Yale University Library

SfeKteS."

E^cSSn^" ;-'¦-' '¦-,!¦- '".

¦'-..;"¦.; p ";r;,. \-~;-'-r..

^gTVEr^'

YALE UNIVERSITY
LIBRARY

i944

This book was digitized by Microsoft Corporation in
cooperation with Yale University Library, 2008. You
may not reproduce this digitized copy ofthe book for
any purpose other than for scholarship, research,
educational, or, in limited quantity, personal use. You
may not distribute or provide access to this digitized copy
(or modified or partial versions of it) for commercial purposes.

HISTORICAL SKETCH

^own of f^wtudket

PBEPABED BY

REV. MASSENA GOODRICH,
PEE VOTE OF THE TOWN COUNCIL.

P A W TUCKET :
NICKERSON, SIBLEY & CO., BOOK AND JOB PRINTERS.
1876.

PREFACE.

In writing the following sketch I have tried to fulfill the wishes
of both our National and State legislators. I suppose that the
desire of Congress in recommending the writing of local histories
on this Centennial year, was to secure for preservation an outline
of the experiences of the various towns and cities in the work of
planting and forming their little municipalities, and to show what
growth they have attained. I presume that the special desire of
the General Assembly of our State was to embody, in addition to
the information named, an account of the industrial affairs of the
various towns in our Commonwealth. To learn what branches
of manufacture have been established among us, what inventions
have been perfected, and 'what development productive industry
has attained, is one result they had in view.
I have therefore prepared a sketch. The time allotted me was
too short to undertake anything more. To read the records of
two or three towns for centuries, to ransack the archives of our
State and of the shire town of Bristol county, to examine land
titles and old manuscripts, would be pleasant for a man of an
antiquarian taste, but would demand months of toil. Were a
voluminous history of the town desired, however, all this and
more would be demanded. But as I do not suppose that this was
what our legislators desired, I have proposed to myself a less
ambitious aim. Without undertaking much original research, I
have gleaned from books and papers the more interesting facts
pertaining to the town, and condensed and arranged them in a
convenient form. To many of the citizens some of the facts will
be new ; to almost all of them they will prove pleasant reminders

4 PREFACE.
of facts unknown or half forgotten. I have borrowed from both
books and newspapers without scruple. Of course, in many cases
I have had to read a great deal to learn a little. It is sufficient
therefore to acknowledge my indebtedness to the Rhode Island
Colonial Records, to Judge Staples's Annals, to Arnold's History
of Rhode Island, to Bliss's History of Rehoboth, to Bishop's
History of Manufactures, to Memoirs of the Wilkinson Family,
especially to the Reminiscences published over twenty years ago
by the late Dr. Benedict, in the Pawtucket Gazette and Chronicle,
and to many, other books and pamphlets. As far as possible, I
have verified the facts stated in the various books named, by oral
inquiry. The reader will notice, too, that I have tried to give an account
of the various branches of manufacturing industry in the town.
In doing this I have studied brevity. Nobody but one who has
undertaken to gather such statistics, knows how much time and
pains are needful to collect them, and specially to ascertain their
connection with previous establishments. Perhaps the details
may seem meagre ; it had been easier in many cases to make
them four times as voluminous. I have thought, however, that
they would be more likely to be studied, if brief. In gaining the
information sought, I have had to tax the time of agents and
proprietors a little, but I take pleasure in acknowledging the
courtesy generally. extended to me.
I must not close, however, without acknowledging my special
indebtedness to a few friends. Capt. James S. Brown has
taken great interest in the work I undertook, and has supplied a
great deal of information. Though I have been to him again
and again, the courteous invitation has been repeated, "Call
whenever you please, and if I can help you with facts, I shall be
ready to do so." Mr. Franklin Rand has also shed much light on
matters ; and Mr. James Greene, who is an enthusiast on the
local history of Pawtucket, has brought forth his treasures for my
inspection. To the esteemed Dr. Blodgett, too, to Mr. Alden
Sibley, and to Mr. Henry Jerauld, as well as others whom I have
not time to name, I offer my hearty thanks for information
furnished.

HISTORICAL SKETCH.

The Blackstone river, which commemorates the fame of
the first settler of Boston, has its source near Worcester,
Mass., and seeks the waters of Narragansett Bay. Vexed
for almost its entire course by rapids, it makes its final plunge
over the Pawtucket Falls. According to etymologists, the
word Pawtucket signified in the dialect of the aborigines falls
qf water. This name was formerly applied 'to the entire
stream, but now designates the river below the falls, which
conveys the waters of the Blackstone to the bay. And the
word also designates one of the chief manufacturing towns
of Rhode Island.
The present town of Pawtucket lies on both sides of the
river. The section lying east of the stream, however, was
for over two centuries a part of Massachusetts. When con
stituted a distinct town by that State, it contained about four
square miles of territory. The portion west of the river has
always been a part of Rhode Island. For more than a cen
tury it was known as the village of Pawtucket in the town
of North Providence. As the resolution of the General
Assembly of our State, under which this history is prepared,
fitly provides that the sketch shall start from the very foun
dation of the town, an outline of the political history of the
separate villages named, prior to their being united in one
township, is demanded.

6 HISTORICAL SKETCH
Out fathers were men of profound religious natures.
Roger Williams devoutly recognized the hand of God in
shielding him from grave perils, and in guiding him to the
region where he was" to found a State. He therefore called
the territory which he had purchased from the Indians, and
which he and his few comrades were settling, Providence.
Originally it embraced nearly all of what is now known as
Providence county, and a part of Kent county. The settlers
of the eastern side of the river also showed their reverence
for the divine word by choosing a fitting name for their set
tlement from the Old Testament. They called it Rehoboth.
According to Gesenius that word signifies in Hebrew, streets,
wide places, ample room. And ample room the little band
had for a township ; for it embraced in the outset what has
since become the towns of Seekonk, the former Pawtucket,
and the town which bears the original name. And by a sub
sequent purchase it annexed' what afterwards became Attle-
borough, Mass., and Cumberland, R. I.
It was within the bounds of what soon became Rehoboth,
indeed, that Roger Williams first settled. Everybody knows
that he fled in haste from Salem, Mass., early in 1636, to
avoid being seized and shipped to England as a schismatic.
At Salem or Plymouth, however, he had made the acquaint
ance of Massasoit, Sachem of the Wampanoags, and of
Canonicus and Miantonomi, Chief Sachems of the Narragan
setts. The former tribe, it must be recollected, had become
tributaries to the latter. After Williams's flight from Salem,
he went to Seekonk, and procured from Massasoit a grant of
land at Manton's Neck, on the Seekonk river, and began to
build and plant near what is now the Cove Mills. But a
friendly letter from Gov. Winslow apprises him that he is
within the bounds of the Plymouth patent, and counsels him
to cross the river, by which he would go beyond any English
claim. Williams discovers that the Governor fears that the
Massachusetts Bay Company will deem Williams's further
occupation of his present abode an affront; ahd as Gov.

OE PAWTUCKET. 7
Winslow prudently tells him that the Pilgrims at Plymouth
" are loath to displease the Bay," the exile resolves not to
embroil the other colonies in strife. Late in the spring, or
early in the summer of .1636, therefore, he crossed the river,
and entered for purposes of settlement the limits of Provi
dence. From the two Sachems of the Narragansetts he obtained a
grant of land, of a somewhat indefinite extent. Who does
not enjoy the antique spelling of Indian names ?
"At Nanhiggansick the twenty-fourth of the first month com
monly called March, in the second year of our plantation or
planting at Mooshausick or Providence. Memorandum, that we
Canaunicus and Meauntunomi the two chief sachems of Nanhig
gansick, having two years since sold unto Roger Williams, the
lands and meadows upon the two fresh rivers, called Mooshausick
and Wanasquatucket, do now by these presents establish and con
firm the bounds of those lands, from the river and fields at Paw
tucket, the great hill of Neotaconkonitt on the northwest, and
the town of Mashapauge on the west. As also in consideration
of the many kindnesses and services he hath continually done for
us, ... . we do freely give unto him all the land from those
rivers, reaching to Pawtuxet river, as also the grass and meadows
upon the said Pawtuxet river."
A word in explanation of some of the phraseology in this
document, and on another point, may be allowed. The civil
year at that period began on the twenty-fifth of March.
That month was therefore fitly styled the first month of the
year. The date mentioned, however, is the last day of the
dying year. Probably the pioneers associated with Williams
were growing importunate for some title to their lands, and
Mr. Williams himself had perhaps promised that he would
furnish some evidence of proprietorship before the year closed.
But there is an appendix to the deed above quoted to the
following effect :

8 HISTOBICAL SKETCH
" 1639. Memorandum 3 mo. 9th day.
"This was all again confirmed by Miantonomi, he acknowledged
this his act and hand, up the streams of Pawtucket and Pawtuxet
without limits, we might have for our use of cattle.
Witness hereof Roger Williams,
Benedict Arnold."
But did such deeds fully extinguish the original rights in
the soil? Not at all. Such grants merely conveyed the
jurisdiction, as it were, of the territory. The several Sachems
simply divested themselves of what right they possessed.
After this, those Indians who had planted special tracts of
land, or who had reared wigwams, were to be compensated.
In some cases individuals bought of private Indians their
clearings or abodes ; in others, the community bought out
the different aborigines ; but both prudence and the honora
ble sentiments cherished by many of the settlers, forbade
their practicing any coercion toward the sons of the forest. ¦
By consequence, there long remained in the town and neigh
borhood of Providence, Indians who claimed and occupied
little clearings.
As illustrating the fact that repeated applications were.
made for payment of the same territory, the following docu
ment, printed in both the Rhode Island Colonial Records, and
Judge Staples's Annals of Providence, shows. It may be
the more fitly quoted, because it seems to embrace the very
territory whereon the western division of Pawtucket stands.
Ousamequin, who is also known as Massasoit, chief of
Paukanawket, contracted to sell the piece of land in question,
and then refused to sign the deed. Hereupon the parties
who made the trade presented the following report :
" Wapewasick over against Portsmouth, )
10, 7, 46, (so caUed.) \
" We, Gregory Dexter, Tho : Olney, Roger and Robert Williams
in a word of truth and faythfulness declare that being requested
by ye Town of Providence in oure owne and their behalf to buy
ye right which Ousamequin pretendeth to a parcell of Land which

OP PAWTUCKET. 9
lies between our bounds at Pawtucket and an Indian Plantation
northwest from thence Loquasquscit, and knowing ye our Towne
had right to ye feeding and grazing of cattle upon ye said parcell
of land, by our grant of ye Nanhigganset purchase before such
times as they since released him of his subjection, as also y* it
was upland from ye water, and most of it barren and rockie,
without meadow; soe making a journey to Ousamequin's house,
offered him but fifteen fathom of white wampum (it being a time
when white wampum only was current; and which we knew he
only would accept.) But he desired to have commodities and
wampum, and at last we agreed upon ten fathom of white wam
pum, four coates of English cloth, six of the best English howes
and English axes, and twelve great knives ; which wampum and
commodities he desireing speedie pay of, we went, all of us over
to Portsmouth to procure ye said wampum and commodities; he
furnishing us with a canew and a native ; where some of us per
formed good service for him in some controversies between the
English and him. We brought him ye wampum which he accepted
' of, ye coats also which he accepted of and received the cloth,
choosing out of two parcells, but of twelve knives he chose eight ;
out of six howes, he chose one, we promising to procure ye rest
of the howes and hatchets and knives to his liking, which he was
fully content. Afterward going to sleepe he begged two coats
of us, which we promised to give him ; yet in the morning, some
of us refusing to sell him shott, as also our all refusing to give
him foure coats more, he took forth our monie and goods again to
us, which we refused, not being willing to countenance such deal
ing in ye barbarians ; and having before in their payments and a
coate to his councelleur which he desired, and some other small
gifts unto them layed out, ye valew of about forty fathom of
wampum, we were not willing to wrong our country in granting
his desire of foure coats, and so unreasonably to raese ye price of
such parcells of land in this barbarous wilderness ; and therefore
we declare y* ye said land according to a fair and righteous bar-
gaine belongs to the Towne of Providence, the Towne paying to
Ousamequin, as aforesaid.
Roger Williams,
Robert Williams,
Gregort Dexter,
2 Tho: Olney."

10 HISTORICAL SKETCH
Over two centuries and a quarter have passed since the
transactions so quaintly described took place ; how does the
record seem ? Does it tarnish the fair fame of Roger Wil
liams or Gregory Dexter ?' Not one whit. Ten years before,
Williams had bought the sovereignty of the region from the
Narragansett Sachems. At that time Ousamequin was sub
ject to those chiefs. It is not easy to see how he had regained
any proprietorship in the land whereof he had been despoiled
by war. What the town of Providence did therefore in the
case was in the spirit of a maxim somewhat current in our
own day : that " it is better to feed the Indians than to fight
them." When Williams and his associates saw, however,
that the more they yielded to the chieftain's exactions, the
larger his demands grew, they might prudently decide that,
as the land was theirs before, it was not worth while to buy
it again at too high a price.
The facts already named suggest fruitful causes of misun
derstanding and bickering in the extensive town of Provi
dence. Bounds were not accurately defined ; persons that
had paid individual Indians for their improvements thought
it hard that the original proprietors should be asking of
them compensation for the original purchase of the terri
tory and subsequent improvements ; many were living in the
distant outskirts who found it inconvenient to attend the
numerous town meetings ; and if they came to them, they
found interests clashing. A remedy for some of these evils
was sought in the formation of new towns ; and the territory of
Providence was curtailed. Smithfield, Gloucester, Scituate,
Johnston, and Cranston, were successively cutoff; and in 1765
the town of North Providence was constituted, and embraced
what was described in the first deed quoted as the fields of
Pawtucket. And in the course of a few years, as has already
been mentioned, a village grew up along the western banks
of the Pawtucket river, which bore the name of the village
of Pawtucket.
But the eastern side of the river claims attention. It has

01 PAWTUCKET. 11
already been said that Rehoboth formerly justified its name.
It will be recollected too, that Williams began his earliest set
tlement on the eastern shore of the Seekonk or Pawtucket
river. As he soon crossed the stream, however, and obtained
an ample grant of land from the Narragansett Sachems, he
doubtless advertised Massasoit that he laid no further claim
to the territory originally granted him. In about five" years,
therefore, the chief of the Wampanoags disposed of the region
to two of the inhabitants of Plymouth. These men were
John Brown and Edward Winslow. But they seem to have
been acting in the purchase as agents for a company at Wey
mouth and Hingham. In 1644 that company removed to
Rehoboth. Their spiritual, perhaps their political, leader
was Rev. Samuel Newman. He was a man of much learning,
and was for some jrears the pastor of their church. The tract
first purchased, and which constituted the original Rehoboth,
was by the current measurement eight miles square. As
wild land was not then deemed of much account, however,
the measure was so liberal that a more accurate survey showed
it to be nearer ten miles square, and embraced, as has already
been said, the three townships of Rehoboth, Seekonk, and
Pawtucket. The original deed of Massasoit is not extant. A quit-claim
deed from his son and successor, the famous King Philip of
this region, however, confirmed the grant ; and he also con
veyed for the use of the town a hundred acres more on the
south side. This deed bears date Mareh 30th, 1668. As it
may be convenient to preserve it in connection with this
sketch, a copy is subjoined :
" Enow all men by these presents that, whereas Osamequin,
Sachem, deceased, did, for good and valuable considerations, in
the year one thousand six hundred and forty and one, give, grant,
convey, assure ence offe, and confirm unto Mr. John Brown, and
Mr. Edward Winslow, deceased, a tract of land of eight miles
square, scituate, lying and being both on the east and west sides
of a river now called Palmer's river to the property and behoof of

12 HISTORICAL SKETCH
the townsmen of Seacunk, alias Rehoboth : I Phillip Sachem,
eldest son, heir and successor to the said Osamequin Sachem, do
hereby for my self, mine heires, assigns and successors remise,
release, and for ever quit all manner of right, title, claime or inter
est that I the said phillip Sachem have, or by any colour or pre
tence whatsoever might or ought to have to the said tract of lands
Eight, miles square, lying on the East and west sides of Palmer's
river aforesaid, unto Mr. Stephen Paine the elder, Peter Hunt,
John Allen, Henry Smith, and others, the selectmen of the town of
Rehoboth ; ffor and to the use of themselves and of all the other
Townsmen of the said town, as they are respectively concerned
and estated thereine, and to the use of all and every of their
heires and assigns for ever, — And furthermore I the said Phillip
Sachem do hereby firmly bind my self, mine heires, assigns and
successors to free and discharge, secure and save harmless the
said Stephen Paine, Peter Hunt, John Allen, Henry Smith and
the selectmen aforesaid, and all other the Inhabitants of Rehoboth,
their heirs and assigns for ever from all former and other bargains,
sales titles, and all other incumbrances whatsoever had, made,
done or suffered by me the said phillip Sachem, or the said Osam
equin my father deceased; or hereafter to be made, done, com
mitted or suffered by me the said phillip Sachem, mine heires,
assigns or successors. In witnesse whereof I have hereunto put
my hand and seal, the thirtieth day of the flirst Month, Called
March, In the yeare of our lord one Thousand Six Hundred Sixty
and Eight."
Here follow the marks of Umptakisok, Phillip, Suncone-
whew, phillip's brother, and peebee, counsellor. And a kind
of appendix accompanies their signatures to this effect :
" be it remembered that Philip acknowledged before the enseal
ing and delivery, hereof, that osamequin receaved full satisfaction
of the said Mr. Brown and Mr. Winslow for the said Eight miles
square, and" ffor the hundred acres, lying on the south side of the
bounds of Rehoboth, now called by the name of the Hundred
acres to the use of the said town."
Philip had an elder brother, by the name of Alexander, or
Wamsitta, who was associated, near the close of Massasoit's.

OF PAWTUCKET. 13
life, with his father in the government of the tribe. This
chieftain, in the year 1661, gave Capt. Thomas Willett a deed
of what was called Rehoboth North Purchase. This tract
embraced, as has already been said, the present towns of
Attleborough and Cumberland. Five years afterwards, Capt.
W. conveyed this territory to the town of Rehoboth, and
thereby swelled its magnitude to the extent named.
Attleborough was severed from the parent town in 1694,
and embraced most of the North Purchase. In 1746 Cum
berland, which had previously been called the Gore, was cut
off from Attleborough and made a separate town. The resi
due of Rehoboth remained undivided till 1812, when the
town of Seekonk was taken from it. The dividing line
between the new town and the old run nearly north and
south. In Indian etymology, Seekonk is said to be a com
pound term, made up of the words Seaki, black, and honk,
goose. This is the Indian name for the wild goose, which is
partly black. According to Williams the . adjective Seaki
always loses the final vowel when combined with other words.
The tract often styled Seekonk Plains is thought to have been
a favorite haunt for wild geese, which often used to light in
great flocks in the river and cove. To some ears the term
Seekonk is not specially euphonious, and some tongues hesi
tate to pronounce the name. Dr. Benedict mentions that the
Hon. Oliver Starkweather, who was the first Representative in
the new town, was somewhat diverted by the awkward refer
ences which the Speaker of the Massachusetts House of Rep
resentatives would make to him. If he began a sentence
according to parliamentary usage, by saying, " The member
froni  ," he would check himself, as if shrinking from an
unpronounceable name, and say Mr. Starkweather.
In due time, however, the same diversity of interests that
had caused the division of towns on the western side of the
river, compelled a division of Seekonk. A new town was
formed, which assumed the name of Pawtucket. The act
which incorporated it as a distinct town was passed on Feb
ruary 29th, 1828. The act provided that—.

14 HISTORICAL SKETCH
" The Northwest part of the Town of Seekonk, within the fol
lowing lines, namely, beginning at a bend of the Seekonk river
about forty rods south of the mouth of Beverage brook, so called,
thence running a due east course till it strikes the ten mile river,
so called, thence by said river till it comes to the Attleborough
line, including the Island on which Kent's Factory is situated,
also the bridge a few rods north of said Kent's Factory. . . .
Thence Westerly on the Attleborough line till it comes to the
Rhode Island line, thence Southerly on said Rhode Island line till
it comes to the first corner, with all the inhabitants living thereon,
be incorporated into a town by the name of Pawtucket."
The first town meeting held in pursuance of the foregoing
act, to choose officers, and organize the town, was held in
Rev. Mr. Greene's Meeting House, on March 17th, 1828.
Oliver Starkweather, Esq., was chosen Moderator, James C.
Starkweather, Clerk for the ensuing year, and William Allen,
Treasurer. Messrs. David Bucklin, Elijah Ingraham and
Remember Kent, were elected Selectmen.
How numerous was the population of the new town ? It
is not positively known. A census was taken, however, two
years afterward, by authority of the General Government,
and the following report was made : There were males six
hundred and thirty-seven, and females eight hundred and
twenty-one, making the entire number of the inhabitants
fourteen hundred and fifty-eight. And it may wake the
reader's wonder to see how economical were the notions less
than fifty years ago. At an adjourned town meeting held on
May 12th, 1828, the following sums were appropriated, in
accordance with the recommendation of a committee ap
pointed at a previous meeting, viz :
For the support of the poor, . . . $300 00
For the repair of highways, . . . 100 00
For the support of schools, . . . 350 00
For the other town expenses, . . . 150 00
Total,  $900 00

OE PAWTUCKET. 15
For years this town remained a part of Massachusetts.
Meantime the population and business were increasing on
both sides of the river, as will appear from the subsequent
narrative. Common interests bound the two villages together.
But it often seemed as if the old proverb, " lands divided by
a narrow frith, abhor each other," was to receive a new exem
plification in this region. The inhabitants of each side of the
stream cherished a natural State pride ; little local jealousies
occasioned some friction ; and in spite of the manifest advan
tage of consolidation, the day when it could be secured seemed
far distant. A well-known citizen of the village of Paw
tucket, R. I., who had resided there half a century, in writ
ing of the future prospects of the two communities, while
arguing the desirableness of a city organization, said in an
article penned twenty-two years ago, " There will be a diffi
culty, to be sure, about the two Pawtuckets, on each side of
the river, as neither Rhode Island nor Massachusetts will
surrender its claims of territory. The two sections are choice
portions of each State ; and after the hitherto interminable
controversy about the line of demarcation between them,
and after having disputed by inches the riparian boundary,
with high courts and councils to help them, it still remains
unsettled. We cannot expect, then, that the affair will be
settled in a summary manner."
Happily the aged man who expressed these fears, lived to
see the desired consolidation secured. The long-standing
boundary dispute between Massachusetts and Rhode Island
was amicably adjusted in 1861, and the town of Pawtucket
was ceded to Rhode Island. By proclamation of Gov. Wil
liam Sprague, under date of December 21st, 1861, the decree
of the United States Court was announced as to take effect
on the first day of March, A. D. 1862. As one main hin
drance was thus removed, other difficulties were gradually
overcome. Antipathies and rivalries are oft mighty, but
necessities are mightier still. In the course of a dozen years
public sentiment became ripe for consolidation. The town

16 HISTORICAL SKETCH
of North Providence was subjected to dismemberment. An
important part of it was assigned to the city of Providence,
and the village of Pawtucket was annexed to the town of
that name. A major vote of the property-holders in each
town was given for the measure. The portion cut off from
North Providence and assigned to Pawtucket is thus described :
" Beginning at a point in the centre of the Blackstone river,
being the southeasterly corner of the town of Lincoln, and the
northeasterly corner of the town of North Providence ; and
running thence westerly, on and with the line dividing said towns
of Lincoln and North Providence, to a point on said line, eighteen
hundred feet west of the east line of the Smithfield turnpike ;
thence southerly on a straight line to a point on the line dividing
the city of Providence and the town of North Providence, as
hereinbefore provided, eighteen hundred feet, measured on said
line, westerly of the east line of said Smithfield turnpike ; thence
along said boundary line and following the same, to the centre of
the Seekonk river ; thence along the centre of said river, to the
place of beginning."
The act took effect on the first day of May, A. D. 1874.
At the election of officers the following gentlemen were chosen
members of the Town Council, viz. : Olney Arnold, Claudius
B. Farnsworth, John F. Adams, William T. Adams, William
H. Haskell, James L. Pierce and Henry B. Metcalf. Gen.
Arnold was elected President of the Board. Lewis Pearce,
Esq., was chosen Town Clerk, and Mr. George W. Newell,
Treasurer. The same officers were reelected in 1875, .though Mr. Met
calf resigned his position during the year. In 1876 a new
Town Council, with two exceptions, was chosen. The pres
ent members are Isaac Shove, William D. S. Havens, Jude
Taylor, Francis Conlin, William H. Haskell, James L. Pierce
and Edwin A. Grout. Isaac Shove, Esq., was chosen Presi
dent. Messrs. Pearce and Newell retain their former offices.
Hon. William F. Sayles has held since the consolidation the
office of Senator in the General Assembly.

OE PAWTUCKET. 17
At the time of consolidation the population of the new
town was not far from eighteen thousand. The number of
inhabitants, as given by the State Register, on the following
year,, was 18,464. As there had not been much increase
during the year, the number first named is deemed sufficiently
accurate. Perhaps space enough has been given to the municipal
history of what now constitutes the town of Pawtucket.
Another, perhaps a more interesting, branch now claims our
consideration. The civil history of the place begins with
Joseph Jenks. Respecting the time of his emigration hither,
and the circumstances under which he came to the neighbor
hood of Pawtucket Falls, a distinct and doubtless a very trust
worthy account has been preserved by some of his descend
ants. His father, who bore the same Christian name, is sup
posed to have come from England with Gov. Winthrop ; and
Lewis, in his history of Lynn, speaks of him in the following
strain : " Joseph Jenks deserves to be held in perpetual
remembrance in American history, as being the first founder
who worked in Brass and iron on the Western Continent.
By his hands the first models were made, and the first cast
ings taken of many domestic implements and Iron tools."
On the sixth of May, 1646, the General Court of Massachu
setts resolved, that, "In answer to the peticon of Joseph
Jenckes, for liberty to make experience of his abilityes and
Inventions for ye making. of Engines for mills to go with
water for ye more speedy despatch of work than formerly,
and mills for ye making of Sithes and other Edged tools,
with a new invented Sawe-Mill, that things may be afforded
cheaper than formerly, and that for fourteen yeeres without
disturbance by any others setting up the like inventions ;
 this peticon is granted." In May, 1655, he
obtained another patent for an improvement in the manufac
ture of scythes " for the more speedy cutting of grass, for
seven years." The old English scythe, previously in use, it
may be remarked, was a very clumsy instrument, short and
3

18 HISTORICAL SKETCH
thick like the bush or stub scythe. His invention gave
greater length and thinness to the blade, and welded a bar of
iron on the back to strengthen it. Indeed, no radical change
has been made in that useful instrument since his day.
In the interval between the two dates named, the younger
Jenks followed his father to the new world. He becomes
acquainted with the improvements that" his father had made,
and gains skill in his craft. But one circumstance breeds
alarm in his mind. The population is rapidly increasing near
Lynn, and making fearful havoc with the forests. It was
long before the capabilities of anthracite had been found out,
and forges and furnaces were wholly dependent on charcoal.
The same enterprising spirit that had induced him to cross
the ocean prompts him to seek a new home. Doubtless, as
Roger Williams removed from Salem, when he fled to this
region, he had left some friends there who were anxiously
watching his career. Perhaps the fact already adverted to,
that the Indians were growing fastidious about their hatchets
and other tools, makes the colonists in this neighborhood
solicitous that some skillful iroD -workers should remove
hither. Word soon reaches Lynn, therefore, that the shores
of the Pawtucket are dark with a thick forest, and that there
are cataracts on the stream, affording ample power to carry
such mills as the elder Jenks has been devising. And the
young man resolves to come to Providence Plantations, and
naturally chooses for his new ho.me a site near the lowest
falls on the river.
The traditions spoken of represent that he came here in
the year 1655. As his eldest son was born in 1657, perhaps
he was already married, and his house is said to have stood
on the spot on East avenue now occupied by Mr. Joseph T.
Greene, who lives in the house reared by his grandfather
Timothy Greene. It is supposed that his first purchase of
land was made from a family by the name of Mowry. A
copy of a deed of land subsequently purchased, however,
was found by Dr. Benedict in the records of the Proprietors

OE PAWTUCKET. 19
of Common Lands, of which company Judge Staples was
clerk twenty-two years ago. That deed was as follows :
" Know all men before whom these presents shall come, that I,
Abel Potter, inhabitant of Moshanticut, in the Colony of Rhode
Island, and Providence Plantations, have sold unto Mr. Joseph
Jenckes, inhabitant of the Town of Providence, in the Colony
aforesaid, sixty acres of land, more or less, which was formerly
laid out to my wife Rachel's grandfather, Mr. Ezekiel Holliman,
lying near Pawtucket Falls, together with a commonage, the said
threescore lot and commonage having been bequeathed to my said
wife Rachel Potter, formerly called Rachel Warner; I say, I,
Abel Potter, aforesaid, have, with the consent of my wife Rachel,
freely sold the said threescore of land, situated and lying in Provi
dence township, bounded near the southeast corner by a white
oak tree, running westerly and northerly by a threescore acre lot
formerly laid out to Mr. Stukely Westcot, and fronting easterly
against the land of Mr. Dexter's against the river, and also front
ing unto the Falls. I say, I, Abel Potter, aforesaid, have freely
sold the threescore acres of land, together with a right of com
monage and such privileges as do appertain thereunto, unto Joseph
Jenckes for full satisfaction and valuable in hand paid and received j
and therefore I do by this act, freely pass it from me, and my wife
Rachel Potter, our heirs, Executors and Administrators, unto
Joseph Jenckes his heirs executors administrators and assigns for
ever, peaceably to enjoy without .any lot [let ?] or molestation
from us, or any claiming by, or under Ezekiel Holliman aforesaid,
or by or under us. As witness my hand and seal the 10th of Oc
tober, 1671, in Warwick.
Signed sealed and delivered, and in the twenty-fifth year of the
reign of our Sovereign Lord King Charles.
In presence of us — 1 his
John Greene Assistant I ABEL X POTTER
Anne Greene J
" This is to certify that Rachel Potter aforesaid, as formerly
consented to the sale, so likewise she doth now declare her assent,
to the Deed of sale aforesaid in presence of me.
John Greene, Assistant.
Warwick this 15th day of April' 1672."'

20 HISTORICAL SKETCH
One can imagine the grim smile that played on the coun
tenance of Mr. Jenks, as he read the second paragraph
quoted. He had come from England about the time when
this " Sovereign Lord King Charles " is represented to have
begun his reign, and knew that he was then a vagabond ;
and that the only king which Great Britain had for years
was one Oliver Cromwell, the ablest ruler that that kingdom
has had for at least three centuries.
But it may be worth while to mention one or two other
facts. The term commonage occurs several times in this deed.
What does it mean? In the language of Judge Staples,
" A right, pro rata, in all the unappropriated lands in the
Roger Williams Purchase of the Indian chiefs, which em
brace almost all of Providence county, and part of that of
Kent ; so that this old settler might select his portions of wild
lands all over this wide range of territory, and have them
recorded according to the forms of law." Respecting the
persons named in this ancient deed, it may be proper to say
that the fact that Holliman, Westcott and Dexter held the
tracts of land specified, is no proof that they ever lived upon
them. Holliman is one whose name is very dear to the Bap
tist denomination. When Roger Williams and his associates
determined to organize a church in Providence, they doubt
less resolved to show by some emphatic act, that such of
them as had been connected with other churches had sun
dered their connection with them. And Holliman was
deputed to baptize Williams, and Williams in turn admin
istered the rite of baptism to Holliman and the other mem
bers of the infant church. Holliman probably lived at Paw
tuxet. The Dexter named was probably Gregory Dexter.
Stukely Westcott doubtless lived in what is now Cranston ;
for the writer, less than two years ago, attended the funeral
of an aged man in that town, — a lineal descendant, the fifth
in succession from Stukely Westcott ; and was told that the
deceased had all his life occupied the rocky, but fertile farm,
which contained the family cemetery, and which had passed

OFPAWTUCKET. 21
from sire to son without any other deed than the original
grant. Mr. Westcott's property in this town was subse
quently purchased by some of the Jenks, family.
For some years but scanty annals remain. Imagination
can easily supply some details, however. It is known that
Mr. Jenks soon erected a forge ; 'perhaps he quickly found out
that bog iron existed near what has long been styled Mineral
Springs ; for before the Revolution a forge stood near the
Moshassuck, where the ore was converted into blooms. Of
course, he had a market for the products of his skill in Provi
dence and the whole neighborhood. The fields of Pawtucket
were mowed by the new kind of scythes which his father had
patented ; and hatchets and every domestic iron implement,
needed for the comfort of the households in Providence
Plantations, were made at Mr. Jenks's workshop. Black
smiths and other workers in iron were trained and employed
by him ; wood-cutters settled around to chop down some of
the majestic oaks and maples that overhung the Pawtucket ;
charcoal burners were busy under the lee of many a hill ; a
few farmers built their log cabins near the river ; the Indians
still frequented the falls for the purpose of fishing ; and a little
hamlet was thus formed on what has since become the site of
a growing town. For twenty years affairs went on without
any serious outbreak. Emigrants were frequently arriving ;
in every direction the virgin forest was becoming invaded ;
the smoke rose from cabins in more and more clearings ;
domestic joys were gladdening the humble firesides, and
death making its wonted inroads in the little family circles.
But about a score of years after Mr. Jenks arrived here a
storm broke on the young settlement. Its portents had been
visible indeed for months. The red men began to meet with
scowling brows the pale faces. Philip of Pokanoket began
his machinations. Probably he simply guided the passions
¦which had been burning in the hearts of his race. They had,
beheld with jealousy the steady growth of the English, and.
feared for their hunting grounds; and it only needed a leader

22 HISTORICAL SKETCH
with genius to organize their forces, and combine their efforts,
to hurl a thunderbolt on the intruders. Could Philip's coun
sels have been carried out, the conflict between our fathers
and the sons of the forest had been more terrible ; but the
strife began before the chieftain's plans were fully ripe for
execution. In 1675 the war commenced in this neighbor
hood. " On the morning of June 24th," says Hutchinson.,
" one of the inhabitants of Rehoboth was fired upon by a
party of Indians, and the hilt of his sword shot off." The strife
being precipitated thus prematurely, Philip was compelled
in July to flee from his fastnesses toward the Nipmucks.
His route lay within a few miles of Pawtucket, and, in
crossing the great plain of Seekonk, he was discovered by
some of the people of Rehoboth, and pursued by them.
Rev. Noah Newman has the credit of leading his townsmen
in the pursuit. Hubbard gives the following account of the
matter : " The Mohegins with the men of Rehoboth, and
some of Providence, came upon their rear over night, slew
about thirty of them, took much plunder from them, without
any considerable loss to the English." Who were these men
of Providence ? Very probably Mr. Jenks and some of his
neighbors by Pawtucket Falls ; for they would be likely to
hear first of the valor of their Rehoboth neighbors.
For a few months there is a lull. The winter is burdened,
however, by anxious misgivings. The blacksmiths, the wood
cutters, the farmers around the Pawtucket, oft scan the
horizon in apprehension of the tempest. Many a father
commends his household to God by prayer at night, not
knowing but that the war-whoop will break their repose
before the morning dawns; many a mother sadly rocks her
babe to slumber, not knowing but that the tomahawk will
hush that infant's cries ere another sun shall set. In a few
months 'the fierce storm once more howls. Philip returns
from his flight, reinforced by stern warriors. He brings death
to the very doors of our predecessors. One of the most
tragical contests of 1676 occurred near Pawtucket. AU the

OEPAWTUCKET. 23
spring, roaming bands of Indians had disturbed the security
of the settlements in both Massachusetts and Rhode Island.
Marauding parties had carried ruin to scores of firesides, and
applied the torch to many a home. Something must be done
to check these forays, and Capt. Pierce of Scituate, with a
force of sixty-three Englishmen, and twenty friendly Indians
from Cape Cod, was ordered to follow the Indians toward
Rhode Island. On the 24th of March he reached Seekonk.
On the second morning after, he marched with his little band
toward the river, and soon fell into an ambush. The thick
forests which overhung the Blackstone formed a covert for
the subtle red men, and they hovered round the doomed band
like a pack of hungry wolves. For hours the contest raged
on the banks of our stream between Pawtucket and Valley
Falls, till, when the shadows of that Sabbath evening fell,
they enshrouded the lifeless forms of almost all of that little
force. They had sold their lives dearly, however ; for one
hundred and forty of their foes were slain.
Rev. Noah Newman, the second minister of Rehoboth, fur
nished the following account of this contest to his friend,
Rev. John Cotton of Plymouth. His letter is still extant:
" Rehoboth, 27th of the first, '76.
Reverend and Dear Sir : — I received yours dated the 20th of
this instant (March), wherein you give me a doleful relation of
what had happened with you and what a distressing Sabbath you
had passed. I have now, according to the words of your own let
ter, an opportunity to retaliate your account with a relation of
what yesterday happened to the great saddening of our hearts,
filling us with an aweful expectation of what further evils it may
be antecedaneous to, both respecting ourselves and you. Upon
the 25th of this instant, Capt. Pierce went forth with a small party
of his men, and Indians with him, and upon discovering the enemy,
fought him, without damage to himself, and judged that he had
considerably damnified them. Yet he, being of no great force,
chose rather to retreat and go out the next morning with a recruit
of men. And accordingly he did, taking pilots from us, that were

24 HISTORICAL SKETCH
acquainted with the ground. But it pleased the Sovereign God
so to order it, that they were enclosed with a great multitude of
the enemy, which hath slain fifty-two of our Englishmen, and
eleven Indians."
Then follow the names of those slain. A few belonged to
Rehoboth. And the letter continues :
" Thus, sir, you have a sad account of the continuance of God's
displeasure against us ; yet still I desire steadfastly to look to him,
who is not only able but willing to save all such as are fit for his
salvation. It is a day of the wicked's tryumph, but the sure word
of God tells us his tryumphing is brief. 0 that we may not
lengthen it out by our sins; The Lord help us to joyne issue in
our prayers, instantly and earnestly, for the healing and helping
of our Land. Our Extremity is God's opportunity 
Your ever assured friend,
Noah Newman."
What effect had such a tragedy on the feeble settlement at
Pawtucket? Of course, it would breed the gravest alarm,
were the inhabitants still residing there. The probability
is, however, that most of them had sought refuge on the
island of Rhode Island. The General Assembly had been
appealed to, to furnish garrisons for Providence and War
wick, but excused themselves from any such expense on
the score of inability, and counseled the inhabitants of those
towns to take shelter at Portsmouth or Newport. Most of
the citizens of Providence removed their families and effects,
therefore ; but sturdy Roger Williams and about thirty others
remained. The smallness of their number, however, invited,
rather than repelled attack, and on March 30th the town was
set on fire. At that or some other time the forge in this vil
lage was given to the flames, and doubtless the torch was
applied to the deserted cabins. Pawtucket for the hour was
a lonelier solitude than when Williams forty years before
began his first settlement at Seekonk Cove. The roar of the

OEPAWTUCKET. 25
cataract, swelled by the freshets of springtime, responded to
the song of the birds that had returned from their southern
journey, but man was not here to welcome the gleeful
warblers. A few months rolled away, and a change took place. The
pious- confidence of "the pastor of Rehoboth was justified.
The triumph of the wicked proved brief. Philip was killed,
his warriors were slain, captured, or scattered, and peace and
security returned to the little colonies. Mr. Jenks undoubt
edly comes back as soon as possible, and rebuilds his forge.
Again the creaking cart goes to Mineral Springs after ore ;
the wood-cutters and burners of charcoal resume their indus
try ; the smoke curls upward from the river side, and the clang
of the anvil is heard. About this time Mr. Jenks's eldest
son reached manhood ; but a large family, — four sons and six
daughters, — were growing up like blooming olive plants about
the father's table. Mr. Jenks seems to have been influential
in political affairs, no less than in business; for the title of
Assistant, — answering to Lieutenant Governor or Senator, —
is always added in old writings to his name. His four sons
also acquired distinction afterward in the Colony. Joseph
was Governor of Rhode Island from 1727 to 1732; Nathaniel
bore the title of major-; Ebenezer was a preacher, and William
a judge. It has already been said that the house of the father stood
on the present East avenue. It had the reputation of being
the first frame house reared in the town. All of, the sons
built houses also, which were long landmarks here, ahd three
of them are partially standing now. One of them stands on
Mill street, and is said to have been enlarged by the addition
of a part of the house wherein the elder Joseph Jenks lived.
Tradition reports that in his old age his house was removed
to Mill street, and annexed to the building named, and that
he spent the evening of his days there. Old citizens have
declared that in their boyhood figures were visible on the
stone chimney of the edifice on Mill street, and that three of
4

26 HISTORICAL SKETCH
them were legible. Some who in their childhood climbed
up to decipher them, averred that they read the numerals
168 — ; but the final figure was illegible. This was the house
of Major Jenks. Dr. C. F. Manchester has long occupied
the house which was for years the abode of Gov. Jenks ;
though it has been so modernized that- the Governor would
fail to recognize his old home, could he return to earth. A
third one of those houses stood till within a few days near
the railroad track, between the station and Dexter street.
Of authentic local history of this period there is a com
parative dearth. Is it not allowable, however, for fancy to
sketch the outlines of the hamlet destined in less than two cen
turies to become so thriving a town? She invites the reader
to visit the neighborhood of the falls. Looking downward
he discovers close by the river's side, a few rods-to the south,
smoke rising. He hears the clang of ponderous hammers,
and, descending several steps, he sees swarthy blacksmiths
plying their trade. Looking across the river he beholds a
dense growth of wood. In every direction forests stretch,
and stately trees overhang the brink of the stream. Here
and there, indeed, smoke rises from some clearing, and he
hears occasionally the tinkling of cow-bells in the woods.
He glances toward the west, and sees that the forest has
been partly cut off, and he notes particularly a muddy ravine,
down which a brook glides, and up which carts struggle for
the needed iron ore. That ravine will be paved before two
centuries roll away, and called Main street. But the reader,
thus yielding himself to fancy, notes beside this cart-path a
few other paths to different clearings. He hears a hint,
however, from Mr. Jenks, that he is going to visit his son
Nathaniel in the evening. It is in April, 1689". The reader
determines to be present in imagination at that visit. He
climbs up from the forge, and surveys the scene more leisurely.
Where he stands, a little above the forge, a massive stone
bridge is to be built more than a century and a half later,
but no bridge at all spans the river now. They who would

OEPAWTUCKET. 27
cross to the eastern side can find a ford just below the forge.'
He casts another glance up the ravine, and then turns to the
right. There is no street which bears the suggestive name
of Mill street, but a narrow path, overshadowed by the
western woods, runs to the north, parallel to the river. In
fact, there are two streams ; one bears the name of the Little
river, and is formed by a- current that diverges from just
above the falls, and flows nearly in the direction of the pres
ent Sargent's Trench. Indeed, there may be said to be three
streams ; for there is a depression in which, when .the main
river is swollen by freshets, a volume of water rushes along
the gully, and which, subsequently deepened by human labor,
becomes the famous trench that afterward figures so largely
in litigation.
But it is toward night, and the sunbeams blaze through
the grand old woods, and bathe with glory the forests on the
opposite bank. The cart-path and narrow road are both
nearly twenty feet lower than where one enters Jenks avenue
to-day, and the reader looks up to the hills that lie to the
west. Slowly sauntering up the northern path, gazing at the
swelling buds of maple, oak, and chestnut, and listening to
the glad songs of the bluebird and the robin, he reaches a
new house. He stops to scan the style of architecture. The
house faces the south, to welcome the sunshine. On the
north the roof descends in a sloping direction almost to the
ground, apparently on account of the rough winds that sweep
from that quarter. A'large stone chimney stands at one end,
and occupies almost the entire breadth. In the front part of
the house, there is one large room, which forms the chief
dependence of the family. The reader looks at the fire
place. It is at least ten feet long, so that wood of full cart
length can be rolled in, and send up its ruddy blaze, and
throw out its glowing heat. The mantel-piece is of solid
oak, and thick and firm enough to support the mass of stone
above. The fire-place, deep as it is, oft forms a cozy nook,
where the mother, in one corner, plies her small spinning-

28 HISTORICAL SKETCH
wheel, and the children huddle in the other. The rooms are
all very low, and the head of a tall man comes inconveniently
near the ceiling. As the reader proposes to occupy but little
room, he has no scruple in crossing. the threshold. Nathaniel
and his family are at home. In the gray of the evening the
father arrives ; but soon another visitor appears. The reader
looks up to him ; for there is need. A very Saul among his
townsmen, " from his shoulder and upward, he seemed higher
than any of his people." Who is this man that has to bow
his head so low to enter the door ? He is the eldest son of
the founder of Pawtucket ; a man of intellect as commanding
as his presence, destined to play an important part in the
affairs of the Colony, and to be for years its Governor.
Joseph Jenks of Lynn is dead ; the founder of Pawtucket is
Joseph senior, and the new comer is Joseph junior.
But the reader sees from the expression of the taller son's
countenance that he has stirring news to tell. He has been
to the larger village four miles away, and found one story in
everybody's mouth. A ship has just arrived in Boston from
England. Our Sovereign Lord King James Second has been
roughly thrust from his throne. His daughter Mary's hus
band, William of Orange, has come over from Holland, and
Lords and Commons have welcomed him, and perchance,
the colonies must recognize new monarchs. The father is'
startled at the news, and tells his children and the eagerly
listening daughter-in-law of the stormy scenes that were
enacting in the land of his birth, more than forty years before,
when he set sail for the new world, and left cavaliers and
roundheads to settle their deadly strife on gory battle-fields.
Will William of Orange prove a new Cromwell? Will
James the Second go to the block as his father went? Or
will Great Britain see her fields again drenched with the'
blood of her children ? Earnestly are these questions
bandied, till the father and future Governor, warned by the
lateness of the hour, turn their steps homeward, and reflect
how, to-morrow, the dwellers in the few cabins across the

OE PAWTUCKET. 29
river will, ford the stream, to talk with the owners of the
forge and of these frame houses, about the stirring events
that are happening across the Atlantic.
After thus letting imagination picture the condition of
matters in Pawtucket nearly two centuries ago, it may be
worth while to remark that the hamlet near these falls con
tinued to grow for the next quarter of a century. The main
village of Providence was becoming more populous and
enterprising. Commerce had sprung up, and many, a vessel
was despatched on coasting voyages, along the seaboard, or
sent .to foreign ports. It was a century or more after this
before steam-engines were built to any extent on this conti
nent, and the" parent town looked to the iron-workers of
Pawtucket for the supply of the heavier tools and imple
ments. The Jenkses had obtained possession of much of the
land on the western side of the river in this neighborhood,
and had extended their operations. Judge Story, in giving
his decision about half a century ago, in an important case
before the Circuit Court, rehearsed the following facts as
proved in the trial:
"The lower dam was- built as early as the year 1718, by the pro
prietors on both sides of the river, and is indispensable for the use
of these mills respectively. There was previously an old dam on
the western side, extending about three-quarters of the way across
the river, and a separate dam for a saw mill on the east side. The
lower dam was a substitute for both. About the year 1714, a canal
was dug, or an old channel widened and cleared on the western side
of the river ; beginning at the river above the lower dam, and
running around the west end thereof, until it emptied into the
river, about ten rods below the same dam. It has been long
known by the name of Sergeant's Trench, and was originally built
for the passage of fish up and down the river. But having wholly
failed for this purpose, about the year 1730, an anchor mill and
dam were built across it by the then proprietors of the land;
and between that period and the year 1790, several other dams
and mills were built over the same, and since that period more

30 HISTORICAL SKETCH
expensive mills have been built there. In 1792 another dam was
built across the river at a place above the head of the trench, and
almost twenty rods above the lower dam ; and the mills on the
upper dam, as well as those on Sergeant's Trench, are now sup
plied with water by proper flumes, &c, from the pond formed by
the upper dam."
This brief extract shows that early in the last century the
buzz of machinery and the clangor of hammers prophesied
that this would be in due time a manufacturing centre. En
terprise and skill were converting a wilderness which Wil
liams and Gregory Dexter had so disparaged as " most of it
barren and rockie, without meadow," into a thriving village.
But the pioneers who had 'built their cabins higher up the
Blackstone, and the farmers and fishermen of this neighbor
hood, were jealous of the obstructions at the falls. Shad,
alewives, and some other kinds of fish, had been wont to
spawn near Woonsocket, and the General Assembly of
Rhode Island, in 1761, authorized that sovereign helper in all
public enterprises in those days, a lottery, to raise fifteen
hundred pounds, old tenor, for the purpose of making a pas
sage around Pawtucket Falls, " so that fish of almost every
kind, who choose fresh water at certain seasons of the year,
may pass with ease." This legislation, however, did not fully
secure the end ; and about a dozen years later the General
Assembly passed another act, making it lawful for any one
to break down or blow up the rocks at Pawtucket Falls, to
" let fish pass up " ; and "the said river" was "declared a
public river." If mere votes could remove ledges and anni
hilate cataracts, Pawtucket had been at this time a straggling
country village, or a lonely, though lovely, forest. Private
individuals used their puny powers, as the Indians had done
ages before, to batter down the rocks ; but the hand of the
Almighty had cemented the ledges -too firmly to allow them
to yield to gentle blows, and the falls have remained to
minister to human needs, and to furnish skill and enterprise
with comparatively cheap power,

OEPAWTUCKET. 31
But it is time to cross the river,- and make a little inquiry
about the eastern part of the town. Traditions are less defi
nite about the early inhabitants of this section, than those
pertaining to the Jenks family. A few settlers were evi
dently allured here nearly two centuries ago. The navigable
stream made journeying easy for the pioneer ; the abundance
of fish near the falls readily supplied an "important article of
food; the iron business afforded employment. On what is
known as South Bend, not far from Hammond's Pond, stands
an old stone chimney house. The name of its builder has
not been handed down to posterity, but its style of architec
ture shows that it was reared about the time when the
Jenkses reared their ambitious edifices. Somebody, therefore,
was residing in that part of Pawtucket early in the last cen
tury. Another stone chimney house of similar style was
standing near North Bend about three-quarters of a century
ago, which was probably equally ancient. And the fact that
many of the old deeds of land lying east of the river refer to
a Mr. Smith as a former owner of the land, justifies the
belief that, as there were men bearing that name among the
first settlers of Rehoboth, one or more of them obtained pos
session of much of the territory of the eastern part of Paw
tucket. Thus, in the year 1738,, Samuel Smith is represented
in an old deed to have bought of Henry Smith forty- eight
acres of land on the east side of Pawtucket Falls, " bounded
on land where the grist mill stands." Nine years later (in
1747) one or both of the Smiths conveyed the grist or " Corn
Mill" to James Bucklin. And twenty-nine years later, (just
one century ago,) James Bucklin conveyed this mill to his
son John.
In fact, a still earlier mention is made of a Mr. Smith, in
an ancient report to the" Legislature of Massachusetts. The -
first bridge across the Pawtucket seems to have been built
in 1713 ; and in 1716 the following document appears in the
Massachusetts Colonial Records :

32 HISTORICAL SKETCH
" The report of the committee appointed to consider and com
pute the charge of a highway to Pawtucket bridge, viz. : In
pursuance of the written vote or order, we the subscribers, on
the 28th of May, 1716, went to the bridge at Pawtucket, where
we met with the persons that were interested in the lands where
the highway should go ; and, having discoursed with them, and
viewed the same, do report that a way . of two rods wide be left
on the north side of the land belonging to Joseph Buckland, jr.,
beginning at the foot of the bridge, and so to run through the
land of Henry Smith, till it comes to said Smith's house, being
in length ninety two rods, is about two acres and a half, only
allowing a turn to be made to the northward, about fifty rods
from the bridge, to escape a great rock, which land we are of
opinion is worth £3 per acre ; and the making of a fence the
•length of the said way, if made of stone wall, will be 5s. per rod,
to be allowed to the owner of said land ; which way then to run
from said Smith's house northward a quarter of a mile, when it
will meet a way that was formerly laid out by Rehoboth, which
leads into the country road by the great plain. The land, being
two acres arid a half, we value at 20s. per acre, without any
charge of fence.
Given under our hands, the 14th of June, 1716."
Nathaniel Payne, \
Moses Read, \ Committee.
John Rogers, )
These facts render it very likely that some of the ubiqui
tous family of Smith were the first owners of the eastern
district of Pawtucket. And the conjecture may be hazarded
that John Smith reared one or both of those ancient houses
named. Judge Story's decision implies that a saw mill was
built on the eastern bank of the Pawtucket early in the
eighteenth century. Of course, the noble forests furnished
supplies for such a mill, and lumber was in demand for ship
building as well as for the rearing of houses.
Perhaps an incidental circumstance helped the growth of
the village in the earlier part of the eighteenth century. It

OE PAWTUCKET. 33
has already been mentioned that the eldest son of the founder
of Pawtucket became Governor of the Colony in 1727.*
The frequency with which his name occurs in the colonial
records shows that he was eminent for something beside his
stature. As early as 1705 he was appointed a Commissioner
in the vexed boundary question, and was reappointed again
and again to assist in running the line. In 1715 he was
chosen Deputy Governor, and reelected at subsequent times.
In 1720 he was sent'to England to bring the boundary dis
putes between Rhode Island, on the one hand, and Connec
ticut and Massachusetts, on the other, before the King. In
all these matters he showed such integrity and sagacity,
that, on the death of Gov. Cranston, who had held the office
of Governor for twenty-nine years, he was elected Chief
Magistrate of the Colony. He continued to hold the office
till 1732 ; but as, on his election in the previous year, he had
given notice that he should not again be a candidate, he
retired after five years' service. At the request of the Gen
eral Assembly he removed to Newport while he held the
governorship ; but doubtless, during those years, he was
wielding his influence to promote improvements in his native
village, and secure the investment of capital there. And an
examination of some of the dates given by Judge Story
proves that some of the most important conveniences secured,
were attained during Gov. Jenks's public life. He died on
the 15th of June, 1740. f
* An amusing tradition is current concerning the Governor. When he was
elected, feeling a desire to maintain the dignity of the station,' and to wear a garb
like that of the other colonial Governors, he sent an order to England for a cloak.
From some blunder, however, on the part of his correspondent, the order was made
to read for a clock, instead of a cloak; and a clock was sent. This clock remained
in the possession of his descendants for more than a century, but is now owned by
Mr. Alden Sibley, and is marking the flight of time as accurately as it did in
England a century and a half ago.
t It is to be regretted that no monnment marks the spot where the body of either
Governor Jenks or his father was laid. The Governor was buried, (and probably
his father also,) in a cemetery just south of Read street. The southern part of that
street, indeed, formerly constituted a part of that cemetery. For some cause
Governor Jenks's body was exhumed on June 2d, 1831. Other skeletons are said. to

34 HISTORICAL SKETCH
It were interesting to recount the successive establishment
of different forges and mills, but only results are known.
Gov. Jenks and the other descendants of the enterprising
man who laid the foundations of this town, emulated the
energy of their ancestor. The frequent wars in which the
infant colonies were engaged with both the French and the
Indians, oft turned the attention of the iron-workers in this
country to the manufacture of firearms. Doubtless such were
made at some of the mills on the Pawtucket, and Capt.
Stephen Jenks is expressly mentioned as having manufactured
muskets here in 1775. It is likely that, through the whole
period of the Revolutionary war, his skill was often laid under
requisition. Hints are found occasionally of the existence of
other kinds of business. Mr. Ephraim Starkweather removed
to the hamlet on the east of the river in 1770, and, in buying
a certain tract of land, purchased also a potash establishment
of certain merchants of Boston, who had long carried on the
manufacture of potash here. Mr. Hugh Kennedy also came
to the same hamlet about the middle of the last century, and
began the manufacture of linseed oil. About the same time,
have been disinterred at the same time, and, after a period, were transported to the
Mineral Spring Cemetery. From some strange neglect the original grave-stones
were not reset, and report says that they lay around till they were broken in
pieces. It were perhaps unprofitable to inquire at this late date, who was in fault
in this desecration ; but it seems sad that, after those earthly remains had been
lovingly borne away, and committed to the earth with tears, rough hands should
tear the bones and ashes from their resting-place, since contemporaries and children
had passed away, and allow the tomb-stone to be so broken that " no one knoweth of
his sepulchre." Cannot the place where that dust was laid be identified? And
cannot the citizens of Pawtucket fitly commemorate by some suitable memorial
the energy and forecast of the founder of the town, and the civic virtues of his
illustrious son ? Happily Dr. Benedict, in his history of the Baptists, has preseryed
the inscription which was on the tomb-stone of Governor Jenks. It is here
subjoined: "In memory of the Hon. Joseph Jenckes, Esq., late Governor of the Colony of
Khode Island, Deceased the 15th day of June, A. D. 1740, in the^ 84th year of his
age. He was much Honoured and Beloved in Life, and Lamented in Death : He
was a bright Example of Virtue in every Stage of Life: He was a zealous Chris
tian; a Wise and Prudent Governor; a Kind Husband and a Tender Father; a good
Neighbour and a Faithful Friend: Grave, Sober, Pleasant in Behaviour; Beautiful
in Person, with a Soul truly Great, Heroic, and Sweetly Tempered."

OE PAWTUCKET. 35
Mr. Sylvester Bowers, a ship carpenter by trade, removed to
Pawtucket, and set up the business of ship-building at the
Landing. On the western side of the river also the same
business was quite extensively carried on.
It is probable, however, that the eight weary years of the
Revolutionary war retarded the growth of Pawtucket.
North Providence furnished some of the boldest soldiers of
the war, and Capt. Olney doubtless had in his company
recruits from this village. Some, too, of the inhabitants of
this place were serving in the little navy which our nation
had called into existence. The return of peace, however,
was a signal for new activity. A family, whose energy,
talents, and skill, were to contribute largely to the prosperity
of Pawtucket, moved hither from Smithfield. Oziel Wilkin
son was the father of five sons, all of whom were blacksmiths.
For years, though living in Smithfield, he had done a great
deal of work for the merchants of Providence. As he
obtained his stock from that town, it had long seemed desir
able for him to transfer his business to Pawtucket Falls,
where he could obtain ample water power. But prudence
forbade the step for a time. The British long held posses
sion of the southern part of the State, and might at any time
seize Providence. In such a case a marauding party could
easily come up the Pawtucket river, and destroy the mills
and forges at the falls. His customers, therefore, advised
him to delay. But peace released him from the peril, and
Mr. Wilkinson and his sons removed hither. Already the
family had given evidence of inventive power. Mr. Wilkin
son is said to have made cut nails at an early date, and is
supposed to have anticipated every manufacturer of these
useful articles in the world. The father and sons quickly
turned some of the unused power of the stream to account.
Providence long continued, indeed, to look to Pawtucket for
all the heavier implements of iron. Anchors and such arti
cles, were manufactured here; screws in abundance were
made ; and the heavy oil presses of Nantucket and New
Bedford were constructed at the shops in this place.

36 HISTORICAL SKETCH
Bishop, in his History of Manufactures, speaks in the follow
ing strain : " Manufactures of iron, including bar and sheet
iron, nail-rods and nails, farming implements, stoves, pots,
and other castings, and household utensils, iron-works for
ship-builders, anchors, and bells, formed the largest branch
of productive industry in Rhode Island toward the close of
the eighteenth century. A slitting-mill was built on one of
the branches of Providence river. Another slitting and roll
ing mill, three anchor forges, two nail-cutting machines, and
several other mills and factories carried on by water, were
soon after erected at Pawtucket Falls. A screw-cutting ma
chine, hollow-ware furnace, and several forges were also in
operation." Indeed, the iron business at this time gave
Pawtucket its chief fame. Steam engines had not yet made
their advent into Providence, and all the heavy work for that
place which needed water power and trip-hammers, must be
done here.
The Wilkinsons were long household names in Pawtucket.
Their activity and enterprise expanded the business and in
creased the population of the town. The fame of the father
is pleasantly preserved in the park which he left unenclosed
on the present Park place. Cities need lungs, and the town
has fitly enclosed that park with an iron fence, and adorned
it with trees which will in coming years fling their cooling
shadows abroad. Four of his sons made Pawtucket their
home for years. They constituted a couple of copartnerships,
— Abraham and Isaac, David and Daniel. One of these
sons, however, won more than a local reputation ; and Paw
tucket may justly claim a share in the fame of David Wilkin
son. Well has it been said that " peace has her victories, no
less than war " ; and among those who have contributed to
modern civilization, scarcely any hold a higher rank than
inventors. Almighty God seems to endow some souls with
special aptitude for devising contrivances to subdue the ele
ments to man's control. The mighty powers of nature are
almost made to do man's bidding, and are harnessed to the.

OE PAWTUCKET. 37
car, the engine, the wheel, to lessen the strain on human
muscles. Thus used, they purchase for our race leisure, and
bring a thousand comforts within man's reach that otherwise
he had not been able to enjoy. And David Wilkinson was
one of the class to whom the aptitude named is given. From
childhood he possessed a singularly observant mind. What
seemed trifles to others, were to him the germ of some valu
able invention. In a letter of his, where he is describing a
new screw-machine, which he invented as early as 1794, he
says, " the perfection of it consists in that most faithful agent,
gravity, making the joint, and that almighty perfect number,
three, which is harmony itself. I was young when I learnt
that principle. I had never seen my grandmother putting a
chip under a three-legged milking-stool ; but she always had
to put a chip under a four-legged table to keep it steady. I
cut screws of all dimensions by this machine, and did them
perfectly." Thousands of other lads had seen their kins
women sitting on similar stools in milking, without noticing
the consequent steadiness, or dreaming of any great mechan
ical invention based on the firmness of the tripod.
Beside the branches of business thus described, farming
was carried on to considerable extent. A large part of the
land on the eastern side of the river in what now constitutes
Pawtucket was held by families bearing the name of Bucklin.
The Buckland already mentioned was probably their an
cestor. Their farms extended from the river to Seekonk
Plains ; and tradition speaks of an immense corn-field that
stretched almost from the margin of the stream to Bucklin's
Brook. It is probable, however, that the farms were poorly
cultivated. Col. Slack came here about a hundred and ten
years ago, and Mr. Starkweather just afterward, and found
the land in this condition.
Up, then, to the close of the last century, iron was emphat
ically king in Pawtucket. But ere the century closed a rival
appeared, which was destined to contest the throne. Cotton
appeared on the stage, An. interesting tale might be told of

38 HISTORICAL SKETCH
the early attempts to spin cotton by water power in our land.
Suffice it to say, that, immediately after the Revolution,
statesmen, capitalists, and artisans, sought to establish new
manufactures in the United States. The whole country was
burdened by debt ; importations from foreign lands were im
poverishing us still more ; and relief was sought from the
necessity of depending on foreign spindles and looms. In
Worcester and Beverly, in Massachusetts, in Providence and
other towns, in Rhode Island, experiments were making pre
vious to 1790, to find out whether the cotton needed in our
land could not be spun beside our own streams. A few spin
ning frames and various rude machines had been brought
from abroad to facilitate the experiment, and Moses Brown,
of Providence, had purchased some of them and removed
them to Pawtucket. Vain the attempt, however, to drive'
them by any of the water-wheels here. Why not obtain
from England, then, some of the machines that were working
so successfully there? Alas! that was interdicted. It was
deemed the height of statesmanship in Great Britain at that
time, to keep the rest of the world in a kind of industrial
vassalage. If the British isles could be the workshops of the
world, her rulers were ready to consent that other nations
should furnish some of the raw materials, but they must not
be allowed to expatriate any of her inventions or machines.
During the Revolutionary contest, Parliament had decreed
that any person who packed or put on board, or caused to be
brought to any place for exportation, " any machine, engine,
tool, press, paper, utensil, or implement, or any part thereof,
which now is or hereafter may be used in the woolen, cotton,
or silk manufactures of this kingdom, or goods wherein wool,
cotton, linen, or silk are used, or any model or plan thereof,
shall forfeit every such machine and the goods packed there
with and £200, and suffer imprisonment for twelve months."
And these provisions were no idle threat. Persons who
disregarded the statute, and attempted to carry machines or
models to some of the nations of continental Europe, were

OF PAWTUCKET. 39
arrested and punished as the law enjoined. And none of the
English statesmen were disposed to relax such statutes in
favor of the young nation that had broken the bonds which
bound them to the land of their fathers. On the contrary,
the same jealousy that had scowled on the infant manufac
tures of the colonies, burnt against the more extensive man
ufactures of the young republic. Instead of softening the
statutes named, Great Britain enacted from time to time
more rigorous laws, which showed her thorough determina
tion to prevent any nation from borrowing her inventions.
About the time of the unsuccessful attempt of Mr. Brown,
however, to set his machines in operation in this place, a
young man in England was meditating emigration to the new
republic. He has seen by the newspapers of his native land,
that bounties are offered, encouragements promised, for estab
lishing the manufacture of cotton goods in some of the States
in our country. Pennsylvania, in particular, is very generous
in her proffers. He brooded over the matter for a while, till
his imagination was fired, and he resolved to cross the ocean.
But he knows the peril of arousing the jealousy of the
authorities, and he conceals from even his family the step he
is about to take. No model, drawing, or plan does he dare
take with him, lest it reveal his purpose and cause his arrest.
He makes the weary journey across the ocean, reaches New
York in due time, and finds employment with a manufactur
ing company. The water power of the neighborhood does
not suit him, however. The business wherein he is engaged
is less agreeable than that to which he had been accustomed,
and the fond dreams he had cherished seem unlikely to be
realized. While thus perplexed, God directs his steps hither.
Young Slater providentially meets the captain of a Provi
dence packet, and learns by conversation of the attempts
that Moses Brown had made to introduce the manufacture of
cotton into Rhode Island. Without any delay the young
Englishman writes to Mr. Brown. " I flatter myself," says
he in his letter, " that I can give the greatest satisfaction in

40 HISTORICAL SKETCH
making machinery, making good yarn, either for stockings or
twist, as anything that is made in England ; as I have had
opportunity, and an oversight, of Sir Richard Arkwright's
works, and in Mr. Strut's mill for upwards of eight years."
Had Mr. Slater simply announced his ability to run machines
already erected, or to make machines by the help of patterns
wherewith he was familiar, one would not wonder at his con
fidence ; but it manifested no small amount of assurance to
profess to be able to make the requisite machinery. And
this, when he had neither models nor drawings !
But Mr. Brown, though anxious to succeed in his new
undertaking, is too candid to foster extravagant hopes. He
tells the young man that he has transferred the business to
Almy & Brown, and expresses his fear that those gentle
men can hardly give such encouragement as the youth can
reckon on in his present place of business. (Mr. Almy was
a son-in-law of Mr. Brown.) This is the strain, therefore,
in which Mr. Brown writes: "As the frame we have is the
first attempt of the kind that has been made in America, it
is too imperfect to afford thee much encouragement; we
hardly know what to say to thee ; but if thou thought thou
couldst perfect and conduct them to profit, if thou wilt come
and do it, thou shalt have all the profits made of them, over
and above the interest of the money they cost, and the wear
and tear of them. We will find stock and be repaid in yarn,
as we may agree for six months. And this we do for the
information thou can give, if fully acquainted with the busi
ness. . . . We have secured only a temporary water
convenience, but if we find the business profitable, can per
petuate one that is convenient. ... If thy present situa
tion does not come up to what thou wishest, and, from thy
knowledge of the business, can be ascertained of the advan
tages of the mills, so as to come and work ours, and have the
credit as well as advantage of perfecting the first water-mill
in America, we should be glad to engage thy care, so long as
they can be made profitable to both, and we can agree."

OEPAWTUCKET. 41
Happily Mr. Slater's gaze continues anxiously turned
toward Providence rather than toward Philadelphia. Mr.
Brown's letter bears date "Providence, 10th 12th month,
1789." The young man promptly sets out for Rhode Island,
and quickly appears in Pawtucket. A word or two on his
first host.
This was Mr. Sylvanus Brown, the father of Capt. James
S. Brown. He was a good representative of the energetic
class of men that peopled this .place a century ago. During
the Revolutionary contest he served for a time in the navy,
and held the office of master-of-arms in the ship of Commo
dore Esek Hopkins. Soon after the return of peace Mr.
Brown was engaged by the Governor of the eastern British
Provinces to go to Halifax, and superintend the erection of
saw and grist mills in some of those Provinces. Such was
the fame of Rhode Island mechanics, that Mr. Brown was
allowed to hire fifty from this neighborhood to rear the mills
desired. And it casts a side light on the nature and extent
of the iron business carried on here, to know that all the iron
work required was made in Pawtucket. Mr. Brown was
occupied in the Provinces nearly two years, and built seven
saw mills and two grist mills. After his return he built
Quaker Lane, which had been laid out ; and, as surveyor of
highways, extended it down to the Landing.
Mr. Brown was accustomed to relate to his family the cir
cumstances of his introduction to Mr. Slater. In the latter
part of 1789 Moses Brown came out to Pawtucket, accom
panied by a young Englishman twenty-two years of age.
On approaching his Pawtucket namesake, Mr. Brown says,
"Sylvanus, I have brought to thee a young man who says he
knows how to spin cotton. I want thee to keep him to-night,
and talk with him, and see what he can do." Mr. Sylvanus
Brown accepts the charge. On the next morning Moses
Brown makes his appearance early, in his usual style. He is
borne in a carriage drawn by two horses, and driven by a
colored driver. He quickly accosts his old acquaintance.
6

42 HISTORICAL SKETCH
i
" Sylvanus, what does thee think ? Does the young man
seem to know anything about spinning cotton ?" Mr. Brown
replies that he has talked with the young man, and that he
speaks with great confidence, and really seems to understand
about matters.
But the parties quickly proceed to business. Mr. Slater is
taken to see the machines, and is not captivated by their
appearance. Let Moses Brown tell the story : " When Sam
uel saw the old machines, he felt down-hearted with disap
pointment, and shook his head, and said, ' These will not do ;
they are good for nothing in their present condition, nor can
they be made to answer.' " Probably there were others dis
appointed too. But is there not an alternative ? Yes.
Moses Brown doubtless quickly recalls the assurance which
the young Englishman had given of his ability to make the
needed machinery, as well as good yarn. Since he is here
by Pawtucket Falls, and no one can- question the goodness
of the water power, why not let him reproduce the series of
machines termed the Arkwright patents.? Mr. Slater is ready
for such an undertaking, but imposes certain conditions. His
trial machines must be constructed of wood ; a skillful me
chanic must therefore be furnished, who shall be put under
bonds neither to steal the patterns, nor to reveal the nature
of the works. " Under my proposals," says the confident
young man, "if I do not make as good yarn as they do in
England, I will have nothing for 'my services, but will throw
the whole of what I have attempted over the bridge."
But where can a more skillful wood-worker be found in
Pawtucket, than the man at whose house Mr. Slater had been
a guest ? Mr. Sylvanus Brown is engaged to assist Mr. Slater
in his undertaking. A contract is made by careful Moses
Brown, to pay Mr. Slater a dollar a day for his labor while
reproducing the coveted machines. It has already been men
tioned that Mr. Sylvanus Brown had been occupied a short
time before in constructing Quaker Lane. That lane was
laid out a little more than a century ago by Stephen Hopkins,

OFPAWTUCKET. 43
Richard Waterman and a David Wilkinson. Probably there
had been an older lane running between that and the river,
but the new lane supersedes it. The land over which it run
was originally swampy, and, for years afterward, after every
storm and in the thaws of springtime, the road was a verita
ble slough of despond. The lane was so called from Benja
min Arnold, Oziel Wilkinson, and Timothy Greene, members
of the Society of Friends. It answers to what is now the
beginning of East avenue. The shop wherein Mr. Slater
began the manufacture of his machines was on the lane
named, and, some years ago, was the salesroom of a baker.
A few years since, as it was to be torn down, Capt. Brown
caused it to be taken apart, and the frame and other parts to
be removed to his spacious lot on Main street. And it is his
intention to have it reerected in the yard of his extensive
machine shop.
The greatest secrecy was maintained in all the operations.
The front windows were shielded by shutters, and the back
windows covered by blinds. Mr. Slater -traced his lines on
the wood with chalk, and Mr. Brown cut out the parts, and
fabricated the various portions of the machines. What power
was needed was supplied by a wheel • propelled by an aged
negro of the name of Prime. He boasted a fuller name, or
a brace of them, — Samuel Primus, or Primus Jenks. Hav
ing once been a slave of some of -the Jenkses, he bore that
reminder of his former relation to them. Samuel Primus,
however, was not put under bonds ; for he would have
scorned to betray any secrets. Moses Brown watched the
proceedings with eager interest, and reckoned it no hardship
to come daily from Providence for that purpose. Mr. Slater
and his helper labored industriously, and, in a few months,
finished a water frame of twenty-four spindles, two carding
machines, and the drawing and roping frames, necessary to
prepare for the spinning ; and soon after added a frame of
forty-eight spindles. The time for testing the machines at
last comes, and everything works satisfactorily but the carder.

44 HISTORICAL SKETCH
Instead of the cotton's coming off in rolls, it clings firmly to
the cylinder. Mr. Slater tries every expedient that he can
think of to remedy the difficulty, but fails. Hope, which
had hitherto buoyed him up, gave place to chagrin. He
recollects the confident assurances he had given, and his
boastful words seemed to him but swaggering. One thought
indeed gives poignancy to his feelings. It is bad enough to
fail, when one deemed himself on the eve of success, but he
feared that he would be counted an imposter. Under the
revulsion of feeling he almost resolves on flight. He tells
Mr. Sylvanus Brown that such seems his only resort. But
Mr. Brown gives him wiser counsel, and urges him to keep
trying. The young man is still baffled, however, and an
nounces his design to run away ; Mr. Brown expostulates
against such rashness, but determines on satisfying his own
mind of the feasibility of the work. He fixes on his com
panion's countenance a searching gaze, and asks, " Have you
ever seen one of these carders work in your own country ?"
" Yes," was the unfaltering reply, and the young man's hand
was brought down resolutely on his knee. to add emphasis to
the answer. " Then it can be made to work here," was his
mentor's response. While the matter was in abeyance, how
ever, Mr. Brown, whose house was also on Quaker Lane, was
compelled to wait a few minutes one day for his dinner. It
happened that his wife had been using a pair of hand cards,
which she laid down as her husband came in. Spontaneously
he took them up, and discovered, as he examined them, that
the teeth were bent somewhat differently from those on the
carder at their shop ; and the thought occurs to him that an
alteration in the shape of the teeth may surmount the diffi
culty. After dinner he tries the experiment, and, to his joy
and Mr. Slater's relief, the carder works.
Success is attained. Arkwright's patents are reproduced
in America, and Pawtucket is to be enriched by a new branch
of industry. Mr. Sylvanus Brown converts the parts of the
machine whigh need greatest strength into iron. The forges

OE PAWTUCKET. 45
of the Wilkinsons supply what is requisite, and the perfected
machines are set in operation in a small mill that stood, at
the close of the last century, on the southwest abutment of
the bridge which then spanned the Pawtucket. But that
bridge was long since demolished to make room for a better
structure, and the mill itself was swept away by the surges
of the Blackstone in the memorable freshet of 1807. Work
was begun in earnest with the new machines, in the fall of
1790, or the winter following. And to understand the com
parative rudeness of some of the machines then employed,
an extract from a letter of Mr. Smith Wilkinson, written
years afterward, may be quoted : " I was then in my tenth
year, and went to work with Mr. Slater, and began attending
the breaker. The mode of laying the cotton was by hand,
taking up a handful, and pulling it apart with both hands,
shifting it all into the right hand to get the staple of the
cotton straight, and fix the handful so as to hold it firm, and
then applying it to the surface of the breaker, moving the
hand horizontally across the card to and fro, until the cotton
was fully prepared."
It is difficult at the present time, abounding as Pawtucket
does with workshops and skillful artisans of every kind, to
realize the obstacles that Mr. Slater was obliged to overcome
in building even such rude machines. Drawings, models, and
patterns he lacked ; from the circumstances whereby he was
surrounded, he had but a single workman to counsel him,
and he one who had never seen such machines as he was
aiming to reproduce ; his sole dependence under God was
therefore on the tenaciousness of his memory, his firm faith,
and a dogged will. One alleviation of his lot, however,
there was. He boarded in the family of Oziel Wilkinson ;
and Mrs. Wilkinson, true to the instincts of the sect whereto
she belonged, extended to the lonely stranger the sympathy
he so much craved. Here too he formed an acquaintance
with the maiden who afterward became his wife; for, as is
well known, he subsequently married a daughter of Mr.

46 HISTORICAL SKETCH
Wilkinson. But Mr. Slater plied his skill in the narrow
quarters of the mill mentioned for nearly two years; and
found, at the end of the period, that several thousand pounds
of yarn had accumulated on the hands of himself and his
partners in. spite of their utmost efforts to sell it. A small
quantity sufficed at that- early time to glut the market. The
prudence of Moses Brown took alarm quite quickly, indeed,
at the overstock ; for when five hundred pounds had accu
mulated., he wrote to Mr. Slater, " Thee must shut down thy
gates, or thee will spin up all my farms into cotton yarn."
The success attained, however, was a matter of gratulation.
That in spite of the jealous exclusiveness of the British
government, cotton spinning by water power had been accli
mated in America was reason for thankfulness. Pawtucket
had won new fame, and is justified in claiming to be the
parent of scores of flourishing towns and cities that have
outstripped her in population.
But, before she could successfully vindicate this claim, other
inventions must be perfected. To the thoughtful soul it is
pleasant to note how God strikingly reveals His continued
oversight of human affairs. When one invention has been
made that is capable of working a revolution in a branch of
industry, He speedily suggests to human genius other inven
tions that are needed to supplement it. The invention of
the cotton gin quickly followed the successful introduction of
Arkwright's patents here. That invention is pleasantly asso
ciated with the family of the most illustrious Rhode Island
General of the Revolution. When Eli Whitney, a young
man just graduated from college in 1792, was journeying to
Georgia, he traveled in company with Mrs. Greene and her
children. Mr. Whitney was in slender health, and, disap
pointed in the employment which had been promised, was
glad to accept a home beneath the hospitable roof of Mrs.
Greene. A short time after he began his residence there a large
party of Georgians paid Mrs. Greene a visit. Many of them

OEPAWTUCKET. 47
were officers that had served under her husband in the Rev
olutionary war. During their visit one topic earnestly talked
about was the depressed state of agriculture, and the impos
sibility of increasing the cultivation of the green-seed cotton
with profit, on account of the trouble and expense of sepa
rating the seed from the fibre. Mrs. Greene listened to the
conversation for a while, and then exclaimed, " Gentlemen,
apply to my young friend, Mr. Whitney ; — he can make any
thing." To justify her language, she invited them to an
adjoining room, and showed them skillful machines which
Mr. Whitney had constructed for her own and her children's
use. Introducing Mr. Whitney himself, she warmly extolled
his genius and skill, and commended him to their confidence
and good-will. Mr. Whitney entered into conversation with
the guests, and frankly confessed that he had never seen
cotton or cotton-seed in his life.
Mr. Whitney made no promises, offered but slight encour
agement, but, after their departure, quietly went to work.
The result is well known. In a few months he devised a
machine that enabled a man in a single day to separate more
cotton from the seed than he could separate without it by the
toil of months. And though Mr. Whitney was defrauded of
any profit from the invention, the country at large reaped
immense benefit. Both America and Europe were released
from further dependence on sluggish India for the raw mate
rial. The production of cotton in the southern States was
between five and ten. thousand bales in the year 1793 ; but
during the current year, from September 1st, 1875, to Sep
tember 1st, 1876, it will doubtless reach four millions and a
quarter of bales.
After the experiment of Mr. Slater had so far succeeded, a
new mill was erected. It was the comparatively diminutive
building on Mill street, which now bears the name of the
Old Slater Mill. In .fact, the original edifice was much
smaller than the present one. It was reared in 1793. And
here came into play the inventive genius of Mr. Sylvanus

48 HISTORICAL SKETCH
Brown. He quickly realized that, if the business of spinning
cotton was to be extended, facilities were needed for speeding
the manufacture of the requisite machinery. As early as
1791, therefore, he invented a slide lathe for turning rollers,
spindles, and like articles ; and followed it with an invention
for fluting and planing rollers. His lathe was the first inven
tion for turning iron ; and he subsequently used it with cer
tain alterations for cutting wrought iron screws for presses
to press sperm oil. And other screws still were made by
the same instrument. But the inventions first named were of
immense value in hastening the equipping of the new mill.
During the year 1793 a slitting mill was built by Oziel
Wilkinson, and a flouring mill by Thomas Arnold. It is
alleged, indeed, that Pawtucket can claim that the first flour
ing mill in the State was erected within her borders.
The success of Slater's undertaking stimulated others to
rear mills of a like character. In 1799 the second cotton
mill in this town was begun. It was erected by Mr. Oziel
Wilkinson, and his three sons-in-law, — Samuel Slater, Timo
thy Greene, and William Wilkinson. An advertisement
from these parties, which has been preserved, has a kind of
historic interest. It appeared in the "United States Chroni
cle," (a journal published in Providence,) under date of July
30th, 1801. It is as follows :
"SAMUEL SLATER & CO.
" The subscribers having erected an extensive Manufactory for
spinning Cotton at Rehoboth, Massachusetts, near Pawtucket
Falls, four miles from Providence, R. I., have entered into Co
partnership under the above firm, for conducting the same, and
now inform the Public that they are ready to supply any Quantity
of Yarn, of almost every Number and Description, as Warp,
Filling, 2 and 3 threaded Stocking Yarn, suitable for Weaving
and Knitting, whitened or brown, Wholesale or Retail, at a short
Notice. Their Yarn is at least equal, if not superior to any man
ufactured in America. Orders to any Amount can speedily be
complied with, and shall be carefully attended to, by addressing

OE PAWTUCKET. 49
to Samuel Slater & Co., North Providence, or William Wilkinson,
Postmaster, Providence. Oziel Wilkinson,
Samuel Slater,
Timothy Greene,
William Wilkinson.
N. Providence, July 15th, 1801."
Tradition represents that the impulse to the erection of the
mill last mentioned sprung from dissatisfaction on the part of
Mr. Slater with his former partners. He fancied, — whether
justly or not is idle to inquire, — that they were ready to sup
plant him, now that they had, as they supposed, learned the
business ; and his sturdy father-in-law, as well as Mr. Slater
himself, resented the injustice.
One can easily imagine the alarm which the prospect of
another rival brings to the proprietors of the old mill. An
amusing incident illustrates the fact. The expression another
rival has been wittingly used. The mill built in 1799 was
not the second cotton mill reared in this neighborhood, for
that was erected in what was long called Robin Hollow; in
the town of Cumberland. It stood on the site of the present
Cumberland Mills, which may almost be claimed as a Paw
tucket enterprise, since the buildings we're reared mainly by
Pawtucket capital, and the larger part of the capital stock is
still held in this town. The earlier mill, however, was erected
by Elisha Waterman ; and the story is told that, after it got
under way, the workmen came one day to Pawtucket, and
marched in procession by the old mill, every one wearing a
bunch of cotton yarn on his hat. While one laughs at such
a stroke of humor, can he not recollect that jealousy of rivals
is often as irrational at the present day as was that which
impelled the amusing act just described ? Such are the
growing wants of the civilized world, such the increase of
trade with uncivilized nations, that one can affirm about the
matter of over-production, as Burke did a century ago about
the population of the American colonies : " State the num-
7

50 HISTORICAL SKETCH
bers as high as we will, while the dispute continues the
exaggeration ends." Substitute the word figures or products
for numbers, and a £act is stated which is applicable to almost
any form of useful industry.
The name of Timothy Greene in the above quoted adver
tisement is a reminder that, at that period, he was an active
business man in Pawtucket. His original business was the
manufacture of shoes, but he enlarged it by engaging in
tanning. He purchased a somewhat extensive piece of land
between Quaker Lane and the river. He laid out a tan-yard
along the banks of the river, where the mill of his grandsons
now stands. To the south lay his famous meadow. In these
later days the most the prognosticator of the weather dares do
is to speak of probabilities ; but three-quarters of a century
ago the inhabitants of this place reckoned it a certainty, that
the mowing of Uncle Timothy's meadow would bring rain.
No matter how severe might have been the drouth, the mow
ing of that meadow was a signal for showers. The name by
which he was called implies that he must have possessed a
kindly nature.* One of his workmen gives the following
* One of Friend Timothy's grandsons has preserved his old day-book. Some of
his charges and memoranda are curiosities in orthography. *
In 1788, 8th 5 mo., the following charge appears :
George Almey,
To makeing Wastcoat and Briches,  10s
To piece of Linen to Line do  6s
On 11th 5 mo, the following record is given :
" Nathaniel Croade Began to Bord with me this day to Give Eight shillings per
week, to pay in Goods out of shop as he sells for Cash." And very good board he
thus furnished, without doubt, at $1.33 per week.
In the same year, on the 12th of 9 mo., the following charge is found:
Ozial Wilkinson, s
To Mending thy Wives Shoes,  2. 6
To a Pare Shoes for Isaac, and vamps and Bottoms for Abraham, 14.
But here comes-a charge which does not read so well, Uncle Timothy :
Jeeothm1 Jenckes, Dr.
To a Hogshead Jemiaca Rum at 4.6 per Gallon, Comes to £24. 6. 0
Wert thou living now, we should not catch thee trading in any such article.

OEPAWTUCKET. 51
testimony as to his business : " We ground 200 cords of bark
per year, while I worked for Mr. Greene. We tanned 1000
hides a year for him, and fulled 1500 for others." This was
before the times, however, of forcing processes.
Before the close of the last century David Wilkinson per
fected one of the important inventions which gave him his
renown. It was that of the slide lathe. He completed it in
1797, and obtained a patent for it in the following year. So
slow was the extending of the machine business, however,
that but little pecuniary profit flowed to the inventor. The
original patent run out before it came into extensive use,
and Mr. Wilkinson was too busy with other enterprises, too
intent on other inventions, to take the trouble to secure a
renewal. But fifty years after the original patent was
granted, Congress voted him ten thousand dollars as a par
tial recompense " for the benefits accruing to the public ser
vice from the use of the principle of the gauge and sliding
lathe, of which he was the inventor, now in use in the work
shops of the government, at the different National arsenals and
armories." The Senate Committee on Military Affairs, was
composed of the well-known Senators, — Rusk of Texas,
Cass of Michigan, Davis of Mississippi, Dix of New York,
and Benton of Missouri.
As early as 1791 Oziel Wilkinson built a small air furnace,
or reverberatory, for casting iron, in which were cast the
first wing-gudgeons known in America, which were applied
to Slater's old mill. And so wide-spread was the fame of
Pawtucket for skillful iron-workers, that in 1794 Col. Bald
win came hither from Boston after machinery for a canal then
building, probably that to Lowell. At Wilkinson's establish
ment the patterns were made, and the wheels, racks, &c,
were cast. At the same establishment the iron was cast for
the draw for the Cambridge bridge about the same time.
David Wilkinson, in conjunction with other parties here,
had set up a furnace, and, by it, early in the present century,
cannon were cast solid. They were subsequently bored out

52 HISTORICAL SKETCH
by water power. "It was then the current conversation,
that to Pawtucket belonged the credit of the first cannon
cast solid in the world. They were bored by making the
drill or bore stationary, and having the cannon revolve
against the drill."
It is to this period of time that the remarks of Dr. Dwight,
in his travels, in 1810, apply. " There is probably no spot
in New England," he writes, " of the same extent, in which
the same quantity or variety of manufacturing business is
carried on. In the year 1796, there were here three anchor
forges, one tanning mill, one flouring mill, one slitting mill,
three snuff mills, one oil mill, three fulling mills, and cloth
ier's works, one cotton factory, two machines for cutting
nails, one furnace for casting hollow ware, — all moved by
water, — one machine for cutting screws, moved by a horse,
and several forges for smith's work."
In a former part of this sketch imagination was allowed to
give a picture of this region nearly two centuries ago. A
less ideal picture can be furnished of the aspect at the begin
ning of the present century, of the villages now collectively
known as Pawtucket. The description which helps one
paint such a picture was given by a well-known citizen. Dr.
Benedict made his first visit here in 1804. About fifty years
after, he gave interesting reminiscences of the condition of
the place at the earlier date-' His account, drawn from a
retentive memory, refreshed by notes that he had taken, and
by conversation with old natives and residents, enables one
to form a fair idea of the appearance of the place in the year
1801 or 1802.
The only street on the eastern side of the river was the old
road past the old Slack tavern, and out to what is now called
North Bend. The southern border of that road run a little
further to the south than now. Reaching its present ex
tremity to the east, the main road ran toward Boston past
the Dolly Sabin tavern, while there was a branch to the
south, which is now known as South Bend. This street is

OE PAWTUCKET. • 53
of course what is now Main and Walcott streets. On the
western side of the river, Main street from the bridge up
ward was several feet lower than at present, and at times
was one of the muddiest holes in the place. Much of the
street was a mere rayine, through which ran a brook from
the meadow above. The water from this source is now
greatly-lessened, and runs beneath the surface. East avenue,
from its junction with Main street, till lately for years called
Pleasant street, was then, as has been already stated, called
Quaker Lane, and extended not much farther than where
Pleasant street now begins. It was wretchedly miry in both
spring and fall. What is now Mill street'was but a narrow
road up to Slater's mill, and extended but a little way beyond.
Nobody was sanguine enough to suppose that a public road
would ever pass the stone chimney house, through the fields
of Ichabod and Stephen Jenks, and over the high hill which
then stood between Pawtucket and Central Falls. At that
time, indeed, there were two houses in what is now the flour
ishing village of Central Falls. Hjgh street was not laid out
at all beyond where the High School building now stands,
and very imperfectly thus far. There was but one Meeting
house, a very diminutive edifice, which stood not far from
where the goodly temple of the First Baptist church now
" stands. The only other public edifice was known as the Red
School House, and stood not far from the Meeting-house. It
was used for all public gatherings of a secular nature, and
frequently for religious assemblies, when other denominations
wished to hold a meeting while the Baptist Meeting-house
was occupied.
But how large was the population at that time ? No census
is extant; but the entire number of houses on the east. side
was seventeen, and on the west, about twice as many. Be
tween fifty and sixty houses then afforded shelter to the
dwellers on both sides of the river. But such figures may
perhaps mislead ; for it seems to have been common to crowd
large households into small dwellings ; and houses that afforded

54 HISTORICAL SKETCH
but scanty accommodations to a single family were sometimes
made to shelter two or three. The reader must therefore
form his own estimate of the number of inhabitants.
Of the centres of industry more is known. The first Slater
mill was running then, and the structure of Samuel Slater
& Co. on the eastern margin of the river was in operation.
The proportions of both those structures seemed doubtless
huge. Hundreds had been in the habit of coming from all
the country to gaze on the' original mill, and wonder at its
exploits.* But what were its wondrous achievements? It
spun by water power coarse yarns to be woven by hand in
the farm-houses of all the surrounding region. Power looms
were a dream of the future. But the yarns thus- spun brought
high prices, and were for a good while in such demand, that
it seemed almost impossible to execute the orders that poured
in for them. One circumstance that swelled the demand was
that the goods made on the hand looms in the country from
these yarns, seemed far more durable than the old "fabrics
made from the refuse of flax, or the coarse India cotton.
Beside the spinning of cotton, however, the bleaching busi
ness was carried on, but in a manner that would now be
deemed quite primitive. The ground adjoining the old Slater
mill to the north, where now stand the works of Messrs.
Fairbrother, and many a building between Mill street and the
Blackstone, was one great bleaching meadow. The fame of
Mother Cole survives as the manager of the operations. Stakes*
were driven into the ground, and skeins of cotton were
stretched from one to another, and the cloth was spread upon
the grass. The matron named, with a small corps of assist
ants, sprinkled with watering pots the fabric thus exposed,
and plied the drying sticks till the cloth and yarn assumed
a whiter hue. A long storm, or a protracted period of dull
•or cloudy weather, seriously delayed the completion of the
work, and taxed the patience of customers. Another bleach
ing meadow of like character existed afterward on the eastern
side of tbe river, to the south of the bridge ; and both of

01 PAWTUCKET. .55
them were supplied with water brought down Main street by
aqueducts of wooden logs. One of them started from the
western side of the ascent of Park place, and the other from
near the corner where Main street bends to the south just
above the Benedict House. An outlet of one of these aque
ducts was at the head of Water street. The water from
these fountains was deemed preferable for bleaching purposes
to that from the river. The well-known citizens of Paw
tucket, whose bleachery at Moshassuck cannat be spoken of
at length without trenching on the claims of Lincoln, would
hardly fear the rivalry of Mother Cole, could she return to
earth to resume in her old mode her former business.
The forges, anchor shops, machine shops, foundries, oil
mills, grist mills, and similar establishments, were all near the
river, or along Sargent's Trench. The reader can fill up the
outline of this pieture by conceiving of the woods which
crowned the ridge to the west of Broadway, and studded the
swampy land that sloped to the Blackstone. A dense forest
covered the region now occupied by the tasty grounds and
extensive works of Col. Dunnell. And between that forest
and the present thoroughfare from the stone bridge to North
Bend were three farms, stretching almost from the river to
Seekonk Plains. These farms belonged to three brothers of
the name of Bucklin. On the west of North Bend other
farms run back to the river, save where they were afterward
divided by the turnpike. A few years before, on that part of
Cottage street where Mr. William P. Allen now lives, stood a
majestic growth of hard -w.ood ; but the feller had meanwhile
come up against it, and leveled the trees, and the region was
a part of large farms, poorly cultivated.
Perhaps the space may be profitably spared to give a live
lier idea of the section east of the river, as it then existed.
Be it recollected, therefore, that the house of Ephraim Stark
weather stood at the apex of the triangle made by Main and
Walcott streets. Just below that, on the site of the rectory
of Trinity Church, stood the tavern of Col. Slack. From

56 HISTORICAL SKETCH
Mr. Starkweather's to North Bend there was no house. The
upper part of Walcott street, from above Grove street to
Otis French's, was. open land on the north side, and be
longed to Col. Slack. Beyond Mr. French's house, on North
Bend, stood an old stone chimney house, long since torn
down. It was then occupied, however, by a venerable col
ored man, who bore a couple of names, — Prince Kennedy, or
the Black Prince. The old Lyon house, the Dolly Sabin
tavern, two ou three farm houses between or in the neighbor
hood, the stone chimney house on South Bend, and N. Buck-
lin's house, near Bucklin's brook, complete the list in that
part of the hamlet. Stretching from North Bend to the
Blackstone, a little beyond the land mentioned as belonging
to Col. Slack, was a strip of territory owned by Abiel Read
and his sisters. Next on the north was the land of Ephraim
Starkweather. Then came the farm of Baruch Bucklin. For
years afterward it was in the possession of Mr. May D. Mason,
who married the only daughter of Mr. Bucklin. Still north
of this lay the farm of Ebenezer Bucklin. North of these
were a farm of Samuel Slack, since called the Lavery place,
and one of Ezra Barrows. Most or all of these stretched from
the road named to the Blackstone, though destined soon to
be cut in twain by the Norfolk and Bristol turnpike, which
was on the eve of being built.
This leaves but few of the seventeen buildings unmen-
tioned in the east village, and one of them was occupied by a
son of Hugh Kennedy. Mr. Kennedy's house stood a little to
the east of the Ellis block, and was joined by a garden which
run back to the Blackstone. It was then deemed the most
attractive garden in the village, as it possessed a great many
pear trees. To the south of the bridge stood his oil mill,
and on the other side a blacksmith's and wheelwright shop.
In the latter shop were manufactured a multitude of old-
fashioned spinning wheels, both great and small.
Of course, on both sides of the stream, in addition to the
streets named, were a few lanes, which have since grown into

OF PAWTUCKET. 57
streets. One ran, for instance, to the ship-yard at the Land
ing, and others, in other directions. But most of the houses
of the residents in the western village of Pawtucket, were
upon the streets already named. High street, north of the
present High School building, was covered by pines and scrub
oaks. A few roads and thoroughfares, indeed, extended
toward Providence and Smithfield, but the rest of the land
away from the river was occupied by farms or pastures, or
covered with forests. Along the river's side, however, the
din of industry was heard. What is now Jenks avenue led
down to the coal yard, and here were stored huge piles of
charcoal for the use of forges, furnaces, and anchor shops ;
and the clangor of trip-hammers and anvils, the blows of
ship-builders, and the buzz of machinery, told that enterprise
and toil were busy by the waters of the Pawtucket.
About this time, however, an important convenience for
the public was providing. It was the era of turnpikes, and
the Norfolk and Bristol turnpike was chartered to open a
more direct road to Boston. It was laid out four rods in
width from the bridge at Pawtucket to the metropolis of
Massachusetts. Oziel Wilkinson was always ready for any
undertaking that promised to accommodate the public, and
put money into. his own pocket, and took a contract for
building thirteen miles of the road, nearest this place. This
was about the year 1804. The spades, shovels and picks for
the laborers, were all furnished from his shops in Pawtucket.
Greatly to the annoyance of some of the residents east of the
river, the road, as it approached the bridge, was brought very
near the stream, and spoiled some pleasant gardens. What
is now known as Broadway is but the road-bed of the south
western part of the old turnpike. For some years, especially
after steamboats were put on the route between Providence
and New York, that turnpike was a great highway of travel.
Scores of stage coaches, crowded with passengers, daily hur
ried over it, and scores of wagons, groaning under their loads,
journeyed to and from Boston. But the march of improve-

58 HISTORICAL SKETCH
ment in less than two-score years blasted the fond hopes of
its builders. The steam-car demanded the iron track, and
turnpikes gave place to railroads. The result is adverted to
in the account of a special town meeting held in Pawtucket,
Mass., on February 11th, 1843, to consider whether the town
should oppose the granting of the petition of the Norfolk
and Bristol turnpike for authority to give up their road to
the towns as a common highway.
The town very sensibly voted to instruct " their represent
ative in the General Court, to appear before the Committee
on the 15th instant, and to accept that part of the Norfolk
and Bristol turnpike, lying within the town of Pawtucket,
as a public road, provided the Corporation guarantee the said
road to the town free of expense."
Sturdy Oziel found the turnpike a great convenience while
he lived ; for he could transport his goods by it to a market
in Boston. A kinsman of his, in describing the rugged inde
pendence of the old man, remarks, that he was wont to carry
his own nails to the city named, and sell them in quantities
to suit purchasers ; and it shows the effect of modern inven
tions in cheapening the cost of articles of daily use, to men
tion that Mr. Wilkinson accommodated both large and small
purchasers by selling his nails to them at -sixteen cents per
pound. Turning for a moment from details of business, it may be
remarked that an incident happened, early in the century,
which lived in the memory of old citizens, and is so oft
referred to in common speech, that it deserves to be com
memorated in history. An almost unparalleled freshet oc
curred on February 15th, 1807. It was a Sabbath, whose
quiet was broken by the foaming surges. The Blackstone,
like most of northern rivers, is liable to be swollen by great
masses of ice and water, when a sudden thaw looses the
frozen rivulets and brooks. The banks of the river at Paw
tucket, however, are high enough to lift the houses above
ordinary floods ; but on the day preceding the Sabbath named,

OE PAWTUCKET. 59
a furious torrent plunging over the falls rose to an unwonted
height, and reminded the beholders that the swollen waves
can defy the interdict of any one save Him whose awful
voice can say, — Thus far, and no farther! All night the
torrent rushed and roared, and the trembling bridge warned
travelers not to attempt to cross the stream. The bed of the
river was filled to overflowing ; Sargent's Trench became a
boiling flood; and the surging billows revealed the bed of
still another stream which centuries ago ran parallel with the
main river. Mills and shops were swept away ; and a few
families that had seemed to linger too long in their homes
were hurried to places of safety by strong men, who were
periling their own lives to save others. In the gray dawn of
the morning a loud voice was heard shouting in the streets,
" Turn out, turn out ; the water is running round Jerahmeel
Jenks's stone wall!" In the very crisis of the freshet a sick
mother, and her infant of a fortnight old, were moved in a
chair across a ladder reaching from the window of an imper
iled house to the top of a fence opposite, by men who stood
in a roaring stream, and feared every instant that they were
too late. The late Mrs. N. G. B. Dexter, whose parents
lived in a house standing where the Miller block now is, was
accustomed to relate in her old age, that tall Col. Stephen
Jenks took both her and her younger sister in his arms and
bore them away to a secure place. Another incident of a
dramatic character happened.
Mr. John Pitcher occupied a house that stood on a rock
which forms a part of the foundation of Almy's block. He
and his daughter and little grandson lingered in the house
till the evening of Sunday. But the billows were so threat
ening, the masses of ice were crashing so furiously, that the
daughter dared not spend another night in so lonely a place,
especially as connection was cut off with the western shore.
She therefore besought her father to leave, and go with her,
while the bridge yet stood, to the other side. While he
hesitated and refused, she took her infant in her arms,

60 HISTORICAL SKETCH
waded through the water, and crossed the bridge. The
crazy structure trembled beneath her steps ; so, after bearing
her boy to a place of safety, she took a lantern, and returned
for her father, to implore him to leave. She had scarce
stepped on the bridge, when she discerned through the
blinding spray a lantern. She knew that no one but her
father could have gained a footing on the bridge, and
eagerly hastened to him. She found him bewildered by the
mist and roar, and hurried him across the trembling structure ;
and they had hardly stepped a dozen steps on the shore,
before the mad billows hurled masses of ice against the tot
tering fabric, and swept it, a heap of ruins, into the abyss.
That aged father and devoted daughter long since passed
away, but that infant still survives, — Mr. Franklin Rand, — a
man of three-score years and ten.
Through the mercy of God no lives were lost, but fourteen
buildings were swept away. None of them were costly
edifices, and yet several of them were the seat of locally
important industries, that were not merely gainful to their
proprietors, but of great convenience to the public around.
No such flood has since occurred ; perhaps none has approx
imated it more nearly than one that happened last spring.
But the buildings which have been reared since the earlier
freshet have been built so much more firmly, that but little
loss was actually sustained, though some shops were in peril.
The stately stone bridge which now spans the Blackstone
near the falls, is so much stronger than the crazy wooden
structure that nearly perished in that former freshet, that
beholders feared not to stand on it, and gaze at the careering
surges that plunged over the rocks.
It may not be improper to remark, in illustration of the
variety of industry that characterized Pawtucket, that an
ingenious clock -maker, early in the present century, by the
name of John Field, introduced here the casting of brass. He
carried on his business in the anchor shop of the elder Mr.
Wilkinson, And both the Wilkinsons, and the various

OE PAWTUCKET. 61
spinners of cotton, were extending their operations. On the
eastern side of the river, to the south of Main street, between
the bridge and the spacious mill recently erected by the
Messrs. Goff, are the sites of old mills. An early manufac
turing company took the name of »the Cotton and Oil Com
pany. They bought and carried on the oil mill which had
been owned by Hugh Kennedy. The company was com
posed of Nathaniel Croade, Major Ebenezer Tyler, Oliver
Starkweather, Benjamin Walcott, Eliphalet Slack, Dr. Bil
lings, and others, and built the so-called Yellow mill in 1805,
and the Stone mill in 1813. The company subsequently di
vided into two sections, and each of them took control of a mill.
The freshet spoken of above carried away all the buildings
in the forge lot, from the bridge to what is now called Jenks
avenue. The grist mill on the grist mill lot was also swept
before the billows, but the grist mill house, which stood on
the summit of the rock, remained. Although none of the
buildings were very large, they were yet of such service to
the whole neighborhood, by reason of the kinds of business
carried on in them, that steps were taken to rebuild some of
them without any delay. Eleazer Jenks and his sons, Eleazer,
Jr., and Stephen, built the forge shop ; Pardon and Jabez
Jenks built the carding room ; and Moses Jenks, the father
of the two last named, reared, in connection with others, the
grist mill, which stood till pulled down to build the flouring
mill in 1863. The basement of the carding machine building
was used for a fulling mill, and a snuff mill. The first floor
was used for carding wool. The clothier's shop was on the
corner of Main street and Jenks avenue ; and the basement
of the building was used for a coloring shop. The first floor
was employed for dressing cloth. The entire business was
carried on by Pardon and Jabez Jenks, the latter of whom
lived in the tenement above the dressing room. This con
tinued the case till 1817, when Jabez Jenks died. Subse
quently the business was carried on by others till 1821, when
the shop was resigned to trade.

62 HISTORICAL SKETCH
And here it may be remarked that, though these details
seem somewhat prolix, they are instructive for the present
generation, by reminding them of the change which has taken
place in manufacturing, within seventy years. It was nearly
a dozen years after the freshet before power looms came into
vogue. Before that time the farmers in this State and the
neighboring part of Massachusetts, raised their sheep, clipped
their own wool, and had their cloth manufactured beneath
their own roof. But before their wives, daughters, or domes
tics spun and wove their wool, it was brought to Pawtucket
to be carded, and, after it was woven, was returned to the
clothier's to be dressed and finished. The cloth thus made
was very strong, and could be made very fine. Indeed, it is
mentioned that when President Monroe was inaugurated in
1817, he wore a suit of clothes made of cloth manufactured
in Pawtucket. But this means simply that the wool was
carded here, and the cloth finished ; for no looms for weaving
woolen goods by power had then been put in operation. The
tenter bars of the clothiers were, at the early date named, on
the lot whereon the stately edifice just reared by the Dexter
Brothers now stands.
The basement of the forge shop was used for a trip-hammer
shop to do heavy forging, and to make mule spindles. This
business was carried on by Eleazer Jenks, Jr., and others of
the family, till his death in 1816. The first floor was used
for various purposes ; quite early by Stephen Jenks, who
had a machine for cutting large spikes, of his own device.
Subsequently he used it for another purpose, to be mentioned
further on. On the second floor, Otis and Benjamin Walcott
had a machine shop prior to 1813.
And here may appropriately be quoted an extract of a let
ter from John K. Pitman to Thomas Cole, Esq., under date
of November 8th, 1809, in relation to the cotton manufac
turing establishments in the neighborhood of Providence.
It shows the comparative awkwardness of some departments
of manufacturing at that time. The extract is borrowed from
the Providence Journal of June 19th of the present year ;

OE PAWTUCKET. 63
" There are in this State sixteen cotton mills in operation, and
seven more erected which have not yet begun to spin. Also
without the State and within about thirty miles of this town,
there are ten at work, and six not yet in operation. . . . The
mills within the State contain between thirteen and fourteen
thousand spindles, and consume about twelve thousand pounds
of cotton weekly ; those without the State contain upwards of
six thousand spindles, and consume about five thousand, pounds
of cotton weekly. The produce of yarn is estimated at four-
fifths of the raw material. The mills within the State employ
upwards of one thousand looms, most of which are in private
families, and wrought by females unoccupied by their domestic
concerns. The cotton is picked by private families in the neigh
borhood of the mills, and in this State this branch gives employ
ment to more than four hundred families a considerable portion
of the year, to whom is paid upwards of twenty thousand dollars
annually." The war with Great Britain, which began in 1812, while it
nearly swept American commerce from the ocean, gave an im
petus to cotton manufacturing and kindred branches of indus
try in this neighborhood. Indeed, the embargo during Jef
ferson's administration had doubtless suggested to the shrewd
men who had started cotton mills in this neighborhood, that the
yarns of their manufacture were likely to be needed to supply
an imperious home demand. Hence in 1810 Oziel Wilkinson
built another mill on Mill street, which still stands. It is
now known as the Lefavour mill. For several years after it
was reared, the lower story was occupied by David Wilkinson
for a machine shop, and the upper story for cotton spinning.
The war, however, stimulated manufacturing still more. On
passing up Broadway one sees on the mill occupied by the
Dexter Brothers the figures 1813, which indicate the time of
the erection of that structure. It was reared originally by
Wilkinson & Greene. It has been mentioned that to the
south of the bridge a mill was also erected in the same year.
About this time, also, Kent's factory was converted into a cot-

64 HISTORICAL SKETCH
ton mill. In 1813, too, a machine shop was built by Eleazer
Jenks and family, which extended along the southern part of
Main street, and to the east of the clothier's shop that stood
on the corner of the present Jenks avenue. This shop, in
deed, reached from Main street to the forge shop, and was
occupied by David Wilkinson from the period of its erection
till 1829. Subsequently, during the war, the Buffington mill,
so called at a later date, was erected, and occupied the space
between the machine shop and the bridge. Its owners were
Pardon and Jabez Jenks. The first person to occupy it was
Major Ebenezer Tyler, who was for years one of the most
active men of the place. For a part of two seasons he carried
on the business of spinning cotton yarns. After him a Mr.
Taft occupied it, and was succeeded, not far from 1821, by
Mr. Buffington. The business of weaving cloth by power
looms, as will be shown, had meanwhile been begun, and Mr.
Buffington commenced the manufacture of cloth. He con
tinued to run the mill till it was burnt in 1844.
During the war, of course, invention was stimulated, and
two men, in whose name Pawtucket has an interest, were
busied in devising valuable contrivances. The slowness of
weaving cotton by hand had pressed the inquiry on hundreds
of minds, Cannot a power loom be devised, which shall expe
dite the work, and lessen the expense ? And among those
who were haunted by this question was an ingenious me
chanic in Pawtucket, by the name of John Thorp. As early
as 1814 he invented a power loom. It stood upright, and
performed its work by perpendicular action. Though it was
soon superseded by a more skillful instrument, it yet showed
the inventor's ability. Soon after he invented a machine for
winding quills or bobbins. He also invented a very ingenious
braiding machine, and followed it by the ring spinning or
spinning-ring which is now in general use.
The other person referred to was Mr. Asa Arnold, a native
of Pawtucket. He devised a machine for separating wool in
carding, into slivers, so as to be spun from the cards. This

OEPAWTUCKET. 65
is believed to have been done during the war named. Subse
quently he displayed his ingenuity by introducing compound
motion or differential box into the Double Speeder. For
this he obtained a patent in 1821. In the judgment of com
petent parties, both of these inventions possess great merit.
' The order of time requires, however, that more be now
said of the third grand invention pertaining to the manufac
ture of cotton. So far as our own land is concerned, this,
like the adoption of Arkwright's patent, was rather a repro
duction than an invention. Mr. William Gilmore had been
working at Slatersville, and sought to introduce there the
Scotch loom. No favor was shown to the proposition, how
ever, but Judge Lyman, of the neighboring town of North
Providence, hears of the matter, and induces Mr. Gilmore to
make the experiment in his mill. From some defect or de
rangement of the loom, however, it does not work at first ;
but Judge Lyman thinks of David Wilkinson, and gets him
to look at the machine. Mr. Wilkinson's keen eye soon dis
covers the difficulty, and his fertile mind devises a remedy.
And it is an interesting fact, that Capt. James S. Brown,
whose inventive genius and business talent have so helped
the prosperity of Pawtucket, had just come to work in the
shop of Mr. Wilkinson ; and the first task he performed was
to finish some patterns of the Scotch loom. This was in
1817, and marks an era in the business of manufacturing
cotton in our land. Far and wide the news spreads that a
power loom is successfully working in the neighborhood of
Pawtucket, and manufacturers come to inspect it. The
foundation of many a manufacturing village and city, indeed,
almost dates from that epoch.
And the period reached requires that another person be
now mentioned. In 1813 Mr. Larned Pitcher began as a
machinist. Subsequently Mr. P. Hovey and Mr. Arnold be
came associated with him. Their first place of business was
at the new mill on the west side of the river, but they subse
quently moved to the Stone mill, and then to the Yellow
9

66 HISTORICAL SKETCH
mill. In 1819 Mr. Gay became a partner, and, the others
named having retired, the style of the firm became Pitcher if
Cray. Soon Mr. Gay devised a Dresser, which still remains
in use. He also invented a Speeder. In September, 1824,
Mr. Gay removed to Nashua ; and, as Mr. Brown, who had
been working for some years in the employment of the parties
named, had become a partner on the previous month, the
new firm took the well-known style of Pitcher & Brown,
and continued in business till 1842.
It was mentioned, in speaking of the forge shop, that Mr.
Stephen Jenks occupied for a time the first floor of that
building. One circumstance deserves to be named in connec
tion with that shop. The extract quoted from the letter of
Mr. Pitman tells in how rude a way the business of picking
cotton was carried on. Mr. Jenks introduced here a cotton-
picker, which was the first- started in this neighborhood.
After that, cotton instead of being sent out to private fami
lies to be whipped, was brought to the forge shop from all
the mills for miles around, and returned in bags to the various
mills in condition to be used. Mr. Jenks continued this busi
ness till 1817 or 1818, when pickers came into general use in
the various mills. The room occupied by Stephen Jenks was
afterwards occupied by Abner Tompkins as a machine shop
for finishing the iron work for looms, till about 1829.
Prior to the war with Great Britain, as was intimated
above, the business of cotton spinning was restricted to a
narrow sphere in our land. Massachusetts was largely en
gaged in commerce, and had taken but little interest in the
business wherein Rhode Island was reaping such a harvest.
As showing to how small an extent Massachusetts had entered
into rivalry with her- diminutive neighbor, it may be men
tioned that Rehoboth, in 1813, surpassed any other town in
that State in the number of its cotton mills. Of course, the
larger part of them were in what is now the eastern district
of Pawtucket. But the war, by prostrating commerce,
caused a diversion of capital, and gave a great stimulus to

OPPAWTUCKET. 67
manufactures. And the introduction of the Scotch loom
confirmed the tendency.
The same copy of the Providence Journal that contains
the letter from Mr. Pitman, already quoted, contains extracts
from the letter of another manufacturer, who speaks in the
following strain. His letter was written in 1820 :
" It will be observed that the foregoing estimate was made in
the year 1809, when it may be considered the cotton manufacture
was in its infancy. Since that period to the commencement of the
year 1816, the increase exceeded all calculation. . . . Allured
by the previous enormous profits, hundreds had rushed into the
business, in many cases without capital sufficient 'successfully to
conduct such an enterprise, and a general embarrassment resulted,
[in 1815 and 1816.] The distress experienced at this time did not
last long, however. Those establishments which had been man
aged prudently continued to operate a portion of their machinery,
and the others gradually commenced operations again, until, in a
short time, nearly all the machinery was at work.
" The improvements in machinery have been such as to reduce
the cost of labor to more than one-fourth of what it was in the
year 1809 ; the weaving, which is a very important branch, is re
duced to one-half, and the picking of cotton, which it will be
observed by Mr. Pitman's estimate, was at that time very expen
sive, I may say is almost without labor, it being picked by a ma
chine called the picker, which is built at a trifling expense, and is
in no way injurious to the staple of the cotton."
For the sake of brevity a part of this letter has been
omitted. • The writer states, however, that owing to the great
depression in business, after the close of the war, occasioned
in part by an immense influx of British manufactures, relief
was sought by legislation. A list was therefore carefully
prepared of the manufacturing establishments, and their
number of spindles, and forwarded to Congress. The writer
subjoins a list of the cotton factories within thirty miles of
Providence, in 1820. The number of spindles credited to
that part of North Providence now included in Pawtucket
was about twenty-five hundred ; to that part of Seekonk now

68 HISTORICAL SKETCH
embraced in Pawtucket was fifty-four hundred ; in all, in
round numbers, seventy-nine hundred spindles. The entire
number of mills in the State of Rhode Island was one hun
dred ; the number of spindles, almost seventy-six thousand.
At the present time there is a single corporation in Pawtucket
which has a hundred thousand spindles.
During the half century and upward since the letter just
quoted from was written, the business of cotton manufac
turing has been wonderfully extended by reason of the econ
omy secured through the various inventions named ; but it
may well be remembered that when Lowell, Lawrence, Man
chester, and Lewiston, which have outstripped this town in
population, had no existence, Pawtucket was conducting to
success the experiments by which they were to become great
and rich.
A few years rolled on, unmarked by any startling occur
rences in Pawtucket. In 1824 the old White mill, the second
reared in Pawtucket, was burnt down. The energy of its
owners, however, speedily secured its rebuilding, and the
figures chiseled in its walls tell of both the year when the
old mill was consumed, and the new one reared. Pawtucket
continued meanwhile to show energy and thrift. A gazetteer of
Rhode Island and Connecticut, published at Hartford in 1819,
gives a hint as to the appearance of the place at that time :
"The village of Pawtucket is situated in the northeast sec
tion of the town, [North Providence,] four miles northeast of
Providence, on the border of the Seekonk river ; its site being
principally the declivity of a hill, and it is highly romantic and
picturesque. The river here affords numerous natural sites for
manufacturing establishments, mills and hydraulic works of almost
every description, which are scarcely rivalled,, and which are oc
cupied to a great extent. The rapid march of manufacturing and
mechanical industry, which the short annals of this place disclose,
has few examples in our country, and has produced one of the
most considerable and flourishing manufacturing villages in the
United States. The river here forms the boundary line between

OE PAWTUCKET. 69
the two States, and the village is built upon both sides of it;
being partly in Rhode Island and partly in Massachusetts. That
part of it which is in Rhode Island, is principally built on four
streets ; and comprises eighty-three Dwelling-houses, twelve Mer
cantile stores, two Churches, a Post Office, an incorporated Bank,
an Academy, and two or three flourishing Schools. Of the ten
Cotton mills in the town, [North Providence,] three are at this
place, and upon an extensive scale. There are six shops engaged
in the manufacturing of machinery, having the advantage of water
power, and various other mechanical establishments, affording ex
tensive employment, and supporting a dense population. Upon
the Massachusetts side of the river, there is a village of nearly equal
size and consequence, for its manufacturing and other interests."
A paragraph from a letter of Mr. David Wilkinson also
tells of the activity which marked this place during the first
three decades of the present century :
" We built machinery to go to almost every part of the coun
try ; — to Pomfret and Killingly, Conn.; to Hartford, Vt.; to Wal-
tham, Raynham, Plymouth, Halifax, Plympton, Middleboro', and
other places in Massachusetts ; for Wall and Wells, Trenton, N. J. ;
for Union and Gray, on the Patapsco ; for the Warren factories, on
the Gunpowder, near Baltimore ; for Tarboro and Martinburgh,
N. C. ; to two factories in Georgia ; to Louisiana ; to Pittsburg ;
to Delaware ; to Virginia, and other places. Indeed, Pawtucket
was doing something for almost every part of the country."
But a change occurred in 1829. What community, indeed,
enjoys unbroken prosperity? Shrewd political economists
affirm that grave commercial revulsions happen at almost
regular intervals. About once in twenty years there occurs
a general suspension of industry. Enterprise, perhaps, has
been too daring, trade too much stimulated, credit unduly
strained; and suddenly confidence gives way, and thousands
are plunged into bankruptcy. Such was the case in 1817, in
1837, in 1857. So far as such things are providential, may
not the reverent soul feel that God is thereby lending emphasis

70 HISTORICAL SKETCH
to the mandate — " Labor not for the meat which perisheth,
but for that which endureth to eternal life !" Industry and
enterprise are noble. Since God has ordained that he who
will not work shall not eat, happy the man who does his own
share of the work of life, and who also by skill and fore
thought furnishes employment to others ! Still, it has been
decreed that man shall walk by faith, not always by sight;
and crises occasionally come to test human trust. Beside
these wide-spread shipwrecks of industry and trade, however,
there occur at intervals of about ten years grave local revul
sions, when particular communities receive a sudden shock
in their industries, and enterprise comes to a halt. Such an
experience happened to Pawtucket in 1829. Many of the
most- active manufacturers had extended their operations
beyond the limits of their capital ; and, when the strain came,
they were compelled to succumb. Property seemed to lose
all its value, promising enterprises were abandoned, and the
town was suddenly checked in its career. A sagacious mer
chant of Providence predicted that this town would not
recover from the calamity for a score of years ; and, though
many of the citizens cherished more sanguine hopes, his
prophecy was verified. Steam engines were set up in Provi
dence which supplied trip-hammers with power, and the
manufacture of anchors and similar things was transferred
from Pawtucket never to return. For years the manufacture
of cotton seemed almost the sole business, and the fluctuations
to which it is incident rendered the town peculiarly sensitive
to the caprices of a single branch of industry.
LATER MANUFACTURING.
Such a sketch as the present cannot undertake to trace in
detail the course of events. Perhaps it will best fulfill the
desire of our legislators, if an attempt be made to show the
present condition of industry in this community, in respect
to variety and capability, Of course, ag the present is a year

OE PAWTUCKET. 71
of general depression in business, it would mislead, rather
than instruct, to state just how much, or how little, every
mill or workshop is now doing ; but it will be profitable to
show in brief the variety of business carried on in Pawtucket,
and the capabilities of the different establishments. And as
the year 1830 seems an epoch to date from, it may be well to
give a slight sketch of the establishments that outlived the
storm of the previous year, and have survived to the present
time, and to name those which have been started since. To
do this most profitably, it may be advantageous to take one or
two of the leading establishments in each branch and refer to
their history, and to group under them other representatives
of the same class. And where smaller establishments have
important specialties, their history may be outlined.
Perhaps it matters little with what branch one starts ; the
MACHINE BUSINESS
may therefore first be spoken of.
The traveler, in journeying from Pawtucket to Providence,
sees shortly after leaving the station a long and substantial
building, reaching almost from the railroad track to Main
street. If he make inquiry, he will be told that it is the
machine shop of Capt. James S. Brown. Something has
already been said about this gentleman. It was mentioned
that the firm of Pitcher & Brown, of which he was the junior
member, continued in business till 1842. At that time Capt.
Brown assumed the entire control, and removed from his
former narrow quarters to his present commodious building.
As he was resolved to rear a substantial edifice, it was a long
time building; and the foundry was earliest in operation.
On the last day of the year 1847 he made the first casting in
his new furnace. The machine shop is of vast extent, and
amply supplied with all the conveniences needed for extensive
operations. It is four hundred feet long, and sixty feet wide.
It has an engine of fifty-six horse power. There are really
two furnaces, one for malleable iron. To man the works
fully requires three hundred men.

72 HISTORICAL SKETCH
Capt. Brown has made a great many important inventions,
wherein Pawtucket has a right to take pride. In 1831 he
invented a machine for cutting bevel gearing ; in 1838, a ma
chine for boring tubes of Speeder flyers of solid iron, and
obtained a patent therefor. He afterward devised a lathe for
turning irregular forms, for which he obtained a patent in
1842. He also invented a fluting machine, for fluting sixteen
rolls at a time ; and this machine, though . not patented, is
now in universal use. Capt. Brown invented and patented in
1852 the American Speeder or Rolling frame. In 1874 he in
vented also a new machine for grinding spindles ; in 1875-76
he devised a new machine for drilling rollers for Speeder
or spinning machines. The last invention for which he got
a patent was for an improvement in Spinning mules. This
patent bears elate of March 7th, 1876. In addition to these,
Capt. Brown has devised a great many contrivances and im
provements for facilitating and perfecting the manufacture of
cotton machinery. It has seemed, indeed, the aim of his
life to secure this end.
It may be worth while, in closing this account of so active
a man, to remark that he has machinery now doing good
service in his shop, that was made in 1806 ; and he has three'
lathes in his establishment for which he has a special fondness,
which he himself made in 1820. They were then regarded
by lookers-on as very skillfully constructed, and have been
demonstrating their reliableness for over half a century.
In 1865 the machinist business of Pawtucket was much
enlarged by the removal hither of the firm of Fales, Jenks &
Sons. The members of this firm are sons and successors of
those who originally composed the firm of Fales & Jenks.
In 1830 Mr. David G. Fales and Mr. Alvin Jenks formed a
copartnership in Central Falls, and began the manufacture of
cotton machinery. In a few years they commenced making
Hubbard's Patent Rotary Pump. Adding various improve
ments to the original design, they so perfected the instrument
as to gain almost a monopoly of the manufacture of such

OEPAWTUCKET. 73
pumps. In 1845 they began to make Ring Spinning Frames,
and in 1846 manufactured Ring Twisters, which were among
the first of such machines in the country.
In 1856 Mr. Alvin Jenks died, and in a few years Mr.
Fales retired from the firm. Meanwhile Mr. John R. Fales,
son of the elder. Mr. Fales, and Messrs. Alvin F. Jenks and
Stephen A. Jenks, were admitted to the partnership, and
constitute the present firm. The two latter gentlemen are
lineal descendants of the founder of Pawtucket, and show
the tenacity with which the family have clung to the iron
business. As mentioned above, the company removed their establish
ment to Pawtucket in 1865. Buying several acres of land,
they reared extensive machine shops, a large foundry, and
have added other edifices ; and continue the manufacture of
the articles already named. And within a few years they
have greatly enlarged their business by the manufacture of
Houston's Turbine Water Wheel, Mayor's Combined Fly
Frame and Speeder ; and the Revolving Piston Water Meter.
In addition to these articles they make to a large extent
Rabbeth's Patent Self-Oiling Spindle. This Spindle may be
claimed, indeed, as a Pawtucket invention ; for Mr. Rabbeth
is residing here. And large orders from Scotland have been
often received for it. This establishment is on Dexter street.
Down Jenks avenue stands the machine shop of N. S.
Collyer & Co. They occupy the lower story of Payne &
Taylor's mill, just over Sargent's Trench.
The senior partner began business in connection with Mr.
William H. Haskell about thirty years ago. After ten years _
Mr. Haskell retired, and was succeeded by Mr. Robert Alex
ander. In four or five years Mr. Alexander withdrew, and
Mr. S. S. Collyer entered into business with his uncle under
the present style.
They do a general jobbing business. It is common with
them to take drawings, models, &c, and construct machines
from them. They add to this general repairing, and employ
10-

74 HISTORICAL SKETCH
ordinarily about thirty workmen. Their business amounts to
from fifty to sixty thousand dollars per year.
In the old Lefavour mill, just off from Mill street, is another
machine shop. Its proprietors are styled the Bosworth Ma
chine Company. The originator of the company, Mr. L. P.
Bosworth, came to Pawtucket in 1858, and began to make
jewelers' tools, presses, and like articles. Various parties
were associated with him in business, but a few years ago Mr.
Bosworth formed the present company. The shop is well
supplied with lathes, presses, planers, and other conveniences
for making.all kinds of jewelers' tools and machines. Within
a few years the company have begun to make leather ma
chinery, particularly such as is used in the manufacture of
belting. They propose to give particular attention to
model making, and the manufacture of new machinery.
In jobbing and repairing they also claim proficienc}r. Running
by water power, they have conveniences for employing
twenty men.
Collins & Son, on Mill street, also carry on a machine shop.
The special articles that they manufacture are cotton and
woolen twisters, and cotton spinning frames.
Their works are run by steam power, and are extensive
enough to employ from sixty to ninety workmen. The
parties began business in 1865, and have continued to in
crease their facilities for making the goods to which they
give attention. FORGE AND NUT BUSINESS.
The pedestrian, in walking up Main street, sees just before
reaching Capt. Brown's machine shop, another somewhat
extensive brick building. On reading the sign, he sees the
name W. H. Haskell & Co., and ascertains that their busi
ness is the making of bolts and nuts. As they are successors
on a larger scale of establishments that started from smaller
beginnings, it may not be unprofitable to sketch the early
history of the business.

OEPAWTUCKET. 75
Messrs. Jeremiah O. and Joseph Arnold, in 1834 or 1835,
started the first press for making iron nuts. It was set up on
the Moshassuck river, near where now stands the extensive
bleachery of Messrs. Sayles. After a little time they dis
solved, and a new firm was formed, consisting of Jeremiah
O. Arnold and a Mr. Field, who transferred their business to
Pawtucket. These gentlemen added to their business the
making of bolts. Stephen Jenks soon entered the same busi
ness, and worked at the old forge shop, whose site is now
covered by, the mill of the Pawtucket Manufacturing Com
pany. In due time, Mr. William Field started the tool-
making business, manufacturing, among other things, augers
on a novel plan. About the year 1840, however, he removed
to Providence, and became the founder of the well-known
Tool Company in that city.
Beside these parties, Mr. Franklin Rand entered the field.
He first occupied the old grist mill house, which, perched on
the rocks, outrode the freshet of 1807. He set up a press
there for punching iron, in 1843. On the next year he took
as a partner Mr. Joseph Arnold, and they remained together
till 1847. From that time Mr. Rand was alone till 1863.
He introduced an innovation in his business. Before his
experiment it was thought that the maximum was reached,
when nuts were punched from cold iron one and one-half
inches broad by three-fourths of an inch thick ; but he soon
punched nuts two and one-half inches broad by an inch thick.
Mr. Rand built the largest press for this purpose that then
existed in the country. He was ridiculed in advance for his
undertaking ; for his wheel was deemed too small for the
object. But he taxed its full power, and showed that, as the
business originated in this neighborhood, it was capable
of great perfection here.
After the death of Col. Stephen Jenks the business he had
established was carried on by his son Joseph and by Mr.
Joseph T. Sisson. About the year 1855, Pinkham, Haskell
& Co. succeeded. W. H. Haskell bought the establishment

76 HISTORICAL SKETCH
in 1857, and carried it on till I860. Meanwhile he added to
his business the manufacture of coach-screws. Deserting the
old edifice, he reared in 1860 the building now occupied, aiid
began work in it on January 1st, 1861. At that time the
new style was assumed, from the admission of a partner.
The establishment is capable of converting from 600 to 800
tons of iron annually into nuts, bolts, and screws.
And here, perhaps, may fitly come in the reminiscences of
an aged man, who was born in Smithfield four score years ago :
" I was acquainted with some of the older residents in Paw
tucket seventy years ago. I saw the great freshet which carried
off the bridge and Pardon Jenks's old buildings. Mr. Jenks said,
' I have lost all my property ; I am a poor man.' He was asked
how much he would take for his rocks, where the buildings stood.
' I will take forty thousand dollars,' was the answer. I came to
Pawtucket when I was twenty years old, and worked for David
Wilkinson. In 1817 I helped make a machine for making Scotch
plaid. In 1818 I helped build a steam engine for Dr. Wardsworth
to run a steamboat in Providence. In 1819 I built the first bed-
tick loom. I saw the first loom run by water power. It was
made to stand upright. [This was probably Thorp's loom.] In
1824 I helped build a hydraulic press. In 1845 I made the first
dies for twisting augers under trip-hammers. In 1846 I took
charge of the shop called the Providence Tool Company. They
run seven presses for making nuts and washers. (The first press
I built for this kind of work was in 1833.) I started ten presses
for the Providence Forge and Nut Company, — one a very large
press. I punched nuts four inches in diameter, two inches thick,
from cold iron. Jeke. O. Arnold."
This account has value, not merely as containing a record
of the personal experience of an octogenarian, but as showing
the variety of work performed in the machine shops of Paw
tucket half a century ago.
FOUNDRY BUSINESS.
It has already been mentioned that both Oziel Wilkinson
and his son David established furnaces in the old coal yard.

OE PAWTUCKET. 77
The father died in 1815, but the son remained in Pawtucket
till the ruinous revulsion in 1829. In 1832, however, Mr.
Zebulon White removed hither, and began the business of
casting iron in one of those abandoned furnaces. For a time
a Mr. Brown was associated with him, and the firm bore the
designation of White & Brown. Subsequently Mr. White,
in connection with Mr. Clark Sayles and ex-Gov. Earl, carried
on the business under the style of the Pawtucket Cupola
Furnace Company, and continued from 1835 to 1847. At
that time Mr. White sold out to his partners, and bought the
lot now occupied by his sons and successors on Dexter street.
After erecting a furnace, he continued to carry on the
business till his death in 1859. On his decease his sons,
Zebulon P. and Joshua S. White, succeeded to the business.
In 1872, to increase their facilities, they added a machine shop,
and associated with them Mr. Fred. H. White as a partner.
The Messrs. White obtained a multitude of patterns from
former establishments, which they have preserved ; and
among them are patterns for machinery devised by David
Wilkinson ; so that parties who fail to find old models else
where find them here. As illustrating the growth of business
in Pawtucket, it may be stated that thirty-five years ago
about a ton and a half of iron was melted per week ; while
in times of ordinary activity now, there are melted in Paw
tucket and the adjoining village of Central Falls fifteen tons
daily. About twenty men can find employment in the
foundry of Messrs. White.
Rhode Island Stove Works. The buildings of this company
are erected on Broad street, close by the railroad track.
Their business was originally started by a private firm, com
posed of Messrs. William H. Hathaway, Thomas Robinson,
Edwin Jenks, and Benjamin Smith Donald, under the style
of the Pawtucket Furnace Company. This Was in 1853.
Subsequently the other parties withdrew, and Mr. Hathaway
carried on the business alone. After a while he sold out to
H. & S. Fifield. In 1867 Mr. H. Fifield withdrew, and Mr.

78 HISTORICAL SKETCH
S. Fifield took in two persons as partners, and earried on the
business under the name of S. Fifield & Co. In 1869 a stock
company was formed, which took the present title and suc
ceeded to the business.
How extensive is the establishment? In average times
forty workmen are employed. The articles made are stoves,
sinks, and hollow ware, and the furnaces enable the company
to melt over five hundred tons of iron per year. The nominal
capital is $40,000. THE LEATHER BUSINESS.
The manufacture of leather in Pawtucket is mainly subsid
iary to the making of belting, lace-leather, and similar
goods. And this business has been largely developed in
Pawtucket. Mr. David Wilkinson mentions in his reminis
cences that " Mr. Slater ran his first machinery by rope bands,
for his carding machines, roping and drawing, as the use of
belts was not then known in this country. The first leather
belts I ever heard of," he continues, " were made by John
Blackburn, when he was setting a mule in operation for Mr.
Slater." Lewis Fairbrother, Esq., was the pioneer in the manufacture
of picker-string and lace leather here. He came to Pawtucket
in 1834. At that time he knew of but one person that was
carrying on the business in the land, and he on a very small
scale. So light was the demand for his product, that he
began with a few tubs in the preparation of his leather. But
Mr. Fairbrother had more audacity. He dared risk the
sinking of a vat or two. For over a dozen years Mr. Fair-
brother had the field to himself, and expanded his business
from the growing demand. In 1847 Mr. James Davis began
to make lace leather, and in 1850 both he and Mr. Fairbrother
commenced the manufacture of belting. During the last
quarter of a century other parties have entered into the
business ; and beside the successors of the gentlemen named,
Mr. George S. Fales, Messrs, Bacon Bros. & Co., and Mr. Frank

OF PAWTUCKET. 79
R. Almy, own extensive establishments. (Mr. Fairbrother
has been succeeded by his sons, H. L. Fairbrother & Co., and
Mr. Davis by James Davis & Son.) The aggregate sales
of these five establishments during the past year, although it
was a year of business depression, could not have been much
less than nine hundred thousand dollars.
And this town, in connection with the adjoining village of
Central Falls, constitutes the seat of the largest manufacture
of belting in the United States. Most of the lace leather
used in the country, — a large quantity, — is also made here.
But beside this branch of the manufacture of leather, the
business of Mr. Dennis Martin should be mentioned. He
makes harness and belt leather, and all kinds of shoe leather.
He is the successor of parties that had been carrying on
the business for about half a century. Day & Mitchell
constituted a firm prior to 1830, and Daniel Mitchell carried
on the establishment after dissolving with Mr. Day. Mr.
Martin succeeded about 1853.
The tanning for Mr. Martin's manufactory is not performed
in Pawtucket. Bark is obtained so much more easily in
other places, that his tanning is done in different towns in
Maine or other States. Mr. Martin curries and finishes here
about 40,000 sheep skins per year. He also prepares over
5000 calf roller skins. Of harness and upper leather he
makes 5000 sides, wholly tanned by bark. He sells, too, from
a thousand to fifteen hundred sides of sole leather. He also
manufactures belt leather and speeder leather to considerable
extent. All his goods, indeed, are tanned by bark, and are
widely scattered, some even being shipped to Mexico.
The business is quite exceptional, and it is probable that
not half a dozen establishments of like character exist in the
country. Mr. Martin's shop is on Pleasant street.
SPOOL COTTON MANUFACTURERS.
The stranger visiting Pawtucket, in passing up Mill street,
by horse-car, reaches at length the end of the rails at the

80 HISTORICAL SKETCH
intersection of Cross street. Turning to the east to cross the
iron bridge which spans the Blackstone, he has on his left
the commodious mill of the Pawtucket Hair Cloth Company.
Looking across the bridge he sees on the opposite side of the
river, in the town of Pawtucket, the long and graceful mill of
Messrs. Greene & Daniels. On one of the projecting towers
he sees a clock, which tells how swift time is passing, and at
intervals the clear bell strikes the hours.
That mill stretches parallel with the Blackstone for the
distance of four hundred and seven feet, and is sixty-seven
feet in breadth, and five stories high. Annexed to the mill
is an engine room, boiler house, and cotton room 42 by 90
feet, two stories in height. Beside these buildings there are
a mechanical shop 100 by 32, three stories in height, and
bleachery and dye-works, and other buildings on the premises.
The senior partner of this firm came to the adjoining vil
lage of Central Falls in 1824, and for twenty years as
workman and partner remained there. In 1844 he removed
to Mapleville, and after six years went to Richmond, R. I.
In two years from that date Gen. Daniels became associated
with him, and the firm took its present style. In 1855 they
removed to Central Falls, and occupied Moies & Jenks's mill,
and have continued to run it till the present year. They also
run the mill of Andrew Jencks in that village for five years.
In 1860 they commenced the erection of their present mill,
and enlarged it to its present dimensions in 1866.
The special business of this firm is the manufacture of
spool cotton, and their product on some years has been
1,800,000 dozen. In connection with spool cotton they make
yarns for various manufacturing purposes.
As illustrating the growth of their business, it may be
stated that in 1852 they run only two thousand spindles ; ,
at present they are running twenty-two thousand. The cot
ton used by them in 1875 amounted to 1,098,755 pounds,
costing 1180,286.75.' Their product for the same year was
883,000 pounds of manufactured yarn. At present the num-

OF PAWTUCKET. 81
ber of operatives employed is three hundred and fifty; but
at times over four hundred have been employed.
Turning one's back, however, on the spacious mill of the
firm named, the visitor may journey west through Cross street,
in the village of Central Falls, till he reaches Dexter street.
And for the last quarter of a mile he sees before him a huge
mill, flanked by two stately towers. On inquiry he learns
that the vast edifice is but one of three mills reared by the
Conant Thread Company. The other two are in the neigh
borhood, and stand to the south of the mill just spoken of,
and, like that, are massively built. This company started
in 1869 to manufacture the celebrated six cord thread of J.
& P. Coats. Their first mill was erected in that year. The
company are in possession of twenty-five acres of land, and,
in addition to the mills, have built a bleachery, spacious store
houses, and like structures. Their capital is two millions of
dollars. Their power is supplied by mighty steam engines.
And they already have in operation a hundred thousand
spindles. A small brigade of operatives finds employment in the
spacious mills, and muster fourteen hundred strong. Every
precaution is taken against fire. The men are organized into
a fire corps, and exercised at regular intervals. There is a
powerful force pump in every mill, which can discharge, if
need be, in each mill a thousand gallons per minute. To give
the engines an ample supply of pure soft water, pipes are
laid to the margin of the Blackstone, and a small engine is
stationed by that river which forces the water for nearly a
mile to this company's works. The pipe is six inches in
diameter ; and the water thus obtained, in addition to what
is capable of being pumped from a pond nigh at hand, gives
reasonable promise that any ordinary fire can be extinguished
before it gains much headway.
The Hope Thread Company were incorporated in 1869,
with a capital of $100,000. Their special manufacture is
that of three cord spool thread. They also make Hosiery
11

82 HISTORICAL SKETCH
" Cop " Yarns, and other yarns. The range of yarns spun
by them is from five to forty. They use twenty bales of
cotton a week, employ seventy-five operatives, and produce
eight thousand pounds weekly. They have five thousand
spindles, which are run by steam power. Their buildings
are on Division street.
COTTON YARN MANUFACTURERS.
The Dexter Brothers are sons of Capt. N. G. B. Dexter.
The father resided for the greater part of his life in Paw
tucket. Born in Grafton, Mass., he came to this place in
September, 1799, and was wont to say that on the very day
he came, he crossed the bridge to see the raising of the frame
of the second cotton mill reared here. He soon entered the
employ of Almy, Brown & Slater, and remained with them
for about thirty years. In 1820 he began to make knitting
cotton on a small scale on his own account ; and in 1830
left the service of the above named firm, and entered more
largely into the business. By strict carefulness and fidelity
he gained for his cotton such a reputation that it is the
standard article in the market. A few years before his death
two of his sons became associated with him in business, and
took the present style, Dexter & Brother. His death occurred
in April, 1866, but his successors strive to maintain the
quality and reputation of the knitting cottons.
They occupy a mill on the eastern side of the river, which
was built by Wilkinson, Greene & Co., in 1813. Since coming
into their possession it has been greatly enlarged, and now
contains twelve thousand spindles. Their counting room and
packing shop remain where they have long been, on East
avenue. COTTON MANUFACTURERS.
Littlefield Brothers are engaged in the manufacture of
yarns for consumers. They have been in business for nearly
a quarter of a century. They began, indeed, as partners of

OF PAWTUCKET. 83
David Ryder, Esq., in 1852. The firm bore the style of
David Ryder & Co. In 1857 Mr. Ryder retired. Their chief
mill in Pawtucket is in the rear of Manchester block, but
this manufactures but a small part of what they dispose of.
The mill spoken of contains 3400 spindles, but other mills
carried on in other towns by them swell the product to such
an extent that their weekly sales amount to 20,000 pounds.
They are agents of the Cumberland Mills. All the goods
named are sold here. The classes of goods they manufacture
may be described as skein (or pound) sewing cottons ; first
quality cop yarns for hosiery ; three cord threads for spooling
in all numbers ; seaming cottons ; harness and printers' twines.
Their rooms are in their new block on Mill street.
R. B. Gage cf Co. Mr. Gage, the senior member of this
firm, has been a practical manufacturer for over thirty years.
In 1845 he began to make hosiery yarn in Attleboro. Thence
he removed to Central Falls, and finally to Pawtucket. He
has occupied various places in this town, and spent some
years in the outskirts, — at Ingrahamville and Lebanon Mills.
In 1868, however, he reared the spacious mill which the firm
now occupy on Fountain street. For some years Mr. James
O. Starkweather has been associated with him.
The special business of this firm is the manufacture of
hosiery yarns and stockinet. They run 4500 spindles, and
ten knitting looms.
Lebanon Mill Company. The Lebanon mill is near the
site of an older mill, which is mentioned in the act incorpo
rating the town of Pawtucket, in 1828. The earlier mill is
styled in that act Kent's factory, and is described as being
on an island. It was reared probably soon after the beginning
of the present century by Deacon Remember Kent. Origi
nally it was a saw and grist mill, but during the second war
with Great Britain was converted into a cotton mill. Deacon
Kent's sons, — Willington, Remember, and Seba, succeeded
him in the business, and made yarns which were peddled in
the country, specially for carpet yarns,

84 HISTORICAL SKETCH
Subsequently other parties carried on the mill, — Rufus J.
Stafford, Nathaniel G. Pierce, Thayer & Moies. At a later
period the mill was burnt, and a new mill erected on the
main land in 1859-60. R. B. Gage & Co. occupied the new
edifice, and were succeeded by Alanson Thayer & Son. On
the death of Mr. A. Thayer in 1869 his son Edward succeeded,
and adopted the present style. The company manufacture
all kinds of thread and hosiery yarns, on the cop, skein, or
beam. They have 6300 spindles.
Pratt cf Spencer. These gentlemen are the proprietors of
the Old Slater Mill. They started business in the old stone
mill, east side, in December, 1864. They removed to their
present quarters in 1865, though they let a part of the old
mill. They are specially engaged in making and selling
yarns, twines, and threads. Their number of spindles is 1452,
but they sell far more than the product of these. They
employ twenty-five operatives.
'They have lately invented a tunnel or paper-cop, for putting
on machine thread, and have obtained a patent for it. The
visitor to their office can see in the entry the veritable lock
which was put on the old mill, when it was young. The
lock is a huge affair, and challenges admiration.
COTTON GOODS.
On Main street, nearly opposite Capt. Brown's shop, stand
the buildings of the Slater Cotton Company. The larger
edifice was reared in 1863 for a file manufactory. In 1868,
however, it was bought by the Slater Cotton Company, and
materially enlarged. This company was incorporated in
1869, with a capital of $400,000. The mill contains 20,000
spindles, and four hundred and fifty-five looms.
The goods made are a fine shirting, of the finest style
manufactured in our country. The number of operatives is
three hundred and twenty-five.
In one story of the old stone mill, just north of the mill of
Messrs. Goff, are the rooms pf Mr. Charles C. Holland. Thos,e.

OFPAWTUCKET. 85
rooms were occupied years ago by Mr. John H. Potter, and
subsequently by S. & W. Foster. Mr. Holland runs 2600
spindles, employs twenty-five operatives, and manufactures
from three to four thousand pounds of yarn per week. The
goods he makes are described as ranging from No. 10 to 40,
1, 2, 3, or more ply ; and threads are advertised in cop or
skein. In other rooms of the same mill Messrs. Thurber, Horton
& Wood manufacture light sheetings. These gentlemen
carry on business also at Central Falls, but run in Pawtucket
2400 spindles, and have in operation fifty-four looms. They
employ about thirty operatives, and occupy about one-fourth
of the mill.
To preserve the history of the mill, it may be mentioned
that Mr. Edward Walcott occupied these premises before the
present parties.
The Bridge Mill Manufacturing Company occupy the mill
on the south side of the eastern end of the bridge. The
building has been frequently mentioned, and is often spoken
of as the Yellow mill. Thayer & Pitcher occupied it in
1837, and for some years made cotton goods' of a compara
tively thick texture. Subsequently it was tenanted by
Barrows & Ingraham. The Bridge Mill Manufacturing
Company was incorporated in 1867, with a capital of $100,000.
The company manufacture cotton cloth for linings, shirtings,
(7-8.) They run 5000 spindles, and have 100 looms. When
in full operation they employ sixty-five operatives.
One other company needs here to be mentioned. It has
been stated that the Buffington mill was burnt in 1 844. A
new mill was speedily built, however, which occupied not
merely its site, but still more space. Beside being so extended
as to reach the abutment of the bridge, it also covered up the
site of the old forge and carding mill. This mill was long
occupied by the Pawtucket Manufacturing Company. That
corporation has suspended its operations, however, and most
of the machinery has been removed from the mill. At

86 HISTORICAL SKETCH
present the edifice stands without an occupant, on the
southern side of Main street, the last building on the right
as one steps on the bridge from the west.
The mill of the Greene Brothers has a history. Originally
Timothy Greene's tan and bark mill occupied the site, but
soon after the beginning of the present century the bark mill
was converted into a cotton mill. For years it was used for
that purpose by Samuel & Daniel Greene & Co. The crisis
of 1829 prostrated them, however, and the property was
bought by the New England Pacific Bank, with a pledge on
their part that it should be restored to the Greene family,
whenever the liabilities were paid.
The mill receives its supply of water from Sargent's
Trench, and the power is 40 or 50 horse. As the burden of
liquidation seemed not overpowering, the family gave them
selves to the task of lifting it, and succeeded in due time.
The manufacture of cotton was quickly resumed. Joseph
T. Greene, in 1835, began to carry on the business in his
name, and commenced making cotton cord in addition to his
other business. But he did not despise the day of small
things, for he began this branch of business with twenty
dollars' worth of machinery. In 1856 Mr. Greene associated
his younger brother in business with him.
Their special business is the manufacture of cotton and
shoe laces. To man their rooms demands twenty operatives.
The old mill was burnt, but a new edifice was reared in 1861.
UNION WADDING WORKS.
The Union Wadding Company is the offspring of an estab
lishment carried on by Mr. Darius Goff in another town.
He began in Rehoboth in 1840. His first undertakings were
on a humble scale, and, for four years, he continued to
manufacture glazed wadding. In 1844, however, he resolved
to extend his business, and erected a much larger mill.
Scarce was it completed, when, in his absence in Providence,
it took fire and was wholly consumed, at a loss of over six

OFPAWTUCKET. 87
thousand dollars. To increase the annoyance an insurance,
which was to have been effected on the next day, was unse
cured, and the entire loss fell on Mr. Goff.
In the course of a couple of years Mr. Goff removed to
Pawtucket, and, in '1847, bought the premises which the
company now occupy, of Mr. James Weeden and Capt.
Dexter. He began to build a mill, and, in the course of the
following year, completed one of stone. It was 200 feet in
length by 40 in breadth, and was two stories high. To
show him that his experience was not to be wholly thornless,
a second-hand steam engine which he had bought had to be
paid for twice, and then in about a year, a third claimant
appeared who had a prior mortgage. As he had had a new
engine constructed meanwhile, he concluded not to buy the
old one again, but abandoned it to the claimant, and resolved
to let his experience teach him thenceforth to buy new
machinery. The new engine is put in, however, and the
works are in running order, and promise to make the owner
forgetful of previous annoyances, when suddenly the mill
takes' fire, and the interior is burnt out. And to add to the
trial, but a small insurance had been effected.
But in due time the mill was reconstructed, and suffered
from two or three smaller fires. Subsequently it was leased
to Mr. Henry Turner, of Cranston, R. I., and a few gentlemen
in Pawtucket, on a lease of five years ; but, before the period
had expired, Mr. Turner died, and his associates desired to
give up the property, as none of their number had any prac
tical acquaintance with the business. Mr. Goff assented,
and, being thus compelled to retain an interest in the manu
facture of wadding, engaged Mr. Henry A. Stearns to
participate in the business.
It was in 1860 that the new firm was formed, and consisted
of the following members : Darius Goff, John D. Cranston,
Stephen Brownell and Henry A. Stearns. Mr. Stearns had
had practical experience, and forthwith assumed the charge.
At that time,- in the small stone mill named, the product was

88 HISTORICAL SKETCH
about 1200 pounds only per day. But the business increased,
and constrained the proprietors to lengthen the old mill, to
rear new buildings, and to enlarge the capabilities of the
establishment. Experience suggested improved modes of
manufacture also, and the product from year to year increased.
In 1870 the company became an incorporated company,
but retained the designation of the Union Wadding Company.
They have year by year multiplied their buildings, and
extended their operations, till now their works surpass in
largeness any establishment of the kind in our land. And
this assertion means a good deal; for wadding is used far
more widely in the United States than in any other country.
To excel here, therefore, is to excel everywhere. And the
proprietors know of no rival establishment of half the capacity
of theirs.
The land owned by this company is between three and four
acres in extent, and is largely covered by buildings. There
are between two and three acres of flooring. The company
have added to the original business the manufacture of
machinery waste and batting. They can now turn out daily
250 bales (15,000 pounds) of wadding and batting ; and, if to
this the machinery waste be added, the product can be made
still more. A single item suggests a comparison between a
few years ago and now. In 1860 a steam engine of 40 horse
power answered all the demand made upon it ; to-day one of
300 horse power is taxed. To secure the greater economy,
numerous labor-saving contrivances have been devised ; but
still a hundred workmen are needed, and novel appliances
make their toils more effective.
The business was formerly deemed extremely hazardous,
and, as the foregoing account shows, fires were both frequent
and disastrous. But during the last fifteen years expedients
have been successfully sought to lessen the danger of confla
gration. The buildings now used are substantially constructed
of brick, and are rendered nearly fire-proof. Steam furnishes
the heat needed for drying ; skillful modes of separation

OP PAWTUCKET. 89
hinder a fire that may kindle in one room from communicating
to another ; and insurance companies will accept risks in this
establishment on as favorable terms as they accord to any
cotton mill. DUNNELL PRINT WORKS.
Before undertaking to speak of this establishment, it may
be profitable to rescue from oblivion a few facts relative to
former occupants of the region. A contemporary says that
he was informed years ago by a former owner of the land
bordering on the east side of Bucklin's brook, that, being on
the premises in 1775, he saw on the west bank of the brook
the remains of an old dam ; and his father told him that it
was erected by Solomon Smith for the manufacture of grave
stones. In the tedious work of polishing such stones, he
substituted water power for manual labor. Mr. Smith was a
thoughtful man. Mindful of human mortality, and thinking
that he could do a needed work more economically than could
his heirs, he made and polished his own grave stones, and set
them up in the ancient cemetery in Seekonk, where they may
now be seen. Of course, after his decease, there was only
needed the trifling insertion of the date of his death and of
his age, to make the work complete.
From some cause that business was abandoned, and the
Bucklin heirs subsequently reared another dam, and built a
stone building, which was used from 1811 to 1814 or 1815 for
the manufacture of cotton yarn. The edifice, however, was
burnt out in the latter year. The next business done on this
site was by John B. Braid. He bought, in behalf of Almy,
Brown & Slater, the water privilege and forty acres of land
of Nancy Bucklin. The firm named were doubtless weary
of the rude mode of bleaching that has been described as
common at the beginning of the century, and made the
purchase in question to furnish Mr. Braid with facilities.
From 1817 to 1825, therefore, Mr. Braid carried on the
bleaching of cotton cloth and yarn at this place. Block
12

90 HISTORICAL SKETCH
printing, too, was done here in 1824. For a few months in
the following year printing was carried on by the Hopefield
Company. From 1825 to 1829 the premises were occupied by
Shinkwin & Bliss, who carried on bleaching and block print
ing. In 1830 Royal Sibley hired the place of Jenkins & Almy,
and introduced the business of coloring cambric in addition
to bleaching. The business was done under the style of
Sibley & Kelley, and amounted to $5000 per week. Subse
quently Mr. Sibley gave his main attention for three years to
the work of dyeing cambric.
Printing was begun by Mr. Sibley in 1833, and carried H>n
by him under the name of Franklin Print Works till 1835.
He used in the outset a machine of two colors.
In 1836 Jacob Dunnell, Thomas J. Dunnell, and Nathaniel
W. Brown formed a partnership under the name of the Dun
nell Manufacturing Company, and the works have been carried
on since that date under that style. During the past forty
years extensive additions have been made. Old structures
have given place to new ones, larger buildings been reared, and
numerous conveniences been supplied. The company began
with two machines of 2 and 4 colors, but at this date they
have eleven machines, capable of printing 10 colors on a
pattern. At the present time the works are able to produce
14,000 pieces of calico per week, and require about three
hundred laborers to man them.
About an eighth of a mile below the works named stands
the Wheaton dam, which was built by Nehemiah Bucklin in
1789. Here a building was erected, and, as Slater had not
yet come to teach the inhabitants of Pawtucket how to spin
cotton, the mill was appropriated to another branch of useful
manufacturing. For five years Mr. Bucklin made snuff there.
The eastern side of the river rivaled the west in that honor
able industry, and sneeze doubtless answered to sneeze.
Going down the stream the visitor comes to Ingrahamville,
a little village clustering round a mill. Business was started

OEPAWTUCKET. 91
at this place by Simmons L. Hale, and by the Pawtucket
Calico Company in 1826. The design was to carry on the
bleaching of cotton goods and the printing of calicoes. After
making the experiment for a year, the place was sold to Mr.
Dwight Ingraham. While the buildings needed were pre
paring at Ingrahamville, Mr. Hale occupied the works where
the Dunnell Manufacturing Company now have their exten
sive establishment. And Mr. Samuel Slater, who then owned
the property, offered to sell Mr. Hale 60 acres of land, the
water privilege, two dwelling houses, and a brick building for
bleaching purposes, for $2500, but the sale seems not to have
been made. From some cause Mr. Hale abandoned his
undertakings, and Mr. Ingraham began to manufacture print
cloths in the mill he had purchased. In the year 1828 he set
in operation 1000 spindles and 25 looms. For nearly twenty
years afterward the place was occupied by Mr. Hugh Leckie.
The present proprietor is Mr. John W. Leckie, and he carries
on the business of spinning hosiery yarn. He has 2100
spindles, and makes annually 150,000 pounds. He employs
from fifteen to eighteen operatives.
PAWTUCKET HAIR CLOTH COMPANY.
After the reaction took place from the utter prostration
of business in 1829, it began to be felt by shrewd manufac
turers that Pawtucket needed, to give it steadiness, some
other business beside cotton manufacturing. Some were on
the alert, therefore, to find out new kinds of business that
could be successfully started here. Mr. Freeman Baxter
thought that he could weave hair-seating, and David Ryder
& Co., and James M. Ryder, united with him to furnish the
needed capital. The business associates of Mr. David Ryder
were Messrs. George L. and Alfred H. Littlefield. The busi
ness was started in 1856 in the Old Slater Mill.
In 1858 Gen. Olney Arnold bought Mr. Baxter's interest,
and the latter withdrew. In the same year, Mr. Richard
Ryder purchased an interest. But this firm had the usual

92 HISTORICAL SKETCH
experience in starting a novel business. All were inexpe
rienced in it ; unexpected difficulties arose, which tried
patience and used up funds. Scores of expedients were
resorted to, only to baffle hope ; and foreign manufacturers
added to the burden. Practicing their usual tactics to crush
a new enterprise, they reduced prices, so as, if possible, to
compel the experimenters to abandon the field.
Most of the partners were occupied with business which
demanded their unremitting attention ; but Mr. David Ryder
abandoned other business, and, giving the enterprise his per
sonal care, resolved to conduct it, if possible, to success. In
Europe hair-seating had been made by hand looms ; but power
looms were in use in this country. The hair was, however,
supplied by hand. The problem to be solved, in order to
make such looms effective and economical, was, whether an
automatic feeder could be devised. Mr. Isaac C. Lindsley had
been for a year experimenting on this point in Providence,
and was induced in 1861 to come to Pawtucket, and try to
perfect his invention. He devised a very ingenious con
trivance which secured the end, and for which a patent was
obtained. A patent had also been got for a stop motion, but
it was disputed ; and, to avoid litigation, Mr. Ryder, in behalf
of himself and associates, purchased a competing patent of
Mr. Rufus J. Stafford.
So many difficulties having been thus surmounted, and
more capital being needed to develop the business, a stock
company was organized in May, 1861, with a capital of
$100,000. In January, 1863, it was increased to $300,000,
and subsequently to $500,000. During this period Gen.
Arnold had been treasurer of the firm, and was also elected
treasurer of the corporation. Mr. Ryder was both president
of the corporation and managing agent. But the old quar
ters were found too narrow, and the company purchased a
valuable privilege in Central Falls, and reared on Cross street
their present commodious mill in 1864.
In 1863 Mr- Ryder retired from the management, and Mri

OFPAWTUCKET. 98
Daniel G. Littlefield became agent. Gen. Arnold has con
tinued to be the treasurer. But from the time when the
company removed their machinery to their present quarters,
the history of it has belonged to Smithfield and Lincoln.
Still, the style of the company continues to tell its parentage.
Messrs. Payne & Taylor reared their present building on
East avenue on the site of the old anchor shop occupied by
the Wilkinsons. Their own business was engraving for calico
printers. In 1855, however, Messrs. John Hall and James
Sheldon began business in their building under the title of
the Boston Hair Cloth Company. They attempted to make
crinoline and stuff for ladies' wear, but, after continuing three
years in the business, abandoned it. In 1855 the Walcott
Manufacturing Company began in the same mill to make
button-hole cutters for tailors. The year 1857 prostrated
everything, however, and these two establishments did not
long survive.
In 1858 Messrs. Payne & Taylor themselves began the
manufacture of crinoline and like stuff on the machinery left
by the Boston company. They had meanwhile carried on
their engraving, but in 1860 gave it up. In the same year
they disposed of their old looms, and soon obtained of the
Pawtucket Hair Cloth Company the right to use their patent
automatic action for feeding the hair. And their present
looms contain that improvement.
They employ twenty-five operatives, and can manufacture
six hundred yards per day.
In the same building with Messrs. Payne & Taylor is the
manufactory of Mr. George H. Fuller. The special'business
to which Mr. Fuller devotes himself is the making of jew
elers' findings. The uninitiated know not how many of the
articles used in the repair shops of ordinary jewelers are made
ready for their hand in other establishments. Chains, rings,
pins, buckles, clasps, and hundreds of like articles, are ma4§

94 HISTORICAL SKETCH

l

in Mr. Fuller's rooms. His business was started in 1861, and
he usually employs from fifteen to twenty operatives.
D. GOFF & SON.
The stranger who crosses the stone bridge from the west,
must needs have his attention arrested by the new mill of
the Messrs. Goff. If he know not the reputation of the firm
already, he will find on inquiry that that extensive building
is devoted to the manufacture of braids for ladies' dresses.
These gentlemen started business in 1861 in company with
Messrs. W. F. and F. C. Sayles, in Haskell's building. A fire
drove them from their quarters, and in 1862 or 1863 they
removed their establishment to Smithfield. In 1864 the
Messrs. Sayles withdrew from the partnership, and the firm
took the present style. Returning to Pawtucket, and remov
ing to the stone mill near their present place of business, they
continued to make worsted braids. In 1872 they built their
present spacious mill. Using, as they do, water power, they
have a fall of 16 feet, and estimate their power as 275 horse.
Their machinery is mainly of foreign manufacture. The
so-called braiders used are 625 in number. They employ 175
operatives, mostly girls. The mill is five stories high on the
river, and four in front. It is 200 feet in length, 55 in breadth,
and has a tower 112 feet high. The reader may ask as to the
products of such a mill. It consumes 1000 pounds of wool
daily, and manufactures 100,000 yards of braid per day.
The firm favor direct sales, and a large map in the office
shows by pins the towns and cities where goods are sold.
And it is becoming quite tattooed.
DYEING ESTABLISHMENTS.
On the eastern side of the Blackstone, farther down the
stream than Greene & Daniels' mill, stand the buildings of
Richard Harrison. Mr. Harrison began, in company with Mr.
Haley, in the year 1862, the business of dyeing woolen yarns
and braids. The firm bore the name of Haley & Harrison,

OFPAWTUCKET. 95
and did but a small business at first. They commenced,
indeed, in the basement of Payne & Taylor's mill, and had
scarce work enough to employ two men. In the next year
skirt and embroidery work began to be used in the country,
and for a season they dyed 3000 pounds per day.
In 1867 Mr. Haley retired, and a new firm was formed of
R. Harrison & Co. The old firm had been compelled by the
great increase of business in 1863 to seek larger quarters, and
therefore built on the site of their present edifices. At that
time they employed thirty-five men. In the fall of 1867 they
enlarged their works. A year from that time they began to
print both woolen and cotton yarns. At that period tbey
printed 600 pounds per day, but their works are now capable
of printing 1000 pounds a day. Extending their business,
Messrs. Harrison & Co. commenced in the fall of 1869 to
manufacture woolen yarns. In 1872 and 1873 they manufac
tured 1500 pounds per day.
At present Mr. Harrison is carrying on his business without
any partner, and has facilities for dyeing 5000 pounds braid
and yarns daily, and of printing 1000 pounds.
R. D. Mason & Co. This firm are successors to Samuel
Merry & Co. As early as 1805, Barney Merry began the
manufacture of ginghams in connection with the business of
dyeing. After a time he abandoned the former business, and
gave his whole attention to the dyeing and bleaching of cotton
goods. In 1847 Mr. Merry died, and two of his sons suc
ceeded to the business. In 1866 Robert D. Mason was
admitted to the firm. After the death of Mr. Samuel Merry,
Mr. Mason became chief, and adopted the present style. For
years he had as partners the Dexter Brothers, but of late
they have withdrawn.
The establishment of Mason & Co. is quite extensive, and
is situated on East avenue. At present fifty men are employed,
and the works are able to bleach three and a half tons per
day. Cotton yarns and stockinets are the chief goods on
which their skill is spent.

96 HISTORICAL SKETCH
R. BLISS MANUFACTURING CO.
In passing up Main street, a short distance above Capt.
Brown's machine shop, one sees a brick building bearing the
sign of the above-named company. Their business illustrates
a fact very often observed in Pawtucket, of a business starting
in a very humble way, but growing to great proportions in
the lapse of years.
Mr. Rufus Bliss started years ago by picking out choice
pieces of hickory wood, carrying them to a convenient lathe,
and then working for a few hours, and converting them into
screws. After accumulating a little stock he would set out
for Boston in a wagon, and sell them along the way. In this
manner he formed an acquaintance with cabinet makers, and
pianoforte manufacturers, and learned from their workmen
what kinds of screws and like articles were needed by them.
Acting on this knowledge he provided such tools as were
needed, and enlarged his business. His aim was to make the
best screws attainable, and he so far succeeded as to furnish
the classes named with the goods they needed.
He worked in that way till 1845, when he sold half his
interest. The partnership thus formed took the title of R.
Bliss & Co., and sought a wider market. A. N. Bullock was
the first partner ; and in the course of a few years E. R.
Clark and A. C. Bullock became associated, and Mr. Bliss
withdrew. In 1845 half of a room sufficed for the company ; in 1853
they hired one story in D. D. Sweet's old building, and occu
pied it for several years. Compelled to seek larger quarters,
however, they built their present shop in 1866. By carefully
maintaining the quality and reputation of their goods, they
have not only retained their old trade, but added largely to
it. They make wooden screws, clamps, tool handles, tool
chests, toys, etc. They were among the first in the country,
too, to engage in the manufacture of croquet sets. Their
business has so grown that, whereas they employed in 1852
but ten workmen, they now, in average times, employ sixty.

OP PAWTUCKET. 97
They use up annually 500,000 feet of hard wood, and, includ
ing logs and box boards, 1,000,000 feet.
In January, 1874, the proprietors organized as a stock
company, and took the present name.
D. D. SWEET & CO.
\ The special business of this firm is the making of doors,
sashes, blinds, and builders' materials generally. The present
partners are E. W. French, Harrison Howard, 'Daniel H.
Arnold, and Fred. Sherman.
This business, too, was begun in a small way. The original
proprietor started it forty years ago. The business has so
increased, however, that about fifty workmen are employed.
The mill is close to the railroad station, but the firm have
another establishment of almost equal size in Providence.
They use from 300,000 to 350,000 feet of lumber annually.
But these figures do not give a full representation of the
extent of their business ; for they have a great amount of
work done for them in various places in the country, where
forests and water power are more abundant.

In going up Broad street, after passing D. D. Sweet &
Co., a visitor sees the shop of Kenyon, Drown & Co. These
parties are successors of others who for years carried on a like
business. It was started, indeed, by Mr. Nathaniel Lewin
about forty years ago. He afterward took some partners,
and the firm assumed the name of Lewin, Fisk & Kenyon..
At a later time it bore the name of Lewin, Kenyon & Co.
Mr. Lewin, however, died in 1870, and then the present style
was adopted.
But what is the special business of these parties ? The
building of mills, flumes, dams, water wheels, etc. Beside
this, they do general house work, and give special attention to
the making of brackets, moldings, and like articles. In times
of business activity this firm has employed two hundred men,
13

98 HISTORICAL SKETCH
and done work to the amount of $200,000 per year. And
their facilities for work are undiminished.
PAWTUCKET LUMBER AND BUILDERS' SUPPLY CO.
Going up Broad street, a little farther to the north, the
traveler reaches the mill of this company. The business was
started about 1850 by S. S. & J. A. Humes. The present
company was incorporated and organized the present year,
with a capital of $100,000.
The business to which they give special attention is the
manufacture of all kinds of wood work, — boxes, tanks, kiers,
scroll work, sashes, blinds, doors, etc. The establishment is
large enough to employ a hundred men. And in addition to
the kinds of work mentioned, the mill can make every kind
of moldings.
When it started, a steam engine of 15 horse power was
deemed sufficient ; now an engine of 100 horse power is used.
BLISS & CARPENTER.
This firm occupy buildings on Pleasant street, and have
there a steam planing mill. They were successors to A. R.
Slade & Co. As contractors and builders, they are prepared
to rear buildings of any size. In their mill they have facilities
for making gothic, circular, and plain window and door
frames. They manufacture also brackets, scroll and fancy
work, and moldings of every size and description.
These gentlemen have been proprietors for about a dozen
¦ years, and have used on some years 400,000 feet of lumber.
In times of business prosperity they employ from forty to forty-
five workmen. J. N. POLSEY & CO.
The cars, in journeying to Providence, pass, just after
leaving the station, the mill of J. N. Polsey & Co., on the
left hand side of the railroad. The business carried on by
this firm is the manufacture of boxes. It was started by Mr.

.OF PAWTUCKET. 99
Polsey in 1857, on a small scale, but has grown in the
course of years to great magnitude. At present there are
associated with Mr. Polsey, Messrs. Joseph P. and William B.
Haskins. The power is supplied by a steam engine, which runs ample
machinery. Thirty workmen are employed, and about two
millions and a half feet (2,500,000) of boards are annually
converted into boxes. They manufacture every kind of
boxes from one-eighth of an inch in thickness up to an
inch ; and from one foot surface measurement up to one
hundred feet. Half of the product is shipped to New York,
Philadelphia, and Baltimore. l. upham & co.
In the same mill, L. Upham & Co. have their quarters.
They are pattern makers, designers, and builders of stone
derricks. Like so many others, they began in a comparatively
humble way, but have seen their business grow from year to
year. Starting in 1857, they have added to their facilities,
and now have machinery which enables them to answer
orders with promptitude. They employ a dozen or fifteen
workmen, and make 25 thread dressers, and 30 or 40 derricks
a year. They have added during the past year a room for
making moldings, brackets, and like articles, and furnish all
kinds of wood work to machinery.
D. A. ARNOLD & SON.
In another part of the same mill, D. A. Arnold & Son_
carry on business as pattern and model makers. They employ
seven or eight workmen, but their effective machinery enables
them to do a great deal of wood work for cotton machinery,
viz: of twisters, spinning frames, etc. They also saw mate
rials for house carpenters, brackets and other fancy work,
and do band and scroll sawing and turning, They are
accustomed to fit up stores and offices too.

100 HISTORICAL SKETCH
ATWOOD, CRAWFORD & CO.
Going south from Greene & Daniels' mill, the first estab
lishment encountered on the bank of the river is that of
the above-named firm. Their special business is that of
manufacturing spools. The originator of the business was
Mr. Robert Cushman. He began the business in Central
Falls, but in 1857 he received his brother George as a partner,
and removed to a stone building on the site of the present
structure. Mr. Cushman was the first recent builder on what is now
Pleasant View. When he began operations, the only edifices
in that now populous district were the old farm-house, and
an antiquated slaughter-house that had been altered into a
dwelling. The writer recollects, indeed, hearing a lady, in
1863, who lived on the western side of the river, tell how she
was wont every morning, on arising, to look over to Pleasant
View, to see if a new house had not gone up during the
night. Such was the rapidity with which buildings were
reared, after Mr. Cushman had given an impulse to the
matter, that one saw the propriety of the lady's humorous
remark. The manufacture of spools is a somewhat compli
cated process, but Mr. Cushman devised a new series of
machines, which wrought a revolution in the business.
The brothers Cushman continued in business from 1857 to
1866. In the latter year, however, George died, but the firm
continued by limitation for two years longer. In 1869 a new
partnership was formed, under the style of Cushman, Phillips
& Co., which continued till 1875. At that time Mr. Cushman
withdrew, and the new firm was formed. Few persons have
any notion of the number of spools made in this establish
ment. The present consumption of wood for the manufacture
of goods by this firm is from 500,000 to 800,000 feet per year.
The number of workmen employed is forty. Twelve sets
of machines are in use. And beside making spools, the
company are engaged in the manufacture of handles, toys,
and a multitude of ingenious instruments. It is possible to

OF PAWTUCKET. 101
turn out from this single establishment 22,000 gross per
month. MESSRS. E. JENCKES & CO.
Occupy the upper stories of the Old Slater Mill. Mr. N. P.
Hicks, who is a member of this firm, began the manufacture
of improved ring travelers in 1853. He had had experience
as an overseer in a spinning room, and become painfully
aware of the defects of the old instrument. One grave
demerit in former ring travelers was a lack of uniformity in
numbers in regard to weight. Satisfied by trial that he could
make those little instruments with greater exactness and
delicacy, he began the manufacture of them on a small scale
in his own house, after the day's work was finished at the
mill. He soon demonstrated that his travelers would secure
a great saving and enable a workman to accomplish one-third
more work.
Mr. Hicks began the manufacture first in Valley Falls,
removed thence to Providence, and finally came to Paw
tucket in 1867. He has had various associates, and done
business under different styles, viz : N. P. Hicks & Co.,
Hicks & Sprague, N. P. Hicks, and as agent for Olney
Arnold. The present firm has existed since 1871. Since he
became associated with Messrs. Jenckes, they have been
steadily increasing their facilities and enlarging their business,
and now their goods are widely used in our own country,
and extensively exported to Europe.
After beginning the manufacture of the little article named,
Mr. Hicks devised improved machines for making gimlet-
pointed wire goods for cotton and woolen machinery. Indeed,
spinning rings, wire goods, cotton banding, and manufacturers'
supplies of every kind, are furnished by these parties, and
constant efforts are put forth to improve the modes of making
the articles to which the firm give their attention, and to
better their quality. Some incidental statistics may serve to
show the character and increase of their business. About
four years ago they used 3000 pounds of cotton weekly for

102 HISTORICAL SKETCH
banding and twine ; they now consume double the amount.
At that time they produced from 25 to 30 tons of belt hooks
and wire goods annually ; but they have also doubled that
product. H. F. JENKS & CO.
Passing down Mill street from the lane which conducts to
the Old Slater Mill, one comes to Wilkinson place, leading to
the Lefavour mill. In the second story of this mill, Messrs.
H. F. Jenks & Co.. have established themselves. (Another
Jenks clinging to the iron trade.) Their special business is
the manufacture of builders' hardware. The business was
started in 1865, but, like so many other branches of Paw
tucket industry, has been constantly widening its range.
The specialty in the outset was the making of window
springs; and the establishment has produced great quantities
of them for our own land, and also shipped large exportations
to Europe. In the course of time the inventive genius of the
proprietors has devised or improved various house trimmings,
and fashioned contrivances for household comfort too numer
ous to be mentioned. An improved spinning ring has also
been invented, and is made in this mill. In fact, the
enterprising proprietors have obtained eight patents.
The mill is. run by water power, and has facilities for
twenty workmen. And a further remark may be made
applicable to both the firm just mentioned, and many others.
While they have made several ingenious contrivances that
might be patented, they adopt at times a different policy.
Abstaining from the expense of patenting, and the annoyance
and worry of carrying on suits for violation of patent rights,
they provide machinery for making their wares as economi
cally as possible, and then offer their goods at the lowest
prices. In this way they escape or defy hurtful competition.
JAMES BERNEY.
In another part of the same mill may be found the quarters
of its owner, Mr. James Berney. Mr. Berney carries on two

OF PAWTUCKET. 103
or three branches of business. In the first place, he manu
factures various kinds of brass goods, — book ornaments of
every kind, and every species of brass trimmings. In this
department he employs twenty-five workmen, — men and
boys. He has been engaged in this employment about a
dozen years.
He also makes boot and shoe lacings of every kind. In
this department he employs about thirty operatives. He has
been occupied about five years in this branch. Beside these,
he has a small dye-house, for dyeing cotton yarn, and does
not only his own dyeing, but some job work.
In his establishment also may be found a boot and shoe
stretcher, a very ingenious contrivance invented by Mr.
Owen F. Garvey. It is a patented article, and, as Mr.
Berney holds a joint interest in it, it is manufactured in his
rooms. c. D. OWEN.
On the Mineral Spring avenue, close by the Moshassuck,
stand the mills of C. D. Owen. Power is supplied for his
works by both the river and by a steam engine. The
business to which he devotes himself is the manufacture of
worsted goods and yarns. He makes both Italian cloth and
zephyr yarn. He employs about two hundred and eighty
operatives, and, when in full operation, scours 3000 pounds
of wool per day. The mill has nine Noble combs.
The present buildings are of brick, were reared in 1868,
and went into operation the next spring. They occupy the
site of a small cotton mill that formerly stood there.
JEWELRY.
On River street, about two years ago, Messrs. Salisbury
& Phillips established themselves. The special business to
which they devote themselves is the manufacture of goods
for gentlemen's use,— studs, collar buttons, etc. They employ
ten men, but have conveniences for twenty.

104 HISTORICAL SKETCH
Mr. D. F. Read has an establishment in the upper story of
J. B. Read's block. He has given special attention for years
to the manufacture of solid gold rings, and keeps up the
purity of those articles. Of late, however, he has added to
his business the manufacture of some less costly kinds of
jewelry, — as, for instance, of buttons, and like goods.
FIRE ENGINES.
Mr. William Jeffers began the manufacture of fire engines
in 1848. For about thirteen years he built hand engines,
but in 1861 he commenced building steam fire engines.
When he originally began, he adopted a novel plan, and, in
beginning the construction of steamers, he also devised an
original mode. His engines were found so effective, however,
that other parties borrowed his plans without scruple, and
thus acknowledged the value of his designs.
Mr. Jeffers's engines have gone to every State in the Union,
and have won great commendation. He has built, since he
engaged in the business, two hundred and seventeen engines,
sixty-three of which were steamers. He estimates the
average value of them at two thousand dollars apiece. As
he neglected to obtain patents for his improvements, other
manufacturers have felt themselves at liberty to adopt them.
Cole Brothers. This firm began to make steam fire engines
in 1864. Before that time they were proprietors of a machine
and jobbing shop for eleven years. Their shop is extensive
enough to employ from thirty to forty men. They have
built ten steamers in a year. In addition to the manufacture
of such engines, they both make and repair stationary fire
pumps, and construct boilers and like articles. Their build
ing is near the corner of Main and Bailey streets.
v. P. WESTCOTT.
Near the shop of the Cole Brothers stands the building of
V. P. Westcott. His special business is the manufacture
of hames and trimmings. It is a somewhat exceptional

OF PAWTUCKET. 105
business, and there is no establishment of a like character in
the State. Mr. Westcott has carried it on for two years, but
it had previously been carried on for thirty years or more by
G. B. Perry & Co. The goods made are widely scattered ;
large quantities of them are sent to the Pacific States, and to
almost all other parts of our country. As the work is largely
done by machinery, but few workmen are employed. Mr.
Westcott added the carriage business to his employment
last fall. BRUSH MANUFACTORY.
On East avenue, not far from Main street, is the brush
manufactory of Thayer Brothers. These gentlemen started
business here in 1870. If the reader knows nothing of that
kind of business, he will learn with amazement that this firm
make one hundred and forty kinds of brushes. Of course,
this includes many varieties of brushes for jewelers, for print
works, and other branches of manufacturing. All kinds of
brushes, too, for cotton and woolen goods are supplied. The
firm employ fourteen workmen. CARD BOARD.
The manufacture of card board has become a somewhat
important branch of industry in this town. The business was
originally started by Elder Ray Potter. He began, indeed,
with another branch of industry. His first attempt was to
make lamp-black, in the old steam planing mill ; from that
he proceeded to the manufacture of glazing paper for his box
manufactory. His experiments in the latter matter led him
to undertake the manufacture of card board. This was done
in 1844. Of course, his first attempts were on a small scale,
but the business steadily increased, and even in 1853 was
quite large for the times.
In 1858 Mr. Henry B. Dexter bought out the establishment,
just to the west of the present East avenue, and assumed the
charge of the business. He had as business partners Messrs.
14

106 HISTORICAL SKETCH
Simon W. Dexter and Daniel S. Dexter. In the following
year Messrs. David Ryder and H. H. Thomas took an interest
in the business, Mr. Thomas taking the charge. Under Mr.
Thomas, the business was largely increased. They subse
quently withdrew, and the business of what is called the
Rhode Island Card Board Company is now carried on by Mr.
Henry B. Dexter and Mr. George H. Clark.
This is supposed to be the first establishment in the country,
probably in the world, that undertook to make card board by
machinery. Even now this material is made in Europe
mainly by hand.
The proprietors make every description of card boards,
from the most delicate to the most substantial ; and provide
them for the use of stationers, photographers, and printers.
They make their goods, when desired, in continuous strips of
any thickness, length or width.
Machinery is extensively employed, and twenty-five work
men are busied in the establishment. They produce about
ten thousand sheets per day, but can, if need be, increase the
product to twelve thousand sheets.
A younger establishment in the same branch of business is
found on Bailey street. It is carried on by Linton Brothers
& Co., who started in business in 1871. Availing themselves
of years of experience in manufacturing, they have liberally
supplied themselves with improved machinery. They have
twelve preparing machines, five finishing machines, and one
for hanging up their paper unlike any in the country. They
employ about twenty-five workmen, and manufacture daily
ten thousand sheets of card board, and have facilities for still
larger production. PAPER BAGS.
Mr. Joseph L. Abbott has a shop on River street for the
manufacture of paper bags. Those useful articles are in so
great demand that Mr. Abbott's inventive skill has been
taxed to supply machines for making them rapidly and

OE PAWTUCKET. 107
economically. He has, therefore, devised four machines, by
which he can fold and cut the paper, and paste and count the
bags. He makes twenty-seven regular sizes of bags by these
machines. He furnishes a hundred sizes in all, but the
demand for the other classes is not great enough to warrant
special machines.
Mr. Abbott was smitten by blindness sixteen years ago, but
still beholds with the inward eye, so as to contrive many
skillful machines. Before his calamity overtook him, he
invented an improved mode of making ropes, so as to manu
facture them with greater speed and a more even tension.
For this he obtained a patent in 1855. In 1866 he invented
a self-acting measure for liquids, and, assigned the patent to
Charles Pratt, of Reynolds, Pratt & Co., New York. In
1868 he obtained a patent for calendering and polishing brass
wire. In numerous cases he has assisted other parties in
devising or perfecting inventions, for which they obtained the
patents. Thus he aided some persons in perfecting a mode of
polishing, insulating, and finishing electricians' wires. In
other cases he has surrendered to parties, for a trifling com
pensation, valuable inventions which they craftily claimed to
be infringements on patents of their own. As his blindness
subjects him to grave disadvantages, he has been ready to
sell out inventions for a simple recompense for his time,
rather than endure the annoyance, and incur the expense, of
suits at law. And he has been deterred from seeking to
obtain patents, by the thought that the meagre demand for
some article will not tempt parties to pirate his inventions.
Of the class last named is a device for giving a spiral motion
to the winding of yarn to be put on bonnet wire and
electricians' wire. PAYNE & MATHEWSON.
Almost at the outlet of the famous Sargent's Trench
stands a wooden building, occupied in the lower story as a
blacksmith shop ; but in the upper story by Payne & Mathew*

108 HISTORICAL SKETCH
son. These gentlemen give their main attention to the
manufacture of spoolers. They have been in this business
for ten years. The spoolers are adapted to every variety of
textile fabric, — cotton, woolen, or silk. And as they are one
of a very few establishments that make the manufacture of •
spoolers a special matter, their goods go to every part of the
country. From Canada to Texas their customers come.
They have invented a cone spooler, for which they have
obtained a patent. In addition to such articles, they make
every variety of spindles. Their conveniences allow them to
employ forty men. J. O. DRAPER & CO.
At the corner of Front and Clay streets stands the soap
manufactory of the above-named gentlemen. Mr. Draper,
in connection with Mr. Abner Atwood, started the business
in 1861. More recently the firm has consisted of Mr. Draper
and Mr. A. W. Stanley. The proprietors make every kind
of soap, — family, factory, and toilet. Their customers are
largely in the neighborhood of Pawtucket, but their facilities
are extensive enough to supply a large circle. They have
four kettles, two of which hold 20,000 pounds each, one
14,000 pounds, and the other 12,000 pounds.
They usually employ eight or ten men. They give special
attention to the making of two kinds of soap. One of them
they style the Nottingham Curd Soap, which is largely used
in print works ; the other is called the English Fig Soap,
and is deemed very serviceable in washing wools.
GREENE BROTHERS' MILL.
Greene Brothers' mill is a hive of industry. The water
power is sufficient to supply many small establishments.
Here the visitor will find the rooms of W. A. Beatty & Co.
In 1865 they began business here as manufacturers of jewelers'
materials, but abandoned that in 1872. In 1870, however,
they commenced the making of jewelry. They are well

OP PAWTUCKET. 109
supplied with dies, presses, and the various appurtenances
for successfully conducting their business, and have room and
machinery capable of giving employment to sixty men.
In the same mill can be found the unique establishment
of C. D. Tuttle. His specialty is the manufacture of jet
jewelry. Mr. Tuttle served an apprenticeship in that home
of artistic skill, Paris, and then concluded to transplant the
business to our land. His rooms seem perfect in themselves;
for he makes all the materials, rolls the plate, prepares the
glass, and does the entire work. Mr. Tuttle claims to be a
pioneer in that branch of tasteful industry in our country,
and his establishment is said to be the only one where all the
details of the business are performed. Every kind of jet
work is manufactured, and the various patterns exhibit
refined taste. Mr. Tuttle has facilities for employing fifty
or sixty workmen. The more delicate part of the labor is
performed by the slender fingers of girls.
In the same mill may be found the quarters of the New
York Braid Company. This is a branch of a larger estab
lishment in Providence, having Mason & Brothers as agents.
It is a new establishment, and has been in Pawtucket but a
few months, but its managers give attention to the manufac
ture of worsted braid.
In this mill, too, Hathaway & Carter have lately started
one branch of the jewelry manufacture. They give special
attention to the making of chain swivels. Beginning, as they
did, at the commencement of the present panic, they have
but slowly developed their business. For the present, they
do the chief part of their own work, but are preparing for a
better future.
Another manufacturer carries on still another kind of
business in the same edifice. Mr. John J. Kenyon makes
shoe laces, and occupies an entire story. Here he has been
quartered ever since the mill was rebuilt, and has supplied

110 HISTORICAL SKETCH
himself with ample machinery for his work. In times of
business activity he can profitably employ fifteen workmen.
Mr. Parley Brown is another occupant of this mill. He
is engaged in the manufacture of spool cotton, and also of
dressed and glazed thread. Mr. Brown does not spin his
own cotton, but buys his yarn. The machinery in his room
consists of thread dressers, and spooling and winding ma
chines. His thread is of all colors and numbers. One branch
to which he gives special attention is the supplying of other
manufacturers with glazed thread ready for use. It is wound
on spools, weighing a pound or more, and is very serviceable
for the making of fringes and like articles. Mr. Brown em
ploys thirty operatives, and sells goods to the amount of about
$70,000 per year. He began his business in Pawtucket in 1870.
In this building, too, and the ones that preceded it, Mr.
Jeffers long carried on his business, and built the fire engines
which have given his name celebrity.
B. P. CLAPP & CO.
Occupy an establishment on the eastern side of the river,
just above Division street bridge. Their special business is
the manufacture of aqua ammonia from ammoniacal water
obtained from gas works. Mr. Clapp started this business
alone, in 1859. And the business itself is but an illustration
of the useful results attained by the application of chemical
science. Many an article once deemed worthless, or hurried
away as a nuisance, is now utilized and made to minister to
the arts. When Mr. Clapp began, he used 400 gallons of
that refuse water per day. Now, he and his associates find
2500 gallons not excessive. The last-named quantity yields,
about a ton of aqua ammonia. The article is used in calico
printing, in the manufacture of wall paper, and in dyeing.
After a few years Mr. Clapp had as a partner for a time
Mr. Preserved W. Arnold. His present partners are Messrs.
Walter E, Colwell and Marvin H, Leavens, These gentlemen

OF PAWTUCKET. Ill
employ six workmen beside themselves. The value of their
product is about thirty thousand dollars per year. The main
expense is the cost of transportation, labor, fuel, and interest
of capital. A large share of the ammoniaeal water is obtained
in Providence, and brought thence in bulk in a steam barge.
They make, also, from the same kind of water, nitrate
of ammonia, for service of dentists in making laughing gas.
MINOR MANUFACTURES.
Among the minor manufactures of Pawtucket may be
enumerated several that cluster around the Old Slater Mill.
Mr. Remember R. Carpenter, for instance, occupies the very
room in the old brick shop that was used by Mr. Slater for a
yarn room. Mr. Carpenter's special business is the manufac
ture of reels. They are constructed of wood and iron, and
Mr. Carpenter has made great improvements on Mr. Slater's
patterns. These instruments are used for reeling both cotton
and wool, and are sent very widely through the country.
Indeed, the manufacture of them is so exceptional that
parties from remote States seek a supply from Mr. Carpenter's
establishment. After the late war broke out, the demand for
reels largely increased. The duties imposed on some classes
of foreign goods rendered the manufacture of similar goods
profitable in this country. In making ginghams, or any goods
that need be bleached or colored before manufacturing,
reeling is indispensable. And as zephyr yarns are made to
considerable extent in our neighborhood, their delicacy
demands the use of reels.
In the lower story of the shop just named, Mr. Charles A.
Luther manufactures patterns and cloth stretchers. He
began the business in Pawtucket about three years ago.
Although his establishment seems small, employing about
half a dozen hands, yet, by the use of power, he makes a
good many machines annually. Mr. Luther has invented
several contrivances which have been patented, and makes
no less than five kinds of stretchers. Some of them, indeed,

112 HISTORICAL SKETCH
are quite complicated, and require brass in their construction
to the value of a hundred dollars apiece, beside iron and
other materials.
J. Crocker & Son are also on the grounds of the old historic
mill. Their specialty is the manufacture of coffin trimmings.
The elder Mr. Crocker started in this business fifteen years
ago, but for the last five years his son has been associated
with him. They use, in the making of their goods, lathes,
presses, and stamps, as in the manufacture of jewelry; and
give employment to twenty-five persons. Their goods are
sold by jobbers, not to the undertakers, and are widely dis
tributed. They are sold by the gross, and the establishment
is able to make two hundred gross per day.
A few rods from the rooms of Crocker & Son stands the
shop of Samuel Cope. His business is the manufacture of
hand-cut files. He began here about four years ago, and
makes all kinds of files. In ordinary times he employs ten
workmen, and can turn out from fifty to sixty dozen of files
per week.
Down Jenks avenue, in what is called the Jenks mill, may
be found the spinning rooms of Mr. George Cooper. Mr.
Cooper is a manufacturer of stockinet, and spins not only the
yarns which he uses for his own goods, but hosiery yarn and
thread. He runs 1800 spindles, and employs thirteen opera
tives. He has besides, at the corner of Cottage and Saunders
streets, a small mill, run by steam, for knitting. Here he has
twenty-two knitting machines, and ordinarily employs twelve
laborers. He has been engaged in the business eight years.
He started with but three machines. With his present
machines he can make from 1400 to 1600 pounds knitting
per week.
In the Jenks mill may also be found the rooms of the
Pawtucket Braid Company. This is a comparatively young
company, and has existed for about four years. The special
goods manufactured are shoe laces, corset laces, and fancy

OF PAWTUCKET. 113
cords. About two hundred and fifty braiding machines are
in use, and fifteen operatives employed.
JOSEPH SMITH CO.
Deal extensively in doors and blinds, and manufacture gut
ters, conductors and moldings. In this department they use
between two and three hundred thousand feet of lumber a
year. Their place of business is by the Landing, on the
eastern side of the Pawtucket. GRAIN MILL.
In 1863 the grist mill, which had been rebuilt in 1808,
after having been swept away in the previous year, was
pulled down to build a more spacious flouring mill. For a
time it was carried on by Mr. Nathaniel M. Burr. Subse
quently he induced several gentlemen to enter into the
business as special partners. Messrs. Charles Moies, G. L.
Spencer, H. H. Thomas, Olney Arnold, Robert Sherman,
George L. Littlefield, D. G. Littlefield, S. W. Dexter, D. S.
Dexter, and some others, contributed capital, and adopted
the style ©f N. M. Burr & Co. The enterprise, however,
turned out disastrously. Among other drawbacks, the mill
was burnt out in December, 1868. The company was dis
solved after a while, and the mill was subsequently carried
on for a time by the Roger Williams Flour Company, of
Providence. The present occupants of the building are Wilbur &
Tingley. They make but little flour, but employ the power
mainly in grinding grain. They are accustomed to grind
from 1000 to 1200 bushels daily. Until recently the style
was Wilbur, French & Co. This firm run the mill for two
years, when Mr. French retired.
L. B. DARLING & CO.
Carry on an extensive business at the place known as
Mineral Springs. The senior partner began with a some-
15

114 HISTORICAL SKETCH
what different business in 1852. At that time he devoted
his establishment to the butchering of animals for the mar
ket, and the rendering of tallow and bones, and the prepara
tion of tripe.
In 1865, however, he began to grind bones for fertilizers,
and also for feeding cattle and for mechanical purposes.
Though at that time he carried on this business on a some
what small scale, he has gradually enlarged it, till now he
consumes nearly all the bones collected in Providence and
the vicinity.
Within a few years a brother of his has become associated
with him, and the firm has adopted the style named. In the
business which they now carry on, one sees how chemical
discoveries enable men to utilize scores of the substances once
wasted. Putrefaction is made to minister to life. Within
the past year these gentlemen have put into their establish
ment all the drying apparatus and improvements that are
now used by the abattoirs at Brighton, Mass., for utilizing
the offal, blood, and like substances obtained from the
slaughter-houses in the outskirts of this town. This refuse
is converted into a powerful animal fertilizer, and this and
their ground bone are ranked among the best fertilizers in
the market. Some notion may be formed of the amount of
business thus done, when it is mentioned that the refuse
of 20,000 cattle and 75,000 hogs is brought to Messrs. Dar
ling's works annually, to be converted into fertilizers.
Though they have abandoned butchering, they continue
the work of rendering tallow, and supply 800 tons per year.
The larger portion of this is shipped to foreign countries.
They manufacture 1000 tons of fertilizers a year. In per
forming their work, liberal steam power is demanded. Their
boilers are 135 horse power ; their engines, 100 horse power.
THE ABATTOIRS.
A special branch of industry deserves to be spoken of.
Every person who passes from Pawtucket to Providence, in

OF PAWTUCKET. 115
the cars, notices on the right side of the track, about half
way between the stations, extensive abattoirs. Here three or
four parties prepare animals for the market. The two larger
establishments are carried on by Comstock & Son, and
Comstock & Co. The former trade in cattle, the latter in
hogs. They have two large abattoirs, each 120 by 80 feet.
In them are all the conveniences for receiving and slaughter
ing cattle for the shambles, hogs for packing or for sale fresh.
Ice is provided in abundance, which is raised by steam power
to the receiving rooms, and the meat, after the animals are
slain, is taken into those rooms for cooling, till the heat is
subdued. Perhaps information as to some details of the business may
be gratifying. The 'parties named, then, have agents in
Chicago for the purchase of supplies. One gives his time to
the selection of cattle, the other to that of hogs. The animals
thus purchased are started in cars, which are expected to make
prompt time. The Messrs. Comstock have special agents,
also, at Buffalo and Albany. At each city the trains stop
for a few hours, and the beasts are taken from the cars, fed,
allowed to drink, and let rest. Trains which start from
Chicago on Monday morning, reach Pawtucket Friday fore
noon. A side track runs along by the works named, and pens
for hogs are constructed, whose doors are abreast the doors of
the cars. A plank of the width of a door permits the beasts
to step from the car without confusion, and each pen is large
enough to accommodate the freight of a single car. There is
a house, indeed, 180 feet in length by 70 feet in breadth,
with twenty pens, which can accommodate 3000 hogs, and
give them shelter. Every pen has ample water, and conven
iences for feeding, and, as every pen is separate, the animals
can find seclusion and rest after their long journey.
There are like accommodations for the cattle that arrive.
There are spacious pens for their reception, supplied with an
abundance of pure water, and room and convenience for
feeding. Sufficient shelter is also provided in event of storms
or cold weather,

116 HISTORICAL SKETCH
After allowing the beasts time enough to recover from the
fatigue of their journey, they are successively taken up a
gentle incline into the abattoir. As much of quiet as possible
is maintained, and everything about the building is kept
scrupulously neat. At present, about 500 cattle per week
are killed for the supply of Providence, Pawtucket, and
other towns and cities in Rhode Island, and the neighboring
parts of Massachusetts; and from 1200 to 1500 hogs are also
slain. So great are the facilities, that double the number
could be killed and prepared for market, if need were.
Not all the pork, however, obtained from such an army of
hogs is consumed in this neighborhood ; but, while the leaner
portions are furnished for local markets, the rest, after being
cooled in the ice room, is salted and prepared for exportation.
Messrs. Comstock & Co. not only sell to exporters, but ship
large quantities themselves to Antwerp and other foreign ports.
In addition to the buildings named, these gentlemen have
spacious stables for the accommodation of the horses needed
in their business, and sixteen tenements for the residence of
their workmen. They employ fifty men in both establish
ments, and supply a great many retail markets.
Perhaps the reader will ask if a great capital is not needed
• to carry on such a business. Certainly. The simple item of
freight amounts to $17,000 per month. Of course, the value
of meat varies in different seasons and different years, but
the aggregate amounts to millions. A moderate estimate
places the sales of pork at a million and a quarter of dollars,
and the sales of beef at a million and three-quarters, making
a total of three millions of dollars per year. No establish
ments of like character in the country equal these.
Another firm that carry on business here is that of I. B.
Mason & Co. They have occupied the grounds for about
two years and a half. They have two buildings for their
business. The slaughter house is 90 by 40; the packing
building, 125 by 50. They deal wholly in hogs, ahd their
works are extensive enough to allow their killing 250 per

OF PAWTUCKET. 117
day. Their supplies are also obtained from Chicago, and the
details as to modes of transportation, care for the comfort of
the beasts, convenience for receiving and caring for them,
which have been given with respect to Messrs. Comstock, are
applicable to Messrs. Mason & Co. All that humanity
counsels, and neatness demands, is sought.
These gentlemen have facilities for cutting and packing
200 hogs per day. Is it asked how much they weigh ? Not
far from 250 pounds per head. Such parts of the animal as
are sought fresh, are disposed of to local dealers. The residue
is cured, and a large part of it is shipped to foreign lands.
The number of men employed by this firm in the various
details of their business varies from thirty to thirty-five.
To give completeness to this account, it is necessary to
mention the establishment of H. W. Clarke. His business is
the slaying and preparation of sheep, lambs, and calves. Of
course, he needs not so large buildings as the other parties
named, but those he has, cover a good deal of space. They
occupy, inclusive of pens, an acre of ground ; and other
fields are at his disposal in case of need.
His supplies come chiefly from Buffalo, or still farther
west, and he kills from 500 to 1000 sheep and lambs per week.
His grounds and facilities, however, are extensive enough to
allow his preparing an indefinitely large number when
demanded. He employs eight men, and supplies local
markets for a radius of a score or two of miles. He has
the same conveniences for water and like matters with his
neighbors. In the foregoing pages an attempt has been made to give
some of the statistics of manufacturing industry in Paw
tucket. For two centuries the region has had but few
startling experiences of fire and flood. It was long a boast
in the classic land that never had the women of Attica seen
the smoke of an enemy's camp. It may be gratefully said
by the inhabitants of this town, that scarce any foes have
approached her borders since Philip perished at Mount Hope,

118 HISTORICAL SKETCH
two hundred years ago. The chief staple of this town's
history, therefore, is the establishment and development of
new forms of useful industry. And in this respect the annals
of the town are rich. It had been pleasant to give some
numerical statements in summing up, but the reserve of one
or two corporations deprived the writer of anything but very
meagre details. It must suffice, therefore, to mention that
the whole number of spindles in the town is one hundred and
eighty-eight thousand, five hundred and fifty-two.
This account of the industry of the town must not be
closed, however, without mentioning that the place abounds
in skillful workmen in the various mechanic arts. The
growth of the town has demanded the services of carpenters,
joiners, painters, and other craftsmen, and thrift has furnished
the means of gratifjung taste. And the labors of the artizans
of Pawtucket are sought not merely in the place of their
abode, but in all the region around. Hundreds of industrious
mechanics who reside here, work in the neighboring city.
Of course, shrewd and enterprising merchants supply the
various articles needed for subsistence and household comfort,
and there are special traders who deal in articles largely used
in the industry of the place. The General Government has
made small appropriations, from time to time, for the deepen
ing of Pawtucket river. By consequence, the navigation has
been so improved that vessels drawing not over ten feet of
water can come to the wharves. Scores of thousands of tons
of coal, and hundreds of thousands feet of lumber are
annually transported hither, at but a trifling freight above
what is paid to Providence. Railroad facilities are also ample,
and flour and grain from the west, and raw materials and
dyes for manufacturers, are landed almost at the doors of
the mills.
In one department of industry, to be sure, the town can
indulge in but little boasting. The uncomplimentary descrip
tion which Roger Williams and Gregory Dexter gave of the
western section pf the town ov§r two centuries and a quarter

OF PAWTUCKET. 119
ago, has been quoted. The fact that it is upland and rocky,
and lacks meadow, however, fits it admirably for residences,
though it forbids the expectation of many very fertile farms.
A few creditable farms may, indeed, be found on each
side of the river; but most of them have been made so
mainly by skillful labor. The chief thrift of the town
springs not from agriculture, but from manufacturing.
NEWSPAPERS.
" Of making many books," said the wise man, " there is no
end." The same assertion holds of newspapers in modern
times. Within a few years, to be sure, the expense of pub
lishing well-conducted newspapers has so increased, that a
man tempted to enter into rivalry with journals already
established, may well sit down and count the cost. A half,
nay, even a quarter, of a century ago, the expense was
relatively less; and, by consequence, many were tempted to
try the experiment of starting a new paper. Pawtucket has
witnessed such experiments again and again. The list of
journals ushered into life here, destined soon to expire, is
quite long. Some of the names are very pretty. The New
England Artizan, Truth's Advocate, John the Baptist, Mid
night Cry, Rose and Lily, Sparkling Fountain, Battle Axe,
Temperance Regulator, Mercantile Reporter, Business Direc
tory, Observer, Herald, — these and like titles failed to save
them from doom. Not one of them lives in the town to-day.
The only paper which has escaped the common fate is the
Gazette and Chronicle. This journal is the representative
and successor of two journals whose joint names it bears. On
November 12th, 1825, a paper made its first appearance in
Pawtucket. It styled itself the Pawtucket Chronicle and
Manufacturers' and Artizans' Advocate. Its publisher was
Mr. John C. Harwood. It was a creditable sheet, in point of
size, for half a century ago, but would be deemed a diminutive
sheet now. It was a paper of twenty columns, — five to a

120 HISTORICAL SKETCH
page, — and the columns were eighteen inches in length. A
year from that time, the name of William H. Sturtevant was
announced as editor. He was then a lawyer in the town.
After a few weeks the paper passed into the hands of Carlile
& Brown, of Providence. Their management was unsatis
factory, however, and on February 12th, 1827, Mr. Randall
Meacham appeared on the stage as the proprietor. In the
outset, the paper had been printed in a rickety wooden
building on Main street, standing on the site of the Read
block ; but Mr. Meacham removed it nearly opposite, to an
"office contiguous to the Pawtucket hotel." Mr. Meacham
enlarged it considerably, and proved himself a good printer
and a man of decided ability. In September, 1828, he
enlarged the paper still more. In July, 1829, he received as
an associate in managing the paper Mr. Samuel M. Fowler,
who had previously edited the Warren Northern Star. Mr.
Fowler imparted fresh ability to the paper, but seems to
have lacked one. merit that would be prized in an editor
to-day. He had no tact for collecting local news. Perhaps
he thought that, as the community was small, everybody
could easily find out what was going on. In February, 1831,
Mr. Fowler purchased Mr. Meacham's interest in the paper,
and became sole editor and proprietor. But his health soon
failed, and in the summer of the following year he went to
the south to invigorate his frame. He speedily returned,
however, to die. Meanwhile, John H. Weeden, Esq., took
the editorial charge.
On Mr. Fowler's decease his widow offered the paper for
sale, and it was purchased in the following October by Messrs.
Henry and John E. Rousmaniere, of Newport. Though men
of much ability and not a httle culture, they seem not to
have succeeded in their management of the paper. They
carried it on for a few years, but it failed to secure from the
public a hearty support. In November, 1836, Mr. J. E.
Rousmaniere withdrew from the journal, and his brother
remained sole proprietor for a few years longer. The paper

OF PAWTUCKET. 121
had been offered for sale years before, and in April, 1839, it
was announced that it had been sold to the proprietors of the
Pawtucket Gazette. And the further- advertisement was
made that the two papers would "be merged into one publi
cation, under the title of Gazette and Chronicle."
During Mr. Meacham's ownership of the journal, he had
altered the title to " Pawtucket Chronicle, and Rhode Island
and Massachusetts Register." The new purchasers wisely
concluded, however, that it would be too hazardous to under
take to float so long a name, in addition to that of the paper
they had been managing, and assumed the briefer title.
A word of the other paper. In August, 1838, Messrs.
Robert Sherman and Shubael Kinnicutt, who had been
apprentices in the Chronicle office, started the Pawtucket
Gazette. They adopted the motto which it still wears. It
was printed in the same shattered edifice that had been the
cradle of the Chronicle. The proprietors began with but a
few subscribers, and amid discouraging prophecies of failure.
What they lacked in capital, however, they made up in
energy and faith, and secured the utmost economy by doing
almost all the work themselves. Patrons slowly increased,
however, and when they bought the Chronicle, in April of
the next year, they enlarged the sheet, and saw brighter
auguries of success. In March, 1841, the Gazette and
Chronicle left its narrow and dingy quarters in the old
Read building, and removed to the Miller building, on the
corner of Main and Mill streets. In the summer of 1849,
Mr. Amos M. Read tore down the dilapidated building named,
and reared the. brick block on the corner of Jenks avenue
and Main street.- And, as the rooms occupied by the paper
seemed too small, the proprietors transferred their establish
ment to the upper story of the new block, in March, 1850.
New quarters, however, seemed but a signal for a new dress.
On July 26th of that year the paper came forth with new
type, and challenged notice for its improved appearance. At
the beginning of 1855 the publishers made a bold experiment.
16

122 HISTORICAL SKETCH
Enlarging their sheet eight columns, they commended their
enterprise to the public. Of course, an increase in adver
tising patronage must determine whether the proprietors had
wisely interpreted the public needs. The public endorsed
the action, and in June, 1860, the publishers enlarged their
journal still more. For a village sheet, indeed, the paper
might be called huge. But the war quickly followed, and
caused derangements in business, and a great increase in
expenses. It was therefore resolved, though with great
reluctance, to reduce the size of the paper. In the beginning
of 1863 every page, was curtailed one column. On January
1st, 1864, Mr. Ansel D. Nickerson became one of the pub
lishers of the Gazette and Chronicle. With the return
of peace the prospects began to brighten, and, in the com
mencement of 1866, the publishers redeemed their promise to
restore the sheet to its former size, as soon as circumstances
would warrant.
The office remained in the Read building till March. At
that time it was removed to Manchester Hall, where it still
remains. The occasion was celebrated by a festive party of
patrons and friends on March 30th.
Until 1855 the Gazette and Chronicle was printed on a
hand press. In May of that year a Guernsey Improved
Patent Cylinder Power Press was supplied ; and this in turn
was made to give way, in July, 1870, to a larger Potter
Cylinder Power Press. On Thanksgiving morning, Novem
ber 29th, 1866, the paper appeared, printed for the first time
by motive power. A caloric engine was used at first to
supply the power, but it proved inadequate, and a steam
engine was substituted. At present, water power, obtained
from the old Lefavour mill, is used, and is preferred on the
score of steadiness.
On the 1st of January, 1870, Messrs. Ansel D. Nickerson
and John S. Sibley became the publishers of the Gazette and
Chronicle, and continued so until April 1st, 1875. At that
time Mr. Charles A. Lee purchased an interest in the estab-

OF PAWTUCKET. 123
lishment, and the style of the firm was changed from
Nickerson & Sibley to Nickerson, Sibley & Co. On July
1st, 1870, the paper was enlarged again, and in April, 1873,
enlarged anew. The senior and the youngest publisher both
served an apprenticeship in the office of the paper which is
now under their control, and can reckon that experience has
taught them something of the needs of the community that
they desire to serve.
Both Messrs. Sherman and Kinnicutt surrendered their
control of the journal on the 1st of January, 1870. They
had seen it grow from a feeble experiment to a permanent
institution. Years of toil, crowned with final success, showed
their ability to conduct a journal suited to the needs of a
growing town. While their proximity to an energetic city
exposed them to a severe rivalry, the fact that the journal
they managed both lived and grew, tells of their energy and
tact. The present proprietors show no signs of flagging
interest or failing power. They are manifestly determined
to preserve the high tone of the journal, and to make it a
welcome visitant to the homes of Pawtucket. The paper
celebrated its semi-centennial a few months ago. May it
endure for centuries, and, while celebrating the fame of its
projectors, be a power for good in the town whose name
it bears !
EDUCATION.
From the peculiar circumstances under which Rhode Island
was settled, the State was more tardy than any other New
England State to establish common schools. There was such
a heterogeneousness in the population, that no general impulse
caused them to seek universal education. Providence early
sought to set up free schools, indeed, and most of her richer
citizens were willing to be taxed for the purpose ; but meaner
and more short-sighted men foiled their counsels. Nearly
two centuries, therefore, rolled away after the settlement of
the Colony, before the common school system was adopted.
By consequence, on the western side of the river, whatever

124 HISTORICAL SKETCH
formal instruction was supplied, for nearly a century and
three-quarters, was furnished by private schools. But Massa
chusetts was more sagacious. Law ordained from an early
time that facilities should be provided for the education of
all her youth; and the children of Rehoboth and Seekonk
shared in such advantages as the country schools of a century
ago could give.
The citizens of Pawtucket were not blind, however, to the
advantages of education. Over eighty years ago, in about
1793, a building, whose fame has come down to the present
day, was reared, which was known as the Red School House.
It stood not far from the present Town Record building, on
what is now High street. It was built as a joint stock
edifice, and most of the active business men of that time
contributed to its erection. Here every kind of public
meeting was held, but its special design, as its name indi
cated, was to furnish a place for schools. The day school
was taught, the evening schools were held, here. Such
Sunday schools as were maintained, after the inception of
them, were accommodated in this edifice. A convenient
arrangement was made soon after its construction, for the
benefit of the children on both sides of the river. As the
youth east of the Pawtucket were few in number, it was
arranged by their parents that they should cross the bridge,
and receive instruction at the Red School House. The
teacher was compensated for his extra services by a part of
the sum raised by the laws of Massachusetts. Subsequently
other schools were established west of the river. Dr. Taft,
during his earlier residence in Pawtucket, taught a school
for advanced scholars ; Joseph and Samuel Healey, members
of the sect of Friends, taught a school in the Baptist vestry;
and Mr. Edmund Bayley kept a school in the basement of
his own house, not far from the present school house opposite
Armory Hall.
But the time came at last when Rhode Island resolved to
rival her sister States in providing free instruction for her

OF PAWTUCKET. 125
children. In 1828, common schools were established by law.
That was the very year in which the Legislature of Massa
chusetts incorporated the town of Pawtucket. As has already
been stated, that town appropriated in the outset three
hundred and fifty dollars for the support of schools. From
the records of the town, however, it seems that that sum was
deemed too liberal ; for at five subsequent annual town
meetings the appropriation was three hundred dollars for
schooling. But in 1835 the appropriation was increased to
four hundred dollars ; and in 1836, to five hundred dollars.
From that time there was a steady advance, till it became
customary to make an annual appropriation of thousands of
dollars. On the western side of the river legal appropriations
were made for schools, for the first time, in 1828 ; but as the
village of Pawtucket was simply a district of North Provi
dence, it is less easy to ascertain what portion of the money
fell to the western district of the present town of Pawtucket.
The following preamble and vote, however, extracted from
the records of town meetings in North Providence, may be
thought to have a historic interest. It was at a town meeting
held April 16th, 1828, that this action was taken :
" Whereas the General Assembly of this State, at their session
in January, 1828, enacted that each town might, on complying
with the provisions of that act, receive a proportion of $10,000
for the purpose of establishing and paying the expenses of Public
Schools, — and whereas a warrant was issued and returned which
notified the freemen that the consideration would be acted on this
day, — It is therefore unanimously
" Voted, That a tax of double the sum which shall be appor
tioned and receivable by this town from the State Treasurer, for
the purpose aforesaid, be assessed and collected at the same time
that this town and road taxes are assessed and collected for the
year ensuing, — provided, however, that the said tax to be so
assessed, shall not exceed the sum of six hundred dollars."
In a mere sketch like the present, it can hardly be
attempted to give details about the public schools in both

126 HISTORICAL SKETCH
villages for the last half a century. A few words may be
supplied, however, about the High School. At some time
previous to 1836 a stock company was formed for the purpose
of building and maintaining an Academy. The edifice reared
stood on a ledge of rocks near the residence of Hon. James
C. Starkweather, on what is now called Walcott street. In
this institution both the higher English branches and the
languages were taught. Mr. J. Hale, from Cambridge, was
the first teacher of the Academy, and was succeeded in later
years by Messrs. Vinton, Spaulding, and Robbins, from
among the graduates of Amherst College, by Mr. Batchelder,
from Brown University, and by Messrs. Leland and Draper.
The school rendered useful service ; but, on the building of
the school houses on Grove and Summit streets, as accommo
dation was provided for the different grades of schools, the
Academy was discontinued, the building sold, and the
company dissolved.
But this simply hastened the establishment of a free High
School. Population had been steadily increasing, and had
reached a number which, according to the laws of Massa
chusetts, demanded such a school. Some of the citizens had
willingly procrastinated; but the School Committee could
not reconcile it with their views of duty to the young, or of
reverence to law, to tolerate any delay. A High School was
accordingly established in May, 1855, and placed under the
charge of Mr. William E. Tolman, of Brown University.
Mr. Tolman has remained in charge ever since, and reports
that the whole number of members for twenty-one years is
792. Of these, 722 were members prior to consolidation,
and of this smaller number 21 entered college, 35 became
teachers, and 31 entered the army and served in the late war.
The western village, however, was less successful in estab
lishing such a school. Futile attempts were made from time
to time by the two districts of North Providence lying along
the Pawtucket river, to establish a. High School in conjunc
tion with the village of Central Falls; but local jealousies

OF PAWTUCKET. 127
thwarted the enterprise. The friends of better education,
therefore, deemed it wise to wait. Meanwhile a great many of
the elder children were sent to private schools in Providence,
or across the river to the High School in the eastern town. On
both sides of the river, however, even before consolidation,
the increasing population made clamorous demands for new
school houses ; and, when the two villages melted into one
municipality, a good many edifices were ready to be entrusted
to the new School Committee. A larger High School build
ing seemed a necessity, and, as the edifice of the High Street
Baptist Church was for sale, it was purchased by the town,
and is now appropriated to the use of that school.
As the present historian has found difficulty in obtaining
materials for even this meagre sketch, it may be profitable to
give a few statistics of the present year, to help those who
in coming years wish to make comparisons, to draw the con
trast between the present and a future epoch.
At present, then, there are in the town of Pawtucket
sixteen school houses' already reared, and two more in
process of construction, which are to be ready for use in
September of the current year. The estimated value of the
buildings already erected, and of the land affixed to them, is
one hundred and sixty-two thousand dollars ; the cost of the
other two will be thirteen thousand dollars; making the
entire value one hundred and seventy-five thousand dollars.
There are thirty-six graded schools, and three ungraded ones.
The number of different boys registered is 1918 ; number of
different girls, 1953. The number registered over fifteen
years of age is 103. The average number belonging to the
schools is 1931; the average attendance, 1763. The number
of different male teachers employed is five ; number of
different female teachers employed, forty-two ; average num
ber of teachers employed is forty and five-tenths. Aggregate
number of months' service performed by male teachers is 50 ;
aggregate number of months' service by female teachers, 355|.
The amount paid male teachers, board included', is $6,325 ;
amount paid female teachers, board included, $15,443.60.

128 HISTORICAL SKETCH

SUNDAY SCHOOLS.

But perhaps a special class of schools should here be men
tioned, since they became the germ of what has since matured
into a mighty agent. Sunday schools were started in Paw
tucket at an early date, and under special circumstances.
Although the attempt to rear a meeting house was begun in
1793, it was years before the edifice was so far completed as
to be fit for a congregation, and still longer before a regular
preacher was settled. The Sabbath was therefore a day of
recreation and amusement, rather than of religious rest. Mr.
Slater was compelled to see that moral agencies could not be
safely neglected in the community.
Among the boys who came to work in his mill was one
that was to make this place his home for nearly three-score
years and ten. He came here from Grafton, Mass., and was
wont to tell in later years how the first Sunday school in this
region was started. He came here a boy eleven years of age,
and found an irreverence toward the Sabbath which shocked
his sensibilities. Not knowing what to do on that day, he
was subjected to peculiar temptations. It so happened that
some of the lads who worked with him in the mill were
conferring together, one Sunday morning, as to where they
should go. Says one of them, " Let's go up to Smithfield,
and rob Mr. Arnold's orchard ; that will be fine sport." But
the youth first named demurred. " I don't believe it is right
to go off Sundays to rob people's orchards," said he. Mr.
Slater happened to be passing at that moment, and caught a
part of the reply. He stops and asks, " Boys, what are you
talking about ?" He is told of what had been proposed, and
one of them adds, " Nat. doesn't think it is right to go off so
on Sunday." *'No, nor I neither," responded Mr. Slater;
and he doubtless feels, if he had never realized the matter
before, that he owes a duty to those youth whom God had
placed for a time under his charge. He resolves to remove
from them one form of temptation ; and promptly says, " Boys,
go into my house, and I will give you. as many apples as you
want ; and I will keep a Sunday school."

OF PAWTUCKET. 129
That school was begun in September, 1799. It was com
posed of seven boys, all of them employed in the cotton mill.
It was carried on according to Raikes's model, and furnished
secular instruction. The late Capt. Nathaniel G. B. Dexter
was of that number, and was employed on subsequent years
to teach such a school for the children engaged in the mill.
As he was wont to say of that earliest school, its library con
sisted of two testaments and three Webster's spelling-books.
And it is to the honor of Mr. Slater, that, though he was
doubtless greatly burdened by the cares of the novel business
he had established here, he was not insensible to the claims
which those humble youth had on his sympathy and guard
ianship. It is possible, indeed, that a Sunday school was kept prior
to this for a few weeks, but nothing is known of its history,
and it would have lapsed into eternal forgetfulness, had not
Capt. Dexter kept alive the knowledge of the school already
named. What is known of the earlier school is found in a
memorandum in the account books of Almy & Brown, or
Almy, Brown & Slater. Under date of November 5th, 1797,
the following charge occurs : Cash paid Benjamin Allen, for
teaching a school first days, £2, 14s. The next date when a
similar charge occurs is October 25th, 1800. But the cir
cumstantial account of Capt. Dexter shows that, for years
afterward, he was accustomed, during the warmer months
of the year, to keep such a school, at the expense of Almy,
Brown & Slater. At a later date, as regular religious meet
ings had meanwhile been established in the village, the mighty
possibilities of the Sunday school as an agent for religious
culture were discerned, and secular instruction was super
seded by religious.
FREE PUBLIC LIBRARY.
For nearly a quarter of a century there has been a Library
Association in Pawtucket. It was started through an
impulse given by a Debating Club that existed in the place
17

130 HISTORICAL. SKETCH
in 1852. It was hoped that such a Library might prove a
signal public convenience, and a help in general education.
In January of that year a charter was obtained from the
General Assembly, and the corporation was organized in the
next month. The funds of the corporation were quite meagre,
and were mainly derived from the sale of about two hundred
shares to nearly as many different persons. The committee
to purchase books had at their disposal about a thousand
dollars, with which they bought the library of the Masonic
Lodge, and the books of a Library Association at Central
Falls. The latter organization, indeed, was merged in the
new association.
A few friends also contributed books. Dr. George Taft
gave a hundred volumes, and the Association began its
operations with about 1200 volumes. A cabinet of minerals
was also supplied by voluntary bestowal of several mem
bers. In subsequent years, Dr. C. Blodgett, Messrs. D.
D. Sweet, Daniel Wilkinson, and Jesse S. Tourtellot, and
Hons. Thomas Davis, Charles Sumner, and others, aided the
Library by liberal gifts of books. For years the institution
continued to grow; in 1860 its number of volumes was about
3000; but the steady increase of the population in Pawtucket
rendered its constituency comparatively small. More re
cently, the fewness of its members, and the expense neces
sarily attendant on the room, prevented much increase in
the Library, and for a few years the interest has waned.
The experience of other towns also seemed to show, that, for a
Library to be a general helper, it must be public. Like the
air men breathe, it must be free.
Considerations like these prepared the shareholders to
proffer their Library for the general weal, provided the town
would accept it and ipake it a Public Library. After the
consolidation, such a proffer found more favor. The town
has accepted the charge, and just opened the Library on
liberal terms to all her citizens.
For twenty years or more the Library was kept in Read's

OF PAWTUCKET. 131
block ; but since the erection of Spencer's block, commodious
rooms have been tendered to the Library, free of charge, for
the period of five years. The liberal offer has been accepted,
and the Library proffers its treasures, under reasonable
restrictions, to all the inhabitants of the place. In addition
to the Library, a convenient Reading Room is furnished,
where papers and periodicals are supplied; and the town has
thus begun to use an important instrument for general edu
cation, which,, it is hoped, will promote the public weal, and
afford special help to studious and thoughtful youth.
The officers first chosen by the original Association were
Thomas K. King, President; Jesse S. Thornton, Vice Presi
dent ; Claudius B. Farnsworth, Secretary ; James O. Stark
weather, Treasurer ; Jesse S. Tourtellot, Sylvanus Clapp,
Cyrus Benson, Jr., John H. Willard, Alexander Meggett,
Trustees. The officers of the Free Public Library are a Board of
Trustees, consisting of the President of the Town Council,
the Chairman of the School Committee, and the Superin
tendent of Public Schools, ex officio, and of six citizens at
large, to be chosen by the Town Council. These officers
have the immediate control and management of the Library.
At present the whole number of volumes in the Library is
forty-six hundred.
BANKS.
.The steady increase of business in Pawtucket led to the
establishment of moneyed institutions in 1814. That year
witnessed the organization of a bank on each side of the
river. The Pawtucket Bank was incorporated by the Legis
lature of Massachusetts, on June 13th, 1814, with a capital
of $100,000, and remained in existence till about 1850.
The Manufacturers Bank was chartered by the General
Assembly of Rhode Island in the year named, and remained
here till the general prostration of business in 1829. As it
suffered heavy losses at that time, it -was removed to Provi-

132 HISTORICAL SKETCH
dence. The next bank was styled the Farmers and Mechanics
Bank, and was chartered in 1822, or the following year. The
same cause that impoverished the Manufacturers Bank nearly
ruined this institution. But a new company was organized
under its forfeited charter, and afterward existed in Provi
dence, under the name of the Phenix Bank. The New
England Pacific Bank was chartered in 1818, and was or
ganized in Smithfield. It suffered various losses there, and
was transferred in 1832 to the village of Pawtucket, North
Providence, where greater prosperity attended it. The North
Providence Bank was chartered in 1834, and was closed in
1868. The Peoples Bank was incorporated in 1846 ; the
Slater Bank in 1855.
The necessities of the General Government during the
protracted civil war led to a reorganization of the whole
banking system in our country. In 1865 the First National
Bank was organized in Pawtucket, with a capital of $100,000 ;
and, as the Peoples Bank decided to wind up their affairs, its
capital was mainly transferred to the First National Bank,
and swelled it to $300,000. Its present officers are Olney
Arnold, President, and William H. Park, Cashier. The
Slater Bank also became a National Bank in 1865, and now
has a capital of $300,000. Its President is William F. Sayles ;
Cashier, George W. Newell. The New England Pacific
Bank became the Pacific National Bank in 1866, and has a
capital of $200,000. The President is Charles Moies ; the
Cashier, Thomas Moies.
There are also three Savings Banks in Pawtucket. The
eldest is the Pawtucket Institution for Savings, and was
chartered in 1828, but did not begin, business till 1836. Its
present deposits are two millions, four hundred thousand
dollars. The President is Charles Moies; the Treasurer,
Thomas Moies. The next institution is the Providence
County Savings Bank, which was chartered in 1853, and holds
deposits to the amount of three millions, seven hundred thou
sand dollars, Its President is Charles A. Leonard; its

OF PAWTUCKET. 133
Treasurer, Olney Arnold. The other institution is the Frank
lin Savings Bank, which was incorporated by the Legislature
of Massachusetts in 1857. It holds deposits to the amount
of one million, five hundred thousand dollars. The Presi
dent is Ira D. Ellis ; the Treasurer, George W. Newell.
A few observations on such institutions. It will be noticed
that all these savings banks have been organized since the
disastrous revulsion which befell this town in 1829. One
circumstance that aggravated the evils of that revulsion was
the utter destruction of confidence. For years prior to that
time, unbounded faith was reposed in manufacturers. Scores
of economical farmers in the neighboring country towns sup
posed that the active manufacturers of Pawtucket must needs
be growing rich. They therefore loaned their money to them
with careless faith. The enterprising men of the village had
only to ask, and capital was lent to them without stint.
Nay, there is reason to believe that it was proffered to them
in many instances unasked. What must needs be the result,
where men were sanguine of gain, and anxious to make their
place of residence a populous town ? Just what happened.
Adventurous men entered on daring enterprises. Stepping
aside from their legitimate business, wherein they had gained
skill, they engaged in speculation in land, and in the rearing
of buildings in advance of public needs. Had the capital
they were so confidently wielding been their own, they had
been able to save something from the wreck, even if a revul
sion were ever so severe. But when the revulsion came,
their fate was ruin. Capital, which had been ample for their
legitimate business, was locked up in wild undertakings, and
their property was remorselessly sacrificed. Their creditors
in farming towns passed from the extreme of confidence
to the extreme of distrust. Henceforth manufacturing, in
their vocabulary, meant almost gambling.
Rightly conducted, Savings Banks can be, in a town like
ours, a safe medium between the small capitalist and the
manufacturer. Consider the amount of deposits in these

134 HISTORICAL SKETCH
three institutions. It reaches the large sum of seven millions,
six hundred thousand dollars. Of course, not all of it is
used in Pawtucket, but a large share of it is loaned here, and
swells the capital of the town. What could the place do
without it ? How many less dwellings had been reared, how
many promising enterprises been checked, but for its help !
Now it is a fortunate circumstance that these vast sums are
not in the custody of men who are borrowers themselves.
These officers should be encouraged to maintain an oversight
of the business of borrowers. They are often subjected to
unreasoning criticism for denying loans to importunate specu
lators, but public opinion should commend them in caution
and prudent sagacity. Institutions where the little savings
of industry and self-denial are stored up, should never be
prostituted to help men who overestimate their talents, mo
nopolize all the business of a community. The birth of these
institutions was contemporary with the beginning of an era
of caution in business, and their growth in resources has been
commensurate with the growth of the town. Eleven years
ago the deposits of the first two of these institutions was one
million, four hundred and twenty-two thousand dollars. They
now hold six millions, one hundred thousand dollars. An
increase of four millions, six hundred and seventy-eight
thousand dollars indicates thrift in the saving classes, and
public confidence in the fidelity and skill of the managers
of these institutions. May they receive public support in
wise and discriminating action !
TAVERNS AND HOTELS.
A brief history of these edifices may cast light on the
changes of habits and centres of business. Tradition tells of
an old tavern that stood on the western side of the Blackstone,
close by the old ford. Doubtless it afforded shelter to weary
travelers a hundred and fifty years ago. More definite infor
mation exists of a public house that stood not far from the

OF PAWTUCKET. 135
place now occupied by Capt. Brown's machine shop. It bore
the name of the Martin house. Built by a Capt. Comstock
for his own residence, it subsequently became a tavern, and
was kept by Constant Martin. He paraded before his house
a sign, promising entertainment to man and beast. It was
suspended between two posts, and displayed a likeness of
Oliver Cromwell. Wags styled this a gallows sign, and were
wont to add, " Martin has hung the Protector." The memory
of that house has, of course, perished from this generation.
Still another tavern stood on the corner of Main and the
present Broad street, opposite the Benedict House. The
building still stands, and though it has been much razeed or
curtailed within a few years, it is, as the style of architecture
shows, an ancient edifice. It was built about the middle of
the last century. The builder of it was Rev. Maturin Ballou,
the father of the well-known Rev. Hosea Ballou, long a
leader of the Universalist denomination. The father was a
preacher in the Baptist denomination, and was also a house
carpenter. At that period, from the comparative poverty of
the people, and the lack of literary institutions, scholastic
training was less insisted on in the ministry. Many a man,
gifted with religious zeal and faith, was reckoned an acceptable
preacher, provided he was versed in the sacred Scriptures,
and fluent in utterance. As less exacting demands of an
intellectual character were made on the preacher, he was at
liberty to work during the week at any handcraft. The
elder Ballou was the father of eleven children, most of whom,
save Hosea, were born in this neighborhood. He removed to
Richmond, N. H., about 1770. During the Revolutionary
war the house was used as a tavern, and was kept by the
Mr. Martin already mentioned. At that time it was a rival
public house to Col. Slack's, on the opposite side of the river.
The house, indeed, subsequently went into the possession of
Col. Slack, — to extinguish the rivalry, perhaps.
At a later period a public house stood at the southwest
corner of the present High street. Built by David Ballou

136 HISTORICAL SKETCH
almost a century ago, it was occupied as a tavern for over
thirty years. It was raised April 8th, 1781, and removed
about 1813, when the Lefavour block was reared. In 1812
and 1813 a hotel was reared at the corner of Main and Mill
streets. The edifice was built at the expense of David Wil
kinson ; and for nearly forty years was used exclusively as a
public house. For years afterward, however, it was occupied
as a bank building and for offices in front, but has remained
a boarding house in the rear.
On the eastern side of the river, as has been more than
once stated, stood the tavern of Col. Slack. Its site has been
designated. Col. Slack came to Pawtucket in 1776, and
speedily occupied the building in question. Standing as it
did on the sole thoroughfare to Boston, it was much fre^
quented. Here Washington and his suite stopped on their
way to Boston, as he went to take command of the army ;
and here he also called as he went on his way to New York.
Lafayette more than once found shelter beneath the hospitable
roof; and the Hon. Oliver Starkweather was wont to tell that
he saw him, with his national urbanity, in free conversation
with the inhabitants of the then little hamlet. After the
Bristol and Norfolk turnpike was built, however, early in the
present century, Col. Slack caused the hotel now standing on
Broadway to be reared, and occupied it for a public house.
Beside these taverns there was the Dolly Sabin house on
North Bend. It is reported that the house had been used as
a tavern before Miss Sabin purchased it, and a John Bradford
kept it. Between eighty and ninety years ago, however, two
sisters, by the name of Dolly and Molly Sabin, removed from
Providence, and bought the stand. The house was small
when they purchased it, but they enlarged it, and, with femi
nine taste, laid out a spacious garden, and adorned it with
fruits and flowers. Much company was thereby attracted to
the house beside travelers. Dolly remained unmarried, and
has transmitted her name, by the house, to later generations.
The most prominent hotel of the present day, however, is
the Benedict House. Named though it was from Stephen

OF PAWTUCKET. 137
Benedict, Esq., long the President of the Peoples Bank, it
would commemorate, were it needful, the fame of Dr. Bene
dict. For forty-nine years Dr. Benedict lived in the house
which was removed to make room for the hotel named.
This edifice was built in 1871, and affords ample accommoda
tions to the wayfarer.
CONVENIENCES OF PUBLIC TRAVEL.
In Judge Staples's annals of Providence he publishes a
letter from Samuel Thurber of that city, about ancient modes
of conveying passengers to Boston. And Judge Staples
furnishes further information on the point. These details
have a kind of interest for the inhabitants of this town, since
the vehicles that carried such passengers must have passed
through Main street, and gone by Dolly Sabin's tavern. How
many eyes, long since dimmed in death, used to gaze wonder-
ingly at the bold wayfarers that risked the hazards of a
journey to Shawmut !
" There would be, now and then," says Mr. Thurber, " a
person who wanted a journey to Boston. Col. William
Brown, who lived quite at the northeast corner of the town,
on a farm, kept what was called a curricle, drawn by two
horses; he would be their carrier. It would take him about
three days to go and return. After awhile, Thomas Sabin, I
think, was the first that set up a stage ; he generally went
once a week. After him, Robert Currey, then Samuel
Whipple; when they got through by daylight, they were
thought to do well."
" In July, 1767," says Judge Staples, " we meet with the
first advertisement of a regular stage coach running between
Providence and Boston. At that date, Thomas Sabin adver
tises that one ' starts every Tuesday morning from the house
of Richard Olney, inn-holder, to carry travelers to Boston,
on the most expeditious and cheap rate.' The coach returned
on Thursday mornings. Richard Olney's house was nearly
18

138 HISTORICAL SKETCH
opposite the court house parade, on North Main street. The
notice does not state whether the coach went through in a
day, or stopped the first night at Wrentham, as it did, accord
ing to tradition, in earlier times. In those times, it is said
that the owner of a stage coach occasionally gave notice a
week or ten days beforehand, that, on a given day, he would
start for Boston, if sufficient encouragement offered, taking
care to give notice so that his passengers could settle all their
worldly affairs and make their wills, before commencing such
an arduous and dangerous journey." " In 1783, the stage to
Boston run twice a week."
In a little more than forty years after the last-named date,
public sentiment had so ripened as to demand a local carriage
between Pawtucket and Providence. Horace Field is sup
posed to be the first man who run a diligence. After a short
time he was succeeded by Simon H. Arnold. Perhaps space
can properly be spared to reproduce his advertisement, which
appeared in the Pawtucket Chronicle, December 10th, 1825.
It is as follows :
"PAWTUCKET DILIGENCE.
"The subscriber would inform the Publick that he has recently
purchased the stage known by the name of the Pawtucket Dili
gence, which he intends running twice a day, from this place to
Providence. The Diligence will leave Pawtucket, at 9 o'clock, A.
M., and 2 o'clock, P. M., and will return from Providence at 12
o'clock and 4 P. M., all in the same day. The Books will be
kept at Mr. Blake's Tavern, and the Pawtucket Hotel, in Paw
tucket, and at Messrs. Clarke's, Wilder's and Minard's, in Provi
dence. Simon H. Arnold."
For half a dozen years or more Mr. Arnold seems to have
run his diligence. At a later period, Mr. Abraham H. Adams
established a coach between Pawtucket and Providence.
This also made two trips a day each way. In August, 1836,
Messrs. Wetherell.& Bennett put on a line of omnibuses,
which they continued to run nearly eighteen years. In June,

OF PAWTUCKET. 139
1854, however, Mr. Sterry Fry bought the line and continued
to run his omnibuses till superseded by the horse cars. In
May, 1864, Mr. Hiram H. Thomas completed his arrange
ments, and set the horse cars in motion. In his calculations
he had reckoned on a hundred and twenty thousand passen
gers a year. In a few years the number rose to six hundred
and fifty thousand ; but such had been the increase in cost by
the rise in the prices of horses and iron, that even this
number failed to compensate. The passengers finally in
creased to a million a year. Of course, this included way
passengers. As is well known, however, before the omnibuses were
driven from the ground, a new and formidable rival had
appeared. The Providence and Worcester Railroad was built
to accommodate travelers between those cities. The first
locomotive which passed through Pawtucket over the track
of that road, came through on Saturday, August 21st, 1847.
It bore the name of Lonsdale, and was attached to a gravel
train. This was simply prophetic, however ; the passenger
train over that road began its regular trips on Monday,
October 25th, of the same year.
The Boston and Providence Railroad was constructed as
early as 1835, and the original station in Providence was near
India Point. A branch road, which afterward became the
main trunk, however, was built from Pawtucket to East
Junction, and trains began to run over it on Wednesday,
March 15th, 1848. The Stonington steamboat train com
menced running through Pawtucket on Monday, May 1st,
1848. The regular passenger trains between Boston and
Providence began to run through this town on June 12th of
the same year.
Of course, the numerous trains passing through the town
afforded from the outset easy communication with Provi
dence ; and the low rates of fare on the Providence and
Worcester Railroad have been a great convenience to mechan
ics, clerks, and others, employed in Providence. At the.

140 HISTORICAL SKETCH
present time sixty-three passenger trains pass through this
town daily, and fifteen freight trains. Two years ago the
number of freight trains was far greater, but a branch road
was constructed from Valley Falls to East Providence, which
carries freight to deep water, and receives it therefrom. This
road passes through the northeastern and eastern part of
Pawtucket, and has already given great relief to the town,
by lessening the danger caused by an excessive frequency of
trains. Cars began to run regularly over the branch road in
the fall of 1875.
Beside these railroads, another is now in process of con
struction, called the Moshassuck Valley Railroad. It starts
from the main trunk of the Providence and Worcester
Railroad, between Pawtucket and Providence, and follows
the valley to the extensive bleachery of Messrs. Sayles. It
crosses Mineral Spring avenue just east of Mr. C. D. Owen's
mill.
BRIDGES.
It was more than half a century after the settlement of
the western village before a bridge was thrown across the
Pawtucket. The comparative smallness of the population,
and their consequent inability to contribute to the expense,
delayed the building of such a structure. And perhaps
another reason justified procrastination. The quantity of
water in the Blackstone was less regular than it is now.
The numerous reservoirs which have been constructed for
the service of mills, keep a large volume of water in reserve,
that swells the quantity in summer. At that early period,
however, during the warmest season of the year, it was easy,
most of the time, to ford the stream just below the falls ; and
in the winter the ice often built a free bridge. But early in
the last century the subject of a bridge began to be agitated.
The Colony of Rhode Island invited Massachusetts to join
with her in providing such a convenience. A committee
seems accordingly to have been appointed by the Legislature

OF PAWTUCKET. 141
of the latter Colony in 1712, to consider where the bridge
should be built. On May 29th they made the following
REPORT :
"We are humbly of opinion, that a place called Pawtucket
Falls, near the Iron works on said river, is the most suitable place
to erect said bridge, and, when built, [it] may be of benefit to some
parts of this Province, especially it will be of service for traveling
into the Narraganset country, Connecticut, and New York, at all
times of the year, particularly in the winter season, when, by rising
of the water, and great quantity of ice coming down the river, it
is very difficult and hazardous, which, if there be a bridge, will
make travelling more easy and safe.
Isaac Winslow and four others, Com."'
Massachusetts Colony Records, Vol. ix, pp. 273, 274.
(The expression "the Iron works" justifies the belief, that
even at that early time a good deal was doing here in both
smelting and manufacturing iron.)
The first bridge was accordingly built at the expense of
the two colonies in 1713. Probably it was a fragile structure,
for in sixteen years the General Assembly voted to rebuild it,
provided Massachusetts would pay half the expense. But
that Colony procrastinated for some reason, and the Assembly
ordered it to be " demolished, that it may not remain as a
trap to endanger men's lives." Gov. Jenks was then Gover
nor of Rhode Island, and his brother William acted as a
committee in behalf of the Colony to see to the work of
pulling the bridge down. Massachusetts was also represented
by a committee. But both residents and travelers missed the
bridge, and in a year or two a new one was built. Again, in
1741, it was rebuilt. In 1746, however, a new boundary line,
under the royal permission, was run by authority of the
General Assembly, and from that time Massachusetts refused
to pay anything for maintaining a bridge over the Pawtucket.
But it was so great a convenience to the village on the east,
that its inhabitants, before they became a separate town, and

142 HISTORICAL SKETCH
afterward as a municipality, always assisted in rebuilding the
bridge. The bridge first erected stood a little south of the place
where the stone bridge now stands ; but afterward the present
site was chosen. As has already been mentioned, about two-
thirds of the bridge was swept away by the great freshet of
1807 ; but it was speedily rebuilt. In 1817 it was again
replaced, largely at the expense of North Providence. In
1832 the work was done anew, partly at the expense of the
town, partly by the aid of private subscriptions. In 1839 the
unwelcome necessity came to repair the bridge, and the
question was raised, On whom should this perpetual burden
fall ? Investigation showed that the obligation rested on the
State. In 1843 the old bridge was torn down, and a new one.
built. Only fourteen years passed away, however, before
this bridge was found needing great repairs; and the question
was forced on the public mind, Is it wise to let ourselves be
annoyed every few years by the discomfort and expense of
building a new bridge ? There was but one answer to this
inquiry, and it was resolved to build a stone bridge. To
cause as little inconvenience as possible, all preparations
possible were made during the fall of that year, and the
winter and spring of the next. Independence day in 1858
was honored by a public celebration in Pawtucket, and the
old bridge was used for the last time to accommodate the
procession. On the 6th of July travel was suspended, and
the work of destruction was thenceforth hurried on. Re
building quickly followed. As on every previous occasion,
the bridge was set a little higher, and the approaches to it on
both sides were elevated. Four months of persistent labor
built the piers, threw the arches across, and finished the road
bed; and on the 4th of November, 1858, the bridge was
opened to travel. The occasion was fitly celebrated by a
public procession, a dinner at Manchester Hall, and other
tokens of gladness. The celebration was honored by the
presence of Gov. Dyer and various other dignitaries of the

OF PAWTUCKET. 143
State ; and the speeches at the table appositely showed the
importance to the public of the completion of so perma
nent a bridge. For nearly eighteen years it has performed
its office, and promises to stand unharmed for a century,
unless shaken by an earthquake, or blown up by some
explosive. Beside this bridge, other structures which cross the Black
stone for the accommodation of the inhabitants of Pawtucket,
deserve to be briefly mentioned. The first of these was built
at the north end of Mill street about half a century ago. The
most active promoter of it was Mr. John Kennedy, of Central
Falls. He carried round a subscription paper, and obtained
funds, chiefly from the citizens of that village, for building a
bridge. Report says that the usual expedient, a lottery, was
employed to furnish help. The bridge was commenced in
1826, and finished in the following year. The day of its
completion was honored by a celebration, and speeches were
made and other festivities enjoyed on the bridge itself. This
structure stood for several years, though a long time elapsed
before Pawtucket assumed any of the burden of supporting
it. Meanwhile population had increased in the part of the
town near that bridge, and the old structure became inse
cure. A new bridge was demanded, and, in 1871, an iron one
was built at the joint expense of Pawtucket and Smithfield.
The next bridge reared over the Blackstone in this neighbor
hood was built from what is now Central avenue. Mr. Elijah
Ingraham had bought a farm on what has long been known
as Pleasant View. It was designed to bring the territory
into market for house lots, and the place was most easily
approached from the northern part of Mill street. A wooden
bridge was therefore thrown across the stream in 1853. The
pleasantness of the situation, and the steady increase of
population, caused the neighborhood to be rapidly settled, and
the old bridge in a few years became unsafe. On September
4th, 1868, therefore, it was voted at a town meeting in
Pawtucket that " A sum of money not to exceed six thousand

144 HISTORICAL SKETCH
dollars be appropriated by this town for building one-half of
a bridge across the Blackstone river at Pleasant View." On
April 7th of the following year a thousand dollars more was
appropriated. The other part of the cost for the iron bridge
thus constructed was paid by the town of Smithfield.
The growing population demanded more conveniences.
The stone bridge was often crowded by the multitude of
teams passing from one side of the river to the other. It
was desired on both sides of the Blackstone, that a bridge
be built opposite Exchange street. North Providence and
Pawtucket voted to construct such a bridge, and it. was built
during the winter of 1871-2, and the early spring of the
latter year, and was opened for travel on May 3d, 1872. This
is constructed of iron also, and cost $30,000.
Still another bridge seemed demanded, and, after consoli
dation, it was resolved on. At a town meeting held on March
1st, 1875, the Town Council were authorized to^uild a bridge
from the foot of Division street across the Pawtucket river,
of such materials as they deemed most suitable. They accord
ingly decided to build of stone, and a massive structure is
now building.
FIRE DEPARTMENT.
The act of the Rhode Island General Assembly, incorpo
rating the " District of Pawtucket," in North Providence,
was passed on February 17th, 1801.
The first meeting of the district in compliance with their
charter, was held on the first Monday in April, 1801, at the inn
of Otis Tiffany. And the following officers were chosen : Mod
erator, Stephen Jenks; Clerk, Jerathmeel Jenks; Collector,
Benjamin Arnold ; Treasurer, Otis Tiffany ; Assessors, James
Mason, Samuel Slater, Jerathmeel Jenks; Presidents of Fire
Wards, Nathaniel Croade, Oziel Wilkinson, Stephen Jenks.
The first fire engine purchased by the district was built by
Abraham, Isaac and David Wilkinson, and delivered April

OF PAWTUCKET. 145
25th, 1803. The price paid them was $353.50. This engine
continued to be used by Engine Company No. 1 until
December, 1844. At that time a new engine was purchased
for the company, of Joel Bates, of Philadelphia.
The organization of a fire department on the east side of
the river occurred at a later date. A meeting of persons
styled "the proprietors of the engine in the village of Paw
tucket, in the town of Seekonk," was held at Eliphalet
Slack's inn, on Friday evening, December 11th, 1812. Oliver
Starkweather, Esq., was chosen Moderator, and William
Allen, Clerk. The names of twenty-one persons were desig
nated for Engine Company No. 2, and the following individuals
were chosen officers of the company, to serve until the annual
meeting in the following May: Director, Joseph Bucklin;
Vice Director, Job Wheaton ; Collector, Benjamin Bowen ;
Messenger, Addington Davenport; Clerk, John French, Jr.
By a record on the books of the town, it seems that on
May 31st, 1838, it was voted to appropriate the interest of
the surplus revenue deposited with the town, to the amount
of $750, for the purchase of a fire engine.
These were the beginnings of the Fire Department for the
two sections of the present town. For over three-score years
and ten the first-named district held its annual meetings, and
strove to maintain an efficient organization to fight the fiery
foe. For sixty years and upward the other district vied with
them. New and improved fire engines were from time to
time supplied, and the two villages were preserved from any
very disastrous conflagrations. An important help in subdu
ing flames has been supplied for years by the force pumps
connected with the various mills.
Each village, up to the time of consolidation, maintained
its own organization. For some years a part of the depart
ment east of the river were paid for their services; but on
the western side a. volunteer organization was maintained.
After the consolidation, the Town Council speedily took steps
for reorganizing the department, On the 15th of June, 1874,
19

146 HISTORICAL SKETCH
an ordinance providing for a paid Fire Department was
adopted, but the actual service did not begin till July 13th.
As at present arranged, the Fire Department consists of one
chief engineer, two assistant engineers, and five companies,
containing in all sixty-four men. There are five steamers,
and one hook and ladder truck. Five men are permanently
employed, and there are seven horses owned by the town,
ready for immediate service. The rest of the men answer
to stroke of the bell at any time, and are dismissed when
the fire is extinguished. There are three engine houses.
To help the efficiency of the department, a fire alarm
telegraph has been provided. Connected with it are thirty-
five boxes, five bell-strikers, and the necessary battery and
machinery to operate the mechanism. This telegraph was
built in 1874, and put in operation on November 14th of that
year, at an expense to the town of $12,100. It has seventeen
miles of wire, and is placed on 221 poles and about 140
buildings. And here may be mentioned another public convenience.
The lighting of the streets bj_ night is a matter cared for in
every well regulated town or city. In the little hamlet on
the east of the river, this convenience was regulated on an
economical scale years ago. At a town meeting held April
6th, 1832, the following vote was passed: "That the Select
men provide four lamps, to supply them with oil, to locate
them at such places, and keep them lighted at such times as
they may think proper." Although it is not known that any
corresponding vote was immediately passed in the western
hamlet, it is not to be presumed that either the people or the
officials would consent to be outdone in so grave a matter.
Doubtless, as many as half a dozen lamps were quickly pro
vided. For twenty years, however, or more, since the Gas
Company was organized, street lamps have shed their welcome
radiance on the more public streets in each village. At
present, for the convenience of the consolidated town, 237
gas lanterns, and 156 globe gas lanterns, direct the traveler's

OF PAWTUCKET. 147
steps by night. The latter are supplied by gas generated in
the globes themselves by naphtha.
MILITARY HISTORY.
It is impossible in a mere sketch to give a detail of the
military experiences of the inhabitants of these two commu
nities. In fact, it is impossible, for the first century of the
existence of these villages, to separate their history from that
of the parent town to which each belonged. It was in
Rehoboth that the first blood in King Philip's war was shed ;
twenty-nine of the men of that thinly settled town were
supplied for the army, and thirteen of them were in the great
fight at Narragansett, in Rhode Island. But how many of
them came from the little hamlet of Pawtucket is not now
known. Leaping over an interval of nearly a century, how
ever, the reader reaches the era of the Revolution. Among
the foremost towns of the Colony of Massachusetts, to counsel
resistance to British aggression, was the town of Rehoboth;
and the chairman of the town's committee of correspondence
was Hon. Ephraim Starkweather, who has already been
mentioned. He was a man of education and manly courage,
arid, when Gov. Hancock was chief magistrate of Massachu
setts, and felt his need of private councillors during the
gloom of the war, he called to his side, among others, Mr.
Starkweather. The drafts of men from Rehoboth, during the Revolution,
for various terms of service, demanded two hundred and six
men ; and they were promptly supplied. Beside these, there
were voluntary enlistments to the number of one hundred
and four. How many of these three hundred and ten were
from the eastern hamlet of Pawtucket cannot be told; but
the influence of Mr. Starkweather was doubtless powerfully
felt by his immediate neighbors, and it is safe to assume that
Pawtucket furnished her share.
As for the western hamlet, it is known that it was then a

148 HISTORICAL SKETCH
part of North Providence. That town furnished some of the
bravest officers of the Revolution. Commodore Esek Hopkins
was originally commander-in-chief of the little American
navy ; and it has been mentioned that Mr. Sylvanus Brown
served under him. And it is highly probable that others from
Pawtucket were in the naval service. Capt. Stephen Olney,
too, of the same town, was a man whose prowess shone con
spicuous at Yorktown. No braver act was performed during
the Revolution than his, in leading that storming column,
under the command of Lafayette and Hamilton, against the
British redoubt, and shouting, after he forced his way through
the abatis, and leaped over the parapet, while the bayonets of
the foe were on the point of piercing him, Capt. Olney' 's
company, — -form here ! Some from Pawtucket were under
his command during the war. But the fuller records of the
military affairs of Rhode Island during the Revolution were
sent to Washington scores of years ago, and were burned in
the capitol, when that city was fired by the British during
the second war with Great Britain.
But scanty accounts remain of the aid afforded by the
inhabitants of these villages during the second contest with
Great Britain. At one time in that war the militia of Paw
tucket were summoned to assist in throwing up entrenchments
to the south of Providence lor the protection of that town,
and responded to the call. The Free Masons also went down
as an organization, and labored on the earthworks. A record
is also preserved of a town meeting during that war, held in
North Providence, which tells of a vote passed to increase
the wages of the men drafted from the town. Such, a vote
shows that some of our predecessors rendered service in that
strife in garrison or on the tented field.
Further search in the office of the Adjutant General of
our State, shows that during the war of 1812-15, a draft was
made in Rhode Island for five hundred men. They were
organized into a battalion of four companies. There is no
evidence in the records of that office that they were required

OF PAWTUCKET. 149
to leave the State, but were probably assigned to garrison
duty. Of this number eleven were drafted from North
Providence, and their names are as follows: William Tripp,
Elisha Bowdish, Marvel Hawkins, Benjamin Martin, Reuben
Place, Jacob Stacey, William Randall, Jr., John Pitcher, Jr.,
Jeremiah Barrows, Minzey Sweet, John Whipple. How
many of them were from the village of Pawtucket is not
known. Till within twenty years but few independent companies
have existed in Pawtucket. History preserves the fact, that
just before the Revolutionary war, a company was chartered
in the Colony, bearing the name of the North Providence
Rangers. In 1824 a rifle corps was formed in the village of
Pawtucket. Its commander was Col. Samuel Jacobs. He
was an officer that had seen service in the second war with
Great Britain, and manifested a lively interest in the discipline
and efficiency of his company. As the illustrious Frenchman,
who had come to aid our fathers in the darkest hour of the
Revolution, had just landed on our shores to see once more
the land for whose freedom he had fought, the company paid
him the compliment of calling their organization the Paw
tucket Fayette Rifle Corps. Unluckily their uniform was
not completed in season to allow their welcoming their
distinguished guest, when he passed through the town. The
company maintained a somewhat capricious existence for
about ten years, and then expired. One of the surviving
members of that corps relates that he and some of his
comrades were consoled for their disappointment, by witness
ing in Providence the demonstrative act of Capt. Stephen
Olney, in clasping his old commander in his arms.
The more recent war, wherein our country was engaged
from 1861 to 1865, is too vividly remembered by the present
generation to require more than a reference to it. How
terrible those years were, millions in our land recollect. How
well calculated to abate national conceit, millions keenly feel.
A few years before that strife began,— in 1857, indeed,— a

150 HISTORICAL SKETCH
military organization was formed in Pawtucket. Its origi
nators little dreamed of the stern draft that was ere long to
be made on their patriotism and courage. Formed with a
feeling- that it might be serviceable to put down any riot or
local disorder that might break forth, its members realized not
that a demand would be made on their heroism to aid in
stifling a gigantic rebellion. But from that little band went
forth many a soldier who fell on the battle-field, many an
officer that trained others to suffer and to fight for their
country. The Pawtucket Light Guard was formed in 1857, and
became the nucleus of several companies that went forth
under successive calls from the General Government. In
April, 1861, indeed, when Baltimore was in the possession of
a disloyal mob, and treason sought to sever the national capital
from the loyal north, among the first to go to the aid of the
General Government was the Light Guard. Prepared to
open the way to Washington, if need were, at the point of
the bayonet, that company showed that it had been formed
for something more serious than holiday parade. At the first
battle of Bull Run, Levi Tower, who had been promoted to
the command of a company in the Second Rhode Island
Regiment, fell with his face . to the foe, one of the earliest
martyrs from our State to' the cause of freedom and order.*
And scores of others from this town yielded up their lives on
the battle-field, or languished and died in hospitals during
that weary war.
To complete the record of the services of the Pawtucket
Light Guard, it may be stated that that company, when
starting in April, 1861, was designated as Company E, in the
First Rhode Island Regiment. Of the one hundred com
posing it, more than eighty reentered the service after the
* The Colonel of that regiment, John S. Slocum, had been till within a short
time, an active citizen of Pawtucket; and his mother, and the mother of Major
Sullivan Ballou, and the parents of Capt. Tower, were living within less than half
a mile of one another on the fatal day when their sons fell on the deadly field.

OF PAWTUCKET. 151
first three months' campaign, and thirty-seven of them won
commissions in regiments from our own or other States. Of
the commanders of the Pawtucket Light Guard, three —
Olney Arnold, Horace Daniels, and William R. Walker —
subsequently became Major Generals in this State.
In the course of the war for the suppression of the rebel
lion, thirteen companies were raised in the two villages on
opposite sides of the river, and many other citizens of the
town served in different regiments sent forth from Massachu
setts and Rhode Island. Beside these, several are known to
have enlisted in the navy, and rendered good service on the
sea. By the records of the State, it is ascertained that the
town of North Providence paid for bounties, $36,650; and
for aiding the families of volunteers, $81,234. A large share
of this, of course, was paid by the western village of Paw
tucket. The town of Pawtucket also paid for) bounties,
$13,250; and for aid to volunteers' families, $35,077. A
portion of this sum, however, was repaid by the State.
And an important service was rendered during the war by
the Home Guard. A local organization was formed with that
title, and was commanded by Col. Jacob Dunnell. It kept
alive the military spirit, and thus facilitated the raising of
new companies as they were called for; and also fostered in
the community an active interest in behalf of the families of
volunteers. At the present time the Pawtucket Light Guard suspend
their military exercises. There are, however, three organi
zations that keep up meetings for drill. They bear the
following names: the Tower Light Battery; the Pawtucket
Horse Guards; and Company B, of 5th Battalion of Infantry.
PAWTUCKET MUTUAL FIRE INSURANCE CO.
This company was chartered in 1848, but did not begin
operations in earnest till 1851. Its first President was
Edward S. Wilkinson, Esq. The first Secretary was Capt.

152 HISTORICAL SKETCH
John C. Tower, and the first Treasurer was Jesse S. Tour-
tellot. The original Directors were Messrs. Alanson Thayer,
Stephen Benedict, Gideon L. Spencer, Charles Moies, John
H. Weeden, Claudius B. Farnsworth, James C. Starkweather,
Gideon C. Smith, Horace Miller, and Alvin Jenks. Capt.
Tower acted as Secretary for but a short time. On his
resignation, January 13th, 1849, Mr. S. Gano Benedict was
chosen in his stead.
A quarter of a century has wrought a great change in the
officers. A majority of the above-named persons have passed
away from earth, and of the original Directors but a single
one retains his place. The present officers are Robert
Sherman, President; Isaac Shove, Secretary; and H. N.
Ingraham, Treasurer. The present Directors are Messrs.
Charles Moies, Stephen P. Fisk, Ira D. Ellis, George L.
Walker, L- B. Darling, J. E. Dispeau, George A. Muinford,
W. W. Blodgett, Thomas Moies, and A. A. Mann.
The company has enjoyed much prosperity during the
twenty-five years for which it has been in active operation.
Its losses have been comparatively small, and the public have
extended to it full confidence. A few figures will show its
present condition. Its present risks are about ten millions of
dollars. ' Its average losses for a few years have been from
ten to twelve thousand dollars a year. Its cash income
(premiums) is about twenty-nine thousand dollars per year.
Its cash assets are a hundred thousand dollars; its total
capital is about seven hundred and fifty thousand dollars.
Its office is on the corner of Main and Mill streets.

FEMALE BENEFICENT SOCIETY.
Among the various philanthropic organizations of the town,
one of the oldest is the Female Beneficent Society. Its very
name indicates the object for which it was established. To
aid the poor and distressed up to the full measure of its
resources, is the aim which its members propose. It was

OF PAWTUCKET. 153
organized in the year 1809. The first meeting was held on
the 28th of April. Its officers were as follows: President,
Mrs. Lydia Croade; Treasurer, Mrs. Hannah Slater; Secre
tary, Mrs. Sarah Starkweather. The Directresses were Mrs.
Sarah Slack, Mrs. Rachel Tyler, Mrs. Lydia Wilkinson, Mrs.
Nancy Tiffany, Mrs. Mary Kennedy, Mrs. M. Peck. The
Collectors were Mrs. Phebe Manchester, Mrs. Betsejr May,
Mrs. Lydia Kennedy, Mrs. Amelia Weston, Mrs. Eliza
Davenport. " The poor ye have always with you," said the Son of God ;
and for more than three-score years this institution has striven
to remind the citizens of the place of those other words of
the Lord — "It is happier to give than to receive." It is to
be hoped that hundreds in years to come will learn the truth
of this saying, as scores have learned it in years that have
passed. The present officers of this society are the following :
President, Mrs. S. H. Vinton; Secretar}r, Miss Carrie Mum-
ford ; Treasurer, Mrs. William Havens ; Directors, Mrs.
William Havens, Mrs. George Bullen, Mrs. John H. Weeden,
Mrs. Edwin Clapp, Mrs. John B. Read; Collector on east
side, Miss Nellie Blodgett; Collector on west side, Mrs.
John Clarner.
BLOCKS OF BUILDINGS.
Within thirty or forty, years several substantial blocks of
buildings have been reared in this place. Three brick blocks
were reared, indeed, more than half a century ago. The
Lefavour block, so called, and the Hotel block were erected
in 1812 or 1813, and the Ellis block about 1820 ; but the
severe business revulsion in 1829 checked any further enter
prises of the kind for years. The Manchester block was
built, however, in 1848. The A. M. Read block was built
in 1849, and the John B. Read block in 1850. The Almy
block was reared in 1854.
During the past dozen years, however, the more tasty and
substantial blocks in the town for business purposes have
20

154 HISTORICAL SKETCH
been reared. The first was the Dexter block, on Main street.
The late Capt. N. G. B. Dexter began to build this edifice a
year before his death, and it was scarcely finished at the time
of his decease in April, 1866.* About seven years afterward,
the heirs of the Miller estate tore down the dilapidated
wooden building on the corner of Main and Mill streets, and
erected the noble edifice which adorns the spot. The work
was fitly supplemented by the fixing in the front of an illu
minated clock. This was done by subscription, under the
exertions of Capt. H. F. Jenks. Capt. Jenks undertook the
entire charge of obtaining and putting up the clock. After
ascertaining the probable expense, he performed the thankless
task of obtaining subscriptions from friends in the town, and
then visited New York, Boston, and other cities, to find out
the best mode of making and arranging the clock and dial.
Servilely following no model, but taxing his own skill ahd
taste, he has secured for his native town an illuminated clock
unsurpassed by any in this part of our land. The clock
itself was manufactured by G. M. Stevens & Co., of Boston,
and will run eight days without winding. An ingenious
contrivance provides for shutting off the lights at any hour
desired. The dial is of French plate glass, four feet in diam
eter, and seven-sixteenths of an inch in thickness. The letters
* This building was reared on a lot termed the Croade estate. That lot and the
adjoining lot to the east belonged to Nathaniel Croade. At the time of his decease
he was living in the house now occupied by Dr. Wheaton. Mr. Croade has the
reputation of being the first merchant in the place who kept an exclusively dry
goods store; though the term dry goods then included boots, shoes, and hats. He
had been prospered in business, and, after his decease, his wife caused the building
that he had used as a shop to be removed, and laid out the land for a flower garden.
Either this was the first in the place, or it was laid out more elaborately than had
been customary, and utilitarianism indignantly asked, Why this waste? Many
seem to have queried, indeed, whether land that could have borne potatoes, or have
been occupied by a drinking saloon, ought to be appropriated to flowers. But
Mrs. Croade doubtless thought that, since God had clothed the lilies with a beauty
surpassing even that of Solomon's court, He would pardon one of His children for
delighting in flowers. Enough that in a world like ours, where the valleys are
clothed with grain, there are objects that simply minister to the love of the
beautiful, and regale the nostrils with their fragrance. She therefore preserved
her flower-bed.

Of PAWTUCKET. 155
or numerals are of a peculiar pattern, and differ from anything
in this region. Graceful in outline, yet bold in form, they
are gilt on a black ground, and exhibit the former color by
day, the latter by night. The clock was lighted for the
first time on the closing evening of the year 1873, and prom
ises to tell, for years to come, to the gazer by day. or by
night, the hour which has arrived.
In 1874 another block was built on the same street. It
was reared by G. L. Spencer, and bears the name of Spencer
block. It fitly adjoins the elegant Miller block. In the
same year Littlefield Brothers made a contract with French,
Mackenzie & Co., to have a block reared on the west side of
Mill street. In extent, solidity, and beauty, it is an ornament
to the street, and properly chronicles the enterprise of its
owners. It was ready for occupation in January, 1875.
During 1874, Dexter Brothers were forwarding an improve
ment on their lot at the corner of East avenue. That lot
was appropriated in 1822 to the erection of a building called
Union block. The parties at whose expense it was reared
were Mr. Slater, Major Ebenezer Tyler, and David Wilkinson.
Till 1844 it was used for stores and offices, but was at that
time bought by Mr. Enoch Adams, and converted into a
cotton mill. In .1851 it was purchased by Capt. Dexter, and
used for the same purpose by him and his sons. After his
decease, Dexter Brothers continued to run the mill, till
finally they resolved to concentrate their business in one
mill, and therefore removed the machinery to the mill on
the east side of the river. Their design was to demolish the
old mill, and rear in its place an edifice that should be an
ornament to the town, and that should supply important
public needs. They succeded in both these ends. Although
the completion of the building was delayed by unforeseen
hindrances, the spacious rooms of the First National Bank
were ready on the 5th of July, 1875. A festive gathering of
the stockholders and friends of that institution was held
there on the afternoon of July 3d. Subsequently the Slater

156 HISTORICAL SKETCH
National Bank took up their quarters in the lower story of
the building; and in the following fall the post office was
removed to its rooms.

GROWTH OF SEEKONK PLAINS.
As showing the changes which a few years have wrought,
a slight reference to the extensive tract of land in the eastern '
part of the town may be allowed. It is well known that this
is but a continuation of a large prairie that has long been
styled Seekonk Plains. The origin of that name has already
been told. For purposes of cultivation the region has never
been much prized. For a century or more it was used as a
vast sheep pasture. The inhabitants of Seekonk who kept
sheep would shear them in the spring, mark them, and then
let them run to shift for themselves during the rest of the
season. A resident upon the western section of that plain, however,
mentions his experience. He arrived here just before 1840,
and was much surprised to find so extensive an unoccupied
tract, in the immediate neighborhood of so thriving a town.
Buying a piece of land in the vicinity of the present town
farm, he has found that skillful labor makes even such land
profitable. But the progress of settlement is what he would
fain see chronicled. In 1839, in all that part of the plain
lying in Pawtucket, and reaching into Seekonk, were only
three houses. There was no road across the plain south of
the Taunton or Lebanon road. The new resident, who was
bent on testing the capabilities of the soil, offered to give
land to make what is now known as Brook street a thorough
fare sixty feet wide ; but the proposition was rejected on the
ground that thirty feet was wide enough. Now surveyors
are trying to straighten and broaden that road, and many are
lamenting the want of forecast which threw away the oppor
tunity of making a broad highway, from the impression that
it could never be needed.

OF PAWTUCKET. 157
Time has rolled on, however ; Pawtucket has continued
willfully to grow ; her citizens are pushing out into the out
skirts, and a hundred houses are now on that despised plain.
A hundred more lots are platted, and likely to be occupied
when business revives. The solitude has' been invaded by a
railroad, too. The branch track of the Providence and
Worcester Railroad, which seeks deep water for convenience
in obtaining coal and other heavy freight, runs through the
prairie, and touches the head of the bay just below Providence.
HISTORY OF RELIGIOUS PARISHES.
The history of any town or nation is manifestly defective,
if no account is given of its religious organizations. Acute
and thoughtful men recognize the power of religious convic
tions and institutions on both public and private weal. The
opinions of two eminent writers may appropriately be quoted
to justify the details hereafter to be given. Says Muller :
" To my mind the great epochs in the world's history are
marked not by the foundation or the destruction of empires,
by the migrations of races, or by French revolutions. All this
is outward history, made up of events that seem gigantic and
overpowering to those only who cannot see beyond or beneath.
The real history of man is the history of religion, — the won
derful ways by which the different families of the human
race advanced towards a truer knowledge and a deeper love
of God. This is the foundation that underlies all profane
history; it is the light, the soul, and life of history, and
without it all history would indeed be profane."
And De Tocqueville writes in a similar strain :
" When the religion of a people is destroyed," says he,
"doubt gets hold of the higher powers of the intellect, and
half paralyzes all the others. Every man accustoms himself
to have only confused and changing notions on the subjects
most interesting to his fellow-creatures and himself." "Such
a condition," he continues, " cannot but enervate the soul,

158 HISTORICAL SKETCH
relax the springs of the will, and prepare a people for servi
tude." " I am inclined to think that, if faith be wanting in
man, he must be subject; and if he be free, he must believe."
The history of Pawtucket, in one of its chief branches, is
but a history of the persistent application of the energies of
the soul to the obtaining of a mastery over some of the
hidden powers of nature. Feeble faith, languid thought,
faltering determination, had never made the inventions that
have given Pawtucket fame, or pushed to success the enter
prises which have won for her thrift. None but God can
know how largely her material prosperity has sprung from
the spiritual qualities that were fostered in her fanes, or fed
by the prayers of her closets. And her richest prosperity
had but hastened her ruin, had not Christian institutions and
instrumentalities riveted on her children's minds the fact that
man is nobler than any fruit of human skill; and that a
sanctified soul is of more value than the most delicate fabric
of the loom, or the richest product of the die.
It was more than a century, however, before any parish
was organized in Pawtucket. During the century for which
the western village remained a part of Providence, many of
her inhabitants were connected with the church in that town.
On the eastern side of the river, some of the citizens in that
hamlet were members of the church in Rehoboth. Some of
the Friends, too, were accustomed, on the first day, to go to
Smithfield or to Providence to muse and worship with their
brethren. It is not to be doubted, however, that, as in the
infancy of Christianity itself, believers were wont to meet
for praise and prayer in private houses. But the time came
when the inhabitants became aware of the importance of a
fane for worship. Sensuous as man is, he needs something
to speak to the eye itself of the presence of God. He feels
that even though the heaven of heavens cannot contain
Jehovah, much less any temple which human hands rear, it
is yet profitable to have some place that can be deemed a
special sanctuary for the God of Jacob. The temple, though

OF PAWTUCKET. 159
ever so humble, if consecrated by prayer and dedicated to
worship, is yet a reminder to the passer-by that God has an
abode among men. The spire pointing heavenward directs
faith upward, and the Sabbath bell sounds its call to the soul
to draw nigh God. And it is a grave calamity for a com
munity to be destitute of a temple to which men can easily
repair. The feeble, the infirm, cannot, the listless will not,
visit a sanctuary which is too remote from their dwellings.
CATHOLIC BAPTIST SOCIETY.
Convictions like these spurred many of the inhabitants of
the two hamlets of Pawtucket, near the close of the last cen
tury, to take steps for building a meeting house in this place.
Hence the following record appears of a meeting held in the
western village :
" At a meeting of the principal Inhabitants of Pawtucket for the
purpose of meditating on Ways and means for building a Meet-
ing-House, holden on the 26th Day of November, 1792, at the
dwelling house of Samuel Healey, Capt. Stephen Jenks is chosen
Moderator, and Esek Esten chosen Clerk.
"It is voted that Nathaniel Croade, Esek Esten, and Jerahmeel
Jenks, be and are hereby appointed to inquire and find out where
the most suitable Lot of land can be obtained, with ways and
avenues thereunto, to build a Meeting House on, with the price
thereof, and also to procure a Subscription paper in the most proper
form for the purpose ; and make Report to our next meeting."
The meeting adjourned to the 10th of December, and on
that day convened at the same place. According to vote,
the committee appointed at the previous meeting made their
report. After mentioning that they had taken a general view
of the village, they recommend, on the score of convenience
and capability of ornament, a lot on Mr. Samuel Healey's
land, adjoining Mr. Sweetland's house lot, " as the most
eligible." It appears, too, that both Mr. Healey and Mr.
Sweetland will give a highway to said lot. Each offers to

160 HISTORICAL SKETCH
give ten feet of his land, thus making a highway of twenty
feet. " We have bounded out said lot nine rods square," say
the committee, "and the price is 50 dollars."
Perhaps it can be profitably mentioned that, at the time
named, the only way of reaching the site of the First Baptist
meeting house was by Hedge lane. That lane started from
Main street, where Broad street now enters it, and run in a
winding course to where the Methodist house of worship now
stands. Indeed, it was what afterward became North Union
street. From near the Methodist meeting house a lane run
in the direction of the present High street to the cemetery
on Read street, and the contemplated house of worship. It
was a great convenience, therefore, if the temple was to be
reared there, to have a direct highway from Main street.
That highway was accordingly laid "out in due time, and
long known as Baptist lane. Its later designation is Meeting
street. According to the notice, the assembly had gathered to
meditate, but this report proved a signal to wrangle. The
honest record says: " Upon the above report being read, there
arose a dispute about the price of said lot." There is no
telling to what that dispute would have led, but for an
opportune circumstance. A New England village oft con
tains what Milton calls a " fierce democratic," and they wax
vehement over anything that savors of extortion. Good
Nicholas Brown happened to be present, however, and effect
ually quenched the flame of indignant eloquence by offering
to pay for the lot himself. The meeting, therefore, pro
ceeded to meditate further, and the committee reported that
they had drawn up a subscription paper ; and Mr. Samuel
Healey and Mr. Jerahmeel Jenks were chosen a committee
to procure subscriptions, receive the money subscribed, and
build the meeting house. As a matter of interest, it may be
worth while to copy the heading of the subscription paper.
It was in substance as follows :

OF PAWTUCKET. 161
" Whereas Pawtucket is now become a large, compact village,
containing upwards of fifty families within a quarter of a mile
from the centre, not having any Meeting House therein, nor any
within about three miles therefrom ; but has within that distance
convenient highways from more than twelve directions centring
thereto; hence it is not only very convenient for said village and
the adjacent Neighborhoods, but of vast importance that a com
modious Meeting house should be erected therein : ' For whoso
ever (saith Paul) shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be
saved. How then shall they call on Him in whom they have not
believed ? And how shall they believe in Him of whom they have
not heard ? And how shall they hear without a Preacher?' and
how shall they accommodate a Preacher without a Meeting
House ?
" Wherefore we the subscribers do hereby agree with and
mutually promise each other, to contribute the several sums of
money or other articles affixed to our respective names, within a
reasonable time, for the laudable purpose of purchasing a Lot and
building a meeting house thereon next summer :
" Provided that the Amount shall equal or exceed eight hun
dred dollars on or before the first day of February next.
"And whereas the good people of Pawtucket were not edu
cated by one Priest, and hence have imbibed, and adhere to a
variety of Religious tenets ; and whereas said House will be
sufficient to receive and accommodate them all ; and whereas also
a fair Discussion upon both sides of every question is as necessary
in Religion as in Politics in the Search after Truth ;
" It is therefore agreed and hereby Declared that said Meeting
House shall be founded upon the most Liberal Establishment, to
the end that every Sect and Denomination of Christians, living
in or near said Pawtucket, may have, hold, use, occupy and pos
sess, said House by Rotation or otherwise to suit the time and
occasion, for the purpose of worshipping God agreeable to the
Dictates of' their own consciences. Nevertheless, it is hereby
agreed that the Baptist Society, who are the most numerous and
benevolent in their Contributions, shall have the exclusive Right
and pre-eminence in and to said House, upon every Sunday for
ever, if they have occasion for the same."
21

162 HISTORICAL SKETCH
The amount proposed to be raised was subscribed, and the
committee previously appointed were instructed to build a
meeting house with the following dimensions : 45 by 36 feet,
and 22 feet posts, " as soon as they shall have procured a
Deed of the Lot, and the proposed road thereto through the
said Healey and Sweetland's Land, as before reported."
That by the phrase principal inhabitants of Pawtucket the
people on both sides of the river were meant, is manifest from
the fact that an adjourned meeting was held on the 4th of
March, 1793, at Col. Eliphalet Slack's, in Rehoboth. This
was, of course, at his tavern on Main street. And the three
persons appointed at that time as trustees to take and hold
the deed of the meeting house lot were Daniel Toler, Col.
Eliphalet Slack, and Stephen Jenks, Jr.
In the records of the society the following memorandum
occurs :
" It appears that about this time the idea of a charter of In
corporation had obtained, and that for the purpose of placing
the intended Plan of a Meeting House, on a yet more permanent
and unquestionable basis ; for in the short time of only 3 days,
to wit, from this 4th to the 7th of March, a very satisfactory form
of a Charter was matured up, and laid before the next meeting on
the said 7th of March."
An act of incorporation was accordingly petitioned for, and
the preamble and first section of it are subjoined because
they give a list of the chief actors in the matter at that time.
It may be a gratification to their successors now on the
stage, indeed, to know who were prominent in affairs more
than four score years ago :
" The Governor and Company of the State of Rhode Island
and Providence Plantations ; To all to whom these Presents shall
come, — Greeting :
" Whereas sundry persons of the village called Pawtucket, in
North Providence, in the County of Providence, and others, have
represented to us that they have subscribed toward building a Meet
ing House in said Pawtucket for the worship of Almighty God,

OF PAWTUCKET. 163
which said House is on the first Days of the week forever here
after, to be and remain for the Baptist Denomination of Chris
tians, if they have an occasion for the same, and on other times
and occasions indifferently for the use of any or all denomina
tions of Christians, and to be opened and used accordingly, at the
Request of any four of the reputable Householders of the said vil
lage of Pawtucket; and have petitioned the General Assembly to
grant Them a Charter of Incorporation with the Privileges and
Powers hereafter mentioned;
"Now therefore know ye that we the Governor and Company,
Do for ourselves and Successors Enact, grant, ordain, constitute
and declare that Samuel Healey, Jerahmeel Jenks, Oliver Bucklin,
Nathaniel Croade, Benjamin Jencks, James Mason, James Durfee,
James Weeden, Nathaniel Walker, Jun'r, David Jenks, Thomas
Spears, Stephen Jenks, Jun'r, Levi Jenks, Moses Jenks, John
Pitcher, Moses Baker, Daniel Toler, Stephen Jenks, George
Jenks, Benjamin Kingsley, John Bucklin, S. Bowers, Jun'r, Com
fort Jenks, Samuel Benchley, William Bagley, Jun'r, Ezra Bar
rows, Josiah Armington, D. Walker, Ezekiel Carpenter, Samuel
Jenks, George Nicholas, Samuel Slack, O. Carpenter, Samuel
Slater, Jesse Salisbury, Jesse Bushee, Ephraim Jenks, Luther
Hawkins, Peter Bicknel, Esek Jenks, Ebenezer Tyler, Eleazer
Jenks, George Benson, John Brown, Nicholas Brown, Thomas P.
Ives, and Aretas Sweetland, or such and so many of them as shall
convene on the second Wednesday of May, A. D., 1793, at the
house of Samuel Healey, in North Providence, on the business of
their Charter, and their successors, shall be forever hereafter one
Body corporate and politic in Fact, and remain with perpetual
succession, to be known in the Law by the name of the Catholic
Baptist Society at Pawtucket in North Providence ; 
and the said Catholic Society is hereby impowered to take,
receive and hold all and any voluntary subscriptions, contribu
tions, legacies and donations of any sum or sums of money, or of
any Real and Personal Estate," etc.
The officers of this society for some years seem to have
been Stephen Jenks, Moderator, Jerahmeel Jenks, Treasurer,
and Stephen Jenks, Jr., Clerk. Of course, not all the per
sons named in the act of incorporation were residents of

164 HISTORICAL SKETCH
Pawtucket. Nicholas Brown and probably the Thomas P.
Ives named were citizens of Providence. And there were
some prominent citizens on both sides of the river, whose
names do not appear in the charter. The Friends stood aloof
from the enterprise ; for Oziel Wilkinson, Timothy Greene,
and Benjamin Arnold, were then living on Quaker lane.
And on the eastern side of the river were the well-known
residents, Ephraim Starkweather and Col. Eliphalet Slack,
the latter of whom sympathized with the undertaking.
But perhaps space enough has been given to this matter.
Suffice it to say that the sacred edifice was, after many delays,
finally finished. In a few years Pawtucket rejoiced in the
possession of a meeting house set apart for the worship of
Almighty God. The site whereon that humble structure
was reared, has continued for scores of years to be occupied
by a Baptist temple. As the church has grown in numbers,
and the congregation increased, the old edifice outgrown has
been made to give place to a more commodious and imposing
meeting house.
In the closing year of the last century a committee was
authorized to agree with Rev. Joshua Bradley to supply the
pulpit for six months. After him, Rev. Mr. Messer and
others supplied, till finally, in September, 1804, David Bene
dict, then a youth just from college, came to Pawtucket, and
began to preach. Like Paul, perhaps, he began in weakness
and much trembling, but his youthful labors were but the
prelude to more than a score of years of energetic toil.
When he began his labors, no formal Baptist church existed in
Pawtucket. It seems, however, that ever since 1775 mem
bers of the ancient church in Providence had been living in
Pawtucket, but retaining their membership in Providence.
But it is probable that, long before that time, inhabitants
of Pawtucket were enrolled in the old church in Providence.
Elder Ebenezer Jenks, son of the founder of Pawtucket,
who was born in 1669, was ordained fifty years afterward
pastor of the church in Providence, and held the office till

OF PAWTUCKET. 165
his death, in 1726, a period of seven years. His personal
interest in Pawtucket, and his acquaintance with the inhab
itants here, would be likely to secure some members for the
parent church.
Mr. Benedict sees such an increase of religious interest
here, after laboring for months, that he was encouraged to
•organize a church. In August, 1805, thirty-nine persons
united in church relation. In the following year, on October
16th, Mr. Benedict was ordained. The sermon on the occa
sion was preached by Rev. Dr. Gano, of Providence. And
for years Rev. Mr. Benedict was the sole pastor in Pawtucket.
In November, 1828, however, he tendered his resignation, to
take effect in six months. His actual service therefore lasted
for nearly a quarter of a century. After him came Rev. Mr.
Philleo, who accepted the pastoral charge in a few months,
and remained with the parish about three years. In 1834
Rev. John Blain succeeded, and remained for but a single
year. Perhaps it was not expected that his engagement
would be permanent. He was succeeded by Rev. Silas
Spaulding. For about five years he remained in charge of
the church, and then withdrew. His successor was Rev. S.
S. Bradford. During his ministry about forty members of
his church took letters for the purpose of being organized
into the Central Falls Baptist Church. This church was
publicly recognized in October, 1844. Mr. Bradford was a
man of varied scholarship and earnest devotion, but, from
slender health, he withdrew from the ministry, and engaged
in secular affairs. For two years after his withdrawal the
parish was without a pastor, but, at the expiration of that
period, called Rev. Edward Savage. He, too, brought many
desirable gifts and attainments, but came broken in health,
and was compelled to succumb to his arduous labors.
Another interval of several months, and then Rev. Joseph
Banvard was invited to this field. He came in 1857, and
remained till 1861. Mr. Banvard was a man of great energy
and versatility of talent, and, during the period of his resi-

166 HISTORICAL SKETCH
dence here, there was a season of wide-spread religious
interest. His ministry was therefore signalized by great
activity and by numerous accessions to the church. After
Mr. Banvard's removal from Pawtucket, a year elapsed before
a successor was obtained. Rev. Charles E. Smith proved to
be the eighth pastor, and was ordained on the 13th of August,
1863. After a ministry of a little over two years he resigned.
In due time he was succeeded by Rev. George Bullen, who
has been laboring with the parish for eight years. Ninth as
he is in order among the pastors, it is hoped that it may be
for the mutual prosperity of pastor and people, that his term
of office be as protracted as that of the first pastor. It may
be remarked, indeed, with respect to the latter, that he lived
to a great old age. In December, 1874, all who had long
been citizens of Pawtucket heard with deep emotion that
Dr. Benedict had passed away. Like a shock of grain, fully
ripe, at the advanced age of ninety-five he journeyed to that
city whose Maker and Builder is God. But, like Abel of old,
though dead, he yet speaketh.
It can be added to this account, that, while this church
have felt for years an interest in the general cause of missions,
they have realized that a special call for proselytism existed
almost at their doors. The rapid growth of Pawtucket
toward the west opened a field for effort in what is called
Fairmount. A piece of land was therefore bought for a
chapel, a Sunday school was organized, and other meetings
are held. And the movement gives signs of promise.
It may also be said, that the society, in June, 1841, received
authority from the General Assembly of this State, to change
their name from the Catholic Baptist Society to the First
Baptist Society. ST. PAUL'S CHURCH.
For several years after the establishment of the Catholic
Baptist Society, it remained the sole religious organization in
Pawtucket. In the spring of 1814, however, Episcopalian
services began to be held here. Mr. John B. Braid, who had

OF PAWTUCKET. 167
removed hither from Massachusetts, and Mr. William Holmes,
from Dublin, Ireland, invited Rev. Mr. Crocker, of St. John's
Church, Providence, to hold an evening service in Pawtucket.
After that first service other meetings were held on Sabbath
evenings during the warmer months, but not till the follow
ing spring were regular services established. Rev. J. L.
Blake began to preach in June. As usual in such move
ments, the congregation was small in the outset, but gradually
increased from twenty to over a hundred. Trusting in the
help of God, therefore, the worshipers persevered, and on
December 22d, 1815, a parish was organized, and the needful
parish officers were chosen. The sons of Oziel Wilkinson
gave the lot on which a " house for the worship of God was
to be built." The names of most of those sons appear,
.indeed, on the records of the Catholic Baptist Society as
taking an interest there in religious institutions. The lot
thus given is the spacious one now occupied by St. Paul's
Church, but the edifice itself was not completed till nearly
two years afterward.
During a part of the ministry, therefore, of Rev. Mr. Blake,
the religious services of- the parish were held at different
places. The Red School House, the Academy, and the
Brick School House on the east side of the river, were all
used as places of worship. In 1817, however, St. Paul's
Church was completed, and on October 17th was consecrated
to the worship of God by the rites of the denomination whose
members were now to make this their sanctuary. The Right
Rev. Bishop Griswold conducted the service, aided by three
other clergymen. In the spring of the following year the
regular services were begun in this new temple, and Mr.
Blake remained rector of the church for two years longer.
In 1820, however, he resigned his charge, and was succeeded
by one whose name was to become a household one in Paw
tucket. In October of that year Rev. George Taft assumed
the pastoral charge of St. Paul's Church. For the long
period of forty-four years Dr. Taft remained the sole rector

168 HISTORICAL SKETCH
of that parish. Though warmly attached to the rites and
usages of his own denomination, he was a man of singular
catholicity of spirit; and, -while prompt to labor in every
enterprise that promised to strengthen his brethren, he proved
himself a son of consolation in hundreds of households
outside of his own sect. But the weight of increasing years
told on his frame, and induced his flock to seek a shepherd
who should divide with him the labor.
In August, 1864, therefore, Rev. James D'Wolf Perry
became associate rector. In less than two years, however,
he removed to Germantown, Pa., and was succeeded in July
of the following year by Rev. E. H. Randall. Not many
years elapsed after this, however, before the long-tried pastor
was summoned hence. Forty-five years of continuous service
in one parish and community had let him demonstrate that
"to live is Christ;" on the 11th of December, 1869, he
learned that "to die is gain." The Christians of some of
the earlier centuries were wont to speak of the day of their
associates' death as their birthday. In the seventy-ninth
year of his age Dr. Taft was born into a holier realm, and left
earth to enter Paradise. Death to him was but translation.
The associate rector soon withdrew to another field of labor;
and Rev. E. H. Porter assumed the sole charge. No kinder
wish can be expressed than that he be blessed with a pastorate
as long and as useful as was that of his aged predecessor.
THE CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH.
On the very year which witnessed the incorporation and
organization of the town of Pawtucket, Mass., a Congrega
tional Society was organized in that town. A charter was
obtained from the Legislature of Massachusetts, and on the
3d day of March the members of that society, and such as
wished to associate themselves therewith, met for organiza
tion at the house of Elijah Ingraham. That meeting proved
effective in results, and, ten days afterward, the new sooiety
passed the following vote :

OE PAWTUCKET. 169
" That this society agree to buy the lot of land owned by the
Hon. Oliver Starkweather at the junction of the turnpike and old
road, for fifteen hundred dollars, for which sum he has agreed to
convey it to the society."
The society wrought with energy, and, having secured the
services of Mr. Clark Sayles to rear the house of worship,
were gladdened by seeing their temple ready for dedication
early the next year. It was consecrated to the service of
the Living God on February 12th, 1829. On that occasion
the sermon was preached by Rev. Samuel Green, of Boston.
In the interval between the resolve to build, and the comple
tion of a house of prayer, one male and eight females brought
letters of credit from the church in East Attleboro, and pro
ceeded to organize a church. And as both a meeting house
was reared, and a church organized, the parish was ready
for a pastor. The same promptitude that had marked the
other actions was manifest in this. On April 17th, Rev. Asa
T. Hopkins was ordained as the first pastor. He is reported
to have been richly endowed with many of the gifts sought
in a pastor, and labored with apparent success for three years.
The church had grown in numbers meanwhile, but he felt
constrained to resign. His successor was Rev. Barnabas
Phinney. Installed as pastor in January, 1833, he withdrew
from the pastorate in January, 1836. The third pastor was
Rev. Constantine Blodgett. Invited in the month of June,
1836, to assume the pastoral charge, he was installed to the
sacred office on the 28th of the following month. On taking
charge of the parish Dr. Blodgett found the original nine
members of the church still living, and, associated with them,
were nearly a hundred and twenty others. And they were
ready to assist their new pastor in Christian work. God had
put it into the hearts of some of the members of the parish
to make pecuniary donations, one of which deserves special
mention from the end to which it was appropriated. Col.
Eliphalet Slack has been mentioned more than once. In
religion he showed much catholicity of spirit. It has been
22

170 HISTORICAL SKETCH
stated that he was one of the earliest trustees of the Catholic
Baptist Society. Subsequently he aided the Episcopalian
parish in their earlier struggles. At a later period he acted
with the Congregationalists, and, on his decease, left the
parish the sum of two thousand dollars, which was spent
for the purchase of the house wherein Dr. Blodgett has long
resided. For several years the new pastor labored energetically, not
merely in Pawtucket, but in the adjoining village of Central
Falls ; and the fruits of his labor in the latter field became
manifest in 1845, by the resolve to establish a Congregational
Church there. About forty members were dismissed from
the parent church to plant a new vine. With energetic
labor, however, on the part of both pastor and people, the
places of the many families that had thus left the old temple,
were gradually filled, and more room was demanded. In
1854, therefore, the house was enlarged by an addition of
twenty-four pews. For ten years the parish was permitted
to enjoy their enlarged temple, but, on November 17th, 18o4,
a burning house in the neighborhood flung its sparks against
the spire, and in a few hours the sacred edifice was but a
heap of ashes.
Cast down, but not destroyed, the parish sought temporary
accommodation in the Masonic Temple on Mill street, and,
in due time, began the erection of a new meeting house on
the site of their former edifice. On July 14th, 1868, how
ever, they were permitted to begin worship in the finished
lecture room of the new temple, and commenced by dedica
ting that room to God. On February 27th, 1868, the entire
edifice was formally consecrated to the Most High. The
sermon was preached on that occasion by the pastor, and the
dedicatory prayer offered by Rev. Dr. Thayer, of Newport.
The close of June, 1871, completed thirty-five years of
continuous pastoral labor on the part of Dr. Blodgett ; and
on the 1st of July he resigned the charge of his parish. By
vote of his people he continued his pastoral relation under

OF PAWTUCKET. 171
the designation of Retired Pastor. And now, having past
the limit of three-score years and ten, he " dwells among
his own people," living in the house which has sheltered him
self and his household. for so many years. It is the wish of
his parish that he continue to dwell there so long as God
shall spare his life. He has tested the prophet's saying :
" They that wait on Jehovah shall renew their strength ;
. . . they shall run and not be weary ; they shall walk
and not faint;" and can testify that "no good thing will
God withhold from them that walk uprightly." Honored in
the community for two score years of guileless living and
consecrated labor, he is yet a tower of strength. May he
enjoy a green old age !
Rev. J. J. Woolley succeeded to the active pastoral charge
forthwith, and has therefore performed five years' energetic
service. May he reach the years of his predecessor !
THE METHODIST PARISH.
The first movements toward establishing a parish of the
Methodist denomination seem to have been made by pastors
resident in Providence. From 1813 to 1822 those clergymen
were accustomed to visit Pawtucket, and preach to such as
would gather to listen. From 1822 to 1827 Pawtucket was
in the Mansfield Circuit, and shared in the labors of its
preachers. In the year last named Pawtucket was made a
separate preaching station, under the charge of Rev. O. Rob-
bins. He preached in the Red School House, and that build
ing had become literally old. On a rainy day the water
poured through the roof to such a degree, that the women, in
particular, were glad to open their umbrellas.
In 1828 Israel Washburn preached here, and was followed
by Rev. James Porter. Those were days of poverty for the
since thriving sect. Mr. Porter, in detailing his experiences,
writes : " I spent every other week, paying for board just all
I received, which was $1.50 or $1.75 per week."

172 HISTORICAL SKETCH
In 1830 a meeting house was erected near where the Meth
odist temple now stands. In 1832 Rev. Francis Dane was
the preacher ; after him came Rev. H. Cummings, Rev.
Reuben Bowen, and Rev. Samuel Beadle. The latter was
relieved of his charge in 1840, by reason of bereavement and
failing health. And a record stauds on the books of the
Methodist Church to this effect : " It may be well to record
here that the action of other denominations with regard to
our church has been generally friendly."
For a while the pastorate was vacant, though class meet
ings were kept up. Near the close of 1840, Rev. W. H.
Woodbury became the preacher, and was succeeded after a
time by Rev. R. M. Hatfield. This gentleman found the
church few in number, the edifice dilapidated, and affairs dis
couraging; but the talents wherewith God had endowed him
found ample scope here, and his toils were blessed. Larger
numbers waited on his ministry, a new house of worship was
reared, and more and more souls were added to the church.
There is scarce room, however, to mention more than the
names of his successors. Rev. Mr. Gavitt, Rev. Jonathan Cady,
Rev. Isaac Bonney, Rev. H. Baylies, Rev. Mr. Gifford, and
Rev. William Cone, were pastors during the next ten or dozen
years. Rev. Mr. Bonney had so patriarchal an air, that the
community at large called him " Father Bonney ;" and the
church records eulogize Mr. Cone as a very successful laborer.
In 1852 and 1853 Rev. Henry H. Smith was pastor, and
then Rev. James Dean, as local preacher, and Rev. William
Cone, as preacher at large, officiated. Following them was
Rev. James Mather, and then in 1857 Rev. Mr. Lovejoy ; and,
in the following two years, Rev. S. F. Upham. During Mr.
Upham's pastorate the house of worship was enlarged at an
expense of $7000. In 1860 Rev. S. Dean officiated, and was
followed the next year by Rev. A. McKeown. During the
years 1862 and 1863 Rev. John D. King was the pastor, and
gave place for the next two years to Rev. D. H. Ela. Rev.
J. D. Butler succeeded, and held the pastorate for two years.

OF PAWTUCKET. 173
To him succeeded Rev. M. J. Talbot, and, during his ministry,
steps were taken for organizing a distinct parish at Central
Falls. His year of service was signalized also by the build
ing of a parsonage on Dexter street at an expense of $5000.
Dr. Talbot having received the appointment of Presiding
Elder of New Bedford District, gave place to Rev. E. D.
Hall. During his ministry a new church was organized in
the more western part of the town, and a meeting house was
finally reared near the Mineral Spring Cemetery. That
church is called the Thomson Methodist Church, in honor of
Bishop Thomson. At the close of Mr. Hall's second year,
he took charge of both the Embury Church, at Central Falls,
and the Thomson Church. In 1871 Rev. S. L. Gvacey took
the charge of the parent church on High street, and labored
with his people for two years. In 1873 he was succeeded by
Rev. J. W. Willett, who resided here for three years. His
successor, who has but just come to Pawtucket, is Rev. Mr.
Jones. Meantime, since the removal of Rev. Mr. Hall from
Pawtucket, the Thomson Church has been supplied by Revs.
J. C. Gowan and Robert Clark.
THE UNIVERSALIST PARISH.
As in the case of all the other parishes named, much pre
liminary work was done in Pawtucket before a parish of
Universalists was organized. Rev. David Pickering, Rev.
Hosea Ballou, Rev. Thomas Whittemore, and others, preached
from time to time in either the old Red School House, or the
Catholic Baptist meeting house. But in 1827 the first Uni-
versalist Society was incorporated by the name of the First
Universalist Society in North Providence. In due time they
reared a spacious meeting house on High street, on the site
now occupied by the High School building. Rev. Mr. Frieze
officiated for a year or two as pastor, but the severe commer
cial reverses of 1829 so crippled many of the members, that
they seemed to lose both heart and hope. And the removal

174 HISTORICAL SKETCH
of many of the parishioners from town sealed its ruin. The
house of worship passed into other hands, and the society
became extinct.
For years no attempt was made to form a new parish ; but,
where a faith is dear to any heart, trial will rather strengthen
than extinguish it. The time came at last, when those who
had seen their first temple sacrificed, resolved to make another
attempt to secure a religious home. A new organization was
formed, and meetings were held in what was called " Free
Hall," at the junction of what are now Pleasant street and
East avenue. Rev. John N. Parker supplied the new parish.
Their meetings began to be held in the winter of 1840-41.
In May of the latter year the erection of a house of worship
was commenced on Exchange street. It was completed the
next spring, and dedicated to the Invisible God. Meanwhile
a society had been incorporated under the name of the Mill
Street Universalist Society. Mr. Parker remained as pastor
of the parish till 1844, and was succeeded by Rev. J. S.
Barry, who held the pastoral office for but a single year. In
1845 Rev. Calvin Damon was called to the charge of the
parish, and remained till July, 1852. Mr. Damon's health
became impaired before he left Pawtucket, but his ministry
is recollected by many of his parish as marked by industry,
devotion, and consistency. He was followed after a few
months by Rev. A. R. Abbott, who held the pastoral office
about two years. Mr. Abbott bore a spotless reputation, and
wielded, while here, a beneficent influence. Shortly after
his resignation, Rev. J. H. Campbell became pastor, and
remained in charge of the parish till near the close of 1856.
In 1857 Rev. Massena Goodrich assumed the pastoral
charge in the month of April. The severe financial embar
rassments that quickly followed, delayed some movements
that were contemplated; but the following year brought a
season of spiritual quickening to almost the entire land.
When Mr. Goodrich came, he found that, though a church
was organized soon after the formation of the society, it had

OF PAWTUCKET. 175
been practically extinct for years. He therefore gathered a
new church, established conference meetings for prayer and
praise, and sought to employ some other agencies that are
helpful in promoting Christian growth. In 1860 Mr. Good
rich was summoned to what seemed an important field in his
denomination, and resigned his pastorate, to take a professor
ship in a young Theological School in Canton, New York.
His successor was Rev. J. H. Farnsworth, who came here
in 1861, and remained for a single year. The excitements of
the war then raging tended, of course, to hinder his undertak
ing any new measures for the weal of his parish. In the fall of
1862 Mr. Goodrich was invited to return. It was known that
the Theological School was imperfectly endowed, and the de
mand made by the country on her sons was diverting attention
from the ministerial profession ; and, as it seemed to Mr. Good
rich that he might render as efficient service in the position of a
pastor as in the place where he was, he decided to accept the
invitation. He therefore returned in October, 1862, and con
tinued to hold the relation of pastor till February, 1875. He
thus spent nearly sixteen years in his two pastorates in Paw
tucket. In 1866 the parish bought a more desirable site for a house
of worship, and proceeded to rear a new temple on High
street. It was completed early in 1868, and, on January
30th, was dedicated to the service of the God and Father of
all by appropriate religious services. The sermon on the
occasion was preached by Rev. A. A. Miner, D. D,, of Bos
ton. The edifice was an ornament to the town, and promised
to be a signal help to the parish ; but the fierce tornado of
September, 1869, demolished the steeple, flung down the
ponderous bell, blew in the windows, seriously shattered the
roof, and wrought other injury to the temple. The accident
came at what seemed an inopportune hour, and subjected the
parish to an expense of over seven thousand dollars, at a time
when many of its most liberal members were crippled by
financial embarrassments.

176 HISTORICAL SKETCH
The successor of Mr. Goodrich was Rev. H. A. Philbrook,
who entered on his work in May, 1875. Mr. Philbrook
brought with him to his new field a reputation for ability and
fidelity. THE HIGH STREET BAPTIST CHURCH.
No attempt is made to sketch the experiences of this
church before 1838. On the 12th of March in that year,
they invited Mr. Edward K. Fuller to become their pastor.
The parish thus recognized had obtained possession of the
meeting house built by the First Universalist Society in
North Providence.
On the 11th of the following month Mr. Fuller was or
dained, and the church which had been organized in the
previous month was recognized. Rev. Mr. Fuller held the
office of pastor till near the close of 1840. After taking some
steps to call Rev. Silas Spaulding, who had just left the pas
torship of the First Baptist Church, the younger church
seems to have called both Rev. Samuel S. Mallery and Rev.
Mr. Rodgers ; but whether either of them accepted the
charge, the records do not clearly show. From 1841 to 1845
was a trying period with all churches in the neighborhood,
from the bitterness of political strife which then rent the
State. And a feeble parish would find the burden doubly
hard. In 1845, however, Rev. Daniel Round became pastor,
and held the office for five years. On his departure, Mr.
Warren Randolph, of Brown University, supplied the pulpit.
He so commended himself to the people by his talents and
zeal, that they invited him to assume the pastoral charge,
and waited for him to finish his preparatory studies. In the
interim, Rev. George Pierce, of Lowell, supplied the pulpit.
Mr. Randolph was subsequently ordained, and installed as
pastor, but soon accepted a call to a more inviting field of
labor in Providence.
This was in 1852. The church remained for a time with-

OF PAWTUCKET. 177
out a formal pastor, but in 1854 Rev. Arthur A. Ross accepted
the charge, and labored with consecration and earnestness for
two years. For a few months after him Rev. Jonathan Bray-
ton officiated, but soon withdrew from failing health. From
1857 till near the close of 1864, Rev. A. Sherwin was pastor.
Like other pastors, he beheld his labors crowned with special
success in 1858, and left the church, at the close of his pas
torate, with far greater numbers than it had when he assumed
the charge. For a year and a half the parish was destitute
of a settled pastor, though it was supplied much of the time
by Mr. Charles H. Spalding, of Brown University. Mr.
Spalding had meanwhile been invited to take the pastoral
charge, and was ordained to the work of the ministry on
July 26th, 1866. Rev. Mr. Spalding began his ministry with
bright hopes, and labored with much success, till an unlooked
for calamity occurred. The meeting house took fire on Jan
uary 25th, 1868, and was burned to the ground.
The parish resolved to rear a new temple on the old site,
and meantime held their meetings and the Sunday school in
neighboring halls. But, although the congregation received
some aid from other churches and individuals, the pecuniary
burden proved, more than they could bear. Rev. Mr. Spald
ing accepted a call to Pittsfield, Mass., and was succeeded
for a short period by Rev. W. C. Wright. After him came
Rev. C. C. Williams, who strove by sacrifice and zealous toil
to enable the parish to retrieve its pecuniary affairs. In vain,
¦however; the load of indebtedness was too great, and the
temple passed from their hands, as its predecessor had passed
from the hands of the Universalists. The edifice was bought
by the town for the accommodation of the High School.
Since the sale of their house of worship, the parish have
held their meetings in Railroad Hall on Broad street, and the
Masonic Temple on Mill street. The preachers have largely
come from Brown University, and the church and people are
still toiling, and praying, and hoping for brighter days.
23

178 HISTORICAL SKETCH
THE FREE BAPTIST CHURCH.
In 1820, or soon after, a Baptist church was organized on
the east side of the river. The leaders in the enterprise were
Elder Ray Potter and Mr. Daniel Greene. Mr. Greene
seems to have been subsequently ordained. In 1822 the
congregation associated with them began to worship in a
sanctuary on School street, near where the Brick School
House stood, and where the Town Hall now stands. A
mental conflict appears to have arisen on some point, and
Rev. Mr. Greene Avas confirmed in the pastoral care of the
parish. In the outset the parish seem to have favored the
extreme of independency ; but that sympathy which leads
men to seek one another's cooperation and help, led them
finally to ask fellowship from an organized denomination.
In the course of time the parish reared the house which
they now occupy, close by the Town Hall. It was about the
year 1836 that the church was brought into vital connection
with the Free Baptist denomination. In 1850 Rev. A. D.
Williams assumed the pastoral charge of the parish. He
brought the reputation of scholarship, and wielded a potent
influence on both his own congregation and the community
wherein he had come to dwell. He was succeeded in 1856
by Rev. J. Erskine, who remained for but a short time. He
bore the reputation of a conscientious, unassuming man.
Mr. E. L. Clark, just from Brown University, supplied the
pulpit from the close of 1857. He was with the parish dur
ing the memorable year of 1858, and won many converts to
the church. After him came the Rev. Mr. Dow, who retained
the pastoral charge for a season. To him succeeded Rev.
Mr. Church, who has left the reputation of an earnest, fervid
preacher, and an upright man. In 1867 Rev. Mr. Hyatt was
engaged as pastor, and for the next five years labored in word
and deed. In 1872 Rev. David Boyd took charge of the parish
and remains the pastor. Marked by much energy and industry,
Mr. Boyd has the sympathies of his Christian brethren, and
their wishes for his spiritual prosperity and success.

OF PAWTUCKET. 179
TRINITY CHURCH.
In 1845 a desire which had been deepening for some time,
for the formation of another Episcopalian church, was grati
fied. The rector and members of St. Paul's Church sent
forth with their blessing a band of brethren to plant a new
church east of the river. A house of worship was built on
Main street, and the first rector was Rev. James C. Richmond.
For a few years he continued as teacher of the parish, and
was then succeeded by Rev. Mr. Mulcahey. Mr. Richmond
was a man of varied talents, and some rare endowments ;
but his course had been so erratic, that the church was reor
ganized in 1851. Since that time it has been in general
harmony with the powerful denomination wherewith it is
connected. This church has not been marked, however, by the same
stability of the pastoral relation that has characterized its
sister church on the other side of the river. After the reor
ganization named, Rev. George F. Cushman discharged the
duties of rector acceptably for a couple of years. His imme
diate successor was Rev. Julius S. Townsend, who held the
pastoral office for between five and six years. Feeble health
seems to have constrained him to resign. In 1859 Rev. John
M. Peck assumed the pastoral care, and remained rector for
a little over a year. In October, 1860, Rev. Edward DeZeng
began his labors, but remained for but a single year. A few
months' vacancy occurred, and then Rev. George W. Brown
was called to the rectorship, and resided here from March,
1862, till July, 1867. In 1868 Rev. S. 0. Seymour took the
charge of the parish, and retained it for more than six years.
He enjoyed, while here, the reputation of a courteous citizen,
an active friend of education, and a faithful pastor. In De
cember, 1874, Trinity Churdh obtained for its eighth rector
Rev. Samuel R. Fuller. An inviting field of labor is before
him, and it is wished that he may not soon give place to a
S-iccessor,

180 HISTORICAL SKETCH

SOCIETY OF FRIENDS.

No formal organization of the denomination of Friends
existed in Pawtucket till a comparatively recent date. The
former pages of this narrative, however, have frequently
mentioned members of this band. In the latter half of the
last century Job Scott, who resided not far from where the
toll-gate more recently stood on the Providence turnpike,
was an eminent preacher. Beside him, there were in Paw
tucket Daniel Anthony, Oziel Wilkinson, Benjamin Arnold,
and Timothy Greene, who were all men of influence, and
staunch Friends. There was at the time when they were
on the stage what was called the Providence Monthly Meet
ing. The name probably dated from a time when Providence
was undivided ; for its sessions seem to have been held alter
nately at Providence and Smithfield. And beside the per
sons already named, Moses Brown, William Almy, and
Thomas Arnold, whose names have already appeared in
this sketch, and Joseph Harris, of Smithfield, were members
of this meeting.
But the Friends hold meetings more often than monthly.
On first days and in the middle of the week they gather for
worship ; and the Friends resident in this neighborhood, from
a century ago and upward down to about thirty years since,
were wont to go to Providence or Smithfield. To under
stand the' polity of the Friends it may be proper to mention
that the Rhode Island Yearly Meeting embraces all the
Friends of New England. Beside this larger body, however,
there are local gatherings and organizations. There are
quarterly meetings, monthly meetings, and the weekly and
semi-weekly gatherings. The two last are specially for wor
ship ; the others are both for worship and for business.
No religious body, however, is- free from agitation. Only
where an organization is dying can there be utter stagnation.
Differences of opinion arose among the Friends in New Eno--
land about thirty years ago, and controversy waxed somewhat
warm. It were improper in this sketch to narrate the points

OF PAWTUCKET. 181
at issue, or the course of the contention. Suffice it to say,
that, as two cannot pleasantly walk together unless they are
agreed, there was a tacit resolution formed to separate. Out
side parties have designated the different bands of Friends by
the names of the respective leaders in the controversy ; but
the Friends themselves disavow these designations. They
prefer to describe the different fragments of their body as
the larger branch, and the smaller branch. Representatives
of the latter class were living in this neighborhood, and pro
ceeded, about thirty years ago, to erect a house of worship
¦on what was then called Jenks street. It is now known,
however, as East avenue. Twice a week, therefore, they
and their successors have continued to meet for worship, and
monthly meetings also assemble there of their brethren from
other parts of the State.
SOCIETY OE THE NEW JERUSALEM CHURCH.
This society begins its records with the following account,
under date of April 8th, 1840 :
"Samuel Lord and family moved from Providence to Paw
tucket. On the following Sabbath, April 12th, Messrs. Charles
Pratt, Samuel and James Lord, and families, united in worship,
and met at the house of James Lord. Mr. Pratt read the sermon,
and they resolved thus to continue.''
Years rolled away before the little band increased suffi
ciently in numbers and ability, to undertake to rear a house
of worship. In 1854, however, a legal meeting was called,
by warrant of Apollos Cushman, Esq., to organize the first
society of the New Jerusalem Church in Pawtucket. This
meeting was held on April 22d, and organized a society of
fifteen members. At that meeting they appointed a com
mittee of one — Clark Sherman — to build a house of worship.
It was reared as soon as practicable, and dedicated to the
service of God on October 5th of that year. The dedicatory
services were performed by Rev. Thomas P. Rodman, Reg-

182 HISTORICAL SKETCH
ular church services began at that time, and have not been
intermitted since. During that time, however, there has
only once been a settled pastor, and he for a single year.
Rev. E. C. Mitchell thus officiated from October 5th, 1865,
to October, 1866.
In the absence of a formal preacher, however, a reader is
appointed to read the services and a sermon. Once a quarter
or oftener an ordained clergyman is present, who administers
the ordinance of the Lord's Supper.
A Sunday school is carried on, and frequently on Sabbath
evenings there is a gathering of the society for chanting and
religious conversation.
The number of members of the society at present is
twenty-four. The temple is on Elm street.
CHURCH OF THE GOOD SHEPHERD.
This church sprung from the missionary labors of the rec
tor of Trinity Church, and a few of his parishioners. On
Sunday, November 1st, 1868, a Sunday school was started in
Atlantic engine hall. Beside the rector, there were three
persons present as teachers, and eighteen children.
Church services were commenced on the evening of Feb
ruary 10th in the following year, at the above named hall.
Rev. Mr. Seymour continued his labors in this new enterprise
from the beginning till Easter Sunday, 1872. After this
period Rev. G. Coggeshall had charge of the work till the
winter of 1873-4.
The corner-stone of a house of worship was laid on March
7th, 1872, by Bishop Clark, assisted by Revs. G. Coggeshall,
S. O. Seymour, E. H. Porter, and S. H. Webb. The open
ing service was held Sunday, June 23d, 1872.
On the Sunday following Easter, 1874, Rev. B. Eastwood
took charge of the undertaking. He had ten assistants, and
seven classes in the Sunday school. Most of his helpers
came from Trinity parish. At present, however, there are

OE PAWTUCKET. 183
eighteen classes, all taught by members of the home parish ;
and the roll of the school, including officers and teachers,
contains two hundred names.
The parish outgrew the little temple, and, in 1875, it was
found necessary to enlarge it. This was accordingly done,
so as to double its seating capacity. The expense incurred
was $3400. The sacred edifice will accommodate three hun
dred and twenty-five persons.
PLEASANT VIEW BAPTIST CHAPEL.
This chapel is situated on Fountain street, at the head of
Gooding. It was reared to accommodate a promising Sunday
school that has been gathered by the missionary labors of the
Central Falls Baptist Church. The lot for the edifice was
given by Messrs. Greene & Daniels, and the edifice itself is a
plain structure, 50 by 30 feet, neatly painted, and commo-
diously arranged.
The school was established on the last Sunday in Novem
ber, 1867, and its sessions were held for some time in Atlantic
engine hall. The increasing interest in the school, and its
steady growth in numbers, stimulated its friends to rear the
chapel. It cost $2000, and was dedicated on the evening of
April 5th, 1876. The sermon on the occasion was preached
by Rev. Dr. Taylor, of Providence, and the dedicatory prayer
was offered by Rev. Preston Gurney, of Central Falls.
The zeal and liberality already shown by the laborers in
this school are prophetic of success. In a few years an ener
getic parish will doubtless be formed, and demand the erec
tion of a larger temple.
ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCHES.
The subjoined account of the Roman Catholic churches
was furnished by Rev. P. G. Delany. Mr. Delany, from
his long residence in Pawtucket, has become a household
name in thousands of families; and his general courtesy and

184 HISTORICAL SKETCH
untiring industry have largely forwarded the great work
which the denomination wherewith he is connected have
performed in this town :
The Catholic community, which now forms so large and
important a part of our population, has existed in Pawtucket
since the year 1827. Before this date there may have been
a few Catholics in the town, as there were in Providence
even as early as 1813, when it is known the celebrated Dr.
Chevereaux, as well as his companion, Dr. Matignon, visited
the latter city and celebrated Mass for its Catholic inhabitants.
If any of the same faith resided then in Pawtucket, they
received spiritual ministrations from those missionaries.
It was only in the year 1828 that the Rt. Rev. Dr. Fen
wick, Bishop of Boston, in whose diocese Rhode Island was
then included, appointed the Rev. Father Woodley as the
first resident priest in this State, to minister to the Catholics
of Pawtucket and Providence. Whilst attending to this
mission he resided at the old home beyond the toll-gate,
known as the Carpenter house.
In the same year, Bishop Fenwick visited Pawtucket, and
called upon David Wilkinson, Esq., to acknowledge that
gentleman's generous donation to the Catholics, — a lot of
land, 125 feet square, on which to build a church. The
church, a very small building, was erected the following
year, and Mass was celebrated in it for the first time by
Father Woodley.
This was the second Catholic church ever erected in Rhode
Island. That in Newport was the first, being fitted out for
worship one year earlier. In this charge Father Woodley
was succeeded by Father Corry in 1830 ; and he again was
replaced by Father Conelly in 1833, who attended Providence
and Pawtucket till the year 1835. Rev. Fathers Lee and
McNamee took his place up to the year 1844, when the Rt.
Rev. Dr. Tyler was consecrated bishop of the new diocese of
Hartford, comprising the States of Rhode Island and Con
necticut.

OF PAWTUCKET. 185
Rev. James Fitton, who still lives in Boston, was then
deputed to Pawtucket, where he remained for one year.
His place was filled in 1847 by the Rev. Joseph McNamee,
who took up his residence in Pawtucket and devoted his
whole attention to that town, where the Catholics had con
siderably increased in numbers. For six years Father Mc
Namee labored with zeal and devotedness for the spiritual
good of the Catholic emigrants, who in his time came in
great numbers to find a home and employment in the various
branches of industry then established in Pawtucket. He
died on the 28th of March, 1853. His successor was the
Rev. P. G. Delany, the present pastor of the church of the
Immaculate Conception.
At this date, Valley Falls, Attleboro and Ashton had Cath
olic congregations, all of whom, together with Pawtucket,
were under the pastoral charge of Father Delany. He com
menced his mission with a wide field of labor before him.
By his exertions the Catholics acquired valuable tracts of
land, where the future churches and schools were to be built.
For his congregation in Attleboro he projected a new
church, and made extensive preparations for its erection,
when, in 1856, at his request, another priest was placed in
charge of that place. Soon after, Valley Falls needed a new
church for the increasing Catholic population of that town,
who were then obhged to attend religious exercises at St.
Mary's, Pawtucket.
With the cooperation of those pious, generous Catholics
who subscribed, Father Delany had the pleasure of seeing
that beautiful church, St. Patrick's, completed in 1860. In
the summer of that year it was dedicated by Rt. Rev. Dr.
McFarland, assisted by Dr. Conroy, of Albany, and several
other clergymen. With very little debt remaining, it was
then resigned into the hands of a new pastor.
Pawtucket could now receive the undivided attention of
Father Delany. Here, by the side of the old St. Mary's lot,
he purchased from the proceeds of a fair all the land extend-
24

186 HISTORICAL SKETCH
ing from the old church as far as the convent. The persons
from whom the land was bought were : Job Bennett, Mrs.
Collins, of Albany, and Thomas D. Forsyth, of Lowell, Mass.
The old church was enlarged now for the second time, to
accommodate the large congregtion that thronged to it, and,
after various improvements made in the church and the cem
etery annexed to it, the next care of the pastor was to build
a school where the children of his flock might have the ben
efit of an education from the Sisters of Mercy, for whom he
had applied to Bishop McFarland. The school and convent
were completed in a short time according to the plans of the
pastor, and under his immediate supervision. Six Sisters of
Mercy were established in the new convent, in which they
immediately opened a select Academy for day pupils. To
gether with the parish schools in which the children are
taught free bjr the Sisters, this institution is a great benefit
in the midst of the Catholic population of Pawtucket. The
average attendance at the parish school is 300 children, whilst
the Academy at the convent generally numbers 60 pupils.
The good influence of the Sisters as teachers amongst the
young is well known, whilst the education they impart is of
the high standard for which the schools of the Sisters of
Mercy are noted, both in this country and in Europe.
Every year saw some new building erected or some im
provement made around St. Mary's through the exertions of
Father Delany and the generosity of his flock. The old resi
dence of the pastor was somewhat enlarged, until after a few
years it became advisable to replace it by a new and more
commodious home. This was finally erected on a new lot of
land in the rear of the church, purchased from Mr. J. Taylor,
of Pine street. At this time the pastor was aided in his min
istrations by two assistant clergymen, who resided with him
until the year 1872, when Central Falls was given in charge
of Rev. J. Smyth. As a resident pastor of that place he
commenced the new church of the Sacred Heart, which is
now completed.

OF PAWTUCKET. 187
Father Delany, at" the same time, saw the necessity of
another house of worship for the better accommodation of
that part of his people who lived in the east side of the town.
He solicited subscriptions for the project, and with $8000
willingly placed in his hands by his people, commenced the
new church of St. Joseph, on Walcott street. The lot for
this church was purchased from Mr. Warren French.
In the spring of 1874 the building was nearly completed,
and sufficiently fitted up to have divine service held in it.
As it appeared that a new parish might be formed in that
section of the town, Father Delany resigned St. Joseph's into
the hands of a new pastor, Rev. H. F. Kinnerney.
Therefore, during the present pastor's time of residence in
Pawtucket, and, in what was his first pastoral charge on his
arrival here, having only one church for his people, there have
been formed six new parishes, beside St. Mary's still in his
charge, each of which has its own spacious and elegant
church, its own resident pastor, and its own large congrega
tion of from 1000 to 3000 souls each. Included in this list
of parishes is .that of Central Falls, established exclusively
for the French Canadians, who now form one of the largest
congregations in Pawtucket.

Is it needful to append any comments to this account of
the religious history of the place ? The formation of parishes,
the rearing of temples, the establishment of churches, are
signs of spiritual life. In this world everything that has a
name to live must have an outward manifestation. Religion
demands its altars, its fanes, and its institutions. The pros
perity of the place, be it repeated, has been largely depend
ent on Christian agencies. History tells of fair cities in the
east, that boasted a rich soil, a delicious climate, and unearthly
beauty. They were, in the expressive words of the narrator,
like the garden of Jehovah. A prospered family, to whom

188 HISTORICAL SKETCH
it was granted to live where they pleased, were allured
thither by the loveliness of the region. Did they find it a
paradise? Far otherwise. Moral corruption sapped the
people's prosperity, and crime woke the indignation of
heaven, so that the lightnings set it on fire, and the waves
of the sea rolled over its ashes. And that family who had
with elation and prosperity sought a home in what seemed
an Eden, were glad to hurry away penniless to escape ruin.
The principal inhabitants of Pawtucket rightly felt more than
four score years ago, small though the place was, that mate
rial prosperity is but a snare, unless religion hallow it ; and
they resolved to have a house for the God of Israel. And
their children will lack the shrewdness of their fathers, if
they cease to love the Christian sanctuary.

But it is time to finish this sketch. The experiences of
the place have been outlined for a period of two hundred and
twenty-one years. The date of the settlement of the west
ern village of the town is only a generation later than the
arrival of the Mayflower. Judged by the American stand
ard, Pawtucket is a very old town. It has lacked those
adventitious advantages, however, which contributed to the
growth of New York, Boston, or Chicago. It has not a
spacious harbor, nor is it the storehouse of a fertile region.
It is one of those places, however, without which harbors
must become almost solitudes, wherein the lonely fisherman
dries his nets. Before marts can grow populous there must
be artisans in their workshops, and scattered farmers on their
homesteads. General prosperity is best secured by diversified
industry. A country like ours, to be truly independent,
must naturalize every useful branch of manufacturing.
Joseph Jenks laid the foundation of the town's prosperity
on a corner-stone of iron. He hammered thrift from his
anvil, and flashed an invitation to other workers from the
flame of his forge.

OF PAWTUCKET. 189
Slater imported here one of the inventions of his father
land, notwithstanding the jealous care which his countrymen
took to hide it from the world. A long race of shrewd,
industrious, skillful men have followed in their steps, and
waked the hum of industry on both sides of the Blackstone
and the Pawtucket. Instead of the fifty families that dwelt
here eighty-four years ago, there are thousands of families
now. In heu of the fifty houses which Dr. Benedict found
here early in this century, the census of 1875 showed the
whole number of dwellings to be two thousand, five hundred
and twenty-one. Twenty-four hundred and seventy-nine of
them were of wood, thirty-one of brick, and eleven of stone.
Instead of the handful here with Joseph Jenks, whom the
warriors of Philip scared away to the isle of Rhode Island two
centuries ago, there are now nearly twenty thousand inhab
itants in Pawtucket. (The precise number a year ago was
eighteen thousand, four hundred and sixty-four.) The little
one has become a thousand. Priority in starting novel branches
of industry has compensated for the lack of great natural
advantages, and enabled Pawtucket to outstrip hundreds of
other towns. She begins a new century, therefore, of our
national existence, under the impulse of her recent consolida
tion, with the freshness of youthful vigor and the energy of
confident experience. Her past is sure. Renown, capital,
skill, faith, are hers; and if God shall continue to smile on
our common country, she may reckon on continued growth
and thrift. Blessings be upon her children " above the
blessings of their progenitors, unto the utmost bound of the
everlasting hills !"

3 9002 00774 9253

^i&T££ CflwJdfi^' .