved there 
 to care for his father when he died very suddenly of spotted fever in 
 ISOG. His brother Reuben d. at the same time, and the wife of 
 Richard, heart-broken, the same year. 
 
 It is said that the poor old father cried out, "My staff is broken; 
 my all is gone," and, refusing to be comforted, died the next day. 
 
26 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 David Blaxchard left home one wintei' day with Simon Oilman, 
 fox hunting. A snow storm came up and drove Mr. Oilman home. 
 Blanchard went on and never returned. He was found later on the 
 windfall, sitting by the trunk of a tree, frozen, about a mile from 
 Sondogardy Pond. There was an old superstition that the blood 
 would start in a corpse if its murderer's hand was laid upon it. 
 No one thought Mr. Oilman was in any way responsible for his death 
 but at the family's request he went willingly and laid his hand upon 
 him, but with no result, of course. 
 
 James Blaxchard inherited half the paternal acres but sold to 
 his brother George and soon after died of consumption. 
 
 George Blanchard, b. 1791, sold his entire estate to Daniel and 
 went to live with his sister, Mrs. Chase, where he d. Oct., 1850. 
 
 Lieut. Revbex Blaxchard received his share, what was for many 
 years the Joseph and Alfred Oile farm. He was a blacksmith and 
 later removed to Maine, after selling out to Daniel. He m., July 29, 
 1792, Peace Hodgdon of N., and (second) Judith Hancock, Nov. 11, 1797. 
 He returned home five years later, and died of consumption. 
 
 Daniel Blanchard, now owning all his brothers' estates, moved his 
 house, previously erected near the Shaw house, to the spot where 
 the Oile residence now stands, and later went to live on the home- 
 stead and there resided to the end of his life. He m. (first) Esther 
 Parkinson of Canterbury, by whom he had four children. 
 
 She was killed in a carriage accident on the hill south of the 
 Streeter place. May 29, 1823. He m. (second) Nancy, sister of his for- 
 mer wife, and had two children. Mr. Blanchard d. Nov. 5, 1865, aged 
 86. She d. at Lowell, Mass., April 3, 1880, aged 91. 
 
 Elizabeth Blanchard, b. at N., m. Thomas Chase of Newbury. (See 
 Chase gen.) 
 
 John Blanchard was an eminent school teacher in Philadelphia. 
 But little is known of him except the fact that his grateful pupils 
 erected a monument to his memory. He never married. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 (Child of Richard and Hannah Hill Blanchard.) 
 
 Narcissa Blanchard, b. 1806, was orphaned by the death of her 
 father and mother the same year. She m., Sept. 26, 1822, Daniel 
 Herrick of N. Factory Village. (See Herrick gen.) 
 
 (Children of Daniel and Esther Parkinson Blanchard.) 
 Letitia Blanchard, b. at N., m., Sept. 5, 1840, John Holt of LowelL 
 Mass., where they resided and both died. They had two children, 
 Mrs. Esther Hyland of Lowell and Janet Holt of Lowell. 
 Janette Blanchard resided in Lowell and never married. 
 Daniel J. and Sylvan died unmarried. 
 
 (Children of Daniel and Nancy Parkinson Blanchard.) 
 John I. Blanchard, b. Jan. 29, 1826. He went to California when 
 
GENEALOGIES. 27 
 
 a young man and remained until old age, returning in Oct., 189G, to 
 the old home, where he d. April 25, 1903. With his death the name 
 disappears from the records of the town. 
 
 Iaxths Blaxchard. b. at N. Aug. 10, 1824; m. Jan., 1S50, Edward C. 
 Rice (see Rice gen. and portrait). 
 
 Note. — Master Parkinson came from New York City. He was a grad- 
 uate of Nassau Hall and was carefully trained by his parents to become 
 a minister, but he could not accept the doctrine of the decrees. After 
 he graduated he drifted into New England, first as a schoolmaster 
 and then going to war, later turning to farming in Francestown, 
 where he m. He was no farmer and went back to the schools as a 
 classic teacher for more than a third of a century. 
 
 BOSWORTH. 
 
 Walter Bos-s^rth came from Litchfield, Me., to N. in 1899. He was 
 b. there in 1874 and m. Luthia Bubier, July 16, 1895; b. at Gardiner, 
 Me., in 1878. 
 
 Mr. Bosworth is a carpenter and resides on Arch St. They have 
 three children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 WiLsox Bosworth, b. at Litchfield, Me., May 19, 1896. 
 Raymo.nd Henry Bosworth, b. in N., April 19, 1901. 
 Chester Bosworth, b. March 31, 1905. 
 
 BOYNTON. 
 
 CovRTLANn Boyxtox came to N. in 1874 and purchased a home at the 
 corner of Elm and Arch Streets. He was connected with C. T. Almy 
 in the manufacture of cotton yarn, silesia and fine sheeting in the 
 Winnisquam mill at Tilton. The business proved unprofitable and 
 was abandoned in 1884. Mr. Boynton was next superintendent and 
 part owner in the Buell hosiery mill in N. He was a prominent citizen 
 and a trustee of lona Savings bank. 
 
 He erected a new home in Tilton in 187G on the Franklin road. 
 Mrs. Boynton was an artist of worth and occasionally appeared in 
 public as a lecturer of pleasing address and literary merit. 
 
 They removed to Dorchester, Mass., where she d. Jan. 30, 1898. She 
 had been previously m. and had two sons, William and Arthur Frost. 
 The former is a member of the firm of Nichols & Frost, Fltchburg, 
 Mass., and the latter is of Boston, Mass. Mr. and Mrs. Boynton had 
 a dau. Zilla, b. at N. in 1875 and d. Aug. 12, 1S75. He was secretary 
 of Doric Lodge of A. F. and A. M. 
 
28 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 BOWLES. 
 
 WiLLiAJi Bowles was one of the earliest teachers in town. He had 
 a home north of the Clisby place, of which the cellar is now plainly 
 visible. Just below stood the immense pine that was felled for a 
 fence and lay its long length up the hill. Regardless of any value as 
 wood and timber, it was allowed to decay with the years and some of 
 its substance must still be in sight. It was said that a yoke of oxen 
 was driven on the stump and had plenty of room to turn around. This 
 was the region of great trees, and several stood east of the meeting 
 house. 
 
 Master Bowles was a fine penman and much of his work is to be 
 seen on the early "Prizel lists" and cash accounts of the town, and 
 he was a useful man generally. 
 
 BRALEY. 
 
 Alexander Bbaley came to N. from Danbury. He m. Mrs. Phebe 
 Glines Ludlow and had a family of two sons and a daughter. Mrs. 
 Braley d. July 24, 1S7G. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 CoENELius Ll'dlow Braley, b. at Canterbury; m. (first) Pamelia Col- 
 lins; m. (second) Flora Batney, b. at Alexandria. He served in the 
 Civil War (see Boys in Blue). They had four children, three girls 
 and a boy. Mr. Braley received a pension. He removed to Wilmot 
 and later to Meredith, where he d. 
 
 Frank Braley, b. at N.; m. Mary Avery of Plymouth, and had 
 five children. He also served in the Civil War (see Boys in Blue). 
 He d. at Lakeport. 
 
 Pamelia Braley, b. at N., m., March 20, 1S6S, Oliver Grover, and 
 had two daughters. She m. (second) Alonzo York and removed to 
 Lakeport. He d. Jan., 1902. She now resides in Franklin with her 
 daughter, Mrs. Sydney Home. 
 
 BRIGHAM. 
 
 Paul Brighaii, b. 1812, came from Vermont and bought the Ben- 
 jamin Hannaford farm on the main road. They were elderly people 
 and childless and came to be near their relatives, the Colbys, on the 
 Canterbury intervale. He farmed here several years and d. Feb. 19, 
 1884. Mrs. Brigham afterwards sold and went to live at Leonard 
 Colby's, where she d. The place then passed to the ownership of 
 George C. Hurlburt and the buildings were burned in 1SS6. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 29 
 
 BROWN I. 
 
 David Brown was b. at Pittsfield, July 17, 1810, and m. (first) Rhoda 
 Mason of Chichester, who d. at N. in 1875. He m. (second) Marinda 
 Stewart Canfield of Franklin Falls, May 1, 187G. 
 
 He bought his first home east of the Cofran place on Bean Hill. 
 The house was later occupied by Joshua Ordway and James Goodwin 
 and was finally sold to William "Woodbury, torn down and removed. 
 Mr. Brown was later overseer of the town farm for ten years. 
 
 On Oct. 29, 1842, he purchased 75 acres of land and a small house 
 (the Knowles place) further down the hill and enlarged and reno- 
 vated the buildings until none more convenient could be found in 
 town. He also added land as opportunity offered. He was a man 
 of great endurance, a Quaker in belief and always true to his con- 
 victions. He d. July 4, 1902. Mrs. Brown d. April 9, 1905, aged 67. 
 They had one child. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 Ada J. Bbown, b. at N., April 10, 1877; m., Dec. 24, 1904, Herbert 
 Laroy Cram. After a brief course at the graded school and Tilton 
 Seminary she assumed, after her father's death, the management of 
 the farm. 
 
 BROWN II. 
 
 Abraha.m Browx, b. May 8, 1753; came to the north fields of Can- 
 terbury prior to 1780 from Epping and bought original lot No. 18, 
 now owned by Freeman B. Shedd. His early ancestry cannot be 
 traced owing to the destruction of Epping records, but they were of 
 English descent. He m. Mary Butler, b. March 30, 1760. Her father. 
 Rev. Benjamin Butler, was a graduate of Harvard College and her 
 mother, Dorcas Abbott, was from Andover, Mass. Many of their 
 descendants held places of honor in state and nation. Mr. Brown m. in 
 1776. He served three years in the Revolutionary War as drummer 
 and four as an adjutant. He d. at N. May 8, 1824. She survived him 
 22 years. They had ten children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Polly Browx, b. March 13, 1777; m. John Hills, b. at Haverhill, 
 Mass. (See Hills gen.) 
 
 S.\LLY Brown, b. at Epping, Feb. 17, 1779; d. at N., Dec. 9, 1849. 
 
 Hannah Brown, b. at N., Dec. 9, 1791; d. March 15, 1859. She m., 
 Sept. 29, 1S17, Jeremiah Forrest of Canterbury Borough and resided 
 there until his death, Aug. 9, 1845, when she went with her family to 
 Illinois. She d. at Cottage Hill, March 15, 1S59. They had five chil- 
 dren, all of whom resided in the West. 
 
 Phebe Brown, b. at N., June 7, 1796, and d. at East Andover, May 
 28, 1852. 
 
30 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Be.xjamix Butler Bkowx, b. at N., April 19, ISOO; m., Dec. 30, 1S24, 
 Phebe Gale of Sanbornton. He was a shoemaker at the Centre for 
 many years. She d. there Feb., 1S45. They had seven children. He 
 m. (second) Mary Sanborn, Feb. 4, 1S55, and resided at East Andover, 
 where both d. He, Feb. 4, 1SG7. 
 
 Dorcas Brown, b. at N., April 5, 1785; m., 1807, Enoch Osgood of 
 Salisbury, Mass., who removed to Salisbury, N. H., in 1790 and d. there 
 In 1832, aged 60. They had a family of eight. The family moved to 
 East Andover in 1835, where she d. in 1S61. 
 
 Abraham Brown, b. at N., Sept. 1, 1787; m., Dec. 31, ISOS. Betsey 
 Forrest of Canterbury Borough. They resided at first on Bay Hill, 
 going later with his father to the newly erected home of Richard 
 Blanchard, now the Byron Shaw farm. He inherited this farm on 
 his father's death and spent his life there. He had five children. 
 He d. June 8, 1861. She d. Dec. 27, 1860. 
 
 He was a thrifty farmer and dealer in cattle, which he drove to 
 Brighton for many years. He represented the town in the Legis- 
 latures of 1835 and 1836. He was a trusted friend of President Franklin 
 Pierce and declined an appointment to the deputy marshalship under 
 his administration. He filled many town oflBces. Mrs. Brown, living 
 in the early days of our republic, was one of the few women well in- 
 formed in national affairs and was a "woman of faculty" in its most 
 varied sense. 
 
 Clarissa Brown, b. March 30, 1804; m., Jan. 24, 1824, Edward Chase. 
 She d. at Meredith June 1, 1825, leaving one dau. 
 
 Henry Butler Brown, b. at N., July 4, 1802; read medicine with 
 Dr. Crosby of Hanover and graduated in 1827. He m., Jan. 24, 1829, 
 Laura Ticknor of Lebanon and settled in Hartford, Vt. In 1857 he re- 
 moved to Rockford, 111. Mrs. Brown d. there Dec. 20, 1867. He again 
 m., and d. at Big Rapids, Mich., Dec. 13, 1872. They had two sons 
 and two dau., Darwin, a physician of Big Rapids, and Finley, a 
 business man in Chicago, Mrs. Kate Bronson of Big Rapids and Mrs. 
 Davis of Chicago. There are 14 of the next generation. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Abraham and Betsey Forrest Brown.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Harrison Butler Brown, b. Nov. 10, 1809; m. Harriet Chase. (See 
 
 Chase gen.) They purchased the Glidden farm at the Centre, of 
 
 Dudley Varney, and the place soon became famous for big oxen and 
 
 large crops of corn. They had two sons and a dau. He d. Sept. 30, 
 
 1870. She d. July 31, 1896. He was a man of infiuence but declined 
 
 public office. 
 
 Samuel Butler Brown (see portrait), b. Dec. 12, 1813; m., Nov. 6, 
 1837, Lydia Leighton of N., b. July 9, 1814. He inherited the homestead 
 and his father's democracy. He held several times over all the offices In 
 the gift of the town and was its representative in 1861-'62. They had 
 
SAMUEL BUTLER BROWN. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 31 
 
 five children. He d. Aug. IS, 1S70. The farm then passed to the own- 
 ership of Byron Shaw. 
 
 Mary Butler Browx. b. Nov. 11, 1817; m., March 12, 1837, Thomas 
 Chase, b. at N., Sept., 1810. (See Chase gen.) She d. April 12, 1876. 
 
 Climexa Browx, b. March 12, 1819; m., April 17, 1837, Joseph Mor- 
 rill of Cantei'bury. He ^was widely known as the "apple-tree man." 
 Their home was a model of thrift, from which they dispensed bounty 
 to all in need. They had three children. She d. 187G. He d., Nov. 1, 
 1895. 
 
 Susan M. Browx, b. Nov. 27, 1822; m., May 10, 1849, Napoleon B. 
 Bryant of Andover, who became a lawyer of note at Concord, Boston, 
 and elsewhere. She d. in Boston, May 16, 1874; he at East Andover, 
 Jan., 1902. They had eight children, three of whom survive. 
 
 (Children of Benjamin and Phebe Gale Brown.) 
 
 Hexry Browx. b. in Sanbornton, Sept. 21, 1825, read medicine with 
 Dr. F. B. Brown at Hartford, Vt., and went in 1849 to California, passing 
 "around the Cape," where he m. Mrs. Cordelia Myers. They had a 
 son, Frank R. Brown, now living on the island of Unga, Alaska, and a 
 <iau., Mrs. Phebe Rhodes of Victoria, B. C. They each have children. 
 
 Stephen Gale Browx. b. at Sanbornton, Sept. 28, 1827; d. at Sut- 
 ter's Fort, Cal., in 1849. 
 
 Bexjajiix Fraxklix Browx, b. at Nottingham, -Oct. 27, 1831; m. 
 Phebe Sanborn of Canterbury, April 5, 1855, who was b. Oct. 12, 1836. 
 He was a man of great enterprise and varied business and resided at 
 Tilton, Boston and later at Concord, where he d., Aug. 18, 1899. They 
 had four dau. She resides in the home at Concord. 
 
 Mary Axx Browx, b. at Nottingham, Aug. 23, 1833; has resided for 
 many years in Andover. 
 
 Charles G. Browx. b. in Hartland, Vt., Dec. 11, 1835; d. in Bristol, 
 1885. 
 
 George G. Browx. b. at N., Oct. 10, 1837; m. (first) Ada Reed of 
 Claremont; m. (second) Nellie Prescott of Bristol, and (third) Mrs. 
 Etta Shaw of Tilton. He has two dau., Mrs. George Cavis of Bristol 
 and Mrs. George H. Davis of Tilton. 
 
 Mr. Brown resided many j'ears at Bristol and is now a miller and 
 dealer in grain and feed at Tilton, and a prominent business man. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Harrison and Harriet Chase Brown.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Albert Abram Browx. b. Dec. 14, 1834; m. (first), Dec, 1S57, Sylvinia 
 A. Tallant, b. at Canterbury, Oct. 13, 1839. She d. at East Concord, 
 March 16, 1S62. M. (second), Jan. IS, 1866, Sarah Amanda Moore. 
 He is a farmer and resides at Penacook. They have three children. 
 
 Mary Elizabeth Browx. b. Jan. 28, 1838; m. William C. French, 
 b. at N., Jan. 1, 1S35. (See French gen.) 
 
32 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Laroy Relbex Bro\v-\, b. at N., 1S40, remained on the homestead 
 and cared for his mother in her extreme age. He m., March 14, 1S70, 
 Sarah G. Glines and had three children, all of whom d. in 1877 within 
 three days. He d. at Litchfield, Me., Aug., 1903. 
 
 (Children of Samuel and Lydia Leighton Brown.) 
 
 AxNiE M. Browx, b. at N., Dec. 31, 1838; m. Joseph G. Lyford, Dec. 
 17, 1866, b. at N., July S, 1830, and removed to Iowa. She was a grad- 
 uate of the N. H. Conference Seminary, class of 1860, and was an ener- 
 getic teacher. (See Lyford gen.) 
 
 Albert Brown, b. at N., Aug. 21, 1840; served in Co. B, 18th Regi- 
 ment, N. H. Vols.; m. Ellen Leighton and has since resided in Canter- 
 bury. He is a successful farmer and raises horses. He has one son, 
 Herbert (see Boys in Blue). 
 
 Laura Browx, b. at N., Nov. 14, 1843; d. at N., Oct. IS, 1857. 
 
 Mary C. Brown, b. at N., June 17, 1847; m. John B. Morrill of West 
 Newton, Mass. He d. in 1882. 
 
 Her mother resides with her. She has a sou, Lyman, of Waltham, 
 and dau.. Bertha. 
 
 Lyman Brown, b. at N., July 24, 1849. He sold the home farm to 
 Byron Shaw and removed to Nebraska, where he has since lived 
 and where he is a grain dealer. M. Elizabeth Davis of Wilton, la. He 
 has two dau., Edna and Winnifred. 
 
 BROWN III. 
 
 John Brown came to Bean Hill about 1845 and purchased the Evans 
 farm. They were from Farmington or vicinity. Mrs. Brown was 
 Sarah Olive Nutter. They had no children and after his death she 
 returned to her former home, selling to Lewis Haines. The place 
 is now occupied by Charles C. Hayes. Mrs. Brown will be remembered 
 by passers by as having the finest old-fashioned flower garden in the 
 country. Mr. Brown d., 18G3 or 1864. 
 
 BROWN IV. 
 
 John G. Brown, b. 1803, came to N. from Woodstock. He was in 
 the War of the Rebellion (see Boys in Blue) and d. at Fairmount, 
 Va., Nov. 16, 1874. He m. Mary Downing of Ellsworth, who after- 
 wards became the wife of Moses Abbott. (See Abbott gen.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 John J. Bbown, b. at Woodstock, May 6, 1857; m. Florence Jeffrey 
 at Woodstock, 1879, b. at Kennebunkport, Me., June 28, 1863. He came 
 to N. from Somersworth. They had seven children. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 33 
 
 Third Generation. 
 Mary M. Brown, b. Oct. 23, 1880; m. Arthur Matthews of Colebrook. 
 They reside at Gilmanton. 
 Florence B. Browx, b. Dec. 5, 1SS8; m. Bert Smith. 
 Luther M. Brown, b. March 29, 1892. ^ 
 
 John A. Brown, b. Feb. 1, 1894. 
 Three other children d. in infancy. 
 
 BROWN V. 
 
 Theodore Brown, b. at Hampton, Oct 30, 1757, came to N. from 
 Chichester in 1803 and purchased three farms from the 500 acres 
 reserved for Governor Shute. 
 
 He had previously served in the Revolutionary War under Capt, 
 Henry Elkins in Piscataqua Harbor. 
 
 He had eight children. His wife was Sarah Gile of Haverhill, Mass, 
 She d. Oct. 30, 1827. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Asa Gile Brown, b. at Chichester, 1783; m. Agnes Manson and re- 
 moved to Vermont. They had six children, none of whom survive. 
 He d. Sept. 23, 1857. 
 
 Samuel Brown, b. July 12, 1786, at Hampton; m. (first) Abra Bart- 
 lett, b. Jan. 10, 1790. They had five children. They resided some 
 years in Gilmanton, where she d. He then m. (second) Mary Runnells 
 and had two children, b. in Gilmanton. He then returned to N., where 
 three more were b. and where he d. Aug. 2, 1837. Seven of his ten 
 children settled, after a long residence in N., in and around Provi- 
 dence, R. I. 
 
 Theodore Brown, Jr., b. at Hampton, Nov. 25, 1793; m. Ruth Col- 
 lins. His two oldest children, William and Martha Jane, were b. in 
 N. He removed to Wisconsin in 1846 and d. there March 27, 1863, 
 leaving a large family of children and grandchildren. 
 
 Sarah Brown, m. James Palmer and lived in Vermont, and later in 
 Ohio. 
 
 Mary Brown, m. Joseph Bunker, b. 1791; had children and d. in 
 Starksboro, Vt. 
 
 Matheav Nealt Brown, m. Nancy Hall, and resided first in Loudon 
 and later in Concord, and had three sons. 
 
 Nancy Moultox Brown, b. Nov. 19, 1799; m. Josiah Philbrook Brown 
 of Sanbornton and settled in Wentworth, where they d. within a few 
 weeks of each other in April, 1877. They were the parents of Brad- 
 bury T. and Mary Ann, wife of Lyman Conant and mother of Maud 
 Conant Oilman of Howard Ave. Another dau. is Mrs. Dorinda Web- 
 ster of Fall River, Mass. 
 
 John Gile Brown, b. 1803; m. Rebecca Whittemore of Boston, Mass. 
 He inherited his father's estate in N., where he remained till his 
 3 
 
34 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 death, Nov. 16, 1S74. She d. Feb. 17. 1901. His buildings were burned 
 in 1S67 (see Casualties) and rebuilt the following year. This farm 
 is now occupied by George Dias. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Samuel and [second wife] Mary Runnells Brown.) 
 
 Joseph Baktlett Browx, b. in N., June 11, 1S09. 
 
 Theodore Bbown, 2d, d. in N., unmarried. 
 
 Henby Tibbetts Beown, b. 181S in N.; d. in 1897, leaving three sons 
 and a dau. with good property. 
 
 He erected the monument to his ancestry in the enclosure by the 
 town house. He d. in Providence, where he had lived many years. 
 
 Abba Anx Bbowx, b. Feb. 3, 1823, in Gilmanton. She m. Daniel 
 Clemence and still resides at Providence at 82. 
 
 (All went to Providence.) 
 
 Haeeiet Bbown, b. Oct. 24, 1826, in Gilmanton; m. Christopher 
 Morey. 
 
 Mary Bbown, b. Feb. 28, 1828; m. Capron of Providence, R. I., 
 
 a silversmith. 
 
 Frances Brown, b. at N., Jan. 24, 1831; m. N. B. Horton of the firm 
 of Horton & Son, now Horton & Heminway. They had two children. 
 
 Mehitable Brown, b. March 28. 1833, in N.; m. Heath. She 
 
 now resides with her dau. at Greenwood, Mass. 
 
 Abbie Brown, b. at N., May 24, 1835; m. Capron, brother of 
 
 her sister's husband and is associated with the latter as silver re- 
 finers in Providence. 
 
 BRYANT. 
 
 Charles D. Bryant, b. at Dover, 1822; m., Nov. 27, 1842, Meriba 
 Cotton, who was b. at Cotton Hill, Belmont, in 1822. He was a farmer 
 and came to East N. in 1870 and resided on the Miles Gate farm 
 until his death, Dec. 28, 1891. Mrs. Bryant now resides at Tilton with 
 her son. They had seven children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Charles A. Bryant, b. at Dover, Nov. 11, 1843; m. Sarah Willey, 
 and has two children; resides at Belmont. 
 
 Emma F. Bryant, b. at Laconia, Nov. 15, 1846; m. (first), George 
 Dow, b. at Ashland. They had one dau., Etta B. She m. (second) 
 Reuben Hoyt of Lowell and resides at Belmont. 
 
 John Feed Bryant, b. at Laconia, Feb. 5, 1850, was for 17 years 
 the popular landlord of Loverin hotel at Tilton and later traveling 
 salesman for E. W. Hoyt & Co. and C. I. Hood of Lowell, Mass. He 
 is now of the firm of Bryant Bros., dealers in meat and provisions 
 at Tilton, where he resides. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 35 
 
 George Bryant, b. at Belmont; m. Belinda Bean of Belmont, where 
 they reside. They have seven children. 
 
 Willie Bryant, b. at Belmont, Oct. 9, 1855; m. Lora Smith of Bos- 
 cawen. They reside at Belmont and have one child. 
 
 Edwin H. Bryant, b. at Belmont, June 30, 1857; m. Flora Dow of 
 Moultonborough, July 12, 1876. Mr. Bryant was in the meat business 
 at Belmont and is now of the firm of Bryant Bros, at Tilton. They 
 have two children, Helen R. and Maurice. The former is a member of 
 the senior class of 1905 at Tilton Seminary. 
 
 Mary Etta Bryant, b. July 14, 1859; d. at Belmont at the age of 
 four years. 
 
 BUELL I. 
 
 Charles F. Buell, b. at Newport, Oct. 28, 1842; m., Sept. 16, 1863, 
 Emma J. Colby, and had two children. She d., 1880. He m. (second) 
 Julia Tucker of Andover. He was with his brother in the hosiery 
 business many years at N. and had previously been employed in the 
 Aiken Mills at Franklin as an overseer. 
 
 He served in the Civil War in First Regiment N. H. Vols, (see Boys 
 In Blue), and was active in G. A. R. circles, being once commander. He 
 d., Feb. 3, 1904, falling of heart trouble on the street near his home. 
 
 BUELL II. 
 
 Annie Spaulding Buell was a native of Sutton. Her husband, David 
 Elmer Buell, was b. in Lempster. He enlisted at the beginning of the 
 Civil War for three years (see Boys in Blue). They were m. at Frank- 
 lin, Nov. 24, 1868, and had two dau. b. there. He d. July 25, 1888. She 
 now resides on Howard Avenue. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Bernice Maud Buell, b. Sept. 10, 1874; m., Sept. 13, 1899, Josiah 
 David Burley, a graduate of Pennsylvania Dental College, and lives at 
 Methuen, Mass. Mrs. Burley graduated from the Tilton Seminary 
 music department and went abroad to pursue the same study in Ger- 
 many. 
 
 Mildred Pea\-ey Bltll, b. July 24, 1879; resided in N. until her mar- 
 riage, Jan. 1, 1905. to William R. Brown of Plymouth. They reside in 
 Bristol. She was a graduate of Plymouth Normal School and taught 
 several years. 
 
 BURLEIGH. 
 George K. Burleigh was b. at Webster Place, Franklin, May 15, 1864. 
 He m., Aug. 4, 1889, Minnie, dau. of Gen. J. M. Clough of New London, 
 b. at Greenfield, Mass., Nov. 10, 1868. He was for several years a 
 
86 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 jeweler at Tilton, with home in N. He is now a machinist at the Tilton 
 Optical Works. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 Elizabeth Cornelia Burleigh, b. at Tilton, April 27, 1890. She is 
 a student of Tilton Seminary. 
 
 BULLOCK. 
 
 Elisha Bullock and family came to N. from Alexandria June 30, 
 1887. He conducted a large boarding house on Elm Street until Jan. 
 1, 1894, when he bought the residence of the late Archibald Clark, 
 where he d. three years later. Mrs. Bullock, with her dau., still resides 
 there. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Abbie Bullock, b. at Alexandria, Sept. 1, 1871, is a popular dress- 
 maker and seamstress. 
 
 Georgia A. Bullock, b. at Alexandria, Dec. 29, 1873; graduated at 
 New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Female College, class of 
 1892. She took later a post-graduate course at New Hampshire Normal 
 School, and passed the state teachers' examinations in Aug., 1897. She 
 has been since 1893 a teacher in Union graded school. 
 
 BUSWELL. 
 
 James Buswell came to N. from Plainfield about 1810. He was b. 
 in Bow, where he m. Mary Clough. He d. in 1835, and was buried on 
 the farm. His wife survived him twenty-five years. They had a 
 family of eleven girls, nine of whom grew to womanhood and all but 
 one married. Their first home was near the Bay Hill schoolhouse; 
 later they removed near the home of their daughter, Mrs. Abbott, at 
 the foot of the Kezar Hills on the Bean Hill Road. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Abagail Buswell, b. 1813; m. Rufus Sargent of Newburyport, Mass., 
 and had two children. 
 
 ZiLPHA Buswell, b. at N., 1815; d. of consumption in early woman- 
 hood, Sept. 16. 1840. 
 
 Phebe Buswell, b. at N., 1817; m. Gardner S. Abbott. (See Abbott 
 gen.) 
 
 Lydia Buswell, b. 1820; m. George French, 2d, familiarly known as 
 "Little George," and had a son, James. (See French gen.) 
 
 Nancy Buswell, b. Sept., 1822; m. George French, 1st, of Oak Hill, 
 always called "Big George." (See French gen.) 
 
 Elizabeth Buswell, b. Dec, 1824; m. Frank Phelps of N., and re- 
 moved to Dan vers, Mass. (See Phelps gen.) 
 
GENEALOGIES. 37 
 
 Sarah Jaxe, b. 1S2C; was second wife of Dea. Gardner S. Abbott. 
 (See Abbott gen.) 
 
 Harriet Buswell, b. June 26, 1S28; m. Amos Frye of Hopkinton, and 
 d. there in 1S9 — . She was a friend to all in trouble, especially to her 
 kindred and many of them shared her home when health failed them, 
 to whom she gave the most loving care. Her husband also shared in 
 all her good works, as she in his. Not one of the Buswell name re- 
 mains in town. 
 
 BUZZELL. 
 
 Walker Buzzell's name appears on the tax lists in 1793 and drops 
 from it in 1824. I am unable to locate the old home. He m. Betsey 
 Oilman, March 15, 1792. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 GiLiiAX BuzzELL, b. May IS, 1795. 
 
 Stephen Buzzell, b. June 20, 1797. 
 
 Charles Oilman Buzzell, b. Nov. 14, 1801; m. Harriet Oilman of N. 
 They erected the present residence of Dea. O. S. Abbott, but later 
 went West, where he d. She survives at the age of 91 (1905) in Chi- 
 cago, 111. 
 
 CALEF. 
 
 Jeremiah Calef, b. May 5, 1772; was son of Jeremiah Calef of Exeter 
 In 1841 he settled on the Batchelder place in N. on the Shaker Road, 
 and d. there Feb. 23, 1855; m., Sept. 13, 1805, Nancy Osgood, who d. 
 March 10, 1824. He m. (second) Sally Eastman, Sept. 2, 1829; she d. 
 Aug. 26, 1850, at N. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Infant, who d. Sept. 4, 1814. 
 
 James Osgood Calef, b. Aug. 5, 1806; d. in Loudon, April 24, 1835. 
 
 Samuel Prescott C.\lef, b. June 5, 1808; learned the tanner's and 
 currier's trade, carrying on the same in Charlestown, Mass. Later 
 was a farmer at Loudon Ridge, where he m. Oct. 18, 1835, Mehitable 
 Drew; m. (second), Mrs. Martha Coburn, May 31, 1877, and took up 
 his abode at Sanbornton Square. Was chosen town treasurer In 1879, 
 and d. suddenly at New Hampton, July, 1885. 
 
 Mary Ann Calef, b. Sept., 1812; d., Aug. 31, 181C. 
 
 Arthur Benjamin, b. June 30, 1825; son of second wife; graduated 
 at Wesleyan University In 1851, and was admitted to the bar in 1852. 
 He was clerk of all the courts of Middlesex County, Conn., for seven 
 years; state treasurer, 1855--'56, then postmaster of Middletown, Conn., 
 1861-'69. He was recorder, city attorney, councilman and alderman of 
 
38 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 the city; a trustee of "Wesleyan University from 1862 to tiis death, Aug, 
 17, 1900. He was also delegate to the Republican conventions of I860' 
 and 1864. He m. March 21, 1853, Hannah Woodman of Canterbury, b. 
 at Nashua, Dec. 31, 1827; she d. in 1891. 
 
 Abagail Eastman Calef, b. at N., Feb. 26, 1827; d. July 4, 1829. 
 
 Jekemiah Calef, Jr., b. Dec. 13, 1830; d. Nov. 18, 1892. 
 
 Ebenezer Barker Calef, b. Aug. 11, 1832; m., April 16, 1853, Urania 
 Dalton of N., b. Dec. 18, 1833. He was a farmer on the homestead 
 where she now resides. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Arthur B. and Hannah Woodman Calef, b. at Mid- 
 dletown. Conn.) 
 
 Jeremiah FRAiSrcis Calef, b. Oct. 14, 1855; graduate of Wesleyan Uni- 
 versity. He received the degree of M. D. from Yale College in 1880. 
 
 Arthur Benjamin Calef, Jr., b. Feb. 20, 1859; member of Wesleyan 
 University, class of 1882; now Judge Calef of Middletown, Conn. 
 
 Samuel Prescott Calef, b. Jan. 25, 1862. 
 
 Edward Baker Calef, b. Nov. 8, 1864. 
 
 (Children of Ebenezer and Urania Dalton Calef.) 
 
 Sarah Ann Calef, b. Nov. 28, 1854; m., Aug. 5, 1875, George W. Cor- 
 liss. (See Corliss gen.) 
 
 Mart Eldora Calef, b. July 15, 1857; d. Oct. 3, 1895. 
 Charles Henry Calef, b. Dec. 22, 1864; d. Aug. 15, 1880. 
 
 CANFIELD. 
 
 Asel Canfield was b. in England and his wife, Mary, in Scotland. 
 They came to America soon after their marriage and settled near St. 
 Albans. Here Asel, Jr., was b. in 1795. The father later went to a 
 place, which now bears his name, in Ontario, Canada. He served in 
 the British Army in the 1812 war. His son left home on peace being 
 declared and worked on the Erie Canal. He m. in 1823, Sophronia 
 Jones of Woodstock, and after a stay at Broomfield, N. Y., came to 
 Woodstock, where she d. He m. (second) Nancy Blake of Thornton, 
 dau. of Isaac Blake, a Revolutionary soldier. Later they removed to 
 Littleton and, in 1849, to N. She d. there Sept., 1869. He returned 
 and d. at Thornton, March 10, 1881. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Sophronia A. Canfield (first wife), b. at Broomfield, N. Y.; m. Allan 
 Hart at Lowell, Mass. She d. at Pittsfield, Me., Sept. 6, 1854, leaving 
 two children, who have since d. 
 
 Jerusha W. Canfield, b. June 5, 1831, at Littleton; m., March 27, 
 1850, Daniel Sewall of N., where two children were b. (See Sewall gen.) 
 She m. (second) Smith Hancock of N., and had three children. (See 
 Hancock gen.) She resides in Franklin. 
 
GENE-VLOGIES. 39 
 
 Mary H. Caxfield, b. Aug. 13, 1S33, at Littleton; m., Feb., 1848, Waite 
 Brown of Boscawen, and had three children. They resided at N., 
 where both d. 
 
 John W. Caxfield. b. May 7, 1836, at Littleton; m. Abbie Willis of 
 Franklin, April 4, 1S54, and had one dau., Emma, now m. and living in 
 Washington, D. C. Mr. Canfield d. in N., 1859. 
 
 AsEL N. Caxfield, b. July 7, 1839, at Littleton; m. Harriet Bartlett 
 in N. in 1861, and had two children. Rev. Edward J., b. May, 1864; is 
 pastor of the M. E. church of Piermont and has two sons. Nelson and 
 William. Harriet Canfield d. in 1896, and he m. (second) Mrs. Ellen 
 Butterfield of Thornton. They now live in Sutton, Vt. 
 
 William A. Caxfield, b. in Thornton, June 10, 1841; m. Miranda 
 Stewart, 1860. Enlisted in Ninth Regiment (see Boys in Blue). They 
 had one son, William, now deceased. He m. (second) Fannie Wood, 
 and now lives in Rochester, N. Y. 
 
 CARLTON. 
 
 John G. Carltox was b. at Derry; m., 1839, Almira French of N., 
 b., 1818, Feb. 4, and went to the Factory Village to reside, where they 
 spent the remainder of their lives and both d., he in 1887, she, 1886. 
 He went to learn the trade of blacksmith at 13 years of age and served 
 seven years. He then spent a while at Wilton (Mass.) Academy. 
 
 She was educated at a young ladies' school at Claremont and taught 
 three years at the Center. She was a fine needlewoman and excellent 
 singer. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Charles Hexry Carltox, b. at Tilton and d. at five years. 
 
 Helex Maria Carltox, b. at Factory Village, July 13, 1845; m. (first), 
 Hiram Ingalls, and had a dau. now the wife of Oliver George of Pitts- 
 field; m. (second), Henry W. Lowe of Colebrook, who entered the 
 regular army as lieutenant and was killed on board a man-of-war in 
 southern waters during the Civil War. She m. (third) Henry P. 
 Newton of Portland, Me., where they have resided since 1875. She 
 inherited musical talent and became a fine concert singer. 
 
 Charles Hexry Carltox, b. 1850; attended Franklin Academy and 
 New Hampshire Conference Seminary. He later took a course of in- 
 struction at Bryant & Stratton's Commercial College at Boston. He d. 
 April 27, 1896. at N. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 Emma J. Carltox, b. 1854, inherited musical talent and had a thor- 
 ough education in both vocal and instrumental music. She has been 
 for forty years a singer in church choirs and a member of several 
 ladies' quartettes. She m., 1894, Fred Parker of Taunton, Mass., and 
 has one dau., Marion, now a member of the Franklin High School. 
 
 Arabella Florexce Carltox, b. 1857; m. James T. Ayles of Frank- 
 lin. She has sung much in churches and clubs. They have a son, 
 Harry A., shipper for the Emerson Piano Co. He and his mother 
 
40 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 are connected with Trinity Church branch choir of South Boston, 
 where they reside. 
 
 CARR. 
 
 Jesse Carr lived on Bean Hill. The place was later owned by Rev. 
 Benjamin Bishop and Jacob Webber. Mr. Joseph Kimball bought the 
 place and removed the buildings. Mr. Carr was in the Continental 
 army in the Revolution and was put on the pension roll under act of 
 June 7, 1832, and drew 396 a year. He m. Jane Dustin and had four 
 children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 James Carr, b. 1800; m., April 5, 1837, Jane Dinsmore of N. (See 
 Dinsmore gen.) They had one dau., Clarinda, b. April 11, 1833. She 
 m. (first) (pub. May 5, 1851), Jeremiah Lock; m. (second), James 
 Raith, who d. March 26, 1891. She resides on Danforth Hill. 
 
 Moses Care, b. 1802; m. Phebe Ann Chapman of Sanbornton, Jan. 
 22, 1827. They had two children. 
 
 Ruth Care, b. 1804; m., Nov. 4, 1838, Philip Keniston of N., and re- 
 moved to Campton, where both d. 
 
 Mary Carr, b. 1806; m., Sept. 16, 1839, Moses Evans of N. (See Evans 
 gen.) She d., Aug. 12, 1851. He d. Jan. 15, 1855. 
 
 Samuel Care, b. at N.; m. Hannah Foster of Canterbury. They had 
 two sons, Foster and French and an adopted dau., Drusilla, who m. 
 Isaiah Akely. Mr. Carr d. at Concord. She m. (second) Thomas 
 Simonds. (See Simonds gen.) 
 
 GATE I. 
 
 Simeon Cate was b. in Sanbornton, July 23, 1790. He was the 
 grandson of James, who came from Epping before Jan., 1768, and 
 built a log house in the Wyatt district, now Franklin. He m. Lydia, 
 dau. of Lieut. John Durgin. Mr. Cate bought what was known as the 
 Oilman Hotel, then on the site of the present home of Josiah Dear- 
 born, of Ebenezer Blanchard, which he sold to Dr. Hoyt. 
 
 He resided at the Clisby place, near the old meeting-house, until 
 1820, when he bought the place at the entrance of the Colony road 
 of Dr. Isaac Glines, removed the buildings to the Colony and erected a 
 new home, where he lived until his death, Nov. 13, 1835. She d. March 
 22, 1881. They had nine children. Mr. Cate was colonel of militia 
 and was deputy sheriff at the time of his death. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (All b. at N. ) 
 Asa Piper Cate (see portrait and sketch). 
 
 Caroline Nelson Cate, b. Feb. 14, 1815; m., June 2, 1S42, Rev. 
 Charles Smith of the Methodist Conference. He filled many important 
 
GENEALOGIES. 41 
 
 charges, in which she was his ever-devoted assistant. She d. at 
 Great Falls, Nov. 22, 1853, leaving two sons, Charles and George. 
 The former served in the Civil War, was taken prisoner at Petersburg, 
 Va., sent to Andersonville, became insane and d. there. The latter 
 was a graduate of Wesleyan University and a lawyer in Boston, but 
 d. in early manhood. 
 
 Abby Pipeb Gate, b. Nov. 17, 1818; m., July 4, 1844, Jeremiah Chad- 
 wick of Boscawen, and d. there, March 18, 1859. They had two sons, 
 George and Asa Gate, the latter now living in Franklin. 
 
 Daniel Rogers Gate. b. 1820; m. and removed to California, where 
 he was a farmer. He had two sons. 
 
 Eastman, b. 1S22, and Lafayette, b. 1825, d. in childhood on the 
 same day. 
 
 Thomas Jeffeksox Gate, b. 1827; m., July 11, 1853, Laura Hoyt of 
 Lakeport. He d. at Lakeport ten days later. She d., Nov. 25, 1854. 
 
 Lafayette Gate, b. 1830, was educated at New Hampshire Conference 
 Seminary. He read medicine with Dr. Mark R. Woodbury and began 
 practice with Dr. Tolman, a fellow student, in California. He m. (first) 
 Abby Edmonds of California and had one son; m. (second) Martha 
 Ann Smith of Sanbornton Bridge, in 1863. They were many years 
 at Quincy but now reside at Adin, Modoc Co., Gal., and had four 
 children; but two survive. 
 
 Lydia Gate, b. 1833; m. (first) John Root and resided in American 
 Valley, Gal.; m. (second) William Schlatter and has recently d. there. 
 
 GATE II. 
 
 Jonathan Gate. b. in Loudon, 1786, came to N. from Vermont in 
 Feb., 1822, after having resided in Canterbury two years, and pur- 
 chased a farm on the south side of the road over Oak Hill, a short 
 distance above the brook and the ancient sawmill that stood close 
 to the road. They moved into a dilapidated one-story two-room cot- 
 tage and occupied it eight or ten years. A new house was then erected, 
 the farm furnishing the timber for it, it being sawed out at the little 
 mill below. It took nearly a score of men to put it into shape for 
 occupancy and must have been quite a pretentious affair. Here he 
 resided more than 25 years. He m. (first) (pub Sept. 4, 1808), Char- 
 lotte Blanchard, b. 1793 and d., Feb. 3, 1847, and was buried at the 
 Hodgdon cemetery. He m. (second), 1848, Hannah Foster, widow of 
 the late Samuel Carr of N. He d. May 2, 1850, and was buried in his 
 father's burial lot at Loudon. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Alice Gate, b. Feb., 1809, and d. at N., Nov. 25, 1834. 
 
 Susan Gate, m. John Bachelder of Warren and d. 1884. She had 
 two sons, Charles, who d. 1902, and John Wesley. 
 
 Mary Ann G.\te. m. Samuel Lees of Chicopee, Mass., Aug. 2, 1S4C. 
 After his death she m. Aniasa Holden of Billerica, Mass., and d. 1899. 
 
42 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Nancy Gate m. Albert Dunning. They lived and d. in West Spring- 
 field, Mass., and were burled in Chicopee, he in 18S6, she in 1890. A 
 son d. at four years of age and a dau. at seven. 
 
 John Wesley Gate d. Oct. 8, 1850. 
 
 Mescheck Gate, b. March 12, 1812; m. Mrs. Hannah Noyes Parker, 
 who d. June 15, 1888. They had three dau. of whom but one sur- 
 vives. 
 
 Mr. Gate m. (second) Mary Wallace Holt, who d. at Manchester, 
 where he now resides, in 1897. He says: "At my father's death I 
 sold out the farm to William Hannaford, Benjamin Kennison, Joseph 
 Dearborn and others, and I now reside on Webster St., Manchester. 
 Am almost 92 years old and am about to start on a ten-days' trip to 
 Alton Bay camp-meeting." 
 
 Mr. Gate was well educated and was one of the popular teachers 
 of his time. He d. at Manchester, April, 1905. 
 
 GATE III. 
 
 Miles H. Gate came to East N. from Loudon about 1842. He was 
 b. 1809; m. Dolly Sargent of Loudon and had a family of four chil- 
 dren, all b. in N. They were farmers, but after Mr. Gate's death, 
 Dec. 6, 1857, they removed to Tilton, where the sons conducted a livery 
 stable. He collected the N. taxes in 1847. Mrs. Gate removed to Ne- 
 braska. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Susan Gate, m., Nov., 1859, Horace Oilman of N. They removed to 
 Pierce, Neb. 
 
 John Gate, m., May 1, 1873, Mary Eliza Gonner, b. at Sanbornton 
 Bridge, Sept. 16, 1845. After her death. May 27, 1875, and the de- 
 struction of their stable by fire he removed to the West. 
 
 Benjamin G. Gate, b. 1853; m., July 6, 1873, Ella Robinson of Gil- 
 ford, b. 1856. They also removed West. 
 
 Samuel Gate removed to the West with his mother and brothers. 
 
 GATE IV. 
 
 Albert John Gate (called Jerusalem) was a farmer in N. from 1850 
 till his death, Oct. 24, 1887. He lived on a part of the old Kezar 
 farm on the Shaker road. He was b. Dec. 3, 1813, and m., Aug. 23, 1839, 
 Sally A. Gawley, and had five children. One, Sarah L., d. in infancy, 
 Feb. 19, 1852. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Erwin Girard Gate, b. March 14, 1841; m. Harriet Hale Whitney of 
 New London and is a farmer in Boscawen. 
 
 Martha Jane Gate, b. May 3, 1843; m. William Blaisdell Smith, a 
 farmer of Loudon. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 4S 
 
 IsMEXA Eaton Gate, b. Dec. G, 1847; m. Henry Cram, May 17, 1870. 
 (See Cram gen.) 
 Maky Ella Cate, b. Jan. 4, 1858; d. Nov. 1, 1901. 
 
 COFRAN. 
 
 John Cofrax and bis wife, Eliza Gilman, came from Pembroke to 
 Canterbury and took up their abode near the Shakers, where she had 
 a twin sister. 
 
 His stay, it is said, was cut short by the great desire of his wife 
 to become a Shakeress. He, greatly disgusted, "pulled up stakes" and 
 went to Nottingham. After several years, deeming it safe to return, 
 he bought land on Bean Hill and built his house on one of the most 
 sightly spots in town. His deed bears the date 1787 and the consider- 
 ation is given in pounds, shillings and pence. 
 
 They had five children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (B. in Pembroke.) 
 
 Sally Cofran, b. ; m., March 20, 1805, John Rogers, a neigh- 
 bor, and had a family of four. (See Rogers gen.) 
 
 James Cofrax, b. May 24, 1782; m., Dec, 1806, Ruth Hersey, b. Dec. 
 2, 1788. Mr. Cofran was a thrifty farmer on the homestead till past 
 middle life and raised fatted steers in his mountain pastures for the 
 Brighton market. Later in life he removed to Sanbornton Bridge and 
 resided near the railroad station. He soon after erected a new home 
 on the site occupied by his son, B. F. Cofran, where he spent the 
 remainder of his life. He was interested in all public matters and 
 especially interested in the erection of the first seminary, for which 
 he burned the brick. He also dealt largely in wool. He d. April 27, 
 1861. She d. Dec. 25, 1873. They had eight children. He represented 
 N. in the Legislatures of 1822-'23. 
 
 Israel Cofrax, b. April 3, 1780; m., March 2, 1806, Betsey Hersey 
 of Sanbornton, and resided on the Maloney place near the Hodgdon 
 schoolhouse. They had eight children. He d. Sept. 21, 1844. She d. 
 March 5, 1824. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of James and Ruth Hersey Cofran.) 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Jeremiah Cofrax, b. Feb. 18, 1807; m., Feb. 26, 1835, Phebe Morrill, 
 
 b. at Canterbury, July 20, 1813, and lived on the place now owned by 
 
 the Smith Morrill heirs, where he d. Oct. 27, 1863. She d. June 23, 
 
 1891. They had four children. 
 
 Sally H. Cofrax, b. May 9, 1808; m., Dec. 31, 1834, Capt. Winthrop 
 Young of Meredith. They had two dau., Lizzie and Fannie. Mrs. 
 Young m. (second) Joseph Bartlett of Nottingham. She d. March 29, 
 1894. 
 
44 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 Joseph Albebt Cofrax, b. Sept. 28, 1814, resided on the homestead; 
 m., Sept. 14, 1836, Almira Cofran, who d. Feb. 6, 1870. He d. Feb. 1, 
 1896. They had four children. 
 
 Mary Dearborn Cofran, b. April 21, 181G; m. Frank Way of Derby, 
 Vt, and lived in Missouri, where he d., leaving one son, Clarence 
 Way, who resides in Andover, Mass., where Mrs. Way resides. 
 
 Charles Crosby Cofran, b. Sept. 16, 1819; d. at five years. 
 
 James Hersey Cofran, b. June 21, 1823; d. by drowning at Bos- 
 cawen, Aug. 18, 1841. 
 
 John L. Cofran, b. Dec. 17, 1810; m. of Baltimore, Md., where 
 
 he lived, and d., March, 1862. He had six children, Ruth, Henrietta, 
 James, Frank, Leroy and George. 
 
 Elizabeth A. Cofran, b. Aug. 18, 1812; m., Dec. 21, 1833, Benjamin 
 Hills of N. (See Hills gen.) She d. June 9, 1871. 
 
 Aliiira Cofran, b. May 11, 1814; m. Joseph Cofran. He inherited 
 the homestead and both d. there, he, Jan. 30, 1896, she, Feb. 6, 1870. 
 
 They had four children. 
 
 James H. Cofran, b. Jan. 3, 1818; m.. May 28, 1840, Eliza B. Hall, 
 b. at N., July 12, 1817. They remained many years on the home- 
 stead, where he d., Feb. 16, 1868. She removed later near Tilton, 
 where she d. July 11, 1898. Mr. Cofran dealt largely in cattle and 
 held the office of selectman at the time of his death. They had four 
 children. 
 
 Benjamin Franklin Cofran, b. Dec. 9, 1819. (See portrait and 
 sketch. ) 
 
 Laroy Cofran, b. Jan. 9, 1826; went to Baltimore, Md., and helped 
 survey the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad. He was station agent at 
 Grafton, W. Va. Later he dealt extensively in lumber. He m. Mar- 
 celina Boone Keyes, who survived him some years. He d. Aug. 16, 1892. 
 
 (Children of Israel and Nancy Hersey Cofran.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Eliza Gilman Cofran, b. Oct. 4, 1807; m. John L. Hall of N., d. Dec. 
 14, 1849, leaving six children. (See Hall gen.) 
 
 Martha Cofran, b. April 29, 1808, resided with friends in Not- 
 tingham and later with her niece near Tilton, where she d., 1901. 
 
 Cyrene Cofran, b. Jan. 5, 1811; m. Joseph Sanborn of Ashland and 
 d., Dec. 15, 1869, in Ashland. They had six children. 
 
 Maria Silvia, b. Nov. 9, 1812; d., Aug. 28, 1861, at N. 
 
 Peter Cofran, m. Rebecca Hoagg (pub.), Oct. 20, 1798. He lived and 
 d. in Wheelock, Vt., and had a large family. 
 
 Joseph Cofran, m. Pamelia Whitcher and resided in Concord. They 
 had eight children. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Jeremiah and Phebe Morrill Cofran.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 Caroline Augusta Cofran, b. April 24, 1836; m., Oct. 13, 1860, 
 
GENEALOGIES. 45 
 
 Joseph Hunkins of Sanbornton, and they have three children (see 
 Hunkins gen.). Mr. Hunkins is a farmer and a trusted officer of the 
 town, having been tax collector for many years. He is a deacon of 
 the Congregational Church and has served the Sunday-school as its 
 superintendent. 
 
 Emily A. Cofrax, b. Feb. 15, 1S3S; m., April 4, 1S66, George G. 
 Morrison of Allston, Mass. They had one child, Sadie A., wife of 
 Charles Smith, who d. July 3, 1903. 
 
 Smith W. Cofbax, b. Jan. 15, 1840; m. Marcelina Wanzer, June 2, 
 1872. Children, Jessie, Jay and Eugene. (See portrait.) 
 
 Scott M. Cofran, b. April 16, 1847; m., Aug. 24, 1870, Mary Burgin 
 and has two dau. They I'eside near Boston, Mass. 
 
 (Children of Joseph and Almira Cofran.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 AtRA Axx Cofran, b. Sept. 30, 1838; m. Orrin Ford and resided in 
 Boston, where she d. Dec. 25, 1879. He d. Oct. 3, 1892. 
 
 Jacob Cofran d. in childhood. 
 
 James Cofran, m. Lucy Hunt and removed to Providence, R. I., 
 where he d., leaving three sons* Charles, Harry and Fred. 
 
 Fannie L. Cofran, b. April 23, 1857, left the home after her parents' 
 death and went to reside near Tilton, where she d., the last of the 
 family, July 8, 1903. 
 
 (Children of James and Eliza Hall Cofran.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Charles Chase Cofran, b. March 11, 1841, was drowned at St. 
 Augustine, Fla., June 13, 1862 (see Boys in Blue). 
 
 Helen Eliza Cofran, b. June 5, 1843; m., Sept. 7, 1865, "Warren 
 Smith Hills of N. (see Hills gen.). 
 
 Mary Frances Cofran, b. April 9, 1851, resides in Boston and is 
 a clerk in the postoffice. She has traveled abroad, visiting London, 
 Paris and Dublin, and is one of the Daughters of the American Revo- 
 lution. 
 
 Frank Adino Cofran, b. Feb. 11, 1853; m., June 1, 1876, Martha 
 Graham of Peacham, Vt. He was manager of the Twin Mountain 
 House for many years and later of the Fiske House at Whitefield. 
 He was a prominent politician and an elector for New Hampshire in 
 1888 of the Presidential Convention. He d. at Whitefield, Aug. 15, 1896. 
 
 CADUE. 
 
 LuTHEB Cadue, b. at St. Almanac, Canada, 1847, Nov. 2; m. Mary 
 Lambert, b. at St. Emma, Canada, Oct. 21, 1842. 
 
 They came to N. from Johnson, Vt., in 1886 and resided several 
 years on Summer St. They had five children but two of whom re- 
 side in N. Mr. Cadue was a soldier in the Civil War (see Boys in 
 Blue). They now reside in Tilton. 
 
46 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Selina Mart Cadue, b. at Johnson, Vt., Sept. 2, 1869; m., Jan. 1, 1889, 
 Otto F. Perthel and they have two children. (See Perthel gen.) 
 
 Levi F. Cadue, b. at Johnson, Vt, July 26, 1873; m., Dec. 15, 1897, 
 Ina N. Moore, b. at Tilton, 1877. He Is a blacksmith with shop in 
 Tilton and residence in N. 
 
 CARR. 
 
 Hazex Carr came to N. about 1832, as his name then appears first 
 on tax list. He was a native of Sweden and a seafaring man. He was 
 by trade a mason and plasterer. He m. Sally Dolloff of N. and d. at 
 N. April 18, 1840. They had two children and resided in the Daniel 
 Hill house on Bay Hill. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Nancy Lougee Carr, b. May 6, 1820; m., April 18, 1840, William H. 
 H. Dalton, b. Sept. 21, 1816. They resided in Belmont. He d. there 
 Oct. 27, 1870. She d. in 1882. No children. 
 
 Caroline Peabody Carr, b. Nov. 18, 1822; m., Jan. 14, 1840, James F. 
 Kimball, b. at Gilmanton, June 13, 1823. They resided at Belmont, 
 where she d. July 22, 1870. They had six children. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 But one of this family resided in N. 
 
 Amoretta Kimball, b. at Belmont March 25, 1847; m., Aug. 24, 1864, 
 John Andre Kimball of N. (See Kimball gen.) 
 
 CHAPMAN. 
 
 Irvin "W. Chapman, b. at Brooklyn, Conn., April 6, 1853; m., Dec. 24, 
 1891, Fannie E. Bassett, b. at Brooklyn, Conn., Nov. 28, 1858. Mr. 
 Chapman was employed by James H. Bowditch of Boston during the 
 summers of 1889--'90--'91 as landscape gardener. During the fall of the 
 last-named year he entered the employ of F. B. Shedd at his summer 
 home in N. as foreman and farmer. They have three children, Leroy 
 M., b. 1893; Paul W., b. 1895; and Linwood P., b. 1897. 
 
 CHAMBERLAIN. 
 
 Rev. John Chamberlain was b. in Loudon. (See Ministers of N. with 
 portrait.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Mary Caroline Chamberlain, b. at N. Oct. 4, 1854; m. Harry Aldrich 
 and resides at Cambridge, Mass. He is commercial traveler for Hano- 
 
GENEALOGIES. 4 ( 
 
 ver Cracker Company. They have two sons, Harry and Lucius. The 
 former, a graduate of Harvard College, is employed at Boston Public 
 Library. The latter is now a student of Harvard College. 
 
 Charles Judson Chamberlain, b. at Canterbury Jan. 12, 1855; m., 
 Dec. 24, 1898, Etta Heath of Canterbury. He resides at Hoosic Driving 
 Park club house as manager. He was for many years a farmer and 
 breeder of horses at Oak Hill. He served as a selectman of the town 
 and member of its board of education. He was census enumerator for 
 the town of Stark in ISSO and the town of N. for 1890. Mrs. Chamber- 
 lain was for many years a faithful and popular teacher in the schools 
 of N. and elsewhere. 
 
 Nelly B. Chamberlain, b. Oct. 15, 1867, at Franklin Falls; m. William 
 Darrah of Bedford. They reside at Readville, Mass., and have five 
 children. Henry is a proprietor of a milk route at Manchester; Ella is 
 a teacher at Monson, Mass.; Frank is employed by the golf club at 
 Readville, Mass.; Arthur is a hardware dealer, and Ruth is still in the 
 home. 
 
 COGSWELL. 
 
 William McCrillis Cogswell was b. at Canterbury, July 31, 1842, and 
 came to N. in 1888. He located on Howard Ave. and built one of the 
 first houses there. He is a carpenter and builder. He m. Nov. 24, 1869, 
 Alice Kelley of Milwaukee, Wis., and they have two children. He has 
 served the town as one of its board of selectmen and was active in 
 laying out Emery and widening Bay Street, and in constructing the 
 sewer. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Warner Badger Cogswell, b. at Canterbury Sept. 1, 1871; m.. May 8, 
 1895, Cora Tucker of Ashland, where they reside, and he conducts a 
 prosperous store. 
 
 Alida May Cogswell, b. at Canterbury May 2, 1873; m.. May 2, 1894, 
 Charles L. True of Tilton. (See True gen.) 
 
 CHASE I. 
 
 Thomas Chase was a descendant of Aquilla, one of four brothers who 
 came to America from England in 1630. He came from Newbury to N. 
 when young. He married Elizabeth, only daughter of Capt. Edward 
 Blanchard, in 1797. (See Blanchard gen.) Mr. Chase was intending to 
 locate in Canada, but Mr. Blanchard gave him a large tract of land as 
 an inducement for him to settle in N. Trees were felled in the un- 
 broken forest, a home and barns were built and he became a prosperous 
 farmer. He added to the original farm till he possessed at least 400 
 acres with many outlaying tracts. He was a man of great energy and 
 
48 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 perseverance and became one of the wealthiest men in N. He was a 
 religious man and a Freewill Baptist in belief. 
 
 The original home was burned and a new one erected a little further 
 north, where S. B. Chase now resides. Daniel Huse and his son-in-law, 
 Morrill Moore, lived there many years. Mr'. Chase d. June 25, 1849, 
 from injuries received in falling from a loaded wagon. She d. May 11, 
 1871, aged 90 years. 
 
 Two of his three sons settled on the home farm several years before 
 his death. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Edward Chase, m. (first) Clara Brown (see Brown gen.), and resided 
 at Lake Village and later in Meredith, where he had fulling and grain 
 mills. They had a dau. Clara, who d. at 19. He m. (second) Hannah 
 Blake of Meredith and had two children, Thomas, who was an extensive 
 mine owner in Utah, where he d., and John, a druggist at Laconia. He 
 m. (third) Mary Piper of Sanbornton. They resided first at Meredith, 
 then at Sanbornton Bridge, where both d., he on March 4, 1863. She 
 then m. William Pitts Whidden. (See Whidden gen.) 
 
 John B. Chase m. Feb. 21, 1830, Mary Jane Ayers of Canterbury, 
 He was a farmer on a part of the home fai'm. They had three children. 
 He d. April 10, 1844; she d. June 27, 1850. 
 
 Almira Chase, m. Richard Smith of Hopkinton and had six children. 
 
 AzuBA Chase, m., 1825, Asa Burleigh of Boscawen. She resided 
 mostly in Thornton. They had ten children. 
 
 Harriet Chase, b. July 6, 1807; m. Harrison Brown of N. (See Brown 
 gen.) 
 
 Thomas Chase, Jr., b. Sept. 10, 1810; m., March 12, 1837, Mary Butler 
 Brown, b. 1816. (See Brown gen.) He built the brick house now 
 owned by William C. French, and resided there until 1854. Mr. Chase 
 was a contractor and builder of several miles of the Boston, Concord & 
 Montreal Railroad. Later he built a fine residence on Arch Hill, which 
 was burned the following year and rebuilt in 1856. Mr. Chase spent 
 much of his time in the West and d. at Casa Grande, Ariz., March 
 3, 1881. They had four children. She d. April 12, 1S76. The Forrest 
 family historian speaks of her as "scholarly, unselfish, refined, lovely 
 to look upon, and of remarkable spirit and vivacity." 
 
 Ann Chase, m. (first), (pub.) Jan. 11, 1835, Jesse Hancock (see Han- 
 cock gen.), and had two children. He d. in 1841, March 4. She m. 
 (second) Jonathan Scribner of Salisbury, 1843. (See Scribner gen.) 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of John and Eliza Ayers Chase.) 
 
 Eliza Chase went, after her parents' death, with her brother and 
 sister to reside at Sanbornton Bridge. She was a student at the New 
 Hampshire Conference Seminary. She d. of typhoid fever at 19. 
 
;^;^_3C»»;j»vl«l««t >i i«i«i I a»^ 
 
 (JJ.D CHASE TAVERN. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 49 
 
 Maky Chase, m. Rev. Charles Smith, a Baptist clergyman, and re- 
 sided at Wolfeborough at the time of her death. They had three chil- 
 dren. 
 
 Charles Chase d. at Haverhill, Mass. 
 
 (Children of Thomas and Mary Brown Chase.) 
 
 Laura Brown Chase, b. Dec. 26, 1S37; m., Jan. 8, 1862, William F. 
 Jones of Durham, b. June 5, 1818. 
 
 Mr. Jones was an extensive farmer and politician, holding many 
 offices in town and state. He d. Feb. 3, 1898. They had two dau., 
 Mrs. Mary Cutter of Fall River, Mass., and Mrs. Elizabeth Fowler of 
 Jamaica Plain, Mass. The latter has a son, Harrison Fowler, Jr. 
 
 Lizzie A. Chase, b. Oct. 11, 1840, graduated from New Hampshire 
 Conference Seminary, class of 1859. She was a teacher many years in 
 Melrose, Mass., Durham and Union graded school at N. She m. June 
 28, ISSO, Joseph Hill of Tilton, b. at Mont Vernon, June 16, 1834. He 
 d. at N. April IS, 1890. (See Hill gen.) 
 
 Mary Ella Chase, b. Oct. 1, 1851; m., Aug., 1870, George W. Balcom. 
 (See Balcom gen.) 
 
 Fkaxk Butler Cha.se, b. Aug., 1853; d. Sept., 1854. 
 
 CHASE II. 
 
 Stephen Chase was the foremost man in N. in its early history. In 
 1798 he erected a fulling mill, where the Granite Mill now stands. 
 There was but a single cotton mill in the state when, in 1816, he bought 
 the old cotton-mill erected by Mr. Gushing in 1814. The cotton was 
 sent up in 100 lb. bags and sent out into the farmers' families to have 
 the seeds removed, as there were no cotton gins, at 4 or 5 cents a pound. 
 He bought all the river front from the old brick yard to the land used 
 for the first seminary, extending well up to Bay Hill. The brick 
 church. Arch Hill and the homestead of Hon. Asa P. Gate were included. 
 His son Benjamin, on arriving at manhood, was associated with him 
 and put in a carding machine. A fulling mill with carding machine 
 was later built close by the bridge where the optical works now stand. 
 This, later run by Moses Morrill, was burned, and a grist mill took its 
 place. Mr. Chase also kept a tavern at the house still standing at the 
 north entrance to Bay Street. The deeds to the farms taken by many 
 of the early settlers in this part of the town bear the name of Stephen 
 Chase. 
 
 Bradstreet Moody had a dam across the river from the Chase mill 
 and an oil mill and other buildings, Stephen Chase went further 
 up the river on his own land and cut a canal down to his fulling 
 mill (now Granite Mill). Mr. Moody, feeling aggrieved, commenced a 
 suit for flowage damage. Mr. Goodwin, in an article In the Merrimack 
 Journal, says Chase was a good fighter and so was Moody. The case 
 went, after years of expensive strife, against Moody, forming one of 
 4 
 
50 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 the disasters which clouded a promising career. After the death of 
 Mr. Chase, his son Benjamin carried on the business until his removal 
 to Lowell, when it became the property of Archibald S. Clark, whose 
 wife was Priscilla Chase. In 1S20 Mr. Clark sold out to Jeremiah Til- 
 ton. (See Tilton gen.) 
 
 Mr. Chase m. Mrs. Abagail Ambrose, whose maiden name was Oilman. 
 She d. Nov. 13, 1833. He d. April 21, 1817. He was a man respected 
 and honored and represented the town in the Legislatures in 1803-'04-- 
 '0S--'09. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Mehitable Chase, b. April 7, 1795; m.. May 1, 1817, Elder Joseph 
 Clough of Canterbury, b. there Feb. 1, 1795. They had 12 children, 
 three of whom d. in infancy. But three survive, Obadiah, a literary 
 man of New York City, and Albert and Mary in the home that has never 
 changed ownership. During a temporary sojourn of Mr. and Mrs. 
 Clough in N. a son, Lucien B., was b. (See portrait and sketch.) 
 
 Priscilla Gilmax Chase, b. Aug. 6, 1796; m., Sept. 9, 1819, Archibald 
 S. Clark of N., b. at Dunbarton April 21, 1796. She d. at N. May 11, 
 1871. He d. May 2, 1877. Had six children. (See Clark gen.) 
 
 Benjamin Ambrose Chase, b. April 3, 1798; m., June 21, 1820, Hannah 
 Hall, b. at Canterbury. He succeeded to his father's business. He rep- 
 resented the town in 1831"'32. He removed to Lowell in 1840, where he 
 was a manufacturer. They had two children. 
 
 Abagail Woodman Chase, b. Dec. 5, 1799; m., Dec. 20, 1823, Alvah 
 McQuesten, b. at Plymouth March 3, 1797, where they afterward resided. 
 They had six children, Relief Judith, Abby Chase, Alvah Aretas, Benja- 
 min Chase and Garaphelia. 
 
 Myra Chase, b. Dec. 14, 1801; m. Greenough McQuesten and resided 
 at N., Fisherville and Concord. He was for many years a bookkeeper 
 for Concord Railroad shops. (See McQuesten gen.) 
 
 John Langdon Chase, b. Dec. 29, 1803. He m. and had a family. Re- 
 moved to Illinois. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Benjamin and Hannah Hall Chase.) 
 
 Priscilla Clark Chase, b. Jan. 14, 1825; m., Feb. 19, 1851, B. F. 
 Cofran, b. at N. (See Cofran gen.) 
 
 Charles Greenough Chase, b. July 5, 1827 (see portrait and sketch). 
 
 CHASE III. 
 
 Hon. Francis R. Chase was b. in Gilmanton in 1818, the son of Jona- 
 than and Fanny Moody Chase. He m. Dec. 19, 1843, Huldah Perley 
 Fessenden of Fryeburg, Me. They had five children. Mr. Chase read 
 law in the office of Judge Dana of Fryeburg, Me., and first practiced 
 
GENEALOGIES. 51 
 
 law in Conway. He removed from the latter place to N. in 1SC6, and 
 bought the Joseph Peabody house on Bay Street and d. there 10 years 
 later. He represented the town in the Legislature of 1872 and was 
 active in the establishment of the New Hampshire Agricultural College 
 at Durham. He had previously been a member from Conway and was 
 speaker of the house in 1S54. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Allax Jasper Chase, b. at Conway in 1S44, Dec. 3; m., 1S68, Emma 
 Loring and resides in Maiden, Mass., and is one of the firm of Chase, 
 Parker & Co., heavy hardware and carriage supplies, Boston, Mass. He 
 never lived in N. 
 
 AxNA Tatlok Chase, b. at Conway May 20, 1849; m. Henry Augustus 
 Bush and resides at 97 Cedar Park, Melrose, Mass. She was a gradu- 
 ate of New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Female College, class 
 of 1870. She has been for a long time interested in the work of 
 Woman's Clubs and is president of the New Hampshire Daughters' Club 
 of Boston and vice-president of the Massachusetts Federation of 
 Woman's Clubs and one of the trustees of the Melrose Public Library. 
 Mr. Bush is senior warden of Melrose parish. Both are active in church 
 work. 
 
 Laura Elizabeth Chase, b. at Conway Aug IG, 1S51; was also a grad- 
 uate of New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Female College, class 
 of 1871; now a resident of Cedar Park, Melrose, Mass. 
 
 JoxATHAx Taylor Chase, b. 1854; m., in 1881, Sophie Cram, who d. 
 in 1882. He m. (second) Laura Price. He resides at 24 Cedar Park, 
 Melrose, and is also of the firm of Chase, Parker & Co. 
 
 Adalixe Folsom Chase, b. 1859; now resides with her sister at 97 
 Cedar Park, Melrose. 
 
 CHASE IV. 
 
 Joseph Chase was b. at Deerfield May 8, 1834; m., Nov. 24, 1853, Ann 
 Dearborn Chase of Deerfield. He was a shoemaker and farmer until 
 his removal to N. in 1896. He is now employed as janitor at Union 
 graded school. They have three sons and a dau. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (B. at Deerfield.) 
 
 George F. Chase, b. May 21, 1855; m., Dec. 29. 1883, Nellie Susan 
 Morrison of N. After a few years' residence on Park Street and later 
 on the Hills farm, they removed to their present location, her early 
 home, where with fine buildings and up-to-date surroundings they are 
 general farmers with summer boarders, dairying and fruit raising for 
 specialties. 
 
52 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 J. LaRoy Chase, b. March 30, 1857; was employed at Lord Bros.' 
 Optical Works. He d. July 21, 1889. 
 
 Aloxzo W. Chase, b. May 13, 1859; resides with his parents on Vine 
 Street and is foreman of finishing room at Elm Mills Woolen' Co. 
 
 Luther H. Cha.se, b. June 8, 1861; resides in Deerfield and is a 
 farmer and blacksmith. 
 
 Elizabeth D. Chase, b. Aug. 20, 1S63; m., April 2G, 1886, Robert 
 Hunkins of Plaistow. He is a stationary engineer. They have three 
 children, Warren C, Gladys A. and Florence E., twins. 
 
 CHASE V. 
 
 Fraxklin Browne Chase, b. at Hopkinton Dec. 9, 1844; m., Nov. 13, 
 1867, Anna Abbott Runnells, b. at Concord, May 1, 1844. They resided 
 at Contoocook 12 years previous to coming to the Clark Road, Tilton 
 Highlands, where they lived 14 years. They came to the Timothy Hill 
 place, N., in 1902. He was a teacher in his youth and is still a sur- 
 veyor and farmer, a good story teller and won renown as color bearer 
 in the famous "troop of horse" on N.'s Centennial Day. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Samuel Ambrose Chase, b. at Contoocook Feb. 1, 1872; d. there Dec. 
 6, 1877. 
 
 Regin-^ld Alberti>-e Chase, b. at Franklin Feb. 12, 1883; m., March 
 2, 1904, Ethel Florence Hamilton, b. at Wolfeborough Nov. 4, 1883. He 
 resides at N. and is employed at the Tilton Optical Co. manufactory. 
 
 CHASE VI. 
 
 Samuel B. Chase came to N. from Franklin in 1903, having pur- 
 chased the farm of the late Morrill Moore. They are chiefly occupied 
 with dairying and have a choice herd of registered Jerseys. They have 
 five children. Mr. Chase m. (second) Emma Randall of Canterbury. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Harrt Chase resides at Concord, where he is employed as a 
 machinist. 
 
 Grace Chase is a teacher in Franklin. 
 
 Ella, Marion and Ned, children of the second wife, remain in the 
 home. 
 
 CILLEY. 
 
 John Cilley came to N. from Nottingham. His wife was Hannah 
 Elliot, b. there March 4, 1768. She d. in N. in 1852. He was the son 
 of Cutting Cilley, who came to spend his last years at his son's home 
 
GENEALOGIES. 53 
 
 on Bean Hill. They had 14 children, all but one b. in Nottingham. The 
 original home disappeared long ago and the one now occupied by Frank 
 Robertson was the family dwelling place until the erection of the new 
 buildings of Hiram Cilley. He was an officer in the state militia. 
 Mother Cilley, in spite of her strenuous life, lived to be 90 years of 
 age, dying Oct. 10, 1S53. He was a noted horse trainer. This farm is 
 now owned by Andrew Shirley. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Polly Cilley, m. late in life Jacob Webber and removed to Starks- 
 borough, where they kept hotel many years. Mr. Webber had a son 
 David by a former marriage, who m. Emily Abbot, a neighbor, and 
 removed with his father. 
 
 Joseph Cilley. 
 
 Mabtha Cilley, m. March 13, 1812, Jesse Rogers of N. and had a 
 family of seven. (See Rogers gen.) 
 
 Joux Cilley, b. Sept. 14, 1S14; m., Jan. 7, 1835, Betsey, dau. of Daniel 
 Hills, b. May 26, 1814, and removed to Columbia and had six children. 
 Mr. Cilley's boyhood encounter with a black bear on Bean Hill is told 
 elsewhere. 
 
 Abxer Cilley and another brother removed to Northwood. 
 
 Lydia Cilley. 
 
 JoxATHAx E. Cilley m. May, 1826, Eliza Taylor of Sanbornton. He 
 was a dealer in meat and live stock in Massachusetts. They both d. 
 in New Hampton. He had a son Dr. O. G. Cilley of Cambridge Street, 
 Boston, Mass. 
 
 SoPHRoxiA Cilley. 
 
 Naomi Cilley m. Joseph Currier of Belmont. 
 
 Daniel Cilley removed to Maine when a young man. 
 
 William P. Cilley. 
 
 James Cilley inherited a part of the homestead and erected new 
 buildings, but sold later to Hiram. He m. May 10, 1827, Irene Rand of 
 N. He removed to Boston, where she d. Nov. 7, 1852. 
 
 Hiram Cilley m., Jan. 28, 1830, Nancy (Ann) Greenough Kimball of 
 Canterbury, b. Dec. 10, 1813. He was many years an up-to-date farmer 
 with good stock and ample means. Later in life he purchased the brick 
 house erected by S. B. Rogers by the town house, now owned by J. E. 
 Smith, and d. there Oct. 15, 1877. She survived until Dec. 8, 1888. 
 They had two sons and two dau. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of John and Betsey Hill Cilley.) 
 (B. at Columbia.) 
 Mary Ann Cilley, b. Sept. 14, 1814; m., Jan. 7, 1835, Barker Hills of 
 N. (See Hills gen.) 
 
 Sarah Jane Cilley. b. Feb. 6, 1838; m. Jacob Sanborn of Franklin 
 and had eight children. 
 
54 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 
 
 SxjsAN CiLLEY, Lydia and Hannah, I have no record of. 
 
 John Cilley, b. at N. May 9, 1S33; m., Oct. 28, 1855, Maria Hibbard, 
 b. Sept. 20, 1833, and d. at Columbia May 3, 1897. They had four chil- 
 dren b. in Columbia and now living there. 
 
 (Children of Hiram and Ann Kimball Cilley.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Jeremiah Ki^rsALL Cixley, b. Dec. 12, 1831. He has a son Leon H., 
 proprietor of the Maplewood House, Bethlehem. 
 
 CoEA Hall Cilley, b. Aug. 1, 1834; m., Jan. 2, 1853, Marcus Lawrence 
 and resided at Plymouth. They had one son, Willie Lawrence. She d. 
 at N. Jan. 9, 1871. 
 
 Henry Cilley, b. at N. May 2, 1839; m. Ellen "Wilder of Leominster, 
 Mass., and resided some years in Boston, where he was a gas manufac- 
 turer. Later was engaged in immense engineering operations in the 
 construction of railroads in South America. The story of his successes 
 and undertaking is simply marvelous, including the invention of a 
 submarine torpedo boat and a new quality of ammunition; and a series 
 of dangerous missions under government contract, which won him the 
 title of colonel and large wealth. In 1865 he returned to his native 
 town, bought and renovated the home of B. A. Rogers, and intended to 
 quietly pass his remaining years there, but the excitement of great 
 enterprises lured him again to busy life, and he returned to Chili only 
 to encounter civil war, treachery, colossal schemes abandoned by fail- 
 ure of existing government to fulfil pledges, sickness and the death of 
 Colonel Meiggs, his partner. He d. at Lima, Peru, of a severe con- 
 gestion of the brain, 1877. 
 
 They had two sons, one now a teacher in Massachusetts Institute of 
 Technology. He sold his N. home in 1S71 to Daniel W. Beckler of Bos- 
 ton. (See Beckler gen.) 
 
 Sakah Frances Cilley, b. April 25, 1S51; m., Jan. 17, 1872, Charles 
 F. Hills of N. (See Hills gen.) 
 
 CLISBY. 
 
 Joseph Clisby, b. at West Concord in 1802; came to N. in 1826. He 
 had lived with Hon. Richard Bradley seven years and then served an 
 apprenticeship at the blacksmith's trade four years and four months. 
 He says: "My last schooling was under Judge George W. Nesmith in 
 the old schoolhouse at North State Street, Concord." M., 1828, Sally 
 Hill (see Hill gen.) and bought place of Simeon Gate, who moved 
 nearer the village. He repaired the house and built a blacksmith shop 
 and continued business until 1863, when compelled by ill health to 
 abandon it. His father, Joseph, a soldier of the Revolutionary War 
 and a pensioner, with his wife, came to live and die with them. He d. 
 in 1855, and she d. Feb. 12, 1855. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 55 
 
 Mr. Clisby had a great memory and kept a record of current events 
 for many years, some of which have been of great service in the com- 
 pilation of these pages. She d. Nov. 15, 1883. He d. June 24, 1894, 
 aged nearly 92. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Mandana Clisby, b. at N. March 4, 1830; m., Oct. 30, 1851, Pascal 
 Jacques of Sanbornton and went to his father's to reside. She was 
 musical and long sang in church choirs. After the death of her hus- 
 band she removed to Tilton, where she d., the last survivor of her 
 family. They had a dau., Carrie Ida, who d. in girlhood, June 24, 
 1890. Mrs. Jacques d. Dec. 24, 1902. 
 
 Maria D. Clisby was b. at N. Nov. 13, 1836; m., Oct. 19, 1859, Walter 
 Sanborn of Sanbornton. She was a faithful teacher at Laconia and 
 elsewhere for several years. She d. May 25, 1877. 
 
 Sarah Corser Clisby, b. at N. Sept. 16, 1839; m., July 12, 1864, Rich- 
 ard D. Goodwin of Boston, Mass., where she was a fine choir singer for 
 several years. They had a son Harry, now a professor of Boston School 
 of Technology, and a dau. Florence. Mrs. Goodwin d. in Boston March 
 30, 1876. 
 
 Clara A>'n Clisby, b. at N. Aug. 8, 1843; m., Sept. 13, 1864, Oscar P. 
 Sanborn. (See Sanborn gen.) 
 
 CLARK I. 
 
 Fred N. Clark came to N. from Warren, Oct. 3, 1892. He was b. 
 at Vineland, N. J., Sept. 19, 1870. He m., on his 25th birthday, 1895, 
 Emma J., dau. of Myron and Philena Houghton Southwick, b. at 
 Bombay, N. Y., Dec. 24, 1874. He is assistant postmaster at the Tilton 
 and Northfield office. They reside on Vine St. and have one dau.. 
 Vera Rose, b. Jan. 21, 1903. 
 
 CLARK IL 
 
 William B. Clark, b. at Ossipee, April 19, 1824, was a son of Rev. 
 Mahew Clark, who conducted the religious services at the raising of 
 the old meeting-house. He m. (first), July 4, 1844, Mary H. D. Clark, 
 b. Nov. 25, 1825, in Sanbornton, and had two children. She d. Sept., 
 1853. He m., 1853, Eliza A. Wilson, b. at Bridgewater, Vt., 1825, and 
 had two children. He m. (third) Arianna Hoyt of Candia, b. 1828. 
 They came to N. Oct. 8, 1878, and purchased the farm of Morrill Moore 
 at the foot of Bean Hill and with a choice herd of Jersey cows made 
 gilt-edged butter for wealthy families in Boston. He has since been 
 known as "Butter Clark." Mrs. Clark d. here, March 6, 1900. He m. 
 (fourth), in 1900, Mrs Betsey J. Buswell, b. at Meredith, Nov. 14, 1832. 
 He removed to East Tilton, where they now reside. 
 
56 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (Children of William and Mary Clark.) 
 
 LrcT Axx Clark, b. at Sanbornton, Jan. 12, 1847; m. William W. 
 Marston of Vermont. They now reside at Fitchburg, Mass. 
 
 WiLLiAii Tatloe Claek, b. at Manchester, Sept. 18, 1850; m. Rosa 
 Bell Waldron. He was a carpenter but resided with his father on 
 the farm in N. He is now of East Norton, Mass. 
 
 (Children of William and Eliza Wilson Clark.) 
 
 OsCAB Waltee Claek, b. at Manchester, 1857; d. at Stoddard, 1862. 
 AxxA Eliza Claek, b. at Stoddard, 18G4; d. at N., Oct. 28, 1882. 
 
 CLARK III. 
 
 De. Alexander Teacy Claek, son of John, b. at Londonderry, July 8, 
 1769; m. Sarah Stinson of Dunbarton, b. 1778. They came to N. about 
 1802 and he practised his profession. 
 
 He was a student of Dr. Ebenezer Lerned of Hopkinton. He erected 
 a two-story house on the site of Elmer Gale's newly-erected home. 
 Years later it was moved across the river. He was a fine physician 
 and a fellow of the New Hampshire Medical Society in 1816. They had 
 six children. An unfortunate controversy v%-ith a neighbor led to his un- 
 timely death by poison, March 11, 1821. He was a representative in 
 1815-'16. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Archibald Stixson Claek, b. at Dunbarton, April 21, 1796; m. Pris- 
 cilla Oilman Chase, Sept. 9, 1819. He was first a clerk in Aaron 
 Woodman's store at the Centre and in 1818 began trade for himself 
 where the town hall, Tilton, now stands. He was burned out here in 
 1828 and again in 1838. After 1838 they resided in N., where she d. 
 May 11, 1871. He was in business over 40 years and d. May 2, 1877. 
 They were the parents of nine children, two of whom d. in childhood. 
 He was clerk of the town and represented it in the Legislature of 
 1843-'44. He was also postmaster at Sanbornton Bridge. 
 
 De. Johx Claek, b. at Dunbarton, Feb. 13, 1798, read medicine with 
 his father and graduated at Dartmouth College in 1823 and practised 
 in Sutton. M., June 3, 1823, Abagail H. B. Taylor of N. He d. Nov. 
 29, 1831, and she, Oct. 23, 1836. They had four children. Sarah A. m. 
 Joseph W. Kimball. Nathan T. lived in California and owned quick- 
 silver mines. Helen L. m. Walter Ingalls of Sanbornton. 
 
 Naxcy Claek, b. June 17, 1801; d. in Nashua, Oct. 12, 1877, unmarried. 
 
 Thomas Jeffebsox Claek, b. at N. in 1803; m., Dec, 1826, Abagail 
 M. Thomas and resided in N., where he d., May, 1827. She d. at Rox- 
 bury, Mass., 1S48. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 57 
 
 Daniel Atkinson Clark, b. Jan., 1813; studied law with Judge 
 Nesmith of Franklin. He was a teacher in Alabama and a lawyer at 
 Louisburg, Ark., where he d. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of Archibald and Priscilla Chase Clark.) 
 
 Carlos De Onis Clark, b. Nov. 12, 1821, in Sanbornton; m. Rhoda 
 Flanders of "Warner. He was a clerk in Sutton, New London and San- 
 bornton Bridge, where he d., Jan. 3, ISGl, perishing in a snow storm 
 on Arch Hill. He was clerk of the town several years and the sixth 
 to hold the office of postmaster at Sanbornton Bridge. Mrs. Clark d. 
 March 26, 1SS7, aged 73. 
 
 Valeria McQuesten Clark, b. at Sanbornton, March 8, 1824; m., 
 Jan. 16, 1845, Horace Brown of Sanbornton. He traded at Clark's 
 Corner. Later he kept hotels in Haverhill and Boston, Mass., and then 
 engaged in the lumber trade in western New York. 
 
 He is supposed to have perished in a storm on the lakes. 
 
 They had two children, Ella Archie and George Henry. The former 
 was for many years a popular teacher. She m., Jan. 21, 1875, Jeremiah 
 
 L. Fogg of Manchester, where they reside. A son, Harry, aged , 
 
 was killed by falling from a moving team. A dau., Mrs. Edith Hodgkins, 
 survives. 
 
 The latter, Dr. George Brown, after his graduation became the 
 successor of Dr. "Wight of Gilmanton. He was a skilful practitioner, 
 a valuable officer of the town and twice served it in the Legislature. 
 He d., , 1904, leaving one son. His aged mother survives. 
 
 Augustus Blodgett Clark, b. at Sanbornton, Aug. 1, 1834, was edu- 
 cated at New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Dartmouth College. 
 He studied law with Judge George W. Nesmith of Franklin and at Low- 
 ell. He served in the Civil "^'ar (see Boys in Blue) and returned and 
 practised law in New York City. He m. Anna Swartout of New York. 
 
 Thomas Benton Clark, b. at Sanbornton, March 23, 1838, served 
 in the Civil "War (see Boys in Blue). He was employed at the woolen 
 mills as a spinner and was found drowned in the "W^innipiseogee River 
 Aug. 11, 1872. 
 
 Otis Story Clark, b. at N., June 28, 1840. He studied dentistry in 
 New York and practised in Richmond. He was engaged later in the 
 sewing machine business in Boston, Mass. 
 
 Electa "W., d. at six years of age. 
 
 George He:^y Clark, b. at N., Dec. 2, 1828, was an iron merchant 
 on Broadway, New York. He resides in Brooklyn and m., April 25, 
 1855, Mary E. Pierce of Lawrence, Mass., and had four children. 
 
 Electa Abby Clark, b. in Sanbornton, May 11, 1S32; d. in N., Nov. 
 22, 18C5. 
 
 CLARK IV. 
 
 James M. Clark, b. at Dorchester in 1794; m., March 10, 1813, Hannah 
 ■^'eeks of Sanbornton, b. Sept., 1784. He was first taxed in N. in 1S36. 
 
58 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 He established his home on the highest available point on Bean Hill. 
 He was a cooper by trade. He d. July 7, 1862, she, Nov. 12, 1870. They 
 had one son. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Joseph C. Clark, b. at N., 1819; m. (first), Dec. 21, 1841, Julia 
 Veasey and had two sons, Charles and Lyman, who removed to the 
 West. She d. July S, 1844. He m. (second) Caroline G. Rines, who 
 d. March 14, 1899. He d. 23 years previous. He also was a cooper 
 and was always called "Jo Noggin." 
 
 CLIFFORD. 
 
 Teistram R. Clifford resided at East N. across the road from the 
 head of Chestnut Pond. He was a farmer and was first taxed in 1S35. 
 He built the house, which was later removed and is now the residence 
 of Gawn E. Gorrell. The land became the property of James N. Forrest, 
 They removed to East Tilton, where both d. at a ripe old age. His 
 mother d. at his home in N. at 91 years of age, June 28, 1858. His 
 father, William Clifford, d. IS years previous. This was the home of 
 the Allison family. 
 
 CLOUGH. 
 
 Philip, oldest child of Obadiah and Sarah Clough, was one of the 
 first settlers in the north-fields of Canterbury. He was b. in Canter- 
 bury, Sept. 15, 1779. He was a brother of Jeremiah, Obadiah, Joseph 
 and Thomas. 
 
 He m. Nancy M. Glidden, dau. of Esquire Charles, March 12, 1807, 
 who received as her marriage portion a large tract of land bordering 
 on the river, extending from the home of Colonel Cate to the Colony 
 and including a mill where the Elm Mills now stand. 
 
 An old house nearby had to be removed, as the railroad track passed 
 directly underneath it. Mr. Clough used to run the mill but sold 
 before his death in part to Nathaniel Holmes, who in turn sold to 
 the "Water Power Co.," the railroad and the seminary. Mr. Clough's 
 wife was an Osgoodite and meetings of that sect were often held at his 
 house. He d. in Sanbornton Sept. 10, 1823, and was buried at Franklin. 
 
 Nancy M. (Glidden) Clough was b. May 25, 1785; d. 4uly 29, 1841. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Abner, b. Dec. 21, 1807; d. April 12, 1853; m. Olive Lefever, March 
 
 4, 1838. 
 
 Mary A., b. May 23, 1809; m. Jesse Young, May 10, 1835. 
 
 Charles G., b. Sept. 15, 1811; d. Sept. 1, 1836. 
 
 Emily C, b. April 6, 1813; d. Dec. 3, 1S67; m. Allan Strong, July 
 
 5, 1845. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 5& 
 
 Sarah E., b. Sept. 4, 1815; m. Jacob Hurd, April 11, 1837. 
 Alice G., b. Sept. 28, 1820; d. June 18, 1887; m. Dr. Camillus Hall, 
 Nov. 22, 1838. 
 
 CLOUGH II. 
 
 Samuel Clough, b. at Salisbury, Mass., April 24, 1714; m. Sarah. 
 Dow, b. Feb., 1708. She d. at Gilmanton. He d. at N. Nov. 22, 1778. 
 They had seven children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 JoN.\THAx Clough, b. at Salisbury, Mass., June 6, 1750, resided there 
 in 1795, as he was collector of taxes for the "West Parish" that year 
 and left soon after to settle near his brother, who had previously 
 moved to Gilmanton. He spent the night on his way at Bay Hill and, 
 learning that the farm of Nathaniel Whitcher, where he was stopping, 
 was for sale, bought it. His wife was Martha True of Salisbury, Mass., 
 b. Feb. 20, 1752, and they had two sons and two dau. She d. Sept. 
 9, 1825. Another brother went to Alton. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (All b. in Salisbury.) 
 
 Samuel Clough, b. Nov. 8, 1778; m. Jane Perry Whicher, who was b. 
 Feb. 6, 1787, and d. Aug. 12, 1818. They had four children. He m. 
 (second), Dec. 31, 1818, Nancy Mathes of Canterbury, b. May 29, 1787, 
 and had five children. He purchased the farm of Daniel Hills at his 
 death in 1816 and this, with other land secured from time to time, 
 constituted an extensive farm. He d. Sept. 28, 1848. She d. Feb. 3, 
 1874. 
 
 Sally Clough, b. Feb. 12, 1781; d. Feb. 9, 1783. 
 
 Sarah Clough, b. April 27, 1784; m., Jan. 28, 1813, Ebenezer E. Dar- 
 ling, and removed to Bristol in 1835. They had one child, Jonathan C, 
 who d. Sept. 9, 1864. Mrs. Darling d. June 9, 1820. He d. April 5. 1875. 
 
 Jonathan Clough. b. March 8, 1790; m. (first), Nov. 21, 1811, Nancy 
 Oilman, b. Jan. 30, 1791, and d. May 14, 1821. He inherited his father's 
 farm, where he spent the remainder of his life, a faithful member 
 of the Methodist Church. They had four children. He m. (second), 
 Jan. 4, 1822, Sophia Woodbury of N. and had five children. He d. July 
 6, 1850. She d. May 11, 1877. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 (Children of Samuel and Jane Whicher Clough.) 
 
 Almira Clough, b. May 2, 1808, went West and d. in the family of 
 her cousin, Emily Wheeler, unmarried. 
 
 John Langdon Clough, b. June 24, 1810, went to Wilmar, Minn., and 
 d. suddenly while returning from dining with a neighbor, Nov. 14, 
 1893. 
 
60 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 Martha Jaxe CLorcH, b. Jan. 3, 1815; d. Dec. 12, 1874; m. Ransom 
 Clough, her cousin, and resided at Arlington Heights, 111. He d. at 
 Palatine, 111. 
 
 Mary Clough, b. March 4, 1817; d. April 22, 1818. 
 
 (Children of Samuel and Nancy Mathes Clough.) 
 
 Mary Clough, 2d., b. Oct. 3, 1819; m., 1843, Charles Kendall of Nashua. 
 She d. March 30, 1845. One child d. in infancy. 
 
 James Moxroe Clough, b. March 27, 1821. He inherited the home- 
 stead and became an extensive and well-to-do farmer. He was injured 
 while removing snow from a roof by falling on a lilac stub which 
 punctured his foot and a week later he d. of lockjaw, Feb. 21, 1886. 
 
 Samuel Adams Clough, b. Jan. 2, 1823; d. Sept. 27, 1833. 
 
 Thomas Stevexs Clough, b. May 23, 1825; m., July 6, 1851, Electa 
 C. Glines. (See Glines gen.) He was well educated and taught several 
 winters. He was employed during the construction of the B., C. and 
 M. Railroad as paymaster and superintendent of culverts and stone- 
 work. 
 
 He was the first Republican representative sent to the Legislature 
 from N. in 1855. He moved to Mendota, 111., in March, 1856, where he 
 was an extensive farmer. Later he was a traveling salesman for a 
 New York house. In 1875 he removed to Paw Paw, where he resided 
 until his death, June 5, 1892. They had a son, Thomas S., Jr., and a 
 dau., Mrs. Geo. E. Hyde. 
 
 Cyxthia Axx Clough, b. Dec. 5, 1827; m., April 15, 1853, Daniel 
 Adams Hills. (See Hills gen.) 
 
 (Children of Jonathan and Nancy Oilman Clough.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Raxsom Forrest Clough, b. Oct. 4, 1812. He studied the higher 
 mathematics with Dudley Leavitt, the almanac maker. He, with his 
 sister and cousin, went West in a big emigrant wagon, being sis 
 weeks on the way. They settled at Elk Grove, 111., in 1836, when 
 Chicago was only a village. He was a surveyor for the growing city. 
 He m., Dec. 24, 1840, Martha Jane Clough (dau. of Samuel) and had 
 six children. He m. (second) Hannah Boyce Clough, widow of his 
 half brother. She was b. in Londonderry, March 8, 1831 
 
 John True Clough, b. Feb. 5, 1814; d. at Kettle Creek, Ga., Jan. 14, 
 1849, where he went in 1837. They had five children. His wife was 
 Lurania E. Miller of Waresboro. They were m. Jan. 2, 1845. 
 
 Emily Clough, b. Dec. 24, 1815; m., Dec. 21, 1840, Ephraim Bartlett 
 Wheeler of Littleton. They lived at Arlington Heights, 111. She d. 
 Jan. 6, 1894. They had eleven children. 
 
 He d. June 2, 1885. He and his son Irving were at work in their 
 shop during a thunder shower. A tree nearby was struck and the 
 room filled with sulphurous gas, which suffocated him and he d. in a 
 few moments. 
 
 Jeremiah S. Clough, b. Jan. 19, 1819, removed to Illinois in 1854, 
 
THOMAS STEVENS CLOUGH. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 61 
 
 where he m. Dorcas Elvira Peck. He d. at Arlington Heights June 12, 
 1887. They had three children. 
 
 (Children of Jonathan and Sophia Woodbury Clough.) 
 
 William Henry Clough, b. Oct. 15, 1823; m. Oct. 15, 1852, Laura 
 Porter Glines. (See portrait.) He was employed on the railroad 
 some years as engineer. After his father's death he bought the home 
 from his brother Warren and remained a prosperous farmer until his 
 death, July 1, 1895. This place remained until recently in the possession 
 of Mrs. Clough and in the name for more than 100 years — one of the 
 most beautiful places in New Hampshire. (See illustration.) The im- 
 mense elm tree in front of the home was set out in 1S12 and the others 
 about 1850. 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. Clough were people of artistic tastes and their home 
 abounded in beautiful and rare furnishings. Mr. Clough represented 
 the town in the Legislature in 1886 and served on the committee on 
 agriculture. Mrs. Clough still resides in town. 
 
 Nancy Oilman Clough, b. Aug. 9, 1825; m., Nov. 7, 1855, John S. 
 Parsons of Rochester, where she still resides. He d. March 21, 1894. 
 They had two children, Addie Florence, with whom she resides, and 
 a son, Charles W., who d. Dec. 22, 1903. Mrs. Parsons was one of the 
 first enrolled students at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary, 
 where he later became a student. 
 
 Joseph Warren Clough, b. Jan. 3, 1828; m., June 3, 1852, Hannah 
 Jane Boyce of Londonderry and settled in Evanston, 111., where he d. 
 Oct. 29, 1862, leaving one son, Harry L., now a real estate dealer in 
 Chicago. 
 
 • Charles Wesley Clough, b. Dec. 28, 1832, was a soldier in the Civil 
 War (see Boys in Blue), was disabled, and later was a farmer in New 
 Boston, where he d., Aug. i, 1884, unmarried. 
 
 RuFus George Clough, b. Jan. 31, 1837, went to Evanston, 111., in 
 1855. He enlisted, Sept. 9, 1861, in the Eighth Illinois Cavalry (see 
 Boys in Blue) and d. in hospital at Washington, D. C, May 23, 1862, 
 and was buried at Arlington Heights, D. C. 
 
 There is no one of the name remaining in town and but few of the 
 line, though there are many elsewhere. 
 
 CLOUGH III. 
 
 William Clough came to N. from Barnstead. He owned the farm 
 later owned by William French and still later known as the Lyford 
 Morrison place. After some years he returned to his native town. 
 
 They had no children, but made a home for a nephew of Mr. Clough 
 and also a niece of Mrs. Clough, Martha J. T. Carr, who became the 
 wife of ^vllliam Evans of Pittsfield. (See Evans gen.) The nephew, 
 William H. Clough, was the principal of the Rumford School In Con- 
 cord and later registrar of deeds for Merrimack County. They had a 
 dau. Ida, now the wife of West. 
 
•62 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 CRAM. 
 
 Henbt L. Cram, b. at Westfield, Mass., Nov., 1843; m., Isruena E. 
 'Gate (see Gate gen.), b. Dec. 6, 1847. He was a soldier in the Givil 
 War (see Boys in Blue). They had one child. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Herbert Lerot Gram, b. at N. Sept. 2, 1872, and resided with his 
 -mother on the homestead. He m., Dec. 24, 1904, Ada J. Brown, and 
 moved to her home on Bean Hill. 
 
 COLBY. 
 
 JosiAH GoLBT, b. at Sandown; m., Oct. 23, 1819, Sally French of East 
 N., where they resided and had a family of four. They removed later 
 to Factory Village, now Belmont, where she d. He m. (second) Betsey 
 Gross of West N. 
 
 Mr. Golby's grandfather was a soldier and was sent as one of a detail 
 to rebuild a stockade fort at Hinsdale for Golonel Hinsdale. He was 
 captured by Indians and taken to Ganada, where he was adopted by a 
 squaw because he resembled her dead son. 
 
 She was greatly enraged, however, to find he carried a pocket 
 Bible. The priest was sent for and the book taken from him and he 
 was sold as a slave at Montreal. He at once purchased his freedom 
 and returned to his home. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Mary Jane Golbt, the youngest dau., went with her father to the 
 Ephraim Gross place, where she resided until her marriage. May 29, 
 1850, to Daniel Glay, when she removed to Sanbornton Bridge, where 
 -she d., leaving one son, Myron. (See Davis gen.) Mr. Glay d. Aug. 6, 
 1900. He had previously m. (second) Mrs. Golby. Myron now re- 
 sides in Brooklyn, N. Y. 
 
 AMOS M. COGSWELL. 
 
 Amos Moody Gogswell (see portrait) was b. at Canterbury Uplands, 
 July 14, 1825; m., Dec. 1, 1853, Hannah A. Ames, b. at Canterbury, Dec. 17, 
 1825. He remained with his father on the farm until his majority and 
 then followed various pursuits until 1855, when he entered the employ 
 of the B., G. & M. Railroad as station agent at N., where he resided 
 during the War of the Rebellion. It was a time of great activity 
 there as the Concord Raih'oad was buying and shipping large quan- 
 tities of wood, all of which he surveyed and shipped. Some of his 
 day's work surveying covered more than 2,000 cords. He was also In 
 the same capacity at Wentworth, where he lost his right leg in an 
 
AIHUS MOODY COGSWELL. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 63 
 
 accident. He was one of the selectmen in N. three years and treasurer 
 for two. He was also superintendent of schools. He was appointed 
 justice of the peace at 28 and held a commission ever afterwards. 
 After 30 years' service for the railroad he opened a real estate office 
 at Lakeport, where he d., July, 1903. Mrs. Cogswell d. at Lakeport, 
 July, 1904. They have a dau., Marianna, a teacher in Wellesley Col- 
 lege. 
 
 COLLINS. 
 
 Aaro.n Collins was the first of the name in town, where he dis- 
 tinguished himself by being the first child born here. He is next 
 heard from as standing on his head on the ridgepole of the meeting- 
 house on the day of the raising. He m. Sally Dearborn and had a 
 family of one and perhaps more. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Bexjamix Collixs, b. at N., 1802; m. Abagail Glines and lived on 
 the Colony. They had five sons. She d. July 17, 1SS2, aged 80. He 
 d. Nov. 15, 1889, aged 87. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Bex.jamix Collixs, Jr., b. 1831; m., Jan. 7, 1848, Alice Cross, b. 1830. 
 They had a family of ten. She d. April 24, 1871. He m. (second) 
 Jane Murphy and resided near Tilton. He d. at Boscawen, 1S8S. 
 
 John Collins, b. Oct. 24, 1831; m. Grace Dearborn and had three 
 dau. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) He was 
 a painter and d. Jan. 3, 1903. She d. at Northwood. 
 
 George Collixs, b. 1841; m. Mrs. Mary E. Marsh, April 2C, 18G8. He 
 bought part of the Glines farm at the Center, selling it later to Joseph 
 Prescott. 
 
 Charles Collixs now resides on the Bean Hill road, owning a small 
 tract of land. 
 
 Frank E. Collins, b. 1851; m., Feb. 28, 1896, Fanny Jondro, b. at 
 North Hudson, N. Y. Their home on the Forrest road was burned in 
 1904. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 (Children of Benjamin and Alice Cross Collins.) 
 
 Mary, Willie. Alonzo. Abra Ann and Frank all d. in the home be- 
 fore middle life, unmarried. 
 
 Harry Collins, b. 1865; m., June 15. 1890, Annie F. Davis of Bath. 
 He is employed by the railroad, with residence at Plymouth. 
 
 LiLLA Collins m. and removed to Andover. 
 
 John Collins changed his name to John Henry and resides near the 
 Centre. 
 
64 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 B. F. COFRAN. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Benjamin F. Cofran was b., Dec. 19, 1819, in N., and d. Oct. 6, 1903, 
 He lived on Bean Hill until Dec, 1849, moving from there to Lake 
 Village. In the spring of 1862 he removed to N. near what is now 
 Tilton village. He was m. to Priscilla C. Chase, Feb. 19, 1850, by the 
 Rev. Corban C. Curtice. He suffered the loss of his buildings by fire 
 May 27, 1875, and rebuilt the following fall. He was a successful cattle 
 dealer and farmer. In politics he was a Democrat, decided in his views 
 and acted up to the full standard of his convictions. The same qual- 
 ities shown in his private business were conspicuous when he was called 
 by the citizens to the administration of town matters. He was a member 
 of the school committee, selectman, and filled other offices for various 
 and continued terms. His advice and counsel were sought and he was 
 often selected as an administrator, guardian and for other weighty 
 trusts. He was elected representative to the state Legislature in 1S73-- 
 '74 and was chairman of the committee on agriculture the latter year. 
 He had ever a great interest in passing events and was one of the few 
 to put them on record. His note book has been of great assistance in the 
 preparation of this work, as he had a complete list of the deaths 
 occurring in town from 1840 to 1S98. 
 
 CONANT. 
 
 Dea. Peter Conant came to N. in 1823. His son, Liba Conant, had 
 just accepted the pastorate of the newly-organized Congregational 
 Church and his salary being small the records say: "His father offered 
 to make up what was lacking for his support." 
 
 He was a farmer and lived first on the Simonds place and later on 
 the Bean Hill road. He was b. Aug. 3, 1753, and d. at N., May 22, 1825. 
 His wife, Jane, b. 1759, d. at Hebron, May 17, 1846. He is buried in the 
 enclosure by the Town house. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Liba Conant, b. at Bridgewater, Mass; fitted for the ministry at 
 Brown University, graduating in 1823. He was ordained the same 
 year at N. He m., Oct., 1820, Deborah Leach, also of Bridgewater. 
 They had three dau. and a son, Henry, who d. at seven. They re- 
 mained at N. 14 years, going then to Canaan and later to Orford, 
 where both d. (See Ministers of N.) 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Elizabeth J. Conant, b. at N. Nov. 13, 1824; m. Lucius Wilson Ham- 
 mond, a merchant of Bristol. They had two children, Ella Calley, 
 who resides in Denver, and George H., who d. in Bristol. Mrs. Ham- 
 mond d. at Bristol, July 23, 1882. 
 
BENJAMIN F. (JUFKAN. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 65 
 
 Sarah Anx Coxant, b. at N. Feb. 8, 1S27; m. Joseph H. Keyes of 
 Massachusetts. They had a son, Joseph Everett, who resides in Hebron. 
 Mr. Keyes d. in Hebron, Dec. 5, 1S98. She d., in Bristol, March 26, 1882. 
 
 Ellex McAllister Coxaxt, b. at N., Oct. 19, 1833; m., Oct. 11, 1853, 
 David Everett Willard of Orford. He was a merchant there until 
 1882, when he removed to Concord, where he resided until his death, 
 Jan 17, 1895. She d. Nov. 6, 1903. They had four children: Ellen 
 Augusta of Concord; Everett Wheeler of Toledo, O.; Sarah Rebecca, 
 who d., ISSl, and Stedman of Boston, Mass. 
 
 COOK. 
 
 Joiix Browx Cook was first taxed in N. in 1833. He bought the 
 farm now owned by Frank Shaw and, being past middle life, only 
 farmed in a small way. He m.( first) Sarah Taylor of Epping, who d. 
 May, 1858, at Lynnfield, Mass. They had nine children, none of whom 
 were b. in town. Mrs. Cook d. at N. He m. (second) Mrs. Bean of 
 Freedom, Me. She d. in 1868. He m. (third) Mrs. Ordway of Saugus, 
 Mass. He remained in town 15 years, and d. at Lynnfield, Mass., in 
 1887. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Rebecca Cook d. in infancy at Exeter. 
 
 LoviXA N. Cook m. Charles Proctor of Biddeford, Me., and d. there, 
 June, 18S5. 
 
 Harriet B. Cook d. at N. of typhoid fever, Aug. 15, 1848, aged 21 
 years. 
 
 Rebecca Cook, b. 1824; d. at N. Sept. 12, 1846. 
 
 Daxiel p. Cook was killed by a stationary engine at "Wakefield, Mass., 
 1885. He m. Sarah Reed of Lynnfield, Mass. 
 
 David Cook, d. May, 1862, at Lynnfield, Mass. 
 
 S-VRAH CoFFix Cook, m. T. A. Parsons of Wakefield, Mass., and has 
 kindly assisted the author to the family data. 
 
 Otis Cook, m. Judith Hardy of Freedom, Me., and d. at Woburn, 
 Mass., in 1873. 
 
 Maxfred Cook m. Mary Ellen Wiley of Lynnfield, Mass., and d., 1875, 
 at Woburn, Mass. 
 
 Mrs. Cook and two dau. are buried in the yard by the town house at 
 N. 
 
 COPP I. 
 
 JoHx Copp. b. 1792, came to N. from Sanbornton and bought or built 
 a house on Whicher Hill, where F. B. Shedd's residence now stands. 
 He m., Sept. 18, 1822, Ruhama Rollins of Sanbornton, b. 1797, and 
 had a son and a dau. :Mrs. Copp d. at Belmont Oct. 10, 1872. He d. 
 Oct. 3, 1873. 
 5 
 
66 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Evelina Copp, b. June 28, 1827; m., June 18, 1850, John C. Foster 
 of Belmont, where they resided. They had four children, Orrin W., 
 Laura E., Flora A. and Sarah H. Mrs. Foster d. March 28, 1860. 
 
 JoH^f Copp, b. Sept. 15, 1831; m., and d. at N. Jan. 27, 1860, leaving 
 one dau., Allie G., who resided at Wakefield, Mass. 
 
 COPP II. 
 
 Amos Kimball Copp was b. at Gilmanton Nov. 18, 1833; m., March 
 20, 1851, Julia Ann Evans of N. He was a carpenter; served in the 
 Civil War, credited to Loudon (see Boys in Blue). They came to N. 
 in 1890 and bought the sash and blind shop built by Pease Bros, and 
 later the Sanborn Shaw place, where she now resides in feeble health. 
 He d. July 16, 1892. They had no children. She had three brothers 
 and four brothers-in-law in the army of the Rebellion. 
 
 COPP III. 
 
 Simeon Copp, b. at Gilmanton May 22, 1815; m. Betsey O. Currier and 
 lived on Drew Hill, where he was a farmer. He d. there. They had 
 three children. She removed to N. about 1865 and erected a home on 
 Park St., and the children became students at the seminary. They 
 were all members of the Methodist Church. She m. (second), Deacon 
 George C. Lancaster. (See Lancaster gen.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Timothy Copp, b. 1847; d. at N. March 31, 1877. 
 
 Carrie May Copp, b. at Gilmanton, 1848; d. at N. July 16, 1870. 
 
 Abbie Copp, b. 1857; d. at N. Jan. 14, 1878. 
 
 CORLISS. 
 
 GoRRELL Corliss came from Meredith in 1854 to the Osgood place. 
 He was b. at Meredith, March 6, 1810; m., Dec. 14, 1834, Mary Smith 
 of Meredith, b. Sept. 25, 1815. They had seven children. He m. 
 (second), Nov., 1854, Lucy Morrill, b. Dec. 22, 1808. He d. Oct. 27, 
 1873. She d. Feb. 12, 1877. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Smith D. Corliss, b. March 16, 1836; d. at Yarmouth, Va. (See Boys 
 in Blue.) 
 Mary E. Corliss, b. Sept. 26, 1837. 
 Charles F. Corliss, b. Oct. 16, 1839; d. in infancy. 
 George W. Corliss, b. Feb. 22, 1842. 
 
GENEALOGIES, 67 
 
 Charles F. Corliss, d., 1S61, at Washington, D. C, on his way to the 
 seat of war. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 Martha J. Corliss, b. Jan. 18, 184G; date of death unknown. 
 
 Ellex Corliss, b. Feb. 19, 1847; d. Sept., 1888. 
 
 George W. Corliss, b. Feb. 22, 1842; m. Sarah A., dau. of Ebenezer 
 and Urania Dal ton Calef. (See Calef gen.) They had three children. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Amos Laroy Corliss, b. Dec. 4, 1872; d. Dec. 2, 1875. 
 
 Arthur Henry Corliss, b. Aug. 8, 1874; m., Dec. 9, 1903, Alice G. 
 Shaw of N., b. Jan. 9, 1879. (See Shaw gen.) Mrs. Corliss graduated 
 from New Hampton Literary Institute, class of 1895, and was a popu- 
 lar teacher until her marriage. Mr. Corliss is a farmer on the home- 
 stead of his father at East N., and road commissioner, in 1905. 
 
 Harvey W. Corliss, b. April 18, 1880. 
 
 CORBETT. 
 
 Charles A. Corbett came to N. from Wilton in 1896. He was b. at 
 Limerick, Me., Aug. 26, 1845. He m., Jan. 5, 1867, Mary A. Ransom, 
 who was b. at Randolph, Mass., June 11, 1846. He was an overseer 
 at the Elm Woolen Mills for eight years but later found employment 
 at Lakeport, but still resides at N., where they have a fine home on Park 
 St. They have two children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 William E. Cordett, b. at East Rochester Dec. 28, 1867; m. Delia 
 Conners of Wilton. He is a carder by trade and now resides at East 
 Rochester. They have three children. 
 
 Mary E. Corbett, b. at East Rochester, April 15, 1870; m. Elmer 
 L. Cleveland of Newport, Vt. He is a farmer and teamster. They 
 reside at Concord. 
 
 CRAWFORD. 
 
 William J. Crawford came to N. in 1887 from Glasgow, Scotland, 
 where he was b. in 1866, and m. Letitia G. Miller of Glasgow. They 
 had four sons. He was a carpenter and by industry and economy 
 secured a home on Park St. They moved to Readville, Mass., in 1902, 
 but still retain their property in town. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (B. at N.) 
 Sammy Cr-\wford, b. ISSS. 
 William J. Crawford, Jr., b. Dec. 14, 1893. 
 Edwin R. Crawford, b. Jan. 19, 1896. 
 Robert Crawford, b. 1898. 
 
68 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 CROSS I. 
 
 Doubtless all of the name in Merrimack County are descendants of 
 Stephen, who came from Newbury, Mass., to "Conteucook" (Boscawen), 
 and bought land of Samuel and Elizabeth Emery Jan. 25, 1750. This 
 deed is duly recorded on page 325, vol. 39, of the old land records. 
 
 There is a second, dated May 24, 1768, and a third to a mill right in 
 Boscawen, and others covering original lots Nos. 1, 9, 10, 16, 15, 174, 
 15, 22. He is recorded as a shipwright and a deed, or right, from 
 King and Queen, William and Mary, gives him a right to cut trees in 
 New England for masts. 
 
 He m. Hannah Guild or Gile and some of their children remained 
 in Newbury and Haverhill when they came to N. In 1785 John, 
 Thomas, Jesse, were taxed, as were John, Jr., and Thomas, Jr. He 
 m. (second), Hannah Marsh and had a son Ephraim (see) and dau. 
 Hannah. He and Hannah Gile Cross, it is said, are buried at the 
 Williams Cemetery. 
 
 His second wife, and dau. Betsey, after his death, went to reside in 
 Northern New Hampshire with her brother. Colonel Johnson. 
 
 His sons, John, Parker, Jesse, Thomas, became the founders of the 
 "Cross Settlement," the first business houses in town (see Early 
 Business) on the Merrimack intervale. 
 
 Ephraim, the youngest, was a lifelong resident in N., as was Will- 
 iam (see), son of Jesse, who had 13 children. Several of these follow 
 in regular genealogical order. 
 
 Thomas and Moses Cross were in the Revolutionary War. John and 
 Parker were at Bunker Hill. 
 
 Stephen Ceoss, for many years a tailor at Sanbornton Bridge, was 
 a son of the original Stephen. 
 
 Hanxah Cross, youngest dau., m., Nov. 20, 1808, Daniel Mitchell of 
 Andover. 
 
 Phebe Cross (perhaps her sister) m. Israel Walker of Boston. 
 
 CROSS 11. 
 
 Abraham Cross was b. in Salisbury June 11, 1775; m., Jan. 21, 1800, 
 Ruth Sawyer of Canterbury, whose father, Dea. Francis Sawyer, kept 
 a ferry two miles below the Cross settlement. He had a family of 20 
 children, all but two of whom lived to maturity. He was in the French 
 and Revolutionary Wars and had two sons killed in the battle when 
 Burgoyne surrendered, and was there himself. Mr. Sawyer d. at 99 
 years, 9 months and 27 days, and ran his ferry boat to the last year 
 of his life. Mr. Cross resided near Deacon Sawyer for eight years 
 then he settled on the Winnipiseogee at what has ever since been 
 known as Cross' Mills. He erected a sawmill and small house on the 
 Sanbornton side in 1804. The water passed down to it in a canal or 
 flume on the north side of the dam which he built. It was several 
 rods below the present one. The mill and house were below the pulp 
 mill. John Clark owned one half the right. Mr. Cross sold out to 
 
GENEALOGIES. 69 
 
 Satchwell Clark; lived later in Holderness and d. at N., Sept. 24, 1S53. 
 She d. April 15, ISCS. They had nine children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Eunice Cross, b, at Canterbury Oct. 2, ISOO; m., Oct. 17, 1832, 
 Nathan Currier, a farmer of Methuen, where they spent their lives. 
 While on a visit to Tilton she d. of pneumonia Oct. 15, 1874. 
 
 They had two sons, Joseph, who d. at Bloomington, 111., and S. E. 
 D. Currier of Roxbury, Mass. 
 
 Jerejiiah Cross. (See portrait and sketch.) 
 
 Hiram Cross, b. at Sanborn ton Sept. 15, 1804; m., Aug. 28, 1832, 
 Lydia Robie. He was a carpenter and resided in Plymouth. They 
 had one son. Mr. Cross d. at N. Nov. 7, 1874. She lives with her son 
 and is past 90 years of age. 
 
 Sarah C. Cross, b. at Salisbury Oct. 23, 1806; m., Oct. 17, 1832, 
 Joseph Benson of Kittery, Me. He was employed for many years at 
 Colt's armory at Hartford, Conn., and was an inventor of various useful 
 appliances as well as a skilful worker in metals. Later he erected a 
 home in South Boston, where she d., 1888. He reached extreme age 
 and d. at Jamaica Plain 1899. 
 
 LuciNDA Cross, b. Feb. 21, 1809; m., 1836, Rufus Colby, a dealer in 
 hats and furs in Boston, Mass. She d. June 21, 1840. 
 
 Judith Maria Cross, b. Sept. 14, 1811; m. (first), Albert Rodliff of 
 Lowell, Mass., and had one dau., Isadore Dow of Waterville, Me. She 
 m. (second), Silas L. Ashley of West Springfield, Mass., and had a 
 dau., Clara Gilbert of Boston. She d. Dec. 10, 1850. 
 
 Clara Cross, b. Feb. 19, 1814; d. at 11 years. 
 
 William Plummer Cross, b. at Sanbornton July 4, 1816; m., Aug. 31, 
 1844, Ann Forrest of N., b. Oct. 19, 1823. He studied medicine while 
 employed in his brother's sawmill and practised as an old school phy- 
 sician in Wisconsin and Chicopee, Mass. Later he studied with Dr. 
 Paine of Albany, N. Y., and graduated at the Cleveland, 0., Homeo- 
 pathic Medical College in 1S53. He was in practice many years in 
 Nantucket, where he gained wealth and reputation. In 1860 he 
 took up his abode in South Boston, where he practised until his 
 death in 1888 and where his family now reside. Dr. Cross was a 
 Mason and an Odd Fellow and was prominent in the Dorchester St. 
 M. E. church and president of its board of trustees. He was in early 
 life a military man and was captain in the Thirty-eighth Regiment New 
 Hampshire ^lilitia. They have one dau., Dr. Grace E. Cross, who, a 
 graduate of Boston University, succeeded to her father's extensive prac- 
 tice. Two other children d. in infancy. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Jeremiah and Sarah Lyford Cross.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Clara Axx Cross, b. Nov. 25, 1830; m., Dec. 7, 1853, George W. Fitts, 
 
 a carpenter, and resided in Franklin, where both d. He d. Oct. 2, 
 
70 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 1859. She d. Feb. 11, 1872. They had one son, George W. Fitts, Jr., 
 now of Chichester. He has one dau., Clara. 
 
 Or.ivEK Lyford Cross, b. Nov. 4, 1831; d. in infancy. 
 
 Oliver Lyford Cross, 2xd., b. June 11, 1836; m., Nov. 16, 1866, Lucy 
 R. Hill of N. (See Lawyers of N.) 
 
 Sarah Benson Cross, b. Oct. 20, 1839; m., June 30, 1873, James G. 
 Jenkins of Eliot, Me. He was a farmer and carpenter at Rockport, 
 Mass. He d. at Dover. She resides at Randolph, Mass. 
 
 Daniel J. Cross, b. at N. May 26, 1849, was educated at New Hamp- 
 shire Conference Seminary. He was for some years clerk in the 
 grocery store of Bond & Winch, South Boston, later buying the busi- 
 ness, which he continued until his health failed. He m. Georgianna 
 Mace of Napoleonville, La. They had two children, Clarence and Vira, 
 both of Boston, Mass. Mr. Cross d. at Revere March 25, 1899. 
 
 Mrs. Cross m. (second), Dea. John Hood of South Boston, Mass. 
 
 (Child of Hiram and Lydia Robie Cross.) 
 Hiram Bliss Cross, b. July 9, 1833, read medicine at Harvard Med- 
 ical School and Homeopathic Medical College, Cleveland, 0., grad- 
 uating in 1866. He practised five years at South Boston and since 
 1871 at Jamaica Plain, Mass. His skillful and gentle ministrations in 
 the sick room have endeared him to a large class of patrons. He has 
 been twice m. (first), to Hattie McKenzie, who d. Oct. 16, 1859; (sec- 
 ond), to Emily L. Haskins of Concord, June 20, 1871. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Oliver and Lucy Hill Cross.) 
 
 ARTHUR BENSON CROSS. 
 
 Aetiiue B. Cross, b. at Montgomery City, Mo., May 31, 1868; m., Sept. 
 12, 1895, Nellie E. Searles, b. at Andover, Dec. 20, 1866. He learned 
 the printer's trade with the Republican Press Association of Concord, 
 N. H., followed by three years in charge of their stereotyping depart- 
 ment. In 1892, he was sent by the firm to St. Louis to secure appara- 
 tus for a photo-engraving plant and to learn the business, since which 
 time until his death, Jan. 22, 1905, he was in charge of the art depart- 
 ment of the Rumford Printing Co. His biographer says: "Through all 
 his years of study, toil and advancement he never rendered any other 
 service than the very best his body and mind were capable of. His 
 mind was keenly scientific in its bent and although self-educated be- 
 yond the point where his studies at Tilton Seminary had terminated, 
 few persons of collegiate training were better informed than he upon 
 the branches of chemistry and physics, of which he was most fond. 
 He grasped intuitively many phases of science which are unfolded to 
 most minds only after long and careful research. 
 
 "One had never to apologize for him or make excuses for him because 
 of habits, tastes or traits. It was natural for him to be manly and 
 true and these qualifications in others were the foundations upon which 
 he liked to build his friendships. He was particularly interested in all 
 movements that applied the great truths of the gospel. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 71 
 
 "Besides being an earnest member of the Congregational Church and 
 serving its Sunday Scliool as its superintendent for several j'ears, he 
 was a loyal Christian Endeavorer, and for a term the state president. 
 He was also a working member of the Y. M. C. A., serving all with the 
 same devotion and cheerful service that characterized his short but 
 intensely useful life." 
 
 ROBERT LEE CROSS. 
 
 Robert Lee Cross was b. at Montgomery City, Mo., Jan. 26, 1872. He 
 spent his boyhood in the home at Northfield Depot and attended the 
 public schools and Tilton Seminary. He learned the printer's trade at 
 Tilton and Concord and excelled in artistic w'ork; later, was connected 
 with both the Republican and Democratic Press associations of Con- 
 cord, which place was his home after 1SS9. He was business manager 
 of the Merrimack Journal of Franklin in 1892. He held various posi- 
 tions in social and religious organizations. As a member of the South 
 Congregational Church and leader in the Society of Christian Endeavor, 
 he was ever on duty and these labors occupied a large share of his 
 thought and attention. 
 
 Companionable and friendly, steadfast and sincere, his character had 
 impressed itself in helpful, uplifting ways on all about him. He gave 
 no half-hearted service to anything he undertook. Though hardly at- 
 taining his majority, he had accomplished more than most could do in 
 a much longer life. Uniformly cheerful, his joyful service attested the 
 genuineness of the motives that governed his life. He passed to the 
 higher life with hardly a moment's warning, Aug. 24, 1893. 
 
 Evelyn Montgomery Cross, b. at N. Jan. 6, 1875, graduated from the 
 Concord High School in 1894 and taught two years following. In 1896 
 she took a two years' course of normal kindergarten work and was 
 kindergartner in the Boston Summer School, later conducting private 
 classes at Concord. She m. Charles J. Van Cor of Boston, Sept. 19, 
 1902. They reside at Somerville, Mass. 
 
 CROSS III. 
 
 Epiir.\im Cross was the son of Stephen and Hannah Marsh Cross. 
 He was b. on the Intervale about 1785 and m. Sally Keniston and 
 resided on a third of her father's homestead, the latter dividing his 
 estate among his three daughters, who were settled almost within 
 sight of each other and the home (see Keniston gen.) on the Leigh ton 
 road, now called High St. 
 
 Mr. Cross was a farmer and had four dau. and twin sons, who d. in 
 infancy. He d. Sept. 21, 1849. She d. 31 years later while at her 
 daughter's in "Warner on a visit. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 Betsey Cross remained in the home. She m. Josiah Colby of San- 
 bornton when both were nearly 70 years old. He came to live at her 
 home and d. there at 90. She m. (second), Hiram Gould of Franklin. 
 She d. at 89. 
 
72 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 
 
 Haeriet Cross m., Dec. 24, 1S49, Rufus Page of Warner, where botb 
 d. They had four dau., Mrs. Addie Bly of Bradford, Malinda Roby, 
 Sarah Peck and Mrs. Emma Gage, the three last of "Warner. 
 
 Mary Cross m., Nov. 22, 1846, Henry Johnson of Warner. She cared 
 for her mother in her extreme age. 
 
 Nancy Cross m., 1818, David Davis of Warner. 
 
 CROSS IV. 
 
 William Cross, b. at N. March 29, 1790; m., Feb. 11, 1811, Ruth, 
 dau. of David Keniston, b. Nov. 7, 1792. They spent their whole lives 
 on the farm near the Ledges and there reared a family of 11 chil- 
 dren. He d. Feb. 6, 1879. She d. Jan. 15, ISSS. It is said that he 
 never missed the annual town meeting. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Jaxe Cross, b. July 31, 1811; m. Joseph Locke of Sanbornton. They 
 moved to Minnesota after a few years at Boscawen. They had six 
 children, three of whom d. in childhood. After the death of Mr. 
 Locke she returned to her home, where she d. Sept., 1878. 
 
 Sally Cross, b. March 18, 1813; d., March 3, 1837. 
 
 Statira Cross, b. May 9, 1815; m., Aug. 31, 1846, Frederick Collins 
 of Goffstown. Mrs. Collins d. at N. March, 1897. 
 
 Fidelia Cross, b. Oct. 3, 1817; m., March 9, 1840, Franklin Burnham 
 of Concord. They had two dau., Clara, wife of Dr. Warren Gordon 
 of Ogunquit, Me., and Mrs. Mary Knowles of Northwood, neither of 
 whom survive. Mr. Burnham still resides at Concord at 95 years of 
 age. 
 
 Betsey Cross, b. Dec. 13, 1819; m., Sept. 28, 1846, William Roby of 
 Merrimack. (See Roby gen.) 
 
 Martha Cross, b. March 25, 1822, was a tailoress, going from house 
 to house for many years. She later resided with her sister in Clarks- 
 ville, where she d. in 1881. 
 
 Charles C. Cross, b. March 15, 1824; m. (pub.), Aug. 20, 1853, Re- 
 becca Wyatt of Franklin and had a son and dau. He resided on or 
 near the home farm and for some years manufactured brick from a 
 clay bank on the premises. 
 
 William K. Cross, b. Oct. 29, 1826, and d. at 11 years. 
 
 Hiram H. Cross, b. Jan. 22, 1829; m., Nov. 6, 1856, Mrs. Sally Presby, 
 b. at N. April 18, 1827. He went to California in 1851, returning after 
 two years. He served in the Civil War (see Boys in Blue) and has 
 since farmed extensively in N. and Andover. He has been a famous 
 builder of "stone-wall" for F. B. Shedd and elsewhere. They have 
 four children. 
 
 Ruth Cross, b. May 4, 1832; m. Edmund Young of Clarksville and 
 had four children. She d. in 1893. He d. in 1872. A son, Willis, and 
 dau., Martha, reside in West Stewartstown. 
 
 Clarissa Cross, b. Aug. 31, 1836; d. at two years. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 73 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Charles C. and Rebecca Wyatt Cross.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Edw.\kd Wyatt Cross, b. Aug. 22, 1857; m., Oct. 1, 1889, Annie 
 Stewart of Danbury. Mr. Cross bought the Joseph Cofran place, 
 where they reside. They have three sons, Walter Edward, b. 1890; 
 Clarence Vivian, b. 1S93; Merton Stewart, b. 1896. 
 
 Mary W. Cross, b. 1884, graduated at Bates College, Lewiston, Me., 
 and is now a teacher at Plymouth, Mass., where her mother resides. 
 
 (Children of Hiram and Sally Presby Cross.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Emily Jaxe Cross, b. Aug. 12, 1857; m., 1875, Fred Aiken of Franklin 
 Falls and had two children. She m. (second), Peter Kroger. 
 
 William Frederic Cross, b. May 23, 1859; m. W^iggin of San- 
 
 boruton. They reside in Lowell, Mass. 
 
 Orix Jerome Cross, b. Dec. 20, 1861; m., Oct. 6, 1899, Maud Emerson. 
 He resides with his parents on the farm and has one child. 
 
 Ruth Abbie Cross, b. May 24, 1867; m., Nov. 1, 1890, Frank C. Fol- 
 som, a painter and paperhanger. They reside on Park St. 
 
 CROSS V. 
 
 Joxatiiax Cross, b. at Canterbury; m. Betsey, dau. of John Forrest, 
 and lived on and owned the homestead, which they sold to Mr. Leighton 
 in 1817. .He had one son and perhaps other children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Jox.\THAx Forrest Cross, b. 1800; m. Betsey Douglass and had eight 
 children. They resided on the main road, where he was a farmer. 
 He d. June, 1848. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 DiAXTHA Cross m. Jonathan Smith and went to Groton, where they 
 resided many years. 
 
 Joseph M. Cross, b. 1826; m., 1849, Clarissa Moore of N. and resided 
 on the Bean Hill road. They had 10 children. He was a farmer on 
 the Rogers homestead, where he d., March 9, 1901. She d. June 12, 
 1877. 
 
 Jefferson Cross went West and m. a woman of Scotch parentage and 
 had 10 children. 
 
 John Cross m., 1853, Adaline Riley of East N., where she was b. 
 1834. She d. June 22, 1858. He is buried with the Riley family. 
 
74 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELU. 
 
 Aloxzo Cross m., Feb. 19, 1SG2, Mrs. John Cross, his sister-in-law. 
 She d. and he remarried and resides at Groton. He has one son, Lester. 
 
 Alice Cross, b. 1830; m., 1850, Benjamin Collins. (See Collins gen.) 
 
 Sarah Cross was drowned in the Merrimack River Aug., 1846. 
 
 William Henry Cross m. Harriet Prescott of Franklin, b. Nov. 19, 
 1845, and had one dau., Ella M., b. Dec. 31, 18G6, who m. Dana Wood- 
 ward and resides at Franklin Falls. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Joseph and Clara Moore Cross.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Frank Cross, b. Dec. 4, 1850; m., Jan. 15, ISSO, Ellen Fogerty of 
 Boston.' He is a general farmer and resides on Oak St. 
 
 Clara Cross, b. 1853; d., May 4, ISGO. 
 
 Sarah Cross, b. 1855; m. Frank Corser of Webster, where they re- 
 side and Mr. Corser has employment in a sawmill. 
 
 Albert Cross, b. 1857, resides on the home place on the Bean Hill 
 road. 
 
 Fred H. Cross, b. Dec. 6, 1859; m., Jan. 22, 1890, Ida M. Downing, 
 b. at Lakeport, 1873. He is a coarse stone worker and resides on 
 Arch St. They have two sons. 
 
 Warren Cross, b. 1862; d., Nov. 10, 1S67. 
 
 Maria Cross, d. Feb. 20, 1865, aged three days. 
 
 Flora M. Cross, b. 1867; m. (first), Nov. 3, 1883, Porter M. Hay- 
 ward. (See Hayward gen.) They had two children. She m. (second), 
 Jan. 10, 1899, Albert A. Carr of Gilmanton. He is a farmer and they 
 reside on the Joseph Smith farm on the Bean Hill road. 
 
 Charles Cross, b. 1869, resides at Webster. 
 
 Walter B. Cross, b. 1872; m., March 19, 1892, Abbie B. Chase of 
 Webster, b. 1875. He resides in the home with his brother and has 
 two children. 
 
 Fifth generation. 
 (Children of Fred H. and Ida M. Downing Cross. 
 
 Earl F. Cross, b. Sept. 4, 1892. 
 Lawrence R. Cross, b. March 30, 1894. 
 
 (Children of Walter B. and Abbie B. Chase Cross.) 
 
 Frank Cross, b. Feb. 8, 1893. 
 
 Ruby Cross, b. at Webster Sept., 1895. 
 
 CUNNINGHAM. 
 
 Arthur F. Cunninghaim was b. March 11, 1855, at Hogansburg, N. 
 Y. He m., Sept. 1, 1886, Amelia Richards, b. April 11, 1854, at 
 Helena, N. Y., and had three children. 
 
HANNAH TIBBETTS CURRY. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 75 
 
 He was an ice dealer in Boston for 10 years and continued the 
 •same business at N. in 1S91. He is a police ofl&cer. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Arthur Austin Cux.mxgham and Julia Alice Cuxxixgham, twins, 
 b. at Chai'lestown, Mass., April 10, 18S9, are both members of the 
 Sophomore class of Tilton Seminary. 
 
 Raymond A. Cunningham, b. at N. Nov. 3, 1892. 
 
 CURRY. 
 
 Robert Curry was b. in Canterbury April 30, 1757. He was the son 
 of William Curry of Londonderry, who came from the north of Ireland 
 and m. Nancy McFarland. Robert m. Olive Heath, b. in Canterbury 
 Feb. 7, 1771. They were farmers near the Gilmanton line. He d. 
 there Jan. 20, 1829. She d. Aug. 24, 1855. They had nine children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Nancy Curry, b. June 2, 1796; d. at Franklin, July 29, 1860. 
 
 John Curry, b. 1798; m. (first), Dec. 22, 1822, Betsey Clough of N. 
 and was a farmer at "Tin Corner." She d. June 12, 1856. He m. 
 (second), Aug. 25, 1857, Mrs. Sarah Plummer Goodrich of N., and later 
 returned to N. and resided on Bay St. while erecting the home on 
 School St., Tilton, where he d. She still resides in the home at an ad- 
 vanced age. 
 
 He represented Sanbornton in the Legislature in 1840-'41 and was 
 one of its selectmen for two terms. He had three children. 
 
 Benjamin Curry", b. Jan. 30, 1800; m. Hannah Tibbetts, b. at N., Feb. 
 "27, 1809. He remained on his father's homestead where their 10 chil- 
 dren were b. Mr. Curry d. June 22, 1852. She removed to the At- 
 kinson house at Tilton four years later, which was destroyed by fire in 
 1875. She rebuilt in 1876 and d. there Dec. 4, 1898. Her sweet cor- 
 diality made her home a social center and "her children rise up and 
 call her blessed." (See portrait.) 
 
 Susan Curry, b. at N. April 20, 1802; m.. May, 1848. Daniel Burleigh 
 of Sanbornton as his fourth wife. He d. Nov. 2, 1855. She survived 
 many years and d. Dec. 23, 1885. 
 
 Samuel Curry, b. April 10, 1804, was a physician at Alton but re- 
 turned home in failing health and d. Feb. 9, 1829. 
 
 Joseph Batchelder Curry was b. at N. March 10, 1807. He taught 
 for many years in Rhode Island and later m. Joanna Sheldon and 
 became a farmer in 1877 at Edmundston, N. Y. He had four children; 
 two sons d. in childhood. 
 
 William McFarland Curry, b. at N. Jan. 29, 1810, was a teacher in 
 Ohio, where he contracted fever and ague, which terminated in con- 
 sumption, of which he d. June 19, 1833. 
 
76 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Olive Curry, b. Dec. 6, ISll; m. George S. Tibbetts of N. She d. 
 Oct. 19, 1S72. They had five children, two of whom d. in childhood. 
 (See Tibbetts gen.) 
 
 Thomas Cuery, b. June 17, 1S15, resided first in Lowell and after- 
 wards in Westford, Mass. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Benjamin and Hannah Tibbetts Curry.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Mary Elizabeth Curry, b. Dec. 26, 1S29; m., May 3, 1S53, David 
 Larue Clifford, a shoemaker and teamster at Tilton, where she d. 
 Jan. 2, 1892. He d. at Franklin Sept. 10, 1S96. They had two dau., 
 Mrs. Helen Davis of Tilton and Mrs. Georgia Stone of Whitman, Mass. 
 
 JoHx Williams Curry, b. Sept. 12, 1832. He went to California in 
 1853, where he d. March 8, 1857. 
 
 Olive Augusta Curry, b. Sept. 7, 1834; d., Nov. 18, 1846. 
 
 Frances Susan Curey, b. May 31, 1836; m., Dec. 1, 1858, Dr. George 
 Ezra Spencer of Belmont, who d. at Hanover Jan. 6, 1866. She was 
 educated at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and taught be- 
 fore her marriage and after his death. She remained in the home 
 until her mother's death and now resides in Tilton. She has traveled 
 abroad and is pi'ominent in church, social and club circles, being the 
 first president of the Northfield and Tilton Woman's Club. 
 
 Sophia Tibbetts Curry, b. March 27, 1S3S; m., Aug. 27, 1860, Charles 
 C. Rogers, a lawyer of Sanbornton Bridge. (See Rogers gen.) She 
 was a graduate of the New Hampshire Conference Female College and 
 a popular teacher. They had five sons, two of whom were buried the 
 same day, Feb. 28, 1873. Mrs. Rogers was a faithful friend, an ideal 
 mother and a devoted Christian woman. She d. at Tilton Nov. 26, 1S96. 
 
 Georgiaxxa Bradley Curry and Josephine Bradbury Curry, b. June 
 27, 1841. The former d. in early womanhood, March 22, 1861. 
 
 Josephine Bradbury Curry m., June 3, 1S6S, Joseph Board of Ches- 
 ter, N. Y. She was a graduate of the New Hampshire Conference 
 Female College, class of 1860. She was a teacher at Santiago, Cuba, 
 and Chester, N. Y., where she d. March, 1SG9. She had one child, wha 
 d. in infancy. 
 
 Annette Carroll Curry and Arabella Clough Curry, b. Aug. 11,^ 
 1845. 
 
 Annette m. (first), Samuel B Noyes of Meredith, March 15, 1866. 
 He d. in Tilton Jan. 15, 1870, leaving one son, Harry L. Noyes, a grad- 
 uate of the Boston, Mass., School of Technology, and now at Niagara 
 Falls in the employ of the American Carbide Co. He removes soon 
 to Chicago, HI. 
 
 She m. (second), Clinton S. Mason of Tamworth. They reside in 
 Boone, la., where he has been a merchant for many years. They have 
 two dau. and a son. Frances Mason was a graduate of Tilton Seminary, 
 taking a post-graduate course at Wellesley and Pratt Institute, Brook- 
 lyn, N. Y. Katherine S. Mason graduated at Lasalle Female Seminary 
 
GENEALOGIES. 77 
 
 and m. Harold J. Coupland, a civil engineer, who was accidentally 
 killed in 1902 at Alabama, where he was surveying a railroad route. 
 She m. (second), June 27, 1905, Prof. Fernald of Columbia University, 
 St. Louis, Mo. Howard C. Mason was a student at Harvard Law 
 School and is now in business in Boston. 
 
 Akarella C. Cvkry m., July 12, 1S65, Enoch George Rogers, b. at 
 Columbia Dec. IG, 1S30. Mr. and Mrs. Rogers are prominent in local 
 and state granges. He was for tive years Master and both are seventh 
 degree members. He was for some years engaged in mercantile pur- 
 suits and the manufacture of starch. They were both teachers in 
 early life. They have traveled extensively and spent several winters 
 in California. 
 
 Hanxah Augusta Curry, b. July 15, 1S48, was a graduate of the New 
 Hampshire Conference Female College, class of 1867. She m., Nov. 3, 
 1870. Joseph Board of Chester, N. Y., her brother-in-law. They still 
 reside there and had a family of five, but three of whom survive. 
 (Children of John and Betsey Clough Curry.) 
 
 Electa A. Curry, b. Oct. 17, 1823; m. (first), Sept., 1840, Perkins 
 Connor of Sanbornton Bridge, where he was a merchant tailor and 
 where he d. Oct. 2, 1841. She m. (second), March 2, 1843, Rufus G. 
 L. Bartlett, also a tailor of Sanbornton Bridge. They had three chil- 
 dren. He d. Jan. 23, 1871. She d. May 2, 1866. 
 
 TiiOJiAs Clough Curry, b. in N. June 2, 1827. He was the second 
 postmaster in the Tilton and Northfield office, being appointed Jan. 20, 
 1841. He d. at the home of his sister at Sanbornton Dec. 3, 1872. 
 
 ]\L\RY Jaxe Ci-rry. b. in Sanbornton Nov. 20, 1830; m., Jan. 4, 1856, 
 Thomas Warren Taylor of Sanbornton "Sqiiare," b. July 7, 1824. Both 
 d. there. He was a prosperous farmer and made a specialty of Here- 
 ford stock. 
 
 DALTON. 
 
 Samuel D.yltox was b. July 29, 1757, in Londonderry. His father, 
 John, came from the north of Ireland. 
 
 Samuel was a Revolutionary soldier four years and two months. 
 He was only 16 at his first enlistment. 
 
 He returned home and, having blistered his hands chopping wood, 
 concluded that a soldier's life was more agreeable and re-enlisted for 
 four years more. 
 
 About 1793 he settled as a farmer in N. His tirst wife was Polly 
 Merrick of Hampstead. She d. July 18. 1820, leaving 11 children. 
 He m. (second), Rachel Gile Wadleigh and had a son and dau. He 
 d. in Upper Gilmanton Jan., 1837. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Joseph Merrick Daltox. b. Jan. 3, 1794, was a stone worker at San- 
 bornton Bridge. He m. Nov.. 1821. Statira Smith. He d. there July 
 3, 1S3S. She d. Aug. 31, 1860. They had six children. 
 
78 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD, 
 
 Caleb Stevens Dalton, b. June 12, 1796. He was a blacksmith at 
 Stewartstown, where he m. Lucette Chandler. He d. April, 1S49, 
 leaving seven children. 
 
 Samuel Dalton, Jr., b. Feb. 17, 1799, removed to Gilmanton, where 
 he was a farmer and where he d. in 1S35. He m. Mary Lyford. They 
 had no children. 
 
 Absolom Dalton, b. July 31, 1802; m., Dec. 11, 1828, Harriet B. 
 Aldrich. He was a stone cutter in many of the largest quarries in 
 New England. He resided a while in Sanbornton. After 15 years he 
 returned to N. and was a farmer for 30 years until his death, Oct. 22, 
 1885. She d. June 11, 1873. They had seven children. 
 
 Maey Dalton, b. Jan. 22, 1804; m., 1862, Porter of Danvers, 
 
 Mass., a tanner. 
 
 John Dalton, b. Aug. 13, 1806; m., Oct. 16, 1832, Narcissa Jane 
 Nudd and lived in Sanbornton. He was a stone cutter and was a cap- 
 tain in the militia. He served also in the War of the Rebellion (See 
 Boys in Blue), Co. D, Twelfth Regiment. They had three children. He 
 d. Dec. 9, 1865. 
 
 Joshua Little Dalton, b. April 19, 1S09; m. Mary Evans and re- 
 moved to Belmont. They had three sons. 
 
 Ransom Smith Dalton, b. Dec. 1, 1811; d., 1819. 
 
 Elbkidge Gerry Dalton, b. May 30, 1814, was three times m., first to 
 Fannie Gordon of New Hampton, Aug. 21, 1839. She d. 1856 and he m. 
 (second), Oct. 18, 1857, Sarah Elizabeth Ambler. She d. Dec. 11, 1858. 
 He m. (third), Aug. 2, 1861. He had six children. 
 
 He was a scholar and teacher at Exeter High School and Chester, 
 Pa. Later he was a student and professor in a medical school at 
 Philadelphia, Pa., and still later was a practicing physician in Cin- 
 cinnati, 0. 
 
 William Henry Harrison Dalton, b. Sept. 2, 1816; m. Nancy Lougee 
 Carr, dau. of Hazen Carr, and resided in Belmont, where he d. Oct. 
 27, 1870. 
 
 Sarah A. Dalton, b. Nov. 24, 1826, was the second wife of Benja- 
 min D. Cilley of Kingston, where she d. in 1859. They had two chil- 
 dren. 
 
 Lorenzo Dow Dalton, b. Feb. 4, 1828; d., Oct. 16, 1847. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Absolom and Harriet Aldrich Dalton.) 
 
 Henry Quimby Dalton, b. Dec. 20, 1829; m., Dec. 9, 1850, Mrs. 
 Sarah L. Weston and conducted a fine summer hotel at East Tilton. 
 He d. Feb. 19, 1903, leaving one dau. 
 
 Ransom Smith Dalton, b. Oct. 31, 1831; d., Dec. 8, 1879. 
 
 Urania Dalton, b. Dec. IS, 1833; m., April 16, 1853, Ebenezer B. 
 Calef of N., a farmer on the paternal acres. She d. June 11, 1905. (See 
 Calef gen.) 
 
 Samuel Dalton, b. Dec. 28, 1836; d., Feb. IS, 1837. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 79 
 
 Maby a. Dalton, b. Jan. 13, 1S40; d., March 24, 1866. 
 
 Jacob P. Dalto.x, b. July 10, 1843; d., July 19, 1844. 
 
 George Wa.shixgtox Dalton, b. April 20, 1847, lived on the home- 
 stead. He m., July 24, 1870, Nellie Prescott of Belmont. He m. 
 (second), 1873, Mary Jane Stewart of Warren. He d. Nov. 3, 1873. 
 
 DANFORTH I. 
 
 Moses Danforth came from Sanbornton and m. Mehitable Stevens 
 of N. He had served in the Revolutionary War and was a good 
 fighter. He was a source of annoyance wherever he appeared and the 
 town at one annual meeting voted that if he did harm to any one, 
 such person should have the privilege of whipping him to his heart's 
 content. He had seven children. The date of his death is not on 
 record but is well remembered as the occasion of great excitement on 
 account of the stealing of his remains by medical students, of which 
 the court records by Judge Wadleigh are still in the possession of 
 his granddaughter. He was an ox teamster and was never seen 
 without his goad. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Moses Danforth m. Apphia Blanchard and resided at Cross' Mills. 
 They had one son. She d. Dec. 20, 1S63. He probably d. at East Con- 
 cord, as he lived there in 1878. 
 
 Piiineas Daxforth removed to Canterbury. 
 
 EzEKiEL Danforth was a valuable farm hand. He m. Mary Ann 
 Twombly of Gilmanton and had a large family, several of whom had 
 an impediment in their speech, as did the mother. They removed to 
 Belmont. 
 
 Eliza Danforth m. John Danforth, a farmer and teamster of N. 
 They removed to Concord. He d. there 1866 and she in 1868. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Son of Moses and Apphia Danforth.) 
 
 James Danforth, b. at N.; m. Lucretia Austin of N. and had two 
 sons Oliver and Weston. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in 
 Blue.) 
 
 DANFORTH II. 
 
 Henry Danforth, brother of Moses (first), was, when 17 years of age 
 in 1780, with the New Hampshire state troops. He had been with 
 Whitcomb's Rangers and seen desperate service. He m. Betsey Han- 
 cock of N. and lived at Factory Village. He d. Feb. 21, 1830. She d. 
 Oct. 24, 1854. He always claimed he carried a bullet in his shoulder, 
 received in battle, and at her burial he was disinterred and the mis- 
 
so 
 
 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 sile found lodged in his collar bone. His brother, Ezekiel 1st, was 
 with him and fell at Bemis Heights. His widow, a pensioner, lived 
 to be 100 years of age, and d. at Plymouth. 
 
 Mehitable, dau. of Henry, b. Nov. 20, 1804; m. Jonathan Kezar, a 
 cooper of Factory Village, afterwards a noted builder of stone wall. 
 (See Kezar gen.) They had 11 children. 
 
 Note. Others of the name often were residents of the town, viz. 
 Jane, Susan and Nancy. 
 
 DAVIS I. 
 
 Jonathan Davis, b. Sept. 17, 1773; m. Marian , b. Jan. 10, 
 
 17SlO. He was a shoemaker and had a shop (and house perhaps) just 
 opposite the Hodgdon burying yard, fully a century ago. It is said 
 they had 16 children. He d. at North Benton Feb. 27, 1S43. She d. at 
 Andover May 6, 1S2S. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Nathan B. Davis, b. Oct. 18, 1798. He d. at East Haverhill Jan. 8, 
 1864. 
 
 Mary Fox Davis, b. Jan. 25, ISOl; m., March 21, 1824. Moses Batch- 
 elder of N. (See Batchelder gen.) 
 
 Sally B. Davis, b. Feb. 26, 1810; m., Jan. 6, 1869, Moses Batchelder 
 (the above), her deceased sister's husband. (See Batchelder gen.) 
 
 Irene Davis, b. Sept. 14, 1821; m., March 5, 1842, David Phelps of 
 N. (See Phelps gen.) 
 
 David Davis, b. Oct. 18, 1814; m., June 18, 1842, Mary B. Phelps. 
 He was a farmer on the bank of the Merrimack River and d. there 
 Nov. 21, 1878. The locality is now called "Pocketville." They had 
 two sons and three dau., two of whom d. in childhood. She d. at 
 Park St., N., Feb. 28, 1901. 
 
 Note. Other data concerning this family will be found in Supple- 
 ment. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Charles Davis, b. Dec. 15, 1842; m. Martha Yeaton of Lakeport and 
 had a dau., Edna, who m. Myron Clay of Tilton and d. there 1903, and 
 Frank M., who m. Eva Reed and resides in Tilton. He m. (second), 
 Mrs. Alice Messer Webber. They reside in Tilton. 
 
 George E. Davis, b. Nov. 2, 1849; m. Mary Randall of Canterbury 
 and had six children, two of whom d. in infancy and two of whom 
 reside in N. 
 
 Sarah E. Davis, b. Oct. 20, 1856; m., Oct. 20, 1880, John Senter. 
 (See Senter gen.) 
 
 DAVIS II. 
 Moses Davis, b. at Loudon, 1796, was the son of Jonathan and Han- 
 nah Gerrish Davis. He was a Revolutionary pensioner and d. at 84. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 81 
 
 Captain Moses, b. Feb. 20, 1797, came to Oak Hill in 1840, His wife 
 was Polly Ingalls of Canterbury, b. 1S07, and d. Sept. 3, 1890. 
 
 The brook draining Sondogard pond was called Cohas, Cross and 
 Philips in succession. This, as it descended to the Merrimack, fur- 
 nished power for a sawmill erected close by the road (the Cross mills 
 and shops were below) very early in the life of the town, which had 
 either fallen into decay or been destroyed by fire. Mr. Davis built a 
 new one, which was raised July 4, 1840, and furnished a long-remem- 
 bered holiday, with plenty of liquid nourishment, as was the custom 
 of the times. He was a millwright and carpenter and the mechanism 
 was so perfect that his daughter often used to take his place as saw- 
 yer. His flowage rights covered the time from Sept. 20 to May 20 of 
 each year. This right, together with the mill, he sold in 1855 to Sam- 
 uel Haines and Thomas Piper and removed to Concord. 
 
 But tw'o of his seven children were born in N. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Theodore Gerrish Davis, b. in Canterbury in 1829; m. Apphia Maiia 
 Bartlett of N., b. 1831. She was the only surviving child of Nathan 
 Bartlett and inherited the home. Twin sons were b. there. After 
 her death. May 31, 1879, the sons removed to Concord and Mr. Davis 
 to Tilton. He now resides at Franklin. 
 
 Arthur L. D.wis, b. at Loudon, 1830, is a noted architect, builder and 
 contractor in all parts of the country, with headquarters at Laconia. 
 He m. (first), Lucy Smith and had a dau., Clara. He m. (second), 
 Susan Smith of N., and (third), Jennie Collins of Gilford. 
 
 Frances Amanda Davis, b. at Loudon April 29, 1833; m., 1852, 
 William Keniston of N. (See Keniston gen.) and had five sons. 
 
 Martin Van Buren Davis, h. at Loudon Sept., 1836, is now a ma- 
 chinist of Concord. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in 
 Blue.) He m. (first), Sarah Wilson of Pembroke, and m. (second), 
 Mrs. Lucy Bernard Gile of Meriden. 
 
 Mary A. Davis, b. at Canterbury July 4, 1839; m. (first), George 
 Thompson of Lowell; (second), William H. Colburn of Nashua, 
 where she now resides. 
 
 Warren A. Davis, b. at N. July 7, 1844; m. Annie Jones and resided 
 for many years in Concord. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys 
 in Blue.) He is now an inmate of the Soldiers' Home, Tilton. He 
 has three children in Concord, Fannie, Vallie, Henry K. 
 
 Walter Davis, b. at N. Sept. 6, 1856; m. Ella Plastridge of Concord. 
 He is a machinist, carpenter and stone cutter at Concord and, now, 
 engineer for the New England Granite Works. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Theodore G. and Apphia Bartlett Davis.) 
 
 Lauren G. T. Davis, b. at N. Jan. 12, 1858; m., July 22, 1882, Lellan 
 M. L. Dow (See Dow gen.) of N. They reside at Concord, where he is 
 6 
 
82 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 messenger for the B. & M. R. R. They have a son, Allan, and a dau., 
 Mary Lake Davis. The former m. May 9, 1904, Bertha Waddell of 
 Haverhill. 
 
 Lyman B. W. Davis, twin brother of above, m., March, 1SS7, Lena 
 Tilton of Franklin, where he resides. He is a machinist at the needle 
 shop. They have one dau., Florence. 
 
 Two sisters, Helen 1st and 2d, d. in infancy. 
 
 DAVIS III. 
 
 George E. Davis purchased the Joseph Kimball place on Bean Hill 
 in April, 18CS. He was b. at Acworth April 30, 1839. He m. (first), 
 March 5, 18GS, Hester A. R. Simonds of N. (See Simonds gen.) 
 After her death, June 8, 1885, he m. his brother's widow, Mrs. Ella 
 Eaton Davis of Franklin Falls, Feb. 9, 1SS6. Mr. Davis is a busy up- 
 to-date farmer. They have one child. Mrs. Davis had one dau. by 
 her previous marriage. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Dau. of William and Ella Eaton Davis.) 
 
 LiiXA E. Davis, b. at Franklin Falls, Oct. 11, 1877; m., March 16, 
 1898, Albert E. Moorhouse of Tilton and resides at the home. They 
 have two dau., Blanche, b. 1899, and Doris, b. 1903. 
 
 (Child of George and Ella Eaton Davis.) 
 
 Nina G. Davis, b. Feb. G, 1888; m., March 9, 1904, Albert B. Shaw, 
 b. 1878. They have recently purchased the Robert Smith farm on 
 the bank of the Merrimack. (See Shaw gen.) 
 
 DAWSON. 
 
 Joseph Dawsox was b. at Meltham, Yorkshire, Eng., in 1800. He m. 
 and had 11 children. After several visits to America, in 1857 Mr, 
 Dawson brought his family, which consisted of three sons and two 
 dau., to N. He d. Aug. 16, 1860, and is buried at Park Cemetery in 
 Tilton. His family removed in 1865 to Liberty, Mo. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Sarah Anx Dawsox, b. at Meltham, Eng.; m., 1843, James Earnshaw. 
 (See Earnshaw gen.) 
 
 Grace Dawsox, now Mrs. Grace Turpin, resides at Liberty, Mo. 
 
 Eliza Dawsox. 
 
 Bexjamix Dawson came to N. with his father, m. and had several 
 children. Barlow, Tirzah Ann, Lester and Kay. One child d. Oct. 17, 
 1861, aged one year. 
 
 George Dawson, b. at Meltham, Eng., April IS, 1836; m., Feb. 25, 
 1858, Sarah C. Buswell, b. Oct. 15, 1839. He was in the Civil War 
 
GENEALOGIES. 83 
 
 (See Boys in Blue) and later was a railroad employee at Lathrop, Mo. 
 They had four children, Mary Hannah, Joseph A., Georgia and "William. 
 
 James Dawsox. 
 
 Frank Dawson, d. Dec. 9, 1S74. 
 
 DEARBORN. 
 
 Shubael Dearboex, cordwainer, son of Cornet Jonathan, b., 1719; 
 m., March 25, 1750, Sarah, dan. of James Fogg of Hampton, b. 1731. 
 They lived on what was called the Cofl&n place in Hampton until 1770, 
 when they moved to the north fields of Canterbury. Eight of his chil- 
 dren were born in Hampton and one in N. He bought the farm where 
 his nephew, Edmund Dearborn, afterward lived, for his homestead, 
 with broad acres to the north and w'est. He also owned land on and 
 around Bay St. in 1793, which he sold to Joseph Hancoclc for three 
 pounds. He was a soldier in King George's War and went under Sir 
 William Pepperell and was one of the 3,000 men in the expedition to 
 Louisburg. At the close of the war he returned home, bringing with 
 him a Frencli musket which he said he "gobbled up" at Louisburg and 
 used until the war was over. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Nathaniel Dearborn, b. March 24, 1751; m. Hannah Godfrey of 
 Hampton and had six children. They came to the north fields some 
 years later and settled near his father. He d. in 1S18. 
 
 Shubael Dearborn, Jr., b. July 12, 1753; m., 1779, Ruth Leavitt of 
 Hampton, fixing the fact, perhaps, that the Leavitts came from the 
 same place. They were m. in homespun and began housekeeping in a 
 house with but a single pane of glass. A few years later he built a 
 new house, drawing all the materials, save frame boards and shingles, 
 from Portsmouth with an ox team. They had two sons. Mr. Dear- 
 born was 22 years old when the Revolutionary War broke out. His 
 father, too old to go, brought his French musket, bright and in good 
 order, and, putting it into his hands, told him to use it for his 
 country and, should he live to return, to bring it back in good order. 
 The son obeyed; went through the war and brought back the musket 
 good as new. It later went into the service in 1812 in the hands of 
 Benjamin Glines, the father of Mrs. Shubael Dearborn. (See Glines 
 gen.) The gun came back and is now in the possession of Shubael 
 Dearborn of Concord, IGO years after its capture. 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. Dearborn lived to a ripe old age. He d. Feb. 19, 1802. 
 She d. April 19. 1854. 
 
 John Dearborn, b. Oct. 31. 1755; m., Aug. 2G, 1799, Mary (Polly) 
 Kczar, b. 1760, and had a family of eight children. They built a 
 house similar to those of his brothers, in 1793, on adjoining land and 
 these were the finest residences in town. He d. Jan. 10, 1817, and his 
 wife soon after 
 
84 HISTORY OF XORTHFIELD. 
 
 Elizabeth (Betsey) Deaeborx, b. Oct. 16, 175S; m. David Kenis- 
 ton of N. (See Keniston gen.) and had a son and four dau. She d. 
 1832. 
 
 Abraham Deakborx, b. May 24, 17G1; m. Polly Sanborn and removed 
 to Wheelock, Vt., about 1783. He sold three lots of land to Phineas 
 Fletcher^ viz., one half of 100-acre lot 191. Lot 12 and one half acre 
 he bought of his brother Jonathan on Dearborn road. The deeds are 
 dated 1809. He d. 1816. Mrs. Fletcher was the dau. of Josiah Miles. 
 Mr. Fletcher was at Yorktown when Burgoyne surrendered. 
 
 Joxathan Dearborx, b. Oct. 26, 1763; m. Mary Hodgdon, b. Aug. 
 19, 1764. They had four children and lived on the homestead, though 
 he inherited only one half acre of it, which he sold to his brother 
 Abraham. He d. June 7, 1818. She d. May 6, 1816. 
 
 Mercy Dearborx, b. April 26, 1766; m. John Bohonan and moved to 
 Vermont and d. in 1827. 
 
 Sarah Dearborx, b. 1770; m. John Clay and removed to Wilmot. 
 They had four children. She d. in 1820. 
 
 Mary Dearborx, b. May 22, 1774; baptized June 26; m. Job Glines 
 of Canterbury and had four sons. (See Glines gen.) All but two of 
 the brothers settled on fine farms which their father gave them or aided 
 them in buying around the old homestead, and the locality was called 
 "Dearborn Hill." She d. in 1846. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Nathaniel and Hannah Godfrey Dearborn.) 
 
 James Dearborx, b. Sept. 11, 1786; m. Polly Arlin and had two sons 
 and a dau. 
 
 Naxcy Dearborx, b. Dec. 31, 1788; m. John Clay. 
 
 David Dearborx, b. May 20, 1802. 
 
 Daxiel Dearborx, b. 1803; m. Jane, dau. of Richard (Old Sergeant) 
 Blanchard, and had 14 children. 
 
 William Dearborx, b. Aug. 1, 1805. 
 
 (Children of Shubael and Ruth Leavitt Dearborn.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 JoxATHAX Dearborx, b. 1781, was rocked in a sap trough for a 
 cradle. He m. Elizabeth Keniston of N., b. 1783, and had seven chil- 
 dren. He was a surveyor and civil engineer. He also furnished pro- 
 visions for the town poor. He d. July 16, 1852. She d. Oct. 30, 1866. 
 
 Shubael Dearborx, Jr., b. 1783; m. (first), Nancy Dearborn, June 
 1811, and had one dau. She d. Dec. 15, 1815. He m. (second), 1817, 
 Sally Glines and had a family of eight. He d. Feb. 1, 1869. She d, 
 July 27, 1883. 
 
 (Children of John and Mary Kezar Dearborn.)- 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Rl-th Dearborx, b. June 2, 1781; m., May 27, 1813, Joseph Pallett, 
 and d. in 1820. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 85 
 
 Joiix Dearborn-. Jr., b. April 25, 17S3; m., July, 1811, Charlotte James, 
 b. 1791. He lived near his brothers on the home farm and had seven 
 children. He d. in 1SG9 and his wife Oct. 6, 1873. 
 
 George Dearborx, b. Dec. IS, 1785, and d. at Durham in 1819, unmar- 
 ried. 
 
 Nancy Dearborx, b. Dec. 2, 1787; d. at Durham in 1819. 
 
 Ebexezer Dearborx, b. March 29, 1790, was a physician and practiced 
 at New Durham Ridge. 
 
 Sali.y Dearborx, b. March 12, 1794; m. Fred Chase of Canterbury 
 and d. in ISIS. 
 
 PoLi.Y Dearborx. b. Jan. 27, 1797; d., Nov., 1817. 
 
 Arraha.m De.\rborx, b. Nov. 6, 1799; m., Nov. 29, 1821, Polly (Mary) 
 Sanborn of Canterbury. They had two sons and a dau. He was a 
 farmer on the paternal acres. He d. in 1832 and she d. Jan. 13, 1888. 
 
 (Children of Jonathan and Mary Hodgdon Dearborn.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Edmuxd Dearborx, b. Oct. 18, 1789; m., June 8, 1821, Sally Ger- 
 rish of N., b. July 20, 1796. They spent their lives on the original 
 Dearborn farm and had a family of five children. He d. at Elkhorn, 
 111., Oct. 19, 1845. She d. Jan. 11, 1S49. Mr. Dearborn was a fine 
 scholar and one of the old-time schoolmasters. This farm was for 
 some years after owned by Cutting Follansby. 
 
 Shubael De.arborx, b. Jan. 4, 1792; d., March 16, 1797. 
 
 Mittie Dearborx, b. 1798; d., Feb. 24, 1855; unmarried. 
 
 JoxATHAX Dearborx, b. July 15, 1802; m. Jane Gerrish of N., b. 
 July 20, 1798, and moved to Illinois. He was a graduate of Brown 
 University and later read medicine and was a lifelong practitioner at 
 Mt. Sterling 111. He m. (second), Hannah D. Morrill of Concord, 
 who d. March 15, 1875. Mr. Dearborn was a member of the A. F. and 
 A. M. of high rank. 
 
 (Children of Abraham and Sanborn Dearborn.) 
 
 Hazex Dearborx always lived at Wheelock, Vt. 
 
 Naxcy Dearborx, b. at Wheelock, Vt., Dec. 31, 1788; came to N. and 
 became the wife of William Forrest. (See Forrest gen.) There were 
 perhaps other children but am unable to trace them. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 (Children of James and Polly Arlin Dearborn.) 
 
 Charles Dearborx m. Whicher. 
 
 Harriet Dearborx m. Charles Keniston. (See Keniston gen.) 
 
 James Dearborx, Jr., m. Weeks and had four sons. 
 
 Betsey Dearborx, b. 1805; m. Alexander T. C. GUnes. (See Glines 
 gen.) 
 
 Hazex Dearborx, b. April 7, 1S20; m. Mrs. Betsey Glines Heath, b. 
 July 18, 1812. 
 
86 
 
 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 (Children of Daniel and Jane Blanchard Dearborn.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Webster Dearborn, b. Jan. 10, ISOS; m., 1827, Abagail (Nabby) 
 Dinsmore. They had two sons. 
 
 Tristram Dearbokx, b. Dec. 24, 1S09; m. Betsey Glover of Canterbury 
 and moved there. They had a son and dau. 
 
 Daniel Dearborn, Jr., b. 1814; m. Lillian English, b. 1816, and al- 
 ways lived in N. He built a house on Park St., where they resided 
 for many years. She d. Aug., 1887. He d. Dec. 6, 1891. 
 
 Narcissa Dearborn m. Nelson Greene and resided at Stonington, 
 Mass. 
 
 Jane Dearborn never married. 
 
 Abagail Dearborn m. George Nason of Maine and lived in Boston, 
 Mass., where she d. He then returned to his native state. 
 
 Ebenezeb Dearborn m., Nov., 1844, Abagail Collins and lived in East 
 Medway, Mass. 
 
 Almira Dearborn, b. June 22, 1824; m., July 11, 1844, Jonathan M. 
 Johnson of N. (See Johnson gen.) 
 
 JERErvtiAH Dearborn m. Clarissa Jones of Maine. They resided at 
 Medway, Mass., where both d. 
 
 Elizabeth Dearborn, twin of the above, m. Dea. John Bell of Wo- 
 burn, Mass. They were extensive farmers. After his death she went 
 to reside with her dau. at Lynn. They had five children. 
 
 Charlotte Dearborn (the first) d. in infancy and Charlotte (the 
 second), m. John Colvin and resided in East Medway. 
 
 Samuel Dearborn went from home and m.; but little was known of 
 him. He was killed in a railroad accident near Boston, Mass. 
 
 Grace Hoyt Dearborn m. (first), John Collins of N. (See Collins 
 gen.) and had three dau., one of whom, Ida R., d. June 3, 18G4. Mrs. 
 Collins m. (second), John Henry. (See Collins gen.) She d. at 
 Northwood. 
 
 (Children of Jonathan and Elizabeth Keniston Dearborn.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 David Dearborn b. April 14, 1804, was the oldest of nine children. 
 He m. Nancy Clay of Wilmot and resided on the paternal acres. He 
 erected a new house close by the old one and later they moved West and 
 made a home with their son for several years, then returning to the 
 homestead, where they d. He d. Nov. 3, 1889. She d. Nov. 23, 1892. 
 
 Ruth Dearborn, b. July 21, 1805; m. Jonathan Clay of Wilmot and 
 lived and d. there. 
 
 Shubael Dearborn, 3d., b. Nov. 8, 1807; m. (pub.), March 7, 1836, 
 Martha Jane Gorrell, b. 1815 at East N., where they resided. He was a 
 blacksmith and farmer. They had one dau., Arianna, who m. Arthur T. 
 Merrill and d. March 6, 1868, aged 25 years. She had two children. 
 (See Merrill gen.) Mr. Dearborn d. March 30, 1870. She d. May 27, 
 1873. 
 
s 
 
 GENEALOGIES. 87 
 
 Eliza Dearuorx, b. April 20, 1811; m., Oct. 13, 1S3G, Sullivan Heath 
 and moved to Clarkson, N. Y., and later to Illinois. 
 
 Cy.vtiiia Dkarborx, b. Feb. 19, 1817; m., Dec, 1836, Elliot Rogers 
 and lived in Hebron. (See Rogers gen.) 
 
 Emily Dearborx. b. July 29, 1820; m., 1845, Warren Wheeler of 
 Boston, Mass. They have two children. 
 
 JoxATHAx De.vrborx, b. Nov. 14, 1822; m. Martha Clay and lived at 
 East Tilton. They had five children. He d. Sept. 25, 1894. 
 
 (Children of Edmund and Sarah Gerrish Dearborn.) 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Mary Jaxe Dearborx, b. March 16, 1823; m., April 24, 1849, Lorenzo 
 D. Bartlett, M. D. After his death and that of her dau., Martha J., 
 Aug. 31, 1854, she moved to Henry, 111., where she was active in church 
 and Sunday-school work until past 80 years of age. She d. May 5, 1904. 
 
 Two sons, Stephen and Edmund, d. in childhood. 
 
 S.\M Gerrish Dearborx (see portrait and sketch), b. Aug. 10, 1827; 
 m., Nov. 5, 1854, Henrietta Sterritt. b. at Mont Vernon, Sept. 29, 1834. 
 They had two sons, Frank and Sam, who succeeded to their father's 
 practice at Nashua (see Physicians of N.) ; and a dau., who d. in child- 
 hood. Mrs. Dearborn d. June 29, 1893. He d. May 8, 1903. 
 
 Martha Kexdrick Dearborx, b. May 8, 1833; m., July 3, 1854, Jona- 
 than Dearborn, M. D., of Mt. Sterling, 111. They have seven children, 
 all but one being a physician or a physician's wife. Dr. Dearborn 
 celebrated his 79th birthday Sept. 29, 1904. 
 
 Hexry G. Dearborx, M. D., b. Sept. 18, 1835. He went West and 
 read medicine with his brother-in-law at Mt. Sterling and graduated 
 at St. Louis. He practised for many years at Henry, 111., coming 
 later to assist his brother Sam at Nashua, where he d. June 10, 
 1886. His will provided for the fine monument erected to the memory 
 of his family in the Hodgdon burying ground. 
 
 Bextox H. Dearborx, b. Sept. 25, 1838; m., Sept. 25, 1873, Kate L. 
 Hutchinson of Milford and had a family of four sons. (See portrait 
 and sketch, also Physicians of N.) 
 
 (Child of Dr. Jonathan and Jane Gerrish Dearborn.) 
 
 Dr. Jonathax Dearborx, b. at Mt. Sterling, 111., 1828; m.. July 3, 
 1854, Martha K. Dearborn of N. and has always resided there. (See 
 Martha Dearborn gen.) 
 
 (Children of John and Charlotte James Dearborn.) 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Naxcy De-\rbobx, b. Jan. 16, 1812; m. Jones and d. Feb. 29, 
 
 1880. 
 
 Ebexezer Dearborx, b. Nov. 12, 1814; d. at N. March 6, 1817. 
 ExocH Dearborx, b. Nov. 14. 1818; d., Jan. 19, 1879. 
 
Oo HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Joseph Dearborn, b. Nov. 14, 1818, twin brother of the above; m., 
 April 3, 1842, Mary Y. Philbrick of Sanbornton and lived as a farmer 
 on the Bradstreet Moody farm, owned by her father at his death. 
 They had six children. Mrs. Dearborn d. Nov. 23, 1879. He was a man 
 of much business, was a good scholar and was for many years a 
 teacher. He was commissioner for Belknap County in 1878 and a 
 member of the Legislature from Tilton in 1863-'64. He m. (second), 
 Mrs. Fred Chase of Canterbury, where he now resides. None of the 
 children were b. or reside in N. 
 
 Ruth Dearborx, b. Nov. 3, 1823; m., May 19, 1860, Joseph Lang of 
 Sanbornton and lived on the home place. They have a son and dau. 
 (See Lang gen.) 
 
 Irene Dearborn, b. July 15, 1831; d. at two years of age. 
 
 Horatio Dearborn, b. Jan. 26, 1837; d. at two years of age. 
 
 (Children of Abraham and Polly Sanborn Dearborn.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Mary A. Dearborn, b. Oct. 2, 1822; m., Nov. 15, 1843, Jeremiah Hayes. 
 They were the first couple m. by Rev. Corban Curtice. They moved to 
 the West where both d. They had two dau., Flora Luretta, and Ellen 
 resided with her grandmother in N. 
 
 Phebe Dearborn, b. Sept. 5, 1826; d., April 27, 1828. 
 
 Sylvan us S. Dearborn, b. Sept. 15, 1830; m., April 17, 18G1, Mary 
 E. Keif of New York City. He was educated at the New Hampshire 
 Conference Seminary and was a graduate of Dartmouth College, class 
 of 1855. He read law and established himself at New York City. He 
 later studied for the ministry and became an Episcopalian minister, 
 having charge of a parish two years at Clermont, N. Y. His health 
 failing, he went abroad and a storm while crossing the English Channel 
 caused a severe hemorrhage. He returned at once and d. at New 
 
 York City in 1867. She m. (second), Herve and since his 
 
 death has spent much of her time abroad with residence at Monte 
 Carlo. 
 
 Abram Dearborn, b. 1832, was a lifelong invalid. He was scholarly 
 and often wrote children's stories for publication. He d. Dec. 31, 1893. 
 
 (Children of Shubael and Nancy Dearborn Dearborn.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 Mary Dearborn, b. July 29, 1811; m. (pub.), March 12, 1855, Stephen 
 Haines, and moved to Sheffield, Vt. After his death she returned to 
 N., where she d. Sept. 25, 1887. 
 
 (Children by [second] wife, Sally Glines Dearborn.) 
 Charlotte Dearborn, b. April 12, 1818, was employed at Peabody & 
 Daniel's paper mill for many years, then m. David Fowler and moved to 
 Hill, where she d. April 18, 1844. 
 
 St.itira Dearborn, b. Aug. 4, 1820; m. (pub.), Feb. 21, 1848, E. G. 
 Kingsbury, and resided in Bristol, where she d. Feb. 14, 1901. They 
 had two children, Annie, b. 1852, who resides in N., and Oren, b. 1S51. 
 
JOHN S. DEARBORN. 
 
MRS. JOHN S. DEARBORN. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 89 
 
 Abra A.\x Dearborn-, b. April 2S, 1823; m. David Fowler, her brother- 
 in-law, of Hill, and d. there Nov. 24, 18G0. 
 
 Joiix S. Dearborn, b. Sept. 8, 1824; m., 1850, Mrs. Hannah Haines 
 Winslow. (See Winslow gen.) He inherited the farm of his grand- 
 father, and was a prosperous farmer on Dearborn Hill. His health 
 failing, they moved to Dover, where he d. in 1896. They had two sons. 
 Mrs. Dearborn was an ideal farmer's wife and, though now well past 
 SO, retains that sprightliness which was her youthful characteristic. 
 She resides at Exeter. 
 
 JosiAH Dearborx, b. Oct. 22, 1830; m., Oct. 10, 1858, Sarah M. Haines 
 of N. (See Haines gen.) They reside on Summer St.; are practical 
 and successful farmers. In church matters sympathize with the Meth- 
 odists; are enthusiastic grangers. They have one son. 
 
 Harriet Dearborx, b. Nov. 27, 1826; m., Nov. 28, 1848, Daniel Clay 
 of Tilton, and resided there until his health failed. He then went to 
 California, where he d. in 1858, and is buried at Lone Mountain Ceme- 
 tery, three miles from San Francisco. Two children d. in infancy. 
 She d. at Tilton Oct. 9, 1872. 
 
 Benjamin Franklin Dearborn, b. May 30, 1833; m., Aug., 1860, Ann 
 Lewis of Franklin. They resided at Franklin Falls, where he d. Jan. 
 3, 1892. They have three children. She m. (second), John R. Scales 
 of Concord, where she now resides. 
 
 Eliza Dearborn, b. May 28, 1837; d., Aug. 7, 1850. 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 (Children of Hazen and Betty Glines Heath Dearborn.) 
 
 Caroline Dearborn, b. March 7, 1841; m. (first), Henry Witham of 
 Aroostook, Me., and had a dau., Eldora; m. (second), Charles Collins. 
 (See Collins Gen.) Resides in Nashua. 
 
 LvcRETiA Dearborn, b. April 18, 1842; m., Aug. 21, 1858, Alonzo Arlin 
 of N. and has two sons, Everett of Lakeport and Ira of Tilton. The 
 latter is blind, but handles tools and does all kinds of work. 
 
 Charles Dearborn, b. Nov. 29, 1849; m., Nov. 27, 1869, Harriet Lover- 
 Ing. He has always lived in town, is a farmer and carpenter and has 
 10 children. 
 
 Georgianna Dearborn, b. April 29, 1853; m. (first), Darius Glines, 
 and had one child. He d. Sept. 23, 1872. (See Glines gen.) M. (sec- 
 ond), James Maginnis and resides at Tyngsboro, Mass. Have three 
 children. 
 
 Geokge Henbt Dearborn, b. April 30, 1855; resides at Franklin. 
 
 (Children of Webster and Abagail [Nabby] Dinsmore Dearborn.) 
 
 (All b. in X.) 
 
 Richard S. Dearborn, b. March 7, 182S; m., Nov. 9, 1848, Laura A. 
 Dinsmore (see Dinsmore gen.), and had a family of seven children. 
 He served in the Civil War (see Boys in Blue), and d., July 16, 1901. 
 She d., April 20, 1896. 
 
90 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 WoRSTER Dearborn m. Mary Presby, May 14, 1S49, and d., 1853. 
 They had three sons; Worster Dearborn, who was an engineer on the 
 White Mountains Division of the B. & M. R. R., and was killed in an 
 accident, Nov. 27, 18SG. He m. Nellie Pickard of Canterbury and had 
 one dau., Ethel. John, who d. of smallpox at Gilford. Richard, who 
 is now employed by the B. & M. Railroad and resides at Woodsville. 
 
 (Children of Tristram and Betsey Glover Dearborn.) 
 
 Mary Deareorx, b. at Canterbury; resides on the home place. 
 JoHx Dearborn, b. at Canterbury; he was killed on the railroad. 
 
 (Children of David and Nancy Clay Dearborn.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Darius S. Dearborn, b. 1834; m. . He was a teacher in the 
 
 West some years. He read medicine with Dr. Luther Knight of Frank- 
 lin and graduated from New York Medical School. He first practised 
 in Brookline, later at Milford, where he now has an extensive practice. 
 Mrs. Dearborn d. in 1900. 
 
 Oliver Dearborn, b. Jan. 19, 1S3G; m., Nov. 14, 1863, Josephine Hosley 
 of Manchester. He remained some years on the home farm, then 
 moved to Manchester and later to Denver, Col. They have one dau., 
 Mrs. B. S. Wilson of Harrisburg, Col. Mrs. Dearborn d., Dec. 31, ISSl. 
 He still resides at Denver. 
 
 (Children of B. Prank and Ann Lewis Dearborn.) 
 
 Fred Lewis Dearborn, b. in N. July 10, 1861; went to New Mexico 
 in 1882 with two cousins to herd cattle. He now resides at Carlsbad; 
 m., . 
 
 Mary Dearborn, b. at Franklin Nov. 13, 1847; m., June, 1893, C. W, 
 Pike of Newport, where they reside. She was a teacher in the various 
 districts of Franklin before her marriage. 
 
 Shubael Dearborn, b. at Franklin Sept. 30, 1876; graduated from 
 Franklin High School, class of 1883. He resides at Concord and is in 
 the employ of the B. & M. R. R. 
 
 (Children of John and Hannah Haines Dearborn.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 Mark W. Dearborn, b. 1851; m. Elva Manson of Maiden, Mass., and 
 has two children, Ethel, b. 1S78, Henry, b. 1881. Mr. Dearborn is a re- 
 tired merchant and resides at Maiden, Mass. 
 
 Thomas H. Dearborn, b. 1860; m. Mary French of Exeter. He is a 
 dry goods merchant at Dover. He is a rising politician and was a mem- 
 ber of Governor Bachelder's staff. They have three children, Ruth, 
 Thomas A. and Elmer. 
 
 (Child of Josiah and Sarah Haines Dearborn.) 
 
 Ned Dearborn, b. at Alton 1865; m., June 13, 1894, Helen Josephine 
 Hills of N. (See Hills gen.) He graduated at Gilmanton Academy, 
 
GENEALOGIES. 91 
 
 1S81; at Dartmouth College, 1SS5; and State Agricultural College, 
 1901, as doctor of sciences. Mr. Dearborn is assistant curator of birds 
 in Fields Columbian Museum at Chicago, 111. They have a son, Clinton, 
 b. at N. Sept. 17, 1S97, and Helen Josephine, b. Jan. 1, 1899, at Durham. 
 
 Sixth Generation. 
 (Children of Charles and Harriet Levering Dearborn.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 Charles Hexey, Jr., b. Jan. 28, 1876; m., Oct. 7, 1901, Ella M. Pike. 
 He is a spinner at Elm Mills. Has one child, Florence R. 
 
 Leoxora Dearborn, b. Feb. 7, 1878; m., Nov. 24, 1898, Porter M. Hay- 
 ward. (See Hayward gen.) 
 
 Ann Elizabeth Dearborn, b. Oct. 2G, 1879; m., June 20, 1896, Charles 
 E. Hayward. (See Hayward gen.) 
 
 Georgie Belle Dearborn, b. Nov. 30, 1881; m., July 26, 1899, Charles 
 Flanders, a farmer at Newport, P. Q. They had two sons, Eddie and 
 Ervil C, and dau., Florence. 
 
 BET.SEY Ann, b. 1883; Caroline E. b. 1884; Stella F., b. 1887; Daisy 
 E., b. 1889; Feed J., b. 1891; Mary Ann, b. 1894, still reside in the 
 home. 
 
 (Children of Richard and Laura A. Dinsmore Dearborn.) 
 
 Ada Dearborn, b. March 15, 1850; m. James Young of Prince Edward 
 Island and resides at Willimantic, Conn. He is proprietor of a hotel. 
 They have two children, Laura L. and Frank. 
 
 Richard Dearborn, Jr., b. March 28, 1852, better known as "Long 
 Rich," is probably the tallest man in town. He is a farm hand and 
 resides in the home. He has in his possession a large powder horn 
 carried by his great-uncle, "Jerry" Blanchard, in the 1812 war, who had 
 a queer fancy of cutting in rude sketch on it the figure of every animal 
 killed with his gun. It is a queer picture of bear, fox, squirrel, snake, 
 tortoise and many varieties of birds, and has other and varied embel- 
 ishments. 
 
 Edwin De.\bborn, b. 1855; d.. May 19, 1885. 
 
 Laura Rosella Dearborn, b. Feb. 14, 1854; m., 1887 (?), George 
 Bean, and had one dau., Emma. Mr. Bean is a farmer and they reside 
 on the Alvah Hannaford place. 
 
 Nellie A. Dearborn, b. Jan. 1, 1860; m., Aug. 24, 1895, Nelson Minor 
 b. at Fairfax, Vt., 1856 (second wife). 
 
 Emma E. Dearborn, b. April 21, 1862; m. John Frink of Winchester, 
 Mass. They reside at Brompton's Falls, P. Q. 
 
 Clara A. Dearborn, b. March 30, 1858, resides on the homestead on 
 the Main road. She has one son, Arthur. 
 
 DENNIS. 
 Joshua Dennis came to N. from Sanbornton about 1872. He was b. 
 at Salem, Mass. Nov. 23, 1846, he m. Elizabeth H. Hersey, a teacher. 
 
92 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Mr. Runnells says, of high literary attainments and decided merit. 
 Mr. Dennis was a carpenter by trade but carried on his farm until his 
 father's death. They had one son, Joshua Piper. Mrs. Dennis d. April 
 29, 1881, at Manchester. He d. at N. April 22, 1897. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Joshua Pipeb Dexnis, b. Aug. 20, 1848; m. Mary Adelia Eastman, b. 
 at Littleton, and had three children. 
 
 Mr. Dennis traded for a while in Belmont and later was a commercial 
 traveler for firms in Worcester, Mass., and Cincinnati, O. He was 
 also a clerk in various stores at Tilton for several years and was like- 
 wise a druggist, being connected with C. P. Herrick as clerk. He was 
 a fine scribe and served the town as clerk for a term of years. 
 
 Blanche Marguerite Denxis, b. Dec. 16, 1873. She was educated 
 at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and a convent at Dor- 
 chester, Mass. Later she read medicine and is now practising her pro- 
 fession in New York City. 
 
 Alice Eluridge Dennis, b. Sept. 3, 1877. She was educated at a con- 
 vent at Dorchester, Mass. She went to Manchester with the family 
 and there married. 
 
 Robert Dennis, b. at N. Jan. 24, 1882; m., 
 
 We have not been able to obtain further data of this family. 
 
 DIAS. 
 
 George W. Dias, b. 1874 at Plymouth; m., March 9, 1898, Mrs. Nellie 
 Downing Copp of N. He came to N. in 1902 and bought with his 
 brother Charles the John G. Brown farm, the latter making it his sum- 
 mer home only. He is a farmer and carriage painter. They have 
 recently moved to Tilton where they are proprietors of Hotel Jordan. 
 (See Downing gen.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (Children of George and Nellie Copp Dias.) 
 
 Harold A. Dias, b. at Tilton Feb. 3, 1902. 
 Howard W., b. at N. April 7, 1904. 
 
 DICEY. 
 
 Samuel Dicey's name appears first on the tax list in 1837. He m. 
 Mary Gale of Belmont and was a farmer on the Thomas Fellows place 
 in East N. He was superintendent of the poor house for three sep- 
 arate terms. They had two dau. He sold in 1S65 to Charles Payson 
 and removed to Belmont, where he d. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 Celestia Dicey m. William McClary and removed West. 
 Maey Dicey removed to Belmont and d. there in 1903. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 93 
 
 DICKEY. 
 
 Robert Dickey was the owner of a tract of land on the Gilmanton 
 line on Coos Brook. He was taxed in town first in 1S07. They later 
 had a home in the Oilman pasture near the reservoir, as there are 
 the remnants of an old cellar and the locality has long been known 
 as Dickey Hill. He was probably a brickmaker and there are rem- 
 nants of his occupation scattered about. Nearby is another aban- 
 doned site known by the name of the French place. Mr. Samuel 
 Clough bought and removed the buildings and a part of the present 
 home of William C. Hill was once the home of a family who have 
 left no trace upon the records or soil save a few bushy apple trees 
 and the scarcely visible cellar hole and well. 
 
 DINSMORE. 
 
 John and Samuel Dixsmore, brothers, came to N. from Windham, 
 where both were b., the latter in 1756. They were sons of Francis 
 and Betsey Mitchell Dlnsmore. They both served in the Revolutionary 
 War. John was one of General Washington's body-guard. He was for 
 many years a pensioner and lived with his maiden sister Betsey at Ed- 
 mund Dearborn's, where both d. and were buried in the little enclosure 
 on the farm. He d. May, 1S47. 
 
 Samuel entered the army at 19 years of age and served through the 
 war. He was a pensioner at $96 a year. Jeremiah Smith was his 
 guardian. He d. at his son's) Jan., 1846, and is burled at the Williams 
 burying yard. 
 
 He m. Oct., 1799, Dolly, twin sister of Dr. Isaac Olines, who survived 
 him seven years. 
 
 He went to Quebec with General Arnold. They had eight children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Polly Dixsmore m. Edmund Douglass, an educated Scotchman and 
 a former schoolmaster, who had become reduced in means and morals. 
 They lived wherever he could find employment as a farmhand. They 
 had one dau. (See Douglass gen.) Mrs. Douglass d. Aug. 24, 1853. 
 
 John Dixsmore m., July 19, 1826, Fanny Foss, b. at N. 1804. They 
 lived on the main road and both d. there; she, Jan. 17, 1890, aged 85; 
 he, Jan. 4, 1873. They had four children. 
 
 Nabby Dixsmore m. (first), Webster Dearborn and had two sons, 
 
 Richard and Wooster. She m. (second), Sanborn, and m. (third), 
 
 Knowles. She d. at N. Centre Jan. 17, 1878. (See Dearborn gen.) 
 
 Sally Dixsmore ra. Huse Austin, 1830, and d. at Hill. 
 
 Betsey Dixsmore m. John Glover and lived in Canterbury. She d. 
 the last day of the year, which occurred on Saturday, the 31st day of 
 the month. 
 
 Mary Jaxe Dixsmore, b. ; m., April 2, 1837, James Carr of 
 
 N. (See Carr gen.) She m. (second), Albion Ash, who was b. at 
 Franklin. 1824, and d. at N. May 25, 1904. 
 
94 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Nancy Dinsmore m., Jan. 10, 1S48, Abel Goodrich and removed to 
 New York. 
 
 Joseph Dinsmore m., Dec. 6, 1840, Martha Austin, his niece. Thej' 
 had five children. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 He was burned to death with his house at Tilton in 1SS9. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of John and Fanny Foss Dinsmore.) 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Wilson Dinsmore, m., July 24, 1852, Charlotte Mills of Manchester 
 and resided there. He was a member of the police force for many 
 years. He was a cabinet maker by trade. He returned to N. after 
 the death of his wife and child, where he d. Nov. 5, 1865. 
 
 John H. Dinsmore m. Sarah Brown of Newport and resided on the 
 home place. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 He used his $1,000 bounty to pay off the mortgage on his father's 
 farm before he left. He was physically a fine specimen of manhood; 
 Avas captain of police at Manchester; and went with the Amoskeag 
 Veterans to AVashington to do escort duty. He returned home after 
 his father's death and was a farmer on the homestead. They had six 
 children. He d. Jan. 23, 1901, at the home of his dau. on Park St., 
 aged 73. Mrs. Dinsmore, an invalid for many years, d. there Feb. 2, 
 1902, aged 71. 
 
 Laura Ann Dinsmore m. Richard Dearborn of N., her cousin, and 
 always resided on the main road. (See Dearborn gen., also Boys in 
 Blue.) 
 
 Alpheus Dinsmore m. Dulcina Converse of Providence, R. I., and 
 resides at Worcester, Mass. 
 
 (Children of Joseph and Martha Austin Dinsmore.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 Dorothy M. Dinsmore, b. 1840; m. William Herrick, a soldier in the 
 •Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) She resides in Derry. 
 
 Charles M. Dinsmore served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 He d. at Russellville, Ky., Oct. 7, 1863. 
 
 James Dinsmore m. and resides at Contoocook. They received the 
 premium offered for triplet babies at one of the State Grange fairs. 
 Samuel Dinsmore m. and resides at Derry, as does a younger sister, 
 Diana. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of John and Sarah Brown Dinsmore.) 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Ida G. M. Dinsmore, b. Aug. 2, 1854; m., Nov. 27, 1873, Ward San- 
 born; m. (second), Nov. 5, 1889, Charles Heath of N. and resides on 
 Park St. She has one child, John S., b. July 4, 1891. 
 
 Olin a. Dinsmore, b. March 28, 1859; m., July 24, 1881, Josie 
 
GENEALOGIES. 95 
 
 Boucher of Tilton and they have four children. He is a natural me- 
 chanic and musician and is a machinist in Dracut, Mass. 
 
 Eva DiNSiioRE, b. Sept. IS, 1861; d., Aug. 27, 1SG5. 
 
 LiLLA D. DixsMOUE, b. Sept. 25, 1863; d., Aug. 25, 1865. 
 
 Elmer V. Dixsmore. b. Aug. 18, 1869, resides with his sister on Park 
 St. He has some literary talent and contributes to the news columns 
 of the Laconia Democrat (Tilton items). 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 (Children of Olin and Josie Boucher Dinsmore.) 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Alpiieus C. Dixsmore, b. March 3, 1885; m., Dec. 5, 1903, Helen E. 
 Sleeper of East Boston, where they reside. 
 Eva B. Dixsmore, b. Aug. 31, 1887. 
 Ida a. Dixsmore, b. Dec. 9, 1890. 
 Rose B. Dinsmore, b. Oct. 25, 1894. 
 They all reside at Wales Centre, N. Y. 
 
 DOCKHAM. 
 
 Charles E. Dockham came to N. in 1S97 He was b. at Laconia, 
 Oct. 30, 1853; m., July 14, 1872, Ellen Creighton, b. at Danville, Vt., 
 Oct. 23, 1854. He is assistant foreman in the cardroom at the Tilton 
 Woolen :Mills, where he has been employed for 14 years. They have 
 three children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Ralph E. Dockham, b. at Laconia, July 1, 1882, is employed at the 
 Tilton Woolen Mills and resides on Arch St. 
 
 Etta E. Dockham, b. at Fitzwilliam July 21, 1S83; m., Nov. 14, 
 1904, George H. Jewell, b. at Laconia April 4, 1876. He is employed 
 at G. H. Tilton's hosiery mill and resides on Park St. 
 
 Ethel Laura Dockham, b. at Tilton, June 23, 1872. 
 
 DOLLY I. 
 
 JoxAs H. Dolly came to N. from Tilton in 1879 and purchased the 
 residence of the late Hezekiah Bean en Park St. He was b in Gray, 
 Me., Sept. 16, 1842; m., 1865, Eunice A. Sweatt of Belmont, b. Dec. 
 26, 1842. 
 
 He was boss weaver for A. H. Tilton's mills. They had five chil- 
 dren. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 "Walter D. Dolly, b. Feb. 23, lS7u; d., in infancy. 
 Alice J. Dolly, b. April 12, 1872; m., June 14, 1899. George S. 
 
96 HISTORY OF XORTHFIELD. 
 
 Hinkley and resided for a time in Concord. Later he removed to La- 
 conia. He is a moulder by trade. She conducted a millinery and 
 dressmaking business previous to her marriage. They have a dau., 
 Eunice H. 
 
 Herbert H. Dolly, b. Dec. 6, 1S73; m., April 14, 1S9G, Lutie Johnson 
 of East Tilton. He resides on Park St. and is a member of the firm 
 of Phelps & Dolly, grocers, at Tilton. 
 
 E. Etta Dolly, b. Feb. 6, 1876; d., Oct. 27, 1895. 
 
 Jonas W. Dolly, b. May 26, 1880; d., Feb. 10, 1899. 
 
 DOLLY 11. 
 
 RoscoE G. Dolly, b. at Gray, Me., July 28, 1837; m., March 9, 1883, 
 Julia C. Sweatt, b. July 16, 1848. He served in the Civil War as gun- 
 ner on the Kearsarge. He was at his post when she sank the Ala- 
 bama in Cheborg Harbor. He is now overseer of weaving. (See 
 Boys in Blue.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Nellie F. Dolly, b. at Manchester July 6, 1872; m., March 17, 1894, 
 Ernest E. Nelson of Tilton. They have one child, Myrtle. 
 
 Florence M. Dolly, b. at Suncook Oct. 16, 1874; m. Oral Batchel- 
 der. They lived in N., where she d. Feb. 23, 1902. They had twa 
 children, Althea and Roscoe D. 
 
 DOLLOFF. 
 
 The Dolloffs were of Russian ancestry. Christopher, the emigrant, 
 settled at Exeter and Abner came to Canterbury in 1763. 
 
 David Dolloff lived south of the Rogers farms, completely shut in 
 by forests. He erected here a new house and m. in 1785 Elizabeth 
 Miles, the widow of Phineas Fletcher, who d. on his way home after 
 the surrender of Cornv/allis. Her parents, Josiah and Elizabeth Miles, 
 were the nearest neighbors, nearly a mile distant. They had 10 chil- 
 dren, as are duly recorded. Elizabeth and Mary d. the same week in 
 1787 and ten years later Jesse 1st and Miriam 1st d. the same day. 
 
 Mr. Dolloff went to live, in his old age, with his dau. in East N. 
 He was long a cripple, being confined to his chair, but was regularly 
 chosen tithing man. He was a great reader and a close patron of 
 the Northfield social library about 1800. 
 
 Hannah Dolloff m. David Lougee of Loudon and resided there. 
 They had two dau., who m. brothers, James and Nathaniel Sanborn. 
 
 Sally Dolloff m. Hazen Carr of N. (See Carr gen.) 
 
 David Dolloff, b. 1791; m. Sally Bean. They had six children, but 
 two living to maturity. She d. at 83 years of age. 
 
 Adagail Dolloff m. Joseph Marden and resided at Lowell. Both 
 lived to extreme age. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 97 
 
 Jesse Dolloff, 2d., b. 1794; m., 1S25, Nancy Crockett of Meredith. 
 He was accidentally killed in New York City, leaving a wife and 
 child who survived but a few years. He was a fine singer. 
 
 JMiRiAM Dolloff, 2d., twin sister of the above, was a celebrated- 
 weaver and lived in Canterbury Borough. She was an Osgoodite. 
 
 < 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of David and Sally Bean Dolloff.) 
 
 Mary Dolloff m. Stephen Neal and was the mother of David Dol- 
 loff Neal, the celebrated artist of Munich. 
 
 Elizabeth Dolloff m. Almon Slader of Acworth, b. 1818, and re- 
 sided on the Main road, near the Canterbury line. She was very artis- 
 tic in her tastes and was a woman of faculty. He was a house builder. 
 She d. at N. 1897. He d. at the home of his dau. in Lowell 1901. 
 They had one dau., who m. Walter F. Glines in 1S61, and (second )». 
 Henry W. Leach of Lowell, Mass. (See Glines gen.) 
 
 DOW I. 
 
 Jeremiah Dow, b. at Holderness Jan. 1, 1S26; m. Lucretia Ann Glines, 
 b. June 22, 1831. They had eight children. He was a more than 
 ordinary farmer's man and was employed for years by Jeremiah Smith. 
 He d. March 23, 1895. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Alexander Clark Dow, b. Nov. 25, 1S4S; m. (first), 1864, Joanna 
 Dearborn of N. He m. (second), 1S68, Rhoda Arlin of Concord, b. 
 Sept. 2, 1840. She was reared by the Enfield Shakers, and d. Oct. 11, 
 1869. He m. (third), Sarah A. Smith of Orange, Vt., Jan. 15, 1870. 
 She d. at N. July 17, 1871. He m. (fourth), Susan Brocklebanks of 
 Plainfield, May 22, 1872. He m. (fifth), July, 1884, Mrs. Josephine 
 H. Clark of Franklin, who d. April 3, 1889, and Dec. 12, 1889, he m., 
 for his sixth, Mrs. Amoretta Kinaball. (See Kimball gen.) He d. at 
 the home on Bean Hill road, Aug. 26, 1896. He had two children, who 
 d. in infancy. 
 
 Fra.xk Hayes Dow, b. 1852; m., Feb. 26, 1898, Hannah Bruce, b. at 
 Northfield, Vt. He is a farmer at East N. 
 
 Herbert Gerry Dow, b. Jan. 9, 1854; m., 1880, Lizzie Herbert of 
 Franklin. They have one child. 
 
 Byrox Kendrick Dow, b. April 23, 1857; m. (first), Lulu Reed of 
 Canterbury. They had one child. He m. (second), Mary Monahan of 
 Melrose, Mass. 
 
 Jerry Smith Dow, b. Nov. 6, 1859; m., 1881, Nellie Maynard of 
 Franklin, b. at Reading, Vt., April 6, 1868. They reside in the family 
 settlement, called "Dowtown." 
 7 
 
98 HISTORY OF NORTHFEELD. 
 
 JOAXNA MoBSE Dow. b. Aug. 23, 18G7; d. at 10 j-ears. 
 
 Elizabeth Anx Dow, b. Nov. 20, 1871; m., March 25, 1893, Charles 
 H. Folger of Lowell, Mass. They reside with her mother at N. and 
 have two children, one of whom d. in infancy. 
 
 Myktil Estelle Dow, b. May 22, 1872; d. at five years. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Child of Jerry S. and Nellie Maynard Dow.) 
 
 Mertie May Dow, b. July 2, 1884; m., 1903, Frank A. Brace. They 
 reside at Tilton and have two children. He is employed by the Elm 
 Mills Woolen Co. 
 
 (Child of Herbert and Lizzie Herbert Dow.) 
 
 Erxest Gekry Dow, b. Nov. 4, 1881; m., Jan. 24, 1905, Mildred Pres- 
 cott of Laconia, where they live. 
 
 (Child of Byron and Lulu Reed Dow.) 
 
 Ethel Vara Dow d. in iniancy, June 26, 1881. 
 
 (Children of Charles and Elizabeth Dow Folger.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Wilfred Folger d. in infancy March 20, 1876. 
 Archie Leoxard Folger, b. Aug. 22, 1898. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 (Children of Frank and Mertie May Dow Brace.) 
 
 Twins, Leonard Fraxcis Brace and Mariox Estelle Brace, b. March 
 6, 1904. 
 
 DOW II. 
 
 Mescheck Dow lived near the Gilmanton line in East N. and there 
 manufactured shuttles and linen wheels, for which he is remembered 
 and received the name, "Old Shuttle Dow." A stream of water near his 
 home formerly was called "Tulliver Brook" and near-by was the 
 height called the Pinnacle. 
 
 He lived in town but a few years. 
 
 DOW III. 
 
 Sujixer Adajis Dow was b. at New Hampton. April 24, 1834, he 
 m. Maria Gordon of New Hampton and resided in various parts of N. 
 nearly all his life. He was a butcher and dealer in meat for many 
 years at N. Depot, where he was postmaster for 11 years. He moved 
 to Concord in 1885 and was for several years proprietor of a railroad 
 boarding-house, doing a grocery business in connection with it. He 
 
GENEALOGIES. 99 
 
 was of Revolutionary descent and went to Bennington Anniversary as 
 a guest of the state. Later he had a store on Munroe St. Mrs. Dow d. 
 at N. April 22, 18S2. He d. at Concord July 27, 1903. They had seven 
 children, one of whom d. in infancy. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Electa A. Dow, b. at New Hampton April 8, 1857; m., April, 1874, 
 Whitten Ludlow of N. (See Ludlow gen.) , 
 
 Lellax M. L. Dow, b. at Canterbury Nov. 25, 1862; m., July 22, 1880, 
 Lauren Davis of N. (See Davis gen.) 
 
 Charles S. Dow, b at Canterbury Jan., 1865; m., July, 1S89, Lizzie 
 Hoyt of Canaan, and resides in Concord. He is employed at Ford & 
 Kimball's foundry as engineer and has one dau., Anna. 
 
 LuRA Amanda Dow, b. at Tilton Aug. 20, 18G8; m., Oct. 22, 1886, 
 Elmer Young, an employee of the Boston & Maine Railroad. They 
 reside in Concord and have four children. 
 
 Guy Dow, b. at N. Oct. 11, 1872; m., Dec, 1894, Ida Colby of Man- 
 chester. He is a railroad engineer and a sportsman of the rod and 
 gun. He resides at Woodsville and has two children. 
 
 Levi S. Dow, b. at N. Sept. 8, 1876; m., Sept., 1903, Isabel Bailey. 
 He is also an engineer on the railroad. He was a soldier in the Spanish 
 War, being a member of Co. C, and was absent six months. 
 
 DOWNING I. 
 
 Hexby M. Downing came to N. from Belmont in 1891. He was b. at 
 Hopkinton March 31, 1859; m., July 27, 1878, Nettie E. Oilman, b. at 
 Lakeport April 26, 1863. He was a carder and spinner for several 
 years and later was in the meat and provision business at Belmont. 
 He d. at N. Jan. 12, 1894. She is a music teacher and a fine soprano 
 singer. She resides on Park St. They had one child. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 H-\RRV C. Downing, b. at Belmont May 31, ISSO; m., in 1899, Frances 
 V. Fifield, b. at Franklin in 1879. They had one child. Maitland F., 
 b. at Tilton Aug. 1, 1900. Mrs. Downing d. Aug. 12, 1900. He is em- 
 ployed as an electrician at Boston, Mass. 
 
 DOWNING II. 
 
 Edgar O. Downing, b. at Ellsworth June 8, 1851; m., March 24, 1871, 
 Emma E. Stewart, b. at Warren Jan. 20, 1850. They came to N. in 
 the spring of 1871. He was a farmer and lived on the Windsor Aldrich 
 place. After the destruction of their buildings by fire they came to the 
 village, where they have since conducted a boarding-house on Elm St. 
 They have three children. 
 
100 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Mabel P. DowxiXG, b. April 29, 1S72; m. Warren S. Nudd. (See 
 Nudd gen.) 
 
 Bessie H. Downing, b. Sept. 15, 1874; m. (first), April 12, 1S92, 
 Amos Reynolds, who was b. at Warren July 25, 1870, and d. at N. Oct. 
 22, 1892. She m. (second). May 23, 1894, George W. Blanchard, b. at 
 Hinsdale Nov. 25, 1872. They have four children and reside at Ken- 
 sington, Conn. 
 
 Wesley L. Downln-g, b. Feb. 9, ISSl; d., Jan. 7, 1897. 
 
 DOWNING III. 
 
 James T. Downing v;as b. at Ellsworth May 10, 1843; m., Sept. 17, 
 1865, Abbie F. Palmer, b. at Hopkinton Jan. 7, 1845. He came to N. 
 in 1880 and bought a part of the Henry Tibbetts farm. They had six 
 children. He is a farmer. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Bessie A. Downing, b. Jan. 2, 1867, at Ellsworth; m., May 16, 1889, 
 Charles H. Payson, b. July 22, 1863, at Raymond. (See Payson gen.) 
 
 Nellie E. Downing, b. Feb. 22, 1869, at Hopkinton; m.. May 13, 1889, 
 Irving AV. Copp and resided at Tilton, where he d. April 13, 1893. 
 They had two children, Irving James, d. at six years, and Bertha F., 
 b. May 21, 1893. She m. (second), 1898, George W. Dias, b. at Ply- 
 mouth, 1874. They now reside at Tilton, where they are proprietors 
 of Hotel Jordan, and have two children. (See Dias gen.) 
 
 Walter Fred Downing, b. at Ellsworth June 26, 1871; d., Sept. 5, 
 1871. 
 
 Clara May Downing, b. Sept. 17, 1873 at Lakeport; d., Nov. 21, 
 1873. 
 
 Cora B. Downing, b. at Gilford Jan. 18, 1877; m., April 14, 1897, 
 Francis Cass of Canterbury, where they reside, and have four children, 
 Lorenzo, Jimmy, Nathaniel and . 
 
 Susie F. Downing, b. at Tilton; m., Dec. 2, 1896, Francis P. Crane of 
 Warren. They have three children and one d. in infancy, Abbie L., 
 Walter C. and Mary E. 
 
 Infant, b. Sept. 26, 1895; d., Oct. 26, 1895. 
 
 INA May Downing, b. Dec. 23, 1897; m., May 4, 1905, Benjamin F. 
 Gile, b. April 28, 1867, at Hanover, 
 
 Jajees a. Downing, b. at N. April 7, 1891. 
 
 DURGIN. 
 
 Henry Wilber Durgin came to N. from Tilton Nov. 12, 1887. He was 
 b. at Sanborn ton Jan. 11, 1839; m., Jan. 6, 1872, Susan E. Farnum, b. 
 at Hill March 24, 1844. He has been employed at Tilton most of the 
 
JAMES EARNSHAW. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 101 
 
 time for 43 years, formerly at A. H. Tilton's mill and later at the Tilton 
 Woolen Mills. 
 
 He built a house on Park St., where Mrs. Durgin d. Dec. 21, 1903. 
 He now resides in Tilton. 
 
 BUTTON. 
 
 Eeastcs E. DrTTox, b. 1S55 at Hardwick, Vt.; m., Jan. 1, 1876, Mrs. 
 Hannah Munsey Morrison of Gilford. Mr. Button was a farmer. He 
 came to Tilton in 1893 and to N. in 1895. He is employed by the Elm 
 Mills Woolen Company as shipper. 
 
 They resided on Bay St. until they occupied their newly-purchased 
 home on Winter St., Tilton, in 1904. She had one child by her former 
 marriage, Edwin G. Morrison. (See Morrison gen.) They are mem- 
 bers of the Congregational Church, of which he has been a deacon 
 and is active in all its lines of work. He is also a member of Doric 
 Lodge of A. F. and A. M. 
 
 DYER. 
 
 Sahvel Dyer, b. 1765 in Andover, was the first settler in the north- 
 east corner of N., on a part of the Governor Shute reservation. He 
 m. Lucretia Evans and had seven children. He is first taxed in 1817. 
 He d. here Oct. 5, 1819. She d. Sept. 23, 1866, in Methuen. But two 
 children remained in town and but four were born here. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Sally Dyeb, b. Oct. 30, ISIO; m., March 9, 1834, Ebenezer Hall of 
 N., a tanner who resided at the corner of Granite and Bay Sts., oppo- 
 site the Chase tavern. (See Hall gen.) 
 
 Betsey Dyer, b. at N. Dec. 18, 1812; m. George P. Wightman April 
 25, 1834, a farmer of Bozrahville, Conn., and had two sons, George 
 Evans, who served in the Civil War and three years in the United 
 States army, and Henry Dyer Wightman, who d. at three. 
 
 Aaeox Woodman Dyer d. at two years. 
 
 Maby Ax.v Dyer, b. April 5, 1817; m. Daniel T. Morrison and re- 
 sided in Methuen, where she d. July 12, 1879. They had three chil- 
 dren, Fred T., Mary A. and Daniel W. The two latter d. in infancy. 
 
 Samxjel Dyer, Jr., and another son d. aged two years. 
 
 EARNSHAW. 
 
 James Eabnsuaw, b. at Thongsbridge, Yorkshire, England, June 5. 
 1822; m., 1843, Sarah Anne Dawson of Meltham, England. He was a 
 woolen manufacturer. He came to America in 1S4S to Peacedale, R. I., 
 and took charge of the Hazard woolen mill. His family joined him in 
 Jan., 1849. 
 
102 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 After seven years they moved to Sanbornton Bridge, where he took 
 in 1856 the necessary step to become a citizen of the United States. 
 
 In 1S61 he came to N., where Mrs. Earnshaw d. Nov. 25, 1864, and is 
 buried at Park Cemetery. 
 
 His mill (see picture) was destroyed by fire in 1867 and he went to 
 Dover, Ky., where Mr. Baker of Tilton had a woolen mill, which he was 
 obliged by failing eyesight to sell. It was bought in part by Mr. Earn- 
 shaw, who removed his family there in July, 1868, where they have 
 since resided. 
 
 He was a member of Doric Lodge, No. 78, A. P. and A. M. He d. at 
 Dover, Ky., Aug. 24, 1895. His four sons are also Masons. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Frederick Willia^i Earxshaw, b. at Meltham, England, July 21, 
 1845; m., 1876, Anna D. McMillan of Dover, Ky. They had seven chil- 
 dren, four of whom are living: James, Guy Everett, Sarah Lucile and 
 Nancy Catherine of Jackson, T6nn. 
 
 Elizabeth Earnshaw, b. at Meltham, England, Jan. 16, 1848; m., 
 1875, W. B. McMillan of Dover, Ky., where they now reside. 
 
 Lydia Axx Earnshaw, b. at Peacedale, R. I., Dec. 29, 1849. She re- 
 sides at Dover, Ky. 
 
 Lucy Grace Earnshaw, b. May 1, 1851; m., Oct., 1876, J. J. McMil- 
 lan of Dover, Ky., at Pomroy, 0. She d. at Dover Aug. 27, 1887. They 
 had five children, two of whom reside at Dover, Ethel B. and Anna 
 May. 
 
 Mary Emily Earnshaw, b. Jan. 26, 1853; m. Oscar Hanna of Dover, 
 Ky., at Pomroy, O. They had 10 children, seven of whom are living. 
 She resides at Bellevue, Ky. The children are: Clara D., Duke Ells- 
 worth, Oscar Watson, Lucile Elizabeth, Delia May, Blanche Augusta 
 and Marguerite. 
 
 John Allen Earnshaw, b. May 6, 1854, at Allenton, R. I.; m., in 
 1885, Mary R. Smith of Dover, Ky., and had three children. 
 
 One son, Francis Watson, resides at Cincinnati, O. 
 
 David James Earnshaw, b. Jan. 15, 1857, at Tilton; d., at Dover, Ky., 
 Dec. 16, 1888. 
 
 Hiram W. Earnshaw, b. Nov. 13, 1858, at Tilton; m. Mary T. Powers 
 Nov., 1889, and had five children, three of whom, William Frazie, 
 Hiram Powers and David Thomas, reside at Memphis, Tenn. 
 
 Joe Henry Earnshaw, b. at N. Oct. 11, 1S62; m., Oct., 1887, Delia 
 Webb of Middleport, O. They had one dau., Elizabeth Webb, now of 
 Columbus, O. 
 
 George Ellsworth Earnshaw, b. Nov. 8, 1864, at N.; d., April 18, 
 1865. 
 
 Note. These facts are written by Ethel McMillen, a granddaughter of 
 James Earnshaw and a great-granddaughter of Joseph Dawson. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 103 
 
 ELLIOTT. 
 
 Charles F. Elliott, b. at Penacook, 1S57; m. Florence G. Chase, b. 
 April 14, 1S65, at Boston, Mass. They came to N. from Belmont. 
 He was previously a farmer at Canterbury and is now employed at 
 the grain mill of Brown & Boucher. 
 
 They have seven children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (All b. at Canterbury.) 
 
 Ernest D. Elliott b. May 16, 1S85, is employed at the pulp mill at 
 East Tilton. 
 
 Eva B. Elliott, b. April 2, 1SS7. is employed at the Tilton Optical 
 Works. 
 
 Alfred C. Elliott, b. July 22, 1SS9, is learning a machinist's trade at 
 Garrick's. 
 
 M.\RT L. Elliott, b. Jan. 4, 1891; d., Sept. 25, 1891. 
 
 H.\RRY E. Elliott, b. Sept. 6, 1893. 
 
 Gladys B. Elliott, b. Nov. 12, 1894. 
 
 ELKINS. 
 
 Jo.VATHAX Elki.xs was a lifelong resident of Factory Village, now 
 Franklin Falls. He inherited a large tract of land south of the 
 present Central St. Much of this he sold when new industries were 
 established and new homes thus called for. 
 
 He sold his store to Nathaniel Rowe and erected a new home near 
 the junction of the rivers and gave his attention to farming. He m. 
 Clara Fisher of St. Johnsbury, Vt., and had four children. After his 
 death she removed to Hampton and none of the family are now resi- 
 dents at Franklin Falls. The Elkins home is now owned by Frank 
 M. Edmunds. 
 
 EMERY L 
 
 MiTTiE Chase Clough (see Stephen Chase gen.), b. at Canterbury 
 Nov. G, 1832; m„ Jan. 27, ISGS, Samuel Louis Emery, b. at Canterbury 
 June 17, 1827. They resided at Canterbury and various places in the 
 West. 
 
 He d. at Canterbury Sept. 10, 1873. Mrs. Emery came to N. with 
 their three dau. and erected a home on the hill overlooking the vil- 
 lage from the East and on land belonging to her grandfather, Stephen 
 Chase, as early as 1775 and which had never passed from ownership in 
 the family. She d. there Dec. 28, 1900. She was a teacher previous to 
 her marriage. In Canterbury, N. and Concord. She was educated at 
 Tilton and Bradford, Mass. 
 
104 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Maet Maud Emeey, b. at Cheuoa, 111., Feb. 9, 18C9, Y\-as educated at 
 the New Hampshire Conference Female College, graduating in 1S90. 
 She then took a special course at Radcliffe in the languages. She has 
 since taught but is at present in the home. 
 
 Abbie Josephine Emeey, b. July 23, 1870, at Canterbury, graduated 
 at the New Hampshire Conference Female College, class of 1890. 
 Later she was a student at the Massachusetts Normal Art School. 
 
 She is now teaching in the Bristol High School. 
 
 MiTTiE Louise, b. at Peoria, 111., Jan. 4, 1872, graduated from the 
 New Hampshire Conference Female College, class of 1891, and is at 
 pi'esent teaching at Laconia. She graduated from the Emerson School 
 of Oratory in 1897. 
 
 EMERY II. 
 
 Samuel Emery came to N. from Rumney and established a grocery 
 store at N. Depot, purchasing the business of Frank H. Moore. 
 He bought the Sumner Dow home, where Mrs. Emery d. April 1, 1897. 
 He sold later to Charles Sanborn and removed from town. He m. 
 (second), June 27, 1897, Amelia Ambler of Brighton, Mass. 
 
 EVANS I. 
 
 Robert Evaxs, b. at Strafford March 3, 1775, came to N. about 1798 
 and bought the farm of John Brown on the sunrise side of Bean Hill. 
 He m. Elizabeth Clough of Strafford and had a family of six. He d. 
 March 13, 1844. She d. Nov. 25, 1848. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 David Evaxs, b. Jan. 20, 1798; m. Louisa Smith Dec. C, 1825. (See 
 Smith gen.) 
 
 They lived for some years at the Ordway place on Bean Hill, where 
 two dau. were born. They removed later to East N., where he d. 
 April 3, 1836. Mrs. Evans later m. Sanborn Shaw of Salisbury and 
 removed there. (See Shaw gen.) 
 
 Betsey Evans, b. April, 1800; m. (pub), April 10, 1842, John Kenney 
 of Barnstead. Both d. same day of pneumonia and were buried in the 
 same grave. 
 
 Polly Evans, b. Oct. 30, 1802. 
 
 Sally Evans, b. April 26, 1804; m. Abel Hyde of Columbia. 
 
 William C. Evans, b. at N. June 5, 1811; m., June 11, 1840, Martha 
 J. T. Carr of Loudon. He learned the carpenter's trade when a boy 
 of Dea. John Mathes of Canterbury and mastered all its details. He 
 went to Boston in 1831 to work at his trade. Being a great lover of 
 music and having a fine voice he became a pupil of the late Lowell 
 
GENEALOGIES. 105 
 
 Mason and was a choir leader at the North Bennett and Russell Sts. 
 Churches and after his return to New Hampshire taught singing 
 schools in N., Canterbury and Pittsfield. Prof. B. B. Davis, late of 
 Concord, took his first lessons in vocal music of him. In 1S39 he settled 
 at Barnstead and later removed to Pittsfield, where he remained until 
 his death 30 years later. He united with the Methodist Church at 17 
 years of age and was a generous supporter of public worship. 
 
 He was a prominent Mason, a member of Corinthian Lodge, and for 
 many years was its chaplain. They had four children, two of whom 
 reside at Pittsfield. 
 
 Martha Evans, b. March 9, 1S13. 
 
 Mahala Evaxs, b. Aug. IS, 1S14; m., Feb. 14, 1S42, Lyford C. Hill of 
 Belmont. 
 
 Joseph Evans, b. June 10, 1S15. 
 
 James M. Evans, b. Aug. 10, ISIS; m. Rebecca Bean Durgin of San- 
 bornton and removed West. Both d. at Lodi, 111. They had three 
 sons, two of whom were killed in the Civil War. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of David and Louisa Smith Evans.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 Harriet Ann Evans, b. Sept. 13, 1826; d., March 3, 1S2S. 
 Ann Louisa Evans, b. March 28, 1828; m. Elbridge Shaw of Salis- 
 bury. She was previous to her marriage a teacher in Lawrence, Mass. 
 They had a son and four dau. She d. at Salisbury in 1S93. He d. there 
 nine days later. (See Shaw gen.) 
 
 Jane Evans, b. Oct. 29, 1S30; d., June 23, 1S34. 
 
 AuALiNE Evans, b. Aug. 1, 1832; m. Harry Shaw of Salisbury. He 
 removed to Hills St., N., in 1859. She was a teacher for some years. 
 (See Shaw gen.) 
 Ella Jane Evans, b. Aug. 31, 1834; d., June 23, 1835. 
 
 EVANS II. 
 
 Moses Evans, b. 1812; m. INIary Jane Carr and had two children. 
 They resided on what was known as "Lovers' Lane." She d. and he 
 m. (second), Betsey Hills. (See Hills gen.) This house was the par- 
 sonage for the first Methodist ministers. It was ^torn down and re- 
 moved. He d. Jan. 15, 1S55. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 M.vRY Evans, after her father's death, resided with her guardian, 
 Dea. Noah Peabody. She suffered an attack of smallpox and was re- 
 moved to the old home, which was reserved for similar purposes for 
 
 some years. She m. Stevens of Wellesley, Mass., and has two 
 
 children, Anna and . 
 
 Orin Evans d. at Boston. He m. and had two dau. 
 
106 HISTORY OP NORTHPIELD, 
 
 EVANS III. 
 
 John Evans, b. March 20, 1S02, always lived in N. He m., July 4, 
 1822, Mehitable Thurston of Gilmanton, b. Aug. 22, 1809. She was 
 killed by the cars close by her home Oct. 17, 1852, as she was trying to 
 save her deaf dau. He m. (second), Laura Willey of Canterbury and 
 d. July 10, 1876. They had 11 children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Lydia Thurston Evans, b. Oct. 22, 1822; m., Nov. 17, 1842, Cyrus 
 "Woodruff Lord. (See Lord gen.) 
 
 Lyjian Barker Evans, b. Feb. 4, 1827; m., Feb. 6, 1856, Sarah Cor- 
 sall, b. at Mongonue, New Zealand, Feb. 3, 1836. He was captain of the 
 whale ship Arctic of Fairhaven, Mass., and was drowned in the In- 
 dian Ocean, Jan., 1857. His body was recovered and buried at Mon- 
 gonue, New Zealand. They had one son. She m., 1863, John G. Heath 
 of Raymond. (See Heath gen., with portrait.) 
 
 Julia Ann Evans, b. Feb. 26, 1829; m., March 20, 1852, Amos K. 
 Copp. (See Copp gen.) 
 
 Mary Frances Evans, b. March 16, 1831; d. in infancy. 
 
 LucRETiA Ann Evans, b. May 14, 1833; d., Sept., 1842. 
 
 Gardiner Thurston Evans, b. Nov. 20, 1835; d., at sea, Sept., 1853. 
 
 Mary Frances Evans, b. March 10, 1837; d., Feb. 7, 1855. 
 
 HiRAii Bradbury Evans and Horace Bradbury Evans, twins, b. 
 March 22, 1841. 
 
 The former served in the Civil War (see Boys in Blue) and d. in 
 1864. The latter served in the Twelfth Massachusetts Regiment and 
 d. in hospital May, 1864. 
 
 Mahala Etta Evans, b. April 16, 1843; m., June, 1861, Herbert Goss 
 Chase, b. at Cabot, Vt., April 4, 1841, an optician in Fitchburg, Mass. 
 He served in the Ninth Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteers, as mu- 
 sician. They have one son, Herbert. 
 
 FELLOWS. 
 
 Two brothers, Joseph and Thomas, sons of Joseph Fellows of Gil- 
 manton, were residents of N. 
 
 Joseph Fellows, 2d., b. Dec. 19, 1794; m. Sylvia Sanborn, b. Jan. 2, 
 1795. He was a farmer until his removal to Laconia. Later he I'e- 
 turned to Upper Gilmanton, built a nice house and invested in the mills 
 there. Reverses came and the loss of his property caused his death. 
 The location took his name and was called Fellows' Mills until changed 
 to Belmont. His N. home was bought by Ransom Ladd, demolished 
 and rebuilt at Laconia. 
 
 Thomas Fellow.s, b. Oct. 27, 1802; m. (first), Sally F. Mudgett and 
 bought the Busiel farm in the southeast corner of N. in 1840. They 
 had two sons. She d. April 25, 1854. He m. (second), Sylvia T. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 107 
 
 Mudgett of Belmont and had one son. He was captain of the state 
 militia and d. June 24, 1S76, and his wife d. Dec. 4, 1889. This home 
 was destroyed by fire in 1878. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Children of Joseph and Sylvia Sanborn Fellows.) 
 
 Caroline A. Fellows, b. Feb., 1823; d., Jan. 24, 1840. 
 
 Lyman B. Fellows, b. May 27, 1819; m. Harriet Merrill and had three 
 children. 
 
 He m. (second), Mrs. Lovina Glines French Sept. 1, 1868. He d. at 
 N. April 20, 1885. (See French gen.) 
 
 Mr. Fellows got his title from the fire department in Laconia, of 
 which he was captain. 
 
 (Children of Thomas and Sally Mudgett Fellows.) 
 
 Stlvestek Fellows, b. at N., was educated at Gilmanton Academy. 
 He read medicine and graduated from Dartmouth Medical School in 
 1855. He m. in Connecticut and, going West, settled near Milwaukee 
 in 1856. Later he was at Wells, Minn., until 1895, when he went to 
 Floral, Fla, where he d. in 1902, leaving three daughters, two in Florida 
 and one in Minnesota. 
 
 George Fellows learned the machinist's trade in Canada. He was a 
 steamboat engineer on the St. Lawrence River. He now lives at St. 
 Petersburg, Fla., and is unmarried. 
 
 (Child of Thomas and Sylvia Mudgett Fellows.) 
 
 Frank Fellows, b. at N.; m.,Aug. 16, 1878, Ellen Amanda Nudd and 
 resides on the homestead. He has twice suffered the loss of his home 
 by fire, in 1S7S and again in 1892. 
 
 He is a farmer and carpenter and has one dau., Mrs. Mary G. Clifford 
 of Concord. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of Lyman and Harriet Merrill Fellows.) 
 
 Joseph A. Fellows, b. April 2, 1842; m. Mary Fernald and had one 
 son. She d. April, 1890. He m. (second), Julia Frances Allen, who d. 
 Nov. 6, 1904. He was employed for some years by J. F. Taylor as clerk 
 and then removed West. They had one son, Frank Fernald Fellows. 
 
 Lunette Fellows, b. May 3, 1851; m. (first), Theodore Thompson, 
 and (second), Gerrish Sanborn of Salisbury, where they reside. 
 
 FIFIELD. 
 
 Nathaniel Fifield, Jr., came to N. from Stanstead, P. Q., in 1896. 
 He was born at Salisbury Point, now Amesbury, Mass., Oct. 4, 1836. 
 He m., 1864, Martha J. Sargent, b. at Littleton April 2, 1847. He is an 
 
108 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 upholsterer and carriage trimmer. They reside on Vine" St. and have 
 three children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Charles Eddy Fifield, b. at Stanstead April 23, 18G5; m., June 25, 
 1896, Anna E. Gordon, b. at Boston, Mass., Sept. 25, 1869. He is of the 
 firm of C. E. & F. H. Fifield, meats and provisions. He resides on Oak 
 St They have one dau., Virginia E., b. 1901. 
 
 George Albert Fifield, b. at Stanstead Dec. 15, 1867; d. at five. 
 
 Frank H. Fifield, b. Aug. 18, 1870; of the firm of C. E. & F. H. Fi- 
 field. (See above.) 
 
 FLETCHER. 
 
 John and William Fletcher, brothers, came from Ballardvale, Mass., 
 in 1865 and with the Messrs. Firth and Balantyne bought the Bailey 
 Mills, changed the name to Granite Mills and began the manufacture 
 of various grades of woolen goods. Mr. Fletcher bought the resi- 
 dence of Noah Peabody on Bay St., where they lived 28 years, selling 
 to George W. Weeks Sept., 1893. They then removed to Park St., 
 where she d. Jan. 11, 1902. They were Episcopalians, in v.'hich church 
 he has been the efficient organist and choir master continuously since 
 his residence here. He was previously, and has always been, a music 
 teacher and now conducts a music store with residence in Tilton. He 
 is a member of Doric Lodge, A. F. and A. M., and was its second 
 Master. He is also a Knight Templar, being a member of Mt. Horeb 
 Commandery, Concord. 
 
 He was b. at Halifax, Yorkshire, England, April G, 1825; m. Bath- 
 sheba Schofield, b. at Halifax April IS, 1826. They had four chil- 
 dren, one of whom d. in infancy. 
 
 William Fletcher, his brother, took up his abode in the Chase tav- 
 ern house at the entrance of Bay St., where a child, Thomas E., was b. 
 Later he bought the Lyford house on Pleasant St., Tilton, where he 
 d. July 1, 1876, aged 52. They had five sons b. in America and three 
 dau. born in England previous to coming to America. Mrs. Fletcher 
 d. Jan. 26, 1892. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Children of John and Bathsheba Fletcher.) 
 
 Ada Fletcher, b. at Halifax, England, Jan. 9, 1847, was educated at 
 the New Hampshire Conference Seminary. She m., Nov. 21, 1867, Felix 
 G. Haines and returned to Ballardvale. They had six children, one 
 of whom, Florence, d. at her grandfather's at N. Nov. 12, ISSl. The 
 other children are: Sadie, Millie, Fletcher and Grace. Mr. Haines is 
 a grocer. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 109 
 
 Frank W. Fletcher, b. at Ballardvale Sept. 7, 1S50, was employed 
 In various capacities in his father's mill. He was a music teacher for 
 some years. He is a member of Doric Lodge, A. F. and A. M., and was 
 a charter member of Harmony Lodge, I. 0. 0. F. He is also a K. of 
 P. He is a social favorite, with varied talents. He has been since the 
 sale of the Granite Mills employed at Franklin Falls as wool sorter. 
 
 Nellie Fletcher, b. at Trenton, N. J., June S, 1S52; m. John Stark 
 and resides at Ballardvale, where he is a dealer in meats and pro- 
 visions. They have seven children: Mattie, Willie, Ada, George, Frank, 
 Jennie and Fred. 
 
 (Child of William and Elizabeth Kent Fletcher.) 
 TnoJiAS Fletcher, b. in N. 1S60; m. Winnie Farrington of Tilton and 
 resides in Concord. He was postmaster at Tilton during President 
 Cleveland's second term. He is a postal clerk on the Portsmouth Rail- 
 road. Other children b. in Tilton are Geoi'ge, John, Charles and Will- 
 iam P., who d. at Tilton Feb. 3, 1903. 
 
 FOLLANSBY. 
 
 WILLIAM FOLLANSBY. 
 
 The Follansbys came from Normandy to England with William the 
 Conqueror in 1066. A descendant, Thomas, came to America from 
 Derbyshire in 1642. William, the subject of this sketch, was a son of 
 Benjamin, and was b. in Hill, N. B., in 1802, and d. at Belmont, N. 
 H., in 1849. He first started in business in Holderness, N. H., when 
 about 20 years old, where he opened a country store, which he suc- 
 cessfully carried on and while there built several houses. He moved 
 to Sanbornton Bridge about 1834. He was a man of remarkable 
 energy and his arrival gave a new impetus to business of various 
 kinds, and it has been said that the little village dated its period of 
 growth with the advent of William Follansby, and that he added more 
 buildings than he found there. After various places of business and 
 abode across the river, he erected on the Northfield side the long low 
 building which stood for half a century on what is now called "The 
 Beach," and bore the classic name of "Seven Nations." One section of 
 it housed his family and one his store. He was one of the first to en- 
 gage in the palm leaf hat traffic and furnished employment to large 
 numbers of women and girls. When the plans for the new Congrega- 
 tional Church were agitated Dr. Enos Hoyt and Hon. Samuel Tilton, 
 at his suggestion furnished with him the necessary funds and took 
 their pay in pews, which they sold later, and largely by his push the 
 enterprise was promptly carried through. He was also the owner of 
 various tracts of land in the town as shown by the old tax lists. He 
 was a generous, kind-hearted man and although sharp at a trade he 
 never refused aid to any one in need. He was m. three times, first 
 to Persis Wells of Holderness. By this marriage there were three 
 
110 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 children, Cutting, Caroline and Peabody M. His second wife was 
 Ruth "Wells, a sister of the first, and by this marriage there were 
 three children. Wells, Joey D. and Daniel. His third wife was Mary 
 Sweatt-Ladd of Upper Gilmantou, a niece of the late Elder Peter 
 Clark, a noted Baptist minister, and by this marriage one child, Will- 
 iam H. C, was born. 
 
 CUTTING FOLLANSBY. 
 
 Cutting Follaxsby (see portrait) was b. at Hill July 4, 1822. He 
 was educated in the common schools and at Plymouth Academy until 
 1849, when he went to the California gold fields, where he remained 
 four years. 
 
 Returning he farmed some years and also traded in a store erected 
 by his father where Hill's Block now stands, dealing in dry goods and 
 groceries, and had a large traffic in palm leaf hats. He m. before go- 
 ing to California, Jan. 1, 1847, Alice A. Haynes of N. and had one son, 
 Charles H., b. at N. Oct. 24, 1847. In 1856 he became a trader at Hold- 
 erness, now Ashland, where, with Hiram Hodgdon, he conducted a 
 prosperous business for more than 20 years. 
 
 In 1873 he removed to Barre, Mass., and, purchasing a large store 
 and handsome residence, commenced trade as Cutting Follansby & Son. 
 He d. Sept. 14, 1875. He was a man of sterling qualities, truthful, 
 honest and upright. He was highly esteemed by those familiar with 
 him for the remarkable assiduity and frugality observed in his busi- 
 ness as well as his integrity of character and beneficence to all in need 
 and especially to the Christian Church. 
 
 Thus he won large success and many strong friends. 
 
 His home was in N. many years, where he was a large real estate 
 owner. Mrs. Follansby still resides in N. 
 
 His son continued his father's business in Barre some years and is 
 now connected with the banks there. He m. Mary, dau. of President 
 Meservey of the New Hampton Literary Institute, and has a dau., 
 Alice. Mrs. Follansby d. 1SS7. He m. (second), 1889, Minnie Kendall. 
 
 FORREST I. 
 
 William Foekest, 1st., was of Irish, and his wife, Dubia Forrest, of 
 Scotch, descent. They came to America in 1744, bringing three sons 
 and two dau., Margarett, Robert, John, William and Nancy. Both lived 
 and d. in Boston. John Forrest, 2d., was the first of the name to 
 settle in N. He was b. in Ireland in 1726. He, with his brother Will- 
 iam, 2d, and two sisters, after a short stay in Boston, passed on to 
 Londonderry, where they remained some time. Securing a grant of 
 land on Canterbury intervale the children, with a single exception, 
 took up their abode on the banks of the Merrimack opposite Boscawen 
 Plain and erected a fort. Robert d. in Boston. His wife, Betsey Ful- 
 
CUTTING FOLLANSBEE. 
 
GENEALOGIES. Ill 
 
 ton Forrest, after her second marriage to William Love, came also to 
 Canterbury. The fear of hostile Indians subsiding, they scattered and 
 John came to the north fields and purchased the Leighton farm near 
 Franklin Falls. He had been a soldier in the French and Indian 
 Wars. He m. Elinor Gipson, 1746, b. at Canterbury 1728, d. Jan. 10, 
 1S14, in N. They had nine children. 
 
 William Forrest, 2d., brother of John, according to the Canterbury 
 records, m. Letty Mann of the north fields and had a family of seven: 
 Jane, b. 1753; Mary, 1755; Robert, 1757; Letty, 1760; Anna, 1762; 
 Margret, 1765, and d., 1766. ^- ."'i,-^ 
 
 I find no further record save' that Robert served in the Revolutionary 
 War and was credited to Loudon. 
 
 Betsey Forrest was probably the wife of Jonathan Cross, son of 
 Jesse, father of Forrest Cross, as Jonathan and Betsey Forrest Cross 
 sold her father's farm to Mr. Leighton a few years later, as the deed 
 records. They were m. Jan. 4, 1798. (See Cross gen.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (Children of John and Elinor Gibson Forrest.) 
 
 John Forrest was a soldier in the French War and was called 
 "Soldier John." He m. Sarah Gibson of Canterbury, Dec. 29, 1778, 
 and resided there. 
 
 Elixor Forrest m. Jeremiah Gibson Nov. 2, 1776. He was a soldier 
 in Col. Jeremiah Clough's regiment. He entered the service at 25 
 years of age. (See Gipson or Gibson.) 
 
 William Forrest, b. 1753 at Canterbury Fort; m. Sarah Ellison, b. 
 1758, d. Jan. 10, 1802, by whom he had 11 children. He began in 
 1774 a settlement near N. Centre. He cleared a few acres and the 
 next year sowed his grain and left for the war. He was wounded at 
 Bunker Hill and suffered from sickness, but lived to return, and took 
 up his life work, farming. For 60 years in succession he planted his 
 own corn. He was a staunch Democrat, as were all his sons and 
 grandsons. He was never absent from the annual town meeting but 
 once. 
 
 He m. (second), Sally Simonds, b. 1771, of N., who d. Feb. 20, 1850, 
 and by whom he had three sons. He d. March 5, 1840, with less than 
 one hour's sickness, leaving 14 children, 41 grandchildren and 12 great- 
 grandchildren. He was a pensioner. 
 
 AxxA Forrest m. James Gibson Nov. 21, 1776, and d. Oct. 18, 1783. 
 He was the son of James, who was a scout along the Pemigewasset 
 and branches, under Lieutenant Miles. He was also in the Revolu- 
 tionary War in Col. Jeremiah Clough's regiment, and d. March 3, 1825. 
 
 Jane Forrest, b. in Canterbury Fort; m. James Gipson. nephew of the 
 above. They had several children — Rodney, Nancy and perhaps others. 
 She d. Jan. 11, 1819. 
 
 Lydia Forrest, b. at Canterbury Fort 1762; d. there March 9, 1835. 
 She m. Thomas Clough of Loudon. They resided at East N. They had 
 a dau., Sally, who m. Gawn A. Gorrell. 
 
112 
 
 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 AoNEs FoKREST, b. at Canterbury Fort; m. Moses Randall and had one 
 dau., Agnes. 
 
 Robert Foebest. b. in Canterbury Fort, m. Sarah McDonald of N. 
 and removed to the farm occupied many years by the late James Chase 
 in Canterbury. They had three children, John, Sarah and Susan. 
 They removed later to West N., where both d. He d. Oct. 2, 1844. She 
 d. April 6, 1852. 
 
 James Forrest, b. in Canterbury, 17G5, came to N., 1784. In 1785 he 
 took possession of the farm in East N. still owned by his descendants. 
 There were few roads and he reached it by a bridle. path from the Bay 
 Hill road. His wife, Anna Ellison, dau. of Richard Ellison, to whom 
 lot No. 55 was originally granted, d. in 1809, leaving a son, Samuel. 
 He m. (second), Mrs. Peggy Cross Sanborn, Aug. 14, 1815, by whom 
 he had a dau., Alvira, who m., in 1852, Silas Jones of Charlestown, 
 Mass., and d. in 1894. They had a son, Dexter Forrest Jones, of 
 Waltham, Mass. Mr. Forrest d. Oct. 16, 1843. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of William and Sarah Ellison Forrest and Sally Simonds 
 
 Forrest. ) 
 
 Nancy Forrest, b. at N. 1769; m., Sept. 27, 1811, Abraham Simonds 
 of N., d. May 26, 1815. They had one child, Joseph M. (See Simonds 
 gen.) 
 
 Sally Forrest, b. at N.; m. Simon Oilman and resided at 
 
 West N. She d. June 5, 1851. Their children were: Stephen, Joseph, 
 Sally m. Thomas Lyford, Nancy m. John Kent. (See Oilman gen.) 
 
 William Forrest^ b. March 21, 17S4, always lived in N.; m. Nancy 
 Dearborn (see Dearborn gen.) and had a family of nine children. 
 His farm was a part of the original homestead. He d. May 25, 1864. 
 She d. June 1, 1849. 
 
 Betsey Forrest, b. at Northfield, 1790; m. Jonathan Randall Aug. 1, 
 1814, and went to Canterbury to live; d., Jan. 31, 1872, and he d. May 
 15, 1S70. Children: Nancy, b. 1815, d. Sept. 8, 1839; Serena, b. 1817, d. 
 Oct. 15, 1844; Miles, b. Dec. 20, 1818; Sally G., b. Jan. 20, 1821, d. 
 March 4, 1903; Mary Jane, b. 1824, d. Oct. 4, 1872; Lucretia M., b. Sept. 
 10, 1826, m. Dixie Hall of N., Nov. 14, 1848 (see Hall gen.); Eliza, b. 
 Nov. 23, 1830, d. May 16, 1902; Emily F., b. 1832, d. Sept. 24, 1848. 
 
 Polly Forrest (4), b. 1791, was the second wife of Chellis Sargent, 
 b. July 8, 1800; m., Sept. 10, 1838. They lived at Tilton, where she d. 
 Nov. 13, 1872. She was a woman of great energy and good judgment 
 and a helpmeet, indeed, to her husband, who by industry accumulated 
 a competency which was cheerfully and generously given for the sup- 
 port of the Methodist Church and many other good works. In the 
 early years of the New Hampshire Conference Seminary they were 
 both indefatigable in their efforts for the upbuilding of the school, 
 giving liberally of their money and time. He was killed by a moving 
 train, Feb. 7, 1887. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 113 
 
 Jane and Statira Forrest m. the Gile brothers, Abel and Thomas, 
 both of N. (See Gile gen.) 
 
 John E. Forrest, b. 179G; always resided in N. He purchased one 
 acre of land and' built the house opposite the old Center schoolhouse, 
 but later, selling out, built the farm buildings on the Forrest road, 
 just below his father's farm, of which he inherited a part. Squire 
 Glidden had built, in his ambition to excel his neighbors, a barn on 
 the Moore place on Bean Hill road, too large by far for the needs of 
 the place. The west end of this was purchased by Mr. Forrest and 
 removed to his new farm. He m., Jan. 1, 1826, Marcia Eastman of 
 Salisbury, and had a family of four. She was b. 1804; d.. Dec. 9, 1871. 
 He outlived all his family, and d. Oct. 8, 1881. ^ 
 
 Joseph Forrest, b. in N. 1785; d., 1810. 
 
 Jacob Forrest, b. 1788; m., in 1820, Lydia Tuttle, b. May 31, 179g, 
 and moved to a farm in Danville, Vt. He d. June 13, 1843; she lived 
 until Feb. 17, 1879. Children: Samuel, b. Dec. 20, 1823; m., 1855. Will- 
 iam, b. March 3, 1S25; d., May 12, 1866. Curtis, b. Nov. 23, 1827; m. 
 Flora Stocker of Danville, Vt., Nov. 2, 1877. Sarah Jane, b. Aug. 24, 
 
 1829; m. Taylor, March 1, 1852. John, b. 1831; d. when three 
 
 weeks old. John E., b. Jan. 4, 1834. Joseph Sargent, b. May 6, 1836; 
 m.. 1868. Jacob, b. Sept. 16, 1839. 
 
 Charles G. Forrest, b. Oct. 16, 1806; m., Dec. 2, 1833, Mrs. Sally 
 Folsom Mead, b. Oct. 9, 1807, and had three dau. and one son. He 
 lived on the "Gile place," now owned by Otis C. Wyatt, until 1854, 
 when he went to New London for the education of his children, after- 
 ward settling in Tilton, where he d. March 30, 1SS2. He was a man 
 of firm religious principles and convictions, and at his death one of 
 the three oldest members of the Congregational Church, having united 
 in 1826. Mrs. Forrest d. Dec. 15, 1893. She had two dau. by her pre- 
 vious marriage, b. in N., M. Octavia Sleeper, b. Oct. 25, 1827; d. in 
 Oakland, Cal., March 10, 1901; Olivia A. Mead McKie, b. in N. Oct. 15, 
 1830. She now resides in Lone Oak, Texas. 
 
 Elli.son and James M., youngest sons of William, inherited the 
 homestead, where they lived until after the death of their parents. 
 In the fall of 1850 they left N. for Wisconsin, and settled on a farm 
 in Fort Winnebago. Ellison Forrest, b. in N. Aug. 11, 1808; d. in 
 Fort Winnebago. James M. Forrest, b. in N. June 10, 1812; d. June 
 4. 1884; m. (first), Almira Ames of Canterbury, Aug. 23, 1841, b. 
 1810; d., Oct. 2, 1848. They had three children. M. (second), Laura 
 Waters of Stratford. March 22, 1849; m. (third), Matilda Abbott of N.. 
 Nov. 20, 1851; m. (fourth), Susan H. Sargent of Sanbornton Bridge, 
 May 1, 1856. She resides at Portage, Wis. 
 
 (Child of James and Annie Ellison Forrest.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Samuel Forre.st, b. May 19, 1786; m., Jan., 1821, Agnes Randall of 
 North Conway, b. Aug. 22, 1800. They had five children. He occupied 
 S 
 
114 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 his father's farm at East N. and was a prominent citizen of the town 
 and filled many places of trust. He represented the town in the Leg- 
 islature of 1826--'27. 
 
 (Children of Robert and Sarah McDonald Forrest.) 
 
 John Forrest, called "Master John," was b. at Canterbury, 1797; m., 
 1821, Sarah Gale of Alexandria, b. ISOO. They resided in N. and had 
 a family of eight. He was educated at Pembroke and was a noted 
 teacher in Canterbury and surrounding towns and was one of the most 
 learned men of the times, a good penman and excelled in mathematics. 
 He d. at N., March 10, 1840. She m. (second), , and d. at Brush- 
 ton, N. Y., in 1886. 
 
 Sarah Forrest, b. at Canterbury, 1801; m., 1824, Rev. John Paige 
 ■of Bristol, N. H., where they resided some years, going later to Neosha 
 Rapids, Kansas, where both d. at good old age. They had a family 
 of seven. 
 
 Susan Forrest, b. at Canterbury, 1804; m., Dec. 6, 1825, Geo. Han- 
 cock of N., b. 1800. They resided at first on what is called the Hicks 
 lot; later, they built a house across the way where they lived, and he 
 4., July 3, 1SG7, leaving a son, Horace, and a dau., Mrs. Alvira H. Rob- 
 inson of Sanbornton, with whom Mrs. Hancock lived and d., Sept. 22, 
 1878. (See Hancock gen.) 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of William and Nancy Dearborn Forrest.) 
 
 LuciNDA Forrest, b. at N. Nov. 27, 1808; m., Nov., 1849, Charles 
 Lord, and resided at the Center, where she d., March 27, 1854. 
 
 Emanuel S. Forrest, b. in N. April 3, 1810; removed in youth to 
 Stewartstown; m. Mary Edwards; returned to N. and had charge of 
 the town farm for a term of years, but d. in Stewartstown, Feb. 11, 
 1877. Children: George, Sarah Jane, Osman Baker, Martha Ann, Ellen 
 M., Joseph Sullivan. 
 
 Joseph E. Forrest, b. Dec. 31, 1811; d., Dec. 27, 1S35. 
 
 Sarah Forrest, b. at N. Sept. 8, 1814; m. Clough Gorrell of East N. 
 {See Gorrell gen.) She d. Dec. 19, 1888. 
 
 Nancy Forrest, b. at N. Feb. 25, 1817; d., Jan. 28, 1842. 
 
 Jane L. Forrest, b. at N. May 3, 1819; m. Henry E. Wiggin, and 
 moved to Colebrook; d., Nov. 19, 1895. He d. March 10, 1898. They 
 had three children, Charles S., Mrs. Abbie A. Shattuck, Mrs. Carrie J. 
 Tibbitts, b. April 23, 1S57, d., May 23, 1905. 
 
 Jacob Forrest, b. at N. Oct. 17, 1821. He went to California in the 
 1849 excitement, with Charles E. Tilton and, after securing a fortune, 
 started on his return on the Central America, which foundered in a 
 gale in the Gulf of Mexico, Sept. 12, 1857. 
 
 Martha E. Forrest, b. in N. Sept. 10, 1824; m. J. Sullivan Sanborn, 
 July 3, 1851, and went to Dorchester, Mass., to live. She d. Oct. 22, 
 1854, at her husband's father's in N. Child, George S., b. in N. March 
 
GENEALOGIES. 115 
 
 23, 1852. and d., Aug. 23, 1870, at his father's home, in Redwood City, 
 Cal. 
 
 Andkew Jackson Foruest, b. in N. Oct. 21, 1827; inherited the home 
 farm. He went to California and there d., Dec. 23, 1863. He was dis- 
 tinguished as being the tallest man in town. He m. Eliza Dearborn 
 of Columbia, May 20, 1853. Children: Lell W. Forrest, b. in N. Dec. 
 17, 1854; d., Aug. 20, 1856. Lillie Forrest, b. in N. Sept. 10, 1855; m. 
 Rev. T. B. Hopkins of California, Jan. 29, 1874; child, Laura Branch 
 Hopkins, b. May 25, 1876. 
 
 (Children of John E. and Marcia Eastman Forrest.) 
 
 M.\KciA Axx Forrest, b. at N. Nov. 8, 1828; m., Dec. 8, 1852, Rev. 
 Albert Ethridge of Sandwich, b. Jan. 19, 1829, and went to Marseilles, 
 111., where she d., April 30, 1874. Children: Carrie Maria Ethridge, b. 
 June 10, 1869; d., April 8, 1870. Lenora E. Ethridge, b. Dec. 2, 1854; 
 m., Sept. 26, 1876, Dr. C. A. Weirick of Chicago, b. in Liverpool, Pa., 
 Sept. 29, 1852; she d. July 20, 1888; children, Albert John, b. Dec. 
 19, 1877, Mabel Ethridge, b. Sept. 28, 1881. Marcia Ethridge, b. Jan. 17, 
 1860; d.. May 14, 1877. 
 
 Alfred Forrest, b. in N. 1831; d., April 6, 1847. 
 
 Caroline E. Forrest, b. in N. 1835; d., Jan. 4, 1858. She was edu- 
 cated at Gilmanton Academy and Tilton Seminary. She was a fine 
 writer and a devoted Christian. 
 
 Edwin Eastman Forrest, b. at N. Aug. 16, 1840. He resided in 
 Rio Vista, Cal., about fifteen years and d. in Colton, Cal., May 1, 1878. 
 At his request his body was brought home for interment in the family 
 lot in Park Cemetery, Tilton. 
 
 (Children of Charles G. and Sally Folsom Forrest.) 
 
 Almeda M. Fobbest, b. Nov. 2, 1836; m., April 27, 1868, George A. 
 Newhall of Boston, where she d. July 26, 1889. Children: Forrest E. 
 Newhall, veterinary surgeon, Augusta, Ga., b. Nov. 11, 1869; m., Aug. 
 21, 1901, Mollie B. Johnston; children, Almeda Frances and Sadie Fol- 
 som. Guy Folsom Newhall, b. April 14, 1871; resides in Boston; for 
 the past nine years on the reportorial staff of the Boston Olobe. 
 
 HoNoRiA Adelaide Forrest, b. July 13, 1839; resides in Tilton, where 
 she has exemplified the art of home-making in its truest sense. 
 
 M. JosAPHENE Forrest, b. March 29, 1843; she devotes much time to 
 portraiture and teaching of painting, in her home in Tilton. 
 
 G. Frank Dpxatur Forrest, b. Oct. 15, 184C; was a florist in Win- 
 chester, Mass., where he d., July 11, 1869. 
 
 (Children of James M. and Almira Ames Forrest.) 
 
 Adelaide Eliza Forrest, b. in N. July 26. 1843; m., June 7, 1871, Jo- 
 seph E. Wells, b. March 22, 1842; d., June 24, 1904. He was one of the 
 leading business men of Portage, Wis. Children: Mary Almira, b. July 
 14. 1872; m. George Harrington of Oshkosh, Wis., Oct. 11, 1904. Cora 
 Ardelia, b. June 14. 1874; m. Edward J. Bullock, July 12, 1904, and 
 
116 HISTORY OF NORTHFIEI.D. 
 
 resides in Chicago, 111. Maud Susan, b. Sept. 22, 187G. Josephine Ade- 
 laide, b. Feb. 5, 1880. 
 
 GusTAVus Ames Forrest, b. in N. Aug. 21, 1845; m., Dec. 18, 1871, 
 Esther A. Krus. He is a prominent lawyer at Manitowoc, Wis. Chil- 
 dren: Louise, b. Dec. 16, 1872; d., Jan. 31, 1873. James Madison, b. Feb. 
 16, 1874. Harry Gustavus, b. April 25, 1875. Maud Susan, b. Aug. 3, 
 1876; d., Sept. 17, 1876. Josephine Adelaide, b. June 10, 1879; m., July, 
 1903, Key Davis of Manitowoc. Mamie Almira, b. March 20, 1884. 
 
 Susan S. Forrest, b. in N. June 9, 1847; m., March 4, 1874, J. 
 Oviatt, M. D.; d. in Wyocena, Wis., March 15, 1876. Child, b. March 
 9, 1876; d., Sept. 1, 1876. 
 
 (Children of John [fourth] and Sarah Gale Forrest.) 
 
 Eliza Jane Forrest, b. at Charlestown, Mass., Jan., 1821 ; d. at San- 
 bornton, 1842. 
 
 Annie Wilkinson Forrest, b. at Canterbury, Oct. 19, 1823; m., Sept. 
 20, 1840, Dr. William Plummer Cross of N., b. at Sanbornton, July 4, 
 1816. (See Cross gen.) 
 
 Philip Clough Forrest, b. at N. Feb., 1825; d. in Baraboo, Wis.; m., 
 1846, Mary Braley of Lowell, Mass. They had two sons and a dau. 
 
 Charlotte Forrest, b. at N. 1827; d., at Bristol, 1S46. 
 
 John Forrest, b. at N. 1830. He lived in California seven years; 
 then settled in Minnesota. Both he and his dife d. there. 
 
 Joseph Forrest, b. at N. 1832; resided at Pleasant Valley, Minn. He 
 bought a large tract of land and laid out the town and gave it its 
 name. He d. there. 
 
 Robert Forrest, b. at N. 1834. He lived in Boston; was a dealer 
 in real estate. He then removed to St. Louis, Mo., and was a sign dec- 
 orator. M. Lu Forsyth and had two sons, Charlie and Robert, who d. 
 in infancy of cholera. Mr. Forrest d. at the same time, 1867. She sur- 
 vived a few years. 
 
 Sarah Jane Forrest, b. at N. 1837; m., 1867, Aldis Boyce of Dickin- 
 son, N. Y. He d. July, 1903. Mr. and Mrs. Boyce were both deaf 
 mutes. She was educated at New York City in the famous institution 
 of Dr. Gallaudet; Superintendent, Dr. Peat. He was educated at Hart- 
 ford, Conn. 
 
 (Children of Samuel and Agnes Randall Forrest.) 
 
 Anne Ellison Forrest, b. at N. Nov. 3, 1821; was for some years a 
 teacher, but has spent much of her life in caring for her aged mother, 
 her brother's family and an invalid sister, Martha. They reside on 
 the home place. 
 
 Susan Knight Forrest, b. at N. Nov. 2, 1823; m. Samuel B. Rogers 
 of N. She was also a teacher. They had three sons. (See Rogers 
 gen.) 
 
 LaFayette Forrest, oldest son of Samuel, b. at N. June 29, 1825; m., 
 June, 1852, Sarah Varney of Augusta, Me., and had six children, Agnes, 
 
GENEALOGIES. 117 
 
 Mary Langdon, John Dempster, James Pike, Annie Ellison and Grace. 
 He graduated from New Hampton Institution, 1845, and was a teacher 
 in the schools of Concord, Natick, Mass., and Bangor, Me. He then 
 took up mercantile life in Bangor, where he d. Dec, 1897. 
 
 Jamks Nathamkl Forrest, b. at N. July 12, 1827; m. Mary Augusta 
 Eaton of Jay, Me., June 28, 1858, and had a family of five. Mr. Forrest 
 was a teacher of ability and a trusted business man of the town; was 
 selectman' several years; represented the town in the Legislature of 
 1867; was superintendent of schools under the district system, 1870, 
 and afterwards member of the board of education. He d. Jan. 16, 1892. 
 She d. April 25, 1874. 
 
 Martha Randall Forrest, b. Oct. 1, 1831. 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 (Children of James N. and Mary Augusta Eaton Forrest.) 
 
 Kate Forrest, b. June 12, 1859; graduated from Tilton Seminary 
 June 17, 1882. Taught several terms in N. For the past five years 
 bookkeeper in the ofl5ce of the Franklin Journal-Transcript. 
 
 Samuel Warre.v Forrest, b. July S, 1861; m., Oct. 29. 1900, Susie R. 
 Paul of Boston, Mass. (See Lawyers of N., portrait and sketch.) 
 
 Freddie Forrest, b. Aug. 15, 1863; d., Sept. 3, 1864. 
 
 Edwin David Forrest, b. Sept. 2, 1865; m., June 29, 1898, in Cam- 
 bridge, Vt.. Alfaretta Boomhower, b. Jan. 18, 1873. Graduated from 
 Pennsylvania College of Dental Surgery in 1897; has practised in Cam- 
 bridge, Vt., and in Denver, Col., and at present is practising in Tilton, 
 a member of the dental firm. True & Forrest. 
 
 Annie Ruth Forrest, b. at N. June 8, 1872; m., Feb. 8, 1899, Daniel 
 Gardner Stark of Montrose, Penn. She studied kindergartning in Exe- 
 ter, and for two years before her marriage had a private kindergarten 
 in New Bedford, Mass. She now resides in Waverly, N. Y., where Mr. 
 Stark is secretary of the Hall & Lyon Furniture Co. 
 
 FOSS. 
 
 What is now Oak Hill was formerly Foss Hill. Three brothers owned 
 all the land from the Cross (now Philips) Brook to the Canterbury 
 line. 
 
 Robert Foss lived near the burying ground in the Hannaford pasture 
 as the remains of a cellar are now plainly seen. He was a soldier of 
 the Revolutionary War and d. at N. about 1834. He had sis childi'en, 
 and his wife was Bean. 
 
 Isaac Foss, b. 1770; m. Joanna Willey, Oct. 2, 1792, and (second), 
 Mary Nudd. Aug., 1826. He d. in 1854. I can find but four children. 
 
 Thomas Foss lived near the Canterbury line on original lot No. 11, 
 as he deeded 50 acres of it to his son, Thomas, Jr. 
 
118 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (Children of Robert and Beau Foss.) 
 
 Mabtiia Foss, b. 1785, called Patty, lived on the Windfall Road. She 
 d. March 16, 1859, unmarried. 
 
 Abagall Foss, b. in 1811; m. John B. Glover of Canterbury and had 
 five children. 
 
 Love Foss, b. April 6, 1781; m., March 23, 1806, Ebenezer Glover, 
 and had seven children. She lived to be more than 104 years old, and 
 d., 1885; children resided in Canterbury. 
 
 Mary Foss, m. Stephen Haines, Jr., son of Capt. Stephen and brother 
 of Thomas, and had five children; none resided in N. 
 
 Nathaniel Foss, b. at N. Feb. 23, 1774; m., Dec. 2, 1820, Polly Kenis- 
 ton, and had a family of six. He resided, first, on the Windfall Road, 
 going later to a farm near the Ledges, adjoining her sister's, where 
 they reared their family, and both d., he, Oct. 27, 1854; she, March 28, 
 1863. 
 
 Charlotte Foss, b. 1805; m. Jonathan McDani,el of Canterbury and 
 had one dau. (See McDaniel gen.) She d. Dec. 6, 1868. 
 
 (Children of Thomas Foss.) 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Peiscilla Foss, b. July 22, 1772. 
 Nathaniel Foss, b. Nov. 4, 1774. 
 
 Sarah Foss, b. Nov. 18, 1781; m., Aug. 12, 1810, Amos Hanaford of 
 Canterbury. 
 
 (Children of Isaac and Joanna Willey Foss.) 
 
 EzEKiEL Foss m., Dec. 24, 1824, Sally Austin and had a son, Erastus. 
 Moses Foss, date of birth unknown. He m. and had two sons, Ste- 
 phen and Ebenezer. The latter m., Dec. 26, 1782, Sarah Hoyt. 
 Jenny Foss m., Dec. 7, 1817, Benjamin Austin. 
 Fannie Foss m. John Dinsmore of N. (See Dinsmore gen.) 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Nathaniel and Polly Keniston Foss.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Cyrene Foss, b. April 1, 1821; d., Nov. 2, 1821. 
 
 Cymintha Foss, b. March 24, 1827; m., autumn, 1860, John Wallace 
 of Hillsboro, N. B. She was a graduate of the New Hampshire Con- 
 ference Seminary, class of 1852, and a popular teacher. She d. Jan. 2, 
 1865. Mr. Wallace d. Jan. 2, 1896, leaving a son, John, and dau., Mrs. 
 Mary Gross. 
 
 Almeda Foss, b. April 25, 1827; d. at Concord in 1891. She m., April 
 11, 1854, Samuel Page of Warner, b. 1820. He was a farmer and drover, 
 a man of enterprise and public spirit and active member of the Meth- 
 odist Church. He d. May S, 1878, of diphtheria, aged 58; a son, Sammy, 
 
JASON FOSS. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 1 1 9 
 
 d. 10 days previous and another, Lucien, three days later. Mrs. 
 Page was entirely devoid of hearing for many years, but with wonder- 
 ful fortitude and energy kept her interest in passing events and useful- 
 ness in her home. They liad five children. They resided some years 
 in Warner, later in Tilton on the Gale place. Three children survive, 
 Mrs. Charles Boardman of Concord, Mrs. Nora LaBelle and Herman of 
 Sanbornton. 
 
 DiAN.\ Foss, b. Aug. 2, 1S31; m., May 5, 1S61, Norris Weeks of San- 
 bornton, b. May 5, 1829. They have a sou, Herman N. and two dau., 
 Mrs. Fidelia F. Hill and Mary Bell, all of Sanbornton. 
 
 JASON FOSS. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 J.\so.v Foss was b. in N. April 4, 1834, and was a lifelong resident. 
 He possessed more than ordinary good judgment and much executive 
 ability. These traits were early recognized by his fellow-townsmen, 
 who repeatedly called him to fill places of responsibility, and his faith- 
 ful discharge of duty placed him for long terms among the officers of 
 the town. He was also honored with more important trusts, being sent 
 to the Legislature, 1SS8"'S9, and was also interested in the industrial 
 prosperity of the town. After a long residence on the paternal acres 
 he bought the George Hancock place on High St., repaired and enlarged 
 the buildings, and for a time combined a wood and lumber business 
 with general farming. 
 
 He removed, in 1884, near the village where, with less exhaustive 
 work, he filled up the passing years. He purchased the Pease Mill and 
 manufactured finish lumber and builders' supplies, and was un- 
 disputed authority in all matters pertaining to lumber and wood, and 
 was often called upon as an expert in these matters. 
 
 He m.. May 28, 1871, Susan H. Hill, and their home has always dis- 
 pensed the most unbounded hospitality, as she possessed that rare 
 nature that delighted in service. Her name was the synonym for all 
 that is womanly and good and the memory of her charity and kindness 
 of heart will ever remain with those who knew her. Mr. Foss was 
 one of the charter members of Friendship Grange and its first master, 
 and both were prominent in its working force. He was a member of 
 the board of selectmen and a trustee of lona Savings Bank at the time 
 of his death. Mr. and Mrs. Foss both d. of pneumonia Feb., 1903, 
 within a few days. Their only child, Mary Evelyn, retains and re- 
 mains in the home. 
 
 Fidelia Foss. b. Aug. 29, 183G; remained after her mother's death, 
 the faithful care-taker of the home. She m., 1SS8, Robert Rowe of 
 Newport, and d. there Aug. 13, 1901. He d. Feb., 1902. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 Mary Evely.x Foss, b. at N. April 19. 1874, took preparatory course 
 at Tilton Seminary and graduated at State Normal School in 1897. 
 She has since been a teacher in Tilton and Northfleld graded school. 
 
120 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 FRENCH I. 
 
 Solomon Feench came to N. from Candia and settled near Chestnut 
 Pond. He m., Dec. 23, 1792, Hannah Smith, a neighbor, and had three 
 dau. He m. a second time and had five children, four sons and one 
 dau. A brother of Solomon m. Sarah Smith, sister to his wife, Hannah. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Children of Solomon and Hannah Smith French.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Sally Fkench, b. 1795; m. Josiah Colby of Sandown, Oct. 23, 1819. 
 They resided in East N. and had four children. They removed later 
 to Belmont, where he d. (See Colby gen.) She m. (second), Ephraim 
 Cross of West N. (See Cross gen.) 
 
 Nicholas French m., March 23, 1853, Lovina Glines (see Glines 
 gen.), and resided on the Rand place near the schoolhouse. They had 
 one dau. He d. July 16, 1S61. She m. (second), Capt. Lyman Fellows, 
 who d. April 20, 1885. She now resides at Laconia. 
 
 Solomon French, Jr., b. at N. and d. at Bristol. 
 
 Ruth French m. Leavitt of Meredith. 
 
 (Children of Solomon and second wife.) 
 
 Andrew French, b. March 20, 1S07; m., Dec. 28, 1835, Nancy Good- 
 win, b. at N. Feb. 15, 1811. Both d. at East N. He, Oct. 26, 1883; she. 
 May 24, 1885. They had two sons. 
 
 Hannah S. French. 
 
 Mart A. French m., Feb. 1, 1838, Joseph Rand of N. (See Rand 
 gen.) 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Andrew and Nancy Goodwin French.) 
 
 (B. in N.) 
 
 Lowell Mason French, b. at East N. June 12, 1837; m., Nov. 13, 1862, 
 Amanda A. Gile and had six children. (See Gile gen.) Mr. French 
 inherited the paternal acres, which he successfully tilled for many 
 years. Compelled by failing health, he removed near the village in 
 March, 1895. He was often called to fill town offices and was one of 
 its selectmen in 1886, 1888, 1889 and 1901, and was justice of the 
 peace for five years. Mr. and Mrs. French were charter members of 
 Friendship Grange; have each held many of its offices. 
 
 John Augustus French, b. at N. Oct. 21, 1848, and d. at the home, 
 1867. 
 
 (Child of Nicholas and Lovina Glines French.) 
 
 Ellen M. French, b. April 17, 1854; m., April 15, 1885, George F. 
 McKenney of Laconia, where they now reside. They had one child, 
 Harry Clifton, who d. July 23, 1887, aged three months. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 121 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Lowell and Amanda Gile French.) 
 (B. in N.) 
 
 Chaki.ks Alc.xzo French, b. Jan. 21, 1864; m., June 27, 1895, Arlinnia 
 M. Hill of Tilton, where they reside. They have three children, Leo 
 •C., Willie W. and Gust A. 
 
 Bektha Alice Fhench, b. Oct. 20, 1SG6; m., Dec. 20, 1893, Arthur A. 
 Stevens of Franklin. They reside at N. He is a house builder. Mrs. 
 Stevens was educated at Tilton Seminary and was a teacher in N. 
 ;Schools until her marriage. 
 
 Mabel Edna French, b. May 3. 1871; m.. May 24, 1899, Arthur J. 
 Roy, a druggist, of Tilton. They reside on Bay St. They have one 
 dau., Doris V. 
 
 WiixiAM WooDBiRV French, b. July 17, 1872; m., Oct. 24, 1894, Ella 
 A. Morrison. He d. very suddenly Aug. 21, 1897. He was a farmer 
 •on the homestead. 
 
 Flora Gertrlde French, b. May 19, 1878; m., June 8, 1899, Alfred 
 Booth of Tilton. 
 
 Minnie Lawrence French, b. Nov. 16, 1880. 
 
 FRENCH II. 
 
 WiixiAM French and two sisters came to N. from Sanbornton before 
 their majority, about 1832. Their two guardians, Bradbury Morrison 
 and Jeremiah Sanborn, purchased the farm now owned by George 
 Chase, of Moses and Betsey French Cross, Dec. 26, 1809. Mr. French 
 on attaining his majority, bought 25 acres of William Clough of Barn- 
 stead, which is described as a "part of the Lindsey lot adjoining Sken- 
 duggody Meadow." He m., in 1833, Susan Capen of Holden, Vt., and 
 had one son. He d. April, 1839. She m. (second), Lyford Morrison. 
 (See Morrison gen.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 William C. French, b. at N. Jan. 1, 1835; m., Nov., 1859. Mary Elisa- 
 beth Brown, b. Jan. 28, 1838. (See Brown gen.) 
 
 They resided on Park St. and later he became station agent at N. De- 
 pot, where he remained for 30 years. He was one of the board of select- 
 men for five years; collector for two, and was representative in 1858 
 .and 1866. He dealt much in cattle, and was postmaster 16 years. Mrs. 
 French was his accountant and telegrapher and a business woman 
 generally. They removed to the Chase farm on High St., where she 
 ■d. 1897. They had four children, two of whom d. in infancy. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 Nellie Si:san French, b. July 19, 1864; m. Harold W. Cameron and 
 -d. at Maiden. Mass., 1895. They had one son, Carl Stewart Cameron, 
 b. 1894, at Boston, Mass. 
 
122 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 Habey Brown French, b. Dec. 7, 1865; m., 1888, Jeanette Seaver of 
 Hillsborough Bridge, where he had charge of the railroad station. 
 They had one dau. He has been for a term of years at Vancouver, B. 
 C, and San Diego, Cal. He m. (second), Winnifred Gear. He is en- 
 gaged in hotel business in Los Angeles. 
 
 Willie P. French, b. at N. in 1881; d. in 1884. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 Marion V. French, b. at Hillsborough, 1890, resides at Vancouver. 
 
 FRENCH III. "^ ■ 
 
 Peter French was a native of Salisbury, Mass., b. in 1787; m., 1818, 
 Lydia Starbird of Strafford Bow Lake, b. March 19, 1793. He had been 
 on a sailing vessel as sailor and was over 30 years of age. They 
 first settled in Loudon. In 1828, they came to N. and bought the John 
 Stevens farm and settled near his sister, Mrs. Benjamin Winslow. t> 
 They spent their lives and d. there. He, Oct. 30, 1857; she, Jan. 15, 
 1869. She was a resolute woman, a fine singer and member of the 
 newly formed Congregational Church and member of its choir. They 
 had two children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Almira S. French, b. at Loudon Feb. 4, 1818; m., 1839, John G. Carl- 
 ton of Derry. (See Carlton gen.) 
 
 Cyrus Tucker French, b. at Loudon Jan. 25, 1826; completed his 
 education at the old academy and at New Hampshire Conference Sem- 
 inary under Prof. Dyer H. Sanborn, and was a skilful player of sev- 
 eral instruments and a good singer. He was leader of the choir many 
 years. He also served as clerk of the town. He m., Dec. 7, 1848, Mary, 
 dau. of Nathaniel Herrick of Factory Village. He has always resided 
 on the homestead and since her death, Oct. 12, 1899, has lived alone. 
 
 FRENCH IV. 
 
 Frank J. French (see portrait) came from Concord to N. in 1880 and 
 purchased the Demore Wyatt farm at the head of Skenduggody Meadow. 
 He was b. at Gilmanton in 1855 and m. Nettie M., dau. of Rev. John G. 
 Munsey, Aug. 16, 1879. They carry on a milk farm with nearly a score 
 of cows. Before coming to N. he was for eight years an overseer in the 
 workshops of New Hampshire state prison. He is a Mason, member 
 of Doric Lodge, St. Omer Chapter, of Franklin, and Mt. Horeb Com- 
 mandery, Knights Templar, of Concord. They are Free Baptists in 
 belief, but worship with Congregational Church. Mrs. French was edu- 
 cated at Lebanon Female Seminary. He represented N. in the mem- 
 orable Legislature of 1901. They have one son. 
 
FRANK J. FKLNCH. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 123 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Harold Mvnsey French, b. at N. Dec. 31, 1884; graduated from New 
 Hampton Literary Institute, class of 1905. 
 
 FRENCH V. 
 
 JoH.v W. French, b. at Chichester Nov. 3, 1862; m., April 6, 1892, 
 Mary S. Jones, b. at Canterbury Nov. 17, 1866. They came to N. Aug. 
 11, 1899. He is a farmer and resides on the Thomas Lyford place on 
 Zion's Hill. They are connected with the Northfield Grocery Co. and 
 Mr. French has served the town as one of its auditors. They had three 
 children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Lloyd R. French, b. at Laconia Aug. 15, 1895; d. at N. Aug. 20, 1902. 
 Hazel Ardele French, b. at Laconfa 1898. 
 Ruth Evelyn French, b. at N. March 28, 1901. 
 
 FRENCH VI. 
 
 George French, called "Big George," owned the farm on Oak Hill 
 adjoining his Uncle George and cousin of the same name. He m. Nancy 
 Buswell, b. at N., 1820, and had eight children. This farm was sold to 
 Rev. John Chamberlain and they went to reside with a sister, Mrs. Amos 
 Frye of Hopkinton, where both d. and were brought to Oak Hill for 
 burial. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 RoxiE Jane French, b. 1848; m. Aurelius Dyer of Penacook and d. 
 at N. April 26, 1875. They had a son, "Willie, who d. in childhood. 
 
 Rvrus French, b. 1849, was fatally injured by falling backward from 
 a moving wagon, Nov. 29, 1856. 
 
 Hannah French m. Orville Cummings and resides at Worcester, 
 Mass. 
 
 Ella French, d. at 12, and Sarah at 20. 
 
 Clara French resides in the home of her uncle at Hopkinton. 
 
 LI2ZIE French, m. Herman Sanborn and resides in Manchester; has 
 two children. 
 
 FRENCH Vn. 
 
 George E. French, b. 1781; came to Oak Hill, N., about 1806, from 
 Billerica, Mass. He had a family of four. He d. April 29, 1862; his 
 wife, Dec. 8, 1855, aged 73. They were general farmers and devoted 
 Methodists. 
 
124 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Maby French, b. May 16, 180G; m. Joseph Brown of Canterbury as 
 his second wife. 
 
 Anna French, b. Dec. 31, 1810. 
 
 George French, Jr., called "Little George," b. Dec. 9, 1815; m. Lydia 
 Buswell, b. at N., 1820. They had one son, James H. Buswell, who d. 
 in boyhood April 28, 1857. They gave a home to several orphan chil- 
 dren and were unselfish Christian people. Mrs. French, after his 
 death, April 26, 1874, sold the farm to Daniel Drown and removed to 
 Tilton, where she d. May 4, 1883. Mr. Drown d. at Oak Hill May 31, 
 1881, and his family moved to "Webster. 
 
 Hannah French, b. March 24, 1818; m. Osgood Foster and removed 
 to Canterbury. 
 
 Martha French, b. Sept. 10, 1820; m. Hammond of Bristol. 
 
 Note. — This family gave the little burying ground at Oak Hill for a 
 free neighborhood burial place and the entire family are buried there. 
 
 GALE. 
 
 Benjamin Gale, b. at Fairfax, Vt., Dec. 21, 1833; m. (first), Nov. 1, 
 1864, Mrs. Julia A. Calef of Salisbury, b. Aug. 15, 1835, who d. May 3, 
 1866. He m. (second), Oct. 31, 1867, Hattie F. Weeks of Gilford, b. 
 June 11, 1842. He was in the Civil War at the age of 29. (See Boys in 
 Blue.) Later he traded at Franklin Falls. They had seven children, 
 four of whom d. in infancy. Mr. Gale came to N. in 1881 and bought 
 the Thurston place on the Bean Hill road. He was employed as dyer 
 at the Buell Mills until his death in 1894. He served as selectman 
 and member of school board three years. She d. July 26, 1902. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Elmer R. Gale, b. at Franklin Falls July 15, 1875; m., Aug. 5, 1901, 
 Florence M. Clark of Tilton. He was in the dry goods trade at Tilton 
 for several years, being a member of the firm of Gale & Horner, at 
 present Elmer R. Gale, and was clerk of the town three years. He has 
 lately erected a house on Summer St., near the town hall. 
 
 Ernest F. Gale, b. at Franklin Falls March 31, 1879; m., Dec. 25, 
 1902, Sadie F. Ward of Rochester, where he resides and is employed 
 by the Rochester Beef Co. They have one child, Marjory Harriet, b. 
 March 4, 1905. 
 
 Grace E. Gale, b .at N. Aug. 30, 1882; now resides with Mrs. George 
 F. Weeks on Bay St., and is employed by the Ideal Manufacturing Co. 
 
 GARVIN. 
 
 Chauncy Garvin came to N. in 1853. He m., Dec. 31, 1832, Sally 
 Tibbetts, b. Jan. 1, 1801. He was a coarse stone-worker. They had 
 
BENJAMIN F. GALE. 
 
 / 
 
GENEALOGIES. 125 
 
 three children, one, William, d. young. The home was at the corner 
 of Fish St. and the Wedgewood road. She d. Sept. 6, 1875, and he, 
 Sept. 27, 1S83. They are buried by the town house. 
 
 Second Generation, 
 
 Martha A. Garvin, b. May 21, 1S3S; m., Nov. 19, 18G0, James Kennard 
 of Manchester, where she d. Jan. 18, 1904. 
 
 Sakaii Jane Garvin,, b. Oct. 10, 1840; d., Dec. 31, 1843. The Garvin 
 homestead is now owned by Mrs. Mary E. FoUett. 
 
 GARLAND I. 
 
 Charlks Garland, b. at Salisbury, came to N. Factory Village about 
 1835; m., Nov. 24, 1841, Mrs. Jane Morrison, widow of John Lowe San- 
 born. He was bookkeeper in the Franklin Mills and a deacon of the 
 Christian Church. They had four children, all of whom went West 
 except Charles F., who was drowned at 15 years of age, and John L. 
 He d. at Godfrey, 111., March 11, 1879, but was buried in Franklin Ceme- 
 tery. She d. at Hampton Beach Aug. 15, 1880. He sold to John Carl- 
 ton in 1859. The house was originally built in the Kezar garden before 
 the Gerrish road was opened. 
 
 GARLAND II. 
 
 MosKs Garland, who spent his early life with the Shakers, came to 
 N. in 1849 and purchased the farm of Elisha Lougee. Renouncing his 
 early belief, he m. Mary E. Kingsbury of Newton, Mass. They had one 
 dau., Fannie, who resides at the home in Tilton, which her father 
 bought when he sold his farm to Hezekiah Bean of Upper Gilmanton. 
 Mr. Garland was sexton of Park Cemetery for many years and d. in 
 1888. Mrs. Garland was an invalid for many years and d. Nov. 4, 1891. 
 
 GARDNER. 
 
 Ali'Red a. Gardner was b. at Bedford, Mass., May 29, 1823; m., Jan. 
 1, 1846, Laura Cheney, b. at Londonderry Dec. 13, 1826. Mrs. Gardner 
 d. Aug. 23, 1869. He d. May 10, 1877. They resided at N. Factory 
 Village, now Franklin Falls. 
 
 Second Generation, 
 
 Orison H. Gardner, b. at Manchester Sept. 1, 1846, and d. Feb. 3, 
 1903. 
 
 Ida Lisette G.ardner, b. at Manchester Aug. 18, 1S49, and d. Oct. 26, 
 1854. 
 
 loLA Laubette Gardner, b. at Manchester Aug. 19, 1851. 
 
I 
 
 126 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 William Alberto Gabdxeb, b. at Franklin Aug. 26, 1853; m., Jan. 20, 
 1876, Isabelle Adams of Franklin and had two children. He came to 
 N. in 1887 and established a grocery store in Tilton. He represented 
 the town in the Legislature of 1899 and has held the office of treasurer 
 in Union School District many years. After 14 years' residence on 
 Elm St., N., he removed to Tilton in 1899. 
 
 Carrie Belle Gabdxer, b. at Franklin Dec. 3, 1855. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Laura May Gardner, b. at Franklin May 9, 1899; m., Jan. 1, 1903, 
 Willis Horner of Tilton and they have one dau., Isabelle, b. Sept. 20, 
 1904. He was for several years a member of the firm of Gale & Horner, 
 dry goods. They reside at Thornton. 
 
 Fred Alberto Gardner, b. at Franklin July 16, 1883, after a course 
 at Tilton Seminary, graduated in the class of 1904. The following year 
 he entered the State Agricultural College at Durham. He was a page 
 in the New Hampshire Legislature at the session of 1901. 
 
 GATES. 
 
 Oscar Gates came from Lebanon and bought the Gibson place of 
 Ira Oliver. He m. Nettie Hoyt of Lebanon and, after some years of 
 farming here, sold to Walter Heath and bought the Rogers farm on 
 Bean Hill road. In 1898 he removed to Salisbury. The place is now 
 owned by Nelson Duval. 
 
 GERRISH. 
 
 Joseph Gerrish, b. March 7, 1777, was the son of Colonel Henry and 
 grandson of Captain Stephen. He settled in N. in 1804 on the Merri- 
 mack River opposite the farm of the late Daniel Webster and was an 
 extensive farmer and dealer in real estate. Paul Gerrish was granted 
 the 100-acre lot No. 176 and this was a part of his farm. He m. (pub.), 
 July 11, 1811, Susan Hancock, b. July 13, 1791, and d. Nov., 1849. It is 
 said of his father that "he was one of the first settlers in Boscawen and 
 had all the qualities to make him a leader in any community." His 
 wife was Elizabeth, sister of Rev. William Patrick of Canterbury. 
 They had seven sons and four dau., and lived to see them well settled. 
 Joseph Gerrish d. May 25, 1851. They had 13 children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Absolom Gerrish, b. June 22, 1809, removed to Elkhorn, 111., where 
 
 he lived and d. He m., June 5, 1837. . She d. Sept. 2, 1874. 
 
 Milton Gerrish, b. Nov. 29, 1812; m. Olive Dimick of Hartford, Vt., 
 
GENEALOGIES. 127 
 
 and lived on an intervale farm just south of his father's. In early life 
 he, with his brother-in-law, conducted an extensive dry goods business 
 at Sanbornton Bridge, and were burned out at the "corner," and he 
 returned to the farm, although he was never wholly a farmer. He was 
 an insurance agent and dealt largely in wool and hides. He became 
 a man of wealth. They had three children. He d. Nov. 24, 1885. Of 
 their three children, two sons, Frank M. and Charles, constituted the 
 firm of Gerrish Bros., tanners, at Manchester for years and the dau., 
 Clara, became the wife of Dr. Boutwell of Manchester. 
 
 Cynthia A. Gerrish, b. Feb. 8, 1813; m., Sept. 7, 1835, Jacob Moore 
 of Canterbury. They removed to Grysville, 111., in 1849. They had 
 five children. 
 
 Almiba Gerbi.sh, b. March 13, 1815; m., Oct. 4, 1838, Charles H. 
 Ayers of Canterbury. (See Ayers gen.) She d. Feb. 23, 1854. 
 
 Louisa Gerrish, b. Jan. 28, 1817; m., March 19, 1845, Dea. Nathan B. 
 Stearns of Lebanon. She d. Dec. 29, 1848. 
 
 LuciEx Gerrish, b. Feb. 8, 1819; m., Oct. 13, 1846, Mary Dimick of 
 Hartford, Vt., and had one dau., Sarah. He resided at Tilton, where 
 he conducted a livery and sale stable, and d. there July 26, 1859. 
 
 Stephen Gerrish, b. Nov. 29, 1821; m., 1855, Mrs. Alice Hammond of 
 Franklin. He occupied the homestead many years but removed to 
 Franklin and engaged in the grocery trade and later had a sale and 
 livery stable. He d. Sept. 5, 1888. Mrs. Gerrish d. Aug. 20, 1896. 
 
 Leonard Gerrish, b. June 11, 1823; m. Emily Gerrish of Boscawen 
 and had two dau. He was an extensive farmer on a part of the home 
 farm and erected a fine house. He combined many kinds of business 
 with agriculture. He was a dealer in horses and carriages and was 
 also a lumberman. Losses followed and he confined himself to farming 
 alone some years before his death, which occurred Oct. 8, 1893. Mrs. 
 Gerrish d. May 27, 1879. 
 
 ScsAN Gerrish, b. July 25, 1825; m., Jan. 27, 1852, Dr. Luther C. Bean. 
 They settled at Penacook and later removed to Chicago. She d. at 
 Lebanon Sept. 3, 1869. They had two sons and a dau.. Charles, William 
 and Susan Alice. Only the dau. survives. 
 
 Joseph Ge:rbish, b. May 2, 1827, is now located at Rochester, Minn. 
 
 Alfred A. Gerrish, b. July 4, 1829. was a graduate of Dartmouth 
 College and Medical School. He was also a private pupil of Dr. Charles 
 H. Peaslee of Hanover. He graduated March 3, 1853. He located first 
 at Mt. Vernon. In 1865 he went to Lowell, Ind., where he remained 
 until his death July, 1903. Aside from professional prominence he 
 was a public-spirited citizen, always to be found on the side of tem- 
 perance and education. 
 
 Carlos Gerrish. b. April 17, 1831, went overland to California in 1S52. 
 
 Ellen M. Gerrish. b. Oct. 19, 1833; m., Oct. 15, 1854, Charles H. 
 Ayers of Canterbury and had one dau. (See Ayers gen.) 
 
128 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Leonard and Emily Gerrish.) 
 
 Josephine M. Gerrish, b. Oct. 17, 1851; m. Thompson Perkins of 
 Boston. They reside in Middleboro, Mass. 
 
 Helen L. Gerrish, b. Aug. 6, 1858, resides at Franklin Falls. 
 
 GIBSON or GIPSON. 
 
 The wife of John Forrest, who came from Canterbury to live on 
 the Leighton farm, was Elinor Gipson of Canterbury. They were m. in 
 Canterbury and had nine children. 
 
 Their dau., Elinor, m. Jeremiah Gibson Nov. 21, 177G, and he at once 
 went to war. He was then 25 years of age. Her sister, Anna Forrest, 
 m. James Gibson, who was a nephew of the above-named Jeremiah, and 
 d. Oct. 18, 1783. He was a son of James, who is on record as a scout 
 along the Pemigewasset and its branches under Lieutenant Miles. He 
 was in the War of the Revolution, in Col. Jeremiah Clough's regiment, 
 and d. March 3, 1825. They had a son, James, who m. Jane Forrest, 
 and had 10 children. She d. Jan. 11, 1819. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Polly (Mary) Gibson, b. in Canterbury; m. William Hancock, and 
 resided in N. They had seven children. 
 
 Agnes Gibson, b. in N. Aug. 15, 1791; m. Moses Heath in 1816. (See 
 Heath gen.) 
 
 Nancy Gibson, b. July 25, 1796, in Sanborn ton; resided with her 
 brother, Samuel, and d. at Franklin. 
 
 Betsey Gibson d. in infancy. 
 
 Rodney Gibson, b. April 8, 1799; m. Martha Hancock, b. 1796. They 
 were farmers and lived below Hodgdon Hill, where she d. April 7, 
 18^8. He went to reside with his son, Charles, near Portage City, 
 Wis. 
 
 Samuel Gibson, b. Dec, 1806; d., June 9, 1873. 
 
 Jeremiah Gibson, b. Sept. 8, 1814; d., Dec, 1845. 
 
 Ebenezer Gibson m. and lived in Concord for several years and later 
 moved to California. 
 
 Benjamin F. Gibson became a physician and resided in Indiana. 
 
 James Gibson went to California and d. there. 
 
 GILE, GUILE or GUILD. 
 
 Jonathan Gile, b. 1740, came to the north fields of Canterbury and 
 was employed at the Cross settlement. He bought many tracts of land, 
 some 400 acres in all, covered by no less than eight deeds. He estab- 
 lished his family on half of 100-acre lot 194, bought of Peter Hanaford 
 
GENEALOGIES. 129 
 
 with dwelling house and barn for £108. The deed is dated Jan. 10, 
 1782. The farm is now owned by Albert Titcomb. Probably all his 
 10 children were b. there. His wife was Sarah Sherburn, whom he 
 m. in 1773. He d. 1817. She d. in 1815, and they are both buried in 
 the Williams burying ground. He was a soldier in the French and 
 Indian War and also in the Revolution. (See Revolutionary Soldiers.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Rachel Gile, b. May 3, 1781; m., July, 1808, Thomas Wadleigh of N. 
 He was private secretary and body-guard of Lieutenant Glidden. (See 
 Wadleigh gen.) After his death she m. (second), Samuel Dalton. 
 (See Dalton gen.) 
 
 Abel Gile, b. May 16, 1787; m., 1814, Statira Forrest and removed 
 to Danville, Vt. His brother, James, also lived there. 
 
 Thomas Gile, b. Sept. 2, 1789; m., Jan., 1818, Jane Foi-rest and bought 
 the farm of Gideon Sawyer on Bean Hill. They set out in life with 
 small means but good courage and fertile acres. After a long and 
 useful life they rest in the little enclosure opposite the home. Mrs. Gile 
 d. in 1S56. He d. in 1869. They had two sons, one of whom d. at 25, 
 unmarried. 
 
 E>^ocH Gile, b. May 23, 1794; m., 1816, Polly Lyford of N., b. 1798. 
 They resided on a part of the homestead and were farmers. They had 
 two dau. and a son, Rufus, who d. in childhood. Mrs. Gile d. April 
 24, 1854. He d. Jan. 6, 1871. 
 
 Sarah Gile, b. June 22, 1783; m. (pub.), Oct. 9, 1808, John Pearson 
 Sanborn of East N., b. Sept. 25, 1794. He was a farmer in Palo, 111., and 
 d. there May 30, 1870. 
 
 Capt. Jonathan Gile, Jr., b. Jan. 22, 1779; m. Hannah Haines of N. 
 He was a soldier in the War of 1812, serving in the Fourth United 
 States Regiment, Western Brigade, and was at the Battle of Tippecanoe. 
 He was a captain of artillery and was drowned. They had one dau. 
 
 Joseph Gile, b. June 22, 1785; m. Polly Greenough of Canterbury. 
 He was a farmer and bought a part of his father's estate next west, and 
 erected buildings, which he soon sold to Joseph Marden, and moved 
 over the Ledges, where he located on the western half of lots 176 and 
 177 of the original survey, then owned by Daniel Blanchard. He added 
 to this from time to time. The buildings were located on a slope over- 
 looking the Merrimack Valley. (See Gile Homestead.) They had 
 three sons and two dau. Mr. Gile d. Feb. 22, 1828. She d. June 28, 
 1863. They are buried at the Hodgdon Cemetery. 
 
 Amos Gile. b. May 5, 1795; m., May 26, 1819, Mehitable Forrest of 
 Canterbury, b. July 28, 1791. He inherited one half of the paternal 
 acres, which he tilled until 1841 when he sold to Hiram Glines and 
 moved to Canaan, where he d. 28 years later. She d. Aug. 20, 1849. 
 He was twice m. They reared a family of eight. 
 
 9 
 
130 
 
 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Betsey Gile. b. July 11, 1798; m. (first) (pub.), Feb. 11, 1821, Jona- 
 than Glines and had one son. (See Glines gen.) Later she m. Allison 
 McDaniel. (See McDaniel gen.) 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Child of Jonathan and Hannah Haines Gile.) 
 
 Hanxah Gile, b. Feb. 6, 1805; m., Oct. 15, 1828, Sidney Forrest of 
 Canterbury, who first established a home on Range 4 by the Rogers 
 meadow. His ambitions were larger than his rocky farm and he soon 
 removed West This house was moved to Sanbornton Bridge and was a 
 part of the Deacon Hall house by the tannery. Mr. Forrest after many 
 years returned to Belmont, where he d. in 1871. She d. July 14, 1891. 
 They had a family of seven, all b. at Porter, O., except one b. at N., who 
 d. in infancy. (See Forrest gen.) 
 
 (Children of Joseph and Polly Greenough Gile.) 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 ALFRED A. GILE. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Alfred Augustus Gile was b. at N. Oct. 9, 1807, and d. at the home- 
 stead, which was then a part of Franklin, Oct. 31, 1882. He m., 1833, 
 Mary Lucinda Kern, b. at Pottsville. Pa., June 5, 1811, and d. at 
 Franklin Dec. 12, 1880. They are buried at Franklin. Mr. Gile was, 
 although a farmer, thoughtful in his work and was self-educated far 
 in advance of the point where his school work terminated. He was an 
 exhaustive and discriminating reader and became familiar with the 
 classics in middle life. He was greatly interested in local affairs and 
 as superintendent of schools took a deep interest in not only the in- 
 tellectual but the physical betterment of the young and was especially 
 qualified for this work. He was chairman of the board of selectmen 
 from 1848 to 1852. The homestead overlooking the Merrimack, the 
 Webster place, now the Orphans' Home, commanded also a fine view 
 of Kearsarge and Ragged Mountain and is one of the most attractive 
 in the state (see view), and the well-appointed home has been oc- 
 cupied by some of the family for many years and kept until 1904, for 
 over a century, in the Gile name. 
 
 Mary Flagg Gile, b. 1810; m., about 1840, John F. Barr of Danvers, 
 where they lived and d., he in 1872, she in 1888. A gift to Union Church 
 in memory of her brother, Alfred A. Gile, and a bequest to the Tilton 
 and Northfield Congregational Church keep her in grateful remem- 
 hrance. They had no children. 
 
 Thomas Gile, b. 1814, was a farmer and on the breaking out of the 
 Civil War followed the example of his uncle and grandfather. (See 
 Boys in Blue.i) 
 
 Abagail Greenough Gile, b. 1818; m. Emery Batchelder of Loudon, 
 and d. in 1885. 
 
ALFRED A. GILE. 
 
MRS. ALFRED GILE. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 131 
 
 (Children of Thomas and Jane Forrest Gile.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 WfLLiAM Forrest Gile, b. April 3, 1S20; d., unmarried, May 15, 1845. 
 
 Charles Aloxzo Gile, b. July 21, 1822; m. Mary J. Woodbury of N. 
 and resided on the home place. They were energetic, prosperous farm- 
 ers and had two sons and two dau. Mr. Gile d. in 18G3, the result of 
 being thrown from his carriage three days pi-evious. Mrs. Gile still re- 
 mains in the home. 
 
 (Children of Enoch and Polly Lyford Gile.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Sarah Sherburn Gile, b. Aug., 1817; m., 1835, Lyman P. Lawrence 
 of Boston and had a son, Laroy P., now of Ocean Spray, Mass., and 
 dau., Ellen S. 
 
 Haxxah Lyford Gile. b. Sept. 13. 1S29; m., Jan. 15, 1855, Asa Lom- 
 bard, a merchant of Boston, now of Reading, Mass. They have three 
 children, Nellie, Willard and Mary. 
 
 (Children of Amos and Mehitable Forrest Gile.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 William Forrest Gile, b. June 17, 1820; m., I^ec. 1, 1842, Mary Leeds 
 of Canaan and had one dau., Helen. Mrs. Gile d. May 13, 1S4G. He m. 
 (second), Harriet Lee of Hartland, Vt., and had a son and dau. He 
 moved to Manly, la. 
 
 Dorothy Caroline Gile. b. April 23, 1822; m., 1842, Alvah Gilman of 
 Canaan. They had two sons, Sidney, who d. in 1866, and Horatio of 
 Hood's Farms at Derry, and one dau., Aurilla, wife of Charles J. Rand 
 of Loudon. Mr. Gilman was in youth captain of infantry in the New 
 Hampshire Militia. He served as a nine-months' volunteer in the Civil 
 War, was promoted for merit and was a corporal in Company F, Fif- 
 teenth Regiment. He d. of malaria at Baton Rouge, La., June 3, 1S63, 
 just as he was to be discharged. 
 
 Haxxah Forrest Gile, b. June 26, 1824; m. (first), Isaac Hanscomb 
 of Hanover. They had one son, Charles Forrest, now of Johnstown 
 Centre, Wis. She m. (second), Dea. Washington Clark of Franklin 
 Falls, Jan., 1874, and d. March 21, 1876. 
 
 Mary Ann Gile. b. Jan. 28, 1826; m., July 7, 1S51. Rev. Nathan 
 Jones, a Free Baptist minister at Hanover, Canaan and elsewhere. 
 
 He was also a manufacturer of hammers at Canaan, always preach- 
 ing on the Sabbath, without pay, until the last ten years of his life 
 at Campton, where he d. June 13, 1894. Mrs. Jones was a teacher 
 previous to her marriage and was her husband's faithful and worthy 
 assistant in his church work. She resides with her only child, Arden 
 F., at Concord. 
 
 LrcY C. Gile, b. Nov. 8, 1830; d., at Canaan, in 1857. 
 
 Maria F. Gile. b. Nov. 2, 1834; m., Nov. 12, 1857, Ira L. Gile of En- 
 
132 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 field. He was injured by a fall and d. a year later. She m. (second), 
 John Worthen, now of Escondida, Cal. She d. at Enfield Aug. 27, 1877. 
 Joseph Henky Gile, b. June 27, 1837, remained on the farm until his 
 enlistment in the Seventh New Hampshire Regiment and went to Fer- 
 nandina. He was at Fort "Wagner. His last letter spoke of the coming 
 attack; he was never heard from. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Alfred and Mary Kern Gile.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Joseph Gile, b. Oct. 14, 1835. (See Teachers of N.) 
 
 Mary Margaret Gile, b. March 28, 1837. (See portrait and sketch. 
 Teachers of N.) 
 
 Peter Kern Gile, b. Jan. 14, 1839; m., 1885, Olive A. Wadleigh of N. 
 He resided in and carried on the homestead for many years, retiring 
 on account of ill health. He bought in 1903 the Wadleigh homestead, 
 where he now resides. He has been a specialist in fruit raising, often 
 harvesting 3,000 bushels of choice fruit a year. 
 
 Em.aia Matilda Gile, b. Jan. 25, 1841, was educated at the New Hamp- 
 shire Conference Seminary and was a teacher for some years previous 
 to her marriage to John A. Brown of Philadelphia, Pa. After a resi- 
 dence at Greely, Col., she returned to the home and remained until its 
 sale. She has one son, Alfred Brown. They reside at Franklin Falls. 
 
 William Augustus Gile, b. June 5, 1843. (See portrait and sketch in 
 Lawyers of N.) 
 
 FRA^X'IS Alfred Gile, b. July 19, 1845, served in the Civil War. (See 
 Boys in Blue.) He m., July 9, 1870, Ann C. Gilmore of Jersey City. 
 He taught penmanship, studied medicine and graduated at New York, 
 where he first went into practice. He is now a physician at Orange. 
 N. J. 
 
 Helen C. Gile d. at six years of age. 
 
 Lucia K. Gile, b. May 22, 1852, graduated at the New Hampshire 
 Conference Seminary, class of 1872. She later studied elocution at the 
 Boston School of Oratory. She m. Edward F. Fassett and for a while 
 resided at Kansas City, Mo., and later at Portland, Me. She has four 
 sons and a daughter, viz.: Francis, Wallace, Willard, who d. at six years, 
 Malcom, Alice and Harold. 
 
 (Children of Alonzo and Mary Woodbury Gile.) 
 
 Amanda A. Gile, b. March 12, 1846; m., Nov. 12, 1861, Lowell M. 
 French, a prosperous farmer of East N. They removed — his health 
 failing — to Park St., in the spring of 1895. They are enthusiastic 
 Grangers. They have six children. (See French gen.) 
 
 Belle Woodbury Gile, b. May 25, 1852, was a teacher for a long term 
 of years. She m., Dec. 5, 1893, Frank Robertson of N. (See Robertson 
 gen.) 
 
H 
 
 H 
 
 O 
 
 W 
 O 
 
 Q 
 I— I 
 m 
 
 P3 
 
GENEALOGIES. 133 
 
 Cliff Forrest Gile, b. Aug. 15, 1S56; m., May 22, 1883, M. Etta Hills 
 of N., b. July 21, 1854. He had for several years a wheat ranch in Cali- 
 fornia. He returned and purchased a grain mill at Newport, where 
 they reside. They have one child, Leland Warren, b. Dec. 11, 1883. 
 Mr. Gile has held various town offices and is a K. of P. 
 
 Clyde Ambrose Gile, b. March 6, 1860; m., Sept. 18, 1895, Mary A. 
 Robertson of N., b. Aug. 9, 1S68. They reside on the paternal acres and 
 are general farmers. They are members of Friendship Grange and 
 have three children: Evelyn Ruby, b. 1898; Stanley Clyde, b. 1901; and 
 Alonzo Robertson, b. 1904. 
 
 Mr. Gile was a charter member of Friendship Grange and has taken 
 premiums for meritorious exhibits at the annual fairs, not the least 
 being for the handsomest baby, Miss Evelyn. 
 
 OILMAN I. 
 
 Jonathan Gilman was b. at Exeter Dec. 5, 1761. His father, Samuel, 
 is said to have been a sailor from the coast of Maine. He bought 500 
 acres around Chestnut Pond. Jonathan m., Sept. 3, 1790, Sarah Whit- 
 cher, b. May 20, 1774, and settled in N. in 1789. He had been a Revo- 
 lutionary soldier and was at Bunker Hill. They had 14 children. 
 
 Mr. Gilman was a trusted business man of the town. He d. Nov. 25, 
 1847. She d. April 4, 1855. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 NANcr Gilman, b. Jan. 3, 1791; m., May 14, 1820, Jonathan Clough. 
 (See Clough gen.) 
 
 Josiaii Gilman d., in infancy, Dec, 1792. 
 
 Betsey Gilman, b. May 30, 1794; m. (pub.), June 20, 1814, Stephen 
 Haines of West N. 
 
 Sally Gilman, b. July 17, 1796; m., June 19, 1814, King L. Hills, and 
 removed to Sheffield, Vt. After his death, Dec. 22, 1863, she removed 
 to the West. (See Hills gen.) She d. April 4, 1900. 
 
 John Taylor Gilman, b. Aug. 30, 179S; m. Betsey Rogers, b. July 1, 
 1804, and removed to Columbia, where she d. in 1SS8. They had four 
 children: Betsey, Jonathan, John and Sarah. He d. Jan. 11. 1SS2. 
 
 William Gilman, b. Feb. 15, 1801; m., 1831, Nancy Smith. They 
 were farmers in various places in town and also in the West. Later 
 In life they moved to Lexington, Mass., where they celebrated in ISSl 
 her 70th birthday and golden wedding. (See Smith gen.) 
 
 Mary W. Gilman, b. July 25, 1803; m., Sept. 3, 1820, John Annis of 
 Dunbarton. They removed to Columbia, where he was a farmer. 
 
 Jane W. Gilman, b. Nov. 6. 1S05: m. Wesley Knowles and resided 
 on his father's homestead. (See Knowles gen.) She d. Sept. 20, 
 1859. 
 
134 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Harriet Oilman, b. Feb. 6, ISll; m. Charles, son of Walker Buzzell, 
 and built the house now occupied by Deacon Abbott. After some years 
 they removed to Annawan, 111., where he d. Mr. Buzzell was a clothier 
 for Benjamin Chase in his early life. She lives in Chicago at an ex- 
 treme age. 
 
 Charles W. Giljiax. b. Aug. 6, 1815; m. Olive Ann Whitcher. They 
 resided on the homestead and had a son and dau., who removed to the 
 West with their parents in 1856. Mrs. Gilman, 1st, d. Aug., 1848. He 
 m. (second), Nancy Tilton of Mei'edith. 
 
 The farm was sold Jan. 29, 1856, to Thomas Poor of Thornton. (See 
 Poor gen.) 
 
 Harrison Oilman, b. May 30, 1818, d., in early manhood, unmarried, 
 Aug. 19, 1834. 
 
 GILMAN II. 
 
 Andrew Oilman, b. 1762, came from Gilford and was a brickmaker. 
 He carried on a mill near the present Granite Mill for some years and 
 d. there Oct. 16, 1842. He was a Free Baptist deacon. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Nathaniel Oilman, b. April 1, 1793, in Gilford, was a farmer on 
 what became later the town farm. He removed later to the corner of 
 the Sanborn road in Tilton near the Shaker Bridge, where he man- 
 ufactured sleighs. He m. (first), Sally Smith of Gilford, who d. May 
 17, 1840. He m. (second), Aug. IS, 1842, Sally Philbrook, who d. June 
 4, 1865. He d. April 6, 1869. He had 10 children but two of whom 
 resided in N. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Deborah Oilman, b. March, 1816; m., Oct. 4, 1840, David C. Tebbetts 
 of Oilmanton. She d. 1850. (See Tebbetts gen.) 
 
 Harriet Oilman, b. April 2, 1S18; resided at Meredith; unmarried. 
 
 Alice Oilman d. at her father's, aged 31; unmarried. 
 
 Maria J. Oilman, b. May 25, 1822; m., Feb. 6, 1850, Aaron Veasey of 
 N. (See Veasey gen.) 
 
 Alfred Cogswell Oilman, b. Jan. 7, 1824; m. Hannah Mahoney, and 
 resided in Charlestown, Mass. 
 
 Almira Oilman, b. May 20, 1829; m., Feb., 1867, George W. Riley 
 of N. (See Riley gen.) 
 
 Ebenezer Smith Oilman, b. Aug. 8, 1S31; d., April 8, 1861. 
 
 Daniel Smith Oilman, b. Jan. 8, 1835; worked at Brooklyn, N. Y.; 
 served in the Fifteenth Regiment; m., May 31, 1861, Abby Young. He 
 had three children. 
 
GENEALOGIES 135 
 
 OILMAN III. 
 
 Simon Gil.man, b. 1771, lived on the Fred Flanders place in the part 
 of N. ceded to Franklin. He was a farmer and m., Dec. 12, 179G, Nancy 
 Forrest, dau. of William, 4th, and had three children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 S.\LLY GiLMAN, b. at N. Dec. 18, 1802; m., Dec. 18, 1825, Thomas Dear- 
 born Lyford of N. (See Lyford gen.) 
 
 Nancy Oilman, b. at N.; m., Nov. 1, 1826, John Kent of N. 
 
 Joseph Oilman, b. at N., 1809; m. Mrs. Lurana Oilman, his brother's 
 ■widow. They had two sons, Horace and Stephen, 2d., who resided in 
 the West. The latter is a manufacturer in Davenport, la. 
 
 Stephen Oilman, b. at N., 1814; m. (pub.), April 20, 183G, Lurana 
 Goodwin of East N. He d. Feb., 1845. She m. (second), (see above). 
 
 John Mack Oilman was a trader at the old meeting-house and it was 
 at his store that the exhumed body of Moses Danforth was taken. 
 (See story elsewhere.) He fled to the West and returned but once for 
 a short visit. 
 
 OILMAN IV. 
 
 Frank Augustus Oilman came to N. from Tilton in 1894. He was 
 b. in Canterbury April 29, 1864; m., Feb. 15, 1889, Maud W. Conant of 
 Canterbury. They resided in Tilton some years, coming later to their 
 newly-erected home on Howard Ave. Mr. Oilman is a mason, builder 
 and contractor and is a member of Harmony Lodge, L O. O. F. Mrs. 
 Oilman was educated at Lynn, Mass., and taught in Chichester, Can- 
 terbury and Vershire, Vt, and is a Past Master of Friendship Grange. 
 They have one dau., Marguerite. 
 
 OILMAN V. 
 
 Ward E. Oilman, son of Joshua, b. at Gilford Sept., 1824; m. Eliza 
 Dorr of Dover, b. 1822. He was a carpenter and came to -N. in 1850 
 from Lawrence. They had three sons. He was in the Civil War. (See 
 Boys in Blue.) She d. Sept. 16, 1861. He d. at N. Feb. 6, 1898. 
 
 Second Oeneration. 
 
 John Everett Oilman, b. at Lawrence. Mass., Dec. 25, 1848; m., Ori- 
 anna J. Nudd of Canterbury, July, 1873. They have resided in N., 
 where he was a stone mason and general farm hand; now living in 
 Tilton. They had a family of 13; only seven survive. 
 
 Samuel C. Oilman, b. at N. Nov. 25. 1851; m. (first). Melissa J. 
 Piper (see Piper gen.); m. (second). Mrs. Caroline Hancock Tebbetts 
 Dec 14, 1S97. She d. Jan. 23, 1904. He still resides at the home on 
 Bay St. and is employed at O. H. Tilton's hosiery mill. 
 
136 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Albert H. Giliiax, b. at Sanbornton Nov. 5. 1854; m., Dec. 12, 1878, 
 Eva Olena Shaw, b. at Canterbury March 24, 1854. He is foreman in 
 the case room at G. H. Tilton's mill and resides on Hills St. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of John E. and Orianna Nudd Oilman.) 
 
 Twins, b. April 6, 1876; d., in infancy. 
 
 Charles Everett Gilmax, b. at Canterbury April 19, 1878, is a weaver 
 employed by the Elm Mills Manufacturing Co 
 
 Willie Olin GILMA^^ b. at Belmont May 11, 1880; m. Eva M. Straw of 
 Franklin April, 1901. They have two children and reside at Tilton. 
 He is a weaver at Carter's Mills. 
 
 Feed Leox Gilman, b. at N. May 10, 18S2, is a general farm hand. 
 
 Cora May Gilman, b. 1884; Johx, b. 1887; Ella and Ellox, twins, b. 
 1889, and Leox, b. 1894, reside with their parents. 
 
 (Child of A. H. and Eva Shaw Gilman.) 
 
 Ward Eugene Gilman, b. at Canterbury, N. H., Oct. 22, 1879, resides 
 with his parents and is employed at G H. Tilton's hosiery mill. 
 
 GILMAN VI. 
 
 Luther C. Gelman came to N. in 1889. He was b. in Sanbornton 
 July 12, 1851; m., Sept. 17, 1887, Annie Ramsey, b. April 9, 1862, at 
 Caspar, Fife, Scotland. They resided on Gale Ave. until their removal 
 to their new home in Tilton. 
 
 They have one dau. His grandfather and great-grandfather were 
 both drowned in Sanbornton Bay in nearly the same spot, and his 
 father was killed by the cars near by. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 Janet Maud Gilman, b. at Tilton March 3, 1889, is a student at Til- 
 ton Seminary. 
 
 GLIDDEN. 
 
 Charles Glidden was one of the most unique characters among the 
 early settlers of N. He was born in Maine in 1744 and became a sailor 
 boy. In the deed to the first land purchased in town he is called mari- 
 ner, in another husbandman and, still later, Charles Glidden, gentleman. 
 
 He served as a boy in the French and Indian War and was at the 
 taking of Quebec by General Wolfe in 1759 and with General Amherst 
 at the taking of Montreal in 1760 at 16 years of age. 
 
 He was at the second siege of Louisburg, it is said, and was one 
 of the 22 who signed a memorial to the "Honorable Assembly of His 
 Majesty's Province of New Hampshire," complaining "that their food 
 
GENEALOGIES. 137 
 
 was insufficient; that they were kept on duty often for 24 hours in 
 constant 'hassards' and hardships with no hot meat and no fruit." 
 They also called the officers "tyrants" and their commissary a "griping 
 oppressor" and ask to be heard. The petition was considered by the 
 council and a bounty of 50 shillings voted to every volunteer at Louis- 
 burg in addition to former bounty. Another Charles Glidden was at the 
 first siege in 1745, a relative, perhaps, as they were both from Notting- 
 ham. 
 
 It is not known what year he came to the north fields but his oldest 
 ■daughter was b. here in 1769. His wife was Alice Mills. In 1775 his 
 name appears as lieutenant in Col. Jeremiah Clough's regiment in the 
 Revolutionary War, and five years later it appears on the "Larm List," 
 with Benjamin Blanchard, Ensign Arcnilus Miles, John Cross, Gideon 
 Leavitt, Capt. Edward Blanchard and two William Kenistons, each 
 enlisting for three months in the "Continental Sarvice." These men 
 were his neighbors and some of them had been with him at Louisburg 
 and Quebec. 
 
 During his absence in the wars, his wife, nothing daunted by the 
 greatest hardships, added to her stock of fuel by going to the deep 
 woods with her team of steers, felling the trees herself, hauling them 
 "home and, with the aid of the children, preparing them for the huge 
 fireplace. She often added to the stock of family provisions by the 
 skilful use of the old flintlock gun, for the woods were full of game. 
 
 His soldier life being at an end, he returned to his bleak and infertile 
 acres, located far up on the foothills of Bean Hill, close by the dense 
 forest that sloped down to Chestnut Pond. He chose this site probably 
 on account of its proximity to water power at the outlet of the pond 
 and the heavily timbered forest. 
 
 He cleared each summer a few acres of cold, barren land and during 
 the long winters used to make frequent trips to Portsmouth with ox 
 team for family supplies, doing many an errand on his way for his 
 neighbor Wadleigh and others along the route. These days of absence 
 were lonely and long for the wife left behind with a single female com- 
 panion and the little ones about her knees. But she filled the hours 
 solid with work. The log barn housed the live stock filled to the doors, 
 while aloft, or on the stack outside, was the fodder that she must 
 distribute to them at daybreak and again at night by the aid of the old 
 tin, barn lantern. 
 
 It required steady nerves to remain composed when wild beasts 
 prowled about the cabin at night or were so hungry as to steal about 
 by daylight. This is no fancy sketch. Stories have come down to us of 
 "Adventures that would make the stoutest quaver and the warmest 
 blood run cold or, like the tale of Hamlet's ghost, make 'each Individual 
 hair to stand on end.' " 
 
 Mr. Glidden left his upland farm in 17S7 and bought the farm of 
 Jeremiah McDonald (or Daniel) and at once launched forth into num- 
 berless enterprises. He erected house after house and had a personal 
 
138 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 grudge against any one who dared to build a larger barn than any of 
 his, or was elected to any town office. His public life, as regards 
 Northfield, began when he signed the petition for the new town in 1780. 
 The first office he held was "survayer of by wais," to which he was 
 chosen the next March, 1781. The next year he was chosen "con- 
 stabel," and the next, one of the "sessors." In fact, it is hard to find 
 any annual meeting in which he was not chosen to fill one or more 
 offices, varying from putting in the large blocks of stone underpinning 
 for the meeting-house and laying the immense sills to turning the key 
 and sweeping the house, often at the surprising figure of ten cents "a 
 time," and when competition grew fierce would generously keep the 
 key "for nothing." 
 
 The big "hemlock broom" must have necessitated a trip each time 
 to the woods and the labored manufacture of stick and string must have 
 left but little profit to so busy a man as Charles Glidden. 
 
 There was more profitable and honorable service along with this, 
 however. He was sent in 17S8 to the convention at Exeter, when the 
 state adopted the Federal constitution, and he had been appointed 
 justice of the peace in April, 1787. Northfield honored the mother- 
 town by sending a citizen of Canterbury as its first representative, so, 
 in fact. Lieutenant Glidden was the first from the town in 1785. In 
 the Journal of the House from June 1 to June 23, 1785, when he repre- 
 sented both towns, his name appears no less than 37 times. He was 
 chosen one of a committee on numberless petitions; some dozen others 
 were sent up by him. He held this office for five years. 
 
 He was now getting to be a man of means and had rare business 
 ability. Beginning at Skendugoddy Brook he owned Lot 9, the parson- 
 age, and 7 and 9 and, across the range, Lots 1, 2, 3 and 4, extending 
 from the old meeting-house to the Canterbury line. Besides his exten- 
 sive farms, he was a stock dealer, renting out large flocks and herds 
 to the new settlers. For a sheep he required yearly a pound of wool or 
 to double every four years, and for the use of a cow he was to receive 
 one every four years. At his death the rented stock was returned, and, 
 coming from Moultonborough and Meredith, as well as the nearer 
 towns, the highways were full of them and on being collected they 
 filled a four-acre field. 
 
 He d. in 1811, so his tombstone records, aged 67 years. The Glidden 
 family burying ground is at the Centre in the field back of the present 
 schoolhouse. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Mary Gliddex, b. 1769; m. Rev. Daniel Young and removed to Ohio, 
 where she d. 
 
 John Gliddex, b. 1772 and d. 1794. He was nine years old when his 
 brother, Galusha, went to war and was nearly heart-broken because 
 he was not allowed to go. 
 
 Alice Glidden, b. 1774; m. (first), William Smith, Jr., and had three 
 
GENExVLOGIES. 139 
 
 sons. (See Smith gen.) She m. (second), Nov. 18, 1802, Judge Peter 
 Wadleigh and had one son. (See Wadleigh gen.) 
 
 Betty Glidden, b. 1778; m., 1796, Jeremiah Smith, b. at Old Hampton 
 in 1770 and d. at N. in 18G7. They had four sons and one dau. (See 
 Smith gen.) (Portrait.) 
 
 Charles Gi-iddex, Jr.. b. at N.; m., June 28, 1802, Ruth Hall (see Hall 
 gen.), and had seven sons. He lived on the homestead with his father 
 and shared in many of his enterprises. He was a man of ability and 
 prominent in local affairs and served the town as representative in the 
 Legislatures of 1818 and 1819. He erected a store by the old meeting- 
 house and was seemingly a prosperous merchant with the usual variety 
 found in country stores and piled high on his counters were webs of 
 homemade cloth, table linen, coverlets, boxes of home dipped candles, 
 pyramids of loaf sugar, while below were long rows of barrels of New 
 England rum. West India molasses and whale oil. 
 
 He had large resources and could give unlimited credit to such as 
 would pledge land, crops or cattle and in numberless cases he came to 
 be the owner of whole farms, which went to feed the owner's appetite 
 for hard cider, rum and tobacco; but, like many a man of more sagacity, 
 he was unable to manage so many interests and financial ruin was the 
 result. He removed to Ohio in 18;>1. It is said they started due West 
 with an ox team with all their worldly possessions, getting as far as 
 Salisbury South Road the first day. They succeeded in reaching there 
 after a tiresome journey. Both d. there years after and their children 
 and descendants still reside in and around Portsmouth. 
 
 Nancy Glidden, b. 1785; m. Philip Clough of Canterbury and lived 
 near the Holmes bridge and sawmill, which Mrs. Clough received from 
 her father as a wedding gift. This was always known as the Hancock 
 Mill. (See Hancock gen.) Their home, located near, had to be removed 
 when the railroad track was built directly underneath it. Mr. and 
 Mrs. Clough owned all the land bordering on the river from Colonel 
 Gate's, which became later the property of Nathaniel Holmes, and later 
 of his dau., whose husband, Zenas Clement, sold to the Seminary and 
 the railroad. 
 
 Mrs. Clough m. (second), Rev. Daniel Young, her brother-in-law. He 
 was a Methodist minister and his appearance at the brick church called 
 out a large congregation. At the close the wedding took place. He 
 was a man of business capacity and established the first furnace at 
 Portsmouth, Ohio, and later two others known as Junior furnace and 
 Franklin. He had a large family and abundant means. He was suc- 
 ceeded by his nephew, Jefferson Glidden. 
 
 Polly Glidden, b. at N.: m. Daniel Young, 2d., and had six children. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of Charles, Jr., and Ruth Hall Glidden.) 
 John Glidden, b. at N. 1802. 
 
140 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Chakles Mills Gliddex, b. 1S04; m. Alice Smith and had four chil- 
 dren. They were farmers at the foot of Bean Hill and later at her 
 father's on Bay Hill. After their children completed their education 
 at the Seminary they located permanently at Portsmouth, 0., where he 
 d. She d. at Lexington, Mass., at the home of her sister. 
 
 Jeffebson Gliddex, b. at N.; m. Katherine Young and had four chil- 
 dren. 
 
 Joseph Glidden m. (second), Mary Eliza Young and resided at Ports- 
 mouth, 0. He had one son, Charles Mills, by his first wife and three 
 ■children, Jefferson, Katherine and Flora, by the second. 
 
 Daniel Gliddex m. (first), Mary Ellen Robinson and had two chil- 
 dren. Bertha and Charles. He m. (second), Mrs. Josephine Tomlinson, 
 who, after his death by drowning, m. (third), Cyrus Ellison. 
 
 Obadiah Hall Gliddex m. Lyncha Blair and had five children: John 
 Mills, Frank Muzzy, Jesse Blair, Mrs. Laura Sickles and Ruth Hall, 
 who m. her cousin, Jefferson, son of John Jefferson Glidden (see). 
 
 Galusha Glidden, 2d., m. at Marietta, O., and had a dau., Mary, at 
 "Whose home he d. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Mills and Alice Smith Glidden.) 
 (All but one b. at N.) 
 
 Mary Youxg Gliddex, b. about 182S, graduated at the New Hamp- 
 shire Conference Seminary, class of 1849, and went at once to Ports- 
 mouth, 0., where she m. George Crawford and had three children, 
 •George, Jr., Minnie Alice G. and John. 
 
 George, Jr., was private secretary to Oom Paul during the Boer War. 
 He was a graduate of the West Point Military Academy. He now re- 
 sides in South America. 
 
 Minnie Alice G. Crawford graduated from the Boston Conservatory 
 of Music and later from the Ann Arbor Medical College in both 
 homeopathy and allopathy. She practised some years at Portsmouth, 
 O., and spent some years in N. She m. (first), Benjamin Trago and 
 (second). Dr. Dight, and was physician in charge of the Woman's 
 Hospital at Philadelphia for a term of years. She has taken special 
 post-graduate courses at Vienna and now resides abroad. 
 
 John Crawford, M. D., was a graduate of Cincinnati Medical College 
 and took post-graduate courses at Munich, preceding his sister there. 
 He is now abroad educating his three daughters: Mary Magdalene, 
 Vera Marion and Margaret. He has served as mayor of Portsmouth and 
 if not of the size, perhaps, to be called of "aldermanic proportions," 
 tips the beam quickly at 300 pounds. 
 
 Mother Crawford was also a woman of great proportions. She was 
 a friend of the poor, was a strong anti-slavery advocate and at the time 
 of her death was borne to her last resting place by four stalwart 
 negroes. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 141 
 
 Stephen Glidden (see portrait) was b. at N. and followed his uncles 
 to Junior Furnace, O., and was there in the iron business and at Ala- 
 bama for some years, called an iron master. He m. Susan Garrett 
 and had five children: Mrs. Nancy Alice James, called "Jingie"; Mrs. 
 Jessie Culberson; Harry; Dr. Stephen Clifton of Danville, 111.; and 
 Garrette, who, with her mother, since her father's death in 1903 at 
 Los Angeles, Cal., has spent her time in travel. Mr. Glidden late in life 
 retired from the iron trade and was president of the Cceur de Lion 
 silver mines and also of the Spokane National Bank. 
 
 Nancy Alice Glidden, b. at N., was also educated at the Seminary 
 and m., Nov. 4, 1852, at Portsmouth, O., Wesley Crandall. She d. a 
 few months later, greatly lamented by a host of friends. He d. June 
 28, 1853, it is said, of a broken heart. 
 
 Emma Glidden, b. at Portsmouth, O.; d. at 14 years of age. 
 
 (Children of Jefferson and Katherine Young Glidden.) 
 (B. in Ohio.) 
 
 Carlos Glidden was the inventor of the typewriter. The Remington 
 Company paid his widow a royalty for every machine put out for years, 
 finally buying her right. 
 
 John Jefferson Glidden m. (first), Mary Bell and had one child, 
 Bruce. He m. (second), Ruth Glidden and had three, Helen, Hope and 
 Ruth. Helen m. W. W. Clippinger; Hope m. a physician and Ruth m. 
 Heron Hibben. 
 
 Anna Glidden m. Frank Houts and had five dau. 
 
 George Glidden was an invalid and unmarried. 
 
 GLIDDEN 11. 
 
 Mrs. Louisa Glidden came from Laconia to N. and purchased the 
 William Hannaford place on Oak Hill of Mrs. Irene Chamberlain. She 
 was engaged in general farming for some years but lately confines her- 
 self to gardening and poultry raising since her misfortune of being 
 seriously injured by a mowing machine. She has two sons, James 
 and Archie. The latter is now of Laconia. 
 
 GLINES I. 
 
 The Glines family was one of the Canterbury contributions to the 
 new town. In fact, some of them lived in the north fields prior to 1780. 
 
 There are, I find, no less than three by the name of William taxed 
 in N. in 1786 and another who was a non-resident; and in 1787 there 
 was a William 4th. 
 
 One to distinguish him was called "Cartnap," and another the "Old 
 Miller." Their record shows them to have been largely tillers of the 
 soil and to have served their country in her time of need. 
 
 William Glines, 1st., the subject of this sketch, is said to have had 
 two brothers, John and Israel, who were hunters and trappers and who 
 
142 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 used to go often to northern New Hampshire and perhaps settled there. 
 They gave their names to two prominent rivers: The -Johns, a tributarj' 
 to the Connecticut at Dalton, and the Israel, also a branch of it, at 
 Jefferson. The name is common in Coos County. 
 
 William Glixes, b. at Canterbury in 1736; m. Elizabeth Blanchard 
 of the north fields, b. 1743. She d. May 9, 1830. He was a soldier in 
 the Revolutionary War and was accompanied by his son. They had 
 seven children. The home was later owned and occupied by Col. Mat- 
 thias Moore. He d. March 28, 1830. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Benjamin Glines, b. March 13, 1764: m., Sept. 18, 1787, Love Leavitt, 
 b. May 26, 1768. They built and lived on the place now being improved 
 by Frank S. Tilton on the main road near the head of Sondogardy 
 Pond. He went to war with his father when only 16 years old, carry- 
 ing the "historic gun," spoken of elsewhere. (See Dearborn gen.) 
 He was drafted in the War of 1812 and not allowed to go home to say 
 farewell to his wife and nine children, being forced right into service. 
 He d. at Plattsburg in 1813. She d. March 20, 1848. He received as 
 bounty for his first service 20 bushels of corn. 
 
 John Gunes, b. 1766; m. Susan McDaniel, b. 1767, and had one son, 
 McDaniel (called Mack). He d. Aug. 13, 1825. She d. Dec. 19, 1804. 
 
 Job Glines. b. 1769; m. Mary Dearborn of N. and had a family of 
 10. He d. Oct. 1, 1832. She d. Sept. 19, 1846. He owned No. 9 of the 
 Gospel lots and sold 12 Vi; acres for £30 to Abraham Dearborn in 1791. 
 
 Martha (Patty) Glines. b. at Canterbury; m. (pub, Feb. 16, 1804), 
 Nehemiah McDaniel and lived on the main road near the lower railroad 
 crossing. (See McDaniel gen.) 
 
 AzuBA Glines. b. at Canterbury; m., Feb. 16, 1804 (pub. Jan. 7, 1804), 
 John Hannaford of N. and had several children. (See Hannaford gen.) 
 
 Jonathan Glines. b. ; m. Fannie Calef and had seven chil- 
 dren. 
 
 Abraham Glines. b. at Canterbury, 1771; m. (first), and had a 
 
 family of five; m. (second), Mrs. Presby. He d. at N. Dec. 26, 1856. 
 
 Isaac Glines, b. at Canterbury, 1778; m. (first), Nabby McDaniel of 
 N., Feb. 26, 1805, and had five children; m. (second), Mrs. Polly Wad- 
 leigh Fullonton, b. Nov. 27, 1790, at N. All the children by his first 
 wife were b. at Salem, Mass., where he owned and erected buildings, 
 often coming to N. to erect fine houses. He learned his trade at Aus- 
 tin's celebrated cabinet shop. He located later at the Centre and became 
 a farmer, selling his Salem estate in 1836. They had eight children. 
 He was captain of the Michaine Home Guards at Salem and later was 
 a captain in the state militia. He d. June 9, 1861. She d. at the home 
 of their son. Smith W. Glines, in the very room where she was b., March 
 28, 1872. She was an ideal mother and it was a great joy when she 
 came to the close of her long and intensely useful life that she had 
 been just and kind to her large family of stepchildren. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 143 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Benjamin and Love Leavitt Glines.) 
 
 Jeremiah Glines, b. July 15, 1788; d., Jan., 1815. 
 
 Sally Glixes, b. July 12, 1790; m. Shubael Dearborn in 1S17 and had 
 a family of eight. (See Dearborn gen.) She d. July 28, 1883. 
 
 James Glines. b. July 12, 1792, called "Elder Jim"; m. Hannah 
 Glines and lived near the Shakers in Canterbury. They had eight 
 children, none of whom resided in N. He d. Jan. 30, 1881. 
 
 Jonathan Glines. b. Oct. 24, 1794; m., Jan., 1815, Betsey Gile of N. 
 (see Gile gen.) and had two sons. He was killed by a falling tree 
 July 5, 1826. 
 
 JoHX Glines, b. Jan, 29, 1797; d., of typhoid fever in Boston, Sept. 
 19, 1825. 
 
 David Glines. b. May 20, 1800; m., May 21, 1823, Matilda Rowe of 
 Gilford, b. Feb. 5, 1805. She d. June 15, 1857. They had 10 children. 
 
 He lived with his brother, Obadiah, on the main road, moving later 
 to Gray, Me., where he d. Oct., 1872. 
 
 Statira Glines, twin sister of the above, m., April, 1822, Smith Jew- 
 ett of Laconia. A son, Jeremiah, was a survej'or on the B., C. & M. R. R. 
 and was foreman of inspectors. He later became a Methodist minister 
 of Warren. He has lately given the school at Tilton a sum of money 
 in memory of his son, who d. while a student there. She d. July 20, 
 1880. 
 
 Polly Glines. b. Oct. 12, 1801; m., Dec. 2, 1838, Shubael Glines (son of 
 Job). They spent their lives in their house near the Pond school- 
 house. They had four children. He d. Dec. 19, 1878. She lived to the 
 extreme age of 98 and d. Jan. 22, 1899. She was a consistent member 
 of the Congregational Church for 73 years. 
 
 Obauiah Glines. b. Tuesday, Feb. 9, 1804; m.. May 2G, 1836, Mary 
 Ann Plummer of N., b. Sunday. Dec. 12, 1813. (See Plummer gen.) 
 He was a farmer on his father's estate, which was one of the best 
 on the main road, sloping down to the pond. They had eight dau. and 
 twin sons. She d. Feb. 22, 1871. He m. (second), Lucy Watson of 
 Boscawen. He d. March 20. 1893. She d. a few weeks later. 
 
 (Child of John and Susan McDaniel Glines.) 
 Mack Glines, b. at N. June 20, 1803; m. Mary (dau. of Job Glines), 
 and had one dau. 
 
 (Children of Job and Mary Dearborn Glines.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 Elizabeth Glines, b. Oct. 18, 1794; d., Dec. 31, 1819. 
 Sally Glines. b. March 15, 1797; m., Sept. 5, 1823, Edward Presby. 
 She d. March 25, 1871. (See Presby gen.) 
 
 Siu-BAEL Glines, b. Dec. 30, 1798; m. Polly Glines (dau. of Benjamin), 
 Dec. 2. 1838. He d. Dec. 19, 1878. 
 
 Nancy Glines. b. Dec. 23, 1801; m. Jacob, son of Abraham Glines and 
 had two children. She d. May 29. 1834. 
 
144 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Mart Glixes, b. March 18, 1804; m., 1830, her cousin, McDaniel 
 Glines (son of John), and had one dau. She d. June 13, 1880. 
 
 Harriet Glines, b. Aug. 22, 1806; d., unmarried. She remained with 
 her brother, James, entirely devoted to his interests during a long and 
 busy life. She d. at Boscawen March 5, 1883, while on a visit to her 
 brother. Dearborn. 
 
 James Glixes, called "Deacon Jim" (see portrait), b. July 5, 1809; 
 m., Nov. 30, 1843, Abagail Chapman, b. July 4, 1821. She was a dau. 
 of J. W. Chapman of Gilmanton, who was a soldier in the War of 1812 
 on the Canadian frontier and was in several engagements. They re- 
 sided many years on the Windfall, removing later to the home of his 
 brother, Alvah, on the main road. They had a family of five girls and 
 a son. She' still remains in the home. He d. Oct. 10, 1890. 
 
 Dearboex Glixes, b. Oct. 16, 1812; m., June 11, 1846, Eliza Jane Plum- 
 mer. They spent their lives on Boscawen intervale. He d. there March 
 4, 1883. She d. Sept. 2, 1877. 
 
 Alvah H. Glixes, b. March 25, 1816; m. (pub.), Nov. 17, 1848, Sarah 
 Flint of Webster and d. at Canterbury Nov. 23, 1861. 
 
 Charles Glixes, b. May 24, 1820; m. Mary Ann Morse, b. Oct. 14, 1S28, 
 at Canterbury. He was a farmer and lived to the advanced age of 82. 
 He d. Oct. 20, 1902. They had six children, but one of whom, Leroy 
 A., now of Canterbury, lived to maturity. She d. March 4, 1899. (See 
 portrait and sketch.) 
 
 (Children of Jonathan and Fannie Calef Glines. 
 
 John Glixes m.,1830, Betsey, dau. of Capt. Isaac Glines and had 
 four children. He d. Jan. 2, 1841. 
 
 Cyrus Glines, b. 1815; m. Betsey (the above), his brother's widow, 
 and had one dau. He m. (second), Mrs. Susan Blaisdell (pub.), Oct. 
 9, 1855, and had two children. She d. Feb. 3, 1866. He m. (third),. 
 Mary Bartlett of Campton and had one dau. He d. April 14, 1871. 
 
 Sally Glixes m. Jeremiah Fox and removed to Boscawen. He was a 
 while at Worcester, Mass., but returned and d. at Boscawen. 
 
 Sumxer Glines d. Aug. 16, 1848, aged 48. 
 
 Tajisen Glines m.. May 4, 1826, Flint of Boscawen, and both 
 
 lived and d. there. They had four children. 
 
 Hannah Glixes m. James Glines of Hackleboro, Canterbury. Both 
 d. there. They had nine children. 
 
 Jonathan Glines m. Fannie Heath and d. at Canterbury Nov. 16,. 
 1812. They had three children. (See Ludlow gen.) 
 
 James Glines called "Hatter Jim," m. Mrs. Harris of Franklin, where 
 both d. He d. in 1866; she d. in 1868. 
 
 (Children of Abraham Glines.) 
 
 Phebe Glines, b. at N.; m., March 25, 1826, Cornelius Ludlow (see 
 Ludlow gen.); m. (second), Alexander Braley, July 19, 1841. They had. 
 seven children. (See Braley gen.) She d. July 24, 1876. 
 
< 
 
 H 
 
 o 
 w 
 
 I— » 
 
JAMES GLINES. 
 
MRS. JAMES GLINES. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 145 
 
 Pamelia Gli.nes, b. at N.; m., 1832, John Roberts of Andover and had 
 five children. She m. (second), Samuel Neal of Canterbury, pub. 
 May 19, 1S55. 
 
 Jacob Glixes, b. at N. ; m., 1S26, Nancy Glines and lived on Spring 
 Hill, where she d. He m. (second), June 13, 1845, Almira Glover. He 
 d. Feb. 16, 1854. He had seven children. 
 
 Bexjamtx Glixes, 2d., m. and had a family in the West. He made 
 but one visit to his former home. 
 
 Martha Glixes m. Jeremiah Lake and resided in Canterbury; later 
 removed to the Healey place and d. there. 
 
 (Children of Isaac and Abagail McDonald Glines.) 
 
 Betsey Glixes, b. at Salem, Mass.; m. John Glines (son of Jonathan). 
 He d. Jan. 2, 1841, leaving two sons, George Storrs and Thomas, and 
 two dau., Mary Jane and Emily. Mrs. Glines m. (second), Cyrus Glines, 
 brother of her former husband, and had one dau., Mehitable. (See 
 John and Betsey Glines gen.) 
 
 Abagail Glixes. b. at Salem, Mass., 1808; m. James Chase of Can- 
 terbury, Dec. 10, 1843. They resided in Canterbury, where he d. 
 Jan. 22, 1892, and she d. Jan. 24, 1892. 
 
 Pamelia Glixes, b. at Salem, Mass., 1811; m.. May 15, 1867, Elisha 
 Lougee and moved to Sanbornton, where he d. Aug. 28, 1886. After his 
 death she came to her brother's on Zion's Hill, where she d. Oct. 20, 
 1887. 
 
 Hiram I. Glixes, b. at Salem, Mass., 1814; m., April 10, 1842, Eliza 
 Hazelton, b. in Mansfield, Mass., Feb. 19, 1821, and d. at N. Dec. 21, 1S91. 
 He d. Feb. 22, 1888. They had three sons. 
 
 (Children of Isaac and Polly Wadleigh Glines.) 
 (B. in N.) 
 
 Elizabeth G. Glixes, b. May 9, 1819; m., Dec. 12, 1844, Warren H. 
 Smith. (See Smith gen.) 
 
 JoHx W. Glixes, b. 1820; d., 1822. 
 
 JoxATHAX W. Glixes, b. May 16, 1824; m. (first), Ella Glidden of 
 Boston, Mass.; m. (second), Ida Roberts of Boston, where they resided 
 until his death in May, 1903. They had one dau. and a son. Both d. 
 In early life, Minnie at 17 and George S. at 24 years of age. 
 
 Electa C. Glixes. b. Aug. 11, 1826; m. (pub.), June 16, 1851, Thomas 
 S. Clough. (See Clough gen.) 
 
 Lauba p. Glines, b. March 20, 1829; m., Oct. 15, 1850, William H. 
 Clough. (See Clough gen.) 
 
 George Frederick Glixes. b. 1832, was a lifelong Invalid and d. July 
 14, 1861. 
 
 Smith W. Glixes. b. Feb. 28. 1834; m.. Dec. 9, 1861, Sarah Jane 
 Brown, b. at Canterbury Dec. 16, 1834. They resided on the home farm 
 at the Centre, going later to the Morse or Wadleigh place near the 
 reservoir, where he d. May 12, 1S81. She still resides there. They 
 had three sons and a dau. 
 10 
 
146 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Annie G. Glines, b. May 7, 1S3G; m., March, ISGl, Nathaniel Smith 
 of Newmarket. They resided later in Maiden, Mass., where he d. in 
 
 1902. She still resides there. They had three children: Lizzie, who 
 d. in 1897; Annie, now a popular teacher in Somerville, Mass.; and 
 Mary, wife of Dr. Charles C. Jones of Maiden. 
 
 Fourth Generation, 
 
 (Children of Jonathan and Betsey Gile Glines.) 
 Charles M. Glines was a natural penman and made writing his life 
 
 work, which he began in 1846. He was a teacher in the New Hampshire 
 
 Conference Seminary for more than 26 years. 
 
 He erected a home on Park St. and also one on his farm on the 
 
 Rogers place, which he carried on for many summers. He served the 
 
 town as clerk for three years and was also one of its selectmen. He 
 
 d. Sept. 17, 1879. 
 
 Jonathan Glines d. March 7, 1845, aged 20. 
 
 (Children of David and Matilda Rowe Glines.) 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Melissa Glines, b. June 16, 1825; m., March 5, 1848, Joseph Kimball 
 
 and resided in Boston. He d. March, 1871. They had two sons, Herbert 
 
 and Frank. The former d. at N. March, 1893. The latter d. June 5, 
 
 1903. She resides on Bay St. 
 
 Moses Glines, b. at N. March 25, 1826; m. Orilla T. Howe of Milford. 
 She d. in 1870. She was active in club and social life. He m. a second 
 time and resided in New York, where his son, Eugene, now resides. 
 Mr. Glines now lives in Milford. 
 
 Isaac Glines, b. Sept. 5, 1S2S; d. of smallpox in Boston when a young 
 man. 
 
 Samuel Glines, b. April 12, 1830; m., June 20, 1S51. 
 
 Deboeah Glines, b. Sept. 6, 1S32; d., June, 1834. 
 
 Love Leavitt Glines, b. March 16, 1834; m. Charles 0. Edwards and 
 resided in Boston, where he d. in 1902. They had two sons and a dau., 
 Georgianna, who m. George Little of Boston. Mr. Little, after living 
 a while in Concord, purchased the Slader farm and they are now 
 farmers in N. They have one dau., Orilla, wife of Fred Johnson of 
 Concord. 
 
 David Glines, b. June, 1835, resides in Weare. 
 
 Ebenezer R. Glines, b. Nov. 25, 1837, has long resided at Baltimore, 
 where he m. and has a son, Stephen. He was a fruit dealer. 
 
 Lauka Matilda Glines, b. April 21, 1830; d. at Gray, Me., April 24, 
 1846. 
 
 Mary Susan Glines d. in infancy. 
 
 (Children of Obadiah and Mary A. Plummer Glines.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 Anna Ward Glines, b. Saturday, March 13, 1837; m., Nov. 13, 1873, 
 Rev. John Fogg of Gilmanton. They bought the Samuel Wyatt place 
 
GENEALOGIES. 147 
 
 near Zion's Hill and were farmers. He d. . She remains on the 
 
 homestead. 
 
 Eliza Merrill Glixes, b. Thursday, Sept. 13, 1S3S; m. Eugene Moore 
 of Concord and resides at Penacook. They have one child. 
 
 Frances Maria Glixes, b. Thursday, Jan. 30, 1840; m. Charles Davis 
 and resided at Penacook. They have three children. 
 
 Sarah Josephine Glines, b. Thursday, Sept. 28, 1841; m., Dec. 30, 
 1866, William H. Moody of Concord and resides at Penacook. They have 
 two dau. 
 
 Caroline ArcrsTA Glines, b. Monday, Dec. 26, 1842; m. John Lang 
 and has five children. They reside near Boston, Mass. 
 
 Helen Matilda Glines, b. Wednesday, Sept. 11, 1844; m. Dr. Leslie 
 of Amesbury, Mass., and has three children. 
 
 Hannah Hale Glines, b. Aug. 5, 1846; m. Albert Huff and resided 
 at Penacook. They had four children. 
 
 Melex and Everett Glines, twins, b. Sept. 5, 1850; both d., 1851. 
 
 Willis and Wallace Glines. twins, b. May 28, 1854. The former m. 
 Mrs. Mary J. Conant and resided near his father's. He was killed by 
 the cars Dec. 27, 1899. The latter was also injured almost on the same 
 spot Sept. 4, 1886, and d. a day later. 
 
 (Child of Mack and Mary Glines.) 
 
 Susan M. Glines, b. July 21, 1831; m., Nov. 27, 1850, Otis C. Hurl- 
 burt of Lyme. (See Hurlburt gen.) 
 
 (Children of Shubael and Polly Glines Glines.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Seviba Glines, b. April 30, 1843; m., Sept. 26, 1861, Hiram Streeter 
 of N. They reside on the main road. He is a farmer and machinist 
 and was employed for many years at Franklin Falls. Mrs. Streeter 
 was a teacher before her marriage. They are generous supporters 
 of Union Church, and active in many lines of work. 
 
 Wesley Glines, b. Dec. 4, 1839; m., Jan. 10, 1870, Nellie Moody of 
 Boscawen and remained on the home farm, where he d. of diphtheria 
 May 27, 1882. She m. (second), Oct. 31, 1883, George C. Flanders of 
 Penacook. He was a musician in the band of the Third New Hamp- 
 shire Volunteers, attached to the ambulance corps, and was discharged 
 after a year. 
 
 Shl-b.\el Glines, b. May 10, 1842; d., Jan. 3, 1853. 
 
 LiBA Conant Glines, b. Nov. 14, 1845; was a lifelong invalid. He 
 d. Jan., 1876. 
 
 (Children of James and Harriett Chapman Glines.) 
 
 Sabah Glines, b. Dec. 22, 1844; m. Eliphalet Corser and resided many 
 years at Boscawen. 
 Nathan Glines, b. Jan. 21, 1850; d., Feb. 10, 1852. 
 
148 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Mary Dearborn Glines, b. Dec. 30, 1S52; m. William H. Peny. They 
 resided for a while at Troy, N. Y. He conducts a large granite busi- 
 ness at Concord under the "Sign of the Elephant." They have seven 
 children. 
 
 Abbie L. Glixes, b. May 22, 1854; m. Charles W. Plummer and re- 
 sides on the banks of the Merrimack. (See Plummer gen.) 
 
 Emma J. Glixes, b. April 2, 1859; m., Nov. 25, 1880, Elliot C. Healey 
 of N. After a short residence on Park St. they removed to Concord, 
 where she d. Oct. 24, 1892. (See Healey gen.) They had one dau., 
 Gladys. 
 
 Carrie B. Glines, b. Jan. 28, 1863; m., Feb. 28, 1891, Edwin G. Mor- 
 rison of N. (See Morrison gen.) 
 
 (Children of John and Betsey Glines.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 George Storrs Glines, b. 1828 (?); m. Julia Adams of Lowell, Mass., 
 and resided there. They had two children, Nellie and Freddie. Mr. 
 Glines d. at Boscawen. 
 
 Emily Glines, b. 1834; d., July 11, 1852. 
 
 Thomas Glines, b. 1836; d.. May 22, 1859. 
 
 Mary Jane Glines, b. March 3, 1839; m. (first), Feb. 22, 1864, John 
 F. Conant of Manchester and resided at Waltham, Mass. They had a 
 dau., Abbie M., b. June 22, 1869. She is a telephone and telegraph 
 operator at Pike Station. Mr. Conant d. at Waltham July 1, 1867. 
 She m. (second), 1876, Willis M. Glines (see Glines gen.) and resided 
 on the main road. 
 
 (Children of Cyrus and Betsey Glines Glines.) 
 
 Mehitable Glines, b. 1844; m. (first), Albert Keniston and had one 
 child. She m. (second), Eugene Hawes of Great Falls and had two 
 children. She d. Feb. 3, 1866. 
 
 (Children of Cyrus and Susan Blaisdell Glines.) 
 
 Ella G. Glines, b. Feb. 24, 1858; m. Will Howe of N. She d. June 5, 
 1891. They had one dau., who d. at four years of age. 
 
 Ora Isabel Glines, b. Feb. 9, 1861; m. Solon D. Simonds of Tilton 
 and had two dau., Mrs. Felix Barney, who resides on Bay St., and 
 Hattie M., who d. Oct. 4, 1897. 
 
 (Children of Jacob and Nancy Glines Glines.) 
 LoviNA Glines, b. Jan. 28, 1828; m., March 23, 1853, Nicholas French 
 
 and resided near the Rand schoolhouse in East N. (See French gen.) 
 
 She m. (second), Capt. Lyman Fellows Sept. 1, 1868. Mr. Fellows d. 
 
 April 20, 1885. She resides with her dau., Mrs. Nellie McKenney, at 
 
 Laconia. 
 
 Job Glines, b. April 24, 1830; m., March, 1865, Elizabeth Pickard of 
 
 Canterbury. He resided in East N. and d. there Jan., 1892. They had 
 
 four children. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 149 
 
 Benjamin Glines, b. 1S32; m. Ann Robertson. They resided on 
 High St., where they were burned out, going then to Oak Hill near 
 the schoolhouse, where they erected new buildings, which were removed 
 later to Hills St. and constitute the dwelling of Albert Oilman. He 
 later occupied the Jason Foss farm, where he d. March S, 1901. These 
 buildings were burned April 2S, 1901. She resides on the Trecartin 
 place with her son, Benjamin. They had seven children. 
 
 D.\Rirs Olines m. Georgianna Dearborn and had one child. He d. 
 Sept. 23, 1872. 
 
 Nancy Glines m. George W. Stewart of Franklin Falls. They have 
 two children, Willie and Lilla. 
 
 (Children of Betsey and John Glines.) 
 See John Glines. 
 
 (Children of Betsey and Cyrus Glines.) 
 See Cyrus Glines. 
 
 (Children of Hiram and Eliza Hazelton Glines.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Walter Folgee Glines, b. April 29, 1843; m., Nov. 27, 186G, Mary Jane 
 Slader of N., b. at Lawrence, Mass., July 6, 1849. (See Dolloff gen.) 
 He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) They resided on 
 the Slader farm near the Canterbury line and had three children. 
 He was a peddler for many years and d. at West Concord April 26, 
 1SS7. She m. (second), Jan. 4, 1893, Henry W. Leach of Lowell, Mass. 
 
 Henry H. Glines, b. Oct. 21, 1848; m., Oct. 25, 1877, and resided for 
 a time at Manchester, later going to Franklin Falls, where she d. 
 Oct. 26, 1903. He d. Nov. 1 of the same year. 
 
 Edward Rat Glines, b. June 20, 1856; m., April, 1888, Carrie E. 
 Mooney, b. at Sandwich Jan., 1860, and had three children. She d. 
 Dec. 5, 1897. 
 
 (Children of Smith W. and Jennie Brown Glines.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 George Fred Glines, b. Oct. 27, 1862; m., April 2, 1895, Grace L. 
 Smith of Sterling, Mass. They reside in Hudson, Mass., where he is a 
 sanitary plumber and heating engineer. 
 
 Franic Appleton Glines, b. April 14, 1864; d. July 16, ISSS. He was 
 employed by F. B. Shedd at Lowell, Mass. 
 
 M.vbel Wadleigii Glines, b. Sept. 1, 1869; m., June 5, 1902, William 
 C. Hill. (See Hills gen.) 
 
 John W. Glines, b. March 20, 1872, resides with his mother on the 
 homestead. They are dairy farmers. He has been chairman of the 
 board of supervisors for a term of years. He is active in church work 
 and is a member of the Epworth League. 
 
150 HISTORY OF XORTHFIELD. 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Charles M. and Amanda Sanborn Glines.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 Fred Sanborn Glines, b. March 5, 1849, was a merchant at Suncook, 
 Clarence Warren Glines, b. Feb. 17, 1851; d., Oct. 11, 1871. 
 Theodate Sarah Glines, b. July 29, 1857; m. Frank Stevens of 
 Franklin, where she d. 
 
 Mary Alice Glines, b. Nov. 2, 1867; d., Jan. 9, 1878. 
 
 (Children of Benjamin and Ann Robertson Glines.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Willie M. Glines, b. March 26, 1866; m., 1887, Etta L. LeBarron of 
 Sanbornton. They had three children. She d. Sept. 5, 1898. He has 
 long resided on Park St., but has been of the firm of Glines & Stevens, 
 sash and blind makers, at Franklin Falls. He is a contractor and 
 builder. 
 
 Charles Glines, b. 1868; m., March 12, 1895, Mary Brown of Wal- 
 tham, where they reside. He is a pipe organ builder. 
 
 Frank Glines, b. Oct. 25, 1870; m., Aug. 5, 1895, Mary Lemon of 
 Laconia. They reside at Oak Hill and he is employed at Franklin 
 Falls. They have three children, Alice May, Daisy Belle and Myra E. 
 
 Nellie Glines, b. Dec. 9, 1878; d., June 17, 1893. 
 
 Bert A. Glines, b. March 2, 1872; m. (first), Neva Randall and re- 
 sides at Franklin Falls; m. (second), Jennie Carter of Canterbury 
 Sept. 3, 1902. 
 
 Benjamin A. Glines, b. Feb. 27, 1880, resides with the mother on 
 the farm. 
 
 (Children of Job and Elizabeth Pickard Glines.) 
 Elias Laroy Glines, b. March 28, 1866, now resides in Brooklyn, N. Y. 
 Jed Glines, b. Dec. 6, 1872; whereabouts unknown. 
 Sarah J. Glines, b. Oct. 8, 1868; m., May 16, 1900, George W. Warring 
 of Manchester, England, now of Roxbury, Mass. 
 
 Belle Glines, b. Jan., 1874, now resides in Raymond. 
 
 (Children of Walter and Jennie Slader Glines.) 
 
 Lizzie May Glines, b. March 29, 1868; d., Sept. 4, 1869. 
 
 Josephine A. Glines, b. Aug. 12, 1870, removed with her mother to 
 Lowell, Mass., where she is a teacher of art. 
 
 Annie A. Glines, b. Jan. 27, 1873; d., Sept. 19, 1877. 
 
 Henry W. Glines, b. June 15, 1876, was fireman on the B. & M. R. R. 
 He was instantly killed in a collision Aug. 8, 1895. 
 
 (Children of Edward and Carrie Mooney Glines.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 Jeremiah Eastman Smith Glines, b. June 16, 1890. 
 Alice Eliza Glines, b. Oct. 4, 1892. 
 Hiram Edward Glines d. in infancy. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 151 
 
 GLINES 11. 
 
 William Glines, familiarly known as "Old Cartnap" lived near the 
 river on the "Colony," where there were, perhaps, a dozen houses 
 built or removed hither by the owner of the land. Here dwelt the 
 hewers of wood and the drawers of water, the woodsawyers and wash- 
 erwomen for the village. William drifted in among them after the 
 Revolutionary War, from whence, I am unable to learn. 
 
 He had been through not only the fatigues of the long march and 
 the bloody fray, but the still more distressing exhaustion of the prison 
 pen. Worn out beyond repair and unable to provide for his own and 
 his family's needs, they dropped into the inevitable, let us hope without 
 a thought of what "might have been." Too indolent to work out his 
 taxes he was content to lie under the cart by the roadside and let 
 others do it for him, and thus secured for himself the sobriquet which, 
 ever after clung to him and his posterity. 
 
 I find among early records that he m. Polly Moloney Dec. 23, 1S23, 
 perhaps a second wife. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Isaac Glixes (called "Dr. Isaac") lived on what became the dwelling 
 place of the late Simeon Gate on the main road at the entrance to the 
 Colony road. This place he sold to Mr. Gate and moved his house near 
 the river. He m., Oct. 18, 1792, Hannah Kisrel from the Isle of Shoals. 
 They had eight children. He d. June 23, 1852. She d. Feb. 2, 1852. 
 
 Dolly Glines, twin sister of the above, m., Sept. 2, 1797, Samuel 
 Dinsmore, and d. Sept. 22, 1853. (See Dinsmore gen.) 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Dr. Isaac and Hannah Kisrel Glines.) 
 
 Betty Glines m. James Heath and had two children, Horace and 
 Mary Ann. The former m. Sophronia Whicher and the latter Reuben 
 Hoyt of Belmont. Mrs. Heath m. (second), Hazen Dearborn. (See 
 Dearborn gen.) 
 
 Hannah Glines m. Moses Foss and had a son, Stephen, who m. Sarah 
 Newell Currier and went West. 
 
 Polly Glines, b. 1806, m. Jonathan Keniston and had two children. 
 (See Keniston gen.) 
 
 Isaac Glines, Jr.. m., Dec. 31, ISIS, Hannah Kimball of Canterbury. 
 
 Alexander T. C. Glines, b. 1803; m., 1830, Betsey Dearborn, b. March 
 27, 1805, and had three dau. She d. April 10, 1883, aged 78. He was a 
 trusted employee of Benjamin Chase in his carding mill and later was 
 a farm hand for Warren L. Hill. He d. Sept. 10, 1898. 
 
 Joseph Glines removed West when a young man and, with a brother, 
 settled near Findlay, 0. Their families still reside there and are 
 prominent citizens. 
 
152 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Rachel Glixes m. Levi Cross, called the "Ferryman," and resided 
 near Kendegeda Brook on the main road. They had three children. 
 He was injured by a premature blast while at work on the B., C. & M. 
 Railroad Jan., 1S47. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 LucRETiA Glixes, b. June 22, 1S31; m., March 29, 1847, Jeremiah 
 Dow, b. 1828. (See Dow gen.) 
 
 Sarah Glixes, b. Aug. 1, 1837; m., Sept. IS, 1850, Andrew Nudd of 
 N. and had seven children. She m. (second), Laroy R. Brown. (See 
 Brown and Nudd gens.) 
 
 Electa Glines, b. Aug., 1841; m. (first), Nov. 18, 1SG6, Horace Heath; 
 m. (second), Charles Arlin. She still remains in the home after caring 
 for aged parents. She has one son. 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 
 George Albert Glixes, b. at N. Oct. 6, 1862; m. (first), Oct. 15, 1888, 
 Mrs. Lulu B. Dow, b. at Canterbury; m. (second), July 8, 1897, Ida 
 Sanderson, b. at Toronto, Canada, May 1, 1878. They reside at Ply- 
 mouth, Mass. He is proprietor of the Billington Sea Kennels and 
 breeder of high-class Boston terriers. They have two children, Blanche 
 Ida and Melvin Clark. 
 
 GLINES III. 
 
 William Glixes, known as "Miller" Glines, may have been a rela- 
 tive of others bearing the name. He m., Feb. 27, 1777, Elizabeth 
 Williams of N. They were employed by George Hancock, Sr., to run 
 his mill, which was Duilt before the Revolutionary War on what was 
 called the Holmes Dam, and was called "The Old Hancock Mill," 
 the first one on the river. The site is now occupied by the Elm 
 Mills Woolen Company. Mr. Glines had charge of the sawmill above, 
 where he sawed the logs, and, it being two stories in height, his thrifty 
 wife tended a gristmill below, where she was reputed to have made 
 better flour than was made for miles around and to have lifted the 
 bags of corn about with the utmost ease. They were people of con- 
 siderable means and when he shut down the sawmill and went to fight 
 his country's battles she remained at her post of duty and with much 
 praised liberality gave weekly of her stores to assist such poor families 
 as were deprived of their customary support. They had three dau. 
 
 Mr. Glines owned land in the vicinity of the mill and sold in 1796 
 to Benjamin Glines for $260 two tracts of land, each a part of Gospel 
 lot No. 9, one of 76 and the other of 40 acres, that he bought of Simeon 
 Sanborn. In 1806 Benjamin Glines sold this land to John Molony 
 for $200. 
 
 Gospel Lot No. 9 included all the swamp land at the mouth of the 
 brook, the Colony and present fair ground and plains. 
 
P5 
 
 O 
 
 o 
 
 o 
 
 !^ 
 Q 
 
GENEALOGIES. 153 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Their children were Mrs. Pevare of Andover, Mrs. Sanborn of 
 Franklin Falls, and Elizabeth, who was b. Jan. 29, 1791; m., Feb. 3, 
 1S14, John Clark, familiarly known as "Boston John." They resided 
 for several years at John L. Hodgdon's. Mr. Clark d. at N. in 1S74 
 in the house where he was m. She d. at the home of Jonathan Scrib- 
 ner. Mr. and Mrs. Clark had three children. 
 
 GOODWIN. 
 
 Samuel Goodwin was one of the first residents in East N. He was a 
 Eevolutionary soldier, a pensioner and had a son, Moses. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 MosES GooDWix, b. Sept. 28, 1773, lived near the foot of Bean Hill on 
 the northeast side. He was twice m. but I have neither name. The 
 first wife was b. June 28, 1773, and d. May 2, 1853, and the second wife 
 had a family of two. Mr. Goodwin was a tanner and lived below the 
 Rand place, where he d. Oct. 5, 1842. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 David Goodwix, b. Jan. 3, 1798. After a short stay on the home farm 
 he removed to Buffalo, where he d. He had several children. 
 
 FuRBER Goodwix. b. Aug. 18, 1801; m., Feb. 12, 1826, Betsey Hills 
 of N. and removed to Vermont. He d. at Annisquam, Mass., Feb. 11, 
 1859. They had seven children, all of whom settled in Danville and 
 Sheffield, Vt. 
 
 (Second wife's children.) 
 
 Judith E. Goodwin, b. April 26, 1806; m. Dimond of Hill and 
 
 resided there, where he d. She d. at Franklin. They had 11 children. 
 
 LuRANA Goodwin, b. Feb. 17, 1809; m., April 20, 1836, Stephen Gil- 
 man. (See Gilman gen.) 
 
 Nancy Goodwin, b. Feb. 15, 1811; m., Dec. 20, 1835, Andrew French. 
 (See French gen.) 
 
 James R. Goodwin, b. June 15, 1812; m. Rachel Clifford Mason, b. 
 Aug. 4, 1817. He was a tanner and shoemaker on the home farm. 
 Later he moved West. Four dau. were b. in N.: Sarah, May 20, 1839; 
 Olive A., Dec. 15, 1841; Lurana, Sept. 10, 1843; and Frances C, May 
 2, 1845. 
 
 GORRELL. 
 
 Very little is known of the remote ancestry of this family. It is 
 ■conjectured from personal traits and general characteristics that they 
 were of Scotch-Irish descent Nathaniel lived in Massachusetts and 
 
lo-l HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 had 10 children. Mrs. Armour, Mrs. Corliss, Wadleigh, Thorne and 
 Bailey of Methuen are reported only by their husband's family name. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 Gawx Armour Gorrell came to N. from Salem, Mass., about 1809. 
 He m. Lydia, dau. of Thomas and Lydia Forrest Clough of Loudon. 
 Mr. Gorrell had five children. He d. May 9, 1840. She d. Dec. 4, 1848. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Clough Gorrell, b. April 24, 1810; m. Sarah Forrest of N. and in- 
 herited his father's estate, where he spent his whole life as a farmer. 
 They had a son and a dau. He d. May 20, 1890. She d. Dec. 19, 1888. 
 
 Martha J. Gorrell, b. Feb. 11, 1815; m. Shubael Dearborn and resided 
 at East N. They had one dau. (See Dearborn gen.) 
 
 Albert Akmour Gorrell, b. at N. April 16, 1817; d., Dec. 28, 1893; 
 m., April 27, 1842, Clarissa Osgood Whitcher and had one son and a 
 dau. He d. Dec. 28, 1893. She d. April 26, 1903. 
 
 Joseph Edwin Gorrell, b. Aug. 1, 1819; d. at Salida, Col., May 22, 
 1892. 
 
 Lydia A. Gorrell d. Sept. 3, 1829, aged three. 
 
 Mary Elizabeth Gorrell, b. Nov. 24, 1822; m., Nov. 3, 1854, Aaron 
 Brown of Lowell. He d. Oct. 14, 1895. She d. Jan. 30, 1872. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 Addie E. Gorrell, b. Sept. 13, 1845; m., June 12, 1867, Thomas Long 
 of N., b. Feb. 29, 1846. (See Long gen.) 
 
 Gawn Edwix Gorrell (see portrait), b. May 15, 1857, was educated 
 in the district schools and at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary. 
 He remained on the homestead, farming in summer and teaching in 
 winter. He has been much in the service of the town. He was chosen 
 trustee of the lona Savings Bank in 1891, which office he still holds. 
 He served on the board of selectmen from 1881 to 1884, in 1891--'92 and 
 in 1901 and has been chairman for the last three years. He has been 
 a justice of the peace since 1881 and has served on the school board 
 from 1891 to 1897 and from 1898 to 1904. He is an active member of 
 Friendship Grange, No. 110, Patrons of Husbandry, and of Harmony 
 Lodge, No. 65, I. 0. O. F., at Tilton. He m., June 18, 1902, Sarah E. 
 Brown of Loudon, b. June 19, 1864. 
 
 (Children of Albert and Clarissa Whitcher Gorrell.) 
 
 Horace W. Gorrell, b. May 21, 1846; m., Dec. 1, 1872, Emma Susan 
 Tilton of Manchester. He had four children: Clara, who d., 1874; 
 Albert L., b. 1875; Henry H., b. 1878; and Edith T., b. 1882. 
 
 Martha Ann Gorrell, b. June 20, 1843; d., June 2, 1894. 
 
 GOULD. 
 
 Dr. Charles R. Golt:d came to N. from Tilton in 1870 and bought 
 what had been the Seminary boarding-house. (See portrait and Phy- 
 sicians of N. ) 
 
CLOUGH GORRELL. 
 
SARAH FORREST GORRELL. 
 
GAWN EDWIN GORRELL. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 155 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 An.xie M. Govld. b. at Hillsborough Dec. 2, 1868; m., Oct. 4, 1888, John 
 W. Pease of the firm of Pease Bros., builders' supplies. She was edu- 
 cated at Tilton Seminary and had fine musical talent. Mr. Pease re- 
 sides in Foxboro, Mass., and is employed in a furniture manufactory. 
 They have three children, Elsie, Earle and May,' and one d. in in- 
 fancy. 
 
 Charlie Gould, b. Feb. 23, 1873; d. of diphtheria Jan. 22, 1878. 
 
 Harry Gould, twin brother of above, m., Oct. 7, 1896, Jessie Aldrich 
 of Hillsborough, where he is an extensive farmer with maple orchard, 
 fruit and dairy for specialties. They have five children: Vestilla, 
 Charles, Richard, Harry and Thelma. 
 
 GRAY. 
 
 Robert Gray came to N. from Salem, Mass., in 1819. He was a 
 carpenter and was employed by Capt. Isaac Glines. He built the house 
 where David Hills lived at the Centre and lived there with Ebenezer 
 Morrison, his brother-in-law, and later sold to him, removing to San- 
 bornton Bridge. He m., Feb. 4, 1819, Susannah Lyford of N., b. 
 1796. He was for many years a deacon of the Congregational Church 
 and represented the town in the Legislatures of 1833 and 1834. He 
 was a prominent business man. He d. June 7, 1877, aged 74, She d. 
 July 30, 1877. 
 
 GROVER. 
 
 Edmuxd Gro\te:r and his wife, Dorcas, b. 1773, lived on the "Wind- 
 fall" and had a family of 11. It is said that they were of Arabian 
 descent. She d. Dec. 6, 1857. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Stewart Grover. 
 
 Polly M. Grover, b. 1796; d., Oct. 6. 1867. 
 
 Stephex Grover m. Mehitable Lake and had four children. He re- 
 sided at first on the homestead, moving later to Canterbury. None 
 of the children, Andrew, Hannah, Betsey and Sarah, resided In town. 
 
 Sally Grover, b. 1813; d., Sept. 5, 1897. She was a devoted Osgoodite 
 and the last one of the sect. She tilled the home farm until her death. 
 
 Mary Grover m. Grover Merrill of Canterbury and had two dau., 
 Mrs. Daniel Randall and Mrs. Abby Finch. 
 
 Lydia B. Grover, b. 1811; d., July 13, 1891. 
 
 Samuel M. Groveb disappeared and was never heard from. 
 
 James M. Grover. 
 
 Sally Grover provided in her will for a monument, on which all these 
 names were to be inscribed. 
 
156 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 HAINES I. 
 
 George Lewis Haixes was b. at Epping March 11, 1757; m., Dec. 25, 
 1797, Mary Moulton of Kensington, b. Feb. 14, 17C9, where he lived a 
 lew years and then removed in 1S09 to the Ellison farm in N., a part 
 of the 500 acres reserved for Governor Shute. He had two sons and 
 three dau., one of whom, Ruhamah, d. at 18 years of age. He d. Dec. 
 15, 1848, and his wife, Aug. 4 of the same year. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Benjamin Haines, b. Nov. 8, 1800; m., March 31, 1842, Martha Ken- 
 ison, b. Oct. 23, 1820. He spent his life as a farmer on the home place 
 and d. there June 29, 1878. She d. July 18, 1896. They had three chil- 
 dren. 
 
 Betsey Haines, b. Nov. 22, 1802; d., April 10, 1840. 
 
 David Haines, b. Sept. 12, 1804; m. Hannah Goodwin of Hollis, Me., 
 and resided in Boston. He was engaged in the ice business. They 
 had seven children, none of whom were b. in N. Mrs. Haines d. July 
 9, 1852. He d. March 30, 1893. The children's names were: Ruhamah 
 G., Mary E., H. Frances, Lyle and Gertrude H. 
 
 Mary Haines, b. June 17, 1809; m., March 5, 1832, Dr. John Kezar. 
 ■(See Kezar gen.) 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Benjamin and Martha Kenison Haines.) 
 
 George Benjamin Haines, b. May 31, 1843. He read medicine and 
 graduated from Dartmouth Medical School and was appointed surgeon 
 on the receiving ship in Portsmouth harbor, where he remained seven 
 years. He then established himself at "Valley Falls, R. I. He m., Sept., 
 1876, Dora Babbitt. They had one child, Mattie, who d. in girlhood, 
 Dec. 29, 1884, aged seven. 
 
 Lewis David Haines, b. at N. Feb. 7, 1845; lived on and cultivated 
 the home farm. He d. May 4, 1904, at St. Louis, Mo., whither he had 
 gone to visit the exposition on his way home from Florida, where he 
 had spent the winter. 
 
 Ida Martha Haines has remained in the home with her brother 
 and still lives there since his death. 
 
 HAINES II. 
 
 Capt. Stephen Haines (uncle of Thomas and Stephen, 2d.) m. Han- 
 nah Carter of N. He is called lieutenant in the records of 1826. They 
 resided on the Scribner place, where, it is said, once resided at the 
 same time four of the name, Hannah Haines, viz.: Hannah, widow of 
 Col. Stephen Haines; Hannah, who became the wife of Dea. Jeremiah 
 Hall; her niece, Hannah, who m. Charles Noyes of Canterbury and 
 who was called "Little Harner"; and "Big Harner," who became the 
 
GENEALOGIES. 157 
 
 wife of William Hancock and the mother of Mrs. Clara B. Straw of 
 Manchester and Rev. Jerome Hancock of Old Orchard, Me. (See Han- 
 cock gen.) 
 
 HAINES III. 
 
 Thomas Clough Haines, b. at Canterbury June 19, 1798; m., Feb. 10, 
 1S20, Deborah Drew Rogers, b. at N. May 13, 1800. Mr. Haines was a 
 farmer near the Canterbury line. Later they removed near Sanbornton 
 Bridge to educate their five dau., a son, Charles, having d. at five. 
 
 Mr. Haines was accidentally drowned while bathing, Aug., 184G. 
 
 She d. at the home of her dau. in 1S68. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Alice A. Haines, b. 1824; m. (pub.), Jan. 11, 1847, Cutting Fol- 
 lansby. (See Follansby gen.) 
 
 Hannah Haines, b. March, 1824; m., 1843, Darius Winslow, b. at N., 
 1819, and had one dau. (See Winslow gen.) He d. Sept. 12, 1846. She 
 m. (second), 1850, John S. Dearborn of N., b. 1824. (See Dearborn 
 gen.) 
 
 Sarah M. Haines, b. 1827; m., 18G0, Josiah Dearborn, b. at N., 1830. 
 (See Dearborn gen.) 
 
 Rebecca Haines, b. 1838; m., Aug. 6, 1859, Peabody Blake of New 
 Hampton and went there to reside. She was for many years a teacher 
 and later had the superintendence of the New Hampton schools. She 
 commenced teaching at 16 years of age. They had one dau., Mary, 
 wife of Manly Burpee, a graduate and teacher of music in New Hamp- 
 ton Institute, who d. in 1882, leaving one son, La Roy of Exeter. Mrs. 
 Blake d. Jan. 3, 1893. He d. in 1879. 
 
 Eldora L. Haines, b. May 31, 1843, was a graduate of the New Hamp- 
 shire Conference Seminary in 1863 and a teacher. She m. (first), 
 John A. Colby of East Corinth, Vt. After his death she resumed teach- 
 ing in New York, where she m., in 1868, Noah S. Walker, b. in Eliza- 
 beth, Pa., in 1S27. They resided for many years in Texas. Mr. Walker 
 is now a trader at Exeter. They had four children: Noah Walker, 
 Jr., who d. at 21 years of age; Carl Springer Walker of Pittsburg. Pa.; 
 Nannie Alice, wife of John Dixon O'Neil of Elizabeth, Pa.; and Dora 
 H., who resides at home. 
 
 HAINES IV. 
 
 Samvel Bell Haines was b. at N. He m. (pub.), Jan. 12, 1843, Mary 
 Ann Piper of N. (see Piper gen.) and had two dau. He lived for a 
 time at the Piper homestead and later was for a long term of years 
 foreman of the old sawmill at Factory Village. They later returned 
 to the farm, where she d. Sept 25, 1887. He survived her 13 years. 
 
158 HISTORY OF NOETHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Victoria Haines, b. at Franklin March 3, 1S44; m., Sept. 30, 1SC3, 
 Benjamin C. Stevens of Franklin. (See Stevens gen.) 
 
 Lizzie Haines, b. at Franklin May 25, 1847; m., Jan. IG, 1869, Cur- 
 tice Whittier of N. (See Whittier gen.) She d. May 12, 1874. 
 
 HALL. 
 
 Obadiah Hall came from Canterbury to N. and purchased the farm 
 on Zion's Hill, owned later by Daniel Sanborn. He was a farmer and 
 lived to a good old age. He m. Hannah Lyford. They were both 
 original members of the Congregational Church organized at the old 
 meeting-house. They had two sons and six dau. He d. May 24, 1836. 
 She d. Feb. 21, 1823. The Hall coat of arms appears with the Hall 
 Memorial Library sketch. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Sarah Hall, b. at Canterbury April 3, 1771. 
 
 Hannah Hall, b. July 29, 1773; m. Thomas Lyford, Sr., and lived 
 and d. on the estate adjoining her father's farm. (See Lyford gen.) 
 
 Mary (Polly) Hall, b. at Canterbury July 11, 1775; m. Joseph 
 Kimball Dec. 3, 1795. They had 10 children. She d. Feb. 6, 1817. 
 
 Jeremiah Hall, b. at Canterbury Oct. 18, 1777; removed to N. in 
 
 1801. He was a farmer and tanner at the Scribner farm near Franklin. 
 He removed near Sanbornton Bridge Village 28 years later and erected 
 a house and tannery by the Chase tavern, now standing at the entrance 
 to Bay St. Here his business prospered many years and will be spoken 
 of elsewhere. He m. (first). Sept. 15, 1801, Hannah Haines of N., b. 
 Jan. 31, 1780, and d. Oct. 14, 1826. They had four sons and two dau. 
 He m. (second), Feb., 1827, Abagail Abbott, b. 1783, at Bean Hill. He 
 d. July 8, 1867; she, Aug. 25, 1864. 
 
 Betsey Hall, b. at Canterbury Nov. 2, 1779; d., Nov. 12, 1795. 
 RuTHY Hall, b. at N. Sept. 26, 1782; m. Charles Glidden of N., May, 
 
 1802. He was b., 1780. (See Glidden gen.) They removed to the 
 West and had many children. 
 
 Obadiah Hall, Jr. (see portrait), b. at N. March 23, 1785; m., Sept. 
 17, 1812, Hannah Forrest of Canterbury, b. May 15, 1785. He resided 
 with his father and was a farmer. They had a family of nine. He 
 d. May 25, 1870. She d. Aug. 28, 1846. 
 
 Lydia Hall, b. Nov. 26, 17S7. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of Jeremiah and Hannah Haines Hall.) 
 Hannah Hall, b. July 17, 1802; m., June 21, 1820, Benjamin Chase, 
 b. at N. April 3, 1798. (See Chase gen.) 
 
 John L. Hall, b. July 25, 1805; m. Eliza G. Cofran of N. (See Cofran 
 gen.) They had six children. Mr. Hall d. Oct. 17, 1847. 
 
OBADIAH HALL, JR. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 159 
 
 Dr. Jeremiah Hall, b. July 4, 1S07; m. Harriet Corning of New 
 York, where he d., Aug. 5, 1S80. He was educated at Sanbornton 
 Square and the old academy at Sanbornton Bridge under Dyer H. San- 
 born. He read medicine with Dr. Enos Hoyt and received a diploma 
 from Dartmouth Medical College. 
 
 Ebenezer Hall, b. June 7, 1813; m. Sally Dyer (pub.), Feb. 16, 
 1834, of N., b. Oct. 30, ISIO. They resided at the corner of Granite 
 and Bay Sts., opposite the Chase tavern. They removed to Campton 
 and later to Elgin, 111. They had eight children: Hannah L., b. 1834; 
 Charles H., b. 1836; Ellen A., b. 1838; Abby A., b, 1840; George A., b. 
 1843; Ambrose C, b. 1849; and Everett A., b. 1851, who removed with 
 their parents. Mr. Hall was a deacon of the Congregational Church. 
 
 Eliza B. Hall, b. July 12, 1817; m.. May 30, 1840, James H. Cofran. 
 (See Cofran gen.) 
 
 Adixo Brackett Hall, b. Oct. 17, 1S19; d., in Boston, April 21, 1880; 
 m. Mary Cowles of Ipswich, Mass. He graduated from Dartmouth 
 Medical School and practised many years in Boston. The Hall Me- 
 morial Library was given by his wife in his memory. Mrs. Hall m. 
 (second), John Cummings of Woburn, Mass., where, since his death, 
 she has the care of his large estate. (See portrait and sketch, Phj'- 
 sicians of N.) 
 
 (Children of Obadiah and Hannah Forrest Hall.) 
 
 Joseph Hall, b. at N. June 15, 1813; d., at Manchester, June 30, 1872; 
 m., Oct. 11, 1836, Maria B. Parker of Tamworth, b. April 18, 1813, d., 
 at Manchester, April 19, 1867. He had three sons, Marshall P., Joseph 
 N. and Arthur Norman. 
 
 Mary P. Hall, b. at N. June 15, 1813; d., at Hopkinton, Sept. 9. 1SS6; 
 m. Samuel Crowell of Hopkinton, b. June 6, 1808; d., Oct. 9, 1SS4. She 
 had two sons, Everett and Dixi of Concord. 
 
 Betsey Brown Hall, b. at N. April 12, 1815; d., Aug. 28, 1831. 
 
 Jeremiah Forrest Hall. (See Physicians of N. and portrait.) 
 
 Martha Jane Hall, b. at N. Oct. 28, 1818; d., at Pittsfield, March 23, 
 1883; m., Dec. 14, 1842, Benjamin Frank Dow of Concord, b. Nov. 14, 
 1816; d., June 23, 1871. They had three dau., Maria, Ella F. and Mat- 
 tie. Mr. Dow and his father were tanners. Ella Forrest Dow was a 
 teacher in town for some years and later at Franklin Falls, now of 
 Lynn, Mass. 
 
 Almira Hall, b. at N. Oct. 28, 1818; d., at Concord, June 25, ISSO; 
 m., June 20, 1848, Henry Farnum of West Concord, b. June 25, 1813; 
 d., Aug. 21, 1882. They had two dau., Hannah and Lucy. Mrs. Farnum 
 was a faithful school teacher for many years. 
 
 Dixi Crosby Hall. b. at N. July 12, 1821; m., Nov. 14, 1849, Lucretia 
 Randall of Canterbury, b. Sept. 10, 1826. Mr. Hall sold his farm a few 
 years later and removed to Peabody, Kan., where he d. Aug. 20, 1878. 
 He had a son, Joseph, and dau., Mary E. 
 
 Harriet Glidden Hall, b. Nov. 2, 1822; m., May 30, 1861, George 
 
160 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Dimond of Concord. They resided at West Concord, where he d. April 
 26, 1S89. She d. April 26, 1892. 
 Obadiah Jackson Halt,. (See Physicians of N., with portrait.) 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of John and Eliza Cofran Hall.) 
 
 Haxnah Elizabeth Hall, b. at N. Sept. 3, 1827; d., Sept. 26, 1857; 
 m.. May 22, 1853, J. L. Barnard, and resided at Thornton. They had 
 two children, Helen Eliza and Harry H. 
 
 Laura J. Hall, b. at N. April 3, 1831; m. Charles F. Clark of Tilton 
 and resided at the Hall home on the main road. He d. Jan. 29, 1888. 
 She d. May 28, 1896. 
 
 Joseph S. Hall, b. at N. Sept. 6, 1834; d., July, 1854. 
 
 Albert H. Hall, b. at N. Sept. 17, 1838; d., Aug. 12, 1882. He m. in 
 1865 Elizabeth Oilman Kimball of Marysville, Cal. She was b at N, 
 July 19, 1838, and now resides at Valejo, Cal. 
 
 Israel Cofran Hall, b. March 4, 1842; resides in San Francisco, Cal.; 
 is m. and has two children. 
 
 Charles H. Hall, b. March 2, 1848; d., Oct., 1862. 
 
 HANCOCK I. 
 
 Jacob Hancock was of English descent, a relative of Gov. John Han- 
 cock. He was the first of the name to settle in town. He owned land 
 on both sides of the Merrimack, near the Webster Place, then Salisbury.. 
 The home was on the east bank. He was in the Indian War from 1846 
 to"l858. He was also a participant in the Revolutionary War, being 
 killed at Bunker Hill. He m. Elizabeth Kezar, sister of Azuba, wife of 
 Benjamin Blanchard, both of Hampstead. They had three sons and 
 four dau. His war record is given elsewhere. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Joseph Hancock, also a Revolutionary soldier, was b. in 1759. He 
 lived on a part of the homestead. He m. (first), Polly Heath and 
 (second), Susannah Page of Sanbornton Bridge. He d. on a visit 
 to the West, March 2, 1831. His name is on the first tax list, where 
 he is assessed £30. He had 10 children. 
 
 Oeorge Hancock, b. 1749, was the owner of much land along the 
 Winnipiseogee River and erected the first saw and grist mill at San- 
 bornton Bridge before the war. 
 
 It occupied the site of the present Elm Mills Woolen Company's 
 plant and had the peculiar dam spoken of elsewhere. He was pre- 
 paring to erect another at Meredith when he d. very suddenly of 
 spotted fever at the age of 50. Through some delay or trickery the 
 property was lost to the family, but was always called the "Hancock 
 
GENEALOGIES. 161 
 
 Mill." There was a grist mill below and a sawmill above, where 
 Miller Glines and his wife were in charge at the breaking out of the 
 war. (See Glines gen.) Mrs. Hancock was Sarahs dau. of William 
 Williams. (See Williams gen.) She d. Jan. 14, 1800, at the extreme 
 age of 100, wanting less than a month of 101. She had been GO years 
 a widow. They had eight children. 
 
 John Hancock, b. 1791; m. Dorothy Sanborn of Sanbornton and had 
 10 children. He was a tanner and was always called "Tanner John" to 
 distinguish him from others of the same name. His youngest son, 
 Benjamin, resides on the home place near the Orphans' Home. 
 
 Ab.\g.\il Haxcock became the wife of Colonel Shepard of Canter- 
 bury. 
 
 Kezia Hancock was the first wife of Capt. John Clough. They had 
 no children. 
 
 JoHx Hancock resided near Webster Lake on the Andover road. He 
 m. (first), Naomi Sweatt and had a dau., Naomi. Mrs. Hancock d, 
 July, 1806. He m. (second), Nov. 16, 1806, Mrs. Miriam Purmate 
 Ellis and had two sons and two dau. 
 
 Dorothy Hancock m. Charles Noyes of Canterbury. 
 
 Alice Hancock m. Perkins and lived near her brother, John, 
 
 on Webster Lake. An unmarried son, David, and maiden sister, Polly, 
 lived long in the home and are remembered still for their quaint 
 sayings. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of George and Sarah Williams Hancock.) 
 
 Saixy Hancock m., Dec. 12, 1799, Capt. Michael McCrillis and had 
 three children. (See McCrillis gen.) 
 
 Hannah Hancock, b. 1782; m. Capt. Thomas Simonds. (See Simonds 
 gen.) 
 
 Elizabeth Hancock, b. Sept. 26, 1780; m. Benjamin Knapp. They 
 had one dau., Susan. (See Knapp gen.) Mrs. Knapp d. June, 1S59. 
 The dau., b. July 24, 1799, d. Oct. 12, 1876. Mr Knapp was expected 
 home from a trip to the West but never came. 
 
 Henrietta Hancock d. at 16. 
 
 George Hancock was instantly killed a few days previous to his 
 wedding day. He was said to have been the most promising young 
 man in town. 
 
 Joseph Hancock d. of spotted fever at the time of his father's death 
 In 1799. 
 
 LiECT. William Hancock, b. Jan. 19. 1786; m. (first), Polly Cross 
 and resided on the lower intervale. They had one child. Mrs. H. d. 
 and was buried under the pines in the old Cross burial place, beside 
 the brook. He m. (second), Feb. 26, 1818, Sally Wentworth Rand and 
 had five children, none of whom were b. or lived in town. The family 
 removed to Mill's Corner, now Uplands, on the second marriage. Tho 
 11 
 
162 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 children were: John; Ann Elizabeth, wife of Daniel Ingalls of Uplands; 
 George Henry; Mrs. Sarah Brown, and Joseph. 
 
 William Williams Hancock, son of the above, was b. in N. July 12, 
 1807; m., May 6, 1833, Nancy Brown of Franklin, and lived there. He 
 was a carpenter. They had 10 children: Mary Jane, wife of Francis 
 W. Pearson; Caroline, wife of James Keniston ofAndover; Arthur, 
 who d. at 16; Enoch Brown Hancock, who lived in Nevada; William 
 Grover; Parker Cross; Nancy E.; Frank K., who resided in Franklin; 
 Henry Augustus, who d. at 20; and Abby Susan, wife of Frank L. 
 Morrison of Franklin Falls. 
 
 (Children of John and Naomi Sweatt Hancock.) 
 
 Naomi Sweatt Hancock, b. March 8, 1800; m. Glines and d. 
 
 Dec. 16, 1823, the family record says, of nervous putrid fever. 
 
 (Children of John and Miriam Ellis Hancock.) 
 
 John Hancock, b. Jan. 4, 1808, was killed, Sept. 10, 1823, by falling 
 on the teeth of an upturned harrow. An artery was severed and he 
 d. of hemorrhage. 
 
 Cynthia Hancock, b. Feb. 12, 1811; d. at the home of her niece, Mrs. 
 David Tibbetts, in N. Dec. 14, 1876. 
 
 Hannah Hancock, b. March 28, 1814; m. Bennett of Hill and 
 
 had one dau. She lived at the Centre for many years but d. at her 
 daughter's house on Bay St., the result of a fall, Dec. 30, 1895. 
 
 Harrison Hancock was a farmer on the home place near Webster 
 Lake. He was b. May 7, 1817, and d. there July 7, 1863. He m. Ada- 
 line McConnell and had two children: John of Franklin Falls and 
 Hattie, wife of Frank Sanborn. They occupy the original farm. The 
 former m. Martha B. Woodbury and resides on Willow Hill, Franklin 
 Falls. They have a son, Winfield Scott, employed at Sulloway's Mill. 
 
 (Children of Joseph and Polly Heath Hancock.) 
 
 John Hancock m. Elizabeth Lyford, lived on the Peverly farm and 
 had many children. Tiring of N., he walked the whole distance to 
 Illinois to select a new home. He returned and removed his family. 
 The family tradition says that he drove an ox team the entire dis- 
 tance. He was a noted bee hunter and perhaps varied his trips with 
 little side excursions in this line. They settled near Peoria. The 
 children all settled in the West. 
 
 Jacob Hancock, b. 1796; m. (pub.). May 18, 1821, Judith Wyatt (see 
 Wyatt gen.) and lived on a part of the home farm. They had a son 
 and two dau. Both d. there, she in 1881, and he in 1858. 
 
 George Hancock, b. 1800; m., Dec. 6, 1825, Susan Forrest, b. at 
 Canterbury, 1803. They resided first on what was called the Hicks 
 lot but later built new buildings across the road on a part of the 
 Blanchard farm, where they lived and he d. July 3, 1867. She d. at the 
 home of her dau. in Sanbornton Sept. 22, 1878. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 163 
 
 Charles Hancock m. Betsey Manuel and lived on the banks of the 
 Merrimack and had three children. Mr. Hancock d. Nov., 1847. She 
 m. (second), Leavitt Knowles. The children, Albert, Alonzo and Mary- 
 Ann, do not reside in N. 
 
 Jesse Haxcock m., Jan. 11, 1835, Ann Chase of N. and lived on the 
 Capt. Haines farm. They had two children. He d. March 5, 1842. 
 She m. (second), Jonathan Scribner. 
 
 Kezar Hancock removed to the West with his brother, John, where 
 he m. and had children. 
 
 Susan Hancock, b. 1791; m. Joseph Gerrish, b. 1784, and had a large 
 family. She d. Nov. 26, 1849. He d. May 25, 1851. (See Gerrish gen.) 
 
 Polly Hancock m., Oct. 9, 1806, Josiah Philbrick of Sanbornton 
 Bridge and had two sons and five dau. She d. July 21, 1861. He d. 
 June 16, 1859. (See Philbrick gen.) 
 
 S.vLLY Hancock, b. April 7, 1794; m., Oct. 2, 1820, Morrill S. Moore, 
 b. Oct. 29, 1798. (See Moore gen.) 
 
 William Hancock lived on the Intervale farm later owned by the 
 Manuels. He m. Hannah Haines and had a family of two. He d. 
 Aug., 1846. His children were: Clara and Orrin Jerome. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Jesse and Ann Chase Hancock.) 
 J 
 
 Annette Hancock, b. July 8, 1837, was a student at the New Hamp- 
 shire Conference Seminary and later at Mt. Holyoke Seminary. After 
 some years of teaching in the West, she m., .Jan. 8, 1862, Joseph 
 Hill, a merchant of Tilton, and had four children. (See Hill gen.) 
 She united with the Congregational Church at Franklin while a 
 teacher there and later removed her membership to the Tilton Church. 
 
 Eldridge Gerry Hancock, b. Dec. 4, 1840; m., Nov. 7, 1863, Jennie 
 L. Griffith of Peoria, 111., and settled as a farmer in Vermillion County, 
 removing in 1881 to Paxton, 111., where he was interested in a tile 
 manufactory. He removed in 1887 to Arkansas City, Kan., where he 
 d. Dec. 2, 1889. They had two children, Annette, who m. Glines W. 
 Thurston, an inventor of valuable mechanical appliances, and Francis 
 Claire, who d. at four years. 
 
 (Children of William and Hannah Haines Hancock.) 
 
 Clara A. Hancock m., 1858, James B. Straw of Manchester, where 
 they always resided. He was city auditor for many years. He d. in 
 1900 (?) and she d. in 1903, leaving a dau., Gertrude, who lives in 
 Manchester. 
 
 Obrin Jerome Hancock, b. Dec. 11, 1866, was educated at Franklin 
 Academy and New Hampton Literary Institute and became a Baptist 
 clergyman, filling pastorates at Belmont and Newton. Mr. Hancock 
 is now located at Old Orchard, Me. He m. Mary A. Rumery of Man- 
 chester and had two sons, one of whom, Edward Henry Hancock, was 
 
164 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD, 
 
 educated at the State College, Durham, and is now a teacher there. An- 
 other son, William Jerome, is a teacher in the Erasmus Hall High 
 School, Brooklyn, N. Y. A dau., Eva Mabel, d. in infancy. 
 
 (Children of George and Susan Forrest Hancock.) 
 
 Alvika Haxcock, b. Sept. 2, 1827; m., Dec. 29, 1844, Joseph Robinson 
 of Sanbornton, b. Dec. 9, 1817, where they were farmers for many 
 years. Later they removed to Lowell, Mass., where he d. suddenly 
 Nov. 20, 1893. They had two children, Alfred A., a grocer of Lowell, 
 and Susan, now widow of the late Elvin Greeley of Exeter. Mrs. 
 Robinson resides with her son in Lowell. 
 
 Horace Hancock, b. at N. Sept. 26, 1S30, went West and there m. and 
 had a family. He is still a farmer in Groveland, 111. 
 
 (Children of Jacob and Judith Wyatt Hancock.) 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Smith Hancock, b. 1821; m. (pub.), April 7, 1857, Jerusha Canfield 
 Sewall, b. 1821. He d. May 2, 1897. He was a farmer on the home- 
 stead and had three children. She resides with her dau. in Franklin. 
 
 Mary Hancock, b. 1827; m., 1850, Frank Lynch of Manchester, where 
 she d. in 1867, leaving two sons, who removed to New York City with 
 their father. 
 
 Olive Hancock, b. Feb., 1829; m., Oct. 3, 1852, John Handal Proctor 
 of Franklin, where he d. in 1870. He was a fine musician, being a 
 leader and instructor of many bands. She survived many years, dying 
 in 1895. They had one son, Edward, who d. at eight years. They are 
 all buried at Canton, Mass. 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 (Children of Smith and Jerusha Canfield Hancock.) 
 
 WnxiE Hancock, b. Sept. 18, 1856; d., at Methuen, Nov. 19, 1881. 
 
 Mabel Hancock, b. March 18, 1863; d., March, 1864. 
 
 Nellie Grace Hancock, b. Oct. 19, 1870; m., Henry W. Gardner of 
 Portsmouth, May, 1891. They reside on the homestead with her 
 mother. Their buildings were destroyed by fire in 1902, but since 
 rebuilt. 
 
 (Child of Hannah and Bennett.) 
 
 Caroline Bennett, b. at Franklin, 1845, had her name changed to 
 Hancock. She m., March 23, 1875, David C. Tibbetts (see Tibbetts 
 gen.) and resided on Bay St. He d. there July 8, 1895. She m. (sec- 
 ond), Dec. 14, 1897, Samuel Oilman and d. Jan. 23, 1904. She was a 
 devoted churchwoman and was an invalid for many years. 
 
 HANCOCK 11. 
 
 There are others of the name that I fail to connect with the family 
 of Jacob. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 166 
 
 William Hancock m., May 3, 1S12, Polly Gibson and had a son, 
 Pepperell, and a dau., Martha, who became the wife of William J. 
 Fortier of Franklin and who was murdered by an Insane neighbor. 
 
 I find, also, on the records the following names: 
 
 Isabella Hancock m. Walker Buswell (pub.), Sept. 14, 1S21. 
 
 Jacob Hancock, b. Nov. 30, 1805. 
 
 Thomas Jefferson Hancock, b. Jan. 21, 1807. 
 
 David Bean Hancock, b. July 22, 1810. 
 
 Betsey Bean Hancock, b. May 10, 1814. 
 
 Judith Hancock m., Dec. 11, 1897, Reuben Blanchard. (See Blan- 
 chard gen.) 
 
 The children of the above William were doubtless b. in N. but none 
 remained here. 
 
 Jacob Hancock, d. Sept. 10, 1824, aged 45. 
 
 Mabtha Hancock, d. May 8, 1860, aged 60. 
 
 HANNAFORD or HANAFORD I. 
 
 John Hanafobd w'as a shoemaker at the Cross settlement on the in- 
 tervale, with a shop on the site of the William Plummer residence. 
 He m. (first), Cordelia Russell and had three sons. He m. (second), 
 Feb. 16, 1804, Azuba Glines of N. and had a son and dau. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (Children of John and Cordelia Russell Hanaford.) 
 
 Benjamin John Hanaford, b. Oct. 20, 1787; m. Jane Sanborn of East 
 N. and resided on the main road. They had four children. She d. 
 Dec. 6, 1808. He m. (second), Nancy Flanders and had a son and a 
 dau. She d. Dec. 6, 1868. 
 
 Jabez Hanaford m. Ruth Noyes and settled in Boscawen. They had 
 one dau., Ruth. 
 
 Amos C. Hanafobd, b. at N. May 12, 1797; m., Feb. 3, 1820, Hannah 
 C. Lyford, b. 1800. He bought the home of the late William Williams 
 on the main road, where their nine children were b. She d. Sept. 
 3, 1850. He m. (second), Sept., 1852, Mrs. Sarah Fifield of Tilton and 
 went there to reside. Both d. there; she, Aug. 11, 1880; he, Feb., 1872. 
 He was a man of literary taste and was always interested in the events 
 of the day. He had a deep Christian experience and was a devout Meth- 
 odist. 
 
 Azuba Hanaford m., May 18, 1844. Ebenezer Carter of Canterbury, 
 whose home was on the site of the old Canterbury Fort. 
 
 William G. Hannaford m. Mary Jane Kenison, a neighbor. He was 
 a shoemaker, a carpenter and a farmer at Oak Hill. She d. there Dec. 
 16, 1870. They had two children. He d. at the home of his dau. at 
 Concord, Nov. 15, 1SS9. 
 
166 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of "William and Mary Jane Kenison Hannaford.) 
 
 PARKER HANNAFORD. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Parker W. Hanxaford was b. in N. Sept. 18, 1S45. He obtained his 
 education in the public schools and at the New Hampshire Conference 
 Seminary. His father being a carpenter, he naturally worked into 
 that trade and followed it until he was more than 30 years old. In 
 1878 he entered the employ of the Maine Central Railroad Company 
 at Augusta, Me., at the passenger car repair shops, where he remained 
 until Jan., 1881. He then spent five years in the pattern department 
 of the Manchester Locomotive Works, returning to Augusta to the same 
 department, where he remained until 1890, when he was promoted to 
 the general superintendency of the car department, a position he now 
 holds at Waterville, Me. He m. in 1865 Mary A. Upton of Bow. 
 
 Mary A. Hanxaford, b. 1855 at N.; m., March 26, 1879, Alfred A, 
 Lake of Canterbury. She was educated at the New Hampshire Con- 
 ference Seminary and was a faithful teacher previous to her marriage. 
 Mr. Lake is a locomotive engineer, with a home in Concord. 
 
 (Children of John and Jane Sanborn Hanaford.) 
 
 Martin Reuter Haxaford, b. 1808, was drowned when a young man. 
 
 John Hanaford, b. May 6, 1817, worked a while at Tilton and then 
 removed to Colebrook, where he m. and had two sons. He went to 
 California and later to the mines in Idaho. He d. in Ohio. His wife 
 and two sons now reside in Texas. 
 
 (Children of John and Nancy Flanders Hanaford.) 
 
 Nancy Jane Hanaford d. in girlhood. 
 
 Benjamin Franklin Hanaford was in Company D, Fourth Regiment 
 (see Boys in Blue) and d. at Beaufort, S. C, March 18, 1864. 
 
 (Children of Amos and Hannah Lyford Hanaford.) 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Alvah Hanaford, b. 1830; m. Caroline Follansby and had three 
 dau. She d. at N. Sept. 4, 1886. He has since been much in Cali- 
 fornia, having been six times across the continent. A dau., Sarah, 
 d. in infancy. 
 
 Samuel Gray Hanaford, b. in 1828; m. Lucy Hanaford of Boscawen. 
 He was a carpenter and contractor. They have two sons, Russell and 
 Fordyce. The former m. Clara Sanborn of Franklin and the latter, 
 Kate Holbrook of Vermont. They all reside at Northumberland. 
 
 Jeremiah L. Hannaford was b. in 1824 and educated at the old 
 academy under Prof. Dyer H. Sanborn, the Conference Seminary at 
 Tilton and the Conference Seminary at Newbury, Vt., from which he 
 
PARKER G. HANAFORD. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 107 
 
 graduated in May, 1S45. He was ordained In 1S51 by Bishop Hamline. 
 He filled many appointments for tuore than a quarter of a century. 
 He m. Caroline C. Brainard of Barre, Vt. He d. Jan. 1, 1897, at Mel- 
 rose, Mass. 
 
 Mary Elizabeth Hanakoud. b. 1827; m., July 20, 184G, Ezekiel C. 
 Ferrin of West Concord, and had five children: George L., who resides 
 in Newport, R. I.; Mary Frances, who d. in Colorado in 1898; Susie 
 C, who resides in Maiden; and two d. in childhood. Mrs. Ferrin d. 
 May 25, 1SG3. 
 
 SrsAX Gray Haxaford, b. Aug. 4, 1830; m. Lyman Sawyer of West 
 Concord, where both d.; she, June 11, 1904; he, Sept. 27, 1898. Mrs. 
 Sawyer was a teacher before her marriage. She was educated at the 
 New Hampshire Conference Seminary. They had one dau., Gertrude 
 H., of West Concord, an enthusiastic Sunday-school worker. 
 
 Cordelia Russell Haxaford, b. 1S32; was twice m. (first), to George 
 W. Bartlett of Gilford and had one son, Rufus H., now of Worcester. 
 She m. (second), Caleb Wells of Tilton and had a son, George B., who 
 resides at Franklin Falls. Mr. Wells d. in 1895. She was a teacher in 
 N., Lake Village and elsewhere, and was educated at the New Hamp- 
 shire Conference Seminary. 
 
 Rev. Charles Harding Haxaford, b. Feb. 4, 1834, studied for the 
 ministry at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and the Bib- 
 lical Institute at Concord. He began to preach at an early age and 
 has filled many and important charges. He m. Jennie A. Nason of 
 Springfield and they have one son, Fred A., who resides at South 
 Lancaster, Mass., and one d. in infancy. He is now acting secretary 
 of the Massachusetts Anti-Saloon League at Boston. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Maria Swett Haxaford, b. 1839, was a popular teacher at Andover 
 and elsewhere. She m., 1868, James Wilkins of San Francisco, Cal., 
 and resided at Denver and in California. He was a hotel keeper and 
 was for a time connected with the Cliff House at the Golden Gate, San 
 Francisco. She d., 18S3, at Tucson, Ariz. She was an honored and 
 prominent member of the Episcopal church and active in its charities. 
 A bright scholar and excelled in mathematics. She was a good neigh- 
 bor and an interested member of several fraternal societies, as she was 
 in everything that pertained to Christian citizenship. 
 
 Flora Haxaford, b. at N., 1847; d. at Boston, where she was em- 
 ployed, April 21, 1870. 
 
 HANAFORD II. 
 
 Joiix A. Haxaford came to N. from Newton, Mass., about 1850 and 
 bought the John Chase farm on High St. He had two dau., b. at New- 
 ton. He d. Aug., 1876, aged 65. She m. (second), Mr. Cutter of Bed- 
 ford, Mass. After his death she returned to N., where she d. in 1900. 
 
168 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Maria A. Haxaford, b. at Newton'; m., Aug. 27, 1S57, John F. Leigh- 
 ton. (See Leigh ton gen.) She d. June 5, 1886. They had three chil- 
 dren. 
 
 Emma Hanaford, b. at Newton, Mass., 1853; d., April 24, 1871. 
 
 HAZELTON. 
 
 Rev. Benjamix Hazeltox was b. in Hebron Nov. 7, 1789. He was one 
 of the pioneer traveling Methodist ministers, preaching in various 
 places, among which were Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. He m., 
 May 1, 1820, Elizabeth Folger of Nantucket, b. Sept. 23, 1799, a dau. of 
 Hon. Walter Folger. 
 
 They settled in N. about 1832. They had eight children. He was a 
 farmer and preacher in the west part of the town, later buying the 
 farm now owned by Captain Wyatt on Zion's Hill. In 1865 they re- 
 moved to Chicago, where both d.; he, Feb. 6, 1870; she, Jan., 1872. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Eliza F. Hazeltox, b. at Mansfield, Mass., Feb. 19, 1821; m. Hiram 
 Glines, a farmer of N., (pub.), April 10, 1842. (See Glines gen.) 
 
 Bexsox C. Hazeltox, b. at Summinett, Mass., Jan. 23, 1823, was a 
 photographer in Boston, Mass., where he d., 1892. 
 
 Mary F. Hazeltox, b. at Marlboro, Mass., March 9, 1825. She d. at 
 N. Jan. 15, 1848. 
 
 Bexjamix Fraxk Hazeltox, b. at Falmouth, Mass., March 19, 1827. 
 He d. at Chicago, 111., July 12, 1893. 
 
 Fraxces D. Hazeltox, b. June 22, 1830; m. Joseph L. Sargent (pub), 
 April, 1851. She d. Oct. 10, 1860, at N. 
 
 WILLIAM C. HAZELTON. 
 
 William C. Hazelton was b. Nov. 14, 1832, at N., where his early 
 life was spent. He attended school for several terms at the New 
 Hampshire Conference Seminary. Later he taught school in Andover, 
 Canterbury and in his native town. Following the advice of Horace 
 Greeley he went to Illinois. Here he engaged in farming and teaching 
 until the breaking out of the Civil War, when he enlisted as a private 
 in the Eighth Illinois Cavalry. Soon after the organization of the 
 regiment he was appointed orderly sergeant, in w^hich capacity he 
 served for 18 months, when he was promoted to lieutenant and later 
 was made captain of his company. 
 
 The regiment served in the Army of the Potomac and the subject of 
 this sketch took part in some 30 engagements. He had two horses 
 shot from under him and was himself slightly wounded at the battle 
 of Beverly Ford. He was among the first of the Federal troops to reach 
 Gettysburg and often recalls the joyous welcome of the people of that 
 city as they crowded the streets to shake hands with the bronzed and 
 dusty troopers. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 169 
 
 Enlisting in Sept., 18G1, Captain Hazelton was mustered out of the 
 service with his regiment in July, 1865. Purchasing a small farm 
 near Chicago, he has since resided there. As the city grew in extent 
 his farm was taken into the city limits and subdivided into building 
 lots and is now known as Forest Glen, one of the suburbs of that 
 city. Soon after returning to his farm. Captain Hazelton was appointed 
 school treasurer for the township, which office he held for 15 years. 
 He was m. in 1863 to Fannie M. Morrill of Canterbury and has been 
 blessed with a family of seven children, four of whom are now living. 
 Ellen, the oldest dau., is m. to W. V. Nicol, a fruit farmer in Michigan. 
 Hugh, the only son living, is a graduate of Illinois University and is 
 now an electrical engineer in New York City. Josephine, the second 
 dau., is also a graduate of Chicago University, and is m. to Prof. E. D. 
 Grant of the Michigan College of Mines. Jessie, the youngest dau., 
 is a graduate of the Northwestern University School of Music and is 
 the only child who has not yet left the parental home. 
 
 Josephine B. Hazeltox, b. in N. April 14, 1836, was educated at the 
 New Hampshire Conference Seminary and was a teacher. Later she 
 removed to Illinois, where she m. Benj. Allen and since her husband's 
 death resides at Arlington Heights. She has one dau. 
 
 HoRTEXSE Hazelton, b. in N. Dec. 9, 1840, and d. at their home on 
 Zion's Hill June 23, 1858. 
 
 HAYWARD. 
 
 Porter M. Hayward came to N. in 1883. He was b. at Concord 
 March 4, 1857. He m. (first), in 1878, Emma B. Glover, b. at Pena- 
 cook April 12, 1859, by whom he had one son. She d. March 14, 1882. 
 He m. (second), Nov. 3, 1883, Flora M. Cross (see Cross gen.) and 
 had two children. He m. (third), Nov. 24, 1898, Lenora Dearborn. 
 (See Dearborn gen.) He was employed at the Lord Bros. Manufac- 
 turing Company's for 11 years and later at the Carter Mill, where he is 
 fireman and watchman. He resides at N. Centre. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 Charles E. Hayward, b. at Canterbury Feb. 14, 1879; m., June 20, 
 1896, Annie E. Dearborn. (See Dearborn gen.) They have four 
 children. He is employed by the Elm Woolen Mills Manufacturing Co. 
 and resides on Park St. 
 
 Fbed and Maud Hayward, the former b. April 20, 1SS5, and the lat- 
 ter in 1889, reside with their mother on the Joseph Smith place on the 
 Bean Hill road. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Emma Hayward, b. Oct. 19, 1897. 
 Earle Hayward, b. March 5, 1900. 
 Pearl E. Hayw.\rd. b. June 17, 1902. 
 Lester W. Hayward, b. Jan. 16, 1904. 
 
170 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 HEALEY. 
 
 Elliot Healey came to N. from Raymond and lived on the John 
 Hanaford place. He moved to Alexandria, where he d. at SO. He had 
 four sons and a dau., but one of whom resided in N. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 Isaac H. Healey, b. at N., 1S13; m. (first), Cynthia D. Stevens and 
 had a dau., Annette. He m. (second), Maria M. Clark of Newbury, 
 Vt., b. April 5, 1823, and had two sons and a dau. He d. Jan. 12, 1890. 
 She resides with her dau. on the Oak Hill road. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 James C. Healey, b. at Alexandria March 27, 1851; m., Sept. 25, 
 1877, Orissa Bean of South Boston and had one son. They removed to 
 Fargo, N. D., in 1881, but returned to Nashua in May, 1892, where they 
 have since resided. 
 
 Minnie C. Healey, b. at Alexandria March 3, 1848; m. (first), at 
 Norfolk, Va., March 7, 1865, William J. Sanborn of Bristol. They had 
 one son, Charles M. Sanborn, b. July 25, 1867, now of Minneapolis,. 
 Minn. She m. (second), Alpheus Keniston of N. and resides on the 
 homestead. 
 
 Elliot C. Healey, b. at Alexandria, 1858; m., Nov. 25, 1880, Emma 
 J. Glines of N. and resided for some years at Tilton, later removing ta 
 Concord, where she d. Oct. 24, 1892. They had one dau. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of James and Orissa Bean Healey.) 
 
 Robert Healey, b. at N. July 21, 1879; d., at Nashua, Jan. 26, 1902. 
 Belle M. Healey, b. June 6, 1884, at Fargo, N. D. 
 Blanche M. Healey, b. May 29, 1886, at Fargo. 
 
 (Child of Elliot and Emma Glines Healey.) 
 
 Gladys Healey, b. at Concord April 22, 1891; resides at Lowell, 
 Mass. 
 
 HEATH I. 
 
 Isaac Heath was b. in Andover in 1795 and moved to N., on the 
 Gerrish road, in 1826. He and his brothers, David and Joshua, cleared 
 the 100 acres of the original farm of a heavy growth of wood and 
 timber. It often took three or four days to burn up the immense 
 logs. He later became sole owner and lived and d. there in 1863. He 
 m. Sally Gove, b. 1779 at Deerfield, and d. 1870. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 David Gove Heath, b. at Andover near the head of Webster Lake. 
 He m., Nov. 8, 1837, Sarah L. Moore of Canterbury. He erected a 
 
GENEALOGIES. 171 
 
 fine brick residence on the homestead and both d. there; he, Sept. 14, 
 1884; she, March 23, 1899. They had three children. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Sylvanus Heath was educated at Franklin High School and was a 
 teacher in the West. He served in the Civil War as assistant surgeon. 
 He read medicine after leaving home and practised at Champaign, 
 111. He m. there and has one dau. 
 
 Caleb Heath, after his father's death, remained on the homestead 
 and conducted a meat and provision business at the Factory Village, 
 later running a livery stable. He enlisted but only went as keeper of 
 ambulances owing to his father's non-consent. He d. at Oklahoma 
 City, Oklahoma, April S, 1902. 
 
 Celestia S. Heath m., 1S73, Albert Ames Moore of Concord. After 
 his death in 1SS6 she cultivated the farm some years. She m. (second), 
 Willard R. Stelle of Rahway, N. J., and resides at 20 West Milk St., 
 Indianapolis, Ind. 
 
 HEATH n. 
 
 Abeaham Heath came from Hampstead, Mass., to the Batchelder 
 place on Oak Hill in May, 1813. He m. Mary Morrill of Old Chester, 
 May 25, and had three children. In 1850 he sold and removed to the 
 Merrimack intervale, opposite what is now the county farm, where both 
 d. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Rachel Heath, b. at N. May 2, 1814; m., in 1860. Samuel Wyatt of 
 N. (See Wyatt gen.) She d. Nov. 8, 1871. He d. Dec. 8, 1874. 
 
 Joseph Heath, b. April 13, 1817; d. in infancy. 
 
 SusAX H. Heath, b. Oct. 14, 1820; m. Darius Small of Canterbury and 
 d., in Belmont, 1884. She had several children. 
 
 Joseph Heath, 2d., b. Dec. 11, 1823; m., Dec. 21, 1848, Caroline Grant 
 of Gilmanton. They resided but a year on Oak Hill, when they re- 
 moved from town. All the four children were b. in Canterbury. Mr. 
 Heath d. April 23, 1892. 
 
 The home was once the site of an Indian walled fort. It was made 
 for long sieges, as a well had been prepared inside, and this well is 
 still to be seen, covered with a flat rock, close by the northeast corner 
 of the house. 
 
 HEATH HI. 
 
 Moses Heath lived in the Gipson house next above the Hodgdoa 
 schoolhouse. He m., Oct. 26, 1816, Agnes Gibson, who was b. Aug. 15, 
 1791. He was a farmer and d. June 4, 1873. She lived to an advanced 
 age with her oldest children at Franklin Falls. 
 
172 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Jaxe Heath, b. Oct. 1, 1S17. 
 
 Samuel Heath, b. May 29, 1821, was a farmer and resided with his 
 sister, Jane, and mother. He was a stone mason and a man of business. 
 
 Stephen Heath, b. Oct. 4, 1823, resided in the home many years. He 
 started to visit his sister. Comfort, at Lowell, Mass., and was never 
 heard from. 
 
 Comfort Heath, b. Oct. 2, 1827; m., Dec. 28, 1852, Benjamin F. 
 Sanborn of Lyme. He was a machinist at Lowell, Mass., where she d. 
 April 9, 1859. They had two children, Emma J., b. 1855, d., 1859, and 
 Fannie C, b. 1859, who resided with her grandmother at Franklin 
 Falls, where she d. at 22 years of age. 
 
 Horace Heath, b. April 11, 1831, resided in Lowell, Mass. 
 
 HEATH IV. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 John G. Heath came to N. from Raymond in 18G3. He was b. at 
 Candia May 27, 1833, and m., 1863, Mrs. Sarah Corsell Evans. (See 
 Evans gen.) He was a fancy dyer at the Granite Mills for more than 
 -20 years. He bought a small farm close by the mill and enlarged and 
 rebuilt the Deacon Oilman house and for many years conducted a 
 boarding-house. Compelled to seek a milder climate, they went to 
 Southern California and remained one year, to be followed by a second 
 and third sojourn there. He d. at N. Dec. 28, 1901. He was a member 
 ■of Harmony Lodge, L O. O. F., of Tilton and of Granite Hill Rebekah 
 Lodge of the same place. They had several children, all of whom d. in 
 infancy. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Charles Herbert Evans, adopted son, was b. at N. Aug. 11, 1857; m., 
 Nov. 5, 1889, Ida Dinsmore Sanborn. They have a son, John Sam- 
 uel, b. July 4, 1891. Mr. Heath was for many years in the employ of 
 the Boston & Maine Railroad and is now a weaver at Elm Mills. 
 
 HERRICK. 
 
 Daniel Herrick was b. at N. Factory Village Jan. 19, 1801. He was 
 the son of Nathaniel, who had come there years before from Exeter. 
 They were descended from a Danish chieftain, who invaded England 
 in the reign of Alfred. A descendent, the seventh in line, settled in 
 Salem, Mass., in 1629. There were seven children, Daniel being the 
 only one to remain in N. He m., Sept. 26, 1822, Narcissa, only child 
 of Richard and Hannah Hills Blanchard. (See Blanchard gen.) They 
 spent their married life in the brick house near the Sanborn bridge. 
 
JOHN G. HEATH. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 173 
 
 They celebrated their golden wedding in 1S72. He was a man of great 
 mechanical genius and is said to have gone in the garb of a Quaker to 
 visit the first paper mill at Exeter and soon after reproduced tho 
 machinery for Peabody & Crane, of whose mill he was head machinist 
 for many years. Later he was for 23 years pattern maker and repairer 
 in Herrick Aiken's machine and tool shop as well as for his son, Walter 
 Aiken, until his death, Aug. 7, 1876. He was gi-eatly interested in local 
 and national affairs and was never absent from a single state election. 
 
 They had five children. Mrs. Herrick d. and the house was 
 
 afterwards burned. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 M.\RY Elizabeth Herrick, b. Aug. 24, 1S24; m. Cyrus Tucker French 
 of N. (See French gen.) 
 
 S.\R.\H Smith Herrick. b. June 20, 1830; m. Leavitt Dolloff of Lan- 
 caster and remained with her parents until after her father's death, 
 when they moved to Lancaster, where both d. They had three chil- 
 dren. 
 
 H.\NX.\ii Jane Herrick d. Nov. 29, 1837, aged 20 days. 
 
 Daniel Webster Herrick, b. at N. Jan. 1, 1839; m., Oct. 30, 1860,. 
 Anna W. Ballantine of Paterson, N. J., where they resided. She re- 
 turned after his death to settle the estate and d. at Paterson in 1901. 
 
 Charles Edgar Herrick, b. May 15, 1S42; d., in Idaho, unmarried. 
 
 HERRICK II. 
 
 Rev. Marcellus Herrick. (See Trinity Episcopal Church: portrait. 
 and sketch.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Children of Marcellus A. and Hannah Andrews Herrick.) 
 (B. at Woodstock, Vt.) 
 
 Elizabeth Adelaide Herrick, b. July 20, 1851. She was graduated 
 from the Seminary at Tilton, studied at the Massachusetts Normal Art 
 School at Boston, and has been successively teacher of art education, 
 Salem Normal School, Salem, Mass. (18S3-'8S); supervisor of art edu- 
 cation in the public schools of Somerville, Mass. (1883-91); director of 
 art education in the Teachers' College, New York City; teacher of art 
 in the Ethical Culture Schools, New York (1898-1902); head of depart- 
 ment of art and manual training, St. Agatha's School, New York (1902 
 to the present time). 
 
 Charles Putnam Herrick was b. at Woodstock, Vt., Nov. S, 1854. He 
 received his education at the Tilton Seminary and entered the employ 
 of H. B. Foster, druggist, Concord, in May, 1874, remaining there until 
 Feb 1876, when he went to Plymouth, where he was employed by John 
 S. uits, druggist, for one year. He passed his examination before the 
 
174 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 
 
 New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy in June, 1S77, and became a 
 registered pharmacist. In Sept., 1877, he returned to N. and associated 
 himself with Franklin J. Eastman, under the firm name of C. P. 
 Herrick & Co., in a general store and drug store combined, in Tilton, 
 which business was continued until Jan., 1882, when it was sold, and 
 he entered the employ of G. A. Stevens, druggist, in Hill's Block, 
 which business he purchased in Oct., 1883, and has continued to the 
 present time. 
 
 He was m. in Boston, Jan. 31, 1883, to Emma Julia, only dau. of 
 Lieut. Francis H. and Hannah A. (Magrath) Carver of Boston. 
 
 Their children are two sons, who d. in infancy, and a dau., Martha 
 Putnam, b. Sept. 13, 18S8. 
 
 Francis Hobart Herrick. b. Nov. 19, 1858. He was educated at St. 
 Paul's School, Concord, Dartmouth College, where he was graduated in 
 1881, and at the Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Md., where he 
 received the degree of Ph. D. in 1888. After teaching in secondary 
 schools for a number of years, in 1888 he became instructor in biology 
 in Western Reserve University, Cleveland, 0., where, since 1891, he has 
 held a professorship in that science. He is a member of several sci- 
 entific societies and has written various works on the structure, devel- 
 opment and instincts of animals, the most important of which are: 
 "The American Lobster; A Study of Its Habits and Development," 
 Washington, 1895, and "The Home Life of Wild Birds— A New Method 
 of the Study and Photography of Birds," New York and London, 1901, 
 revised edition, 1905. In 1897 the honorary degree of Sc. D. was con- 
 ferred on him by the Western University of Pennsylvania. He was m. 
 at Cleveland, O., June 24, 1897, to Josephine Thekla, dau. of John and 
 Agnes (Koenig) Herkimer of Bushey Grove, Watford, England. Their 
 children are: Agnes Elizabeth, b. April 24, 1898, and Francis Herkimer, 
 b. Aug. 24, 1900. 
 
 HILLS. 
 
 Daniel Hii-ls came to N. from Haverhill, Mass., where he was b. in 
 1727. His name first appears on the tax list in 1792. Four sons had 
 preceded him and bought land on Bay Hill. The deeds to the first 
 purchase are dated 1788. David and Timothy were taxed that year. 
 Daniel, Sr., m. Hannah Emery of Haverhill, Mass., and it is supposed 
 that they d. in N., but no one knows where they are buried. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (B. in Haverhill, Mass.) 
 
 Daniel Hills, b. May 12, 1758; m. Hannah Young at Concord, where 
 he had a residence previous to coming to N. He d. at N. Nov. 19, ISIG. 
 She remained at the home on Bay Hill until her family scattered when 
 she moved with her youngest dau. to Schenectady, N. Y. The date of 
 her death is unknown. 
 
SUSAN COLE HILL. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 175 
 
 She was a garrulous, hysterical woman, in strange contrast to her 
 quiet, well-educated husband, and many of "Aunt Daniel's" quaint 
 stories are still told by family friends, some of which are given else- 
 where. His name is first seen on the records of the town in 1789 
 and his fine penmanship adorns the pages for a long term of years. 
 
 The home was afterwards occupied by the Buswell family and 
 Hazen Carr (see Buswell and Carr gens.), and later was bought, witli 
 the land, by Samuel Clough and the house torn down. He was a farmer 
 and a "cordwainer." They had four dau. and one son. 
 
 Abagail Hills, b. March 7, 17G0; m., July 12, 17S9, Amos Clement 
 of Haverhill, Mass., where they lived and d.; she, in Jan., 1815; he, 
 Jan. 30, 1819. They had five children. Betsey, who d. July 4, 1802, 
 was buried the day she was to marry William Knowles of N. The 
 other children were: Susannah, Abagail and a second Betsey, who came, 
 in March, 1825, to live in N. as the wife of Demore "Wyatt. 
 
 Capt. David Hills, b. June 4, 17G2; m., Nov. 29, 1787, Susannah Cole 
 of Bradford, Mass., b. Oct. 25, 176G. They bought, together with Tim- 
 othy Hills, the 100-acre lot. No. IG, laid out to the original right of 
 James Davis. Ten years later he bought out Timothy and resided 
 there until his death, March 9, 1820. They had a family of eight 
 children. He was both a farmer and a cooper. She d. in 185G on her 
 90th birthday. 
 
 Timothy Hills, b. Jan. 27, 17G4; m., 1792, Elizabeth (Betsey) Lap- 
 ham of Haverhill, Mass., b. Sept. 13, 1771. He bought land of Eben- 
 ezer Blanchard, as the deeds record, and erected a new home, where he 
 spent the remainder of his life. It then was owned by his son, War- 
 ren L., and now by his grandson, Warren S. Mr. Hills was a cooper 
 as well as a farmer and became an extensive business man and prom- 
 inent in town affairs, holding all the offices in its gift. He was a 
 colonel in the state militia. (See Military Record.) He d. April 29, 
 1850, and Betsey, his wife, d. Aug. 17, 1845. Both are buried in the ceme- 
 tery by the present town hall. They had five children. 
 
 Hannah Hills, b. July 17, 17G8; m. (first), Samuel Clement of Haver- 
 hill, Mass., where they resided until his death about 1798. They hau 
 a son and a dau. Mrs. Clement m. (second), Lieut. William Durgin 
 of Sanbornton, Nov. 4, 1798, bringing her two children and her sister- 
 in-law, Ruth Clement, to live with her. Mr. Durgin d. May 11, 1822. 
 She d. at Sanbornton July 24, 1826. leaving four children by her sec- 
 ond marriage: John H., Clement, Joanna C. and Mary L. 
 
 John Hills, b. June 15. 1770, was first taxed in N. in 1S05. probably 
 the first years of his majority. He m., Jan. 13, 1804, Polly Brown of 
 N., b. March 13, 1778. He was a cooper and farmer, a man of great 
 endurance, preferring to take his bags of corn to mill on his back 
 rather than catch and saddle his frisky horse, which would nibble 
 at the bag so persistently that he had to carry a stake along to pro- 
 tect himself as he used to walk through the pasture. He scorned 
 alike the heat of summer and the winter's cold, for which he had to 
 
176 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 pay the penalty in his old age, being warped and twisted by rheu- 
 matism out of all semblance to his once erect and vigorous manhood. 
 He was a member of the state militia and was Ensign John. She d. 
 Aug. 8, 1849. He d. Jan. 20, 1852. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Daniel, 2d, and Hannah Young Hills.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Susan Hills, b. March 19, 1791; m. (first), Benjamin Darling, b. at 
 Sanbornton March 12, 1788, and d. there July 8, 1819. She m. (second), 
 
 Favor, of whom I find no further record. She m. (third), 
 
 Samuel Learned in 1836 and moved to Piermont. They later removed 
 to Troy, Ind., where both d.; she, Aug. 10 and he, Aug. 25, 1855. 
 She had three children by her first marriage: George, who d. in New 
 York; Hannah, who m. Alexander McLinn; and Abagail, who m. Jona- 
 than Learned (her stepfather's son) of Kendallsville, Ind., and d., 
 1903. She had three children by her third marriage: John Learned, 
 b. 1829, who now resides in Lowell, Mass.; Mark, b. 1834 and d., 1835; 
 and Lucy A., b. 1838, wife of Joseph D. Oilman, b. at Norridgewock, 
 Me., and resided at Lowell, where she d. June 23, 1836. 
 
 Betsey (Elizabeth) Hills, b. June 10, 1793; m., May 27, 1814, John 
 Cilley of N. (See Cilley gen.) They moved to Columbia, where they 
 spent the remainder of their lives. They had six children. She d. 
 April 3, 1867. He d. April 20, 1885. 
 
 Hannah Hills, b. 1795; m. Richard Blanchard of N. (See Blan- 
 chard gen.) 
 
 Sally Hills, b. 1802; m., Sept. 26, 1822, Sherburn Lock of Bristol, 
 and moved to Jamestown, N. Y. I can find no trace since 1836. They 
 had two dau. 
 
 Daniel Hills, b. 1806. He was a minor at his father's death and 
 m., March 11, 1832, Abi B. Ambler of Attleboro, Mass., and resided 
 there in 1836. I can find nothing further. 
 
 (Children of Capt. David and Susannah Cole Hills.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Susan Hills, b. Feb. 16, 1792; m., Aug. 9, 1820, Aaron Adams of 
 Salisbury. He was a farmer. They had two children, Emery H., who 
 resides at Orange, N. J., and Hannah Fifield of Jackson, Mich. 
 
 Abiah Hills, b. Feb. 11, 1795; m., May 25, 1823, William Durgin 
 of Sanbornton, b. July 9, 1798. They were farmers at Sanbornton, 
 now Tilton Highlands, and had four children: Albert of Newbury; 
 William Jackson of Tilton; Electa, who m. John Pressey of Sutton and 
 d. there in 1901; and Leonard, late of Portland, Ore. Mr. Durgin d. 
 Feb. 19, 1875. She d. Oct. 26, 1881. 
 
 Daniel Hills, b. June 18, 1797; m., June 10, 1824, Huldah Page of 
 Sanbornton, b. at Epsom Aug. 20, 1794. He was a farmer on the 
 
GENEALOGIES. 177 
 
 homestead and cared for his mother in her declining years. He was 
 captain of Company C, Thirty-eighth Regiment, Infantry, of the state 
 militia. They had two sons. He d. Jan. 13, 1S43. She d. April IG, 
 1876. 
 
 Abagail Hills, b. Jan. 18, 1799; m., March 3, 1840, John Jarvis of 
 West Concord. He was b. at Dunbarton April 28, 1798. They resided 
 for many years at East Concord, where he was a farmer and both d. 
 there; he, Oct. 2, 1870; she, Dec. 13, 1879. 
 
 David Hills, b. Feb. 3, 1801; m., April 20, 1831, Sarah A. Forrest 
 of Canterbury, b. July 5, 1801. They resided for many years on the 
 Dolloff place at the foot of Bean Hill. In 1846 they moved to the 
 Centre, where he d. Oct. 2, 1868, and she. May 10, 1876. They had a 
 family of six children. He was a natural mechanic, a fine scholar and 
 a good singer. Mrs. Hills was a teacher for many years, being noted 
 as a grammarian and speller. 
 
 Clarissa Hills, b. Dec. 14, 1803; m.. May 8, 1820, Leonard Damon 
 of Reading, Mass., b. June 27, 1801, and d. March 25, 1826. She m. 
 (second), John Parker of Reading, Sept. 11, 1828. They had two dau., 
 Clarissa Orilla and Susan Adelia, and a son, Leonard Damon Parker, 
 none of whom survive. 
 
 Emery Hills, b. Jan. 18, 1805; m., in 1831, Harriet Parker of Water- 
 bury, Vt., b. April 11, 1797. He learned the tanner's trade of Dea- 
 con True of Salisbury and later fitted for the ministry but was never 
 permitted to preach on account of failing health. He d. at Williston, 
 Vt, where they had spent their whole married life, Sept. 4, 1850. 
 She survived many years. Mr. Hills was one of the early anti-slavery 
 advocates. Their dau. were: Harriet, who m. Dr. Lyman B. Larkin 
 and had a son, Ernest; Amelia; Maria; Susan, who m. (first), George 
 Stearns and had one child, Mrs. Ethel D. Stickney of Milford, and who 
 
 m. (second), Tenney of East Concord, dying at North Bos- 
 
 cawen Nov. 23, 1890; Martha; and George. The latter enlisted in New 
 York at the beginning of the Civil War; he either re-enlisted or was 
 transferred to the Seventeenth Vermont Infantry, returned and was last 
 heard from at New Haven Ct. Mrs. Martha E. Garrett, the last sur- 
 viving dau., resides at Ballston Spa, N. Y. 
 
 Dea. Samuel Hills, b. Dec. 25, 1808; m., Dec. 6, 1832, Judith Clough 
 of Canterbury, b. Dec. 6, 1808. He was a blacksmith and spent his 
 whole life at Canterbury Centre. He was a deacon of the Congre- 
 gational Church for many years. He d. April, 1882. She d. Sept. 8, 
 1888. They had one dau., Mary Eliza, wife of John P. Kimball of 
 Canterbury, who had three children, Ida, Georgia and Edwin. 
 
 (Children of Timothy and Betsey Lapham Hills.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 King Lapiiam Hills, b. Jan. 22, 1794; m., June 19. 1814. Sally Gil- 
 man of N., b. July 19, 1796. They went to Sheffield, Vt.. and after his 
 death, Dec. 22, 1863, she moved to Fond-du-lac, Wis., where she d. April 
 12 
 
178 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 15, 1880. They had four sons, Aaron, William G., Marcella and Tim- 
 othy, and eight dau.: Betsey, Nancy, Harriet, Alice, Mary, Adaline, 
 Julia Ann and Cerinda. Several of these now reside at Sheffield, Vt. 
 
 Harriet Hills, b. Sept. 13, 1797; m., May 15, 1814, Lowell Lang of 
 Sanbornton Bridge. He was a cabinet and coffin maker. They had 
 eight children: John, "Warren H., Timothy H., Joseph L., Lucy B., 
 Elizabeth Ann, Direxa, Matilda and Katherine Holmes. Mrs. Lang d. 
 June 4, 1830. He m. (second), Theodate Page and d. Feb. 10, 1861. 
 
 WarreiX Laphaji Hills, b. Sept. 2, 1801; m., April 2, 1829, Betsey 
 Tucker, b. at Hopkinton Dec. 26, 1809. He was a farmer, brickmaker 
 and a man of extensive business. They had six children. She d. at 
 N. Feb. 6, 1886. He d. March 23, 1887. 
 
 Betsey L. Hills, b. Oct. 1, 1803; m., Feb 12, 1826, Furber Goodwin 
 (see Goodwin gen.), b. at N. Aug. 18, 1807, and had seven children: 
 Melissa, Diana, Warren H., Albert A., Harriet L., King H., and Eliza- 
 beth, all of Danville and Sheffield, Vt. She d. at Danville, Vt., April 
 18, 1846. He d. at Annisquam, Mass., Feb. 11, 1859. 
 
 Barker L. Hills, b. Oct. 28, 1808; m., Jan. 7, 1835, Mary A. Cilley 
 (see Cilley gen.), b. Sept. 14, 1814. He d. at Campton June 20, 1895, 
 and she d. there Feb. 28, 1886. They had a son, Daniel Cilley Hills, 
 who, with his sister, Mrs. Elizabeth L. Mitchel, now resides at Ash- 
 land, where he is cashier of the Ashland Savings Bank. 
 
 (Children of John and Polly Brown Hills.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Benjamin Hills, b. Feb. 8, 1810; m. Elizabeth Cofran, b. Dec. 23, 
 1813. He was a farmer and dealer in cattle. He lived in the Chase 
 tavern at the entrance to Bay St. Both d. there; he, Oct. 11, 1857. 
 she, June 9, 1871. They had a family of eight. This place was sold 
 June 8, 1872, to S. B. Page and Samuel Sargent. 
 
 Sally Hills, b. Oct. 12, 1808; m., 1827, Joseph Clisby, b. at Concord 
 Sept. 1, 1802. He was a blacksmith at the Centre. He also farmed in 
 later years. He was one of the few who kept a record of passing 
 events, which has been of great value in compiling this genealogy. 
 They had a family of four dau. (See Clisby gen.) 
 
 John Hills, b. Sept. 20, 1805; m., Nov. 4, 1831, Mahala Rollins, b. 
 in Sanbornton, 1806. He inherited the home farm on Whicher Hill 
 and was a thrifty farmer all his life. They had two children. Mrs. 
 Hills d. Jan. 11, 1883. He d. Feb. 16, 1886. This farm was sold to 
 F. B. Shedd of Lowell, Mass., who has a summer residence there. 
 
 Betsey Hills, b. Aug. 30, 1804; m. Moses Evans of N. (see Evans 
 gen.) and resided on what has always been called Lovers' Lane, near 
 her father's. He d. Jan. 15, 1855, and she d. April 1, 1868. This house, 
 if not built for a Methodist parsonage, was used for some time as such, 
 
GENEALOGIES. 179 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Daniel and Huldah Page Hills.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 William Peary Hills, b. Feb. 26, 1S25, was a young man of me- 
 chanical genius and a promising artist in portraiture. He d. March 
 7. 1854. 
 
 Daniel Adams Hills, b. Jan. 23, 1827; m., April 15, 1853, Cynthia A. 
 Clough. (See Clough gen.) He claimed a valuable invention, a non- 
 poisonous mixture for sticky fly paper and a machine for spreading 
 it, which later was sold to H. B. Foster of Concord. Mr. Hills was also 
 a farmer and natural mechanic. They had two children. He d. June 
 25, 1864. She d. June 11, 1890. 
 
 (Children of David and Sarah Forrest Hills.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Sarah Augusta Hills, b. May 10, 1832, was educated at the New 
 Hampshire Conference Seminary and was a faithful teacher for many 
 years. She cared for the home and her parents in their declining 
 years and later went to care for a relative at East Andover. She d. 
 at N. May 12, 1902. 
 
 LucT Rogers Hills, b. July 9, 1834; m., Nov. 16, 1866, Oliver L. 
 Cross of N. (See Cross gen. and frontispiece.) 
 
 SoLox Forrest Hills, b. May 31, 1836; m., Sept. 21, 1871, Georgia 
 Cate of Belmont. She was b. at Manchester June 1, 1845. He was a 
 teacher and supervisor of schools in N. and Belmont, a fine musician 
 and leader of several bands. He moved to Belmont in 1872, where 
 he was a farmer and prominent Granger, being master of Lawrence 
 Grange. They had three children: Martha G., b. 1872 and d., 1873; 
 James C, b. 1873; and Helen F., b. 1877, the latter being a teacher in 
 the Belmont graded schools. 
 
 Dorothy Eastman Hills, b. Aug. 24, 1838; m., April, 1S74, John 
 Wilde of Lancashire, England. They reside at Penacook and have one 
 son, Charles F., a trusted clerk for the Whitney Electrical Company. 
 Mrs. Wilde taught for many years and is a fine landscape artist in 
 oil. 
 
 Susan Maria Hills, b. Jan. 26, 1840; d., Oct. 14, 1846. Her death 
 was caused by her clothes taking fire at an open fireplace. 
 
 Susan Hannah Hills, b. March 15, 1846; m.. May 28, 1S71, Jason 
 Foss. (See portrait and sketch.) 
 
 (Children of Warren L. and Betsey Tucker Hills.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 Alvaii Tucker Hills, b. Jan. 10, 1831; d., July 18, 1S53. 
 Maby Tucker Hills, b. Sept. 13, 1833; d.. Aug. 31, 1846. 
 Henry T. Hills, b. Oct. 8, 1837; m., March 21, 1861, Orlette S. Whld- 
 den of N. (See Whidden gen.) He was clerk of the town for a term 
 of years. He was a member of the firm of Peabody & Hills, dry goods 
 
180 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 and groceries, and later was emploj^ed by P. C. Cheney at Manchester. 
 In 1886 he moved to Bath, S. C, where he was a paper manufacturer. 
 They had two chiMren. He d. at Bath, S. C, March 28, 1892, and is 
 buried in the Park Cemetery at Tilton. Mrs. Hills resides with her 
 dau. at Aiken, S. C. 
 
 AVaeren Smith Hills, b. Feb. 9, 1842; m., Sept. 7, 1865, Helen E. 
 Cofran of N. (See Cofran gen.) He resides on the homestead of his 
 father and grandfather and is an extensive farmer and stone mason. 
 They have seven children. (See group.) 
 
 Charles Frederick Hills, b. Jan. 27, 1847; m., Jan. 17, 1872, Sarah 
 Frances Cilley of N. (See Ciiley gen.) He was a fine printer at N. and 
 d. March 15, 1889. They had two children. She d. suddenly of heart 
 failure July 6, 1885. 
 
 M. Etta Hills, b. July 21, 1854; m.. May 22, 1883, Cliff F. Gile. (See 
 Gile gen.) 
 
 (Children of Benjamin and Elizabeth Cofran Hills.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Oren Hills, b. June 18, 1835, was a drover and butcher at Brighton, 
 Mass. He d. Jan. 25, 1864. 
 
 Ann Hills, b. March 24, 1840; m., Aug. 3, 1864, Enoch G. Philbrick 
 of Sanbornton. (See Philbrick gen.) 
 
 FRANK HILLS. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Frank Hills was b. in N. Nov. 29, 1849. His early life was passed 
 in that town. Since 1876 he has been a merchant in Tilton, residing 
 in Northfield until April, 1891, when he moved to Tilton. Unassuming 
 and retiring in his manners, he has never been a seeker after oflBce or 
 place. Mr. Hills is a constant and unswerving Democrat and as such 
 served the town of N. as selectman in 1886--'87, and Tilton as auditor, 
 treasurer, member of the school board and building committee of the 
 new graded school building. In 1894 he was elected representative to 
 the Legislature. He was one of the first officers of the Tilton and 
 Northfield Library Association, being elected as trustee May 10, 1887, 
 re-elected in 1889, 1894 and 1899, resigned May 14, 1901. 
 
 His integrity and honesty of purpose have been in his business 
 methods and as administrator and guardian he has shown himself to 
 be qualified for important trusts. He was elected trustee of the lona 
 Savings Bank May 9, 1883, and director of the Citizens' National Bank 
 Jan. 20, 1S85. 
 
 These positions he has held continuously to the present time. Mr. 
 Hills is a prominent Mason, being a member of Doric Lodge, Tilton, 
 Mount Horeb Commandery of Concord and the Edward A. Raymond 
 Consistory of Nashua. He is a member of the Methodist Church and 
 for many years was one of its trustees. May 23, 1872, he m. Clara C. 
 Scribner of Franklin. Their children are: Llewellyn S., who d. at 
 the age of two years; Myra Pearl; and Roger Frank. 
 
FRANK HILLS. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 181 
 
 Fred Hills, b. Oct. 29, 1S54; m., Aug. 1, 1S7G, Letitia Cair of Find- 
 lay, O., b. Jan. 15, 1850. They have three children. He d. at N. May 
 2, 1903. 
 
 (Children of John and Mahala Rollins Hills.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Daniel Emery Hills, b. Sept. 7. 1833; m., 1858, Mary Otis Young. 
 (See portrait and sketch of Postmasters.) 
 
 Mary C. Hills, b. July 6, 1S3G; m.. May 1, 1859, Liba C. Morrison. 
 (See Morrison gen.) 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Daniel Adams and Cynthia Clough Hills.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Ella Orissa Hills, b. June 7, 1854; m., Dec. 24, 1874, George H. Nel- 
 son. (See Nelson gen.) She is a born genealogist and has rendered 
 valuable aid in the compilation of this work. 
 
 William Clough Hills, b. June 12, 1859; m., June 5, 1901, Mabel W. 
 Glines. (See Glines gen.) They reside on the Samuel Clough farm 
 on Bay Hill, where he is an extensive farmer. Mrs. Hills, after a 
 partial course at the New Hampshire Normal School, taught at Mel- 
 rose, Winchester and Burlington, Mass. She is a member of the N. 
 school board. 
 
 (Children of Henry T. and Oriette Whldden Hills.) 
 
 Ellox Sherburne Hills, b. at N. Dec. 14, 1861; m., Sept. 12, 1893, 
 Frances Stafford of Augusta, Ga., b. Oct. 8, 1863. He is agent for the 
 National Life Insurance Company of Montpelier, Vt., and resides at 
 Nashua. They have five children: Warren R., Marion R., Helen S., 
 Stafford S. and Robert W. 
 
 Lelia Irene Hills, b. at Manchester Dec. 11, 1868; m., June 17, 1903, 
 Rev. A. Hunter Anthony, b. at New Albany, Ind., Jan. 25, 1859. They 
 reside at Aiken, S. C. 
 
 (Children of Charles F. and Sarah F. Cilley Hills.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Ellex Florilla Hills, b. Dec. 16, 1876; m.. Sept 21, 189S, George V. 
 Hamlin of Goffstown, where they reside. They have two children, 
 Leonard H. V., b. 1899, and George H., b. 1902. 
 
 Grace Hills, b. March 20, 1878, resides at Manchester. 
 
 (Children of Frank and Clara Scribner Hills.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Llewellyn S. Hills, b. Sept. 19, 1878; d., Aug. 18, 1S80. 
 
 Myra Pearl Hills, b. May 14, ISSO, is a graduate of Tllton Seminary, 
 class of 1900, and is a teacher of instrumental music. 
 
 Roger F Hill.s. b. Sept. 3, 1887, graduated from Tilton Seminary, 
 class of 1904, and is now a student at Dartmouth College. 
 
182 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 (Children of Fred and Letitia Carr Hills.) 
 
 Leon C. Hills, b. at Tilton Aug. 11, 1877, resides on Elm St. with his 
 mother and is employed at Fifield Bros.' market. 
 
 Stella F. Hills, b. at Findlay, O., Dec. 21, 1880; m., Sept. 14, 1904, 
 Arthur S. Nelson. (See Nelson gen.) 
 
 Alice M. Hills, b. at Findlay, 0., Feb. 15, 1883; m., June 15, 1904, 
 Jere D. Driscoll, b. at Lawrence, 1879. 
 
 (Children of W. S. and Helen Cofran Hills.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Kate F. Hills, b. June 16, 18C7, has been the faithful caretaker in 
 the home during her mother's long illness. She is active in the social 
 work of the Grange, is a member of the history and Old Home Day 
 committees and is strong and helpful in whatever she undertakes. 
 
 Arthuk H. Hills, b. Nov. 12, 1868; m., Oct. 15, 1895, Florence Goss 
 of Andover, b. Aug. 15, 1878. They reside at Lebanon, where he is 
 engaged in the grain business. They have one child, Clyde Clayton, 
 b. 1897. 
 
 Helen Josephine Hills, b. March 2, 1872, was, like all her Hall an- 
 cestry, possessed of a fine voice and assisted in the church choir 
 many years. She possessed also another accomplishment not frequent 
 among even "Yankee" girls, a love of and skill in the use of the rifle. 
 She m., June 13, 1894, Prof. Ned Dearborn of N. (See Dearborn gen.) 
 
 Evelyn B. Hills, b. Nov. 4, 1876; m., June 29, 1899, Prof. Shirley J. 
 Case, b. at Springfield, N. B., Sept. 28, IcjiZ. Mrs. Case was a graduate 
 of Tilton Seminary and a teacher of vocal music at New Hampton 
 Institute for several years. Mr. Case is a Baptist clergyman and they 
 reside at New Haven, Conn. 
 
 Willie H. C. Hills, b. July 25, 1878, is employed at the New Hamp- 
 shire Soldiers' Home at Tilton as expert farmer. 
 
 Walter B. Hills, b. Dec. 5, 1879; m., April 20, 1902, May F. Sears 
 of Newton, Mass. They reside on Bay St. He is a farmer on the 
 home farm. 
 
 LoKiNG C. Hills, b. March 3, 1885, is a student at Tilton Seminary. 
 
 HILL. 
 
 Joseph Hill, b. at Mont Vernon June 16, 1834, came to Sanbornton 
 Bridge when a lad of 15, where he was a merchant during the whole of 
 his active life, first, as partner with his brother, then with E. G. Phil- 
 brick in an extensive line of general merchandise, and later with W. 
 P. Fletcher until his death. He, with his brother, in 1865 erected their 
 commodious brick block and a few years later the present wooden 
 one. Mr Hill m., Jan. 8, 1862, Annette Hancock of N. and had four 
 children. (See Hancock gen.) She d. Nov. 12, 1874. 
 
 He m. (second), at Durham, June 28, 1880, Lizzie A. Chase of N. 
 and removed the following year to Arch Hill. 
 
Q 
 < 
 
 H 
 
 m 
 
 o 
 a 
 
 a 
 
 t-H 
 
 I 
 
 w 
 
 CO 
 
 «^ 
 
 w 
 
 o 
 
GENEALOGIES. 183 
 
 He was unassuming in manner, kind, sympathetic, generous; a 
 trusted and respected citizen, not only interested in local affairs, but 
 represented the town in the Legislature of 1871 and '72. He was a 
 member of the board of education, of Doric Lodge, A. F. and A. M., 
 and the Congregational Church. Mrs. Hill is a member of the same 
 church, a charter member of the local Woman's Club and Peabody 
 Chapter of the Eastern Star, but is especially devoted to home and its 
 varied interests. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Aleck Ware Hill. b. Jan. 1, 1SG3; d., Dec, 18G6. 
 
 Joseph Ware Hill, b. Oct. 24, 1867, was employed in his father's store 
 and since his death has assisted in the care of the estate and home. 
 
 Eva Gertrude Hill, b. at Tilton Aug. 7, 1869, graduated from the 
 New Hampshire Conference Female College in 1889 as the valedic- 
 torian. After several years' service as a teacher in the Union graded 
 school she m., Oct. 25, 1893, Charles T. Foster of Canterbury, also a 
 graduate of the same class. They have two sons, Malcom, b. 1894, 
 and Gordon, b. 1896. They reside at Leominster, Mass. 
 
 Florence A. Hill, b. March 19, 1874, was a graduate of the same 
 institution in 1892 and a teacher some years. She m., April 19, 1900, 
 Prof. Craven Laycock, b. at Yorkshire, England, now of Dartmouth 
 College. He was also a graduate of Tilton Seminary, class of 1892, and 
 of Dartmouth College, 1896. 
 
 HODGDON. 
 
 Edmvxd Hodgdox, b. Aug. 15. 0. S., 1739; m., July 15, 1761, Susanna 
 Twombly, b. April 2, 1743, O. S. They came from Barnstead to N. in 
 1788 and bought the farm. Lot 188, laid out to the right of John Hug- 
 gins, which remained in the Hodgdon name for 101 years. He was of 
 English descent and a Quaker. His wife was of Scotch descent. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Miles Hodgdox, b. May 23, 1762; m. (first), Cate of Canterbury 
 
 and (second), Mary Kezar of Canterbury, Dec. 30, 1819. 
 
 Mary Hodgdox, b. Aug. 19, 1764; m. Jonathan Dearborn of N. and 
 had four children. (See Dearborn gen.) 
 
 Israel Hodgdox, b. March 9, 1770; m., Nov. 21, 1793. Comfort San- 
 born, b. May 7, 1774. He cultivated the homestead and had five chil- 
 dren. 
 
 Peace Hoixjdox, b. Dec. 26, 1774; m., Dec. 26. iij3. Josiah George of 
 Sanbornton and had 13 children. He d. March 25. 1847. She d. at 
 Lake Village Sept. 13, 1858. A dau.. Charlotte, m.. 1792, Jonathan 
 Cate of N. The youngest, John Kezar George, having been Injured in 
 a Lowell factory, was educated by the corporation and became a 
 teacher in Arkansas. 
 
184 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Third Generation, 
 
 (Children of Israel and Comfort Sanborn Hodgdon.) 
 
 SusAx HoDGDox, b. July 5, 1794; m. George Colby of N. and had four 
 children. 
 
 Isaiah Hodgdon, b. March 26, 1796; d., Feb. 23, 1S46. 
 
 Nancy Hodgdox, b. June 15, 179S; m. Abraham Fowler and removed 
 to Hill. 
 
 Deliverance Hodgdon, b. April 5, 1S03; m., Sept. 10, 1840, Jeremiah 
 Clough of Canterbury as his second wife. 
 
 Mr. Clough was a Free Baptist preacher as oppoi'tunity offered and 
 at the same time conducted large farming enterprises. 
 
 Charlotte Hodgdon, b. Aug. 19, 1813; m., Sept. 17, 1846, Edward 
 Osgood of Canterbury. They resided some years at Roxbury, Mass., 
 and had five children: Susan, wife of Leon Chase of Canterbury; 
 Charles, who d. at Tilton, 1888; Annie May, who, after long years of 
 service as teacher, m., 1895 (?), Edward Webster of Boston, with a 
 summer home at Boscawen Plain. 
 
 HiEAM Hodgdon, b. Jan. 19, 1808; d., Aug. 14, 1828. 
 
 Cyeus Hodgdon, b. Feb. 14, 1811; d., June 22, 1842. He was b. blind 
 but had such wonderful intuition that he was often sent for things 
 about the premises that no one else could find. 
 
 John L. Hodgdon, b. Dec. 19, 1805; m., Dec. 5, 1830, Sally Thurston 
 of Hill and had two sons and a dau. He d. Aug. S, 1874. She d. at 
 Ashland July 9, 1901. 
 
 (Children of John and Sally Thurston Hodgdon.) 
 
 HIRAM HODGDON. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Hon. Hiram Hodgdon, the subject of this sketch, was b. and educated 
 in N. When 21 years of age he left home to seek his fortune. He 
 made his way to Boston, Mass., with a strong determination to make a 
 good beginning and found employment there as a dry goods clerk. 
 He remained one year and having proved himself capable of filling 
 a more responsible position, he went to Ashland and took full charge 
 of the old brick store, owned by Cutting Follansby. The arrange- 
 ment was such that Mr. Hodgdon received one half of the proceeds in 
 return for his services and management. In 1802 he entered into full 
 partnership with his aforetime employer under the firm name of Fol- 
 lansby & Hodgdon. He was active in this business for 27 years, with 
 the exception of two years that he served with the Twelfth Regiment, 
 New Hampshire Volunteers, in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 About 1880 he went West, dealt largely in land and erected houses in 
 promising localities, which found a ready sale. In 1886 a company 
 was formed, composed of Thomas P. Cheney, George E. Scribner, N. 
 
HON. HIRAM HODGDON. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 185 
 
 P. Batchelder and Hiram Hodgdon. They purchased the Baker Mill 
 water privilege and built a building, 110 x 54 feet and three stories 
 high. Seven sets of cards were put in and the factory has since 
 been known as the Ashland Knitting Company and is still in active 
 operation. Mr. Hodgdon is still connected with the business. He 
 m. (first), Martha Webster of Danville, who d. in 1S80. He m. (sec- 
 ond), Mrs. Plaisted of Ashland, , 1900. He is a Republican and, 
 
 although desiring no oflBce, was clerk of the town for a term and was 
 elected to the New Hampshire Senate in 1879. He is a Baptist in 
 belief and is connected with that church and society. He is also a 
 member of Mt. Prospect Lodge, No. 68, F. and A. M. 
 
 George M. Hodgdon, b. Aug. 13, 1835; m., Sept. 15, 1857, Millie 
 Plaisted of Ashland. He is a farmer and resides in Ashland. They 
 liave a son and dau. 
 
 Sarah E.\ton Hodgdon, b. Oct. 27, 1838; m., Jan. 11, 1887, Alonzo P. 
 Chamberlain of Dunbarton. He d. Dec. 11, 1893. She resides at Ash- 
 land. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of George and Millie Plaisted Hodgdon.) 
 
 (B. at Ashland.) 
 
 Charles Merrill Hodgdon, b. Oct. 24, ISGO; m., April 5, 1886, Cora 
 Nelson. He d. Jan. 11, 1895. 
 
 Christie Hodgdon, b. at Ashland Jan. 1, 1877; m., Jan. 9, 1890, George 
 Flanders. She resides at her father's and has thi'ee dau. 
 
 HOLMES. 
 
 Samttel T. Holmes came to N. from Tilton in 1876 and erected his 
 home on Park St. He was b. at East Haddam, Conn., Jan. 27, 1845; 
 m., Feb. 13, 1869, Mrs. Mary E. Sanborn, b. at Loudon Aug. 15, 1835. 
 He conducted for several years a meat and provision market and later 
 a restaurant at Tilton. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in 
 Blue.) They have an adopted dau. He has served the town as con- 
 stable and policeman. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Gertrude Belle Holmes, b. at Chichester Jan. 19, 1872; m., Dec. 8, 
 1894, Thomas Townsend. She is a dressmaker. 
 
 HOWE. 
 
 Orlando G. Howe came to N. from Holderness, where he was b. 
 June 30, 1857. He m.. May 1. 1S81, Lizzie S. Sanders, b. at Wentworth 
 Nov. 9, 1862. He was formerly employed by the Lord Bros. Man- 
 
186 HISTORY OF northfield; 
 
 facturing Company but later became a farmer and resides on Vine St., 
 where lie has two houses. 
 
 A niece, Ida May Willey, b. at Rumney Aug. 10, 1893, resides with 
 them and attends Union Graded School. 
 
 HOYT I. 
 
 Dk. Exos Hoyt. (See Physicians of N. and portrait.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Asa George Hoyt, b. Sept. IS, 1825, graduated from Dartmouth Col- 
 lege in 1846. He read medicine and graduated from Harvard Medical 
 School in 1S51. He m., Dec. 10, 1851, Maria Frances Hemenway, and 
 was associated with his father in practice at Framingham until his 
 death, Oct. 15, 1857. He had one son, b. May 12, 1854, who d. at 25. 
 
 Ends Alpheus Hoyt was b. Aug. 5, 1828, and m., June 6, 1865, Emma 
 Whiting of Medway, Mass. He was 11 years in California and then 
 studied medicine with his father and at Dartmouth Medical School, 
 taking his degree there. He was assistant surgeon in the Twenty- 
 fifth Massachusetts Regiment. (See Boys in Blue.) Later he was a 
 physician at Natick, Mass., until his death, Nov. 23, 1879. He left 
 four children. 
 
 Grace Crosby Hoyt, b. July 25, 1831; m., Sept. 4, 1850, George Will- 
 iam Bigelow of Framingham, who d. May 29, 1903. He was an active 
 business man and served the Congregational Church as deacon and 
 superintendent of its Sabbath school for many years. Mrs. Bigelow 
 still remains in her home with her four children settled near by. One 
 son, a physician, bears her father's name, Enos Hoyt Bigelow. 
 
 Dixi Crosby Hoyt, b. Aug. 24, 1838; m., Oct. 9, 1862, Abbie Louisa 
 Reed of Medway, Mass. He graduated from Amherst College in 1855 
 and took his medical degree from Harvard in 1860. He enlisted at the 
 opening of the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) He d. at Newberne, 
 N. C, from overwork, exposure and yellow fever, Nov. 1, 1864. 
 
 Rhoda Frances Blaisdell Hoyt, b. Oct. 24, 1842; m., Dec. 24, 1862, 
 John Wentworth Bracket of Boston, a piano manufacturer. She d. 
 Oct. 20, 1863, leaving a son, who survived her four weeks. 
 
 HOYT 11. 
 
 Alvah Hoyt, b. in Lowell, Mass., came to N. from Sanbornton in 
 1860 and resided on the Thomas Lyford place. He m. Betsey Randall 
 of Sanbornton, b. 1818. 
 
 He was a resident but four years, removing later to Tilton. Mrs. 
 Hoyt d. Aug. 30, 1871. They had a son and dau. He m. (second), 
 Abbie Comeford of Tilton Highlands and purchased of Mrs. James 
 Jenkins a home on the Franklin road. Mr. Hoyt d. about 1880. She 
 still resides there. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 187 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Augusta Hott, b. at Lowell, Mass., Oct. 1, 1841; m. Daniel Sanborn 
 of N. They had four children. (See Sanborn gen.) She d. Nov. 1, 
 1896. 
 
 Aloxzo F. Hoyt served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) He 
 d., Jan. 1, 1865, at Falmouth, Va. 
 
 HOYT HI. 
 
 Amos P. Hoyt, b. at Bath in 1824; m. Lucy Lane, b. at Hanover, and 
 had four children, none of whom were b. in town. He came to N. from 
 Lebanon and purchased the brick house of Reuben Hutchins on 
 High St. He was a carpenter by trade. He d. June 8, 1891, and she 
 went to reside with her children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Ida Hoyt, b. June 16, 1864; m., March 18, 1886, Fred Judkins of 
 Franklin Falls, a member of the firm of Judkins & Wallace. They 
 have three children: Leon F., b. 1887; Jere A., b. 1889; and Elsie M., 
 b. 1S91. 
 
 Clara B. Hoyt m. Frank Pease of Meredith, a member of the firm of 
 Pease & Weeks, grocers. 
 
 Nettie Hoyt m. Oscar Gates and resided in N. for several years, 
 later moving to Salisbury. 
 
 Rev. Edwin Hoyt was a Baptist clergyman at Franklin Falls for 
 several years and now resides at Derby, Vt. 
 
 HOUGHTON. 
 
 Haxxah Amelia Houghton came to N. from Franklin Falls (where 
 she was employed in Aiken's Hosiery Mill in 1865 and 1866 as fore- 
 woman in the knitting department). She was b. at Brasher, St. Law- 
 rence County, New York, March 3, 1836, and was a dressmaker for 
 several years, but later conducted a large boarding-house. After her 
 father's death in New York in 1891, she took her mother and invalid 
 sister to her home, where she tenderly cared for them. Her mother, 
 b. at Windsor, Vt, d. at N. April 18, 1894, aged 88, and Sarah A.. April 
 19, 1899, aged 60. Another sister, Mrs. Jacobs, the mother of Mrs. Ar- 
 thur F. Cunningham, resides at N. 
 
 HUEBER. 
 
 Chables C. Huebeb bought of Warren F. Daniel! a part of the Jere- 
 miah Cross farm in 1875 (?), including the buildings, where he has 
 since been a gardener, furnishing early vegetables for the Franklin 
 market. His greenhouses, run in connection with the business, were 
 
188 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 burned a few years since. They have four children: Albert, who 
 remains in the home; Louis of Tilton; and two dau., who are em- 
 ployed at Laconia. 
 
 HULSE. 
 
 Edgar E. Hulse came to N. from Westboro, Mass. He was b. at 
 East Hampton, N. Y., in 1858, and m., 1883, Flora M. Gould, b. at 
 Parsonsfield, Me., 1863. He was educated at Bowdoinham, Me., and at 
 Nichols' Latin School, Lewiston, Me., and Plymouth Normal School. 
 He removed to New York and taught 10 years, later teaching at West- 
 boro, Mass., one and a half years. He was principal of Union Graded 
 School in N. nearly eight years, leaving it to superintend the schools 
 of Southern New Hampshire four years and is at present master in 
 the Boston schools. They have four children, two of whom were b. in 
 N. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 John Rogee Hulse, b. Nov. 21, 1893; d., Feb., 1894. 
 
 Melvebda M. Hitlse, b. Dec. 30, 1894. 
 
 Fernald and Kenneth, b. at New York. 
 
 HUNKINS. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 Joseph Warren Hunkins, b. at Sanbornton Sept. 2, 1835; m., Oct. 
 13, 1860, Caroline Augusta Cofran, b. April 24, 1836. He removed to 
 Manchester, where he lived until 1866, since which time he has re- 
 sided in N. on a part of the Jeremiah Cofran estate. They have had 
 four children. Mr. Hunkins has been deacon of the Congregational 
 ■Church since 1872, one of the board of selectmen of the town, and has 
 been its tax collector most of the time for the last 13 years. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Etta Mary Hunkins, b. at Manchester April 8, 1862; d., March 8, 
 1891. 
 
 Carrie Phebe Hunkins, b. at Manchester Dec. 19, 1863; d., Sept. 3, 
 1864. 
 
 Everett Robert Hunkins, b. at Manchester Jan. 1, 1865; m. Mary 
 Black of Boston, Mass., Nov. 23, 1894, where they now reside. They 
 have one son. 
 
 Jed Warren Hunkins, b. at N. Feb. 17, 1869; m., April 15, 1891, 
 Annie Howard, and resides at the home with his parents. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Mary Chellis Hunkins, b. June 9, 1888. 
 Edward Everett Hunkins, b. Oct. 23, 1895. 
 Ethel Hunkins, b. July 10, 1897. 
 
DEACON JOSEPH HUNKINS. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 189^ 
 
 HURLBURT. 
 
 Otis Hurlburt, b. Nov. 18, 1823, was a native of Lyme. He m., 
 Nov. 27, 1S50, Susan M., only child of Mack Glines, b. July 21, 1831. 
 They resided at first near her home on the main road and then at 
 Tilton. He bought of Mrs. Daniel Huse's heirs the present home on 
 Bay St. Extension, where he d. June 17, 1894, and where she still re- 
 sides. They had three sons and a dau., all b. in N. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Fraxk Hublbukt, b. Oct. 23, 1855; m., Sept. 27, 1879, Clara Blanchard, 
 and had one child. They resided on the Fellows farm, near the Rand 
 schoolhouse, where he d. March 1, 1888. He was a charter member of 
 Harmony Lodge, L O. 0. F. Mrs. Hurlburt d. Jan. 22, 1895. 
 
 Charles O. HuRLBxmT, b. July 26, 1857; m., Jan. 13, 1886, Cora 
 Nichols, and removed to Bellows Falls, Vt. They have four children. 
 He is a member of the order of A. F. and A. M. 
 
 George C. Hurlburt, b. Dec. 30, 1860; m., Dec. 25, 1884, Lena English 
 and had five children. He was a farmer at Belmont, where he d. Nov.. 
 28, 1894. He was found murdered by the roadside. She, later, with her 
 four children, removed to her former home in West Hartford, Vt. 
 He was a member of Harmony Lodge, L O. O. F., and of Belknap 
 Lodge, A. O. U. W. 
 
 Mary Jeanette Hurlburt, b. June 26, 1863; m., Jan. 1, 1884, Fred 
 Brown of Tilton and removed to Concord, where Mr. Brown was teacher 
 of manual training in the public schools. He has for some years past 
 held the same position in the Manchester schools, with his home in 
 Concord. They have two sons, Orville and Carmi. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Child of Frank and Clara Blanchard Hurlburt.) 
 Wallace Hurlburt, b. May, 1888; resides with his grandmother. He 
 is a graduate of Tilton Seminary, 1905. 
 
 HUSE. 
 
 The Huses were of Welch origin and settled in Amesbury, when they 
 came to America. William, b. Aug. 22, 1760, was in the Revolutionary 
 War. His son, John, who also served two years, was a brother of 
 Joseph, the father of Daniel, who came from Sanbornton to N. and 
 bought a part of the Thomas Chase farm in the west part of the 
 town. He purchased other land as opportunity offered and became 
 a large landholder and prosperous farmer. He m. Eliza Dudley of 
 Sanbornton and had three dau. He was a correct business man and 
 served the town as treasurer and was also one of its board of select- 
 men. He d. Sept. 3, 1883, after a long illness, aged 75 years. 
 
 Mrs. Huse. after selling to her son-in-law, Morrill Moore, purchased. 
 
190 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 a home near Tilton. She d. Jan. 18, 1888, while on a visit to her 
 grandchildren in Canterbury. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 LoviNA HusE, b. at Campton Sept. 3, 1834; m., March 3, 1858, Mor- 
 rill Moore of N. (See Moore gen.) 
 
 BJtiLY HusE, b. at Thornton Sept. 1, 1840; m., Sept. 6, 1863, Ben- 
 jamin Phimmer of N. and removed to Tilton Highlands. (See Phim- 
 mer gen.) 
 
 Ann Eliza Huse, b. at Thornton Jan. 8, 1845; m., Oct. 25, 1866, 
 George Blanchard of Canterbury. She d. of consumption, Jan. 29, 
 1880, leaving three sons, two of whom, Fred and Frank, are in the 
 meat and grocery business at Penacook. Mrs. Blanchard was a teacher 
 before her marriage. 
 
 HUTCHINS. 
 
 Reuben Hutciiixs owned the brick house and a part of the Thomas 
 Chase farm. Here, besides being a painter and paperhanger, he was 
 a farmer for some years. 
 
 He m. (pub.), July 5, 1856, Augusta Hinkley and had a son and a 
 dau., neither of whom were b. or lived in town. After the death of 
 his wife, March 9, 1883, he sold to David Trecartine and removed to 
 Franklin, where he d. Oct. 23, 1890. 
 
 JEWELL. 
 
 John Jewell, b. in N. Feb. 10, 1800; m. (first), Olive French. She 
 d. Jan. 13, 1842. 
 
 He m. (second), Elizabeth Clay. He resided two years on the Lind- 
 sey Meadow lot, removing then to the farm owned later by Demore 
 Wyatt and finally removed to Alexandria. 
 
 Late in life they returned to the Clay homestead in Sanbornton, 
 where he d. Feb. 28, 1875. They had six children, but two of whom 
 were b. in N. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Eliza Ann Jewell, b. at N. Feb. 14, 1824; m. Luther Ingalls of Bris- 
 tol, May 9, 1847, and had one son, Frank. 
 
 Maby Jane Jewell, b. at N. Feb. 12, 1826; m., June 16, 1852, Rufus 
 Eaton of Bristol, a carpenter and farmer. They had two sons, Frank 
 and George, both of whom d. in early manhood. 
 
 JOCELYN. 
 
 C. E. JocELYN, b. in Antigonish, N. S., May 6, 1850; m., Dec. 26, 
 1877, Jennie McNarr, b. April 12, 1858, at Cape George, N. S. They 
 
GENEALOGIES. 191 
 
 came to N. from Springfield, Vt., where he was a harness maker, but, 
 being incapacitated by a brolven arm, he turned his attention to farming. 
 They have two children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Ella May Jocelyx, b. at Boston, Oct. 5, ISSI; m., 1900, Harry Bur- 
 ton, a machinist, of Franklin. They have two children, Charles David 
 and Merna Jane. 
 
 Edward Jocelyn, b. Feb. 12, 1885, is employed in Henderson's steam 
 sawmill and resides at home. 
 
 JOHNSON. 
 
 JoHx JoHNSox m., March 9, 1819, Betsey Whicher of N., b., 1798. 
 They had two sons and resided at East N., where she d., April 10, 
 1838. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Jonathan M. Johxsox, b. in N. June 16, 1819; m., July 11, 1844, Al- 
 mira Dearborn of N. (See Dearborn gen.) He was a wheelwright 
 and resided in N. They had 10 children, two of whom d. in infancy. 
 He d. Oct. 28, 1904. She still resides at the home on Hills St. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Abbie Nason Johnsox, b. at N. Factory "Village, now Franklin Falls, 
 Nov. 18, 1845; m. (first), April 2, 1SG3, William C. Morrill of Rumney. 
 She m. (second), Charles W. Abbott of Tilton, and d. Dec. 2, 1879. 
 
 Exos HoYT JoHXSox, b. at Factory Village, 1S4G; m., April 10, 1SC8, 
 Martha E. Gage, b. Sept. 30, 1849, at Factory Village. She d. March 
 21, 1900. He is employed at G. H. Tilton's hosiery mill. 
 
 BET.SEY Axx JoHXSOX, b. Feb. 11, 1850; m., Aug. 27, 1SG7, Stephen 
 P. Greene of Coventry, R. I. He is overseer in the spinning room of the 
 Ashland Cotton Company's mills at Jewett City, Conn., where they 
 reside. They have one child, Ethel N., b. at Central Falls, R. I., June 
 27, 1880. 
 
 Maby E. B. Johxsox, b. at Franklin May 27, 1852; m., Sept. 13, 1870, 
 George W. Lord of Tilton. They have one dau. (See Lord gen.) 
 
 Ellex a. Johxsox, b. at Franklin Nov. G, 1854; m. Fred Chancy of 
 St. John's, N. B. They reside at New Boston, where they have large 
 farming interests. They have six children: Lyde N., Florence M., 
 Frederick S., Clarence I., Ralph H. and Lyman J. 
 
 EsTELLA M. Johxsox d. Aug. 4. 1858. 
 
 Fbaxk E. Johnson d., March, 1866, of spotted fever, aged six years. 
 
 Hermax F. Johnson, b. at N. May 11, ISGG, is a weaver in Carter's 
 Mills and resides with his mother. 
 
192 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 KENISTON. 
 
 William KE^-ISTO^^ the first to settle in N., was of Scotch descent. 
 He came from England as a missionary. 
 
 He had a brother, Joshram, noted for his great strength, who once 
 escaped capture by overpowering a "press-gang" of eight British offi- 
 cers. William had two grandsons, William and Valentine, who figure 
 in early N. history. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Children of William, 2d.) 
 
 WiLLiAix Kenistox lived below the Leighton place. He was b., 1726,. 
 and d., May 8, 1803. The place has always been called the "Kenis- 
 ton Crotch." The road at first followed Range 2 to the river, across- 
 which was a bridge less than a mile below the Cross Bridge, called 
 on the records "The Loer Bridge." 
 
 He was a Revolutionary soldier and "Larm List" man. The home 
 was sold to Ebenezer Blanchard and later the house was removed. 
 Mr. Keniston went to live with his grandson, Francis, and a deed of 
 the land to him is on record. The old cellar and some decayed apple 
 trees and rose bushes are still to be seen. His brother, Valentine, 
 lived and d. in N. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 WiLLiAii Kexisto:x, b. 1760; m. Sarah Morrison, and, after some 
 years' stay on the home farm, where five of his 10 chidren were b., 
 removed to Sanbornton Bridge. He was a soldier and was at the 
 Battle of Brandywine. He d. at his son's at Union Bridge, Oct. 30^ 
 1853. 
 
 David Keniston, b. 1750 (?); m. Betsey Dearborn and had three dau. 
 and a son. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary War and was at 
 Bennington, Chatauguy Woods and French's Mills. He d. about 1800, 
 He resided on what is now called High St., near the Ledges. 
 
 Francis Keniston, b. 1777, called "Old Cappen," had a family of 
 seven. He was a captain in the state militia and lived on the Bean Hill 
 road in various places. He d. April 10, 1860. She d. July 29, 1S54,. 
 aged 87. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 (Children of Francis and Keniston.) 
 
 Charles Keniston m. Harriet Dearborn and had a family of 16 
 children by one mother. Most of them settled in town and all were 
 b. there. 
 
 Jonathan Keniston, b. 1808, called "Pluto"; m. Polly Glines and 
 had two children. He lived on the Bean Hill road and was a farm 
 hand. He d., on Granite St., Sept. 11, 1883. She d. April 30, 1884, 
 aged 78. 
 
 Philip Keniston, b. 1815; m., Nov. 29, 1838, Ruth Carr of N. and 
 removed to Campton, where he d., Jan., 1869. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 193 
 
 Harrison Keniston was a farm hand for Joseph Kimhall. His ac- 
 customed price was one dollar a day and he was greatly disturbed one 
 season by Mr. Kimball's offer of 25 cents more. He d. Jan., 1SC9, aged 
 54. 
 
 "William Keniston, b. 1S02; m. Nancy Danforth, b. 1808. He d. in 
 1880, and she, in 18G3, at Concord. They had one son. 
 
 Pbiscilla Keniston, b. Jan. 29, 1821; d., Jan., 1866. She was the 
 home keeper after her mother's death and never m. 
 
 (Children of David and Betsey Dearborn Keniston.) 
 
 Elizabeth (Lizzie) Keniston m. Jonathan Dearborn. (See Dearborn 
 gen.) 
 
 Sally Keniston m. Ephraim Cross and inherited a third of her 
 father's estates, where she lived and d. (See Cross gen.) 
 
 Ruth Keniston m. William Cross, and lived on her father's estate.. 
 (See Cross gen.) 
 
 Polly Keniston m. Nathaniel Foss and lived next door to her sis- 
 ter. (See Foss gen.) 
 
 David Keniston, called "Infant David," never m. He lived alone oa 
 the Ledges. He enlisted in the War of 1812 and was with the Light 
 Infantry, hence the name. He was a man of immense proportions. 
 He served a short time at Portsmouth during the War of 1812. 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Charles and Harriet Dearborn Keniston.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Charles Keniston, b. 1828; m., Feb. 5, 1849, Caroline Collins and 
 resides on the Gerrish road. They had six children. He is a trusty 
 farm hand. 
 
 William Keniston, b. Jan. 13, 1830; m., March 12, 1852, Frances 
 Amanda Davis of N. and resided at N. Depot. He was employed for 
 many years in the wood yard of the B., C. & M. Railroad but, later, 
 kept a grocery store. They had five sons, two of whom d. in boyhood. 
 He d. May, 1888. 
 
 John Keniston m., Aug. 18, 1862, Mrs. Nancy Farwell and had two 
 children. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) He d. at 
 N. Jan. 31, 1902. 
 
 Albert Keniston m., May 26, 1854, Mehitable Glines and had one 
 son. She d. June, 1875. 
 
 Frederick Keniston m. Mrs. Alice Ludlow Austin and had three 
 dau. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) He was a 
 charcoal and brick burner for many years for C. H. Ayers at N. Depot. 
 He removed to Manchester, where he d., Nov., 1904. 
 
 Alpheus Keniston, b. 1854; m. Mrs. Minnie Healey Sanborn and is 
 a farmer on her father's homestead. (See Healey gen.) 
 
 Alfred Keniston m. Mary Knowles of Lakeport. He was per- 
 manently disabled in a railroad collision. 
 
 Lauba Keniston m. George Roberts of N. (See Roberts gen.) 
 18 
 
194 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Lucy Jane Keniston, twin sister of the above, m. James Dearborn 
 of N., and resides at the Depot. He is a farmer. 
 
 Alvin Keniston d. at 17. 
 
 Pekley Keniston d. in childhood. 
 
 James Keniston removed to the West. 
 
 Elbridge Keniston, called "Pink," m. Nellie Farwell of N. and had 
 three children. She d. at Oak Hill June, 1S75. He removed to Frank- 
 lin Falls. 
 
 (Children of Jonathan and Polly Glines Keniston.) 
 
 Francis Keniston, 3d., d., Dec. 2, 1850, aged 16". 
 
 Jeeusha Keniston, d., Oct. 13, 1852. 
 
 Adaline Keniston, b. 1828; m. Lorenzo Davis, called "Jeff," and 
 resided at the Centre and later, on the "Beach," where she d., July 
 12, 1864. They had two sons. 
 
 (Children of William and Nancy Danforth Keniston.) 
 William Henry Keniston, b. 1830; m. Jane Clay, b. 1828,. and re- 
 sided in Concord. They had three (?) children, but one of whom was 
 b. in N. She d. in 1900. 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 
 I (Children of Charles and Caroline Collins Keniston.) 
 
 Ellen Keniston m. (fii'st). Smith Roberts and had one dau. She 
 m. (second), Frank Herbert of Rumney and has four children. 
 
 Henry Keniston m. Mrs. Etta Keniston of Salisbury. 
 
 Hattie Keniston m. Fred Longly and d., leaving one child. 
 
 Emma Keniston m. Fred Longly and has a family of six. 
 
 Eliza Keniston of Canterbury. 
 
 Victoria Keniston m. Cross. 
 
 Lewis Keniston resides at home. He m., July 30, 1900, Eifie Birk- 
 sey of Tilton. 
 
 Two children d. in infancy. 
 
 (Children of William and Amanda Davis Keniston.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 La Fayette Keniston, b. Sept. 15, 1852; d. at N., April 18, 18G7. 
 
 Willie E. Keniston, b. June 17, 1859; m., Dec. 4, 1880, Anna Brown 
 of Concord. He has been for many years a popular conductor on the 
 White Mountains Division of the B. & M. R. R. They reside at Con- 
 cord and have two dau., Veda and Lisle. The former was b. at N. and 
 the latter at Woodsville. 
 
 Walter Scott Keniston, b. Dec. 28, 1SG3; m., Nov. 13, 1886, Suna 
 Stevens of North Haverhill, b. May 19, 1863. He is in the employ of 
 the B. & M. Railroad as plumber. They have three children: Ernest, 
 b. 1888; Mary L., b. 1892; and Frank C, b. 1898. Harold F. d. in 
 infancy. They reside at Concord. 
 
 Frank Keniston, b. 1865, and d., 1877. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 195 
 
 Eddie Kenistox, b. 1S67; m. Edith M. Hannaford of Canterbury, 
 May 14, 1891. He is employed as engineer at granite works in West 
 Concord. They have two children. 
 
 (Child of William Henry and Jane Clay Keniston.) 
 Warren Kexiston, b. at N., 1852; m. Orrilla Martin, and resides at 
 Boscawen. They have two children. 
 
 (Children of John and Nancy Farwell Keniston.) 
 Mrs. Keniston had a dau. by previous marriage, Nellie Farwell. 
 Jennie Keniston m., Nov. 30, 1881, Osborne Colby of Canterbury, 
 where they reside. They have three children. 
 
 Simon Farwell Keniston m., July 4, 1892, Etta Randall of Canter- 
 bury and had two children. He now resides at Boscawen. 
 
 (Children of Elbridge and Nellie Farwell Keniston.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 Nellie Keniston m. William McMurphy and removed to Laconia. 
 Peeley C. Keniston, b. at N., 1870; m., June 15, 1888, Jennie M. 
 Grover. 
 
 Harby Keniston, b. 1871; m., Aug. 30, 1890, Laura M. Leavy, b. 
 1870, at Andover. 
 
 KENISON I. 
 
 Benjamin Kenison was b. in Allenstown in 1792. After his marriage 
 to Hannah Buntin, they resided in Bow until 1835, when he came to 
 N. and bought the Sewall place on Oak Hill, where he was a farmer. 
 They had three children, all b. in Concord. She d. April 6, 1864. 
 He m. (second), Mrs. Mary McClary, and d. Dec. 2, 1877. This farm 
 was afterwards sold to B. F. Ayers and the buildings were burned. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Maby Jane Kenison, b. Jan. 4, 1821; m. William G. Hannaford. 
 (See Hannaford gen.) 
 
 Benjamin Kenison, Jr.. worked in the mills at Tilton. He m. 
 Elizabeth Thorne and went to Colebrook, where his family remained 
 while he went to California in 1849. He went later to Idaho, where 
 he d. in the mines. He had three children. 
 
 Apphia Kenison m., Dec. 14, 1846, Alfred Parker of Methuen. 
 
 Parker Kenison, b. in Bow, became a chiropodist and was for many 
 years on Tremont St., Boston. He later purchased a farm in Lex- 
 ington, Mass., where he d. 
 
 Charles Kenison, b. at Concord April 15, 1830, learned the mill- 
 wright trade and continued in the business until May. 1858. He 
 was in the locomotive and passenger car repair work for the Old 
 Colony R. R. Co. for six years. His connection with the Portland, 
 
196 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Kennebec and Maine Central Railroad dates from March, 1S64, on 
 locomotives; then general foreman of the passenger car department 
 to 1881, and he is now master car builder. 
 
 KENISON II. 
 
 John H. Kexisox came, when a boy, to N. from Canterbury and 
 after various places of abode built a home on Vine St. He was a 
 farmer and carpenter. He m. Sarah A. Drown of Charleston, Vt. 
 They had two dau. She d. at N. Jan. 29, 1900. He d. three years 
 later at Tilton. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Blanche Rose Kexisox, b. at Concord March 21, 1872; m., Oct. 21, 
 1891, Frank J. Taylor of St. Johnsbury, Vt. They had one child, 
 John F., nov/ of East Andover. She m. (second), March 12, 1904, 
 Sydney Arthur Oaks, b. at Birmingham, England, Nov. 24, 1875. 
 They now reside at Roxbury, Mass. 
 
 Maud Ella Kenlson, b. at Tilton Sept. 3, 1875; m., Dec. 24, 1896, 
 Arthur David Hough, b. at Sudbury, "Vt. They reside at Boston, 
 where he is employed as a clerk. 
 
 KENNEY. 
 
 Frank Kenney and wife came to N., April 9, 1882, from Lawrence, 
 Mass., where he had been employed as foreman in weave rooms. 
 They were both b. in England, he at Manchester, and she at Halifax, 
 Yorkshire County. They located on Bay St., where he d. Dec. 22, 
 1888. She d. at the home of her dau. in Tilton, Nov. 28, 1899, aged 
 70 years. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Annie Kenney, b. at Ballardvale, Mass., May 12, 1864; m., Nov. 
 12, 1888, Charles A. Towns of Tilton, where they reside. (See Towns 
 gen.) They have two sons. 
 
 KEZAR, KEAZER, KEASOR I. 
 
 The Kezars were citizens of Canterbury before the north fields 
 were incorporated. Reuben was at Bunker Hill and George was else- 
 where in the service. The first tax list contains the name of Dr. 
 George and Lieutenant Edmunds appears in 1796. Widow Jane, Dr. 
 George, Reuben and George appear in 1797. 
 
 As late as 1825 we find Asa, Dr. John, Joseph S., George, Jonathan 
 and William. 
 
 Asa d. in N. Oct. 14, 1840. 
 
 Edmund Kezar lived in the extreme southeast corner of the town 
 and had a family of 12, most of whom removed to Stewartstown with 
 
GENEALOGIES. 197 
 
 him. This farm is now owned by Charles Payson. The only sur- 
 viving member of the family in the vicinity is Mark Keasor of Til- 
 ton. (See portrait and sketch.) 
 
 The original home of the Dr. Kezar family was on the Miles Gate 
 place, now owned by Fred Bryant. They owned 200 acres there. 
 
 Dr. John Kezar lived later below where the Dow settlement now 
 stands. He was a tanner and the sheds stood acress the road on the 
 F. B, Shedd farm, and the place is still called Kezar Corner. He m., 
 March 4, 1847, Susanna Hodgdon. They had three sons. 
 
 She m. (second), Capt. William Prescott and remained on the 
 homestead. They had a dau., Sally, who d. in early womanhood, July, 
 1847. Mr. Prescott d. in 1845, aged 80. She d. May 26, 1859. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Dr. John Kezae was a celebrated doctor and surgeon. He prac- 
 tised for 23 years at Starksboro. He returned later to N., where he 
 d. Aug. 14, 1872, aged 90. He m., March 5, 1832, Mary Haines of 
 N., who d. March 24, 186G, aged 5G. 
 
 Joseph Smith Kezak, b. 1794, lived for years at the foot of the 
 Kezar hills on the Bean Hill road. At first he had oxen and cows and 
 tilled his land, but lived alone. He lost his interest in farming by 
 degrees, grew peculiar and allowed his farm to grow up to bushes. 
 He went to live with his mother after Captain Prescott's death 
 and remained there alone after her death. He d. of starvation 
 and a broken arm March 12, 1865, having denied entrance to every 
 one for days. He had abundant means and, being afraid of banks, 
 money was found here and there securely hidden. 
 
 His old home was bought by Rev. Simeon Spencer, torn down and 
 removed to Park St., where it is now the home of Charles Heath. 
 
 KEZAR 11. 
 
 Jonathan Kezar was the son of Reuben, who was called the "old 
 well digger," having dug and stoned 47 in town, previous to his re- 
 moval to Vermont. 
 
 He sold the island at the junction of the Winnepesaukee and Pemi- 
 gewasset rivers to John Kezar of Starksboro, in 1842, for a bushel of 
 salt, which he carried on his back to Peacham, Vt., from Franklin. He 
 also bought a three-pail iron kettle when within six miles of the town, 
 put it over his head and thus carried them both into town. 
 
 They were probably relatives of the Kezars in East N., although 
 this Is not known for a certainty. Jonathan was b. at Cabot, Vt., 
 in 1796, and m., Dec. 3, 1823, Mehitable Danforth, and had 12 chil- 
 dren, including two pairs of twins. He was a hard working farm 
 hand and a builder of stone walls. In his old age he became greatly 
 bent over and warped- by rheumatism. 
 
198 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 He became a Christian late in life and his fervid exhortations, 
 although not models in manner or matter at first, became not only 
 edifying but eloquent and showed in a wonderful manner the up- 
 lifting and refining influence of the Christian religion, in which his 
 family shared. He went down into the baptismal waters shouting, 
 and went "home" in the same exultant manner July 20, 1871. She 
 d. Aug. 2, 1880. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Jesse Kezae, b. at Factory Village, 1856; d. at N. Dec. 29, 1899. 
 
 Jacob Kezar, b. 1839; d., Sept. 26, 1867. 
 
 William Kezae, b. 1840, and David Kezae were soldiers in the 
 Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 Note. The only remaining member of this family is Mrs. Mary 
 Kezar Webster of Franklin Lower Village. 
 
 KIMBALL. 
 
 The common ancestor of the great majority, if not of all, of the 
 Kimballs in this country was Richard, 1st., who, with his family, 
 embarked at Ipswich in the County of Suffolk, England, April 10, 
 1634, in the ship Elizabeth, William Andrews, Master. Arriving in 
 Boston Harbor, he took his family to Watertown and there estab- 
 lished their first home in the New World. He was in the prime of life 
 and had a trade which would be eminently useful in the new colony. 
 
 His services were in such request that an offer soon came to him 
 of a house and lot and other privileges on condition that he would 
 leave Watertown and go to Ipswich, Mass., and become the town 
 wheelwright. He accepted the offer and settled down to business. 
 He "sawed wood," built wheels — and a reputation — filled many im- 
 portant town offices and prospered. In less than 150 years from that 
 time the woods, the fields, the towns and the continental army all had 
 a goodly representation from the Kimball family. The Bean Hill 
 Kimballs are from this family. 
 
 Reuben Kimball, a Revolutionary soldier from Concord, came to 
 N. soon after the battle of Bunker Hill. He fared hard at the hands 
 of the British that day, being hit with three musket balls. One tore 
 off his hat; another his powder horn; while a third caused a wound 
 in his leg that never healed. 
 
 His deed of the Abner Miles farm on Bean Hill is dated 1776. He d. 
 there June 13, 1815. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Benjamin Kimball inherited his father's farm, but sold out to his 
 brother, David, who came with his wife, Hannah Abbott of Concord. 
 They spent their lives there and had a family of eight, three of whom 
 d. in youth. The names of the other five were: David, Jr., Isaac, 
 Simeon, John and Joseph. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 199 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 David Kimball, Jr., was b. at N. in ISOO and d., 1875. He never 
 established a home of his own but dwelt with his brothers on Beau 
 Hill and cousins in Concord. His mind was not quite level on all 
 subjects, his friends say, owing to a romance in early life, but he led 
 an unselfish, thoughtful life and was called the sage and philosopher 
 of the neighborhood. 
 
 Is.\Ac Kimball, b. June 10, 1802; d. in Lowell, Mass., in 1875. He 
 m., Dec. 16, 1832, Sarah Moody. 
 
 John Kimb.^ll, b. Feb. 22, 180G; d. at N. Dec. 22, 1868. He m. Susan 
 Weeks of Sanbornton, b. 1799, and spent his whole life on the home- 
 stead. They had a dau. and son. She d. July 22, 1874. He was a man 
 of more than ordinary intelligence and was one of the few who made 
 a record of passing events and whose notes have great value in the 
 compiling of this history. 
 
 Joseph Kimball, b. March, 1808; d., Nov. 9, 1865. He m. Harriet 
 Rogers, Dec. 6, 1832. (See Rogers gen.) He established a home 
 a little down the hill from the home farm and on a part of it. He 
 added to it from time to time many contiguous acres. Here they 
 reared a family of seven. One of these, who remembers the old home, 
 lovingly says, "It was known for many years by a small army of rela- 
 tives and friends as headquarters for maple sugar, chestnuts, apples, 
 cider, butter and cheese, milk and honey, music and song, and the days 
 and nights were few that guests were not found enjoying its hos- 
 pitality." 
 
 SiMEOx Kimball, b. at N., 1810; d. at Tilton in 1865. He m. Fannie 
 Rogers, a neighbor, Sept., 1837. He was a painter at Tilton for many 
 years. They had a dau., Lucy Frances, and a son, Arthur Livermore. 
 She was a celebrated cook and commissary for a small army of 
 workmen who constructed the B., C. & M. Railroad, following them 
 far into the mountains. She d. at Tilton Aug., 1853. He m. (second), 
 Betsey McDaniel. (See McDaniel gen.) 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of John and Susan Weeks Kimball.) 
 
 Harriet Anx Kimball, b. at N., and m. (pub. 25, 1855), Rev. 
 
 Uriah Chase of Canterbury, and d. at Gilmanton in 1S65. 
 
 Joiix Andre Kimb.\ll, b. at N., 1846; m., 1864, Ammoretta Kimball 
 of Belmont. Mr. Kimball sold the farm a few years ago and resides 
 at Franklin Falls. He has five children. 
 
 (Children of Joseph and Harriet Rogers Kimball.) 
 
 Lucy Axx Kimball, b. at N. Dec. 15, 1835; m., Feb. 7. 1856, William 
 Woodbury of N. and resided at Newport, later removing to California, 
 where she d. Jan. 21, 1891. They had one dau., Lizzie Viola, now the 
 wife of Fred Pollard of Newport. 
 
 Elizabeth Oilman Kimball, b. in N. July 19. 1838; m.. 1865. Albert 
 H. Hall of N., at MarysvlUe. Cal. He d. Aug. 12, 1882. (See Hall 
 
200 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 gen.) She resides at Vallejo, Cal. She m. (second), Yvllliam Wood- 
 bury. (See Woodbury gen.) 
 
 Joseph Warrex Kimball, b. at N. Aug. 22, 1841, and d. at N. Sept. 
 21, 1862. 
 
 Rebecca Viola Kimball, b. at N. May 18, 1844; m., Nov. 22, 1S81, 
 Rev. Joseph W. Yays of El Paso, Tex., and resided at Napa, Cal., where 
 he d. Nov. 21, 1884, and where she still resides. 
 
 Roy Thurston Kimball (see portrait), b. Aug. 2, 1846. His school 
 days were divided between the district school of Bean Hill and Tilton 
 Seminary. 
 
 At 22 he left the farm to engage in the canned goods business in 
 Portland, Me., with John Winslow Jones and D. W. Hoegg. 
 
 At 30 he went to San Francisco, Cal., where he has since been 
 somewhat prominently identified with manufacturing interests, chiefly 
 with leather and pulled wool. Mr. Kimball is unmarried. He is an 
 Episcopalian, a member of the Jefferson Square Club of San Francisco, 
 a 32d degree Mason and a Knight Templar. 
 
 Sarah Hattie Kimball, b. Sept. 19, 1848; m., 1874, Henry E. 
 Wright of Newport. They are now living in San Francisco, Cal. 
 
 George Abbott Kimball, b. July 6, 1858, now resides in Napa, Cal. 
 
 (Children of Simeon and Fannie Rogers Kimball.) 
 Arthur Livermore Kimball, b. at Tilton May 27, 1839; served in 
 the Civil War and is an inmate of the New Hampshire Soldiers' 
 Home. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 Lucy Frances Kimball, b. at N. Aug. 21, 1841, and d., 1858, at Til- 
 ton, when 17 years of age. 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 
 (Children of John Andre and Ammoretta Kimball.) 
 
 Harriet Ann Kimball, b. July 25, 1865; d., Nov. 5, 1870. 
 
 Alberta James Kimball, b. Oct. 30, 1872; d., Jan. 7, 1877. 
 
 George Ernest Kimball, b. May 1, 1877; m., June 24, 1902, Cora 
 Merriam of Westminster, Mass. He is a teamster at Westminster, 
 where he resides. 
 
 Merton Leslie Kimball and Mertie Estelle Kimball, twins, b. at 
 N. June 25, 1878. The former is employed at Carter's Mill, Tilton. 
 The latter m., April 29, 1903, John L. Flanders, fireman on the 
 Pranklin and Tilton train. They reside in N. 
 
 KNOWLES. 
 
 Joseph Knowles, the first of the name to locate in N., was b. in 
 Chester June 15, 1758, and d. in N. Feb. 16, 1815. 
 
 He m., 1779, Sarah Locke of Chester, b. Dec. 13, 1761, and d. in 
 JN. Aug. 30, 1841. 
 
 He purchased the farm, still owned by his descendants on Bay Hill, 
 
ROY T. KIMBALL. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 201 
 
 of Nathaniel Whitcher, for a two-year-old heifer, it is said, and prob- 
 ably erected the first buildings on the place. He had two sons and 
 three dau. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 WnxiAM Knowles, b. April G, 1781, is supposed to have been the 
 oldest child. He spent his whole life on the home farm. He went 
 to Haverhill, Mass., in 1802 to bring his bride, Betsey Clement, to his 
 heart and home. She was fatally ill on his arrival and was buried 
 on what was to have been her wedding day. 
 
 He m., in 1805, Zilpha Thorn, who was b. at Amesbury, Mass., Jan., 
 1, 1782, and had a family. 
 
 He d. May 26, 1864. After her husband's death Mrs. Knowles lived 
 in the home of her dau., Mrs. Cass, for several years and d. there 
 Dec. 27, 1876. 
 
 Joseph Kxoavles, Jr., lived on Bean Hill, where the David Brown 
 farm buildings now stand. He m., April 28, 1805, Hannah Haines, and 
 soon after removed to Piermont. He and his father took a journey 
 on horseback to the Far West, prospecting for a new home. He re- 
 moved about 1836 or 1837 to Hurricane, 111., where he d. in 1840. 
 They had three children and perhaps more. Two of the children were 
 Mrs. Harriet Richmond and Mrs. Hannah Boot of Fillmore, 111. 
 
 Christian Knowles and Sarah Knowles, twins, b. Oct. 7, 17SG. 
 
 Sally Knowles, b. at Salisbury April 11, 1789; m. Josiah Bachelder 
 of Andover, March 24, 1819, and d. there Aug. 29, 1859. They had 
 a son, William A., father of ex-Gov. N. J. Bachelder, and two dau., 
 Martha, wife of J. H. Rowell of Franklin, and Mary, wife of George 
 E. Emery of Andover. 
 
 Hannah Knowles, b. Feb. 9, 1792; m. Stephen Haines and lived 
 lor many years in Vershire, Vt., but after her husband's death she 
 removed to Exeter. 
 
 John KNO^vLES, b. Oct. 10, 1794, and d. May 29, 1853. He always 
 resided on the homestead. 
 
 PoLLT Knowles, b. Aug. 6, 1797; m. Josiah Woodbury of N. (See 
 Woodbury gen.) 
 
 A son and dau., b. Jan., 1800. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Wesley Knowles, b. Oct. 6, 1805; m. (first), Oct. 3, 1832, Jane W. 
 Oilman, b. Oct. 6, 1805, and had three sons and a dau. She d. Sept. 
 20, 1857. He m. (second), June 26, 1860, Mrs. Sophronia Clement 
 Johnson of Dunbarton, b. Oct. 9, 1817. 
 
 Mr. Knowles inherited the homestead and, with good buildings, 
 horses and cattle, was an extensive farmer. This farm is now owned 
 by his nephew and has never passed from the name. 
 
 He d. Sept. 5, 1892. Mrs. Knowles later resided on Howard Ave., 
 where she d. Feb., 1899, and was buried at Dunbarton. Her sister 
 d. two days previous, aged 69. Mrs. Clement, the mother, on being 
 
202 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 
 
 exhumed to be buried with her dau., was found to be completely 
 petrified. She d. about 30 years before. 
 
 Betsey Knowles, b. March 11, 1808; m. Rev. William D. Cass, a 
 Free Baptist, and later a prominent Methodist, minister, and resided, 
 late in life, at Tilton. They were greatly interested in the erection of 
 the New Hampshire Conference Seminary. She d. May 3, 1882. 
 
 Cyrene Knowles, b. Jan. 21, 1813; d., Aug. 11, 1815. 
 
 Joseph Knowles, 3d., b. July 29, 1817, read medicine with Dr. N. 
 G. Ladd of Sanbornton Bridge. He graduated from the Woodstock, 
 Vt., Medical School and located at Meredith Bridge, where he m. 
 Olive Jane Ladd and wenJL to reside in her home. After his death, 
 Sept. 15, 1852, she m. Dr. David S. Prescott, who d. Feb. 25, 1874. 
 She still remains in the home where she was b., and where her two 
 husbands, physicians, spent their lives. 
 
 William F. Knowles, b. April 24, 1822; m., Jan. 1, 1850, Sarah P. 
 Robinson of Boston, Mass., b. Nov. 27, 1827, and resided in Boston. 
 They had two dau., Addie Viola and Carrie Way, and a son, William 
 Fletcher Knowles, a physician in Boston, who occupies the Knowles 
 homestead as a summer home. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 William Fletcher Know^les, b. at Cambridge, Mass., Feb. 17, 1801; 
 m., Dec. 2, 1896, Charlotte Treat of Frankfort, Me., b. Jan. 23, 1871. 
 They have two children, Robert Treat Knowles and Katherine Knov/les, 
 b. at Belmont, Mass. 
 
 (Children of Wesley and Jane W. Oilman Knowles.) 
 
 Charles W. Knowles, b. May 29, 1835, is the proprietor of a large 
 hotel in Portland, Ore. 
 
 George C. Knowles, b. at N. Nov. 24, 1838, was killed in a railroad 
 collision at Whitesboro, N. Y., May 16, 1858. 
 
 Lucien W. Knowles, b. March 22, 1842, was educated at the New 
 Hampshire Conference Seminary, and enlisted at the breaking out 
 of the Civil War in Company D, Cavalry. He contracted fever in 
 camp in Concord and d. in N. Sept. 2, 1864. 
 
 Laura J. C. Knowles, b. Oct. 4, 1843; m.. May 29, 1866, Marcus A. 
 Hardy of Boston, Mass. He was a manufacturer of torpedo boats in 
 South America and was associated with Henry Cilley. Mrs. Hardy 
 was a woman of fine physique and unlimited energy and was for a 
 while a public reader. She d. March 30, 1885. He d. April 4, 1885. 
 Both are buried on the homestead at N. 
 
 LANG. 
 
 Joseph Smith Lang was b. at Tilton March 29, 1830; m., May 19, 
 1860, Ruth Dearborn, b. at N. Nov. 3, 1827. He moved to her home 
 in N. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 203 
 
 In 1S80 they sold to the Winnipiseogee Paper Company and bought 
 the adjoining William Forrest farm. This he sold later to Richard 
 Thomas and removed to Belmont, where they now reside. Mrs. Lang 
 was educated at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and was 
 a faithful teacher previous to her marriage. (See Dearborn gen.) 
 They have two children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 Henrietta Josephixe L.a.ng, b. Jan. 25, 1862. She was educated 
 at the Seminary and taught in N. schools. 
 
 JoHx Dearborx Lang, b. April 9, 1SG5, is a farmer with his father. 
 
 LANCASTER. 
 
 George C. Lancaster was b. in Northwood Oct. 11, 1818. He m. 
 (first), Eunice W. Corser of Webster, Nov. 12, 1845. She d. Feb. 
 19, 1872. He m. (second), Betsey O. Copp of N., Oct. 30, 1878. She d. 
 Jan. 15, 1890 (see Copp III gen.), aged 73. 
 
 Removing from Northwood, Mr. Lancaster resided in Concord and 
 vicinity till 1879, when he removed to N., where he d. April 17, 1899. 
 He had five children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Augustus C. Lancaster, b. March 10, 1847; d., March 29, 1875. He 
 resided in Concord, where he was employed in a bank. 
 
 Emma Frances Lancaster, b. Sept. 5, 1849; d., Sept. 19, 1853. 
 
 Maby Fellows Lancaster, b. June 24, 1851; d., Oct. 6, 1853. 
 
 Emma Fellows Lancaster, b. Aug. 6, 1854; m., Oct. 19, 1892, Charles 
 L. Clay of Harvard, Mass., where he is employed as district super- 
 visor of schools. They have one son, Charles Lancaster Clay, b. Dec. 
 6, 1896. 
 
 Georgia Etta Lancaster, b. Oct. 12. 1859; m., Nov. 9, 1892, Edwiu 
 J. Young. (See Young gen.) She was educated in the schools of 
 Concord and the Normal School at Quincy, Mass., where, following 
 her graduation, she taught five years, and, later, four years at Cam- 
 bridge, Mass. 
 
 LAWRENCE. 
 Frank P. Lawrence came to N. from Tilton, where he had long 
 been employed by Hon. C. E. Tilton. He m., Feb. 28, 1S94, Lizzie 
 Ayer, b. in Scotland, 1871. Her parents now reside In Franklin. 
 Mr. Lawrence is a contractor and builder and is the owner of several 
 houses and some real estate in town. They erected a residence and 
 lived for a while on Howard Ave. At present they reside in Tilton. 
 They have two children. 
 
'204 HISTORY OF NORTHFEELD. 
 
 LEAVITT I. 
 
 Moses Leavitt, the ancestor of the N. Leavitts, was m. in Exeter, 
 •Oct. 26, 1681, to Dorothy Dudley, dau. of Rev. Samuel Dudley, whose 
 first wife was Mary, dau. of Gov. John Winthrop. 
 
 Their grandsons, Jonathan Leavitt and Wadleigh, came to the vicin- 
 ity of Bean Hill long before the Revolutionary War. He was called 
 Popple Leavitt. 
 
 They owned the 100-acre lots, Nos. 23, 24, and 30, and 18 lots of 
 the common land. No one living remembers aught of them. Their 
 tarms were later owned by the Kezars, Smiths and Abbotts. 
 
 The Fifth Range at and near its intersection with the Bean Hill 
 road was the nucleus of the homes, and others are further south 
 on the range leading to Canterbury Borough, which was early open 
 to horseback riders. Cellar holes, rose bushes and decayed apple 
 trees are the only existing signs of their sojourning. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 The records, however, speak of Jonathan and "Wadleigh, who were 
 in the Revolutionary War, and later we find the names of Gideon 
 .Joseph and Joseph, Jr., Joshua, Ruth, Love and Jonathan, Jr. 
 
 On the petition for the new town, March 30, 17S0, we find the name 
 of Joseph and on the first tax list, called "Prizel List," we find, in 1796, 
 the name of Dudley, the almanac maker, and he was taxed the follow- 
 ing year 4s. 6d. He also received £3 12s. and £7 4s. for teaching school 
 in town in 1795. He was then 20 years of age. He had a home of his 
 own on the corner of Lot 23 and owned Lot 24 and lived there when 
 first m. (In Hon. J. B. Walker's sketch of him in the Farmer's Al- 
 manac for 1896, had he said N. instead of "Deerfield," it would agree 
 better with the "Records.") 
 
 Jonathan sold eight acres and two rods to Jeremiah Smith and 
 the tjalance of his possessions to Shubael Dearborn, his brother-in- 
 law. Dudley also sold to Mr. Smith. Wadleigh sold out to Gideon. 
 The names disappear from N. records in 1800, excepting those on their 
 tombstones, some of them being buried in the Abbott grave yard. 
 
 Jonathan Leavitt m. Ruth Cram and had two dau. besides the sons 
 mentioned above. 
 
 Ruth Leavitt m. Shubael Dearborn and her parents lived near 
 them on Dearborn Hill, where both d. and were buried in the Hodgdon 
 grave yard. The old stones falling to decay have been recently re- 
 placed by their great-grandchildren with the following inscription: 
 "Jonathan Leavitt, d. May 13, 1824. Ruth Leavitt, d. April, 1820." 
 
 Love Leavitt m.. May 26, 1768, Benjamin Glines and was the mother 
 of nine children. (See Glines gen.) 
 
 Wadleigh Leavitt removed to Littleton and later to Canada. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 205 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of Wadleigh and Elizabeth Leavitt.) 
 
 Wadleigh Leavitt, b. at Littleton, 1S08; m. Abagail Caswell of 
 Canada and had 15 children. But three live in N. Mr. Leavitt, Sr., 
 returned to N. and d. here, Jan. 27, 1S91, aged 87. She d. at N. March 
 8, 1896. 
 
 Mary Leavitt, b. at Melbourne, Canada, April 27, 1854; m., Oct. 
 3, 1888, Andrew E. Lamb, b. at Brompton, P. Q., where he was a. 
 merchant. Mrs. Lamb came to N. in 1894 and is employed as a nurse 
 
 Nelsox Leavitt, b. at Melbourne, P. Q., in 1846; now resides at N. 
 and is a farm hand. 
 
 Edwin V. Leavitt came to N. in 1890 from Melbourne, Canada,, 
 where he was b. Feb. 15, 1857. He m. (first), Feb. 12, 1879, Nancy 
 A. Jackson, b. in his native town Jan. 1, 1856. He was a farmer there 
 but after he came to N., where they now reside, he became a car- 
 penter. They had five children. Mrs. Leavitt d. at N. July 4, 1896. 
 He m. (second). May 27, 1901, Jennie S. Kinsley, b. in Canada Aug. 18,. 
 1873. They have one child. 
 
 Bextox C. Leavitt, son of Dudley, a nephew of Dudley, the almanac 
 maker, was b. at Melbourne, Canada, Jan. 10, 1849. He m., 1874, 
 Emily Cummings of Lowell, Mass., and resided at Melbourne, where 
 all but one of the children were b. They came to N. about 1888.. 
 He is a carpenter and lather. They have seven children. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Benton and Emily Cummings Leavitt.) 
 (B. at Melbourne, Canada.) 
 
 Alvix B. Leavitt, b. Feb. 8, 1875, took a preparatory course at 
 Tilton Seminary and graduated at Dartmouth College. He is in busi- 
 ness in Boston. He m. Laura Urquhart of and they have one 
 
 child. 
 
 Hattie E. Leavitt, b. April 1, 1876; m., Aug. 11, 1S94, Austin W. 
 Merrill of Thornton. They reside at Reading, Mass. They have three 
 children, all but one b. at N. 
 
 Albert Dudley Leavitt, b. May 18, 1879; m., 1903, Mary Laducia of 
 
 . He resides at Reading, Mass., and is employed on the street 
 
 cars. 
 
 Emily F. Le.vvitt, b. July 12, 1881; m., Jan. 10, 1904, Herbert M. 
 Noyes of Landaff. They reside at Concord and have one child. 
 
 Bertha K. Leavitt, b. Oct. 20, 1883; m. William Farrar of Laconia 
 and had one child. He was a farm hand in N. He d. at Laconia in 
 Dec, 1904. 
 
 Ida May Leavitt, b. May 28, 1S86; m., Sept. 9, 1903, Charles B. 
 Connelly of Bethlehem. They reside in N., where he is employed aa 
 a weaver. 
 
 Arthur G. Leavitt, b. at N. March 26, 1890. 
 
206 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 (Children of Edwin and Nancy Jackson Leavitt.) 
 
 Ernest Elvax Leavitt, b. at Melbourne, Canada, Jan. 19, 1880. He 
 graduated from the New Hampshire Conference Seminary, class of 
 1900, and later was a weaver in the Elm Woolen Mills and also learned 
 the trade of a carpenter. He d. Jan. 31, 1903. 
 
 Gbace Jl. Leavitt, b. March 26, 1881, and Walter, b. 1889, d. the 
 same week in June, 1892, of diphtheria. 
 
 Violet E. Leavitt, b. at Melbourne, Canada, June 5, 1S85, graduated 
 from the Union Graded School, class of 1900, and resides in Man- 
 chester. 
 
 (Child of Edwin and Jennie Kinsley Leavitt.) 
 
 Evelyn Elizabeth Leavitt, b. Aug. 18, 1904. 
 
 LEAVITT II. 
 
 Hamilton Leavitt came to N. from Sanbornton Bridge and after 
 residing for some years on Park St. he bought the Oilman farm on 
 Bay Hill of Peter Smart. He had one dau., Marinda Jane, who be- 
 came the wife of Retyre Mitchel Couch of Warner and resided in 
 Manchester, coming later to her home, where she d. Nov. 25, 1876. 
 Mr. Couch conducted a meat market at Tilton and m. (second), Sarah 
 A. Goodrich. Later they resided on the Clark place until their 
 departure for Southern Pines, N. C, where he d. and where she still 
 resides. They have four children, two of whom, a son, Everett, and 
 a dau., were b. in N. Mr. and Mrs. Leavitt sold in 1879 and removed to 
 Tilton, where both d. 
 
 LEDOUX. 
 
 Joseph Ledoux came to N. from Laconia, N. H., Sept., 1896. He 
 was b. at St. Simon, Canada, April 13, 1845. He m., Jan. 28, 1870, 
 Elmire Gauthier, b. at St. Camille, Canada, May 11, 1857. He is em- 
 ployed by the Elm Woolen Mills Manufacturing Company. They 
 have 12 children. Mrs. Ledoux d. at N. Jan. 15, 1903. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Six b. at St. Simon, Canada.) 
 
 4 
 
 Elmiee M. Ledoux, b. April 6, 1870. 
 
 Felix J. Ledoux, b. May, 1879; d. at St. Simon Sept., 1879. 
 
 Emile v. Ledoux, b. Aug. 13, 1881, resides at Laconia. He is em- 
 ployed in a hosiery mill. 
 
 Alberic L. Ledoux, b. Dec. 17, 1882, resides at Laconia. 
 
 Alida M. Ledoux, b. May 9, 1883, is employed at the Tilton Optical 
 Works. 
 
 Joseph A. Ledoux, b. Dec. 1, 1884; d. at Franklin Falls Sept., 1886. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 207 
 
 Rose D. Ledoux, b. at St. Liboire, Canada, Aug. 31, 188C, is employed 
 at the works of the Ideal Manufacturing Company. 
 
 Alphonse B. Ledoux, b. at Franklin Falls Oct. 6, 1888; d. at Tilton, 
 from the result of a fall, June 25, 1899. 
 
 Louis P. Ledoux, b. at St. Liboire, Canada, April 30, 1890; d., May 
 1891. 
 
 Leonard M. Ledoux, b. at Laconia March 14, 1894. 
 
 Anna Jeanne Ledoux, b. at Laconia Aug. 29, 1896. 
 
 LuMiNA M. Ledoux, b. at Tilton Oct. 26, 1898. 
 
 They reside on Arch St. 
 
 LEIGHTON. 
 
 Edward Leighton came from Somersworth to N. in 1817 and pur- 
 chased of Jonathan Cross Lot 189 of the original survey granted to 
 Valentine Hill. 
 
 He was b. April 16, 1781, and m. (first), in 1807, Lydia Rand of 
 Somersworth. She d. in 1812. He m. (second), Judith Rand of Barn- 
 stead in 1813. She was b. July, 1797, and d. at N. April 5, 1888. He 
 d. March 28, 1873. He is said to have never missed the annual town 
 meeting. His farm was included in that part of N. ceded to Franklin. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Children of Edward and Lydia Rand.) 
 Moses Leighton, b. at Somersworth July 23, 1808; d. at Sanbornton 
 Aug., 1886; m., Oct. 4, 1835, Mary Smith, b. 1813, and d., June 28. 
 1872. He was a farmer and resided at Sanbornton Bay. They had 
 eight children. He m. (second), Mrs. Ladd, May 6, 1873. 
 Ira Leighton, b. at Somersworth, 1810; d., 1813. 
 
 (Children of Edward and Judith Rand Leighton.) 
 
 Lydia Leighton, b. July 9, 1814, at Somersworth; m., Nov. 16, 1837, 
 Samuel Brown of N., b. Nov. 11, 1813. He lived on the home farm 
 with his parents. (See Brown gen.) They had five children: Annie 
 M., Albert, Laura, Mary C. and Lyman. 
 
 Thomas Leighton, b. at N. March 11, 1817; m., Jan. 1, 1844, Eliza 
 Sanborn of Canterbury, b. Dec. 17, 1824. He d. Aug. 21, 1874. She d. 
 Dec. 25, 1891. They had one dau., Ellen C, who m. Albert Brown of 
 N. (See Brown gen.) They resided on a fine intervale farm on the 
 banks of the Merrimack River in Canterbury. 
 
 John S. Leighton, b. at N., 1819; d., 1821. 
 
 Mary Leighton, b. at N. Oct. 12, 1821; m., 1851. James Gardner of 
 Lowell, Mass., b. 1878. After living some years at Lowell they took 
 up their abode at Franklin Falls, where he d. May 16, 1883. They 
 had four children, three of whom d. in childhood. The other, Susie, 
 m. George Foster of Concord and has one dau., Evelyn. Mrs. Gard- 
 ner d. at the home of her dau. in Concord March 26, 1901. 
 
208 
 
 HISTORY OF NORTHFEELD. 
 
 Edwakd Leigiitox, b. at N., 1824; m., March 28, 1851, Sarah E, 
 Kent. They had six children. Three d. young and the other three,. 
 Edward, Sarah and Minnie, are living. Mr. Leighton removed to Wis- 
 consin and later to Kansas, where both d. 
 
 Judith Leighton, b. at N. Aug., 1827; m., Jan. 8, 1851, W. H. Ford 
 of Sanbornton, b. Jan. 22, 181G, and d. at Concord Feb. 22, 1874. He 
 was one of the Ford Bros., foundrymen, of Concord. They had four 
 children. She m. (second), Benjamin C. Sargent, a native of San- 
 bornton Bridge, but a resident of Evanston, 111., where she d. June, 
 1904. 
 
 John F. Leighton, b. at N., 1832; m. (first), Mary A. Hannaford 
 Aug. 27, 1857, and was a farmer on the homestead. They had three 
 children. She d. June 5, 1886. He m. (second), Feb. 9, 1888, Emma 
 Colby of Canterbury, and had a son and dau. He d. Nov. 9, 1901. 
 
 Lauren Leighton went West when a young man. I can get no data 
 regarding him. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Childi'en of first wife.) 
 
 Mabia L. Leighton, b. June 13, 1858; d., July 30, 1881. 
 
 Nellie A. Leighton, b. Sept. 9, 1860; d., July 20, 1893. She m., 1881, 
 Benjamin F. Kimball of Franklin Falls and had four children, Mary 
 Edna; Rena Eva; Bertha L.; Harry Leighton. 
 
 George E. Leighton, b. Oct. 15, 1864. 
 
 (Children of second wife.) 
 
 Leonard C. Leighton, b. June 18, 1889. 
 Mary E. Leighton, b. March 12, 1895. 
 
 LINDSEY or LINSEY. 
 
 James Linsey's name occurs often in the Proprietors' Record Book. 
 "At a legal meeting of the proprietors of Canterbury in the province 
 of New Hampshire called and held at Said Canterbury on Tuesday 
 the Second day of August 1750 at the house of Capt Jeremiah 
 Clough. It was voted that — eighty — in the meadow called Scundog- 
 gady in Canterbury Township be sold to Mr James Linsey of sd 
 Canterbury for the sum of three Hundred & forty pounds Old 
 Tenner Money." This places him as a landholder in the north fields 
 10 years before the arrival of Benjamin Blanchard, the first settler. 
 This land is described in the Return as follows: "Beginning at an 
 Elm standing a little on the East Side of the Brook coming out from 
 Chestnut Pond (mark the name in 1750), so called, then Runs North 
 166 Rods to a pitch pine spotted on four sides then West 100 Rod to a 
 stake standing by a Brook then South 106 Rods to a hemlock spotted 
 on four sides, standing a little to the West of a Brook then to the Elm. 
 which is spotted on four sides which is the first Bound mentioned." 
 
GENEALOGIES. 209 
 
 "This Return of Land Voted to James Linsey in the year 1750" is 
 dated August "91st," 1756. 
 
 No. 2 of the Gospel Lots was "struck off to James Linsey for five 
 hundred and five pounds according to Dollars at 4.50 per Dollar." 
 
 These lots were sold at a legal meeting of the proprietors, held 
 May 20, 1756. 
 
 This must have been the Robert Smith farm on the Merrimack River 
 and a part of the Gerrish intervale. 
 
 James Linsey or Lindsey was settled on Scundoggady meadow lot 
 before 1753, at which time the trouble with the Indians, Sabattis and 
 Plausaway, occurred. Both the Lindseys and Miles had slaves and! 
 the Indians stole Peer of the one and Tom of the other, tied them 
 up and led them away. (See Miles gen.) The old cellar holes, where 
 stood the homes of the Lindseys and Perkins, are still to be seen. 
 
 There is also the Return of a lot of land laid out to him, which was 
 granted the twenty-sixth day of December, 1757. 
 
 It is bounded as follows: "beginning at the North West Corner of 
 Sondoggady Medow Lot, North 160 rods to a white Oak No 9 then 
 
 East 105 rods to a White Oak No 2 then South 160 Rods to a 
 
 No. 2 then west to first bound." Also another Return of a "Lot of 
 Land Laid out to the Right of James Linsey which was granted to him 
 on the Twenty sixth Day of December 1757." 
 
 "Beginning at the south east corner of the above Lot at a pitch pine 
 No 3 then north to a hemlock No 3 then South 160 Rods to a stake, 
 then West 100 rods to first Bound." (Proprietors' Record Book, page 
 15.) 
 
 The town records say nothing further of the Lindseys. But this 
 meadow land and the other lot in due time became in some way the 
 property of James Lindsey Perkins, who owned it about the year 
 17S7. I conclude by the name that there was an intermarriage of the 
 families and that Mr. James Lindsey Perkins inherited the James 
 Lindsey land, at least the two 100-acre meadow lots. Now, tradition 
 says that Mr. Perkins was not a strictly temperate man and, in con- 
 sequence of too frequent visits to Squire Glidden's store at the Centre, 
 was often called to part with some of his fertile acres to settle his 
 account, and it is further said that the crafty squire often by 
 abusive language brought the greatly desired blows on his deserving 
 old back and head in consequence. James was always promptly 
 arrested and another slice of the longed-for meadow passed to satisfy 
 the fine. In course of time it all belonged to the Squire and is to this 
 day known as the "Glidden Meadow." 
 
 Nathaniel Perkins was an early settler and deeded some land on 
 the intervale to Josiah Miles (est.) 50 acres for £6 5s., it being the 
 land he bought of the proprietors of Canterbury. Dated Feb. 21, 
 1772. in the seventh year of his majesty's reign. Witness, James 
 Lindsey. Mr. Hunt says the old Perkins house stood opposite Judge 
 Peter Wadleigh's and was used as a schoolhouse. Here, too, lived the 
 14 
 
210 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Mrs. Colby, who used to warp her webs on the apple trees. Mr. 
 Nathaniel Perkins bought this land, 100 acres, of James Lindsey, 
 Aug. 13, 1770, and other lands. May 5 of the same year, as recorded 
 in Vol. 36, page 374, and Vol. 102, page 41. 
 
 He lived here when N. was organized and was one of the petitioners 
 for the new town, as were James Lindsey Perkins and William, 
 his sons, perhaps. Nathaniel Perkins and Nathaniel Perkins, Jr., 
 were at the Battle of Bunker Hill. 
 
 LOCKWOOD. 
 
 Wilson Lockwood came to N. from Yorkshire, England. He was b. 
 Oct. 24, 1846; m., Dec. 3, 1866, Sally Buckley, b. July 17, 1847. He was 
 a plush finisher and had 12 children, nine of whom are now living. 
 They reside on Vine St. Extension. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Lavina Lockwood, b. Feb. 8, 1868; m., Feb. 29, 1896, Thomas E. 
 Atkinson of England. They have one child, Thomas W. C, b. Feb. 
 2, 1899. 
 
 Claka LocivWood, b. Oct. 16, 1872; m. Thomas Home of England, 
 Sept. 10, 1893. 
 
 ZiLLA Lockwood, b. Oct. 22, 1874; m. Andrew Whittam. They have 
 one child, Beatrice, b. Aug. 16, 1898. 
 
 Samuel Lockwood, b. June 15, 1878, is employed by the Elm Mills 
 Woolen Company. 
 
 Matilda Lockwood, b. Oct. 29, 1881; m., June 25, 1903, Albert S. 
 
 Carter, b. at . He is superintendent of Carter's Mills, with a 
 
 residence on Park St. They had one son, Harry L., b. Dec. 18, 1904; 
 d., March 23, 1905. 
 
 James Lockwood, b. in England Feb. 6, 1883, returned to England 
 and m. Flora Auckland. They reside in N. and have a son, Wilfred, 
 b. Jan. 19, 1903. 
 
 Harry W. Lockwood, b. April 15, 1885, is employed at G. H. Tilton's 
 Hosiery Mill. 
 
 George H. Lockwood, b. June 15, 1887, is employed at Carter's 
 Mills. 
 
 Ada E. Lockwood, b. Nov. 8, 1889. 
 
 LONG. 
 
 Mrs. Marcia Long, b. Feb. 2, 1811, at Hopkinton, came to N. to edu- 
 cate her sons at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary. She es- 
 tablished a home on Bay St., where she d. Oct. 8, 1889. 
 
THOMAS WELLS LONG. 
 
ADDIE GORRELL LONG. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 211 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Thomas Wells Long, b. Feb. 29, 1846, at Hopkinton; m. Addie J. 
 Gorrell of N. (see portrait), b. Sept. 13, 1845. He was a painter and 
 later a trader at Tilton. He d. Dec. 31, 1881. She d. May 15, 1901. 
 They had a dau., Marcia A., who d. Sept. 19, 1875, aged seven years. 
 
 George E Long, b. at Hopkinton about 1850. He was a photographer 
 and removed West in 1870: was never heard from again. The home 
 passed at the mother's death to the M. E. church. 
 
 LORD. 
 
 The Lords in N. trace their descent from Nathaniel, who was at 
 Kittery, Me., as early as the middle of the 16th century. 
 
 "Sullivan's History of Maine," coming down the line, finds Hon. 
 John Lord and his distinguished son, Pres. Nathan Lord, D. D., of Dart- 
 mouth College, and no less than 42 (prior to 1821) were found on the 
 lists of graduates at the New England colleges, Yale and Dartmouth. 
 
 John Lord of Exeter, three generations later, says Mr. Runnells, 
 "had 16 children, two of whom came to Sanborn ton: Eliphalet, who m. 
 Mehitable Lord, his cousin, and her brother, John." 
 
 Eliphalet Lord, b. 1754; d. at N. Aug. 5, 1826. 
 
 Eliphalet Lord, Jr., b. 1792; d. at N. April 11, 1858. 
 
 Mehitable Lord, b. 1793; d. at N. Aug. 22, 1847. 
 
 Lucilia Lord, b. 1823; d. at N. March, 11, 1842. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 • 
 
 Cyrus Lord, grandson of Eliphalet, came to N. about 1856. He was a 
 stone worker. He m., Nov. 17, 1842, Lydia Thurston Evans of Gil- 
 manton. They first lived at Shaker Bridge, where his three oldest 
 children were b. He d. in N. March 28, 1895. She d. Sept. 2, 1888. 
 
 Charles Buzzell Lord, m., Nov. 25, 1849, Lucinda Forrest of N. 
 and lived at the Centre, where she d. March 27, 1854. He was a sailor 
 for some years and d. in Woburn, Mass. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Cyrus and Lydia Evans Lord.) 
 
 Frances Ann Lord, b. at N. Sept. 5, 1843. 
 
 George Washington Lord, b. at N. April 24, 1847; m., Sept. 13, 
 1870, Mary E. B. Johnson of N., b. at N. May 27, 1852. They have 
 one dau., Edith, b. at Franklin, April 2, 1877, a graduate of the 
 New Hampshire Conference Seminary art department and a fine per- 
 former on the violin. Mr. Lord was for many years a druggist in 
 Franklin and, later, in Tilton, where they reside. He was also a 
 member of the firm of Lord Bros. & Company, manufacturers of 
 lenses and optical goods. He has been prominent in town affairs. 
 
212 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 having served as selectman for 12 years. He is a Mason, an Odd 
 Fellow, a Knight of Honor and a member of the A. O. U. W. 
 
 Albert C. Lord, b. July 30, 1852; m., Sept. 15, 1875, Alma Wyman 
 Neal of Canaan, b. Nov. 15, 1855. Educated at Franklin. They have 
 always resided in N. He is a watchmaker and jeweler in Tilton and 
 since 1878 has been a manufacturer with his brother of spectacle 
 lenses and eyeglasses. He is also a skilful oculist. The firm name 
 now is the Albert C. Lord Optical Company. They have four chil- 
 dren. 
 
 Clarence Henry Lord, b. at N. July 31, 1854, and d. at N. Aug. 3, 
 1864. 
 
 Flora Etta Lord, b. at N. Jan. 14, 1861; m. (first), George T. Leav- 
 itt of South Newbury, Vt., Oct. 23, 1881. He d. in Denver, Col., May 
 16, 1889. She m. (second), Nov. 8, 1904, Charles Herman Smith of Til- 
 ton. They reside at San Diego, Cal. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 (Children of Albert and Alma Neal Lord.) 
 
 Guy Maitland Lord, b. at N. July 15, 1876; m., Oct. 2, 1901, Elizabeth 
 Cheyne of Milford, b. at Quincy, Mass., May 5, 1880. They reside at 
 West Somerville, Mass. He is employed by A. J. Loyds, Washington 
 St., Boston, Mass. 
 
 Arthur Manson Lord, b. at N. April 29, 1879; m., Aug. 8, 1901, 
 Lillian Julia Mudgett of Contoocook, b. Aug. 30, 1879. They reside 
 at N. He is employed at the Optical Works. 
 
 Harry Albert Lord, b. at N. Jan. 29, 1881. He is a machinist, em- 
 ployed by the Mayo Machine Company of Laconia. He m., June 21, 
 1905, Maud Evelyn Foster of Belmont. 
 
 George Thurston Lord, b. at N. April 30, 1886; m., Oct. 26, 1904, 
 Grace A. Tukey of Tilton. He is a machinist, employed by the Kidder 
 Machine Company of Franklin Falls. 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 
 (Child of Guy and Elizabeth Cheyne Lord.) 
 Dorothy Elizabeth Lord, b. at Boston, Mass., March 7, 1904. 
 
 LORD II. 
 
 Fred B. Lord came to N. July, 1883. He was b. at Woburn, Mass., 
 June 25, 1864. He m., Dec. 21, 1884, Anna Isabel Morrison, b. at 
 Tilton Jan. 27, 1863. 
 
 Mr. Lord is a job teamster, with a home on Park St. Mrs. Lord 
 was employed at Lord Bros.' Optical Works for more than 20 years. 
 They have an adopted son. Mr. Lord served the town as road agent 
 in 1902 and 1905. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Raymond B. Lord, b. at Woburn, Mass., March 24, 1896. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 218 
 
 LOUGEE. 
 
 The Lougees are of an old New Hampshire family of colonial 
 origin. 
 
 John Lougee, the emigrant, was from the Isle of Jersey. 
 
 In the reign of Queen Anne they came to this country and settled 
 in New Hampshire. In the early wars he saw service and was once 
 captured and carried away by the Indians. He escaped and finally 
 settled at Exeter, where he spent his remaining life. His wife was 
 Mary Oilman. 
 
 Two of their descendants settled in N. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Elisha Lougee came to N. from Sanborn ton and purchased the 
 home of James Dearborn Wadleigh, opposite the old meeting-house, and 
 a part of the Glidden farm up the hill across the road. The building 
 was moved whole and new sheds and barns were built, making it 
 almost an ideal farmer's home in all its appointments. He was b. 
 March 15, 1800. 
 
 His wife was Thirza Philbrook of Union Bridge, now East Tilton, 
 and they had four children. His two sons seeking other employment, 
 he sold to Moses Garland and returned to Sanbornton. He m. 
 (second), Pamelia Glines of N. (see Glines gen.). May 15, 1867, 
 He d. Aug. 28, and she, Oct. 17, 1886, at N. 
 
 Oilman Lougee, cousin of the above, was b. at Oilmanton June 25, 
 1820. He m., Nov. 14, 1844, Cynthia P. Elkins of Oilmanton. They 
 came to N. in Dec, 1866, and bought the Jesse Rogers farm. He d. 
 suddenly Dec. 13, 1886. Mrs. Lougee still resides there. They had 
 three sons and a dau. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Children of Elisha and Thirza Philbrook Lougee.) 
 (All b. in Sanbornton.) 
 
 Teuewortiiy Lougee, b. Oct. 13, 1825; m., Nov. 7, 1853, Abbie R. Oil- 
 man of Gilford. He served in the Civil War (see Boys in Blue) and 
 was a farmer and carpenter. They had three sons who constituted 
 the firm of Lougee Bros, at Laconia for many years. He d. of apo- 
 plexy July 28, 1879. 
 
 S.\RAU Jane Lougee, b. Nov. 29, 1827; m. (pub.), Nov. 17. 1850. 
 Nathaniel Batchelder of Sanbornton. He was a carpenter and builder 
 at Oshkosh, Wis., until 18G0, when he went to California and she re- 
 turned home. She d. at Laconia Aug. 27, 1874, leaving two sons and 
 a dau. 
 
 Thikza p. Lougee, b. Aug. 10, 1830; m.. July 3, 1856, Augustus 
 Williams of West Concord. She now resides at Penacook. She was 
 educated at the Seminary and was a teacher before her marriage. He 
 was an overseer at Holden's Mill and also at Tilton. They have four 
 children, b. at West Concord: Harry A. of Franklin; Herbert 0. of 
 
214 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Penacook; Irving, a shoe dealer in Boston; and Ida P., wife of Nahum 
 Abbott of Penacook. Mrs. Abbott d. in 1S95. 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. Williams reside at Penacook, where he is employed at 
 the Concord Axle Works. 
 
 Samuel Fernald LorcEE, b. July 1, 1S37; m., Jan. 1, ISGl, Hattie 
 L. Robinson of New Hampton. He was educated at the New Hamp- 
 shire Conference Seminary and prepared for the ministry, holding 
 several appointments at Hill and elsewhere. He was an evangelist 
 in the parishes of his native and surrounding towns. He d. suddenly 
 of heart failure at work in the field, leaving three sons. 
 
 (Children of Oilman and Cynthia Elkiris Lougee.) 
 
 Curtis J. Lougee, b. at Gilmanton Aug. IS, 1845; m. (first), Jennie 
 M. Johnson of Wolfeborough, Jan. 4, 1871. She d. June 22, 1877. He 
 m. (second), Nellie Hall of Buxton, Me., Nov. 27, 1879. They had two 
 children, Harry C, a Spanish War veteran, now of Lebanon, and 
 Arthur, who d. at Lynn, Feb. 9, 1902. He was a painter. Mr. Lougee 
 m. (third). May 25, 1899, Mrs. Anna Hale of Tilton, and has one son, 
 Floyd, b. 1900. He is a painter. 
 
 Alonzo Joseph Lougee, b. at Gilmanton May 1, 1849; m. Mary 
 Brown of Manchester, Feb. 13, 1874. He was a painter at the latter 
 place and had four children. He d. Nov. 9, 1883. A son, Charles, 
 a clerk, resides at Cambridgeport, Mass. 
 
 Fked Oilman Lougee, b. March 8, 1858; m., Sept. 18, 1880, Oeoi-gia 
 A. Staples of Tilton. (See Staples gen.) Mr. Lougee has been in the 
 employ of 0. & E. O. Morrison for 15 years. They have one son. 
 
 Helen J. Lougee, b. Dec. 25, 1861; d., June 18, 1881. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Child of Fred and Georgia Staples Lougee.) 
 
 Eaele Fred Lougee, b. Dec. 2, 1887; resides with his parents and is a 
 student of Tilton Seminary. He is a fine pen artist. 
 
 LOVEJOY. 
 
 Rev. Olin Lovejoy was b. in Landaff April 16, 1851; m., in the Meth- 
 odist Episcopal Church, Tilton, Aug. 18, 1872, Marcia A. Rollins. He 
 was educated at Lisbon and at the New Hampshire Conference Sem- 
 inary. He was pastor of the Methodist Church at Surry, Jefferson 
 and Lake Village. 
 
 In 1878 they removed to Ottawa, 111., where they remained for four 
 years. Later they cared for her foster parents, Mr. and Mrs. Winslow, 
 where they now reside. He was pastor of the Free Baptist Church at 
 Contoocook and later was for three years at West Peru, Me. They had 
 six children, three of whom d. in infancy. He has served on the 
 school board for two terms. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 215 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Moses Cpiannixg Lovejoy, b. June 15, 1S73; d. at Ottawa, 111., aged six. 
 
 Elsie Agnes Lovejoy, b. Jan. 2, 1875; m. John Johnson of Lowell, 
 Mass. She d. at Lowell April 8, 1905. 
 
 Marcia Dawn Lovejoy, b. June 16, 1S7G; m., June 29, 1905, Kirby 
 Hyde and resides in Lowell, Mass. 
 
 Roy Leon Lovejoy, b. June 18, 1880. 
 
 LOVERIN. 
 
 Albiox Loverix came from Manchester on his wedding day, Nov. 
 19, 1SS5, having previously purchased the Chase Wyatt farm in East 
 N. 
 
 In 1902, after 17 years' stay, he sold to Judge Davis of Washington, 
 D. C, and removed to Park St., where he is a wood and coal dealer. 
 
 Jexxie McDowell Loverin was b. at Highgate, Vt, May 18, 1857. 
 They have two children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Grace Belle Loverix, b. Feb. 25, 1890, is a student at Tilton Sem- 
 inary. She has read much in public and gives promise of fine elo- 
 cutionary powers. 
 
 Helex Wixoxa Loverix, b. April 13, 1899, is a student in the Union 
 Graded School. 
 
 LUDLOW. 
 
 CoRXELius Ludlow was a native of Pennsylvania. He had been a 
 Revolutionary soldier and was looking over the country. Being taken 
 sick, he was cared for at the home of Abraham Glines of Canterbury, 
 and, Feb. 19, 1826, m. Phebe, his dau., and resided near the Oak Hill 
 schoolhouse, where he tended the grist, oil and plaster mill on the 
 Cross Brook, below the Davis sawmill. They had five children. He 
 was accidentally drowned while cutting trees for Daniel Herrick on 
 the steep river bank at Factory Village. She m. (second), Alexander 
 Braley and d. at N. July 24, 1876. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Moses Leavitt Ludlow, b. June 4, 1824; m.. May 8, 1848, Louisa 
 Collins and had four children. He was a natural mechanic and was a 
 carpenter by trade. He d. at his son's in N. April, 1904. She d. April 
 5, 1901. 
 
 Whittex Ludlow was in the Mexican "War. He enlisted at Ports- 
 mouth, where he had gone with two friends, who, as soon as he had 
 signed his name, treacherously withdrew and returned home. He 
 joined the army and d. at Corpus Christi, Mexico. 
 
"216 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Nancy Ludlow, b. in Danbury Feb. 4, 1827; m. (first), Simon Far- 
 well of Sanbornton Bridge and resided there. A son, Charles Alonzo, 
 d. in 1855, and a dau., Nellie F., d. in 1876. She m. (second), John 
 Keniston of N. (See Keniston gen.) 
 
 Alice Ludlow m., June, 1856, Thomas Austin and had two children. 
 (See Austin gen.) She m. (second), Frederick Keniston. (See Ken- 
 iston gen.) 
 
 Lucy Anx H. Ludlow m., April 22, 1851, Peter Paro. She m. (sec- 
 ond), Albert Keniston and removed to Altoona, Wis. They have a son, 
 Charles, of Everett, Wash., and a dau., Alice, of Minneapolis. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of Leavitt and Louisa Collins Ludlow.) 
 
 Kexdrick Ludlow, b. March 12, 1848; m., Aug. 4, 1867, Eunice Clay 
 of Wilmot, b. Aug. 4, 1847. He was trackman for the Boston & Maine 
 Railroad and later purchased the farm of the late David Dearborn, 
 "where they now reside. They have three children. 
 
 Mary Ludlow m. John Currier of Manchester and resided there 
 until his death in 1895. They had one son, Arthur. She m. (second), 
 Oeorge Law of Portsmouth, where they reside. A dau. resides in 
 Manchester. 
 
 Whitten Ludlow, b. July, 1856; m., 1875, Electa A. Dow. (See Dow 
 gen.) After many years of service for the railroad at N. Depot he went 
 to perform the same service at Concord. He is now employed by the 
 Boston & Maine Railroad on the Concord street car tracks and resides 
 there. They have six children. Mrs. Ludlow d. at Concord in 1895. 
 The children all reside at Concord. 
 
 Phebe Ludlow m. Jonathan Glines of Canterbury. After various 
 dwelling places they reside at N. Depot, where he is a trackman on 
 the Boston & Maine Railroad. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Whitten and Electa Dow Ludlow.) 
 
 Beetha Ludlow, b. at N. March, 1876; resides in the home at Con- 
 cord. 
 
 Carroll Ludlow, b. June, 1877; m. Grace Ray of Concord, and is 
 -employed on the railroad. They have one child. 
 
 Effie Ludlow, b. Aug., 1879; m. Edward Page of Concord. 
 
 Maria Ludlow, b. 1882; m., July, 1903, Peter Johnson of Concord, and 
 lias one son. 
 
 EJmily E. Ludlow, b. 1895. 
 
 (Children of Kendrick and Eunice Clay Ludlow.) 
 
 Nettie M. Ludlow, b. April 20, 1869, at Canterbury; m., Jan., 1894, 
 James Featherstone of Manchester, where he is employed in the rail- 
 road yard. 
 
 Leon H. Ludlow, b. at N. Nov. 21, 1S81. 
 
 Geneva Ludlow, b. at N. June 16, 1887. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 217 
 
 LYFORD. 
 
 It is believed that all persons in the United States bearing this 
 name are descendants of Francis Lyford, who came to Boston from 
 England and was a shipbuilder. 
 
 Thomas, who came to N. and m. Hannah Hall, April 7, 1793, was the 
 son of John, b. 1720, who was the son of Thomas, the son of the above- 
 named Francis. 
 
 Lieut. Thomas Lyford was b. Nov. 12, 1768; m., April 7, 1793, Han- 
 nah Hall, probably of Canterbury. They lived on what is now called 
 Zion's Hill and had a family of five children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Anna Lyfokd, b. Dec. 9, 1793; m., Feb. 10, 1814, Ebenezer Morrison 
 of Sanbornton. (See Morrison gen.) 
 
 Susannah Lyford, b. Dec. 9, 1796; m., Feb. 4, 1819, Robert Gray, 
 a native of Salem, Mass. (See Gray gen.) 
 
 Polly Lyford, b. May 6, 1798; m., Dec. 29, 1816, Enoch Gile of N. 
 (See Gile gen.) 
 
 Hannah Lyford, b. 1800; m., Feb. 3, 1820, Amos C. Hannaford of 
 N., b. May 12, 1797. (See Hannaford gen.) 
 
 Thomas Dearborn Lyford, b. March 15, 1803; m. (first), Dec. 18, 
 1825, Sally Gilman of N., b. Dec. 18, 1803. She d. July 20, 1851. They 
 remained on the homestead until past middle life. They had a son 
 and a dau. Later he erected a house at Tilton and removed there. 
 He m. (second), Nov. 16, 1854, Mrs. Mehitable Gerrish of Boscawen, 
 and d. Nov. 16, 1867. She d. at Penacook Feb. 15, 1877. 
 
 Jeremiah Hall Lyford, b. at N. Oct. 19, 1808; m., July 16, 1834, 
 Mary Ann W. Haines of Canterbury, b. Jan. 13, 1812. He was a grad- 
 uate of Dartmouth Medical School in 1833 and practised first at Ra- 
 venna. 0., and later at Port Byron, 111., where he d. Jan. 28, 1878. He 
 is succeeded by his son, William, who received his degree from Rush 
 Medical College and is the father of 14 children. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Thomas and Sally Gilman Lyford.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Sarah Ann Kent Lyford, b. March 4, 1827; d. at Evanston, 111., March 
 19, 1891; m., Oct. 22, 1846, Benjamin Chase Sargent of Sanbornton 
 Bridge, b. Sept. 27, 1825. One dau., Sarah T.. b. at N., m. Clayton Dart 
 of Anawan, 111. Mr. Sargent went to California in 1849 but returned 
 and located at Anawan, going later to Evanston in 1882. He d. there 
 in Jan., 1905. 
 
 Joseph Oilman Lyford, b. July 8, 1830, remained on his father's 
 farm until 1853, when he removed to Illinois and engaged In the grain 
 business. He m.. May 13, 1856, Mary A. Shannon of Grovoland. 111., 
 
218 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 and had two sons, John T. and Clarence E., both of whom d. in in- 
 fancy. He m. (second), Annie M. Brown of N., Dec. 17, 18GG, and 
 resided in several parts of the Far West until 1885. Mrs. Lyford was 
 a member of the school board of Hebron, Neb., and was its president 
 for a term of years. She was a graduate of New Hampshire Conference 
 Female College, class of 1860. They have four children, all but one re- 
 siding near their parents in Bridgeport, Conn., where the sons. Jay and 
 Fred, are engaged in the clothing business. May is the wife of F. H. 
 Smith of Quincy, Mass., and Belle is a stenographer in Bridgeport. 
 Mr. Lyford has always been a Republican and active in local af- 
 fairs. He served a term as mayor of Wilton, la., and was county 
 commissioner while at Hebron, Neb. 
 
 HARDEN. 
 
 JosiAH Makdex came from Chester to N. when the country was art 
 unbroken wilderness. While he was clearing his farm and preparing" 
 his home he often returned on foot for the Sabbath. 
 
 His father was Stephen Marden, b. in 1736. He erected a small 
 house, which he later enlarged, and m. Mehitable Muzzey of Loudoa 
 and had a family of five. He lived to see his 92d year, dying March 
 23, 1855. She d. Feb. 27, 1860. They were Christian people, both 
 having been baptized by Elder Winthrop Young three quarters of a 
 century before. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Ebenezer Marden, b. March 24, 1797; m., Jan. 1, 1806, Almira Brown 
 of Canterbury and had seven children. He remained on the home 
 farm, which has always been called the "Marden Settlement." 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 HuLDAH Marden, b. May 1, 1824; m. Ira Rowe and removed to Can- 
 dia. They had one dau., Mary. 
 
 Mary J. Marden, b. June 4, 1826. 
 
 Mehitable Marden, b. Feb. 4, 1831; m. Charles Gile of Jamestown, 
 Belmont, and had five children. 
 
 John B. Marden, b. May 29, 1838; m., Aug. 10, 1862, Frances Moody 
 of Belmont, b. Dec. 27, 1842. They resided on the home farm until 
 1876, when he bought the Ambrose Woodbury farm on Sondogardy 
 Meadow, where he conducts a milk farm. They have four children, 
 all b. in N. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Herbert L. Marden, b. Oct. 19, 1867; m., Sept. 15, 1897, Edna W, 
 Potter and resides in Providence, R. I. They have a dau., Mary, b. 
 June 4, 1899. 
 
1^ 
 
 GENEALOGIES. 219 
 
 George M. Harden, b. Feb. 9, 1871; m., June 30, 1892, Josie M. Wyatt. 
 They reside at Ashland, where he is a house builder. 
 
 Charles E. Mardex, b. Aug. 24, 1874; m., Aug. 3, 1895, Annie J. 
 Manning of Vermont, b. April 26, 18G9. They have a dau., Alice, b. 
 March 30, 189G. 
 
 J. Frank Harden, b. Sept. 24, 1878. He resides at home and is a 
 farmer. 
 
 MARTIN. 
 
 Robert Martin, called Dr., was b. at Alexandria in 1822 and, after 
 living in Hill and Bristol, came to N. in 1875 and bought the house 
 now owned by Fred B. Lord on Park St., where he was a dealer in 
 horses and conducted a teaming business. He joined the army as a 
 fifer in the Twelfth Regiment. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 He was leader of the troop of cavalry that distinguished itself at the 
 N. centennial. 
 
 He sold to Francis W. Thompson and removed to Dakota. 
 
 He was a brother of Samuel Martin, who ran the sawmill on the 
 Holmes dam. 
 
 Dr. Martin visited his old home a few years since in good health and 
 mental condition, although well past 80 years of age. 
 
 MASON. 
 
 Simeon Mason came from Moultonborough to N. in 1870. He was 
 b. at Sandwich Oct. 6, 1817; m., Dec. 1, 1839, Susan S. Hooney, b. Jan. 
 1, 1814. He was a carpenter and farmer. They had one child. Mr. 
 Mason lived on the Alvah Hannaford place, where he suffered an attack 
 of smallpox. He removed later to the John Mooney house, where both 
 d.; he, Oct. 7, 1883; she, April 6, 1890. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Charles W. Mason, b. at Sandwich Nov. 1, 1842; m., Dec. 14, 1887, 
 Emma R. Morse, b. at Sandwich in 1SG5. He is a farmer at the Centre, 
 doing also an extensive poultry and dairy business. 
 
 MASON. 
 
 David B. Mason was b. at Loudon in 1840 and m., Feb. 24, 18C3, 
 Rosilla Weeks. She was b. at Sanbornton Nov. 10, 1831. He was a 
 soldier in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) He d. at N. May 
 28, 18G5. They have one dau., with whom Mrs. Mason resides. She 
 owned a home and resided for sometime on Gale Ave. 
 
:220 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Eldora Masox, b. at Sanbornton July 15, 1864; m. Ned W. Morri- 
 son, b. at Sanbornton April 13, 1860, where they now reside. They 
 have four children. 
 
 McDonald or mcdaniel. 
 
 Nehemiah McDaxiel of Harrington bought land of the Canterbury 
 tax collector, March 20, 1746. Jeremiah and John, his sons, perhaps, 
 bought original lots, Nos. 9 and 10. Sarah, a sister or dau. of Nehe- 
 miah, came from Pembroke, where she had been brought up by her 
 uncle. Colonel Cochrane, and became the wife of Robert Forrest. (See 
 JForrest gen.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Nehemiah McDonald. Jr., m., Feb. 16, 1804, Patty Glines and had 
 three children. He m. (second), Abagail Ferguson of Sandwich (pub.), 
 Aug. 23, 1S21, and had one dau. His name drops from the tax list in 
 1827. 
 
 Abagail McDaniel, b. ; m., Feb. 26, 1805, Isaac Glines of N., 
 
 Td. 1778. (See Glines gen.) 
 
 Susan McDaniel, b. 1767; m. (pub.), John Glines, b. 1766. (See 
 'Glines gen.) 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Nehemiah and Martha Glines McDonald.) 
 
 Jonathan McDaniel, b. July 10, 1804; m. Charlotte Foss and had a 
 •dau., Citana, who m. Eben Hutchins of Canterbury. 
 
 John Ellison McDaniel, b. May 16, 1808; m., July 2, 1829, Mrs. 
 Betsey Gile Glines (see Glines gen.) and had a family of six. He d. 
 June 22, 1851. Mr. McDaniel served on the board of selectmen and was 
 a farmer. 
 
 William McDonald, b .April 7, 1806; m. Sally Dow and resided mostly 
 in Canterbury. They had three sons. 
 
 (Child of Nehemiah and Abagail Ferguson McDonald.) 
 
 Sabah McDaniel, b. April 18, 1827; m. (pub.), June 6, 1848, Edward 
 Presby, Jr., b. Feb. 4, 1827. They had four children. (See Presby 
 gen.) She m. (second), Hiram Cross of N. and had four children. 
 (See Cross gen.) 
 
 (Children of Allison and Betsey Gile Glines McDaniel.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Betsey McDaniel m. Simeon Kimball, b. 1810, being his second wife. 
 After his death in 1865 she cared for her brother-in-law, John Hanna- 
 ford. (See below.) 
 
GENEALOGIES. 221 
 
 Martha McDaxiel, b. 1832; m., Jan. 2, 1853, Thomas M. Towns and 
 resides in Tilton. He is a watchmaker and, of late, a dealer in coal. 
 They have three children: Charles, a furniture dealer and undertaker 
 at Tilton; Rebecca (Mrs. Ansel Arnold); and Ella. 
 
 Rebecca McDaniel, b. 1837; d., 1858. 
 
 John McDaniel, b. 1839, served in the Civil War in Company D, 
 Eighth Regiment. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 Albert McDaniel, b. 1842, served in the Civil War in Company H,, 
 Fifteenth Regiment. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 Sarah A. McDaniel, b. 1834; m., Nov. 27, 1856, Jonathan T. Hanna- 
 ford, b. at Sanbornton, 1829. They had six children, of whom only twa 
 survive, Fred and George. 
 
 (Children of William and Sally Dow McDonald.) 
 Joseph McDaniel was employed on the railroad for many years. 
 Later he bought a farm in Sanbornton, where he m. and has four chil- 
 dren, two sons and two dau. Of the sons, Andrew is a farmer at 
 home and Joseph is employed by the Boston & Maine Railroad. 
 
 Henry McDaniel m. Susan Bailey of Franklin. He has been a mill 
 hand but recently taken up the business of farming. 
 
 Tristram McDaniel m. Lydia Streeter and resides in Canterbury. 
 They have a son, George, of Salisbury, and a dau., Mrs. George Heath, 
 of Tilton. Mr. McDaniel was for many years a trackman on the B., 
 C. & M. R. R. 
 
 McCRILLIS. 
 
 Capt. Michael McCrillis was first taxed in 1801. He built the house 
 on the knoll below the Centre schoolhouse. He m. Sally (Sarah) 
 Hancock Dec. 12, 1799. She was a sister of Joseph Hancock on the 
 Merrimack intervale. He had the fine old Irish idea of hospitality 
 and is said to have kept a kettle of "bean porridge good and warm" 
 for even the most casual caller. He had many a call from the scholars 
 in the cold winter mornings and recesses. Mrs. Thomas Simonds was 
 a sister to Mrs. McCrillis. (See Simonds gen.) 
 
 They moved to East Boston, Mass., where she d. Other members 
 of the family lived in Canterbury. They had four children: Martha 
 and Bowdoin, who settled in Buffalo, N. Y., where the latter was a 
 
 merchant; Adaline, who m. Moore of Canterbury and went to 
 
 New Mexico; and Napoleon, who was a lawyer and lived in the West. 
 
 McDUFF. 
 
 William J. McDitf came to N. from Hamden, P. Q.. in 1883. He was 
 b. at Perthshire, Scotland, Nov. 18, 1835, and m., Oct. 15, 1867, Cynthia. 
 Symmes, b. at Ryegate, Vt, Oct. 1. 1843. He was a farmer and owned 
 the Joseph Dearborn place. They had eight children. He waf a mem- 
 ber of the Masonic Lodge at Wells River, Vt. 
 
222 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Oscar James McDutf, b. at Ryegate, Vt., May 28, 18G8; m., June, 
 1898, Delia Stone of Pennsylvania. He is a merchant at Starrucca, 
 Pa. 
 
 William Johx McDuff, b. at Wells River, Vt., April 7, 1870; m., 
 June 24, 1901, Blanche E. Kelton, b. at South Boston, Mass., in 1873. 
 He is the manufacturer of the McDuff gasolene engine at Lakeport, 
 where they now reside. He is a member of Doric Lodge, A. F. and 
 A. M., of Tilton. 
 
 Mabel Jane McDutf, b. at Wells River, Vt, May 24, 1872; m., July 
 18, 1896, Luther H. Morrill. (See Morrill gen.) 
 
 Robert S. McDuff, b. at Hamden, P. Q., May 23, 1875; m., Sept. 13, 
 1898, Annie M. Perry. They have one child, Louise E. He is a ma- 
 chinist and now resides at Leominster, Mass. 
 
 Sarah Margaret McDuff, b. at Hamden, P. Q., Jan. 23, 1878; d. at 
 N. Aug. 25, 1894. 
 
 Emma F. McDuff, b. at Hamden, P. Q., 1880; d. there in May, 1882. 
 
 Agness Firth McDuff, b. at N. Feb. 14, 1884. She is a telegraph 
 operator at Meredith. 
 
 Harriet Catherixe McDlt^f, b. at N. April 30, 1887, graduated at 
 Tilton Seminary, class of 1905, taking the Latin Scientific course. 
 
 McQUESTEN. 
 
 Greenough McQuesten was b. at Plymouth June 5, 1804. He m., 
 Sept. 28, 1828, Myra, dau. of Stephen Chase, b. at N. Dec. 14, 1801. 
 They had four children. He was associated in trade with Isaac Whit- 
 tier and later was a clerk in various stores in Tilton, going to his 
 home in Plymouth in 1838. He resided some years later in Fisherville, 
 now Penacook, and finally entered the employ of the Concord Railroad 
 as bookkeeper in their construction and repair shops at Concord, 
 which place he held to extreme age. He was a deacon of the Congre- 
 gational churches at Tilton and Concord. He d. Aug. 24, 1890. Mrs. 
 McQuesten d. Dec. 28, 1888, 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 William Greenough McQuesten, b. June 5, 1829; m., July 17, 1856, 
 Elizabeth Fudge of St. John, N. B., b. Jan. 17, 1828. They had three 
 children. He d. Jan. 29, 1880. Mrs. McQuesten d. Sept. 29, 1875. 
 
 Myra Chase McQuesten, b. April 24, 1831; d., March 29, 1891. 
 
 EvARTS McQuesten, b. at N. March 9, 1837; m., Sept. 2, 1863, 
 Elizabeth Knight of Boothbay, Me., b. Jan. 20, 1840. He is a dealer 
 in groceries, meats and provisions in Concord. They have three chil- 
 dren and three d. in infancy. 
 
 Peter Rockwood McQuesten, b. Sept. 29, 1839; m. Emma Sanborn 
 of Henniker. He graduated from Columbia University, New York, was 
 
GENEALOGIES. 223 
 
 ordained to the ministry and went West. Later he located at Fall 
 River, Mass., and is now at Annandale, N. J. He has two children, 
 Walter, who is in the insurance business in New York, and Ada. 
 
 MERRILL I. 
 
 Noah Lane Merrill was b. at Deerfield. He m. Melinda Tibbetts, b. 
 Aug. 18, 1803 (see Tibbetts gen.), and resided in N. and later in Man- 
 chester. They had five children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Arthltj T. Merrill, b. at N. Jan. 22, 1840; m., April IG, 1862, Arianna 
 E. Dearborn (see Dearborn gen.), and had three children. He served 
 in the Seventeenth Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteers, during the 
 Civil War (see Boys in Blue) and d. at Lake Providence, La., March 
 8, 1868. She d. at N. March 6, 1868. 
 
 De Witt Merrill, b. at Manchester June 2, 1842. He also served in 
 the army (see Boys in Blue) and has resided at Ashland since 1881. 
 
 Bradbury Merrill d. in Macon City, Mo. 
 
 NoAu Lane Merrill, Jr., had his name changed to J. C. Tibbetts. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Arthur T. and Arianna Dearborn Merrill.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Fannie L. Merrill, b. July 25, 1863; d. at Lowell, Mass., Jan. 22, 
 1889. Her name was changed to Fannie L. Brown. 
 
 EsTELLA T. Merrill, b. May 11, 1865; d. at three years of age. 
 
 Willie Arthur Merrill, b. March 22, 1867, is now engaged in mining 
 in California. 
 
 MERRILL IL 
 
 Frank H. Merrill, b. in Rumney Oct. 29, 1855, learned his trade at 
 Medford, Mass., where he m., Aug. 7, 1880, Mary Elliot of Medford, 
 Mass. After a short stay at Bristol, he came in 1887 to N. and pur- 
 chased a tinsmith's and hardware business, which he conducted for 
 nearly 15 years. Mrs. Merrill d. Feb. 8, 1892. They had one son, 
 George Lake Merrill, who graduated from Union Graded School and d. 
 one year later, March 21, 1902. Mr. Merrill m. (second), Emma S. 
 Pike of New Hampton, Jan. 1, 1896. His health failing, he went to 
 Denver, Col., where he d. June 15, 1902. 
 
 He was a member of Doric Lodge. A. F. and A. M., a member also of 
 Harmony Lodge, I. O. O. F., and also of the Society of United Work- 
 men. Mrs. Merrill m., March 15, 1905. Samuel Howard at New Hamp- 
 ton, where they now reside. 
 
224 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 MILES. 
 
 Lieut. Josiah Miles, b. Aug. 4, 1719, was a resident of the Canter- 
 bury north fields long before the Revolutionary War. He pitched his 
 tent on what became the Rogers farms near Mount Tug. His wife^ 
 Elizabeth, was b. June 11, 1724. They were m. in 1742. His death. is 
 recorded as occurring "Mar ye 31 1777." 
 
 At a meeting held in Canterbury, March 17, 1756, Josiah Miles was 
 voted and granted 70 acres adjoining his lots and 50 more for "getting" 
 the Richcords into shape" — 320 in all. 
 
 His "pitch lots" must have been taken by him before the survey of 
 the town, as they lie on the map diagonal to the rest and no record 
 is found of their being granted to him or any one else. 
 
 On the seventeenth day of March, 1757, they also voted and granted 
 to Lieut. Josiah Miles "70 acres joining Scunduggady South & Heather 
 Meadow for £134 10s (old tenner on demand)." They were living here 
 in 1753. The cabin was probably in the northeast corner of the lots. 
 An old cellar more than 100 years ago had an old decayed apple tree in 
 
 It was here that the trouble with the Indians, Sabattis and Christo,. 
 occurred. (See Indian Legends.) There was another Josiah Miles, 
 called Captain Josiah, who ran the boundary of the new town three 
 years after his father's death. 
 
 Archelus owned land on the Fourth Range, which he exchanged for 
 a 100-acre lot elsewhere when the main road to Canterbury was 
 opened. He had 12 children. 
 
 Josiah Miles, Jr., was the first clerk of N. and held the office eight 
 years. 
 
 Abxeb Miles owned land on Bean Hill, which he sold to Reuben Kim- 
 ball in 1776, as the deed says, and Samuel bought and sold land from 
 Lots 29 and 63 in 1780 to Robert Ambrose for £1,000. March 13, 1780,. 
 he bought the 100-acre lot, originally No. 63, and sold it next day, 
 March 14, for £675. 
 
 These lands were the Demore Wyatt and Ambrose Woodbury farms,, 
 and also the farm now owned by Mrs. Smith Glines. Just what became 
 of the Mileses I cannot say, but there is a deed showing that Richard 
 Jackson of Tamworth sold to Josiah Miles a tract of land on Bear 
 Camp River, with buildings and all improvements, for £50. This 
 occurred in the 12th year of his majesty's reign and was dated Sept. 7, 
 1772. 
 
 Samuel Miles moved from the north fields to Canterbury and assisted 
 Josiah Miles on his farm two summers. He was there the year that. 
 Cornwallis surrendered. Elizabeth Miles Dolloff's first husband, Phin- 
 eas Fletcher, was at Yorktown. He returned home immediately and' 
 d. after eight months' service, having "enlisted the last of April or the 
 first of May." 
 
 Her father, Josiah Miles, moved to Sanbornton and Obadiah was b. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 225 
 
 there. Elizabeth Fletcher DollofE was a sister of Samuel and a dau. 
 of Josiah. 
 
 The name is not found on the tax lists after 1794. Josiah, Jr., ac- 
 cording to Sanbornton history, lived on the New Hampton road and 
 m. (second), Mirah Sanborn. His three sisters also m. three Sanborn 
 brothers, Daniel, Jonathan and John. (See page 483.) 
 
 Jonathan Wadleigh in 1780 bought his farm of Samuel Miles, it being 
 a part of No. 63. (See Proprietors' map.) 
 
 I find the following fragmentary records but cannot classify them, 
 the first being probably part of Josiah's family: 
 
 M.\RY Miles, b. May 31, 1742. 
 
 Archelus Miles, b. Nov. 20, 1743. 
 
 Josiah Miles, Jr., b. April 6, 1745. ;• 
 
 Haxx.\h Miles, b. Nov. 10, 1748; d., Aug. 1, 1749. ' , 
 
 Samuel Miles, b. March 27, 1750. 
 
 Abxer Miles, b. Sept. 28, 1751. 
 
 William Miles, b. Nov. 18, 1754. 
 
 Note. "All the above wass Born in Old Stile." 
 
 SusAx>'AH Miles, b. Dec. 7, 1755; m., Oct. 14, 1799, Caleb Heath. 
 
 Sabeth (probably Elizabeth), b. March 12, 1757. 
 
 Ah (probably Sarah), b. Nov. 22, 1763. 
 
 Veraxce (probably Deliverance), b. Nov. 2, 1765. 
 
 Omas (probably Thomas Wadleigh), b. Nov. 21, 1774. Susannah Wad- 
 leigh, his mother, d. Dec. 18, 1774. 
 
 MILLER. 
 
 Lorexzo D. Miller came to N. from Vermont. He was first a farmer 
 for Daniel E. Hill on Bay Hill, removing later to the village. She was 
 Kate Brocklebank of Plainfield. Mr. Miller was later employed at the 
 grist mill. They conducted a boarding house for many years. He was 
 a soldier in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) They had a son and 
 dau. After 17 years' residence in town, they purchased and removed 
 to their present home on East Main St., Tilton. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Abbie S. Miller, b. at Fairlee, Vt.; m. (first), John Stanyan of Con- 
 cord and had two dau. and a son. Mrs. Stanyan m. (second), Elmer 
 Pickering of Canterbury, May 27, 1905. They reside at Bristol. Flor- 
 ence resides at Concord. Marjorie and Earl reside at Tilton. 
 
 Fbaxk L. Miller, b. at Fairlee, Vt., 1871; m., Nov. 3, 1892. Clyde F. 
 Bean, b. at Manchester, 1873. They had one child, Guy E., b. Sept. i, 
 1893, who d in infancy. 
 15 
 
226 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 MOLONY. 
 
 John Molont, b. 1773, came to N. from Salem, Mass. He was first 
 taxed here in 1796. The early deeds speak of him as "John Molony 
 Mariner." Others of his family, perhaps his parents, came soon after 
 and lived on the Chase Wyatt place in East N. 
 
 Sally Maloxy, his sister, was the second wife of Jesse Cross, whose 
 dau., Sarah, b. April, 1843, was the wife of John Foss of Gilmanton 
 and resided in Penacook, where both d., leaving a son and dau., who 
 later removed to Manchester. 
 
 Polly Maloxy was the second wife of William Glines, 2d., being m. 
 Nov. 20, 1S23. 
 
 John Molony m. in N., in 180G, Sally (Sarah), dau. of Jonathan and 
 Love Thomas Sanborn of East N., who was b., 1790. They had eight 
 children. (See Sanborn gen.) He lived in various parts of the town, 
 but as he grew prospei'ous in business he erected the Jason Foss house, 
 where he d. June 6, 1832. 
 
 The contract for building it is still in existence and is in part 
 given elsewhere. It was originally three stories high but was un- 
 roofed by the gale of Sept., 1815, and one story was removed. He had 
 a store at the foot of the hill, where, among other articles of traffic, 
 "votes" for future delivery were always legal tender for rum and to- 
 bacco, as the "squire" always had some coveted public office in sight. 
 He became deputy sheriff and made quite a reputation and money, 
 too, in "staying writs." He was a keen, far-seeing man, with much 
 business ability, and was sent to represent the town in the Legislatures 
 of 1813, 1814 and 1817, although his morals were not quite up to the 
 Puritanic standard. Mrs. Molony removed with her children to Bel- 
 videre. 111., where she d. in 1848. He was buried by the present town 
 hall. In 1821 his tax was larger by far than that of any other man in 
 town. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Children of John and Sally Sanborn Molony.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Maby Jaxe Moloxy, b. July 29, 1808; m. (first), Jesse Harwick; 
 m. (second), Horace M. Gaylord, a traveling salesman, and had three 
 children. He d. in California about 1861. She d. in Chicago, 111., 
 Jan. ], 1881. She left N. in 1843. 
 
 Phebe Moloxy, b. Dec. 17, 1809; m. George Wilde. They moved to 
 Belvidere, 111., in 1843, where he was a bookkeeper. She d. July 26, 
 1866. He d. in 1890. 
 
 RiCHABD S. Moloxy, b. June 28, 1810, left N. about 1837 and, finding 
 good prospects at Belvidere, 111., took up claims and encouraged others 
 of the family to do so. He had previously read medicine with Dr. 
 Muzzey of Hanover and graduated from Dartmouth Medical School in 
 1837, leaving at once for Vicksburg, Miss. Later he went to Chicago 
 
GENEALOGIES. 227 
 
 and finally settled as above. He succeeded Hon. John Wentworth as 
 United States Senator in 1S50. 
 
 His health failing, he abandoned his profession. He engaged in the 
 real estate business in Humboldt, Neb., where he d. Dec. 14, 1891. He 
 visited his native town as the guest of Hon. C. E. Tilton after an ab- 
 sence of 47 years. 
 
 He m., in 1842, Emma Nichols of Belvidere, 111., and had two chil- 
 dren. Mrs. Molony d. April 1, 1864. 
 
 Hannah S. Moloxy, b. Nov. 11, 1812; m. at N., in 1834, Royal Blake 
 of Vermont and moved to Lyme, where they remained until March, 
 1845. They had four children, all b. in Lyme. He was a stock broker 
 at Belvidere, 111., where he d. Aug. 26, 1888, and where she now lives 
 with her dau., Mrs. Ellen Blake Thomas. Another dau., Mrs. Jennie 
 Blake Chase, resides in New York City. A son, George Blake, resides 
 at Columbus, 0. 
 
 Mathew S. Moloxy, b. May, 1814, m., in 1865, Nancy Jones and had 
 a son and a dau. He was a broker and had large farming interests 
 at Belvidere, 111., where his wife d. Sept. 12, 1864. He d. Feb. 29, 1896. 
 
 William Plummer Moloxy, b. Sept. 7, 1816; m. Kate Brigham and 
 had three children. He d. at Ann Arbor, Mich., in 1875. 
 
 Samuel S. Moloxy, b. Feb. 19, 1818; d., in 1825, and is buried be- 
 side his father at N. 
 
 James Roby Moloxy, b. May 19, 1823, was a traveling salesman. He 
 d. Aug. 20, 1861, and was buried beside his mother at Belvidere, 111. 
 
 Note. Mrs. Ellen Blake Thomas has furnished valuable data regard- 
 ing her family. 
 
 MOONEY I. 
 
 JoHX Mooxey came to N. from Loudon in 1833. He bought the home 
 of Dr. Enos Hoyt, who was then postmaster, and the office was turned 
 over to him, he holding it with various assistants until the business 
 was removed to Sanbornton Bridge. He was a man of means and, 
 as there were no banks, he became a professional money-lender. He 
 was scrupulously exact to a penny, although his terms were often 
 more to his own advantage than to his creditors. He farmed in a small 
 way and was agent for several insurance companies. When the B., C. 
 & M. R. R. was being built, he solicited funds, taking stock for his 
 services. 
 
 They lived in a quiet, unostentatious way and at his death, April 5, 
 1878, left an estate of $75,000. Among other bequests, there was a 
 considerable sum for charitable purposes. His wife, Susan Chase of 
 Loudon, d. April 29, 1806. He remained for a while in the home, 
 going later to reside with his son-in-law in Nashua. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Celestia SrsAX Mooxey, b. at Loudon, 1830; m., Dec. 26. 1848, John 
 H. Goodale of Manchester and went there to reside. He was associ- 
 
228 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 ated with the late Simeon D. Farnsworth as published of the Union 
 Democrat, and later he was secretary of state and superintendent of 
 public instruction. 
 
 Mrs. Goodale was educated at the New Hampshire Conference Sem- 
 inary and was a writer of ability as well as a worthy assistant in the 
 literary work of her husband. She d., greatly lamented, in Oct., 1863. 
 
 MOONEY II. 
 
 Isaac G. Mooney came to N. in 1871. He was b. at Sandwich and m. 
 (first), Sarah Mason, by whom he had four children. He m. (second), 
 Mary A. Vickery of Moultonborough, and had four sons and two dau. 
 He was a farmer at N. Centre on the Simonds place, where he d. 
 Dec. 2, 1892. She removed after his death to Concord. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Children of Isaac and second wife.) 
 
 Fraxk Mooney, b. at Sandwich Oct. 28, 1852; m., 1876, Mary E. 
 Hazeltine of Concord. They have a son and a dau. Mr. Mooney has 
 been for many years a conductor on the Boston & Maine Railroad with 
 home at Concord. 
 
 Alvin Mooney, b. at Sandwich Oct., 1854, resides at Salem, Mass. He 
 is a conductor on the Boston & Maine Railroad. He m. Emeline Love- 
 joy of Concord, 1878. She d. in 1882. He m. (second), Emma Bow- 
 man of Lancaster. 
 
 Perry S. Mooxey, b. at Sandwich in 1857, resides at Lowell, Mass. He 
 is a baggage master on the Boston & Maine Railroad. He m. (first), 
 Ida Collins, b. 1860, and had three sons. She d. March 23, 1892. He 
 m. (second), April 29, 1893, Adelia Ann Tenney, b. at Salamanca, N. Y., 
 1872. 
 
 Carrie E. Mooxey, b. at Sandwich in 1860; m., April 31, 1888, Ed- 
 ward R. Glines and had three children. (See Glines gen.) 
 
 Joseph Mooney, b. at Sandwich in 1861, resides at North Platte, 
 Neb. He is a conductor on the Union Pacific Railroad. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Perry and lola Collins Mooney.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 "Wilbur Mooney, b. 1875. He is employed in the Union Station, Bos- 
 ton, Mass. 
 
 Elmer Mooney, b. 1877 (?), is employed on the railroad. 
 Arthur Mooney, b. 1882, is employed in the manufacture of artificial 
 limbs. 
 
 MOORE I. 
 
 The Moores were early settlers of Canterbury, Archelus and William 
 being among the "Proprietors." Ezekiel, son of Nathaniel, was the 
 first of the name to settle in N. He was the first rural delivery man in 
 
GENE.VLOGIES. 229 
 
 town. The mail was brought from Concord to Canterbury, from whence 
 he took it on horseback to Gilmanton Corner. After the settlements on 
 Bay Hill, his route was changed to include them. 
 
 He then moved to the French or Hannaford place on the main road, 
 near the railroad crossing. About 1820, tradition says, he carried the 
 mails 14 years, selling out in 1825, when he removed to Bristol. 
 He was b. March 4, 17G3. He m., 1790, Eliza Morrill of Amesbury, 
 Mass., b. Jan. 11, 1770, and d. at Canterbury in 1818. He d. March 
 12, 1840. 
 
 Mr. Moore enlisted at the age of 16 as a private in Captain Sias' 
 company in Piscataqua Harbor in Sept., 1779, and served 27 days. He 
 was also a private in Capt. Ezekiel Webster's militia regiment, which 
 joined the Continental Army at West Point, July, 1780, and served 
 three months and 20 days. (See New Hampshire Rolls, II, 697; III, 
 148.) 
 
 He m. (second), Feb. 10, 1823, Mary Melrill. She d. in 1870. He had 
 ten children by his first wife. The names of his five boys each com- 
 menced with the letter M, and he had five dau., all b. at Canterbury. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Nancy Moore, b. Tuesday, Oct. 4, 1791; m., Dec. 25, 1817, William 
 Davis, and d. Aug. 24, 1825. 
 
 Martha (Patty) Moore, b. Thursday, Aug. 13, 1793; m., Sept. 22, 
 1818, John C. Stevens of N. and resided on the Peter French place. 
 Sixteen children were b. to them. They were in moderate circum- 
 stances, it is told, until one year's crop of rye, that covered the hill- 
 side far and near, brought such bountiful returns that they were able 
 to pay all debts. They then sold the farm to Mr. French and re- 
 moved to better conditions at Stewartstown. One dau. m. 
 
 James. A second dau. m. Bamford and a third m. John Emer- 
 son. All removed from town. 
 
 Alice Moore, b. Wednesday, March 30, 1796; m., 1815, J. Leverett 
 Chase of Loudon, and d. there in 1867. 
 
 Morrill S. Moore. b. Monday, Oct. 29, 1798; m., Oct. 2, 1820, Sally 
 Hancock of N., b. April 7, 1794. They resided at first on the main 
 road and later on the Bean Hill road, where he was a farmer and a 
 lumberman for many years. He d. at Sanbornton while on a visit 
 to his son, May 14, 1860. She d. Oct. 24, 1S5S. They had five chil- 
 dren. 
 
 Polly Moore, b. Tuesday, Oct. 28, 1800; ra., Dec. 29, 1825, Jacob C. 
 Haines, b. at Sanbornton April 24, 1799. She d. at Boston. Mass., Sept. 
 22, 1865, and he d. at Waltham, Mass., Nov. 10, 1877. His son. John, 
 resides there. 
 
 MiLTox MooRE, b. Jlonday, Nov. 11, 1802; m. Abagail Verrell of Alex- 
 andria. He d. there Aug. 30, 1838. 
 
 Betsey Moore, b. Friday, Nov. 23, 1804; m., March 25, 1842, Stephen 
 Carlton of Colebrook. She d. at Scranton, Pa. 
 
230 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Moody Moore, b. March 7, 1S07; d. and was buried at sea. He m, 
 Eliza Flagg of Lincoln, Mass. 
 
 Matthias Moore, b. April 24, ISIO; m. (first), Elizabeth Jones of 
 Boston, Mass. He m. (second), Harriet Philbrook of Sanbornton 
 Bridge. The children by his first wife were: Joseph, Matthias and 
 Lizzie and, by his second wife, Victoria, William, Lilla and Henrietta. 
 He d. at Canterbury in 1879 and she d. at Sanbornton Bridge April 27, 
 1863. He resided in Boston for many years and was a fine singer 
 and musical director. 
 
 Esther Moore, b. Aug. 13, 1812; m., Sept., 1835, James Moore, b. May 
 24, 1809. They resided in Waltham, where both d. He d. March 11, 
 1877, and she d. Feb. 26, 1895. 
 
 Phebe Moore, b. Nov. 11, 1813; m. Trueworthy Evans. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Morrill S. and Sally Hancock Moore.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Orpha Moore d. in infancy. 
 
 Clarissa Moore, b. April 18, 1827; m. Joseph Cross, a farmer of N., 
 and had ten children. (See Cross gen.) She d. June 12, 1897. 
 
 Polly Moore, b. May 1, 1828; m. Willis Gray and had one dau., 
 Emma, now Mrs. Nealey of Nottingham. Mrs. Gray d. Jan. 7, 1867. 
 
 Morrill Moore (see portrait), b. Nov. 18, 1829; m., March 3, 1858, 
 Lovina A. Huse (see Huse gen.) and had a family of five. They were 
 thrifty farmers for many years on the Smith place at the foot of 
 Bean Hill and he was also a stock raiser and dairyman. Later in life 
 he purchased the 300-acre estate of his father-in-law and made a 
 specialty of raising Devon cattle. He collected the town taxes for 
 several years. They were charter members of Friendship Grange and 
 their exhibits often bore off the prizes at grange fairs. He d. July 1, 
 1901, and the farm has recently been sold to Samuel B. Chase. 
 
 Merrill Moore, b. March 4, 1831; m., Oct. 6, 1855, Caroline Lake of 
 Canterbury. He was a trader at N. Depot for some years. Mrs. Moore 
 d. Sept. 10, 1860, aged 23 years. He m. (second), Mary Heath and 
 removed to Manchester, where he d. Feb. 26, 1889. They had three 
 children, two of whom d. young, and Sadie, now Mi'S. Watson, resides 
 at East Tilton, where her mother d. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Morrill and Lovina Huse Moore.) 
 
 Eliza Abbie Moore d. in infancy. 
 
 Frank Huse Moore, b. March 25, 1862; m., Nov. 30, 1899, Louisa 
 Bisson. After a few years of trade at N., and later at Belmont, he 
 is still engaged in selling hay, grain and groceries at Laconia. 
 
 Cora Estelle Moore, b. June 12, 1864; m., June 12, 1896, Oliver W. 
 Taylor of Laconia, where they reside. He is a blacksmith. They 
 
MORRILL MOORE. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 231 
 
 have a son, Howard, and a dau., Alice. Mrs. Taylor was educated 
 at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and was a teacher pre- 
 vious to her marriage. 
 
 Bella A. Moore, b. May 11, 1SG7; m., Jan. 3, 1889, George A. Dear- 
 born of Hill. They reside on Beacon St., Concord. He is employed 
 by the Manchester & Concord Express Company. Mrs. Dearborn was 
 educated at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and was also a 
 teacher. They have a dau., Mildred A., and a son, Harold M. 
 
 Arthur G. Moore, b. June 26, 1872; m., July 26, 1901, Edna Morrill. 
 He was for several years a dealer in cattle and meat on the home farm 
 until its sale. He resides in N. 
 
 MOORE II. 
 
 JoHx N. MooRE, b. at Ludlow, Vt., April 3, 1834, came to N., from Til- 
 ton, in 1878. He m., Nov. 20, 1866, Clara A. Sanborn of Tilton, who 
 was b. at Lowell, Mass., June 22, 1849. During his early life he was 
 engaged in farming and later was night watchman at Buell's Mill. 
 He was a member of Doric Lodge, No. 78, A. F. and A. M., at Tilton. 
 They had three children. He d. Feb. 12, 1903. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Ellex Grace Moore, b. at West Randolph, Vt., April 12, 1869. She 
 is a fine singer and is a member of Trinity Church choir. 
 
 Maud Evelyn Moore, b. at Rumney Oct. 25, 1871; m., Oct. 24, 1893, 
 Harry R. Sturm of Boston, Mass., b. at Philadelphia, Pa. They have 
 two children: Julius Cecil, b. at N. Feb. 2, 1899, and Doris Elizabeth, 
 b. Jan. 29, 1903, at Concord, where they reside. 
 
 LxA Naomi Moore, b. Oct. 3, 1876, in Tilton, and m., Dec. 15, 1897, 
 Levi F. Cadue. (See Cadue gen.) 
 
 MORSE. 
 
 Antiio.xy Morse lived on the farm now owned by Mrs. S. W. Glines. 
 The house then stood on the east side of the road. His wife was Han- 
 nah Platts. They had six children, three of whom were cripples. He 
 d. in N. about 1813. The inventory of his estate was: "Homestead with 
 buildings $490. 5 acres bot of Daniel Hills $55, One gun & layout $5 
 in all $550." 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Hannah Morse m. Moses Hills of Chester. She returned after her 
 father's death and settled his estate. 
 
 Stephe.v Morse, b. 1772, lived in N.. and d. there Dec. 28, 1824. He 
 gi-eatly desired to be buried in the Knowles burying ground and his 
 ■wish was granted, as his tombstone shows. 
 
232 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 MORRISON I. 
 
 Ebenezee Moreisox, b. July 3, 1792; m., Feb. 10, 1814, Anna Lyford 
 of N., b. Dec. 9, 1793. He was a tanner at the Centre, but went, later, 
 to the home of his father-in-law. Squire Lyford, on Zion's Hill, where 
 all his children were b. He later removed to Sanbornton Bridge, 
 where, with his two sons, he erected a steam tannery where Carter's 
 Mills now stand. It was burned on Jan. 15, 1876, and was never rebuilt. 
 He d. May 26, 1849. She d. April 27, 1862. They had six sons and 
 a little dau., who was drowned in a tan pit at two years of age. They 
 were Christian people and both were charter members of the Congrega- 
 tional Church organized in 1823. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (See group.) 
 
 Thomas Lyfokd Morkisox was b. Jan. 17, 1815. He m. Mrs. Susan 
 Capen French and removed to her home. He was a tanner and worked 
 with his brothers at their steam mill and elsewhere. He also culti- 
 vated the farm and lived to a good old age, dying Dec. 11, 1899. She 
 d. Sept. 12, 1896. They had five children. 
 
 Robert Gray Morrison, b. April 16, 1817; m. (first), Sept. 12, 1841, 
 Sarah Damrell of Boston, b. July 18, 1822, at Portland, Me. They re- 
 sided in Concord, where he was employed by the Prescott Organ 
 Company on cases. She d. March 5, 1859. 
 
 He m. (second). May 24, 1860, Sarah Rebecca Carter of Canterbury, 
 b. Oct. 4, 1838. They had five children. He d. June 13, 1880. A son, 
 Frank Robert, d. in Boston, Mass., and two dau., Mrs. Emma Richard- 
 son and Mrs. Ida Carter, reside in Manchester. 
 
 Amos Hannaford Morrison, b. May 26, 1819; m., Aug. 31, 1841, 
 Martha A. W. Morrison of Sanbornton Bridge. He was for his whole 
 active life a machinist for the Concord Railroad. 
 
 They were unselfish Christian people. They had five children, but 
 two of whom, Mrs. Asenath Goodhue and John Edwards, both of Con- 
 cord, survive. He d. Sept. 20, 1900. She d. Aug., 1893. 
 
 Obadiah Hall Morrison and his twin sister, Mary Hall Morrison, 
 were b. March 17, 1823. He went to Washington, D. C, when a young 
 man and spent his whole life in active business there. He m. Emma 
 Clark and had 10 children, six of whom survive. He d. Dec. 24, 1875. 
 He was an extensive dealer in books and stationery. 
 
 LiBA CoNANT Morrison, b. May 13, 1828; m.. May 1, 1859, Mary Chase 
 Hill of N., b. July 8, 1835. He was for many years a tanner. When 
 business declined he became a farmer on Hills St. He d. at the home 
 of his niece, July 11, 1900. She d. Sept. 10, 1898. 
 
 Ebenezer Morrison, Jr., b. May 6, 1832; m., Sept. 29, 1857, Zepherine 
 Robinson, b. at Eddington, Me., March 8, 1838. After some years of 
 employment as tanner and spinner for A. H. Tilton, he removed to 
 Washington, D. C, and was associated with his brother, Obadiah, in 
 
^-V 
 
 
 
 
 l";1 
 
 ' 
 
 W 
 
 1^- W 
 
 4l 
 
 Ik. M 
 
 ^ ^% 
 
 Ikk 
 
 1 
 
 
 <J o 
 
GENEALOGIES. 233 
 
 the book and stationery business. Mrs. Morrison d. July 17, 18SS. He 
 d. at Washington, D. C, July 5, 1S91. They had three children, two 
 of whom, Ella and Willie, survive. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Thomas L. and Susan Capen Morrison.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Byron Kendrick Morrison, b. Jan. 21, 1842; m., March 24, 18G1, Han- 
 nah Munsey of Gilford, b. Dec. 14, 1839, and had one son, Edwin G. 
 Mr. Morrison served in the Civil War (see Boys in Blue), contracted 
 fever in camp but rallied sufficiently to reach home, and d. soon after, 
 Oct. 12, 1863. 
 
 George Putnam Morrison, b. March 4, 1846; m. (first), Aug. 15, 1870, 
 Sarah Sanders of Barnstead, b. 1842, d., ISSl. He m. (second), Nov., 
 1884, Emma M. Stinson. He is a telegrapher. 
 
 Mary Eliza Morrison, b. Nov. 14, 1847. 
 
 QBE G. Morrison, b. Oct. 15, 1851. (See portrait and sketch in 
 Manufacturers of N.) 
 
 Nellie Susan Morrison, b. March 29, 1857. After leaving school she 
 held a responsible place in Buell's Hosiery Mill counting-room. She 
 m., Dec. 29, 1883, George F. Chase of Deerfleld. (See Chase gen.) 
 It has been her duty to care for her aged parents and others of the 
 family in their declining years, a duty for which she has a natural 
 fitness. 
 
 (Children of Ebenezer and Zepherine Robinson Morrison.) 
 
 Ella Josepheena Morrison, b. at Tilton May 23, 1861. 
 
 Howard Linvllle Morrison, b. at Tilton Aug. 23, 1866. 
 
 Martha Henrietta Morrison, b. at Washington, D. C, July 11, 1S68; 
 d., Jan. 21, 1870. 
 
 Ralph Ebenezer Morrison, b. at Washington, D. C, Nov. 6, 1S7S; d., 
 July 6, 1879. 
 
 Ella J. and Howard L. were educated in the public schools of Wash- 
 ington, D. C. Ella later spent a year at Laselle Seminary, Auburndale, 
 Mass., and Howard, at Shortledge Medical Academy at Media. Pa., and 
 later at Pennington (N. J.) Seminary. He is interested in the paper 
 business and has charge of the manufacture and sale of the Morrison 
 & Herren paper-testing machines used in all the government depart- 
 ments as the standard for testing paper. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 (Child of Obe and Mary Munsey Morrison.) 
 
 Edith G. Morrison, b. at N. May 8, 1877; m., May 1, 1902, Walter 
 Booth, b. at Milnrow, England, Jan. 9, 1877. He is a son of Charles 
 Booth, who, after a few years' residence on Bay St., removed West 
 and, later, to Savannah, Ga., where he is superintendent of G. H. Til- 
 ton's Hosiery Mill. 
 
234 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELU. 
 
 (Child of Byron and Hannah Munsey Morrison.) 
 Edwin G. Mokrison. (See portrait and sketch in Manufacturers 
 of N.) 
 
 MORRISON II. 
 
 James S. Morrison, b. at Sanbornton Nov. 25, 1816; m. (first), April 
 25, 1839, Mary J. Rundlet, b. at Sanbornton Jan. 13, 1821. They had 
 three children. She d. March 11, 185G. 
 
 He m. (second), Mrs. Martha W. Carr, b. at New York, 1828, and d, 
 at N. Sept. 17, 1891. They had one dau. Mr. Morrison was a wheel- 
 wright in Cambridge and Boston for 16 years and later was a farmer 
 at "Tin Corner," where the Soldiers' Home now stands. He came to N. 
 and built the "Riverside," where he d. March 13, 1891. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Children of James and Mary J. Rundlet Morrison.) 
 Oliver Prescott Morrison, b. at Sanbornton June 16, 1840; served in 
 the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 Ella Annette Morrison, b. at Cambridge, Mass., May 11, 1846; m., 
 Jan. 1, 1885, Charles E. Stokes of Montana. They now reside at Po- 
 mona, Cal., and have one child, Charles Morrison. 
 
 Emma Jane Morrison, b. at Cambridge, Mass., Feb. 19, 1851; m.^ 
 Oct. 16, 1869, Reuben Morrill, b. at Sanbornton Bridge Nov. 18, 1843. 
 She conducts dressmaking parlors at Franklin Falls. 
 
 (Child of James and Martha Carr Morrison.) 
 
 Cora F. Morrison, b. at Sanbornton Bridge Feb. 11, 1858, resides 
 in N. 
 
 MORRISON III. 
 
 John Prentiss Morrison, b. at Boscawen Jan. 14, 1817; m., Sept. 
 14, 1843, Rebecca C. Stiles, b. at Bradford, Mass., Aug. 8, 1817. 
 
 They came to N. in 1874. He was a mason by trade. They had 
 three children. Mr. Morrison d. Oct., 1882. She survived him for 
 nine years, becoming nearly blind some years before her death. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Adelaide Scott Morrison, b. at Sanbornton June 25, 1845. She is 
 an active member of the "Woman's Relief Corps and remains in the 
 home. 
 
 John Quincy Adams Morrison, b. at Sanbornton Dec. 2, 1847; m., 
 Feb. 2, 1871, Addie M. Pike of Newburyport, Mass., where he d. May 
 5, 1903. She d. Jan. 3, 1903. He was a hatter by trade and later was 
 a silversmith. They had one child, Arthur P., who d. suddenly, falling 
 in the street at Newburyport, May 5, 1901. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 235 
 
 George Stiles Morrisox, b. at Sanbornton Oct. 23, 1S51; m., Aug., 
 12, 1S9G, Lennie M. Chandler of Bucksport, Me., b. Jan. 11, 1871. He is 
 a shoemaker in Tilton. They have two children: Ernest, b. 1897, and 
 Gladys E., b. 1900. 
 
 MORRILL. 
 
 Smith S. Morrill was b. in Canterbury Dec, 1822. He bought the 
 Jeremiah Cofran place and became a nurseryman, putting out at once 
 200 trees. He followed this business until his death, Nov. 28, 1866. 
 He m., Sept., 1852, Mary E. Clark of Canterbury. She d. March 19, 
 1890. Mr. Moi-rill was for many years deacon of the Congregational 
 Church and superintendent of its Sunday School. They had six chil- 
 dren, two dying in infancy. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 ALBRO DAVID MORRILL. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Albro David Morrill, b. Aug., 1854, was educated at the New Hamp- 
 shire Conference Seminary and entered the sophomore class of Dart- 
 mouth College, in the Chandler Scientific School, in 1873, graduating in 
 1876. He then took a post-graduate course at Ann Arbor, Mich. He 
 m., Dec, 1879, Lena Carver of Binghampton, N. Y. A son, Nathan 
 Clark, d. in infancy. 
 
 He taught natural science and mathematics five years at Lewiston, 
 Pa. He was later in the same department at Belmont College, Cin- 
 cinnati, O., for five years. Then he went to Ohio University at Athens, 
 where he was professor of biology and geology. 
 
 In 1891 he organized the department of biologj- at Hamilton Col- 
 lege, Clinton, N. Y., and he is a member of the American Geological 
 Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. 
 He has also done some original investigation in the study of nerves. 
 
 Ax.ME Clark Morrill, b. Oct., 1S5C, was educated at the New 
 Hampshire Conference Seminary. She took a course in the Hartford, 
 Conn., Hospital and graduated as a nurse in 1879. She worked at her 
 profession until 1881 when she m. Oscar P. Sanborn of N. Centre. 
 (See Sanborn gen.) 
 
 Bessie Smith Morrill, b. July, 1859, graduated at the New Hamp- 
 shire Conference Seminary in the class of 1880. She trained for 
 nursing in the Boston City Hospital until 1884. She took post-grad- 
 uate courses in two other hospitals and was a charter member of the 
 Boston Nurses' Club. She now resides in the home. 
 
 Catherine D. Morrill, b. June 5, 1867, was educated at the New 
 Hampshire Conference Seminary. She went, in 1891. to a school of 
 designs in New York City, from which she graduated, going later to 
 
236 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 the New York "School of Designs for "Women," and working on de- 
 signs for wall paper, silk, book covers and illustrated fashion cata- 
 logues. For five years she has been employed by a fine draughtsman 
 in New York, doing patent office work. 
 
 MORGAN. 
 
 Ira Morgax came from Hill to N. about ISGO and bought the place 
 now occupied by Dea. G. S. Abbott. He was twice m., the second time 
 to Mrs. Jane Ballou Long of Alexandria. He had seven children, but 
 two of whom were b. in N. Mr. Morgan removed to Hill and d. 
 there. She now resides in Lowell. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (Children of Ira and Morgan.) 
 
 LoviSA Morgan, b. at Hill March 15, 1S41; m., Jan. 1, 1S62, Dr. J. 
 R. Rowell, and d., Jan. 1, 1903, on the 41st anniversary of her mar- 
 riage. They had one dau.. May Luella, who d. at five years. 
 
 Ella M. Morgan m. Marshall Huse of Hill. She now resides with 
 her dau. at Santa Monica, Cal., with a temporary home at Hill. 
 
 Ira N. Morgan resides at Suncook. 
 
 Scott W. Morgan resides at Colona, Mich. 
 
 Frank M. Morgan resides at Minneapolis, Minn. 
 
 (Children of Ira and Mrs. Jane Ballou Long Morgan.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 LoREN Morgan m. and resides in Haverhill, Mass. 
 
 Jennie Morgan m. William A. McEvoy of Lowell, where thej' re- 
 side. 
 
 Children of Mrs. Morgan by her first marriage were Lilla, who d. in 
 Detroit, Mich., and William Long, who resides in Lowell, Mass. 
 
 MOREY. 
 
 Massa Morey came to N. from Franklin in 1S49. He leased the 
 grist mill in Tilton, bought land on Arch Hill and erected the house 
 now owned by the Herrick heirs. He m. Persis Austin of Andover 
 and had three children. He also leased the "Yellow Mill" and man- 
 ufactured patent fence. He d. Oct. 29, 1S54, and the family removed 
 from town. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Trussel Morey came to be associated with his father in business 
 and conducted a grain and feed mill. He m. Mary Jane Simonds 
 of Concord and, after a few years' stay, removed to Montreal, where 
 he d., leaving two dau. and a son, Frank. She resides at 37 St, 
 Famille St., Montreal, P. Q. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 237 
 
 John Holmes Morey was b., Jan 31, 1S34, at Franklin. He came 
 to N. when a boy and spent his childhood here. When a child he 
 showed great ability as a musician, which was carefully cultivated 
 under the best teachers. At 19 he established himself at Con- 
 cord as a teacher of the pianoforte, and, with but a slight inter- 
 ruption — when he went to Savannah as an organist and teacher — 
 he spent 40 years there, the leading musical genius of the state. He 
 m., in 1S77, Carrie Cotterell and had one dau., Bertha. He d., after 
 a long illness, March 12, 1S95. She remains in the home on Green 
 St., Concord. 
 
 Sarah Persis Morey, b. Aug. 1, 1839; m., Sept. 18, 1858, John B. 
 Bacon of Chelsea, Vt. She was also a music teacher of ability. They 
 had a son, John L. Bacon of White River Junction. Her dau., Mary, 
 d. in early womanhood. John L. Bacon is state treasurer of Vermont. 
 Mrs. Bacon d. July 26, 1893. 
 
 MORRILL L 
 
 Levi Morrill was b. at Epping in 17G0. There he was enrolled as 
 a Revolutionary soldier. He m. Elizabeth Page of Epping and came 
 to live in East N. near the Sanborn farm, where he d. Nov. 3, 1865, aged 
 75. She d. in Gilmanton April 6, 1851, aged 86. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Bexjami>- Morrill, b. in East N. Oct. 11, 1793, was a soldier ia 
 the War of 1812, when less than 20 years of age. He m. Abagail Rob- 
 inson of Gilmanton, Dec. 31, 1S17. She d. Jan. 24, 1SS4. He d. at 
 Jamestown Jan. 15, 1867. They had six children, none of whom re- 
 sided in N. 
 
 Hanxah Morrill, b. at N.; m., Dec, 1819, Willoughby Durgin of 
 Sanbornton, and d. Feb. 20, 1865. She had two sons, Daniel Morrill 
 Durgin, who d. in infancy, and Benjamin Morrill Durgin, a farmer 
 at Jamestown. 
 
 Daniel Gale Morrill, b. Jan. 3, 1802, lived in N. on the home farm,, 
 where he d. July 4, 1851. He m. Lucy Sanborn, who d. Dec, 1850. 
 
 MORRILL IL 
 
 David Morrill came to N. Depot from Bristol. He m. (first),. 
 Elizabeth Austin and had a family of 10. Only four are connected 
 with the history of N. His second wife was Nabby Willey. Both d. at 
 N. She d. Feb. 21, 1860. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Jaxe Morrill, b. 1831; m. John Roberts of N. and had three chil- 
 dren. (See Roberts gen.) 
 
238 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Benjamix Morrill, b. at Canterbury; m. Diana Woodward of N. 
 Factory Village and had one son. After his death she m. William H. 
 Roberts of N. (See Roberts gen.) 
 
 David Moeeill remained in the home until 16 years of age. He 
 now resides at Somerville, Mass. 
 
 Nancy Morrill, b. at N. July 26, 1S40; m. Stephen Woodward of 
 Factory Village and has always resided there. They have five chil- 
 dren: Ida, Walter, Edgar, Cora and Linnie. 
 
 MORRILL III. 
 
 David Morrill was b. Aug. 30, 1779. He m., Sept. 6, 1S04, Lydia 
 Buswell, b. Dec. 14, 1780. They resided on Bay Hill at the corner 
 of the Knowles road. They had three children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 John Morrill, b. Dec. IS, 1802, removed to Groton. 
 Samuel Morrill, b. July 17, 1806. 
 
 David Morrill, Jr., b. Aug. 30, 1812; m. Jane Thompson and lived 
 on Bay Hill Road. He d. July 24, 1880. She d. Nov. 14, 1869. 
 
 MORRILL IV. 
 
 Bradbury M. Morrill, b. in Sanbornton April 26, 1829; m. (first), 
 June 25, 1851, Ellen S. Sumner of Hill, who d. July 7, 1853. He m. 
 (second), Anna E. Proctor of Lowell, Mass., Sept. 4, 1856, who was 
 b. May 14, 1834, and d. at Tilton June 5, 1873. He came to N. about 
 1860 and was an insurance agent. He was appointed postmaster in 
 1869, serving until 1871. It was during his term that the name was 
 changed to Tilton. They had three children: Ellen S., who d. in 1859; 
 Harvey F., b. 1861; and Alice B., b. 1863. He served for two and one 
 half years in the Civil War. They moved to Claremont. He was acci- 
 dentally killed by the cars. 
 
 MORRILL V. 
 
 Luther H. Morrill, b. at Webster June 16, 1867, came to N., Sept. 
 1, 1886, from Wilmot, and was employed by Lord Bros. Manufacturing 
 Company and, later, at the Ideal Company's works as machinist. He 
 m., July 18, 1896, Mabel J. McDuff of N. and has always resided in 
 town. 
 
 He' served as its clerk for several years and was, in 1898, appointed 
 postmaster of the Tilton and Northfield office. (See Postmasters, with 
 portrait.) 
 
GENEALOGIES. 239 
 
 MUCHMORE. 
 
 James Muchmore's name appears on the first "Prizle List," where 
 his tax was 10s. Gd. in 1784. He was a farmer and one son, James, 
 was b. in town. The name disappears about 1786 and the father 
 and son removed to Orford, where James, 3d, was b. His son, Dr. 
 Alonzo Muchmore, a surgeon in the army and a member of many 
 social and fraternal societies, is the only branch of the family I 
 am able to trace. He resided at Campton Village, 
 
 MUZZEY I. 
 
 W.\XTER S. MuzzEY was b. at Bristol July 13, 1849; m., Nov. 26, 1873, 
 Ellen C. Abbott of West Concord. They came to N. in 1903, whither 
 his son had previously come, and purchased a home on Bay St. He 
 had been a dealer in meats and provisions in Franklin, Penacook and, 
 later, at Tilton. He is a member of Arch Lodge, K. of P. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 H.\RRY W. MuzzEY, b. at Franklin April 20, 1876; m., Oct. 17, 1898, 
 Emma Lovell, b. at Lawi-ence, Mass., July 3, 1877. He was for some 
 years a dealer in meat and provisions with his father in Tilton. Mr. 
 Muzzey bought the Firth house in 1900 and removed to N. He has 
 been clerk of the town for four years and is now employed by the 
 Citizens' Telephone Company. They have two children: Merle, b. 
 1899, and Miriam, b. 1900. 
 
 Arthur P. Muzzet, b. at Penacook July 23, 1SS3; d., April 17, 1884. 
 
 MUZZEY 11. 
 
 Albert C. Muzzey came to N. from Tilton in Aug., 1881. He was 
 b. at Bristol July 6, 1851; m., July 20, 1881, Mary A. Thomas, b. at 
 Lawrence, Mass., Feb. 17, 1858. He is a dealer in meats and pro- 
 visions in N. They have one son. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 Herbert Thomas Muzzey, b. Jan. 2, 1887. He is a member of the 
 sophomore class at Tilton Seminary. 
 
 NELSON. 
 
 Charles Edwin Nelson, b. at Gilraanton Dec. 3, 1818; m., July 16, 
 1843, Mary Jane Foss, b. April 23, 1821. He was a farmer, being the 
 third generation on the same farm. They had four children, all b. 
 in Gilmanton. He moved to Tilton in Dec, 1862, and was employed 
 as dyer at the Tilton Mills for a score of years. July 22, ISSO, they 
 removed to N., where he d. July 3, 1892. She d. Nov. 7, 1900. 
 
240 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 EmiA Jane N'elsox, b. April 24, 1850; m., June 25, 1867, William J. 
 Winch of Fitcliburg, Mass. He was a painter by trade and was a 
 volunteer in Company H, Massachusetts Fourth Heavy Artillery, in 
 the Civil War. They had two children. He d. Jan. 20, 1893. She 
 resides on Bay St. 
 
 George Henry Nelson, b. Jan. 14, 1853; m., Dec. 24, 1874, Ella O. 
 Hills of N. (See Hills gen.) He was foreman in the carding and 
 spinning room at the Elm Mills for 18 years and later learned the 
 trade of a carpenter. They reside on Hills St. at N. They had two 
 children. 
 
 RuEus Edwin Nelson, b. June 18, 1858; m. Annie Hale Atherton, 
 b. July 14, 1857. He was employed at the Elm and Tilton Mills for 
 many years and is now clerk at the Jordan Hotel at Tilton. He is 
 Past Grand Master of Harmony Lodge, No. 65, I. 0. O. F., and both 
 Mr. and Mrs. Nelson are members of Granite Hill Rebekah Lodge at 
 Tilton. They reside on Park St. and have three children. 
 
 Charles Albert Nelson, b. Nov. IS, 1860; m., March 21, 1889, Mrs. 
 Ida Butterfield Hobart of Hebron. He is a druggist at Haverhill, 
 Mass. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Emma J. and William J. Winch.) 
 
 (B. at Fitchburg, Mass.) 
 
 Cora Emma Winch, b. May 25, 1871, resides with her mother. 
 Charles William Winch, b. Jan. 9, 1873; d. at N. Oct. 10, 1880, 
 
 (Children of George H. and Ella Hills Nelson.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Infant dau., b. March 28, 1877; d., March 31, 1877. 
 Ada Leila Nelson, b. June 7, 188^, was a graduate at Tilton Sem- 
 inary, class of 1904, and is employed at the Tilton Optical Works. 
 
 (Children of Rufus E. and Annie Atherton Nelson.) 
 (B. at Tilton.) 
 
 Ernest Edwin Nelson, b. April 16, 1878; m. Ellen Frances Dolley 
 of N. and they have one child, Myrtle Atherton, b. July 13, 1894. He 
 has a responsible position with the Holden Manufacturing Company 
 at Penacook, where he resides. He is a fine musician. He is a mem- 
 ber of Arch Lodge, K. of P., at Tilton. 
 
 Arthur Scott Nelson, b. April 29, 1880; m., Sept. 14, 1904, Stella 
 F. Hills. (See Hills gen.) He has fine musical ability. He is a 
 member of Harmony Lodge, No. 65, I. O. O. F., being the present 
 Noble Grand. He is employed by Phelps & Dolley, grocers, at Tilton, 
 where they^reside. They are members of Granite Hill Rebekah Lodge, 
 
 RuEUs Laurence Nelson, b. March 11, 1894. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 241 
 
 NORTON. 
 
 William J. Norton came from Franklin to N. and took charge of the 
 newly-erected grist mill on the site of the Optical "Works. (See Mills.) 
 
 He m. Blood of Hollis and had three dau. In 1S75 he removed 
 
 to School St., Tilton, where she d. in 1S7G. He moved after her death 
 to Hollis. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Mary Norton, b. 1853; m., Jan. 7, 1879, Orville Dyer of Sanbornton, 
 b. July 9, 1847. After a short stay at Franklin Falls and Tilton they 
 moved to Kingston, where he is a farmer. 
 
 Caroline Norton, b. 1854; m., 1883 (?), Charles H. Blood of Hollis. 
 He came to N. and lived on Park St. He was miller in the new Copp 
 mill on the Tilton side. They had one son, Willie. 
 
 Emma Norton, b. at Factory Village; m. Elmer Silloway and resided 
 at Kingston. He was a farmer and d. a few years later. She still 
 resides there and has two children, a son and a dau. 
 
 NUDD. 
 
 The Nudd families were of Scotch descent. Their names appear 
 on the town records as early as 1799, when Levi Nudd was taxed in 
 N., as were his brothers, James, Warren and Joseph. 
 
 Isaac Nudd, b. 1812; m., Nov. 17, 1837, Abagail Peaslee Sanborn. 
 
 Joseph Nudd went to Hingham, Mass., and d. there. 
 
 Mary Nudd, twin sister of the above, m., Aug., 1826, Isaac Foss of 
 N. (See Foss gen.) 
 
 Joseph Warren Nudd, b. 1769, lived in the south part of N., close by 
 the Canterbury line, on the Fifth Range, which was early opened to the 
 Borough for hoi'seback riders. He m., Dec. 3, 1811, Judith Arlin 
 and had six children. It is more than probable that the home was 
 built on the range, as no deeds are to be found. Here lived a large 
 family not later than 1840. The house was burned and the old chim- 
 ney remained standing many years, also a large orchard of unthrifty 
 and decaying trees. There were no fences and the whole farm was a 
 part of what was called the Sanborn pasture. After Mr. Nudd's death 
 in 1822, his wife m. (second), Hiram Kimball and lived on the next 
 range East and had three children: Laura, who m. Andrew Grover of 
 Canterbury; Charles, who went to the Civil War and who, while on his 
 way home, slipped under the train at Concord and was fatally injured; 
 and John Kimball, b. 1833, who resides at New Hampton. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Ekastus Nudd for many years furnished charcoal for Concord 
 smithies. His kilns were on the south side of Bean Hill, on the 
 shores of Forrest Pond. He had two kilns and often averaged 300 
 
 16 
 
242 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 bushels per week. He m. Catherine Reardon of Ireland and d. at 
 Lancaster May 29, 1897. They had four children. 
 
 Almira Nudd m. Luther Rogers of N. and resided in Loudon. They 
 liad a large family of children. (See Rogers gen.) 
 
 Naecissa Nudd, h. Oct. 2, 1817; m., Oct. 16, 1832, John Dalton of 
 Sanbornton. (See Dalton gen.) 
 
 Levi Nudd learned the blacksmith trade with Joseph Clisby and 
 moved to Holderness, where he, later, became a brickmason. He m. 
 Mary Baker of Ashland and had two children, Helen and Charles. She 
 d. in Boston. He d. in Laconia in 1900. 
 
 Andrew J. Nudd, b. 1825; m. (pub.), Sept. 18, 1850, Sarah Elizabeth 
 Glines. (See Glines gen.) He bought the little corner store near the 
 old meeting-house, where he traded for several years. Later he be- 
 came a farmer. They had seven children. He d. May 5, 1873. 
 
 Benjamin Nudd m., March 16, 1847, Melinda Whicher of N. and had 
 four children. He is a brickmason at Meredith, where they reside. 
 
 David Nudd, b. 1831; m. Lavina Chaplain of Canterbury and had 
 four children. He is a stonemason and farmer, and resides at 
 Exeter. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Erastus and Catherine Reardon Nudd.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Mary Nudd m. Sargent and resides at Laconia. 
 
 Martha Nudd m. Willey and d. at Lancaster, June 24, 1879. 
 
 Clara Nudd m. Mclntire and d. at Concord, June 20, 1904. 
 
 Enos Hoyt Nudd, b. 1828, at the Bowles house at N. Centre. He 
 m. Clara Hadley of Centre Harbor, b. Oct. 27, 1836. They were m. 
 Sept. 16, 1854. Both d. at Centre Harbor, and had 11 children. 
 Flora and Nettie lived in N. 
 
 (Children of Andrew J. and Sarah E. Glines Nudd.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Erastus Nudd, b. 1852, always resided in N. and d. while on a visit 
 to his sister, Feb. 10, 1899. 
 
 Isabelle Nudd, b. May 6, 1854; m. (first), March 18, 1871, John 
 Lakin, b. at Suncook March 4, 1856. They had one child, Mrs. John 
 H. Wells of Franklin Falls. Mr. Lakin d. May 11, 1897. She m. 
 (second). May 19, 1898, Fred Longley of Franklin, where they re- 
 side. 
 
 Elizabeth Nudd, b. 1856, was fatally burned by an outdoor fire on 
 April 11, 1864. 
 
 Josephine Nudd, b. July 11, 1859; m. (first), Henry Glines of 
 Franklin; m. (second), Wilber Rollins of New Hampton, where she 
 resides. He d. May 12, 1905. 
 
 Warren S. Nudd, b. Nov. 19, 1862; m., Jan. 16, 1890, Mabel P. 
 Downing of N. (see Downing gen.) and had three children. He is a 
 farmer and resides on Elm St. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 243 
 
 Obex Clark Nudd, b. 1864; m. Alice Armstrong of Sherbrooke, P. Q. 
 They had one dau., Lillie Belle. 
 
 Florette Nudd, b. Nov. 25. 1868; m., April 24, 1884, Nathan E. 
 Sanborn of Belmont, where they reside. He was a farmer and later 
 became proprietor of a livery stable at Belmont. 
 
 (Children of David and Lavina Chaplain Nudd.) 
 
 Ellex Amanda Nudd m. Frank Fellows of East N., where they re- 
 side. 
 
 Orianna Nudd m. John E. Oilman of N. (See Oilman gen.) 
 Mary Ella Nudd m. James Clark of Belmont and resides on a 
 part of the Capt. Thomas Fellows farm. 
 
 Walter Nudd m. Annie Lavina Varnum of Sunnerton, N. S., and 
 resides at Concord, where he is employed by the Boston & Maine 
 Railroad. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 (Children of Warren S. and Mabel Downing Nudd.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 George Weeks Nudd, b. Dec. 29, 1890. 
 Abbie Emma Nudd, b. April 20, 1892. 
 Elmer Russell Nudd, b. Dec. 19, 1896; d., Sept. 5, 1897. 
 
 (Children of Enos Hoyt and Clara Hadley Nudd.) 
 
 Nettie Nudd resides with her sister in N. 
 
 Flora Nudd m. Charles Piper of N. (See Piper gen.) 
 
 OLIVER. 
 
 Ira Oliver came to N. from Salisbury in 1873. He was b. at Fitch- 
 burg, Mass., April 16, 1808; m., 1837, Eliza J. Kelley of New Durham, 
 b. April 12, 1812. They settled in Salisbury, where he farmed for 
 several years, going then to Corinth, Vt. They returned after some 
 years and bought the Oibson place on High St. in 1874. They had a 
 son and two dau. He was a skilful mechanic but became a farmer 
 on account of ill health. He d. March 27, 1884. She d. Jan. 10, 1894. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Ira Oeorge Oliver, b. at Salisbury in 1838, spent many years In the 
 South as a sewing machine agent. He m., in 1874, Mamie Joiner. He 
 returned to his father's house in failing health and d. there Sept. IS, 
 1874. He was a fine singer and was employed in the church choirs 
 of Boston. 
 
 Eliza Jaxe Oliver, b. Nov. 19, 1840; m. (first), Martin Davis of 
 Corinth, Vt. He d. six weeks later. She was employed as a seam- 
 stress in Boston for some years. She m. (second). March, 1SS4, 
 Charles Wentworth of Boston. They reside at Hyde Park, Mass. 
 
 Nellie S. Oliver, b. at Salisbury. 1S47; m.. May 1. 1873, Byron 
 Shaw of Salisbury. (See Shaw gen. and portrait.) 
 
244 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 OSGOOD I. 
 
 Edward Osgood lived first on the Aldrich place in East N. He then 
 erected a home on the David Smith place and later removed near the 
 Tibbetts schoolhouse, where he lived and d. 
 
 He was twice m. The name of his first wife is unknown. He m. 
 (second), Dec. 27, 1810, Nancy Kezar and had a family of six. He was 
 a stonemason and placed the granite underpinning under the present 
 town house. He d. Aug. 30, 1841. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Edward Osgood m., Sept. 17, 1846, Charlotte Hodgdon of N. After 
 living a while at Roxbury, they settled in Canterbury, where both, 
 d. They had five children. 
 
 Charles Osgood lived in Columbia, as did his brother, Augustine, 
 After his mother's death he removed to Colebrook, where he was killed 
 by falling from a load of lumber. 
 
 Hexry K. Osgood, b. 1807; m. Hannah Tibbetts and d. March 20, 
 1841. They had one son, Enos Hoyt, who d. at 12 years. Mr. Osgood 
 was a stonemason. 
 
 Mary T. Osgood, b. 1816; m. Merrill and lived and d. in 
 
 Conway. 
 
 Asa Kezar Osgood, b. 1811 at N., was a stonemason in New York, 
 where he m. (first), a woman of Irish descent, whose name no one caa 
 recall. They resided in N. and had two children. After her death,. 
 Feb. 9, 1851, he m. Mrs. Hannah Tibbetts Osgood, his brother Henry's 
 widow, and had a son. He m. (third), Malinda Tibbetts, who d. Feb. 
 23, 1872. Jan. 1, 1887, he m. (fourth), Mrs. Mary Chandler of Con- 
 cord. He m. (fifth), Mrs. Lamprey, and his sixth and last wife^ 
 Mrs. Mary Pierce of Tyngsboro, survived him four years. She d. Oct. 
 15, 1896. 
 
 He was one of two N. residents who arrived to the dignity of a 
 sixth marriage. He was a helpless rheumatic for many years before 
 his death. He was a man, also, of unlimited gastronomical possibil- 
 ities, of quick wit and ready repartee, and was never happier than, 
 when being laughed at. He was one of the three N. men who went 
 out with the old year, 1893. (See portrait.) 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Asa K. Osgood by his first wife.) 
 
 Charles Osgood and Virginia, his sister, removed to Loudon. I 
 cannot trace them. 
 
 (Child of Asa K. and Hannah Tibbetts Osgood.) 
 
 Henry T. Osgood, b. at N. Aug. 31, 1845; m., Aug., 1864, Olive 
 Philbrook of Laconia. They reside at Waltham, Mass., and have a 
 dau. 
 
I—! U) 
 
 
 o ® 
 
 o 2 
 
GENEALOGIES. 245 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 
 Minnie Belle Osgood, b. May 23, 1866. She is a frequent visitor at 
 N. arid is a fine whistler. She m. Fred Richardson and resides at 
 Waltham. 
 
 OSGOOD 11. 
 
 Jonx Osgood came to N. from Danbury, where he was station agent 
 and where he Ivept an eating-house. He bought the Massa Morey 
 place on Arch Hill and ran the grist mill at Sanbornton Bridge for 
 several years until its destruction by fire, Nov. 7, 1863. He then re- 
 turned to Danbury. She was Ham of Canterbury. They had 
 
 one son, George H., b. 1847; m., Sept. 28, 1867, Mary L. Dudley of 
 Concord, b. 1850. He was for many years baggage master from St. 
 Albans, Vt., to Boston, Mass., and eventually went West. Mr. Osgood, 
 Sr., later removed to Zaynesville, 0., and d. there. They had an 
 adopted dau., who m. and now resides at Webster. 
 
 PAGE. 
 
 Daniel M. Page came to N. from Tilton in May, 1872. He was b. 
 at Upper Gilmanton, now Belmont, Dec. 10, 1834. He m., Aug. 21, 
 1858, Sarah B. Crockett, b. at Upper Gilmanton, Aug. 24, 1835. He 
 is a contractor and builder, doing business far and near, and has 
 added many fine residences to the town and elsewhere. He has held 
 various town offices, was chaii'man of the board of selectmen in 1874 
 and 1875 and was also a member of the board in 1899 and 1900. 
 They have two dau. A son, Edward, and a dau., Ruth, d. in infancy. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Georgia Etta Page, b. at Belmont April 4, 1862, graduated at the 
 New Hampshire Conference Seminary in the class of ISSl. She has 
 spent much of her life since in the schools at N., Bristol, Pittsfield 
 and Laconia. 
 
 Lizzie May Page. b. at N. March 11, 1866, is also a graduate from the 
 Seminary in the class of 1885. She has taught at Bristol and in the 
 Union Graded School. 
 
 PATTEN. 
 
 FosTEU Patten lived in East N. on land adjoining the Canterbury 
 line, in the vicinity of the Polly Ham place. I have no records or data 
 of the family but the old farm has always been called "The Patten." 
 
246 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 PAYSON. 
 
 Chables H. Payson, b. at Boston, Mass., March 28, 1819; m., Oct. 
 21, 1851, Mrs. Sarah Meader Bennett, b. at Raymond Sept. 8, 1828. 
 She was the widow of William M. Bennett, and had a son, Arthur L., 
 b. Aug. 2, 1848. 
 
 Mr. Payson went to Peterborough in 1827, entering the employ of 
 ex-Governor Steele. He became famous as a manufacturer of fine 
 dental and surgical instruments and cutlery. He enlisted at the be- 
 ginning of the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) He removed to N. 
 at its close, his family having bought the Dicey farm here, and was a 
 farmer until his death, Oct. 12, 1897. She d. June 3, 1900, at the 
 George S. Tibbetts place, which they had purchased some years 
 previously. They had three sons and two dau. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (B. at Raymond.) 
 
 Henrietta Payson, b. Feb. 4, 1853; m. Edwin F. Rowe of Chelsea, 
 and they reside in Everett, Mass. They have one dau., Mildred. 
 
 Mary Phiixips Payson, b. Nov. 9, 1855; m. Lucien C. Plummer of 
 Bristol, where they resided for some years, going later to Jefferson, 
 where they reside at The Waumbek, having charge of that hostelry 
 during the winter months. They have two sons, Reginald and Natt. 
 
 Thomas Russell Payson, b. May 11, 1858, resides on the home plac& 
 and is a farmer. He is a member of the Sons of Veterans and is a 
 fine taxidermist. 
 
 John Henry Payson, b. May 26, 1860; d., Jan. 3, 1862. 
 
 Charles Henry Payson, b. July 22, 1863, resides on the Samuel 
 Dicy farm. He m.. May 16, 1889, Bessie A. Downing, b. at Ellsworth 
 Jan. 2, 1867. They have six children. (See Downing gen.) 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Charles and Bessie Downing Payson.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 Alfred C. Payson, b. 1890. 
 Annie Payson, b. 1892. 
 Mary E. Payson, b. 1894. 
 Charles H. Payson, b. 1896. 
 George D. Payson, b. 1898. 
 Irving G. Payson, b. 1900. 
 
 PEABODY I. 
 
 Noah Peabody was b. at New Boston Sept. 4, 1810, and was the 
 ninth son of a family of 11. He came to N. in 1842. 
 
 He m., Dec. 2, 1834, Isabella Walker Richards, b. at New Boston 
 Nov. 14, 1815. He learned the hatter's trade but later became a 
 
GENEALOGIES. 247 
 
 trader and was associated with his nephew, the late Ira Hill, at 
 Sanbornton Bridge. He was also with another nephew, James Palmer, 
 and Warren L. Hill, in the old Whittier store. 
 
 He became, later in life, finisher and shipper In A. H. Tllton's 
 Tweed Factory, having the principal care of his business until his 
 death, Sept. 11, 1876. He was a deacon of the Congregational Church 
 and was superintendent of its Sunday School. He was a good man. 
 His wife was also active in social and church work and was for many 
 years a Sunday School teacher. She is gratefully remembered by her 
 many pupils. 
 
 He erected, in 1S52, the residence on Bay St., now owned by Mrs. 
 George Weeks. They had three children. She d. at Laconia Sept. 30, 
 1898. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Selwix Bancroft Peabody, b. Jan. 15, 1839, at Sutton; m., Feb., 
 1867, Elizabeth S. Richards of New Bedford, Mass., and had one dau., 
 now Mrs. Arthur Brown of Tilton. He was educated at the New 
 Hampshire Conference Seminary and served during the Civil War 
 in the Fortieth Massachusetts Regiment. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 He was later employed with his father in the mill, working into a 
 similar position, and, after the death of Mr. Tilton, became, with Mrs. 
 Tilton, the head of a very prosperous business. He removed to 
 Tilton and erected a fine house, where he d. June 15, 1889. 
 
 He represented Tilton in the Legislature and was a director of the 
 Citizens' National Bank. He was made a Mason in May, 1877; senior 
 deacon, 1879; senior warden, ISSO; and worshipful master in 1881. 
 He filled other oflBces of trust and responsibility with rare ability. 
 In 1887 he presented the Congregational Church with a beautiful 
 parlor in memory of his devoted Christian wife, who d. Feb. 22, 1SS6. 
 
 James Van Ness Peabody, b. Oct. 13, 1842; m., Jan., 1865, Susan 
 Rand of N. (see Rand gen.), and they have one son. He served in 
 the Ninth Regiment. (See Boys in Blue.) Mrs. Peabody was educated 
 at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and taught for several 
 terms previous to her marriage. Being a natural musician, she served 
 a term of years in the church choir. 
 
 They reside on Park St. He has charge of the finishing room of 
 Tilton Mills, the place held by his father. 
 
 Geoegie Isabel Peabody, b. at N. Nov. 15, 1843; m., Nov. 24, 1864, 
 David Fletcher Cheney of Franklin. He served in the Civil War as 
 lieutenant of Company H. Ninth Regiment, was provost-marshal at 
 Paris. Ky., in 1863 and 1S64, and was wounded at Petersburg. July 
 30, 1864. She was a fine musician and served as organist in the Tilton 
 and Franklin churches for many years. She was the first pupil, at 
 eight years of age. of the late J. H. Morey. She now resides with her 
 only dau., Mrs. Georgie Alice Collins, at Lakeport. 
 
248 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Child of James V. and Susan Rand Peabody.) 
 
 Leox Bancroft Peabody, b. at N. Jan. 25, 1872, was educated at 
 Tilton Seminary. He entered Tilton Mills as a dresser at 19 and still 
 holds the place. 
 
 PEABODY II. 
 
 Joseph Peabody came to N. from New Boston and was associated 
 with his brother in trade for several years. After the death of his 
 wife, Dec. 6, 1861, he sold and went to Manchester, where he m. 
 Hannah Bean of that city, who was associated with him in the under- 
 taking business in Manchester for many years. He d. there. He 
 built the house on Bay St. now owned by Harry W. Muzzey. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Augusta M. Peabody, b. at Manchester, was a graduate of the New 
 Hampshire Confei'ence Seminary in the class of ISGl. She m. Albert 
 P. Tasker of Manchester and resides at Washington, D. C. She was a 
 teacher in the N. schools for some years previous to her marriage and 
 was a fine singer. 
 
 Charles Peabody, b. in Manchester, has been engaged in the manu- 
 facture of boots and shoes all his life and resides at Wellesley, Mass. 
 
 PERTHEL. 
 
 Frederick A. Perthel, b. at Griez, Germany, July 18, 1829, came 
 with his family to N. in 1880. He was a block printer by trade but 
 found employment in the finishing department of the Granite Mills. 
 He had served his native land for four years as a soldier. He m., 
 Jan. 29, 1835, Christine Giebhardt. They at first occupied the Chase 
 tavern stand, purchasing later the residence of the late Jeremiah 
 Tilton. They have eight children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (All b. in Germany.) 
 
 Gael Frederick Perthel, b. Jan. 15, 1858; m., May 25, 1882, Kate 
 Smith, b. in Germany, March 22, 1859. They have a home near the 
 Fair grounds, where they conduct an extensive poultry business. 
 They have two children. 
 
 Herman Frederick Perthel, b. Aug. 10, 1859; m. (first), Mary 
 Hebberly. He m. (second), Matilda Batky. They reside at Eastdale, 
 R. I., and have four children: Elsie M., Lena L., Robert H. and Gladys. 
 
MARY FRENCH PHELPS. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 249 
 
 Otto F. Pebthel, b. Feb. 19, ISGG; m., Jan. 1, 1888, Selina M. Cadue 
 of N. (See Cadue gen.) They reside in Tilton and have two children. 
 A son, Levi O., d. May 12, 1893. 
 
 Mary Teresa Perthel, b. Oct. 5, 18G8; m., Nov. 5, 1890, Robert F. 
 Whitehouse, b. in Germany Nov. 5, 1852. He is employed at the 
 Massasoit Woolen Mills, Huntington, Mass., and was formerly super- 
 intendent of weaving in the mills of the Peace Dale, R. I., Manufac- 
 turing Company. 
 
 GoTTHOLD Frederick Pertiiel. b. March 18, 1871; m., June 27, 1894, 
 Winnie M. Hadley of Laconia. They reside in Everett, Mass., and 
 have one child, Leland. 
 
 Jexnie a. Perthel, b. at Middleboro, Mass., May 24, 187G; d. at 
 three years. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of Carl F. and Kate Smith Perthel.) 
 
 Mary Agxes Perthel, b. at N. Nov. 24, 1883, graduated at Tilton 
 Seminary in the class of 1903, and is now pursuing a course at the 
 I^ormal School at Plymouth. 
 
 John Perthel, b. Jan., 188G. 
 
 (Children of Otto and Selina Cadue Perthel.) 
 
 Florence T. Perthel, b. 1889. 
 Irene W. Perthel, b. 1894. 
 Levi O. Perthel d. in infancy. 
 
 PEVERLY. 
 
 Frank Peverly came to N. from Canterbury in 1884. He was b. 
 at Danbury April 1, 1847, and m. Ruby W. Squires. They reside on 
 the Miles Randall place. He is a farmer and trapper. They had a 
 son, who d. in infancy, and a dau. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Ida May Peverly, b. at Canterbury Nov. IG, 1SG9; m., Dec. 24, 1SS7, 
 Edwin F. Kimball, b. May 13, 1S59, at Canterbury, where they reside. 
 He is a farmer and lumberman. They have three children: Elsie Pev- 
 -erly, b. at N., 1889; Juliette, b. 1891; and Frank E., b. 1894. 
 
 PHELPS. 
 
 Elisha Phelps, b. at Billerica, Mass.; m. Mary French. (See por- 
 trait.) He came to N. (Oak Hill) and bought the farm now owned 
 by John B. Yeaton. The original house stood across the road from the 
 present one. They had eight children. A dau.. Ruth. d. at 12 years of 
 age. 
 
250 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Irene Phelps, b. at N. Nov. IS, 1814; m., May 19, 1842, Moses 
 Winslow. (See Winslow gen.) She d. Aug. 17, 1890. 
 
 David F. Phelps, b. Sept. 10, 1816; m., March 5, 1842, Irene Davis 
 of N. They had three dau. They resided on the homestead and 
 were hard-working, quiet. Christian people. He d. Sept. 24, 1895, 
 She d. Jan. 18, 1891. 
 
 Francis Phelps, b. May 3, 1818; m. (pub.), July 29, 1849, Elizabeth 
 Buswell of N., and removed to Danvers, going later to Tilton, where 
 he d. suddenly in 1887. 
 
 An unfortunate accident resulted in the loss of his left hand, yet 
 he lived a busy and useful life. Mrs. Phelps was a devoted member 
 of the Methodist Church, a teacher in its Sabbath School and a fine 
 Bible scholar. She d. Aug. 12, 1893. They had two children, Sarah and 
 Frank. The former m. "Walter Hoyt of Hopkinton and had four chil- 
 dren, one of whom, a graduate of the New Hampshire Normal School, 
 teaches there. The latter, Frank, is a member of the firm of Phelps. 
 & Dolley, grocers, Tilton. He m. Zilla Ladd of Derry and has one 
 son. 
 
 Mary B. Phelps, b. May 17, 1820; m., June 26, 1842, David Davis of 
 Oak Hill. They were farmers on the banks of the Merrimack until 
 his death, Nov. 20, 1878. She d. at her daughter's at N., Feb. 28, 
 1901. 
 
 Joel F. Phelps, b. May 4, 1822; m., June 23, 1844, Eliza Townsend 
 of Danvers, Mass., where they resided and where she d. March 21, 
 1880. He d. at the home of his niece in N. Sept. 16, 1897. They had 
 four children: Ruth A., Morris, Jerome and Homer. 
 
 Susan Page Phelps, b. at N., 1826; m., Nov. 25, 1847, Ebenezer 
 Rollins of Sanbornton Bridge, b. 1818. She d. Sept. 4, 1865. They 
 had seven children. He m. (second), June 1, 1867, Mary A. Dooley. 
 He d. in Lowell Oct. 1, 1894. 
 
 Sabrina French Phelps, b. June 28, 1828; m., Nov. 11, 1852, Henry 
 French, b. at Tewksbury, Mass., June 18, 1822. Their lives were 
 spent in Lowell, Mass., where he d. J^n. 12, 1892. She d. there March 
 19, 1903. They had two dau. and a son, Charles, who d. in infancy. 
 The dau. were: Abbie Ella, b. Jan. 20, 1854, d., May 14, 1896; and 
 Emma Grace, b. July 31, 1859; d., Sept. 26, 1885. They were both 
 graduates of Salem Normal School and teachers in Lowell. 
 
 John Low Phelps, b. Aug. 2, 1832; m., Jan. 15, 1856, Julia A. Eatoa 
 of Manchester. He d. in Libby Prison, South Carolina, Nov. 11, 1864. 
 (See Boys in Blue.) They had a dau., Estelle Mary, b. March 2, 1857, 
 now Mrs. Fred Burnham of Epsom. They have three children. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of David and Irene Davis Phelps.) 
 RosiLLA B. Phelps, b. Jan. 3, 1845; m. Leonard Colby of Bow. They 
 resided in N. for some years and now live in Bow. They have six 
 children, three of whom, Nettie M., Reuben G. and Clara, were b. in N. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 261 
 
 ESTELLE F. Phelps d. May 15, 1857, at eight years of age. 
 Hattie Phelps, b. at N. Jan. 26, 1854; m., March 27, 1872, John 
 B. Yeaton. (See Yeaton gen.) 
 
 PHILBRICK. 
 
 ExocH Gerrish Philbrick was b. at Sanbornton Bridge July 7, 
 1841. He m., Aug. 3, 1864, Ann Hill, b. at N. March 24, 1840. 
 
 They resided for a while on the Wadleigh place, now owned by 
 Mrs. S. W. Glines near the reservoir. His brother, George, also re- 
 sided there and, though his sojourn in town was limited, he held the 
 office of superintendent of schools. 
 
 Enoch Gerrish also served as one of the selectmen. The farm was 
 sold in 1872 to its present owner and Mr. Philbrick returned to 
 Tilton. 
 
 A few years later they returned and cared for her mother till her 
 death in 1871, since which time they have been permanent residents 
 of Tilton, where, since 1881, he has been a member of the firm of 
 Philbrick & Hill, grocers. Their two sons, Charles and Gerry, were 
 b. there. 
 
 PHILBROOK. 
 
 Rev. N. p. Philbrook purchased the Oilman farm on Bay Hill in 
 1866. He had been a member of the Providence Conference for 15 
 years and chose farming for a recreation for nine years, occasionally 
 supplying the neighboring districts. One son, George Robinson Phil- 
 brook, was b. in N. July 12, 1867. 
 
 In 1875 he joined the New Hampshire Conference, with his first 
 charge at Franklin. After 20 years of service with the Methodists, 
 he returned to the church of his fathers and filled the pulpit of the 
 Congregational Chuch at Bethlehem for eight years and at Sanbornton 
 Square for seven years. He is now retired and resides at Tilton. 
 He m. Hannah Sanborn of Tilto^ and they have a family of five. 
 (See History of Sanbornton.) 
 
 PHILIPS. 
 
 I find the name of Jonathan W. Philips on the early records, not 
 later than 1801, and he is called Doctor. He was one of the early 
 teachers and the treasurer's report shows many orders given for 
 services. 
 
 He may have been the father of Jonathan, b. 1802, who lived near 
 N. Depot, close by the brook which still bears his name. He m., 
 1802, Hannah Arlin, and had one son, Ell, and perhaps other children. 
 He d. Jan., 1861, aged 59. He was an herb doctor and was thought to 
 have some skill in the use of nature's remedies. 
 
252 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 PIPER I. 
 
 Benjamin Piper came from Gilmanton to N. previous to 1730, after 
 a short stay at Franklin. He bought one of the Cross farms on the 
 intervale, bordering the brook called successively Cohas, Cross, Piper 
 and Philips, one of the greenest and most fertile spots in town. A 
 little way up the brook, close by the Oak Hill road, was his sawmill, 
 purchased of Moses Davis. The forests around supplied an abundance 
 of heavy timber, and the farm houses around were large and well- 
 built from the products of this mill. He m., 1793, of , 
 
 by whom he had a dau. and three sons. This family were all mu- 
 sicians and constituted largely the first brass band of N. (See Bands.) 
 
 Mrs. Piper d. at N. July 11, 1878. He d. June 17, 18S4. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Maky Anx Piper, b. 1818; m. (pub.), Jan. 12, 1843, Samuel Bell 
 Haines. After living for a time at her father's, he became foreman 
 of the old sawmill at Factory Village, where two dau. were b. They 
 later returned to the intervale, where he d. June 7, 1900. She d. Sept. 
 25, 1887. (See Haines gen.) 
 
 JoHX W. Piper, b. 1821; m.. May 12, 1851, Abiah Batchelder and had 
 three dau., one of whom d. in infancy, Feb. 29, 1861. He served in the 
 Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) She d. in Concord. 
 
 Hannan Piper, b. 1823; m., 1853, Katie Sanborn and resided at 
 Factory Village. They had four dau., two of whom d. in childhood. 
 
 Thomas H. Piper, b. 1826; m. (pub.), Oct. 4, 1847, Cynthia A. 
 Wyatt of N., b. April 13, 1830. She d. Nov. 7, 1884. They had one son. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of John and Abiah Batchelder Piper.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Melissa Jane Piper, b. 1855; m. (first), Samuel Oilman of N. and 
 
 bad one child, Jennie, who d. at East Tilton. She m. (second), 
 
 Dudley and resides at Andover. 
 
 Leona Piper, b. 1858; m. Rogers and resides at Contoocook. 
 
 A dau. d. in infancy. 
 
 (Children of Hannan and Kate Sanborn Piper.) 
 
 Clara Piper, b. at Factory Village; m. Elbridge Folsom and re- 
 sides at Laconia. 
 
 Josephine Piper, b. at Factory Village; m. Davis and has 
 
 three children. 
 
 (Child of Thomas and Cynthia Wyatt Piper.) 
 
 Hamilton W. Piper, b. at N. Sept. 29, 1852; m. Mattie Walker and 
 resides at Concord. They have a dau., Maud. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 25$ 
 
 PIPER II. 
 
 Benjamin Piper was b. in Meredith and m. Betsey Moses of Mere- 
 dith. They had one son. She d. in 1864. He d. at N. in 18S4. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Alansox Piper, b. at Meredith in 1830; m., Sept. 13, 1885, Deborah 
 Moses. He served in the army and d. in camp. She came to N. with 
 her son in ISSO and d. there March 8, 1905. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Charles H. Piper, b. at Meredith in 18G1; m. Flora Nudd of Centre 
 Harbor. He is a mason and farmer and resides on the Bean Hill 
 road. They have one son. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 Harry A. Piper, b. at N. Feb. 9, 1882; m. Mary S. Moses of Groton, 
 April 5, 1902. He is a mason by trade and has two children. 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 
 Ida May Piper, b. at N. Sept. 11, 1902. 
 Charles Madison Piper, b. at N. Feb. 16, 1904. 
 
 PLUMMER. 
 
 Abraiiaji Plummer, b. Sept. 1, 178S, was originally from Newbury 
 Old Town, now Parker River and perhaps was b. there. His wife was 
 Hannah Hale of Haverhill, Mass., b. March 27, 1790. He removed to 
 Rindge and, a few years later, to N. on the banks of the Merrimack 
 River. Her parents also came to live in the brick house across the 
 river just opposite. None of the eight children were b. here. He 
 bought a part of the Jesse Cross property on the intervale and lived in 
 what was the Noyes Hotel. 
 
 He was a carpenter as well as farmer and worked at Penacook 
 when the mills there were being built. It was a family of remark- 
 able longevity. They had a family of 13 children, three of whom d. in 
 infancy. Mrs. Plummer d. April 11, 1869. He d. Sept. 24, 1S69. Both 
 are buried at Tilton. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Hannah Matilda Plv.mmer of N., b. Nov. 29, 1809; became the third 
 wife of Aaron Breed, Sr., of Boston, Mass., a son of her sister's hus- 
 band, a manufacturer of mathematical instruments. She d. Oct. 10, 
 1867. 
 
 Charle.s E. Plummer of N., b. Deo. 11, ISll, is now living at 90 years 
 of age. He m. (pub.). May 20, 1834, Clarinda Rugg of Rindge, In N. 
 
254 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Maey Ann Plummee, b. Dec. 12, 1813; m.. May 26, 1836, Obadiah 
 Glines of N. He was a farmer on the honae place, where they reared 
 a family of 10 children. (See Glines gen.) She d. Feb. 23, 1871. 
 
 Sabah Stockeb Plummer, b. March 14, 1816; m. (first), Charles 
 Goodrich of Cambridge, Mass., who d. of consumption at Sanbornton 
 Bridge. She m. (second), (pub.), Aug. 24, 1857, John Curry of Tilton. 
 He d. in 1865. She resides on School St., Tilton. 
 
 Eliza Lawrence Pluhmer, b. Aug. 27, 1818; d., Nov. 26, 1861. She m. 
 Ransom Chesmore of Lowell, b. at Bennington. 
 
 Maria Maden Plummer, b. April 14, 1820; m. Aaron Breed, Jr., of 
 Bradford, and d. Feb. 6, 1888. Both are buried at Mt. Auburn. One 
 child. Amy, is now living at Northfield, Mass. 
 
 Abraham Foster Plummer, b. Aug. 22, 1822; m. Catherine Huntoon 
 of Boscawen, Oct. 25, 1858. She d. July 31, 1879. He m. (second), 
 Mrs. Bryant of Andover. Mr. Plummer sold his farm on the intervale 
 and removed to the home of the late Milton Gerrish on the Franklin 
 road, where he now resides. 
 
 William H. Plummer, b. Aug. 1, 1824; m. (pub.), Sept. 7, 1855, 
 Mary S. Winslow of N., and always resided on the home farm. He d. 
 Dec. 6, 1892, leaving two sons, Charles and Almore. Mrs. Plummer 
 resides at the home. (See Winslow gen.) She was educated at the 
 New Hampshire Conference Seminary and was a teacher before her 
 marriage. 
 
 Caroline A. Plummer, b. at Rindge April 2, 1826; m. (pub.), Sept. 
 7, 1848, John Stevens Winslow. (See Winslow gen.) She d. July 
 31, 1882. 
 
 Benjamin Ward Plummer, b. at Rindge Jan. 16, 1828; m., Sept. 6, 
 1863, Emily Huse of N. He was a farmer at Tilton Highlands until 
 his death. May 28, 1898. They had four children. 
 
 Isaac Augustus Plummer, b. Nov. 24, 1830; d., June 2, 1832. 
 
 Clementina Sabrina Plummer and Angelina Sophila Plummer, 
 twins, b. Sept. 22, 1832; d., Sept., 1833. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of William and Mary Winslow Plummer.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Charles W. Plummer, b. Jan. 22, 1856; m., June 5, 1886, Abbie 
 Glines of N. They have two children. 
 
 Almore F. Plummer, b. Nov. 29, 1865, resides on the home place with 
 his mother and, with his brother, has not only cultivated their fertile 
 intervale farm but has for a part of the year made shingles at a 
 mill on the stream flowing from Sondogardy Pond, which has in 
 turn been called Cohas, Cross and Philips Brook. It was this stream 
 that furnished the power for the many mills and shops of the Cross 
 Brothers more than a century ago. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 256 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Charles W. and Abbie Glines Plummer.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Jamie W. Plummer, b. March 29, 1891. 
 Amy M. Plummer, b. July 20, 1898. 
 
 PLUMMER II. 
 
 Richard Belknap Plummer came to N. from Alton, where he was 
 b. in 1839. He m. (first), Mrs. Mary N. Lane, b. at Loudon Oct., 1845. 
 He is a painter by trade. They resided on South Summer St., where 
 she d. April 8, 1901. She had a dau. by a former marriage, Annie 
 F. Lane, who was educated at Tilton Seminary and Plymouth Normal 
 School and who taught for several years. She m., June, 1902, George 
 W. Dolloff, a merchant tailor at Laconia, and now resides at Ply- 
 mouth. They have one child. Mr. Plummer m. (second), Oct. G, 1904, 
 Lucinda L. Holbrook, b. 1854. They now reside on Park St. 
 
 POOR. 
 
 Thomas L. Poor came from St. Johnsbury, Vt., to N. He was b. at 
 West Thornton and m. Sarah Sophia Sargent of Goffstown. They 
 purchased the Charles Oilman farm on Bay Hill and, after a residence 
 of 10 or 12 years, sold to Rev. Nathan P. Philbrook, and returned to 
 northern New Hampshire. He d. at Bath in 189G. She d. at Thorn- 
 ton in 1882. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Sarah Sophia Poor m., Sept. 1, 1840, Reuben Philbrook, a blacksmith 
 at Sanbornton Bridge, and had three children: Sarah Elizabeth, wife 
 of Alonzo Clark of Manchester and, later, of David N. Kemp: Daniel, 
 a farmer at Franklin; and Mrs. Mary Annah Floyd. Mrs. Philbrook d. 
 Nov. 15, 1877. 
 
 POWERS. 
 
 Mrs. Cynthia Mathes Powers came to N. from Tilton in 1894 and 
 erected a home on Howard Ave. She was b. at Columbia Aug. 7, 
 1853; m., Dec. 24, 1879, Rodman Tyler Powers, b. at South Abbington, 
 :Mass., March 27, 1843. They had two sons. Mr. Powers d. at Whitman, 
 Mass., Feb. 17, 1891. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Carroll Seavey Powers, b. at Whitman Oct. 9, 1SS4; d. at N. Jan. 
 14, 1903. 
 
256 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Leox Tylkr Powers, b. at Lancaster Sept. 13, 1S87, graduated from 
 Tilton Seminary in the class of 1904. He entered the State College at 
 Durham but was obliged on account of sickness to leave at the close 
 of his first term. He is now employed at the Tilton Optical Works. 
 
 PRESBY. 
 
 Edward Presby, b. 1809, came from Canada to N. and lived at the 
 Hanaford place. He m. Sally, dau. of Job Glines, and had seven chil- 
 dren. She d. March 25, 1871. He d. April 1, 1860. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Edward Presby, Jr.. b. Feb. 4, 1827; m. Sarah McDaniel. They had 
 four children. He d. in Manchester March 14, 1856. She m. (second), 
 Hiram Cross of N. (See Cross gen.) 
 
 Elizabeth Presby d., unmarried, April 15, 1844. 
 
 JoHX Presby served in the Civil War, being credited to Sanbornton. 
 (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 WixTHROp Presby m. (pub.), March 6, 1856, Orrilla Young. (See 
 Boys in Blue.) He d. at Petersburg, Va. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Edward and Sarah McDaniel Presby.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Mary Elizabeth Presby, b. Dec. 26, 1848; m., 1867, Erwin W. Wright 
 of Piermont. 
 
 Sarah Abagail Presby, b. Sept. 19, 1850; d., 1853. 
 
 Charles Edward Presby, b. May 10, 1852; m., 1871, Nellie Mason 
 of Lisbon. They reside in Langdon and have two children. 
 
 SusAX Jaxe Presby, b. Feb. 23, 1854; m., 1877, Eugene W. Batchelder 
 of Franklin and resides at Tilton. 
 
 PRESCOTT I. 
 
 Joseph James Pbescott, b. at Pittsfield, Nov. 24, 1854; m. Lucy Lena 
 Thurston, b. at Hill -March 24, 1849, and had a family of six. He 
 purchased the Captain Glines farm at the Centre, where they now 
 reside and where she d. May 5, 1904. (See Thurston gen.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 RoscoE E. Prescott, b. Aug. 1, 1878, attended Tilton Seminary and 
 Franklin High School and is an enthusiastic member of the Nesmith 
 Rifles, Company H, Second Infantry, New Hampshire National Guard.. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 257 
 
 He enlisted Feb. 2, 1S99, was promoted to sergeant Feb. 28, 1901, 
 became sergeant-major of the First Battalion in 1902--'03 and is still 
 in the service. 
 
 He is also a member of the New England Rifle Company and has 
 won five medals and taken the Ripley prize. He was in the first class 
 in 1899; marksman in 1900--'01,-'02--'03; sharpshooter in 1903 and ex- 
 pert in 1904. He has been a member of the company's rifle team in 
 the regimental shoots of 1901 and 1902 and in the brigade shoots at 
 Nashua and Manchester in 1902 and 1904. 
 
 Genevieve Prescott, b. at N. March 4, 1881; m., June 17, 1905, Ru- 
 dolf Vetter of Pascoag, R. I., where they reside. 
 
 Ethel Florexce Prescott, b. Dec. 7, 1882; m., Jan. 2, 1901, Edwin 
 E. Pickering, a farmer of Meredith, and has three children: Merle, 
 Earle and Melvin. They reside at Meredith. 
 
 Gertrude Evelyx Prescott, b. 1883, was employed by Citizens' Tele- 
 phone Company; now resides at Pascoag, R. I. 
 
 Carl Rogers Prescott, b. Feb. 25, 1885. 
 
 Floyd Thurstox Prescott, b. Oct. 28, 1887. 
 
 PRESCOTT II. 
 
 Willi.\m Prescott, Jr., son of William, a Revolutionary soldier, 
 went from Hampton Falls to Sanbornton. He was b. Oct. 14, 1762, 
 and m. (second), Mrs. Sarah Gibson Forrest, widow of "Soldier 
 John," Dec. 4, 1797, and came to N. to reside. He was a plough maker. 
 After her death, July 26, 1806, he m. (third), March 19, 1807, Mrs. 
 Jane Kezar and had a dau., Sally, who d., unmarried, at 40 years. 
 Mr. Prescott d. Oct. 17, 1845. His wife d. in 1859 at 91 years of age. 
 
 He was the father of the celebrated naturalist, genealogist and 
 physician. Dr. William Prescott of Concord, and there were other 
 children. A dau., Hannah, m., March 10, 1813, David Mason of N. and 
 removed to Starksboro in 1817. 
 
 QUIMBY. 
 
 Clabexce E. QiiMBY came to N. from Tilton in 1894 and bought the 
 brick residence by the town hall. 
 
 His grandfather. Rev. Silas Quimby, had filled the desk of the 
 Tilton and Northfield Methodist Church and his father. Silas, Jr.. 
 was president of the New Hampshire Conference Seminary for a term of 
 years. 
 
 Mr. Quimby held important offices in precinct and town. He was 
 connected with the board of health as its secretary for some years 
 and was precinct clerk for three years. 
 
 He was a member of the board of education for Union District 
 for three years and one of the trustees of the Hall Memorial Library. 
 
 He was for 19 years superintendent of machines in Lord Bros.' 
 Optical Works and now holds a responsible position in the Optical 
 IT 
 
258 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 
 
 Works at Geneva, N. Y., where be has removed. He m., Feb. 7, 1S88, 
 Stella Frances Cram of Raymond, and has four children, all b. in 
 Tilton: Raymond, in 1SS9; Christine, 1890; Chester, 1891; and Conrad, 
 1893. 
 
 RAND I. 
 
 Samuel Rand was a native of Rye. He came to N. from Northwood 
 about 1820 with seven children. He m. Sarah W. Hanson, dau. of 
 Robert of Dover and Patience Waldron Hanson of Portsmouth. Mr. 
 Rand had two brothers, who were lost at sea. He settled first on the 
 farm beyond the Rand schoolhouse, which was owned jointly with 
 Reuben Whicher, Sr. She d. there Nov. 27, 1845. He d. at Tilton 
 Jan. 1, 18G3, aged 82. They had 10 children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Richard L. Raxd, b. at Northwood, went, when a young man, to the 
 Portsmouth, Va., Navy Yard, where he m. and had one dau. 
 
 Nathaniel G. Rand went to California to the gold fields in 1849 
 and d. there. He never m. 
 
 Samuel Rand, Jk., left home early in life, m. and had one dau. He 
 d. at Tyngsboro, Mass. 
 
 Joseph D. Rand was but 10 years old when his father came to N. 
 He was b. at Northwood in 1810 and m., Feb. 1, 1838, Mary Ann French, 
 h. 1810, a neighbor, and lived on the home farm, which he sold later 
 to Nicholas French. He then bought and repaired the buildings of 
 the John Jacob Atkinson place. He was a stonemason and a bridge 
 builder for the railroad, but, most of all, a farmer. They had five 
 children. She d. July 13, 1876. He d. May 7, 1879. 
 
 Oliver H. Rand followed his brother to Virginia, where he became 
 an architect and builder. In 1863 he was ordered by President Bu- 
 chanan to the Mare Island Navy Yard. He m. in Virginia and had three 
 dau., one of whom, the only survivor, resides in New York City. Mr. 
 Rand d. in 1867. 
 
 John W. Rand lived in Boston and d. there in 1SS4. He had one dau. 
 
 William C. Rand, b. at Northwood, 1820, resided in Boston and later 
 in Quincy. 
 
 He went to New Orleans in 1851 for his health and d. among 
 strangers at 31 years of age. He was unmarried. 
 
 ABRAHAM WALDRON RAND. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Abraham Waldron Rand was b. in N. in 1822. He left home at 20 
 and, after clerking a while, went into the grocery business in Rox- 
 bury with his brother, Isaac, Daniel J. Gate and Moses Pearson Cogs- 
 well, his boyhood friends. The three latter went to California in the 
 ship Sweden with a stock of builders' supplies in 1849, going round 
 
ABRAHAM WALDRON RAXIX 
 
GENEALOGIES. 259 
 
 Cape Horn, while he remained in Boston to ship further goods. It 
 was called the Roxbury Sagamore Company and consisted of 2C men. 
 
 He also engaged in the heater and range business with Pond & 
 Duncklee on Blackstone St. In 1852 he removed to Philadelphia, 
 where he continued the same business under the firm names of Rand 
 & Ayers, Rand & Hayes, Rand, Perkins & Co., and the A. W. Rand Com- 
 pany. This business included steam and gas fitting, copper and tin 
 work, plumbing, furnace, steam and range heating. 
 
 He also built a large number of fine residences and was at one time 
 the owner of the St. Cloud Hotel. 
 
 He was very musical and was president and treasurer of the Handel 
 & Haydn Society of Philadelphia. He was a member of the Green 
 Street Methodist Episcopal Church and later of the Spring Garden 
 Street Church, being its treasurer, a member of its board of trustees 
 and one of its liberal benefactors. He was an Odd Fellow and a 
 Mason of high degrees; a member of Harmony Lodge, A. F. and A. 
 M., Jerusalem Royal Arch Chapter and La Chasseur Commandery of 
 Knights Templar. He m., 1S42, Martha A., dau. of Capt. Nathaniel 
 Holmes of Provincetown, Mass. They had seven sons, three of whom 
 d. in infancy. Waldron of Boston, Nathaniel P. of Philadelphia, and 
 William B. of Dorchester, Mass., survive. Mr. Rand was a man of 
 wide acquaintance and, during the Centennial Exposition in 1S76, 
 his home was open and free for all, especially to such as came from 
 his native and dearly-loved New Hampshire. He was very attractive 
 personally and had great industry and executive ability. He was a 
 Republican, politically. He was a generous provider for his own and 
 open-handed in his support of all good enterprises. 
 
 He passed to a higher life, in Philadelphia, in 1SS3, and was buried 
 at Forrest Hills. 
 
 Martha D. Raxd was b. at N. and educated at the academy under 
 Dyer H. Sanborn, until the establishment of the Conference Sem- 
 inary, of which she was one of the first graduating class in 1847. 
 The next year she spent in Virginia. She m., in 1S49, Col. George S. 
 Baker, removing at once to Baltimore, Md., and going the next year 
 to Newbern, N. C. She returned to New Hampshire in 1852, spent 
 1854 in New York and then resided from 1855 to 1864 in New Hamp- 
 shire. Then she removed to Appleton, Wis. He d. in 18G7. at Tilton. 
 since which time she has resided there, and has passed the years in 
 pleasant proximity to her alma mater and her childhood's home. She 
 is a devoted member of Trinity Episcopal Church, where the grace of 
 her sweet face and sweeter voice has been for years one of the delight- 
 ful charms of the service, for. like all the family, she inherited musical 
 talent. She has one son, George W. Baker, now of Portland, Me. 
 
 Isaac H. Rand went to Boston when quite young. He was with his 
 brother and others in the Sagamore Company, of which mention has 
 been made. He remained in California for several years, after which 
 he returned to N. and d. of consumption when 30 years of age. 
 
260 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Joseph and Mary Ann French Rand.) 
 
 Stella Rand d. at eight years of age. 
 
 Olive Raxd, b. at N. March 22, 1843; m., Nov. 15, 1865, Adoniram 
 Sanborn and resided at. East Tilton, where she d. in 1SG7. 
 
 Susax Raxd, b. at N. April 25, 1844; m., Jan. 1, 1865, James Van 
 Peabody of N., b. 1842. They reside on Park St. She was educated at 
 Tilton Seminary and was a teacher for some years. (See Peabody 
 gen.) They have one son. 
 
 George Frexch Raxd, b. 1850; m., 1869, Emma Aldrich of N., b. 
 1854. They resided in Andover. Later he returned to the home, 
 where he d. Oct. 3, 1871. They had one dau., Martha D., who is the 
 wife of Wilfred Wilson of Hill. 
 
 Fraxk Pierce Raxd was b. at N. in 1855. He m., in 1877, Annie F., 
 dau. of Gustavus and Louisa Sanborn Webster of Salisbury, she being 
 in the line of descent from the famous Webster family. He resides on 
 the homestead and is an active and enterprising man. He operates 
 threshing and harvesting machinery among the farmers during the 
 harvest season; also corn buskers and shredding machines, and has 
 thus established quite an extensive traveling industry. He is also 
 agent for other farming implements. He is an Odd Fellow and a 
 member of the United Order of Pilgrim Fathers. They have nine 
 children. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Frank and Annie Webster Rand.) 
 
 Olive Adelia Raxd, b. Feb. 7, 1881. 
 Stella Mertie Raxd, b. March 14, 18S3. 
 Abram W. Raxd and Leox W. Raxd, twins, b. Oct. 11, 1885. 
 Lizzie Mariox Raxd, b. July 3, 1888; d., Oct. 29, 1900. She was a 
 child of uncommon beauty and promise. 
 Nellie Lovixa Raxd, b. Oct. 5, 1891. 
 Willie Raxd, b. Nov. 28, 1894. 
 Alfred Hexry Raxd, b. May 30, 1898. 
 Edwix Laroy Raxd, b. Feb. 25, 1902. 
 
 RAND II. 
 
 Burt Hexry Raxd came from Franklin to N. in 1896 and purchased 
 the Hodgdon homestead. He was b. at Danbury in 1868 and m. Abbie 
 Rebecca Stewart, b. at Danbury in 1871. They are general farmers 
 and have conducted a dairy business until the present year. He is 
 now employed as a machinist at Franklin. They have three dau.: 
 Florence A., b. June 5, 1890; Fannie Belle, b. Nov. 25, 1893; and 
 Maud, b. Oct. 1, 1895. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 261 
 
 RANDALL. 
 
 Miles Randall, son of Jonathan and Betsey Forrest Randall of 
 Canterbury, lived many years on the farm now occupied by Frank 
 Peverly. He was b. Dec. 20, 1818; m. Martha A. McDaniel of Can- 
 terbury, b. 1822. She d. Aug. 3, 1852. They had four children. He 
 went to California in 1852 and remained there until 1893, when he 
 return^ to the home of his sister, where he d. Sept. 9, 1901. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Caroline Randall, b. Dec. 30, 1839; m. Thomas Badger of Nashua. 
 They have three children: Charles, Willie and George. He d. Nov. 
 28, 1897. 
 
 Maria A. Randall, b. 1843; d., Sept. 3, 1863. 
 
 Alvira R. Randall, b. 1846; d., Dec. 15, 1875. 
 
 Emily F. Randall, b. 1851; m. Arthur L. Hanaford, and had a son, 
 Orville, and a dau., Edith, now Mrs. Edward Keniston. (See Kenis- 
 ton gen.) 
 
 REGAN. 
 
 Mrs. Anna Austin Regan came from Tilton to N. in 1S92 and re- 
 sides on Vine St. She was b. at Hooksett Feb. 8, 1838; m. Feb. 26, 
 1874, Judson J. Regan of Vergennes, Vt. He d. at Linden, Mass., 
 Feb. 23, 1879. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Leona a. Regan, b. at Sharon, Mass., Dec. 15, 1875, is employed at 
 Hardy & Folsom'» store at Manchester. 
 
 Clara B. Regan, b. at Sharon, Mass., 1876; d., Aug. 17. 1877. 
 
 Fred E. Regan, b. at Linden, Mass., Nov. 23, 1877, is a carpenter and 
 resides with his mother. 
 
 RICE. 
 
 Edward Rice, b. at Sudbury, Mass.; m., Jan., 1850. lanthe Blanchard 
 of N., b. Aug. 10, 1824. They resided for many years in Lowell, Mass. 
 After the death of her parents they returned to her early home for 
 their permanent abode in 1880, rebuilt and renovated the buildings, 
 Improved the farm, and for many years there was no more pleasant 
 and spacious home or attractive surroundings than were found at 
 "Blanchard Farm." They had five children, a son. Henry Blanchard. 
 dying in infancy. Mr. Rice d. there July 16, 1895. She survived 
 him for some years. Her biographer says of her: 
 
262 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 lANTHE BLANCHARD RICE. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 "Iaxthe Blaxchard was the dau. of Daniel and Nancy Parkinson 
 Blanchard. She was b., Aug. 10, 1824, on the Blanchard farm in 
 N., but now a part of Franklin. She attended the Hodgdon School and 
 the Seminary, and was a successful teacher in her own and other 
 districts of the town. 
 
 "In Jan., 1850, she was m. to Edward C. Rice of Sudbury, Mass. 
 For many years they resided in Lowell, Mass., but, in 1880, returned to 
 her childhood home, the Blanchard farm. 
 
 "Our older residents often speak of the beautiful voice of lanthe 
 Blanchard, for she was well known as a singer of promise, and in 
 young womanhood was a member of a Lowell church choir. 
 
 "She was ambitious, energetic and did not hesitate to boldly cham- 
 pion any cause which she considered right, and she was equally fear- 
 less in denouncing wrong and ill-doing. Her religion was practical; 
 she gave freely to those who needed material help; to the sorrowing 
 and distressed her spiritual consolation and sympathy were un- 
 bounded. Her love of young people and her generous hospitality will 
 long be remembered by the present, as well as the past generation. 
 She was devoted to her home and family and, although the bereave- 
 ments were many, she met them all with that firm, trusting faith, 
 which was so characteristic of her. 
 
 "From the house in which she was b. and m., she passed into the 
 higher life, suddenly and without warning, Feb. 11, 1897, as she had 
 always expressed the desire that she might answer the death angel's 
 summons. 
 
 "Of her family of five children, but two are now living, Laura A. 
 Rice and Fanny Rice, the well known actress. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 CLARA AUGUSTA RICE. 
 
 Clara Augusta, oldest dau. of Edward C. and lanthe Blanchard 
 Rice, was b. in Lowell, Mass., March 19, 1852. She' inherited her 
 mother's musical talents and from early childhood she received in- 
 struction in vocal and instrumental music with the best teachers of 
 Lowell and Boston. She was graduated from the Lowell High School, 
 and, young as she was, she was the leader of the Cathedral choir, the 
 largest church in Lowell at that time. Her powerful mezzo-soprano 
 voice attracted the attention of the musical profession and her 
 parents were advised to send her abroad for study and to fit her for 
 operatic and oratorio lines of work, for which nature had so admirably 
 endowed her. She gave up her large class of pupils in piano in- 
 struction and went to Milan, Italy, where she was making rapid 
 progress when stricken with the dreaded fever, which nearly always 
 proves fatal to Americans, and passed on to join the "choir invisible," 
 
lANTHE BLANCHARD RICE. 
 
FANNIE RICE. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 2C3 
 
 Sept. 10, 1873. All that was mortal rests beneath sunny Italian 
 skies and many of her countrymen, when visiting Milan, go to the 
 beautiful cemetery and sigh with regret "for the sound of the voice 
 that is still," as they read this inscription upon her tomb: 
 
 "To the Memory of 
 
 Clara Augusta, 
 
 daughter of 
 
 E. C. and lanthe B. Rice 
 
 of 
 
 Lowell, Mass., U. S. A., 
 
 age 
 
 21 years and G mos. 
 
 An Angel Awaiting Us." 
 
 LAURA A. RICE. 
 
 Lavra a. Rice, the second dau., was b. at "Blanchard Farm," July 
 20, 1S5G. During early childhood the family went to Lowell, Mass., 
 to reside. She received her education in the Lowell public schools and 
 was a student of the Lowell Industrial Art School. 
 
 Her artistic talent was cultivated under the well known artist, W. 
 P. Phelps, the "painter of Monadnock." For many years, she has, 
 over the nom de plume of "Ray Lawrence," written poems and stories 
 for many well known magazines. After the return of her family to 
 the old home, Miss Rice became a teacher in N. and Franklin for a 
 number of years. She is one of our few women farmers, but finds no 
 lack of time for social and literary recreation. The poem written 
 for the dedication of the Memorial building at Franklin and the Old 
 Home Week poem are some of her latest productions. 
 
 FANNIE RICE. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Faxxie Rice was b. in Lowell, Mass. As a child, she displayed re- 
 markable musical talent and studied both vocal and instrumental music 
 with the best known teachers in Lowell and Boston. As a concert 
 singer and cornet soloist she was associated with Henry Barnabee 
 and others famous at the time. 
 
 Later she joined the Ideal Opera Company of Boston and toured 
 the country. She was associated with Nat Goodwin and with the 
 Carlton Opera Company, and later was one of the star performers at 
 the New York Casino, where, for three years, she sang the leading 
 roles with Lillian Russell and other famous singers. 
 
 She has starred with her own company, playing all over the United 
 States and Canada. 
 
 She had the honor of being selected by Joe Jefferson for one season 
 of his all-star company in "The Rivals." She was also with Julia 
 Marlowe, Nat Goodwin and others. 
 
261 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Miss Rice is still one of the leaders of vaudeville and is a widely 
 known favorite on the stage. 
 
 She has one dau., Edith Rice Purdy, who, at her early age, displays 
 much of her famous mother's theatrical talent. 
 
 INEZ BLANCHARD RICE. 
 
 Inez Rice was educated, in the public schools of Lowell and sm a 
 student and scholar took high rank. She graduated from the High 
 School in 1880 and was a musician of ability, devoting much time to 
 the piano. 
 
 She was m., July 14, 1885, to Artemas T. Burleigh of Franklin. She 
 was devoted to her home, was domestic in her tastes, quiet and unas- 
 suming in manner and was loved by all who knew her. 
 
 The memory of "Little Inez" is sacred to her family and many 
 friends. She d. suddenly, July 26, 1897, and death lay upon the 
 little white-robed figure "like an untimely frost upon the fairest 
 flower of the field." 
 
 RILEY. 
 
 Geokge Riley was b. in Canterbury in 1813. He m., in 1831, Sarah 
 J. Kellogg of Bethel, Vt., and had eight children, three of whom d. 
 in childhood. She d., Sept. 7, 1866, at East Tilton. He m. (second), 
 Almira Gilman of Sanbornton Bridge, Feb., 1867, and had one dau. 
 
 Mr. Riley lived in East N. and was one of the board of selectmen in 
 1871, 1872 and 1873. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Children of George and Sarah Kellogg Riley.) 
 
 Adeline Riley, b. 1834; m., 1853, John F. Cross, and d. in 1856. 
 
 Araji Riley, b. 1843; m. Mrs. Frances J. Foss. They resided in 
 East N. and had three children. He d. Nov. 2, 1881. She resides 
 in Belmont with her son, Glen. 
 
 Adelaide M. Riley, b. 1846; m. Frank Hillsgrove and resided in 
 Concord, where she d. in 1872. 
 
 George Riley, Jr., b. Feb. 9, 1848; m. (first), Clara Sanders of 
 Alton and has one son, Phil. He m. (second), Emma Elkins of 
 Belmont. He is a prominent business man and conducts a steam 
 sawmill business, going from place to place. He resides at Laconia. 
 
 Millard Filmore Riley, b. 1852; d., unmarried, at East N., in 1872. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Child of George and Almira Gilman Riley.) 
 
 Hattie Belle Riley, b. May 20, 1868; m., Dec. 25, 1897, Joseph 
 Stone and resided with her mother in East N., where she d., Nov. 14, 
 1902. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 266 
 
 RING. 
 
 Chase Ring came to N. from Chichester and bought the Aldrlch 
 place at East N. He was b. Feb. 27, 1799. He m. Sally Osgood, b. at 
 Loudon April 5, 1S05. They had a family of four, two of whom were 
 b. in Loudon. She d. in N. July 24, 1S4S. This family returned to 
 Loudon. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Hexkt Edward Ring, b. Aug. 26, 1829. 
 Hannah Jane Ring, b. July 6, 1831. 
 Henrietta Ring, b. Sept. 13, 1834. 
 Maby Ellen Ring, b. July 17, 1836. 
 
 ROBINSON. 
 
 EzEKiEL Robinson resided near the old road from the Curry place 
 to Belmont and uplands. The house was reached by a private way. 
 His name does not appear on the records later than 1837. He re- 
 moved to Belmont. They had two sons and a dau. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 JosiAH Robinson remained on the homestead for some years, selling 
 to Chandler Mason. The house was torn down but the land is now 
 owned by Lorentine Sanborn, son-in-law of Mr. Robinson. 
 
 HoiT Robinson is an extensive lumberman and resides in Concord. 
 
 ROBY. 
 
 William Roby, b. at Merrimack, was for many years in the employ 
 of the Land & Water Power Company of Manchester as teamster. 
 He m., Sept. 28, 1S46, Betsey Cross, b. at N. Dec. 13, 1819. Later he 
 purchased the Hall farm on Zion's Hill, where both d. He d. March 
 1, 1888. She d. Nov. 13, 1899. They had one dau., Clara, who m. 
 Albert Titcomb, b. at Tilton Aug. 13, 1843. 
 
 Mr. Titcomb bought an adjoining farm and has been a general 
 farmer. She d. Dec. 20, 1903. They have one son, Frank, b. Aug. 10, 
 1864, the local correspondent of the Journal-Transcript of Franklin. 
 
 Mr. Titcomb was in the Civil War one year and has served the town 
 as selectman. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 ROGERS I. 
 
 It is claimed that the Rogers genealogy is traceable to Robert 
 Rogers, who was b. in England in 1G25 and who came to America 
 on the Mayflower and settled, first in Boston, and aftfrwauls in New- 
 
266 
 
 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 bury, Mass., where he d. Dec. 23, 1663. It is supposed that he was a 
 grandson of the martyr, John Rogers. He had five children. 
 
 The second child, Thomas Rogers, was b. at Newbury July 9, 1652, 
 and d. there Oct. 15, 1735. He m.. May 18, 1667, Ruth Brown, who 
 d. Feb. 1, 1730. They had 10 children. 
 
 The sixth child, Isaac Rogers, was b. June 21, 1691, and m. Rebecca 
 Rawlins. They had three children. 
 
 The second child, Joseph Rogers, was b. Dec. 19, 1714, in Newbury, 
 and d., April 18, 1798, in Bow. He m., Dec. 7, 1738, Abagail Bartlett, 
 b. March 7, 1715, and d. April 18, 1800. They resided in Newbury 
 and Amesbury, Mass., and had seven children, five of whom were b. 
 in Newbury and two in Amesbury. 
 
 The fifth child was Samuel Rogers, b. in Newbury Aug. 3, 1749. 
 He came to N. from Bow, about 1780, and bought the Josiah Miles 
 farm on the Bean Hill road. He was a Revolutionary soldier. His 
 first wife was Deborah Drew, b. at Newbury, March 22, 1751, and d, 
 Oct. 30, 1822. He probably found a house already erected on the 
 ledge close by the brook, where he soon after erected a sawmill and 
 extended the house many feet to the East and later put a cor- 
 responding extension to the West, as his increasing family demanded. 
 Behind the house, on the higher ledge, stood the long barn. 
 
 He had the manufacture of lumber in mind when he bought the 
 farm, for no more ideal place could be found than the spot where he 
 erected his mill. There was wood and timber in abundance and good 
 upland for tillage, while the mill brook, which afterwards took his 
 name dwindled down in summer to a limpid stream, that ran through 
 the large pasture, watered his flocks and herds and still allowed 
 a heavy crop of grass to grow in the broad meadow. 
 
 There was no more thrifty family far or near than that of Deacon 
 Rogers. The old up-and-down saw danced through the immense logs 
 day and night during the spring freshets and the moon, supplemented 
 by the old, tin barn lantern, concealed rather than disclosed the 
 bulky cider jug among the logs, while the men of the whole neighbor- 
 hood sat about upon the big logs and swapped stories of the "good 
 old colony times," when they were under the king. 
 
 Mr. Rogers settled three of his sons en parts of his extensive farm 
 and one remained with him in the home. 
 
 He m. (second), Mrs. Robert Morrison, who survived him many 
 years. She was a noted maker of cheese and had the fattest hogs 
 in town. She sold out and went to her friends in Vermont, but at her 
 death was brought and laid beside him in the Abbott Cemetery. He d. 
 May 3, 1839. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Dea. Enoch Rogers was b. in Bow in 1774 and m., Nov. 25, 1795, Nancy 
 Buswell. He settled on the farm east of the sawmill and reared a 
 family of 10. After his father's death he sold to his brother and re- 
 moved to Columbia, where he spent the remainder of his life. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 267 
 
 Abagail Rogers m. Andrew McAllister and removed to Ohio. Late 
 in life she resided with her son in Iowa and d. there, aged 82. 
 
 Rebecca Rogers, the fourth child, b. Dec, 17SG; m., Nov., 1805, Na- 
 than Bean of Meredith Bridge, now Laconia. He was a clothier and 
 d. Oct., 1S46. Their family consists of eight children, three dying 
 in childhood. Mary Jane, the wife of Alvah Tucker of Lakeport, had 
 two dau. and two sons. The two dau. became the wives of J. J. and 
 A. J. Pillsbury, late of Tilton. The two sons are Arthur Tucker of 
 Lakeport and Dr. Henry Tucker of Brattleboro, Vt. 
 
 Anna Bean Rogers m. Martin Chandler and resided in New York. 
 In 1893 she m. David Davis of Warner and removed to Toledo, 0., and 
 had five children. 
 
 JoHX Rogers remained at the home and was a miller and farmer 
 with his father. He m., March 20, 1805, Sally, dau. of his neighbor, 
 John Cofran, and had a family of four. After his father's death he 
 bought out his stepmother's share and, with his sons, until his death, 
 tilled the paternal acres and tended the mill as well. He was a man 
 of extensive and varied interests. His wife was a fine singer and 
 led the little choir at the old meeting-house for many years. He d. 
 Dec, 1845. 
 
 Be.njamix Rogers was b. at N. in 1782 and d. at N. Oct. 26, 1825. 
 He m., Jan., 1812, Lucy Hoagg and had a family of eight. He was 
 associated with his father in his business and lived on a part of the 
 original estate. He was a hard-working, Christian man, a Methodist 
 in belief. He d. at 43 years of age. 
 
 Mrs. Rogers carried on the farm until her death, reared and educated 
 her large family and was an ideal mother, striving for the best in 
 everything for herself and hers. 
 
 The farm, after a long ownership in the name, was sold to Ebenezer 
 Thurston, a son-in-law, and, later, to Benjamin Gale, Leroy R. Brown, 
 and Oscar Gates, and is now the property of Nelson Duval. 
 
 Mehitable Rogers, b. March 25, 1784; m.. March 9, 1809, Elliot 
 Durgin of Sanbornton Bridge. He was a clothier and resided at 
 Campton, Bristol and Meredith Bridge. He learned his trade of 
 Stephen Chase They had 10 children. .She d. April 15, 18G2. He d. 
 at the home of his dau., Mrs. James Palmer of Sutton, July 12, 1868. 
 
 Jesse Rogers, b. at Bow, 1787; m. Martha Cilley of N. (See Cilley 
 gen.) He was a blacksmith and resided where Fred Lougee's home is 
 now located. His smithy stood a little below. They had seven chil- 
 dren. He d. Aug. 4, 1852. She d. in 1SG7. They are both buried by 
 the town house. Three of the dau. m. Batchelder brothers. 
 
 Samvel RcKiERs, b. at N., 1786; m., June 7, 1799, Rebecca Haines 
 of Sanbornton Bridge. He was a cripple, caused by a wound on the 
 knee from an axe borne on his shoulder as he broke through the ice 
 in the river and barely escaped with his life. He learned the tailor's 
 trade and, after living for a few years on a part of his father's es- 
 tate, had a shop close by and resided with Simeon Gate where now 
 
268 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 stands the home of Josiah Dearborn. They went, during the War 
 of 1812, to Portsmouth to make clothing for the soldiers and sailors. 
 They worked largely on homespun garments, woven in the homes 
 around. He d. about 1S24 and she m. (second), James Ramsey of 
 New Hampton, June 5, 1826. They had one son, John, and two dau., 
 Deborah and Mary. The latter m. Daniel Flagg and had three chil- 
 dren. She d. at Bradford, Vt. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Enoch and Nancy Buswell Rogers.) 
 
 Daxiel Rogers, b. Aug. 23, 1796, was educated for the ministry and 
 was also prominent in political matters in Coos County, being a mem- 
 ber of the governor's council. 
 
 He d. Oct. 3, 1867. He had a son, Daniel Allen, a lawyer for many 
 years at Colebrook and afterwards at "Wells River, Vt., where he d., 
 leaving a family, who reside at Beloit, Wis. 
 
 Daniel, 1st, had also two dau., one of whom, Mrs. Ann Dustin, re- 
 sides in Columbia. 
 
 Enoch Rogers, Jr. (see portrait), b. Sept. 2, 1798, removed when a 
 young man to Columbia, where he m. Emily Burbank of Campton and 
 had four sons. He was an intelligent, industrious man and was one of 
 the pioneers in the settlement of the town. He d. on his 85th birthday. 
 His sons were: 
 
 E. George Rogers, the eldest son, b. Dec. 16, 1830; m., July 12, 1865, 
 Arabella C. Curry of Tilton. (See Curry gen.) 
 
 He represented the town of Columbia in the Legislature of 1865- 
 '66 and twice held the ofBce of sheriff of Coos County. 
 
 Charles C. Rogers, b. at Bloomfield, Vt, studied law with his 
 cousin, B. A. Rogers, of N. and succeeded to his business at Sanborn- 
 ton Bridge in April, 1858, still continuing there. He m (first), Sophia 
 Tibbetts Curry, by whom he had five sons, two of whom d. in child- 
 hood. Of the three who survive, John W., a graduate of Dartmouth 
 College, class of 1883, now resides in San Antonio, Tex.; George B. 
 is in the employ of the Tilton Mills Company of Tilton; and Herbert 
 Spencer, also of Dartmouth, class of 1899, is now special collector for 
 the New England Telephone Company at Boston, Mass. Mr. Rogers 
 m. (second), Feb. 16, 1904, Mrs. S. L. Hull of San Antonio, Tex. He 
 has held various local and county offices, having twice been solicitor 
 for Belknap County and having served for many years on the board 
 of education, both in town and later in Union District. He was a 
 member of the Constitutional Convention of 1902. 
 
 (Other children of Enoch 1st.) 
 
 Nancy B. Rogers, b. Sept. 6, 1800; m., Nov. 15, 1827, Dr. James B. 
 Abbott. She d. 10 years later. (See Abbott gen.) 
 
 Elizabeth Rogers, b. March 13, 1803; also m., 1837, Dr. James B. 
 Abbott as his second wife. She d. in 1842. 
 
ENOCH RCJGERS, JR. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 269 
 
 James B. Rogers, b. April 15, 1S05, was for many years a resident 
 of Walpole, Mass. He d. in Boston, leaving four sons: Elbridge, now 
 deceased, George, William N. and Edwin. 
 
 Luther Rogers, b. June 7, 1809; m., 1834, Almira Nudd of Canter- 
 bury and had a large family. They lived mostly in Loudon, where he 
 d. Jan. 22, 1887. He had at his death 48 grandchildren and 34 great- 
 grandchildren. 
 
 Mary Straw Rogers, b. at N. April 22, 1811; m. Samuel Lovering of 
 Loudon. She d. at Loudon Nov. 7, 1803. 
 
 (Children of John and Sally Cofran Rogers.) 
 
 JoHx C. Rogers, b. at N., 1807; m. Susan Hutchinson of Plymouth, 
 Mass., where they resided for some years, coming later to his father's, 
 where he d. May 3, 1847. They had two dau., Mrs. Deborah Thomas 
 of Taunton and Mrs. Lydia Doty of 780 Pine St., San Francisco, Cal. 
 Mrs. Rogers m. (second), Job Churchill in 1853 and d. at Marblehead, 
 Mass., in 1863. 
 
 Jeremiah Rogers, b. at N., 1809, was employed as a young man in 
 Boston, Mass., where he m., July, 1S35, Elinor Damrell. He bought the 
 farm of his uncle, Enoch, the next year and also that of his younger 
 brother, Benjamin, Jr., and spent the remainder of his life farming. 
 He d. in 1847. They had one dau., Clara. Mrs. Rogers m., 1852, Elias 
 Abbott. (See Abbott gen.) After his death, 10 years later, she sold 
 the farm to Dea. Robert Gray of Tilton and went to live with her 
 dau. She was a semi-invalid and cripple for the greater part of her 
 life, yet retained her energy under the most distressing limitations 
 and lived to a good old age. 
 
 Joanna Rogers, b. at N., 1809; m., Feb. 17, 1831, Walter Bailey of 
 Haverhill and resided there until his death, when she returned to care 
 for her aged parents. They had three children. One d. in infancy; 
 Joanna d. at 20 in 1858 and Walter R. now resides in Franklin Falls. 
 The latter served in the War of the Rebellion in the Eleventh Massa- 
 chusetts Regiment. He was neither wounded nor captured although 
 in six battles, but he endured extreme sickness and marched once 
 without food for three days. He m.. May 22, 1874. Mrs. W. H. Cross 
 and has one son, Harold P. 
 
 Benjamin Rogers, Jr., familiarly called "Old Ben," to distinguish 
 him from his next door neighbor and cousin, spent his whole life 
 in N. as a farm hand and was a noted ox teamster. He was a famous 
 player on the Jew's harp and was never happier than when giving 
 his long-drawn out concerts to an appreciative crowd of children. 
 
 (Children of Benjamin and Lucy Hoag Rogers.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 F.vNNiE Rogers, b. Nov. 20, 1802; m. Simeon Kimball of N. (See 
 Kimball gen.) 
 
 Betsey Rogers, b. July 1, 1S04; m. John T. Oilman and removed 
 to Columbia. (See Oilman gen.) She d. in ISSS. They had four 
 children. 
 
270 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Lucy Rogers, b. Oct. 2, 1806; m., 1833, Gilbert L. Frizzell of Canaan, 
 Vt. They removed to Eau Claire, Wis., where she d. Dec. 31, 1876. 
 They had seven children: Lucy, Gilbert, Allen, Alonzo, Ida, Orange 
 and Oscar. 
 
 Rebecca Rogers, b. May 15, 1810; m. Thomas J. Emerton and had 
 three children: Benjamin, Andrew and Lucy. She lived and d. at 
 Portage, Wis., Feb. 2, 1899. 
 
 Harriet Rogers, b. Nov. 7, 1812; m., Sept. 5, 1837, Joseph Kimball 
 of N. (See Kimball gen.) 
 
 Sally Rogers, b. March 21, 1815; m. Ebenezer Thurston and, after 
 a short stay in Hill, lived on the homestead until her death. She 
 was a great reader and fine scholar and teacher for many years In 
 Hill and in her native town. She first introduced singing and calis- 
 thenics — till then unknown — in country schools. (See Thurston gen.) 
 
 Samuel B. Rogers, b. June 3, 1819; m. Susan Forrest of N., an 
 experienced and popular teacher. He became owner of the homestead 
 and repaired and changed the ancient house, or houses, to a modern 
 structure. After living here a few years he tired of farm life, passed 
 the home over to his sister and removed to Sanbornton Bridge, where 
 he leased the brickyard and made brick for some years. He erected 
 the brick house now owned by Jeremiah E. Smith and later became a 
 merchant at Tilton and Haverhill. He resided at N. at the time of his 
 death, June 26, 1865. Mrs. Rogers resides in Tilton. 
 
 Benjamin A. Rogers, b. at N. Sept. 15, 1823, and d. at Houston 
 Heights, Tex., March 15, 1904. (See portrait and sketch. Ministers 
 of N.) 
 
 (Children of Samuel and Deborah Haines Rogers.) 
 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Deborah Rogers, b. May 13, 1800; m., 1820, Thomas Clough Haines 
 of Canterbury and resided on the main road near the Canterbury 
 line. (See Haines gen.) 
 
 John Rogers read medicine and established practice at Bradford, 
 Vt, where he m. Sally Couch. He removed later to Canaan, where 
 he practised for many years and d. there at 70 years of age. He left 
 three children. But one. Dr. Tristram Rogers of Plymouth, survives. 
 
 Mary Rogers, b. 1804; m. Daniel Flagg and had five children: Jane, 
 who m. George Bean of Laconia; two younger dau., who m. and lived 
 in Bradford, Vt; George and Charles, who were in the War of the 
 Rebellion, the former in the army and the latter in the navy. George 
 is an inmate of the Soldiers' Home at Togus, Me., and Charles lives 
 at Hill. He m. Sarah Fifield of New Hampton. After her husband's 
 death Mrs. Flagg resided in N. 
 
 (Children of Jesse and Martha Cilley Rogers.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Clarissa Rogers m. Clark Batchelder in 1836. 
 
 Eliza Rogers m. Levi Bennett of Lowell in June, 1842. She d. on 
 
GENEALOGIES. 271 
 
 Park St. in 18GS. She had one daii., Ellen Bennett, who m. Jeremiah 
 Foster of Concord, Dec. 5, 18G5, and one son, Frank. 
 
 Elliot Rogers m. Cynthia Dearborn of N., Dec. 12, 1S3G (see Dear- 
 born gen.) and removed to Hebron, where he d., leaving a son, John, 
 with whom the mother still resides 
 
 Jeremiah Rogers d. at 20 years of age and sleeps besides his parents 
 in the cemetery by the town house. 
 
 Frances Ann Rogers m. Bradbury Batchelder of Franklin and re- 
 sided for a time near Tilton, where he built a home on Park St., now 
 owned by James Van Peabody. They had four children: LaRoy, 
 Asa, Martha and Charles Wesley of 38 Fuller St., Brookline, Mass. 
 
 Martha Rogers m. Asa Batchelder of Bath, Sept. 24, 1S42, and d. in 
 Lowell in 1898. 
 
 Ellen Rogers m. Jonathan Chapman of Vermont. 
 
 (Children of Luther and Almira Nudd Rogers.) 
 
 Four sons resided in Loudon 
 
 Charles Rogers lived and d. in Connecticut. He served in the Third 
 Vermont Regiment in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 Jefferson Rogers served in the Civil War in the Seventeenth Regi- 
 ment. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 Dick Rogers, b. in N., also served in the army. 
 
 Joseph Rogers, b. at N.; m. Arlin and resides at North Con- 
 cord. He is a farmer. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Samuel B. and Susan Forrest Rogers.) 
 
 (All b. at N) 
 
 Orville Forrest Rogers, b. in 1S44, graduated from the College of 
 Physicians and Surgeons of New York City. He was a surgeon in 
 Virginia during the Rebellion. Afterwards he practised for several 
 years at Brownsville, Tex. He was at the McLean Asylum and 
 the Hartford Retreat for a while. Since a trip abroad in 1S77 he has 
 been in practice at 4G5 Washington St., Dorchester, Mass. He m. 
 Josephine Tucker of Dorchester and had three children: Samuel For- 
 rest, Josephine Tucker and Orville Forrest. 
 
 Samuel Benjamin Rogers, b. 1852, was educated at Tilton Seminary 
 and was a druggist in Boston at the time of his death in 1873. 
 
 Livingstone Rogers, b. June 2G, 18C0. was educated at the Tilton 
 Seminary. He has been in mercantile life for many years and is now 
 located at Franklin. 
 
 (Children of Jeremiah and Elinor Damrell Rogers.) 
 
 Clara A. Rogers, b. at N.; m. (first). Williams and resided 
 
 in Concord and afterwards in Hill, where he d. She m. (second), 
 Edward C. Payne of Hill, where they now reside. An unfortunate ex- 
 
272 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 perience with smallpox made her a valuable nurse in such cases and 
 she followed this calling for some years. 
 
 Note. — Charles C. Rogers and his two sons, George B. and Herbert S., 
 are the only descendants of this large family, who live in the vicinity 
 of the ancient home and bear the name. (See Curry gen.) 
 
 ROGERS II. 
 
 Ned Rogers came to Tilton from Weare in 1902. He was b. in 
 Salisbury, May 23, 1S75; m. Lillian Melvin, b. at Weare, Sept., 1S74. 
 They have one child, Elbra M., b. Sept. 13, 1903. He is a member of 
 the firm of Bayley & Rogers, general merchandise and groceries, 
 successors of S. W. Taylor at Tilton. 
 
 Mr. Rogers is a member of Mt. William Lodge, No. 3S, L 0. 0. F., 
 of Weare, and a member of Weare Patrons of Husbandry. Mrs. 
 Rogers is also a member of Wyoming Grange at Weare. They reside 
 in their newly-erected home on Areh St. 
 
 ROBERTS. 
 
 John Roberts came to N. from Alexandria in 1S37. He m. Pamelia 
 Glines and had a family of six. She m. (second), Samuel Neal of 
 Canterbury. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 John Roberts, Jr., b. 1835; m., 1851, Jane Morrill of N., b. 1831, and 
 had three children. He was a trackman on the B., C. & M. R. R. for 
 many years, becoming a farmer on the Windfall later and dying there 
 of cancer in 1899. She removed to the home of her dau. at Tilton, 
 where she d. in 1902. 
 
 William Roberts was for years in the employ of the railroad. He 
 m., Aug. 27, 1865, Diana Woodward Morrill of Franklin Falls. He 
 served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 George Roberts was also in the employ of the railroad until the 
 beginning of the war. He was an expert marksman and was detailed 
 as a sharpshooter. (See Boys in Blue.) He m. Harriet Keniston 
 and had six children. 
 
 Mary Ann Roberts, b. 1834; m., Nov. 20, 1852, Milton B. Neal. 
 They had one dau., who d. in early womanhood at Canterbury. He 
 was for several years superintendent of the Merrimack County Farm 
 and is now a dealer in wood and lumber, with a residence at Franklin 
 Junction. 
 
 LuRANA Roberts spent most of her life with her sister and d. at 
 Franklin. 
 
 Pamelia Roberts m., Oct. 22, 1848, Joseph Chase of Canterbury. 
 
'■m 
 
 
 
 ROBERTSON ARMS AND CREST. 
 
 HOMESTEAD OF JAMES P. ROBERTSON. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 273 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of John and Jane Morrill Roberts.) 
 
 Smith Roberts, b. Oct. IG, 1S53; m. Ellen Keniston of N. and had 
 one dau.. Rose. He m. (second), Oct. 10, 1890, Mary Weed of Gil- 
 manton and d. at N. Dec. 25, 1904. He was injured by a passing train 
 in 1S75 and never fully recovered. 
 
 Emma J. Roderts. b. April 8, ISGl; m. Ora Fifield of Belmont and 
 resided at Tilton Highlands, where he d. after a long illness. Their 
 four children were educated at the Episcopal Orphans' Home at Mill- 
 ville. Concord. She purchased in 1900 a home on Howard Ave., where 
 she now resides. 
 
 Ella J. Roberts, b. June 4, 1S07; m. B. Frank Ayers. who owns the 
 Horace Sewall place on Oak Hill. They have one child. (See Ayers 
 gen.) 
 
 (Children of George and Laura Keniston Roberts.) 
 
 But one of this family remains in town. 
 
 AxNiE Roberts m. (first), George Whitney of N. and hail a son, who 
 d. in infancy. She m. (second), Charles Sanborn of Wilmot, Nov. 
 25, 1S92. They resided at the Depot, where he was station agent and 
 telegrapher. He purchased the grocery business of Samuel Emery 
 and d. suddenly June 13, 1903. 
 
 ROBERTSON FAMILY. 
 
 (See portraits.) 
 
 The Robertsons composed one of the oldest of the Scottish clans, 
 originally known as Clan Donnachaidh, or Duncan. Duncan, its founder, 
 was a descendant of the ancient Earls of Athol, as proven by him and 
 his descendants being designated, "de Atholia," in ancient charters. 
 His patronymic was Donnachaidh Reamhair, or Duncan the Fat. 
 (There were no surnames in use in his day). He was b. about 1275 
 and he inherited from his father, Andrew de Atholia, a portion of the 
 ancient earldom of Athol. He was the first of the Lairds of Struan, 
 or Strowan, the designation of the oldest branch of the Robertsons 
 to this day. He was an adherent of Robert Bruce and entertained and 
 protected that king and his queen when in hiding after the defeat at 
 Methven in 130G. Indeed, if the story of the spider's web be true, 
 it is part of the history of the Robertson clan. 
 
 When he d., about 1355, he was succeeded by his eldest son, Robert, 
 so named at the request of Robert Bruce himself. Under him the 
 clan took part in the famous "Raid of Angus," 1392, and part of the 
 estates were forfeited to the crown. 
 
 His only son, Duncan, succeeded him as chief. He had three sons. 
 The eldest, Robert Ruadh, or Robert the Red, succeeded him as fourth 
 "Baron de Atholia." 
 IS 
 
274 HISTORY 0F_ NORTHFIELD. 
 
 His chieftainship marked an era in the history of Scotland and of 
 the clan. 
 
 When King James I was cruelly murdered in the Blackfriars' Mon- 
 astery at Perth in 1436, Robert Ruadh was among the foremost in 
 the search for the murderers and, with John Stuart Gorm, succeeded 
 in capturing the principal assassins, the Earl of Athol and Sir Rob- 
 ert Graham, who were put to death with almost indescribable torture 
 and ignominy. 
 
 When James II came of age, he offered to suitably reward Robert for 
 his great service. With a modesty unparalleled in history, all the 
 proud chief would ask or accept was that the lands he then possessed 
 should be confirmed to him as a barony, which the king granted by 
 charter, dated Aug. 15, 1541, and which is still in the possession of a 
 descendant. 
 
 The arms of the chief had been a shield with three wolf heads, 
 in commemoration of the chief having destroyed those savage beasts 
 in the Athol' district. 
 
 By the king's charter of 1541 these arms were augmented by the 
 addition of a crest, a right arm supporting a royal crown, and, be- 
 low, a savage or naked man in chains, with the motto, Tirtutis 
 gloria merces, "glory, the reward of valor." The supporters, the ser- 
 pent and dove, are for the chief's arms only and signify, "Wise as the 
 serpent, harmless as the dove." 
 
 The heraldic description is: 
 
 "Gules: Three Wolf heads erased. Argent; armed and langued Azure; 
 Crest, a Dexter Arm holding up an imperial crown proper; Motto, 
 Yirtiitis Gloria Merces. Under the escutcheon, a wild man lying 
 chained." (This means: Shield, Red; Wolf heads torn off, not cut; 
 silver; tongues extended, blue; the crown gold with purple lining, 
 surrounded by pearls; the helmet, steel; all the rest in natural colors, 
 "proper.") 
 
 The fine-leaved heath, "Dleuth Fhraoch," is said to be the ancient 
 badge, but later the fern — in Gaelic, " raineach" — became the badge, 
 hence Rannoch, the home of the chief from the 12th to the 19th cen- 
 turies, at the head of beautiful Loch Rannoch. 
 
 The clan has two tartans, one for home and one for foray and hunt- 
 ing. In the former the colors are red, green and blue, red predomin- 
 ating; in the latter, blue and green predominating. 
 
 The clan has a stone reputed to have been brought from the Cru- 
 sades or else from the place of the Standard at Bannockburn, which 
 the chief always carries in war and without which defeat would be 
 certain. It is known as "Clach-na-Bratach," or the Stone of the Stand- 
 ard. It is still preserved and held as a precious relic by the chief. 
 
 The clan saved the day at Bannockburn. It served in the rebellions 
 of 16S5, 1715 and 1745. It has furnished soldiers and seamen, generals 
 and admirals, in all the wars of the world for centuries. It has 
 furnished to America many men of note in war, in statesmanship 
 
'^e^ 
 
 ^^^.f^-t^^i*-^ 
 
o 
 
 H 
 
 U5 
 'A 
 
GENEALOGIES. 275 
 
 and in the service of tlie church, and while "glory" may be lacking 
 among them, "valor" never was. 
 
 After the Scottish rebellions, many of the Robertsons fled to America 
 to escape death at home. 
 
 Many more went to Ireland under England's promise to protect 
 them, but finding those promises of no avail, they, too, came to the 
 land that promised relief from oppression. 
 
 Among these immigrants was "William Robertson, b. Feb. 8, 1703, 
 in the north of Ireland, and d., March 7, 1790, in Pembroke. His 
 wife was Margaret Woodend, a "Highland lass," b. Oct. 20, 1705; d., 
 Feb. 19, 1785. It is said to have been a runaway love match. Their 
 descendants have been among the builders of the East and are scat- 
 tered all over the Far West — good citizens, loyal to their country and 
 to their God. 
 
 James Parker Robebtsox came from Bow to N. in 1S41. He was 
 the third in descent of William, b. 1703, in the north of Scotland, who 
 came to Pembroke with his "Highland lassie," Margaret Woodend, 
 and d. there in 17S5. Pembroke History says: "He came there in 
 1748." James came to the Austin farm on the banks of the Merrimack 
 River in N. and enlarged the buildings in 1850-52, retaining a portion 
 of the old Austin house, and began raising hops, a business his father, 
 James, had followed in Bow. He planted his first crop in 1842 and 
 continued this business until 1853. He was twice m. He m. (first), 
 Jan. 22, 1828, Mary Ann Hammond of Bridgewater, and (second). May 
 1, 1861, Mary Ann Chase of Litchfield. The former d. April 22, ISGO. 
 The latter d. at Concord Sept. 6, 1898. He d. at N. Oct. 6, 1871. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 James Lewis Robertsox, b. at Bow Oct. 29, 1828; m., Dec. 25, 1851, 
 Elizabeth Susan Carter, also of Bow, and came with his father to 
 N. He labored in the machine shops at Franklin and Keene as a 
 machinist, making tools, a part of the time. In 1855, he went to Kansas 
 and worked as a carpenter, erecting buildings. He d. Dec. 17, 1S5G. 
 They had one dau. "None knew him but to love him." 
 
 Charles Hill RonERXsox. b. at Bow May 25, 1835. He m. (first). 
 Mrs. Elizabeth Robertson, widow of his brother, and had a family of 
 four. He was educated at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary 
 and was a teacher some years, later becoming superintendent of the pub- 
 lic schools. After his father's death he cultivated the homestead. He 
 m. (second), Olive Ann Mills and d. Sept. 27, 1888. Mrs. Robertson now 
 resides in Concord. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Child of James and Elizabeth Robertson.) 
 
 LiLLiE Lewis Robektsox, b. Oct. 11. 1S5C; m.. Nov. 30, 1882. Charles 
 Edward Hodgdon of Portsmouth. He is a dealer in Ice. They have 
 
276 HISTORY OF XORTHFIELD. 
 
 three dau., Cora Elouise, b. April IG, 1SS4; Mildred, b. Nov. 12, 1887; 
 Winifred, b. Nov. 11, 1891; Augusta, b. Aug. 5, 1894; d. Sept. 24, 1894. 
 Cora E. m., July 14, 1904, Albert Forest Witham. They have a son, 
 Edward Forest "Witham. 
 
 (Children of Charles and Elizabeth Carter Robertson.) 
 
 Frank C. Robertson, b. March 31, 1860; m., Dec. 5, ISSS, Belle 
 Woodbury Gile (see Gile gen.) and resides on Bean Hill. He is a 
 farmer and dealer in farming tools, fruit, flowers and nursery stock. 
 They have one child, 
 
 Hammond Robertson, b. Jan. 27, 1862; d. Sept. 21, 1863. 
 
 Sarah Hammond Robertson, b. July 18, 1865; m., Sept. 4, 1888, Amos 
 Rouse of Stratford-on-Avon, Alderminster, England. After several 
 years as a tradesman he bought the Obadiah Glines farm on the main 
 road, where he d. Aug. 10, 1903, leaving three children: Bertha E., 
 Elsie May and John Amos. 
 
 Mary A. Robertson, b. Aug. 9, 1868; m., Sept. 18, 1895, Clyde Am- 
 brose Gile. (See Gile gen.) 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Child of Frank and Belle Gile Robertson.) 
 Earle Vincent Robertson, b. June 21, 1894. 
 
 SANBORN I. 
 
 William Sanborn was the first of the name to settle in the town. 
 He was b. ai Epping Feb. 11, 1743. His father was a blacksmith there 
 and d. in 1763. 
 
 He was a grandson of Ensign John, who lived in North Hampton 
 and served in Lovewell's War in 1727. 
 
 William came to East N. when a young man and d. there April 
 14, 1S07. During the early years of his residence there his cousin, 
 Joseph Sanborn, cleared and lived on the farm now owned by the 
 Shakers in Canterbury- 
 Two nephews, Mathew Neally and Jonathan Sanborn, came to N. 
 about 1792 and bought land, as the records say, Nov. 16, 18 acres of 
 Lot No. 35. In July he sold to Samuel R. Sanborn, physician,, a part 
 of original Lot No. 51, consisting of 55 acres with buildings thereon, 
 excepting the schoolhouse and a two-rod highway, which, "if the town 
 shall use as a public road," he shall have 55 rods from said highway. 
 These lots were laid out to the original right of William Smith and 
 Nathaniel Randall. (See Proprietors' Map.) 
 
HODGDON FAMILY. 
 
 Mildred Hodgdon. 
 
 Mrs. Lillie L. R. Hodgdon. Mrs. Com K. H. William. 
 
 Charles E. Hodgdon. Winifred Hoilgdon. 
 
CHARLES H. ROBERTSON. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 277 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Francis Sanuorx. b. at the north fields of Canterbury in 1770; m.. 
 March 31, 1792, Ruth Smith and d. in Gilmanton in 1S4S. 
 
 In 1792, the early records say. his father deeded one third of his 
 homestead to him for £100. He had two sons. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 William Saxdorx, 2n., b. 17S0 at N., had two sons and a dau. His 
 wife was Peggy Cross. 
 
 Jeremiah Saxborn, b. at N. in 1796; removed to Dorchester, Mass. 
 M.\RTHA Axx S.vxBORX. b. at N. April 10, 1S07; d. at N. Feb. 11, 1810. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of William and Peggy Cross Sanborn.) 
 
 Amos Cogswell Saxborx, b. at N. Nov. 16, 1S05; m. and removed 
 to Cambridge, Mass. They had two sons, James and Orville. They 
 were all stone workers. 
 
 William Saxborx. 3d., b. 1S12. 
 
 Persis Saxborx m. Isaac Bodwell of Sanbornton Bridge. They re- 
 sided there many years. She d. in 1S69, aged 67, and is buried by the 
 town house. He returned to Massachusetts, remarried and d. some 
 years later. 
 
 SANBORN II. 
 
 Mathew Neally Saxborx is said to have been a remarkable man in 
 many ways. He was b. June 2S, 1759. and served in the Revolutionary 
 War. He was present at the surrender of Cornwallis and had a per- 
 sonal acquaintance with General Washington. 
 
 He lived on the farm, on a part of which the Rand schoolhouse now 
 stands. 
 
 He also served as a captain in the War of 1S12. 
 
 Three children, Samuel Roby. Sally and John P., were b. in N. 
 After leaving N. he was a dry goods merchant in Boston. He d. at 
 Solon, Me., April 21, 1S53, aged 94 years. He m. Phebe Roby, b. 17G7. 
 and d. at N. April 24, 1809. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 SA:\irEL RocY Saxborx. b. at N. Feb. 3. 1791, became a cancer doctor 
 and lived on the farm now owned by George Corliss. He afterwards 
 practised in Dover, where he d. May 28, 1853. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of Dr. Samuel Roby Sanborn. » 
 Roby Saxborx lived in Boston, where he had a stall in Faneuil Hall 
 market. 
 
278 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Mary Jane Saxborn m. and resided at Braintree, Mass. They later 
 removed to Canaan and d. there. 
 
 Clarrissa Sanborx m. Thayer of Braintree, Mass. After his 
 
 death she returned to her mother's. 
 
 Sally Sanborn m. John Molony and had a family of seven. (See 
 Molony gen.) 
 
 John C. Sanborn, b. at N. Sept. 13, 1842, has been an official of the 
 Old Colony Railroad for many years and is now manager of the Bos- 
 ton Terminal Company of Boston, Mass. 
 
 Mathew Sanborn, Jr., went West and became a cancer doctor. 
 
 Richard Sanborn became a tin worker and lived in or near Bos- 
 ton. 
 
 SANBORN III. 
 
 JoNATi-iAN Sanborn, b. at Nottingham in 1760; m. May 15, 1785, 
 Love Thomas, whose father, Joseph, d. of wounds received in the 
 service of his country. His dau.. Love Thomas Sanborn, received 
 200 acres of "bounty land" for herself and sister, Abagail. Mr. and 
 Mrs. Sanborn lived on one of the Skenduggody Meadow lots. He 
 d. in 182G, aged G6 years. They had 13 children. The farm later 
 became the home of the Sewall family. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Jane Sanborn, b. Feb. 26, 1786; m. John Hannaford, b. 1787, and 
 lived on the main road. (See Hannaford gen.) She d. and he m. 
 (second), Nancy Flanders. He d. and she m. (second), Jeremiah Calef 
 of East N. and d. at Tilton. 
 
 Joseph Thomas Sanborn, b. Sept. 3, 1787, removed to Vermont and 
 later to Rochester, N. Y., where he d. in 1S65. 
 
 Mary Glidden Sanborn, b. May, 17S9. 
 
 Jonathan Sanborn, Jr., b. July 26, 1791, removed to Paynesville, 
 Wis., where he d. in 1S2S. 
 
 David Mason Sanborn, b. June 26, 1793. 
 
 John Pearson Sanborn, b. Sept. 28, 1794; m. (pub.), Oct. 9, 1808, 
 Sarah Gile of West N., b. June 22, 1783, and moved to Palo, HI., where 
 he was a farmer. She d. May 25, 1859. He d. Aug. 24, 1859. Both are 
 buried in N. 
 
 Alice Glidden Sanborn, b. July 3, 1796. 
 
 Mathew Nealey Sanboen, Jr., b. May 14, 1799. 
 
 Gkeenleaf Cilley Sanborn, b. Oct. 4, 1800. 
 
 Andrew Nealey Sanborn, b. March 17, 1802. 
 
 James Roby Sanborn, b. Aug. 28, 1803. 
 
 Daniel Cilley Sanborn, b. April 9, 1805. 
 
 Josiah Ambrose Sanborn, b. July 8, 1810. 
 
o 
 n 
 
 < 
 
 W 
 
 l-H 
 
 Q 
 
 o 
 
 O 
 
 Q 
 
GENEALOGIES. 279 
 
 SANBORN IV. 
 
 Daniel Sanborn's sou, John Prescott Sanborn, was b. in Brentwood 
 in 1750 and removed to Deerfield. 
 
 He served in the Revolutionary War and d. in Deerfield in 1812. 
 His son, Daniel, was b. July 20, 17S7. He ni., 1S21, Polly Frye of 
 Deerfield. He came to N. from Saubornton Bridge in 1S3G, where he 
 had spent 10 years on the W. T. Cass farm by the upper dam. He had 
 a sawmill on the site of Granite Mills. He later purchased the farm 
 of Obadiah Hall on Zion's Hill and d. there Dec. 29, 1875. She d. May 
 13, ISSl. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 JosiAH SiT-LivAN Sanborn, b. at Deerfield in 1821; m. (pub.), June 
 16, 1851, Martha E. Forrest, b. at N., 1S23. She d. at N. Oct. 22, 1854. 
 He later removed to California and d. at Redwood City May 3, 1893. 
 
 Braley James Sanborn, b. in Deerfield, 1S23; never m. He was a 
 farmer in the "West for many years and, having a competency, had no 
 occupation during the last years of his life. He was a man of energy 
 and natural ability. He d. at Hudson July 31, 1901. 
 
 Samuel C. Sanborn, b. at Deerfield, 1S27; m. Mary Annis and is 
 now living in Ayer, Mass. 
 
 Peter Sanborn, b. at Deerfield, 1S22; never m.; d. at N. June 27, 
 1848. 
 
 Daniel Sanborn, 3d., b. at Deerfield Oct. 31, 1S25; m. Augusta Hoyt 
 of N. and resided on the homestead, where she d. Nov. 6, 1896. He sold 
 this farm after her death and removed near the village. They had four 
 children. (See view of homestead.) 
 
 John Sanborn, b. at N. July 16, 1836, graduated from the New 
 Hampshire Conference Seminary and Wesleyan University, class of 
 1859. He was one of the faculty of the former seminary and was 
 principal of a school in Iowa for many years. After a considerable 
 stay in N. he became a successful dealer in real estate in the West. 
 
 He was a devoted Methodist and in his will gave a generous sum to 
 the New Hampshire Conference Seminary. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Charles Frye Sanborn, b. at N. Aug. 12, 1872. graduated from 
 Tilton Seminary in 1889. He was graduated from the Medical De- 
 partment of New York University in 1893 and served IS months as 
 interne in Bellevue Hospital, afterwards serving in the New York 
 State Hospital and the Willard State Hospital until July. 1903. 
 
 He is now medical inspector for the Equitable Life Assurance So- 
 ciety in Colorado, Wyoming, Utah, Arizona, New Mexico and Texas, 
 with offices at Denver, and pa3.ses on its medical examinations for 
 policies. 
 
 He is Past District Deputy Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of 
 ^lasons of New York. 
 
 He is unmarried and lives in Denver, Col. 
 
280 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Aloxzo Hoyt Saxborx. b. at N. Sept. 9, 1874, attended Tilton Sem- 
 inary and m. (first), Alice M. Wright, Oct. IS, 1892. She d. March 
 10, 1893. He m. (second), Nov. 5, 1895, Elizabeth A. Emery of Canada, 
 and resides near Franklin Falls, where he is a farmer. They have two 
 children, Mildred Elsie, b. Oct. 10, 189C, and Maud Gertrude, b. Sept. 
 1, 1901. 
 
 Maey Floeexce Saxborx, b. at N. Aug. 10, 1878; m. Frank A. Her- 
 bert and resides in Worcester, Mass. 
 
 Helen Louise Saxdoex, b. at N. June, 1891, is now attending school 
 at Tilton Seminary. 
 
 SANBORN V. 
 
 JoxATHAX Saxborx always resided at Factory Village, now Franklin 
 Falls. He was b. Jan. 24, 1814, and m. (first), Dec. 16, 1835, Rebecca 
 Clough of Ryegate. Vt. They had three sons. She d. April 27, 1878. 
 He m. (second), Jan. 12, 1879, Mrs. Ann Whitney of Grafton. He 
 was deputy sheriff for Merrimack, Belknap and Grafton counties for 
 15 years. He was captain in the Sixteenth Regiment during the 
 Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) He d. at his home June 1, 1880. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (B. at Factory Village.) 
 
 Oscar Saxborx, b. Oct. 9, 1836, became a machinist in the iron 
 works at Wyandotte, Mich. He m., Sept. 16, 1SC2, Lizzie Thorn and 
 had eight children. 
 
 De Witt Clixtox Saxborx, b. June 9, 1839, enlisted in the Second 
 New Hampshire Regiment in 1862 and was killed at the second battle 
 of Bull Run, Aug. 29, 1862. He was six feet, one inch, in height. He 
 was buried on the battlefield. A Testament, a necktie and a pair of 
 scissors were all that ever came back from him. 
 
 William Chaxxixg Saxborx, b. May 8, 1843, was a machinist in 
 Jackson, Mich., and later at Centreville, Mich. He m., July 0, 1809, 
 Georgie McFoy of Detroit. They had two children. 
 
 SANBORN VI. 
 
 Leoxard Saxborx was b. in Sanbornton Jan. 4, 1811, and m., Nov. 
 
 24, 1836, Elmira Rollins of Sanbornton, who was b. July 8, 1807. He 
 w^as for many years a caster in a foundry at Manchester and later 
 was a farmer in N. after 1865. They had no children. They resided 
 on the Bay Hill road, where he d. Aug. 4, 1878, and where she d. Sept. 
 
 25, 1880. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 2S1 
 
 SANBORN VII. 
 
 OscAB Page Samjorx b. Nov. 24, 1S43, came to N. in 1805. He m., 
 Sept. 13, 1SG4, Clara Ann Clisby. They resided at the Centre with 
 her parents. They had two dau. Mrs. Sanborn d. Nov. 21, ISSO. 
 She was a fine organist and gave her services to the Congregational 
 Church choir for many years. 
 
 Mr. Sanborn m. (second), Dec. 11, ISSl, Anna C. Morrill (see Mor- 
 rill gen.) and had a family of five. He served in the Civil War. 
 (See Boys in Blue.) He was a miller for some years but is now 
 engaged in farming. He has remodeled his home recently and erected 
 a spacious barn. Mr. Sanborn is, and has been for many years, deacon 
 of the Congregational Church and also superintendent of the Sunday 
 School. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (Children of Oscar and Clara Clisby Sanborn.) 
 
 Sarah Josephine Saxdorx. b. Feb. 2S, 1SG7; m.. Dec. 25, 1SS9, Harry 
 C. Wyatt, b. April 23, 1S67. He is a farmer and resides on the Sanborn 
 road, Tilton. They have three children: Carrie, Nathan and Ruth. 
 
 Kathekixe Hills Saxborx, b. Sept. 13, 1S71. She was educated at 
 the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and has been for 11 years 
 a popular teacher. 
 
 Much of her time has been devoted to Christian service and in the 
 Sunday School. She was a charter member of the Christian Endeavor 
 Society, serving as its president for two terms, and being its delegate 
 to the Boston International Convention in 1S95. She is a member 
 of the Congregational Church and was president of the Curtice Mission 
 for many years. 
 
 (Children of Oscar and Anna Morrill Sanborn.) 
 
 Theodore M. Saxcorx, b. Sept. 10, 1SS3. He was a member of the 
 English Scientific course at Tilton Seminary but was obliged to leave 
 on account of failing eyesight at the close of his junior year. He is 
 now a farmer. 
 
 Erxest C. Saxborx, b. Nov. IS, 1SS5, graduated from Tilton Sem- 
 inary in the class of 1905. 
 
 WiXFRED P. Saxdorx, b. Oct. 30, 18S7; d., Sept. 8. 1S97. He was 
 greatly beloved by all who knew him. 
 
 Raymoxd V. Saxborx, b. April 12, 1S90, is a student at the Seminary 
 at Tilton. 
 
 Marie Coxstaxce Saxborx, b. Oct. 11, 1S92, graduated from the 
 Union Graded School in the class of 19u5. 
 
282 HISTORY OF XORTHFIELD. 
 
 SARGENT I. 
 
 JoHx S. Sargent came to N. from Danbury in 1890. He was b. at 
 Hill July 17, 1833, and was the son of Ephraim and Mary Ann 
 (Searles) Sargent, and one of eight children. He m., in 1S57, Diana 
 A. Hubbard, dau. of Cummings and Lydia (Reed) Hubbard. Mrs. 
 Sargent was b. at Thetford, Vt., July 2G, 1S35. Mr. Sargent is a 
 farmer and resides on Park St. They had three children, all b. in 
 Danbury. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Nellie Frances Sargent d. in infancy. 
 
 Amanda Sargent m. and resides in her native town. 
 
 William Cummings Sargent, b. Aug. 9, 1864; m., June 13, 1888, 
 Josie Carver Shaw, b. in Salisbury Feb. 10, 1868. (See Shaw gen.) 
 He is a farmer and teamster and now resides with his parents on 
 Park St. They have two dan. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 LuRA Arvilla Sargent, b. at Danbury April 23, 1890, is a member 
 of the sophomore class, 1905, at Tilton Seminary. 
 Gladys Idella Sargent, b. at N. Nov. 14, 1892. 
 
 SARGENT II. 
 
 Frank R. Sargent came to N. from Tilton in 1900. He was b. at 
 Littleton Sept. 10, 1849; m., April 26, 1884, Emma L. Dyson, b. at 
 Richmond, P. Q., May 14, 18G4. Mr. Sargent is a noted horseman, 
 having owned several thoroughbreds, and was for several years man- 
 ager at the home of "Viking" at the Foster Stock Farm. They have 
 two children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Norma May Sargent, b. at Providence, R. I., June 27, 1885, gradu- 
 ated from Tilton Seminary in the class of 1905. 
 
 Franklin Foster Sargent, b. at Tilton Sept. 5, 1889. 
 
 SAWYER I. 
 
 JoTHAJi Sawyer came to N. very early and lived on the Rand place. 
 He m. Tamar Colby and had six children, b. in N. He was a soldier 
 in the Revolutionary War. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 Charlotte Sawyer, b. Aug. 15, 1780. 
 Walker C. Sawyer, b. May 31, 1782. 
 James B. Sawyer, b. April 5, 1787. 
 Reuben Sawyer, b. Dec. 2, 1791. 
 Eli.iah C. Sawyer, b. Sept. 12, 1801. 
 
 Tamar Sawyer, b. ; m. Jonathan Whicher of East N. (See 
 
 Whicher gen.) 
 
GENEALOGIES. 28S 
 
 SAWYER II. 
 
 Gideon and Reudex Sawyer were without doubt the first owners 
 of the Gile farm ou Bean Hill. They came from Hawke. now Dan- 
 ville. Reuben d. unmarried at 25. Gideon m. Sherborn. sister 
 
 of Sarah, wife of Jonathan Gile. His name is on the first tax list. 
 They were good farmers and cleared a large tract and set out an ex- 
 tensive orchard. There were several children. His name drops from 
 the records in 1S26. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Lydia Sawyer was the first wife of Elias Abbott. (See Abbott 
 gen.) She was b. July 23, 17S4, and m. May 2, 1S12. 
 
 Gideon Sawyer, 2d., used to go with his mother to the home of 
 William Knowles on horseback to attend meetings, as they were Meth- 
 odists. It is supposed that all of this family d. in the home. Some 
 are buried on the farm and others in the Abbott yard. 
 
 SCRIBNER I. 
 
 Jonathan Scricner came to N. in 1S43 and settled on the Haines 
 place, then owned by Mrs. Ann Chase Hancock, whom he m. ( See 
 Hancock gen.) He was b. at Salisbury May 26, 1S13, and was a car- 
 penter and farmer. He d. Aug. 27, ISSS. Mrs. Scribner was a true 
 home maker and was intensely devoted to her family. They had 
 three children. She d. June 4, 1S75. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Frances Adelaide Scribner. b. May 27, 1S44, was educated in the 
 common schools, at Franklin Academy and at the New Hampshire 
 Female College. She taught in N. a while and then went to Rankin. 
 111., where she was for many years a popular instructor. 
 
 She m., Jan., 18S9, B. W. Daniels, a merchant. They resided at 
 Wichita, Kan. She devoted her life to Christian work In the church 
 and elsewhere. She d. Nov. 10, 1903. They had an adopted dau., 
 Alta Fay, b. April 13, 1S79, who m., April. 1901, Chris Katler. 
 
 Clara Chase Scribner, b. April 30, 1S45. She graduated from the 
 New Hampshire Female College in the class of 1S07 and taught for 
 several years. She m.. May 23. 1872, Frank Hills, a merchant of Til- 
 ton, where they have since resided. (See Hills gen. and sketch.) 
 
 George Livermore Scribner, b. Aug. 2S, 1S47. and d. at his home 
 Jan. 11, 1872. 
 
284 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 SCRIBNER II. 
 
 Fred E. Scribxer was b. at Salisbury Dec. 2, 1S59, a day made still 
 more memorable by the fact that it was the same on which John 
 Brown was hanged. 
 
 He m., May 1, 1S94, Nellie J. Rogers of Salisbury. He spent 15 
 years in the Red River country — five as a farmer and 10 in mercan- 
 tile pursuits. 
 
 He bought the J. S. Dearborn farm in 1893 and is a general farmer, 
 giving especial attention to dairying and poultry. 
 
 He was made an Odd Fellow in Spooner, Wis., and has passed most 
 of the chairs. He is also an enthusiastic member of Friendship 
 Grange. 
 
 Mrs. Scribner was educated at Warner High School and was a teacher 
 for a dozen years in Salisbury and adjoining towns. He is one of 
 the present board of selectmen and is connected with the schools. 
 
 SEARLES. 
 
 Mary J. Lock, b. Aug. 3, 1S35, at Stoddard; m., Oct. 2C, 1SG3, 
 Charles E. Searles of Townsend, Mass., and resided at West Andover, 
 where he was station agent for many years. He lost his life while 
 coupling cars April 29, 1870. 
 
 Mrs. Searles removed with her dau. to N., July, ISSC. She pur- 
 chased the residence of Mrs. Agnes Scott on Vine St., July, 1S9S. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Lizzie M. Searles, b. at Andover May 10, 1SC4. 
 
 ArKA Etta Searles, b. Aug. 20, 1SG5; m., April 25, 1SS5, Nelson 
 Bean of Wilmot and d. there in Dec, 1885. 
 
 Nellie Eva Searles. b. Dec. 20, ISCG; m., Sept. 12, 1895, Arthur B. 
 Cross of Concord. (See Cross gen. and sketch.) 
 
 Minnie B. Searles, b. at Andover Dec. 11, 1869, is employed as fore- 
 woman in George H. Tilton's box shop. 
 
 SENTER. 
 
 John Senter was b. at Centre Harbor in 1847. He m. (first), Oct. 
 11, 1868, Elizabeth Mary Mooney, b. at Sandwich Dec. 2, 1850. They 
 resided for some years at Kansas City, Mo., where three children were 
 b. and she d. Sept. 24, 1874. He returned to New Hampshire in 1877. 
 He m. (second), Oct. 20, 1880, Sarah A. Davis and has resided on 
 Park St. since 1892. She d. there May 30, 1905. He has been pre- 
 cinct health officer for nearly 10 years; is a member of Harmony 
 Lodge, L O. 0. F.; is a Knight of Pythias; is one of the Brotherhood 
 of American United Workmen; and is a member of the American 
 Benefit Society. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 285 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Annie E. Senter, b. May 15, 1S72; m., Jan. 1, 1S8S. Elmer A. Per- 
 kins, b. March 12. 1SC7, at Wilmot Center. He is a carpenter and 
 resides at Concord. They have two dau., Elizabeth May, b. July 29. 
 ISSS, and Metta Ethel, b. Sept. 2, 1894. 
 
 John H. Senter. b. Feb. 11, 1870; m., May IS, 1SS8, Lottie B. Parent 
 of Concord, and has one son, Forrest E., b. Aug. 17, 1894. They reside 
 in California. 
 
 Charlie E. Senter, b. Sept. 24, 1874; d., Oct. 29, 1874. 
 
 SEWALL I. 
 
 Samuel Sewall bought his farm on Oak Hill of the Foss brothers 
 in 1820. He m. Betsey Whitney of Canterbury and had five children. 
 He d. Jan. 15, 1871. The farm was sold to Benjamin Kenison and 
 later to B. F. Ayers, and the buildings were burned. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 DiANTHE Sewall. b. at N. ; m. (first), Dustin Battis, and (second), 
 Charles Russell, and for many years guarded the railroad crossing 
 at the State Prison. They later removed to Salisbury, where she d. 
 June, 1904. 
 
 Caroline Sewall m., June 21, 1850, Thomas Blake of Highgate, Vt. 
 He was employed by Joseph Gerrish at Boscawen and ran a plaster 
 and flaxseed mill at Oak Hill. They had two children, Charles 
 Chandler and Christiana. The former m. Martha Austin and resides 
 in Andover. The latter m. Sylvester Lambert of Lakeport. (See 
 Lambert gen.) Mr. Blake sold his farm on Oak Hill and they re- 
 sided for some years at N. Depot. She now resides with her dau. at 
 Tilton. 
 
 Daniel Sewall. b. 1834; m., Feb. IS, 1S50, Jerusha Canfield and had 
 one dau., Julia, who m. (first), Durrell and resided at Frank- 
 lin. She m. (second), John Sanborn and d. at her mother's in 1901. 
 Daniel Sewall d. at N. in 1855. 
 
 Sarah Ann Sewall. b. at N., 1S31; m. (first), Joseph Brown of 
 
 Canterbury, and (second), Whitney. He was a soldier in the 
 
 Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) They had three children: George 
 W., a farmer at East Concord; Daniel W.; and Mary E.. wife of 
 Frank Getchell, who d. at Boscawen, leaving three children. 
 
 Horace P. Sewall, b. at N. June, 1827; m. (first), Lucy Emery of 
 Dorchester, Jan. 3, 1853. He m. (second), Sarah Jackman. b. at 
 Wilton, Me., and had four sons. The entire family moved to Min- 
 neapolis about 1890, where they are farmers. The children's names: 
 Albert, Charles, Frank and Leon. The farm was sold to B. Frank 
 Ayers and the name Sewall has entirely disappeared from the records 
 of the town. 
 
286 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 SEWALL II. 
 
 SAiiUEL Sewall, 2d., went, when a young man, from Gilford, where 
 his family resided, to New Orleans, and with a push-cart sold various 
 wares about the city. 
 
 He came to N. some years after, bringing as the result of his labors, 
 thrift and economy, $2,000 in gold. He purchased about 30 acres 
 of one of the Lindsey Meadow lots of Jonathan Sanborn and a part of 
 the house in 1S4S (?), Mrs. Sanborn reserving one room, where 
 she lived till her death. Mr. Sewall brought his parents, sister 
 and three brothers to reside there, and erected for himself a home 
 on Bay St. about 1858, near the village. 
 
 His father, named William, and his wife, Rebecca Whitney, both 
 d. there. His name appears on the records in 1835. He m., Dec. 2C, 
 1843, Abagail Rogers Durgin, b. July 21, 1811. She d. June 14, 1876. 
 He m. (second), Mrs. Clara S. Blake of Lake Village, Oct. 16, 1876. 
 He had two children by his first wife. He d. at Belmont. 
 
 MosES G. Sewall, b. at Gilford, 1813 (?). He lived near the present 
 Sanborn turnpike and, after his father's death, was taxed for 29^,4 
 acres. He became insane and was restrained for some three years, 
 dying Oct. 25, 1855. He was a godly man and, though unable to read, 
 could repeat long passages of the Bible by heart, if not understand- 
 ingly, with great fervor. 
 
 Betsey Sewall remained in the home after her parents' death. 
 She m., Oct. 15, 1852, William Pearsons, b. 1823. He served in the 
 Civil War and d. at Bay Hill Dec. 12, 1876. She d. at Boscawen. 
 
 WiNTHEOP Sewall, b. 1820, was a good scholar but later became in- 
 sane. He d. at Boscawen March 18, 1881. 
 
 Joshua Sewall d. in the home of typhoid fever, Aug. 31, 1S40. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Emma W. Sewall, b. at N. Nov. 26, 1847; m. Newton M. Phelps of 
 North Andover, Mass., and resided in Lawrence, Mass. He d. Aug., 
 1876. She m. (second), 1881, Richard Adams of Boston. They resided 
 in Charlestown, where he d. July 5, 1899. She still resides there. 
 
 Charles F. Sewall, b. May 1, 1850 (?); m. (first), Electa Glines of 
 N. and resided in Laconia. He is now living in Kansas and is a veter- 
 inary surgeon. (See Glines II gen.) 
 
 SEYMOUR. 
 
 Martin A. Seymour came to N. from Randolph, Vt., in 1902. He was 
 b. at Williston, Vt., July 13, 1876. He m., Aug. 15, 1900, Athelia 
 Gertrude Estabrook, b. in Lunenburg, Mass., April 9, 1867. 
 
 He is a graduate of the Randolph, Vt., State Normal School. He 
 taught for several years in Vermont and Massachusetts and at present 
 is principal of the Union Graded School in N. 
 
 Mrs. Seymour is also a teacher of several years' experience and at 
 present is employed in the same school. 
 
BYRON SHAW. 
 
MRS. BYRON SHAW. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 287 
 
 SHEPARD. 
 
 Ebexezer Shepard was taxed in N. in 183C and lived on the nortli- 
 east corner of tlae Lindsey Lot. He was a painter. The house was 
 sold to Warren L. Hills, who moved it to the junction of the Bay Hill 
 road, on the site now owned by Joseph C. Wyatt, and later removed 
 to the Charles F. Clark place. 
 
 SHIRLEY. 
 
 Stephen Deardorx Shirley, b. at Sanbornton Dec. 9, 179S, learned 
 the tanner's trade, and came from Littleton to N. about 1S79 and 
 bought the Cilley farm on Bean Hill. Though past middle life. Mr. 
 and Mrs. Shirley brought with them the ambition and vigor of youth. 
 After his death, June IG, 1SS9, she continued to supervise the farm 
 and household duties with the same tireless energj-. She passed her 
 96th birthday on Aug. 5, 1904, and with her son, Andrew, still re- 
 sides on the farm. A dau., Jane, m. Thomas Smith and resides at 
 Uplands, Canterbury. 
 
 SHAW I. 
 
 (See portraits.) 
 
 Byrox Shaw. b. at Salisbury Oct. 27, 1S47; m., May 1, 1S73, Nellie 
 S. Oliver of Salisbury. He came to N. in 1S73 and bought the Brown 
 farm on High St. He is a stirring, up-to-date farmer and, in addition, 
 has much outside work. 
 
 He has been one of the board of selectmen and has been road 
 agent much of the time since that office was created. They conduct a 
 fine dairy, making a specialty of cheese. 
 
 Mrs. Shaw was educated at Corinth, Vt., and was a successful 
 school teacher. She has been a contributor of prose and poetry to 
 several New York periodicals under the pseudonym of "Sunie Mar." 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. Shaw were among the first Grangers in town and 
 belong to Franklin Grange. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Albert Byrox Shaw. b. May 30, 1S7G: m.. March 9. 1904, Nina G. 
 Davis of Bean Hill. Mr. Shaw graduated from the New Hampton 
 Commercial College in the class of 1S93. He is a farmer and has 
 recently purchased the Robert Smith farm on the Merrimack inter- 
 vale. 
 
 Alice Gertriue Shaw. b. Jan. 9, 1S79; m.. Dec. 9. 1904, Arthur 
 Corliss of N. (See Corliss gen.) 
 
 Bebtha M.\e Shaw. b. Sept. 24, 18S2; d.. Aug. 27, 1892. 
 
 Everett Saxborx Shaw. b. Jan. 17, ISSS. He is at present a student 
 at the New Hampton Commercial College. 
 
288 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 SHAW 1 1. 
 
 Saxbokx Spiaw came from Salisbury to N. in 1848. He had pre- 
 viously m., Oct. 20, 1843, Mrs. Louisa Smitli Evans of N., and his two 
 sons had m. her two dau., Ann and Adaline. (See Evans gen.) 
 They purchased the house built by her brother, the late B. F. Smith, 
 at the foot of Howard Ave. They had one dau., Arabella. He was a 
 lover of horses and bought an unbroken four-year-old colt for family 
 use when more than fourscore years of age. She d. June 1, 1880. 
 He d. instantly while at work at his daughter's, in Tilton, in 1881. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Harry Shaw, b. in Salisbury Oct. 4, 1827; m., April 17, 1856, his 
 sister-in-law, Adaline Evans. (See Evans gen.) They came to N. in 
 March, 1859, and located on the Benjamin Hills place and had two 
 sons. Mr. Shaw was a prosperous farmer until his death, July 8, 
 1900. She was a teacher previous to her marriage and resided at the 
 home with her son until her death, Feb. 10, 1905. 
 
 Arabella V. Shaw, b. Jan. 7, 1847; m., Nov. 2, 1865, Daniel Smith 
 of Tilton. They reside on the Franklin road and have a dau., Addie 
 Bell. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Herbert Warren Shaw, b. July IG, 1S57; d., Nov. 9, 1885. He was 
 a member of the Masonic Lodge at Franklin and also of Harmony 
 Lodge, I. O. 0. F., of Tilton. 
 
 FRANK W. SHAW. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Frank Wells Shaw, b. Sept. 30, 1862; m., Sept. 29, 18S5, Emily 
 J. Tucker of Hill. He resides on the homestead on Hills St., where, 
 with fine location and improved buildings, he ranks among the pro- 
 gressive farmers of N. His dairy outfit includes a score of cows and 
 selling milk constitutes his chief business. He has been much in 
 the service of the town, serving as supervisor for four years, followed 
 by a service of eight years as selectman, seven of which he was 
 chairman of the board. He represented the town in the Legislature 
 of 1905 and is at present one of the board of selectmen. 
 
 In 1900 Mr. Shaw added the adjoining Hills farm to his estate 
 and has since repaired and renovated his buildings, his possessions 
 now ranking as fourth in value in town and comprising 200 acres. 
 
 He finds time, also, for social life and is a charter member of Arch 
 Lodge, No. 51, K. of P., and is one of the committee having in charge 
 the publication of the town history and the Old Home Day celebration. 
 
FRANK W. SHAW 
 
GENEALOGIES. 289 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 Florence May Shaw. b. .Jan. 7. 1887. graduated from Tilton Sem- 
 inary in the class of 1905, Latin Scientific Course. She won the 
 silver medal for second rank in scholarship. 
 
 Harold S. Shaw, b. June 13, 1892. 
 
 Cliftox F. Shaw, b. July 11, 1899. 
 
 SIMONDS. 
 
 Joseph Simoxds was b. in England in 1688 and came to America in 
 
 1700. His wife was Kno.x. They settled on the Canterbury 
 
 intervale and had two sons, William and John. The former removed 
 to Thornton, where he lived and d. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 JoHX Simoxds, b. Jan. 24, 1739, came to the north fields before they 
 were made a town. He was a noted hunter, going with Captain Miles 
 to trap beaver in Lower Canada three months in the spring and 
 three in the fall. He bought his farm at the Centre with the pro- 
 ceeds of a three months' hunt on the Kennebec River. 
 
 He m. Dorothy Batchelder of Canterbury, b. Dec. 12, 1744. When 
 N. was organized the first and several later meetings were held at his 
 house. 
 
 He was "sorvair," pound keeper, auditor and "sessor" repeatedly 
 until his death in 1800. They had a family of eight children. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 James Simoxds. b. April 20, 1763; m., 17S2. Lydia Morrison, b. 1762. 
 They were honored and respected citizens and he was in the service of 
 the town for 20 years. She d. Aug. 30, 1855. He enlisted at 14 years 
 of age in the Revolutionary army. After his return he took up his 
 abode in Andover about 1789, dying there Aug. 15, 1842. He was a 
 constant attendant at the Baptist Church, often walking six miles and 
 fording the river. His wife also accompanied him, sometimes with a 
 babe in her arms. 
 
 They had two dau. and a son, John, father of John Wesley Slmonds, 
 a graduate of the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Wesleyan 
 University; a noted educator and state superintendent of public instruc- 
 tion for New Hampshire. He resided at Franklin on the farm of his 
 father and grandfather. 
 
 Nathaxiel Snu)XD.s. b. Jan. 30, 1765. 
 
 JoHx Si.moxds, b. at N. March 4. 1767. 
 
 Sarah Simoxds. b. Aug. 13. 1770; m. John Forrest, who lived and 
 d. on the Leighton farm near Franklin Falls. (See Forrest gen.) 
 
 Dorothy Simoxd.s, b. March 29. 1772. 
 
 Abraham Simoxds, b. June 24. 1774; m. Nancy Forrest and lived on 
 his father's farm, which comprised original lots, Nos. 2 and 3. He was 
 
 19 
 
290 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 a learned man for the times and often taught school. He was clerk 
 of the town for 15 years. They had one son, Joseph Forrest. Mrs. 
 Simonds was a doctress, although she lived long before such a thing 
 as a professional female practitioner was known, and caught the cold 
 that caused her death by wading through a winter storm to attend a 
 birth. He m., March 23, 1817, Mrs. Lucy Sanborn Rundlet of San- 
 bornton. Her dau., Comfort Rundlet, lived with them until her mar- 
 riage to Elias Russell of Sanbornton in 1825. Mrs. Simonds was 
 "Aunt Lucy" to the whole neighborhood. Her house was also a home 
 to all the ministers who came that way and if no notice preceded their 
 arrival the children were sent around to announce it and the old, 
 long kitchen was sure to be filled. She d. Sept., 1845. 
 
 Thomas Simonds, b. Jan. 2, 1783; m. (first), Hannah Hancock and 
 had one dau., Alice. (See Austin gen.) He lived on a part of the 
 homestead with his brother-in-law, Michael McCrillis. He is re- 
 membered as a great story teller, a faithful student of the almanac 
 and very weatherwise. 
 
 Mrs. Simonds d. Jan. 14, 1850. He m. (second), Nov. 25, 1850, 
 Hannah Foster Gate, who d. Dec. 6, 18G3. He d. Feb. 14, 1872. 
 
 Comfort Simonds, b. April 25, 178G; m. Ebenezer Abbott of North 
 Pembroke and had eight children. Late in life he removed to N. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Child of Abraham and Nancy Forrest Simonds.) 
 
 Joseph Forrest Simonds. b. 1812; m. Nancy Abbott, dau. of Eben- 
 ezer. He resided in the home for some years and later purchased 
 the house erected by John E. Forrest opposite the Centre schoolhouse, 
 then owned by Rev. Liba Conant, and was a prosperous farmer. He 
 sold this place and his father's homestead and, with his father-in-law, 
 Abbott, purchased the James Forrest place towards Zion's Hill, where 
 he d. Dec. 3, 1867. She d. four years previous. They had eight chil- 
 dren. 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 
 Nancy Simonds, b. at N., was for some years the faithful caretaker 
 in the home. She later completed a course of study at the New 
 Hampshire Conference Seminary, graduating in 1856. She m. John 
 Appleton of Allenstown in 1877. She resides since his death in Sun- 
 cook. 
 
 Charles Simonds d. at N. Dec. 25, 1853. 
 
 Hester Ann Rogers Simonds, b. 1839. She was also a graduate of 
 the New Hampshire Conference Seminary, class of 1863, and was a 
 teacher before her marriage, March 5, 1868, to George E. Davis. (See 
 Davis gen.) 
 
 Augusta A. Simonds, b. April, 1841; m., Nov., 1873, J. D. Sweatt of 
 Allenstown, where they resided, she being his second wife. She 
 graduated in the class of 1865 and was a teacher. She d. in Aug., 
 1875. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 291 
 
 Joseph Mills Simoxds, b. at N. Dec, 1S44, inherited the farm, which 
 he sold later, and went to New York as a cattle buyer. He was last 
 heard of as being sick with the grippe, since which time no news of 
 him has reached his friends. 
 
 Kirk A. Si.^ioxds, b. March, 1847; d., March, 1857. 
 
 Ell.4. Forrest Simoxds, b. 1850; m., Nov., 187G, J. D. Sweatt of Al- 
 lenstown, as his third wife. She d. in 1896. 
 
 Florette Si-moxds, b. 1852; d., April 29, 1876. 
 
 SLEEPER. 
 
 Edwin J. Sleeper came to N. in 1902 from Holderness. His ancestors 
 were of Revolutionary stock and his grandfather, Benjamin, of Brent- 
 wood, drew a pension. Mr. Sleeper was b. at Alton April 12, 1861. 
 He m., March 1, 1SS3, Lucie E. Howe of Holderness, b. March 3, 1862. 
 He bought his father's farm in 1885 and was a farmer and gardener, 
 furnishing supplies to campers during the summer months and later 
 becoming proprietor of quite an extensive summer hotel, which he 
 enlarged in 1890 and which had a large number of patrons. Since 
 his removal to N. he has confined himself largely to dairying. His 
 herd, when perfected, will contain mostly Guernseys. Mr. Sleeper is 
 a past master of Mt. Livermore Grange. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 "WiLLi.\5t Sleeper, b. at Holderness March 6, 1SS4, completed his 
 studies at the New Hampton Literary Institute, Commercial Course, 
 in 1902. He is still with his father on the farm. 
 
 Bessie Sleeper, b. Dec. 31, 1894. 
 
 SMART. 
 
 Peter Smart came to N. in 1861 from Canterbury. He was b. at 
 Chichester in 1793 and m., Dec. 7, 1828, Hannah Clough Haynes, b. 
 at Canterbury Sept. 25, 1S07. He commenced carrying the mail from 
 Chichester to Portsmouth at the age of 16 years and after 1815 be- 
 came the "noted stage driver for many years through Northfield" from 
 Concord to Haverhill. They had six children, of whom three came to N. 
 He d. at N. June 10, 1871. She d. June 21, 188S. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Haxx.vii H. Sm.\kt. b. Sept. 2G. 1S29; m.. July 5, 1856. Charles E. 
 Carroll, a contractor and builder at Portsmouth. They had four 
 children. 
 
 Samuel B. and Walter d. in infancy. 
 
 SusAX B. Smart, b. Nov. 15, 1840; m., July 25. 1873, William S. 
 Shaw of Pittsburg, Pa. She was a school teacher and taught for 
 several years in N. and other towns. 
 
292 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Harriet L. Smart, b. Dec. 25, 1843; m. (first), Feb. 8, 1863, William 
 F. Durgin of Northwoocl. She m. (second), Edward S. Tiipp, an 
 engineer of Lynn, Mass., where she now resides. 
 
 Clara E. Smart, b. Oct. 17, 1846, was a graduate of the New Hamp- 
 shire Conference Seminary and Female College at Sanbornton, class 
 of 1872, and was vice-principal of the high school at Manchester, la., 
 at the time of her death, in N., Aug. 12, 1875. 
 
 SMITH I. 
 
 Willia:m Smith, son of Stephen, was b. in 1738, and m., 17G2, Deliver- 
 ance, dau. of Jeremiah Clough of Salisbury, and resided in Hampton, 
 where all the children were b. He had a nice farm in the village, 
 which is now covered with the Eastern Railroad depots. This he sold 
 and removed to N., where his son, Jeremiah, had located previously. 
 He made his new home in the east part of the town on what has ever 
 since been called "Smith's Hill." Both d. there. The farm was sold 
 in part to Josiah Colby. Mr. Smith was a seaman. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 William B. Smith, b. Sept., 1765; m. Alice Glidden and had three 
 sons. He had been a sailor, as was his father, before coming to N. 
 
 Ruth Smith m., March 31, 1792, Francis Sanborn, b. 1770. He d. 
 in Gilmanton in 1848. (See Sanborn gen.) 
 
 Sarah Smith, b. 1770, m. a brother of Solomon French, name un- 
 known. (See French gen.) 
 
 EPHRA.IM Smith, b. 1778; d. young. He lived on the Vv^'indfall, w^here 
 he owned 50 acres of land, which was later occupied and owned by 
 James Glines. 
 
 Betty Smith, b. 1762; d., at 17. 
 
 Hannah Smith m., Dec. 23, 1792, Solomon French. (See French 
 gen.) 
 
 JEREMIAH SMITH. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Jeremiah Smith, b. at Old Hampton March 10, 1770; m. Betsey Glid- 
 den in 1796. She was b. Feb. 17, 1778, and d. Jan. 1, 1868. 
 
 Mr. Smith, who had spent sometime with relatives in Canterbury, 
 came, a lad of 21, to N. to secure employment. It is said that he 
 reached Squire Glidden's in the dusk of evening and, asking for work, 
 was promptly engaged at seven dollars a month. The girl, Betty, 
 was then 13 and her attractions may have been the secret of the con- 
 tent which he felt during the five years of honest service which fol- 
 lowed. The arrangement had been satisfactory for at least three of 
 the busy family and a partnership was thus begun that lasted almost 
 fourscore contented years. A farm of 60 acres was her marriage 
 dower. This farm was not level and rich like the prairies of the 
 
JEREMIAH SMITH. ESQ. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 298 
 
 West but was well watered and close nestled under the foot 
 of Bean Hill. There were few neighbors and the roads were rough and 
 steep. This disturbed them not, for they were keepers at home and 
 the many and varied tasks left no time for loneliness or regrets. 
 Children came at no Infrequent intervals to gladden the home and 
 Increase its cares, but it mattered not, for the little hands and feet 
 were early put to childish tasks and there were no idlers in Mother 
 Smith's household. 
 
 His biographer says: "He was a model farmer and in all that per- 
 tained to honorable manhood second to none in those strenuous times. 
 His good judgment was not only appreciated but called into service 
 in public matters and any office in the gift of the town was always at 
 his refusal when honesty and efficiency were needed for its discharge." 
 He served his newly-adopted town as its representative in 1809 and 
 1810 and from 1823 to 1828, and "rose slowly and surely to social, 
 financial and political importance." "His barns," says Mr. Hunt, 
 "though second in size to none in the town, were filled year after 
 year to the very eaves with his well-fed and carefully-tended crops 
 and fat oxen, sleek cows, young stock and sheep filled the south side 
 yard and were bountifully fed from its high-heaped contents." 
 
 He was a man of such regular habits that he lived "right on" from 
 youth to hoary age without knowing what sickness was and never 
 requiring the services of a doctor. Mrs. Smith, too, was fully equal 
 to the management of the household affairs. She was a woman of de- 
 termined will and independence of character, who ruled her household 
 and was a queen in her spliere, exacting the utmost obedience, some- 
 what in contrast to her genial, story-telling, fun-loving husband, who 
 was in family discipline as conservative as she was exacting. He had 
 decided ideas as to the duty of an American citizen and faithfully 
 voted for every president from Washington to Lincoln, and saw with 
 satisfaction the great strides made in everything pertaining to ad- 
 vancement and reform. 
 
 After the death of Esquire Glidden, Mr. Smith removed from his 
 Bean Hill farm to Bay Hill, occupying at first the home across the 
 way until a more pretentious house was erected to the north, which 
 served as the home long years after. 
 
 He d. at 98, within two years of completing a century, having lived 
 one of the most satisfactory lives it has ever been my pleasure to be 
 cognizant of. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of William, Jr., and Mary Glidden Smith.) 
 
 Jo.siiv.x. S.MiTii served in the Mexican War. On his way home he was 
 sick in a hospital at Little Rock. Ark. He later dragged himself to 
 his friends at Franklin Furnace, 0., where he d.. date unknown, at 
 Dan Young's. He was a stone mason. 
 
294 
 
 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 John Smith left home and later was known to be in New York, but 
 no further tidings ever came from him. 
 
 William Smith d., when a young man, at the home of his stepfather. 
 Judge Peter Wadleigh. 
 
 (Children of Jeremiah and Betsey Glidden Smith.) 
 (All b. at N.) 
 
 Charles G. Smith, b. March 20, 1797; d., May S, 1S31. 
 
 Jeremiah Smith, Jr., b. Feb. 3, 1799; m. Clarissa Tucker of Hop- 
 kinton, b. April 3, 1801. They were farmers at the Bean Hill farm, 
 where he d. March 8, 1839. She resided at Lowell for some years 
 and later at Tilton, in both of which places she conducted boarding 
 houses. She d. at the home of her sister, Mrs. Warren L. Hills, 
 July 15, 1893. 
 
 Alice G. Smith, b. Aug. 29, 1801; d., Aug. 12, 1803. 
 
 Alice G. Smith, b. March 19, 1804; m. Joseph Mills Glidden of N. 
 After a few years' residence on the Dolloff farm, they removed to Ports- 
 mouth, 0. (See Glidden gen.) 
 
 Nancy G. Smith, b. May 2, 1806; m., May 2, 1827, William Gilman 
 of N. (See Gilman gen.; also portrait and sketch. Physicians of N.) 
 
 Joseph Mills Glidden Smith, b. Dec. 28, 1807, removed in early life 
 to Franklin Furnace, 0. He embarked in the iron business and became 
 an extensive business man. Later in life he is spoken of in the local 
 papers as a retired "iron master." He m. Charlotte Hurd of Ports- 
 mouth, O., and had two sons and two dau., viz., the eldest, Warren, 
 was interested in Ohio River steamboats and later in railroads. He 
 now resides in California. Jacob, his brother, with two cousins, raised 
 and equipped a company during the Civil War and went with it to 
 the front. He was wounded and during convalescence was recruit- 
 ing officer at St. Louis and, later, was stationed at a frontier fort 
 in Mexico. He was also in the Philippines during the Spanish War 
 and became governor-general. In carrying out the strenuous orders of 
 the department, he was accused of extreme cruelty and for a time set 
 aside. He was, however, exonerated on trial and reinstated. He now 
 resides in Portsmouth, O. Mary became the wife of Judge Bannon of 
 Portsmouth, and Josephine m. Orrin Murphy and resides in Ann Arbor, 
 Mich. 
 
 Stephen Smith, b. Feb. 22, 1809; d., Nov. 27, 1827. 
 
 Warren Hills Smith, b. April 6, 1817; m., Dec. 12, 1844, Elizabeth 
 G. Glines, b. at N. March 9, 1819. (See Railroads, portrait and 
 sketch.) 
 
 Mary Elizabeth Smith, b. Sept., 1822; m., Nov. 8, 1847, Ephraim 
 Smith Wadleigh of N. (See Wadleigh gen.) 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Warren H. and Elizabeth Glines Smith.) 
 Charles Glidden Smith, b. at Sanbornton Bridge Nov., 1847, was 
 educated at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and was for a 
 
o 
 
 "A 
 
 Q 
 I— I 
 m 
 
 W 
 
 H 
 I— ( 
 
 CO 
 
 M 
 
GENEALOGIES. 295 
 
 time engaged in railroad building in Vermont with his brother. Their 
 first contract was for 40 miles of track laying on the Wells River & 
 Montpelier Railroad. He later conducted the Dexter House stables at 
 Tiltou and, in connection with them, ran the Tilton and Franklin stage 
 route. He has, however, been largely a farmer on the homestead, 
 which, with improved and beautified buildings, spacious barns, broad 
 fields and long stretches of forest, was for years one of the most attrac- 
 tive estates in the vicinity. The destruction by fire in 1904 of the 
 house, with its elegant furnishings, pictures and other rare works of 
 beauty and art, made its loss doubly severe, inasmuch as it had become 
 one of the few remaining links to bind the present to the past. They 
 now reside in their newly-purchased house by the town house. 
 
 Jeremiah E. Smith, b. 1S49 in N. (See portrait and sketch. Business 
 Men of N.) 
 
 SMITH II. 
 
 Francis Smith came -to N. about 1S06 and purchased of Lieutenant 
 Glidden the 100-acre lot set apart by the proprietors of Canterbury 
 for school purposes, near the centre of the town. 
 
 The buildings he erected are still standing. The barn has never 
 been changed but the house has received a new roof and was re- 
 modeled about 1840. He m. Jane Gorrell of N. and had three sous 
 and two dau. and was a prosperous farmer. After his death in 1S13, 
 Mrs. Smith became the first wife of Judge Peter Wadleigh. (See 
 Wadleigh gen.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Jane Smith, b. at N. about 1799; m., Nov. 7, 1S2S, Nathan Wells of 
 N., b. Dec. 14, 1798. (See Wells gen.) 
 
 Loi-ISA Smith, b. in N., 1S05; m., Dec. 6, 1825, David Evans of N., 
 b. Jan. 20, 1798. (See Evans gen.) 
 
 Joseph Smith was b. Nov. 3, ISOO; m.. May 30, 1830, Betsey Ham 
 of Canterbury. He inherited his father's estate and spent his whole 
 life on it, a hard-working, prosperous and contented farmer. Thoy 
 had a dau. and son. Mrs. Smith d. Dec. 11, 1838. He m. (second), 
 Mrs. Fannie Jaques Blanchard, widow of Ebenezer Blanchard, a grand- 
 son of one of the first settlers in town. This farm is still in the 
 possession of one of the family and has been owned in the name 100 
 years. 
 
 Mr. Smith d. May 25, 1880. the result of injuries received by being 
 thrown from his carriage. His wife d. Dec. 27, 1SS7. 
 
 Benjamin- Franklin Smith was b. at N. Sept. 15, 1807. He learned 
 the wheelwright trade and located in Gilmanton. He m. (first), 
 Mehitable, dau. of Stephen Gale of Sanbornton, and had three dau. 
 He m. (second), Polly Gale and erected a new house near the village 
 in N., where he lived for many years, going later to Belmont, where 
 he m. (third), Ruth Huckins. Aug. 7, 1S73. He was deputy sheriff for 
 12 years and d. at Laconia Jan. 27, ISSO. 
 
296 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Joseph and Betsey Ham Smith.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Elizabeth Jaxe Smith, b. May 20, 1832, was educated at the New 
 Hampshire Conference Seminary and was a successful teacher. She 
 cared for her aged parents, remained in the home and managed the 
 farm for sometime after her father's death. She m., 1SS9, John S. 
 Winslow of N. (See Winslow gen.) 
 
 Joseph Francis Smith, b. March 11, 1S34; m. (pub.), Nov. 24, 1862, 
 Lucy M. Batchelder of Lawrence, Mass. They resided for many years 
 at Methuen, Mass., where he was a carriage builder. Later he resided 
 at Spencer, Mass., where he d. Aug. 29, 1901. A dau., Maud May, d. 
 of consumption June 3, 1890, at 20 years of age. Mrs. Smith resides 
 at N. with her sister-in-law, Mrs. J. S. Winslow. 
 
 (Children of B. F. and Mehitable Gale Smith.) 
 
 Maey Jaxe Smith, b. at Sanbornton Bridge Sept. 15, 1837, was 
 graduated from the New Hampshire Conference Seminary in the class 
 of 1856, but poor health compelled her to decline only the most quiet 
 occupations. She m. George Sayward of Gilford, who d. at New 
 Hampton in 1892. 
 
 Martha A. C. Smith, b. at Sanbornton Bridge Aug. 23, 1839; m., 
 May 29, 1865, Lafayette Gate, M. D., of Quincy, Col., and went there to 
 reside. She graduated from the New Hampshire Conference Sem- 
 inary in the class of 1860, taking a post-graduate course at Troy 
 Female Seminary and taught some years. (See Gate gen.) 
 
 Mehitable Smith, b. at Sanbornton Bridge Feb. 7, 1841; m., Sept. 
 7, 1865, Jesse Allen of Belmont, where they resided until his death, 
 Jan. 22, 1890, since which she resides with her dau., Mrs. Clay, at 
 Laconia. She has three children: Ada Brown; Lizzette Eloise; and 
 Frank Irving. Guy Forrest Smith d. in infancy. 
 
 SMITH III. 
 
 David Smith, b. 1802, came from Loudon -to N. about 1830.- He 
 owned part of the farm where Moses C. Abbott now resides at East 
 N. He was a farmer and stone mason and d. Oct. 17, 1874. Mrs. 
 Smith's name was Harriet Hodge. They had five children. She d. 
 May 10, 1889. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Sexter F. Smith m. (first), Henrietta Buswell; (second), Emeline 
 Aldrich; and (third), Hannah Chapman. He d. in Maine March, 1905, 
 aged 82. 
 
 Harriet Smith m. (first), Levi Bennet and had a son, George. 
 She m. (second), John R. Woodbury. 
 
GENEALOGIES. *2t»7 
 
 Faxxie Smith m. (first). Benjamin Gate, and (second), John R. 
 Woodbury, her sister's husband. 
 
 Caroline Smith d. in infancy. 
 
 Melixda Smith. 
 
 Mary Axx Smith m. (first), Peter Jenness and (second). Calvin 
 Beck, who d. at 22 years. March 18, 1SG3. She ni. (third). Feb. 20. 
 1866, Arthur L. Weymouth. They resided at Tilton, where she d. Feb. 
 11, 1898. They had three children: Hattie, who m. Bert Smith; Josie. 
 who m. Herbert Judkins; and Fred, who m. Sarah Cushing. All 
 reside in Belmont. 
 
 Emma Smith was four times m.: (First), to Daniel West; (second), 
 to Channing Stark; (third), to Newton Bullard; and (fourth), to G. 
 Lautz. He d. June 29, 1894, aged 48. 
 
 Sarah Ann Smith m. George R. Drake. 
 
 David Smith d. in infancy. 
 
 SPENCER. 
 
 Rev. Simeox Spexcer came to N. from Loudon about 1839. He was 
 an Advent exhorter, a good man and a hard-working farm hand. He 
 m. a dau. of Master John Sutton, whose wife was very proud of being 
 a niece of Governor Morion of Maine. Mr. Spencer bought the Smith 
 Kezar house at the foot of Bean Hill and removed it to Park St., where 
 he resided for several years. There were several children in the Spen- 
 cer family, only two of whom became connected with N. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Abagail Spexcer d. Sept. 22, 1S50, aged IG years, and is buried in 
 Park Cemetery, Tilton. 
 
 Naxcy Spexcer became the wife of Jason Dearborn. 
 
 STEVENS. 
 
 Bexjamix C. Stevexs was b. at Franklin Oct. 27, 1S39. He m.. 
 Sept. 30, 18G2, Victoria, dau. of Samuel and Mary Ann Piper Haines, 
 b. at N. March 3, 1844. They resided for a while at Canton, Mass.. 
 where the oldest children were b. Later he returned to Franklin Falls, 
 where he established a machine shop and needle business. 
 
 They removed then to the Haines home on the Intervale, where 
 he repaired and remodeled the house and established a machine shop 
 at Tilton, still remaining on the farm. In 1SS9 he removed to New 
 Haven, Conn., where he had a fine position as master mechanic of 
 one of the largest hardware manufactories of the country. He d. 
 there Feb. 12, 1893. He had much mechanical genius and was con- 
 sidered one of the best inventors of automatic machinery in New 
 England. He was a Christian man. an Advent in religious belief. 
 They had six children. 
 
298 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 
 
 Mrs. Stevens returned to N. to care for her aged parents and still 
 resides in the home. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Herbert A. Stevexs. b. at Canton, Mass., m. Lillian Buntin Noyes 
 of Tilton and resides at Laconia, where he is superintendent for the 
 Mayo Machine Company. 
 
 Benjamin F. Steven.s, b. at Canton, Mass., m. Jennie M. Ripley of 
 New Haven, Conn., and is a machinist at Franklin Falls. 
 
 Jessie E. Stevens, b. at Canton, Mass., is private secretary and 
 stenographer for Hon. Daniel C. Remich of Littleton. 
 
 Mabelle E. Stevens, b. at Franklin, is stenographer at the Tilton 
 Optical Works. 
 
 Emma P. Stevens was b. at Franklin, where she is a music teacher 
 and pipe organist. She has studied with the best teachers in Boston 
 and New Haven, Conn., and is a musician of unusual ability. 
 
 Edith Stevens has been for several years bookkeeper for Shepherd 
 Bros., Franklin Falls. 
 
 STEVENS II. 
 
 Francis Stevens came to N. in 1872. He had previously been a 
 dealer in grain in Salisbury, where he m.. May 20, 1858, Sarah Shaw 
 of the same town. He bought the farm of the late Hezekiah Bean at 
 the Centre and has since been engaged in general farming. He has 
 served each of the towns as selectman. Mr. and Mrs. Stevens are 
 members of the Congregational Church and active in all its lines of 
 work. They have one dau. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Ina May Stevens, b. Jan. S, 1870, was educated at Tilton Seminary 
 and Bridgewater, Mass., Normal School, graduating in 1897. She 
 went at once to Newton, Mass., where she taught for five years. She 
 has been employed for several years in the N. schools, largely at the 
 Centre. 
 
 STREETER. 
 
 Ralph Streeter came to N. from Lisbon in 1845 and lived in the 
 Thomas Haines house on the main road. Four of his seven children 
 were b. there. His wife d. Oct. 11, ISGO, after which he moved to 
 Canterbury. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Martin V. B. Streeter, b. at Lisbon, 1836, was twice m. (first), to 
 Elizabeth McDaniel of N., and (second), to Mrs. Isadore McDaniel. 
 They resided at Franklin Falls, coming later to the Trecartiu place. 
 
GENEALOGIES, 299 
 
 where he erected new buildings and where he d. March 29, 1S98. 
 They had four children. Mrs. Streeter now resides in Concord. 
 
 Hiram Stkeetek. b. at Lisbon Feb. IG, 1840, has resided in town 
 since his childhood. He is a natural mechanic and had charge for 
 30 years of mill repairs at Stevens' Mills, Franklin Falls. He is also 
 a good designer and house builder. He m., Sept. 29, 1861, Sevlra, dau. 
 of Shubael Glines of N. (See Glines gen.) 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Walter Streeter, b. at Boscawen Dec. 3, 1SG5; m., Dec. 15, 1888, 
 Cora Maud Moorhouse, b. at Lakeport Nov. 20, 1808, and lives on the 
 John Kimball farm on Bean Hill, which they purchased in March, 
 1899. They have six children. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 S.\.RAH Elizabeth Streeter, b. at Franklin Falls, Oct. 10, 1890. 
 Nellie Louise Streeter, b. at Franklin Falls, March 27, 1893. 
 Martix Hiram Streeter, b. at Franklin Falls, Oct. 23, 1895. 
 Beatrice Lillian Streeter, b. at Tilton Sept. 1, 1898. 
 Edwix Sumner Streeter, b. at N. Sept. 10, 1900. 
 Gladys Moorhouse Streeter, b. at N. March 15, 1904. 
 
 STAPLES. 
 
 Stephen Staples, b. at Tamworth Aug. 28, 1837; m., Aug. 29, ISCl, 
 Betsey E. Campbell, b. at Osgood. Canada. They came to N. from 
 Tilton in the spring of 1878 and erected the house where A. C. Muzzey 
 lives on Elm St. He was a stone mason and had been foreman on 
 the Massachusetts Central Railroad. Later they purchased a farm in 
 Bristol, where he d. Nov. IG, 1S9S. They had eight children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Georgia A. Staples, b. at Laconia June 3, 1SG2; m.. Sept. 18, 1880, 
 Fred G. Lougee. (See Lougee gen.) 
 
 Frank A. Staples, b. at Laconia Jan. 24, 1SC4: m.. June 29. 1887, 
 Annie O'Connell, b. at Pleasant Hill. Mo., and they have three chil- 
 dren: Bessie. Helen and Margaret, all b. at Kansas City, where they 
 reside. He is a passenger conductor on the Missouri Pacific Railroad. 
 
 Ellen J. Staples, b. at Laconia Oct. 26, 1867; ra., May 29, 1SS5, 
 George O. Clark and had one dau., Lelia A. Mrs. Clark d. March 21, 
 1895, at Laconia and is buried at Bristol with her father. 
 
 Clara A. Staples, b. at Laconia Aug. 16. 1870; m.. April 27. 1889, 
 Benjamin Sargent of Ashland. They reside at Plymouth, where he 
 is foreman in the cutting department in the Draper & .Maynard Man- 
 ufacturing Company. 
 
 Arthur T. Staples, b. at Laconia Dec. 17, 1872; m., Dec. 24. 1897, 
 
300 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Sarah O. Davis, b. at Lynn, Mass., Nov. 30, 1872. They reside on Gale 
 Ave. in N., where he is employed at G. H. Tilton's Hosiery Mill. 
 
 Infant son d. at Tilton April 11, 1875. 
 
 Etta E. Staples, b. at Tilton May 31, 1876; m., April 4, 1S93, Harvey 
 Baker. They reside at Philadelphia, Pa. 
 
 NixA M. Staples, b. at N. April 13, 1883; m., Dec. 19, 1904, William 
 E. Clement of Laconia, where they reside with her mother. 
 
 SUMNER. 
 
 William A. Sumxek was b. at Dorchester, Mass., in 1831. He came 
 to N. from Bristol, having previously resided in Boston, where he 
 dealt in wool and hides. He was a lover of fine horses and had owned 
 several thoroughbreds. He m. (first), Elizabeth Thayer of Plymouth, 
 and (second), Ella A. Currier of Alexandria. He d. Feb. 27, 1903. 
 After his death she returned to her father's in Alexandria. 
 
 SWEATT I. 
 
 John Wadleigh Sweatt was b. May 11, 1803, at Andover. He m. 
 Eliza Ann Tucker, b. May 30, 1808. He was a trader for many years 
 at Factory Village, N., and was a prominent man in town affairs. 
 He represented the town in the Legislature. They resided for many 
 years under the same roof as the store. About 1850 he went up the 
 hill and purchased about an acre of land, paying what was then 
 deemed a very extravagant price — $400. Here he erected the home 
 where they both d. He d.. May, 1879, and she d., Sept. 4, 1891. They 
 had five children, two of whom d. in infancy, and one, Joseph F., in 
 childhood. 
 
 Mr. Sweatt was an old line Democrat and his store was head- 
 quarters for the party in that section of the town. He was proprietor 
 of the Webster House for a term of years, about 1860. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Angeline Abagail Sweatt. b. April 11, 1829; m., March 2, 1854, 
 George U. Tilton of Deerfield, who was a signal corps officer in the 
 Civil War, enlisting from Illinois. He d. Aug. 27, 1863. Mrs. Tilton 
 remained in the home until 1905. She is now at the State Hospital in 
 Concord. 
 
 George Floyd Sweatt, b. Jan. 10, 1842, was a soldier in the Civil 
 War and was killed in battle and brought home for burial. He d. 
 Oct. 4, 1862. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
GENEALOGIES. 301 
 
 SWEATT II. 
 
 Joseph Sweatt purchased the farm now owned by Josiah Dearborn 
 about 1850. They had previously lived at Franklin Lower Village, now 
 Webster Place, to which place they returned, and both d. there. 
 Their departure was hastened by the sudden death of their adopted 
 dau., whom they had come to N. to educate. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 M.\RiA F. Sweatt was a member of the senior class at the New 
 Hampshire Conference Seminary and d., greatly lamented, April 27, 
 1852. 
 
 TEBBETTS. 
 
 David C. Tebbetts was b. at Lee March 17, 1815; m. (first), Deborah 
 Gilman (see Oilman gen.), b. at N., ISIG. She d. Aug. 31, 1850. They 
 had one son, Andrew, who graduated from college, read law, was ad- 
 mitted to the bar and went to Virginia, where he practiced for several 
 years. He has not been heard from for many years. In 1874 Mr. 
 Tebbetts erected a house on Bay St. and m. (second), March 23, 1875, 
 Caroline L. Hancock. (See Hancock gen.) They resided there until 
 his death, July 11, 1S95. She remained in the home and m. (second), 
 Samuel C. Gilman of N. (See Gilman gen.) She d. Jan. 23, 1904. She 
 was a devoted member of Trinity Church and was a thoroughly good 
 woman. 
 
 THOMPSON I. 
 
 Sami'el Thompson was an early settler on the Morrison place on 
 the Skenduggody Meadow, where he had a family of two. Jane, who 
 became the wife of David Morrill (see Morrill gen.), and Philomela. 
 Later he built the house at the entrance of the old Knowles road, 
 which was closed by a gate that Mr. Thompson used to tend. Re- 
 ligious services were held at the Knowles house and barn and the 
 gate came to be known as the "Methodist Gate." He d. July, 1848. 
 The locality of the first home still bears the name of "Thompson 
 Hill." 
 
 THOMPSON II. 
 
 James M. Thompson and wife came from Manchester to N. and 
 purchased the Hazen Batchelder farm on Oak Hill, near the Merrimack 
 River. They were social people and were active in the establishment 
 of the Sunday School and Sunday worship at Oak Hill schoolhouse. 
 
 They were workers, also, in the Picnic Association and In the 
 erection of Union Church. In 1881 they spent a season at Sea Cliff. 
 
302 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 N. Y., and a few years later returned to their early home at Stanstead, 
 Canada. 
 
 They were New Hampshire people and he had brothers residing in 
 Belmont. 
 
 THOMPSON III. 
 
 Bexjamix Thompsox came to Park St., N., from Northwood Nar- 
 rows, Nov. 10, 1S96. He was b. at Deerfield Jan. 9, 1839, and m. 
 (first). May 1, 18G2, Helen Lancaster, b. at Northwood Narrows, and 
 had three children: Ada, Amy and Frank. Mr. Thompson was a 
 shoemaker and later became a carpenter. After her death he m. 
 (second), June 21, 18S9, Clara F. McDearmid, b. at New Hampton 
 July 29, 1853. He d. at N. Dec. 22, 1896, and she m. (second), Oct. 
 25, 1903, William L. Merrill, a carpenter by trade, b. at Charlestown, 
 Mass., July 9, 1848. 
 
 THURSTON. 
 
 Ebexezer Thurstox came to N. from Sanbornton Bridge in 1853 
 and purchased the Rogers homestead of B. A. Rogers. He was a 
 cooper and learned his trade of John Greenough of Boscawen. He was 
 b. in Bridgewater March 13, 1805, and m. (first), 183G, Sarah Salina 
 Huntoon of Salisbury. She d. June 4, 1839. He m. (second), Dec. 27, 
 1842, Sarah Knowles Rogers, b. March 24, 1815, and spent their lives 
 at her childhood home as a farmer, he dying there Aug. 20, 1881. 
 She d. April 8, 18G6. They had two children. Mr. Thurston was an 
 upright man in all the relations of life. The farm then, after three 
 fourths of a century in the Rogers family, became the home of Ben- 
 jamin C. Gale, and, later, of Leroy R. Brown. Sally Eaton Thurston 
 lived, and d., in N., Nov. 7, 1857. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Lexa Lucy Thurstox, b. at Hill March 24, 1849; m., Sept. 29, 1877, 
 Joseph J. Prescott, b. at Pittsfield Nov. 24, 1854. (See Prescott gen.) 
 She was a teacher before her marriage and, though suffering from a 
 lifelong disability, filled up a busy and useful life. She d. May 5, 
 1903. 
 
 Leaxxa Marr Thurstox, b. at Sanbornton Bridge July 8, 1853, now 
 resides at Tilton and is agent for the Mutual Manufacturing Company 
 of New York. 
 
 THOMAS. 
 
 Richard Thomas came to N. from Tilton. He had erected, a few 
 years previously, a residence on School St., near the Seminary. He 
 was b. in Yorkshire, England, in 1836. He purchased a part of the 
 William Forrest farm, where he d. Aug. 20, 1899. He m. (first), 
 
THE JEREMIAH TILTON HOMESTEAD 
 
COL. JEREMIAH C. TILTON. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 303 
 
 Elizabeth Berry of Yorkshire, and had a son and a dau. He ni. 
 (second), Mary H., dau. of Arthur L. and Mary Dana Smythe of 
 Ashland, and had two sons and a dau. Their farm was sold In May, 
 1903, to Augustus Cilley of "Wilmot. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (Children of Richard and Elizabeth Berry Thomas.) 
 
 M.\KY A. Thomas, b. Feb. 17, 1S58, at Lawrence, Mass.; m., July 20, 
 1831, Albert C. Muzzey of Tilton. (See Muzzey gen.) 
 
 Richard Thomas, b. at Lawrence Oct. 13, 1S59; d., at Tilton. Oct. 12 
 1878. 
 
 (Children of Richard and Mary H. Smythe Thomas.) 
 
 Abthuk Perkixs Thomas, b. at Tilton Oct. 12, 1S7G; m., Sept. 3, 1900. 
 Minnie M. McKee of Coaticook, P. Q. She d. at N. June 25, 1903. 
 
 Mr. Thomas is a machinist and is employed at Franklin Falls. He 
 has been twice the master of Friendship Grange and is a member of 
 Doric Lodge, A. F. and A. M., of Tilton. 
 
 R.iLPH Smythe Thomas, b. at Tilton Nov. 15, ISSO, is with the Wash- 
 burne Crosby Flour Co., 405 Chamber of Commerce, Boston, Mass. He 
 is also a member of Doric Lodge, A. F. and A. M. 
 
 Maky Jean Thomas, b. at Tilton May 8, 1883; m., June 19. 1905, 
 Howard T. Robie of Plymouth. He is clerk for the Mayo Machine 
 Company at Franklin Falls, with a residence at N. Mrs. Robie inherits 
 the musical talent of the Danas and has been a pupil of Martha Dana 
 Shepard. 
 
 TILTON I. 
 
 Jeremiah Tiltox. (See Manufacturers.) 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 COL. JEREMIAH C. TILTON. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Jeremiah C. Tiltox, son of Jeremiah and Nancy Carter Tilton, was 
 b. in the town of Salisbury, now Franklin, Dec. 7, 1818, and when quite 
 young removed with his parents to N.. where his father engaged in the 
 woolen manufacturing business. 
 
 After thoroughly mastering this trade, he formed a partnership with 
 his father in 1842 under the firm name of J. & J. C. Tilton, which was 
 continued for over 20 years in the mill now occupied by the G. H. 
 Tilton Hosiery Co. in this town. 
 
 Colonel Tilton was m., Jan. 3, 1843. to Emily, the dau. of Capt. 
 David Morrill of Canterbury. After residing on the N. side several 
 years, he removed to Tilton, where he d. at the age of 53 from disease 
 contracted during his service in the Civil War. Colonel Tilton was 
 early interested in the militia of his state, holding positions as follows: 
 Appointed sergeant. Second Company, Thirty-eighth Infantry, In 1S41; 
 
304 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 commissioned as lieutenant Phalanx Company, Twenty-ninth Regiment, 
 July 28, 1842; as captain. Sept, 13, 1843; major, Twenty-ninth Regi- 
 ment, July 6, 1S4C, and as colonel, May 19, 1848, commanding his regi- 
 ment on the same muster field (30 years later) as his grandfather. 
 Colonel Jeremiah, for whom he was named. Colonel Tilton was prom- 
 inent in the Republican party in New Hampshire and held numerous 
 offices, having been elected as moderator in the years lS58-'59, and as 
 a member of the Legislature in 1855 and railroad commissioner for 
 three years in 1860. He was appointed, April 18, 1861, as an aide to the 
 adjutant-general, having charge of the recruiting stations in Belknap, 
 Carroll and other northern counties of the state when, on August 10, 
 1861, he received a commission signed by President Lincoln as com- 
 missary of subsistence in the army, and left at once for active service 
 on the staff of Generals Couch and Devens during the campaign of 
 General McClellan on the peninsula before Richmond, where he had 
 the entire charge of feeding for a division of over 12,000 men, receiving 
 the greatest praise from his commanding officer for the efficient man- 
 ner in which he personally hastened the arrival of the commissary sup- 
 plies, frequently spending the entire night in the swamps of Virginia 
 on the road with his wagon trains, where he contracted malaria and 
 was obliged to resign after nearly two years' service; during the re- 
 mainder of his life he was a great sufferer from its effects. In 1864 
 he was appointed as commissioner of the board of enrollment for the 
 First District of New Hampshire with an office at Portsmouth, where 
 he remained until the end of the war. 
 
 Colonel Tilton took an active part and was largely instrumental in 
 the division of the town of Sanbornton and formation of the town of 
 Tilton in 1809, being one of the parties designated by the Legislature to 
 call the first meeting of the new town. In 1871 he was appointed post- 
 master of Tilton, holding the office until his death. 
 
 Col. Jeremiah C. Tilton was greatly interested in all public affairs, 
 and to his influence and suggestions may be traced many of the im- 
 provements and adornments that beautify the village of his adoption. 
 
 Sophia M. Tilton, b. at N. June 19, 1822; m., 1875, Jonathan Eastman 
 Lang, a merchant of Concord and, later, registrar of deeds, 1875. They 
 had eight children. Of the latter, George B. went to the war as a 
 musician. He d. on his way to Port Royal after his discharge. Charles 
 Ware also served in the army. He m., 1865, Lois C. Pillsbury and 
 resides at Salem, Mass. Ella Sophia is the wife of Rev. Frank C. 
 Coolbaugh. Edward Eastman resides in Concord. Anna Louisa d. 
 in 1852. The remaining three were: Marianna, b. 1853; Fannie Tilton, 
 b. 1856; and Sarah Carter. 
 
 Louisa Peabody Tilton. b. April 30, 1827; m., Jan. 11, 1856, Charles 
 E. Tilton of Sanbornton Bridge, b. Sept. 14, 1827. They resided during 
 their early married life, much of which time was spent by him in exten- 
 size business enterprises in the West, at her father's home, the brick 
 house near the Granite Mill (now called), and the two older children 
 were b. there. In 1863 the imposing residence across the river was 
 
ALFRED EDWIN TILTON. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 305 
 
 erected and he removed his family thither. She d. Aug. 15, 1877. He 
 m. (second), Genieve Eastman of N. and had one son. Mr. Tilton d. 
 Sept. 30, 1901. (See portrait and sketch.) 
 
 Charles Wellinijton Tiltox, b. March 22, 1830, served in the Civil 
 War (see Boys in Blue), and, later, was employed in a woolen mill 
 at Dracut, Mass. He m., Oct. 5, 1852, Mary Crooker of Merrimack, 
 and had two dau., Anna Louisa, b. 1860, and d., 1874, and Sarah A., 
 b. 18G6, who resides with her invalid mother at Tilton, where he d. 
 Feb. 23, 1905. 
 
 Anna C. Tiltox. b. Feb. 8, 1833; m., Sept. 3, 1851, John C. Johnson 
 of Penacook. They removed to Minneapolis, Minn., where he was a 
 wholesale grocer. They had nine children: Louisa Tilton, b. 1S54; 
 Mary Estelle, b. 1855; John Frederick, b. 1857; Mittie Cornelia, b. 
 18G0; Sarah Newton, b. ISGl; Elizabeth Warren, b. 1864; Anna Tilton, 
 b. 1868; Eleanor S., who d. in infancy; and Marion, b. 1874. 
 
 Mittie Clovgh Tiltox. b. Aug. 11, 1835; m., Dec. 7, 1865, Adam 
 Scott Ballantyne, b. in Scotland Sept. 29, 1833. (See Granite Mill 
 and Ballantyne gen.) 
 
 Wellixgton Tiltox, b. Dec. 2, 1820. 
 
 Charles Hexry Tiltox, b. Aug., 1825. 
 
 Both of these d. Sept. 26, 1826, and Louisa P. Tilton, 1st., d. Sept. 
 23, 1826, aged nine years. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of Jeremiah and Emily Morrill Tilton.) 
 
 Fraxk Luciex Tiltox, b. at N. Sept., 1846; m. Miss Martin of King- 
 ston, Ontario. They spent some time in the West and, returning to 
 North Adams, Mass., established a drug and book store. He d. there 
 in 1902. Her death preceded his some years. 
 
 Frei) G. Tiltox, b. 1849; m., Sept. 25, 1873, Emma A. Ford of Concord. 
 (See Leighton gen.) He was a druggist at Tilton and Worcester, Mass., 
 and later a bookseller and stationer at Greenfield, Mass. He is now 
 secretary and treasurer of the American Trackless Trolley Co. of Bos- 
 ton, Mass., with home at Allston. 
 
 Estelle Tiltox, b. July, 1854; d., Aug. 23, 1855. 
 
 Charles Euwix Tiltox, b. Jan., 1857, is a jeweler and watchmaker 
 at Worcester, Mass. 
 
 (Children of Charles E. and Louisa P. Tilton.) 
 
 MvRA Ames Tiltox, b. at N. Feb. 18, 1858; m. William A. Frost, a 
 merchant of Fitchburg, Mass., and has two children, Henry Athorton 
 and Louisa. Mrs. Frost was a graduate of the Tilton Seminary in 1^76. 
 
 ALFRED EDWIN TILTON. 
 (See portrait.) 
 Alfred Edwix Tiltox was b. June 15, 1861. and was educated at the 
 Seminary. At an early age he served a short apprenticeship In a 
 20 
 
306 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 printing office. Being of a meclianical turn, he became a railroad en- 
 gineer after serving time as fireman. He was employed on the old 
 Concord & Montreal Railroad and enjoys the distinction of having 
 been the first engineer of the Belmont road. He retired in 1894 and 
 spent several months in travel in Bermuda and the South. On his 
 return he purchased the home of the late Gideon Piper on School St., 
 Tilton, which adjoins his father's estate. This, remodelled and im- 
 proved, has since been his home. He is an extensive owner of real 
 estate in both N. and Tilton and the care of these and other interests 
 makes his life a busy one. He has also erected some valuable dwellings 
 on Bay St., and the Bank Block on Main St., Tilton. 
 
 He is a member of Doric Lodge, No. 78, A. F. and A. M., of Tilton, 
 and St. Omar Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, of Franklin, and Peabody 
 Lodge, No. 35, O. E. S. He m., June 25, 1890, Estella A., dau. of the 
 late William W. and Carrie G. Freese of Tilton. Mrs. Tilton is a grad- 
 uate of Concord High School and was later at Dean Academy v/ith 
 special work in music, and was a teacher some years at Tilton. 
 
 William Ladd TILT0^^ b. Jan. 9, 1865, and d. July, same year. 
 
 TILTON 11. 
 
 Stephen Tiltox, b. at Loudon; m. Julia Batchelder of N. in 1816. 
 (See portrait.) They resided near Maple Cottage in East N. They 
 removed to California previous to 1S54 and both d. there and are buried 
 in the Congregational churchyard at San Mateo. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Joseph Sullivan Tiltox (see portrait), b. at N. June 16, ISIS; m., 
 1842, Betsey Ham of Dorchester, b. at Strafford Jan. IS, 1820. They 
 had four children. 
 
 In 1860 Mr. Tilton began the manufacture of hosiery at Laconia, 
 being one of the pioneers in that industry. He left his business during 
 the Civil War and served as first lieutenant of the Laconia company in 
 the Twelfth Regiment and afterwards as captain. He was wounded 
 and disabled at Chancellorsville. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 He commenced business again after the war with his son, G. H. Til- 
 ton, as a partner. He d. Nov. 6, 1879. They had four children. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Nancy A. Tilton, b. at N.; m. Charles Warren Oilman. (See Gil- 
 man gen.) 
 
 Emma Susan Tilton, b. at Manchester; m., Dec. 1, 1872, Horace 
 Gorrell of N. They resided at Laconia, where she d. They had three 
 children. (See Gorrell gen.) 
 
JULIA BATCHELDER TILTON. 
 
JOSEPH SULLIVAN TILTON. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 307 
 
 George H. Tiltox, b. at Dorchester May 13, 1845. He removed to 
 Manchester when young and from there to California, returning In 1857. 
 He served through the Civil War in Company D, Fourth Regiment, 
 New Hampshire Volunteers. He enlisted at 10 years of age and was 
 discharged at 19. He m. Marietta Randlett of Upper Gilmanton. 
 They had one son. 
 
 In 1891 Mr. Tilton bought the Granite Mill and began business In 
 N. (See Manufacturers of N., portrait and sketch.) 
 
 Feank S. Tiltox, b. at San Francisco, Cal., Feb. 15, 1854; m. (first), 
 Nov. 27, 1873, Abbie Badger, b. at New Hampton May 17, 1852. They 
 had two children. She d. at Tilton Nov. 10, 1899. He m. (second), 
 Dec. 15, 1900, Mrs. Fannie Caverly, b. at Brookhaven, Miss. They 
 came to N. In 1904 and resided for a time on Bay St. He has recently 
 purchased the Obadiah Glines farm on the main road, which he has 
 reconstructed and repaired, and combines farming with the super- 
 intendency of his brother's hosiery business. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 (Child of George H. and Marietta Randlett Tilton.) 
 
 Elmer E. Tiltox, b. Oct. 11, 18G9; m., 1891, Lillian G. Harrington of 
 Laconia, and has three children: Charles Henry, aged 12 years; Elmer 
 Harrington, aged 10; and Kenneth Joseph, aged five. They reside in 
 Laconia. He has been associated since 1903 with his father in the 
 manufacture of hosiery in the Granite Mill. 
 
 (Children of Abbie and Frank S. Tilton.) 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Guy Badger Tiltox. b. at Laconia Sept. 24, 1874; m., April 27, 1894, 
 Grace B. Nutter, b. at Pittsfield Oct. 26, 1873. They have two children, 
 Harry L., b. 1897, and Loren H., b. 1901. He is employed at G. H. 
 Tilton's Hosiery Mill and resides at Tilton. 
 
 Blanche Marie Tiltox. b. at Laconia Nov. IG, 1S7C; m., July 21, 
 1901, Leon Locke of New York City. They reside in N. 
 
 TIBBETTS. 
 
 Hexry Tibbetts, b. Jan. 7, 175G, came to N. from the Canterbury 
 Shakers, where he had come a short time before with nine children. 
 
 His wife was Mrs. Sarah Sinclair, the widow of a fellow soldier, 
 who fought by his side in one of the battles of the Revolutionary 
 War, and, falling mortally wounded, had made him promise, if he lived 
 to return, to bear his dying message and a gift to her. The promise 
 was faithfully kept and she became his wife In due time They both 
 d. at East N. He d. May 19, ISIS. She d. Dec. 22, 1S3C. aged 77. 
 
308 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Isaac Tibbetts, b. 1775; d., Sept. 11, 1S22. 
 
 Bradbury Tibbetts, b. Oct. 25, 1779; m. Polly Cloiigh, b. Jan. 7, 
 1793, and had a family of nine. He came from the Shakers and, 
 after purchasing his farm and establishing a home, brought the family 
 to live with them. He was a man of affairs in the town and kept a 
 store of general merchandise. He was overseer of the poor and for a 
 while kept the postoffice at the Centre. She d. Dec, 1846. 
 
 Hexry Tibbetts, b. Nov. 23, 1782; m. Polly Beck and had seven 
 children. He resided on the Governor Shute land in the northeast 
 corner of the town. He d. March 15, 1856. She d. Dec. 13, 1852. 
 
 Nathan Tibbetts, b. Oct. 14, 1796. 
 
 Two dau., Nellie and Comfort, remained with the Shakers and d. 
 In their village. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Children of Bradbury and Polly Clough Tibbetts.) 
 
 Nathax C. Tibbetts, b. Jan. 28, 1802; m. Hannah Parish of Gil- 
 manton and had three children. He read medicine with Dr. Clark and 
 went to Louisiana in 1840. He practised medicine there until his 
 death, Feb. 15, 1848, at Lake Providence. 
 
 Melinda Tibbetts, b. Aug. 18, 1803; m. Noah L. Merrill, b. in Deer- 
 field, and resided for a while in N. Later she conducted a millinery 
 business in Manchester. (See Merrill gen.) 
 
 JoHX Clough Tibbetts, b. Jan. 19, 1805. He was educated at San- 
 bornton Square and was a celebrated teacher and disciplinarian. He 
 m. Sophie Williams Whitman of Boston. She d. at their summer home 
 in Hopkinton, Nov., 1860. He was a merchant in Boston and became 
 quite wealthy, being noted for his many charities. He d. at Tilton, 
 at the home of his sister, Mrs. Curry, Aug. 25, ISSl. 
 
 George Sullivan Tibbetts, b. April 16, 1807; m. Olive Curry of N. 
 (See Curry gen.) They were farmers at East N. and had five chil- 
 dren. She d. Oct. 19, 1872. He was drowned at Tilton Sept. 19, 1881. 
 
 HA>-NAn Tibbetts, b. Feb. 26, 1809; m. Benjamin Curry of N. and 
 remained on his father's farm. (See Curry gen.) 
 
 Hiram Bradbury Tibbetts, b. Feb. 2, 1812; m. Mrs. Laura Boone 
 of Natchez, La. He was a graduate of Dartmouth Medical College and 
 followed his profession in Louisiana. He had a plantation and 125 
 slaves at the breaking out of the Civil War. In 1864 he returned to 
 New Hampshire and located in Concord, where he d., Easter morning, 
 April 8, 1890. She d. in 1896. They had a family of four. 
 
 Horace Bradley Tibbetts, twin brother of the above, m. Mrs. Frances 
 Keene of Louisiana. He, also, was a slave holder, having several 
 hundred, and a large plantation. He had no children. She d. at 
 Washington, D. C. He d. in New York City during the great blizzard 
 in 1888. 
 
JOHN CLOUGH TEBBETTS. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 309 
 
 Chakles Carroll Tibbetts, b. Jan. 12. 1S14; m. Harriet Sibley of 
 Laconia. He was a physician, being a graduate of Dartmouth Medical 
 College. He practiced in Lakeport, Gilford and Laconia and then re- 
 moved to Irondale, Mo. He went into the army as a surgeon and 
 d. of fever May 19, 1S63. They had one child. 
 
 Arthur Beede Tibbetts, b. Dec. 16, 1816, d. a tragic death in Boston 
 July 4, 1836. While eating peanuts one became lodged in his wind- 
 pipe. 
 
 (Children of Henry and Polly Beck Tibbetts.) 
 
 Sarah (Sally) Tibbetts. b. Jan. 1, ISOO; m., Dec. 31, 1832, Chauncy 
 Garvin. (See Garvin gen.) 
 
 Alice Tibbetts, b. April 4, 1804; m. Leach. She d. Aug. 1, 
 
 1879, leaving one dau. 
 
 Hiram Tibbetts, b. April 28, 1806; m., Dec. 25, 1836, Hannah Bunker 
 of Barnstead, au'd had five children. She d. Jan. 15, 1852. He ra. 
 (second), May 1, 1852, Betsey Hacket. He d. Oct. 19, 1868. 
 
 Ha-nnaii Tibbetts, b. Nov. 3, 1808; m. (first), Henry Osgood. He 
 d. and she m. (second), Asa K. Osgood. (See Osgood gen.) 
 
 Polly (Mary) Tibbetts, b. Oct. 27, 1810; m., Nov. 18, 1838, Joseph 
 Babb. They had two children, Horace and Henry. She d. Dec. 20, 
 1842. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Hiram and Hannah Bunker Tibbetts.) 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Mary A. Tibbetts, b. Oct. 6, 1837; d., April 18. 1873. 
 
 Charles A. Tibbetts, b. July 22, 1839; m., Dec. 7, 1868, Elizabeth 
 Blackman of Canton, Mass. They had four children. He d. at 
 Chicago, alone and among strangers, Nov. 29, 1898. 
 
 Harriet Tibbetts, b. Aug. 22, 1843; m., Oct. 12. 1869, Benjamin F. 
 Tilton of Loudon, where she resides. They have two children, Burton 
 and Mary. 
 
 Albert Hiram Tibbetts, b. Dec. 1, 1845; m., Oct. 28, 1877. Mrs. Susan 
 M. Allen of Concord. They resided at the foot of Whicher Hill and 
 had two children. He d. at the home Jan. 25, 1902. The buildings 
 were burned in the summer of 1904. Mrs. Tibbetts is with her dau., 
 Mrs. Lizzie Maxfield. at Belmont. Another dau., Ethel, is employed 
 at G. H. Tilton's Hosiery Mill. 
 
 Eliza Tibbetts, b. Dec. 15. 1848; d., Sept. 6, 1870. 
 
 Rosanxa Tibbett., b. 1813; d., June 2, 1861. 
 
 Harriet Tibbetts, b. March 6, 1S15; m. Thomas Dennis of Lowell and 
 d. 1838. 
 
 Mali.nda Tibbetts. b. April 16. 1817; m. Asa K. Osgood as his third 
 wife. She d. Feb. 22, 1872. (See Osgood gen.) 
 
 Dr. Henry B. Tibbetts. b. May 16, 1819; d., at Weare. June 25. 1S49. 
 
 Clementina Tibbetts, b. Oct. 28, 1823. 
 
 Mandana Tibbetts. b. Sept. 25, 1827; m., April, 1S64, Stephen Bean 
 of Piermont. 
 
310 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 (Children of George S. and Olive Curry Tibbetts.) 
 Walter G. Tibbetts, b. April 1, 183S, served in the Civil War (see 
 Boys in Blue), enlisting from Chicago, and has ever since been a 
 hopeless invalid. He m., May 10, 1S63, Lizzie Belden of Chicago, 
 where they now reside. They have one son, Arthur, who resides in 
 Chicago and has one dau. He was severely wounded at Pittsburg 
 Landing and has since been a helpless invalid and cripple. 
 
 Charlotte M. F. Tibbetts, b. 1S40; m., Oct. 19, 1870, Richard Puddy 
 of Chicago. They now reside in Palatka, Fla., where he is engaged 
 extensively in poultry raising. A son and dau. d. in childhood. 
 
 JoHX C. Tibbetts was b. at N. in 1846 (?). He graduated from the 
 New Hampshire Conference Seminary in 1867, from Dartmouth College 
 in 1871, and from the General Theological Seminary, New York City, in 
 1874. He spent a year at Oxford University, England, and then 
 became rector at Hudson, N. Y., where he remained 10 years. He 
 has now been rector of St. John's Episcopal Church at North Adams, 
 Mass., for 14 years. He m. Elizabeth Kimball of Hudson, N. Y. 
 
 TRECARTIN. 
 
 David Trecartin came to N. from Boston and bought the Simon 
 Fifield farm, formerly owned by John Chase, and a part of his father's 
 estate. 
 
 He was a skilled mechanic and manufactured elevators. This he 
 combined with general farming and a summer boarding house. In 
 1889 the buildings were burned and they purchased the brick house 
 erected by Thomas Chase on the adjoining farm. They returned to 
 Boston in 1893, but later lived at East Washington. They had three 
 children. . 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Marietta Trecartin, b., 1865, at Milton, Mass.; m., March 21, 1888, 
 Harry B. Adams of Boston, b. at Greene, Me., 1854. She had pre- 
 viously been a teacher in an orphans' home in Newton. They re- 
 moved later to his stock farm at Charlestown. 
 
 David Munsox Trecartin read medicine in Boston and graduated 
 from Dartmouth Medical School. He has for some years been estab- 
 lished in practice at Bridgeport, Conn. 
 
 Jennie L. Trecartin had fine musical talent and a sweet voice, and 
 gave many years to its cultivation. She gave lessons on the piano- 
 forte, went upon the stage as a concert singer and has been for 
 several years a member of church choirs in and around Boston. 
 
 TROMBLY. 
 
 Joseph R. Trombly, b., 1882, in Canada; m. Harriet Demange, b. 
 at Penacook, 1884. They reside at "Dowtown," N., where they have 
 erected new buildings. He is a mill operative. They have one child, 
 Ida M., b. Dec. 14, 1904. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 311 
 
 TRUE. 
 
 Joseph Franklin True was b. in Holderness Aug. 13, 1S27; m., 
 Nov. 11, 1S55, Mary Butler of Sandwich, b. June 23, 1831, and d. in N. 
 June 5, 1901. Mr. True came to N. Nov. 5, 1891, and occupied the 
 Cilley house, where they remained until 1894, when they removed 
 to his present home on Howard Ave. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Charles Lincoln True, b. at Holderness Sept. 13, 18G0, was educated 
 at Sandwich High School and at New Hampton Literary Institute. 
 He studied dentistry in the office of the late G. N. Johnson of Concord 
 and graduated from the Pennsylvania College of Dental Surgery in 
 the class of 1891 with the degree of D. D. S. 
 
 The following summer he bought the dental practice of Dr. E. D. 
 White at Tilton, where he is still located. In July, 1901, he became 
 associated with Edwin D. Forrest, D. D. S., which partnership still 
 exists. He m.. May 2, 1894, Alida M. Cogswell (see Cogswell gen.), and 
 has three children. In 1894 he built a home on Howard Ave. 
 
 He is a member of the present board of education for Union Dis- 
 trict and was one of the board of selectmen in 1903 and 1904. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 :Muriel Louise True, b. Oct. 19, 1897. 
 Foster Cogswell True, b. Nov. 14, 1899. 
 DoBis Mabston True, b. July 9, 1901. 
 
 VEASEY. 
 
 Aakon Veasey came to N. from Gilmanton in 1853. He built the 
 house now owned by Mrs. Susan Hurlburt and the one owned by 
 Mary F. Cofran, He m., Feb. 6, 1850, Maria Oilman of Sanbornton. 
 They had three dau. 
 
 He was in the Civil War (see Boys in Blue), serving in Company D, 
 Fourth Regiment. He returned and sold, removing to New Hampton 
 and, later, to Amherst, with his dau., he and his wife dying there, he, 
 June 21, 1904; she, in 1903. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Annie Veasey, b. at Gilmanton Jan. 5. 1S52: m. Frank Noyes of 
 Amherst, where they now reside. Mr. Noyes has large farming In- 
 terests and is also an extensive lumberman. They had one child, who 
 d. in infancy. 
 
 Clara Veasey, b. at N. June 14, 1855; m. Clifton Tilton of New 
 Hampton, Nov. 2, 1872. They had two children, Ralph and Nellie. 
 Mrs. Tilton d. March 22, 1883. 
 
 Sarah Elizabeth Ve.\sey, b. at N. June 14. 1858; m., Nov. 2, 1SS2, 
 Mead Boynton of Meredith. She d. Feb. 9, 1894. 
 
312 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 WADLEIGH I. 
 
 JoxATiiAX Wadleigh WES b. at Kingston March 2, 1755, O. S. He 
 
 m. Greenough of Canterbury and had one son. He enlisted from 
 
 Hampstead, as did his two brothers, and the three fought side by side 
 at Bunlver Hill. He came soon after to the north fields of Canterbury 
 and bought land on the northwest side of Bean Hill, where he built a 
 log house. He was a brickmaker and the presence of clay suitable 
 for his use probably determined his location. During his absence in N. 
 his wife and child remained with her parents in Canterbury and, 
 when he went to take her to his new home, she was mortally sick 
 and d. soon after. 
 
 In 1776 he brought to the little home a second wife, Abagail East- 
 man of Hampstead. Some two years later he moved down to the 
 Morse place, nearer his brick yard, where she d. July 30, 1794. They 
 had nine children. 
 
 He m. (third), Mrs. Little of Sutton, whose maiden name was 
 Russell, and spent the remainder of his life in Gilmanton. Mr. Wad- 
 leigh was a prominent man in the new town, was a relative of the 
 Morse and Ambrose families, and served a term in the Legislature 
 as representative. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Child of Jonathan and Greenough Wadleigh.) 
 
 Thomas Wadleigh, b. at Kingston Nov. 21, 1774; m., June IG, ISOS, 
 Rachel Gile of N. and had a son. He was bodyguard and clerk for 
 Squire Glidden and always accompanied him, on horseback, as 
 he often carried large sums of money. His name appears on the 
 early records of the town, and he bought the 40-acre school lot on 
 Zion's Hill and other lands. 
 
 (Children of Jonathan and Abagail Eastman Wadleigh.) 
 
 Jonathan Eastman Wadleigh, b. at N. March 17, 1777; m. (pub.), 
 March 28, ISOl, Sally Buswell of Hampstead, and took up his abode 
 there. The birth of five children is duly recorded and he was one of 
 the selectmen in 1S07-'0S. He d. at Concord, Mass., where he was a 
 farmer. He had previously been a hotel keeper at Hampstead and 
 Haverhill. 
 
 Benjamin Wadleigh, b. April 10, 1780; m. Smith, sister of 
 
 David Smith of East N., and removed to Canada. They had a family 
 of children, several of whom were stricken with spotted fever. The 
 neighbors called it the plague and advised a young boy, the only well 
 one in the family, to flee for his life. This he proceeded to do, and 
 came to N. and was the only one to survive. 
 
 Susanna Wadleigh, b. April 13, 1781; m. John Wadleigh, her cousin, 
 and removed to Genesee County, N. Y. She d. at Oxford, 0., Feb. 1, 
 1847. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 313 
 
 Peter Wadleigh, b. at N. April 2, 1779; m., Nov. 18, 1802, (first) , 
 Mrs. Alice Glidden, widow of William Smith, and had two sons and 
 a dau. She had three sons by the previous marriage. (See Smith 
 sen.) 
 
 He m. (second), Mrs. Jane Gorrell, widow of Francis Smith. It 
 is said that he m. two widow Smiths and settled both their estates. 
 Mrs. Wadleigh d. in 1S5S, and he d. Nov. IG, 1S5G. 
 
 He became a judge of the Court of Sessions and was a learned man. 
 He was largely instrumental in the establishment of Merrimack 
 €ounty. His trials were great events and often filled not only the 
 dooryard but the orchard as well. He was a wise and practical man 
 and an honored citizen. 
 
 Ebenezeb Wadleigh, b. July 16, 17S5; m. Huldah Elkins Ewer of 
 Gilmanton and resided there. They cared for his parents in old age. 
 They had two sons, Ebenezer Eastman Wadleigh, Jr., and Curtis 
 Elkins W'adleigh, a posthumous child. He had, it is said, a great 
 desire to go to sea and, his wish not being considered, was not to be 
 found one day when called to dinner. He took a trip to the West 
 Indies and, returning, took his place at the same work he left and 
 answered a similar call as though not a day had intervened. 
 
 Ebenezer Wadleigh d. of malignant erysipelas, as did his youngest 
 sister, Betsey, March 15, 1845. 
 
 Abagail W^\DLEiGir, b. Sept. 6, 1787; m. (pub.), Oct. 14, 1810, John 
 Heath of Hampstead. She resided, after her mother's death in 1794, 
 -with her uncle, Peter Eastman. Mr. Heath d. in 1S5S. She d. Nov. 7, 
 1874. They had five dau. and one son. 
 
 Polly Wadleigh, b. Nov. 1, 1790; m. Jubulah Fullerton of Woodstock, 
 Vt., a jeweler at Buffalo, N. Y. He was pressed into the service in the 
 War of 1812. They were in great peril at the siege of Black Rock 
 and fled the city three days before it was burned, going with her 
 brother-in-law to their home in Vermont. Mr. Fullerton contracted 
 fever while scouting and d. soon after. She returned to N. with two 
 dau. and m. (second), Capt. Isaac Glines. (See Glines gen.) She d., at 
 82 years of age, in the same room where she was b. 
 
 Betsey Wadleigh, b. April 9, 1793; d. at Gilmanton March 13. 1845. 
 She and her brother, Ebenezer, d. the same day. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Child of Thomas and Rachel Gile Wadleigh.) 
 Hobace Wadleigh, b. at N.; m. Sally Wright and resided at Belmont 
 village. They had no children. She d. in 1893 (?) and he d. some 
 two years previously. 
 
 (Children of Peter and Alice Glidden [Smith] Wadleigh.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 Ephk.um S.MITII Wadleigh. b. June 2G, 1803; m.. Nov. 8. 1S23. Mary 
 Elizabeth Smith, b. Sept., 1804. He resided on his father's estate, 
 which has had but two owners. 
 
314 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Mr. Wadleigh was often in the counsels of the town and was its 
 representative in 1845 and 1846, and was very proud to carry in his 
 pocket a bull's-eye watch, which his father and grandfather had 
 carried during previous sessions. He d. June 1, 1SS3. She d. in Sept., 
 1904. 
 
 Mary Wadleigh, b. May 2, 1805; m., March, 1826, John W. Merrill 
 and resided at East N. They removed later to Columbia, where she 
 d. April IS, 1878. He d. there Sept. 2, 1879. They had three children, 
 one of whom, John, resides at Lakeport. 
 
 Charles Joseph Wadleigh, b. Feb. 27, 1816; m., Oct. 19, 1847, Janette 
 Ramsey of Sutton. He was a tinsmith, with a house and shop on 
 Elm St. They had four children, all of whom d. in infancy. He d. 
 at N. Jan. 14, 1864. She removed to New Hampton, where she d. in 
 1902 (?). 
 
 (Child of Ebenezer and Huldah Ewer Wadleigh.) 
 
 Ebexezer Wadleigh, Jr., b. at Gilmanton; m. Elkins and 
 
 had a son, Elkins Wadleigh, a prominent man in Salem, Mass. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 (Children of E. S. and Mary E. Smith Wadleigh.) 
 
 Olive Alice Wadleigh, b. May 24, 1848; m., Jan. 1, 1885, Peter K. 
 Gile of N. (See Gile gen.) They were farmers at Franklin and now 
 reside on the Wadleigh homestead. 
 
 Adelaide Philips Wadleigh, b. Dec. 14, 1855. She is a nurse of 15 
 years' experience in all the New England states. 
 
 SiiiTH Gliddex Wadleigh, b. 1857; m., 18S3, Flora Getchel of 
 Washington, Vt. He conducted a meat business at Tilton for some 
 years, selling out in 1883 to R. M. Couch. He is night watchman at 
 G. H. Tilton's Hosiery Mill. They have three children. (See errata.) 
 
 AxN Elizabeth Wadleigh, b. July, 1861; m., 1888, William J. Sager 
 of Penacook. He has been blind since childhood but in spite of his 
 limitations is a good carpenter, farmer and expert piano tuner. He 
 was educated at Perkins Institute, South Boston, Mass. They have 
 three children: Minnie D.; and Albert S. and George, twins, b. Sept. 
 20, 1890. 
 
 Charlotte B. Wadleigh, b. 1865; m., 1884, James McKeag of Stan- 
 stead, P. Q. They resided for a while at Seattle, Wash., and, later, 
 at Arlington. They had two children, Leland and Mansfred. She d. 
 at N. May 22, 1898. The family now resides at Stanstead. 
 
 Note. — The two brothers who were at Bunker Hill were Thomas and 
 John. The latter joined the Shakers and was a prominent member. 
 He d. at Canterbury April 26, 1852, aged 95. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 315 
 
 WADLEIGH II. 
 
 James Dearborn Wadleigii, b. Feb. S, 1792; m., July 27, 181G, Phebe 
 Chase of Sanbornton, b. Aug. 26, 1793. They resided for some years 
 opposite the old meeting-house at the Centre, in a house erected by 
 Charles Glidden, Esq. After the business there -was removed to San- 
 bornton Bridge, he sold his farm to Elisha Lougee and moved to San- 
 bornton, where he was a carpenter and farmer. In 1S53 or 1854 they 
 removed to Wisconsin, where both d. They had three children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Polly Wadleigii, b. at Sanbornton June 14, 1S17; d.. Oct. 11, 1821. 
 
 Charles James Wadleigii, b. Feb. 8, 1824; m., April 14, 1846, Ann 
 Maria Gage. He was a farmer in Manterville, Minn., and d. Nov. 
 21, 1874. 
 
 Mabexda T. Wadleigii, b. July 26, 1829; m., Aug. 2, 1849, Shadrach 
 T. Smith, a blacksmith in Franklin and, later, in Carson, Minn. 
 
 WATSON I. 
 
 JoHX P. Watsox, b. at Warner April 8, 1837, came from Boscawen 
 to N. about 1872 (?). He m. Sarah A. Watson, b. at Salisbury April 
 5, 1848, and bought the Blaisdell farm, near the Pond schoolhouse. 
 They had three dau., but one of whom was b. at N. 
 
 He was in the employ of the various hosiery mills, taking their goods 
 out to seamers far and near. They suffered the total loss of their 
 farm buildings by fire in 1879. They were worthy. Christian people. 
 He d. at Allenstown Aug. 27, 1901. She now resides in Boscawen. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Etta Watsox, b. at Boscawen; m. Bert Lovejoy of Barrington and 
 had three children. She was, before her marriage, employed at the 
 New Hampshire Insane Asylum. She d. Dec. 31, 1901. 
 
 Emma Watsox, b. at Boscawen, Feb., 1872; m.. May, 1905, Edwin 
 Sawyer, and resides at Mast Yard, Concord. 
 
 Sarah E. L. Watsox, b. at N. Nov., 1884; m., Sept., 1904, Willie 
 Davis of N. They reside on the Watson homestead. 
 
 WATSON II. 
 
 John S. Watson came from Scotland to N., July, 1SS3. He was b. 
 at Galashiels. Dec. 16, 1853. He m., March 15, 1881. Elizabeth Ander- 
 son, b. at Galashiels, April 26. 1859. He was a machinist in his native 
 country. He is employed at the Tilton Woolen Mills. They have two 
 children. 
 
316 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Andrew Smeil Watsox, b. at Yonkers, N. Y., Feb. 15, 18S2; d. at 
 N. Jan. 10, 1891. 
 
 Sophia Andersox Watsox, b. at N. June 27, 1SS7, resides with her 
 parents and is a member of the sophomore class of Tilton Seminary. 
 
 WATTS. 
 
 JoHX M. Watts came to N. from Concord in 1879 and established a 
 stone cutting business below the freight depot. He put in place the 
 stone watering troughs, set milestones and assisted in the erection of 
 the Tilton memorial arch and the library building. His health fail- 
 ing, he sold out to Mr. Laws of Concord and removed to a farm in 
 Franklin, where he d. in Sept., 1885. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Paul Watts is in the employ of the United States as rural delivery 
 clerk at Franklin Falls. 
 
 Florexce M. Watts resides in Wilkesbarre, Pa. 
 Marion Watts lives at Franklin Falls. 
 
 Vv^ALDO. 
 
 JoHX Waldo came to N. from Northwood. He was a carpenter and 
 came to erect a dwelling house for A. J. and J. J. Pillsbury. 
 
 After a few years' stay, during which he represented the town in 
 the Legislature of 188S--'S9, he returned to Northwood. 
 
 He d. at the Margaret Pillsbury Hospital, Concord, Feb., 1905. 
 His wife, Sarah Angeline Winslow, d. at Northwood two weeks later. 
 
 WEBBER. 
 
 Jacob Webber resided on the western slope of Bean Hill below the 
 Joseph Kimball home. The buildings long since disappeared. They 
 were small farmers. Their land was rocky and cold but they were 
 quiet, contented. Christian people, who kept the Sabbath and were 
 constant attendants at church. No approaching shower could excuse 
 his neighbors' wickedness in gathering their well-dried hay on the 
 Lord's Day. His cattle were the Lord's and if he sent rain to spoil 
 their sustenance "he was n't going to fuss about it." He exchanged his 
 farm, a few years later, with Rev. Benjamin Bishop of Starksboi'O, a 
 Baptist clergyman, and went there to live. He had a wife and one 
 son. Mrs. Webber d. soon after their removal and he returned and m. 
 Polly Cilley, his aforetime neighbor. They kept a wayside inn for 
 many years. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 317 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 David Webber m. Emily Buswell Abbott of N. and removed to 
 Starksboro. After some years he went to Campton, where she d., as 
 did their two children. He remarried and now resides in Plymouth. 
 
 WELLS. 
 
 Nathan Wells was b. at N. Dec. 14, 1798. He m., Nov. 7, 1828, 
 Jane Smith, b. at N. Jan. 25, 1799. They resided for many years in 
 East N. on the farm now owned by Thomas Payson, and the children 
 were b. there. He removed to Lawrence, Mass., when the city was in 
 its infancy and was prominent in its councils, being its postmaster 
 for many years. He d. there in 1878 and his wife d. in 1887. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Francis Wells, b. Sept. 17, 1829, was a machinist in Lawrence, 
 Mass., where he sacrificed his life to his business and d. of con- 
 sumption Aug. 9, 1869. 
 
 Nathan Dana Wells, b. July 17, 1831, was educated in the Law- 
 rence, Mass., public schools and Yale College, and later studied law. 
 He began practice in New York City, with his home in Brooklyn, 
 where he d. Oct. 3, 1902. His wife, Sarah Scholly, d. June 29, 1904. 
 They had a dau., Margaret, and a son, Dana, who fills a chair in 
 Columbia College. 
 
 Mary Jane Wells, b. March 27, 1833, graduated from the Lawrence 
 High School and was a teacher there for many years. She d. in 1887. 
 
 Charles Henry Wells, b. Jan. 31, 1836; d., Nov. 22, 1847. 
 
 Betsey Ann Wells, b. Feb. 13, 1838; d., April 24, 1853. 
 
 WEEKS. 
 
 George F. Weeks came from Gilford to Bean Hill in 1876. He 
 bought the Cofran farm, rebuilt the buildings and was a successful 
 farmer for 15 years. He then purchased the home of John Fletcher 
 on Bay St., where he conducted a meat business until his death. May 5, 
 1897. He m. Abby Shaw of Salisbury, who, with her sister. Mrs. 
 Anna Prince, still resides at the home. Mr. and Mrs. Weeks were 
 active in church work and were devoted members of the Congrega- 
 tional Church. Mr. Weeks was a selectman of the town for several 
 terms and held other important trusts. 
 
 Charles H. Weeks, brother of the above, was b. at Gilford April 2. 
 1830; m. (second), Mary J. Quimby of Hill. b. Nov. 30. 1848. They 
 came to N. Oct. 21, 1898, he dying here Dec. 21. 1901. They had two 
 children. 
 
318 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (Children of Charles H. and Mary Quimby Weeks.) 
 (B. at West Thornton.) 
 
 TixA May Weeks, b. March 4, 1875; m., Sept. 21, 1S93, Ellis J. 
 Bradley, b. at Bridgewater Sept. 21, 1873. They purchased the B. F, 
 Cofran place and have three children: Maurice W., b. 1896; Esther A., 
 b. 1899; and Marion E., b. 1903. 
 
 Charles G. Weeks, b. May IG, 1881; d., Feb. 28, 1883. 
 
 WEDGEWOOD. 
 
 Jekejiiah WEDGE^A"OOD's name appears first on the N. tax list in 1809. 
 
 He lived near the Haines place, in the east part of the town. He 
 was a farmer and cabinet maker and manufactured the old-fashioned 
 round tables. The house disappeared long ago but the road passing it 
 is still called the Wedgewood road. He was a religious man and what 
 was lacking in matter, in his long, drawn-out exhortations, was more 
 than made up in manner, which was an even mixture of nasal twang 
 and sing-song drawl. I can find no data of births, deaths or family, 
 but he long since learned to sing the "new song." His name dropped 
 from the tax lists in 1826 and his estate the next year was taxed to 
 Ziporah Wedgewood of Canterbury, probably his wife. 
 
 WEYMOUTH. 
 
 George W. Weymouth, b. at Upper Gilmanton; m. Sarah Norris of 
 the same town, and had three children. In 1852 they came to N. and 
 lived on the Daniel Hills farm for several years. In 1870 they re- 
 turned to their native town where he d. Sept. 20, 1889, and his wife 
 d. Sept. 22, 1894. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Laukinda Weymouth, b. July 11, 1835; d., Oct. 19, 1854. 
 
 Wobcestee Weymouth, b. Sept. 28, 1837, was educated at the New 
 Hampshire Conference Seminary at Sanbornton Bridge and later was 
 employed by J. C. Norris & Co., bakers and confectioners, in Concord. 
 He was a fine tenor singer and sang in church choirs for many years. 
 He d. at East Cambridge, Mass., while on a visit to his sister, Feb. 
 11, 1869. 
 
 Abminda Weymouth, b. May 11, 1841; m., Oct. 3, 1866, Thomas R. 
 Gushing of East Cambridge, Mass., where they resided for several 
 years, later removing to Belmont, where they now reside. They had 
 four children: Amy, George W., Charlotte and Sarah. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 319 
 
 WHEELER. 
 
 Thomas C. Wheeler was b. in Pembroke In 180S and d. at N. In 
 1894. He owned the Chauncy Garvin place in East N. She still re- 
 sides in town. He had one son. George, who inherited the home place. 
 
 WHITCHER. 
 
 Daniel Whitcher, called "Shingle Weaver," lived in the east part of 
 the town, near the town farm, also on the Colony, and had a family of 
 four children. Belinda m. James Dearborn. Two younger girls, 
 Judith and Julia Ann, worked in the Lowell Mills and there m. 
 
 IBA Whitcher, b. at N.; m. Sally J. Arlin and had a large family of 
 girls and boys, two of whom were with him in the Civil War. None 
 of this family have lived in town for many years. After his death 
 she m., March 31, 1S75, Charles F. Hicks, and removed to Milwaukee, 
 where she d. 
 
 Ira Whitcher had a brother, Warren, and two sisters, Artemesia and 
 Julia Ann. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 George Ira Whitcher m., Aug. 9, 1857, Lucy Ann Brett of Bradford. 
 He was in the Civil War and was credited to Sanbornton. (See Boys 
 in Blue.) 
 
 Jlxia Axx Whitcher. b. 1841; m. Benjamin W. Weeks and d. at 
 N. May 31, 1890. She had two children one of whom, Fred, m. Mary 
 Avery. (See Avery gen.) 
 
 Eliza Whitcher m. Buzzell Johnson and resided at Tilton. 
 
 WHIDDEN. 
 
 The farm owned for many years by the Evans family on Bean Hill 
 was sold about 1829 to Nathaniel Huckins. He m. Irene Pollard of 
 Hudson, b. 1805, and d. soon after, leaving it to her. She m.. May 
 21, 1832, William Pitts Whidden, her uncle by marriage, who came 
 there to reside. They had two children. 
 
 Seventeen years later he sold to Samuel Libby of Bow and moved 
 to Hills St. Some years later he erected a new home nearer the vil- 
 lage, now owned by Joseph C. Wyatt, where she d. May 5. 1SG2. 
 
 He m. (second), March 4, 18G3, Mrs. Mary P. Chase and removed to 
 Tilton, where she d. He d. in N. Nov. 28, 188S. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Amaxda Axx Whirdex, b. 1832; d.. Dec. 18, 1S40. 
 Oriette p. Whiudex. b. March 29, 183G; m., March 2, ISGl. Henry 
 T. Hills of N. (See Hills gen.) 
 
320 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 WHITTIER. 
 
 Isaac Whittier. fourth son of Joshua and Abagail Farrington Whit- 
 tier, was b. at Londonderry May 25, ISOO. He m., Nov. 1, 1827, Fannie 
 Parker McQuesten of Londonderry, and settled as a merchant in Goffs- 
 town, where three of the eight children were b. Later they resided 
 at Union Bridge, now East Tilton, where they spent some five years. 
 On his coming to N. he purchased the Molony residence and commenced 
 trade in a long building, with wooden shutters, where the store of 
 Northfield Grocery Co. now stands. He was postmaster after the office 
 at the Centre was discontinued, and kept a country store, groceries, 
 dry goods and notions in great variety. They were constant attend- 
 ants at the Congregational Church, of which both were members. He 
 served the town as its clerk for a long term of years. He d. Nov. 16, 
 1878. She d. at Dracut Feb. 7, 1SS2, aged 7G. She was a lovely. 
 Christian woman. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Nyra Frances Whittier, b. at Goffstown July 19, 1829; m., Feb. 26, 
 1851, Joseph S. Woods of Lebanon. They purchased the Lyford place 
 on Zion's Hill, where he added to farming the raising of stock horses, 
 in which he dealt largely. He later returned to Lebanon. They had one 
 dau., Lizzie Florence. They both d. at Lebanon. She d. Nov. 4, 1900. 
 
 Isaac Newton Whittier, b. at Goffstown Dec. 14, 1831, inherited his 
 grandfather's love of the sea and was killed on his vessel at the 
 time of the French War. Young Whittier went to sea when a boy and 
 became second mate on a sailing vessel. He never returned and the 
 date of his death is unknown. 
 
 Daniel Brainard Whittier, b. at Goffstown Oct. 21, 1834; m., Oct. 
 14, 1858, Mary Chamberlain of Sanbornton Bridge. (See Physicians 
 of N. and Boys in Blue, with portrait.) 
 
 William C. Whittier, b. at Union Bridge April 15, 1836. His service 
 for his country constituted his life work. (See Boys in Blue.) He 
 d. at Fitchburg, Mass., Oct. 9, 18G5. 
 
 Mary Lizzie Whittier, b. at Union Bridge March 31, 183S; m.^ 
 Dec. 25, 1865, Calvin Richardson of Dracut, where they now reside. 
 She was educated at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and 
 for two years later was a pupil of Professor Weed of Tilden Female 
 Seminary at West Lebanon. They had two children, Florette and 
 Fannie, both of whom d. in childhood. 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. Richardson are zealous in every good work and were 
 largely helpful in the rebuilding and beautifying of the Central Con- 
 gregational Church and the erection of a grange hall while he was its 
 worthy master. The Dracut Public Library has also shared in their 
 benefactions and labors. In 1SS9 they spent a year on the Pacific 
 coast, passing from Seattle to San Diego, with stops in every city of 
 importance by the way, in the course of which her well-written let- 
 ters to the Lowell papers attracted considerable attention and favor- 
 able mention. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 321 
 
 Sakah Tiltox Whittier, b. at N. Sept. 23, 1S31; m., Sept. 4, 18C7, 
 Charles Richardson of Dracut. Mass., and resides in San Diego, Cal! 
 They have two dau., Lilla Gertrude and Fannie May, who reside at 
 San Diego. 
 
 CoRBAX Ctjktice Wiiittier. b. at N. Aug. 12, 1843; m., Jan. IG. isC9, 
 Lizzie M. Haines of Franklin, b. May 25, 1847. (See Haines III gen.) 
 She d. at Franklin May 12, 1874. He m. (second). Nellie Thompson 
 of Laconia, Aug. 30, 1880, is a farmer and resides at Meredith. 
 
 Mark Woodbury AViiittier, b. at N. Sept. 7, 1849; d. at Meredith 
 Jan. 10, 1891. 
 
 WHICHER. 
 
 The Whichers came to N. very early in the history of the town and 
 settled on the 100-acre lots, Nos. 18, 19, 26 and 54. The two former now 
 comprise the estate of F. B. Shedd and the latter two the farms of 
 Clarence W. and Reuben Whicher. Mr. Hunt says: "Nathaniel, the 
 first settler, bought 500 acres around and near Chestnut Pond, which 
 he gave to his four sons, William, Reuben, Benjamin and Jonathan." 
 He also says: "Mr. Joseph Knowles bought his farm of Mr. Whicher 
 for a two-year-old heifer." 
 
 Mr. Whicher was b. in Stratham Nov. 30, 1751; m., June 4, 1773, 
 Sarah Harvey, b. at Nottingham April 11, 1748. She d. at N. May 
 10, 1839. He d. Dec. 30, 1810. They had other children, who re- 
 mained behind. A description of their entry into the town is thus 
 given: Mrs. Whicher rode on horseback, carrying her child, while he 
 proceeded on foot, driving a yoke of oxen, with an axe on his shoulder. 
 Another record credits them with eight children. He d. at 59 years of 
 age. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Sarah Whicher, b. May 20, 1774; d., unmarried, at N. 
 
 Bexj.\mix Whicher was the first settler on Shaker Hill, Canterbury, 
 where he built a small house, that has been enlarged in height and 
 width and is now the church building. He m. and had two sons, one 
 of whom, Benjamin W., became a Shaker elder. 
 
 Ab.\o.\il Whicher, b. March 30, 1778. 
 
 Grace Whicher. b. May 25, 1780. 
 
 Nancy Whicher, b. Jan 24, 17S2; m. John Gilman. (See Oilman 
 gen.) 
 
 Nathaniel Whicher, Jr., b. Aug. IS, 1784; m. Evans and had 
 
 three dau. 
 
 Mathew Whicher, Jb., b. Aug. 27, 1788. 
 
 Mary (Polly) Whicher, b. Aug. 23. 1792; m., Aug. 29, ISll, Joshua 
 Mathes of Canterbury. She d. at Columbia Dec. 5. 1861. He d. In 
 June, 1852. They had seven children: James M.. John. Elijah. Sarah. 
 Julia, Israel and Gideon. 
 21 
 
322 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Oli\-e S. Wiiiciier, b. Feb. 12, 1795; m. Charles Gilman. (See Gil- 
 man gen.) 
 
 Jonathan Whichee, b. 1781; m. Annie Pike and settled at Franklin. 
 He d. March 22, 1851. She d. Dec. 29, 1870, and they are both buried 
 back of the academy at Franklin. They had seven children. 
 
 Jane Peeky Whicher, b. Feb. 6, 1787; m. Samuel Clough. (See 
 Clough gen.) 
 
 William Whichee, b. at Nottingham in 1757; m. Polly Elliott of 
 Nottingham and had four children. He m. (second), Hannah Sanborn, 
 b. 1767, and had 10 children. She d. Oct. 17, 1837. 
 
 Benjamin Whichee, Je., b. June 26, 1776; m. Katherine Cole of 
 Bradford, Mass., b. May 18, 1779. They lived on the Shedd place and 
 had 10 children. Mr. Whicher, with utter disregard of fatherly 
 duties, "folded his tent like the Arabs and quietly stole away," leaving 
 his houseful of children and small means to his inefllcient wife, who 
 could read, write and sing better than she could care for her numerous 
 family. With hardly an exception, they became inmates of good homes 
 and were worthy members of society. Two of the dau. held high 
 offices in the Shaker Community, where the mother d. 
 
 (Children of William and Polly Elliott Whicher.) 
 
 Jonathan Whichee, Je., m. Tamar Sawyer, dau. of Jotham, who 
 lived on the Rand place. He d. instantly March 22, 1850. 
 
 David Whicher removed to Newburyport, Mass., when a young man. 
 
 Polly Whichee m. Isaac Waldron of Strafford and lived and d. 
 there. They had three sons, Daniel, Horace and William, and two 
 dau. 
 
 William Whichee, b. Oct. 17, 1837; m. Avery and removed 
 
 to Epping. They had four children: Jonathan, Joseph, Caleb and 
 Susan. 
 
 (Children by second wife.) 
 
 John Whichee m. Relief Field and resided in Quincy, Mass. He was 
 a stone cutter and lost an eye. 
 
 Mathew Whichee, b. 1789; m. (first), Dec. 22, 1814, Olive Batchelder, 
 and had eight children. She d. Aug. 5, 1833. He m. (second), (pub.), 
 Aug. 27, 1835, Mrs. Sophie Sanborn of Gilmanton. They resided in 
 the Dr. Clark house by the brick church and both d. there. He d. 
 June 10, 1867. 
 
 Reuben Whichee, b. at Nottingham, lived first on the Shedd farm 
 but removed later to near the Gilmanton line. He m. Dorothy Osgood 
 and had five children. He d. Nov., 1869. She d. Jan. 18, 1870. He was 
 a brick mason, blacksmith and stone mason. He was a brother of 
 Mathew. 
 
 Reuben Whichee, b. 1794; m. Dorothy Osgood, b. at Loudon in 1791. 
 He was a blacksmith and a stone and brick mason. He d. Nov., 1869. 
 She d. Jan. 18, 1871. 
 
 Benjamin Whicher, b. 1803, always remained an invalid in the 
 home, where he d. Feb. 22, 1867. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 323 
 
 Horace Whiciier, d. March 3, 1833, at Quincy, Mass. 
 Jane Whiciier m. Joseph Cofran. (See Cofran gen.) 
 Pamelia Whiciier m. John Mathes of Canterbury, Dec. 24, 1792. 
 
 She d. Sept. 12, 1821. They had one son, Horace W. Mr Mathes 
 
 d. July 30, 18G9. 
 
 Betsey Whicher m., March 9, 1819, John Johnson. (See Johnson 
 gen.) 
 
 Anx Whicher, b. March 5, 1805; m. Hazen Cross of Sanbornton 
 Bridge, Dec. 23, 1851. She d. Aug. 9, 18G5. 
 Axnah Whicher d. at Franklin, unmarried, at C5 years of age. 
 (Children of Jonathan and Tamar Sawyer Whicher.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Sarah B. Whicher. b. 1810, lived and d. in the home at East N. at 
 81 years, Jan. 20, 1892. She was unmarried. 
 
 Mary Axn Whicher, b. July 15, 1812; d., Jan. 28, 1817. 
 
 Eliza Jane Whicher, b. March 13, 1815; d., March 30, 1893. 
 
 Sherburxe S. Whicher, b. Oct. 7, 1817; d., Nov. 17, 1848. 
 
 Bex.tamix S. Whicher, b. Oct. 20, 1819; m. Polly Elkins of Andover 
 and had one dau., Ellen. He d., April 1, 1868, in Iowa. She d. at the 
 State Hospital in Concord. 
 
 William Elliott Whicher. b. Sept. 4, 1822; m. Betsey Morrill of 
 Canterbury and had three children. 
 
 Rettbex S. Whicher. b. July 9, 1825. He resides on the home farm 
 and is unmarried. This farm has always been noted for its cheese 
 dairy, large quantities being sent during the life of his mother and 
 sisters to the Boston trade. The farm is still producing butter for 
 special customers. 
 
 (Children of Reuben and Dorothy Osgood Whicher.) 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Clarissa Whicher m., April 27, 1842, Albert Gorrell of N. (See 
 Gorrell gen.) 
 
 JoHX M. Whicher. b. June 22, 1S17; m.. Nov. 19. 1840. Asenath At- 
 kinson, b. March 16, 1817, and had three children. He d. at N. June 
 14, 1889. He represented the town in the Legislature of 1878 and 
 held the office of selectman. He was peculiar in his diet, never tasting 
 fish, flesh or fowl. 
 
 Horace Whiciier m. Mary Bradley of Canterbury and resided at La- 
 conia, where he was an expressman. They had two children. Mr. 
 and Mrs. Whicher both d. at Laconia. 
 
 Abbie Whicher m. John Young of Canterbury and removed to 
 Brookfield, Mass. She d. at Plymouth in 1903. He still resides at 
 Brookfield. They had a son, Fred, who d. in 1897. 
 
 Mary Jaxe Whicher m. Otis Young and removed to Plymouth, where 
 she d. after a long sickness, a helpless invalid. 
 
324 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 
 
 Third Generation. 
 (Children of Benjamin and Katherine Cole Whicher.) 
 
 Louisa Whicher, b. Jan. 31, 1S03. 
 
 Cynthia Whicher, b. June 2, 1804. 
 
 Bexjamix Harvey Whicher, b. Jan. 4, 1806. 
 
 Tryphexe Wpiicher, b. March 27, 1807, went, when a child, to the 
 Shakers to live, dying in that community, in which she held high 
 oflacial rank. 
 
 Martix Luther Whicher, b. July 12, 1808. 
 
 Calvix Whicher, b. Oct. 26, 1809, was the victim of untoward cir- 
 cumstances. He d. at the town farm May 15, 1864. 
 
 Marcus Aurelius Whicher, b. April 2, 1811. 
 
 Fraxklix Whicher, b. Feb. 2, 1813. 
 
 Cathekixe Whicher, b. 1814, resided with the Shakers. 
 
 SusAX Hill Whicher, b. May 4, 1818. She was one of the leaders 
 of the midde family of Shakers and d. in their village June 16, 1847. 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Matthew and Olive Batchelder Whicher.) 
 
 Olive Whichee, b. July 7, 1813; m. Charles Gilman of Bay Hill. 
 (See Gilman gen.) She d. in Aug., 1848. 
 
 Joseph B. Whicher, b. Oct. 1, 1815, was a stone worker in Quincy. 
 He became a contractor and was killed by a falling board while 
 supervising the construction of of a block. He had a dau., now Mrs. 
 Mary Elizabeth Lamsou of Lowell, Mass. 
 
 Elizabeth Axx Whicher, b. April 7, 1817, was a dressmaker at home. 
 She went to care for her sick brother and contracted fever, from 
 which she d. Nov. 12, 1847. 
 
 Napoleon Boxaparte Whicher, b. Sept. 26, 1822, was a private 
 pupil of Prof. Dyer H. Sanborn. He was a teacher in Quincy, Mass., 
 where he d. 
 
 William Warrex Whicher, b. Oct. 5, 1824; m. Fannie White. He 
 contracted fever, from which he never fully recovered. He returned 
 home and d. at N. in 1847. They had two sons, Oscar and Frank, 
 both of Boston. 
 
 Pamelia Whicher, b. 1828; d., March 28, 1847. 
 
 Julia A. Whicher, b. 1832, graduated from the New Hampshire 
 Conference Seminary, became insane and d. at the New Hampshire 
 State Hospital March 25, 1885. 
 
 (Children of John and Asenath Atkinson Whicher.) 
 
 Adelia Whicher, b. Feb. 16, 1843; m., Sept. 4, 1866, Charles Knowles 
 of Belmont, and d. there in 1894. 
 
 Clarence Waterman Whicher, b. Dec. 26, 1847; m., Oct. 27, 1869, 
 Abbie Lyford of Canterbury. She d. Sept. 18, 1880. They had one 
 child, who d. in infancy. He m. (second), March 4, 1882, Francena 
 
GENEALOGIES. ;-i2') 
 
 Brown of Raymond, and has two sons. Mr. and Mrs. Whii her conduct 
 a popular summer resort, called Maple Cottage. 
 ExiiELiaXDA WiiiciiER, b. Jan., 1859; d.. May 5, 1SC2. 
 
 Fifth generation. 
 
 Fred C. Whitciier, b. Feb. IG, 1S83. 
 Harold Whicher, b. Jan. 22, 1893. 
 
 ']^'^ WILLIAMS. • 
 
 William William^ and his wife, Elizabeth Hills, came from Durham 
 to N. in 1761, and settled somewhere near the Wadleighs on Bay 
 Hill. They were guided only by spotted trees, as there were no 
 roads. 
 
 This land he exchanged for a home on the main road, below the 
 meeting-house, and erected a one-story house, which was the home 
 of Amos Hannaford for many years. The burying ground below and 
 the brook above have always been called by his name. 
 
 When the old meeting-house was built it was voted to place it 
 half way between William Williams' and the Scunduggody Brook. 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. Williams had five children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Elizabeth Williams m. William Glines of Andover, who ran the 
 Hancock Mill on the Holmes dam in the north fields of Canterbury, 
 and who was called Miller Glines. (See Glines gen.) 
 
 John Williams went into the army and d., unmarried, soon after 
 his return. 
 
 William Williams, 2d., was instantly killed by his brother's side 
 in a battle during the Revolutionary War. i 
 
 Katherine Williams m. Boynton. - ^ 
 
 S.A.RAn Williams, b. 1759; m. George Hancock, b. 1749, whose 
 parents were Jacob and Elizabeth Kezar Hancock. She was always 
 sure she could remember the journey to N.. although she was only 
 two years old. Her uncle, Samuel Hills, brought her on his horse. 
 (See Hancock gen.) She d. Jan. 14, 1800, having been a widow 
 for GO years. They had eight children and resided on what was later 
 the Gerrish farms in West N. 
 
 WINSLOW. 
 
 Benjamin- Winslow came to N. from Loudon. He bought his farm 
 In 1813 and was m. to Betsey French in April, 1814. His friends 
 were residents of Maine and were shipbuilders. He had assisted 
 them and followed the sea for three years. He erected a home on the 
 main road and opened a tavern. The freighting was then a'! ''->'>.■ by 
 
326 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 teams often with oxen, and men and beasts needed food and lodging 
 on the route. They also boarded the relay horses for the daily stages. 
 They were religious people, at first being Freewill Baptists, but, later, 
 becoming Methodists. He was a class leader. They spent their 
 whole lives here. She d. April 25, ISGO. A sister, Sarah, m. Elias 
 Abbott as his second wife, Aug. 29, 1826, and another sister, Hannah, 
 m., June 28, 1817, Samuel Jackman. Benjamin Winslow had five 
 children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Moses F. Winslow, b. March 21, ISIG; m.. May 1, 1842, Irena B. 
 Phelps of Oak Hill, and lived on a part of the home farm. He was a 
 diligent farmer and a zealous Methodist, being a class leader for 
 more than 40 years. She d. Aug. 17, 1890. 
 
 Darius Winslow, b. May 28, 1819; m., 1843, Hannah Haines, a 
 neighbor. He was a teamster to and from Portsmouth. He d. of 
 typhoid fever, Sept. 12, 1846, leaving a dau., Ella H. (See Haines 
 gen.) The newly-erected home was removed whole to the vicinity 
 of Sanbornton Bridge and became the home of Dr. Woodbury and, 
 later, of Dr. Parsons Whidden. 
 
 John Stevens Winslow, b. June 30, 1821; m., (first), Sept. 7, 1848, 
 Caroline Augusta Plummer, and had one son, Benjamin A. She d. 
 July 31, 1882. He m. (second), Elizabeth J. Smith of N. 
 
 From her girlhood until well past middle age, her time and ener- 
 gies went to the care of her declining parents and also to the estate, 
 which became hers at their death and which she still owns. It has 
 been in the family name since its first settlement. The Winslow 
 farm also bears the same distinction. As a young man, Mr. Winslow 
 was a school teacher and has held almost every office in the gift of 
 the town. He has been many times one of the board of selectmen. 
 He held that office with James N. Forrest in 1855 and with him again 
 in 1881, just 26 years intervening. 
 
 Lucia Ann J. Winslow, b. April 15, 1826; d.. May, 1847. 
 
 Mary Stevens Winslow, b. March 18, 1824; m., Sept. 7, 1855, William 
 S. Plummer, a farmer on the Merrimack intervale. She was educated 
 at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and was a faithful 
 teacher. (See Plummer gen.) 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 (Child of Darius and Hannah Haines Winslow.) 
 
 Ella H. Winslow, b. at N. June 1, 1846; m. W. H. C. Follansby of 
 Exeter, b. at N. (See Follansby gen.) 
 
 (Child of John S. and Caroline Plummer Winslow.) 
 
 Benjamin A. Winslow, b. at N. Feb. 16, 1852; m., Feb. 15, 1873, 
 Ella Maria Elkins of Laconia. They reside on the homestead and 
 he has been for many years the versatile "Down River" correspondent 
 of the Laconia Democrat. He is also a general farmer and a dealer 
 
GENEALOGIES. 327 
 
 in agricultural implements. He was educated at the New Hampshire 
 Conference Seminary and both he and Mrs. Winslow are quite musi- 
 cal. 
 
 WILKINS. 
 
 David Patten Wilkins was b. at Bradford May 20. 1817. He m. 
 (second), Georgianna B. Howard, b. at Hillsborough Aug. 9, 1841. 
 They resided in Medford, Mass., where he was a ship carpenter. The 
 business declining, he became a house builder. They came to N. in 
 1878 and resided for five years on the Alvah Hannaford place, re- 
 moving later to the brick house by the town hall. They returned to 
 Medford in ISSG. He had three sons by a former wife, but one of 
 whom claims a place in N. history. They had two dau. He d. at Med- 
 ford July 4, 1900. She still resides there. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (B. at Medford.) 
 
 James M. Wilkins. b. 1845 at Medford, Mass.; m., at San Franci.sco, 
 Cal., July, ISGS, Maria Swett Hannaford of N. (See Hannaford gen.) 
 She d. at Tucson, Ariz., 1883. 
 
 Georgie Isabelle Wilkixs, b. June 4, 1872, is a bookkeeper and 
 stenographer in Boston. 
 
 Stella Florence Wilkixs, b. Oct. 13, 1874, is employed in the office 
 of the Boston & Maine Railroad as stenographer. 
 
 WOODBURY. 
 
 JosiAii Ambrose Woodbury came to N. to live with his uncle, Josiah 
 Ambrose (see Ambrose gen.), when 10 years old. 
 
 He developed a mechanical turn of mind and eagerly seized upon 
 the little water power at the outlet of Chestnut Pond and was busily 
 at work with his plans for its development when he was drafted and 
 assigned to military duty at Portsmouth during the Revolutionary 
 War. After his return he built a house near his uncle's and ra.. Oct. 
 29, 1820, Polly Knowles, his schoolmate and neighbor. He built a 
 threshing mill on the little stream, in which his inventive genius was 
 shown in the construction of fans and blowers, which had never been 
 thought of before. In fact. Mr. Woodbury's threshing machine was the 
 talk of the town. They had two dau. and a son. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 M.vRY Woodbury, b. at N.. 1S21; m., 1S44, Charles Alonzo Glle of 
 Bean Hill. She was educated as a private pupil of Rev. Enoch Corser 
 and was a teacher. (See Gile gen.) 
 
 Cyrene K. Woodbury, b. 1827: m., March 1, 1SC3, Daniel Sanlwrn 
 of Sanbornton. They were farmers on his father's homestead. She 
 
328 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 was educated at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary. She d. 
 of cancer March 1, 1896. He d. Nov. 24, 1902. 
 
 William Woodbuky, b. 1829; m. (first), 1856, Lucy Ann Kimball of 
 N. They resided for some years on Christian Lane, near the reser- 
 voir, going later to Newport, where he dealt in wood and coal. She 
 d. at Napa, Cal., in 1892. He m. (second), Mrs. Elizabeth Kimball Hall, 
 who survives him at Napa. He has one dau. by his first wife, Mrs. 
 Lizzie W. Pollard of Newport. 
 
 WOODWARD. 
 
 Dakiel S. Woodward, son of Daniel, a soldier in the War of 1812 
 one year under Coloned Davis, came to N. Factory Village in 18.52. 
 He m. Dorcas Adams of Salisbury and for several years kept the 
 old Austin Hotel and boarding house. He had previously resided 
 at Penacook. Mrs. Woodward d. at N. March 10, 1877. He later re- 
 moved to Hill. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Elizabeth Woodwakd, b. at Salisbury Sept. 22, 1828; d., Dec. 23, 
 1876. 
 
 Hannah Woodwakd, b. Nov. 1, 1830. 
 
 Phebe Woodwakd, b. Jan. 7, 1832, resided in Hill. 
 
 Daniel R. Woodward, b. April 10, 1833. 
 
 Stephen Woodward, ta. at Salisbury Aug. 22, 1834. 
 
 Alvira a. Woodward, b. at Salisbury May 22, 1836. 
 
 Dorcas Woodward, b. Feb. 22, 1838. 
 
 Diana Woodward, b. Sept. 22, 1839. (See Morrill and Roberts 
 gens.) 
 
 PatjLINE Woodward, b. Aug., 1842; d., 1844. 
 
 Frank R. Woodward, b. at N. Feb. 9, 1845. 
 
 WYATT. 
 
 John Wyatt m. Mary Badger Dec. 15, 1700. He d. Nov., 1783. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Samuel Wyatt m. (first), Mehitabel Jewett and had nine children. 
 He m. (second), July 27, 175G, Judith Chase Greenough. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Chase Wyatt, b. at Newburyport, Mass., 1758; m. (first), Polly, 
 dau. of John and Judith De More Colby of Sandown. Nine children 
 were b. there. They removed to Sanbornton in 1809, settling on a 
 part of Lot No.' 78, second division, now owned by his grandson, 
 George Colby Wyatt. He m. (second), Dec, 1823, Sarah Morse of N., 
 and d. July 28, 1846. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 329 
 
 Fourth Generation. 
 
 Samuel Wyatt, b. Oct. 10, 1789; m. Comfort Fernald of Lourlon 
 and settled in N. on what was called the Young lot, below Zion's Hill. 
 He was familiarly known as "Uncle Sam." He was a farmer. She 
 d. July 27, 1860. They had one dau. He m. (second). Nov.. 1800, 
 Rachel Heath of Canterbury, who d. Nov. 8, 1871. Mr. Wyatt d. 
 Dec. 11, 1874. 
 
 Thomas Cuase Wyatt, b. April IS, 1793; m. Olive Eaton of San- 
 bornton, and settled as a farmer on the adjoining farm, now owned 
 by Frank Peverly, and d. there. One dau., Polly, d. in infancy. 
 
 De More Wyatt, b. May 9, 1795; m., March 24, 1825. Betsey Clement 
 of Haverhill, b. May 16, 1803. He settled in N. on Christian Lane, where 
 he was an Industrious farmer. They removed to their son's home in 
 Tilton in their old age and there passed the sunset of life. She d. 
 March 23, 1873. He d. Jan. 1, 1876. He had been a most exemplary 
 professor of religion and was an active member of the Methodist Church 
 for 40 years. They had four sons. 
 
 Nathan Wyatt and Edwakd Wyatt were both farmers in San- 
 
 bornton, the former in the vicinity of Shaker Bridge. He m. 
 
 Clark and had four sons one of whom has been long a resident of 
 N. The latter resided near Franklin and had one dau., who m. and 
 resided in N. (See Cross gen.) 
 
 Judith Wyatt, b. Dec. 15, 1796; m. Jacob Hancock, a farmer on the 
 Gerrish road. (See Hancock gen.) 
 
 Betsey Wyatt, b. June 16, 1798; m., 1830, Ebenezer Moody of Bos- 
 cawen, and (second), Samuel Chandler of Fisherville (Penacook). 
 Her eldest dau., Nellie, came to N. as the wife of Wesley Glines. (See 
 Glines gen.) 
 
 Dorothy Wyatt, b. June 24, 1803; m. Daniel Titcomb of Thetford. 
 Vt. She m. (second), Asel Canfield as his fourth wife. A son. Albert 
 Titcomb, has resided in town for many years. He m. Clara Roby 
 and lives on Zion's Hill. 
 
 Chase Wyatt, b. July 12, 1803, was thrice m. He m. (first). May. 
 1845, Betsey Lyford of Canterbury. They had a dau.. Betsey, who d. in 
 infancy. He m. (second), June 4, 1846, Anna Lyford. sister of the 
 first wife. She d. in 1847. His third wife was Nancy Cogswell, aunt 
 of his former wives, whom he m. in Dec, 1S4S. She d. March 10, 
 1877, aged 73. Mr. Wyatt resided in East N., where he d. Aug. 16. 
 1882. He was a prosperous farmer. This farm is now owned by 
 Mrs. E. V. B. Davis of Washington, D. C. 
 
 Fifth Generation. 
 Addison Bbowx Wyatt, b. at N. May 5. 1S26, was a successful harness 
 and trunk maker at Sanbornton Bridge. He learned his trade of John 
 Gould and succeeded to his business in 1848. He was state insurance 
 commissioner for 1867-'68. president of the lona Savings Bank from 
 1876 to 1880, and state bank commissioner. 
 
330 ■ HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 He was a ti'ustee of the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and for 
 years was secretary of the board. He erected an attractive residence 
 on a commanding site in Tilton village. 
 
 He m., Sept. 30, 1851, Frances Copp of Gilmanton, b. Aug. 22, 182G. 
 She d. Dec. 30, 1901. She was an exemplary Christian woman. They 
 had three children. One d. in infancy Sept. IS, 18-52. 
 
 Clarence De Moke Wyatt, b. Nov. 25, 1852; d.. May 29, 1874. He 
 had just graduated from the New Hampshire Conference Seminary 
 and was a young man of promise. 
 
 Walter Clement Wyatt, the only remaining son, b. Nov. 13, 1857; 
 m., Dec, 1878, Clara Thorp of Tilton. He inherited his father's 
 business and has been an active business man in Tilton for years. 
 He is prominent in several fraternal orders. They have one son, 
 Bernard Langdon, a graduate of Tilton Seminary in the class of 1901, 
 New York University, and Bellevue Medical College in the class of 1905. 
 He has taken a position with a mining company as physician and sur- 
 geon, in San Jose, Tamaulipas, Mexico. 
 
 Joseph Clough Wyatt, b. Dec. 3, 1830, at N.; m., Nov. 11, 1856, 
 Lucy C. Lyford of Canterbury, who d. April 4, 1S7C, greatly mourned. 
 They had two children. He is a carpenter, repairer and builder 
 and erected a pleasant home on Park St., to which he removed in 
 1891. He makes mill repairs a specialty. 
 
 Laroy Benson Wyatt, b. Aug. 6, 1838, has had a successful business 
 career at Lawrence, Mass. He is engaged in the harness, trunk and 
 horse-furnishing business. It is the oldest establishment of the kind 
 in the city. 
 
 (Child of Samuel and Comfort Fernald Wyatt.) 
 
 Cynthia B. Wyatt, b. April 13, 1830; m., Oct. 13, 1847, Thomas H. 
 Piper of N. (See Piper gen.) 
 
 (Child of Nathan and Sally Clark Wyatt of Sanbornton.) 
 
 Otis C. Wyatt came from Hanover to N. Jan. 1, 18G6, and occupied 
 his newly-purchased farm on Zion's Hill. (See Boys in Blue, sketch 
 and poi'trait.) 
 
 Sixth Generation. 
 
 (Children of Joseph and Lucy C. Lyford Wyatt.) 
 
 ALFRED CLINTON WYATT. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Alfred Clinton Wyatt was b. at N. Nov. 25, 1862. He was the son 
 of Joseph Clough and Lucy (Lyford) Wyatt. He received his education 
 in the public schools of N. and at the New Hampshire Conference 
 Seminary at Tilton, from which he graduated in June, 1880. In May, 
 1881, he removed to Laconia and entered the employ of Gardner Cook & 
 
ALFHhM) C. WVATT. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 331 
 
 Son in the lumber business, with which industry he has since been 
 identified. On the formation of Cook's Lumber Company in 1891 he 
 was chosen a director and \vas the first vice-president. 
 
 Since the formation of the City of Laconia, Mr. Wyatt has always 
 taken an active interest in the Republican politics of Ward Five, of 
 which he is a resident, as well as in the city at large. He served as 
 ward clerk for several years and, in 1899, was elected to the city 
 council, in which he served six years, the longest service ever given 
 by any citizen with one exception. In 1905 he was prominently men- 
 tioned as a candidate for mayor. 
 
 He has always taken a great interest in fraternal societies and 
 is a past officer in Winnipiseogee Lodge, No. 7, L O. O. F., a member 
 of Laconia Encampment, No. 9, L O. O. F., and a member of the 
 Grand Lodge, I. 0. 0. F., of New Hampshire, as well as a Past Dis- 
 trict Deputy Grand Master of the Laconia District. He is also a Past 
 Regent of Cypress Council, Royal Arcanum, No. 1062, and is at 
 pi'esent chairman of the grand trustees of the Grand Council of New 
 Hampshire. 
 
 In June, ISSS, he m. Nellie M. Mead, a teacher in the Laconia public 
 schools. 
 
 Anxie L. Wyatt, b. Nov. 2, 1SG7, was educated at the Tilton Sem- 
 inary and has often received private pupils at her home. She went 
 as a delegate from the local Christian Endeavor Society to its national 
 convention in San Francisco in 1897. 
 
 YEATON. 
 
 John B. Yeatox came from Laconia to N. in 1871. His ancestors 
 were from Alfred, Me., and were shoe manufacturers. He m. Hattle 
 A. Phelps and resided on the Phelps homestead and cared for the 
 aged parents. He remodeled the house and built a modern barn in 
 1880 and is an all-round farmer, with fruit as a specialty, having 
 about a dozen of the choicest varieties. Mr. Yeaton is proud of the 
 family reputation for minding their own business and has always 
 voted the Republican ticket. He has been supervisor and served on 
 the board of selectmen. 
 
 YORK. 
 
 John S. York came to N. in Nov.. 1897. from Centre Harbor and 
 purchased the steam sawmill of Jason Foss and engaged in the manu- 
 facture of packing cases and house finish. He was also a contractor 
 and builder and erected some of the best dwellings on Bay and Arch 
 Sts. He abandoned the mill in the Cove later and erected a new shop 
 near the fair grounds, where he continues the business. He resides 
 on Howard Ave. He is prominent in Masonic Lodges. He has five 
 
332 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 children, b. at Centre Harbor: Oscar, b. 1SS4; Horace B., b. 1887; 
 Mildred E., b. 1891; Ruth A., b. 1S93; and Hazel M., b. 1896. 
 
 YOUNG. 
 
 Edwin J. Young was b. in Canterbury Aug. 20, 1837, being one of a 
 family of 14 children. 
 
 At an early age he removed to Plymouth, and in 1859 was united 
 in marriage to Annie L. Elliott of Dorchester, by whom he had two 
 children, Maude A. and Herbert G. Young. 
 
 For a score or more of years Mr. Young was engaged in photography, 
 being one of the pioneers of the state in that art. 
 
 In the year 1866 he settled in Campton, where he served the town 
 as clerk, tax collector and treasurer for several years. 
 
 Like his ancestor, the Rev. Winthrop Young, Mr. Young's religious 
 connections were with the Baptists and for several years Mr. and 
 Mrs. Young were members of that church in Campton. 
 
 After the death of Mrs. Young, for sometime he was a resident in 
 Plymouth, from which town he removed to N. in 1886, when he was 
 m. to Helen M. Whipple of Laconia. 
 
 After a few years of married life in their pleasant home on Park St., 
 she passed away, after a lingering illness. 
 
 In Nov., 1892, he m. Georgia E., dau. of George C. Lancaster of N. 
 
 Since residing in N. he has followed the vocation of commercial 
 traveler and has engaged in mercantile business. 
 
 In politics he has always been a staunch Republican and as such 
 has been chosen to represent the town of N. at the Constitutional 
 Convention of 1889 and in 1893 as representative to the Legislature. 
 
 He has served a term of years as chairman of the board of selectmen 
 of the town. 
 
 Since his residence in N. Mr. Young has been a member of the 
 Congregational Church and has been interested in the moral and 
 religious welfare of the community 
 
APPENDIX. 
 
ADDITIONAL GENEALOGIES. 
 
 AYERS. 
 
 CHARLES HAINES AYERS. 
 
 (Continued. See pages 14, 15, IC.) 
 
 (Other children of Charles H. and Almira Ayers.) 
 
 Srs.\>- Ayers. b. at Canterbury Dec. 29, 1841; m., April 25, 1865. 
 James R. Young of the firm of Parker & Young, late of Lisbon, and 
 had four children: One, who d. in infancy; Emily Adelia, b. Oct. 29, 
 1866; Ellen Louise, b. April 10, 1S71; and Susan Almira, b. April 8, 
 1873, d. at eight months. 
 
 EiXEX Makia Ayers. b. Sept. 4, 1846; m., June 6, 1870, Charles Edward 
 Cummings of Lisbon, and resided for some years in Missouri, where 
 he d. Sept. 9, 1897. She ra. (second), at Canton, Mo.. Nov. 20, 1901, 
 David M. Hibbard. She has three children: Susie E., Karl G. and Al- 
 bert Edward. She was educated at New Hampton Literary Institute 
 and taught for some years in INIissouri. Mr. Hibbard d. Feb. 27, 1902. 
 
 JoxATHAX Ayers, b. Dec. 17, 1850; m., Mary Frances Delany of New 
 York City. He was inspector of telegraph machines in the New York 
 Stock Exchange. He had the finest touch and was a genius in his line. 
 They had two children, Susan Veronica and Mary Frances. He d. April 
 2, 1882. She d. June 2 of the same year. 
 
 Be.njamix Fbamv Ayers. b. Jan. 6, 1854; m.. Dec. 3, 1885^. Pamella 
 Ella Roberts of N. He bought the Sewall farm on Oak Hill, 'where he 
 is a general farmer. They have one child, Hermon Eugene. 
 
 Ai.MiRA Josephine Ayers, b. Aug. 2, 1855; m., Oct. 29. 1S7S. William 
 Y. Sargent of Canterbury, and resides at Uplands. She was educated 
 at New Hampton. They are general farmers, with dairying as a spec- 
 ialty. 
 
 BROWN. 
 
 (Additional. See page 45.) 
 
 DoBixDA Brown- m. (first), Nov.. 1854. M. T. Noyes of Atkinson. He 
 d. in Jan., 1857. She m. (second), J. H. Webster of Derry. Nov., 1S62. 
 and resides at Fall River, Mass. They have a son, Fred. 
 
336 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 COFRAN. 
 
 SMITH W. COFRAN. 
 
 (See portrait.) 
 (Supplementary to page 42.) 
 
 Smith W. Cofrax, b. Jan. 15, 1840; m., Jan. 3, 1884, Marcelina Wan- 
 zer. He worked on his father's farm until 13 years of age, going then 
 as a mill employee for Jeremiah Tilton. At 17 he left home to seek his 
 fortune, having first united with the Congregational Church and having 
 joined Doric Lodge, A. F. and A. M. 
 
 At the breaking out of the Civil War he enlisted in the Twentieth 
 Massachusetts Regiment. (See Boys in Blue.) 
 
 After the close of the war, he remained in Washington, D. C, in 
 various capacities, later entering the employ of the Boston & Providence 
 Railroad, with a route of service extending from Boston to New York 
 via Providence, which place he held for 29 years, retiring in 1895 on 
 account of impaired health. 
 
 He has been a member of Warren Lodge, No. 18, I. 0. O. F., for more 
 than 30 years, and also of the Massasoit war order. His three children,, 
 all b. in Boston, were: Jessie May, b. Aug. 3, 1873, m. Jesse Melendy; 
 Jay Wanzer, b. Jan. 15, 1879, m. Florence Smith; and Eugene Knox,, 
 b. Feb. 25, 1881, m. Nellie M. Blight. 
 
 BATCHELDER. 
 
 Eugene Batchelder, b. May 29, 1855, came to N. from Franklin, where 
 he had been employed for 11 years as foreman in the weave room of 
 Stevens' Mill. He m., Jan. 1, 1877, Susan Jane Presby, b. at N. Feb. 23, 
 1854. 
 
 They bought, and conducted for many years, the Elm Avenue Hotel. 
 He is, and has been for six years, overseer at Tilton Mills. They now 
 reside in Tilton on Cedar St., but will reoccupy the hotel, now "The 
 Riverside," in a short time. 
 
 Mr. Batchelder is a member of St. Andrew's Lodge, Knights of 
 Pythias, and of Harmony Lodge, I. O. 0. F. Mrs. Batchelder is a mem- 
 ber of Rebekah Lodge and of both the Franklin and the Tilton and 
 N. Woman's Clubs. 
 
 CLOUGH. 
 
 Capt. Thomas Clough, h. 1740, must have lived in the north fields,, 
 when the section was called a "parish of Canterbury." He was not 
 only a prominent man in military affairs but represented the new town 
 in the Legislatures of 1797 and 1798 and again in 1801--'02-'03-'04. 
 
 His first wife was Hannah Haines, dau. of Capt. Stephen and Hannah 
 Carter and his second wife was Polly Webster, widow of Richard 
 

 
 
 1 
 
 L: 
 
 
 J 
 
 ^5^ *?% . 
 
 
 
 ^^^^^ ^^ 
 
 \ 
 
 SxMITH W. COFRAN. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 337 
 
 Blanchard. Captain Clough (see Military History) d. at N. Aur. 17, 
 1839, aged 93. His wife, Hannah, d. July, 1813. They are buried la 
 the Hodgdon yard. 
 
 CASKIN. 
 
 Edwakd H. Caskin was for several years a resident and business man 
 of N. He bought the residence of Mrs. Sullivan Baker near the lower 
 bridge and erected a building near the river, where he established a 
 hardware and house-furnishing business, which he sold to Frank H. 
 Merrill, and removed to the Far West. He m. Nettie Boyd of Rumney 
 and had one child, Iva B. Mr. Caskin had previously been a hardware 
 dealer in Franklin. 
 
 DOUGLASS. 
 
 Edmund Douglass was b. in Scotland and had been educated at the 
 universities there. He was in the British army from which he de- 
 serted and was in hiding for fear of capture. He was first known in 
 Boscawen, where he was a school teacher and taught the late Judge 
 Daniel Atkinson of Sanbornton Bridge his letters. 
 
 Later Mr. Douglass drifted into N. and m. Polly, dau. of William 
 Glines (the "Cartnap"), and lived in a hut on the Rogers farm, op- 
 posite Morrill Moore's, and was a farm hand. They had five children. 
 He d. at the home of John Rogers and was buried in the Abbott yard. 
 Mrs. Douglass lived to old age in the family of Jonathan Gate of Oak 
 Hill. She d. Aug. 24, 1853. He was a town charge for many years. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Hannah Douglass, d. in girlhood. 
 
 LuoiNDA Douglass m. and removed to New York. 
 
 Emelixe Douglass m. Josiah Ambrose Sanborn. 
 
 Jebemiah and Tom Douglass, b. in , but did not reside there, 
 
 Betsey Douglass m. Forrest Cross and resided on the main road. 
 (See Cross gen.) 
 
 HAGGETT. 
 
 Alvah B. Haggett, b. at Pembroke Sept. 22. 1868; m., Nov. 20. 1902, 
 Carrie Bird. b. at Mapleton, N. S., Nov. 23, ISSI. 
 
 They came to live on the Lowell French farm in East N. In 1901 
 They have two children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 (B. at N.) 
 
 Alice M. Haggett, b. Aug. 7, 1903. 
 Gebtbude Haggett, b. Jan. 5, 1905. 
 22 
 
838 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 OILMAN. 
 
 Capt. Samuel Oilman, brother of Jonathan, resided at East N. and 
 had two sons. They removed to Canada and became British subjects. 
 After Mr. Oilman's death in N., she removed to Stanstead, P. Q., where 
 they were breeders of fine horses. 
 
 Capt. Samuel Oilman, Jr., and Capt. John Oilman both served in the 
 British army with high rank and office. 
 
 The mother lived to be 100 years of age. 
 
 KEASOR or KEZAR. 
 
 MARK KEASOR. 
 (See portrait.) 
 
 Mark G. Keasor was b. at Upper Oilmanton Oct. 17, 1854; m., March 
 31, 1877, Mary E. Folsom, b. at Sanbornton Jan. 9, 1851. His grand- 
 father, Joseph, was an early settler in the southeast part of N. He was 
 a trader at Laconia for three years and then a farmer for six. He 
 then learned the machinist's trade and was employed for several years 
 in the Laconia car shops. In 1888 they removed to Tilton and located 
 on Chestnut St. In 1891 he was chosen police officer and held that 
 place for 11 years. He was also chief of the firewards for two years. 
 In 1888 he became superintendent of water works, which place he still 
 holds. He was also chairman of the board of selectmen in 1902--'03-- 
 '04-'05. Mr. Keasor credits himself with the enterprise whereby Hilly 
 Brook became an adjunct to Chestnut Pond in 1894 and Tilton water 
 supply, not only greatly improving the quantity but also the quality. 
 He takes great pride in the management of the entire aqueduct plant. 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. Keasor have one son, Arthur Edmund, b. at Sanbornton 
 Sept. 29, 1879. 
 
 LAMBERT. 
 
 Sylvester Lambert came from Lakeport to N. and entered the employ 
 of the railroad about 1872. He m. Christiana Blake of N. (see Sewall 
 gen.), and resided at the Depot. They have three children. They re- 
 moved to Tilton and reside on Mill St. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 (All b. at N. Depot.) 
 
 Mabel Lambert, b. at N. in 1873; m., 1893, Oeorge Nichols and has 
 four children. They reside at . 
 
 Eva Winona Lambert, b. at N., 1875; m., 1897, Frank J. Hunter, b. at 
 St. John, N. B., and resides in Vermont. They have two children. 
 
 Elmer Lambert, b. 1878; m. Fannie Oray. He served in the Spanish 
 War and later saw service in the Philippines. 
 
MAUK C;. KEASOK. 
 
GENEALOGIES, 339 
 
 THORP. 
 
 Joseph W. Thorp was b. Aur. 31, 1S24, at Sheepsheatl, England. He 
 m. Lj'dia Johnson, dau. of Abijah Johnson, who was a Quaker minister 
 at Weare, and had one child. They came to N. in the latter part of the 
 60s and purchased the house now owned by George S. Morrison on 
 Elm St., where they resided for several years. Mr. Thorp was a tailor 
 by trade. Later they moved to Allston, Mass., where he d. Feb. 14, 
 1888. She now resides at Highland Springs, Va., with her grand- 
 daughter, and has been for several years an invalid from rheumatism. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Elliot G. Thorp, M. D., was b. at South Weare Aug. 1, 1849. He m. 
 Hattie H. Bancroft and resided in N. for several years, being connected 
 with Fred G. Tilton under the firm name of Thorp and Tilton, druggists, 
 at Tilton. Later he moved to West Newton, Mass., where he d. Nov. 
 22, 1S95. They had one dau., Marion, who now resides at Highland 
 Springs, Va. 
 
 CROCKETT. 
 
 Charlks H. Crockett v.as a native of Sanbornton, where he was a 
 brick mason. In 1899 he removed to Tilton and purchased a home on 
 School St., which he recently sold to Tilton Seminary, and purchased 
 two residences on Howard Ave. He m., Dec. 16, 1884, Ellen Tilton of 
 Sanbornton and has two children. He is one of the firm of Crockett 
 & Greenwood. (See Business Men of N.) 
 
 Mrs. Crockett was educated at Colby Academy and was a teacher bo- 
 fore her marriage, mostly in Sanbornton. She has served continuously 
 on the Union District Graded School Board since 1895 and is also an 
 active member of the Tilton and N. Woman's Club. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Grace Adela Crocket, b. at Sanbornton in 1886, has just (1905) com- 
 pleted the English scientific course at Tilton Seminary. 
 Ellen Tilton Crocket, b. at Tilton, 1901. 
 
 GREENWOOD. 
 
 Joseph Greenwood was b. at East St. Johnsbury, Vt., June 12. 1S70. 
 He m., 1895, Cedulia Duhamel of Woonsocket. R. I. They came to N. 
 from Plymouth in 1S93 and reside on Vine St. He learned the plumbing 
 busipess at Plymouth and has been at the present place of business for 
 12 years, the last six being as a member of the firm of Greenwood & 
 Crocket, dealers in stoves, tinware and kitchen furnishing goods. 
 Plumbing In all its branches is an important feature of their business. 
 
340 HISTORY OF NORTHFEELD. ^ 
 
 AYERS. 
 
 (Supplementary to Ayers Genealogy, page 14.) 
 
 Joseph Sherborn Ayeks was b. at Canterbury, Jan. 14, 1812. He 
 
 m. Lucy Caroline Emery, b. at Canterbury, , 1822. They resided 
 
 on the Windfall until 1847 and three of their five children were b. 
 there. He later removed to the borough, where Mrs. Ayers d. April 15, 
 1858. He m. (second) Martha Badger Lyford, June 5, 1861, and had 
 one dau. Mrs. Ayers d. in 1874. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Jeremiah Emery Ayers, b. at N., Feb. 2, 1838; fitted for college at 
 New Hampton Literary Institute. Graduated at Dartmouth, class of 
 1863. He taught at Pittsburg, Pa., and there founded the Ayers Latin 
 School. Later, he removed to Colorado, where he now resides at Edge- 
 water. 
 
 Henry Clinton Ayers, b. Jan. 6, 1840. He also fitted at New Hamp- 
 ton and graduated at Dartmouth in 1864. He was also a teacher and 
 highly respected business man in Pittsburg, Pa. He was a general life 
 insurance agent and successful. He d. Sept. 24, 1894, leaving a large 
 estate. His widow resides at 5921 "Walnut St., Pittsburg, Pa. 
 
 Hannah Jane Ayers (called Jennie), was a graduate of Kimball 
 Union Academy in 1863 and was for some years a teacher. She m., 
 in 1869, John P. Carr, an attorney of Andover, and had a son and dau. 
 She d. Nov. 29, 1896. 
 
 Walter Howard Ayers, b. in 1844; was also a graduate of New 
 Hampton and Dartmouth College, class of 1866. 
 
 He studied for the ministry and, after preaching several years, re- 
 tired and is now a business man in California. 
 
 Martha Elisabeth Ayers, youngest dau. of Joseph and Lucy Emery, 
 was b. in Canterbury. She was educated at Kimball Union Academy 
 and graduated in the class of 1866 and was for several years a teacher 
 at Acton and Gardner, Mass., Lisbon and Canterbury. She m., in 1873, 
 Joseph G. Clough of Canterbury and had a dau., who d. in childhood, 
 and a son, Henry L., with whom she resides at Canterbury Centre. 
 Her father d. May 26, 1887. 
 
 (Child of Joseph and Martha Lyford Ayers.) 
 Lucy C. Ayers, at present at Rhode Island Hospital at Providence, 
 R. I. 
 
 BLANCHARD. 
 
 (Supplementary to page 23.) 
 
 The Blanchards were Huguenots, who left France and went to Oxford, 
 England. 
 
 Thomas Blanchard sailed from London in 1629 in the ship Lizard 
 and came to Braintree, Mass., and owned the whole town as his farm. 
 
GENEALOGIES, 341 
 
 He had a large family of sons and they scattered throughout all New 
 England. One of his sons named Joshua built the foundation of the 
 Old South Church in Boston. His initials, "J. B.," are cut in the 
 stones and can now be seen. 
 
 BROWN VII. 
 
 (Supplementary to page 34.) 
 
 Cyrus Browx came from Upland, Canterbury, in 18G1 and purchased 
 the Simonds farm at the Center, of Richard N. S. Batchelder. They 
 came to be near the seminary, where two of their children were being 
 educated. This being accomplished, they returned to their former 
 home. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Monroe Brown spent but a short time in town. He has been for 
 more than twenty years a business man of Winchester, Mass. 
 
 Abram Brown was a graduate of the New Hampshire Conference 
 Seminary, class of 18G2, and Dartmouth College in 1SG6. He has been 
 since 1880, a teacher in Columbus, Ohio. 
 
 Jennie Brown, m., 1865, Smith W. Glines of N. (See Glines gen.) 
 She has, since his death in 1881, with her son, been among the thrifty 
 farmers of the town. 
 
 CHASE. 
 
 (Supplementary to Chase Genealogy, page 47.) 
 
 The accompanying coat of arms belongs to the 
 descendants of Aquila Chase, who was b. in Suffolk, 
 Eng., in 1580 and settled in Newbury (now Newbury- 
 port), previous to 1G46. He was part owner of the 
 ship John and Francis, which brought over many 
 emigrants. Being a mariner, the town of Newburyport 
 granted him a house, lot and six acres of marsh land 
 "on condition that he do go to sea and to serve in the town with a boat 
 for four years." He was a man of note and his name often appears 
 upon the town records. 
 
 "But few families," the historian says, "have kept the standard of 
 morality higher than the descendants of William, Thomas and Aquila 
 Chase." The latter is said to have been the first to bring a vessel over 
 Newbury bar at the mouth of the Merrimack. He m. Anna Wheeler 
 of Hampton, who came from Salisbury, Eng. Aquila d. Dec. 27, 1C70. 
 He left several children. A son Aquila, who m. Esther Bond, had a 
 son, Joseph, who m. Abagail Thurston and had a son, John, who was 
 the father of Thomas of N., Mark of Meredith and others. 
 
342 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 There are two coats of arms in other branches of the family of 
 Aquila, differing only in the outside ornamentation and motto. In 
 each case a red shield with four silver crosses. In the left corner a 
 blue space containing a gold lion passant. The crest is a gold lion 
 rampant, holding a red cross. The above coat of arms, with various 
 ornamentation, belongs to the descendants of Thomas and Stephen 
 Chase, early settlers of N.; also, in the same line are the descendants 
 of Daniel and Hannah Emery Hills, all of Newbury, Mass. Mrs. Free- 
 man B. Shedd, Mrs. Minerva Chase Barrows and Mrs. Eliza Chase 
 Harrington receive it through other descendants of Aquila, who had 
 nine children. 
 
 CLOUGH. 
 
 (Supplementary to page 149 and Genealogy, page 59, Part I.) 
 
 Martha True Clough was injured many years before her death by 
 having her foot pierced by a rusty nail. It occurred during a severe 
 thunder shower and the house was struck and much shattered by a 
 bolt of lightning. She was passing about in the ruin and terror and 
 received the injury. In spite of her extreme lameness she was active 
 in her practice, often being carried on a door to the bedside of the 
 suffering, where, in the absence of anesthetics, she was invaluable as 
 a destroyer of pain with her hypnotic or magnetic powers. 
 
 COURTNEY. 
 
 (Supplementary to page 339.) 
 
 Martin Courtney came to N. Depot about 1893 from Newport, Vt., 
 where he had been employed nearly all his life on the Canadian Pacific 
 Railroad. He took charge of the trackmen and various other railroad 
 Interests and has, for nearly the whole time, had charge of telegraph 
 and ticket office. He m., soon after his arrival, Emma Fell of Ontario, 
 Can., of which place he was also a native. He returned to N. after a 
 short stay at Franklin and still resides in the station. They have two 
 children, b. at N. 
 
 REV. ENOCH CORSER. 
 
 (See Ministers of Congregational Church.) 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Mr. Corser had a son, Samuel B. G., and two dau., Jane and Lucretia, 
 all b. in Loudon. The son was a teacher in town and elsewhere for 
 some years. After his father's retirement they together cultivated 
 their fertile farm on the banks of the Merrimack at Boscawen Plain. 
 
GENEALOGIES, 848 
 
 He was the most learned man of the state, continuing his studies In 
 his old age. He d. in 1900. Ann Corser, after many years' teaching, 
 remained with her sister, Lucretia, and brother, Bartlett, in the home 
 until old age. None of them married. 
 
 DAVIS IV. 
 
 t 
 
 John Davis came to N. from Tilton in 1890 and erected a home by 
 the town house. He was salesman for Lord Bros.' Optical Co. He 
 sold, in 1893, to Daniel E. Hill and returned to Tilton, where he now 
 conducts a jewelry store, with home on East Main St. 
 
 DAVIS I. 
 
 (Supplementary to Davis I, Genealogy, page 80.) 
 
 George H. Davis, b. at N., Jan. 5, 1812, was a Methodist preacher and 
 lived some years in Canaan and d. there. He had one son, Laroy, who 
 also d. there. 
 
 William Davis, b. Jan. 10, 1817, resided some years in Tilton, going, 
 later, to the Jeremiah Cross place. He d. at Benton in 1902. 
 
 Haxxaii K. Davis, b. Nov. 27, 1816; m. Benjamin Whitcher of San- 
 bornton and had a son, George, and dau., Elisabeth. 
 
 John K. Davis, b. at N., Nov. 26, 1806; resided, late In life, at the 
 Hannaford place on main road. He d. there. He had a son, Lorenzo. 
 
 TIMOTHY GLEASON. 
 
 Master Gleason, who was often employed as teacher in N.. as well 
 as other surrounding towns, came to America from Scotland. He came 
 to Loudon from Barrington about 1780. He was of Irish descent. He 
 was a fine scribe and used to assist the selectmen in making the taxes 
 and keeping their accounts. He was a large, powerful man; a favorite 
 with the little children. He had a home in Loudon, where he m. for 
 his second wife, Eleanor Lovering. Oct. 1, 1787, and had six children; 
 10 in all, four by first wife. 
 
 Sophie Gleason, eldest child by second wife, m. Benjamin Jones and 
 resided some years where Cyrus T. French resides on the main road. 
 They had a large family. Mr. Jones d. in Canterbury in 1836. 
 
 Master Gleason d. at Loudon. Feb. 7. 1827. He was a pensioner for 
 service in the Revolutionary War as captain's clerk in 1775; sergeant 
 in 1776; adjutant, also, in 1776; steward on ship KaJcigh, Aug. 11, 1777; 
 adjutant in 1779, and quartermaster to end of campaign.. Pension ap- 
 plied for April 14, 1814. His widow survived him and was a pen- 
 sioner. 
 
344 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 He was living, an old man, when General Lafayette visited Con- 
 cord and, learning of his whereabouts, the general drove to Loudon 
 to pay him a visit. The meeting was mutually affecting and tender, 
 as they had together borne the privations and danger of the camp 
 and battlefield many years before. Master Gleason returned with him 
 to Concord and was present at the entertainment given in his honor. 
 
 MILLER. 
 
 (Supplementary to page 225.) 
 
 Moses Miller was b. at Three Rivers, Can., April 24, 1857. He came 
 to N. in 1893. He resides, since 1898, on Bay Hill. 
 
 LOTT. 
 
 Mrs. G. B. Lott and dau. came from New York to N. about 1900. Af- 
 ter several summers spent on the William Clough farm on Bay Hill 
 they purchased it in 1904 and have since made it their summer home, 
 their winters being spent in the South or in travel abroad. 
 
 PATRICK. 
 
 Mrs. Patrick and her dau., Marilla E., came to N. in May, 1905, and 
 occupied their newly-erected home on Bay Street. They had previ- 
 ously resided in Tilton, but owned real estate on Howard Avenue since 
 1899. 
 
 MUZZEY. 
 
 (Additional Genealogy.) 
 
 Joseph Muzzey, b. Sept., 1771; m. Jane Bartlett, b. Feb. 7, 1773. He 
 came to N. from Boscawen, where he was a plough maker and owned 
 the place now belonging to the J. P. Watson heirs. Mr. Muzzy d. here 
 Jan. 11, 1839, and his wife in 1846. He was buried at the Williams 
 yard before the coming of the railroad and his body was removed 
 nearer the center of the yard when the road was built. They had 
 four children. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Samuel Muzzey was b. in Boscawen in 1810. He m., Sept., 1834, Sally 
 G. Blake of Andover, b. June 28, 1815. They removed to Canterbury 
 near the Emery schoolhouse in 1827, where he had a cooper's shop. 
 They were traders at Boscawen. They had four children. He removed 
 to Bristol. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 345 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 One son, Samuel, b. 1818, m. Nellie Moore of East Concord and re- 
 sided in Bristol. They were parents of Walter and Albert C. Muzzey, 
 now residents of N. (See gen., page 239.) 
 
 PHELPS. 
 
 (Supplementary to record of Joel F. Phelps, page 250.) 
 
 Joel F. Phelps enlisted in Co. K, Eighth Massachusetts Volunteers, 
 attached to Fourth New York Artillery; mustered in Oct. 1, 18G2. He 
 was detailed as company clerk and stationed at Fort Totten. He was 
 at Baltimore on the way to the Army of the Potomac. Mustered out 
 Aug. 7, 1863, from Department of Virginia, Army of the Potomac, Mid- 
 dle Department. 
 
 HILLS. 
 
 (Supplementary to Genealogy of Daniel Hills, page 174.) 
 
 Daniel Hills d. at N. March 23, 1813. He was the author of the fol- 
 lowing curious will, written Dec. 16, 1794, of which I give a part: 
 
 "In the name of God, Amen! I, Daniel Hills of Northfield In the 
 County of Rockingham Coopper being somewhat infirm of Body but 
 of Sound mind and memory and knowing that it is appointed for all 
 men once to die, and not knowing how soon it may be my case, do 
 make this my last Will and Testament, and in the first place I humbly 
 give my soul to God my Creator, hoping for Pardon of all my Sins 
 Through the merits of Jesus Christ and my body I recommend to a 
 decent Burial according to the discretion of my Executors hereinafter 
 named hoping in the Redemption to Eternal Life. 
 
 "My Worldly Estate I give, devise, and dispose of in the following 
 manner and form, that is to say 
 
 "Imprimis My Will is that all my just debts and Funeral charges 
 be paid as soon after my Decease as may be done with convenience 
 to my Executor out of my Estate, 
 "Item 
 
 "I give to Hannah my beloved Wife as the law directs 
 "Item. 
 
 "I give devise to my beloved Wife all the household furniture for 
 her use and Service During my Widow except our Bed and bedstid and 
 Beding my Disk my large Iron Cittle & Stllliards 
 
 • •♦••♦ 
 
 "Also 
 
 "I give to my beloved Wife the Privilege to pass and repass up 
 chaimber down cellar to the oven to the well and to the Barn without 
 being molested during my Widow and after my Wife's Decease I give 
 
346 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 all my Household Furniture (except what I gave to my Executor) to 
 all my Sons & Daughters to be divided in the following manner, That 
 is the Sons to have one half of the remainder of the Furniture divided 
 equally among my four Sons. The other half to my two Daughters, 
 Abigail & Hannah equally divided 
 "Item 
 
 "I give devise all my Wife's Wearing apparel after her decease to 
 my two Daughters and Betsey Clements my Granddaughter equally- 
 divided among the three 
 "Item 
 
 "I give devise to my Son Daniel eight Silver dollars and two notes- 
 of-hand I have against him one Note containing thirty-six Silver dol- 
 lars and ten pence the other Note containing thirty Silver dollars and 
 all that shall remain due on said notes after I and my Wife's Decease 
 shall be given up to him 
 
 * * * * * ^: 
 
 "Item 
 
 "I give devise to my four Sons my Grind Stone and Iron Crank 
 equally between them and said Stone to remain at the Cooppers Shop 
 where it now stands 
 
 "Signed Daniel Hixls 
 "Witnesses 
 
 James Hersey 
 Thomas Gixman 
 Reuben Whitcheb 
 "Item N. B. 
 
 "I give devise after my Decease all my wearing apparrel to my four 
 Sons equally divided among them except my silver Shoe Buckles and 
 Knee Buckles I give to my executor" 
 
 After all this loving care and forethought, she survived him only 
 one year, dying May 6, 1814. It is not known where they were buried, 
 probably on the farm. 
 
 (Supplementary to record of John Hills, page 175.) 
 John Hills (second line), should say probably the first years of his 
 majority were spent elsewhere. He was noted for his firmness and 
 strict integrity. He had some peculiar ideas of finance and did not 
 rely on the market reports to regulate his price of farm products. He 
 used to say "a bushel of corn was worth a dollar to him — no more — 
 no less." If others sold for 75 cents he waited; if it was selling for 
 $1.25 he did not change. In 1815 he had a very large crop and not one 
 bushel did he sell, as the market price was only 75 cents. The next 
 year, 1816, was the memorable year when there was snow or frost every 
 month and crops were almost entirely cut off. Uncle John had a large 
 quantity of corn left over, but ignoring the law of supply and demand 
 his price was $1, same as ever. No one could buy but a bushel at a 
 time and that not to sell again. Seed for the poor farmers was a 
 great blessing at so low a price and he was satisfied. 
 
GENEALOGIES. 347 
 
 MOWE. 
 
 Laboy Mowe came to N. from Lowell. He held a position at first In 
 the employ of Richard F'irth. He m. Sarah Bennet and resided on the 
 Blanchard place near the Center. After the burning of the home he 
 purchased the Chase Wyatt farm in East N.; selling, later, he removed 
 to Massachusetts. The parents and sisters resided for a time by the 
 Granite Mill, removing, later, to their newly erected home by the 
 library. Mr. Mowe d. in N., as did a dau. Mrs. Mowe went to Blair's 
 Station to reside with a daughter and d. there. 
 
 RAND. 
 
 (Supplementary to Rand Genealogy, page 258.) 
 
 (Children of Abraham and Martha Holmes Rand.) 
 
 Waldron Holmes Rand, b. at Boston, Mass., July, 1851; m. Emma 
 Adalaide Woodbury. They had seven children. 
 
 Third Generation. 
 
 Waldbon Holmes Rand, Jk., b. Jan. S, 1S76; graduated at Harvard, 
 1898; m. Gertrude McKay. 
 
 Leon Woodbury Rand graduated at Harvard, class of 1902. 
 
 Nathaniel George Rand, b. 1855; d. young. 
 
 Leonidas Porter Rand, b. at Philadelphia Dec. 25, 1857; d. In South 
 America in 1885. 
 
 Nathaniel Holmes Rand, b. at Philadelphia Dec. 18. 1859; m., June 
 17, 1885, Elinor Theresa Asbury. They have two children. 
 
 William Brisbane Rand, b. at Philadelphia Aug. 2, 1862; took pre- 
 paratory studies in the Friends' Central School and Rugby Academy 
 and was a member of Harvard, class 1885. He m.. May 24, 1887, Anne 
 Victoria Crowell of Philadelphia. They have three children and reside 
 in Boston. 
 
 JOSEPH SULLIVAN TILTON. 
 
 (See portrait, page 30C.) 
 Joseph Tilton was b. at East N. June 13. 1818. (See Tilton Gen., 
 page 306.) His parents removed to Meredith, where his early years 
 were passed, mostly on the farm. His education was acquired In the 
 public schools and was very thorough. Mr. Tilton was one of the early 
 pioneers of California, moving there* with his family soon after the 
 discovery of gold. He located in San Francisco and followed the busi- 
 ness of dairyman, also taking an active part in the iwlltlcs of the rap- 
 Idly growing city. During the troubles with the turbulent and law- 
 breaking element Mr. Tilton was an officer of the famous "VlgllanU" 
 and saw much service in those days of riot and trouble. 
 
348 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 
 
 In 1857 lie returned to New Hampshire and, locating in Laconia, 
 commenced the manufacture of hosiery in a mill where now stands 
 the dye house of J. W. Busiel & Co. In 1862 he suspended business 
 in the mill to assist in raising the Twelfth Regiment for the Civil War 
 and went into the service with them as first lieutenant. He was se- 
 verely wounded at Chancellorsville while in command of his company 
 and remained with them until loss of blood obliged him to leave the 
 field. After a season in the hospital he was returned to New Hamp- 
 shire and finally was obliged to resign on account of disability. But 
 for this unfortunate wound, Lieutenant Tilton must have risen to high 
 command, as he had in an eminent degree the dash and courage which 
 go far to make the successful soldier. His record was above reproach, 
 courageous and unflinching to a fault. In camp, as on the battlefield, 
 he was ever the same bright, active, intelligent soldier — one to whom 
 his men could always look with strong confidence and from whom they 
 always received kind and just treatment. 
 
 Lieutenant Tilton was one of the original members of John L. Per- 
 ley, Jr., Post, G. A. R., of Laconia. When sufBciently recovered he re- 
 sumed the hosiery business, retiring in 1877. He died in 1879. He was 
 warm hearted and kind, though of an impulsive and impetuous nature 
 and was a man of profound and sincere convictions. He was frank and 
 outspoken in his opinions on all subjects and when once his mind was 
 made up was never slow to act. (See Tilton gen., page 306.) 
 
 TWOMBLY. 
 
 Joe R. Twombly, b. Dec. 9, 1882; m., July 2, 1903, Harriet Demange. 
 They reside on Bay Hill. 
 
 Second Generation. 
 
 Ida May Twombly, b. Dec. 14, 1904. 
 
A^DDITIONS AND CORRECTIONS. 
 
 Page 71, add to line 6, "he had two sons, Leon Forrest, born July 2C, 
 1896, and Stanley Wyman, born Sept. 19, 1900"; also, in lino 28, for 
 "Sept. 19," read "Sept. 22." 
 
 Page 243, line 12, for "Annie Lavina Varnum," read "Annie Laura 
 Varner of Lunenburg Co., Nova Scotia." 
 
 Page 241, Joseph Warren Nudd died 1836, instead of 1822. 
 
 Page 243, line 20, add, "Nellie Nudd married Allie Eastman of Ply- 
 mouth." 
 
 Page 45, line 12, add to record of Scott Cofran, "Though not in the 
 army, he served in and about camps, etc., at Washington, D. C, until 
 the close of the war." 
 
 Page 314, line 28, add to genealogy of Smith and Flora Wadleigh, 
 "Bessie A., b. Dec. 23, 1887; Peter E., b. Dec. 15, 1SS9, and Malcolm, b. 
 July 6, 1899." 
 
 Page 258, line 10, Samuel Rand died aged 84, instead of 82. 
 
 Samuel, Jr., same page, had a son and dau., Frances and Oscar. 
 
 Page 259, fourth line from bottom, George Waldron Baker resides at 
 Bangor, Me. 
 
 Page 259, line 20, for 1842 read 1849. 
 
 Page 252, line 25, add to Thomas H. Piper genealogy his death at 
 Franklin Aug. 15, 1905. 
 
 Page 182, line 8, add to record of Kate F. Hills her death. Aug. 7. 1905. 
 
 Page 306, line 22, Joseph Sullivan Tilton was b. June 13, instead of 
 16. He was b. at Mow Hampton , it w t oa d of N. 
 
 Page 116, line 25, read for "M. Lu Forsyth," "m. Lu Forsyth." 
 
 Page 86, line 32, add to record of Charles H. Davis, "He served in the 
 Civil War, Co. C, Ninth Regiment. (See Boys in Blue.)" 
 
 Page 227, line 8, add to record of Hannah Molony Blake of Belvidere, 
 Ills., her death, Aug., 1905. 
 
 Page 160, line 6, for Mrs. Benjamin Blanchard read Mrs. Edward 
 Blanchard. 
 
 Page 150. line 12, add to record of Willie M. Gllnes, "Irving, b. 1889; 
 d. Aug.. 1902; Elsie, b. 1891; George, b. 1893." 
 
 Page 210. line 9. add to record of Wilson Lockwood his death in 
 England Aug., 1905. 
 
 Page 117, line 23, add to record of Alforetta Boonhower Forrest her 
 death, Sept. 10, 1905. 
 
 Page 95, Part I. add to Military Record. "Ix)ren7.o Miller served In 
 Company G, Eighth Regiment, Vermont, and. later, in Company K. 
 Ninth Regiment, V. R. C; was wounded at New Orleans. (See gen., 
 page 225.)" 
 
350 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 
 
 Page 245, add to record of Mrs. Daniel M. Page her death at N., Sun- 
 day, Sept. 1, 1905. 
 
 Page 66, line 8, add to record of Julia Evans Copp her death, Sept. 
 18, 1905. 
 
 Page 115, Part I, for Mrs. Miles Glidden read Mrs. Mills Glidden. 
 
 Page 100, Part I, add to twenty-sixth line, "Joshua French made brick 
 in this locality at a very early date. It is knovv^n that he had a son, 
 and dau., but no data is at hand." 
 
 Page 175, name of portrait, Susan Cole Hills should read Susannah. 
 
 Page 277, line 2, should say, "she d. at Gilmanton." 
 
 Page 259, line 20, for Nathaniel P. read Nathaniel H. 
 
 Page 272, line 16, for John Roberts read Jonathan. 
 
 Page 147, line 1, add to record of Rev. John Fogg, his death, Jan. 8, 
 1898. 
 
 Page 260, "George Sullivan Baker d. at Tilton in 1867." 
 
 Page 205. "Wadleigh Leavitt m. (first) Mary Percival and had seven 
 children. He m. (second) Abagail Caswell and had eight, 15 in all." 
 
 Page 203, line 7, add to record of Henrietta Josephine Lang her death 
 at Belmont Oct. 2, 1905. 
 
 Page 321, line 1, in record of Sarah T. Whittier for 1831 read 1841. 
 
 Page 221, last line, add to record of William J. McDuff, "He was a 
 member of Pulaski Lodge, No. 58." 
 
 Page 6, line 26, should read, "Sarah J. Buswell, d. March 2, 1860." 
 
 Page 34, line 12, "Abagail Buswell, d. Feb. 7, 1897," and line 24, 
 "Harriet, d. June 28, 1895." 
 
 Page 241, third line, add, "Maranda; Mary Norton, b. Jan. 9, 1850; 
 Carrie Norton, b. Feb. 1, 1852; d. at Lunenburg, Mass., Nov. 5, 1892. 
 Mr. Norton d. at Candia May 24, 1900. Emma Norton, b. Jan. 14, 1855; 
 m. Nov. 25, 1879." 
 
 Page 161, line 4, "Sarah Williams Hancock, d. 1800." 
 
 Page 183, add to record of Craven and Florence Hill Laycock, "They 
 have one dau., Katherine, b. at Hanover, 1901." 
 
 Page 232, line 25, for Edwards read Edward. "Mrs. Amos H. Morri- 
 son d. Aug. 29." 
 
 Page 70, line 6, add to record of Sarah Cross Jenkins her death at 
 South Boston, Oct. 2, 1905. 
 
 Page 243, line 9, add to record of James Clark his death, Sept. 28, 
 1905. 
 
 Add to record of Lowell M. French, page 120, line 24, his death, Oct. 
 24, 1905. 
 
 Add to record of Bessie M. Morrill, page 235, line 32, her death, 
 Oct. 25, 1905. 
 
 Add to record of John Senter, page 284, last line, his death, Oct. 25, 
 1905. 
 
 Add to record of Charles Mason, page 219, line 23, his death, Oct. 
 29, 1905. 
 
 Add to list of names of business men of Tilton, residing in North- 
 field, C. L. True and Edwin D. Forrest. 
 
ADDITIONS AND CORRECTIONS. HOI 
 
 Add to professional men of Northfield C. L. True and Edwin D. For- 
 rest, dentists. 
 For Ann Corser, page 342, line 48, read Jane. 
 
 First Tax List of the Town, Called, "Pbizel." 
 "Inhabitants Counter Role or Coppy for the Year 1784." 
 
 The first on record is given in £ s. d. Among the largest taxpayers 
 were Arhelus Miles (on the Rogers' farms), £130 4s. 4d. Samuel Gil- 
 man, on the , £120 prize!; tax. Is. 6d. The school money was to 
 
 be paid in the "Perduce of the Cuntory Sixty Dolars for the Preseunt 
 yeor. one half in the Somer and the other haff in the Wenter" 
 
 Also, it was voted "to Rase one Day on a Pol and So in porpotion on 
 a States to Repair or. Rebould Sandborntown Bridge" 
 
 "Mon. ye 30 1784 at the house of thomas Oilman Esq." 
 
 The selectmen, Reuben Whitcher, John McDaniel and Ebenezar Kim- 
 ball, were directed to pay 3s. for corn; rye at 4s.; wheat at 6s. per 
 bushel. The whole tax was £71 17s. 6d. for state; £4 2s. for county. 
 I also find by a settlement that day made with the selectmen of the 
 previous year that perhaps the state tax was to be paid in beef, as the 
 town voted, in 1781, "The Select Men Be A Committy to git the Monny 
 & Beef Cauld for By the Cort and that they Shall git the Beef as they 
 Can Best either with Monny or Spaies (?) And Sixty Bushil Bushil of 
 Corn for Scolin this year" 
 
 A part of prizel roll for 1784 is missing. Among those most conspic- 
 uous by the peculiar orthography are Joseph Hancocke. Gidden Leav- 
 ittee, William ad Parkines, Nathl Simones, David dollar. John Forriest. 
 widdow gill & Robbart Carrey & Thomas foose." We also find, in 1788, 
 "William Glines Sen; William of Canterbury: William 3rd & 4th." 
 
 In 1796 the values in the record books change from pounds, shillings 
 and pence to dollars and cents. 
 
 Olo Home Day, 1905. 
 (Supplementary to page 202, line 3, Part I.) 
 The celebration began on Saturday night, when Frank C. Robertson 
 lighted a huge bonfire on the most conspicuous place on Bean Hill. 
 Several of the nearby farmers gave material which, reinforced by the 
 usual barrel of tar, shone out its welcome far into the night. Another, 
 on one of the first settled farms, lighted by William Sager. added to 
 
 the display. 
 
 Sunday afternoon a well-attended religious service was held In the 
 old church at the fair grounds, conducted by the clergymen of the vil- 
 lage of Tilton, with a historical and reminiscent sermon by Rev. C. C. 
 
 Sampson. 
 
 The occasion was semi-patriotic and the church was aglow with the 
 red white and blue of our national emblem. A choir, under the lead- 
 ership of John Fletcher, Esq., rendered old-time music, among which 
 one recognized "Dundee," "St. Thomas." "Balerma" and "Coronation." 
 so familiar to the older ones present 
 
THE CRY OF THE HUMAN. 
 
 Your genealogist has completed her task. She has summoned the 
 legions of the past in long review. Forgotten graves have given up 
 their secrets, dusty forms have reassembled on the sites of desolated 
 homes, while age, sex and condition have been duly and mechanically 
 recorded. My heart has ached that, so limited by time and space, I 
 must pass by, with these meagre facts, many whose lives were full 
 of inspiration and benediction to all whom they touched. What of the 
 old young and the young old? Must we count age always by figures 
 on the dial despite that better score of heart throbs or the poet's juster 
 rule that "He lives most who most endures, most loves and most for- 
 gives"? 
 
 Birth, marriage, death! Are these the all-important facts of human, 
 life? What of the "new birth" and the new awakenings that come so 
 often to even the calmest lives? What of the many who, led by stern 
 duty, waive the joys of wedlock, home and children and give them- 
 selves to lives of sacrifice and labor for helpless parents or friends, 
 too selfish or senile to appi'eciate in any measure the loving ministra- 
 tions? 
 
 Is there no death other than when pulses cease to beat and hearts 
 to palpitate? 
 
 I have also looked with pity on another long array, too burdened 
 with woes, real or imaginary, to see that skies were blue or that the 
 teeming earth was urging her blessed bounty upon all, whose ears, 
 so filled with the utterance of their own woes, were too deaf to hear the 
 loving invitation of the "Spirit and the Bride," "Ho! Every one that 
 thirsteth. Come ye without money and without price." 
 
 Again, I have rejoiced. with another goodly company, who, along the 
 "cool, sequestered vale of life, maintained the noiseless tenor of their 
 way, content to live, to love, to work and leave events to God." The 
 pageant has passed, the dirge-like music and the rhythm of its tread 
 have faded in the distance on the ear, and I would not call them back. 
 Have we given each his due? Have we weighed conditions and duly 
 considered what "might have been?" Surely such has been our aim, 
 with what success others must decide. 
 
 This thought, at least, shall be your comfort — that it is your histo- 
 rian's pen that spreads this record rather than the Recording Angel's. 
 
NDEX 
 
 ABBOTT. 
 
 Abasail 29 
 
 Clarciue 86 
 
 Elias, Dea 18, 71, 221 
 
 Ellas 29 
 
 Gardiner G., Dea 57, 181 
 
 James B 48, 148 
 
 .Tohn, Dea 23 
 
 Nabby 124 
 
 ADAMS. 
 
 Elisha, Rev 58 
 
 Frank M 91 
 
 John W 27, 58, 1S8 
 
 Joseph 91 
 
 Mary A 60 
 
 ALDRICH. 
 
 Caleb 72, 7.1 
 
 Henry, Mrs 21 
 
 ALCOTT. 
 Louisa 194 
 
 ALIJSON. 
 Richard 71 
 
 AMBROSE. 
 
 Josiah, Dea 8, 25, 26, 54, 76, 122 
 
 AMES. 
 
 Bracket 8 
 
 Mvra 141 
 
 Thomas G 85 
 
 ANDREWS. 
 E. B., rrof 125 
 
 ARLIN. 
 Charles 88 
 
 ATKINS. 
 Albcrtus IM 
 
 ATKINSON. 
 
 .TndRe 28 
 
 Mehetable, Mrs 34 
 
 AUSTIN. 
 
 Aaron "?'' 
 
 Daniel l**^ 
 
 Thomas 89 
 
 AYERS. 
 
 Anpustlne 229 
 
 Charles Henry 80, ltd. 220 
 
 Chnrles II.. Dea 23, 101 
 
 Jonathan '^ 
 
 Joseph, Dr 1" 
 
 AYER. 
 
 Ellphlct 227 
 
 BACIIELDER. 
 
 Nahum, Hon 186. 190 
 
 23 
 
 T r. 
 
 BAII.EV. 
 
 James 102, 23.8, 2.'» 
 
 Walter L 90 
 
 BAKER. 
 
 Goor-re W 180. 227 
 
 Martha S 34 
 
 Mark, Mrs 167 
 
 M. D. R 195 
 
 Osmon C, Rev 58, 59 
 
 BALCOM. 
 George W 95 
 
 BALDWIN. 
 
 Colonel 71 
 
 BALLAXTYNE. 
 
 •Adam S 52. 53. 61, 107, 239, 246 
 
 Mitlie T 63 
 
 BARNARD. 
 
 Attorney-General 162 
 
 Charles 183 
 
 Daniel 107 
 
 BARROWS. 
 
 L. D., Rev 58 
 
 BARTLETT. 
 Richard 41 
 
 HATCHELDER. 
 
 Brothers 231 
 
 Flaxen Ingall,s 80 
 
 James 180 
 
 Lnclen F 187, 188 
 
 Moses 117 
 
 Richard N. S 80 
 
 BATES. 
 
 Lewis, Rev J4 
 
 Loren, Rev 57 
 
 BAYLBY. 
 GeorRe tSS 
 
 BEAN. 
 
 Luther C. Dr 60, IIS 
 
 Nnthnn 106 
 
 Nathaniel Ml 
 
 BEEDB. 
 
 Samuel "" 
 
 BELL. 
 
 Governor *3 
 
 BENNET. 
 
 Joseph " 
 
 BECK. 
 
 Calvin W O 
 
 BINGHAM. 
 
 Georjre 2 
 
 Harry »' 
 
354 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 / 
 
 BLANCH ARD. 
 
 Benjamin 4, 71, 76, 111, 114, 229 
 
 Bridget 114 
 
 David 71, 121 
 
 Edward 71, 73, 74, 112 
 
 Ebenezai- 114, 229 
 
 Ja nies 4 
 
 Jeri'v 74, 75 
 
 Joseph 318 
 
 Reul)en, Lieut 74 
 
 Ricliard 45, 71, 73 
 
 BLODGETT. 
 L N 164 
 
 BODWELL. 
 
 Abraham, Rev 28 
 
 Tersis 34 
 
 BOINTON. 
 Josliiia 71 
 
 BOOTH. 
 
 Floward 242 
 
 Walter 242 
 
 BOND. 
 Alonzo 185 
 
 BOUCHER. 
 I. N 38 
 
 BOYNTON. 
 
 Courtland 245 
 
 Grannv 319 
 
 Marv Elisabeth 156. 195 
 
 Rufus 9 
 
 BOWLES. 
 William 4, 5, 8, 123 
 
 BRALEY. 
 
 Cornelius 83 
 
 Frank 83 
 
 BROWN. 
 
 Abraham 60, 72. 76 
 
 Abraham B 168, 109, 21.^ 
 
 Abraham, Mrs 149 
 
 Albert 85 
 
 Annie M CO 
 
 Bradburv T 30, 38 
 
 Betsey 29, 149 
 
 Benjamin B 176 
 
 B. Frank 101 
 
 Calista 246 
 
 David 174, 246 
 
 George II 231 
 
 Henry, Dr 148 
 
 Hannah F , 246 
 
 Ja mes 230 
 
 John 104 
 
 .Tohn G 89 
 
 Samuel B 104 
 
 Theodore 72, 74, 169 
 
 BRYANT. 
 
 Ed 232 
 
 Fred 232 
 
 Napoleon B., Hon 7, 190, 200 
 
 BUGBEE. 
 Lucien 247 
 
 BULLOCK. 
 Georgia A 60, 188 
 
 BUELL. 
 
 Bernice M 60 
 
 Charles F 94, 245 
 
 David E 94 
 
 George F 245 
 
 Henry A 245 
 
 BUTTERWORTH. 
 
 William 62 
 
 BUTTERFIELD. 
 
 Jonathan AY 38 
 
 William 236 
 
 BUTLER. 
 
 Benjamin F 25 
 
 BUZZELL. 
 
 Annie GO 
 
 CADUE. 
 
 Luther 94 
 
 CALIFF. 
 
 Captain 72 
 
 CAN FIELD. 
 
 Asel 74 
 
 William 94 
 
 CARR. 
 
 .Tames 121 
 
 Jesse 72 
 
 Joseph 4 
 
 Samuel 74, 75 
 
 CARROLL. 
 
 Willis 182 
 
 CARTER. 
 
 Albert S 245 
 
 Albert D 2.39, 245 
 
 Nancy 191. 238 
 
 W. H 239, 241 
 
 CARLTON. 
 
 Charles 91 
 
 CASS. 
 
 Arthur T 53, 62, 247 
 
 W. D., Rev 27, 58 
 
 CASKIN. 
 
 Edward 231 
 
 CATE. 
 
 Abby Josephine 160 
 
 Asa P 10, 38, .56. 58, 66. 78, 159 
 
 160, 207, 208, 236 
 
 Clara Morton 100 
 
 Erwin Girard 89 
 
 John 123 
 
 Lafayette, Dr 60. 148 
 
 Simoon 11, 17? 
 
 McT.checb 123 
 
 Miles 182 
 
 CAVENDER. 
 
 John 225 
 
 CHAMBERLAIN. 
 
 Charles J 24, 43 
 
 Marv M 158 
 
 John, Dea 193 
 
 .John. Rev 22, 23. 88 
 
 W. B., Dr 157 
 
 CHANDLER. 
 
 William E 234 
 
 CHASE. 
 
 Benjamin 175, 236, 237 
 
 Carlton. Rev 39 
 
 Charles Percy 238 
 
 Charles G 51. 57, 231, 237 
 
 Anna 60 
 
 Francis, Hon 159 
 
 T^annah Hall 237 
 
 Herbert Goss 83 
 
 Lucien 88 
 
INDEX. 
 
 355 
 
 Laura 60 
 
 Lizzie A CO, f.l 
 
 Mary 2.'?8 
 
 Stephen 76, ir>9, 236, 23.S 
 
 Thomas 22, G4, 66, 173, 175. 183 
 
 Wallace 81 
 
 Walter G ! 238 
 
 CILLKY. 
 
 Alice 110 
 
 Hiram 78 
 
 John 5, 76, 116, 183 
 
 John, Jr 279 
 
 CLARK. 
 
 Alexander T 76, 149, 109 
 
 Archibald S 76, 176 
 
 AURUStUS If)!) 
 
 Benjamin W 90 
 
 Carlos D'Onis 176, 183 
 
 Electa A 60 
 
 George H 61 
 
 George W 87 
 
 John, Dr 60, 97, 149, 150 
 
 John C .59 
 
 John ( Boston ) 224 
 
 Jeremiah G 244 
 
 Janies. Mrs 221 
 
 Thomas E SO, 90, 182 
 
 W. S 60 
 
 CLAY. 
 Ben S 80 
 
 CLEMENT. 
 
 Fred 38 
 
 Zenas CO 
 
 CLISBY. 
 
 Joseph. Rr 73 
 
 Sally Hill 31 
 
 CLOUGII. 
 
 Abner 76 
 
 Albert Lucien 162 
 
 Charles W 90 
 
 George R 90 
 
 George 62 
 
 Joseph 21 
 
 .Teremiah, Rev 21 
 
 Jonathan, Dea 251 
 
 Jonathan 40, 47. 49, 115 
 
 Jeremiah 3. 4. 109 
 
 Lucien B.. Hon 159, 161 
 
 Martha True 149 
 
 Monroe 115 
 
 Ohed 117 
 
 Pollv 23 
 
 Philip 11. 222 
 
 Rebecca L 1«'2 
 
 Samuel Ifi9 
 
 Thomas 4. 94, 121 
 
 Thomas. Capt C9. 74, 117 
 
 William 115. l'"6 
 
 William, Mrs 25, 107 
 
 COCHRANE. 
 
 John H 
 
 John. Lieut 74 
 
 COFRAN. 
 
 Charles C 87 
 
 B. Frank 55. 106. 181 
 
 Eliza 63 
 
 Henrv ^^ 
 
 .Tames. Col 16. 58. 100. 116. 182. 219. 221 
 
 .Tames B5. 175 
 
 •Tospph '8. liO 
 
 La Roy f"^ 
 
 Smith W 92 
 
 COGSWELL. 
 Amos M J75 
 
 COLBY. 
 
 Alfred ji^/j 
 
 Benjamin 176 
 
 Natlinn. Ensign 74 
 
 Osborn ^3 
 
 •I"''" ,■•• '.■■'.■.■■■.■.'.'.■.'. 105 
 
 Jeremiah J05 
 
 Stephen 76 
 
 COLEMAN. 
 S 34 
 
 COLLINS. 
 
 Alonzo jRi 
 
 Aaron [[[ i\^ 
 
 Benjamin ..'.'.'.'."! 71 
 
 John '.'.'.'.'.'. 87 
 
 CONANT. 
 
 Llba. Rev 30. 49, 55, 108 
 
 Leonard 198 
 
 COOK. 
 Gardiner 57 
 
 COOMBS. 
 Irving, Rev 
 
 COPP. 
 
 Amos K 82 
 
 Ilazen 239. 241 
 
 James 244 
 
 CORLISS. 
 
 Charles F 83 
 
 Smith D 83 
 
 CORSER. 
 
 Enoch, Rev 30, 31, 58 
 
 Jane 34 
 
 COTY. 
 Gideon 82 
 
 COWLES. 
 
 J. B., Rev 154 
 
 Mary 154 
 
 CRAM. 
 Henry L 90 
 
 CRAIGUE. 
 William M 
 
 CRANE. 
 
 Isaac 224 
 
 Robert 224, 226 
 
 CROCKET. 
 
 Arthur T 62 
 
 Charles 62. 221 
 
 Ellen. Mrs 1»« 
 
 Grace 61 
 
 CROLT. 
 Mrs IM 
 
 CROSBY. 
 
 Asa. Dr 150 
 
 Grace Reed • 130 
 
 CROSS. 
 
 Abraham 119 
 
 Arthur B 51 
 
 i'hnrles W 
 
 I'phrnim "4 
 
 Kihvnrd W 60. 206. 222 
 
 Foriest. Mr« »1» 
 
 Ulrnm H «. 100 
 
 Hlmm M«. W 
 
 Ulrnm B *• 
 
356 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Hazen 30, 50 
 
 Jesse 27, 71, 76, 102, 117 
 
 John 4, 71, 72, 117 
 
 Jeremiah 97 
 
 Lucy U. H 34, 51, 53, 50, 100 
 
 108, 109, 134, 201 
 
 Moses 'i'2 
 
 Oliver L 41, 106, 107, 108, 109 
 
 118, 159, 162, 2m 
 
 Parl^er 72, 117 
 
 Stephen 71, 102, 118 
 
 Sarah 182, ISO 
 
 Thomas 14, 72, 102, 117 
 
 Williarrt 76 
 
 William P., Dr 149, 185 
 
 CUMMTNGS. 
 Mary Hall 52 
 
 CURRY. 
 
 Hannah fiO 
 
 Josie B 60 
 
 Sophie T 60 
 
 CURRIER. 
 Moody, Hon 190 
 
 CURTICE. 
 Corban, Rev 32, 108 
 
 DALTON. 
 
 Joseph 74, 75 
 
 John 83 
 
 Samuel 76 
 
 DANFORTII. 
 
 Ezekiel 71 
 
 Henry 71 
 
 James M 81 
 
 Moses 71 
 
 Mr 119 
 
 William 7.3 
 
 DANIELL. 
 
 W F 12, 184, 1S8, 226 
 
 J. F 225, 220 
 
 DARRAH. 
 William, Mrs 24 
 
 DART. 
 Asa 80 
 
 DAVIS. 
 
 Charles H 82, 80 
 
 Henry 228, 282 
 
 J. B., Rev 22 
 
 .Tonathan 70 
 
 Moses 98 
 
 Martin 88 
 
 DAVISON. 
 George 82 
 
 DEARBORN. 
 
 Abram 4, 87 
 
 Darius S., Dr 00, 148 
 
 Edmund 54, 119, 123, 154. 158 
 
 Enoch 80 
 
 Frank A., Dr 155 
 
 Henry. Dr 158 
 
 .Tonathan 148 
 
 Jonathan, Jr 148 
 
 Jonathan, Mrs 155 
 
 .John S 119, 120 
 
 John S., Mrs 107 
 
 Joseph 11, 90 
 
 John 4, 70 
 
 Josiah 221. 22<l 
 
 Nathaniel 71, 73 
 
 Ned 187, 188, 249 
 
 Oliver 80 
 
 Richard 81 
 
 Sylvanus S 165 
 
 Sarah Gerrish 155, 158 
 
 Sam G., Dr 89, 148, 154 
 
 Sam S., Dr 155 
 
 Shubael 4, 71, 73, 119 
 
 Shubael, Jr 4 
 
 Sally 2'J 
 
 Thomas, Col 202 
 
 Thomas Benton, Dr 148, 158 
 
 DENNIS. 
 
 .1. Piper 8 
 
 Joshua E 43 
 
 Marguerite 14S 
 
 Derry 244 
 
 DEWING. 
 Clara A 164 
 
 DICEY. 
 Samuel 174 
 
 DICKENS. 
 Charles 194 
 
 DINSMORE. 
 
 Charles 88 
 
 Joseph 88 
 
 John 73, 86 
 
 Samuel 73, 173 
 
 DIXON. 
 
 Syh ester, Prof 59 
 
 DODGE. 
 Arthur 244 
 
 DOLE. 
 
 Albert G 101 
 
 Maria L 161 
 
 Rebecca F 161 
 
 DOLLY. 
 
 Herbert 231 
 
 Jonas H 94 
 
 Roscoe 95 
 
 DONOVAN. 
 Daniel 19.S 
 
 DOUGLASS. 
 Edmund 219 
 
 DOW. 
 
 Edward 198 
 
 Levi S 95 
 
 Olwin 9 
 
 Shuttle 101 
 
 Sumner A 43, 176, 230 
 
 DOWNES. 
 John W 84 
 
 DUDLEY. 
 Arthur W 171 
 
 DUNBAR. 
 Mary S 157 
 
 DURGIN. 
 
 Alice Freese 196 
 
 Bill, Master 122 
 
 D. W. C 62 
 
 John H 225 
 
 Lela G 196 
 
 William 15 
 
 DUST IN. 
 Caleb 24 
 
 DYER. 
 Edward 72 
 
INDEX. 
 
 857 
 
 EASTMAN. 
 
 Alice M 235 
 
 Cyrus, Col 23:! 
 
 Elma Genevieve 235 
 
 Edward V 235 
 
 Edward D 235 
 
 Franklin J .61, 07, lOrt, 107, 205, 231, 232 
 
 Frank T 235 
 
 George W 235 
 
 Jonathan 233 
 
 Kate 2.35 
 
 Lima J 235 
 
 Marv Ardelle 2.35 
 
 Sarah 233 
 
 EAMES. 
 J., Rev 37 
 
 EATON. 
 Sylvester 80 
 
 EAUNSIIAW. 
 
 .Tames 36, 38, 2.38 
 
 James, Mrs 36 
 
 ELLISON. 
 
 Lottie 25 
 
 I'armelia 54 
 
 ELSON. 
 Frank 82 
 
 ELK INS. 
 
 Ilenrv, Capt 72 
 
 Jonathan 6, 231 
 
 Thomas 226 
 
 EMEUV. 
 
 Benjamin, Capt 71 
 
 Josephine 60 
 
 Mary 60, 105 
 
 Stanley, Rev 3S 
 
 Samuel 230 
 
 EMERSON. 
 Jonathan 169 
 
 EMMONS. 
 Kate R 157 
 
 ERSKINE. 
 J., Rev "I 
 
 EVANS. 
 
 David 49 
 
 Hiram B 83 
 
 Horace H 8S 
 
 I yman Barker 92 
 
 :Mnhala l^'i 
 
 I{ol)i'rt 116 
 
 William 104 
 
 FARLEY. 
 
 James C 83 
 
 FAY. 
 
 Francis 247 
 
 FELLOWS. 
 
 Svl vester D 1^8 
 
 \V. B 53. 178 
 
 FERGUSON. 
 David 180 
 
 FIRTH. 
 
 Afrnes 241 
 
 Itsiy 60. 241 
 
 Richard 238. 239. 240. 241. 242. 243 
 
 FIFIEI-D. 
 
 Brothers 231 
 
 Samuel C '^^ 
 
 A. L. 
 
 FISHER. 
 
 226 
 
 FINAN. 
 
 Rev. Fr 
 
 FLANDERS. 
 
 Abner 71 
 
 J. C 1«7 
 
 FLETCHER. 
 
 Frank W 38 
 
 John 38, 239 
 
 I'liincas 73 
 
 William 239 
 
 FOGG. 
 
 John, Rev 
 
 FOLGER. 
 Allan 45 
 
 FOLLANSBY. 
 
 Cutting 231 
 
 William 30. 230 
 
 Wells 91 
 
 FORREST. 
 
 Betsev 54 
 
 Edwin I)., Dr 
 
 l'>manuel 174 
 
 lleltn 164 
 
 •lames 169 
 
 James M 6 
 
 James N 10. 44. 56, 107. 117. 164 
 
 174, 186, 187, 201. 204 
 
 Kate 60, 185, 199. 214 
 
 John <. 71 
 
 John, Jr "1. 116 
 
 John E 57, 66 
 
 Robert 29. (3 
 
 Samuel 54. 105. 116, 175 
 
 Samuel W 60. 159, 164. 204 
 
 William 4, 14, 72, 73, 76, 117, 175 
 
 FOSTER. 
 
 Asa .... 
 Abial .. 
 Herman 
 
 FOSS. 
 
 Cymintha 
 
 .lason 
 
 Mar' 
 
 .10. 80. 186. 187, 
 
 Sn^^an II 
 
 Thomas 
 
 FOWLER. 
 
 Asa, Hon 
 
 FRENCH. 
 
 ,\ndrow 
 
 .Vmanda 
 
 Bertha 
 
 Frank 
 
 Lowell 
 
 Lowell. Mrs 
 
 SiilomoD 
 
 W. C 
 
 W. C., Mrs 
 
 FREEMAN. 
 
 .186. 
 
 .186. 
 
 .106. 
 ..43, 
 
 Dr. 
 
 77 
 5 
 
 7 
 
 GO 
 244 
 201 
 186 
 
 71 
 
 104 
 187 
 186 
 IM 
 187 
 107 
 U6 
 176 
 
 m 
 
 14» 
 
 Ed, Capt. 
 Folly .... 
 
 FULLER. 
 FDLLERTON 
 
 GALE. 
 
 Benjamin F *?• 
 
 Elmer R "• 
 
 S3l 
 231 
 
358 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 GARDNER. 
 
 Fred 60 
 
 Laura CO 
 
 W. A 231 
 
 GALLINGER. 
 Senator 51 
 
 GARLAND. 
 Charles C 
 
 GARVIN. 
 M 105 
 
 GERRISH. 
 
 Alfred 148 
 
 Henry. Col H 
 
 Helen L 60 
 
 Leonard 120 
 
 Milton 6, 120, 229 
 
 Joseph 120 
 
 Stephen, Capt 120 
 
 Stephen 6, 120 
 
 William, Capt 120 
 
 GIBSON. 
 
 James 5 
 
 Thomas 71 
 
 GILE. 
 
 Alfred A 38, 5G, 163 
 
 Alonzo (Charles) 1S2 
 
 Alfred D 104 
 
 Belle W 186, 187 
 
 Clyde A 186, 187 
 
 Frank A 89. 148, 108 
 
 Jonathan 71, 74, 76 
 
 Joseph A 60, 166 
 
 Lucia K 60 
 
 Lawrence B 1G4 
 
 Milton 74 
 
 Mary M 167 
 
 Minnie II 1C4 
 
 Mary W 186 
 
 Rufus 170 
 
 Thomas 82 
 
 William A., Col 89, 159, 163, 200, 204 
 
 G I LI LAND. 
 John D., Rev 58 
 
 GILMAN. 
 
 Andrew, Dea 11, 76, 100 
 
 Jonathan 72, 76, 113, 115 
 
 John Maok 148, 229 
 
 John Taylor 77, 78 
 
 Maud C 187 
 
 Samuel, Capt 74, 113, 115 
 
 Simon 76 
 
 Thomas 4 
 
 Ward 84 
 
 William 48, 51, 66, 105, 115, 151 
 
 William, Mrs 151, 152 
 
 Nathaniel 169 
 
 GLIDDEN. 
 
 Alice 25 
 
 Charles, Lieut 4, 13, 14, 72, 114, 116 
 
 121, 170, 175 
 
 Charles, .Tr 229 
 
 Charles Mills 76, 77 
 
 Charles, Mrs 115 
 
 Galusha 74 
 
 Mary Y GO 
 
 Polly 54 
 
 GLINES. 
 
 Ahraha m 76 
 
 P.oniamin 175 
 
 Cariio B 243 
 
 Charles 193 
 
 Charles M 8 
 
 E. R 8 
 
 Hi^am 104 
 
 Isaac, Capt 10, 66, 76, 229 
 
 Isaac, Mrs 23, 115 
 
 Job 183, 193 
 
 J 76 
 
 Laroy A 194 
 
 Mary Dearborn 193 
 
 Mary Emma 194 
 
 Nathaniel 71 
 
 Raj mond 194 
 
 Smith W 80 
 
 Walter F 82 
 
 Willis 182 
 
 Wallis 182 
 
 William 71 
 
 William (Miller) 72, 97 
 
 Willie 182 
 
 Wesley M 80 
 
 GLEASON. 
 Timothy, Master 54, 56 
 
 GLOVER. 
 Tom 183 
 
 GOLD. 
 James B 85 
 
 GOODWIN. 
 
 M., Sergt 76 
 
 Moses 76 
 
 Moses B Ill 
 
 Samuel 72 
 
 GOODNOW. 
 Peter 225 
 
 GOODALE. 
 John II., Hon 
 
 GORRELL. 
 Gawn E 10, 104 
 
 GOULD. 
 
 Anna 60 
 
 Charles R., Dr 8. 149, 1.57 
 
 John 226 
 
 GRAY. 
 Robert 37, 49, 103 
 
 GREELEY. 
 Saamel, Col 14 
 
 GREEN. 
 
 Cha rles 241 
 
 Julia 246 
 
 GREENWOOD. 
 Joseph 231 
 
 GRISWOLD. 
 Whiting, Hon 164 
 
 GROVER. 
 Sally 22. 30 
 
 HADDOCK. 
 
 Charles B 59 
 
 HAINES. 
 
 Alice 230 
 
 Aldora 60 
 
 Benjamin 174 
 
 Henry, Rev 38 
 
 Marhew 4. 121 
 
 Stephen. Capt 14, 74 
 
 Sarah 230 
 
 Samuel 98 
 
 IIAILE. 
 William 7 
 
INDEX. 
 
 3r»9 
 
 HALL. 
 
 Adino B 52, 55, 148, ir,3 
 
 Abairail .'i4 
 
 Bessie M i:<-\ 
 
 Eliza 30 
 
 Grace F ].-,c, 
 
 Hannah Haines ir,?, 
 
 Israel 80 
 
 Jeremiah F., Dr 88. 108, 148, 157 
 
 Jereniinh, Dea 20, 30, 104, 153 
 
 O., Lieut 7f> 
 
 Marshall I* 108 
 
 Obartiah 29. 175 
 
 Obadiah Jackson, Dr 90, 148, 155 
 
 HANCOCK. 
 
 Oeorjre 4, 72, 113, 120 
 
 Joseph 120 
 
 Joseph. Lieut 4, 74, 7G 
 
 Jacob 72 
 
 Oren .T liT, 
 
 Susan 29. 120 
 
 William, Lieut 4, 71, 7G, 113 
 
 IIANNAFORD. 
 
 Benjamin F 80. 105 
 
 Charles IL, Rev 60, IfiS 
 
 John 105 
 
 Jeremiah, Rev 55, 1"^5 
 
 Peter 77, 121 
 
 Samuel G 49 
 
 William G 43, 51, 118, 192 
 
 HAZELTON. 
 
 Benson 185 
 
 Sallv 124 
 
 William C 91 
 
 HARPER. 
 Joseph, Dr 6, 14, 21 
 
 HARRIMAN. 
 
 John, Rev 21 
 
 HARRINGTON. 
 
 Calvin S.. Rev 59 
 
 Lllla 247 
 
 HARVEY. 
 
 Mathew G, 47 
 
 HEAD. 
 
 Natt, Gov 192 
 
 HEATH. 
 
 Captain 7G 
 
 Caleb 7fi 
 
 John G SO 
 
 Jacob 4. 71, 74, ITT 
 
 Jonathan Ill 
 
 Samuel 7 
 
 SylvanuR, Dr 22. 148 
 
 HERRICK. 
 
 Charles P 204, 231. 232 
 
 Daniel 224 
 
 Ebenezar 38 
 
 Ilenrv 38 
 
 Joseph 38 
 
 Lizzie A : 61 
 
 M. A.. Rev 36, 38, 52, Gl, 161, 207. 20.8 
 
 William 84 
 
 HICKS. 
 Horace ISl 
 
 IIIGGINS. 
 J. B., Rev 22 
 
 HILTON. 
 Pettr 87 
 
 HILLS. 
 
 Aitlnir II J87 
 
 Cbarlfs F 8, 60. 227 
 
 I>i>iil<-1 8, 49 
 
 David. Lieut 74, 70, M 
 
 I>avid 100. 103. lOD, 182 
 
 David, ('apt i.s 
 
 Danli'l Emery 177. 184. 215 
 
 Daniel, Capt ;..74, 77, 169 
 
 Evelyn 60 
 
 Frank 53, C2, TtH 
 
 Jler;ry F 8 
 
 John 71. 76. '03. 169, 177 
 
 Kare. Mrs 195, '06 
 
 ICatc 203 
 
 I'n>-y R 60. 163 
 
 Myra Pearl no 
 
 Rocer f,o 
 
 Solon F 56. 185 
 
 Su^an M 181 
 
 Tiniotly 71, 76, 77, 78, 86. 113, 169 
 
 Warren I, 5S. lOii. 230 
 
 W. Smith 178 
 
 HILL. 
 
 Eva G 60 
 
 Florence ro 
 
 Joseph 231, 232 
 
 William 1' 232 
 
 HOB ART. 
 Garrett 235 
 
 HODGDON. 
 
 Hiram 89. 226 
 
 Israel 76 
 
 HOLMES. 
 
 E. A 34 
 
 Nathaniel 11 
 
 Samuel 95 
 
 HOWE. 
 
 Julia Ward 194 
 
 Orlando 184 
 
 HOWARD. 
 Emma O 
 
 IIOYT. 
 
 Alonzo F ft 
 
 .•\s.i (Jeorgj 148 
 
 Dixl C... i'l, 1« 
 
 Enos. Dr 28. 29. 30. 33, 49. 56. 149 
 
 150. 153. 176 
 
 Enos Alphcus 92, 14« 
 
 ( ; ra ce C M 
 
 Lewis 
 
 HUNT. 
 
 An i hony 145 
 
 Lucian, Prof 53. go. iiv.. ins. ino 
 
 110. 145. 204. 220 
 
 Nathan Parker l'-2 
 
 Sarah •<»3 
 
 IIURD. 
 Ervin A M 
 
 nCTCIIINSON. 
 
 Emrl. Hon IM 
 
 Jud-on !'•"» 
 
 Kate L 1» 
 
 JEWEL!-. 
 
 S 
 
 JEWETT. 
 
 Jeremiah '•'* 
 
 Stcpheu S "• 
 
360 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 JOHNSON. 
 
 Amanda 
 
 John 
 
 Simeon 233 
 
 JONES. 
 
 Amos IIG 
 
 Benjamin 7G 
 
 Setli, Dr 247 
 
 Chester, Hon. 
 
 JORDAN. 
 
 200 
 
 KENISTON. 
 
 Albert 80 
 
 Alpheus 1(!9 
 
 David, Jr 74, 75, 76 
 
 Francis 76 
 
 Fredericlj 80, 84 
 
 John S3 
 
 Tliomas 80 
 
 William 4, 22, 72, 118 
 
 Willie 192, 230 
 
 KELLEY. 
 
 John 87, 104, 121 
 
 Samuel 57 
 
 KENNY. 
 
 Charles 140 
 
 Stephen 86 
 
 KENDRICK. 
 Charles 184 
 
 KEZAR. 
 
 Edmund, Lieut 74 
 
 George 173 
 
 John, Jr 148 
 
 JOSSG . 89 
 
 John, Dr '. '. '.'.'.'.'.'.'.'.40,' 49," iis! 148 
 
 Reuben 71, 73 
 
 William 91 
 
 George W 
 
 KEYES. 
 
 85 
 
 KIMBALL. 
 
 David 119 
 
 Ebenezar 4, 71, 121 
 
 John A 119 
 
 Reuben 119 
 
 Viola R 60 
 
 KING. 
 Thomas 81 
 
 KNOWLES. 
 
 D. C, Rev 24, 53 
 
 Lucien 60 
 
 Mather 15 
 
 Joseph 25, 26, 115 
 
 Mrs 27 
 
 William 27, 169 
 
 W'esley 47, 49 
 
 LADD. 
 
 Ora P 187 
 
 William S 192 
 
 LAMBERT. 
 
 Rev. Fr 45 
 
 Elmer 95 
 
 LANG. 
 
 Josie 60 
 
 W. P 53 
 
 LANE. 
 Caroline 59 
 
 James, Rev. 
 
 LATIMER. 
 
 Craven 
 
 LAYCOCK. 
 
 200 
 
 LaCASEY. 
 Peter 85 
 
 59 
 
 Jeremiah 
 
 LAKE. 
 
 80 
 
 LEAVITT. 
 
 Alvin B 60 
 
 Dudley 54, 129 
 
 Ernest 60 
 
 Joseph 4 
 
 LEIGHTON. 
 Edw ard 6 
 
 LEWIS. 
 John 225, 226 
 
 LIBBY. 
 
 Abe 87 
 
 Joseph 174 
 
 LINSEY. 
 James, Mrs 201, 204 
 
 LITTLEFIELD. 
 Josiah H 80 
 
 LIVERMORE. 
 Mary A 194 
 
 LOCKb. 
 George R 187 
 
 LORD. 
 
 A. C 178, 232 
 
 Arthur P 87, 247 
 
 George W 232, 247 
 
 G. B., Mrs. 
 
 LOTT. 
 
 184 
 
 LOUGEE. 
 
 Harry 95 
 
 Samuel, Rev 165 
 
 Truworthy 90 
 
 J. L. 
 
 LOVERIN. 
 
 100 
 
 LUDLOW. 
 
 Cornelius 72 
 
 Whitten 79 
 
 LYFORD. 
 
 Biley, Dr 148 
 
 James O., Hon 159, 201, 204 
 
 Jeremiah II., Dr 148 
 
 Lieutenant 13, 73, 76, 103 
 
 Sarah 97 
 
 Squire 124 
 
 Thomas 175 
 
 Thomas, Jr 49, 66 
 
 James 
 
 LYNCH. 
 
 87 
 
 LYONS. 
 John 86 
 
 Lewis, Rev. 
 
 MALVERN. 
 MANLY. 
 
 21 
 
 90 
 
 MANN. 
 
 Joseph 169 
 
 MANUEL. 
 Rufus 185 
 
INDEX. 
 
 861 
 
 MARSH. 
 
 Charles 81 
 
 L. K 44 
 
 MARTIN. 
 
 Robert f>5 
 
 Samuel 97 
 
 James S 81 
 
 MASON. 
 
 David If.O 
 
 George ISl 
 
 MARDEN. 
 John 74, 7.') 
 
 MATHEWS. 
 Esquire 14 
 
 McDANIEL. 
 John 82 
 
 McCRILLIS. 
 David, Capt 14 
 
 Mcdonald. 
 
 Jeremiah 4, 117 
 
 .John 4, 15, 117. 121 
 
 Nehemiah 71, 116 
 
 McFARLAND. 
 
 Asa, Rev 28 
 
 Elisabeth 194 
 
 McQUESTEN. 
 
 GreenouRh 229 
 
 Relief Judith 227 
 
 McVEY. 
 James 86 
 
 MERRILL. 
 
 Arthur F 85 
 
 Charles A 164 
 
 DeWitt 85 
 
 Frank H 231 
 
 John W 49 
 
 Jacob 4 
 
 MEIZNER. 
 Henry 185 
 
 MILES. 
 
 Archelus 4, 5. 117, 121 
 
 Abner 4, 73. 117. 119 
 
 Josiah 5. 17 
 
 Josiah. Mrs 218 
 
 Samuel 4, 117, 119 
 
 MILLS. 
 Mrs 182 
 
 MILLER. 
 William 219 
 
 MITCHELL. 
 John M., Hon 231 
 
 MOLONY. 
 
 John 71. 76, 229 
 
 Richard 148 
 
 MOODY. 
 Bradstreet 236 
 
 MOONEY. 
 
 Celestia S 57 
 
 John 57, 66. 176 
 
 Isaac 204 
 
 MOORE. 
 
 Ezeklel C3. 114 
 
 Frank ^ 
 
 Jacob 22^ 
 
 Jesse go 
 
 |'"\''na '.'..'.'.'.■.■.■.■.■.■. '.iM. M7 
 
 ^latililas 114 
 
 >l<'rrlll '..'.'m. 230 
 
 ^Jonill lufi. 187 
 
 Morrill S i7« 
 
 William '.'.'.'.'.'.'.'. 71 
 
 MORRISON 
 
 Amos 49 
 
 Hyron g4 
 
 Carrie B 199 
 
 David 122 
 
 !•:• <J 241 
 
 Ebenezar 29. 103 
 
 Frank 232 
 
 < ieorse 194 
 
 James 90 
 
 Jolin C IBS' 
 
 Joseph 232 
 
 Liba C 103 
 
 Mary II 182 
 
 0. C C2. 186. 187 
 
 Oliver P 94 
 
 O. G. & E. G 230. 242. 2I«. 247 
 
 MOREY. 
 
 J. W., Rev 58 
 
 Massa 182 
 
 MORROW 
 John 83 
 
 MUNSEY. 
 Mary 242 
 
 MORSE. 
 
 lOunice 25 
 
 l-',mma Lake 193 
 
 Hannah 25 
 
 II. A 227 
 
 Susan 25 
 
 Sarah 25 
 
 MORRILL. 
 
 Bessie II 60 
 
 Beniamin 74, 76 
 
 Bradlnirv 81. 17« 
 
 David. Lieut 74 
 
 Luther H 8, 17« 
 
 Levi 7* 
 
 Moses tS7 
 
 Master U8 
 
 MIZZEY. 
 
 Albert •■••• « 
 
 Harry W 8. oO. » 
 
 Walter *« 
 
 NELSON. 
 
 Ada I n 
 
 Ella. Mrs Ml 
 
 NEWIIALL. ft 
 
 Moses, Rev ^ 
 
 NILES. 
 
 GeoTKo W 
 
 NOUTON. 
 
 William ^"^ 
 
 NOYER. 
 
 Horace 'JJ 
 
 I'arker »" 
 
 NUDD. ^ 
 
 Andrew «• 
 
 David K -JJ 
 
 EILsabetli *" 
 
 OSDOKX. 
 James, Dr . *• 
 
362 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 OSGOOD. 
 
 Asa K 104, 182 
 
 Charles B 80 
 
 Henry 104 
 
 James, Capt 71 
 
 Jacob 222 
 
 OTIS. 
 
 John 74 
 
 Mica jah 21 
 
 PAGE. 
 
 Daniel M 62, 247 
 
 Georgia A GO, 196 
 
 Lizzie A GO, 195 
 
 PALMER. 
 James 230 
 
 PARSONS. 
 
 E. P 241 
 
 William 81 
 
 Emma Carlton 
 
 PARKER. 
 
 200 
 
 PARKINSON. 
 
 Esther 124 
 
 Nancy 54 
 
 Master 54, 12.'! 
 
 PATTERSON. 
 Governor 1G7 
 
 PATRICK. 
 William, Rev 55 
 
 PAY SON. 
 Charles H 91 
 
 PAUL. 
 Susie 1G5 
 
 PEASE. 
 
 John W 244 
 
 Charles 244 
 
 PEABODY. 
 
 Augusta M 60 
 
 Elisabeth 104 
 
 James L 224 
 
 James Van 82 
 
 Kendall 224 
 
 Noah 2:?0 
 
 Selwin B 91, 171 
 
 PECK. 
 
 Isaac, Rev 
 
 PERKINS. 
 
 Frederic C, Rev .33 
 
 James L 71, 77, 113 
 
 Nathaniel 4, 73 
 
 Nathaniel, .Tr 75 
 
 William 175 
 
 PERRY. 
 
 Joseph 00 
 
 Maud 183 
 
 I'ERTHEL. 
 
 Mary A CI 
 
 PHELPS. 
 
 Frank J 187, 2.32 
 
 John Low 89 
 
 PHILBRICK. 
 
 Enoch G 232 
 
 George S ,..53, 67 
 
 Hannah M 101 
 
 PIERCE. 
 Franklin, Hon 9, 233 
 
 A. J. 
 J. J. 
 
 PILLSBURY. 
 
 .62, 171 
 .... 171 
 
 PIPER. 
 
 Brothers , 185 
 
 Ilanan 92 
 
 John W 85 
 
 Thomas 98 
 
 PIKE. 
 Austin F 7, 163 
 
 PLACE. 
 David, Capt 72 
 
 PLUMMER. 
 
 Abraham 102 
 
 William H 185 
 
 William, Gov 117 
 
 POOR. 
 Enoch, Gen 73 
 
 POTTER. 
 Rev. Mr 32 
 
 Leon 
 
 POWERS. 
 
 60 
 
 PRATT. 
 
 Theodore, Rev 32, 33, 61 
 
 PRESBY. 
 
 John 82 
 
 Winthrop 81 
 
 Joseph J. 
 
 PRESCOTT. 
 
 186 
 
 PROCTOR. 
 
 Ahasrail 160 
 
 ("laia L 160 
 
 James 160 
 
 PUTNAM. 
 Hannah A 39 
 
 QUIMBY. 
 Silas, Rev 28 
 
 RAND. 
 
 .Joseph 105 
 
 Martha D 60 
 
 Sarah Waldron 149 
 
 RANDALL. 
 Benjamin, Rev 21 
 
 Jessie . 
 Colonel 
 
 RAYMOND. 
 RANSOM. 
 
 194 
 191 
 
 REUTER. 
 Martin, Rev 25, 27, 54, 55 
 
 RICE. 
 Fanny 103 
 
 RILEY. 
 
 Aram 80 
 
 Almena 183 
 
 RINES. 
 William 73 
 
 ROBERTSON, 
 ^gj^ 77 
 
 Charles' H.," 'mis.'.' .' .' .' .' .' '. '.'.".'.'.'.'.'.'.'.'.'." '.'.'.'. 182 
 
 ROBINSON. 
 
 .Tohn B., Rev 61 
 
 Frank 265 
 
INDEX. 
 
 8G8 
 
 ROBERTS. 
 
 George 8i 
 
 Josiah 82 
 
 William II 83 
 
 ROBY. 
 Thomas 181 
 
 ROEN. 
 John 71 
 
 ROGERS. 
 
 B. A., Rev 55, 100, 159, 1G5, lOG 
 
 173. 200 
 
 Charles C 38, 61, 91 
 
 Dick 90 
 
 Enoch 16, 221 
 
 Jefferson 92 
 
 Jeremiah 104 
 
 John. Jr 101 
 
 John 4G, 98 
 
 Lucy Viola 1«16 
 
 Ned 232 
 
 Orville. Dr 90, 148 
 
 Samuel, Dea 98 
 
 Samuel B 36, 100 
 
 Sallv 55 
 
 Sophie T 195 
 
 ROLLINS. 
 
 Benjamin 74 
 
 E. II.. Ilou 7 
 
 Frank, Gov 199 
 
 J Vfi 
 
 Mahala 177 
 
 ROSS. 
 Frank A 38 
 
 ROWE. 
 Nathaniel 231 
 
 RUNDLET. 
 
 Addie E 166 
 
 Mary L 246 
 
 Marietta 24''. 
 
 Osgood 24G 
 
 Viola 1G6 
 
 RUSSELL. 
 
 Orimal 2."?1 
 
 Willis 231 
 
 RUST. 
 Richard S., Rev 59 
 
 SALTER. 
 Captain '2 
 
 SAMPSON. 
 Cassander C 33, 34, 53, 200 
 
 SANBORN. 
 
 Charles II., Dr 60, 148. 2.30 
 
 Daniel 80, 96, lor. 
 
 Dyer II 55, 58, 59, 153, 16<'. 
 
 Dearhorn 226 
 
 DeWitt Channing 91 
 
 Ensign IH 
 
 E. B. S., Hon I'S 
 
 Ford ;••} 
 
 James }*• 
 
 John 11^' 
 
 Jonathan ''> 
 
 Jeromlah • "2j 
 
 Loavitt ••■ *•] 
 
 Mathew ^*• ]»* 
 
 Mathew, Jr., Dr i« 
 
 N. O ^* 
 
 Oscar r • • ■7. ,^^ 
 
 Roby IW, 148 
 
 Simoon 4 
 
 William 4 . 
 
 William, Ensign 74 
 
 SANDERS. 
 Edmund i 
 
 SARGENT. 
 
 Abbie M CO 
 
 Charles M 
 
 Emily 55 
 
 Julia . 5t 
 
 SAWYER. 
 
 f'harlos H., Gov 171 
 
 Gideon 27, 71, 116. 117 
 
 Deacon 118 
 
 SCALES. 
 J. R., Mrs 193 
 
 SCRIBNER. 
 
 Fred 172 
 
 Jonathan 104 
 
 Kate 60 
 
 SENTER. 
 John 134 
 
 SEWALL. 
 
 Samuel, Rev 31 
 
 Samuel 181 
 
 Jotham 31 
 
 SHAW. 
 
 Bvron 17? 
 
 Frank W 96, 178 
 
 Florence GO 
 
 Nellie Oliver 202 
 
 SHEPHERD. 
 
 James E 1S8 
 
 James, Capt 72, 74 
 
 SIIEDD. 
 Freeman B 214 
 
 SHIRLEY. 
 Barren 
 
 SIMONDS. 
 
 Abraham 169 
 
 Augusta 60 
 
 Hester A. R 60 
 
 James 8 
 
 John J 
 
 Joseph Hills W 
 
 .Tnhii W 121 
 
 Nnncy Forrest 1» 
 
 Nancv f^ 
 
 Master M 
 
 Thomas. Capt _, 
 
 William • '» 
 
 SLADER 
 Almon 51 
 
 SLEEPER. 
 
 C. L 172 
 
 SMART. 
 
 Clara E • 2 
 
 Charles JJ 
 
 Peter " 
 
 SMITH. 
 
 Arthur 2 
 
 Charles. Rev ••• ^m 
 
 Charles " --. 
 
 David 
 
 Francis 
 
 Francis, Jr t; 
 
 Goorge ..••.•••••»••••••••••*•••• _T? 
 
 James ■" 
 
364 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Jeremiah 4C 
 
 Jeremiah, Jr 104, 114 
 
 Jeremiah E 99, lOG, 107, 183, 277 
 
 Joseph M. (> 105 
 
 Joshua 79, 101 
 
 John 104 
 
 Mary J 60 
 
 Martha A. C 60 
 
 Robert 225 
 
 Warren H 51, 64, C6, 113, 114, 115 
 
 116, 181. 187 
 
 William, Ensign 74, 116 
 
 W. B. T 38 
 
 AVilliam 225 
 
 SMYTIIK. 
 
 Arthur T 38 
 
 Simeon 38 
 
 SO AND SO. 
 Mrs 18 
 
 SPAULDING. 
 J., Rev 56 
 
 starri<:tt. 
 
 Henrietta 155 
 
 STARK. 
 George 80 
 
 STEELE. 
 John, Col 74, 75 
 
 STEVENS. 
 
 Aaron 4, 123 
 
 Aaron, Jr 4 
 
 Charles 87 
 
 Francis, Mrs 195 
 
 G. F 232 
 
 Ina M 60 
 
 J., Rev 58 
 
 STINSON. 
 W. II., Col 187 
 
 STONE. 
 Charles F 178 
 
 STREETER. 
 Hiram 107 
 
 STRONG. 
 C. B., Rev 33 
 
 SULLOWAY. 
 A. L 67, 247 
 
 SUTTON. 
 John, Master 54 
 
 SWEATT. 
 
 Ansreline T 227 
 
 Gideon 4 
 
 John 231 
 
 T. J., Dr 149 
 
 SWEENY. 
 Joseph 87 
 
 TAYLOR. 
 
 J. Frank 38, 230 
 
 John 176 
 
 Sidney G3 
 
 TEBBETTS. 
 
 Bradbury 176 
 
 Charles C, Dr 90, 148 
 
 David. Mrs 107 
 
 George S 174 
 
 Henry 55, 148, 169 
 
 Hiram 105 
 
 Hiram B 148 
 
 Hiram B., 2d 148 
 
 J. B 49 
 
 John C 57, CO, 165 
 
 Nathan 148 
 
 Walter 88 
 
 TEMPEST. 
 
 Susie R 166 
 
 Susie E 166 
 
 Benjamin 166 
 
 THEOBALD. 
 George L 20 
 
 THOMAS. 
 Arthur P 187 
 
 THOMPSON. 
 
 Charles 70 
 
 James, Mrs 20, 43 
 
 Samuel 78 
 
 Thomas 102 
 
 THORN. 
 Phineas 123 
 
 THORNTON. 
 
 Mathew, Gov 73, 74 
 
 Sally 54 
 
 TICKNOR. 
 Charles P 58 
 
 TILTON. 
 
 Alexander II 11, 103 
 
 Alfred E 67 
 
 Charles E 10, 20, 41. 52. 53, 07, 171, 189 
 
 191, 197, 198, 235, 242 
 
 Charles W 8, 84 
 
 Elmer. Hon 246, 247 
 
 George H 238, 239, 244, 245, 246 
 
 Hamilton, Mrs 38 
 
 Jeremiah 9, 175, 191, 197, 236, 238, 246 
 
 Jeremiah C, Col 30, 238 
 
 Joseph S 246 
 
 Kenneth J 247 
 
 Mary P 153 
 
 Mittie Clough 240 
 
 Mvra A 60 
 
 Mvra, Mrs 34 
 
 Nancy C 34, 191 
 
 Rufus II 85 
 
 Samuel, Hon 30, 48, 58, 60 
 
 Sara L 30 
 
 TITCOMB. 
 Albert 86 
 
 TOLMAN. 
 Dr 149 
 
 TOWN SEND. 
 Luther T., Rev 53 
 
 TRECARTIN. 
 D. Munson, Dr 149 
 
 TRUE. 
 
 Charles L 62, 172, 244 
 
 Alida, Mrs 200 
 
 TUCKER. 
 Uncle 101 
 
 TURNER. 
 John, Rev 31 
 
 TUTTLE. 
 
 Lima H 235 
 
 Mary 235 
 
 Socrates 235 
 
 Ware D 186 
 
INDE 
 
 WADLEIGII. 
 
 Charles .T 230 
 
 Ephraim S 9, 51, C6. 105, 111, 182 
 
 Jonatlian 4, 73, 100, 112 
 
 Mother 220. 228 
 
 Peter, Hon 46, 77, 173, 175 
 
 WAITT. 
 Mary Green in4 
 
 WALDRON. 
 Richard 2 
 
 WALKER. 
 
 Parson 218 
 
 Timothy, Col 74 
 
 WATERMAN. 
 Lucius, Rev 33, 38, 160 
 
 WEAUE. 
 M 70 
 
 WEBBER. 
 Dr 149 
 
 WEBSTER. 
 
 Ebenezar 72 
 
 Samuel 6 
 
 WEEKS. 
 George F 231 
 
 WELLS. 
 Nathan 49, 50, 174 
 
 WEST. 
 James 46 
 
 WIIIDDEX. 
 Parsons, Dr 149, 152, 153 
 
 WHIPPLE. 
 Sherman L 162 
 
 WHITCHER. 
 
 Benjamin 76. 169 
 
 Clarence 178, 18fi."187 
 
 Fannie 186, 187 
 
 George 89 
 
 Ira 83 
 
 Julia fO 
 
 Mathew 104 
 
 Nathaniel 4, 71, 113. 115. 117, 121 
 
 Reuben 4, 71, 80, 113, 115. 121 
 
 Jonathan lir> 
 
 William 4, 115, 117 
 
 WHITTIER. 
 
 Curtice 81 
 
 Daniel, Dr HO, l.-)7 
 
 Fannie, Mrs 34 
 
 X. 866 
 
 '^."ir 130. 176 
 
 NMlllacn gg 
 
 Wn-EY. 
 Fred, Rev 23, 24 
 
 WILLIAMS. 
 Wlllinm 1, 113 
 
 WILSON 
 Solomon McNeil 197 
 
 WINOATE. 
 
 Colonel 72 
 
 Eliza, Mrs $4 
 
 WINSLOW. 
 
 A. B 204 
 
 Benjamin. Mrs 5C, 204 
 
 Darius i.'a 
 
 John S 107, 21s 
 
 L. J 171 
 
 Moses 127 
 
 WITIIAM. 
 Asa 8S 
 
 WOODS. 
 D., Rev 28 
 
 WOODBURY. 
 
 Ambrose 74. 115 
 
 .Toslah 173. 175 
 
 Mark R., Dr 149 
 
 William 80 
 
 WOODMAN. 
 John K 229 
 
 WOODWARD. 
 
 Charles 84 
 
 Alfred C 9 
 
 WYATT. 
 
 Chase 104 
 
 Otis C, Maj 92, 100, 176. 178, 1» 
 
 201, 204 
 Walter ' 9 
 
 YORK. 
 
 Charles W «T 
 
 John S *** 
 
 YOUNG. 
 
 Ann Kimball 177 
 
 BrlKham »7 
 
 Edwin J 172. 199. 231 
 
 Cenmla. Mrs 195, 196 
 
 Mary Otis 177 
 
 Thomas J *77 
 
INDEX 
 
 Part II. 
 
 ABBOTT. 
 
 Abagail 5, 158 
 
 Alfred L 6 
 
 Austin Clarence 6 
 
 Betsey 5 
 
 Charles W 181 
 
 Dorcas 28 
 
 Elias, Dea 5, 226, 28.3 
 
 Elisabeth 5 
 
 Elias. .Jr 5. 6, 269 
 
 Emily B 6, 53, 317 
 
 Ebenezar 290 
 
 Ellen C 239 
 
 Fra nces M 1 
 
 Frank Mazen 7 
 
 Gardiner S 6, 34, 35, 134, 236 
 
 Hannah 5, 198 
 
 James B 5, 268 
 
 Jeddediah 7 
 
 Lydia Sawyer 6 
 
 Lucia A 7 
 
 Moses 3 
 
 Moses Colbv 6, 296 
 
 Matilda 6, 113 
 
 Nancy 290 
 
 ADAM.«!. 
 
 Abliie Ann 7 
 
 Aaron 176 
 
 Charles E 7, 8 
 
 Emery H 176 
 
 Frank 7 
 
 Frank Marshall 8 
 
 Harry B 310 
 
 Isabella 126 
 
 Joseph 7 
 
 Julia 148 
 
 Josephine R 8 
 
 I.aura E 7 
 
 I.ottie M 7 
 
 Minnie B 7, 8 
 
 Minnie I^ouisa 7 
 
 Maria F 7 
 
 Martha Jarvis 8 
 
 Richard 286 
 
 Samuel 7 
 
 AIKEN. 
 
 Fred 73 
 
 Herrick 173 
 
 Walter 173 
 
 AKELEY. 
 Isaiah 38 
 
 ALLISON OR ELLISON. 
 
 Andrew 9 
 
 Anna 9, 111 
 
 Betsey 9 
 
 Charlotte 10 
 
 Joseph 9 
 
 ]\Iarv 9 
 
 Richard 9, 10 
 
 Susanna S 9, 10 
 
 Sarah Ill 
 
 William 9 
 
 ALLEN. 
 
 Ada B 290 
 
 Frank 1 296 
 
 (iuy F. S 296 
 
 Jesse 296 
 
 Julia F 107 
 
 ALI.ARD. 
 
 Eliza 9 
 
 .Joseph 9 
 
 James Madison 9 
 
 Jonathan 9 
 
 ALDRICH. 
 
 Abagail Sargent 8 
 
 Caleb t 8 
 
 Charles Sarsjent 8 
 
 Emma 9, 260 
 
 Emeline J 9, 296 
 
 Edwin 8 
 
 ITarrv 46 
 
 Harriet 8, 78 
 
 Harry, Jr 46 
 
 Lucius 46 
 
 Mary Downing 8 
 
 Olive J 8 
 
 Sally Sargent 8 
 
 Sally B 9 
 
 Windsor ■. .. 8 
 
 ALMY. 
 C. T 26 
 
 AMBROSE. 
 
 Abagail 50 
 
 Josiah 10, 327 
 
 AMES. 
 
 Almira 113 
 
 Angeline 10 
 
 Auroline 10 
 
 Ellen S 11 
 
 Hannah 62 
 
 Harry Bracket 11 
 
 Kate S 11 
 
 Louis Barton 11 
 
 Michael 10 
 
 Mary Ellen 11 
 
 Roancv 10 
 
 Sarah R 10 
 
 William B., M. D 10 
 
 AMBLER. 
 
 Abi B 176 
 
 Amelia 104 
 
 Sarah Ells 78 
 
INDKX. 
 
 867 
 
 ANDREWS. 
 
 Charles E 11 
 
 Edith 11 
 
 William 138 
 
 ANNIS. 
 
 John 13a 
 
 Mary 279 
 
 ANDERSON. 
 Elisabeth 313 
 
 ANTHONY. 
 
 A. Hunter 181 
 
 Leila Hill 181 
 
 APPLETON. 
 
 Nancy 290 
 
 John ': 290 
 
 ARNOLD. 
 Ansel 221 
 
 ARMOUR. 
 Mrs 154 
 
 ARMSTRONC. 
 Alice 243 
 
 ARLIN. 
 
 Alice 11 
 
 Alonzo 11, 89 
 
 Charles L 11, 152 
 
 Everett 89 
 
 Ira 11, 89 
 
 Judith 
 
 Pollv 241 
 
 Rhoda 97 
 
 Samuel 11 
 
 Sally J 319 
 
 ATHOLIA. 
 
 Andrew 273 
 
 Robert 273 
 
 ASH. 
 Albion 93 
 
 ASHLEY. 
 Silas C9 
 
 ATKINSON. 
 
 Asenath 12, 32.T 
 
 Charlotte A 12 
 
 Daniel. .Judge 12 
 
 Horatio 12 
 
 Josephine R 12 
 
 John J 2.SS 
 
 Lerov 12 
 
 Mehitahle T 12 
 
 Napoleon B 12 
 
 Silas 12 
 
 Thomas E 210 
 
 Thomas M. C 210 
 
 ATHERTON. 
 Annette 240 
 
 At' ST IX. 
 
 Alonzo, Rev l** 
 
 Anna 12, 13, IS 
 
 Alice L 193 
 
 Benjamin 13, 118 
 
 Daniel " 
 
 Eliza " 
 
 Elisabeth 237 
 
 Huse 13. 93 
 
 Henrlefte 13 
 
 Isabella Camp 16 
 
 Jerusha 13 
 
 Jane 13 
 
 Jeremiah 13 
 
 Lucretla '^'^ 
 
 Mary Esther 13 
 
 Miiilha i'l 286 
 
 oiiv.. .;; • ^ 
 
 oilnda A 16 
 
 I'<'rsis .■.■;.■.■ 236 
 
 Ulioda 13 
 
 s^-illy 118, ii 13 
 
 Sally, 2d ._ 12 
 
 Snsn n 13, 19 
 
 Sanuicl j3 
 
 Thomas S ...', 13 
 
 Thomas 12, 2I6 
 
 AUCKLAND. 
 
 Flora 210 
 
 AVERY. 
 
 Addie B 14 
 
 Caleb 322 
 
 Charles Walter 14 
 
 Itanlcl F 13 
 
 .lonatlian 322 
 
 .Tosoph L 322 
 
 Lucy Bell 13 
 
 Mary Stevens 14 
 
 Mary 28, 319 
 
 AVERS. 
 
 Almira J 335 
 
 .VImIra .Tosephlne 14 
 
 A ndrew 
 
 Benj. Franklin 16, 195, 273, 285, 335 
 
 Caroline 17 
 
 Charles Haines 14, 127 
 
 Charles Henry 14. 16, 193 
 
 Klihn 1> 17 
 
 Ellen M S3S 
 
 Kdinund 17 
 
 Fred 17 
 
 Frances 17 
 
 Helen M 3, 335 
 
 Helen 17 
 
 Henrv C 340 
 
 Henry M 17. 335 
 
 Henry Day 16 
 
 Herman E 335 
 
 Hannah H U 
 
 Hannah J S40 
 
 .Teremlah E S40 
 
 Joseph 14. 15. 840 
 
 Joseph A IB 
 
 Jonathan 17 
 
 Jonathan, Jr S3S 
 
 John 3, 16 
 
 Lucv J 17 
 
 Lizzie MS 
 
 Lucy C WO 
 
 >fary J 48. S85 
 
 Marv F 48, S3S 
 
 Martha Clark W 
 
 Martha E *40 
 
 Martin P. " 
 
 Marv E " 
 
 Sarah A 1' 
 
 Statlra M " 
 
 Susan C 
 
 Walter H • SW 
 
 William D 17 
 
 AYLES. 
 
 James F f] 
 
 Harry A •' 
 
 BABB, 
 
 Horace JJJ 
 
 Henry •"• 
 
 Joseph ••• *• 
 
 BABBITT. 
 
 D.irn !*• 
 
368 
 
 INDEX, 
 
 BACHELDER. 
 
 Nahum, Gov 201 
 
 BACON. 
 
 John B 237 
 
 John L 237 
 
 Mary 237 
 
 BADGER. 
 
 Ahbie 307 
 
 Charles 261 
 
 George 2fil 
 
 Marv 32S 
 
 Thomas 2G1 
 
 Willie 2G1 
 
 BAKER. 
 
 G. S., Col 259, 350 
 
 George W 259, 349 
 
 Marv 242 
 
 Snllivan, Mrs 337 
 
 BAILEY. 
 
 Elisabeth 22 
 
 Harold V 269 
 
 Isabel 209 
 
 Joanna 269 
 
 Susan 221 
 
 Walter 269 
 
 Walter R 269 
 
 BALCOM. 
 
 Frank G 20 
 
 George W 20, 49 
 
 Jane 20 
 
 Mary E 21 
 
 BALLANTYNE. 
 
 Adam S 305 
 
 Arthur Scott 18 
 
 Anna C 17 
 
 James R 17 
 
 John S 18 
 
 Kate S 18 
 
 BANCROFT. 
 Hattie 39 
 
 BARNABEE. 
 Henry 262 
 
 BARNARD. 
 
 Arthur 21 
 
 Burton 21 
 
 Charles 21 
 
 Helen 160 
 
 Harrv H 160 
 
 Huldah 21 
 
 J. 1 160 
 
 Ralph 21 
 
 Ruth 21 
 
 BARR. 
 
 John F 130 
 
 BARNEY. 
 
 Felix, Mrs 148 
 
 BARTLETT. 
 
 Apphia M 81 
 
 Angle 22 
 
 Abigail 266 
 
 Abra 44 
 
 George W 167 
 
 Joseph 41 
 
 Ivorenzo 87 
 
 Martha Jane 87, 144 
 
 Marv 144 
 
 TMathan 81 
 
 Rufus H 167 
 
 R. G. L 77 
 
 BASSETT. 
 Elisabeth 36 
 
 Fannie C 4G 
 
 Harriet 36 
 
 Lydia 36 
 
 Nanoy 36 
 
 Sarah Jane 36 
 
 BATCIIELDER. 
 
 Asa 271 
 
 Abiah 19, 213 
 
 Abel 18 
 
 Albee 19 
 
 Bradford 271 
 
 Clark 270 
 
 Charles .' 39 
 
 Clarance 19 
 
 Dorothy 289 
 
 Eugene 256, 336 
 
 Emery 96 
 
 Ilazen 301 
 
 Irene 19 
 
 Josiah 201 
 
 John 39 
 
 John, Jr 39 
 
 .Jeremiah 43 
 
 Jav Clifford 43 
 
 Julia 19, 306 
 
 John 19 
 
 Kinsley 19 
 
 Lizzie 23 
 
 Lizzie A 19 
 
 Lucy M 296 
 
 Laura 19 
 
 Melissa 20 
 
 Mary B 19 
 
 Malinda 19 
 
 Martha 201 
 
 Mary 201 
 
 Moses 18, 80 
 
 Nathaniel 252 
 
 N. I' 185 
 
 Oral 96 
 
 Oliver 322 
 
 Sarah 43 
 
 Susan 19, 22 
 
 Willie A 201 
 
 William 43 
 
 Walter 19 
 
 Willis 19 
 
 BATKY. 
 Matilda 248 
 
 BATNEY. 
 Flora 28 
 
 BATTIS. 
 Dustin 285 
 
 BAYLEY. 
 
 Catherine 21 
 
 George C 21 
 
 BEAN. 
 
 Belinda 32 
 
 Charles 127 
 
 Clyde E 225 
 
 Emma 91 
 
 George 91, 270 
 
 Hezekiah 21, 125, 298 
 
 Hannah 248 
 
 John Weslev 21 
 
 I-uther C, Dr 127 
 
 Marv J 261 
 
 Martha 261 
 
 Nelson 284 
 
 Orissa 170 
 
 Susan A 127 
 
 Sallv 96 
 
 Stephen 309 
 
 William 
 
INDEX. 
 
 3G9 
 
 BECK. 
 
 Calvin 207 
 
 Polly 308 
 
 BECKLER. 
 
 Cora 22 
 
 Daniol \V 22, 54 
 
 Mary 22 
 
 BELL. 
 
 .Tohn, Dr 8(1 
 
 Mary 141 
 
 BENITEZ. 
 
 Francisco 22 
 
 Mary A. L 22 
 
 BENNET. 
 
 Arthur E 246 
 
 Caroline 164 
 
 Ellen 
 
 George 296 
 
 Levi 296 
 
 Sarah 24G 
 
 William 216 
 
 BENSON. 
 Joseph 69 
 
 BELDEN. 
 Lizzie 309 
 
 BEURY. 
 Elisabeth 303 
 
 BIGELOW. 
 
 Enos Iloyt 1S6 
 
 George W 186 
 
 BIRD. 
 Carrie 337 
 
 BISHOP. 
 Benjamin 316 
 
 BISSON. 
 Louise 337 
 
 BLAISDELL. 
 
 Albert J 23 
 
 Ira 23 
 
 Julia F 23 
 
 Melinda 23 
 
 Susan 1« 
 
 BLAIR. 
 
 Lyncha 1^0 
 
 BLANCIIARD. 
 
 Benjamin 137. 160. 20S 
 
 Charlotte 39 
 
 Clara 189 
 
 Daniel 24. 25. 26 
 
 David 26 
 
 Edward. Capt 137 
 
 Edward 23, 47 
 
 Elisabeth 24. 2C, 142 
 
 •Edward. Jr ;j 
 
 Ebenezar 38. Ii5 
 
 Fred "0 
 
 Frank J^O 
 
 George 26, 190 
 
 Henry 27 
 
 Hannah !•; 
 
 lantho • 27 
 
 Janette 26 
 
 John 1 2i' 
 
 Jane j' 
 
 James 26 
 
 Jerry ••• 23 
 
 Narclssa 26, ii~ 
 
 Ruth ••• ,23 
 
 Richard 84, 176 
 
 24 
 
 Richard, 2d 26 
 
 Reuben, Lieut 106 
 
 William (Billy) 23 
 
 Sally 23 
 
 Thomas 340 
 
 BT-AKE. 
 
 f 'barlea 285 
 
 Clirlstian 2S5 
 
 ( Icorge 227 
 
 Hannah 4S 
 
 Isaac 38 
 
 Ma r y 158 
 
 .\aucy 38 
 
 I'cahodv 156 
 
 Royal 227 
 
 Thomas 286 
 
 BLOOD. 
 
 Charles 241 
 
 Willie 241 
 
 BLY. 
 Addle 72 
 
 BOARD. 
 Joseph 76, 77 
 
 BODWELL. 
 Isaac 277 
 
 BOONHOWER. 
 
 Alfaretta 117 
 
 BOOTH. 
 
 Alfred lU 
 
 ClNUles 2.T3 
 
 Howard 233 
 
 Walter 233 
 
 BOHOXOX. 
 John S4 
 
 BOST. 
 Hannah SOI 
 
 BOSWORTH. 
 
 Chester 4« 
 
 Raymond •<■< 
 
 Walter « 
 
 BOUTWELL. 
 D- 127 
 
 BOUCHER. 
 Josle 95 
 
 BOYCR. 
 
 Aldls 11« 
 
 Hannah J SI 
 
 BOWMAN. 
 Emma 2*8 
 
 BOWLES. 
 William S7 
 
 BOYNTON. 
 
 Courtland JJ 
 
 /Ilia *7 
 
 Mead '!» 
 
 nOYD. 
 
 Nettle "7 
 
 BRACE. 
 
 Frank A ** 
 
 Leonard F 2 
 
 Marlon E " 
 
 BRACKET. 
 
 John W I" 
 
 BRADLEY. 
 
 Ellis •;« 
 
 Esther A •»» 
 
370 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Clarion K 318 
 
 Maurice \V 318 
 
 Mary 323 
 
 Richard 54 
 
 BRAI.EY. 
 
 Alexander 28. 144. 215 
 
 Cornelius 29 
 
 Frank 28 
 
 Mary 116 
 
 Pamelia 28 
 
 BREED. 
 
 Aaron 253 
 
 Aaron, .1 r 254 
 
 Amy 254 
 
 BRONSON. 
 Kate 39 
 
 BRIGIIAM. 
 
 Panl 28 
 
 Kate 227 
 
 BROCKLEBANK. 
 
 Susan 97 
 
 BROWN. 
 
 Abram - 341 
 
 Annie 194 
 
 Ada 28. G2 
 
 Arthur. Mrs 247 
 
 Almira 218 
 
 Annie M 31, 207 
 
 Alliei't 207 
 
 Alfred 132 
 
 Aaron 1.54 
 
 Asa (iile 33 
 
 AblMe 34 
 
 Alira Ann 34 
 
 Albert A 31 
 
 Abraham 25, 29 
 
 Albert 31 
 
 Abraham. .Tr 29 
 
 Benjamin P. 29 
 
 Benjamin F 31 
 
 Bradbury T 45 
 
 Clara 48 
 
 Carml 189 
 
 Clarrisa 30 
 
 Climena 30 
 
 Charles « 31 
 
 Cyrus 341 
 
 David 28, 201 
 
 Dorcas 29 
 
 Dor i nda 335 
 
 Darwin 29 
 
 Edna 32 
 
 Ella Archie 54 
 
 Florence 32 
 
 Frank R 31 
 
 Francena 325 
 
 Fannie , 223 
 
 Fred 189 
 
 Frances 34 
 
 Finlev 29 
 
 George 31 
 
 George II 47 
 
 Henry T 30, 33 
 
 H. B., Dr 30, 31 
 
 Horace 57 
 
 Hannah 29 
 
 Harrison 30, 48 
 
 Harriet 34 
 
 Henry Butler 29. 31 
 
 Jennie 341 
 
 ,Tohn 32. 204, 284 
 
 John J 32 
 
 John G 33, 92 
 
 Joseph 33, 124, 285 
 
 John A 32 
 
 Josiah P 45 
 
 Lyman 32. 207 
 
 Laura 33, 207 
 
 Laroy 31 
 
 liUther M 32 
 
 JIary Ann 30, 31 
 
 Mary K 121 
 
 Mary 30, 33, 48. 150. 207, 214 
 
 Marv M ,32 
 
 Matiw'vv N 33 
 
 Mehital)le 3t 
 
 Mary I'almer 6 
 
 Monroe 341 
 
 Na ncy ]M« 33 
 
 Orville 189 
 
 Polly 29 
 
 Ruth 266 
 
 Sarah Jane 143 
 
 Sarah E 154 
 
 Stephen tJale 30, 31 
 
 Sarah. Mrs 162 
 
 Samuel B 33, 34 
 
 Susan M 30 
 
 Sal'y 30 
 
 Theodore 29 
 
 Theodore. Jr 32, 33 
 
 William 11 .33 
 
 Winfred .32 
 
 Waitt 38 
 
 Waitt, Jr 32 
 
 BRFCE. 
 
 Hannah 97 
 
 Robert 273 
 
 BRYANT. 
 
 Charles D 34 
 
 Charles F .34 
 
 Edwin 11, 34 
 
 Emma F 34 
 
 Helen 34 
 
 Fred 197 
 
 (Jeorge II 3t 
 
 :Mary Ellen 34 
 
 Morris 34 
 
 Willie 34 
 
 Mrs 334 
 
 BUBIER. 
 Luthia 44 
 
 BUCKLEY. 
 
 Sally 216 
 
 BUELL. 
 
 Anna S 35 
 
 Bernice M 35 
 
 David E 35 
 
 Mildred P 35 
 
 BULLOCK. 
 
 Abby ,35 
 
 Elisiia 36 
 
 Edward J 115 
 
 Georgia A 36 
 
 .losephine A 116 
 
 Maud Susan 116 
 
 BUNKER. 
 Joseph 33 
 
 BIINTIN. 
 
 Hannah 195 
 
 BURBANK. 
 Emily 268 
 
 BURGIN. 
 Mary 42 
 
INDEX. 
 
 :{7l 
 
 BURPEE. 
 
 :Ma nly ir>7 
 
 Laroy 157 
 
 nUKKSKY. 
 Effle 194 
 
 Bl'RTON. 
 
 Charles D 191 
 
 Harry 191 
 
 Merna J 191 
 
 lUia.EY. 
 
 Daniel 75 
 
 BUULEIGII. 
 Artemas 264 
 
 BUSH. 
 
 Henry A 51 
 
 Bl'SWELL. 
 
 Ahasail 3G, 350 
 
 Bots(y 55 
 
 Elisalieth 5, 250 
 
 Henrietta 296 
 
 Hai-iiet 6 
 
 .Tames 36 
 
 Lydia 124. 23S 
 
 Nancy 123. 266 
 
 I'lieI.e 6, 36 
 
 Sarah C 82 
 
 Sarah J 6, 350 
 
 Sallv 312 
 
 Zilpha 36 
 
 BUZZELL. 
 
 Charles 34 
 
 (Jilnian 34 
 
 Stephen 34 
 
 Walker 34 
 
 BITLEU. 
 
 Benianiin F 10 
 
 .Tohn 10 
 
 Mary 311 
 
 BUTTERFIELD. 
 
 Ellen M 36 
 
 OADUE. 
 
 I-uther 45 
 
 T.evi F 46, 231 
 
 Salina M 46 
 
 CALEF. 
 
 Arthnr B.. Hon 37, 3S 
 
 Ahairail E 37 
 
 Charles H 36 
 
 Ehenezer B "S 
 
 Edward Baiter 38 
 
 Fannie 142 
 
 Jeremiah 37 
 
 Julia A 12^ 
 
 Jeremiah. .Tr 37 
 
 Jercmiali I-'rancls 37 
 
 James 37 
 
 Iklary Eldora 38 
 
 Marv .\nn -^ 
 
 Martlia. Mrs 37 
 
 Salina M 240 
 
 Samuel 38 
 
 Snninel I'rescott 37 
 
 Sarah Ann 38. C7 
 
 Urania 38 
 
 CAN FIELD. 
 
 Asel 38, 329 
 
 Asel. ,Tr 38 
 
 Asel N 38 
 
 lOmma ^ 
 
 Edward, Rev 38 
 
 Harriet .^n 
 
 .leriislia \\ '.*.'.*.*.'. !".!!38 2V", 
 
 iohn W '.-yj 
 
 ^•niy '.'.'.'.'.'.'.'. 38 
 
 Mary FI ^ 
 
 .Meranda Stewart 28 
 
 Nelson 38 
 
 Saphronla ga 
 
 William « 
 
 William A .".'.".'!!'..'!!;; 38 
 
 CAItl). 
 
 Tiiomas 17 
 
 CARI/l'(l.\. 
 
 Arabella F 39 
 
 Charles H 39 
 
 Emma J ; 39 
 
 Helen M ,19 
 
 John C 39. li^; IK 
 
 Mary V , ]g 
 
 Stephen 229 
 
 CARR. 
 
 Alliert A 74 
 
 Clarinda ss 
 
 Martlm W i 234 
 
 Nancy L 78 
 
 Foster 40 
 
 French 40 
 
 Hazen 46 
 
 James 39 
 
 .Tesse 39 
 
 Joseph 4 
 
 Eettitia 181 
 
 Moses 40 
 
 Martha J. T 104 
 
 Mary 105 
 
 Nancy L 4<> 
 
 Ruth 40, 192 
 
 Samuel 40 
 
 (WRTER. 
 
 Albert S 210 
 
 Ebenezer 165 
 
 Harry L 210 
 
 Hannali 1S6 
 
 Jennie 160 
 
 Ida 238 
 
 Sarah R 232 
 
 CARVER. 
 
 Emma J 174 
 
 Francis. Lieut 174 
 
 Hannah A. M 174 
 
 Martha 1* lU 
 
 CASE. 
 
 Shirley, Rev 182 
 
 CASKIN. 
 
 I%d wa rd ^■' 
 
 (WSWEM.. 
 
 Altajiall •- 1'.. 3iO 
 
 CABS. 
 
 Francis 100 
 
 Jimmy 100 
 
 Lorenzo 100 
 
 Nathaniel 100 
 
 William I)., Rev fOS. S»7 
 
 CATB. 
 
 Aliliy !• W 
 
 Alice 41 
 
 Albert J 42 
 
 Asa I' 40. 4» 
 
 Itenjnmlii ■■24, ttl 
 
 Charles *^ 
 
 Caroline 
 
372 
 
 INDEX, 
 
 Daniel R 40 
 
 Daniel J 258 
 
 Eastman 40 
 
 Georf!rie 179 
 
 Hannah P 290 
 
 Ismene E 42, 62 
 
 Irving Girard 42 
 
 John Wesley 41, 42 
 
 Jonathan 41, 183 
 
 LaPayette 48 
 
 LaPayette, 2d 41 
 
 lydia 41 
 
 Marv A 41 
 
 Miles H 34, 42, 197 
 
 Mescheck 41 
 
 Mary Ella 42 
 
 Martha Jane 42 
 
 Nancy 41 
 
 Susan 40. 41 
 
 Simeon 40, 54, 151, 2G7 
 
 Thomas J 40 
 
 CAWLEY. 
 Sally 42 
 
 CHANCY. 
 
 Clarance 1 191 
 
 Fred 191 
 
 Florence M 191 
 
 Frederick 191 
 
 Lyde N 191 
 
 Lyman J 191 
 
 CHANDLER. 
 
 Lennie M 235 
 
 Samuel 329 
 
 Martin 329 
 
 Mary 244 
 
 CHAMBERLAIN. 
 
 Alonzo P 185 
 
 Charles J 47 
 
 Irene 141 
 
 John, Rev 19, 46, 123 
 
 Sfary Caroline 46 
 
 Marv 320 
 
 Nellie B 47 
 
 CHAPLAIN. 
 Lovina 242 
 
 CHASE. 
 
 Aquila 341 
 
 Anna T 51 
 
 Allen J 51 
 
 Aha«ail W 50 
 
 Alonzo W 50 
 
 Abhie B 74 
 
 Adaline F 51 
 
 Annie D 51 
 
 Almira 48 
 
 Azuba 48 
 
 Ann 48 
 
 Benjamin A 50 
 
 Benjamin 134, 151, 158 
 
 Charles 49 
 
 Charles G 50 
 
 Edward 29, 48 
 
 Ella 52 
 
 Eliza 48 
 
 Elisabeth D 52 
 
 Francis, Hon 50 
 
 , Fanny M 50 
 
 Florence G 103 
 
 Frank B 49 
 
 Franklin B 52 
 
 Fred 85 
 
 Fred, Mrs 88 
 
 Grace 62 
 
 George P 51, 233 
 
 Harriet 29 
 
 Harry 52 
 
 Herbert G 106 
 
 Herbert lOG 
 
 James 112, 145 
 
 Jennie B ' . . 227 
 
 John 50, 167 
 
 John B 48 
 
 J. LaRoy 52 
 
 Jonathan T 51 
 
 Jonathan 51 
 
 Joseph 51 
 
 Laura B 49 
 
 Laura E 51 
 
 Leon 184 
 
 Lizzie A 49, 182 
 
 .T. Leveret 229 
 
 Luther H 52 
 
 Mary 49, 232 
 
 Marv Ann 275 
 
 iSIarV Ella 20, 49 
 
 Mary P 319 
 
 Marion 52 
 
 Mehitable 50 
 
 Mvia 50, 222 
 
 Ned 52 
 
 Nellie S 51 
 
 Phebe 315 
 
 Priscilla 50, 56, 64 
 
 Reginald A 52 
 
 Samuel A 52 
 
 Samuel B 48, 52, 230 
 
 Stephen 49, 103, 222, 227. 267 
 
 Thomas 11. 24. 26, 30, 47 
 
 Thomas, Jr 30. 48, 189, 190, .310 
 
 Uriah, Rev 199 
 
 CHENEY. 
 
 David P 247 
 
 Laura 125 
 
 P. C 180 
 
 T. P 184 
 
 CHEYNE. 
 Elisabeth 213 
 
 CILLEY. 
 
 Augustus 303 
 
 Abner 53 
 
 Benjamin 78 
 
 Cora Hall 54 
 
 Cutting 53 
 
 Daniel 53 
 
 Hiram 53 
 
 Henry 54 
 
 Hannah 54 
 
 James 53 
 
 Jonathan 53 
 
 .Tohn 5, 52, 53, 54, 176 
 
 .Joseph 53 
 
 Jeremiah K 54 
 
 I/Con H 54 
 
 Lvdia 53, 54 
 
 Martha 53. 267 
 
 Marv Ann 53, 178 
 
 Naomi ...t 53 
 
 O. G., Dr 53 
 
 Polly 53, 316 
 
 Sarah Jane 53 
 
 Sarah Frances 54, 180 
 
 Susan 54 
 
 Saphronia 53 
 
 W. H 22, 202 
 
 William 53 
 
 CLARK. 
 
 Archibald T 33, 50, 56 
 
 Augustus B 57 
 
 Alonzo 255 
 
INDEX. 
 
 878 
 
 : 
 
 Ann Eliza 5G 
 
 Alexander T 56 
 
 Charles BS 
 
 Charles F ir.O, 287 
 
 Carlos DeOnis 57 
 
 Danii>l A 50 
 
 Emilia 2.'!2 
 
 Electa W 57 
 
 Electa A 57 
 
 Florence M 1:m 
 
 Fred 5 
 
 (ieorge 2W 
 
 Ceorse H 57 
 
 James , 350 
 
 ■Tames M 57, 2411 
 
 John rs 
 
 John, Dr 5(1 
 
 John (Boston) 153 
 
 Josephine 97 
 
 Joseph 57 
 
 layman 58 
 
 I.ucv Ann 56 
 
 I.elia A •. 299 
 
 Marv E 235 
 
 Maria M 178 
 
 Mary FI. D 55 
 
 Mahew 55 
 
 Nancy 56 
 
 Nathan 56 
 
 Otis Story 57 
 
 Osca r \V 5i; 
 
 Peter Elder 110 
 
 Satchwell 68 
 
 Thomas 56 
 
 Thomas Benton 57 
 
 Valeria M 57 
 
 William B 55 
 
 W'ashinffton 131 
 
 William Taylor 50 
 
 CLAY. 
 
 Arthur IS 
 
 Charles I. 203 
 
 Charles I-., Jr 203 
 
 Daniel '".2, 89 
 
 Eunice 216 
 
 Ephraim 62 
 
 Elisabeth 130 
 
 Jonathan 86 
 
 Jane 19-« 
 
 John 8^ 
 
 Lena 13 
 
 Martha 8" 
 
 Myron •■'2 
 
 >>'iin<y ?5 
 
 I'ayson T " 
 
 CLEMENT. 
 
 Amos 1J5 
 
 Abafrail 1''^ 
 
 Betsev, 2d i'? 
 
 Betsey HS, 201 
 
 Susannah ^3^ 
 
 Samuel I'o 
 
 CLEVELAND. 
 Elmer •• 57 
 
 CLIPriNGER. 
 
 W. W 1*1 
 
 CLIFFORD. 
 
 David Larue '° 
 
 Tristram ,^ 
 
 Marv. Mrs 1?' 
 
 William >* 
 
 CLISBY. 
 
 Clara A &5, 281 
 
 Joseph "* 
 
 Mandana B6 
 
 Maria 66 
 
 Sarah C 66 
 
 Joseph, Jr 55, 178, 243 
 
 CLOUOII. 
 
 Alice 69 
 
 All.ert 60 
 
 Alniira 69 
 
 Aimer 68 
 
 Betsy 76 
 
 Cynthia A 60, 179 
 
 Charles W 6t 
 
 Clinrles 68 
 
 Deliverance 292 
 
 Emilv C 68 
 
 Elisabeth 104 
 
 Harry L 61 
 
 Ida 61 
 
 Jeremiah S fiO 
 
 Jereraiah, Col. ...3, 23, 58, 111, 137, 194, 208 
 
 Jeremiah. Jr 292 
 
 Joseph Warren ; 61 
 
 James Munroe 60 
 
 John, Capt 161 
 
 John L 69 
 
 Jonathan 59, 133 
 
 Jonathan, Jr 69 
 
 Judith 177 
 
 Joseph, Elder 60 
 
 Lucien 60 
 
 lydia F 154 
 
 ifinnie 83 
 
 Ma rtha Jane 60 
 
 Martha True 342 
 
 Marv 34. 60. 68, 60 
 
 Mittie C 103 
 
 Nancy (J 58. 61 
 
 Obadiah 68 
 
 Obed 60 
 
 rhillp 68 
 
 I'olly 308 
 
 Uufus George 61 
 
 Ransom 60 
 
 Rebecca 380 
 
 Samuel 93, 175. 181. 323 
 
 Sarah 68. 69 
 
 Sally 69. lU 
 
 Samuel Adams 6** 
 
 Thomas. Lieut 4. 24. 336 
 
 Thomas L 60. 146 
 
 Thomas. Jr 4. 25, 111, 136. 164 
 
 William H "■ 1*5 
 
 William 68 
 
 COFRAN. 
 
 Almira jj 
 
 Aura A -.Vi". i? 
 
 B. Frank 43. 44. 60. 64. «4 
 
 C.vrene V,' tti 
 
 Caroline A **• »■■ 
 
 Charles H *^ ^ 
 
 Charles Crosby g 
 
 Eugene J 
 
 Emily A ii" iS 
 
 Eliza C. **' J* 
 
 Elisabeth A «• »2 
 
 Frank A • 
 
 Fannie L • 
 
 George ii' i2 
 
 Helen E •••«*• '5 
 
 Henrietta •• 
 
 Israel g 
 
 James *r 
 
 James, Jr •■• -~ 
 
 James II • •*• "? 
 
 Jacob ;,• J* 
 
 Jay W 
 
374 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Jesse M 42. 336 
 
 Jessie M 330 
 
 .Joseph 41, 323 
 
 John 43, 2r7 
 
 Jeremiah 43, 188, 235 
 
 John L 44 
 
 Laroy 44 
 
 Maria S 44 
 
 Mary F 45. 311 
 
 Marv D 43, 44 
 
 Martha 44 
 
 Peter 44 
 
 Ruth 44 
 
 Sallv H 43, 267 
 
 Scott M 45, 349 
 
 Smith W 45, 336 
 
 COGSWELL. 
 
 Amos M 62 
 
 Alida M 47, 311 
 
 Hannah A 62 
 
 Mariana 63 
 
 Nanov 329 
 
 William Mc 47 
 
 Warner B 47 
 
 COLBY. 
 
 Emma 35, 208 
 
 Georse 184 
 
 Ida 99 
 
 Josiah 62, 71, 120 
 
 John 328 
 
 John A 157 
 
 Leonard 250 
 
 Judith Demore 328 
 
 Marv Jane 62 
 
 Osbcrn 195 
 
 Polly 328 
 
 Ruf us 69 
 
 COLLINS. 
 
 Aaron 63 
 
 Abagail 86 
 
 Alonzo 63 
 
 Abra Ann 63 
 
 Benjamin 4, 63, 74 
 
 Beniamin, Jr 63 
 
 Charles 63, 89 
 
 Caroline 193 
 
 Frank 63 
 
 Frederick 72 
 
 George 63 
 
 George A 247 
 
 Harrv 63 
 
 Ida R 86 
 
 lola 228 
 
 John 63, 86 
 
 John Henry 63 
 
 Jennie 81 
 
 Lilla 63 
 
 Louisa 215 
 
 Marv 63 
 
 • Pamelia 28 
 
 Ruth 44 
 
 Willie 63 
 
 COLVIN. 
 John 
 
 COMEFORD. 
 
 Al)ltie 186 
 
 Orville 123 
 
 CONANT. 
 
 Deborah 64 
 
 Elisabeth 64 
 
 Ellen 64 
 
 John 148 
 
 .lane 64 
 
 Liba, Rev 64 
 
 Lyman 45 
 
 Maud 45, 135 
 
 Mary J 147 
 
 Peter, Dea 64 
 
 Sarah A 65 
 
 CONNELLY. 
 Charles B 205 
 
 CONNOR. 
 
 Mary E 40 
 
 Delia 67 
 
 Perkins 77 
 
 CONVERSE. 
 Duleina 94 
 
 COLE. 
 
 Katherine 322 
 
 Susannah 175 
 
 COOK. 
 
 Daniel * 65 
 
 David 65 
 
 Harriet 65 
 
 John B 65 
 
 Ijovina 65 
 
 Manfred 65 
 
 Otis 65 
 
 Rebecca 65 
 
 Sarah C 65 
 
 CO PP. 
 
 Amos K 66, 106 
 
 Abbie 66 
 
 Allie G 65 
 
 Bertha 100 
 
 Betsey 203 
 
 Carrie 66 
 
 Evaline 65 
 
 Fl ora A .' 65 
 
 Frances 330 
 
 Irving W 100 
 
 James 100 
 
 John 05 
 
 .John. .Ir 65 
 
 Laura E 65 
 
 Marv 21 
 
 Nellie I) 93 
 
 Sarah II 65 
 
 Simeon 66 
 
 Timothy 66 
 
 CORSALL. 
 Sarah lOG 
 
 CORSER. 
 
 Ann 342 
 
 Eunice 303 
 
 Enoch. Rev 327, 342 
 
 Frank 74 
 
 Jane 342 
 
 CORBET. 
 
 Charles A 67 
 
 Mary E 67 
 
 Ct)RLISS. 
 
 Arthur 287 
 
 Amos Laroy 67 
 
 Arthur II 67 
 
 Charles F 67 
 
 Ellen 67 
 
 Gorrell 67 
 
 George W 67, 277, 307 
 
 JNIartha 67 
 
 Marv 67 
 
 Smith D 67 
 
 COTTON. 
 
 Betsey 10 
 
 Meribah 34 
 
INDEX. 
 
 375 
 
 COUl'LAND. 
 Harold 70 
 
 COUCH. 
 
 Everett 20G 
 
 Retyre 200 
 
 COI'USKU. 
 
 James 8 
 
 Eliphalet 147 
 
 COURTNEY. 
 Martin v- 342 
 
 COm.ES. 
 Mary 159 
 
 CRAWFORD. 
 
 Edwin 07 
 
 (ieoifre 140 
 
 George. Jr 140 
 
 IVIary M 140 
 
 Ma r;;a ret 140 
 
 Minnie A. G 140 
 
 .Tolin. Dr 140 
 
 Rohert 07 
 
 Sammy 07 
 
 William 07 
 
 CRAM. 
 
 Henry 02 
 
 Herbert 02 
 
 Sophie r>l 
 
 Stella F 258 
 
 CRANE. 
 
 Abbie L 100 
 
 Francis 1' 100 
 
 Marv E 100 
 
 Walter C 100 
 
 CRANDALL. 
 Wesley 141 
 
 CULBERSON. 
 Jessie 141 
 
 CROCKET. 
 
 Charles H X^S 
 
 Ellen T S.19 
 
 CJacp A SSg 
 
 Sarah B 245, 3.i0 
 
 CROSBY. 
 Dr 29 
 
 CROSS. 
 
 Abraham B8 
 
 Alonzo 74 
 
 Alice W. 74 
 
 Albert '4 
 
 Arthur B "0. 2.S4 
 
 Betsey Forrest HI. 205 
 
 Betsey 62, 71, 72 
 
 Clara" fi9, 74 
 
 Charles C 72, 74 
 
 Clarrissa 72 
 
 Clara Ann 69 
 
 Dianthe 73 
 
 Daniel J .^ "0 
 
 Ephraira C8, 71, 120, 19.1 
 
 Evelyn M •.•• "1 
 
 Eunice 69 
 
 Eniilv Jane 7.1 
 
 Edward Wvatt 7.1 
 
 •Earl F 74 
 
 Ella M <^ 
 
 Flora M 74, 169 
 
 Foi rest "3 
 
 Frank 74 
 
 Fred H 74 
 
 Fidelia 
 
 Grace E., M. D e9 
 
 Hiram '.'..'..'. 89 
 
 Hannah .'.'.'.'.'.'.'.'.'.'. 68 
 
 Harriet ..'..'..'.'.'.'.' 78 
 
 Hiram H 71 
 
 Hazen '.' jjji 
 
 Hiram Bliss, M. D 70 
 
 Jeremiah 9. G9. IJt? 
 
 •'<'«se 08. 111. 22«5, 253 
 
 •Tohn 4. 08. 137 
 
 •lohn F 73, 2«4 
 
 Joseph 69, 230 
 
 Judith M 89 
 
 Jane 72 
 
 Jonathan 73, 207 
 
 Jefferson 73 
 
 Lusdnda 89 
 
 Leon F 349 
 
 Levi 152 
 
 Louisa 70 
 
 Lutle 74 
 
 Lawrence B 74 
 
 Mary 72 
 
 Mary W 73 
 
 Maltha 72 
 
 Maria 74 
 
 Moses 68 
 
 Nancy 72 
 
 Oliver L 69. 179 
 
 Oliver 69 
 
 (Min J 73 
 
 1 'eirirv 227 
 
 Folly 16, 161 
 
 I'hehe 68 
 
 Parker 68 
 
 Ruth 72 
 
 Robert Lee 70 
 
 Ruby 74 
 
 Ruth Abby 73 
 
 Stephen 68 
 
 Sallv 72 
 
 Sarah 74 
 
 Statira 72 
 
 Stephen. Jr 68 
 
 Stanley 349 
 
 Sarah B 89. 850 
 
 Thomas 68 
 
 William 72 
 
 \V. IL. Mrs 269 
 
 William I'.. M. D 11« 
 
 Warren 74 
 
 William K 72 
 
 CROWELI.U 
 
 IMxl 1"9 
 
 Everett !;•' 
 
 Samuel •''9 
 
 CUMMINGS 
 
 Charles 2$ 
 
 Emily » JS5 
 
 John »» 
 
 CUNNINGHAM. 
 
 Arthur F 74. 1S7 
 
 Arthur A ^ 
 
 Julia Alice 75 
 
 Raymond •■ 
 
 CURRIKIt 
 
 Arthur "• 
 
 Bernard • 
 
 Betsey " 
 
 John '•• 
 
 Joseph 2 
 
 Nathan 2 
 
 S. E. DwiKht •» 
 
 Sarah Newell "i 
 
376 
 
 INDEX, 
 
 CURRY. 
 
 Annette C 76 
 
 Arabella C 76, 268 
 
 Beniamin 75, 308 
 
 Charles W 76 
 
 Electa A 76 
 
 Frances S 76 
 
 Georgianna B 76 
 
 Hannah A 76 
 
 Isabella 76 
 
 Josephine B 76 
 
 Joseph B 75 
 
 John 75 
 
 Mary Ells 76 
 
 Mary J 76 
 
 Nancy 75 
 
 Olive C 75, 308 
 
 Samuel 75 
 
 Susan 75 
 
 Sophie T 76, 268 
 
 Thomas 75 
 
 Thomas C 76 
 
 Robert 75 
 
 William 75 
 
 William McFarland 75 
 
 CURTICE. 
 Corban, Rev 
 
 GUSHING. 
 
 Amy 318 
 
 Charlotte 318 
 
 George W 318 
 
 Sarah 318 
 
 Thomas R 318 
 
 DALTON. 
 
 Caleb S 78 
 
 Elbridge G 78 
 
 George W 79 
 
 Henry Q 78 
 
 Joshua Little 78 
 
 Jacob P 79 
 
 John 78, 242 
 
 Lorenzo D 78 
 
 Joseph Merrick 77 
 
 Mary A 78, 79 
 
 Ransom S 78 
 
 Samuel, Jr 78 
 
 Sarah 78 
 
 Samuel 77, 78, 129 
 
 Urania 35, 78 
 
 W. H. H 46, 78 
 
 DAMRELL. 
 
 Elinor 269 
 
 Sarah 232 
 
 DAMON. 
 Leonard 177 
 
 DANIELS. 
 
 Alta F 283 
 
 B. W 287 
 
 DANIELL. 
 Warren F 187 
 
 DARLING. 
 
 Abagail 176 
 
 Benjamin 17G 
 
 Ebenezer 51 
 
 George 176 
 
 Hannah 170 
 
 Jonathan 59 
 
 DART. 
 Clayton 217 
 
 DARRAII. 
 William 47 
 
 DAY. 
 
 Harry P 22 
 
 Martha J 16 
 
 DAVIS. 
 
 Allan 82 
 
 Annie F 63 
 
 Arthur L 81 
 
 Charles 80, 147 
 
 Clara ; 81 
 
 David 18, 80, 256, 267 
 
 Ella Eaton .y. 82 
 
 Elisabeth ^. 31 
 
 E. V. B., Mrs 329 
 
 Fannie 81 
 
 Frances Amanda 81, 193 
 
 George E 80, 82, 297 
 
 George H 30, 343 
 
 Hannah K 80, 343 
 
 Henry K 81 
 
 Helen 76, 82 
 
 Irene 80, 250 
 
 .Tames 175 
 
 Jonathan 80 
 
 John 343 
 
 John K 343 
 
 Key 116 
 
 Lilla E 82 
 
 liorenzo 194 
 
 Loralne G. T 81, 99 
 
 Lyman B. W 82 
 
 Moses 80, 81, 252 
 
 ^lary Lake 82 
 
 Mary Fox 18, 80 
 
 Martin V. B 81, 243 
 
 Mary A 81 
 
 Nathan 80 
 
 Nina G 82, 287 
 
 Richard N. S 18 
 
 Sarah 300 
 
 Sarah E 80 
 
 Sally B.... 80 
 
 Sarah A 284 
 
 Theodore G 81 
 
 Vallie 81 
 
 Warren A 81 
 
 Walter 81 
 
 William 229, 343 
 
 DAWSON. 
 
 Benjamin 82 
 
 Barlow 82 
 
 Eliza 82 
 
 Frank 83 
 
 George 82 
 
 Georgia 83 
 
 Grace 82 
 
 .Toseph 82 
 
 .Tames 83 
 
 Joseph A 83 
 
 Kay 82 
 
 Lester 82 
 
 Mary H 83 
 
 Sarah A 82, 101 
 
 Tirzah A 82 
 
 William 83 
 
 Willie 315 
 
 DEARBORN. 
 
 Abram 4, 88 
 
 Arianna E 86, 223 
 
 Almira 86, 191 
 
 Abraham 84, 85, 142 
 
 Annie E 169 
 
 Arthur 91 
 
 Ada 91 
 
 Abngail 86 
 
 Ann Ells 91 
 
 Abra Ann 89 
 
INDEX. 
 
 B. F 89 
 
 Betsey 85, 151, 191 
 
 Benton 11 '. 87 
 
 Betsey Ann \\\ 91 
 
 Charles \\ 85 
 
 Charles II 91 
 
 Cynthia '. 87 
 
 Clara A 91 
 
 Charlotte 86, 88 
 
 Cynthia 271 
 
 Clinton 91 
 
 Caroline K 89, 91 
 
 Charles 89 
 
 Darius S 90 
 
 Daniel 84, 86 
 
 Daisy K 91 
 
 David 84. 86. 216 
 
 Ebenezar 85. 86 
 
 Elisabeth 84. 86 
 
 Eliza 87, 89, 115 
 
 Emily 87 
 
 Enoch 87 
 
 Emma E 91 
 
 Edmund 83, 85, 93 
 
 Edmund, .Tr 87 
 
 Ethel 90 
 
 Elinor 90 
 
 Edwin 91 
 
 Frank 83, 87 
 
 Florence R 91 
 
 Fred .T 91 
 
 Fred Lewis 90 
 
 George 85 
 
 Georgie Belle 91 
 
 Grace 36 
 
 Grace 11 86, 89 
 
 George A 231 
 
 Georgiana 89, 149 
 
 Hazen 85, 151 
 
 Henry G 87 
 
 rieleri .T 91 
 
 Horatio 88 
 
 Harriet 85. 89, 192 
 
 Harold M 231 
 
 Henrv 90 
 
 Irene 88 
 
 James 84, 194, 319 
 
 James. Jr 85 
 
 Jane 86 
 
 Jason 193 
 
 Jonathan 33, 84, 85, 87, 183, 297 
 
 Jeremiah 86 
 
 John, Jr 4 
 
 John 83. 85 
 
 John S 89. 90. 284 
 
 James 84. 194 
 
 Joseph 22. 41, 88. 221 
 
 .Toa niia 97 
 
 Josiah 38. 89, 268. 301 
 
 I-aura K 91 
 
 Leonora 91. 1G9 
 
 T^ucretia 89 
 
 Mark 90 
 
 Mary 84. 88. 90 
 
 May 90 
 
 Mercv 84 
 
 MIttle 85 
 
 Maty Jane 87 
 
 Martha K 87 
 
 Mildred A 2.31 
 
 Marv A 88, 91 
 
 Nancy 84. 85, 87. 112 
 
 Narcissa 86 
 
 Nod 90, 182 
 
 Natlmtiiel 83 
 
 Nellie A 91 
 
 Oliver 90 
 
 roily 85 
 
 riiebe 
 
 Ulchard S 3 
 
 •'"'!' '.'.".V.'.'.'.W." M.' m' 
 
 Shnl)ael 4 83 
 
 Shiil)ael, Jr .".'.'...'.'..".'..'.' 84* 
 
 Sarah ' 
 
 Shuhael, 3d 
 
 Shiiljael 4th '. ".'..'.'.".'.'.'.'.' .' '. | 
 
 SylvanuH .S 
 
 Stella K .■.■.■; .■;.■.■.*. '. 
 
 Stephen 
 
 Sam G., Dr 
 
 Sally ;;;; 
 
 Tristram 
 
 Thomas II , .M, 
 
 Thomas A ..'. 
 
 Wooster 90, 
 
 Webster 
 
 William '.'.'.'.'.'.'.'. 
 
 89 
 90 
 90 
 8S 
 M 
 M 
 
 n 
 m 
 
 91 
 87 
 87 
 63 
 M 
 135 
 90 
 93 
 M 
 84 
 
 UEARING. 
 Dorothy 16 
 
 DEMANGE. 
 Harriet JlO 
 
 DELANEY. 
 Mary S 335 
 
 DENNIS. 
 
 Alice E 92 
 
 Blanche M 92 
 
 Joshua 93 
 
 Joshua Piper 98 
 
 DIAS. 
 
 Charles 93 
 
 George W 45, 92 
 
 llnrold 92 
 
 Howard 92 
 
 DICEY. 
 
 Celestla 92 
 
 Mary 91 
 
 Samuel 93 
 
 DICKEY. 
 Rol)ert 93 
 
 DIGIIT. 
 
 Minnie. Dr '. 140 
 
 DIMOND. 
 George 160 
 
 Mary 
 Olive 
 
 DIMMICK. 
 
 m 
 
 12« 
 
 DINSMORE. 
 
 Alpheus ... 
 
 Betsey 
 
 Charles M. 
 Dorothy M. 
 
 Diana 
 
 Eva B 
 
 EVR 
 
 Elmer V 
 
 Francis 
 
 Ida G. M... 
 Ida A. 
 
 .94. 86 
 
 ... 19 
 
 ... M 
 
 ... M 
 
 ... M 
 
 ... as 
 
 ... 96 
 
 ... 9* 
 
 ... 98 
 
 ... M 
 
 ... 81 
 
 Jnmes ** 
 
 John 
 
 John II 
 
 .loseph ^ 
 
 Jane ^ » 
 
 Ijiura A ■• j; 
 
 Lllla •» 
 
 Mary Jane " 
 
 Nalthy 
 
 Nancy 
 
 M. 93 
 94 
 
378 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Olina 94 
 
 I'olly 93 
 
 Rose B 95 
 
 Sally 93 
 
 Samuel 93, 151 
 
 Wilson 94 
 
 DOCKIIAM. 
 
 Charles 95 
 
 Etta E 95 
 
 Ethel L 95 
 
 Ralph E 95 
 
 DOLLEY. 
 
 Alice J 9G 
 
 E. Etta 90 
 
 Ellen F ; 240 
 
 Florence 96 
 
 Jonas W 96 
 
 Jonas H 95 
 
 Nellie F 9G 
 
 Roscoe G 96 
 
 Walter D 95 
 
 DOOEEY. 
 
 Mary A 250 
 
 DOLLOFF. 
 
 Abner 96 
 
 Abasail 96 
 
 Christopher 96 
 
 David 96 
 
 David, Jr 96 
 
 Elisabeth M 96, 97. 221 
 
 Hannah 96 
 
 Jesse 96, 97 
 
 Miriam 96, 97 
 
 Mary 97 
 
 Sally 96 
 
 DORR. 
 Eliza 135 
 
 DOTY. 
 Lydia 269 
 
 DOUGLASS. 
 
 Betsey 13. 93. 337 
 
 Edmund 93, 337 
 
 Emeline 337 
 
 Hannah 337 
 
 Jeremiah 337 
 
 Lucinda 337 
 
 Tom 337 
 
 DOW. 
 
 Alexander C 97 
 
 Benjamin Frank 159 
 
 Byron K 97 
 
 Cinda 9 
 
 Charles S 99 
 
 Ethel Vara '. 98 
 
 Ella F 159 
 
 Ernest G 98 
 
 Etta B 32 
 
 Elisabeth .\nn 97 
 
 Electa A 99, 216 
 
 Frank II 97 
 
 Flora 32 
 
 Guy 99 
 
 George 32 
 
 Herbert G 97 
 
 Joanna M 97 
 
 Jei'cmi.nh 11. 97, 1.52 
 
 Jerfmiah Smith 97 
 
 Lillian M. L 81, 99 
 
 Levi 99 
 
 Lura A 99 
 
 Lulu B 152 
 
 Mattie 159 
 
 Mescheck 9D, 220 
 
 Mertie E 97 
 
 May 98 
 
 Maria G 98 
 
 Maria F 159 
 
 Sallie 104 
 
 Sumner A 98 
 
 DOWNING. 
 
 Bessie A lOO, 246 
 
 Bessie H 100 
 
 Clara M 100 
 
 Cora B 100 
 
 Edgar 99 
 
 Henry 99 
 
 Harry C 99 
 
 Ina M 100 
 
 Ida M 74 
 
 James T 100 
 
 Ja mes A 100 
 
 Maitland F 99 
 
 Mary 8. 31 
 
 Mabel P 100, 242 
 
 Nellie B 100 
 
 Susie F 100 
 
 Walter F 100 
 
 DOWNES. 
 Franklin 17 
 
 DRAKE. 
 George R 297 
 
 DREW. 
 
 Deborah 266 
 
 Mehitable 35 
 
 DRISCOLL. 
 Jere 182 
 
 DROWN. 
 
 Daniel 124 
 
 Sarah A 190 
 
 DUNAVEN. 
 
 Sarah 7 
 
 DUDLEY. 
 
 Dorotliv 204 
 
 Eliza 189 
 
 Mary L 245 
 
 Nellie J 6 
 
 Samuel, Rev 204 
 
 DUHAMEL. 
 Cedulia 339 
 
 DUNNING. 
 Albert 39 
 
 DUSTIN. 
 
 Ann 268 
 
 Jane 37 
 
 DURGIN. 
 
 Aba gall 285 
 
 Albert 176 
 
 Benjamin M 2.37 
 
 Daniel M 237 
 
 Elliot 267 
 
 Electa 176 
 
 Henry, Jr 100 
 
 John 38 
 
 Leonard 176 
 
 Rebecca 105 
 
 William 176 
 
 William F 292 
 
 William J 176 
 
 Willoughby 237 
 
 DUTTON. 
 Erastus 101 
 
 DUVAL. 
 Nelson 126, 267 
 
INDEX. 
 
 879 
 
 DYEIt. 
 
 Aurelius ]2.'5 
 
 Aaron W 101 
 
 Betsey 101 
 
 lOdward 9 
 
 Afarv Ann 101 
 
 Orville 2A\ 
 
 Sally 101 
 
 Samuel 101 
 
 Samuel. .Tr 101 
 
 DYSON. 
 Emma L 282 
 
 EASTMAN. 
 
 Abafrail 312 
 
 Frank .1 174 
 
 fleneviove 305 
 
 IIerl)ert 7 
 
 Harold 7 
 
 Marv Addle 72 
 
 Marcia 113 
 
 Moses 17 
 
 Peter 313 
 
 EATON. 
 
 Frank 190 
 
 Geor^'e 190 
 
 •Tulia A 250 
 
 Mary Augusta 11 
 
 Rufus 190 
 
 EARNSIIAW. 
 
 David .Tames 102 
 
 David Thomas 102 
 
 Elizal>eth Webb 102 
 
 Eli.-^abeth 102 
 
 Francis Watson 102 
 
 Fred W 102 
 
 Oeoryre Ellsworth 102 
 
 (iuv Everett 102 
 
 Hiram W 102 
 
 Hiram I'owers 102 
 
 John Allen 102 
 
 James 82. 101, 102 
 
 Joseph H 102 
 
 I.vdia Ann 102 
 
 I>ucv ( Jrace 102 
 
 Maiy Emily 102 
 
 Naiicv Katlierine 102 
 
 Sarah lai.-ile 102 
 
 William Fiazer 102 
 
 EDMTTNDS. 
 
 Abbv 39 
 
 Frank I. 102 
 
 EDWARDS. 
 
 rharlps O H6 
 
 Georgiana I-"' 
 
 Mary 114 
 
 EI.r.IoT. 
 
 Alfred C 103 
 
 Charles F lf« 
 
 Ernest D 103 
 
 Eva R 103 
 
 Oladvs n 103 
 
 Harrv E 103 
 
 Hannah 52 
 
 Mary 1 103 
 
 Mary 223 
 
 Polly 322 
 
 ELK INS. 
 
 Cynthia P 213 
 
 Emma 2i>-t 
 
 Ella M ^ 
 
 Jonathan 103 
 
 Polly ^"' 
 
 EIJ.IS. 
 Miriam P igj 
 
 ELLISON OR ALLI80N. 
 
 Anna uj 
 
 <"yru.s 140 
 
 Ulclin rd 112 
 
 Sarah .112 
 
 EMEItV 
 
 Ahby Josephine 104 
 
 Elisabeth A 280 
 
 (JeorKe E 201 
 
 Ilannnh 174 
 
 Lney 286 
 
 Mary Maud 104 
 
 Mlttie Louise 104 
 
 Samuel 104 
 
 Samuel and Ells 67 
 
 Samuel L 108 
 
 EMERSON. 
 
 Emma 18 
 
 John 259 
 
 Mand 73 
 
 EMERTON. 
 
 Andrew 270 
 
 Henjamin 270 
 
 Lucy 270 
 
 Thomas J 27 
 
 ENGLISH. 
 
 IJIIian 88 
 
 Lena 188 
 
 ESTEKBROOK. 
 Athella G 288 
 
 ETHERinOE. 
 
 Albert. I{ev 115 
 
 Carrie M US 
 
 Lennn E 115 
 
 Marcia 115 
 
 EVANS. 
 
 Ann Louise 106. 588 
 
 Adeline 105. 288 
 
 Betfev 10* 
 
 Charles H 172 
 
 David IM. 295 
 
 Ella Jane 106 
 
 Gardner T 10« 
 
 Harriet A 106 
 
 Hiram B 108 
 
 Horace B 10« 
 
 Jo.seph 106 
 
 Jnmes M 106 
 
 Jane "^ 
 
 .lohn 106 
 
 Julia A M. 10e.»0 
 
 LouL-^a S VI- 5" 
 
 Lvdia T W. ni 
 
 Lvmnn B 1™"' 
 
 Lucretin Ann WL "*■ 
 
 LvdIa J'^' 
 
 Moses ». 105. L** 
 
 Mahnia E l"-''- ''•• 
 
 Mary '»■ "\' 
 
 .Mary FrancM ' "• 
 
 Martha ' ' ; 
 
 I'oii.v ;; 
 
 Robert ' 
 
 Sally .• 
 
 Sarah Car«ell • ' - 
 
 Truworthy 
 
 Wllllnm 
 
 William C 
 
 EWER 
 
 lluldah E ^'^ 
 
380 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 FARNSWORTH. 
 Simeon D 228 
 
 FARRINGTON. 
 Winnie 109 
 
 FARRAR. 
 
 Mary 18 
 
 William 205 
 
 FARWELL. 
 
 Charles A 216 
 
 Nellie 194, 216 
 
 Nancy 193 
 
 Simon 193, 216 
 
 FARNUM. 
 
 Henry 159 
 
 Hannah 159 
 
 Lucy 159 
 
 Susan E 100 
 
 FASSETT. 
 
 Alice ■ 132 
 
 Edward F 132 
 
 Francis 132 
 
 Harold 132 
 
 Malcolm 132 
 
 Wallace 132 
 
 Willard 132 
 
 FEATHERSTONE. 
 James 216 
 
 FELLOWS. 
 
 Caroline A 107 
 
 Frank 107, 142 
 
 Frank F 107 
 
 George 107 
 
 Joseph 106 
 
 Joseph, Jr 106 
 
 Joseph A 107 
 
 Lunette 107 
 
 I^vman D 
 
 Sylvester 107 
 
 Thomas 106 
 
 Thomas, 2d 243 
 
 FERGUSON. 
 Abagail 220 
 
 FERRIN. 
 
 Ezekiel 167 
 
 George 167 
 
 Mary 167 
 
 Susie 167 
 
 FERRITER. 
 Margarette 
 
 FERNALD. 
 
 Comfort 329 
 
 Mary 107 
 
 FESSENDEN. 
 Huldah P 50 
 
 FIELD. 
 Relief 322 
 
 FIFIELD. 
 
 Charles E 108 
 
 Frances 99 
 
 George A 108 
 
 Hannah 176 
 
 Nathaniel 107 
 
 Ora 273 
 
 Sarah 165, 270 
 
 Simon 310 
 
 Virginia 108 
 
 FITTS. 
 
 George W 70 
 
 George W., Jr 70 
 
 FINCH. 
 Abby 155 
 
 FISHER. 
 
 Clara 103 
 
 George F 19 
 
 FITZGERALD. 
 Bridget 22, 24 
 
 FLAGG. 
 
 Charles 270 
 
 Daniel 268 
 
 Eliza 230 
 
 George 270 
 
 Jane 270 
 
 FLANDERS. 
 
 Charles 91 
 
 Eddie 91 
 
 Ervil 91 
 
 Fred 135 
 
 George 186 
 
 John D 200 
 
 Nancy 105, 278 
 
 Rhoda 57 
 
 FLETCHER. 
 
 Ada 108 
 
 Charles 109 
 
 Frank 109 
 
 George 109 
 
 John 109 
 
 John, Jr 109 
 
 Nellie 109 
 
 Phineas 84. 96, 224 
 
 Thomas B 108, 109 
 
 William 108 
 
 William P 109, 182 
 
 FLOYD. 
 Mary Anna 265 
 
 FLINT. 
 Sarah 144 
 
 FOGERTY. 
 Ellen 74 
 
 FOGG. 
 
 John, Rev 146, 350 
 
 James 83 
 
 Sarah S3 
 
 FOLLET. 
 Mary E 125 
 
 FOLLANSBY. 
 
 Alice 110 
 
 Beniamin 109 
 
 Charles H 110 
 
 Cutting 85, 110, 156. 184 
 
 Caroline 110, 160 
 
 Daniel 110 
 
 Joey 110 
 
 Peabody M HO 
 
 William 109, 300 
 
 Wells 110 
 
 W. II. C 110 
 
 FOLGER. 
 
 Archie L 98 
 
 (^harles H 98 
 
 Elisabeth 168 
 
 Wilfred 98 
 
 Walter, Hon 108 
 
 FOLSOM. 
 
 Elbridge 
 
 Frank 
 
 Mary 337 
 
INDEX. 
 
 381 
 
 Emma 
 Orrin . 
 W. II., 
 
 FOUD. 
 
 305 
 
 208 
 
 FORSYTH. 
 Lu IIG 
 
 FORRKST. 
 
 Alfaretta 15 349 
 
 Anna W 70, iifi 
 
 Anna 110, ill, 128 
 
 Apnes 112, iif, 
 
 Alvira 112 
 
 Adalaide B 115 
 
 Annie Ellison llf, 
 
 Annie (' 117 
 
 Annie Ruth 117 
 
 Alfred .....115 
 
 Andrew .T 115 
 
 Aliasail 118 
 
 Almeda M 115 
 
 Betsey 29, 111, 112 
 
 Caroline K 115 
 
 Charles G 11.3 
 
 Charlotte 113, 118 
 
 Charles llfi 
 
 Dnhia 110 
 
 Edwin D 117, 35] 
 
 Edwin E 115 
 
 Ellen M 114 
 
 Elinor Ill 
 
 Emanuel 114 
 
 Ellison 113 
 
 Elira .Tane lie 
 
 Freddie 117 
 
 Gustaviis A llfi 
 
 George F. Decatur 115 
 
 Graie 117 
 
 Georjie 114 
 
 Honora 115 
 
 Marry Gnstavus 11'' 
 
 Jane Ill, 113 
 
 .Tohn E 110. 113 
 
 .Toseph S 113. 114, nr, 
 
 Jacob 113. Ill 
 
 John 4, 110, 112, llfi. 128 
 
 James M 112. 113. llfi 
 
 James X 116. 32fi 
 
 .Tane I. 114 
 
 Josephine A llfi 
 
 Jeremiah 28 
 
 .Tames rike 117 
 
 Katherine 117 
 
 Kate 
 
 Lettle Ill 
 
 Lydia Ill 
 
 Lonisa 11'' 
 
 I-afayotte HC 
 
 I^minda IH 
 
 Lilllas lis 
 
 LeII W lis 
 
 Marjeraret HO 
 
 Marv Ill 
 
 Margaret 2d HI 
 
 Martha Josephine ll'» 
 
 Mand S H" 
 
 Mamie Almlra H" 
 
 Martha R 11" 
 
 Martha A < m 
 
 Marv C H' 
 
 Martha E 1». 2 ? 
 
 Marria Ann •• JJ-f. 
 
 Nancy HO. 112. 4 
 
 Osmon B ]]* 
 
 Robert 110. 112. llfi 
 
 Robert. Jr H" 
 
 Stalira H3 
 
 S«"'V''', H2. 113 
 
 Sarah Jane ]|g 
 
 ^"'■'"' :; '.'.'.'.m'.uV. 116 
 
 ^"^"" '\V. 116. 270 
 
 Sarinifl \\arren 117 
 
 ii";*;'" •'^ .■.■,■..■;.■;.■.■ 116 
 
 Sally ]|9 
 
 )):i!Ii'»'n v. ■.■.■.■.■. 4.' U.'nx 303 
 
 NMIliam. 3d H9 u.-j 
 
 William, 4th '.'.'.'.'.'.'...'.'. Ill 
 
 FOSS. 
 
 Abauall jjg 
 
 vVlmeda \\\[ 118 
 
 Charlotte OO 
 
 Cy rene .'..'..'.* 118 
 
 Cymintha 118 
 
 Diana .'.....'.' 118 
 
 Ezeklel 118 
 
 Fanny 93 
 
 Fannie jig 
 
 Frances. .Mrs !.'..'. 2M 
 
 Fidelia ng 
 
 Is«ni" in. 241 
 
 Jenny UH 
 
 John 226 
 
 Jason 25. 118. 148. 226, .r?l 
 
 I'Ove lis 
 
 Mosps 118, 151 
 
 Martha 118 
 
 Mary ns 
 
 Mary J 239 
 
 Mary E 118 
 
 Nathaniel 118. 193 
 
 I'riscilla 118 
 
 Robert 119 
 
 Stephen 151 
 
 Sarah 118 
 
 Thomas 117 
 
 Thomas, Jr 117 
 
 P'OSTRR. 
 
 Ablal 4 
 
 Charles T 183 
 
 FOvelyn 207 
 
 Frank 271 
 
 Gordon 1«3 
 
 George 207 
 
 II. H 173. 179 
 
 Hannah 38. 40 
 
 Jeremiah 171 
 
 John 66 
 
 Malcolm 183 
 
 Maud E in 
 
 Oren « 
 
 Osgood 124 
 
 ^OWLER. 
 
 Abraham 1*4 
 
 David 88, » 
 
 FOX. 
 Jerc-miah M4 
 
 FREESE. 
 
 Carrie C, ••• 
 
 Rstella A jjf 
 
 William G 1" 
 
 FRENCH. 
 
 Alonzo "' 
 
 Andrew 120. IM 
 
 Abide E -'■" 
 
 Annie l-« 
 
 .Mmira tT, ». 13 
 
 Rerthn Alice «J 
 
 Renjnmin >• 
 
 Betsey • • » 
 
 Chnrled ««. BO 
 
 Cyrus T ««. >» 
 
382 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Clara 123 
 
 Ellen M 120 
 
 Emma G 250 
 
 Ella 123 
 
 Flora (; 123 
 
 Frank .1 123 
 
 ( Jeorge 31. 34, 123 
 
 Georsje E 123 
 
 George. Jr 34. 124 
 
 Gust. A 121 
 
 Hannah 120 
 
 llarrv P. 122 
 
 Harold M 123 
 
 Hazel A 123 
 
 Henry 2,'-)0 
 
 Hannah 123, 124 
 
 Jamie B. H 34, 124 
 
 .Tohn A 120 
 
 John W 123 
 
 Joshua 350 
 
 Leo C 121 
 
 Lizzie 123 
 
 Lloyd R 123 
 
 Lowell M 120. 132, 351 
 
 Mabel E 121 
 
 Martha 124 
 
 Mary 90. 124, 249 
 
 Minnie L 121 
 
 Mary A 20, 258 
 
 Nicholas 119. 1J8. 258 
 
 Nellie S 121 
 
 Nellie 
 
 Olive 190 
 
 Peter 229 
 
 Ruth 120 
 
 Ruth Evel.yn 123 
 
 Roxie Jane 123 
 
 Rufus 123 
 
 Solomon 119, 292 
 
 Sally 62, 120 
 
 Susan C 232 
 
 William 121 
 
 William C 31, 48, 121 
 
 Willie W 121 
 
 FRINK. 
 
 John 91 
 
 FRIZZELL. 
 
 Alonzo 270 
 
 Allen 270 
 
 Gilbert 270 
 
 Gilbert L 270 
 
 Ida 270 
 
 Lucy 270 
 
 Orange 270 
 
 Oscar 27 
 
 FROST. 
 
 Arthur 27 
 
 Henry A 305 
 
 Louisa .^05 
 
 William 27, 305 
 
 FRYB. 
 
 Amos 34 
 
 Polly 279 
 
 FUDGE. 
 Elisabeth 222 
 
 FTJLLERTON. 
 Juhulah 313 
 
 GAGE. 
 
 Anna M 315 
 
 Martha E 191 
 
 GALE. 
 
 Benjamin 124, 267, 302 
 
 Elmer R 56, 124 
 
 Ernest 124 
 
 I'hebe 29 
 
 (irace 124 
 
 Polly 92 
 
 :Mary 295 
 
 Marjory H 124 
 
 Mehetable 295 
 
 Stephen 295 
 
 Sarah 114 
 
 GARLAND. 
 
 Charles 125 
 
 Charles F 125 
 
 Fannie 125 
 
 John L 125 
 
 Mo.ses 21, 125, 213 
 
 GARDNER. 
 
 Alfred A 125 
 
 Carrie B 125 
 
 Fred A 126 
 
 Ida L 125 
 
 lola L 125 
 
 James 227 
 
 Laura May 126 
 
 Henry W 104 
 
 Orison II 125 
 
 William A 19, 126 
 
 GAGE. 
 
 Emma 72 
 
 GATES. 
 
 Oscar 126, 187, 267 
 
 GARVIN. 
 
 Chauncy 124, 309 
 
 Martha 125 
 
 Sarah Jane 125 
 
 William 125 
 
 GAYLORD. 
 
 Horace M 226 
 
 GAUTHIER. 
 
 Elraire 206 
 
 GEAR. 
 
 Winnifred 122 
 
 GEORGE. 
 
 Charlotte 183 
 
 Elinor 39 
 
 Josiah 183 
 
 John K 183 
 
 GERRISII. 
 
 Almira S 14, 127 
 
 Absolom 126 
 
 Alfred A 127 
 
 Cynthia 127 
 
 Carlos 127 
 
 Clara 127 
 
 Charles 127 
 
 Ellen M 14, 127 
 
 Emily 
 
 Prank M 127 
 
 Helen L 127 
 
 Henry, Col 126 
 
 Joseph 14, 126, 163, 285 
 
 Jane 85 
 
 Joseph, Jr 127 
 
 Josephine M 127 
 
 Louisa 127 
 
 TiUeien 127 
 
 Leonard 127 
 
 Mehitable 217 
 
 Milton 126, 254 
 
 Paul 126 
 
 Sarah 5, 127 
 
 Stephen, Capt 126 
 
 Stephen 127 
 
INDEX. 
 
 'A^'.] 
 
 Susan II 14, 127 
 
 Sally 85 
 
 fJKTCIIKI,. 
 
 Flora 314 
 
 Frank 285 
 
 (ilKnilAUDT. 
 
 Christine 24S 
 
 OH>r.KUT. 
 Clara 69 
 
 fill.i:. 
 
 Amos 129 
 
 Alfred A 130 
 
 Alfred A., .Tr 130 
 
 Amanda A 128, 130 
 
 Alonzo R 133 
 
 Abajiail (1 130 
 
 Aliel 113, 129 
 
 Belle W 132. 2"f. 
 
 Betsey 130, 1J3 
 
 Benjamin F 100 
 
 Charles 218 
 
 Clyde Amlirose 133, 270 
 
 Cliff Forrest 133, 180 
 
 Charles Alonzo 131, .327 
 
 Dorothv C 131 
 
 Enoch 129, 217 
 
 Emma M 132 
 
 Evelvn Uubv 1S3 
 
 Francis A n2 
 
 Hannali T 131 
 
 Hannah F 131 
 
 Helen 131 
 
 Helen (" 132 
 
 Hannah G8, 130 
 
 Ira 1 130 
 
 .Tonalhan 128, 283 
 
 •Tames 129 
 
 Jonathan. Capt 129 
 
 Joseph 129, 132 
 
 Joseph Henry 132 
 
 Luev Bernard "1 
 
 Lucy C 130 
 
 Lucia K 132 
 
 T,eland W 1^3 
 
 Marv M 132 
 
 Afaria F "...130 
 
 Mary F 130 
 
 Marv Ann 131 
 
 Peter Kern 182. 314 
 
 Rnfns 129 
 
 Rachel 129 
 
 Richard 312 
 
 Sarah 33. 44. 129. 278 
 
 Stanley C 13-' 
 
 Sarah S 131 
 
 Thomas 113. 129 
 
 William A 132 
 
 William F 131 
 
 CILMAX. 
 
 A ndrew 13^ 
 
 Alice 13| 
 
 Alfred C -13^ 
 
 Almira "I. 2fi4 
 
 AllHTt II 13C. 49 
 
 Alvfih 3 
 
 Anrilla "1 
 
 Abhie R •■■ 213 
 
 Betsey 34. 133 
 
 Charles E ••• 13'' 
 
 Charles 322. 324 
 
 Cora Mnv •■,• Ir, 
 
 Charles W 134. 25.^. 30fi 
 
 Deborah 134. 30' 
 
 Daniel S "^ 
 
 Ell7.a 40 
 
 !'il)»> W« 
 
 J\ 'on m 
 
 Ebene/ar S 134 
 
 Fred Leon IJO 
 
 Frank A 1.15 
 
 Horatio 131 
 
 Harrison '.. 134 
 
 Harriet 34. 133. 1.14 
 
 Horace 40, 13.". 
 
 .lohn Taylor 133, y.Ui 
 
 Jonathan i.tj 
 
 •loseph 112, l.TS 
 
 John Mc 1.15 
 
 Joshua 135 
 
 John E IXV 2t3 
 
 John 133, 1.3fi. .321 
 
 Janet Maud I3f. 
 
 Jane W l.tl. 201 
 
 Jennie 2.">2 
 
 Joseph l> 17fi 
 
 Josinh 1.T3 
 
 Leon 136 
 
 Luther C •. 1.36 
 
 Lurana 135 
 
 Maud 45 
 
 Mary W 133 
 
 Maria J 1.34 
 
 Marpuerlte 135 
 
 Maria 311 
 
 Nathaniel 134 
 
 Nancy 09, 112. 133. 1.35 
 
 Nettie 129 
 
 Sidney 131 
 
 Simon 26. 112. W, 
 
 Stephen l.n. 113 
 
 Saliv 112. 1.33. 135. 177. 217 
 
 Samuel C 135. 164. 2.'-.2. 3ni 
 
 Stephen, 2d 135. l.%3 
 
 Samuel 133 
 
 Samuel, ("apt 338 
 
 Sarah 13S 
 
 Thomas 4. 346 
 
 William 2M 
 
 Ward E 136 
 
 Willis Olln 136 
 
 (JILMOUE. 
 Ann C 132 
 
 (JII'SO.N— (SIBSOX. 
 
 Acnes 128, 171 
 
 Benjamin F 12S 
 
 Betsey 12» 
 
 Charles J^ 
 
 El>ene».a r 1** 
 
 Eleanor JIJ 
 
 Elinor •• J2 
 
 .Tames »• J^ 
 
 Jeremiah jj* 
 
 James. 2d ••••••• J" 
 
 James ^ }}}' 12 
 
 Nnncy "H. l*" 
 
 Polly (Mary) }»- 1« 
 
 Rodney !"• \^ 
 
 Sarah j" 
 
 .Samuel '-^ 
 
 «;lkabon. 
 
 Timothy 3** 
 
 GLIDDRX. 
 
 AII.0 ^-]\] 
 
 Anna Jil 
 
 Arrhle • {" 
 
 Bertha Jl? 
 
 Bruce "J 
 
 nHHor ; :^ ... ,;i- ^ 
 
 Charbs " 
 
384 
 
 INDEX, 
 
 Charles M 140 
 
 Charles M., 2d 140 
 
 Cai-los 1-11 
 
 Esquire 10, 23 
 
 Daniel 140 
 
 Emma 141 
 
 Frank JI 140 
 
 Flora 140 
 
 Galusha 140 
 
 Garrette 141 
 
 George 141 
 
 Helen 141 
 
 Harry 141 
 
 Hope 141 
 
 Jane Gorrell 313 
 
 Jefferson 140 
 
 Joseph M 140, 294 
 
 Jefferson, Jr 140 
 
 John M 140 
 
 John J 141 
 
 Jessie B 140 
 
 James 141 
 
 Katherine 140 
 
 Louisa 141 
 
 Mary 140 
 
 Marv G 140 
 
 Nancv A 58, 141 
 
 Obadiah H 140 
 
 Ruth 141 
 
 Ruth Hall 140 
 
 Ruth, 2d 141 
 
 Stephen 140 
 
 Stephen C. M 14 
 
 GLINES. 
 
 Azuba 142, lf>5 
 
 AInaham 142, 143, 215 
 
 Abbie T. 148, 254 
 
 Anna Ward 14G 
 
 Alice May 150 
 
 Annie A 150 
 
 Alice Eliza 150 
 
 Alexander T. C 85, 151 
 
 Alvah H 144 
 
 Abasail 63, 145 
 
 Annie G 146 
 
 Bert A 150 
 
 Benjamin A 149, 150, 152 
 
 Betty 151 
 
 Blanche 1 152 
 
 Belle ■• 150 
 
 Betsey 144, 145 
 
 Benjamin 83, 142, 204 
 
 Betsey Gile 220 
 
 Benjamin, 2d 145 
 
 Caroline A 147 
 
 Charles 144 
 
 Charlie 144, 150 
 
 Cyrus 19, 23, 144, 145, 149 
 
 Charles M 14G 
 
 Carrie B 148 
 
 Clarence W 150 
 
 Darius 89, 149 
 
 David 143, 14G 
 
 Dolly 93, 151 
 
 Daisy Belle 150 
 
 Deborah 140 
 
 Dearborn 144 
 
 Elisabeth G 145, 294 
 
 Electa C 145 
 
 Elisabeth 143, 153 
 
 Eugene 146 
 
 Ebenezar R 146 
 
 Eliza M 147 
 
 Elsie 349 
 
 Emma J 148, 170 
 
 Emily 145, 148 
 
 Ella G 148 
 
 Edward R 149 
 
 Electa 16, 152, 286 
 
 Elias Laroy 150 
 
 Frank 150 
 
 Frances M 147 
 
 Frank A 149 
 
 Fred S 150 
 
 Freddie 148 
 
 George 349 
 
 George Albert 152 
 
 George Fred 145, 149 
 
 George S 145. 148 
 
 Hannah 143, 144 
 
 Harriet 144 
 
 Hiram 1 129, 145, 108 
 
 Henry W 150 
 
 Hiram Edward 150 
 
 Hannah 151 
 
 Helen M 147 
 
 Hannah H 147 
 
 Henry 242 
 
 Henry H 149 
 
 Irving 349 
 
 Isaac 146 
 
 Israel 141 
 
 Isaac, Capt 142. 220, 313 
 
 Isaac, Dr 38, 93, 151 
 
 Isaac, Jr 151 
 
 Jonathan 142, 143, 216 
 
 Jonathan W 130, 145, 146 
 
 Jeremiah 143 
 
 Joseph 151 
 
 Jed 150 
 
 Jeremiah E. S 150 
 
 Job 84, 142, 148 
 
 John W 145, 149 
 
 Jacob 143 
 
 John 141, 142, 144. 145, 149 
 
 James 143, 144, 292 
 
 Josephine A 150 
 
 Lizzie May 150 
 
 Love L 146 
 
 Laura M 146 
 
 Laura P 61, 145 
 
 Liba C 147 
 
 Lovina 120, 148 
 
 Lucretia A 97, 152 
 
 Laroy A 144 
 
 Mabel W 149. 181 
 
 Marv 143, 144 
 
 Martha 142, 145, 220 
 
 Marv J 145. 148 
 
 Mehitable 145. 148. 193 
 
 Mack 142, 143, 144 
 
 Minnie 145 
 
 Melissa 146 
 
 IVIelen and Everett 147 
 
 Moses ■ 146 
 
 Mary D 148 
 
 Mary Alice 150 
 
 Mary S 146 
 
 Mvra E 150 
 
 Melvin C 152 
 
 Nathan 147 
 
 Nnncv 143, 145, 149 
 
 Nellie 148. 150 
 
 Obadiah 143, 254, 276, 307 
 
 Ora S 148 
 
 Pamelia 145, 272 
 
 Pamelia, 2d 145, 213 
 
 Phebe 144, 215 
 
 Pollv 143, 151, 192, 337 
 
 Rachel 152 
 
 Richard 13 
 
 Statira 143 
 
 Sarah J 147, 150 
 
 Sarah E 152, 242 
 
INDEX. 
 
 885 
 
 Samuel 
 
 Stephen ' 
 
 Susan M 117, 
 
 Sevira 1 17, 
 
 Shubael 143, 147, 
 
 Sarah 31 
 
 Smith W 142. 
 
 Sally 84, 143, 144, 
 
 Sumner 
 
 Thomas 145 
 
 Theodate S 
 
 Tamson 
 
 Walter F 
 
 Willis 
 
 Wallace 
 
 Wesley 147. 
 
 William 22G, 325, 
 
 AVilliam (Miller) 
 
 Willie M 
 
 140 
 14r, 
 18'1 
 290 
 209 
 147 
 145 
 256 
 144 
 148 
 150 
 144 
 149 
 147 
 148 
 329 
 337 
 15-.! 
 150 
 
 GLOVER. 
 
 Almira 144 
 
 Betsey 8G 
 
 Ebenezar 118 
 
 Emma B 149 ! 
 
 John B 93, 118 1 
 
 Hannah 
 
 GODB^REY. 
 
 83 
 
 GORM. 
 
 John Stewart 274 I 
 
 GOODALE. ; 
 
 John II 12, 227 , 
 
 Abel . . . . 
 Charles . 
 Sarah A. 
 
 GOODRICH. 
 
 94 
 254 
 206 
 
 GOODHUE. 
 
 Asenath 232 
 
 Fannie 
 
 Warren, Dr. 
 Maria 
 
 GORDON. 
 
 GOODWIN. 
 
 Albert A 
 
 David 
 
 Diana 
 
 Elisabeth 
 
 Furber 153. 
 
 Harriet L 
 
 Hannah 
 
 James R 
 
 Judith 
 
 Kins H 
 
 Lurana 135, 152, 
 
 Moses 
 
 Nelissa 
 
 Nancy 120. 
 
 Natt 
 
 Olive A 
 
 Richard 
 
 Sarah 
 
 Samuel 
 
 9S 
 
 GORRELL. 
 
 An)ort A 154. 323 
 
 Albert 1 1^^ 
 
 Addie J 1S<. 2" 
 
 ClouRh in. 1B< 
 
 Clara 15< 
 
 Edith T J^j 
 
 Gawn .Xrmour 1"'' 
 
 Gawn FMwln 58, 111. 154 
 
 Horace W 154 
 
 Henry II 154 
 
 25 
 
 •Jnne f^ 
 
 Joseph !•: «iu 
 
 I..vdln A ijj 
 
 ^larthn J ■.■.■.■.■.■.■.; 86,' 154 
 
 Mary 10 y^ 
 
 Nathaniel .............! 163 
 
 G08S. 
 Florence igj 
 
 GOri.D 
 
 Annie M .. 155 
 
 Charles R., I)r 154 
 
 i'harles 155 
 
 Charlie .'!.'.'.'...'.'. 1S3 
 
 Flora M '..'.'.!!!!'.! 188 
 
 Harry .......'." 153 
 
 Harry, Jr ik 
 
 John 329 
 
 Richard 155 
 
 Thelma 155 
 
 Vestella 155 
 
 GOVE. 
 Sally 170 
 
 GRAY. 
 
 Emma 230 
 
 Fannie 338, 339 
 
 Robert 135, 217. 269 
 
 Willis 230 
 
 GRAHAM. 
 Robert, Sir 274 
 
 GRANT. 
 
 Caroline 171 
 
 E. D.. Prof 109 
 
 GREELEY. 
 
 Elwin 168 
 
 Horace 1G8 
 
 GREENE. 
 
 Ethel N 191 
 
 Nelson 86 
 
 Stephen N 191 
 
 GREENOUGH. 
 
 .Tudlth C 828 
 
 John 302 
 
 Polly 129 
 
 GREENWOOD. 
 Joseph 8S9 
 
 GRIFFITH. 
 Jennie L lO 
 
 GROSS. 
 Mary N 118 
 
 GROVER, 
 
 Andrew 166. Ml 
 
 Betsey M8 
 
 I >orca8 U6 
 
 FCrtwnrd 1S6 
 
 llnnunli IS* 
 
 Jnnies M 156 
 
 Jennie M M* 
 
 I.vdin B Ig 
 
 Mnrv M .«• 
 
 Oliver 155 
 
 I'olly M }W 
 
 Snlly J» 
 
 Samuel M Jg 
 
 Stewart *•• 
 
 HAGGET. __ 
 
 Alvah B 2 
 
 Alice gj 
 
 Certrude ■ •'' 
 
38G 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 HAINES. 
 
 Alice A 157 
 
 Benjamin 150 
 
 Charles 157 
 
 David 156 
 
 Eldoi-a 157 
 
 H. Frances 156 
 
 Gertrude 156 
 
 George L ' 156 
 
 George B 156 
 
 Hannah C 157, 168, 201, 291 
 
 Hannah 129, 326, 336 
 
 Ida M 156 
 
 Jacob C 229 
 
 John 229 
 
 Lewis D 31, 156 
 
 Lylc 156 
 
 Lizzie M 158, 321 
 
 Mary E 156 
 
 Marv A. P 297 
 
 Marv 156, 197 
 
 Mary A. W 217 
 
 Paihamah 156 
 
 Ruhamah G 156 
 
 Rebecca 157, 2G7 
 
 Stephen, Capt 88, 15G 
 
 Samuel Bell 81, 157, 252 
 
 Sarah M 89, 157 
 
 Stephen 118, 133. 201 
 
 Thomas C 157, 270, 298 
 
 Victoria 158, 297 
 
 HALE. 
 
 Annie 214 
 
 Hannah 253 
 
 HALL. 
 
 Adino B., M. D 159 
 
 Arthur N 159 
 
 Ambrose H 159 
 
 Almira 159 
 
 Abby A 159 
 
 Albert H 159, 160 
 
 Betsey B 158, 159 
 
 Charfes H 159, 160 
 
 Camillus, Dr 59 
 
 Dixi C 112, 159 
 
 Elisabeth 328 
 
 Ebenezar 150, 159 
 
 Eliza B 42, 159 
 
 Everett A... 159 
 
 Ellen A 159 
 
 George A 159 
 
 Hannah 58, 158, 217 
 
 Hannah E 160 
 
 Harriet G 159 
 
 Hannah L 159 
 
 Israel Cofran 1^0 
 
 Jeremiah, Dea 5, 158 
 
 Jeremiah F.. M. D 159 
 
 Jeremiah, Jr 159 
 
 Joseph 159 
 
 John L 158 
 
 Joseph N 1'J9 
 
 Joseph S 160 
 
 Lydia 158 
 
 Laura J 160 
 
 Marshall 1' 159 
 
 Mary B 159 
 
 Mary P 158 
 
 Martha J 159 
 
 Nellie 214 
 
 Nancy 45 
 
 Obadiah 158, 279 
 
 Obadiah, .1 r 158 
 
 Obadiah J., M. D VO 
 
 Ruth 158 
 
 Sarah 158 
 
 HAM. 
 
 Betsey 295, 306 
 
 Polly 245 
 
 HAMILTON. 
 Ethel F 52 
 
 HAJtlLIN. 
 
 Bishop 167 
 
 George V 181 
 
 George II 181 
 
 Leonard H. V 181 
 
 HAMMOND. 
 
 Alice 127 
 
 Ella C 64 
 
 George 64 
 
 Lucius 64 
 
 Mary A 275 
 
 HANSON. 
 
 John n 
 
 Patience W 258 
 
 Robert 258 
 
 Sarah 258 
 
 HANSCOMB. 
 
 Charles F 130 
 
 Isaac 131 
 
 HANAFORD. 
 
 Amos C 118, 165, 217, 325 
 
 Arthur L 261 
 
 Azuba 165 
 
 Alvah 91, 166 
 
 Benjamin 28 
 
 Benjamin F 166 
 
 Cordelia R 167 
 
 Charles II., Rev 167 
 
 Emma A 195, 261 
 
 Edith M 167 
 
 Flora 167 
 
 Fordyce 166 
 
 Fred 221 
 
 Fred A 167 
 
 George 221 
 
 John A 167 
 
 .Teremiah 166 
 
 Jonathan T 221 
 
 John 142, 165, 166, 170, 278 
 
 .Tabez •■ 165 
 
 Mary A 166, 208 
 
 Martin R 166 
 
 Marv E 167 
 
 Maria S 167, 327 
 
 Maria A 168 
 
 Nancy J 166 
 
 Orville 261 
 
 Parker W 166 
 
 Peter 128 
 
 Sarah 166 
 
 Samuel G 166 
 
 Susan G 167 
 
 William G 41, 141 
 
 HANCOCK. 
 
 Albert IRS 
 
 Alonzo 163 
 
 Annette 163, 182 
 
 Alvira 164 
 
 Alice 161 
 
 Ann E 162 
 
 Arthur 162 
 
 Abbv Susan 162 
 
 Betsey 79 
 
 Betsey B 165 
 
 Benjamin 161 
 
 Cynthia 162 
 
 Charles 163 
 
 Clara A 103 
 
INDEX. 
 
 887 
 
 Caroline 1(;2 
 
 Clara IRJ 
 
 David B ir,5 
 
 Dorotliv ir,i 
 
 Elisnl)elli 161 
 
 EIisal)etli Iv 325 
 
 Enocli I? 102 
 
 Edward II 16.5 
 
 Eva Mabel Ifi-l 
 
 Elbridse G Ifi:! 
 
 Francis Claire ir,3 
 
 Frank K W2 
 
 George 4, 114, 152, 160, 162 
 
 Geoi'se, .Tr It'l 
 
 George Henry 162 
 
 Ilannali 161, 162. 240 
 
 Horace 114 
 
 Harrison 161 
 
 Henrietta 161 
 
 Hattie 101 
 
 Henry A 162 
 
 Horace lf>4 
 
 Isabella 165 
 
 Joseph 4, 83, IFO. 161. 182, 221 
 
 Jacob 160, 162, 164, 109 
 
 John, Gov KO 
 
 John iro, 102 
 
 Jesse 48, 163 
 
 Judith 25, 165 
 
 Kezar 1''3 
 
 Kezia 1«-1 
 
 Mabel 164 
 
 Martha 128. 165 
 
 Mary 164 
 
 Mary J 102 
 
 Marv Ann 103 
 
 Nellie G 104 
 
 Naomi 161. 102 
 
 Nancy B 1*^2 
 
 Orrln J., Rev 156, 103 
 
 Olive 1«^ 
 
 Polly 103 
 
 Parker C 1*^2 
 
 Susan 120, ir3 
 
 Smith 36, 164 
 
 Thomas J 1' •'» 
 
 Willie l'">^ 
 
 William G 162 
 
 William J l"-* 
 
 William 4, 128, 156, 163, 105 
 
 HARDY. 
 
 Marcus A 202 
 
 Judith 12" 
 
 HARPER. 
 Joseph, Dr 5. 14 
 
 HARRIS. 
 Mrs 1^' 
 
 HART. 
 Allen 38 
 
 HARRINGTON. 
 
 George "5 
 
 Lillian G 30. 
 
 HARVEY. 
 
 Sarah ^-^ 
 
 HASKINS. 
 
 Louise E '^ 
 
 IIAWBS. 
 
 Eugene "' 
 
 HAYES. 
 Charles C ^- 
 
 UAYNE8. 
 
 FHIx 108 
 
 Fletcher log 
 
 <Jrace lOg 
 
 Millie JOS 
 
 Sadie lOR 
 
 Thomas log 
 
 HAZELTON. 
 
 Renjaniin. Rev 1A8 
 
 Menjamln F 168 
 
 ISenson C 168 
 
 Kli5!a F 145, 168 
 
 Ellen 169 
 
 Frances D 168 
 
 Hugh 1(59 
 
 1 lortense 169 
 
 .Tosephine 169 
 
 Josephine B 169 
 
 Jessie 169 
 
 Marv F 168 
 
 William E 168 
 
 HAYES. 
 
 Ellen ♦ 88 
 
 Flora 88 
 
 Jeremiah 88 
 
 HAYWOOD. 
 
 Charles E 91, 169 
 
 Emma 169 
 
 Earl Ifi9 
 
 Fred 1S9 
 
 Lester W 169 
 
 Maud 1*^ 
 
 Porter M 74, 169 
 
 HEALEY. 
 
 Annette 1"0 
 
 Belle M 
 
 Blanche M 
 
 Elliott 170 
 
 Elliott C 14*. 170 
 
 Gladys 148, 170 
 
 Isaac C 170 
 
 James C ■■ 170 
 
 Minnie 170 
 
 Robert 170 
 
 HEATH. 
 
 Abraham 171 
 
 Betsev G » 
 
 Caleb ip 
 
 Celestia S |T1 
 
 Comfort •••• ITS 
 
 Charles II. E m. 1*7 
 
 Charles Jli 
 
 David G »2 
 
 i-^t>% ,s 
 
 Fannie "zj 
 
 (Jeorge F •••• **» 
 
 Horace iM, 153 
 
 Isaac I™ 
 
 James •" 
 
 Joshua *™ 
 
 Jacob * 
 
 Joseph JJJ 
 
 Joseph. 2d J^ 
 
 Jnne ••■.■ .Z< 
 
 .Tohn G «»• !» 
 
 John S •*• 'l; 
 
 John ,;, 
 
 Mary Ann !.' 
 
 M.wes ':; 
 
 Olive •; 
 
 Polly •.•• ;!: 
 
 Rachel >'' J-' 
 
 Susan II ',! 
 
 Sullivan 
 
388 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Svlvanns 171 
 
 Samuel 172 
 
 Stephen 172 
 
 Walter 12G 
 
 HEMENWAY. 
 
 Maria F 18G 
 
 HENRY. 
 
 John 63 
 
 HERBERT. 
 
 Frank A 280 
 
 Frank 194 
 
 Lizzie 97 
 
 HERKIMER. 
 
 Josephine T 174 
 
 HERRICK. 
 
 Asrnes K 174 
 
 Charles P 11, 92, 173 
 
 Charles E 173 
 
 Daniel 172, 215 
 
 Daniel W 173 
 
 Francis H . .• 174 
 
 John 174 
 
 Hannah J 173 
 
 Mary 123 
 
 Mary E 173 
 
 Martha P 174 
 
 Mai'cellus, Rev 173 
 
 Nathaniel 172 
 
 Sarah S 173 
 
 William 14 
 
 HERSEY. 
 
 Betsey 43 
 
 Elisabeth 23, 93 
 
 Ja mes 34C 
 
 Ruth 43 
 
 HIBBARD. 
 
 Albert B 335 
 
 Da-id M 335 
 
 Kari 335 
 
 Maria 53 
 
 Susie E 335 
 
 HIBBEN. 
 
 Heron '. 141 
 
 HILL. 
 
 Arlinia 121 
 
 Aleck W 183 
 
 Betsey 105 
 
 E-a G 183 
 
 Florence A. . . ! 183 
 
 Joseph 44, 163, 183 
 
 Joseph W 183 
 
 Lvford C 105 
 
 Susan FT 119 
 
 Valentine 207 
 
 HILLS. 
 
 Abasail 75, 177 
 
 Abiah 176 
 
 Amelia 177 
 
 Arthur H 182 
 
 Aaron 178 
 
 Alice 178 
 
 Adaline 178 
 
 Ann 180, 281 
 
 Alice M 182 
 
 Al-ah T 179 
 
 Betsey (Elis) 53. 17(1 
 
 Betsey L 153, 178 
 
 Barker L 53, 178 
 
 Benjamin 43, 178 
 
 Cerinda 178 
 
 Clarrisa 177 
 
 Charles F 180 
 
 Clyde Clayton 182 
 
 Daniel, Jr 174 
 
 David. Capt 175 
 
 Daniel 59, 174, 176, 231. 318. 345 
 
 David 46, 155, 177 
 
 Daniel C 178 
 
 Daniel A 179 
 
 Daniel E 181, 225 
 
 Dorothy E 179 
 
 Elisabeth 325 
 
 Ellon S 181 
 
 Ella 181 
 
 Emery 177 
 
 Ellen F 181 
 
 Evelyn B 182 
 
 Fi-ed 181 
 
 Frank 180, 283 
 
 George 177 
 
 Grace 181 
 
 Helen Josephine 92, 182 
 
 Helen P 179 
 
 Henry T 179, 319 
 
 Helen S 181 
 
 Harriet 178 
 
 Hannah 25, 175 
 
 .Ta mes C 179 
 
 John 28, 175, 346 
 
 Julia A 178 
 
 King L 133, 177 
 
 Kate F 182, 349 
 
 LoriBS C 183 
 
 Lewellen S 180, 181 
 
 Lelia G 181 
 
 Leon C 182 
 
 Lucy R 79, 179 
 
 Martha G 179 
 
 Mary T 179 
 
 Mvra P 180, 181 
 
 Marv C 181 
 
 Marion R 181 
 
 Moses 231 
 
 Maria 177 
 
 Marcella 178 
 
 Marv 178 
 
 Mary Eliza 178 
 
 M. Etta 180 
 
 Nancy 177 
 
 Robert W 181 
 
 Roger F 180, 181 
 
 Sally 176 
 
 Samuel, Dea 177 
 
 Susan H 179 
 
 Sarah A 179 
 
 Susan M 179 
 
 Solon F 179 
 
 Stella F 182 
 
 Susan 176. 350 
 
 Timothy 21, 52, 173. 175 
 
 William C 93, 181 
 
 Warren S 179 
 
 William P 179 
 
 Warren L 17, 43. 175 
 
 Willie H 182 
 
 Walter B 182 
 
 HILLSGROVE. 
 Frank 264 
 
 HINKLEY. 
 
 Augusta 190 
 
 George H 96 
 
 HOAGG. 
 
 D. W 206 
 
 Lucy 267 
 
 Rebecca 42 
 
INDEX. 
 
 aH9 
 
 HODGDON. 
 
 Augusta 27C 
 
 Charlotte 184, 2U 
 
 Cora 27C 
 
 Cyrus 1S4 
 
 Charles E 275 
 
 Charles M 185 
 
 Christie 185 
 
 Deliverance 184 
 
 Edmund 18:5 
 
 George M 185 
 
 Hiram 110, 184 
 
 Isaiah 184 
 
 Israel 18;i 
 
 John L 153, 184 
 
 Miles IK! 
 
 Mildred 27(; 
 
 Mary 84, 18:$ 
 
 Nancy 184 
 
 Peace 25, 183 
 
 Susan 184 
 
 Susannah 197 
 
 Winuif red 276 
 
 HOBART. 
 Ida B 240 
 
 HOLBUOOK. 
 
 Kate 166 
 
 Luscinda L 255 
 
 HOLDEN. 
 Amasa 39 
 
 IIOr.MES. 
 
 Gertrude 1S5 
 
 Martha A 259 
 
 Nathaniel, Capt S8, 259 
 
 Samuel 185 
 
 HOLT. 
 Mary Wallace 37 
 
 HOOD. 
 
 C. I 32 
 
 John, Dea 70 
 
 HOPKINS. 
 
 Laura B 115 
 
 T. B., Uev 115 
 
 HORNER. 
 
 Willis 12C 
 
 IIORNE. 
 
 Sidney 23 
 
 Thomas 210 
 
 HOUGH. 
 Arthur D 196 
 
 HOUTS. 
 Franit HI 
 
 HOUGHTON. 
 
 Hannah A 187 
 
 Sarah A 187 
 
 HOWARD. 
 
 Annie 
 
 Georglaua 
 
 Samuel 
 
 HOWE. 
 
 Lucie E 201 
 
 Orlando J^ 
 
 Orrilla 1^^ 
 
 Susau ,6 
 
 Will "8 
 
 "OYT. 
 
 Asa G !«: 
 
 Alvah }*! 
 
 Amos I* ^'*' 
 
 Auffusta 187 
 
 Alonzo E 187 
 
 (Mara B 1S7 
 
 1)1x1 C • : 
 
 Enos, Dr 129, 169, 1- 
 
 Enos A 
 
 Edwin, Rev :u;, 1x7 
 
 (Jrace C IM 
 
 I da 1.S7 
 
 Laura ."» 
 
 Lizzie 99 
 
 Nettle 12fi, 1«7 
 
 Keuhen 32, l.M 
 
 Khoda F\ B 186 
 
 Siirnh 118 
 
 Walter 250 
 
 INGALLS. 
 
 Daniel 1C3 
 
 Frank 190 
 
 Hiram 37 
 
 Luther 190 
 
 PoUv 81 
 
 Walter M 
 
 JACOBS. 
 Mrs 187 
 
 JACKMAN. 
 
 Sarah 285 
 
 Samuel 328 
 
 JACKSON. 
 
 Nancv A 206 
 
 Richard 224 
 
 JACQUES. 
 
 Carrie Ida K» 
 
 Pascal 56 
 
 JAMES. 
 
 Charlotte 85 
 
 Edna 18 
 
 Nancy Alice 1*1 
 
 JARVIS. 
 
 John 1~ 
 
 Martha B ' 
 
 JEFFERY. 
 
 Florence ^1 
 
 JEFFERSON. 
 
 Joe =« 
 
 JEFFTS. 
 Ellcry ■*' 
 
 JEXNESS. 
 
 Emellne ' 
 
 Olive " 
 
 Peter ^^ 
 
 JENKINS. 
 
 Jamea • ' 
 
 Sarah '" 
 
 JKWETT. 
 
 Jeremiah JjJ 
 
 Mehltable ~? 
 
 Smith '" 
 
 JEWELL 
 
 Eliza A JS 
 
 John IS 
 
 Mary J "• 
 
 JOCELYN. ,^ 
 
 r. V Iw 
 
 »-■ IJ» lai 
 
 Edward "} 
 
 Etta May • "' 
 
 JOHNSON. 
 Abble N "' 
 
390 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Almeda F 116 
 
 Anna T 305 
 
 Betsey A 191 
 
 Enos H 191 
 
 Ellen A 191 
 
 Eleonor S 355 
 
 Elisabeth W 305 
 
 Estella M 191 
 
 Fred 146 
 
 Frank E 191 
 
 G. M 311 
 
 Herman 191 
 
 Hannah 17 
 
 John 191, 215, 323 
 
 Jonathan M 86, 191 
 
 John C 305 
 
 Jennie M 214 
 
 John F 305 
 
 Lutie 96 
 
 Louise 305 
 
 Lydia 339 
 
 Marlon 305 
 
 Mittie C 305 
 
 Mary E. B 191, 211, 305 
 
 Mollie B 115 
 
 Peter 216 
 
 Sarah N 305 
 
 Sadie F 116 
 
 JOINER. 
 Mamie 243 
 
 JONES. 
 
 Arden F 131 
 
 Anna 81 
 
 Clarrissa 86 
 
 Charles C, Dr 146 
 
 Dexter F 112 
 
 Elisabeth 280 
 
 John W 200 
 
 Nathan, Rev 131 
 
 Nancy 227 
 
 Silas 112 
 
 Saphronia 38 
 
 William 49 
 
 JONDREAU. 
 Fannie 63 
 
 JUDKINS. 
 
 Elsie M 187 
 
 Fred 187 
 
 Herbert 297 
 
 Jere A 187 
 
 Leon F 187 
 
 Wallace 187 
 
 KATLER. 
 Chris 283 
 
 KEENE. 
 Francos, Mrs 308 
 
 KELLEY. 
 
 Abbie 47 
 
 Eliza J 243 
 
 KELLOGG. 
 Sarah J 264 
 
 KELTON. 
 Blanch E 222 
 
 KEMP. 
 Dayid N 255 
 
 KENDRICK. 
 Stephen 25 
 
 KENDALL. 
 
 Charles GO 
 
 Minnie 110 
 
 KENISTON. 
 
 Amanda 194 
 
 Adaline 194 
 
 Alfred 193 
 
 Alpheus 170, 193 
 
 Albert 148, 193, 216 
 
 Alice 216 
 
 Alvin 194 
 
 Benjamin 41 
 
 Charles 85, 192, 193, 216 
 
 David 84, 192, 193 
 
 Elisabeth 193 
 
 Elbridge 194 
 
 Edith H 201 
 
 Ellen 194, 273 
 
 Ed\vard 195 
 
 Eliza 194 
 
 Etta 194 
 
 Emma 194 
 
 Ernest 194 
 
 Frederick 123, 216 
 
 Francis 192 
 
 Francis, Jr 194 
 
 Frank C 194 
 
 Harry 195 
 
 Harrie 272 
 
 Harrison 193 
 
 Hattie 194 
 
 Harold F 194 
 
 Henry 194 
 
 James 162, 194 
 
 Joshram 192 
 
 Jenny 195 
 
 Jonathan 151, 192 
 
 John 193, 216 
 
 Jerusha 194 
 
 Laura 193 
 
 Lucy J 194 
 
 Lewis 194 
 
 LaFayette 194 
 
 Lisle 194 
 
 Marv 193 
 
 Martha 156 
 
 Marv L 194 
 
 I'ol'y 193 
 
 Nellie F 195 
 
 Philip 38, 192 
 
 Priscilla 193 
 
 Perley C 194, 195 
 
 Ruth 193 
 
 Sally 71, 193 
 
 Simon F 195 
 
 Veda 194 
 
 Warren 195 
 
 Walter Scott 194 
 
 Willie E 194 
 
 William II 137, 194 
 
 William 4, 81, 192, 193 
 
 Valentine 192 
 
 Victoria 194 
 
 KENISON. 
 
 Apphia 195 
 
 Benjamin 195 
 
 Benjamin, Jr 195, 285 
 
 Charles 195 
 
 Parker 195 
 
 ^larv Jano 165 
 
 Blanche R 196 
 
 John H 196 
 
 Maud Ella 196 
 
 KENNEY. 
 
 Annie 196 
 
 Frank 196 
 
 John 104 
 
 KENNARD. 
 
 James 124 
 
 Martha G 124 
 
INDEX. 
 
 89^ 
 
 KENT. 
 
 John 112, 135 
 
 Mary V 
 
 Sarah E 208 
 
 KEZAR OR KEASOR. 
 
 Azuba 24, IfiO 
 
 Arthur Edward 237 
 
 Asa lOG 
 
 Elisaheth ICO 
 
 Edimind m\ 
 
 Edmoiul. T.ieut 19(1 
 
 George, Dr lOG 
 
 Jane li»f> 
 
 John, Dr 19G, 197 
 
 Joseph Smith 197 
 
 Jesse 198 
 
 Jacob 198 
 
 Jonathan 19i> 
 
 Mark 337 
 
 Nancy 244 
 
 Reuben 19C 
 
 KERX. 
 Mary Luscinda 130 
 
 KEYES. 
 Marcellina 42 
 
 KIDDER. 
 
 Anna 21 
 
 Rev 18 
 
 KIEF. 
 Mary E 88 
 
 KIMBALL. 
 
 Arthur L 199, 200 
 
 Alberta J 200 
 
 Amoretta 46, 97, 199 
 
 Ann 53 
 
 Benjamin 198 
 
 Ben jam in F 208 
 
 Bertha 1 208 
 
 Charles 241 
 
 David l^S 
 
 David, Jr 199 
 
 Edwin n7 
 
 Elienezar 4, 357 
 
 Edwin F 249 
 
 Elsie r 249 
 
 Elisabeth 310 
 
 Elisabeth (i ICO, 199 
 
 Frank 1^« 
 
 Frank E 249 
 
 (Jeorjio A 200 
 
 Georgia 1"' 
 
 George E 200 
 
 Hannah 1''>1 
 
 Harrv 1 208 
 
 Harriett Ann 199, 200 
 
 Hiram 241 
 
 Herbert ^^ 
 
 Ida I'l 
 
 Isaac 19« 
 
 John 199. 241 
 
 John, Hon 12. 2:i!i 
 
 John V • • ILi 
 
 John Andre ■<6. l^, 
 
 Joseph 39, 141, 193. 199, 321 
 
 .Tospph Warren , 200 
 
 James F ^'IJ 
 
 Laura -tJ- ^\' 
 
 Lm-v f".°:::::::::::.::.::::::::-.:::S2m 
 
 Lizzie V iU^ 
 
 Merlle 200 
 
 Morton 200 
 
 Mary E -^>'< 
 
 Kicliard iM 
 
 Hoy Tliurslon 200 
 
 Rene |Qg 
 
 Reuben iM 
 
 f^lnieon 199, 220. 289 
 
 Sarah II 2OO 
 
 KINOSBITRY. 
 
 Annie 99 
 
 E. (J 8S 
 
 Mary E UB 
 
 Orrln 88 
 
 KINSLEY. 
 Jennie S 206 
 
 KISREL. 
 Hannah 151 
 
 KNOWLES. 
 
 Addle V 202 
 
 Bet.sey 202 
 
 ("yrene 202 
 
 Charles W 202 
 
 Carrie W 2«2 
 
 Christian 201 
 
 Georpe C 202 
 
 Hannah 201 
 
 .lohn 2<U 
 
 Joseph 200 
 
 .Insti)li. Jr 201 
 
 Joseph. 3d 202 
 
 Katlierlne 202 
 
 Laura J 202 
 
 Lucien 202 
 
 Mary 72. I»S 
 
 I'ollv »l 
 
 Itobert T 102 
 
 Sarah >01 
 
 Sally m 
 
 William 1"6, 201. 28S 
 
 Wesley !«. »i 
 
 William F «■ 
 
 William Fletcher Vtt 
 
 KNOX. 
 
 Eugene *** 
 
 KNIGHT. 
 
 Elisabeth »> 
 
 Luther, Dr ^ 
 
 KNAI'lv 
 
 Benjamin l;} 
 
 Susan "l 
 
 KRUS. 
 Esther A ^ 
 
 LADD. 
 
 Marv Sweatt ]}^ 
 
 N. <;.. Dr J« 
 
 (Hive .lane *"| 
 
 Ransom JJ' 
 
 Zllla "• 
 
 IJ^DnCIA. 
 Marv ** 
 
 I^KE. 
 
 Alfred "• 
 
 Cnrollno jj* 
 
 Jeremiah JT? 
 
 Mehltablc *•• 
 
 I^KIN. 
 John *" 
 
 LAMB 
 Andrew E ..»» 
 
 Kva g 
 
 Elmer "•' 
 
392 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Mary 45 
 
 Mabel 337 
 
 Sylvester 245, 337 
 
 LAM SON. 
 Mary E 324 
 
 LAMPREY. 
 Mrs 244 
 
 LANE. 
 
 Annie M 255 
 
 Lucy 187 
 
 Mary N 255 
 
 LANG. 
 
 Annie L 304 
 
 Charles W 304 
 
 Direxa 178 
 
 Ella S 304 
 
 Elisabith A 178 
 
 Edward E 304 
 
 Fannie 1 304 
 
 Georse B 304 
 
 Henrietta J 203, 350 
 
 Josepli 88, 178, 202 
 
 Jonathan E 304 
 
 John D 147, 178, 203 
 
 Katherine 304 
 
 Lucy B 178 
 
 Lowell 178 
 
 Matilda 178 
 
 Marianna 304 
 
 Sarah C 304 
 
 Timothy H 178 
 
 Warren H 178 
 
 LANCASTER. 
 
 Augustus C 203 
 
 Emma F 203 
 
 George C, Dea 6(i. 332 
 
 Georgie E 203, 332 
 
 Mary 202 
 
 LARKIN. 
 
 Ernest 177 
 
 Lyman B., Dr 177 
 
 LAW. 
 John 216 
 
 LAWRENCE. 
 
 Ellen 131 
 
 Frank P 203 
 
 Lvman P 131 
 
 Laroy P 131 
 
 Marcus 54 
 
 Willie 54 
 
 LAUTZ. 
 G 297 
 
 LAYCOCK. 
 
 Craven 183, 350 
 
 Catharine 350 
 
 LEACH. 
 
 Deborah 64 
 
 Henry W 97, 149 
 
 LEAVITT. 
 
 Arthur G 205 
 
 Alvin 205 
 
 Albert D 205 
 
 Bertba K 205 
 
 Benton C 205 
 
 Dudley 204 
 
 Evelyn E 20r. 
 
 Ernest E 206 
 
 Emilv F 205 
 
 Edwin V 205 
 
 Gideon 137, 204 
 
 George T 212 
 
 Grace A 206 
 
 Hattie B 205 
 
 Hamilton 206 
 
 Ida May 205 
 
 Jonathan 204 
 
 Joseph 4, 204 
 
 Joshua 204, 304 
 
 Love 142 
 
 Mary 205 
 
 Miranda J 206 
 
 Moses 204 
 
 Nelson 205 
 
 Ruth 83, 204 
 
 Walter 206 
 
 M'adleigh 204 
 
 Violet E 200 
 
 LbBARON. 
 Etta L 150 
 
 LEDOUX. 
 
 Alberic 206 
 
 Alida 206 
 
 Annie J 206 
 
 Alphonse B 207 
 
 Elmire M 206 
 
 Emilv V 206 
 
 Felix J 200 
 
 Joseph 206 
 
 Joseph A 206 
 
 Louise P 207 
 
 Leonard M 207 
 
 Lumina M 207 
 
 LEE. 
 Harriet 131 
 
 LEES. 
 Samuel 39 
 
 LEEDS. 
 Mary 131 
 
 LEIGHTON. 
 
 Edward 207 
 
 Ellen C 31, 207 
 
 Edward, Jr 208 
 
 George E 208 
 
 Ira 207 
 
 John S 207 
 
 John F 208 
 
 Judith 208 
 
 Lydia 30, 207 
 
 Lauren 208 
 
 Leonard C 208 
 
 Minnie 208 
 
 Maria L 208 
 
 Mary E 208 
 
 Marv 207 
 
 Moses 207 
 
 Nellie A 208 
 
 Susie 207 
 
 Sarah 208 
 
 Thomas 207 
 
 LEONARD. 
 Eva 11 
 
 LERNED. 
 
 Ebenezer, Dr 56 
 
 Hannah 176 
 
 John 176 
 
 Lucv A 176 
 
 Mark 176 
 
 Samuel 170 
 
 LEMON. 
 
 Mary 150 
 
 LESLIE. 
 
 Dr 147 
 
INDEX. 
 
 803 
 
 LEWIS. 
 Ann 89 
 
 LIBBY. 
 Samuel 319 
 
 LINDSEY. 
 James 208, 209 
 
 LITTLE. 
 
 Georjre 14C 
 
 Orrilla 140 
 
 Kirke 146 
 
 LOCK. 
 
 Mary J 284 
 
 Leon 307 
 
 Sherborn 170 
 
 Sarah 200 
 
 LOMBARD. 
 
 Asa 131 
 
 Mary l.^l 
 
 Nellie 131 
 
 Willard 131 
 
 LONG. 
 
 Addle 211 
 
 George E 211 
 
 .Tane B 2.36 
 
 Lllla 2.3G 
 
 Marcia A 211 
 
 Thomas W 211 
 
 William 230 
 
 LONGLY. 
 Fred 194, 242 
 
 LORD. 
 
 Albert C 212 
 
 Arthur 212 
 
 Cyrus lOfi, 211 
 
 Clarance II 211 
 
 Charles B 114, 211 
 
 Dorothv 212 
 
 Eliphalet, Jr 211 
 
 Edith M 211 
 
 Eliphalet 211 
 
 Frances A 211 
 
 Fred B 219 
 
 Flora E 212 
 
 George F 212 
 
 George W 191. 211 
 
 Harry A 212 
 
 John 3d 211 
 
 John. Hon 211 
 
 Luscinda 211 
 
 MehitablP 211 
 
 Nathan. D. D 211 
 
 Nathaniel 211 
 
 Raymond B 212 
 
 LORING. 
 Emma 51 
 
 LOTT. 
 G. B., Mrs 344 
 
 LOUGEE. 
 
 Arthur 214 
 
 Alonzo J 214 
 
 Charles 214 
 
 Curtis J 214 
 
 David 214 
 
 Ellsha 213. 214 
 
 Earl F 214 
 
 Fred G 214, 267, 299 
 
 Flovd .: 214 
 
 Gllman 213 
 
 Harry C 214 
 
 Helen J 214 
 
 John 213 
 
 Rarnh Jane jij 
 
 SnnuK'l '...'.'.'.'.'.'.'.'.'. 214 
 
 Tliirza .'..".'!!'.*. 21.1 
 
 Truworthy 213 
 
 LOVE. 
 William lu 
 
 LOVELL. 
 Emma 239 
 
 LOVERING. 
 
 Albion 215 
 
 Grace B 215 
 
 Helen W 216 
 
 Jennie McD 216 
 
 Samuel 269 
 
 LOVEJOY. 
 
 Agnes B tlS 
 
 Daw n 216 
 
 Moses C 216 
 
 Olln, Rev 214 
 
 Koy L 216 
 
 LUDLOW. 
 
 Alice 153. 216 
 
 Bertha ; 216 
 
 Cornelius 216 
 
 Carroll 216 
 
 Effle .. 216 
 
 Emily 216 
 
 Geneva 216 
 
 Lucy A. H 216 
 
 Leon H 216 
 
 Mary 216 
 
 :viaria 216 
 
 Moses L 216 
 
 Nancy 216 
 
 rhebe G 216 
 
 Whltten 99, 215 
 
 LYFORD. 
 
 Anna 219, 232, 329 
 
 Abbie S24 
 
 Helle 218 
 
 Betsev 329 
 
 ("Inrehce E.: 218 
 
 Elisabeth IRt 
 
 Fred 218 
 
 Francis 217 
 
 .Teremlah H 217 
 
 .Joseph G 31. 217 
 
 Jav «« 
 
 John T m 
 
 Lucv C tSO 
 
 Mnry 7t 
 
 Siisnnnab 155, 117 
 
 Sarah A. K tH 
 
 Thomas 114, U6. tVI 
 
 Thomas, Lieut M7 
 
 Thomas D M 
 
 William nT 
 
 LYNCH. 
 Frank !•« 
 
 MACE. 
 Georglana • W 
 
 MAGINN1.< 
 
 James •• 
 
 MAHONEY. 
 Hannah ^ 
 
 MANN. 
 
 I^ettle "* 
 
 MAN80N 
 
 Agnes ** 
 
 Elva "• 
 
394 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 MARLOWE. 
 Julia 2G3 
 
 MAYNARD. 
 Nellie 97 
 
 MAXFIELD. 
 Lizzie 
 
 MARSH. 
 Mary 03 
 
 MANNING. 
 Annie J 219 
 
 MATHEWS. 
 Arthur 37 
 
 MARDEN. 
 
 Alice 219 
 
 Charles E 219 
 
 Ebenezar 218 
 
 George M 219 
 
 Herbert L 219 
 
 Huldah 218 
 
 J. Franlj 219 
 
 John B 218 
 
 Josiah 218 
 
 Joseph (.. 96, 129 
 
 Mary . . . .» 218 
 
 Mary J 218 
 
 Meliitable 218 
 
 Stephen 218 
 
 MASON. 
 
 Charles W 219, 351 
 
 Clinton S 76 
 
 David B 219 
 
 Eldora 220 
 
 Frances 76 
 
 Howard C 77 
 
 Katherine S 276 
 
 Nellie 253 
 
 Rachel C 153 
 
 Rhoda 27 
 
 Sarah 228 
 
 Simeon 219 
 
 MARTIN. 
 
 Oriella 195 
 
 Robert 219 
 
 Samuel 219 
 
 MARSTON. 
 William W 56 
 
 MATHES. 
 
 Elilah 321 
 
 Gideon 321 
 
 Horace W 323 
 
 Israel 321 
 
 Joshua 321 
 
 James M 321 
 
 John, Dea 104, 323 
 
 Julia 321 
 
 Nancy 59 
 
 Sarah S21 
 
 McAllister. 
 
 Andrew 267 
 
 McCLARY. 
 
 Mary 195 
 
 William 92 
 
 McCRILLIS. 
 
 Adaline 221 
 
 Bowdoin 221 
 
 Martha 221 
 
 Michael, Capt 161, 221, 290 
 
 Napoleon 221 
 
 McCONNELL. 
 Adaline 161 
 
 McDANIEL. 
 
 Abaaail 220 
 
 Andrew 221 
 
 Albert 221 
 
 Betsey 199, 220 
 
 Citana 168 
 
 Elisabeth 298 
 
 George 221 
 
 Henry 221 
 
 Isadore 298 
 
 John 4, 220, 221, 351 
 
 Joseph 221 
 
 Jeremiah 4, 187, 220 
 
 Jonathan 18, 221, 225 
 
 Joseph, Jr 221 
 
 Martha 221 
 
 Nehemiah 142 
 
 Nehemiah, Jr 220 
 
 Nabby 221 
 
 Rebecca 142, 221 
 
 Susan 220 
 
 Sarah 112, 220, 256 
 
 Tristram 221 
 
 William 220 
 
 McDERMAID. 
 Clara F 302 
 
 McDUFF. 
 
 Agnes 222 
 
 Emma 222 
 
 Harriet E 222 
 
 Louise E 222 
 
 Mabel 238 
 
 Oscar 222 
 
 Robert S 222 
 
 Sarah M 222 
 
 William J 221, 222, 350 
 
 McEVOY. 
 William A 286 
 
 McFAY. 
 Georgie 280 
 
 McKEE. 
 Minnie M 303 
 
 McKEAG. 
 
 .Tames 314 
 
 Leland 314 
 
 Mansfield 314 
 
 McKIE. 
 Olivia A. M 113 
 
 Mckenzie. 
 
 Hattie .' 70 
 
 McKENNY. 
 
 George F 120 
 
 Helen F 120 
 
 Nellie F 148 
 
 McLINN. 
 Alexander 176 
 
 McMURPHY. 
 William 195 
 
 McMILLEN. 
 
 Anna 102 
 
 Anna May 102 
 
 Ethel 102 
 
 .L J 102 
 
 W. B 102 
 
 McNARR. 
 Jennie .' 190 
 
 McQUESTON. 
 
 Alvah 50 
 
 Abby C 50 
 
INDEX. 
 
 895 
 
 Ada 223 
 
 Alvah Aretas 60 
 
 Benjamin C 50 
 
 Evaits 222 
 
 Fannie 1* 320 
 
 Greenoiifih 50, 222 
 
 Garaplielia 50 
 
 Myron C 222 
 
 Peter R 222 
 
 Relief Judith 50 
 
 William G 222 
 
 Walter 223 
 
 MEAD. 
 
 John H 9 
 
 Nellie M 33t 
 
 Sally Folsom 113 
 
 Col. 
 
 MEIGGS. 
 
 Jesse 
 
 MELENDY. 
 
 Lillian 
 
 MELVIN. 
 
 Cora 
 
 MERRIAM. 
 
 54 
 
 330 
 
 200 
 
 .135, 
 
 MERRILL. 
 
 Austin W 
 
 Arthur T 
 
 Bradluirv 
 
 DeWitt 
 
 Estella I » 
 
 Fra n k 
 
 Frank II 
 
 Fannie L ■_.. 
 
 Gro ver 153, 
 
 George L 
 
 Hannah 22, 
 
 Jacob 
 
 John W 
 
 Noah T 223, 
 
 Noah li., Jr 
 
 Willis A 
 
 William L 
 
 Polly . 
 Mary . 
 Lester 
 
 MERRICK. 
 MESERVEY. 
 METCALF. 
 
 7 
 
 110 
 
 14 
 
 MILES. 
 
 Archelus 
 Ah 
 
 .4, 5, 137, 224, 22.'> 
 225 
 
 Abner 4, 108. 224, 
 
 Elisabeth »"• 
 
 Hannah • • • • 
 
 Josiah, Lieut 9fi. 224. 
 
 Josiab, ('apt 5. 84, 209. 
 
 Jnsiah. Jr 224. 
 
 Mary 
 
 Omas 
 
 Obadiah . 
 Samuel .., 
 Susannah 
 Saheth ... 
 Vera nee . 
 William . 
 
 MILLS. 
 
 Alice 
 
 Charlotte 
 Olive A.. 
 
 224 
 225 
 2fi6 
 224 
 225 
 225 
 225 
 224 
 225 
 225 
 
 225 
 
 137 
 94 
 
 MILLER. 
 
 Abble S J26 
 
 Frank L | 225 
 
 Guy E \\\ 22S 
 
 Letlitia 07 
 
 Lurana fio 
 
 Lorenzo 225, 3S0 
 
 Moses '. 344 
 
 MINOR. 
 
 Nelson 91 
 
 MITCHELL. 
 
 Daniel en 
 
 Elisabet h 17« 
 
 MOLONY. 
 
 Hannah S 227. 3<9 
 
 John 152. 22c. 278 
 
 James Roby 227 
 
 Mary J 226 
 
 Mathew S 227 
 
 Phebe 228 
 
 Polly 151. 22« 
 
 Richard S 22« 
 
 Sally 22« 
 
 Samuel S 227 
 
 William P 227 
 
 MOSES 
 
 Retsey . . 2:<.t 
 
 Joseph l-T-l 
 
 Mary L 2.'J 
 
 MOULTON. 
 May 156 
 
 MOODY. 
 
 Bradstreet 49. » 
 
 Ebenezer '2> 
 
 Frances 218 
 
 Nellie 147, 32» 
 
 Sarah W* 
 
 William H l« 
 
 MOXYHAX. 
 
 Mary 91 
 
 MOONEY. 
 
 Alvln 2 
 
 Arthur — • S 
 
 Carrie E 1«». 2 
 
 f'elestla S....- »* 
 
 Elmer » 
 
 Elisabeth 21 
 
 Frank ™ 
 
 Isaac G ••:• 2 
 
 John •*••• 21 
 
 Jos.'ph 2 
 
 Perry S ^ 
 
 Susan JJJ 
 
 Wllber * *" 
 
 Bertha -' 
 MOOREHOLSi: 
 
 AUiert K /' 
 
 Blanche .. ^ 
 
 Cora . \, 
 Doris . 
 
 .\HH»RK. 
 
 Arthur G " 
 
 All>ert A Ul 
 
 Archeluii "S 
 
 Alice •• g 
 
 Bet.<»ey Ti" S« 
 
 ClarrlfiM S 
 
 Cora K ■* mS 
 
 Delia A • *■* 
 
396 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Eliza Abby 230 
 
 Esther 230 
 
 Ellen G 231 
 
 Ezekiel 228 
 
 Eusene 147 
 
 Frank H 104, 230 
 
 Henrietta 230 
 
 Ina N 4G, 231 
 
 James 230 
 
 Jacob 127 
 
 Joseph 230 
 
 John N 231 
 
 Lizzie 230 
 
 Lilla 230 
 
 Martha 229 
 
 Morrill 230 
 
 Morrill S 163, 229 
 
 Merrill 48, 52, 180, 189, 230 
 
 Maud E 231 
 
 Mathias, Col 142, 230 
 
 Milton 229 
 
 Moody 230 
 
 Mathias J 230 
 
 Nathaniel 228 
 
 Nancy 229 
 
 Nellie 3tr, 
 
 Orpha 230 
 
 Phebe 230 
 
 Pollv 229, 230 
 
 Sarah A 31 
 
 Sadie 230 
 
 William 228, 230 
 
 Victoria 230 
 
 MORRISON. 
 
 Amos, Mrs 3:^0 
 
 Amos H 232 
 
 Amasa S 212 
 
 Adalaide S 234 
 
 Arthur P 234 
 
 Byron K 233 
 
 Bradbury 121 
 
 Charles Henry 10 
 
 Cora P 13, 234 
 
 Daniel W 101 
 
 Daniel T 101 
 
 Ebenezar 156. 217, 232 
 
 Ernest 235 
 
 Edith G 233 
 
 Edwin G 101, 148, 233 
 
 Ella A 121, 2.34 
 
 Emma J 2,34 
 
 Eltenezar, Jr 2.33 
 
 Ella J 233 
 
 Frank R 232 
 
 Frank L 162 
 
 Fred S 101 
 
 George C 42 
 
 George S 235 
 
 George P 233 
 
 Gladys E 235 
 
 Hannah M 101 
 
 Howard L .' 233 
 
 John P 234 
 
 John B 2.52 
 
 James S 234 
 
 John Q. A 234 
 
 Jane 125 
 
 Liba C 101, 232 
 
 Lvdia 289 
 
 Martha A. H 233 
 
 Marv E 232 
 
 Marv H 232 
 
 Martha A. W 232 
 
 Ned W 220 
 
 Nettie S 51 
 
 Obe G ; 233 
 
 Oliver P 234 
 
 Robert, Mrs 266 
 
 Robert G 232 
 
 Ralph E 233 
 
 Sarah 192 
 
 Thomas L 121, 232 
 
 MORRILL. 
 
 Albro D 235 
 
 Annie C 235, 281 
 
 Alice B 235 
 
 Bertha 31 
 
 Bessie S 235, 351 
 
 Benjamin 237, 238 
 
 Bradbury M 238 
 
 Betsey 323 
 
 Catherine D 235 
 
 David 2.37, 238 
 
 David, Capt 301, 303 
 
 Diana W 272 
 
 Daniel G 237 
 
 David, Jr 238 
 
 Emily 303 
 
 Eliza 229 
 
 Ellen S 238 
 
 Edna 231 
 
 Fannie M 169 
 
 Hannah D 85, 2,37 
 
 Henrv F 238 
 
 John B 31, 238 
 
 .lane 230, 234 
 
 Joseph 30 
 
 Luther H 222, 238 
 
 livman 31 
 
 Levi 237 
 
 Lucy 06 
 
 Mary 171 
 
 Moses 49 
 
 Nathan C 235 
 
 Nancy 238 
 
 Phebe 43 
 
 Reuben 234 
 
 Smith 41 
 
 Smith S 235 
 
 Samuel 238 
 
 William C 197 
 
 MORSE. 
 
 Anthonv 231 
 
 Emma B 219 
 
 Hannah 231 
 
 Molly 10 
 
 Marv Ann 144 
 
 Stephen 231 
 
 Sarah 328 
 
 MOREY. 
 
 Bertha 237 
 
 Christopher 45 
 
 Frank 236 
 
 John H., Prof 12, 237, 247 
 
 Massa 236, 245 
 
 Sarah P 237 
 
 Trussell 266 
 
 MORGAN. 
 
 Ella M 2.36 
 
 Frank 236 
 
 Ira 236 
 
 Ira N 236 
 
 Jennie 236 
 
 Lovisa 236 
 
 Loren 236 
 
 Scott W 236 
 
 MOWE. 
 
 Laroy 
 
 MUCIIMORE. 
 
 Alonzo, Dr 239 
 
 James 239 
 
 James, Jr 239 
 
 James, 3d 239 
 
INDEX. 
 
 :{•»< 
 
 MUDGETT. 
 
 Lillian .T 212 
 
 Sally F 10(1 
 
 Sylvia 107 
 
 MUNSEY. 
 
 John. Uev 12^ 
 
 Hannah 2S3 
 
 Nettie '. 123 
 
 MunriiY. 
 
 Jane 63 
 
 OiTin 294 
 
 MUZZEY. 
 
 Arthur P 239 
 
 Albert C 239, 299, 303 
 
 Herbert T 239 
 
 Harry W 239 
 
 Joseph 3U 
 
 Merle 239 
 
 Miriam 239 
 
 Mehitable 218 
 
 Orren 
 
 Samuel 344 
 
 Walter S 239 
 
 NASON. 
 
 George 8S 
 
 Jennie A IG" 
 
 NEAL. 
 
 Alma 212 
 
 Davirt Dolloff 97 
 
 Milton B 272 
 
 Stephen 97 
 
 Samuel 14b 
 
 NELSON. 
 
 Arthur S 182, 240 
 
 Ada L 240 
 
 Cora is.i 
 
 Charles A 240 
 
 Charles E 239 
 
 Emma J 240 
 
 Ernest E 9fi. 240 
 
 George II 181, 240 
 
 Myrtle A 240 
 
 Rufus I, 240 
 
 Rufus E 240 
 
 NESMITH. 
 George W 54 
 
 NEWTON. 
 Henry P 39 
 
 NEWIIALL. 
 
 Forrest E 115 
 
 George A 115 
 
 Guy Folsom 115 
 
 NICHOLS. 
 
 Cora 1S9 
 
 Emma 227 
 
 George 338 
 
 NICOL. 
 W. V 1C9 
 
 NORRIS. 
 
 .L r 318 
 
 Sarah 318 
 
 NORTON. 
 
 Caroline 241. 3.-.0 
 
 Emma 241. XiO 
 
 Mnrv 241, .3^.0 
 
 William J 241 
 
 NOYES. 
 
 Charles 156. 161 
 
 Frank "" 
 
 Fr.'d -^ , 
 
 Herbert M .....!! 205 
 
 Harry L ...!.. 76 
 
 Joseph .......'. 25 
 
 Lillian R 206 
 
 • I 836 
 
 Until ifis 
 
 Samuel 75 
 
 NUDD. 
 
 Almira 242. 269 
 
 Andrew J ir,2, 242 
 
 Abbie E ' 24.1 
 
 Renjamin .] 242 
 
 < 'liii rit'M 242 
 
 f'lara 242 
 
 rmvid H2 
 
 r-^Imer R 243 
 
 Klisal)eth 242 
 
 Enos H 242 
 
 Ellen Amanda 107. 243 
 
 I''iastua 241. 242 
 
 Flora 242, 243. 253 
 
 Florette i 243 
 
 < Seorge W 243 
 
 Helen 242 
 
 Isaac 241 
 
 Isal>el 242 
 
 Josephine 242 
 
 Josepli 241 
 
 Joseph Warren 241 
 
 James 241 
 
 Levi 241. 242 
 
 Lllla R 243 
 
 Mary E 243 
 
 Mary 117. 241. 242 
 
 Martha 242 
 
 Nareissa J 78. 242 
 
 Nellie 349 
 
 Neftle 242. 243 
 
 Orrin C 243 
 
 Orianna J 135. 243 
 
 Warren 241 
 
 Warren S 100. 242 
 
 Waller 243 
 
 NUTTER. 
 
 Grace R 807 
 
 Sarah Olive 32 
 
 OAKS. 
 Sidney A 196 
 
 OLIVER. 
 
 Eliza J 243 
 
 Ira 1«. 243 
 
 Ira G 243 
 
 Nellie S 243. SSI 
 
 O'CONNELL. 
 Annie 2» 
 
 ONEIL. 
 John Dixon 15" 
 
 OROWAY. 
 
 Joshua 27 
 
 OSGOOD. 
 
 Annie M 
 
 Asa K :' 
 
 Angiifitlne 
 
 Captain 
 
 Charles J"*' 
 
 porothv 
 
 Edward !«< " 
 
 Edward. Jr " 
 
 Knos 11 ;•• 
 
 Enoch /! 
 
 (.'eorge H -'" 
 
 Il.nrv K Mi. VO 
 
398 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Henry T 244 
 
 Hannah T 244 
 
 John 245 
 
 Minnie B 244 
 
 Mary T 244 
 
 Nancy 35 
 
 Sally 2G5 
 
 Susan 184 
 
 Virginia 244 
 
 OVIATT. 
 J 116 
 
 PACxE. 
 
 Almeda 119 
 
 Daniel 245 
 
 Elisabeth 237 
 
 Edward 245 
 
 Edward 164, 21G, 245 
 
 Georgie 245 
 
 Huldah 17G 
 
 Lizzie M 245 
 
 Lucien 119 
 
 Norah 119 
 
 Ruth 245 
 
 Rufus 72 
 
 S. B 118 
 
 Susannah IGO 
 
 Samuel 118 
 
 Theodate 178 
 
 PAIGE. 
 John, Rev 114 
 
 PALLETT. 
 Joseph 84 
 
 PALMER. 
 
 Abl>ie F 100 
 
 James 44, 247, 2G7 
 
 PARENT. 
 Lottie B 285 
 
 PARISH. 
 Hannah 308 
 
 PARKER. 
 
 Alfred 195 
 
 Clarissa 177 
 
 Fred 39 
 
 Harriet 177 
 
 Hannah No.yes 41 
 
 John 177 
 
 Leonard D 177 
 
 Maria B 159 
 
 Marian 39 
 
 Susan A 177 
 
 PARKINSON. 
 
 Esther 2G 
 
 Nancy 2G 
 
 PARSONS. 
 
 Addie 01 
 
 Charles CI 
 
 John S 61 
 
 T. A 65 
 
 William 28G 
 
 PATRICK. 
 
 Elisabeth 12G 
 
 Mrs 344 
 
 Marilla 343 
 
 William, Rev 126 
 
 PATTEN. 
 Foster 245 
 
 PAUL. 
 Susie R 117 
 
 PAYNE. 
 Edward C 271 
 
 PAY SON. 
 
 Alfred C 246 
 
 Anna 246 
 
 Charles 92, 197 
 
 Charles II " 100, 246 
 
 GeorRe D 246 
 
 Irving 246 
 
 Henrietta 246 
 
 John H 246 
 
 Mary P 246 
 
 Mary E 246 
 
 Thomas R 246 
 
 PEASE. 
 
 Elsie 155 
 
 Earl 155 
 
 Frank 187 
 
 John W 155 
 
 May 155 
 
 PEARSON. 
 John W 162 
 
 PEABODY. 
 
 Augusta 248 
 
 Alice B 25 
 
 Charles 248 
 
 Crane & Peabody 173 
 
 Daniels & Peabod v 88 
 
 Georgie 248 
 
 Hills & Peabody 179 
 
 Joseph 248 
 
 .Tames Van 247, 271 
 
 Leon B 248 
 
 Noah 105, 108, 24G 
 
 Selwia B 247 
 
 PEASLEE. 
 Charles H., Dr 127 
 
 PECK. 
 
 Dorcas E *. GO 
 
 Sarah 72 
 
 PEPPERELL. 
 
 Andrew 4 
 
 William 4, 16, 83 
 
 PERKINS. 
 
 David 161 
 
 Elmer A 285 
 
 Elizabeth M 285 
 
 James L 4, 209 
 
 Metta E 285 
 
 Nathaniel 4, 209 
 
 Polly 161 
 
 Thompson 128 
 
 William 210 
 
 PERRY. 
 
 Annie M 222 
 
 William H 148 
 
 PERTHEL. 
 
 Carl F 248 
 
 Elsie M 248 
 
 Frederic A 248 
 
 Florence T 248 
 
 Gotthold 249 
 
 Gladvs T 248 
 
 Herman F 248 
 
 Irene W 249 
 
 Jennie A 249 
 
 John 249 
 
 Levi 249 
 
 Leland 249 
 
 Lena L 248 
 
 Mary A 249 
 
INDEX, 
 
 •Mi) 
 
 Mary T 249 
 
 Otto F 249 
 
 Robert 248 
 
 PERCIVAL. 
 Mary 350 
 
 PETERS. 
 Lydia G 
 
 Mrs. 
 
 TEVARB. 
 
 153 
 
 PEVERLY. 
 
 Frank 249, 2C1, 329 
 
 Ida M 249 
 
 rilELPS. 
 
 David F 
 
 Estella M 
 
 Elisha 
 
 Estella K 
 
 Francis 34, 
 
 Franl? 
 
 Homer 
 
 Ilattie B 2r.O. 
 
 Irene 1? 250, 
 
 .Joel F 250. 
 
 Jerome 
 
 John 1j 
 
 Mary B 13, 80, 
 
 Mori 
 Newton M. 
 
 Rtitli 
 
 Ruth A.... 
 Rosilla B.- 
 Susan P... 
 Sabrina F. 
 W. P 
 
 PIIILBROOK. 
 
 Daniel 
 
 Harriet 
 
 Nathan P., Rev 251, 
 
 Olive 
 
 George R 
 
 Reuben 
 
 Sallv 
 
 Sarah E 
 
 Thirza 
 
 PIIILBRK'K. 
 
 Charles 251 
 
 Enoch (J 180, 182, 2.51 
 
 Georse 251 
 
 Gerry 2.51 
 
 Ma ry 88 
 
 Joslah l'>3 
 
 PHILIPS. 
 
 Ell 251 
 
 Jonathan 251 
 
 Jonathan W 251 
 
 PirKERIN'G. 
 
 Edwin 2.57 
 
 Elmer 225 
 
 PICKARD. 
 
 Elisabeth !<" 
 
 Nellie 90 
 
 PIKE. 
 
 Addle M 231 
 
 Annie 3, 22 
 
 C. W ^, 
 
 Ella M 91 
 
 PIERCE. 
 
 I,anra .. 
 Mary E. 
 
 Bl , 
 
 ...B. 7. 254 I 
 
 PLAIHTED. 
 Millie ]g6 
 
 PIPER. 
 
 Alnnson js^ 
 
 Ren jamin .252. 2M 
 
 Clara 252 
 
 Charles H 2M 
 
 Charles M '." 263 
 
 Evered "', jg 
 
 (JIdeon son 
 
 Hamilton 252 
 
 Harry A 253 
 
 Hannan 262 
 
 Ida May 263 
 
 John \V 19, 262 
 
 Josephine 262 
 
 I -cona 252 
 
 Maud 252 
 
 Mary 4g 
 
 Mary Ann 1.57. 262 
 
 Melissa J W5. 252 
 
 'riioniUs \V 81, 349 
 
 Thomas H 330 
 
 PLATTS. 
 Hannah 231 
 
 PLASTRIDGE. 
 Ella VI 
 
 PI.UMMEH. 
 
 Amy 250 
 
 Angellne 254 
 
 Abraham 253 
 
 Almore 264 
 
 Abraham F 254 
 
 Benjamin 190 
 
 Clementine S 254 
 
 Charles E 263 
 
 Charles W 14«, 264 
 
 Caroline A 254, 32G 
 
 Eli/a Jane 144 
 
 Eliza L 264 
 
 Hannah M 263 
 
 Isaac 864 
 
 Jamie 264 
 
 I ,)iclen 254 
 
 Marv A 143. 264 
 
 Mnria M 264 
 
 Nalt '. »4 
 
 Sarah S 264 
 
 Richard 264 
 
 Recinald 
 
 William H 1«5. 264, 3» 
 
 ."Sarah 165 
 
 Thomas 134. SSS 
 
 POLLARD. 
 
 Fred 1" 
 
 LiMie W W 
 
 Irene "• 
 
 POTTER. 
 
 Edna «» 
 
 I'OWEU8. 
 
 Carroll S » 
 
 Cvnthin M «■ 
 
 Corn 5 
 
 Ev<>re<1 « 
 
 I.«>on T » ■• 
 
 Mary JJ 
 
 Rodman «* 
 
 PRESBY 
 
 Charlen R ;• S 
 
 Kihvnrd '♦*• ■■ 
 
 Edward, Jr ~^ n* 
 
400 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Elisabeth 256 
 
 John 176, 256 
 
 Mary 90 
 
 Mary E 250 
 
 Sally 72 
 
 Sarah A 256 
 
 Susan J 256, 336 
 
 TRESCOTT. 
 
 Carl R 257 
 
 David S., Dr 202 
 
 Ella M 74 
 
 Ethel P 257 
 
 Floyd T 257 
 
 Geneve 250 
 
 Harriet 74 
 
 Hannah 257 
 
 Joseph J 63, 302 
 
 Roscoe E 256 
 
 Sallv 197 
 
 William 257 
 
 William, Capt 197 
 
 PRINCE. 
 Anna 317 
 
 PROCTOR. 
 
 Anna 238 
 
 Charles 65 
 
 John Handel 104 
 
 PUDDY. 
 Edith Rice 204 
 
 PURDY. 
 Richard 310 
 
 QUIMBY. 
 
 Clarence E 257 
 
 Christine 257 
 
 Chester 257 
 
 Conrad 257 
 
 Mary J 317 
 
 Ravmond 257 
 
 Silas, Rev 257 
 
 Silas, Jr., Rev 257 
 
 RAITII. 
 James 39 
 
 RAMSEY. 
 
 Annie 136 
 
 Janette '. 314 
 
 RANDALL. 
 
 Alvira 281 
 
 A,a:nes 113 
 
 Betsey 186 
 
 Betsev F 201 
 
 Caroline 201 
 
 Daniel 155 
 
 Emily 112, 281 
 
 Etta 195 
 
 Eli^a 112 
 
 Jonathan 112 
 
 Lucretia 112 
 
 Maria A 281 
 
 Miles 112, 249, 201 
 
 Marv 80, 201 
 
 Merrill 
 
 Moses 112 
 
 Mary Jane 112 
 
 Nathaniel 270 
 
 Nancy 112 
 
 Neva 150 
 
 Serena 112 
 
 Sally G 112 
 
 RAND. 
 
 Abraham W 258, 2f0 
 
 Alfred H 20 
 
 Burt H 260 
 
 Charles J I3i 
 
 Edwin Laroy 260 
 
 Frank P 260 
 
 Florence A 200 
 
 Fannie B 260 
 
 George F 9 
 
 Leon W 260 
 
 Leonidas 347 
 
 Lizzie 260 
 
 Martha D 259 
 
 Maud 200 
 
 Nathaniel P 257 
 
 Nellie L 200 
 
 Olive A 260 
 
 Olive 260 
 
 Stella 260 
 
 Susan 260 
 
 Stella M 260 
 
 Waldroa 251, 347 
 
 William B 2.59, 347 
 
 RANDLET. 
 Marietta 307 
 
 RANSON. 
 Mary 67 
 
 RAY. 
 Grace 216 
 
 REED. 
 
 Ada 30 
 
 Abbie L 186 
 
 Lulu 97 
 
 Sarah 65 
 
 REGAN. 
 
 Anna A 201 
 
 Clara B 201 
 
 Fred E 261 
 
 Leona A 261 
 
 Judson J 261 
 
 Mary A 6 
 
 REMICK. 
 Daniel C 298 
 
 REYNOLDS. 
 Amos S • 100 
 
 RHODES. 
 Phebe 30 
 
 RICE. 
 
 Clara A 262 
 
 Edward C 26, 261, 202 
 
 Fannie 203 
 
 Inez 204 
 
 Laura A 263 
 
 RICHARDS. 
 
 Amelia 74 
 
 Elisabeth S 247 
 
 Isabella W 246 
 
 RICHARDSON. 
 
 Calvin 320 
 
 Charles 321 
 
 Emma 232 
 
 Fred 245 
 
 Fannie M 321 
 
 Fannie 320 
 
 Florette 320 
 
 Lllla G 321 
 
 RICHMOND. 
 Harriet 201 
 
 RILEY. 
 
 Adaline .' 73, 264 
 
 Aram 204 
 
 Adalaide 264 
 
 George 204 
 
INDEX. 
 
 401 
 
 George W 134, 2G} 
 
 Glen 204 
 
 Hattle B 2G4 
 
 Millard F 204 
 
 RINES. 
 Caroline 58 
 
 RIPLEY. 
 Jennie M 298 
 
 RING. 
 
 Chase 205 
 
 Henry E 205 
 
 Hannah J 205 
 
 Henrietta 
 
 Mary Ellen 205 
 
 ROBERTS. 
 
 Annie 273 
 
 Emma J 273 
 
 Ella J 273 
 
 George 193, 272 
 
 Ida 145 
 
 Jonathan 350 
 
 John 272 
 
 John, Jr 145, 237, 272 
 
 Josephine 8 
 
 Lurana 272 
 
 Marv Ann 272 
 
 Pameiia 272, 335 
 
 Smith 197, 273 
 
 William H 238, 272 
 
 ROBERTSON. 
 
 Ann 149 
 
 Charles II 275 
 
 Edwin F 270 
 
 Earl V 270 
 
 Elisabeth 275 
 
 Frank C 132, 276, 351 
 
 James 12, 275 
 
 James P 275 
 
 James L 275 
 
 Lillie L 275 
 
 Mary A 133, 270 
 
 Mary 270 
 
 Sarah II 270 
 
 William 275 
 
 ROBY. 
 
 Clara 265, 327 
 
 Lydia 69 
 
 Malinda 72 
 
 Phehe 
 
 William 72, 265 
 
 ROBINSON. 
 
 Abagail 287 
 
 Alvira 114. 1«;4 
 
 Alfred A 164 
 
 Ezekiel 205 
 
 Hattle L 214 
 
 Holt 26.-, 
 
 Josiah 205 
 
 Jospph I'J-* 
 
 Mary Ellen HO 
 
 Polly 9 
 
 Sarah P 202 
 
 Susan 164 
 
 Zepherine 23J 
 
 RODLIFFE. 
 
 Albert <® 
 
 ROBIE. 
 
 Howard T 303 
 
 ROGERS. ^, 
 
 Abagall 267 
 
 Anna B -f 
 
 Benjamin -"" 
 
 Benjamin A 270, SOI 
 
 I5et.sey 133, jgg 
 
 Benjamin, Jr ttt 
 
 Clara 2«9, 271 
 
 Clarissa 270 
 
 Charles C 7J 
 
 Deborah I) ig«{ 
 
 Deborah 268, 270 
 
 Daniel 268 
 
 Daniel A 268 
 
 Elliot 87, 271 
 
 Eliza 270 
 
 lOlbra M 272 
 
 lOnoth, Dea 2C6, 208 
 
 Edwin 209 
 
 Enoch George 77, 268 
 
 lilinor 5 
 
 ElbridKO 269 
 
 Elisnl)eth 6. 2«8 
 
 Fannie 199, 209 
 
 Frances A 271 
 
 George 2«9 
 
 George B 268, 272 
 
 Harriet 199. 270 
 
 Herbert S 268, 277 
 
 Isaac 2W 
 
 Joanna 289 
 
 Josephine T 271 
 
 .Tohn C 269 
 
 .lereminh 209, 271 
 
 John W 268 
 
 James B 269 
 
 Joseph 268 
 
 John 206, 207, 208. 271 
 
 Jesse 63, 213. 267. 270 
 
 Luther 269 
 
 Mehitable 207 
 
 Mary 207, 270 
 
 Marv S »9 
 
 Nellie .1 2M 
 
 Ned 275 
 
 Nancv B 2M 
 
 Orvllie F JJl 
 
 Rebecca fjjj 
 
 Rol)ert ^ 
 
 Samuel • • • JS" 
 
 Samuel B "• !I2 
 
 Sally 270 
 
 Thomas JJi 
 
 Tristram ^^ 
 
 ROLLINS. 
 
 Almlra 280 
 
 Mahala "B 
 
 Marcia A *»« 
 
 Rebecca ^ 
 
 Kuhama * 
 
 Wilbur *" 
 
 ROOT. 
 
 John • ^ 
 
 ROWE. 
 
 Edwin F •*• 
 
 Ira •" 
 
 Mildred JJi 
 
 Mary Jj; 
 
 Robert 'IJ 
 
 Nathaniel '~ 
 
 Matilda • *" 
 
 ROWELI 
 
 J. R.. r»r g; 
 
 .lohn 11 "* 
 
 Mildred ^ 
 
 May I ■" 
 
 ROY. 
 
 Arthur JS 
 
 Doris . • "* 
 
402 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 ROUSE. 
 
 Amos 276 
 
 Bertha E 276 
 
 Elsie M 276 
 
 John A 270 
 
 RUADH. 
 Robert 273, 274 
 
 RUMERY. 
 Mary A 165 
 
 RUNNELLS. 
 
 Anna A 52 
 
 Mary 44 
 
 RUNDLET. 
 
 Comfort 290 
 
 Lucy S 299 
 
 Mary J 234 
 
 RUSSELL. 
 
 Charles 285 
 
 Cordelia 165 
 
 Elias 290 
 
 SAGER. 
 
 Albert S 314 
 
 George 314 
 
 Minnie D 314 
 
 William J 314 
 
 SAMPSON. 
 C. C, Rev 351 
 
 SANBORN. 
 
 Adoniram 260 
 
 Alice G 278 
 
 Abasail P 241 
 
 Alonzo H 280 
 
 Andrew N 278 
 
 Amos C 277 
 
 Benjamin F 172 
 
 Braley .T 279 
 
 Clarrissa 278 
 
 Comfort 183 
 
 Charles M 170 
 
 Clara A 231 
 
 Charles 8, 104, 273 
 
 Charles F 279 
 
 Clara 166 
 
 Dyer fl 123, 159, 166, 259, 324 
 
 Dorothy Ifil 
 
 Daniel C 278 
 
 Daniel 158, 187, 225, 279, 327 
 
 Daniel 3d 279 
 
 DeWitt C 280 
 
 David M 278 
 
 Ernest C 281 
 
 Emma 222 
 
 Eliza 207 
 
 Emma J 172 
 
 Fannie C 172 
 
 Francis 162, 277, 292 
 
 Greenleaf C 278 
 
 George S 114 
 
 Gerrish 107 
 
 Helen L 280 
 
 Hannah 322 
 
 Herman 123 
 
 Jane 165 
 
 Ida D 172 
 
 Jacob 53 
 
 John, Ensign 276 
 
 Joseph 276 
 
 Jonathan 225, 276, 278, 280, 286 
 
 .Tames 277 
 
 John P 277. 279 
 
 Jeremiah 121, 277 
 
 John C 225, 278 
 
 Jane 278 
 
 Joseph T 42, 278 
 
 Jonathan, Jr 278 
 
 John Pearson 278 
 
 James 96 
 
 James R 278 
 
 Josiah A 278, 337 
 
 Josiah S 114, 279 
 
 John Low 125 
 
 John 16, 279, 285 
 
 Katherine H 281 
 
 Kate 2.52 
 
 Love T 226, 278 
 
 Lorentine 265 
 
 Leonard 280 
 
 Lucy 237 
 
 Marie C 281 
 
 Mathew N 276 
 
 Mary F 280 
 
 Mathew N., Jr 278 
 
 Maud G 280 
 
 Mildred E 280 
 
 Mary G 278 
 
 Martha A 277 
 
 Minnie H 193 
 
 Mary J 278 
 
 Mirah 225 
 
 Mary E 185 
 
 Nathaniel 96 
 
 Orville 277 
 
 Oscar 280 
 
 Oscar P ....55, 235, 281 
 
 Polly 84, 85 
 
 Peter 279 
 
 Phebe 38 
 
 Richard 278 
 
 Raymond V 281 
 
 Robv 277 
 
 Samuel R 276, 277 
 
 Samuel C 279 
 
 Sally 226, 277, 278 
 
 Peggy C 112 
 
 Sarah J 281 
 
 Sophie 322 
 
 Simeon .'. 4, 152 
 
 Svlvia 106 
 
 Theodore M 281 
 
 Ward 94 
 
 William 4, 276, 277 
 
 William C 280 
 
 William 3d 277 
 
 Winf red P 281 
 
 SANDERS. 
 
 Clara 264 
 
 Sarah 233 
 
 Lizzie S 185 
 
 SANDERSON. 
 Ida 151 
 
 SARGENT. 
 
 Abagail 8 
 
 Amanda 282 
 
 Beniamin 208, 217, 299 
 
 Cheilis 112 
 
 Dolly 40, 42 
 
 Ephraim 282 
 
 Elias 20 
 
 Frank R 282 
 
 Franklin F 282 
 
 Gladys 1 282 
 
 John S 282 
 
 Joseph L 168 
 
 Lura A 282 
 
 Martha J 107 
 
 Marv A. S 282 
 
 Nellie F 282 
 
 Norma M 282 
 
 Ruf us 34 
 
INDEX. 
 
 408 
 
 Rnmnol 178 
 
 Sa ra h S 255 
 
 William C 282 
 
 William G 335 
 
 SAWYER. 
 
 Charlotte 
 
 Elijah .X 
 
 Edwin 
 
 Francis, Dea 
 
 Gideon 129, 
 
 Gertrude II ^ 
 
 Gideon 2d 
 
 .Totham 
 
 James B 
 
 Lydia 129, 
 
 Lyman 
 
 Reuben 282, 
 
 Ruth 
 
 Tamar 282, 
 
 Walicer C 
 
 282 
 282 
 315 
 
 C8 
 28:5 
 167 
 2S3 
 2S2 
 2Sr. 
 283 
 1(17 
 28:5 
 
 f8 
 382 
 282 
 
 S.WWARn. 
 
 George 29C 
 
 SCALES. 
 
 John R. 
 
 Jennette 
 Mary K. 
 
 SEAVEU. 
 SEARS. 
 
 SEXTER. 
 
 89 
 
 SCHLATTER. 
 William 39 
 
 SCRIBNER. 
 
 Clara C 180, 283 
 
 Francos 283 
 
 Fred E 284 
 
 Georpe I^ 283 
 
 Georjre E 184 
 
 Jonathan 153, 283 
 
 SCHOLLY. 
 Sarah 317 
 
 SCIIOFIELD. 
 
 Bathsheba 108 
 
 SEARLES. 
 
 Aura E 2S4 
 
 Charles E 284 
 
 Lizzie M 2S4 
 
 Minnie B 284 
 
 Nellie E TO, 284 
 
 Annie E. 
 Charlie E 
 
 Forrest E. 
 
 John 
 
 John F... 
 
 .80, 284, 
 
 SEWALL. 
 
 Albert ... 
 Caroline . 
 Charles . . . 
 Dianthe .. 
 Daniel ... 
 Franl« — 
 Horace P. 
 
 Julia 
 
 Jeruslia . . 
 
 Leon 
 
 Sarah A.. 
 Samuel . . 
 
 Martin A. 
 
 .38, 
 
 SEYMOUR. 
 
 SHANNON. 
 
 Mary A. 
 
 182 
 
 28 4 
 2S4 
 
 351 
 351 
 
 285 
 2S5 
 285 
 285 
 285 
 285 
 285 
 285 
 lf.4 
 285 
 285 
 285 
 
 286 
 
 217 
 
 SHATTICK. 
 Ellen .M ;, 
 
 SHAW. 
 
 Albert B 82. 2H7 
 
 Abby 317 
 
 Alice <} J7_ 2W 
 
 Arabella V 288 
 
 l*y"n 26. 31, 243. 287 
 
 BiMtha M 287 
 
 ("lifton F 289 
 
 ElbrldKe ]06 
 
 Everett S Jg7 
 
 Etta. Mrs so 
 
 Eva () IH 
 
 Frank W {88 
 
 Florence M 289 
 
 Herbert W 288 
 
 Harry 106, 288 
 
 Harold S 289 
 
 Josle C 282 
 
 Sarah 298 
 
 Sanborn 104. 288 
 
 William S 291 
 
 SHEDD. 
 Freeman B 29. 149. 178. 321 
 
 SHELDON. 
 Joanna 75 
 
 SHERBORX. 
 Sarah 129, 283 
 
 SHErARD. 
 
 Ebenezar 887 
 
 Colonel 1*1 
 
 Martlia Dana 30S 
 
 SHIRLEY. 
 
 Andrew 287 
 
 •Tane J"? 
 
 Stephen D tn 
 
 SIH'TE. 
 
 Governor '■"• 
 
 SIBLEY. 
 Harriet 
 
 SILLOWAY. 
 
 Elmer 2*1 
 
 8IMONDS. 
 
 Abraham H*. 90 
 
 Alice >3. 22 
 
 Aucusta A 22 
 
 Comfort 2* 
 
 ( "ha ries 2i 
 
 Dorothy 2J 
 
 Ella F 2; 
 
 Florette •■• 
 
 Haftie M — •« 
 
 Hester A. R •«• J" 
 
 Joseph M J* 
 
 Jo.seph •• 2 
 
 John • *• 2 
 
 Jnmea 2 
 
 John W ••;• 2 
 
 JoBeph P *"• 2? 
 
 Kirk A 21 
 
 Mary J S 
 
 Nathaniel JT 
 
 Nancy ••• E 
 
 Sarah fZ 
 
 Solon Ii'ViA"iii' «M 
 
 Thnm«« «. >«• »• 22 
 
 Willlnm "^ 
 
 sixcr^iR. ^ 
 
 Sarah "" 
 
 26 
 
404 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 SLADER. 
 
 Almon 97 
 
 Jennie 149 
 
 SLEEPER. 
 
 Helen E 95 
 
 Octavia 113 
 
 SMALL. 
 Darius 171 
 
 SMART. 
 
 Clara 292 
 
 Hannah 291 
 
 Harriet 292 
 
 Peter 206, 291 
 
 Samuel B 291 
 
 Susan B 291 
 
 Walter 291 
 
 SMITH. 
 
 Alice G 140, 294 
 
 Annie 14G 
 
 Alice G., 2d 294 
 
 Addle B 288 
 
 Addle V 13 
 
 Benjamin P 288, 295 
 
 Betty 292 
 
 Bert 32, 297 
 
 Charles, Rev 38 
 
 Caroline 297 
 
 Charles H 212 
 
 Charles G 294 
 
 Daniel 288 
 
 David 244, 296, 312 
 
 David, Jr 297 
 
 Emma 297 
 
 Elisabeth J 296, 326 
 
 Ephraim 292 
 
 Florence 336 
 
 Francis 295, 313 
 
 p. H 218 
 
 Fannie 297 
 
 Grace L 149 
 
 Harriet 296 
 
 Hannah 120, 292 
 
 Jane 295, 317 
 
 Joseph P 296 
 
 Joseph 71, 169, 295 
 
 Jonathan 73 
 
 Jacob 294 
 
 Joseph M. G 294 
 
 John 294 
 
 Joshua 293 
 
 Jeremiah 53, 93, 204, 292 
 
 Jeremiah, Jr 294 
 
 Jeremiah E 270, 295 
 
 Josephine 294 
 
 Kate 248 
 
 Louisa 105, 295 
 
 Lora 32 
 
 Lizzie 146 
 
 Lucv 81 
 
 Marv 66, 146, 207, 294 
 
 MarV B 294, 313 
 
 Marv R 102 
 
 Maud M 296 
 
 Marv J 296 
 
 Martha A. C 39, 296 
 
 Mehitable 296 
 
 Melinda 297 
 
 Marv A 297 
 
 Nancy G 294 
 
 Nancy 133 
 
 Nathaniel 146 
 
 Robert 12, 82, 209, 287 
 
 Richard 48 
 
 Ruth 277, 292 
 
 Senter F 296 
 
 Sarah A 297 
 
 Shadrach 315 
 
 Statira 77 
 
 Stephen 292, 294 
 
 Sarah 25, 97, 292 
 
 Susan 81 
 
 Sally 134 
 
 Susannah 9 
 
 Thomas 287 
 
 Warren 294 
 
 Warren H 145, 294 
 
 William .' 276, 292, 29J, 313 
 
 William B 40, 292 
 
 SMYTHE. 
 
 Arthur L 303 
 
 Mary D 303 
 
 Mary H 303 
 
 SOUTHWICK. 
 Emma J 55 
 
 SWARTOUT. 
 Annie 57 
 
 STRONG. 
 Allan 58 
 
 SPENCER. 
 
 Abasail 297 
 
 Nancv 297 
 
 Simeon. Rev 197, 297 
 
 George E., Dr 11, 16 
 
 SQUIRES. 
 Ruby W 249 
 
 STAFFORD. 
 Frances 181 
 
 STANYAN. 
 
 Earle 225 
 
 Florence 225 
 
 John 225 
 
 Mar jorie 225 
 
 STAPLES. 
 
 Arthur T 299 
 
 Bessie 299 
 
 Claia A 299 
 
 Ellen J 299 
 
 Etta E 300 
 
 Frank A 299 
 
 Georgia A 214, 299 
 
 Helen 299 
 
 Margaret 299 
 
 Nina M 300 
 
 Stephen 299 
 
 STARBIRD. 
 Lydia 122 
 
 STARK. 
 
 Ada 109 
 
 Channing 297 
 
 Daniel G 117 
 
 Frank 109 
 
 George 109 
 
 Jennie 109 
 
 John 109 
 
 Martha 109 
 
 William 109 
 
 STEARNS. 
 
 George 177 
 
 Nathan B., Dea 127 
 
 STERRITT. 
 Henrietta 87 
 
 STELLE. 
 William R 171 
 
INDEX. 
 
 405 
 
 STEVEN'S. 
 
 Arthur 
 
 Anna 
 
 Benjamin C 158, 
 
 Benjamin F 
 
 Cynthia D 
 
 Emma F 
 
 Edith 
 
 Aaron 
 
 Aaron. Jr 
 
 Francis 
 
 G. A 
 
 Herbert A 
 
 Ina M 
 
 John C 
 
 Jessie B 
 
 Mehital>le 
 
 Mabel E 
 
 Sunie 
 
 Annie 
 
 Abbie R.... 
 Emma . .. . 
 
 George 
 
 Lilla 
 
 Mary Jane. 
 Marinda . . 
 Willie 
 
 STEWART. 
 
 121 
 10,'-, 
 297 
 208 
 170 
 29S 
 298 
 4 
 4 
 298 
 174 
 298 
 298 
 229 
 298 
 79 
 298 
 194 
 
 2fJ) 
 99 
 
 147 
 
 149 
 79 
 38 
 
 149 
 
 STICKNEY. 
 Ethel D 177 
 
 Emma M. 
 Sarah 
 
 STINSOX. 
 
 Rebecca C. 
 
 STILES. 
 
 Flora 
 
 STOCKER. 
 
 Charles E. 
 Charles M. 
 
 STOKES. 
 
 Georgle 
 Delia .. 
 Joseph 
 
 STONE. 
 
 STRAW. 
 
 Eva M 
 
 STREETER. 
 
 Beatrice 
 
 Edwin 
 
 Gladys M 
 
 Hiram 147, 
 
 Lvdia 
 
 Martin V. B 
 
 Martin II 
 
 Nellip L 
 
 Ralph 
 
 Sarah E 
 
 Walter 
 
 232 
 56 
 
 234 
 113 
 
 234 
 234 
 
 76 
 222 
 264 
 
 13G 
 
 Doris 
 
 Harry R. 
 Julius .. 
 
 STURM. 
 
 299 
 299 
 299 
 299 
 221 
 2'tS 
 299 
 299 
 298 
 299 
 299 
 
 231 
 231 
 231 
 
 Ansellne A. 
 
 Ell nice 
 
 <;id<on 
 
 (irorpc F... 
 John D 
 
 SWEATT. 
 
 SUTTON. 
 
 John, Master 297 
 
 .290. 
 
 300 
 
 9r> 
 
 4 
 
 300 
 
 291 
 
 Joseph joi 
 
 •John \V 300 
 
 Julia M 
 
 Maria F joi 
 
 Naomi '.■.■■. ]«t 
 
 SUMNER. 
 William A 300 
 
 SY.M.MKS. 
 Cynthia 221 
 
 TALLANT. 
 Sylvinia A 30 
 
 TASKER. 
 Albert 1' 2it 
 
 TAYLOR. 
 
 Alice 2J1 
 
 Abagail M 
 
 Eliza 53 
 
 Frank J 196 
 
 Howard 231 
 
 John F 19« 
 
 Oliver 230 
 
 Sarah fis 
 
 Thomas W 77 
 
 TEBBETTS. 
 
 Arthur B 309 
 
 Alice SOS 
 
 Albert II 309 
 
 Arthur 310 
 
 Andrew 301 
 
 Bradbury 308 
 
 Comfort SOS 
 
 Charles C 309 
 
 Charles A 309 
 
 Clementina 309 
 
 Charlotte M. F SIO 
 
 Carrie J 1H 
 
 Caroline II n:.. !•: 
 
 l>avld C 134, n;». :: H 
 
 Eliza :^>'.' 
 
 Ethel 309 
 
 Georse S "6, Ufi. 3n« 
 
 Henrv 100. .v: 
 
 Henrv B., Dr 3iio 
 
 Harriet W 
 
 Hiram S'i9 
 
 Horace B 3fW 
 
 Hiram B 3r« 
 
 Hannah 75. 144. 308. .W 
 
 Isaac ^'*' 
 
 .lobn r 3n«. z\n 
 
 Mellnda i23. S-w 
 
 Mandana •''^ 
 
 Marv A T« 
 
 Nathan ^^ 
 
 Nelllp ^* 
 
 Nathan C ^'^ 
 
 I'oiiy •:;•» 
 
 Rortanna •''' 
 
 Sally •-;♦ 
 
 Walter G 3«0 
 
 TENXEY. 
 Adella A ^^ 
 
 THOMAS 
 
 Abapnll 
 
 Annie F 
 
 Arthur P — , 
 
 |><>bnrah 
 
 Ellen B 
 
 Mary J 
 
 JoRrph 
 
 I^ve 
 
 Mary A 
 
 Richard 
 
 Ralph 
 
406 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 THOMPSON. 
 
 Ada 302 
 
 Amy 302 
 
 Francis W 219 
 
 Frank 302 
 
 George 81 
 
 James M 301 
 
 .Tant 238 
 
 Nellie 323 
 
 Samuel B 302 
 
 Theodore 107 
 
 THORN. 
 
 Elisabeth 195 
 
 Henry 
 
 Zilpha 201 
 
 THORP. 
 
 riara 330 
 
 Elliot 3.37 
 
 Joseph 339 
 
 Marion 339 
 
 Ralph 339 
 
 THURSTON. 
 
 Ebenezar 267, 270, 302 
 
 Olines W • 1R3 
 
 Leanna M 302 
 
 Lucv Lena 256, .302 
 
 Mehitable 106 
 
 Sally 124 
 
 Bennie 
 
 Charles P. 
 Laura .... 
 Sally A.... 
 
 TICKNOR. 
 
 TILTON. 
 
 Anna C 
 
 Alfred E 178, 
 
 Ale.Kander H 
 
 Anna L 
 
 Blanche M 
 
 Ben.iamin F 
 
 Burton 
 
 Charles E 114, 227, 
 
 Charles W 
 
 Charles H 305, 
 
 Charles Edwin 
 
 Clifton 
 
 Eliza 
 
 Elmer E 
 
 Elmer H 
 
 Estelle 
 
 Emma S 
 
 Ellen 
 
 Fred G 
 
 Frank L 
 
 Frank S 142, 
 
 George TT 
 
 George H 135, 136. 
 
 Guv B 
 
 Harry L 
 
 Joseph S 306, 
 
 Jeremiah 50, 248, 303, 
 
 .Teremiah C, Col 
 
 Kenneth J 
 
 Lena 
 
 Louisa P 304, 
 
 Loren H 
 
 Mary 
 
 Mehitable 
 
 Myra A 
 
 Nettie 
 
 Nancy C 
 
 Na ncy A 134, 
 
 Ralph 
 
 Samuel, Hon 
 
 Sarah A 
 
 305 
 305 
 232 
 305 
 337 
 309 
 309 
 304 
 305 
 307 
 305 
 311 
 
 307 
 307 
 305 
 306 
 339 
 305 
 305 
 307 
 300 
 307 
 307 
 307 
 347 
 336 
 303 
 307 
 82 
 305 
 307 
 309 
 305 
 305 
 311 
 303 
 .306 
 311 
 109 
 305 
 
 Stephen 306 
 
 Sophia M 304 
 
 William L 306 
 
 Wellington 305 
 
 TITCOMB. 
 
 Albert 129, 265, 329 
 
 Daniel 329 
 
 Frank 265 
 
 TOBIE. 
 Byron 23 
 
 TOLLMAN. 
 Dr 39 
 
 TOMLINSON. 
 Josephine 140 
 
 TOWNS. 
 
 Charles A 196, 221 
 
 Ella 221 
 
 Rebecca 221 
 
 Thomas M 221 
 
 TOWNSEND. 
 
 Eliza 250 
 
 Thomas 185 
 
 TRAGO. 
 Benjamin 140 
 
 TRECARTIN. 
 
 David 190. 310 
 
 David Munson 310 
 
 Jennie L 310 
 
 Marretta 310 
 
 TRIPP. 
 Edward C 292 
 
 TROMBLY. 
 
 Ida M 310 
 
 Joseph R 310 
 
 TRUE. 
 
 Deacon 177 
 
 Charles L 47, .311, 351 
 
 Doris M 311 
 
 Foster C 311 
 
 Joseph F 311 
 
 Muriel 311 
 
 Martha 59 
 
 TUCKER. 
 
 Arthur 8, 267 
 
 Alvah 267 
 
 Betsev 178 
 
 Cora 47 
 
 Clarissa 294 
 
 Eliza A 300 
 
 Emily 288 
 
 Henry. Dr 267 
 
 .Josephine 271 
 
 James 8 
 
 Julia 35 
 
 Katherine 8 
 
 Ralph 8 
 
 TUFTS. 
 John S .' 173 
 
 TURPIN. 
 Grace 82 
 
 TUKEY. 
 Grace A 212 
 
 TUTTLE. 
 
 Lydia 113 
 
 TWOMBLY. 
 
 Joe 318 
 
 Mary Ann 79 
 
 Susannali 183 
 
INDEX. 
 
 407 
 
 UPTON. 
 Mary A IGf, 
 
 URQUIIAUT. 
 liaura 205 
 
 VAN con. 
 
 Charles .T 71 
 
 Evelyn M 71 
 
 VAUNRK. 
 Annie L .■{49 
 
 VAUNKY. 
 
 Dudley 29 
 
 Sarah IIG 
 
 VAKNUM. 
 Emma I. 243 
 
 VEASEY. 
 
 Aaron 134, 311 
 
 Annie 311 
 
 Clara 311 
 
 Julia 58 
 
 Sarah E 311 
 
 VrOTTER. 
 Rudolf 257 
 
 VICKERY. 
 Mary A 228 
 
 WADDELL. 
 Bertha 82 
 
 ^VADLEIGII. 
 
 Abagail 313 
 
 Adelaide P 314 
 
 Ann E 314 
 
 Bessie 349 
 
 Betsey 312 
 
 Benjamin 312 
 
 Charles .T 314 
 
 Charles « 314 
 
 Charlotte B 314 
 
 Curtis E 313 
 
 Ehenezar E 313 
 
 Ebenezar E., Jr 313 
 
 Ephraim S 294, 313 
 
 Horace 313 
 
 Jonathan 4, 225. 312 
 
 Jonathan E 312 
 
 John 312, 314 
 
 James I) 305. 315 
 
 Malc-olm 349 
 
 Mary 314 
 
 Meranda 315 
 
 Olive A 314 
 
 Peter 349 
 
 Peter, Judge 209, .313 
 
 Polly 31.3. 315 
 
 Susannah 225 
 
 Smith G 314 
 
 Thomas 129, 22.5, 314 
 
 WALDO. 
 John 316 
 
 \VALDRON. 
 Daniel 322 
 
 ""■•«•••• Ir;; 
 
 Isaac •*-•* 
 
 Richard * 
 
 Rose Bell ^ 
 
 William 322 
 
 WALLACE. 
 
 John ^ 
 
 WALSH. 
 I'hllander '' 
 
 WARD. 
 
 Sadie V J24 
 
 Charles T. 
 
 Carl S 
 
 Sa ra II 
 
 WALKER. 
 
 187 
 
 157 
 
 J. H., Hon 204 
 
 Noah S 
 Noah S., Jr 
 Nannie A... 
 
 Mntlle 
 
 Israel 
 
 1S7 
 157 
 167 
 
 WATERS. 
 
 Laura m 
 
 WANZER. 
 Marcelena 42. 3M 
 
 WARRING. 
 George W 150 
 
 WATSON. 
 
 Andrew S 31B 
 
 Etta 315 
 
 Emma 315 
 
 John P 22, 315 
 
 John S 315 
 
 Lucy m 
 
 Sarah 315 
 
 Sarah A 315 
 
 Sophia A 316 
 
 WATTS. 
 
 Florence 316 
 
 John M 316 
 
 Paul 318 
 
 Marlon 816 
 
 WAY. 
 
 Clarence 43 
 
 Frank 4-1 
 
 WEBB. 
 
 Delia 
 
 WEBBER. 
 
 Benjamin 57 
 
 David 56. 317 
 
 Jacob 53. 316 
 
 Annie F. 
 I»nrlnda . 
 Daniel .. 
 Edward . 
 
 Fred 
 
 Guslavus 
 
 J. II 
 
 Louisa S. 
 Martha . 
 Mary K.. 
 Polly .... 
 Samuel .. 
 
 WEBSTER. 
 
 WELLS. 
 
 Almlra 
 
 Betsey A 
 
 Cora Ardella 
 Charles 11... 
 
 «'nl»'b 
 
 imna 
 
 «0 
 4S 
 
 IM 
 
 1» 
 M 
 
 IIS 
 SI7 
 115 
 317 
 
 \a 
 
 317 
 
 FranclB 'I 
 
 George B. 
 John II... 
 Joseph E. 
 
 ' M,. ::irct 
 J... 
 
 I N lit linn D 
 
408 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Persis 109 
 
 Ruth 109 
 
 WEDGEWOOD. 
 
 Jeremiah 318 
 
 Zeporah 318 
 
 WEEKS. 
 
 Benjamin N 319 
 
 Charles G 318 
 
 Charles H 317 
 
 Fred 14, 319 
 
 George F 247, 317 
 
 Susan 199 
 
 Tina M 318 
 
 George W 108 
 
 Rosilla 219 
 
 Hannah 57 
 
 Hattie F 124 
 
 WEIRICK. 
 
 Albert ,Tohn 115 
 
 C. A., Dr 115 
 
 Mabel E 115 
 
 Marcia E 115 
 
 WEIGHTMAN. 
 
 George P 101 
 
 George Evans 101 
 
 Henry D 101 
 
 WELCH. 
 Enoch 6 
 
 WENTWORTH. 
 
 Charles 243 
 
 John, Hon 237 
 
 WEST. 
 
 Daniel 297 
 
 James, Mrs 25 
 
 WESTON. 
 Sarah 78 
 
 WEYMOUTH. 
 
 Arminda 318 
 
 Arthur L 297 
 
 Fred 297 
 
 George W 318 
 
 Hattie 297 
 
 Josie 297 
 
 Laurinda 318 
 
 Worcester 318 
 
 WHEELER. 
 
 Emily 59 
 
 Ephraim CO 
 
 George 319 
 
 Thomas C 319 
 
 Warren 87 
 
 WHICHER. 
 
 Artemissa 319 
 
 Abagall 321 
 
 Ann 323 
 
 Annah 323 
 
 Abhie 323 
 
 Adel ia 324 
 
 Belinda 319 
 
 Benjamin S 321, 322, 323 
 
 Betse.v 191, 323 
 
 Benjamin, .Tr 322 
 
 Benjamin H 324 
 
 Clarissa Osgood 154, 323 
 
 Calvin 324 
 
 Catherine 324 
 
 Clarence W 324 
 
 Cynthia 324 
 
 Daniel 319 
 
 David 322 
 
 Eliza J 323 
 
 Ellen 323 
 
 Ethelinda 324 
 
 Eliza 319 
 
 Elisabeth A 324 
 
 Franklin 324 
 
 Frank 324 
 
 Fred C 324 
 
 Grace 321 
 
 George S 319 
 
 Horace 323 
 
 Harold 324 
 
 Ira 319 
 
 Judith 319 
 
 Julia A 319, 324 
 
 Jonathan 282, 321 
 
 Jonathan, Jr 322 
 
 John M 12, 322, 323 
 
 Jane G 59, 323 
 
 Jane P 322 
 
 Joseph B 324 
 
 Louisa 324 
 
 Mathew 322 
 
 Marcus A 324 
 
 Marv J 323 
 
 Martin L 324 
 
 Mary A 323 
 
 Mathew, Jr 321 
 
 Marv (Polly) 321 
 
 Melinda 242 
 
 Nathaniel 4, 59, 201, 321 
 
 Nathaniel, Jr 321 
 
 Nancy 
 
 Napoleon B 324 
 
 olive 324 
 
 Olime Ann 134 
 
 Oscar 324 
 
 Olive S 322 
 
 Pollv 322 
 
 Pamelia 42, 323, 324 
 
 Reuben 4, 258, 321, 346, 351 
 
 Reuben, 2d 322 
 
 Reuben S 323 
 
 Sarah 133, 321 
 
 Sarah B 323 
 
 Sheiburne 323 
 
 Susan H 324 
 
 Trvphene 324 
 
 William 321, 322 
 
 William E 323 
 
 William W 324 
 
 WHITTAM. 
 Andrew 210 
 
 WHITTIER. 
 
 Abagail P 320 
 
 Curtice 158, 321 
 
 Daniel B 320 
 
 Isaac N 320 
 
 Isaac 222, 320 
 
 Joshua 320 
 
 Mary L 320 
 
 Mark W 321 
 
 N vra 320 
 
 Sarah T 320, 350 
 
 Saphronia 151 
 
 William C 320 
 
 WHITE. 
 Fanny 324 
 
 WHIPPLE. 
 
 Henry 10 
 
 Helen L 332 
 
 WHIDDEN. 
 
 Amanda A 319 
 
 Oriette S 179, 319 
 
INDEX. 
 
 iOU 
 
 Parsons, Dr j2, 32(5 
 
 William I'itts .'.48,' 319 
 
 WHITE. 
 E. D 311 
 
 WHITMAN. 
 
 Sophie 308 
 
 WHITNEY. 
 
 Ann 280 
 
 Betse.v 28."> 
 
 Daniel W 285 
 
 George W 273, 285 
 
 Harriet Hale 40 
 
 Mary E 2S5 
 
 Rebecca 286 
 
 WHITEIIOUSE. 
 Robert F 249 
 
 WHITING. 
 Emma 186 
 
 WILDE. 
 
 Charles 179 
 
 George 226 
 
 John 179 
 
 WILLIAMS. 
 
 Angustiis 213 
 
 Elisabeth 152, 325 
 
 Harry A 213 
 
 Herbert 213 
 
 Irving 214 
 
 Ida P 214 
 
 John 325 
 
 Katherine 325 
 
 Sarah 325, 350 
 
 William 4, 165, 325 
 
 William, Jr 325 
 
 WIGGIN. 
 
 Charles S 114 
 
 Henry E 114 
 
 WILDER. 
 Ellen 59 
 
 WILSON. 
 
 H. S.. Mrs 90 
 
 Eliza 55 
 
 Sarah 81 
 
 Wilfred 2G0 
 
 WILLARD. 
 
 Almira 6 
 
 David C 65 
 
 Ellen A G.l 
 
 Everett 65 
 
 Stedman- 65 
 
 WILLIS. 
 Abbie 35 
 
 WILKINS. 
 
 David P 327 
 
 Georgle Isabel 327 
 
 James M 167, 327 
 
 Stella F 327 
 
 WILLEY. 
 
 Ida May 18'* 
 
 Joanna 11" 
 
 Nabby 237 
 
 I-anra 106 
 
 Sarah 32 
 
 WINTIIROP. 
 
 John. Gov ?'>• 
 
 Mary 204 
 
 ^ WINCH. 
 
 ^«'-«i, •••; 240 
 
 ( harles W 940 
 
 William J V.V.'.V.V .■'!.■;! 240 
 
 WINSLOW. 
 
 Henjamin 335 
 
 I?<njamin A Sit 
 
 <'arollne '.'.'.'.'. 9( 
 
 I>nrlus ..'.".'.'.'.'.'.136.' 33C 
 
 Ella H • ^ 
 
 Hannah H gg 3^ 
 
 •John S.. 254.'a6'. 31« 
 
 Lucy A. J 32f 
 
 ^Inry S 2S4. 3» 
 
 Moses F 250. 826 
 
 Sarah fjn 
 
 Sarah A 'j,' fu 
 
 WITIIAM. 
 
 Eldora n 
 
 Henry .' a 
 
 WOODS. 
 
 Fannie m 
 
 Joseph S jjo 
 
 Lizzie F 320 
 
 WOODMAN. 
 Hannah 35 
 
 WOODIIURY. 
 
 Cyrene K 327 
 
 John R 296 
 
 Joslah A 201. 227 
 
 Josiah Ambrose 201, 218, 224, 327 
 
 Martha 15 162 
 
 Mary J 131. 327 
 
 Marl{. Dr » 
 
 Sophie 69 
 
 William 27. 192. 200. 32S 
 
 WOODWARD. 
 
 Alvlra 32S 
 
 Cora 23S 
 
 Diana A 74. 238. 228 
 
 Daniel S 238, 228 
 
 Daniel 328 
 
 Daniel R 328 
 
 Ed:;ar 2X8 
 
 Elisabeth 328 
 
 Frank R 828 
 
 Ida 238 
 
 Lizzie SIS 
 
 I'bobe SSS 
 
 Pauline ^ S28 
 
 Sti^pben SSS, SSS 
 
 Walter S38 
 
 WooDEND. 
 
 Margaret -'"j 
 
 WORTH KN. 
 John ' • 
 
 WORSLEY. 
 Almira 1' 
 
 WRIGHT. 
 
 Alice M 2" 
 
 Erwin W W 
 
 fH'orglo JU 
 
 Henry B *» 
 
 Sally 5>< 
 
 WYATT. 
 
 Addison B 2! 
 
 Alfred C » 
 
 Anna L gj 
 
 nctser 2 
 
 Hcrnnrd I< •• •• 5* 
 
 Cvnibin A ?^ 
 
410 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Chase 215, 22G, 328 
 
 Carrie 281 
 
 Cyntlaia B 330 
 
 Clarence M., Dr 329, 330 
 
 DeMore 175, 190, 224, 329 
 
 Dorothy 329 
 
 Edward 329 
 
 George C 328 
 
 Harry C 281 
 
 Joseph C 282, 319 
 
 Josie M 219 
 
 John 328 
 
 Laroy B 330 
 
 Judith 1P2, 329 
 
 Nathan 281, 329 
 
 Otis C 113, 330 
 
 Polly 329 
 
 Rebecca 72 
 
 Ruth 281 
 
 Samuel 146, 171, 328, 329 
 
 Walter C 330 
 
 YEATON. 
 
 John B 249, 251, 331 
 
 Martha 80 
 
 YORK. 
 
 Alonzo 23 
 
 Horace B 332 
 
 Hazel A 332 
 
 John 331 
 
 Oscar 332 
 
 Nellie E 332 
 
 Ruth A 332 
 
 YOUNG. 
 
 Abby 134 
 
 Daniel 293 
 
 Edmund 72 
 
 Edwin J 203, 332 
 
 Ella L 335 
 
 Elmer 99 
 
 Emily A 335 
 
 Fannie 43 
 
 Frank 91 
 
 Hannah 174 
 
 Helen L 335 
 
 Herbert G 332 
 
 •T. R 3S5 
 
 James 96 
 
 Jesse 58 
 
 John 323 
 
 Katherine 140 
 
 \Az7Ae 43 
 
 Mary Eliza 140 
 
 Maud A 332 
 
 Orrilla 256 
 
 Otis 323 
 
 Samuel 91 
 
 Susan A 335 
 
 Winthrop, Rey 43, 218. 332 
 
 HllO 
 
 
 L 
 

 
 '^^- A^ 
 
 
 "".^S'^' 
 ^^-V. 
 
 
 
 
 
 A 
 
 .0' 
 
 
 ,0 
 
 
 "'^^Kv 
 
 
 
 
 
 s 
 
 r^ 
 
 
 
 
 ?• ^v^^tS^/ <j^^ ^ -^^^'V-^V ^'^ ^ - 
 
 ^^ 
 
 
 •V 
 
 
 
 -*- 
 
 
 
 'o V 
 
 ^^-V. 
 
 
 .0' 
 
 -^^ 
 
 .f^ 
 
 .0^ 
 
 % 
 
 
 V\ 
 
 ^^^■ 
 
 
 
 o_ 
 
 
 -^ 
 
 
 
 u^ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 .\^^ 
 
 •^, 
 
 
 
 '' ' . . •■ .0 
 
 ^^ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 0^ 
 
 \ 
 
 ''r 
 
 A^ 
 
 
 
 A .. 
 
 ^ »s 
 
 s- 
 
 g^'"^' 
 
 'bK 
 
 
 
 
 C-- 
 
 o 
 
 
 "MsViJ-' 
 
 ;^ftg</^-4*^;^F 
 
 ^0^ 
 
 «.^"^. 
 
..r 
 
 -A 
 
 
 ,v' "^l 
 
 
 
 °-.- 
 
 o 
 
 -#>. 
 
 V- '-^^ .<$> 
 
 ^o 
 
 
 
 -A 
 
 "^U 
 
 
 
 h 
 
 -o . . • Ai 
 
 -^..^ 
 
 .V 
 
 "■^..^- 
 
 
 rO' 
 
 -"h 
 
 O 
 
 JAN ir> 
 N '