H36KJ THE UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS LIBRARY Prom the collection of James Collins, Drumcondra, Ireland. Purchased, 1918. 914.183 J436K Digitized by the Internet Archive in 2016 with funding from University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Alternates https://archive.org/details/heffernanshandboOOheff - c (HE U8MRK Of SHE UMVMNtf m Ju DUBLIN FROM THE KQYAL HOSPITAL HEFEERNAN’S HAND-BOOK OF DUBLIN, CONTAINING %ll lire information nquheb % ®onrxsfs t WITH A NEW PLAN OF THE CITY, AND NUMEROUS ENGRAVINGS. By D. EDWARD HEFFERNAN, €Wxl DUBLIN : M’GLASIIAN AND GILL, UPPER SACRVILLE STREET, LONDON: SIMPKIN, MARSHALL & CO. CHESTER: CATHERAL AND PRICHARD. BANGOR : CATHERAL & NIXON. And all Railway Booksellers \ 18CL WORKS BY THE AUTHOR. k DUBLIN IN 1861 . r Price : — India proofs, Five Guineas ; plain proofs, Three Guineas ; ordinary prints, Two Guineas. Being an Isometrical View of the City, 38 x 26, shewing all its Public Buildings, Statues, Monuments, &c., with the birth- places of distinguished persons. OPINIONS OF THE PRESS: I “ An admirable representation in the shape of a grand Isome- trical Plan of the City.” — Warder. 4 4 A Grand Picture of the City, fully illustrating its architec- tural beauty and natural advantages.” — Daily Express , 4:th March , 1861. 4 4 A Grand Picture of the Irish Metropolis. ” — Limerick 1 Chronicle . 44 A work whose merits have already secured for it the patron- age of a large number of the Nobility of the United Kingdom”. — Times , olst. March , 1861. 44 A work which cannot fail to command a place amongst all collections of fine engravings, Chambers of Commerce, Banks I and all other respectable Commercial Establishments throughout | the United Kingdom.” — Freeman's Journal. Orders for the above Engraving to be addressed to D. Edward Hefiernan, Civil Engineer, 12, Charleville Boad, Bathmines. Heffernan’s Handbook of Dublin, with New Plan of the City, and all information required by Tourists. Price Is. Heffernan’s Pictorial and Descriptive Handbook of Dublin with thirty-six new and original Engravings, Plans &c. Price 2s 6d. Heffernan’s Pictorial Plan of Wicklow. Price 2s fid. Heffernan’s Illustrated Handbook of Wicklow. Price 2s 6d. The Tourist’s Guide to the County of Wicklow, with Plans of Dublin and Wicklow. Price Is. 6d. Eighteen Views in Wicklow, bound in Cover. Price 2s. The Land Agent’s and Surveyor’s Pocket Book. Price 4s. PREFACE. In compiling a guide, through a large city, the chief object of the author should be, to arrange its description in so concise, simple, and at the same time, instructive a manner, as to enable any visitor to make himself acquainted with its streets, squares, and leading tho- roughfares; its public buildings, institutions, and other objects of interest, within the shortest space of time, and without the necesity of any inquiry, beyond that which a well arranged hand-book should supply. — With the view of affording this information, which is annually rendered more indispensable by the increased influx of strangers to this country, the following hand- book of the City of Dublin is prepared. In conducting the visitor through our city, the com- piler has observed conciseness and accuracy, thereby avoiding the tiresome, uninteresting, and complicated descriptions of places, and unimportant things, so often complained of in works of a similar description ; he has however taken care to leave nothing unnoticed which will be found interesting to the Tourist and profitable for 4039/6 PREFACE. iv his guidance while here : as the greater number of ob- jects deserving a stranger’s attention, lie within a circle of about half a mile of the Bank of Ireland and Trinity College, each of which is situated at the intersection of the two great thoroughfares of the city, and accurately defined on the plan hereto annexed ; the compiler does not pretend to point out to the Tourist, the order he has adopted in this guide, as that alone in which each should be visited, conceiving that the circumstances leading to the seeing of each, may be as variable as the number of persons who so visit them. He has however, laid down for the guidance of the Tourist those routes which from his acquaintance with the city, he considers will be most useful, — and by the adoption of which, a very fair knowledge of its leading features may be obtained, without any additional expenses, in two or three days. 12, Charleville Road, Rathmines, Dublix, 1st August , 1861. INTRODUCTION. As the greater number of Tourists to the Irish Capital, come from the sister country, it is presumed that those for whom this hand-book is designed, will arrive by the steam-packets from either Holyhead or Liverpool, and for the information of such, it is our intention to say something of the route. — We therefore, with a view of enabling our readers to enjoy this short and pleasant sail, recommend the journey to be made if practicable, by a packet which will arrive at Kings- town about six o’clock in the morning. To the Tourist arriving about this hour, from either of the above named places, the scene which presents itself to the eye, is of the most enchanting character. — Long ere reaching land, the Wicklow hills appear, on the left, in the distance: next on the opposite side of the shore, the Isthmus of Llowth, with its bold front and lighthouse rising out of the deep, to a height of five hundred feet. Across the Isthmus of Howth, that curious island, Ireland’s Eye, soon becomes visible, with Lambay still further on in the distance. — Next the Hills of Dalkey and Killiney at the Wicklow side of the shore, and further south the bold headland of Bray, with the rising town of that name at its foot. 2 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. By degrees the whole sweep of Dublin Bay presents itself to the delighted beholder, who cannot fail to be charmed by the grandeur of the scene before him. — The entire coast here, is studded with villa residences and cottages, the sea, itself, with yachts, steamers, mer- chant ships and men of war ; the whole being set off with a back ground of verdant fields and picturesque mountains, in admiration of which, the Tourist’s atten- tion is so engaged, that forgetting for awhile the jour- ney he is pursuing, and suddenly surprised by the bursting forth of the liberated steam, he finds himself at the pier of KINGSTOWN, So named from his late Majesty King George the Fourth having landed here in 1821, — since which time, it has sprung up on the site of a poor and solitary village called Dunleary. — It is now the most extensive and respectably situated watering place in Ireland, and posses- ses, with its suburbs, a population of 25,000 inhabitants composed chiefly of private families, professional gentle- men, and wealthy and influential merchants. — It supports three churches, besides Independant, Roman Catholic, and Methodist Chapels, with the large number of clergy belonging to all. The harbour of Kingstown has been officially described by the Surveyor of the Admiralty, as “one of the most splendid artificial ports in the United Kingdom.” It was commenced in 1816, and completed from the designs of the late Mr. Rennie at an expense of £801,159. The entrance to this harbour is indi- cated by two lighthouses, standing on piers 850 feet assunder. In this magnificent basin, the steam-ship Himalaya , and other vessels of her class, have, from time to time, moored alongside the wharf near the Rail- way Station. The town itself, which lies on an inclined plane, eighty feet above the sea, possesses the advan- HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 3 tage of a most cheerful and beautiful situation, sur- rounded by fine scenery, with modern and tastefully constructed buildings ; these qualities recommend it not only as a place of delightful recreation during summer, but as a permanent residence for families of respect- ability and independence at all seasons. The first dawn of prosperity on this once neglected hamlet but now delightful suburban seaport, is traceable to the enterprise of our highly esteemed citizen Thomas Gresham, Esq., appropriately recognised by its inhabitants as the “ Father of Kingstown”, who when the site of the Royal Hotel and adjoining terrace fronting the bay, and bear- ing its proprietor’s name, was a wfild and rugged waste, Mr. Gresham commenced its improvement, and expended a capital of £40,000 on these buildings, thereby setting an example of industry and enterprise, which many have since followed, with great profit to themselves and to society in general. About two miles distant lie the hills of Dalkey and Killiney, the latter rising to a height of 512 feet over the deep. From each of these hills, but especially the latter, delightful views are obtained of the whole bay and surrounding scenery, extending from the Wicklow Mountains to the City of Dublin, and as far as Kildare on the west, and across the promontary of Howth to the County of Meath to the north east. For a full and correct description of the scenery to the south of this locality with the cheapest and most desirable manner of seeing same, the Tourist is referred to Heffernan’s Illustrated Handbook of Wicklow , which may be had at any of the booksellers or respectable hotels in Dublin. The annexed view which is taken from Killi- ney Hill gives a good idea of the beauty of its situation and of the bay and Kingstown. Leaving Kingstown with its symmetrical streets and beautiful terraces, its esplanade, club houses and testi- monial, the Tourist proceeding by the model railway 4 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. which starts from the pier, arrives in twenty minutes at THE CAPITAL OF IRELAND. About the hotels, conveyances, and other indespensables of which, he will doubtless look for some information, and the importance of such inquiry is manifest, from the fact, that, many persons of respectability, on their arrival, very frequently proceed to places, of which they have heard through advertisements, or other questionable sources, and soon learn that instead of a first-class hotel, they have taken up their quarters at nothing more than a public-house. — Indeed, it is not to be wondered, that strangers should fall into these kind of mistakes, when parties undertake the compilation of guide-books, who, from want of local knowledge or other causes, are obliged to entrust their preparation to others, whose information is sometimes as circumscribed as their own, or whose interest in their accuracy, does not compensate for the amount of care and enquiry which the proper arrangement of such works demand. We have however, much pleasure in informing our readers, that they will, in any of the respectable Dublin hotels, meet with comforts not to be surpassed in the first London establishments, while the charges are far more moderate, and their proprietors men of courtesy, intelligence, and respectability. Having conducted the Tourist into our city, we next place before him a list of some of the principal hotels, with their situation, and extent of accommodation, leaving him to use his own judgment in the selection of a resting place from amongst them, of which he may make his home while here, and where, we doubt not, he will experience that attention for which these estab- lishments are justly celebrated. HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 5 \ i College-green, . . Jury’s, (Commercial) . Wm. Jury. r Hibernian Geo. Nesbitt. Dawson-street, < Macken’s, vide adv. . Morrison’s JJFuller. J. Dunne. Tuthill’s H. Tuthill. 1 r The Gresham, vide adv. T. M. Gresham. Reynold’s, vide adv. . . Fras. Reynolds. Sackville-street, <j The Imperial .... J. Coleman. The Prince of Wales, (Com.) William Smith. I The Bilton - L. Heinerkey. Beresford-place, . Northumberland . . . J. C. Joseph. Talbot-street, . Verdon Geo. Dingwall. Suffolk -street, 1 Commercial .... B. Saunders. Having placed before our readers a list of the prin- cipal hotels, in the form we consider most instructive to the Tourist, and best calculated to enable him to obtain that accommodation which his rank and circum- stances entitle him to, we next proceed to give some description of our conveyances ; which we shall endea- vour to do in as brief a manner as the limited time of our readers demand ; commencing with CABS AND CARS. In no city in Great Britain, that we are aware of, is there a better, cheaper, or more expeditious means of travelling than in Dublin, the number of the above vehicles amounting to over 2,000, and the fare, from any one point to another, within the Circular Road, between the hours of nine a. m. and ten p. m., not ex- ceeding six-pence for two persons, with an additional charge of two-pence for each of any parcels which the hirers may have. Comparing the Dublin car drivers with those in any of the large towns throughout Great Britain, which we have had frequent opportunities of visiting, we have no 6 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. hesitation in stating, and it gives ns pleasure to do so here, that those of our own city, in point of civility, honesty, and intelligence, have certainly a most decided advantage. Very rarely does it occur, that a stranger has occasion to complain of either extortion or insolence on the part of the above class, as in other places ; on the contrary, strangers are generally pleased and amused with their civility, quickness and drollery, especially when taking them for a day to the country. Whenever contradictions arise, as must naturally he expected, in dealing with such a large class of persons, they are in variably the result of misunderstandings, about matters of no greater value than a few pence, and not un frequently does the fault lie with the hirer. To avoid the unpleasantness of such misunderstandings, which, however, are of very rare occurrence with re- spectable persons, we recommend distinct agreements by time or distance, which generally average about sixpence per mile when outside the city. The usual hire for one of these cars when taken to the country and carrying, if necessary, four persons, is about fifteen shillings per day : this charge includes livery and all other expenses, which are borne by the owner while from home ; and the ordinary day’s journey is from thirty to thirty-five Irish miles ; but frequently forty, and even forty-five miles are accomplished. We next refer to our OMNIBUSSES, Which start from Nelson’s Pillar in Sackville-street, every quarter of an hour; commencing at twenty minutes before eight o’clock every morning, and run- ning until ten p. m., for Rathmines, Rathgar, and Roundtown — delightful suburbs on the south side of the City, leading towards the Dublin mountains, — to Ranelagh, Sandford, and Clonskeagli, in nearly the HANDBOOK OF DCJBLIN. same direction ; and to Sandymount, a neat and rising suburban district on the sea-side. The fare, to the most distant of these points, does not exceed four pence. These omnibusses are the property of Mr. John Wil- son of London, whose enterprise and perseverance, under very discouraging circumstances, deserves our attention. Mr. Wilson seems to have spared no expense, either in getting up his omnibusses in a style not inferior to the best London ones, or in the purchase of first- class and well-treated horses, for the due and proper working of same ; and he has thereby secured for him- self the omnibus traffic of Dublin, with the exception of Cl on tar f, a small watering place on the north side of the bay, for which one also starts at present from the Pillar in Sackville-street ; and Lucan, to which another starts from the same place at four o’clock, every even- ing ; the latter being something in the shape of a stage coach. On the Rathmines, Sandy mount, and Clontarf roads, the cars belonging to these districts carry passengers for omnibus fares, which, from Nelson’s Pillar in the centre of Sackville-street to the top of Rathmines, is three pence — to Rathgar, Roundtown, and Clonskeagh, four pence, and to Sandymount and Clontarf three pence. GUIDE TO THE CITY OF DUBLIN. To the visitor unacquainted with Dublin, the first thing to be borne in mind, in order to make himself immediately acquainted with its situation, is, that the city is divided by one direct thoroughfare, running exactly north and south, and comprising Rutland Square, Sackville-street, Westm orelan d -street. Grafton- street, and Stephen’s-green, also extending southward through Harcourt-street, Richmond-street, and Porto- bello to the delightful suburban districts of Rathmines, Rathgar, and Roundtown, from which places fine views of the Dublin Mountains are obtained, and on the north through Frederick-street and Blessington-street to the Circular Road and boundary of the city at Phibsborough Bridge, thence to Glasnevin, where are situate the Royal Dublin Society’s Botanic Gardens, and Cemetry of the Roman Catholic portion of the citizens, amongst which lie the mortal remains of the late patriot, Daniel O'Connell, Esq. Taking this hne as the diameter of a circle whose centre is Trinity College, and circumference Rutland Square and Stephen Vgreen, the visitor will find nearly everything in the city deserving his attention within this compass. — This line is also intersected by another important thoroughfare, leading westward at right angles from Trinity College to the Castle, Christ Church, and Patrick’s Cathedrals, and comprising College-green, Dame-street, Cork-hill, and Castle-street, parallel to which, and within a few minutes walk to the north, HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 0 runs the River Liffey with its fine spacious quays on either side, dividing the city into two districts known as the NORTH AND SOUTH SIDES. Keeping in view these two leading thoroughfares, the Tourist will find little or no difficulty in making his way through every part of the city. We shall however, proceed to point his attention to the various objects which we consider most deserving of notice, in the order which appears to us, the most convenient, for those whose time is limited, commencing at the North side, before entering which we recommend him to pause for a few moments, before proceeding over CARLISLE BRIDGE. Observing the magnificent views to be obtained from this point. Eastward he will have a fine view of the Liffey crowded with merchant ships from every quarter of the world, and bordered with spacious quays : the fine cupola and south and west fronts of the Custom House, giving a high degree of grandeur to the scene. Westward he will still look along the Liffey, where the scene affords a fine contrast to the other view ; no ship- ping however, is visible in this direction, but the river is spanned by several elegant bridges, and bordered by commercial houses, and public buildings of great magni- ficence, which, with the towering spires and pinacles in the distance, form a delightful picture. Looking southward along Westmoreland-street, the portico of the Bank of Ireland at its termination, and the facade of Trinity College, with Grafton-street in the distance, merit particular attention ; and turning to the North, the eye will survey the entire length of 10 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN, SACKVILLE STREET, Once the residence of the nobility of Ireland, and acknowledged by all travellers to be the grandest' thoroughfare in Europe, with the Trafalgar Monument in its centre, rising to a height of 1 35 feet, nearly oppo- site to which is the General Post Office, the beautiful spire of George’s Church illuminated by the bright rays of the sun in the distance, and terminated by the Rotunda and Lying-in Hospital, with the ornamentedly railed in, and tastefully planted enclosure called Rut- land-square, on the north side of which stands the town residence of the Earl of Charlemont, an elegant edifice of cut granite, with a handsome Ionic door, and win- dows enriched with architraves and pediments, and having on each side a circular wing with three niches, crowned with a balustrade. On entering this noble avenue and proceeding nearly half its length the first public building that presents itself on the left is THE GENERAL POST OFFICE. This beautiful building which is worthy its situation, was erected in 1818, at an expense of £50,000, from designs by Francis Johnson, Esq., Architect. — Its front is built of cut granite and presents a grand portico of of six fluted Ionic columns, four feet six inches in dia- meter, extending over and covering the flag way for nearly 100 feet long, and supporting an entablature surmounted by a pediment on which are displayed the Royal Arms, on the apex and extremities, are also well executed colossal statues of Hibernia, Mercury, and Fidelity. — Immediately opposite the north, and in the centre of the street stands NELSON’S MONUMENT, The foundation stone of which was laid on the 15th February, 1808, by the Duke of Richmond, then Lord Lieutenant. of Ireland. HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 11 This stately column, erected by public subscription, at an expense of £6,856, to commemorate the memory and victories of Britannia’s Hero, rises 122 feet above the level of the street, and is surmounted by a platform on which stands a colossal figure thirteen feet high, of the late warrior, leaning against the capstan of a ship. This grand column is hollow, and the platform, which is securely railed in, is accessible by winding stairs. From this platform, a most delightful panoramic view of the whole city, the bay and surrounding country, including Kingstown, Dalkey and Killiney, the Dublin, Wicklow, and in very clear weather, the Mourn e Mountains in the County of Down, is obtained. — This pillar may be ascended on any day of the week^ except Sunday, on payment of six-pence to the attendant, and a visit to its summit will fully repay the visitor for his trouble in ascending. Continuing northward to the top of this street the buildings presenting themselves on the left are the THE ROTUNDA AND LYING-IN HOSPITAL. This ornamental building, and truly valuable institution was commenced in 1751, and was opened for the admis- sion of patients on the 8th December, 1757, by the Duke of Bedford, Lord Lieutenant, when fifty-two poor women were admitted. It occupies a frontage of 125 feet by eighty-two deep ; it is faced with cut granite both front and rere, and was built by, and from designs of Mr. Cassels, architect, at an expense of £20,000. — This institution owes its origin to Dr. Bartholomew Mosse, who, in course of his practice as a medical doctor, was struck with the pitiful destitution and wretchedness of poor females during their confinement, and who, to alleviate their sufferings, in 1745, opened and furnished at his own expense, in Great George’s- street, the first hospital of this kind in the British 12 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. Dominions, and in the year 1747, an application was made to him by persons in London for a copy of his plan and regulations, which he transmitted, and the year following, a similar hospital was erected at Brown- low-street, London, Finding that his hospital was quite inadequate to the increasing demands upon him for relief, he took the plot of ground in Great Britain-street, on which now stands the subject of our description, and laid out at his own expense, the present Rotunda Gardens as a public promenade, intending the profits to be applied to the purposes of the hospital. He subsequently by unceasing exertions succeeded in erecting and effecting the endowment of this institution. — The philantrophie exertions of Dr. Mpsse in expending his own fortune and exertions which produced £8,000, and the evident utility of his plan, soon induced others to encourage his exertions, and accordingly a sum of £12,000 was granted by parliament for the completion of the building, with a sum of £2,000 for the doctor’s own use, as a reward for his philantrophy and benevolence. — He did not however, long enjoy the satisfaction of beholding the fruits of his exertions, as he died on the 16th February 1759, in the 47th year of his age. This institution derives its support from various be- quests and private subscriptions, a small government grant, the returns from the chapel and rents of the Rotunda and gardens. The Rotunda and new rooms adjoining, form a very distinguishing feature in the city — the former a most magnificent circular room, was built in the year 1757, as a place of public entertainment. In 1785 an elegant suite of rooms were begun to be added to the Rotunda, and the Rotunda itself to be much beautified in its ex- ternal appearance by Mr. Johnson architect, assisted by Frederick Trench, Esq. to whose exertions and taste in architecture these buildings are much indebted. HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 13 The interior of the Rotunda, a most magnificent room, eighty feet in diameter by forty feet high, without any middle support, has, within the last year been greatly beautified by a set of ornamental galleries, which not only afford increased accommodation, but add consi- derably to its former grandeur. This spacious building is the Exeter Hall of Dublin, being, with the adjoining rooms in Cavendish-row, generally used for public enter- tainments and religious meetings. In these buildings, the great meetings of the Bible Societies, the Irish and Foreign Missions, and various other associations for the circulation of the Scriptures are held. These meet- ings are annually held in the month of April, when deputations of the clergy, from different quarters of the world, attend, to give missionary information, &c. The Rotundo, on these occasions, is crowded to excess by the respectable portion of the citizens; and the oratory of the speakers, and the anecdotes related, are of the most interesting description. The gardens connected with this institution, form a a most interesting promenade, especially in the summer, when they are enlivened by the music of military bands, which are generally in attendance. Leaving Sackville-street and proceeding eastward through Great Bri tain-street, the next to the south, is Marlborough-street in which is situate on the right THOMAS’S CHURCH, Commenced in 1758 and completed in 1762, at an expense of £3,000 under the superintendence of Mr. John Smith architect, from a design by Paladio. The front of this building is best viewed from Gloucester- street which terminates exactly opposite. It is a com- position of Roman and Grecian architecture, and consists of two pilasters, and two three-quarter columns, of the composite order, of excellent workmanship, supporting 14 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. an entablature and pediment. In the centre between the columns is a grand doorway over which is a angular pediment. The entablature is continued at each side to the extremity of the building with pilasters, archi- traves, &c. On each side are niches, decorated with Corin- thian pilasters, and crowned with pediments. Connected with the front by a circular wall, are two advanced gates, which form well proportioned wings to the body of the building, making the entire front 182 feet. The interior of the church which is eighty feet by fifty two, is well decorated by Corinthian columns which support the gallery, and the ceiling is richly ornamented. Proceeding southward on the same side in this street is THE ROMAN CATHOLIC CATHEDRAL. A grand structure in the Grecian style, erected in 1816, on the site of Annesley House, the former residence of the family of that name. The ground on which this edifice stands was purchased for £500, and the building itself is supposed to have cost £100,000 though the original sum intended to be expended on its erection did not exceed half this amount. The principal front consists of a grand Doric portico of six fluted columns, projecting ten feet on an extensive and elevated platea, and surrounded by a rich entablature continued round the sides, above which rises an angualar pediment, on the apex of which, stands a colossal statue of a female, with corresponding male statues on its extremities. This grand portico is seen to the greatest advantage from the entrance to Tyrone House, exactly opposite — The principal or east front occupies a space of 118 feet and the south front, which is nearly as fine as the east, though blocked up by the unsightly buildings on the opposite side of the lane-way, is 160 feet. Directly opposite is the entrance to Tyrone House HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 15 formerly the town mansion of the Marquis of Waterford, but now used as the OFFICES OF THE BOARD OF NATIONAL EDUCATION. This edifice, which lies to the south of the gate entrance, is remarkable for being one of the first private buildings of stone erected in Dublin — it was erected about the year 1740, from the design of Mr. Cassels, and was at that time considered the most elegant private structure in the city. — It is now occupied by the resident com- missioner of National Education, and in it are also the Board-room and Library belonging to the same body. Opposite to this stands a very fine building lately erected for the accommodation of the professors, and lecture-room for the teachers under training; and to the rere of this, are also situated the Model Schools of the Board. Proceeding to the south through Marlborough-street and entering Abbey-street the new building on the left is THE METROPOLITAN HALL, (Lately known as the Music Hall) Formerly used as place of performance by equestrians and other strolling players, but now appropriated, exclusively to religious purposes. — This building has, within the last few years, obtained a good deal of celebrity, being that in which the revival meetings conducted by Mr. J. D. Smith, of Kingstown and other gentlemen of the cle- rical order are held. These meetings are generally crowded to excess by persons of various religious denominations, who, notwithstanding the diversity of their opinions, join together in the daily devotions in which all classes are invited to take part. In this street 16 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. are also situated, a Baptist, a Methodist, and a Presby- terian Chapel — and on the opposite side is THE ROYAL HIBERNIAN ACADEMY, Of painting, sculpture, and architecture, incorporated by Royal Charter in 1823, and erected by Francis Johnson, Esq. — The annual exhibition of the above works of art commences here in May, and generally continues to about the 1st August. The charge for admission is one shilling, and a visit to it will be found worthy of atten- tion. Continuing eastward through this street, the Tourist will immediately arrive at THE CUSTOM HOUSE, This magnificent building presents four grand fronts, occupying a space of 375 feet long by 205 deep. The north and south being the principal ones. — It was com- menced in 1781, and completed in 1791, under the superintedence of Mr. James Gandon, architect. — Its entire expense is estimated at £400,000. It is acknow- ledged to be the most excellent building appropriated to such a use in Europe, and conveys a very exalted idea of the city in the approach from the bay, which is above a mile distant. The whole building is decorated with columns and ornaments of the Doric order. In the centre is a portico over which is a handsome cupola, on exactly the same plan as those at Greenwich Hospital. — The Dome, which is covered with copper, is twenty-six feet in diameter and 113 feet high; on its top is a circular pedestal on which is a statue 12 feet high, representing hope resting on her anchor. On the attic story over the four pillars of the portico, are statues of Neptune, Plenty, Industry, and Mercury. — In the tympanum of the pediment, in alto relievo, is represented the friendly union of Britannia and Hibernia, with the good consequences resulting to HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 17 Ireland : They are placed in the centre, on a car of shell, embracing each other. — Neptune on the right, is driving away with his trident, Famine and Despair; on the left are sea gods, sounding their shells ; and a fleet of ships, at a distance, approaching full sail, to which Hibernia is pointing. — The frieze of the entablature, over the por- tico, is ornamented with oxes’ heads entire, with festoons from one to the other, supposed to be of their hides. — On the key-stones of the arches of entrance, and others corresponding, in all sixteen, are allegorically repre- sented as many rivers of Ireland, under male heads, excepting one, a female in the centre of the north front, representing the River Liffey ; all decorated with what is peculiar to them, or their banks, and were executed, with the greater part of the other ornaments, by Mr. Edward Smith, a native artist, in a very bold superior style. The four statues over the portico with four others on the front, were executed in London, by Mr. Thomas Banks, R. A. The north front, differs considerably from the south; it has a portico of four columns, in the centre, but no pediment. — On the entablature over each column, are statues representing Europe, Asia, Africa, and America. The whole of this beautiful structure is built of moun- tain granite, with the exception of the south front, and the decorative parts of the other three, which are of Portland. The doors on each side of the portico, in the south front, communicate with passages running the whole depth of the building, with a range of offices on one side, lighted from the courts. — Immediately within these doors, to the right and left, are handsome stair- cases, leading to the Long Room, in the way to which is a beautiful octagonal vestibule under the cupola. — The Long Room is a spacious, superb apartment, 70 feet square ; down each side is a range of composite columns, 18 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. about twelve feet from the walls, supporting an arched ceiling, in which are two large circular lanterns, richly ornamented with devices in stucco, which, with semicir- cular windows above the entablature, over the columns, pleasingly illuminate this room. It is a matter of regret that the commerce of the port of Dublin, has been found to be insufficient for the occupation of this fine building, as was originally in- tended. Its apartments have for many years past, been converted into offices for the transaction of the business of the public service. It is now the Somerset House of Dublin, as in it are the Stamp Office, the Offices of Public Works, the Poor Law Commission, and other public departments. To the east of the Custom House, are the Docks, which are entered from the river by means of a sea lock, through which the Spitfire a twenty gun ship is known to have been driven by stress of weather and took shel- ter. — The warehouses and stores here are spacious, and the whole is worthy a visit, if time permit. Leaving the Custom House and proceeding north- wards through Gardiner-street, the first building on the left is TRINITY CHURCH, Celebrated for the popularity of its preacher, Mr. John Gregg. Proceeding northward through this street, and turning to the right into Talbot-street a fine view is obtained of the THE DROGHEDA RAILWAY TERMINUS. A very elegant structure of granite in the Italian style of architecture, erected in 1845 at a cost of £7,000 from the design of Mr. Butler architect. — This fine edifice occupies a frontage of 140 feet, and consists of a HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 19 centre surmounted by a fine campanile rising to tlie height of 95 feet. On either side of this centre, on an elevation of five feet above the ordinary level of the road- way, are colonades, which are also terminated by two smaller campaniles, and between the centre and these colonades is the public entrance by winding stairs, to the platform, waiting, and board rooms, and other apartments connected with the establishment, on the same level, which is twenty-four feet above the street. The central campanile contains an observatory and signal bell. On the front is also a large clock, which is not only a public convenience to travellers by the railway, but to those resident in the neighbourhood. Proceeding northward from Amiens-street through Buckingham-street, the next large building on the right is ALBOROUGH HOUSE, Once the residence of the nobleman of that name and father of the well known patron of Holloway s Pills . This spacious building was for some years celebrated as the Feinaiglian Institution, but for several years past, it has been occupied as a military barrack. Proceeding still by Buckingham-street through Sum- mer-hill, a front view will be obtained of THE FREE CHURCH. At the termination of Rutland-street in Great Charles- street, — a neat and commodious building of granite with an Ionic pediment, built by subscription in 1850, on the site of the former building, accidentally burned on the night of the 29th June, 1849. This church is supported by the voluntary contribu- tions of one of the best instructed congregations con- nected with the Church of England in Dublin. Ad- joining this on the west is 20 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. MOUNTJOY SQUARE, A modern healthfully situated, and tastefully planted enclosure. — The houses, which are chiefly inhabited by professional gentlemen, and private families of respect- ability, lie on an elevation of about thirty -five feet above the level of the roadway at Carlisle Bridge, three quar- ters of a mile distant, and from their windows fine views are obtainable of the Hill of Howth, and bay of Dublin, as well as the southern portion of the city, suburbs, and mountain scenery. Proceeding along the south side of this square to its junction with the west, and looking southward, a grand view is obtained of Gardiner-street, which for a distance of about half a-mile, lies on nearly an inclined plane, with the magnificent front, cupola, and enclosed crescent of the Custom House at its termination. Proceeding northward along the west side of this square to Upper Gardiner-street, the object which presents itself on the right is the JESUITS’ CHAPEL, Erected in 1832, at an expense of £18,000; J. B. Ken- nedy, Esq. architect. — This building presents a grand portico of six granite columns over forty feet high, with a corresponding pediment. — The interior is richly orna- mented, and at either side are some fine buildings connected with the chapel. Proceeding by Gardiner’s-place, which is a continua- tion of the north side of Mountjoy-square, into Temple- street, a grand view is obtained of GEORGE’S CHURCH. Which is certainly the finest ecclesiastical building in Dublin, erected in the year 1802, at an expense of £39916 15s. 3id. HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 21 It consists of a noble Ionic portico of four fluted columns, surmounted by an entablature and frieze, supporting an angular pediment, bearing a scriptural inscription in Greek. From behind the portico, which extends forty-two feet by fifteen deep, rise a belfry, clock-tower, and spire, of unusual grandeur, to the height of 200 feet. The interior of this church corresponds in point of beauty with its exterior, and the absence of pillars under the galleries being obviated by the timbers on which they rest, projecting from the walls, and resting on a partition, which separates the aisles from the body of the church, gives to it an appearance of much beauty and elegance. — This noble structure forms the greatest ornament of the northern portion, or indeed of the whole city, and occupies a space of ninety-two feet in front, by eighty-four in depth. It is enclosed by a cir- cular railing, which, with the crescent-like space in front, and the advantage of its situation, contribute greatly to the beauty and elegance of its appearance. — It was erected from designs of Francis Johnson, Esq. architect; and to the liberality of this gentleman, the church is indebted for the valuable peal of bells which it possesses. Pro- ceeding northwards through Eccles-street, near the top will be passed on the right, a very spacious building presenting a fine front of cut granite, with a portico supported by columns, on which rests a pediment. This building is yet in an unfinished state, and is intended as a nunnery and surgical hospital. Continuing northward to the Circular Road, the brick building at its junction with that on which we are pro- ceeding is THE DUBLIN FEMALE PENITENTIARY, The chapel attached to which, adjoins the south side of the building, and is entered by a gate-way at the A 3 22 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. same side. This valuable institution, which presents an asylum for those who have forsaken the right way, is supported, partly by voluntary contributions, and partly by the collections made at sermons in the chapel ; it also derives some support from the proceeds of a laundry attached, which receives the patronage of many families of respectability, who take an interest in the prosperity of this institution, where those who have no hope, are brought within the reach of the word of life, which reveals pardon and peace, to the guiltiest of the fallen race. At the rere of this institution is situated the MOUNTJOY CONVICT PRISON, The most complete of its description in Europe. This model prison consists of a massive range of buildings two stories high, with two similar wings, starting from its centre, from which, if a circle were described, w T ith either of these extremities as a radius, the front range would form its diameter. Along the wdiole length of these sections and wings, are corridors which, in the upper story, are approached by palisadings, at either side of which, are the different cells, the whole being illuminated by lights in the roofs; and, from the ad- mirable arrangement of the buildings, a complete view is had of each from the centre point in the upper story already alluded to. In this prison the convicts are classified according to their ages and crimes, and those who indicate a desire for reformation are transferred to a less degraded class, while the more incorrigible are not permitted to see one another. The younger prison- ers are instructed in trades, by masters employed for the purpose ; they are also instructed by competent masters in mental arithmetic, geography, &c., and many of them are known to have obtained good situations and to have conducted themselves with propriety after their dis- HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 23 charge from prison. The officers are men of more than ordinary intelligence, and their demeanour, which is free from that intolerance which is often heard of in other prisons, especially in England, has a very salutary influence over the conduct of the unhappy class of per- sons committed to their charge. Returning by Berkeley-street into Mount joy-street the building in front is MARY’S CHAPEL OF EASE, Commonly called the Black Church, on account of the color of the stone with which it is erected. — This is con- sidered the most perfect specimen of pointed gothic style of architecture in Dublin. South of this in Dorset-street, at the entrance to Granby-row is BETHESDA CHAPEL, Erected on the site of the former building, which was burnt during the fearful hurricane on the night of the sixth of January, 1839. The front of this interesting chapel is built of cut granite and presents a grand portico of four columns, supporting a pediment. The original chapel of this name was erected in the latter end of the last century, by William Smith, Esq. who also appointed two clergymen of the establishment, as its chaplains. — He afterwards attached to it an asylum for female orphans, which continues in a prosperous state unto the present time. Proceeding along Dorset-street the visitor will feel interested in learning that the house, No. 12, is the birth- place of the celebrated RICHARD BRINSLEY SHERIDAN, Or O’Sireden, the celebrated orator, and grandfather of the present Duchess of Somerset, and of Mr. Richard Brinsley Sheridan, M. P. for Dorchester. 24 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. West of this is Dominick-street, on the left side of which is THE NEW ROMAN CATHOLIC CHAPEL, Erected in 1860, from the designs of J. J. M’Carthy, Esq., a native architect. This beautiful structure fully maintains the character of our city for the grandeur of its buildings ; and is in the continental decorative style of architecture, carried out in all its minutiae of detail. The front, which faces the street, is particularly rich, having a very handsome doorway leading to the nave, with smaller ones to the aisles. Over the centre doorway, is the great window, which is beautifully ornamented with rich scroll work. The interior is beautiful in all its proportions, and its grandeur is heightened by a gorgeous stained glass window in the east-end. It is gratifying to learn that the great talents of the Architect of this beautiful building, is appreciated by his countrymen, he being the architect of the Roman Catholic cathedrals of Armagh, Derry, and the chapels of Monaghan, Tramore, &c. Continuing eastward through Dorset-street, the next on the right is Henrietta-street, terminated by THE QUEEN’S INNS, The first stone of which was laid in 1802, by the Earl of Clare. It was erected from the designs of James Gandon, Esq. the architect of the Custom House, and presents an ornamental front of cut stone, consisting of a centre and two wings, facing Constitution Hill. This elegant structure is entered through a large gateway from Henrietta-street, and a grand archway passing through the centre, which is crowned by a beautiful octagonal cupola ; over the doorway are the Royal Arms in Portland stone, under which, on the entablature, in the centre, the lawyers and prelates, of Ireland, are repre- sented, receiving a translation of the Bible and a charter from Elizabeth. The wings, which are surmounted by HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 25 pediments, are ornamented by finely executed statuary, the production of Edward Smith, Esq. a native artist ; amongst these might be named an alto relievo, over the windows on the second story of the south wing, repre- senting Bacchus and Ceres, attended by the seasons, and over the front of the south wing, in a similar manner, Wisdom, Justice and Prudence, attended by Truth, Time and History. The doorways are ornamented by carya- tides supporting rich cornices and resting upon pedestals ; those at the north, are Plenty and a Baccante with a goblet; and at the south, are Security and Law, one holding a key, the other a scroll. The Dining Hall, which is the principal of the interior of the building, is eighty-one feet by forty-two feet, and is ornamented by four Ionic columns at either end, over which in circular recesses, in the ceiling, are some inte- resting figures ; the room is lighted by five circular- headed windows on one side, and on the opposite, are portraits of Lords Avonmore and Manners. Proceeding through the gateway at the north side of Constitution Hill, immediately will be reached THE BROAD STONE STATION, The Dublin Terminus of the Midland Great Western Railway. — This station, designed by Mr. Mulvany, architect, stands on a favourable elevation of ground, and is constructed of well finished granite; — it contains the offices of the company, and has long segmental 'roofs over the platforms and rails at its rere; along one side of which is an effective colonade of Ionic columns, forming a covered approach to what was till lately, the booking offices and departure platform, being, from some cause, on the opposite side of the rails to that which is almost universally the rule, in the w^ay of running the trains, the morning train being always on .the left hand side of the rails, and thereby occasioning much risk of collision in changing sides when arriving 26 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. at, or departing from the station, has lately undergone extensive changes.— The original booking offices and waiting rooms, have recently been taken down and the space thrown into the colonade, making it now an ex- tensive covered area for carriages without interfering with the architecture of the colonade. Extensive new offices, have been built on the proper departure side, and accommodation provided for the enlarged wants of the company, and the different boards or clerks, of the important new lines formed in extension of the railway. These alterations and new works, have been carried out under the direction of Mr. Wilkinson, the architect of the Harcourt-street Terminus of the Dublin and Wicklow Railway, and other extensive buildings throughout Ireland. From the bridge adjoining this terminus, a most beau- tiful panoramic view of the city and surrounding country to the south, extending as far as the mountains which separate the counties of Dublin and Wicklow, is obtained. Looking westward from this point, the North Dublin Union Workhouse, an establishment of no great interest to any, but the officers connected therewith, and the Richmond Lunatic Asylum, are seen, and north of these is the Richmond F emale Penitentiary, correspond nig in some measure, but vastly inferior in point of manage- ment and general arrangement to the Mount joy Convict Prison, on the Circular-road, already described. South of the Workhouse, and nearly adjoining it, are the Whit- worth Chronic, the Hardwicke Fever, and Richmond Surgical, Hospitals. Descending from this bridge and proceeding directly southwards, through Constitu- tion Hill and Church-street, the next building deserving of notice on the right is MICHAN’S CHURCH, One of the oldest religious establishments in Dublin. HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 27 The most remarkable features connected with which, are its vaults, which, possess the property of resisting decomposition in the bodies deposited therein. In the cemetery adjoining this church lie the remains of Robert Emmett, and in the vaults those of the brothers Shears executed for high treason in 1798. Proceeding south of this, on the quays, are THE FOUR COURTS. This magnificent structure was erected on the site of one of the old monastic establishments, with which Dublin abounded about the twelfth century. It was commenced in 1786, and completed in 1800, at an expense exceed- ing £200,000: Messrs. Thomas Cooley and James Gan- don being the architects. It is needless to enter into a detailed description of the outward structure ; the elegance of which will be best understood on being viewed by the visitor. On the pediment over the portico stands a colossal statue representing Moses; on the one side is Justice, on the other Mercy. On the corners of the building, over the pilasters, are also statues representing Wisdom and Authority. In the circular hall, which is entered from the front through the portico, and which during term is crowded by barristers, solicitors and clients, are eight openings leading to the various offices and courts. In each of these openings stand four fluted Corinthian columns, twenty-five feet high ; two in depth at each side. In the piers between the openings are niches and sunk panels. In the panels, over the entrances into the courts, are historical pieces in bas relief representing four great events in British history. First, William the Conqueror establishing courts of justice, feudal and Norman laws, doomsday book, curfew. Second, King John signing Magna Charta before the barons. Third, 28 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. Henry II. on landing in Ireland, receiving the Irish chieftains, grants the first charter to Dublin. Fourth, James I. abolishing the Brehon laws, &c. The whole, w r ith the sculpture of the external portion of the building, are in the pure style of the antique, and executed by Edward Smith a native artist. From the attic, springs a dome nearly hemispherical, having a large circular opening in the centre, around which is a gallery. Through the opening is seen a void, between the interior and exterior domes, the same in effect as is seen in St. Paul’s Cathedral, London. The hall is lighted by eight windows in the dome, over the eight panels of the attic: the large apertures in the cylinder without, communicate to the windows within, whence flows a power of light, which completely, as well as beautifully, illumines the whole. Between the windows in the dome are eight colossal statues in alto- relievo, standing on consoles, emblematical of liberty, justice, wisdom, law, prudence, mercy, eloquence, and punishment. A rich frieze of foliage takes its rise over the heads of the above statues, and extends around the dome. In the frieze, over each window, are medallions of eight eminent ancient lawgivers, viz., Moses, Lycur- gus, Solon, Numa, Confucius, Alfred, Mancho-Capac, and Ollamh Fodlagh. In the centre of the hall is a pedestal on which stands a colossal statue of truth holding a torch, through which, is conveyed a gas tube by which the hall is illuminated during the sittings in the winter evenings; and on the left of the front entrance, is a statue of Sir Michael O’Loghlen, late Master of the Rolls, by M’Dowell, R. A. of London, In the yard, to the rere of the Four Courts, are situated the courts and offices of the Masters in Chancery, the Bankrupt and Insolvent Courts, together with the newly erected Landed Estates Court; all of which are of cut granite and present a very fine range of building. HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 29 Nearly opposite the east end of tiie front is RICHMOND BRIDGE. The first stone of this structure was laid by the Duchess of Richmond in 1813. This bridge was erected at the expense of £25,800 raised by the city; and ex- ceeds in breadth any of the old London bridges, being 220 feet long, and 52 broad, consisting of three arches, the key-stones of which, are ornamented with six colossal heads, representing Peace, Hibernia, and Commerce, on one side, and, on the other, Plenty, the Liffey, and In- dustry. The whole is built of Portland stone, and is surmounted with a balustrade of cast iron, which is continued along the quay wall, opposite the entire front of the Four Courts, and thence to WHITWORTH BRIDGE, Erected on the site of the most ancient of all the bridges, and connecting two of the oldest streets — Bridge-street and Church-street. The first of these, the “ Old Bridge,” fell in 1385, and was re-erected in 1428, by a company of monks or friars called “ Dominicans,” who kept a school at Usher’s Island on the opposite side, and charged a toll of one penny for every carriage passing it. This bridge stood until 1802, when it was swept away by a great flood, and replaced in 1816 by the present solid structure. Proceeding eastward along Arran-quay the next object of interest is THE NEW ROMAN CATHOLIC CHAPEL, A very elegant structure of cut granite, the front of which faces the river, and presents a grand Ionic por- tico of four columns supporting an entablature and pediment, surmounted by a three-storied tower, crowned by a cupola. This chapel is generally attended by the Roman Catholic soldiers stationed in the Royal Barracks, 30 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. and their appearance, marching to and from mass on Sundays, tends very much to enliven this part of tlie- city. Continuing eastward as far as No. 33, on this quay, to the house with an ornamental front, at present occupied by Messrs. McDermott, manufacturing che- mists, the visitor will feel interested in learning that this is the BIRTHPLACE OF EDMUND BURKE, One of the greatest statesmen, and the most powerful orator, that the British Constitution has ever possessed. Of the singular eloquence and stupendous accomplish- ments of this great statesman, the Times of the 9th April, 1852, has given the following description. “ The intellectual prowess of Edmund Burke is the admiration of the world. Since Bacon quitted life, England had not possessed so marvellous a son. Philo- sophy dwelt in his soul, and raised him to the dignity of a prophet. Gorgeous eloquence was his natural in- heritance, practical wisdom his chief accomplishment; while all the intellectual graces were his hourly com- panions. Politics, when he dealt with them, assumed a grandeur which they had never known before, for he raised them above the exigencies of his own fleeting day, to apply them to the instruction and the wants of future ages. It has been justly remarked that the con- temporaries of Burke, great and illustrious men, bravely fought and nobly conquered ; but they were content with the victory of the hour. Burke, too, achieved his conquest for the day; but did not rest satisfied until he had won from the conflict wisdom, intelligence, and lofty principle, for all time to come. Fox was the crea- tion of his age. Burke is not the statesman of a period or of a place, but the enduring teacher of the universal family — the abiding light of the civilized world. When Fox spoke, says Chateaubriand, it was in vain that the HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 31 stranger tried to resist the impression made upon him. ‘ He turned aside and wept.’ We read the speeches of Fox at this not very distant day, and marvel at their declared effect; for our tears do not flow from the perusal, our blood is not warmed by the syllables. Still more are we astonished to learn that the pregnant and singularly profound language of Burke fell too fre- quently upon stony ears, and that the rising of the orator was often a signal for the flight of his audience. Yet the double wonderment is easy of explanation. That which will render Shakespeare familiar to our hearths, while a hearth can be kindled in England, will also secure the immortality of Edmund Burke. There was nothing local, nothing temporary, nothing circum- scribed in his magnificent utterance. His appeals were not to the prejudices of his contemporaries or to the ever-changing sentiments of the time. He marched with a sublime movement ever in advance of the multi- tude. Every generation can point to its popular chief, and there are few epochs which do not boast of their Fox. In what political age shall we look for a states- man in all respects so illustrious as Burke ?” One observation more to terminate this biography. Of late years, to the credit of this country, numerous statues have been raised to those illustrious statesmen and warriors, who have successfully carried out the policy and plans proposed by Edmund Burke. Pitt, at first, the reluctant and afterwards the earnest disciple of Burke’s teaching ; Canning and Peel, the later fol- lowers of Burke’s doctrines; Nelson and Wellington, who did eventually at sea and on land what Burke wanted to have done in his own time — all these adorn in bronze or marble our public places; but where is there, in the open air and the broad thoroughfare, a statue of Edmund Burke — of him whose life was one long devotion to the cause of order, and whose sculp 32 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. tured effigy, like a landmark, would not fail to con- stantly recall those true limits of liberty, which form the boundaries of the British constitution? Dublin once enthusiastically suggested a statue to Edmund Burke, but failed to erect it. No wonder. The streets and squares of that beautiful city present few mementos of Irelands own great men. We see there no cast nor carved presentments of Swift, Goldsmith, or O’Connell. But for Hardy’s able biography, and Charles Phillips’ admirable “ Recollections,” Charlemont and Curran might be overlooked and forgotten. Truly, in this, Ireland incurs the imputation of a memory almost Athe- nian. Much, however, has been done on this side of the Channel, and latterly in particular, to earn a better reputation. Nevertheless, until there rises in England some monument worthy of the great Edmund, it cannot even be said of this country, that enough is effected — - that the sure pledge exists of that just consummation by which transcendent talent and virtue may hope to experience righteous remembrance, appropriate homage, and adequate reward.” East of this is QUEEN'S BRIDGE, Erected in 1768 on the site of the former bridge swept away by a flood in 1763. It consists of three arches built of cut granite. It is 140 feet long, by 40 broad ; and presents a pleasing appearance, being ornamented with a light metal balustrade. Turning to the right through Queen-street, Blackliall-street is reached, to the north of which, is Pauls Church, and at its termi- nation the front of THE BLUE COAT HOSPITAL, Erected in 1773, during the viceroyalty of the Earl of Harcourt, at an expense of £24,000. This noble build- HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 33 ing occupies a frontage of 300 feet, and is faced with Portland stone. The Blue Coat Hospital founded by Charles II. with a charter, and grant of the ground for same, originally stood in Queen-street. The annual income of this institution, amounting to about £4000, is, according to the intention of its founder, appropri- ated to the maintaining, clothing, educating, and ap- prenticing the sons of deceased or reduced Protestant freemen; many of whom have, from time to time, attained a very high and useful position in society. Nearly opposite the south end of this building, at the corner of Hendrick-street, is situated the Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, ercted on the site of a former chapel founded in 1740. Proceeding southward through a narrow street or lane-way Barrack-street is immediately reached, and southward still is Ellis’s Quay; where will be had a view of the new bridge just erected on the site of that called BLOODY BRIDGE, From a number of apprentices having, in the year 1761, assembled themselves together intending to break down the wooden bridge, erected in the previous year ; but on twenty of them having been arrested and committed to the Castle, and on a guard of soldiers carrying them to bridewell, they were rescued, and four of them killed in the fray. Proceeding eastward along the quay, a fine view is had of the terminus of the Great Southern and West- ern Railway in front, with Stevens’ and Swift’s hospi- tals at its south, and on the left, at the end of Pembroke Quay, are the ROYAL BARRACKS, Erected in 1706, in the reign of Queen Anne, and con- 34 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. sidered to be the largest and most complete in Europe These extensive buildings consist of five squares ; three of which are in continuation fronting the south. From the highway, along the ornamentally railed in Esplanade, j which is a continuation of the quays, a distinct view is l obtained of the three front squares, which extend from east to west about a thousand feet. The Palatine square lies to the north, and is the handsomest of all ; having four uniform sides built of mountain granite, and occu- pying an area of 314 feet long by 202 feet broad. r J he whole buildings stand on elevated ground ; they are capable of accommodating 2500 men and 460 horses ; and ef their beauty and excellent arrangement further comment is unnecessary In the upper end of the esplanade is a trophy lately erected, consisting of four large pieces of cannon, two mortars, and five piles of balls taken during the Crimean war. Immediately opposite the north entrance to the barracks on Arbour Hill are the military chapel and prison ; but, as these lie off the direct route, we reccom- mend the tourist to continue his course forward until he arrives at Park-gate street, at the top of which is the principal entrance to THE PHCENIX PARK, Which is universally admitted to be the grandest and most extensive city enclosure in Europe. It contains 1754 acres — and its highly improved condition and undulating situation, with the diversity of its scenery, render it beautiful beyond description. On entering this delightful retreat the first object that presents itself, is THE WELLINGTON TESTIMONIAL, A stupendous obelisk of granite 205 feet high, rising from an empanneled pedestal 57 feet square, by 24 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 35 feet high, supported by a graduated platform of four flights of steps 120 feet square. This tribute of national gratitude, was erected in 1817, at an expense of £20,000 raised by subscriptions of the inhabitants of Dublin to commemorate the achievements of their fellow citizen the Duke of Wellington — upon the four fronts of the obelisk are inscribed the many victories achieved by this great Irish Warrior, from his first career in India, to the battle of Waterloo, the latter being until lately, for same unaccountable reason, omitted. The following is the order in which they appear, viz. (west) Conungeel, Poonah, Amednagur, Assaye, Argaum, Gawilglmr, Monkaseer, (north) Talavera, Fuentes, d’Oner, Ciudad Rodrigo, Badaj os, Salamanca, Vittoria, Pyrenees, (south) Rolica, Vimiera, Oporto, Busaco, Torres Vedras, Redinha, Sabugal, (east) Bidassoa,Nivelle, Nive, Adour, Orthes, Tarbes, Toulouse. This testimonial has lately undergone some important alterations, the unsightly pedestal at the east-front which was originally intended for an equestrian statue of the Duke, having been removed in the year 1861, and the pedestal on which the column stands having been greatly beautified by the addition of four large devises in bas-relief, executed by celebrated artists. On the pannel of the west-front of the pedestal is a grand representation of this great warrior at the battle of Seringapatam executed by Kirk, a Dublin artist. * On the north the battle of Waterloo by Farrell of Dublin. On the south is the passing of the Emancipa- tion Act, of 1829; the modeling of this subject was commenced by the celebrated Hogan a native of Cork, but that great artist dying during the progress of the work, it was carried by young Hogan to Rome, and there completed by Benzoni an Italian, assisted by the former. On the east is a beautiful group of wreath HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 36 work, of oak leaves, encircling a ducal crown, with the following inscription composed by the Marquis of Wellesley, in Latin and English. “ Asia and Europe, saved by thee proclaim” “Invincible in War thy deathless name;” “ Now round thy brow the civic oak we twine,” “That every earthly glory may be thine.” From this as well as other points in this extensive park, may be had some delightful views of the city and southern district of country, extending to the Dublin mountains. Amongst the many objects of interest to be observed from these points, may be remarked the Royal Hospital of Kilmainham, on an equally elevated situation. In the intervening space in the hollow, runs the river Liffey, the windings of which, for a considerable length, with a fine bridge of a single arch of 104 feet span, and very handsome construction, add greatly to the beauty of the scene. Returning to the north-east angle of this Park, and within about 20 perches of the gate entrance, stands THE ROYAL MILITARY INFIRMARY, A substantial structure of granite, consisting of a centre and wings, the centre being surmounted by a clock tower and cupola. The first stone of this most useful building, was laid on the 17th August 1786, by the Duke of Rutland attended by general Pitt, Com- mander of the Forces. It was completed in 1788 at an expense, of £9000, Mr. William Gibson being the architect. Should the Tourist feel disposed to prolong his exploration of this extensive park, he will find many objects deserving his attention, amongst which, are the Zoological Gardens, the Vice Regal, and Chief and XJnder-Secretary’s lodge’s, Hibernian School, &c. a visit HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 37 to each, or any of which, will repay him for the time so spent, hut as the portion of the day now remaining after visiting the places already described will be scarce- ly sufficient for this purpose, and as having already seen every object deserving notice in the north side, we shall conduct him through the south, into the city, first pass- ing over the Liffey by the KING'S BRIDGE erected in 1821, to commemorate the visit of his late Majesty King George the IV. adjoining which, is THE KING’S BRIDGE STATION, The Dublin terminus of the Great Southern and Western Railway, the most spacious building of this class in this city. It presents a highly decorated front of cut granite, three stories high, and about 100 feet long. The basement story is composed of rusticated work with cornices ; the second is ornamented with Corinthian pillars between which are handsome windows with pediments, having at their bases a very fine balcony. At either side are beautiful and exactly similar cupolas, which, with the large range of offices and pizzas, on the south, through which is the public entrance, from a very beautiful and well arranged station. Opposite the south end of the building is STEVENS’ HOSPITAL, Erected in 1720-33 from the bequest of Dr. Stevens. A quadragular building 233 feet by 204 feet, enclosing a court surrounded by a piazza with a covered gallery. The entrance is through a gateway in the eastern front, over which is a cupola with bell and clock. Immediately to the east of this, is SWIFTS LUNATIC HOSPITAL, Founded by the well known clergyman of this name, who bequeathed upwards of £10,000 for the purpose. 38 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. It consists of a granite front 150 feet long, and two stories high, with wings; the grounds attached are tastefully planted and well cultivated by the patients. A melancholy circumstance connected with the history of this valuable institution, is, that its founder became a fit subject for admittance, and closed his earthly career herein. South of this on an elevated position, is THE ROYAL HOSPITAL, KILMAINHAM, Erected for the accomodation of old and infirm soldiers, from designs of Sir Christopher Wren, in 1684. This extensive and truly national building covers a square of 250 feet, presenting four good fronts, the principal of which is that facing the Phoenix Park. It consists of the chapel, great dining hall, and Governors House, and is built of granite, while the others are of brick. The chapel which is situate at the east-end of this front, measures 70 long, by forty feet wide, the communion table of which is composed of carved Irish oak, with a highly enriched ceiling and an ornamental gothic window, is considered one of the most beautiful apart- ments in the city. The dining hall in the middle is 100 feet long, by 50 feet wade, and is decorated with guns, bayonets, and other weapons of destruction. This hall is also decorated with fine portraits of King Charles II. the founder of the hospital, King William III. Queens Mary, Anne, the Duke of Devonshire, and seventeen * ; other pesons of distinction. The Governors residence R forms the west-part of this front, in which is a project- ing centre, decorated with four Corinthian pilasters, and a pediment. In this is a doorway likewise adorned with pilasters and a cemicircular pediment, above which are the arms of the Duke of Ormond, through whose exertions the Hospital was founded. From this centre , rises a steeple, the lower story of which is a square n HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 39 tower with an arched window on each side, crowned with a heavy entablature, and an urn at each angle. The second division contains a clock, above which rises a spire which contributes to the beauty of the whole building. This Hospital was erected on the site of a religious establishment called the “ Priory of John the Baptist of Kilmainham,” for old and infirm soldiers. Though this Hospital was originally built to accommodate 400 men, there are at present only ISO inmates in it, exclusive of the various officers and governor, who is also the Com- mander of the Forces in Ireland. The building stands on sixty-four acres of land, which is highly improved. The men are most comfortably lodged and fed, and each is allowed eight pence per week in lieu of his pension, which is surrendered on being admitted to the Hospital. Returning through James’s-street, which lies to the south-east, on the right, will be passed the South Dublin Union Workhouse, formerly the Foundling Hospital ; but as this establishment possesses very little interest beyond any of the other similar abodes of wretchedness throughout this country, we would recom- mend the Tourist to pursue his course directly through this street, noticing JAMES’S CHURCH, A beautiful and commodious edifice, with a very orna- mental tower and spire, erected in the years 1860-61, chiefly by the liberal subscriptions of the parishioners, a grant from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, and donations from several noblemen and others interested in the well-being of the city. A little to the east, on the south side, is the New Roman Catholic Chapel, a large massive building, well suited for the purposes for which it was erected. c 40 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. Continuing eastward, at the termination of James’s- street, on the south side, is the extensive and celebrated BREWERY OF MESSRS. GUINNESS & CO. Which will be found interesting to the Tourist, not only on account of its world-wide reputation, as the manufactory of the best porter in Europe, but also on account of its noble minded proprietors, whose generous contributions to every valuable institution in the city, and especially that of its present owner, wdiose munifi- cent gift of £40,000 for re-building the decayed walls of Patrick’s Cathedral, in the present year, will in coming ages form an important feature in the history of the city of Dublin. East of this, in Thomas- street, is CATHERINE’S CHURCH, Erected in 1769, at an expense of £7000, on the site of a Roman Catholic Establishment, bearing the same name, originally built in 1105. The front is of cut granite, in the Doric order, having four columns with an enriched entablature surmounted by a pediment. The entablature is continued the entire length of the front, and is supported at each extremity by two pilasters. In the centre is an Ionic arched door, with a circular pediment, and between the columnsand pilasters are two sets of circular headed windows — the interior is commodious, and the communion table is decorated by composite columns, and stucco ornaments. As the first day’s tour will probably be coming to a close at this point, and as the other places of interest will be best seen by commencing at College-green, we recommend the Tourist to proceed through Audoen’s Arch, at the end of High-street, when he will pass HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 41 under the only remnant now in existence o£ the old walls of Dublin, then on through Cook-street into Winetavern-street, and along the quays where .he will again get a fine view of the Four Courts, and opposite Essex Bridge, that of THE PRESBYTERIAN CHAPEL, A very ornamental structure of cut limestone in the Gothic style of architecture with towers and pinacles, erected by subscriptions in 1845, the greater amount having been contributed by the late Mrs. Magee, who was also a member of this congregation, which is con- nected with the General Assembly. The first meeting house in connection with this body was erected about the year 1707, on a plot of ground called u Usher’s Garden” on the western extremity of a passage then called “ Meeting House Yard.” It has had many talented men amongst its clergy from the above time, amongst which might be mentioned, the name of Mr. Robert M’Master, “ author of an essay, published in 1731, to prove that the 25th of December is not the anniversary of Christ’s Nativity, and that the keeping of that day, and the general mode of its observance, are highly dishonorable to the name of the Redeemer.” From Essex Bridge may be had several fine views, especially that looking up Parliament-street, to the south, which is terminatedby the principal frontof the City Hall. Assuming that the Tourist is now commencing his second day’s exploration of our city, we first direct his attention, to THE BANK OF IRELAND, (Formerly the Parliament House.) Erected on the site of Chichester House. The first c 2 42 HANDBOOK Of DUBLIN. stone having been laid on the 3rd February, 1728, and completed in 1739, and with the subsequent additions and improvements cost altogether, a sum exceeding £ 100 , 000 . Though it is not our object in this -work to go into lengthened historical or descriptive details of the many edifices for the beauty of which our city is justly celebrated, yet we are obliged in the present, as in a few other instances, to extend our observations beyond the limits originally intended, conceiving that we would be doing an injustice to our readers, as well as to the character of these noble edifices, did we not give something more than a passing notice of each. The following extract is from a most valuable work published in 1793, by an English artist of known reputa- tion. “The Parliament House of Ireland is, notwithstand- ing the several fine pieces of architecture since raised, the noblest structure Dublin has to boast; and it is no hyperbole to advance, that this edifice, in the entire, is the grandest, most convenient, and most extensive of the kind in Europe. — The Portico is without any of the usual architectural decorations, having neither statue, vase, bas-relief tablet, sculptured keystone, or sunk panel to enrich it ; it derives all its beauty from a single impulse of art ; and is one of the few instances of form only, expressing true symmetry. — It has been with many the subject of consideration, whether it would not have been rendered still more pleasing, had the dado of the pedestal above the entablature been perfor- ated, and balusters placed in the openings, but those of best taste have been decidedly of opinion it is best as the architect has put it out of his hands. — This noble structure is situated in College-green, and is placed nearly at right angles with the west front of the College. The contiguity of two such structures, give a grandeur HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 43 of scene that would do honour to the first city in Europe. “ The inside of this admirable building corresponds in every respect with the majesty of its external appearance. The middle door, under the portico, leads directly into the Commons House, passing through a great hall, called the Court of Requests, where people assemble during the sittings of Parliament, sometimes large deputations of them with, and attending petitions before the house. The Commons room is truly deserving of admiration. Its form is circular, fifty -five feet in, diameter, inscribed in a square. The seats whereon the members sit are disposed around the centre of the room in concentric circles, one rising above another. About fifteen feet above the level of the floor, on a cylindrical base- ment, are disposed sixteen Corinthian columns sup- porting a rich hemispherical dome, which crowns the whole. A narrow gallery for the public, about five feet broad, with very convenient seats, is fitted up, with a balustrade in front below the pillars. The appearance of the house assembled below, from the gallery, corresponds with its importance, and pre- sents a dignity, that must be seen to be felt; the strength of the orators eloquence receives additional force from the construction of the place, and the vibra- tion in the dome. All around the Commons Room is a beautiful corridor, which communicates by three doors into the house, and to all the apartments attendant thereon, which are conveniently disposed about, for committee rooms, clerks, coffee rooms, &c. “ The House of Lords is situated to the right of the Commons, and is also a noble apartment ; the body is forty feet long, by thirty feet wide, in addition to which, at the upper end, is a circular recess thirteen feet deep, like a large niche, wherein the throne is placed, under a rich canopy of crimson velvet ; and at the lower end is the bar, twenty feet square. The room is ornamented 44 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. at each end with Corinthian columns, with niches between ; the entablature of the order goes round the room, which is covered with a rich trunk ceiling. On the two long sides of the room, are two large pieces of tapestry, now rather decayed ; one represents the famous battle of the Boyne, and the other that of the seige of Derry. Here again, the House assembled from below the bar, a high scene of picturesque grandeur is pre- sented, and the viceroy on the throne, appears with more splendour than his majesty himself on the throne of England.” In 1785, the eastern front with some extra rooms were added at an expense of £25,000, under the super- intendence of Mr. James Gandon, which adds greatly to the exterior beauty of the whole building. A noble portico of six Corinthian columns three feet six inches in diameter, surmounted by a handsome pediment, now forms the east front ; the entablature of the old portico is continued round the new, and both are connected by a screen wall of the same height as the entire building, enriched with dressed niches and a rusticated base- ment. The western portion of this structure was further improved by the addition of a portico of four Ionic columns surmounted by a pediment attached to the old portico by a colonade of the same order and extent as the columns of the portico, twelve feet from the wall. The colonade gives an appearance of great grandeur to the building, but deprives it of its distinguishing fea- tures, which the plain screen wall to the east gives to the porticoes. This addition was erected by Mr. Robert Parke, Architect, in 1792, at a cost of £25,396. Since the purchase of this edifice by the Bank of Ireland, which was effected after the passing of the act of union in 1800, for the sum of £40,000, and an annual rent of £240 a year, many alterations in the interior HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 45 have taken place, and the exterior has been also much beautified. On the tympanum in front are the Royal Arms, and on its apex, a figure of Hibernia, with Commerce on the left, and Fidelity on the right. The pediment over the east front is also ornamented with statutes of Fortitude, Justice and Liberty. — The House of Lords re- mains unaltered and in it are to be seen the two pieces of tapestry already described, together with a statue of his late Majesty King George III., executed at an expense of £2,000 : these with a most perfect model of the Bank, together with the printing office, form the most inte- resting objects in the interior of the building, for the inspection of the latter only, an order from the Secre- tary, or one of the directors is necessary. Opposite the west front in Foster-place is situated THE ROYAL BANK, Founded in 1836, on the joint-stock principle, and from its superior arrangements, and the courtesyand judgment of its directors and managers, is now, one of the most flourishing establishments in the British Dominions. — For the encreased business of this bank, the premises at its rere in Anglesea-street, with those adjoining in Foster-place, were added in 1 860, and its interior greatly beautified : it now presents one of the richest and most ornamental apartments in the city, and will be found well worthy of a visit. Opposite Foster-place, at the termination of Church- lane, are the ruins of Andrew’s Church, a very old establishment, called from its shape, the Round Church. This building was destroyed by fire in 1860, and is intended to be rebuilt after the continental style of architecture, a circumstance which has given great offence to some of the parishioners. Opposite to Foster-place also, in College-green, is the 46 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. EQUESTRIAN STATUE OF KING WILLIAM III. Erected in bronze lead by the citizens of Dublin in 1 701 , grateful commemoration of their deliverance from tyranny and slavery by the victory of that monarch over James the II. at the battle of the Boyne. — It was the custom for over a century to paint this statue with the most glaring colours, and to decorate it with orange ribbons, by reason of which the bitterest feelings existed between the lower classes of Roman Catholics, and an equally ignorant class of Protestants, who, on certain days, walked in procession round the pedestal, but these absurd practices have happily vanished before the light of knowledge and civilization, and the statue of the worthy monarch, now rests as safely and unmolested in College-green, as that of one of Irelands latest poets, THOMAS MOORE, ESQ. which stands on a square pedestal in College-street, opposite the east front of the Bank of Ireland, and the north of Trinity College. Looking eastward along College-green an excellent view is obtained of the principal front of TRINITY COLLEGE. Erected in 1591, on the site of a dissolved monastic establishment, called All Hallows,” situated on Hoggin Green, now called College Green. It was founded to “ endure for ever,” by Queen Elizabeth, “ for the instruction of youth in the arts and sciences.” The west front of the College which faces Dame- street presents a grand range of building, and was, with a great part of the west court, erected in the year 1759 by grants from Parliament, amounting to £40,000. Through this front is the public entrance to the College, and the principal buildings in the HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 47 quadrangle, with the beautiful museums lately erected at an expense of £28,000, in which all the Irish marbles are brought into use, are best described by the' annexed engravings. In the Museum of Oxford, also erected by Sir Thomas Deane, Son, and Woodward, at an ex- pense of £60,000, thirteen different kinds of Irish marbles have been used, thereby illustrating the prac- tical uses of these marbles. The Library, which was erected in 1732, forms the south side of the square, and covers a space of 259 feet in length by 50 broad. It is built of portland stone, and supported on arches forming piazzas to the north and south, and altogether presents a very grand ap- pearance ; it has lately been re-roofed and altered, so as to give accommodation to double the number of books. These alterations have been carried out under the superintendence, and from the designs, of Sir Thomas Deane, Son, and Woodward, at an expense of about £10,000 ; and the building, which is ceiled with oak, now forms one of the finest libraries in Europe. The buildings running parallel, and at right angles to the east end of the Library, are those originally built in the reign of Queen Elizabeth. They are composed of brick work, subsequently plastered, and raised two stories high, with a third in the roof. To the east and south of the College is the Park, which occupies an area of about 9 acres, greatly orna- mented by some fine grown trees, and enclosed on the south side, by a very high and ornamental railing, separating it from Nassau-street, Leinster-street, &c. In the eastern extremity of the Park is the Anatomy House, which contains some very wonderful skeletons, amongst which may be seen that of M‘Grath, an Irish giant, who died at the age of twenty, when lie attained the incredible height of nine feet. The Museum which is over the vestibule, within the grateway fronting Dame-street, and to which respect- c 3 48 HANDBOOK OP DUBLIN. able persons are permitted on presenting their cards, is a beautiful room 60 feet long by 40 feet wide, in it are many valuable curiosities, including a copy of the Khoran and an ancient Irish Harp, for some time sup- posed to have belonged to Brian Boru, Monarch of Ireland, who was slain at the memorable Battle of Clontarf, after his defeat of the Danes in 1014. It is asserted by ancient writers, that there were schools of literature in Ireland, so early as the times of Paganism, and that they w r ere established there by a colony of Grecians, which came from the seige of Troy, and many words of Greek extraction still remain- ing in the Irish language, seem to countenance this opinion, but though this may appear doubtful, it is not improbable that the Druids, who were the priests or clergy of Ireland, at that time, had seminaries for the instruction of youth in their religious mysteries. What credit may be due to these authorities it is hard to determine, however, they universally agree that Ollamh Fodhla King of Ireland, was so great a patron of learning, that in the year of the world, 3236, he erected, at his own charge, a magnificent Hall at Tarah, called Muir-Ollomham, or “ The Walls of the Bards,” as a place of learning for the literati of his kingdom. Whatever may have been the state of the Irish seminaries at this period, they flourished in the ages when Paganism and Christianity became amalgamated, particularly in the seventh and eighth centuries. In 1311 John Leech, Archbishop of Dublin, pro- cured a bull from Pope Clement V., to establish a University at Dublin, but on his death the project was abandoned. It was again attempted in 1320, by Alexander de Bickner, who having obtained from Pope John XXII. a confirmation of the former bull, appointed a set of statutes to be observed by the University, which was erected in Patricks Church, but for want of funds it was again abandoned. •TY COLLEGE Q' jaI HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 49 Another attempt was made in a Parliament at Dublin, in 1568, but this also failed. In 1585 Sir John Perrott, the Lord Deputy, observing learning to be at a low ebb for want of seminaries of good literature, endeavoured to establish two universities in Dublin, and to lay their foundation in the dissolution of Patrick’s Cathedral. The reasons he urged for carrying out this work, amongst others are — “ that there being two Cathedrals in Dublin, this dedicated to Patrick, and the other to the name of Christ, that Patrick’s was held in more superstitious reputation than the other, and therefore ought to dissolved.” This project was defeated by Archbishop Loftus, who was also Lord Chancellor at the time, and whose motives in oppo- sing the Lord Deputies scheme was attributed to private views — “ as being interested in the livings of Patrick’s, by leases, and other estates thereof, granted either to himself, his kinsmen, or children.” Loftus, however, soon despatched Henry Usher, afterwards Archbishop of Armagh, to petition Queen Elizabeth for her Royal Charter, and for a mortmain license for the land, on which stood the Monastery called 66 All Hallows,” granted by King Henry the VIII. to the citizens of Dublin, and the Queen readily granted the petition, by warrant, dated 29th December, 1591, when the work was commenced with great vigour, and opened for the admission of students on the 1st January, 1593. Opposite the Bank of Ireland, on the south side of College Green, is The National Bank, a very handsome building of cut granite, erected in 1842 on the site of the Royal Arcade, destroyed by fire on the 25th April, 1837. On the north side of College Green, nearly opposite Trinity-street, is The Chamber of Com- merce, founded on the 15th November, 1820, for the protection and promotion of the manufacturing and commercial interests of the city, and kingdom in general. 50 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. At its annual meetings, its officers, which consist of a president, four vice presidents, two secretaries, and council of twenty-one, are elected. These representa- tives hold intercourse, whenever it may he required, with the officers of the Crown, in the name and behalf of the whole body. Continuing eastward the visitor quickly arrives at THE CITY HALL, (Formerly known as the Royal Exchange,) Erected in 1779, at an expense of £40,000, from the designs of Mr. Thomas Cooley. This beautiful edifice is situated at the north east angle of the Castle, where stood Dame-gate about three centuries ago, and adds considerably to the grandeur of the approach to the Viceregal residence ; and from the combined advantages of its situation, beautiful form, and fine display of architectural elegance, may be looked upon as one of the principal ornaments of the city. The form of the building is that of a square of some- thing more than 1 00 feet, with a handsome dome in the centre fifty-five feet in diameter. It presents three fronts to view, each of which are richly decorated in the Corinthian style. The two principal, the north and west, have each a fine portico of pillars thirty-seven feet high; the third front is in the narrow passage called Exchange-court. The whole of this building within as well as without is built of Portland stone. Of the interior the following description is given in a work published by a celebrated English artist in 1792. “ On entering the edifice, the attention is immediately called to many conspicuous beauties; but above all, to the general form. Twelve fluted pillars of the compo- site order, thirty-two feet high, are circularly disposed in the centre of a square area, covered by a highly arched entablature, above which is a beautiful cylindrical lan- tern, about ten feet high, perforated by twelve circular HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 51 windows, ornamented with festoons of laurel leaves ; the whole crowned with a handsome spherical dome, divided into hexagonal compartments, enriched and well propor- tioned ; and lighted from the centre by a large circular sky-light. On each side the twelve columns, which sup- port the dome, are impost pilasters of the Ionic order ; the same as those which appear on the outside of the building; covered with a fluted frieze and enriched cornice. The side walls of the square are covered with a flat ceiling, the height of the impost pilasters ; with enriched soffits from the pilasters in the centre to others opposite them against the wall. At each end, within, of the north front, is a handsome oval stone staircase, lighted by oval lanterns, in highly enriched oval ceilings ; by which is access to the coffee and other rooms, disposed around the cylinder of the Dome, over the ambulatory below. To the north front is the Coffee- room, which is an excellent apartment, extending from one stair-case to the other, lighted by three windows, between the pillars of the portico, and by two oval lanterns in a coved ceiling, richly ornamented in stucco on colored grounds. “ Opposite the north entrance, between two of the pil- lars, which support the dome, is an excellent statue of his late majesty, George III. in a Roman military habit, placed on a white marble pedestal, cast in bronze by J. VanNost; it was presented to the merchants of Dublin by the Earl of Northumberland, when Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, to be placed in the Exchange ; and cost 700 guineas. In a niche in the wall of the west stair-case is a fine marble statue of the late Dr. Charles Lucas, holding Magna-charta in his hand, stand- ing on a pedestal, whereon is represented Liberty in bas- relief: it is esteemed an excellent piece of art, executed by Mr. Edward Smith, a native of Ireland; the expense was defrayed by a number of gentlemen, friends of the deceased patriot. — Under the Exchange did the memor- 52 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. able volunteers of Ireland most commonly muster for reviews, or campaigns, whose noble exertions will be remembered to their honor, while the country experi- ences the advantages arising from a free trade, and abrogation of such acts as were otherwise inimical to the rights of a free people ; from the clang of arms, the vibrating dome caught the generous flame, and re-echoed the enlivening sound of liberty.” In addition to the statues already mentioned three others have since been added — one of Henry Grattan by Chantry, one of Thomas Drummond, late Chief Secretary for Ireland, by Hogan, and another by the same artist of the patriot Daniel O’Connell, whose first public speech was delivered in the Royal Exchange, on the 13th January 1800, at a meeting of Roman Catholics convened to protest against the union of Ireland with Great Brittain. Immediately adjoining the site of the City Hall, once stood a religious establishment named the “ Church of the Lady of the Dames,” or “ Mary Le Dame,” which near the end of the sixteenth century passed into the hands of Richard Boyle, first Earl of Cork, who erected thereon a mansion subsequently known as Cork House, from which the adjacent locality has acquired the name of Cork Hill. Of the extent of this adventurer’s kit, the following description by himself will be found rather amusing : — “ It pleased the Almighty by His divine providence, to take me I may say, just as it were by the hand, and lead me into Ireland, where I happily arrived at Dublin in Midsummer eve, the 23rd June, 1588. All my wealth being then £27 3s. in money, and two tokens, which my mother had formerly given me, viz., a diamond ring which I have ever since, and still do wear, and a bracelet of gold, worth about £10; a taffety doublet, cut with and upon taffety ; a pair of black velvet m HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN, 53 breeches leased ; a new Milan fustian suit leased, and cut upon taffety; two cloaks; competent linen and necessaries ; with my rapier and dagger.’’ Boyle after a few years began to acquire property with a rapidity which, even in these times of forfeiture and embezzlement, excited the suspicions and jealousy of the officials of the Irish Government, from whose charges he contrived to acquit himself ; — yet “it cannot be doubted that the greater part of his vast estate de- served the title of a hastily gotten and suspiciously kept fortune.” “ I am very confident” writes Sir Christopher Wandesford, “ that since the suppression of Abbeys, no one man in either kingdoms hath so violently, so frequently, laid profane hands, hands of power, upon the Church and her possessions, (even almost to demolition where he hath come,) as this bold Earl of Cork.” “ He is” says another writer, “suspected of having compassed the death of Atherton, Bishop of Waterford, the lands belonging to which see, are still held by the Earl’s representatives ; and, had not Strafford been hurried to the block, there can be little doubt that he would have essayed to wrest from Boyle the church property which he had embezzled.” Opposite the west front of the City Hall, on elevated ground, stands THE HIBERNIAN BANK, Formerly the Banking Establishment of Gleadue and Company, founded nearly a century previous to the formation of the Hibernian Joint Stock Company in 1825. This building presents two pleasing fronts, the eastern one being ornamented by a portico supported by pillars ; opposite to the south front in Castle-street, on the site of a portion of the old City Wall, stands MESSRS. LA TOUCHE’S BANK, The oldest in Ireland. The original Firm of La 54 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. Touclie and Kane was formed about the beginning of the last century, and the present edifice, to which the Bank was removed in 1735, was erected by David La Touche, Esq., jun. The first of this family who came over to Ireland, was an officer in Calimotte’s regiment of French refugees, in the service of William III., who, after the revolution, entered into trade, and became a banker. On the foundation of the Bank of Ireland, in 1783, David La Touche, jun., was selected its first governor, and of the five of this family who sat in Parliament at the period of the union, only one voted in favor of the measure. During the panic of 1778, Messrs. La Touche, on the application of the Marquis of Buckingham, then Lord Lieutenant, advanced a loan of twenty, (some of the present family say fifty) thousand pounds, which, “ not only upheld the shattered credit of the government, but prevented the dissolution of the state.” On this sum, which afforded only temporary relief, being exhausted, the Irish Government solicited a second loan, but Messrs. La Touche declined making any further advances on such security, owing to which a proposed encampment of troops had to be abandoned for want of funds. Between the City Hall and Messrs. La Touche’s Bank, is the grand entrance to THE CASTLE, Erected as a citadel and “ depository for the King’s treasure” about the year 1220, by order of King John, who about the same period divided such part of the kingdom as was in his possession, into counties, erected courts of judicature in Dublin, and appointed judges, circuits, and corporations as in England. Previous to the middle of the sixteenth century, the chief governor alternately held his court at the Bishop’s Palace, Thomas Court, and more frequently at the castle of Kilmainham, HANDBOOK O F DUBLIN. 55 but on the latter place having been much damaged bv a tempest, Queen Elizabeth, in the year 1560, ordered the castle of Dublin to be fitted up as a place for her Lieutenants or Deputies to live in, which was accord- ingly commenced, and completed by Sir Henry Sidney, in 1567, from which time it has continued to be used as the town residence of the Viceroy. The Castle is divided into two courts known as the upper and lower Castle yards, the former of which is the principal, and contains the state and private apart- ments of the Lord Lieutenant. This Court forms a quadrangle, 280 feet long, by 130 feet broad; a good idea of the architecture and effect of the whole is con- veyed by the annexed engraving. The gateway on the rioht, which now occupies the site of the ancient draw- bridge, is the principal entrance from the street, over it is a colossel statue of justice, on the corresponding one is a statue of Fortitude. The colonnade on the opposite side, is the entrance to the Viceregal residence, which occupies the whole length of the south side. In the presence chamber over the colonnade, are the Throne and Canopy, which are covered with crimson velvet, richly ornamented with gold lace and carved work, gilt, and from a richly ornamented stucco ceiling hangs a grand lustre of native manufacture, purchased by the Duke of Rutland at an expense of £227. The object which commands particular attention is the Ball room, commonly called Patrick’s Hall, this is a stately apartment, 82 feet long, 41 feet broad, and 38 feet high. The ceiling of this is divided into three compartments, a circle in the centre, with an oblong rectangle at each end. In the circle is represented His Majesty King George III., supported by liberty and justice, and in one of the rectangles, Patrick preaching to the native Irish, with Henry II. seated under a canopy, 56 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. receiving the submission of the Irish chieftains, in 1172 ; the whole are designed with a greatness of composition, correctness of drawing, and brilliancy of colouring. To the rere of the Viceroy’s apartments is a neat lawn, called the castle garden, which communicates with the building by a flight of steps from the terrace before the garden front. The lower Castle yard is entered from the upper by an arched carriageway. In this court are the quarters of the Aides-de-camps, and the offices of the Police Commissioners, — on the right is the Cha'pel Royal , opened on the 25th December, 1814; it was erected at an expense of £42,000, by Francis Johnson, Esq., Architect, and a description of its external appearance will be unnecessary, as the annexed engraving will con- vey a better idea of its beauty. The interior of the chapel is executed in a style of grandeur consistent with the State. The ceiling is composed of groined arches, springing from grotesque heads, modelled in stucco, and the stained glass window in the east end, over the communion table, is not sur- passed by those in many of the most gorgeous religious establishments on the continent. The panels of the gallery and pews are of carved Irish oak. On the gallery to the right is the throne of the Lord Lieute- nant, and opposite to it, is that of the Bishop of Dublin In the centre panel on front of the Organ Gallery, are the Royal arms, richly carved; on either side are those of the Dukes of Bedford and Richmond, and from these are alternately placed the arms of the Viceroys of Ire- land from the earliest period. Between the chapel and the Vice-Regal residence, there is a passage through the Wardrobe Tower, — so called from its having been the repository for the Royal Robes, the Cap of Maintenance, and other furniture of state. Near the west end of this JW% HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 57 court are the Ordnance Office and Arsenal, containing arms for 60,000 men. Passing out of the Castle yard through the western gate, near the place last described and turning immediately to the right, the passage com- monly known as the Castle steps is ascended, and pro- ceeding by a narrow passage called Hoey Vcourt to the left, the visitor will feel interested in hearing that the angle on the south side of this now dilapidated, but once respectable courtway is the site of the BIRTH-PLACE OF DEAN SWIFT, Whose eccentricities and misapplied talents are too extensively known to require description. — Continuing through this (Hoey’s-court) into Werburgh-street, and turning to the north the building on the right is WERBURGH’S CHURCH, Erected on the site of a former building which existed from a very early period, but of which the first notice occurs in the annals of Dublin in 1301, when it was, with a great part of the city, accidentally burned. It was again burned in the year 1754, and repaired in the year 1759, and a steeple, since taken down, added to it in 1768. The principal object deserving remark at present connected with this building, is a very ornamental stained glass window of superior execution, representing some imaginary figures. Immediately across Christ Church-place and in con- tinuation of Werburgh-street is FISHAMBLE STREET. In this street, during the last century, were the resi- dences of many families of distinction, amongst which, 58 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. was that of James Grattan, King’s Counsel, father of the famous Henry Grattan , who was born here, and bap- tized in John’s Church, in 1746. Here also in the reign of Charles I. was the London Tavern, wherein was the office of Joseph Darner, a noted usurer, described by a contemporary as follows : — “He walked the streets and wore a threadbare cloak, He dined and supped at charge of other folk, And by his looks, had he held out his palms, He might be thought an object fit for alms. So, to the poor if he refused his pelf, He used them full as kindly as himself. Where’er he went he never saw his betters ; Lords, knights, and squires, were all his humble debtors. And under hand and seal, the Irish nation Were forced to owe to him their obligation. Oh ! London Tavern, thou hast lost a friend, Tho’ in thy walls he never did farthing spend. He touched the pence, when others touched the pot, The hand that signed the mortgage paid the shot.” Of the history of this remarkable individual little has been known, though the “ riches of Darner” has long been proverbial in Ireland. — Having entered into the service of Cromwell, who appointed him to the command of a troop of horse, he came over to this country, and subsequently carried on the more profitable trade of a money-lender. On Cromwell’s death he retired from his former profession, but deeming it unsafe to reside in England owing to his former connection with Cromwell, he sold some of his property in Somersetshire and Dor- setshire, and availing himself of the cheapness of land in Ireland, he purchased large estates in Kilkenny, Tipperary, and Queen’s County. HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 59 Having never married he bequeathed his property in Ireland to John Damer, eldest son of his brother George, who also died unmarried — -agreeably to the will of his relative, which desired that he should reside on the lands left him in Ireland, John Damer erected a magnificent court, which he, however, never completed, within two miles of the town of Tipperary.- — He also colonized his estates there, with a number of Scotch Protestants, whom he never raised above the grade of labourers or servants ; but some of wdrose descendants, notwithstand- ing, have, by their industry and tliriftiness, raised them- selves to a position of respectability, and are now possessed of considerable wealth in that neighbourhood. John Damer was like his relative, very parsimonious, but of simple and retired habits, approaching very nearly to monkishness. He lived and died on his Tip- perary estate and was buried in the most obscure corner of the cemetery attached to an adjoining church, called Shronehitt , on his own estate, without any monument or other sepulchral indication of his resting place, beyond the usual mound raised from the surplus clay, which is to be seen until the present day. After the death of John Damer, his estates passed into the Portarlington family, a portion of which are at present in possession of the representative of that family. In 1741 the Music Hall, an elegant building, designed by Cassels, architect of Leinster House, was erected by subscriptions ; and in it, on the 23rd of November in the same year, Handel, with great success, commenced a series of musical entertainments, which were attended by the fashion of the city. Returning into Christ’s Church-place, the visitor will immediately arrive at 60 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN, CHRIST’S CHURCH CATHEDRAL, In the year 1038, Sitricus son of Amlave king of the Ostmen of Dublin, and Donat Bishop of Dublin, erected this cathedral, and after the building was finished, Donat erected an episcopal palace near it ; and built Michael’s Chapel, which Richard Talbot some ages afterwards converted into a parochial church. The building was subsequently enlarged by Lawrence Archbishop of Dub- lin, Richard, surnamed Strongbowq Robert Fitzstephens, and Raymond Le Gros, who also built the choir, steeple, and two chapels, the one called Edmund and Mary’s, and the other, Laud’s. During the ages which elapsed between the erection of this building and the reformation, various ecclesiastical changes took place, but these being unin- interesting in the present enlightened age, we omit their insertion here. “ Prior to the Anglo Norman descent,” Mr. Gilbert in his history of Dublin, informs us that “ the cathedral had acquired importance from having in its possession various miraculous relics, together with a wonderful cross, of which Cambrensis, a writer of the twelfth century, has left the following notice : “ 4 In the Church of the Holy Trinity at Dublin, there is a certain cross of great virtue, exhibiting a representa- tion of the countenance of the crucified Saviour, which, in the hearing of several people, opened its mouth and spoke, not many years before the coming of the English ; that is in the time of the Ostmen. — For it happened that one of the citizens, invoked it as the sole witness to a certain contract, but afterwards failing to fulfil his engagement, and constantly refusing to pay the money stipulated to him who had trusted his good faith, he one day invoked and adjured the cross in the church to declare the truth in the presence of many citizens then HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN, 61 standing by, who considered that his appeal was more in jest than in earnest; but when it was thus called upon, the cross bore testimony to the truth.’ “ 4 When the Earl Richard first came with his army to Dublin, the citizens fearing much disaster and misfor- tune, and mistrusting their own strength, prepared to fly by sea, and desired to carry the cross with them to the islands ; but notwithstanding all their most persevering efforts neither by force nor ingenuity could the entire people of the city stir it from its place ; these and many other prodigies and miracles were performed at the first coming of the English, by this most venerable cross.’ “Archbishop John Comyn who succeeded Lorcan O’Tuathal in 1181 having been maltreated by the Judi- ciary Hamo de Valois, went to seek redress from the king, after excommunicating his persecutors, and placing the diocese of Dublin under interdict, ordering the crosses and images in the cathedral to be laid on the ground, and surrounded by thorns, in order to terrify the evil- doers, who however persevered in their course despite the occurrence of the miracle, noticed as follows by Roger de Hovenden : — 4 In the Cathedral Church of Dublin there was a certain cross, bearing engraved upon it a life-like image of Christ, which the Irish and all others held in the greatest veneration; this crucifix, which with the other crosses, was laid upon the ground and surrounded by thorns, appeared on the sixth day to writhe in agony, its face glowing and perspiring as though it had been placed in a fiery furnace, and tears fell from its eyes as if it were weep- ing; and on the sixth h6ur of the same day, there flowed from its right side and its right breast, blood and water, which was carefully preserved by the ministers of the church, who sent an embassy after the archbishop to acquaint him with the occurrences, which were con- 62 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. firmed by the testimony of many venerable men, that they might be laid before the pope.’ 44 In 1177 Earl Strongbow died of a mortification in his foot and was buried with great solemnity in Christ Church in sight of the cross. The same year Vivian the pope’s legate held a synod in Dublin and therein published King Henry’s title to Ireland, and the pope’s ratification of it, denouncing excommunication against all who should withdraw their aliegience from him.” — In the following year “ William Fitz-Aldelm Chief Governor of Ireland removed a relic called Jesus staff from Armagh to Dublin, and deposited it in Christ Church there.” This article 44 was believed to have been presented to Patrick by a hermit residing in an island in the Tuscan Sea, and who was also reported to have received it from Jesus Christ. — It was said to have been covered with gold inlaid with precious stones of great value by Bishop Tassach a disciple of Patrick ; and so highly was it venerated that in Bernard’s time its posses- sor was regarded by the lower orders as the true Bishop of Armagh, and successor of Patrick. — Down to the era of the reformation, witnesses were frequently sworn in Dublin in presence of the Lord Deputy, Chancellor, and other high officers of state, upon the 4 holy Mass* book, and the great relic of Ireland, called Baculum Christi,’ which, however, the late Dr. Lanigan conjec- tured to have been merely the walking stick of Patrick. 44 The Black Book” of Christ Church, 44 records that in 1461, the great eastern window of this cathedral was blown down by a violent tempest, which caused great destruction to the various deeds and relics preserved in the church, breaking the chest which contained the 4 Baculum Jesu’ and other relics ; but the staff was found uninjured on the top of the stones, while the other con- tents of the chest were utterly demolished ; which says HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 63 the writer, ‘ was esteemed a miracle by all who saw it.’ “ During the reign of Henry the VIII. Dr. George Brown, Archbishop! of Dublin, in a letter to Thomas Cromwell in 1538 complained that “ the romish relics and images of both cathedrals took off the common peo- ple from the true worship; but the prior and dean find them so sweet to their gain, that they heed not my words ; therefore send in your Lordship’s next to me, an order more full, and a chide to them and their canons, that they might be removed : let the order be, that the chief governor may assist me in it.” — Immediately after this Archbishop Brown removed the various relics, and publicly burned the “ Staff of Jesus,” which according to the annalist, “ was in Dublin performing miracles from the time of Patrick down to that time, and had been in the hands of Christ w r hile he was among men.” In place of the relics and images so removed Dr. Brown substituted the Lord’s Prayer and the Ten Commandments in gilded frames. — “ Notwithstanding the destruction of the “ Staff of Jesus,” another staff of Patrick was pre- served for more than a century later, as in the unpub- lished proceedings of the Roman Catholic clergy of Meath about 1680; there is a prohibition against any person without license of his ordinary going about with the staff called the staff of Patrick, the veil of Brigid, or the gospels of Column Cille.” — Gilbert’s History of Dublin. In 1212 John Comyn, Archbishop of Dublin, departed this life, and was buried in Christ Church. To him Henry de Londres succeeded and was made Lord Justice of Ireland in 1213. — Of this Henry de Londres we have the following account in the Black Book of the Arch- bishop of Dublin, folio 473, and Cam. Annals of Ireland, 1212. — “ His tenants nicknamed him Schorchbill or D 64 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN, ‘ Scorche-Villeyri' upon the following occasion. He being peaceably installed in his bishopric, summoned all his tenants and farmers at a certain day appointed to make their personal appearance before him, and to bring with them such evidence and writings as they enjoyed their holds by: the tenants at the day appointed appeared, showed their evidences to their landlord, mistrusting nothing; he had no sooner received them, but before their faces, upon a sudden cast them all into the fire, secretly made for that purpose; this fact amazed some that they became silent, moved others to rage, that they regarded neither place nor person, broke into irreverent speeches ‘ Thou an arch- bishop, nay, thou art a scorche-villeyn ; another drew his weapon and said 4 as good for me to kill as be killed, for when my evidences are burned and my living taken away, I am killed.’ The bishop seeing this tumult and the imminent danger, went out at a back door. His chaplains, registers, and summoners were all beaten, and some of them left for dead. They threatened to fire the house over the bishop’s head. Some means was had to pacify them for the present, with promises that all hereafter should be to their own content. Upon this they departed.” In 1 267 great quarrels arose between Foulk de Sand- ford Archbishop of Dublin, and the mayor and citizens, owing to the exactions of the former. — To correct these intolerable abuses the mayor and citizens issued a pro- clamation with a penalty annexed. — “ That citizens should not presume to make their offerings more than four times a year, and restrained the number attending new married people and childbed women to two. — They seized the wax candles carried in procession at funerals which used to be given to the churches, and deposited them in their own halls, leaving only two to the church HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 65 where the person was buried- They ordered that no prelate or ecclesiastical judge within the city shbuld hold plea of usury, or of any crime or cause, except what were matrimonial, or testamentary, and that they should have no cognizance of intestates’ goods, which they ordered to be paid into the exchequer; and further that no citizen, even in causes ecclesiastical, should be obliged to appear in judgment out of the limits of the city. These encroachments on the ecclesiastical authority were highly resisted by the Bishop, who promulgated the sentence of excommuni- cation against them, and put the city under an interdict, to strengthen which, he had recourse to Cardinal Octo- bon, the Pope’s legate, then at London, who on the 18th February sent a commission to the Bishop of Lis- more and Waterford, to denounce the mayor and citizens excommunicated by 4 bell, book, and candle,’ in all places within the city and province of Dublin. — These disputes put the city into a great flame, and in the fol- lowing summer the chief justice and privy counsel interposed in the quarrels, and a composition was effected between the archbishop and citizens, the terms of which relating only to some of the particulars were these : 4 If any citizen committed a public sin, he should for the said offence commute for a sum of money, If he continued in his sin, and that the same were heinous, and public, that then fustigetur , §c. he should be cudgelled about the church. — That for a third offence he should be publicly cudgelled before the processions made to Christ Church, or Patrick’s, and if after this penance he should persist in his sin, that the official of the arch- bishop should give notice of it to the mayor and bailiffs, who should either turn him out of the city, or cudgel him through it. — It was further agreed that a general inquisition should be made once a year through the city after all public sins ; but that no citizen should be drawn G6 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. out of the jurisdiction oi the city, by any official of the archbishop, but should answer within the city before the ordinary jurisdiction. We thought this passage,” writes Harris, “ worth transcribing from the Black Book of the archbishop of Dublin, and the Crede Milie , to shew the practices and penances of those early times, and how little remedy the citizens had by turning reformers.” In 1562 the south wall, roof, and part of the body of the church fell, by which Strongbow’s monument was broken, but the former were rebuilt in the following year, and in 1570 Strongbow’s tomb was repaired by Sir Henry Sidney, Lord Deputy, as may be seen by the following inscription: — THIS : AVNCYENT : MONVMENT : OF : RYCHARD : STRANGBOWE : CALLED : COMES : STRANGVLENSIS : LORD: OF : CHEPSTO : AND : OGNY : THE : FYRST : AND : PRIN- CYPAL : INYADER : OF : IRLAND 1169 : QVI : OBIIT : 1177 : THE : MONYMENT : \TAS : BROCKEN : BY : THE : FALL : OF : the : roff : and : bodye : of : christes : chvrche : IN : ANO : 1562 1 and : SET : VP : agayne : AT : the : CHARGYS : OF : THE : RIGHT : HONORABLE : SR : HENIRI : SYDNEY : KNYGHT : OF : THE : NOBLE : ORDER : L : PRESIDENT : OF : WAILES : L : DEPVTY : OF f IRLAND : 1570. The following extract from a writer of the Sixteenth Century, referring “ to the monument representing a cross legged figure, in chain armour, with another re- cumbent but imperfect statue by its side,” is, with many other valuable extracts, to be found in Mr. Gilbert’s History of Dublin. “ The marbles of the two effigies are of different colours; that which is commonly reputed to be the father’s being black, the son’s grey. — The effigies which were put up for the father being broken all to pieces by HANDBOOK OD DUBLIN. 67 the fall of the church, as af^esaid: the lord deputy caused a monument of the Earl Desmond, which was at Drogheda, to be removed and placed instead of that of Strongbow; so that the son’s is the ancienter of the two. The son’s effigie’s being but from the thighs upwards, occasioned a false story, that his father cut him off in the middle with a sword, but it is a mistake, for it was the fall of the church that broke the other parts of the effigies to pieces, and Strongbow did no more than run his son through the belly, as appears by the monument and the chronicle.” The tenants of the See of Dublin were formerly accustomed to pay their rents on Strong- bow’s tomb, and until the present century, bills and promissory notes were also made payable there. Opposite Strongbow’s tomb is a beautifully executed figure of a female child, sorrowing for the loss of one of the greatest friends of the fatherless and desolate. This monument was erected by the citizens of Dublin of all religious denominations, to commemorate the memory of their fellow citizen Thomas Abbott, Esq., LL.D., who fell a victim to disease in administering to the wants and miseries of the poor. There are many other monuments in this building, but amongst them there is none, whose memory they commemorate, demand such lasting respect, as that of the above pliilantrophic and noble-minded gentleman, Mr. Abbott. West of the cathedral and separated by Michael’s-hill, is Michael’s Church, erected in 1815, on the site of the chapel founded in 1074, by Donat, the first Danish bishop of Dublin. The steeple of this church is the one erected in 1676 Proceeding southward, through Nicholas-street, the Visitor will, in a few minutes, arrive at PATRICK’S CATHEDRAL, The most ancient ecclesiastical establishment in the city. d 2 68 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. Erected in 1190 on the^site of that said to have been founded by Patrick in 448. “ After breaking up the synod of Armagh,” he is said to have “ travelled towards Leinster, and came to Dublin; then known by the name of JBally-Ath-Cliath, where, in a fountain of fine water, he baptized the people, and Alpin, the son of Eochaid, king of the place, near which fountain he built a church, called after him, on the foundation of which, this pile of building was erected by John Cumyn, Archbishop of Dublin.” The form of this cathedral is a cross, placed, as is usual, on account of some superstition connected with these points, in their application to this class of buildings, east and west, in which direction it is 230 feet long, exclusive of a chapel attached to it, at the east end, with which it is nearly 300 feet long, and 150 broad, from the north to the south area of the cross. It has but one principal aisle, with small side aisles, occupying the whole west part of the cross, and is from the west entrance to the choir door, 130 feet long, 75 feet broad, and 77 high ; down the sides of the great aisle, are eight Gothic arches on octagonal piers, which support a timber roof slated. The aisle contains several good monuments ; one erected to the memory of Dr. Edward Smith, Arch- bishop of Dublin, was erected by Van Nost, at an expense of £1500. A neat monument to Dr. Narcissus Marsh, once Archbishop of this see, serves less to commemorate his worth, than a more useful, if not a more lasting monu- ment of him, in a valuable library, which he bequeathed to the public, with maintenance for a librarian. The library is contiguous to the cathedral, and always open to the studious. There is a plain marble slab in remem- brance of Dean Swift, and another to Mrs. Johnson, his celebrated u Stella,” over the inscription to this extraor- dinary man, has subsequently been placed his bust in HANDBOOK OP DUBLIN. G9 white marble, by Thomas Todd Faulkner, Esq., nephew of Swift’s publisher. In the ancient descriptions of this Cathedral, it is represented as having been a building of great extent and splendour, and was considered to be superior in point of size and grandeur to all the Cathedrals in Ire- land, if not to many in England. The choir was formerly roofed with stone flags of an azure color, and inlaid with stars of gold ; the capitals and mouldings of the columns and arches were painted and gilded, the walls decorated with frescoes, and the flooring inlaid in mosaic, with curious encaustic tiles, which gave to this Cathedral, when in its splendour, a grand and im- posing effect, but, owing to the weight of the roof being too great for the support beneath, it was re- moved, when there were discovered traces of 100 win- dows. The exterior walls were supported by flying buttresses, with demi-arches ; and there were niches in the walls, where statues of persons, bearing the titles of saints, were placed, but no traces of the niches or statues are now to be found. Within the choir are the Archbishop’s throne and prebendal stalls, which are occupied by the “ Most illustrious Order of Saint Patrick” on installation days. Over each stall are suspended the helmet and sword of the Knight ; and above the gallery, all round, are the banners of those who enjoy the honor of Knighthood. The whole appearance of the choir, viewed from the chancel, has a grand effect, from its noble proportions, the beauty of its architecture, the dark carvings of the stalls, sur- mounted by the crested helmets of the Knights, whose banners, draped overheard, disclose the highly orna- mental and magnificent organ standing on the old rood loft. The head of the cross is wholly taken up with the choir, which is furnished in the usual style of catlie- 70 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. drals, with richly ornamented stalls ; there is a hand- some communion, on either side of which, against the walls, are curious old monuments ; particularly one on the south, erected in the year 1629, of the family of Richard Boyle, Earl of Cork, in which the superstition of the times is strongly characterized, but which the officers and soldiers of Cromwell despoiled, by cutting off the noses of some of the figures, and tearing away prayer books that were in their hands. Opposite this last monument is a bla'ck slab inserted in the wall, which commemorates the memory of the brave Duke Schomberg, who fell at the battle of the Boyne, in 1690. There are many other monuments in this Cathe- dral, but our space does not admit of naming them all. In 1512 there were great factions between the Earls of Kildare and Ormond, and on their meeting in this Cathedral, when the citizens guarded the Earl of Kildare: “a great quarrel happening between them and a part of Ormond’s army, they discharged a volley of arrows at them, and shooting at random, some of the arrows stuck in the images on the rood loft. The matter being appeased, a complaint was afterwards made to the Pope of this profanation, and a legate sent to make inquiry into it. The citizens were at length absolved, but a punishment laid on them, that in detes- tation of the act, and to keep up the memory of it for ever, the Mayor of Dublin should walk barefoot through the city, in open procession, before the sacra- ment on 4 Corpus Christi’ day, yearly,” which writes Harris, 44 was ever after duly accomplished, until the reformation put an end to such practices.” This Cathedral was during the reign of Edward VI. appropriated to the courts of law, but restored to its original use by charter of Philip and Mary, in 1555. It was also converted into a military barrack by order HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 71 or James II., in 1688, but again restored to religious uses, on the defeat of that monarch, by King William III., in 1690. The organ belonging to this cathedral was, until lately, acknowledged to be the finest in either England or Ireland. It is generally supposed to have been built at Rotterdam, for a chapel of Vigo, in Spain, but that town having been besieged, at the moment of its arrival, by the Duke of Ormond, at the head of the allied fleet, it was carried off, with other valuables, and subsequently erected in its present place. The singing in this cathedral is a source of great attraction to the lovers of music, when at three o’clock on Sundays, the building is crowded by the fashion of the city, who throng to hear the an.them, which is sung by a choir of the highest repute. For many years past the walls of this building were rapidly hastening to decay, and in a few years would have fallen into ruins, were it not for the munificence of one citizen — Benjamin Lee Guinness, Esq. — whose princely contribution of £40,000 for their renovation, lias not only saved the building from ruin, but greatly beautified its external appearance. Immediately adjoining the cathedral, on the south- east side, is Marsh’s Library, the oldest in Ireland, with the exception of the College Library. It was founded by Archbishop Marsh in 1707, and is free to the public. In this library there are about 1800 volumes, and about 100 MSS., including the original MS. of the Bible in Irish. Adjoining this, in Kevin-street, is the Deanery House, erected on the site of that whereon stood the house in which Dean Swift once resided, and now occupied by some of the officers of the cathedral. To the east of the Deanery House is the former Palace of the Archbishops of Dublin, called “St. Sepulchres,” but for many years past it has been used as the barrack of the 72 HANDBOOK OK DUBLIN. mounted police. Continuing to tlie end of Kevin- street, and turning to the left through Bride-street, immediately Peter-street will be reached, at the north west angle of whichis theMoLYNEAUx Asylum for Blind Females, wherein thirty of that destitute class of the human race are instructed in music, knitting, and other descriptions of work ; they are also taught to read the Scriptures, and some of them perform on the organ in the chapel attached, which is connected with the Church of England, and is attended by one of the most fashion- able congregations in the city. Continuing to the end of Peter-street, in White friar- street, at the corner of York-row, is the Carmelite Friary, the front of which extends the whole length of York-row to Aungier-street, where at the right is Peter’s Church, the parish attached to which is the largest and wealthiest in Dublin, notwithstanding, its congregation is not so large as that of the Moly- neaux Asylum, and many other independent Church of England chapels throughout the city ; the greater por- tion of the inhabitants being members of the congrega- tions belonging to these places. Proceeding a little northwards, the house No. 12, with a niche containing a small statue in its front, is that in which Thomas Moore, the last but one, of Ireland’s poets, was born. Returning from this point, and proceeding along York-street, the Visitor will arrive at STEPHEN’S GREEN. This spacious square, first laid out in 1678, exceeds in extent any similar enclosure in the British Empire. It measures nearly an English mile in circumference, and is enclosed by an ornamental palisading of about six feet high ; outside there is a gravel walk, bordered by octagonal granite pillars, connected by chains, and sur- HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN, 73 mounted by lampposts. In the centre is an equestrian statue of King George II., in a Roman military habit, cast by Van Nost in 1758. The Green is tastefully planted and laid out with well arranged gravel walks, which recommend it, as one of the most pleasing pro- menades in the city. About the centre of the west side of this square, at its junction with York-street, is THE ROYAL COLLEGE OF SURGEONS, A very ornamental building of cut granite, erected in 1806, at an expense of £25,000, granted by Parliament for that purpose. The front of the building faces the Green, and measures about forty-five feet. It contains a board-room, a library, and three anatomical museums. On the apex of the pediment is a statue of Esculapius, and on the extremities are those of Hygeia and Minerva. Opposite the south wing of this building, in York-street, is The Independent Chapel, which in 1858 under- went considerable alterations, the lower portion having been converted into a school-room, which is supported by the members of this congregation. On the south side of the Green, the building presenting a cut granite front, with portico and pediment, is the Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, erected in 1842, and opened, with the religious ceremonies usual on such occasions, on the 18th of June in the following year, when the clergy- man who preached the sermon on the occasion, highly complimented the Methodists of the city for their independance in erecting such a fine building as would make the “ passers by remember that there were such people as the Methodists in Dublin” On the north side, nearly opposite this building, is the United Service Club ; and to the east of this, on the same side, is the University Club . Proceeding southwards along Harcourt-street, which 74 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. forms the continuation of the west side of Stephen’s Green, the ornamental building presenting itself on the left is the HARCOURT STREET STATION. The Dublin Terminus of the Dublin, Wicklow and Wexford Railway, erected in 1860 from the designs and under the superintendence of George Wilkinson, Esq., Architect. This station is the most compact, and the neatest of any in the city. It has its rails, platform, and waiting rooms, about twenty feet above the street level. The goods store is approached by an inclined road- way at rere of the passenger station, and the latter by two flights of wide granite steps from Harcourt-street. The entrance consists of a handsome colonade of nineteen Doric columns in Rallynocken granite, and a lofty central arch under a pediment curved roof, the arches springing from columns and pilasters, and a central hall for booking, having the entablature and architectural character of the front, continued internally around it. The site of the station is somewhat limited for so important a building ; and the line of rails, with the platforms and large roof over them, has had to be placed in an oblique position with the street, occasioning a difficulty to the architect, which has been ingeniously overcome in the way the novel and effective architec- tural entrance, facing Harcourt-street, and forming a very great ornament to this part of the city, has been united with it. Proceeding eastward by the road, at the north end of this terminus, the building immediately on the right is Mathias’s Church, erected in 1842, and supported by voluntary contributions ; and south of this on Adelaide-road, is the Presbyterian Chapel, a neat building of cut granite, with a portico and pediment. Turning to the left, and proceeding northward, the east HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN, 75 side of Stephen’s Green, which forms the continuation of this road, will be reached, in the centre of which is THE MUSEUM OF IRISH INDUSTRY, An institution formed for the exhibition and exami- nation of the various minerals, and other sources of industry with which this country abounds ; and for the encouragement of such investigations as tend to the advancement of knowledge in agriculture, manu- factures, &c. In this building is also the Museum of the Geological Survey of Ireland, which with the many other objects of interest in this Institution, will be found well worthy of a visit. Proceeding along the north side of Stephen’s Green, and turning into Dawson-street, the visitor will feel interested in learning that the house No. 20, in this street, is that wherein the late Mrs. Hemans resided. The remains of this talented lady, whose beautiful poems are so highly prized, were, amongst those of many other persons of distinction, deposited in the Vaults of Anne’s Church, in the wall of which is a white marble slab, with the following inscription — “IN THE VAULTS BENEATH ARE DEPOSITED THE MORTAL REMAINS OF FELICIA HEMANS, SHE DIED, MAY 1 6TH, 1835, AGED 41.” Adjoining the last residence of Mrs. Hemans is THE MANSION HOUSE, The official residence of the Lord Mayor for the time being. This building is detached from those on either side, and recedes from the street about twenty yards. It is by no means prepossessing in its appearance, but its interior is much superior to its external appearance, and contains some spacious apartments, suitable for the purposes to which they are appropriated. On the HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 76 left of the public entrance is, what is called, the gilt room, wherein is an excellent portrait of His Majesty King William III. Immediately adjoining this apart- ment, is a spacious drawing-room, which is decorated with portraits of the Earls Hardwicke, Westmorland, and Whitworth, former Viceroys. The ball-room, whieh is rather antiquated, is wainscotted with Irish oak ; and in it are kept the city swords, the mace, and collar of SS, presented by King William III. It also contains several fine portraits, amongst which are those of Charles II. and George II. To the rere of this is a magnificent circular room, ninety feet in diameter, erected for the reception of George IV. on the occa- sion of his visit to Ireland in 1821. In the garden adjoining, is an equestrian statue of His Majesty George I., originally erected, in 1720, on Essex Bridge, and removed to its present situation in 1789, on repairing the Bridge, which was much injured by the weight of the battlements. Adjoining the Mansion House, on the north side, is THE ROYAL IRISH ACADEMY, Founded in 1782, by some gentlemen chiefly connected with the University, who formed themselves into a society for the purpose of promoting literature and science. The Society having rapidly increased, it soon recommended itself to the notice of the legislature, and accordingly it was, in the year 1786, incorporated under the name of the “ Royal Irish Academy for the Study of Polite Literature, Science, and Antiquities.” The museum of the Royal Irish Academy contains many valuable objects of Irish antiquities in gold, silver, bronze, and iron, which from time to time were discovered in various parts of the country. With these there are some very rare and highly-prized reliquaries, ecclesiastical implements, and crosses of antiquity, and HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN, workmanship peculiar to Ireland. Of these the most interesting is the celebrated Cross of Cong. This cross takes its name from having been for many years in the Abbey of Cong, in the county of Mayo. This extraordinary cross, it is said, was manufactured at Roscommon, before the Anglo-Saxon invasion, in the reign of Turloch O’Conor, the father of Roderick, the last of the kings of Ireland. It bears inscriptions in Gaelic and Latin, signifying that there is a portion of the “ true cross” within the reliquary, which was the work of Irish artists. 44 At the intersection of the shaft is a large crystal, through which a portion of the wood which the reliquary was formed to enshrine is visible. For centuries this relic was held in great veneration in the old Abbey of Cong, and of late in the parish chapel, where, as each Good Friday returned, it had a place upon the altar. The last abbot of Cong died, and was gathered to his fathers in a good old age. He was succeeded by a parish priest, by whom the cross was offered for sale to the curious in such matters, and being purchased by the late Professor MacCullagh for the sum of one hundred guineas, was presented by him to the Academy. That such an antique was arrested in its transit from Ireland, or from being hung up in some 4 Old Curiosity Shop,’ is no small testimony to the advantages of possessing such a society, which among the other venerable relics in its museum, includes the Gaah or Cathach , containing a MS. copy of the Psalms,” said to have been 44 written by Columba and the Domnach Airgid (a most prized relic), containing portions of the Four Gospels,” said to have been 44 used by St. Patrick, during his mission to Ireland, which will no doubt be regarded with deep interest by all lovers of the relics of antiquity.” Adjoining the Royal Irish Academy is d 4 78 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. ANNE’S CHURCH, A building of very plain exterior, without either cupola or steeple. Its interior is, however, spacious, lightsome, and tastefully laid out, and its congregation is one of the wealthiest and most respectable in the city. Look- ing along Dawson-street an excellent view is obtained of the College Park, and of the College Library, and the new Museums ; at the east angle of Kiidare-street, at its intersection with Nassau-street, is the NEW CLUB HOUSE, Lately erected at an expense of £25,000, from the de- signs and under the superintendence of Sir Thomas Deane, Son, and Woodward, Architects, by Messrs. Cockburn and Sons, Contractors. This building was lately visited by Prince Albert, who expressed himself highly pleased with its beauty and grand propor- tions. Of the exterior of this beautiful building, the annexed engraving conveys an accurate idea. In the centre of Kiidare-street, opposite Molesworth- street, is the front entrance to the house of THE ROYAL DUBLIN SOCIETY. This truly valuable society, “ the parent of all similar societies now existing in Europe” — was formed in the early part of the last century. — The first meeting of its originators was held on the 25th June, 1731, in the Philosophical Rooms of Trinity College, when “it was proposed and unanimously agreed unto, to form a society by the name of the Dublin Society, for improving hus- bandry, manufactures, and other useful arts and at a subsequent meeting it was agreed that the word “ sciences” should be added. — On the 4tli December 1731, the Duke of Dorset, then Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, was elected President, and on the 7th of the HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 79 same month, “ the society met at the Castle, and were presented to the Lord Lieutenant in a body by his Grace the Lord Primate, Vice President, to return him thanks for the honour he had done the society, in being Presi- dent, and his Excellency the Lord Lieutenant was pleased to sign his name at the head of the subscription book as president of the society.” — Encouraged by the patron- age of such persons as the president, and vice president, increased exertions on behalf of the society were adopted, and through the munificence of Dr. Samuel Madden, one of its earliest friends, who settled £130 during his own life, and obtained a subscription of nearly £500 per an- num, which was very soon increased to £900, the society determined on the encouragement of arts and manufac- tures by premiums and rewards, from which time the society has continued to prosper. — In 1746 an annual grant of £500 was obtained from government, through the influence of Dr. Prior with the Earl of Chesterfield, who in a letter to that gentleman, remarked that tC they had done more good to Ireland with regard to arts and industry than all the laws that could be formed.” On the 2nd April, 1749, a charter of incorporation was granted by George II. when the Earl of Harrington was appointed the first president. Since that period the schools of the society for education in drawing, model- ing, and the fine arts, have produced many eminent masters, amongst which may be mentioned George Bar- rett, the celebrated landscape painter, who was the chief founder of the Royal Academy of London, of which Sir George Archer Shee, another Dublin artist, was the late president. In the society’s exhibition of 1763, “ the baptism of the King of Cashel,” a picture founded on a popular legend, and the first production of the celebrated artist, James Barry of Cork, was submitted to the public. — Of the circumstances connected with this picture, and d 5 80 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. its exhibition the following account has been given by one of Barry’s contemporaries. “ The picture was founded on an old tradition relating to the first arrival of St. Patrick, at Cashel, where,” as the legend has it, “ the fame of his preaching reached the ears of the sove- reign of that district, who, on further investigation, having satisfied himself in the truth of Christianity, professed himself a disciple; hence he is admitted by Patrick to the rite of baptism. Water being provided by his order, the king steps before the priest, who, dis- engaging his hand from the Crozier, which, according to the manner of the times, was armed at the lower extremity with a spear, in planting it on the ground, accidentally strikes the foot of his illustrious convert Patrick absorbed in the duties of his holy office, and unconscious of what has happened, pours the water on his head. — The monarch neither changes his posture, nor suffers the pain of the wound for a moment to interrupt the ceremony : the guards express their astonishment in gestures ; and one of them is prepared with his lifted battle-axe to avenge the injury, by slay- ing the priest, while he is restrained by another, who points to the unchanged aspect and demeanour of the sovereign; the female attendants are engaged — some kneeling in solemn admiration of the priest, and others alarmed and trembling at the effusion of the royal blood. — The moment of baptism rendered so critical and aw- ful by the circumstances of the king’s foot being pierced with a spear, is that which Mr. Barry chose for the dis- play of his art; and few stories it is presumed have been selected with greater felicity, or with greater scope for the skill and ingenuity of the artist — the heroic patience of the king, the devotional abstraction of the saint, and the mixed emotion of the spectators, form a combined and comprehensive model of imitation, and convey a suitable idea of one who, self-instructed, and at nineteen. HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 81 conceived the execution of so grand a design.— Having embodied the story on canvas, he proceeded to Dublin, and arrived on the eve of an exhibition of paintings at the (Dublin) Society in this capital, which was the parent of that afterwards established in London, for the encouragement of arts, manufactures, and commerce. Without recommendation, and accompanied only by a friend and school-fellow, he obtained leave to have the picture exhibited. — The general notice and approbation which it received, were in the highest degree grateful to the ears of Mr. Barry, who was himself, in the midst of the spectators, though unknown ; and in that moment he was repaid for all the labour of his performance. — Curiosity succeeded to the idle gaze of admiration ; but as no one was able to give a satisfactory answer to the inquiries so loudly repeated for the author, the subject might have remained longer in impenetrable obscurity had not Mr. Barry himself been impelled by an irresist- tible impulse publicly to declare his property in the picture. His pretensions as might be expected, were treated with disdain, and Barry burst into tears of anger and vexation: but the insults he received won the tribute due to the extraordinary merit of the painting, and mast have proved an ample recompense to the author for his temporary mortification. Although no premium had been offered that year by advertisement, the Dublin Society voted Mr. Barry £10 as a testimony of his merit. — The picture itself was purchased by some members of the Irish Parliament, and by them presented to that honourable house as a monument of genius, and there it was unhappily consumed by the fire which some years afterwards (1792) destroyed (a portion) of the Parliament House of Dublin.” In 1815 the society purchased the mansion of the E 82 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. Duke of Leinster, which occupies the area between Kildare-street and Merrion Square. A grand rusticated gateway, surmounted by a colos- sal statute of Minerva, opposite Molesworth-street, gives entrance from Kildare-street into a spacious semicircular court-yard, leading to the principal front of the edifice, which is 140 feet long by 70 feet deep. This front is richly decorated with Corinthian columns an entablature, pediment, and balustrades. The hall- door and windows, which are all ornamented by archi- traves, &c., occupy the rusticated basement, and from the north and south of either extremity of the front there is a Doric colonade, the former communicating with the new schools of statuary and drawing, the latter with the theatre. ' The outer hall is of grand proportions ; its attic is on a range with the second story of the building, and from it springs a carved and coffered ceiling. A colossal statute of George IV., in Carrara marble stands in the hall, and fronts the fire place. Proceeding under the arches, supported by Doric columns, the visitor reaches a double staircase, by which he will arrive at the Library and Museum. At the top of the stairs on the left is the door lead- ing to the library, wherein are some valuable works on the fine arts, the sciences, and on natural history and botany. The museums, which open on the staircase, consist of six apartments, and contain many rare and interest- ing objects of Irish and foreign antiquities, including idols of various descriptions, and collections in minera- logy and natural history : the latter having been pur- chased from the celebrated M. Leske of Marburg ; and also the Icelandic collections of the late Sir Charles Gesecke, Professor of Mineralogy to the Society. To enter into a general description of the arrangements and contents of this museum would be useless, especially HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 83 when they are all numbered regularly, and arranged in the catalogues, which are left in the apartments for the convenience of Visitors. In the Board Room, which was formerly the supper room, are several pictures and pieces of statuary. Here also is the Speaker's Chair of the Irish House of Com- mons, and communicating with this is the Conversation Room, wherein are a beautiful collection of pictures, bequeathed to the Society by the late Thomas Pleasants, Esq. By a rising window in the inner hall access is obtained to the terrace fronting the lawn, from which is seen the ornamental area of Merrion-square, separated by a sunken fence and dwarf wall, which does not obstruct the view. After the Exhibition of 1853, it was determined by the Dublin Society to erect some suitable testimonial to perpetuate the memory and munificence of our worthy citizen William Dargan, Esq., the father of that great industrial measure, and having raised a sum of £11,000, it was determined to erect a National Gallery, which was soon commenced, but this sum being insufficient for the erection of so extensive a building, the government undertook its completion and subsequently agreed to erect a Museum of similar extent and proportions on the opposite side. These fine buildings have been erected by the well known contractors, Messrs. Cockburn and Sons, in the usual style and superiority of workman- ship, for which this respectable firm is celebrated. Departments open to the Public . Museum — Tuesday and Friday, from 12 to 3, p.m. Elgin Marbles, Statuary, &c. — Wednesday and Satur- day, from 12 to 3, p.m. Agricultural Museum — Thursday, from 12 to 2, p.m. Library — Every day, on introduction by a Member. A Member’s Order will obtain admission at any time to the various parts of the establishment. E 2 84 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. The Exhibition of 1861 originated with the Royal Dublin Society’s Committee of Fine Arts. Encouraged by the marked success of the unpretending little Ex- hibition of 1858, which was held in the new Building erected for the Museum of Natural History, the Society readily concurred in the proposition to form a somewhat more extensive collection in the year 1861, comprising Paintings, Sculpture, with the kindred arts of Engrav- ing and Photography, as well as all the manufactures “ in which Art forms a principal or material element.” The project received the active support of many artists and manufacturers, and was heartily approved by the public generally. To provide against loss, a guarantee fund was subscribed, which speedily amounted to £10,000 — being double the sum assumed to be necessary. The New Agricultural Hall in Kildare Street, a spacious building nearly 300 feet long by 120 feet broad, was adapted for the purposes of the exhibition by the erec- tion of two galleries running the entire length of the Building, and 20 feet broad, connected at the extreme east and west ends by cross galleries; by flooring over the entire space ; and by partitions which divide the building into a large central hall and two side aisles. Refreshment Rooms have also been put up in the court-yard. The galleries are intended to be permanent, and afford a valuable addition to the ac- commodation, while they contribute to the beauty and strength of the building. The interior was painted in a light and cheerful style; and those who were present at the Cattle Show in Easter week could scarcely believe their eyes on the opening day when they witnessed the transformation which in five short weeks had been effected. Where fat oxen had reposed in their stalls, the “ Ancient Masters” now held undis- HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 85 puted sway ; and cases of tlie choicest china now filled the space where prize bulls had tossed their horns a few weeks before. The Exhibition was opened on Friday the 24th of May, Her Majesty’s birth day, by His Excellency the Lord Lieutenant, with a state ceremonial. On the 1st of July it was visited by the Prince of Wales; and received a similar honour on the 2 3rd of August, from the Prince Consort. Up to the 31st August, the number of visitors has been upwards of 100,000, being an average of about 1200 a day for 86 days during which the exhibition has been open. Of these about 73.000 paid for admission 2s. 6d., or one shilling each, 7.000 being the visits of members of the Royal Dublin Society, who are entitled to free entrance, and 20,000 being the number of visits by holders of season tickets. These were sold at 25s. for gentlemen, 15s. for ladies, and 10s. for children, until the middle of July, when the prices were reduced to one-half those rates. We believe that about 1600 season tickets have been dis- posed of ; and on the whole there is every reason to regard the Exhibition as a decided success, and to hope that after payment of all expenses, although we have heard these estimated at so high a sum as £5,000, a profit will remain to be applied to the furtherance of the useful and national objects which the Royal Dublin Society labours so earnestly to promote. The Exhibition is in truth worthy of the Royal patronage and of the public favour which it has ob- tained. Its pretensions are moderate. No rivalry was imagined with the great Manchester display of Art Treasures in 1857, nor with the Dargan Exhibition or Manufactures in 1853. The space, the time, the means at the disposal of the Society alike precluded such competition. It was intended merely to bring together such a collection of works of Art as would serve to 86 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. stimulate and improve public taste in Ireland ; and the general feeling has been one of surprise and satisfaction that so much has been done, — the performance greatly exceeding both promise and expectation. The southern aisle contains 420 specimens of the “ Ancient Masters.” If there be no world-famous pic- ture in the collection, there are nevertheless many very valuable and instructive examples of elder art. The Queen granted the loan of 28 paintings from Hampton Court Palace; the Directors of the National Portrait Gallery of London gave a series of ten very interesting portraits. Amongst the contributors are His Excellency the Earl of Carlisle; the Marquis of Drogheda; Lord Harberton ; Sir Richard Levinge, Baronet ; Sir Richard Griffith, Baronet; Mr. Ruxton; Lord Talbot de Mala- liide ; The Lord Chancellor ; Mr. Harvie ; Doctor Evory Kennedy; The Earl of Bessborough, Mr. J. Hamilton Read; Mr. Charles Brien; Mr. B. Watkins; Mr. Loftus Bland ; Mr. G. A. Boyd ; Mrs. Purcill ; Mrs. West; and Mr. John Smith. There are doubtless some pictures attributed to great names conventionally or by the owner’s fancy, on no better authority than a certain resemblance, or, if you will, imitation of style. The Committee take care to inform us in their catalogue that they are not responsible for this. There are a few also which are scarcely worthy of a place on these walls. But on the whole the collec- tion is an admirable one, and the visitor and the artist may in confidence admire and study with profit the many genuine works of the Italian, Flemish, and English Schools. The older Irish artists, so neglected in their life time, and even now so little known, deserve a better fate. We have some very interesting pictures by* Ashford, Barret, Comerford, Cumming, H. D. Hamilton, O’Connor, T. S. Roberts, and T. West. There are, also, some very excellent examples of artists, HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 87 who were not represented even in the immense assem- blage at Manchester in 1857. The works of the Modern Masters, most of whom are still living, are exhibited in the North Saloon, and in the Water Colour Room, which also contains the Sotheby collection, and the miniatures. The fame of the English School is worthily sustained by some of the finest specimens of Maclise, Leslie, Etty, Mulready, the Landseers, A. Cooper, Cope, Eastlake, Egg, Hayter, Simson, Redgrave, Stanfield, Uwins, Webster, Wilkie, and many others. Armytage’s great picture of the battle of Meanee, the property of her Majesty, occu- pies one end of the gallery: and facing it, at the other extremity, is Slingeneyer’s fine painting of “ The Heroic Death of Jean Jacobson, at the Siege of Ostend,” contributed by the King of the Belgians. The Bel- gian and Prussian Schools are moreover most efficiently represented by pictures in every style by many of their ablest artists. Some of the best and most interesting pictures in the collection are the works of the resident artists of Ireland, amongst whom are several who are destined, we venture to think, to attain to a very high rank in their profession. We have particularly admired the pictures contributed by Colomb, Duffy, Marquis, Faulkner, MacManus, and T. A. Jones. The Sotheby collection is, we think, a perfectly unique assemblage of nearly 300 gems of Art. Some of them are finished works, many are only sketches ; but almost all possess a special interest and value as being the production of the leisure moments, the emanation of the free fancy, of most distinguished artists not painted to order, not intended for sale, but thrown off merely to amuse, or to perpetuate the sudden inspiration, to catch and detain the “flying Cynthia of the minute.” Here then may perhaps be 88 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. most advantageously studied their pecular characteris- tics, the secret of their manner, and in some of them at least that conscientious care, even in trifling de- lineations, which in every aspiring artist ought to be habitual. The lamented proprietor of these interesting works died, we believe, since the opening of the Exhi- bition, to which he so liberally contributed one of its most attractive features. The total number of modern works is about 750, besides a series of Architectural Drawing; some old and rare Engravings, and a very large collection of Photographs of every description, which are contained in the galleries. So that, probably, the entire number of Paintings and Drawings in the Exhibition exceeds 1500. The Central Hall contains some very interesting Sculptures, amongst which are Hogan’s last work, “ The Shepherd Boy;” some very clever groups by Kirk, and the Farrells. There are contributions also from Foley, Weekes, Papworth, and Bailv, and a series of Portrait Busts of great interest. Of the Art Manufactures we have left ourselves little room to speak. What taste and skill and capital can do is here displayed in some of the most finished and most beautiful specimens of jewellery and gold- smith’s work, and their imitations or rivals in electro- plate ; of china and glass ; of lace, embroidery ; orna- mental furniture ; musical instruments ; and, in truth, of every article of use, convenience, or luxury, whose form or colouring derives additional grace from the arts of design. The committee, having but a limited space, were obliged to exclude manufactures proper from their programme ; and only such productions as only come within the scope of the fine arts could be admitted. Of these the collection is not large, but it is tolerably complete. Many antiquities and curiosities HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 89 of art Lave also found a place here, such as the rich embroidered robes of the King of Delhi and the Emperor of China; antique china, carvings in ivory, medals, seals, and coins ; old tapestry, lace, and needle- work. There is also a very interesting series of old miniatures. In fact, so numerous and so various are the contents of the galleries, that we must content ourselves by referring to the catalogue, of which two editions have been published, and upwards of 8000 copies have been already sold. A peculiar feature of this Exhibition is the opening at night, for which purpose it is most brilliantly and effectively lighted with gas. Some of the pictures may be seen to great advantage in this illumination, their peculiar colouring being brought out more vividly and distinctly than during the day. The best organists in Ireland (Dr. Stewart and Mr. Torrance) or Mr. Levy’s excellent band of music added to the attractions of the place; and for three evenings in each week, during the summer, the Exhibition promenade has been the delightful haunts of thousands, who have often felt the want in Dublin of some resource which would gratify the intellect and taste, while it satisfied the natural desire for amusement. The experiment has, in every respect, been eminently successful, and is deserv- ing of imitation, wherever it is practicable, in future Exhibitions. We should not conclude our notice of the Exhibition without a reference to the impetus it w T as designed to give, and we sincerely believe it has given, to art in the city of Dublin, not merely by displaying to the unaccustomed eyes of thousands .of visitors the admi- rable w r orks so well calculated to elevate their thoughts and to refine their taste, but more directly and imme- diately by furnishing to many students a most' excellent school and the best examples to study from. One of E 3 90 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. the most interesting sights in the Exhibition was to be seen only in the early forenoon, when scores of Art students, in by far the greater proportion of young ladies, were to be found busily engaged in copying, under the direction of Mr. Macmanus the art super- intendent, permission having of course been first obtained from the owners. We understand that the committee contemplate holding an exhibition of such copies, and giving prizes according to their merits. The want of a National Gallery in Dublin, and the scarcity of accessible good pictures, rendered the pri- vilege of study particularly valuable. It was freely afforded to season ticket holders, to professed artists, as well as to the pupils of the Royal Dublin Society’s school of art. The management of the exhibition was entrusted by the council of the Society to a committee of seventy- one gentlemen; and the details of business were by them divided amongst six sub-committees, the chair- men of which constituted an Executive Committee; and on these gentlemen devolved a large portion of the labour and responsibility of the undertaking, upon the success of which we heartily congratulate the Royal Dublin Society. We have not space for the list of the General Com- mittee, but we extract from the catalogue the names of the Chairmen and the officers: — Mr. Gilbert Sanders, Chairman of the General Committee and of the Build- ing Committee; Mr. Henry T. Vickers, Chairman of the Committee of Selection; Mr. Charles E. Bagot, Chair- man of the Printing and Correspondence Committee; Mr. Alexander Parker, Chairman of the Finance Com- mittee ; Mr. R. J. T. Macrory, Chairman of the Music Committee; The Hon. Judge Berwick, Chairman of the Arrangement Committee; Sir Thomas Deane, Chairman of the Royal Dublin Society’s Committee of HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 91 Fine Arts; Dr. Sayers, Chairman of the Society's Committee of Manufactures ; Mr. Henry Parkinson, Secretary to the Committee; Mr. Henry Mac Manus, Art Superintendant ; Mr. Andrew Corrigan, Assistant Superintendant and Storekeeper; Mr. Patrick Corrigan, Clerk. We think it only due to the Secretary, Mr. Parkin- son, to mention, that to his exertions the Exhibition is indebted for the most valuable pictures it possesses, he being the first person who procured from the English collections contributions towards Irish Exhibitions ; and by his personal application, the South Kensington Museum was obtained instead of its being sent to Bristol, as previously promised. Mr. Parkinson also obtained from the King of the Belgians the great pic- ture representing the “ Pleroic Death of Jean Jacobson at the Siege of Ostend,” as also the “ Battle of Meanee,” the property of Her Majesty, Returning by Stephen’s Green and proceeding into Upper Merrion Street, which runs parallel to Kildare Street, the house on the east side at the south angle of Fitzwilliamlane, is Mornington House , the birth place of THE LATE DUKE OF WELLINGTON, now occupied as the offices of the Ecclesiastical Com- missioners. In this house England’s greatest Warrior, on the 29th April, 1769, first saw the light, and was baptized in Peter’s Church, as appears by the following extract from the Registry of that parish, — “ Christen- ings, 1768, April 30th, Arthur, son of the Right Honourable Earl and Countess of Mornington.” This house which was then, as it now is, in Peter's parish, was purchased for the sum of £8,000, from the Marquis of Wellesley by Lord Cloncurry, from whom it was subsequently rented by the late Lord Castlereagh, during 92 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN* whose residence there, it “ was the scene of the discus - sion and arrangement of all the Diplomatic negotiat- ions preparatory to the enactment of the Legislative Union? Proceeding north of this house, the large en- closure immediately reached is MERRION SQUARE, The most fashionable locality in the City, and next in size to Stephen’s Green. This ornamental enclosure was first laid out in 1762 by John Ensor, Esq., the Architect of Antrim House, on the north side of the square. It is enclosed by a dwarf granite wall, sur- mounted by a high railing, and its tastefully laid out and undulating surface, which is planted with orna- mental shrubberies, gives to it an appearance of great beauty. Looking in continuation of the South side of this square, a front view is obtained of STEPHEN’S CPIURCH, A very neat building of cut granite, with a Grecian Facade and Cupola. This building is a Chapel of Ease to Peter’s parish, and is attended by a very respectable and influential congregation. Continuing southwards from the east side of this Square through Fitzwilliam Street, a most respectably inhabited neighbourhood, the visitor will pass on the right side another beautiful but smaller enclosure, called FITZWILLIAM SQUARE. This Square, though not quite so large as Merrion Square, is equally well kept, and respectably inhabited. It is, like the last, enclosed by a very neat railing, rest- ing on a dwarf wall of granite, and tastefully laid out in shrubberies and flower plots, which, being below the level of the street, forms a pleasing prospect for foot passengers, who have a view of same. Returning by HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 93 tlie west side of Merrion Square, which connects Upper and Lower Merrion Street, the visitor will, on the left, have a good view of the east front of the Dublin Society’s House, with the new and beautiful buildings of cut granite, lately erected on its lawn ; and, arriving at Lincoln-place, he will have a view of the Turkish Baths , erected in 1860, from the designs, and under the superin tendance of Richard Barter, Esq., Architect and Sculptor. Nearly opposite the Turkish Baths, and at right angles to Lincoln-place is Westland row, on the east side of which is the Roman Catholic Chapel, erected in 1834, at an expense of £13, 000; which, with the School-houses and buildings forming the residence of the Clergy, was increased to £20,000. Adjoining this, on the north side, is THE WESTLAND-ROW STATION The terminus of the Dublin and Kingstown Railway, a plain but well-arranged building, two stories high, ascending to an elevation of twenty feet. This rail- way was the first erected in Ireland, and is considered to be one of the most complete in the British dominions. North of this station, in Bruns wick-street, is the estab- lishment belonging to THE SOCIETY OF ANCIENT CONCERTS. This building is partially fronted with stone, and presents a plain solid appearance. The principal concert room measures double its height and breadth, a proportion which is said to be very favourable for hearing. This room contains a very fine organ, which was built expressly for the society. At the eastern extremity is a light and elegant gallery, which, with the body of the apartment, affords accommodation for nearly 1000 persons. This building is principally devoted to musical entertainment, but it is also used for religious 94 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. purposes, being rented by a congregation of dissenters, who hold their weekly meetings for religious worship there. West of this, on the same side, is MARK’S CHURCH. A large plain edifice, commenced in 1729, and com- pleted about the year 1760. It was erected by private subscriptions, a tax laid on the houses in the parish, and a grant of £,2000 from Parliament. Previous to the year 1707, Mark’s parish formed part of Andrew’s, but the latter parish having been found too large for the parish church, an Act of Parliament was passed for dividing it into two parishes ; and shortly after the building of the above edifice was proceeded with, but owing to the want of funds, it was not completed for nearly thirty years afterwards, when the Parliament advanced the above amount. West of this, on the opposite side, is the QUEEN’S THEATRE, Formerly called the Adelphi , and now used for exhi- bitions. In the year 1845, this establishment was fitted up with considerable taste, and it now receives consi- derable encouragement from the lovers of pleasure. Continuing to the end of Brunswdck-street, and turning to the right, into Hawkins’s-street, the visitor arrives at THE THEATRE ROYAL, Erected on the site originally occupied by the house of the Royal Dublin Society. It was first opened on the 18th of January, 1821, and visited on the 20th of August, in the same year, by his late Majesty King George the Fourth. The exterior of this building is not remarkable for its architectural beauty, but the interior, which is capable of accommodating about HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 95 2000 persons, is commodious and beautiful; and from its peculiar form, the slightest word uttered upon the stage is heard at the most distant part of the house. So early as the beginning of the sixteenth century, dramatic performances appear to have formed the amusement of the citizens of Dublin. As we learn from contemporary writers, that on a stage erected in Hoggin’s-green — now College-green — the tailors, in the presence of the Earl of Ossory, Lord Justice, acted the part of Adam and Eve ; the shoemakers, the story of Crispin and Crispianus ; the vintners, Bacchus and his story; the carpenters, Joseph and Mary; the smiths? the story of Vulcan; and the bakers, the comedy of Ceres. On the same stage, the priors of St. John of Jerusalem and of All-hallows, caused two plays to be acted, the one representing what is called “ the passion of our Saviour,” the other, the several deaths which the apostles suffered. During the sitting of Parliament, in the time of Henry VIII. the play of the “Nine Worthies” was acted on Corpus Christi, 1541 ; and in 1635, during Strafford’s government, the first theatre was opened in Dublin, since which time several others have been erected. East of the Theatre Royal in Townsend-street, is the IRISH CHURCH MISSIONS HOUSE. A society established for the circulation of the Scrip- tures both in English and Irish. This society is sup- ported by the contributions of several noblemen and other persons of distinction, together with the great body of the clergy of the Established Churchs in Ire- land. Its agency comprises over 500 missionaries, 30 of whom are clergymen. The number of its school is about 79, and the attendants at these schools, as appears by the Society’s Report, exceed 4000. North of Brunswick-street is D’Olier-street, in which 96 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. is tlie Dublin Library, erected in 1820, at an expense of £5,594; and at the end of this street is Carlisle- bridge, 'the central point from which we commenced our survey of the city. ENVIRONS. Having conducted the tourist through our city, and brought under his observation the principal objects deserving his attention, we now proceed to offer a few remarks on the most interesting portions of the rural districts, confining our observations chiefly to those places which lie nearest to the city, the greater number of which can be visited on foot or by a pleasant and cheerful drive. Returning to the Phoenix Park, already noticed at page 34, and having directed attention to the Wellington Testimonial and Royal Military Infirmary, beyond which is the Constabulary Barracks, sometime erected as the head quarters of that valuable force, we now recommend the visitor to proceed about a quarter of a mile along the principal road through the Park, where he wdll arrive at the avenue branching to the right, which will conduct him to the entrance to the ZOOLOGICAL GARDENS, A very picturesque enclosure of about five acres of tastefully laid out and undulating ground, terminated, on the western side, by a sheet of water, which pre- serves a number of aquatic fowl of every species. The grounds are so advantageously intersected with walks, and bordered with evergreen plantations, that they con- HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 97 vey to strangers an idea of a greater extent of acres than they really contain. These gardens are open to the public on Sundays, after two o’clock, at the small charge of one penny ; and on the evenings of week- days, from the 1st of May to the 1st of September, after five o’clock, for the same charge. During the other portions of the day, the charge for each adult is six- pence, and for children under ten years, three pence. These gardens form one of the most pleasing resorts for the citizens, and will be found well worthy of a visit from those who have not already seen them. Besides the many curious and interesting specimens of every description of the animal kingdom which can be pre- served here, there is a perfect fossil of the plesiosaurus , an extinct animal, supposed to have belonged to the ante- diluvian world, discovered at Whitby, in Yorkshire, and presented by the Marquis of Normanby to the late Sir Philip Crampton, who presented it to the Zoolo- gical Society. This wonderful animal was a native of the deep, and possessed the head of a lizard with the teeth of a crocodile ; a neck resembling the body of a serpent; a body and tail like those of a large quadru- ped, and paddles similar to those of a whale. Leaving the Zoological Gardens and proceeding along the principal road through the Park, which is lined by rows of fine old elms ; on the right, separated from the Park by a sunk fence, next the carriage-way, is the Viceregal Lodge, purchased in 1784 from the Earl of Leitrim, and subsequently much improved by various additions made to it. The demesne is kept in a manner becoming the viceroy, and contains about two hundred acres. Beyond the Viceregal Lodge is the Chief Secretary’s Lodge, a handsome and commodious building, with a demesne of about twenty acres ; and nearly between them, in a central circular space, formed at the junc- 08 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. tion of four great avenues, may be seen a fluted column, surmounted by the sculptured representation of a phoenix, in the centre of flames, with outspread wings, erected by Lord Chesterfield while viceroy of Ireland, who supposed that the Irish words, Fion Uiske, which mean pure or clear water, might be fitly symbolized by the “ Phoenix,” “ and so enduringly recorded his amusing blunder on a Corinthian capital, that it is likely to enjoy a tenure in perpetuity.” In a glen, not far from the Zoological Gardens, is a clear chalybeate spring, known in ancient times as the Fion Uiske ; and from this spring, the manor of which the park formed a portion, derives its name. The Under Secretary’s Lodge is also in the park, and has a demesne of about fifty acres. Westward still is Mountjoy Barracks, now and for many years past occu- pied as the offices of the Ordnance Survey of Ireland. Proceeding from the avenue which diverges southward from the Phoenix Column, the Fifteen acres will be reached : in this the reviews and field inspections of the troops in Dublin garrison are held. In the days of “ hair triggers and a dozen paces, or less,” the Fifteen Acres was the favorite court near the metropolis in which many gentlemen, signalized by a total insensi- bility to anything like virtue, morality, or common honesty, but very tenacious of some cobweb thing they called their “ honor,” were wont to seek “ the repara- tion due to gentlemen,” when that was frayed. No doubt it afforded occasionally the only mode of correct- ing the rude manners of the time, but was, withal, irrational, inasmuch as the wrong-doer and bully was placed on an equal footing, and frequently had the advantage of the wronged and gentlemanly. Overlooking the village of Chapelizod and the river, on the south, crowned by a cupola, is the Hibernian School, opened in 1767, for maintaining, educating, and HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. 99 apprenticing the orphans and children of soldiers in Ireland. The school consists of a centre and wings, 300 feet long and three stories high, having a spacious parade ground 400 feet long by 200 feet wide. It is built of rubble masonry, dashed and plastered ; in the centre are the schools and dormitories. In the eastern wing are the apartments of the commandant, adjutant, and chaplain ; and in the western wing are the apart- ments for the females. Detached from these are a dining-hall, infirmary, and chapel, erected of cut stone and surmounted with a steeple and cupola. This chapel is generally attended by the Lord Lieutenant, when residing at the Viceregal Lodge. A little to the west of the Hibernian School is what remains of one of the ancient sepulchres or cromlechs of Ireland, so inter- esting to the archaeologist, an altar-tomb in which were enclosed two human skeletons, only discovered in 1838, on the removal, by some workmen, of a tumulus of about fifteen feet in height which had been raised over it. This is a small tomb compared with others still existing in the county Dublin at Shanganagh, Druid’s Glen, Mount Venus, Kilternan, and Howth, but most interesting as defining the purpose for which such cromlechs were intended, and also in its evidence of great antiquity exhibited by the fact, that immediately under each skull was discovered a considerable quantity of the small shell, Nerita littoralis , rubbed or ground down on the valve side to admit of their being strung in form of a necklace on a vegetable fibre, part of which remained through some of the shells, after the manner of the most primitive tribes inhabiting sea-coast lands. Four stone kists were at the same time exposed, in each of which was an urn of baked clay containing ashes of the dead. One of them is deposited in the Museum of the Royal Irish Academy, being saved from destruction by General Larcom of the Royal Engineers, 100 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. through whose interest in such matters many Irish anti- quities, brought to light during the progress of the Ordnance Survey of Ireland while under his direction have been most carefully preserved. With the skele- tons were also found a small fibula of bone and a knife or arrow-head of flint. About a mile outside the north-west entrance to the park is the village of Castleknock, where are the remains of a castle of considerable strength, erected in the reign of Henry II., and at which Hugh de Tyrrell and his lady were made prisoners by Edward Bruce in 1315, coming, after the famous battle of Bannockburn, to assist the Irish against the common enemy. Our visitor has now a choice, passing out of the Park by the Chapelizod gate to visit Lucan and Leixlip, or leav- ing those for a short ralway trip to turn off the road at Palmerstown and proceed to Clondalkin, from whence he may return by rail to Dublin, or by car through Crumlin, Harold's cross, Leinster-road, and Rathmines, to the city. Within a short distance of the Hibernian School, on the southern boundary of the Park, is Chapelizod, a neat village on the banks of the Liffey. Proceeding by the road which skirts the Park, and leaving the river to the left, we continue by Knockmaroon gate, and thence descending the hill, we pass on the right the highly cultivated sloping banks well known as the Strawberry Beds ; continuing through a beautiful glen, we pass by Woodlands, the seat of Colonel White, and proceeding still by a road which is shaded by plantations at either side, we reach Lucan, a neat little town delightfully situated on the Liffey. Nearly two miles w r est of Lucan is Leixlip, in the most beautiful portion of the valley of the Liffey. Here is still to be seen in good preser- vation a castle, said to have been erected by Adam Fitz-Hereford, one of the Anglo-Norman plunderers. HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN, 101 Convenient to this is also the celebrated Salmon Leap, described by Mr. D’ Alton in his “ History of the City of Dublin” “ The river here enters a wild romantic dell, where high slopes, covered with wood, rise on each side directly above the water. In the midst of this defile, the LifFey pours the whole gathering of its current over a wide ledge of rocks, and under the fragment of a bridge that greatly adds to the pic- turesque effect. The rush of water is generally abun- dant; and its fretted, roaring, foamy, progress, at the foot of the venerable towers of Leixlip Castle, and through the scattered rocks, that succeed the fall and prolong the agitation of its course, is freely traced from a narrow and steep pathway that runs along the brow of the bank at the Dublin side of the river ” We now conduct the visitor to the northern suburbs of the city. Proceeding by Phibsboro’-bridge and turning to the right, he will soon arrive at the entrance to the Glasnevin Cemetery, which contains about ten acres of land, tastefully laid out with gravel-walks and planted with various kinds of shrubs and evergreens. In the centre is the chapel where prayers are said for the souls of the dead about to be interred. There are several monuments here, especially that erected to the memory of the celebrated patriot, Daniel O’Connell, Esq., which resembles very closely one of the ancient Round Towers to be seen in various places in Ireland. There is also a monument here to the memory of the cele- brated John Philpot Curran. Immediately adjoining the Cemetery on the north are the Botanic Gardens of the Royal Dublin Society , occupying an erea of thirty acres of ground which is laid out with the greatest skill, and containing, almost every known species of flowers, shrubs, trees, and plants, classified, with a beautiful col- lection of exotics preserved in glass-houses. The beauty of these Gardens is greatly increased by a sheet 102 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. of water of irregular breadth, obtained by an excava- tion in the bank of the river Tolka, measuring about 600 feet long and lying at the foot of a sloping bank in the northern extremity. On the grounds now occupied by these Gardens once stood the demesne of Thomas Tickell the Poet and companion of Addison, who attended the Marquis of Wharton as Secretary in his appointment as Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, in 1709. In passing through the village of Glasnevin, and turn- ing to the right the visitor will after a short distance be conducted by a road on the left hand to Claremont , the National Deaf and Dumb Institution , which is delightfully situated in a demesne of about twenty acres. This valuable and truly national Institution was established through the exertions of Dr. Charles Orpen, who by his lectures raised a sufficient sum of money to enable him to procure this delightful residence for a very destitute, and, until the above period, neglected pertion of our fellow beings. In the Institute which is open to the public from ten to two o’clock on Wednes- day, there are generally about 100 pupils who are com- fortably kept and instructed m reading, writing, arith- metic, and especially in the Scriptures, and whose answers to the questions of visitors are very frequently more than ordinarily intelligent. Turning to the northern suburbs, and passing through Summer-hill, and thence bv Ballybough Bridge, along the Strand, the visitor will soon arrive at Clontarf a neat watering place, celebrated as the battle-ground on which the brave King, Brien Boru defeated the Danes in 1014, but was himself slain after his victory over those cruel and bar- barous intruders. Here also is situated Merino, the re- sidence of the Earl of Charlemont, and a little further on is Clontarf Castle, which has been recently beautified and fitted out as the residence of John Vernor, Esq., its present proprietor. From this a return may be made HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN, 103 to town by Omnibus, the fare to the General Post Office being three pence. About seven miles on the northern side of the Bay is the Town of Howth. Having pointed the Tourist’s attention to the northern Suburbs, we now conduct him to the more beautiful districts of the South, and in doing so we recommend him to proceed by Car, or better still, on the outside of one of the Omnibusses which start from the Pillar in Sackville Street for Rathmines. Along this route he will again have a fine view of the Bank of Ireland, the College, Stephen’s Green, and the Wicklow Railway Station, in Harcourt Street, which is terminated by the Circular Road, on which, about a quarter of a mile to the west is situated the Richmond Bridewell, wherein the late Mr. O’Connell, with several of.his friends, con- victed at the State trials in 1843, were imprisoned, until discharged upon a reversal of the sentence by the house of Lords. Crossing the Circular Road, and arriving at Portobello Bridge, some views of great beauty are ob- tained, looking westward, along the canal, which is lined with fine" Elms, having on its northren bank the Portobello Gardens, and on the south the Artillery Barracks, a beautiful view presents itself, and on the South in the distance the Dublin Mountains presents a scene of very rare grandeur, which cannot fail to command the admiration of the lovers of fine scenery. Continuing Southwards as far as Rathgar, another fine view is obtained of the Dublin Mountains, and at the top of this Road, a new, varied, and perhaps still more pleasing scene will present itself. Continuing to the end of the Omnibus’s journey at Roundtown, the Tourist will find many beautiful localities, where, if time permits he may spend a few hours. Within about ten minutes walk to the north of Roundtown, is Mount Jerome Cemetery , established by the General Cemetery 104 HANDBOOK OF DUBLIN. Company of Ireland, with a capital of 12,000, raised by shares of £10 each. This Cemetery occupies an area of nearly 2 7 acres. The grounds, which formerly formed the demense of a private gentleman, are naturally beau- tiful, having nothing of the shrubbery flower garden, or gravel w T alk feature of the other cemeteries, but are traversed by noble avenues of forest trees the growth of ages. At the entrance to the Cemetery is a handsome church erected by private subscription for the accommo- dation of the residents in the neighbourhood.— Adjoin- ing is Harold’s Cross Green, within the Manor of the Archbishop of Dublin, where felons, convicted in u his Lordship's Court of St. Sepulchre in olden times were deprived of life. Turning to the left from Roundtown, the Tourist will, in a few minutes, pass over Rathfarm- ham Bridge, where the scenery on either side is very beautiful ; and, passing Ely demesne now the residence of the Right Hon. Fras. Blackburne, a very pleasing walk may be had by the river side to Miltown or Clon- skeagh, from either of which places a return may be made to town by Railway or Omnibus. INDEX Aldborough House . . « ... 19 Ann’s Church ... 78 Bethesda ... .. . 23 Birthplace of SHERIDAN 23 Broad Stone Station ... 25 Birthplace of EDMUND BURKE ... ... 30 Birthplace of MOORE 72 Birthplace of WELLINGTON ... 91 Blue Coat Hospital ... 32 Bloody Bridge ... ... 33 Bank of Ireland ... ... 41 Birthplace of Dean Swift ... ... 57 Cabs, Cars, and Omnibuses ... 5 Carlisle Bridge ... ... 9 Capital of Ireland 4 Castle, The ... ... 54 Custom House ... ... ... . 16 Catherine’s Church 40 Chamber of Commerce ... 49 City Hall 50 Christ Church Cathedral ... ... 60 Drogheda Railway Terminus 18 Dublin Female Penitentiary ... 21 Dublin Library ... 96 Equestrian Statue of King William 1 1 1. ... 46 Environs 96 Free Church 19 Four Courts 27 Fishamble-street 57 Fitz william Square ... 92 Guide to the City of Dublin 8 General Post Office 10 George’s Church ... ... 20 Hibernian Bank ... ... 53 Harcourt-street Station ... 74 Irish Church Missions ... 95 Jesuit’s Chapel ... ... 20 James’s Church ... 39 Kingstown ... 2 King’s Bridge Station 37 Kildare Club House ... 78 Kingstown Railway 93 La Touche’s Bank ... 53 Metropolitan Hall ... 15 iv Mountjoy Square ... ... ... 20 Mountjoy Convict Prison ... Mary’s Chapel of Ease Michan’s Church ... ... 22 ... 23 ... ... 26 Mrs. Heman’s late Residence . . . 75 Messrs. Guinness and Co.’s Brewery ... .... 40 Moore’s Monument ... 46 Mathias’s Church ... ... ... 74 Museum of Irish Industry . . . 75 Mansion House ... ... ... 75 Merrion Square ... ... 92 Mark’s Church ... ... 94 North and South Sides ... ... 9 Nelson’s Monument ... ... ... 10 New Roman Catholic Chapel . . . .. . 24 National Bank ... 49 National Education Offices ... 15 Preface 1 Phoenix Park 34 Presbyterian Chapel, Ormond Quay 41 Patrick’s Cathedral ... ... 67 Presbyterian Chapel, Adelaide Road ... 74 Queen’s Inn’s Queen’s Bridge ... 24 ... ... 32 Queen’s Theatre .. . ... 94 Rotundo and Lying-in Hospital ... ... 11 Roman Catholic Cathedral ... ... 14 Royal Hibernian Academy 16 Royal Military Infirmary 36 Royal Hospital ... ... 38 Royal Bank 45 Royal College of Surgeons ... 73 Royal Irish Academy ... ... ... 76 Royal Dublin Society 78 Royal Barracks ... ... 33 Richmond Bridge ... 29 Sackville-street ... ... 10 Stephen’s Hospital 37 Swift’s Lunatic Hospital ... 37 Society of Ancient Concerts Stephen’s Church .. . . 93 92 Stephen’s Green ... Theatre Royal ... Thomas’s Church 72 ... 94 13 Trinity College ... ... 46 \Y T hith worth Bridge ... 29 Wesleyan Methodist Chapel ... 33 Wellington Testimonial 34 Werburgh’s Church ... ... 57 THE GRESHAM HOTEL, SACIvVILLE STREET, DUBLIN. The Nobility and Gentry are respectfully informed that “ The Gresham” continues to be replete with every comfort requisite for their accommodation. The Coffee Room for Gentlemen is equal to that of a first-rate club-house. The family Hotel has a distinct entrance, &c., and is calculated to ensure all the comfort of a private resi- dence. The situation and extent of this establishment confer upon it peculiar advantages. All the Charges continue upon the same scale as that which has secured a continuance of public patron- age. HOT, COLD, & SHOWER BATHS, ALSO A NIGHT PORTER IN ATTENDANCE. The Establishment is kept open for the accommodation of Visitors arriving by the Express Boats. ON PARLE FRANCAIS. F GEORGE CHARLE8 BETTS & CO. Respectfully invite attention to tlie following, which they place before their customers with confidence : — WINES. Clarets suitable for the season ... 20s. 22s. per dozen. Sherries, Pale 22s. 26s. 30s. „ Ditto, Golden 22s. 26s. 30s. „ Old Port, Fresh Bottled 26s. 30s. „ BLACK TEAS. Sound Congou 2s. 6d., 2s. 8d., 2s. lOd. F lb Medium Qualities 3s. 3d., 3s. 4d. „ First-class Medium to Fine 3s. 6d. ,, OUR BEST and HIGHEST PRICE 3s. 8d. „ COFFEE ROASTED DAILY. Pure Coffees ... . Is. 10d., Is. 8d., Is. 4d. F lb Mixed with Chicory Is. 8d., Is. 4d., Is. Od. „ GEO. CHARLES BETTS & CO. DIRECT WINE IMPORTERS, fc JptyimttMtts & dtofM THE TIMES TEA WAREHOUSE,! 30, HENRY STREET. CORPORATION OF THE Jtaiimml Jissuranq (Eompng a| Jrdmut, FOUNDED 182 2. CAPITAL — ONE MILLION STERLING. FOR FIRE, LIFE, & RSARffJE ASSURANCE. HEAD OFFICE, No. 3, COLLEGE GREEN, DUBLIN, DIRECTORS. John Barlow, Esq., J. P., Director of the Bank of Ireland, Chairman of the Dublin and Belfast Railway Company. Samuel Bkwlby, Esq., Merchant. Robert Callwell, Esq., Merchant. Thomas Crosthwait, Esq., J.P., Director of the Bank of Ireland, President of the Chamber of Commerce. Alexander J. Ferrier, Esq., Merchant. Lundy E. Foot, Esq., Director of the Bank of Ireland. John P. Hardy, Esq., Director of the Bank of Ireland. William Hogg, Esq., Director of the Bank of Ireland. Nathaniel Hone, Esq., Director of Bank of Ireland, & of Mid. Gt. West. Railway Co. Thomas L. Kelly, Esq., J. P., Director of the Bank of Ireland. Charles Leslie, Esq., Merchant. Colonel David C. La Touche, J. P. and D. L. Wm. Diggks La Touche, Esq, J. P. and D. L , Banker, Director of the Dublin and Belfast Junction Railway Company, and Chairman of the Grand Canal Company. RrCHAKD Manders, Esq., J. P. Hugh O’Connor, Esq., Merchant. Thomas Pim, Esq., Merchant. George Pim, Esq., J. P., Director of the Great Southern and Western, and Dublin and Kingstown Railway Companies. George Roe, Esq., J. P. and D. L., Director of the Dublin and Kingstown Railway Co. Patrick Sweetman, Esq., Brewer. Henry Thompson, Esq., Merchant. LIFE DEPARTMENT— DECLARATION OF BONUS. The Directors having had a careful investigation made into the Life Business of the Company for the first septennial period since the adoption of the Bonus system ended 31st December, 1857, have the gratification of stating that the result has been highly satisfactory, as will he seen by the following EXAMPLES : — Date of Policy. Age. Amount Insured. Annual Prem. Bonus added. 1851 .. 58 . £500 .. £32 5 0 £86 0 0 1852 .. 50 , 3000 136 2 6 407 0 0 1853 .. 40 , 1000 32 18 4 97 0 0 1854 COO ,. 32 11 0 50 0 0 1855 .. 57 . . 29 9 2 29 0 0 At the option of the Assured the Bonus may be commuted for a reduction in the Annual Premium, or a payment in money. No charge for Life Policy Stamps , and THIRTY DAYS allowed for renewing Life Policies. Loans advanced on Unincumbered Policies to the full amount of their official value. Annuities granted— Immediate or Reversionary. Fire Insurance effected at the lowest rates. Marine Insurance at Current Premiums; losses adjusted on the most liberal principles of Indemnity, and paid without discount or deduction. The paramount object in Assurance is Security ; and the Directors refer with confidence to the magnitude of that afforded by this native establishment. Its ample capital, large accumulations, and a numerous and wealthy Proprietary, com- bine an amount of security to the Public not surpassed by any similar Institution in the Empire. Office Hours from Ten to Five o’cloek ; and a Committee of Directors sit daily from Two to Three o'clock, for the purpose of deciding on Proposals for Insurance. JOSEPH TODHUNTER, Secretary . AGENTS. Belfast —Henry Nichol. Clonmel — William Davis. Cork — Osborne R. Bergin. ,, Joseph E. Tracy. Dungannon — R. Simpson and Co. Galway — James J. Fynn. Limerick— William Carroll. Monaghan — Francis Adams. Newry — William B. Glenny. Tralee— John Busteed. Waterford— Arthur Mason. GEORGE MACDONA & COMPANY, 32, MOLESWORTH STREET, Solicits the favour of a visit and inspection of their very extensive stock of the NEWEST & FINEST FABRICS & DESIGNS. The position of our house as the largest FIRST CLASS TAILORING ESTABLISHMENT in Ireland is a guarantee of every excellence. AGENTS FOR Messrs. H.[J, & D. NICOLL’S (of London) Patent Clothing, and the only house in Ireland keeping a large stock of the finest GARMENTS FOR IMMEDIATE USE. fopt (B-xrhanjK ^ssapnce Corpption, FOR FIRE, LIFE & MARINE ASSURANCES, & FOR ANKUITIIS ESTABLISHED A. D. 1720, By Charter of King George L, and confirmed by Special Acts of Parliament Chief Office, Royal Exchange, London: Branch, 29, Pall-Mall; and 8, WESTMORLAND STREET, DUBLIN. Fire, Life, and Marine Assurances may be effected with this Corporation on advantageous terms. . . . . n . Life Assurances are granted with or without participation in Profits, in the latter case at reduced rates of Premium. - The following Table shows the large BONUSES declared up to the olst December, 1860, on Policies of Nineteen Years’ standing, for the sum of £1,000 each : — Age when Assured. Sum Assured. Bonus added. Reduction of Premium for the rest of life. £ £ £ s. d. 30 1000 240 8 3 7 35 1000 249 9 18 3 40 1000 264 12 7 6 45 1000 284 15 17 0 50 1000 314 21 4 4 65 1000 348 29 9 0 60 1000 396 43 10 8 65 1000 472 71 17 2 Divisions of Profits will take place every Five years. The expense of Management, being divided between the different branches, are spread over a larger amount of business than that transacted by any other office. The charge upon each policy is thereby reduced to a sum so small as to account for the magnitude of the bonus which has been declared, and to afford a probability that a similar rate will be sustained at all future divisions. # This Corporation affords to the assured a liberal participation in 1 rofits, with exemption from the liabilites of Partnership; a rate of Bonus equal to the average returns of Mutual Societies, with the guarantee of a huge invested Capital Stock ; the advantages of modern practice, with the security of an office whose resources have been tested by the experience of nearly a century and a-half. In the case of Death occurring during the Thirty Days allowed for 1 ay- ment of a Life Premium, and before such payment has been made, the Corporation hold themselves liable under the Policy, provided the 1 rcmium be subsequently paid on or before the r J hirtieth Day from that upon which it became due. THOMAS THOU TON, Agent, 8. WESTMORLAND STREET, DUBLIN CHURCH OF ENGLAND LIFE AND FIRE ASSURANCE INSTITUTION HEAD OFFICE, 5, LOTHBURY, LONDON. ESTABLISHED 1840, AND EMPOWERED BY SPECIAL ACT OF PARLIAMENT, 4 & 5 VICT., CAP. 92. SUBSCRIBED CAPITAL, ONE MILLION. A List of the Proprietors periodically enrolled in the High Court of Chancery . LIFE. This Institution adopts both the Proprietary and Mutual systems of Life Assurance, and the Policy Holders in both branches are fully protected by the large Subscribed Capital of the Company. The rates of Premium are reduced in all cases as far as is compatible with stability, and especially favo- rable for young and middle-aged lives. In the Mutual Branch of this Institution, the Policy Holders are entitled to the Entire Profits of the Branch, thus enjoying all the advantages of a strictly Mutual Assurance Society, together with the security of an ample Proprietary Capital. In the Proprietary Branch, Assurances may be effected in a great variety of ways, to suit the circumstances and convenience of the Assured. Among others, where the Policy is made payable “ on the Assured attaining a fixed age, or at death , if that event should happen previously,” is particularly deserving of attention. FIRE. Premiums for Assurance against Fire are charged at the usual rates, with a reduction of £10 per cent on the RESIDENCES AND FURNITURE OF CLERGYMEN AND SCHOOLMASTERS, and the BUILDINGS AND CONTENTS OF CHURCHES AND CHURCH SCHOOLS. Prospectuses, the necessary Forms, and every requisite information for effecting Assurances, may be obtained on application at the Head Office, as above, or to the undermentioned Agent of the Company. WM. EMMENS, Manager . MURDOCK GREEN, 52, Lower Sackville-street, Dublin. *** The Rates of Premium charged by this Institution for residence in India, the Cape of Good Hope, and Australia (where the Company has Branches,) are peculiarly favourable to Assurers. THE jpati-ioKc ^ssurarup djontpang of Jrelnnd, ESTABLISHED 1824. CAPITAL— ONE MILLION AND A HALF STERLING, HEAD OFFICE, 9, COLLEGE GREEN, DUBLIN. DIRECTORS. EDWARD BARRINGTON, Esq., Director of Dublin and Wicklow Railway Company. JOHN BARTON, Esq., Director of the Bank of Ireland. WILLIAM H. F. COGAN, Esq., M. F. JOSEPH COWPER, Esq., Director of the Royal Bank of Ireland, and of the Midland Great Western, and Dublin and Wicklow Railway Companies. JEREMIAH DUNNE, Esq., J. P., Director of the National Bank of Ireland. JOHN ENNIS, Esq., D.L., M.P., Director of the Bank of Ireland, and Chairman of the Midland Great Western Railway Company. WILLIAM MOORE GEOGHEGAN, Esq., Director of the City of Dub. Steam Pkt. Co. EDWARD ACTON GIBBON, Esq., Director of the Mining Company of Ireland. CHARLES HALIDAY, Esq., Director of the Bank of Ireland. JAMES HAUGHTON, Esq., Eccles-street. GEORGE HOiTE, Esq., J.P., Director of Dublin and Belfast Junction, and Dublin and Drogheda Railway Companies. VAL. O’BRIEN O’CONNOR, Esq., Director of the Royal Bank of Ireland, and of the Great Southern and Western Railway Company. RICHARD O'GORMAN, Esq., Director of the Mining Company of Ireland. SIR JAMES POWER, Bart. JOSEPH WATKINS, Esq., Brewer, Ardee-street, Warrenmount and Bray. JOSHUA WATSON, Esq., Director of the Royal Bank of Ireland, and of the Mid- land Great Western Railway Company. Sccretaro to tfje (ffoinpanj) — JAMES MONCRIEFF WILSON, ESQ. assistant £eetetar])— WM. J. handcock, esq. In Assurance Transactions what ought to be sought beyond everything else by the Assured is absolute security. Among the many advantages offered by the PATRIOTIC ASSURANCE COMPANY OF IRELAND, may be enumerated The Security afforded by a Capital of One Million Five Hundred Thousand Pounds, and the solidity resulting from an experience extending over Thirty-six Years, during which period upwards of £400,000 have been paid in satisfaction of claims. LIFE DEPARTMENT. The Rates of Premium have lately undergone careful revision, and are all com- puted expressly for the use of this Company, from the most approved observations on the duration of Human Life. The Tables will bear comparison with those of other societies ; and they are at the same time so graduated, that no insurer is favoured at the expense of another. No entry money is charged. LOANS. Loans advanced on approved personal security, in conjunction with Life Policies without Money Bond or Warrant being required. FIRE DEPARTMENT. Property of almost every description may be Insured by the payment of a small Annual Premium, and risks involving more than ordinary hazard are moderately rated. FIRE POLICIES Are Transferred from other offices free of Expense. Copies of the Tables of Rates ^ and of the large Prospectus , may be had gratis on application at any nf the Corny any' s Offices or Agencies. ©fuf 4i nc # ©nmm^nlitt Jd[t (Exhibition. IRISH BOG OAK ORNAMENTS. CORNELIUS GOGGIN, HER MAJESTY’S BOG OAK CARVER, 13, NASSAU STREET, DUBLIN, Respectfully invites an inspection at his manufactory, 13, NASSAU STREET, of Duplicates of his Exhibition Gems, being true copies of the Irish antiques of rare and exquisite beauty, which will be found on inspection to maintain that great celebrity which his house has attained. Please to observe the Name and Address , CORNELIUS GOGGIN, 13, NASSAU STREET. M’BIRNEY, COLLIS & CO. IN ADDITION TO THE largest (Sendai ^tasji of <Jjtr L 8t-fto linens in Jutland, RESPECTFULLY INVITE ATTENTION TO THEIR NEW GOODS FOR JUNE, CONSISTING OF THE LATEST PARIS NOVELTIES IN RICH FRENCH SILKS, FOULARDS, &C. SPECIMENS IN THE EXHIBITION, CLASS 50. FRENCH FILLED SHAWLS, GRENADINE &, CREPE DO, SPECIMENS IN THE EXHIBITION, BONNET RIBBONS, NECK & SASH DO. SPECIMENS IN THE EXHIBITION, mmm w mm, mis® lack, &c. SPECIMENS IN THE EXHIBITION. CARPETS AND WINDOW CURTAINS, SPECIMENS IN THE EXHIBITION. DAMASK TABLE LINEN, IRISH CAMBRIC, <fcc. SPECIMENS IN THE EXHIBITION. READY MADE CLOTHING, BOYS’ SUITS., &c. SPECIMENS IN THE EXHIBITION. In addition to the above display of NEW FABRICS, M’B. C. & CO. are selling large and varied lots of First-class Goods at greatly reduced prices. HIBERNIAN HOUSE ASTONS’ GUAY. IRISH BOG OAK ORNAMENTS. HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased to appoint JEREMIAH HOGGIN, Grafton-street, BOG OAK CARVER IN ORDINARY TO HER MAJESTY AND THE ROYAL FAMILY. PRIZE MEDAL. PRIZE MEDAL. J. Goggin, in gratefully acknowledging the Royal favour, begs respectfully to return to the Nobility and Gentry his best thanks for the liberal support accorded to him these many years, and particularly for the renewal of their unaltered confi- dence since the opening of his New Establishment, 74, Grafton- An inspection of duplicates of the collection purchased by Her Majesty and the Royal Children on the recent occasion of their visit to Ireland, will amply repay the trouble of examining these beautiful National Gems at the Factory, 74, GRAFTON-STREET, OR AT THE EXHIBITION OF ARTS AND MANUFACTURES, ROYAL DUBLIN SOCIETY, STALL, NO. 175, NORTH GALLERY, JEREMIAH GOGGIN, MANUFACTURER, The Queen's Special Carver. REYNOLDS’ HOTEL, 11 & 12, UPPER SACKYILLE STREET, DUBLIN. The Sitting Rooms and Coffee Room of this Hotel being all front, and its situation in the best part of SACKVILLE STREET, combine to render it peculiarly adapted for the accommodation of Tourists. A FIRST CLASS TABLE D’HOTE is provided during the Summer Months. “ ON PARLE FRANCAISE.” THE VERDON HOTEL, 35, 36, 37, and 38, TALBOT STREET, DUBLIN. GEORGE DINGWALL, Proprietor. THE VERDON is within ten doors of the Belfast and Dublin Railway Ter- minus, and three minutes walk of Sackville-street and the General Post Office. It is well known to be one of the largest and most comfortably fitted up Hotels in the City, affording every inducement to Families and Tourists that a first class Hotel can give, upon the most reasonable terms. HOT and COLD BATHS, PLEASURE GROUNDS, in the rere of the Hotel. P.S. — Uotel for Night , Is. 6d . ; all Servants , Is. FREDERICK H. JUDGE, Uterrirnni CloIIit^r, MANY YEARS MANAGER FOR MR. GEO. MACDONA, FORMER PROPRIETOR OF 32, MOLESWORTH-ST. 3, WICKLOW STREET, THREE DOORS FROM GRAFTON-STREET. THE ROYAL DUBLIN SOCIETY'S EXHIBITION OF THE rbi tm a ©laanam art. 1861 , IS OPEN EVERY DAY AT ONE SHILLING, From 10 o'clock a.m to 6 o'clock p.m. AND ON TI1E EVEN5NGS OF MONDAY, WEDNESDAY, AND FRIDAY, From 8 to 10 J o'clock , p.m . ADMISSION, ONE SHILLING. THE BUILDING IS BRILLIANTLY ILLUMINATED AT NIGHT. SEASON TICKETS, to admit whenever the Exhibition shall be open, are Sold at the following rates : — Gentleman’s (Buff) Lady’s (Blue) Child’s (Pink) - s. d. 12 6 7 6 5 0 Shilling Tickets for presentation are also on Sale. There is a Musical Performance every day and evening, either by a Military Band, Mr. Levy’s Orchester, or on the Organ, at which Dr. Stewart and Mr. Torrance preside. The Official Catalogue, Second Edition, is sold in the build- ing, price One Shilling. By Order, HENRY PARKINSON, 22 nd July, 1861. Secretary to the Committee • LAKES OF KILLARNEY. THE LAKE HOTEL,’ CASTLELOUGH (late cotter’s), JAMES COFFEE, Proprietor. I T is essential to apprize Tourists, that there is, at Killarney, but ONE ESTABLISHMENT called “THE LAKE HOTEL” It is situate in the Bay of Castlelough, on the Eastern shore of the Lower Lake, in the centre of the varied scenery of the Lakes, and within ten minutes’ drive of the Railway Station. It accommodates ONE HUNDRED persons. FORTY of the BED-ROOMS and SITTING-ROOMS/ace the Lake., The Waters of the Lake approach the Hall- door, and hence the distinctive title of “ THE LAKE HOTEL.” Boats and V chicles of every description supplied at fixed moder- ate charges. No Gratuities allowed to Boatmen, Drivers, &e., as they are paid am- ple wages by the proprietor. THE LAKE HOTEL OMNIBUS attends the arrival of and de- parture of the Trains. N.B. — To prevent mistake, or misdirection , Visitors would do well, on the arrival at the Killarney Station, to inquire for “ THE LAKE HOTEL” Porter , and see that the Omnibus which conveys them bears the name “ J. COFFEE.” Notices of the Press — (from Bradshaw's “ Tourists' Hand Book."y “ In point of situation, that of 4 THE LAKE HOTEL’ is, beyond “ question, the very best in the Lakes of Killarney. It occupies the “ centre of the circle described by the great mountain ranges of u Mangerton, Tore, Eagle’s Nest, Purple Mountain, Glena, Tomies, “ Dunlo Gap, and Carranthual, and concentrates in one view all “ that is graceful picturesque, and sublime, in the scenery of Killarney.”— • BRADSHAW’S “ TOURIST’S HAND BOOK.”— page 382. CAMBRIDGE HOUSE, 56, MOUNT PLEASANT, LIVERPOOL. L ADIES, Gentlemen, and Families visiting Liverpool, and wishing for the comforts of home, should seek the above first-class and com- modious establishment. The apartments are lofty, well ventilated, and of a superior description, combined with accommodation which cannot fail to recommend itself strongly to public patronage. To render it welcome alike to Visitors for long or short periods, the apartments can be taken by the day (Jf preferred), to suit the convenience of all parties. It is especially suited for Ladies and Gentlemen who prefer retirement to the bustle of an hotel. Suites of Rooms can be secured on applica- tion by letter (addressed to the Proprietor) or otherwise. The house, though quiet and in the best part of the town, is most favourably situa- ted, being near to St. George’s Hall, Lime Street Railway Station, .Theatres, &c., and within seven minutes’ drive of the Landing Stages. 35, 36, 37 and 38, Talbot Street, IDTOMSfo GEORGE DINGWALL, Proprietor. THE VERDON is within ten doors of the Belfast and Dublin Railway Terminus, and three minutes walk of Sackville street and General Post Ofiace. It is well known to be one of the largest and most comfortably fited up Hotels in the City, affording every inducement to Families and Tourists that a first class Hotel can give, upon the most reasonable terms. HOT and COLD BATHS, PLEASURE GROUNDS, in the rere of the Hotel. P.S. — Hotel for Night, Is. Gd. ; all Servants , Is. ■ ; 'a. '