r^d-waimEissinnf- ILIIIBIKAIS^

Gift of
Frederick S. Dickson, Ph. B., 1*71,
in appreciation of
Professor Thomas R. Lounsbury,
1918.

PICTURESQUE MEMORIALS
OF
A SERIES OF ORIGINAL ETCHINGS AND VIGNETTES, ILLUSTRATIVE OF THE MOST INTERESTING
BUILDINGS, AND OTHER REMAINS OF ANTIQUITY,
IN THAT CITY AND NEIGHBOURHOOD.
TO WHICH IS PREFIXED,
A BRIEF HISTORY OF OLD AND NEW SARUM.
BY
THE REV. PETER HALL, M. A.,
LATE CUB.ATE OF ST. EDMUND'S.

DEDICATED, BY PERMISSION, TO THE DEAN AND CHAPTER.

SALISBURY ;
W. E. 15 HO DIE AID CO., CANAL.
M.DCCC.XXXIV.

SALISBURY :
1' 11 I N" T E D BY W. B. BEO'tlt' A»n CO., C. A N A ]

CONTENTS.

INTRODUCTORY ACCOUNT OF THE CITIES OF OLD AND NEW SARUM.
Present State of Old Sarum  Caer-Sarflog of the Celts and Britons  Sorbiodunum of the Romans. —
Roman Roads. — Searobyrig of the Saxon Heptarchy. — Discovery of Bodies in the Gardens of St.
Edmund's College  Norman Conquest. — Feudal Law and Doomsday Book 
Translation of the Episcopal See from Wilton  Parliament of Henry I — Discontents at Old Sarum
Removal to New Sarum, or Salisbury  Cathedral begun, completed, and consecrated — Description
of the Bulwarks of Old Sarum  Earldom of Salisbury. — Manor of Old Sarum. — Sonnet, b}T the
Rev. W. L. Bowles  
Description of the New Cathedral ... ... ... ...   ... 
The New City — City-Gates — Chartered Companies  Public Grammar-Schools
Erection of the Spire  Description  Legend of the Cathedral  Alarm for the Safety of the Spire
Hungerford and Beauchamp Chapels  Boy-Bishop. — Stourton Monument 
Surveys of the Cathedral and Spire — Accidents by Lightning  Curious Discovery in the Spire
Repairs, under Bishop Hume — Renovations of Mr. Wyatt, under Bishop Barrington  Dimensions of
Salisbury, and Height of other Cathedrals 
The Cloisters, Chapter-House, and Library  Salisbury Missal  .Relics ofthe Saints 
Corporation of the City — Destruction of the Old Council-House and Guildhall by Fire.. — Old and
New Gaol — New Council-House ...   ... ... ... 
Navigation of the River Avon to Christchurch. — Canal to Redbridge and Southampton. — The English
Venice ... ... ... ... ... ... ...  . . 
Charitable Institutions  Aims-Houses  County Infirmary  ... ... ... . .
Eminent Characters — Thomas Chubb — James Harris — William Benson Earle 
Neighbourhood of Salisbury — Stonehenge : Sonnet, by the Rev. Thos. Warton — Clarendon Palace :
Plague at Salisbury  Ivy-Church : Stephen Duck, the Wiltshire Bard  Longford Castle.. —
Bemerton : Walter Curie, George Herbert, John Norris, and Archdeacon Coxe  Wilton : English
Tournaments  Wilton Abbey and House : Sonnet, by the Rev. Thomas Warton 

1—2
2—4

4—6
6— 9
9—10
10—13
13—1414—16
16—18 II!
18—2020—24 24—2727— 29

29—34

Chronological Table, shewing the Year and the Reign corresponding with the several Bishops of Old
and New Sarum  ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 

;;ii

II. DESCRIPTION OF THE ENGRAVINGS.
Copper-plate — The Frontispiece. View of Old Sarum.
Woodcut — On the Title-page. Dean and Chapter Seal.
Woodcut — Tail-piece to the Introduction. Old Houses in Milford-street.
Copper-plate 1. — Ancient View of Sarum.
Woodcut ... 1 — Porch of Laverstock Church.
Copper -plate 2 — St. Anne's Gate.
Woodcut . . . 2.. — Court- Yard at Chancellor Marsh's.
Copper-plate 3  St. Martin's Church.
Woodcut ... 3 — Font at St. Martin's.
Copper-plate 4. — Stratford Church and Manor-House.
Woodcut . . . 4 — Cottage Residence at Stratford.
Copper-plate 5  Joiner's Hall, St. Anne's-street.
Woodcut ... 5 — Tric-trac Table.
Copper-plate 6. — Nave of Salisbury Cathedral.
Woodcut ... 6. — Monument of Bishop Poore.

CONTENTS  DESCRIPTION OP THE ENGRAVINGS.
Copper-plate 7  The Work-House: A View of Crane-street.
Woodcut ... 7  Ancient House in New-street.
Copper-plate 8  Harnham Mill.
Woodcut ... 8  Corbel-head in West Harnham Church.
Copper-plate 9. — Foulstone and Odstock Churches.
Woodcut ... 9  The Barracks, in Brown-street.
Copper-plate 10. — West End of Salisbury Cathedral, restored.
Woodcut ... 10  Oriel Window, in High-street.
Copper-plate 11  Fisherton Church.
Woodcut ... 11  Panel-moulding, in High-street.
Copper-plate 12  Ancient Refectory on the Canal.
Woodcut ... 12  Gothic Gate-way on the Canal.
Copper-plate 13  The Poultry-Cross, restored.
Woodcut ... 13. — Gable-ends in Silver-street.
Copper-plate 14 — St. Thomas's Church, from the River.
Woodcut ... 14. — Public-House and Bridge at Fisherton.
Copper-plate 15  Court- Yard of the Work -House ; and the George Inn, High-street.
Woodcut ... 15. — Door-way in the Yard of the George Inn.
Copper-plate 16. — The Bishop's Palace.
Woodcut ... 16  Canon Bowles's House.
Copper-plate 17 — College De Vaux, Harnham.
Woodcut ... 17 — Ancient Column in Winchester-street.
Copper-plate 18  Hungerford and Beauchamp Chapels.
Woodcut ... 18  Cathedral Porch, in Mr. Wyndham's Garden.
Copper-plate 19 — The Close-Gate in High-street, with the College of Matrons.
Woodcut ... 19 — Harnham-Gate.
Copper-plate 20 — The King's House : late the Residence of General Sir John Slade.
Woodcut ... 20 — Porch of the King's House.
Copper-plate 21 — The Muniment-Room, in Salisbury Cathedral.
Woodcut ... 21. — Regal Chair, in the Close.
Copper-plate 22 — St. Anne's-street.
Woodcut ... 22. — Tomb ofthe Duke of Buckingham, in Britford Church.
Copper-plate 23. — St. John's Chapel, Harnham.
Woodcut ... 23. — The Hospital of St. Nicholas, Harnham.
Copper-plate 24 — Bird's-eye View ofthe Cathedral, Chapter-House, and Cloisters.
Woodcut ... 24. — Ancient Horn, in the Council-House.
Copper-plate 25 — St. Edmund's Church.
Woodcut ... 25  Pulpit of St. Martin's Church.
Copper-plate 26. — Houses of Canon Hume and James Lacy, Esq.
Woodcut . '2V,  Fire-place at the Barracks, in Brown-street.
Copper-plate 27  Interior of St. Thomas's Church.
Woodcut ... 27  Chancel-Screen, in St. Thomas's Chuich.
Copper-plate 28  The Council-Chamber.
Woodcut ... 28.— The Old Guildhall.

A LIST OF SUBSCRIBERS.

J. L. Alford, Esq., Mayor of Salisbury, 1834,
India 4to.
William Andrews, Esq., Canal, India 4to.
Mrs. Arney, Close
Rev. E. F. Arney, Dean, Hants
Lord Arundel], Wardour Castle, India 4to.
Hon. Mrs. Arundell, ditto
Rev. Francis B. Astley, Manningford Abbotts,
Wilts, India 4to.
George Atkinson, Esq., Bernard's Cross
Francis Attwood, Esq,, Close, India 4to.
Mr. A. J. Attwood
Mr. Attwater, Connock, Wilts
Mrs. Bailey, Devizes, India 4to.
Colonel Baker, St. Anne's-street, India 4to.
Rev. F. E. Baker, Wily
William Baldwin, Esq., Ringwood
Mr. Henry Barnes, India 4to.
Mr. F. Barnes
Richard Barnett, Esq., Kentish Town, Mid-
dlesex
Mr. Barnett, Devizes
Mr. Barrett, Marlborough
Mr, Barrett, Queen-street
Mr. Bartlett
T. B. M. Baskerville, Esq., Rockley-House,
Wilts, India folio
Mr. Bateman, High-street
Marquess of Bath, Longleat, Wilts, Ind. 4to,
Mr. Bayley, Newmarket, India 4to.
Mr. Richard Bayley, India 4to.
Miss Hicks Beach, Netheravon-House, Wilts,
India 4to.
Mr. Beach, Catherine-street
J. Beare, Esq., Mayor of Salisbury, 1833
Mr. J. Beckingsale, Milford-street
Miss Benett, Norton Bavant, Wilts
James Bennett, Esq., Market-place
Mr, Bennett, Southampton
Robert Benson, Esq., Deputy Recorder
Miss Benson, Close
Mr. Benson, bookseller, Weymouth
Mr. J. Berry, Andover
Mr. Biddlecombe, Close
Major-General Sir Geo. Bingham, India 4to.
W. B. Blackmore, Esq., Crane-street, Ind. 4to.
Rev. Dr. Bliss, St. John's College, Oxford
E. W. Blunt, Esq., Kempshot Park, Basing
stoke, India 4to.
Mrs. Bolton, Brickworth, India 4to.
William Boucher, Esq., Thornhill, Dorset,
India 4to.
Hon. Captain Bouverie, M. P., Clyffe-HaU,
Wilts, India 4to.
Rev. Edward Bouverie, Coleshill, Berks,
India 4to.
Mr. Bower, Winchester
Rev. John Bowie, Buona Vista, Lymington,
India 4to.
Rev. Wm. Lisle Bowles, Canon Residentiary,
India 4to.
Charles Bowles, Esq., Shaftesbury
Mr. Bracher, Church-street
Mr. H. Bracher, Market-place
George W. Braikenridge, Esq., Broomwell
House, Bristol
Mr. T. Brettell, Rupert-street, London, India
4 to.
Mr. Walter Brettell, Silver-street
W. H. Brewer, Esq., Andover, India 4to.
John Britton, Esq., Burton Cottage, London
W. B. Brodie, Esq., M. P., Close, 2 copies,
India 4to.
C. G. Brodie, Esq., Gigant-street, India 4to.
Messrs. Brodie and Co., booksellers, 6 plain,
3 India 4to., 1 India folio

Mr. Bromage, Chipper-lane
G. Brown, Esq., Castle-street
Mr. F. Brown, Close
C. E. Buckland, Esq., Shaftesbury
John Buckler, Esq., New Kent Road, Mid
dlesex
John Bullar, Esq., Southampton
Mr. W. Burbidge, Crane-street, India 4to.
Mr. Joseph Burch, Milford-street
William Burridge, Esq., Shaftesbury
Sir James Burrough, Laverstock, India 4to.
Mr. T. Burrough, Blue-boar-row
Mr. G. Butler, Kennett, Wilts, India 4to.
Archbishop of Canterbury, India folio
Alexander Carter, Esq., Ringwood
Mr. O. B. Carter, Winchester
Rev. S. H. Cassan, Bruton, Somerset
Mr, C. Castles, Bull-head-court, London
Rev. George Chard, Blandford, India 4to.
Dean of Chester, Kensington Palace, India 4to.
Mr. Child, Chipper-Lane
Mr. Chinn, Milford-street
Wm. Chisholme, Esq., Kentish Town, Mid
dlesex
Mr. Clapperton, bookseller, 2 copies
Mr. Clark, bookseller, Dorchester, 2 copies
Archdeacon Clarke, Canon Residentiary
Turner Clarke, Esq., Andover
William Clarke, Esq., Ringwood
Rev. G. P. Cleather, Chirton, Wilts
Wm. H. Coates, Esq., Endless-street, India
4to.
Mr. Collings, bookseller, Bath
Mr. T. Combe, bookseller, Leicester
Mr. Cooe
Mrs. Coombes
Eyre Coote, Esq., West Park, Fordingbridge,
India folio
A. T. Corfe, Esq., Close
The Misses Corfe, Weymouth, India 4to.
John Cother, Esq., Endless-street, India 4to.
Mr. Cotton, India 4to.
Rev. David Davies, Cleddesden, Hants, India
4lo.
Edward Davies, Esq., Close, India 4to.
John Davis, Esq., Fisherton Delamere, India
4to.
Mr. G, Davis, Fish-Market
Mr. George Davis
James Dawkins, Esq., Richmond
Miss Dawkins, Upper Brook-street, London,
India 4to
Charles Deane, Esq., Winchester
Mr. J. Dennis, High-street
George Dew, Esq., Canal, India 4to.
Rev. Christopher Dodsen, Penton
Lord Dover, Dover House, Whitehall, India
4to. (dec.)
B. C. Dowding, Esq., Close, India 4to.
Miss Dowling, Enford Cottage, Wilts
Mr. Dredge, Fisherton
Mr. Wm. Drew, jun., Catherine-street
Rev. Edward Duke, Lake House, Wilts,
India 4to.
Lieut.-CoLGeorge Duke, Appleshaw, India 4to.
Rev. Richard Durnford, Clatford
Thomas Dyer, Esq., Ringwood
Mr. R. Dyer, Gilder-lane
Mr. D. T. Dyke, Exeter-street
Mr. T.. Earle, bookseller, India 4to.
Mrs. Edward, Bloomsbury-place, London
Miss Edwards, Castle-street, India 4to.
F. T. Egerton, Esq., Roche Court, India 4to.
Miss Ekins, Durnford Cottage, India 4to.
Mrs. Ellary, De Vaux Place
Henry Elliott, Esq., Devonshire-street, London

G. A. Ellis, Esq., Weymouth
Mrs. Emly, Close, India 4to.
T. H. Ernst, Esq., Westcombe House, So
merset
Mrs, Ernst, ditto
Rev. W. Evans, Pewsey, Berks
Mrs. Evans, Milford-street, India 4to.
Mrs. Everett, Endless-street
Mrs. H. Everett, St. Anne's-street, India 4to.
George Eyre, Esq., Warrens, India folio
Daniel Eyre, Esq., Close
Mrs. Purvis Eyre, Close, India 4to.
Miss Eyre, Close, India 4to.
Rev. G. Stanley Faber, Stockton, India 4to.
Mr. E. Farr, St. Anne's-street
Rev. C. Fawcett, Boscombe, India 4to.
W. Fawcett, Esq., Mayor of Salisbury, 1832
H. A. W. Fellowes, Esq., Bryanstone-square,
London, India 4to.
Mr. Benj. Ferrey, Great Titchfield-street,
London
Miss Figes, Endless-street
Dr. Finch, Belle-Vue, Salisbury, 1 plain,
1 India 4to.
Mr. Finley, M.C., High-street
Mr. F. R. Fisher, High-street, India 4to.
Mr. J. Fisher, Oxford, 1 plain, 1 India folio
Lieut. Fitzpatrick, Bruff, Limerick
Mr. Fletcher, bookseller, Southampton, 2 plain,
1 India 4to.
Mr. Florance, Fisherton
Sam. Foot, Esq., Endless-street, India 4to.
Mr. Foreman, Milford-street
M. le Forestier, Rollestone-street
Mr. W. Forster, Bradpole, Dorset
Rev. F.W. Fowle, Amesbury
Dr. Fowler, Milford, India 4to.
Mr. Wm. Fowles, Chisenbury, Wilts
Rev. E. Foyle, Cholderton, India folio (dec.)
Miss Fox, South Newton, India 4to.
Mr. C. J. Fox, Bath
W. G. French, Esq., Wilton
Mr. E. Fricker, High-street
Rev. E. Froud, Clatford
Mr. Robert Fry, Market-place, India 4to.
Rev. Joah Furey, Fordingbridge, India folio
Mrs. Gannaway
Mr.Garbett, Winchester
Major Gardiner, Cholderton Lodge
Mrs. Garrett, Catherine-street
Mr. Gatrill, Exeter-street
Mr. B. George, Milford-street
N. Gifford, Esq.
Rev. Dr. Gilbert, Principal of Brasenose Col
lege, Oxford, India 4to.
Mr. Gillingham, sen., Milford-street
Mrs. Glendenning, St. Thomas's Church-yard
Duke of Gloucester, 3 copies, India folio
Mr. G. Goddard, Catherine-street
Mr. C. N. Goddard, St. Anne's-street
Mr. Godwin, High-street
Mr. Golborn, Market-place
Mr. Gold, Bedwin-street
Rev. J. E. Good, Bristol
John Goodford, Esq., Chilton-Canteloe, So
merset
Mr. Grace, Devizes
Mrs, Graham, De Vaux Place
Mr. Gray, Crane-street
Mr. Gray
Rev. H. B, Greene, Longparish
Rev. J. Greenly, Close
Mrs. Greenway, Berwick St. John, India 4to.
Mrs, Griffinhoofe (dec.)
Rev. C. Grove, Odstock, India folio
W. Chafin Grove, Esq., Knoyle
b

LIST OF SUBSCRIBERS.

Captain Grubbe, India 4to.
Countess of Guildford, Old Alresford
Joseph Gulston. Esq., Wickham, Hants
Richard Guv, Esq., Close
Rev. W. .1. Hall, Wilmington-square, London
T. H. Hall, Esq., Upper Guildford-street,
London
J. C. Hall, Esq., Kentish Town, Middlesex,
India 4to.
C. Harbin, Esq., Ringwood, India 4to.
Rev. J. E. Harrington, Sapcote, Leicester.
shire, India 4to.
Geo. Harris, Esq., Burgate-House, India 4to.
Rev. Peter Harrison, Fisherton
Mr. Hatcher, Endless-street
Rev. Dr. Hawes, Rolleston-street, India 4to.
Mr. J. Hawkins, Canal
Mr. Hayes, Castle-street
W. Hayward, Esq.
Mr. Hayward, Close
Thomas Heath, Esq., Andover, India 4to.
Sir William Heathcote Bart., Hursley Park,
Hants, India 4to.
Mr. C. Hebditch, Broughton
Rev. C. B. Henville, Portsmouth
Bishop of Hereford, India folio (dec.)
R. Hetley, Esq., Britford, India folio
Mr. Hibberd, bookseller, Sarum, 2 copies
Mr. Higgins, Fisherton-bridge
C. Hill, Esq., Endless-street, India 4to.
E. Hinxman, Esq , Little Durnford, Ind. 4to.
Rev. Dr. Hird, Monxton, Hants
Sir Richard Colt Hoare, Bart., Stourhead,
Wilts, 1 India 4to. 1 India folio
M. T. Hodding, Esq., St. Anne's-street, India
folio
Mrs. John Hodding, Canal, India 4to.
Rev. C. H. Hodgson, Close, India folio
H. Holmes, Esq., Abbey, Romsey
Rev. W. E. Hony, Baverstock
Sir Charles Hulse, Bart., Breamore-House,
India 4to.
Mr. Humby, High-street
The Rev. T. H. Hume, Canon Residentiary,
India 4to.
Rev. H. Huntingford, India 4to.
C. Hurd, Esq., High-street
John Hussey, Esq., Lyme, India 4to.
Ambrose Hussey, Esq., New-street, Ind. 4to.
William Hussey, Esq., India 4to.
Rev. Edward Hussey
Rev. Mr. Hutchins, Clanville-House, Hants,
India 4to.
Miss Hutchinson, Kentish Town, Middlesex
Rev. Dr. Ingram, President of Trin. Coll,
Oxford, India 4to.
Mr. J. Ingram, High-street
William Iremonger, Esq., Wherwell-House,
Hants
Robert Isherwood, Esq., Kentish Town,
Middlesex
Miss Ives, Winchester-street
Mr. James, Bond-street, London, India folio
Mr. James Jenkins, East Harnham
Mr. George Jenkins, ditto
Mrs. Jennings, Chipper-lane
Win. Jerdan, Esq., Brompton, Middlesex
William Jones, Esq., Ringwood
Mr. Samuel Jones, St. John-street
Mr. Jones, bookseller, 1 plain, 1 India 4to., 1
India folio
Rev. George Kennard, Durnford
Mr. John Keynes, Winchester-street
Mr. King, High-street
Mr. John Knight, Market-place (India 4to.)
James Lacy, Esq., Laveistock, India 4to.
Mr. Lacy, New-street
Mr. C. 1.. Lake, Silver-street, India 4to.
Mr. Lambert
Mr. Langridge, Silver-street
Mr. Lashmore, Southampton
Mr. George Lawes, Market-place, 1 plain, 1
India 4to.

Mr. Wm. Lawes, Market-place, India 4to.
T. Lawrence, Esq., Rollestone-street, India
4to.
Mr. Lee, Salt-lane
Mrs. Lee
Watlham Locke, Esq., M.P., Rowde-Ford
House, Devizes
Mr. John Loder, Close
Rev. G. P. Lowther, Orcheston St. George
Miss Luxford, Close
Rev. Charles Lucas, Devizes
Archdeacon Macdonald, Canon Residentiary,
India 4to.
Mr. James Macklin, Market-place
Earl of Malmesbury, Heron Court, Hants,
India folio
Miss F. Mant, Winchester, India 4to.
Mr. J. Marlow, Silver-street
Chancellor Marsh, Canon Residentiary,2 plain,
2 India 4to.
John Martin, Esq., Mount-street, London
Henry Mason, Esq., Kentish Town, Middlesex
Geo. Matcham, Esq., New House, Downton,
India 4to.
Charles Mathews, Esq., Kentish Town, Mid
dlesex
Dr. Maton, Redlynch, Wilts
Mr. S. Maton, Endless-street
Rev. J. Matthews, Shrewton
Mr. Maunder, New-street
J. T. Mayne, Esq., TetTont House
Charles Mayo, Esq., Winchester
Mrs. Meredith, Nottingham-Place, London
Rev. G. A. Montgomery, Bishopstone
Rev. Robert Morres, Reading
John Morrice, Esq., Gower-street, London
Mr. Munday, Queen-street
Mr. Nattali, bookseller, London, 4 copies
Joseph Neeld, Esq., M.P., Grettleton-House,
Wilts, India 4to.
Mr. Newman
John Nichols, Esq., Parliament-st., London
Earl of Normanton, Somerley-House, Hants,
India folio
Miss Noyes, Close
Mr. Old
Mr. Olding, Woodford
Mr. Wm. Osmond, Close
George Pain, Esq., Castle-street, India 4to.
Thomas Lester Parker, Esq., Mount-street,
London, 2 copies, India 4to.
Mr. Parsons, Catherine-street
Mr. Patten, Winchester
Mr. Wm. Payne, Church-street, India 4to.
Mr. Sampson Payne, Canal
Rev. Jasper Peck, Melksham
Earl of Pembroke, Wilton Abbey, India folio
Mr. Peniston, De Vaux Place. India 4to.
Adjutant Pettit, R.W.Y.C, Exeter-street
Mr. James Phillips, Market-place
Right Hon. Henry Pierrepont, Conbolt Park,
India 4to.
J. Pinckney, Esq., Market-place, India 4to.
(dec.)
Air. C. Pittman, High-street
Mr. Richard Pittman, jun., Bedwin-street
Mr. Pocock, Catherine-street
R. P. C. Pooley, Esq., Blandford, India 4 to.
Rev. J. T. Porter, Close
Alexander Powell, Esq., Huidcott House,
Wilts, India 4to.
Rev. H. Powney, Wallop, India 4to.
Mr. Wm. Prangley, Brown-street, India folio
Mrs. .1. Prince
Rev. Dr. Radcliffe, Endless-street, India folio
Rev. G. Radcliffe, Castle-street, India 4to.
Earl of Radnor, Longford Castle, Wilts, India
folio.
Countess of Radnor, ditto, India 4to.
Mr. Rake, Canal
Mr. T. Randoll, Bedwin-street
Mr. Ranger
Mr. J. Reitli, Poultry-Cross, India 4to.

Rev. P. P. Rendall, Milston, India folio (dec.)
Mrs. Rendall, Endless-street
Mr. Rhoades, Minster-street
John Richards, Esq., Francis-street, London
— Richards, Esq.
Mr. Riddell, Brown-street
Mr. Robberts, Poultry-Cross
Messrs. Robbins and Wheeler, booksellers,
Winchester, 12 plain, 1 India 4to.
Rev. J. A. Roberts, Wood-street, Ljndon
Mr. George Roberts
Hon. Mrs. Robinson, Manor-House, Durn
ford, India 4to.
Lord Rodney, Alresford
Mr. Rook, Rockbourn
Mr. James Rooke, Catherine-street, India 4to.
Rev. H. J. Rose, Trinity College, Cambridge
Mr. Rutter, Shaftesbury
Mr. J. Rvland, Bristol
Rev. Mr. Saffery, Castle-street
Bishop of Salisbury, India folio
Dean of Salisbury, India 4to.
W. W. Salmon, Esq., South-Broom House,
Devizes, India 4to.
Miss Salter, Castle-street
G. Sampson, Esq., Ca-tle-street
J. Sanger, Esq., Oxford-street, London, India
4to.
Mr. Joseph Sanger, Fisherton
Mr. Saunders, Wishford
Mr. J. Saunders, St. Anne's-stieet, India 4to.
W. Scott, Esq.
William Seagrim, Esq., Wilton, India 4to.
Rev. M. Sealy, Farley-Chamberlayne, Hants
Mr. Setchel, bookseller, King-street, London
Mr. W. Sharp, Abbey, Romsey
Mr. Sherwood, bookseller, London
Mr. Shipp, bookseller, Blandford, I plain,
1 India 4to.
Mrs. Shuckburgh, the Moot, Downton
Mi,s Sibly, Portsea
Mr. Richard Sidford, jun.. High-street
Mr. James Simmonds, Rollestone-street
Rev. H. Sissmore, Andover
Mr. Skeate, Bedwin-street
Miss S. Skinner, Close
Rev. F. Skurray, Horningsham
E. Smirke, Esq., London
Septimus Smith. Esq., Blandford
Mr. G. Smith, Canal
J. Smith, Esq., Close
George South, Esq., Long-fleet, Dorset
John Sparshatt, Esq., Market-place, India
4to.
Miss Spiers, Wallop-Lodge
Mr. Springford, Fisherton
Mr. Squarev, Market-place
Sir George Staunton, B irt.. M.P., Leigh Park,
Hants. 2 copies, India 4to.
Edward Stevens, Esq., Canal
Mr. Storey, Conduit-street, London, Ind. folio
Robert Strange, Esq., Devizes
Mr. Strong, bookseller, Bristol
Earl of Suffolk, Charlton, Malmesbury, India
4 to.
Mr. William Sutton, jun., Church-street
John Swayne, Esq., Wilton, India 4to.
J. P. Swayne, Esq., Steeple Langford, India
4to.
Mr. Swyer, Shaftesbury
Mr. Robert Swyer, Manchester
Mr. Harry Swyer, Fisherton Bridge
Mr. John Sydenham, Dorchester
Lord De Tabley, Tabley House, Leicester
shire, 2 copies, India 4to.
William Tanner, Esq., Devizes
Rev. W. W. Tatum, New-street, India 4to.
George Watson Taylor, Esq., India folio
Rev. N. Templeman, Cranborne, India folio
John Templeman, Esq., Bath, India folio
Mr. Titt, Wallop, India 4to.
Mr. Toll, Sherborne, India 4to.
Rey. Dr. Toogood, Milston, India folio

LIST OF SUBSCRIBERS.

George Townsend, Esq.
Mrs. Tregonwell, Beurn Cliff, Dorset, Ind.4to.
Mr. Triniman, Catherine-street
Mr. Truman, Canal
E. R. Tunno, Esq., Redrice House, Hants,
India folio
John Tylee, Esq., Broadleaze, Devizes
Rev ^Frederick Urquhart, Broadmayne, Dorset
Rev. S. B. Vince, Ringwood
Rev. H. Wake, Wallop, India 4to.
Rev. Richard Waldy, Affpuddle, Dorset
Charles Baring Wall, Esq. M. P., Norman
Court, Hants, India folia
Rev. Mr. Ward, Great Bedwin, Wilts, India
4to.
Mr. C. Watterson, Church-street, Fisherton
Robert Waylin, Esq., Devizes, India 4to.
W. Webb, Esq.
J. Whatman, Esq., Vinters, Kent, India 4to.
Mrs. Wheatley
H. J. Wheeler, Esq., Montague Place, Lon
don
John Wheeler, Esq., Endless-street
W. Wheeler, Esq., Brown-street

Samuel Whitchurch, Esq., Charford, Wilts,
India 4to.
Mrs. W. Whitchurch, Winchester-street
Rev. J. P. White, Droxford, Hants
Rev. J. White, Hardwick, Bucks, (dec.)
Mr. White, Catherine-street
Mr. J. W. White, Castle-street
Mr. H. White, Castle-street
W. D. Whitmarsh, Esq., Endless-street, India
4to.
Mr. G. Whitmarsh, Wilton
Edward Whitmore, Esq.
Miss Wickens, Close
Mr. John Wilkes, Milford-street
Robert Williams, Esq. M. P., Bridehead,
Dorset, India folio
Rev. Dr. Williams, Winchester College
Mrs. David Williams, ditto
Rev. E. H. G. Williams, Marlborough
Edward Willoughby, Esq., Lancaster-place,
London
Mr. Wills, Castle-street
Richard Wilson, Esq., Lincoln's Inn Fields,
London, India 4to.

Bishop of Winchester, India folio
Dean of Winchester, India folio
Winchester College Library, India folio
David Winzar, Esq., Market-place
John Winzar, Esq., Endless-street, India 4to
C. B. Wollaston, Esq.
Captain Woods
Mr. Woodward, Andover, India 4to
Miss Elizabeth Woolls, Winchester
James Woolls, Esq., Kingston, Jamaica
Rev. C. Woolls, Sturminster Marshall
William Woolls, Esq., Sydney, N. S. W.
Mr. Worth, St. Anne's-street, India 4to.
Wadham Wyndham, Esq., St. Edmund's
College, India 4to.
Wm. Wyndham, Esq., Dinton House, Wilts,
India 4to.
Miss Wyndham, Close, 1 plain, 1 India 4to
Chas. Wyndham, Esq., Donhead Hall, Wilts,
India 4to
H. Farr Yeaiman,Esq., Stock House, Dorset.
India 4to
Rev. W. J. Yonge, Rockbourn
Mr. Wm. Young, New-street

SOME ACCOUNT

CITIES OF OLD AND NEW SARUM.

In the Frontispiece of our " Picturesque Memorials," we have a most faithful and spirited
representation of the Remains of Old Sarum, as they now stand. The Borough, so long a bone
of contention between the rival hosts of politicians, and which had returned its pair of Repre
sentatives for a space of five hundred years, is now disfranchised ; and even the Election Tree,
seen in the valley on the left, has lately fallen, in part,
" To savage winds a prey,
" And men more furious and severe than they."
Here stands Old Sarum, nevertheless ; and we may safely venture to predict, will stand as long
as the world endures. Behind it, lies the peaceful village of Stratford ; in front, the Castle Inn,
which so long enjoyed the monopoly of the elective franchise ; and beyond, on every side, the
desert plain, covered with mounds and barrows, diversified occasionally with villages, and
with spots of rural cultivation.
Old Sarum was a Fortress of the Celts, or native Britons. It is first recorded as the
residence of Ergen, the daughter of Caractacus, who was married to the Chief Ruler of the City.
Its original designation was Caer-Sar:flog, or the Citadel of the Service-Tree. In the classical
writers of antiquity, we find it reckoned among the thirty town's occupied in this part of the
Island by the Belgae, a tribe of the aboriginal Germans, who were dispossessed of their British
conquests by Vespasian. By the Roman government its advantageous position was duly appre
ciated : they made it a station for troops, in connexion with other posts, united by military
roads,* under the title of Sorbiodunum, according to the Itineraries of Antoninus and of
Richard of Cirencester.
* No less than six Roman Roads are known to have emerged out of Old Sarum. One, S. W., passing near Bemerton
Church, crossing the Wily by the Parsonage Barn, over Lord Pembroke's warren, to Tony Stratford, Woodyates Inn, and
Badbury Rings, to Dorchester. A second, E., crossing the London road, near King Chlorus's Camp, by Ford, Winterslow
Mill, Buccold Farm, and Bossington, to Winchester. A third, N. E.,by Paton, to Silchester, A fourth, N., towards
Kennet. A fifth, N. W., by Bishopstrow, and Yarnbury, Scratchbury, and Battlesbury Castles, to Aqua? Solis, or Bath.
And a sixth, W., to Ilchester. B

Again, under the Saxon dynasty, we find Old Sarum ranked among the most considerable
cities of the West, under the name of Searobyrig. In the year 5.52, Kenric, or Cynric, having
routed the Britons, established himself within its bulwarks/ It appears to have been endowed,
by Ina and Ethelburga, king and queen of the West Saxons, with an ecclesiastical foundation,
soon after the conversion of the Saxons to Christianity. And on the subjugation of the Heptarchy,
in the early part of the 9th century, it became the frequent residence of Egbert.
In the year 872, when Alfred was engaged in his eventful struggle with the Danes, he
paid particular attention to the security of Old Sarum. The outer trench and palisades were
then added ; and although the fortress was still unable to withstand the sanguinary assaults of
its enemies, it soon regained its character, and was selected by Edgar, in 960, as the place of
convocation for a general council, to devise measures for the expulsion of their troublesome
assailants from the North. In 1003 it was visited by Sweyn, king of Denmark, after the pillage
and demolition of the neighbouring town of Wilton ; but appears, on this occasion, to have
shared a better fate.
From the period of the Conquest, the history of Old Sarum becomes more precise. In
1086, William the Conqueror here convened the prelates, nobles, sheriffs, and knights of his
new dominions to pay their homage, to devise the regulations of the Feudal Law, and the
preparation of the Doomsday Book. Two other national councils were also held at the same
place, within a short interval of time ; one, by William Rufus, in 1096 ; and another, in 1116,
by Henry the 1st. Finally, the neighbourhood acquired additional lustre from the establishment
of a Royal Residence at Clarendon, within an easy distance of communication with a garrisoned
city, and likewise with the sea-coast.
It was during the reign of William the Conqueror that the Episcopal See was translated
from Wilton to Old Sarum, where there already existed a Chapel, under the government of a
Dean. The patronage of the Dean was translated to the Cathedrals of Sherborne, in Dorsetshire,
and Sunning, in Berkshire; while Herman, who had before occupied the See of Sherborne and
Wilton, was now installed into that of Sarum. But it was to Osmund that the city was
indebted for its Cathedral, and an establishment proportionate to its ecclesiastical rank and
consequence. The charter of foundation was ratified by William Rufus, at Hastings, in the year
* In the year 1771, the bones of near thirty bodies, with remains of ancient armour, were discovered in the gardens
of St. Edmund's College, Salisbury. These are thought by some to indicate the spot where the battle was fought between
the Britons and West Saxons. A commemorative urn was shortly afterwards erected, by H. P. Wyndham, Esq., with
the following inscription :— " Hoc in campo, Cynricus, Occidentalium Saxonum Rex, Britannos adeo gravi hominum strage
profligavit, ut vicinam urbem Sorbiodunum facile mox expugnaret. Hujus cladis indicio sunt, armorum, rubigine, nee non
ossium putridine, confectorum, insignes reliquite, nuper hic in apricum erutaj  Ne loci saltern memoria periret, haec rite
dedicator urna. A. D. 1774."

1091 ; and the Church, which was dedicated, the year following, to the Virgin Mary, is supposed
to have stood within the North- Western angle of the fortress, near the postern leading down
to Stratford. The houses of the Priests, and the Churches of St. John and Holy-well, were
also built within the walls.
In the reign of Henry the 1st, the City and Cathedral of Old Sarum flourished in all
the height of their magnificence : and with the splendid council of nobles and commonalty here
assembled, it is supposed, by many, that the British Parliament took its rise. Bishop Roger
was an especial favourite with the monarch, and presided at once over the Church and Fortress,
as well as over the counsels of the State. He repaired and completed the fortifications of the
town, embellished the Cathedral and episcopal Palace in a style which has elicited the warmest
praises from the historian, William of Malmesbury ; and, on the death of Henry, obtained from
his successor, Stephen, a variety of favours and 'privileges for the city and diocese. But the
Bishop at length fell into disgrace at court. The King assumed the custody of the fortress,
which he held till his capture, in 1141, by the Empress Maud, who requited the partiality ofthe
See of Sarum by a confirmation of many benefactions, which Stephen had begun to withdraw.
After the liberation of the King, however, Old Sarum became the actual scene of civil
and domestic broils. Here the adherents of Maud established their head-quarters, and defeated
Stephen, in 1143, on the plains of Wilton. And so it was, the Church, as has ever been the
case when affairs of State have miscarried, became an easy prey to the rapacity and ill-humour
ofthe contending parties.
With Henry the 2nd, the days of prosperity returned ; and the rites and immunities of
Old Sarum, civil as well as ecclesiastical, were restored. But it was not till the reign of John
that events of the utmost importance to the existence of the city came to pass. The soil and
situation of the place had long ago been felt to be both unprofitable and inconvenient. Peter
de Blois, a writer of the times, has commemorated these vexations, in Monkish verse : —
" Est tibi defectus lymphse, sed copia cretas;
" Saevit ibi ventus, sed Philomela silet."
" There water's scarce, but chalk in plenty lies ;
" And those sweet notes which Philomel denies,
" The harsher music of the wind supplies."
But besides these natural disadvantages of position, the Clergy found themselves continually
exposed to angry and tumultuous collision with the garrison. During the episcopacy of Bishops
Joceline and Hubert Walter, a desire to remove the affairs of the Church into the valley had
been frequently entertained. Under Herbert Poore, who presided in the reign of Richard the

1st, the migration is supposed to have commenced ; but the full execution of the project was
not effected till the succession of his brother Richard to the See, in 1217, according to the
narrative of William de Wanda, Precentor, and afterwards Dean, of the Cathedral. A formal
representation of grievances was then made to Pope Honorius, and leave obtained to remove
the ecclesiastical establishment, at the discretion* ofthe Bishop, Dean, and Chapter, who were
severally pledged to contribute, out of their revenues, towards the attainment of so important a
design. Accordingly, in the year 1219, on the first Monday after Easter, a temporary Chapel, of
wood, was commenced at New Sarum, or Salisbury, for families who had already settled,
or were daily thronging to the spot, and opened for public worship on the Feast of Holy Trinity.
On All Saints' Day, ofthe same year, the translation from the old city to the new took place.
The year following, on the 4th day of the calends of May, the foundation-stone of
the new Cathedral was laid, with great pomp ; and a stone, with further donations, contributed
by each of the prelates, peers, and others in authority, who graced the ceremony with their
presence. On Michaelmas-day, 1225, the Cathedral, though not yet completed, was first used for
divine service, having been solemnly dedicated to the Virgin Mary, in the presence of Otho, the
Pope's nuncio, and a splendid assembly of divines. f Bishop Poore next applied to King Henry
the 3rd for a charter, to protect the Church, and the city, which was gradually rising around
it, and to advance their mutual prosperity. For the better arrangement of houses and shops,
the ground was divided into spaces of seven perches in length, and three in breadth ; these
again were subdivided, to suit the convenience of settlers ; and their titles were secured to the
awners of land and property, by the payment of a trifling quit-rent to the Church.
On the translation of Richard Poore to Durham, his successor, Bingham, was left to
carry on the works. In 1238, this prelate obtained a confirmation ofthe previous charter, and
superintended the interests which devolved to his charge with uncommon zeal and liberality.
Bingham died in 1246, and was succeeded by William of York, who, at the time of his death,
ten years afterwards, had brought the fabric of the Church so near to its completion, that, in
1258, the whole was finished off and consecrated, in the presence of the King and Queen, by
Boniface, Archbishop of Canterbury, and Egidius de Bridport, successor to the See of Salisbury.
* The popular tradition of the spot being determined by an arrow, shot by a bowman, from the ramparts of Old
Sarum, is humorously illustrated in the Salisbury Ballad, — a witty, but licentious, poem, written by Dr. Walter Pope,
Chaplain to Seth Ward, Bishop of Salisbury, in the reign of Charles the 2nd.
¦f The bodies of Bishops Osmund, Roger, and Joceline were transferred, the same year, from the old Cathedral to
the new ; but it was not till 1457, that the first of these Prelates was canonised.

The importance of the town of Wilton had already been materially reduced, by the
alteration of the great western road, which was now carried through East Harnham, over the
bridge erected at Earl's Ford by Bishop Bingham. And now the city of Old Sarum appears
to have been gradually deserted. The Cathedral, indeed, with some of the Prebendal Houses,
remained for several years, and two Vicars were annually appointed,, after the year 1269, to
give attendance at the service of the Church. But in 1331, by permission of Edward the 3rd,
the whole was taken down, and the materials employed in the construction of the spire of the
new Cathedral, as well as the walls and other buildings of the Close ; even as the remains of
Babylon were removed to Bagdad, and those of Memphis to Grand Cairo.
Old Sarum has now scarcely any vestiges of masonry remaining : but as a specimen of
early fortification, it still presents, even in its present state of dilapidation, an extraordinary
proof of the skill and resources of its occupants. The fortress consisted of two main
divisions ; the principal square, or city, — and the keep, or citadel. In digging the outer ditch,
the workmen heaped the earth partly inside and partly outside, so that a lofty mound defended
the approach to it, whilst a rampart still more lofty, and surmounted by a wall, twelve feet in
thickness, and of proportionate height, arose inside of it. This wall was strengthened by twelve
towers placed at intervals, and the entrances on the East and West sides were commanded by
lunettes, or half-moons. It is curious to observe, that the very same species of outwork is still
employed, in the present state of fortification, to command the entrances to citadels. The whole
of the conical knoll was 1600 feet in diameter, and about 4800 in circumference.
In the centre of this vast entrenchment was the strong-hold, considerably higher than
the rest, and where, if the outworks were forced, the garrison and inhabitants might retire with.
safety. A well of immense depth supplied them with water ; and the wall, also of twelve feet
in thickness, and enclosing a space of 500 feet in diameter, and about 1500 in circumference,
would afford protection to a considerable multitude. The city was divided into two districts
by a bank, surmounted by a wall, running from North to South, and so contrived as to present
additional difficulties to an enemy. Of the walls, only two fragments now exist : one, very
much dilapidated, at the Eastern entrance into the citadel ; the other, on the North side of the
outer works, of which enough remains to show that it was built of flint imbedded in rubble, and
coated with square stones of tolerable masonry, though evidently the labour of those days when
height was considered the best protection against external force.
Among the ruins of Old Sarum, a variety of Roman coins are found ; especially those of
Adrian, Severus, Carausius, Constantinus, Julianus, Valentinianus, Theodosius, and Honorius.
After the hard frost of 1795, a subterraneous passage, of solid masonry, was also discovered,

with a flight of steps, supposed to lead, by a circuitous route, to the river ; and designed, no
doubt, as a means of escape or communication in case of a blockade.*
In very early days, Old Sarum gave a title to several families of distinction. Edrick,
Duke of Mercia, was styled Earl of Salisbury. Walter Devereux had the same honour conferred
upon him by the Conqueror. William Longspee, or Longsword,f natural son of Henry the 2nd
and Fair Rosamond, received the same title. In the reign of Edward the 3rd it came to William
Montacute ; and in that of James the 1st, to Robert Cecil, son of Lord Burleigh.
Tlie property of the Castle was conferred, in 1447, on Lord Stourton, Treasurer of the
Household to King Henry the 6th. By the attainder of Charles, 7th Lord Stourton, for the
murder of the Hartgills, in the reign of Queen Mary, it returned to the crown, and was presented ,
by James the 1st, together with the title, to Robert Cecil. By James, 4th Earl of that name,
the manor was sold, in 1690, to Governor Pitt, for the sum of 1500Z. ; and, after remaining for
some years in the family of the Earl of Chatham, was sold to its present owner, Dupre
Alexander, Earl of Caledon.
This account may be not inappropriately closed by a most beautiful " Sonnet on Old
Sarum," composed and communicated expressly for the present work, by the Rev. William
Lisle Bowles, Canon Residentiary of Salisbury Cathedral : —
Here stood the City of the Sun : look round !
Dost thou not see a visionary band,
Druids, and bards, upon the summit stand
Of this forsaken, but majestic, mound ?
Dost thou not hear, at times, the acclaiming sound
Of harps, as when the bards, in long array,
Hail'd the ascending god of light and day ?
No ! all is hush'd ; death's stillness, how profound !
In after years, here the Cathedral rose,
Whose prelates now in yonder fane repose,
Among the mighty of tiroes past away :
For there her seat of rest Religion chose ;
There, still to heaven, ascends the holy lay,
And never may her shrines in wreck and silence close !
Returning, then, to the New City, we cannot do better than describe the Cathedral
at length, in the correct and admirable language ofthe late Mr. Dodsworth : 
* An interesting account of this discovery, with engraved representations of the cavern, will be found in the Gentleman's
Magazine of the above year, page 195.
t Matthew Paris has furnished him with an Epitaph, adapted to his name :—
" Floscomitum, Willhelmus, obit, stirpsregia; tongus
" Ensis vaginam capit habere brevem."
" Long-sword, his feats of warlike prowess past,
" Finds a short scabbard long enough at last."

" This magnificent structure consists of a nave and side-aisles, with transepts, forming a
double cross. On the east of each transept is a side-aisle. The nave, choir, and transepts rise
into an elevation of three tiers. The lower arches are of the lancet kind, supported by clustered
columns, each composed of four pillars, with as many slender shafts. In the second tier, or
gallery, answering to the roof of the aisles, the double arch, of the Norman style, is replaced by
a flat pointed arch, subdivided into four smaller, which are varied with different sweeps or
divisions, and ornamented alternately with quatrefoils, and rosettes of eight leaves. The upper
or clere-story consists of triple windows, of the lancet shape. Between the middle arches are
corbel heads, supporting clustered shafts, with a capital of foliage. From these rises the
vaulting, which is plain, and turned with arches and cross-springers only. The columns
dividing the principal transept from its aisle, consist of clusters of four, without shafts ; those of
the smaller transept of two columns, with as many shafts. The upper stories of both transepts
are similar to those of the nave. The lower arches of the choir, as well as those of the transepts,
are enriched with an open zig-zag moulding ; and the space above the small lights of the upper
windows is relieved with an ornament, resembling an expanded flower.
" Throughout the vaulting, the intersection of the cross-springers is marked with a tuft of
foliage ; and smaller tufts, or single leaves, are gracefully introduced in other parts of the
building. The four arches at the principal intersection are also decorated with a rich moulding
of rosettes. The windows of the side aisles are double lights of the lancet kind, unornamented
without, but with slender shafts within. Those of the upper story, both internally and extern
ally, are relieved with shafts. The mouldings are plain curves, and the bases and capitals of all
the columns exactly similar.
" On examining the exterior, we observe one of the first peculiarities which marked the
pointed style. As this mode of building was less massive than that of the Normans, a new
expedient was necessary to give it the .requisite solidity. Hence the walls are strengthened
with buttresses of considerable projection, introduced in the intervals between the windows, as
well as at the principal angles. Flying or arched buttresses are also concealed within the
roofing of the aisles, to support the walls of the nave.
" The projecting parts are marked with additional ornaments. The arches of the east end,
the terminations of the transepts, and the front of the north porch, are embellished with shafts
and mouldings, — simple, yet tasteful, and calculated to give a more elegant and elaborate,
appearance to those portions which first strike the eye. The whole building, and likewise the
' cloister, are surmounted with a parapet wall, the style of which has been much admired.
" But the west front was the part in which the architect has chosen to display his taste

and fancy. The lancet and subdivided arches are here gracefully intermixed, and trefoil-
headed niches, surmounted with pediments, terminating in trefoils, are profusely scattered over
the whole front itself, as well as the sides and reverse of the square turrets, with which it is
flanked. These originally contained images, which, to judge from the mutilated remnants still
left, were in no wise contemptible, either for style or execution. Many of the string-courses
and heads of the niches are decorated with an open zig-zag moulding ; and the division is
marked by a fillet of lozenge work, enriched with trefoils and quatrefoils. A comparison of this
front with the other parts of the structure, will prove that the design of the builder was to exhibit
his power of combining grandeur with elegance and simplicity ; and that, if he was elsewhere
sparing of his ornaments, it was from taste and judgment, not from poverty of imagination.
" In the Lady Chapel, also, he has chosen to display the boldest and most striking
specimen of his skill. It consists of a body and side-aisles, of the same breadth as the choir,
divided from each other by alternate single and clustered columns, of peculiar lightness. These
are scarcely nine inches in diameter, yet almost thirty feet in height, and are rendered stable
only by the vast weight of the vaulted ceiling.
" The lofty tower and spire were obviously not included in the original design ; the
architecture being of a much richer and lighter species. The original finish was a species of
lantern, built on the intersection of the grand transept and the nave, rising about eight feet
above the roof, and ornamented internally with a colonnade, supporting a series of subdivided
arches. " The choir appears to have been originally inclosed with a stone screen, standing on a
deep plinth, broken into niches, with trefoil heads ; and ornamented with various kinds of
sculpture. The same taste is observed in the niches or stalls of the Chapter-House.
" The walls and buttresses are of Chilmark stone, brought from a village twelve miles
distant. The pillars and shafts are of Purbeck marble. Those which sustain any pressure are
laid according to their natural bed in the quarry ; while the ornamented shafts have their form
inverted. These were not in general introduced in the order and course of the work ; but fixed
with lead, in a socket purposely left, after the building had settled, and fastened to the pillars
with a bandage of brass. The push of the vaulting answers nearly to an equilateral triangle.
The groins and ribs are of stone ; but the shell between is of chalk mixed with stone, over which
is laid a coat of inortar and rubble, apparently ground together, and poured on hot, so as to
cement the whole into one entire substance.
" At a short distance to the north of the Church, was a large and substantial belfry,
which was probably erected at the same time as the principal building." *
* History of Salisbury Cathedral, page 127 to 131.

To the city of New Sarum, the beginning of the 14th century was perhaps the period of
its utmost prosperity and renown. The novelty and splendour of the Cathedral had attracted
universal admiration ; and the sums expended by the clergy, in its erection and support, had
enriched the host of artisans, who were, in turn, employing their capital on the promotion of their
trades, and the decoration of their city.
But such is the constitution of the mind of man, that, after a little season of prosperity,
he despises the sources of his own advancement. In 1 315, the citizens of Salisbury were moved
to take offence at the controul and interference of the Church, and particularly at its wealth
and magnificence. They accordingly petitioned the King for an exemption from this depend
ency ; and the King, like an indulgent parent of his children, acceded to their request. The
consequence was, that, before another twelvemonth had expired, the trade of the place, and,
with its trade, its comfort and importance, were visibly declining : and the citizens were but too
happy to appeal again to the royal clemency, and, with many professions of regret, to regain
the patronage and protection of the Church.*
Tranquillity and confidence were thus restored, and the Church and City flourished as
before. Simon de Gondavo, who was now Bishop, proceeded to exercise the power assigned
him by the crown, and directed the city to be fortified with a rampart and ditch. Besides the
Bishop's Palace and the houses of the Canons Residentiary, the Church of St. Thomas, the
Hospital of St. Nicholas, the Chapel of St. John, and the Colleges of St. Edmund and De Vaux,
(which are described hereafter in their proper places,) had all risen into existence. Of the
extent of the city at large, it may be enough to mention, that, among the Chapter and other
records, we meet with references to the Butcher-Row, in 1217 ; to Castle-street, and the Free
School, in 1 326 ; to Gigore, or Gigant-street, Wynemand-street, and Scots-lane, in 1334 ; to New-
street and the Poultry-cross, in 1335; to High-street, in 1342; to Minster and Silver-streets,
in 1345; to Endless-street, in 1348 ; to Catherine-street, in 1352 ; to Brown-street, in 1369 ;
to Winchester-street, in 1377 ; and to Culver-street, in 1402. f In many instances, the shops,
cellars, and store-houses are mi:iutely denoted and described.
Of the City-gates, which reached across Winchester-street and Castle-street, the former
was taken down in 1767, the latter, though leaving some few traces behind it, about twenty
years afterwards.
* In Price's Account of Salisbury Cathedral will be found a. variety of documents illustrative of this curious
transaction. •f By statute of the 7th and last year of Edward VI. (1552), the number of Taverns in each town, throughout
England, is limited to two ; Salisbury, with a few others, has a special license for three. One of the first consequences of
an infringement on this wholesome regulation was, that the landlady of " The Silent Woman " was indicted for keeping a
disorderly house ! D

10
There are also two sorts of public institutions, connected respectively with the ecclesi
astical and civil history of almost every town of early notoriety, — the Monastic Houses, and
the Chartered Companies.
Two of the Religious Houses, and only two, can now be positively identified : one, a
Franciscan Establishment for Grey Friars, or Friars Minors, at Bugmore Priory ; the other, a
Dominican Establishment for Black Friars, or Friars Preachers, at Fisherton. The first of
these was removed from Old Sarum ; the second existed not till the latter part of the 1 3th
century. But it is probable that there were several others, of a later date, in Crane-street,
New-street, or on the New Canal.
The Halls of three of the Chartered Companies still remain ; the Joiners', in St. Anne-
street ; the Tailors', in Milford-street ; and the Wool-Combers', in Church-street. A house,
once occupied by the Weavers, in Endless-street, was not long since demolished.
Two other establishments, of considerable reputation in Salisbury, may as well be
mentioned in this place ; and those are the Public Grammar-Schools. The older of these is
situated in the Close ; and was founded by Bishop Poore, for the education of the choristers of
the Cathedral. The master is allowed to receive other pupils; and, in its best days, not much
less than a hundred have assembled ; among others, the celebrated James Harris, of philological
celebrity, here received the rudiments of education. Somewhat, though not much, more recent
is the City School, in Castle-street, which was not founded, but only renewed and enlarged, by
Queen Elizabeth : among other names recorded in its annals, are those of Simon Foreman, the
astrologer ; Joseph Addison ; and Lord Chief Baron Eyre. The present School-Houses are both
modern, as may be seen by the views engraved in Mr. J. C. Buckler's volume of Endowed
Grammar-Schools. Meanwhile, the reign of Edward the 3rd had proved of signal value to the City of
Salisbury. By his permission, a stone wall had been commenced around the Close, though not
completed for many years afterwards ; and under his sanction, the Cathedral was now crowned
with that beautiful and wonderful example of English science, taste, and workmanship, which
has ever since continued, and probably ever will continue, without a rival.
" It is needless," says Mr. Dodsworth, " to expatiate on the stupendous height, astonish
ing lightness, and beautiful architecture, of the tower and spire. These have awakened the wonder
and admiration of every beholder. But the manner in which the design was executed, is no less
extraordinary than the boldness with which it was planned ; and shows the architect to have
possessed a mind confident in its vast resources, and unchecked either by difficulties or danger.
" The original finish of the edifice, as has been already observed, was a lantern, orna-

11
mented with a colonnade within, and rising eight feet above the present roof. The wall in this
part is only two feet thick, built with hewn stone, without and within, but filled in the middle
with flints and rubble. Into this was inserted a course of stone, a foot thick, parallel to the
declivity of the roof, as a water-table for the lead covering. Notwithstanding the frailty of so
slender a foundation, the architect trusted to the additional strength of braces, or flying
buttresses, to sustain the intended fabric. Of these, which were either originally built, or raised
in the progress of the building, Price enumerates no less than one hundred and twelve,
amounting together to 387 superficial feet, in addition to the 260 feet which are contained in
the original arcade. Beside these, additional solidity was given by walling up the door-ways,
left for a communication with the upper windows, and by numerous bars and bandages of iron,
particularly one about the upper part of the arcade, which embraces it within and without, and
was ranked, by Sir Christopher Wren, among the best pieces of smith's-work, in Europe, for
the time. From the nature of the structure, it is probable also, that the counter arches in the
eastern transept were among the earliest contrivances to resist the pressure on that side of the
building, occasioned by the weight of the tower and spire.
" On this foundation the architect erected his wonderful superstructure, consisting of a
tower and spire, rising to the height of 387 feet from the ground. According to the mode of
the work, the tower consists of three stories. The first is the original finish, terminating with an
embattled moulding, a few feet above the roof. The walls of the second are six feet thick, with
large piers, and narrow windows. From some apprehension for the safety of the fabric, which
evidently began to yield and fracture, with the vast pressure, the third story is reduced to a
hollow light work, consisting of pilasters and recesses. Below the finish of the tower, two
bandages of iron are discovered, connected with each other ; and others are doubtless concealed
within the walls.
" As the spire is octagonal, four arches were thrown across the four angles of the tower,
to form the foundation, which are strengthened with cramps of iron. These having no abutment,
except the bandages wrought into the walls, the architect contrived to supply the defect, by
raising pinnacles on the angles, which at once confine the arches, and blend the square form of
the tower with the octagon of the spire. At this part, also, which was expected to suffer from
mechanical pressure, he again recurred to a bandage of iron, formed of a two-inch bar, covered
with lead, which is inserted in the order and course of the work.
" The wall of the tower is here five feet in thickness. Of these, two feet are employed for
the foundation of the spire, two for the passage round, and one for the parapet. The walls of
the spire diminish gradually within, till, meeting with the upright of the inside, at the height of

12
about twenty feet, they are reduced to nine inches, which is the thickness of the shell of stone
to the summit. " In this part of the structure, the architect has shown the same fertility of resource as
in the preceding. To add artificial strength, without a proportionate increase of the weight, he
contrived a timber frame, consisting of a central piece, with arms and braces, which served the
purpose of a scaffold during the progress of the work. This frame was carried up till the
tapering form of the spire became too confined to admit a timber floor ; and when the pile was
finished, it was suspended from the cap-stone, by means of the iron bar which bears the vane.
Nor is his ingenuity less extraordinary in the mechanism of this frame itself, and the means he
has devised to render it capable of partial repair. The central piece is not mortised to receive
the arms, which served as floors ; but, by means of a hoop of iron, to which the braces are
attached, they may be taken out singly, and inserted at pleasure. The same care is shown in
the junction of the iron bar, at the top, with the frame of timber.
" Singular as the mechanism of this structure must appear, the taste and elegance of the
design are not less worthy of admiration. Although the work is highly elaborate, and enriched
with a profusion of finials, trefoils, roses, and other ornaments which marked the style of building
about the beginning of the fourteenth century, the architect has judiciously introduced an
embattled moulding, like the original finish, round the turrets which crown the angles of the
tower ; and both in the tower and spire he has repeated the band of lozenge-work, enriched
with trefoils and quatrefoils, which produces so pleasing an effect in the west front. To judge
from the style of the ornamental parts, he added also the pinnacles which rise from the different
angles of the Church. Thus the tower and spire, though varying in character from the rest of
the structure, yet display no incongruity to offend the most fastidious eye ; but are skilfully
blended with the first design, and appear only as a light and elegant finish to the whole." *
Scarcely, however, was the spire completed, before it was discovered that the boldness
of the architect had endangered the safety of the Cathedral. Notwithstanding the ingenuity
displayed in the adjustment of the new parts, the extraordinary pressure of so vast a pile had
produced the most serious fractures in the vaulting underneath the tower ;f and so early as the
* History of the Cathedral, page 147 to 150.
+ There is an old tradition, derived, no doubt, from the character of the trade, and the humidity of the soil of
Salisbury, that the Cathedral was built on -wool-packs. It is also pretended, that from every part of the building,— gates,
pillars, and windows,— this moral may be drawn ;— that there is no portion of time, in the life of man, unconnected
with its appropriate duties. One Mr. Daniel Rogers, a poet of tlie 17th century, has thus commemorated the tradition :—
" Mira canam ; soles quot continet annus, in una
" Tam numerosa (ferunt) axle fenestra micat ;
" Marmoreasque capit fusas tot ab arte columnas,
" Comprensas boras quot vagus annus habet :

13
year 1416, considerable expense was incurred in schemes to counteract the visible approach of
ruin. Of the Hungerford * and Beauchamp Chapels, erected on the north and south sides
of the Lady Chapel, and now destroyed, descriptions will be found hereafter. That which
stands on the north side of the choir was there constructed by Bishop Audley, at the beginning
of the 15th century; that on the south, was erected by the father of the Lord Hungerford
before alluded to, between the second and third piers of the nave, and was removed to its
present position in the time of Bishop Hume.
But one of the most famous monuments in this Cathedral, as connected with a curious
custom of the Popish Church, is that of the Boy-Bishop, which lies near the western-entrance
of the nave, and which may be attributed to the commencement of the 13th century.
" St. Nicholas" (to quote the narrative of Mr. Dodsworth) " was anciently considered
as the patron of children. In the Golden Legend we are told, that ' his father and mother,
when he was born, made him a christian, and called him Nicholas, that is, a man's name ; but
he kept the name of a child, for he chose to keep virtues, meekness, and simplicity, and without
" Totque patent portee, quot mensibus annus abundat : —
" Res mira, at vera res celebrata fide."
" As many days as in one year there he,
" So many windows in this Church we see ;
" As many marble pillars here appear,
" As there are hours throughout the fleeting year ;
" As many gates, as moons one year doth view : —
" Strange tale to tell, yet not more strange than true !"
* The following Inscriptions, once upon the walls of the Hungerford Chapel, deserve to be preserved : —
I. Over the Figure of a Beau.
" Alasse, Dethe, alasse, a blessful thyng yow were,
" Yf thow wolldyst spare us in our lustynesse,
" And cu' to wretches yet bethe of hevy chere,
" When they ye clepe to slake there dystresse.
" But owte, alasse, thyne owne sely selfwyldnesse
" Crewelly werieth them yt seyghe, wayle, and wepe,
" To close there yen yt after ye doth clepe."
II. Over the Figure of Death.
" Grasles galante, in all thy luste and pryde
" Remembyr yt thow ones schalte dye ;
" Dethe shold fro thy body thy sowle devyde,
" Thou mayst him not ascape certaynly.
" To ye dede bodys cast downe thyne ye,
" Behold thaym well, consydere and see
" For such as they are. such shalt yow be,"

14
malice. While he lay in his cradle, he fasted Wednesdays and Fridays : those days he would
suck but once in the day, and therewith was well pleased. Thus he lived all his life in virtue,
with his child's name. And therefore children worship him before all other saints.'
" On the day sacred to this patron of childhood, the choristers annually chose one of
their number, who was called the Bishop of the Boys, or Choristers. From his election, till
the night of Innocent's Day, he bore the name and state of a bishop, was pontifically habited,
carried a pastoral staff, and wore a mitre, frequently surpassing in richness those of real
prelates. His fellow-choristers likewise assumed the style of canons, or prebendaries. On the
eve of Innocent's Day they performed the same service, except the mass, as was performed by
the bishop himself, with the other members of the church. They went in procession, through
the west door, to the Altar of the Holy Trinity, habited in copes, with lighted tapers, and took
precedence of the dean and canons-residentiary. Afterwards the Chorister Bishop appeared in
the first Chapter, and was allowed to receive all the offerings made at the altar the day of the
procession." * If the Chorister Bishop died within the limit of his episcopacy, he was interred
with corresponding honours ; which appear, from the mitre and crosier, to have descended even
to his monumental effigy.
Another curious monument, nearly opposite the last, is that of Charles Lord Stourton,
who was hung in the Market-place of Salisbury, March 6th, 1556, for the murder of Mr. Hartgill
and his son, of Kilmington, Somerset. It is a plain flat tomb, with three apertures on each
side, representing six wells or fountains, the arms of the Stourton family, indicative of the six
sources of the Stour, which rise near the family mansion of Stourhead, now the seat of Sir
Richard Colt Hoare, Bart. The silken halter with which he was hung, was suspended over his
tomb, in memorial of the offence, till the year 1775, when the Dean and Chapter connived at
its removal. Pursuing the history of the Cathedral, we find the ravages of the Commonwealth in some
measure compensated by the care of Seth Waid, who had been appointed to the bishopric in
1666. By his solicitation, King Charles the 2d dispatched his architect, Sir Christopher Wren,
in the summer of 1669, to take a survey ofthe fabric, and to direct the necessary repairs.
An abstract of the architect's report is preserved by Mr. Dodsworth. " After describing
the structure, he notices the defects in the original design, and the decays produced by age
or accidents. ' The faults ofthe original design are three : the want of care in establishing the
foundation, the lowness of the floor, which was not sufficiently raised to obviate the fear of
inundations, and the defect in the poise of the building, the substructions being too slender for
• History of the Cathedral, page 138, 9.

15
the weights above.' He then adverts to the faults of the tower and spire. ' Of the four pillars
on which it stands,' he observes, ' those towards the west have sunk, but not equally ; that to
the south-west seven or eight inches, that to the north-west half as much. This occasioned
the tower and spire to lean towards the south-west.' This decline he roughly calculated to be
27 1 inches to the south, and 17 J to the west. He urges, however, the expediency of making a
more accurate trial, and repeating the experiment from time to time, to discover if the decline
continued. After suggesting the proper repairs, he continues by noticing the smaller defects of
the steeple. ' One of the four pinnacles, built on the arches from which the spire begins to rise,
has been shaken by some storm of lightning, as well as the wall of the spire, which adheres to
it. Ofthe door leading into the pinnacle, one of the jambs has also given way, and occasioned
divers large cracks in the space above it, which, being on the declining side, much weakens the
spire, and calls for speedy amendment.' He adds, ' there are other decays in the spire ; and the
higher you go, the more. Some are the effects of the decline, and others of tempests by which
it has been shaken. Those towards the top are particularly of this nature. Hence many stones,
chiefly those which lie out of their natural bed, are frusted or riven with downward cracks in
the thickness of the stone.' To remedy these defects he strongly recommends the example of
the original architect, who trusted much to iron, and suggests the application of iron bandages.
Lastly, he states the necessity of repairing the timber-work within, and facilitating the ascents,
that faults may be sooner discovered and amended." *
In consequence of this advice, the hoops or bandages, which bind the spire together,
were put up ; the choir was newly paved ; and other repairs and renovations carried into effect.
But in 1681, the calculations made by Sir Christopher Wren, relative to the declinations
of the spire, became unsatisfactory ; and a new experiment was therefore made by Mr. Naish,
clerk of the works, by means of a plumb-line, fixed at the weather-door. This experiment was
repeated, by Mr. Mill, of London, with still greater accuracy, under the direction of Bishop
Sherlock, in 1737 ; when the declination was calculated at 22 J inches to the south-west: and
the result was marked on the pavement under the tower, as a guide for future observations.
In the years 1431, 1560, and 1641, the top of the spire had been struck by lightning,
and a cleft of twenty feet in length occasioned. And now, on the 21st of June, 1741, a similar
catastrophe threatened the whole fabric with destruction. About ten o'clock at night, a violent
storm of thunder arose, and a flash of lighting was seen to strike against the upper part of
the tower. The next morning the sexton was alarmed by indications of fire ; when it was
ascertained that the electric fluid had penetrated through the wall, and set fire to one of the
• History of the Cathedral, page 172, 3.

16
timber-braces.* The flames had just begun to spread, the ascending sparks to communicate
with the ladders at the eight-doors, and the burning fragments with the floor, just above the roof.
Prompt assistance, however, was given, and in two hours the danger was effectually overcome;
but marks ofthe conflagration may be still discerned upon the timbers. +
In the beginning of the last century, the declination of the spire was again surveyed by
Mr. Price, clerk of the works ; and the results of his examination are very curious. " He states
that it is not in a direct line, as if occasioned by any single cause. At the height of eighty-
nine feet, or just above the vaulting of the nave, there is a decline of § of an inch southward,
and g westwards. This he attributes to the unequal pressure of the grand arches. At the top
of the parapet wall of the tower, or 207 feet above the pavement, the decline to the south is 9
inches, and west 3g ; at the bottom of the weather-door, 358 feet from the ground, the decline
to the south is 20 inches, and west 12J ; lastly, at the top of the capstone, 387 feet high, the
decline is 24J inches south, and west 16J."t
In affixing a new vane, in 1762, Mr. Lush, clerk of the works, made a curious discovery.
On the south side of the cap-stone appeared a cavity ; in this cavity was concealed a round
leaden box, with a loose lid ; and in this leaden box, another box, neatly carved in wood, with
an opening in the side, where a piece of silk, or fine linen, so decayed as nearly to resemble
tinder, had been carefully stowed away. There can be little doubt that the treasure, so curiously
secreted, was a relic of the Virgin Mary, probably deposited in that place, when the spire was
completed, as a charm or talisman to secure the Church from accident.
Under Bishop Hume, the clerestory of the choir was decorated, at the expense of the
Earl of Radnor, with a window of stained glass, designed by Mortimer, and executed by
Pearson. It represents the elevation of the brazen serpent in the wilderness, and may be
reckoned among the most successful efforts of modern imitation, § and very superior to that of
Sir Joshua Reynolds, by Egington, in the Lady Chapel. ||
* Since the Church has been provided with conductors, no accident by lightning has occurred. In the years 1672
and 1724, the spire was endangered by the carelessness of the plumbers : but no alarms of this sort have been given in later
years. t The quantity of timber in the several roofs of the Cathedra has been computed at 2G41 tons of British oak.
J Dodsworth's History of the Cathedral, page 170.
§ Great praise is due to Mr. Beare, the present clerk of the works, for his uncommon skill and taste in collecting the
materials of which the great west window is composed. It is really an admirable performance, and would do credit to any
Cathedral in Europe. There are also several modern monuments, in the Gothic style, entitled to more than ordinary
attention. || In the original sketch, submitted by Sir Joshua to the Bishop, although our Lord was represented as risen from the
tomb, the tomb was still left closed and sealed. The Bishop remonstrated, but the painter persisted that he had only made
the miracle the greater; and it was not without much difficulty that he was prevailed upon to correct the design.

17
Of the memorable repairs, executed by Wyatt, at the suggestion of Bishop Barrington,
the writer of these pages would desire to say as little as possible. No man, possessed of the
slightest knowledge of ancient art, can fail to regret a series of wanton innovations, apparently
conducted without any object, and notoriously deficient in those very effects they were chiefly
expected to produce.
Out of the catalogue of spoliations at this time committed, it will be sufficient to enume
rate the following :— the desecration of the Hungerford and Beauchamp Chapels, and the removal
of the porch of the north transept ; the demolition of the screen which separated the Lady
Chapel from the chancel,* and the elevation of the pavement so as to alter all the proportions of
the former ; the removal of the Saints' Chapels from the western transept, and of the rood-loft f
from the choir; the disarrangement of monuments from their appropriate places, to line the
sides of the nave ; the destruction of the belfry-tower ; and the levelling of the graves in the
church-yard. Unfortunately, what was done scarcely deserves less censure than what was left
undone. The organ-screen,! choir-stalls, and stone seats round the altar, are worse than the
tasteless bijouteries of Strawberry Hill.
The following are the exterior dimensions of the Cathedral : —
Extreme length  473 feet.
Width of the west front  Ill
Extreme width (transepts)  :  274
Height ofthe west front  130
Height of the original tower  207
Height ofthe spire §  400
* In the Rev. S. H. Cassan's Lives of the Bishops of Salisbury is given a design, by Buckler, for the restoration of
the altar-screen, accompanied by a Letter on the subject from Sir R. C. Hoare.
¦f The rood-loft was a sort of gallery, containing the crucifix or rood, and the images of saints, particularly of the
patron or patroness of the church. It was placed at the entrance of the chancel, that those who' approached the altar might
pass under it. As the body of the church represented the church militant, and the chancel the church triumphant, its
situation was intended to denote, that Christians, in imitation of their Redeemer, must bear the cross, or undergo affliction.
J His Majesty's gift of a new organ, and the manner in which it was conferred, must be recorded. The King
enquired of Bishop Barrington, whom he knew to be the projector and patron of the intended alterations, what these
alterations were to be, and by what means the expense was to be defrayed. The Bishop described the alterations, and
stated that a new organ was much wanted ; though he feared that it would greatly exceed their means, which depended on
the voluntary contributions of gentlemen belonging to the counties of Berks and Witts, of which the diocese consists.
The King immediately replied, " I desire that you will accept of a new organ for your cathedral, being my contribution as
a Berkshire gentleman." — The old organ-screen was partly used for the Baptistery, or Morning Chapel, and partly for the
altar of St. Martin's Church. Till this time, the sermon was preached from a stone pulpit in the Nave.
§ The steeple of old St. Paul's, principally of wood covered with lead, was 525 feet high ; that of the present St.
Paul's is 365 or 370 feet ; the Monument of London, 202 feet. St. Peter's, at Rome, stands 437 feet from the ground;
Strasbourgh Cathedral, 456 feet ; the Cathedral of Vienna, 465 feet.
An anecdote, connected with this subject, is told of Charles the Second, who never said a foolish thing, and never did
F

18
The Cloisters of Salisbury Cathedral are very spacious and noble ; the arches finely
turned, and the mouldings bold and elegant. The area of the quadrangle is now used as a
burial-ground for the Close. The Chapter-House is one of the most beautiful apartments in
England, — an octagon, fifty-eight feet in diameter, and fifty-two in height, resting, in the
centre, on a single and slender shaft of Purbeck marble. Round the walls appear a range of
stone seats for the Dean and Chapter, and other dignitaries ; while, under the bases of the
windows, are displayed a series of sculptures, in high relief, descriptive of portions of Sacred
History, from the creation of the world, to the overthrow of Pharaoh and the Hosts of Egypt
in the Red Sea. In this building the Parliamentary Commissioners held their sessions during
the great Rebellion ; and many a wanton mutilation still records the antipathy of the Puritans to
graven images. The Library, which is indebted to Bishop Osmund for its first institution, is
a convenient room, extending over one side of the Cloisters, and said to have been built by
Bishop Jewell. It contains about one hundred and thirty MSS., including a contemporary
transcript of Magna Charta ; and the Breviary and Missal for the use of Salisbury ; * besides
a respectable body of miscellaneous divinity, the most part donations of the Clergy connected
with the Cathedral, f Engravings of the Chapter-house and Cloisters will be found in the
volumes of Dodsworth and Britton ; of the Muniment-room, which is over the Vestry, a repre
sentation is given in the present volume.
The Corporation of Salisbury dates its rise from the Charter of the 1 Ith year of King
Henry the 3rd (1227), when the freedom of the City was established, and Nicholas de Brockeby
elected the first Mayor. On his secession, however, the office continued vacant for fifty-one
a wise one. On the occasion of a Royal Visit to Salisbury, a sailor had the temerity to mount the vane of the Cathedral, and
there, with his hat in his hand, to give three cheers for the ruling monarch. On the strength of this exploit, the tar was
introduced to the King for a reward : " Reward, eh ! reward ? " said Charlie ; " well, take a patent for your reward ; no
one but yourself shall bestride the weathercock of Salisbury, from this time forth, without a special licence,"
* This celebrated Book of Services was composed by Bishop Osmund, who also wrote a memoir of St. Aldhelm,
founder ef the Abbey of Malmesbury. It contains the Sacraments and other Rites and Ceremonies of the Roman-Catholic
Church, and was honoured with a most extensive circulation. The language is chiefly Latin, but occasionally interspersed
with samples of Old English, especially in the administration of baptism, and of matrimony. For more lengthened
descriptions of the work, accompanied by extracts, the reader is referred to the 4th and 5th vols, of Dr. Aikin's Athenscum,
and to the Gentleman's Magazine for 1817-
Among the printed books here collected, is the very copy of this Missal (printed by Prevost, 1526), which
formerly belonged to King Henry the Eighth. It came afterwards into the possession of Bishop Burnet, from whose days
we lose sight of it till the year 1767, when it was contributed, by an individual unknown, to be sold for the benefit of the
new Infirmary ; on which occasion it was purchased by the Dean and Chapter, and deposited in the Cathedral Library.
+ A Mass-Book, of the time of Edward the 4th, preserves a list of relics, belonging to the Cathedral of Salisbury,
amounting to no less than two hundred and thirty-four, divided into the separate classes of Apostles, Martyrs, Confessors,
and Virgins.

19
years, when William Trevour was elected under the new Charter, granted by King Edward the
1st, and afterwards confirmed by Queen Anne, and a regular succession of Chief Magistrates
commenced. Of the old and new Council-House, with the Guildhall, and other Courts,* a descrip
tion will be found in subsequent pages of this book. The following account of the catastrophe,
which led to the demolition of the former, is extracted from the Salisbury and Winchester
Journal, of November 20th, 1780 : —
" On Wednesday, Joseph Hinxman, Esq., Mayor elect for the ensuing year, was sworn
into his office, and the same day made a very grand entertainment for the Corporation in the
Council-Chamber, and invited the nobility, gentry, and clergy of the City, Close, and neighbour
hood, also the corps of officers of the 1 1th regiment of dragoons, quartered here, of whom there
was a numerous and genteel appearance. After the dinner (which was elegant, and well served
up), many loyal and constitutional toasts were drunk, and the evening concluded with the usual
festivity and good humour.
" We are sorry to add, that the next morning produced a scene very different ; for soon
after five o'clock part of the attic story of the Council-House was discovered to be on fire. The
flames soon spread all over the gallery, and formed a very large and lofty perpendicular blaze
of fire, which illuminated the whole Market-place, and for near an hour afforded a very awful
and alarming appearance to the whole city, to which the height of the building greatly contri
buted. The fire engines were procured with all possible expedition, and by their assistance,
and the great activity of the people, which deserves much commendation, the fire was got under
before nine o'clock ; and the lower part of the fabric, containing the Courts of Justice, and the
south end, were preserved. The part destroyed is, nevertheless, so great, that we apprehend
what remains must be taken down, which we hear is intended to be done, and that an elegant
and commodious Town-Hall will be built, on arches, in its stead, in a more convenient place,
and contain commodious courts for the assizes, &c, and the space where the remains of the
old building now stand, being added to the Market-place, will make it as handsome a square
as most in England. It is thought this accident happened from making too great a fire in the
tea-room, and thereby kindling some concealed timbers ; on the other hand, it is supposed
to have been occasioned by a lighted candle left in the store-room in the upper story, where the
wines, &c, were kept, and which, it is imagined, set fire to the straw in which the liquors had
been packed. By the activity of the sergeants, beadles, and some of the inhabitants, the
* The County Gaol continued to be used at Old Sarum as late as the year 1569, when it was removed to Fisherton-
Anger, the spot now attached to the east wing of the Infirmary. The new Gaol was erected in 1822.

20
corporation-chests, containing the charters, records of the city (some very curious from their
antiquity), and other writings, are preserved, as are also the paintings in the Council-Chamber.
The plate, linen, &c. being in the upper part of the building, little or nothing could be saved ;
but since the fire great part of the plate has been found in the rubbish, but mostly in a battered
or melted state. Happily no lives were lost, nor did any accident happen, except to a boy who
fell from the leads, but was not much hurt. It fortunately happened to be a very still morning,
and not the least wind stirring, or in all human probability the flames would have spread to a
large range of old buildings that stood very near, and destroyed a whole chequer. The struc
ture was Gothic, and, from the preservation and strength of the timbers, it is conjectured it
would have braved the effect of time for a century to come. The Council-Chamber was a large
and spacious room, and the windows contained, in painted glass, the arms of England, the arms
ofthe City, ofthe Earl of Pembroke, &c.
" It may not be amiss to take notice, that the assizes were originally held in the Guildhall,
over the Town Gaol ; the present courts were then an open market, and have been since inclosed.
It appears, by ancient records, that on the spot where this Council or Town-house was built, there
grew a very large elm tree, under which a market, called the Yarn-Market, was held weekly,
and, in the year 1477, was inclosed with a wall. In the year 1579, Christopher Weeks then
Mayor, the first pillar was set up at the east end for erecting the Council-House.* 1584,
William Brown, Mayor, the new Council-House was finished. 1585, Robert Bower, Mayor, the
Council-House was first made use of. 1633, Robert Bee, Mayor, the piazza, opposite the Nisi
Prius Court, was erected. 1683, Andrew Bording, Mayor, it was continued opposite the Assize
Hall. 1719, Thomas Wentworth, Esq., Mayor, kept his feast in the Council Chamber, by
consent of council : until this period it was usual for the Mayor to entertain the Corporation at
his own house," — the Mansion-House, in Castle-street.
It is a remarkable circumstance in the history of New Sarum, that two distinct attempts
have been made to open a commercial communication by water with the sea-coast, and that
both have proved unsuccessful. The former of these was first proposed in the " Discovery by
Sea from London to Salisbury," — a strange medley of prose and verse, written by one John
Taylor, known by the title of the water-poet, in allusion to his occupation as a boatman on the
River Thames. This notable and honest wight took it into his head to start from London one
" Some variations will be found in the date of erection according to this account, when compared with the description
of the plate ; the fact is, that the same discordance occurs in many part of the Corporation Records. From these documents
we may also quote an anecdote, connected with the subject, and illustrative of the last age of superstition :  " 1688. King
James came into the Market-place (on his route against the Prince of Orange), and made a speech, in which he said, that
he would maintain the Protestant Religion as long as he had a drop of blood in his body ; and immediately his nose fell a
bleeding. Then the cross and crown was blown off from the Council-House."

21
July morning, in the year 1623, with a crew of five souls on board a wherry, rowing round the
north foreland of the Isle of Thanet, and along the southern coast to Christchurch Harbour,
for the express purpose of beating his way up the river to Salisbury, and ascertaining the
possibility of rendering the Avon a navigable river. The publication is addressed to the
inhabitants and friends of Salisbury ; and after enumerating in verse the " hair-breadth 'scapes"
of the party by sea, proceeds, in simple prose, to a discussion of this memorable project.
" This," he says, " being entered into my consideration, that your city is so much
overcharged with poor, as having in three parishes near 3000, besides decayed men a great
many, and that those few which are of the wealthier sort, are continually overpressed with
sustaining the wants of the needy, the city being as it were at the last gasp, the poor being like
Pharaoh's lean kine, even ready to eat up the fat ones ; I have made bold to write this treatise
ensuing, both to entreat a constant perseverance in those who have begun to do good works,
and an encouragement or animating of all others, who, as yet, seem slow in these good
proceedings. " It is sufficiently known, that my intent and purpose, at this time, was not to make any
profit to myself, upon any adventure (as it is deemed by many) by my passage from London to
Salisbury with a wherry, but I was entreated by a waterman, which was born in Salisbury,
that I would bear him company, for the discovery of the sands, flats, depths, shoals, mills, and
wears, which are impediments and lets, whereby the river is not navigable from Christchurch,
or the sea, to Salisbury. Which, after many dangerous gusts and tempestuous storms at sea
(which I have recited in verse before), it pleased God that at last we entered the river, which,
in my opinion, is as good a river, and, with some change, may be made as passable as the river
of Thames is upwards from Brentford to Windsor, or beyond it ; the shallow places in it are not
many, the mills need not be removed, and, as for the wears, no doubt but they may with
conscience be compounded for. By which means of navigation, the whole city and country
would be relieved, loiterers turned into labourers, penury into plenty, to the glory of God, the
dignity and reputation of your city, and the perpetual worthy memory of all benefactors and
well-willers unto so noble a work.
" If you will but examine your own knowledge, you shall find that in the whole dominion
of England there is not any one town or city, which hath a navigable river at it, that is poor;
nor scarce any that are rich, which want a river with the benefits of boats. The town of
Kingston-upon-Hull, in Yorkshire, the river there was cut out of Humber, by men's labour,
twenty miles up into the country ; and what the wealth and estate of that town is (by the only
benefit of that river), it is not unknown to thousands : but you men of Sarum may see what a
G

22
commodity navigation is nearer hand ; there is your neighbour, Southampton, on the one side,
and your dear friend, Poole, on the other, are a pair of handsome looking-glasses for you,
where you may see your want in their abundance, and your negligence in their industry,
" God had placed your being in a fertile soil, in a fruitful valley, environed round with
corn, and, as it were, continually besieged with plenty : whilst you within (having so many poor
amongst you) are rather lookers upon happiness than enjoyers : moreover (by God's appoint
ment) Nature hath saved you the labour of cutting a river, for I think you have one there as
old as your city, ready made to your hands : if you will be but industrious to amend those
impediments in it, I dare undertake to be one of the three or four men which shall bring or
carry sixteen or twenty tons of goods betwixt the sea and your city. Now, with extreme toil of
men, horses, and carts, your wood is brought to you eighteen or twenty miles, whereby the
poor, which cannot reach the high prices of your fuel, are enforced to steal or starve in the
winter ; so that all your near adjoining woods are continually spoiled by them. Which faults,
by the benefit of the river, would be reformed : for the New Forest standeth so near to the
water, that it is but cut the wood, and put it into a boat, which shall bring as much to your city
as twenty carts, and four-score horses : besides, by this river you might draw to you a trade of
sea-coal, which would enrich you, and help the plain and inland towns and villages, where no
wood grows. And for the exportation of your corn, from port to port, within our own country,
as it is well known what abundance of your barley is continually made into malt amongst you;
which, if you had carriage for it, might be brewed into beer, wherewith you may serve divers
places with your beer, which is now served with your malt : besides carriages of bricks, tiles,
stones, charcoals, and othe necessaries, which is now carried at dear rates by horse or carts,
which now you send in carts, or on horses' backs, to Southampton, to Bristol, and to many
other places : so that the dearness of the carriages eats up all your commodities and profit ;
which discommodity may be avoided, if your river be cleansed : and what man can tell what good
in ¦• time may redound to your city from the sea, by foreign goods, which may be brought into
Christchurch haven by shipping ? Nor can it be truly imagined what new and useful profitable
business may arise in time by this means.
" I am assured that there are many good men in the city and county of Wiltshire, and
others of worth and good respect in this kingdom, who would willingly and bountifully assist
this good work ; but (like gossips near a stile) they stand straining courtesy who shall go first :
or the mice in the fable, not one will adventure to hang the bell about the cat's neck : so that
if one good man would begin, it would be (like a health drank to some beloved prince at a
great feast) pledged most heartily, and, by God's grace, effected most happily. You have

23
already begun a charitable work amongst you ; I mean, your common town brewhouse ; the
profit of which, you intend shall be wholly employed for the supply of the poor and impo-
tents, which live in your city. . . . Now, to turn from beer and ale to fair water (your
river I mean), which if it be cleansed, then, with the profit of your town brewhouse, and the
commodity of the river, I think there will be scarce a beggar or a loiterer amongst you. I
have written enough before concerning the benefit of it, and to encourage such as seem slow
towards so good a work; which had it been in the Low Countries, the industrious Dutch would
not so long have neglected so beneficial a blessing; witness their abundance of navigable
rivers and ditches, which, with the only labour of men they have cut, and, in most places,
where never God or nature made any river. And, lately, there is a river made navigable to St.
Yeades, in Huntingdonshire, wherein stood seven mills, as impediments in the way : and now
the city of Canterbury are clearing their river, that boats may pass to and fro betwixt them and
Sandwich haven: the like is also in hand at Leeds, in Yorkshire. Now, if neither former or
present examples can move you, if your own wants cannot inforce you, if assured profit cannot
persuade you, but that you will still be neglective and stupid, then I am sorry that I have
written so much to so little purpose ; but my hopes are otherwise. If all blind, lame, and
covetous excuses be laid aside, then those who are willing will be more willing, and those who
are slack or backward will, in some reasonable manner, draw forward. And there is the
mouth of an uncharitable objection which I must needs stop, which is an old one, and only
spoken by old men ; for, say they, we are aged and stricken in years ; and if we should lay
out our monies, or be at charges for the river, by the course of nature we shall not live to
enjoy any profit to requite our costs. This excuse is worse than heathenish, and, therefore,
it ill becomes a Christian ; for, as I wrote before, man was not created, or had either the
goods of mind, body, or fortune, bestowed on him by his Maker, but that he should have the
least part of them himself; his God, prince, and country claiming, as their due, almost all
which every man hath. The oldest man will purchase land, which is subject to barrenness
and many inconveniences ; he will buy and build houses, which are in danger of fire, and
divers other casualties ; he will adventure upon wares or goods at high prices, which to his loss
may fall to low rates ; he will bargain for cattle and sheep, who are incident to many diseases,
as the rot, the murrain, and divers the like ; and all this will he do in hope to raise his state,
and leave his heirs rich. At his death, perhaps (when he can keep his goods no longer, —
when, in spite of his heart, he must leave all), he will give a few gowns and a little money
to pious uses, a gross or two of penny loaves, and there's an end of him, so that there remains
no more memory of him.

24
" But this good work of your river is not subject to barrenness or sterility, but,
contrarily, it will be a continual harvest of plenty ; it is not in danger of being consumed or
wasted, but it is assured of a perpetual increase. The names and memories of contributors
towards it shall be conserved in venerable and laudable remembrance, to the eternising of their
fames, the honour of their posterities, and the good example of succeeding times to imitate.
Therefore, you men of Salisbury, I entreat you in this case to be good to yourselves ; or else
you may say hereafter, if we had been industrious, we had been happy ; if we had not been
covetous, we had been rich."
The scheme was actively espoused about forty years afterwards, under the patronage of
Seth Ward, Bishop of Salisbury, who not only contributed both his advice and money towards
the work, but actually dug the first spadeful of the soil with his own hand. Among the
Corporation Records a list of the subscribers may be seen : but the project never answered,
nor seems likely to be ever again renewed."
The other attempt was made not many years ago, when a plan for uniting Salisbury
to Southampton, by a canal to Redbridge, was so far carried into effect, that the work was
brought up within a few miles of the city, at an enormous outlay of money and labour,
and then suddenly abandoned. Unless the line of communication should be used at some
future time as a rail-road for over-land conveyance by steam, it will probably remain a monu
ment of the frailty of human purposes, and the fallibility of human calculations, for evermore.
Salisbury has been always celebrated for the number and munificence of its charitable
institutions. Several of the more ancient of these have been already noticed. Of the more
recent we may mention — 1. The Widows' College, in the Close, founded by Bishop Ward in
1682, and described hereafter. — 2. The Trinity Hospital, in Trinity-street, originally founded
in New-street by John Chandeler, in the year 1394, but restored by Mr. Henry Fox, of Farley,
an ancestor of the present Lord Holland, and augmented by Mr. Moulton, formerly a builder
in this city. The present building dates only from 1702.— 3. Bricket's Alms-Houses, in
Exeter-street, founded in 1519, by Thomas Bricket, who died in his mayoralty, in 1.533; they
were rebuilt by general subscription in 1780.— 4. Eyre's Alms-Houses, near Winchester
Gate, founded by Christopher Eyre, in 1617. — 5. Blechynden's Alms-Houses, in Winchester-
street, founded by Margaret Blechynden, in 1683.— 6. Taylor's Alms-Houses, opposite St.
* The canals which run through the streets of Salisbury have obtained for it the magnificent title of " The English
Venice." One Francis Hyde, who was born in the capital of Wilts, and died in the office of Secretary on an embassage to
the republic of the Adriatic, was thus commemorated by a fellow-citizen of the 17th century : 
" Born in the English Venice, thou didst die,
" Dear friend, in the Italian Salisbury."

25
Edmund's Church, founded by Mr. John Taylor, in 1689. — 7. Frowd's Alms-Houses, in
Bedwin-street, a spacious and handsome pile, built and endowed by Mr. Edward Frowd, in
1750. Within thirty years afterwards, one of Mr. Frowd's descendants applied, unsuccessfully,
for admission. — And 8. Hayter's Alms-Houses, in the principal street of Fisherton, founded
by Mrs. Sarah Hayter, in 1797. — There are also six poor tenements in Culver-street, held free
of rent, but without further emolument, which are said to have been provided for the use of the
infirm and indigent by Bishop Poore : the present buildings are comparatively modern.
But by far the most extensive and important of the charitable institutions, is the County
Infirmary, at Fisherton. This noble Charity is indebted for its establishment to the will of
Anthony, Lord Faversham, who, in the year 1763, bequeathed the sum of 500/. to the first
public asylum for the sick, which should be established in the county of Wilts, within five years
of his decease. Public sympathy was warmly excited on this occasion, and a liberal subscrip
tion was carried on throughout the neighbourhood. The foundation-stone was laid in 1767, by
the Duke of Queensbury, assisted by the Earls of Pembroke and Radnor ; and the structure,
contrived by Sir James Stonehouse, was opened for the reception of patients in 1770. The
first sermon (on "The Good Samaritan") was preached by Dr. Ogle, Dean of Winchester, and
published by request of the Governors : and as the preacher was a Divine of eminence, and the
pamphlet is now rare, we shall take the liberty of presenting our readers with an extract or two
of more than ordinary interest : —
" It is owing," he observes, " to a continual change in the manners and circumstances
of the world, that improvements not only become possible, but even necessary. Old things are
done away, and new ones take place, not merely from the superior merit of the latter, but from
the necessary alteration of human affairs, and from the too general perversion of all ancient
institutions. Agreeable to these principles we may observe, that the increase of social inter
course, of knowledge, of art, of commerce, of riches, has opened to us a new mode of doing
good, — that of County Infirmaries : a kind of charity, which, if not complete, is yet manifestly so
well adapted to our present manners, and is in most Counties so capable of being put in
execution, that it well deserves the encouragement which it so universally meets with. Every
man is not now obliged to wait till the sick and wounded be accidentally thrown in his way :
they are brought to him, and, without farther trouble, or avocation from his own business, he
may, in effect, say, ' Take care of them, and whatsoever thou spendest more, when I come
again, I will repay thee.'
" The intention of our Infirmary is to relieve the extraordinary, the adventitious evils of
life ; not merely the natural wants of it. These we would wish only in some cases to alleviate;
H

26
the former, it were well could we wholly cure and remove. For can there be too many broken
limbs restored to health ; can there be too many released from the tortures of the stone, or from
those various hurts and maladies, which, under God, in this place admit of cure, at least of
great alleviation ? Our Saviour, in the acts of mercy recorded of him, seems to justify this
distinction between the natural and adventitious evils of life. We do not find his power exerted
in easing men ofthe inconveniences and cares to which they were naturally subject, or from the
discharge of those painful duties to which they were in their several stations called, though he
was equally able to have done all this ; but we may observe him continually employed in curing
the lame, the deaf, and the blind ; and in ' healing all manner of sickness and disease among
the people.' " Another plea in favour of our Infirmary is, that we have not in this place any multi
plicity of public charities, which can in any way interfere with each other, and thereby dissipate
the effects of that benevolence, which is implanted in man for the good of the whole ; and which,
when spread abroad into too many rills, is often extinguished and lost.
" Our scheme is a grand and simple one ; that of taking the poor mechanic, the
labourer, the peasant from his cottage, where he lay smothered, perhaps, amidst a numerous
offspring, destitute of all medical aid, and deprived even of the common benefits of wholesome
air and diet. His labour was his only support ; what then must he do, when that resource fails ?
' Poverty cometh then as one that travelleth, and want as an armed man.' Every hour sees
him poorer and more distressed ; the small resources of former industry are soon exhausted, or
are perhaps already become a prey to some impudent pretender to medicine, who gleans a
miserable livelihood from the credulity and fears of the ignorant. This, believe me, is not the
least evil which these Infirmaries are calculated to remove. It is for the relief, then, of such
extraordinary distress that we are united in this salutary scheme ; and such are the manners
and circumstances of the age in which we live, that the scheme is not only practicable, but is
already brought to a considerable degree of perfection. The poorest man may now not only
partake of every reasonable convenience in his sickness, but of the best assistance which his
country affords, and that too at a very small expense to the public. In short, as much as a
well-constructed machine, which at one stroke performs the work of an hundred hands, exceeds
the labour of any single person, so much does this species of charity excel in its effects all
private attempts of the kind.
" There is another convenience attending these Infirmaries, — a convenience which by no
means ought to be overlooked. The regularity and composure which reign, or which ought to
reign there, are particularly favourable to those religious sentiments, which Providence visibly

27
intends should force themselves upon us in the hour of distress. When the mind is humbled
by sickness, when the passions are calmed, and no temptations at hand to counterbalance the
weight of good advice, then is it in our power to make those good impressions, which time,
perhaps, may never efface. This ought not to be neglected ; for thus may your charity be
made to have a double good effect, not only by restoring a useful member to society, but by
restoring him a better man, — more orderly, more industrious, more contented and resigned to
his lot here, and better prepared for an hereafter.
" I cannot conclude without recurring once more to my first position, — that the merit of
all public institutions must be estimated by their actual good effects : that, with a change of
manners and circumstances, we must look for an alteration in the effects of every institution ;
and that, therefore, no mode of doing good can be prescribed, which shall at all times prove
equally efficacious. External causes, or internal defects, may give a wrong direction to our
best endeavours, and may, in the end, make a public charity a public incumbrance. No
establishment, therefore, can go well on, if left wholly to itself; rust will clog the wheels, or
accidents impair the powers of the machine. It is your business then, Gentlemen, and believe
me, it is not the smallest part of your charity, to guard against these natural principles of decay,
to which every thing human is exposed ; and, from time to time, so to regulate and direct the
powers of this subscription, that, under all changes, and in all circumstances, it may best attain
the great end proposed, — the health and preservation of the industrious poor. Whilst
it thus continues to be the object of your care and attention, it cannot well be subject to those
abatements and drawbacks, which threaten so many other public charities ; but may, we hope,
subsist for ages, like the beneficial works of creation itself, — stable and without decay : then
may we safely join in this prayer, Esto perpetua ! ' God will prosper the work of our hands,
the Lord will prosper our handy-work.' "
Salisbury has been distinguished as the birth-place, or usual residence, of several
EMINENT CHARACTERS.
Of these, one of the more remarkable, though not the most reputable, was Thomas
Chubb, the deist. He was the son of a maltster, at East Harnham, was born in 1679, and
apprenticed, first to a glover, and afterwards to a tallow-chandler, in Salisbury. Being early
initiated into the mysteries of literature and science, he established a Debating Club, where
scriptural enquiries were freely handled. On the publication of the Trinitarian controversy,
between Clarke and Waterland, Chubb was persuaded to write a treatise, which obtained for
him the applause of many who had more regard for acuteness of intellect than for sobriety of
judgment, or integrity of life. Pope, Gay, and the licentious wits who thronged the table of

28
the Duke of Queensbury, were amazed at the phenomenon which had started up so near the
scene of their festivities; and Sir Joseph Jekyl, Master of the Rolls, immediately took the
young free-thinker into his family. But the restraints of this situation were too much for the
independent spirit of Thomas Chubb. He soon returned to his old pursuits, making very
serviceable candles, and writing very foolish books, till the year 1747, when he died, in the 68th
year of his age, a melancholy example of talents misapplied, and principles sacrificed to the
applauses ofthe unworthy.
James Harris was the son ofa gentleman ofthe same name, who resided in the Close.
His mother was sister to the Earl of Shaftesbury, author of "The Characteristics." He was
born in 1709, and educated at the Choristers' School ; from whence he removed to Wadham
College, Oxford, and afterwards pursued his studies at Lincoln's Inn. On the death of his
father, Mr. Harris occupied the family mansion, in the Close, and devoted himself principally
to the cultivation of classical literature, and of music. As the first-fruits of these speculations,
he produced, in 1744, a volume, consisting of " Three Treatises, — on Art ; on Music, Painting,
and Poetry ; and on Happiness." In 1751, he gave to the world his " Hermes, or a Philoso
phical Inquiry concerning Universal Grammar." This work was pronounced, by Bishop
Lowth, to be the most beautiful and perfect example of analysis exhibited since the days of
Aristotle. From his marriage, in 1745, till the year 1761, Mr. Harris continued to reside principally
at Salisbury, only retiring for a few months in the summer to his country-house at Durnford.
He seems to have taken particular pleasure in promoting a taste for music among the inhabit
ants of the city ; encouraging them in the support of a musical festival every year, besides
subscription concerts and assemblies, in his own music-room, over St. Anne's gate. Some of
his selections, from Italian and German composers, with English words adapted for these
occasions, have been published by Mr. Corfe ; others remain, still in manuscript, in possession
of his family. In 1761 , he was chosen Member for Christchurch, and continued to represent that Borough
in Parliament till his death. From 1762 to 1765 he held office with the ministry : and in 1774
was appointed Secretary and Comptroller to the Queen.
These engagements prevented him not from the prosecution of his favourite pursuits. In
1775 he published his " Philosophical Arrangements," a portion only of an extensive work which
he had meditated, on the Logic of the Peripatetic School. His last labour, the " Philological
Inquiries," was a posthumous publication, not issued from the press till 1781, His health had
begun visibly to decline ; and he died, in the 72nd year of his age, a few weeks previous to its

29
appearance. His son, the late Lord Malmesbury, afterwards superintended a handsome
edition of his works.
Mr. Harris lies interred, with others of the same family, in the North Transept of the
Cathedral ; where his character is commemorated by the figure of Moral Philosophy, mourning
over a medallion -head ofthe deceased, by Bacon.
By the side of Mr. Harris is the monument of William Benson Earle, distinguished
by a figure of Benevolence, by Flaxman, unveiling the scriptural illustration of the text, " Go,
and do thou likewise."
Mr. Earle, a descendant of Auditor Benson, of the time of George the 1st, was born in
1 740, and, during a residence of many years in the Close, obtained a meritorious character for
singular kindness and generosity. He was also, like Mr. Harris, an excellent scholar, and an
enthusiastic proficient in music. He died in 1796, and was interred in the Church of Gratley,
near Andover. It now only remains to notice, in few words, that the neighbourhood of Salisbury
abounds in objects of peculiar interest. Of these, by far the most renowned is that wonderful
monument of antiquity, Stonehenge. This structure, which is eight miles distant from Salisbury,
has been so often described, and is, after all, so little capable of elucidation, that nothing more
will be here attempted on the subject. Indeed, the small and humble guide-book, provided for
the use of strangers, will be found to contain an excellent analysis of the opinions of the most
eminent antiquaries in succession, besides a considerable allowance of literary and scientific
information. Perhaps, however, it may be some day thought worth while, as an enterprise of
local speculation, to publish," in a popular form, adapted for extensive perusal, an illustrated
account of the wonders of Stonehenge, Abury, and Silbury, and, in short, of the British, Saxon,
and Roman remains of antiquity in general, throughout the downs which characterise this part
ofthe country.
SONNET,
BY THE 11EV. THOMAS WARTON"; WRITTEN AT STONEHENGE.
Thou noblest monument of Albion's isle !
Whether, by Merlin's aid, from Scythia's shore
To Ambers fatal plain Pendragon bore,
Huge frame of giant-hands, the mighty pile,
T' entomb his Britons slain by Hengist's guile ;
Or Druid priests, sprinkled with human gore,
* A curious work, comprising an account of the British Islands prior to the invasion of Julius Cresar, has lately been
discovered in the possession of the Brahmins of Benares. In this valuable treasure of antiquity, Britain is called by a name
which signifies the Holy Land; the Thames, the Isis, and other rivers, bear similar titles with those of the present
day ; and Stonehenge is described as a grand Hindoo Temple ! The Asiatic Society of Calcutta are said to be preparing
for publication a translation of this interesting manuscript.

30
Taught, 'mid thy massy maze, their mystic lore ;
Or Danish chiefs, enrich'd with savage spoil,
^ To Victory's idol vast, an unhewn shrine,
Rear'd the rude heap ; or, in thy hallow'd round,
Repose the Kings of Brutus' genuine line ;
Or here those Kings in solemn state were crown 'd : —
Studious to trace thy wond'rous origin,
AVe mus;j on many an ancient tale renown'd !
In the mean time, a few words may be devoted to other places of scarcely less celebrity.
And first, in the midst of a beautiful and spacious park, within two miles of Salisbury,
on he road to Romsey, once stood the splendid Palace of Clarendon. By whom it was built,
no one now presumes to conjecture ; but we know, that, from the days of Henry the 2nd to those
of Edward the 3d inclusive (1 154 to 1377), it became the frequent residence of British Monarchs ;
as, again, in after-times, of Queen Elizabeth. We also know, that Roger de Clarendon, natural
son of Edward the Black Prince, was born there. But the fame of Clarendon Palace is chiefly
associated, in the minds of Englishmen, with the famous " Constitutions of Clarendon," passed
by the Parliament of Henry the 2nd, here assembled, in the year 1163, to restrain the encroach
ments ofthe ecclesiastical court of Rome. The refusal of Becket to comply with these enactments,
was, no doubt, the actual cause of his fatal quarrel with the King, — of his deposition, and of
his death. In 1357, during the general prevalence of the plague"" throughout England, no fewer
than three Kings were in residence together at Clarendon ; these were Edward the 3rd of
England ; and his prisoners, John of France, and David of Scotland. They were often known
to pursue the sports of the country in those very woods, from which Edward the Martyr had but
just returned, when he was assassinated by his mother-in-law, at the gate of Corfe-Castle.
The domain of Clarendon gave the title of Earl to the celebrated Edward Hyde, Lord
Chancellor of England, whose devotion to the cause of Monarchy promoted two of his own
grand-daughters to the throne. He was born at Dinton, in Wiltshire, in 1641, and died in exile
in 1673. Near the south-west angle of Clarendon Park stood the Augustine Priory of Ivy-Church,
founded by Henry the 2nd.
Of the Palace itself, the only vestiges now left are a part of its wall, overgrown with ivy,
in length thirty-four feet, in height twenty feci. Workmen were employed, several years ago, in
* Salisbury is known to have been visited no less than six times by this frightful malady; viz. in the years 1356<
1563, 15/9, 1804, 11127, and lClifi. The last of these, the year subsequent to the plague of London, was fatal to no less than
six hundred persons. Many of the inhabitants, to avoid contagion, shut themselves up in their houses, and denied all
intercourse with their neighbours; and so late as the year 1817, the door of a house in Silver-street, near the entrance to St.
Thomas's Church, exhibited a small aperture for the admission of provisions during the period of infection.

31
digging the ground that formed the site of the building ; and it was then ascertained, by the
foundations of the walls, that the Palace had formerly extended full 700 feet in length, from
east to west. By removing mould of several feet in depth, they discovered the floors of no less
than eight or nine rooms, several of them in a tolerably perfect state. The structure of the
building appears to have been very irregular. The principal room was ninety feet long, and
sixty-two feet wide ; and it is conjectured that it was in this room that King Henry devised
the " Constitutions of Clarendon." The floors of some of the rooms were paved with Norman
tiles. These tiles were, for the most part, square or triangular, extremely hard in substance, of
different colours, and variously ornamented ; some of them exhibiting dragons, griffins, flowers,
and so forth. It is not a little remarkable, that, notwithstanding the many centuries these tiles
had remained under a deep and damp mould, the greater part of them retained, in a perfect and
undecayed state, the glazing that covered and preserved the figures with which they had been
stained. Some of the floors were composed of a smooth plaster, which still remained uninjured.
In the course of the interesting search, at that time made, for the traces of this once
celebrated Palace, several shingles, or slates, were found, which evidently formed a part of the
roof of the building. Pieces of beautifully-stained glass, of which the Palace windows were
composed, were also discovered. The walls of the various rooms differed in thickness, from two
feet eight, to five feet two inches.
Nothing now remains of Ivy-Church, except a pair of sculptured figures, inserted in
an inner wall of the present house,- — a commodious structure of the last century, most beautifully
situated, and at present occupied as a school.*'
From Clarendon we may proceed to Longford Castle, the seat of the Earl of Radnor,
situated about three miles on the road to Fordingbridge. This curious fabric was constructed,
on a Danish model, by Thomas Gorges, and his lady, the Marchioness Dowager of Northampton,
in the year 1591. Its triangular outline, and circular towers at the angles,!" are described in
Sir Philip Sidney's Arcadia, under the title of " The Castle of Amphiolus." The house is now
in a state of incompleteness, having been prepared by the late Earl for extensive alterations,
under Mr. James Wyatt, which have not as yet been more than partially executed.
• Connected with this neighbourhood is tlie name of Mr. Stephen Duck, the Wiltshire Bard, who was born at
Charlton the beginning of the last century, and bred a thresher. His poem, " The Thresher's Labour," attracted the notice
of Queen Canline; and the author was invited to Windsor, ard provided with a house and salary at Kew. He then
applied to the study of languages, took orders, and was presented to the living of Byfleet, in Surrey ; where, intoxicated by
early flattery, and disappointed in the seclusion of a village parish, he fell a victim to despondency in 1750. His Poems
had been previously introduced to the world by a Memoir from the pen nf Mr. Spence, who had kindly patronised poor
Blacklock, the blind poet, in a similar manner. Under the superintendence of Lord Palmerston's family, a dinner was
annually given to the threshers of Charlton ; » circumstance commemorated by Duck in his '' Journey to Bath and
Portsmouth." + A very good view of Longford Castle is given in Britton's Architectural Antiquities.

3,a
There is a small, but beautiful collection of pictures within ; particularly, the Rise and
Fall of the Roman Empire, — a pair of inimitable landscapes, by Claude Lorrain ; the Passage of
the Red Sea, and the Adoration of the Golden Calf, by Nicholas Poussin ; a Holy Family, by
Ludovico Caracci; and St. Sebastian, a joint performance of Michael Angelo Buonarotti, and
Sebastian del Piombo. There is also a steel chair, of extraordinary workmanship, manufactured
by Thomas Nokens, of Augsberg, in 1575, as a present to the Emperor Rodolphus the 2nd.
It contains upwards of one hundred and thirty compartments, covered with historical devices.
After the capture of Prague, by Gustavus Adolphus, this curious spoil was carried into Sweden
by the conqueror. It. there fell into the hands of Gustavus Brander, Esq., who brought it over
to England, and sold it to the late Lord Radnor.
On our road towards the last object to be noticed, we may pause a moment at the little
village of Bemerton, and avail ourselves of the opportunity to remark, that this retired Rectory
has been the residence of no less than four divines, of great and just celebrity. The first was
Walter Curie, afterwards Bishop of Winchester ; the second, his successor, George Herbert, the
biographer of Walton, and author of " The Priest to the Temple," and " The Country Parson;"*
the third, John Norris, the Christian Platonist ; f and the fourth, William Coxe, Archdeacon
of Wilts, whose historical researches have proved equally numerous and valuable.
About a mile beyond Bemerton, and three miles from Salisbury, on the road to Bath, at
the confluence of the Wily and the Nadder, stands the town of Wilton, once the capital of
Wiltshire. J Its principal opulence is now derived from the manufacture of carpets, which were
* A portrait of Herbert, with a view of Bemerton Church, is given in the Saturday Magazine, for Dec. 8th, 1832 ;
and a view of the Church, on a larger scale, in the British Magazine, for August, 1833. Herbert lies buried under the space
enclosed by the altar-rails, without any monument or inscription : even the pavement is now concealed by a wooden floor.
Having rebuilt the Parsonage House, he left the following inscription over the chimney-place in the hall : —
" To my Successor."
" If thou chance for to find
" A new house to thy mind,
" And built ivithout thy cost ;
" Be good to the poor,
" As God gives thee store,
" And then my labour's not lost."
t An affecting passage is preserved in Nichols's Literary Anecdotes, from the papers of the Rev. John Jones : 
" The Rev. and aged Mr. Thomas Colburne told me, that when he was a young man at Salisbury, he made a visit to this
ingenious and exemplary Clergyman. This was not long after the Revolution, when Dr. Burnet was Bishop of that See.
Mr. Norris treated him very civilly, and took him into his garden, from whence they had a full view of the City and
Cathedral. ' What a magnificent structure,' said young Colburne, ' is that great Cathedral ! You are happy, Sir, in this
delightful prospect.' ' Yes,' said Mr. Norris, ' it is all the prospect I have with respect to that Cathedral.' " Norris was
well aware that his Lordship had positively determined lo give him no preferment in that quarter. The coarse and busy
nature of Burnet could have had but little in unison with the pure and spiritual piety of Norris.
J Among the five places appointed by Richard the 1st for the celebration of Tournaments in England, was a spot
situated between Salisbury and Wilton.

33
here first made in England. The parish Church is a large and venerable structure, and near it
are some remains of a Cross. The Town-Hall is likewise ancient.
The famous Abbey of Wilton was founded by Weolkstan, Earl of Ellandun, as early
as a. d. 773, but completed by Elburga, sister of King Egbert, in a. d. 800. The site of the
Abbey is now occupied by Wilton-House, the seat of the Earls of Pembroke ; one of the most
costly Palaces in England, and particularly celebrated for its Antique Marbles, Pictures, and
other works of art. The founder of this magnificent museum was Sir William Herbert, the first
of that name who bore the title of Pembroke : but it is to the zeal and taste of Thomas, the 8th
Earl, that the museum is indebted for the greater portion of its treasures. By him, the cabinets
of Guistiniani and Valetta, and of Cardinals Mazarine and Richelieu, were spoiled of many of
their relics, and the present gallery contrived for their reception. From such a multitude
of gems, it were almost impossible to particularise ; but, perhaps, a small whole-length of the
Queen of the Amazons, in marble, on the lid of a sarcophagus ; and a group of Hercules and
Philoctetes ; a bust of Pyrrhus, King of Epirus ; another of Prusias, King of Bythinia ; and
another of Marcus Modius ; may be considered among the most perfect of the single figures.
Among the relievos, that of Curtius leaping into the gulf ; of Saturn, with his scythe ; the
Story of Clelia ; Niobe and her Children ; and a curious mosaic of Hercules in the Garden of
the Hesperides ; are generally considered as the finest examples. With respect to the pictures,
the state-room presents a matchless collection of Vandycks, including the family-piece, which
measures 17 ft. by 10, and contains no less than ten whole-length figures ; but is now unhappily
much injured by the injudicious treatment it underwent in the year 1773-4. The picture of the
Three Children of King Charles the First, and that of the Duchess of Richmond and her Dwarf,
Mrs. Gibson ; as well as the portraits of Mrs. Killegew and Mrs. Morton ; are unrivalled specimens
of that great master. Of other pictures, the Virgin and Child, by Andrea del Sarto ; another,
with Joseph, by Guercino ; the Assumption, by Rubens ; a head of Democritus, by Spagnoletto ;
Mary Magdalen, by Titian; Wickliffe preaching to the Reformers, by Carlo Maratti ; an old
woman reading, by Rembrandt ; and a fruit-piece, with figures, by Michael Angelo ; deserve
especial notice. The hall is filled with family suites of armour ; and the geometrical staircase,
the first contrived in this country, is also an object of much curiosity.
The garden-front of the house was designed by Inigo Jones, who has added a most
exquisite bridge, in the Palladian style, to the other decorations of the scene. The original
porch was built by Hans Holbein : the gate-way is Roman, and surmounted by a figure of
Marcus Aurelius, on horseback. Though here, again, appears the hand of Wyatt, who seems

34

to have propagated a sort of frenzy during his visit to this part of the country, and of whose
attempts, in Gothic architecture, it may be fairly asked,—" quid tetigit, quod not depravavit ?"
what did he ever touch, and failed to spoil

I ?

SONNET,
BY THE REV. THOMAS WARTON ; WRITTEN AFTER SEEING WILTON-HOUSE.
Prom Pembroke's princely dome, where mimic art
Decks with a magic hand the dazzling bow'rs ;
Its living hues where the warm pencil pours,
And breathing forms from the rude marble start ;
How to life's humble scene can I depart ?
My breast all glowing from those gorgeous tow'rs,
In my low cell how cheat the sullen hours ?
Vain the complaint : for fancy can impart
(To fate superior, and to fortune's doom)
Whate'er adorns the stately-storied hall ;
She, in the dungeon's solitary gloom,
Can dress the Graces in their Attic pall :
Bid the green landscape's vernal beauty bloom,
And in bright trophies clothe the twilight wall !
The Editor has now only to discharge the agreeable duty of returning his sincere acknow
ledgments for the support he has received in the prosecution of the present work. On his own
part, he can aver with truth, that he has spared neither labour nor expense (both expense and
labour far exceeding the probable calculations of those who may not be conversant with such
undertakings), to do justice to his subject, and to fulfil the wishes and expectations of his
subscribers; while, of those concerned in the mechanical preparation of the volume, he can
readily bear witness that they have, one and all, discharged their respective duties with the
utmost care and assiduity. He trusts that the object proposed, from the commencement, has
been fully accomplished, — " not only to preserve a faithful record of the ecclesiastical, civil,
and domestic remains of Salisbury, as they at present stand ; but to rescue from oblivion many
traces of beauty and curiosity, which the lapse of ages, the fluctuations of taste, and the love
of comfort and convenience have already swept away."
" Publications of this kind," it was before observed, " have their obvious utility in many
ways. To the antiquary, the man of taste and letters, they constitute an innocent and
enlightened source of recreation. To those connected with the place, by birth, education, or
other attachments, they recall the occupations of departed days, and realise the scenes of
memory and imagination. To the service of trade and commerce they continually prove of

value; eliciting subjects of interest from obscure recesses, and preserving others from unmerited
destruction; thus circulating among strangers the characteristic features ofthe neighbourhood,
and inducing many a traveller, who would otherwise have changed horses and passed on, to
devote a trifle, both of time and money, to a personal survey of its contents."

A SHAKSPEARE SCENE— OLD HOUSES AT THE TOP OF MILFORD STREET.

A CHRONOLOGICAL TABLE,

SHEWING THE YEAR AND THE REIGN CORRESPONDING WITH THE SEVERAL BISHOPS OF
OLD AND NEW SARUM.

(OLD SARUM) :
Herman  A. D. 1046 to 1078
St. Osmumd  1078 — 1099
Roger  1102 — 1139
Joceline de Bailul  1142 — 1184
Hubert Walter  1189 — 1193
Herbert Pauper, or Poore  1194 — 1216
(SEE REMOVED TO NEW SARUM) :
Richard Pauper, or Poore  1217 -
Robert Bingham  1229 -
William of York  1247-
Egidius de Bridport  125(1 -
W alter de la Wyle  1263-
Robert de Wickhampton  1270 -
Walter Scammel  1284 -
Henry de Braundston  1287 -
Laurence Hawkburn  1287-
William de Corner  1289 -
Nicholas Longspee  1291 -
Simon de Gondavo  1297-
Roger de Mortiva  1315 -
Roger de Wyvil  1329 -
Ralph Ergum  1375-
John Waltham  1388 -
Richard M e tford  1395 -
Nicholas Bubwith  1407 -
Robert Hallam  1407 -
John Chandeler  1417 -
Richard Neville  1427 -
William Ayscough  1438-
Richard Beauchamp  1450 -

Lionel Woodville, or Widville.. ..1482 —
Thomas Langton  1484. —
John Blythe  1493 —
Henry Dean  1500 —
Edmund Audley  1502 —
Laurence Campeggio  1524 —
Nicholas Shaxton  1535 —
John Salcot, or Capon 

1228 1246
1256 1262
1270128412861288
128812911297131513291375 1388
1395 14071407 1417142614371450148114841493
149915021524
1534
1539

1539 — 1557

(PROTESTANT REFORMATION) :

John Jewell  1559 — 1571
Edmund Gheast  1571 — 1577
John Piers  1577 — 1588
John Coldwell  1591 — 1596
Henry Cotton  1598 — 1615
Robert Abbot  1615 — 1618
Martin Fotherby  1618 — 1620
Robert Tounson  1620 — 1621
John Davenant  1621 — 1641
Brian Duppa  1641 — 1660
Humphrey Henchman  1660 — 1663
John Earle, or Earles  1663 — 1665
Alexander Hyde  1665 — 1667
Setii Ward  1667— 1689
Gilbert Burnet  1689 — 1715
William Talbot  1715— 1721
Richard Willis  1721 — 1723
Benjamin Hoadly  1723 — 1734
Thomas Sherlock  1734 — 1748
John Gilbert  1748 — 1757
John Thomas, the 1st  1757— 1761
Hon. Robert Hay Drummond  1761 — 1761
John Thomas, the 2d  1761 — 1766
John Hume  1766 — 1782
Hon. Siiute Barrington  1782 — 1791
John Douglas  1791 — 1807
John Fisher  1807— 1825
Thomas Burgess  '. ... 1825 —

. William I  A. D. 1066 to 1087
. William II  1087 — 1100
¦ Henry 1  1100 — 1135
f Stephen  1135 — 1154
-(.Henry II  1154 — 1189
- Richard 1  1189—1199
- John  1199 — 1216

-Henry III  1216—1272

"J

-Edward 1  1272 — 1307

Edward II...
- Edward III.

.1307 -
.1327 -

Richard II  1377-
HenryIV  1399-
Henry V  1413-
Henry VI  1422-

Edward IV. .
fuDWAM V....
I Richard III.

1461-
.1483- .1483-

¦ 1327
¦1377• 1399
1413
-1422 ¦ 1461
¦ 1483
-1483¦ 1485

-Henry VII  1485 — 1509

-Henry VIII  1509 — 1547

Edward VI  1547-
L Philip and Mary  1553-

¦ 1553 1558

-Elizabeth  1558— 1603

=}

James 1  1603 — 1625

Charles 1  1625 -
(The Commonwealth)  1649 -

16491660

•V Charles II  1660 — 1685
- James II  1685 — 1689
(William and Maiy  1689— 1702
I Anne  1702 — 1714
[ | George 1  1/14— 1727
George II  1727 — 1760

-George III  1/60 — 1820 1830

George IV. ...
William V\r.,

.1820-
.1830-

PLATE I.

ANCIENT VIEW OF SALISBURY.

The original Picture, from which the annexed Sketch is taken, has continued for many years
in the possession of Mr. J. T. Biddlecombe, Choral Vicar of Salisbury Cathedral. The oil-
painting is coarse, and has apparently been furbished by a modern hand. It represents,
however, from the high ground upon the London Road, at least a minute and comprehensive,
if not a very faithful, delineation of the City of New Sarum. Commencing from the right hand,
we observe the Church of Fisherton, St. Edmund's and the College, St. Thomas's, the late
Council Chamber, Harnham Church, the Cathedral with its Belfry, the Bishop's Palace, and
the Church of St. Martin. At the lower extremity of the road appears Winchester Gate,
which was removed in the year 1767, and, some way above it on the left, the Weeping-Cross
Tree, celebrated as the spot where a last embrace was usually allowed the friends of those,
who ventured their lives and fortunes by the ponderous stage-coach, — the only conveyance
that undertook the long and dangerous pilgrimage to London. The fore-ground is crossed by
a portion of the fosse, constructed by the Citizens in the reign of Edward the Second (about
1310 — 1315), to protect the Northern and Eastern approaches of the town; the remains of
which, except a small portion still visible in the College Garden, were levelled, partly in 1769,
and partly, between the upper end of St. Anne and Milford Streets, as late as 1795.
The present View was rudely engraved, with some modern adaptations, in Naish's
Survey, published by Collins, in 1751. From the costume of the figures and equipage, its
design may, perhaps, be attributed to the reign of George the First.

PORCH OF LAVERSTOCK CHURCH.

1 he entrance archway into the porch of Laverstock Church indicates the high antiquity of
the edifice to which it was primarily attached. The Church itself has undergone so many
alterations, as to be no longer characteristic of any particular period of design; but the Parish
itself occurs in Doomsday Book, and may, perhaps, claim, amid the surrounding neighbour
hood, a period of antiquity, second only to Old Sarum itself.

IIP HN

PLATE II.

ST. ANNE'S GATE.

It was in the year 1326, that Edward the Third gave permission to the Dean and Chapter of
Salisbury, to enclose their Canonical Residences with an embattled wall of stone. A con
siderable portion of this structure, ornamented by four gateways, still imparts a venerable
aspect to this quarter of the City, and retains for the Close, particularly after the hour of
Curfew, its appropriate character of seclusion and retirement.
Those who are accustomed to observe minutely the remains of ancient buildings,
will not fail to notice a variety of carved stones, of Roman or Saxon workmanship, inserted in
various parts of this wall, especially on the Eastern side, a little to the left of the present view.
They consist of fragments of enriched entablatures, pateree, bustos, &c. ; and, as similar remains
exist in the interior of the Cathedral spire, which was erected during the same reign, there
can be little doubt that the whole are samples that occurred in removing the demolished
church and fortress of Old Sarum, which seems to have served as a general quarry for the
supply of building materials to the new City. Drawings of several of these fragments will be
found in the Gentleman's Magazine for Oct. 1818 (vol. 88, part 2, p. 305-6).

COURT-YARD, AT CHANCELLOR MARSH'S.

We have here a portion of one of the Canonical Houses just mentioned. The pointed window,
on the right, was the domestic chapel, invariably attached to the residences of the higher
Clergy. The roof of the hall may be still traced, of a style corresponding with the Refectory
on the Canal; while, along the cornice, appears the name of Jon Hid (or Hyde), of the noble
family of Clarendon; several of whom were Canons Residentiary of the Cathedral, during the
16th and 17th Centuries.

PLATE III.
ST. MARTIN'S CHURCH.

Considerable uncertainty prevails with respect to the origin of the present Church of " St.
Martin in the Fields." Leland, in his Itinerary (vol. iii. pp. 74, 82), distinctly states, that on
visiting Salisbury, in 1542, by command of Henry the Eighth, he saw a barn standing on the
North side of St. Nieholas' Hospital, which the inhabitants assured him was > the wreck of old
St. Martin's Church,; and that the former site was abandoned 'in favour of the present, in
consequence of, the floods which infested the lower ground. -Leland's informants had evidently
no authority except tradition ; and against this tradition every circumstance, both of probability
and of record, distinctly militates. Yet Kollingshed, who wrote in the reign of Queen Elizabeth,
confirms the statement of Leland ; though the Northern side of St. Nicholas' Hospital was then,
as now, terminated at a short distance by the Bishop's Wall ; and though there had previously
existed neither parish nor population in Salisbury to require such accommodation ; while West
Harnham had its own church, of Norman date, — -East Harnham, the Chapels of St. John and
St. Nicholas, — and the hamlet of Milford was united under the parochial superintendence of
Laverstock. Least of all was it probable that a Parish' Church should be transplanted from one
Parish to another; a difficulty which Leland escapes, by assigning the Church, both before and
after its removal, to the suburban district of Harnham.
Still, no records whatever exist to authenticate the present structure ; and, whatever
may have been the ruin pointed out to Leland, the modern, no less than the ancient, building
involves a point of ecclesiastical history, almost beyond the hope of satisfactory elucidation.
The style of its architecture will scarcely warrant a more early conjecture than the reign of
Richard the Second (1377 to 1399), or the latter years of his predecessor, the patron Monarch
of New Sarum. Under an arch, within the tower, stand the relics of an altar-tomb, which,
from its peculiar situation, may have received, according to Mr. Gough's surmise, the mortal
ashes of the founder ; but whose very age and name it has failed to commemorate. So,
" Like their mouldering tenants, tombs decay,
" And, with the dust they hide, are swept away." Giffobd's Juvenal, x. 214, 5.

ST. MARTIN'S FONT.

-T onts are not unfrequently observed to be much older than the Churches in which they occur.
That of St. Martin's is evidently of Norman workmanship, and may, perhaps, have been
transferred from the desecrated Barn, which has occasioned so much perplexity.

PLATE IV.

STRATFORD CHURCH AND MANOR HOUSE.

The Village of Stratford is situated about a mile to the North of Salisbury, under the Western
declivity of the Castle Hill. Its Manor-House has been erroneously commemorated by Mr.
Seward, as the birth-place of William Pitt, first Earl of Chatham. The estate certainly belonged,
however, to his ancestors, the Pitts, of Boconnoc, in Cornwall ; and was the scene where that
great Statesman (who commenced his political career, in 1735, as representative for the Borough
of Old Sarum) passed many of his early days during the residence of his father, Robert Pitt.
The general aspect of the house, though not of high antiquity, is alike venerable and picturesque,
and has hitherto been little altered from its primitive simplicity of character. Over the door is
inscribed a motto, " Parva, sed apta domino; " — Small, but suited to its master.
The Parish Church is a neat, rather than a handsome structure. The Western portion
was entirely rebuilt in the reign of Queen Anne, as appears by a notice on the tower : " Thomas
Pitt, Esq., Benefactor. Erected, Anno 1711."

COTTAGE RESIDENCE AT STRATFORD.

I ins is another specimen of the domestic style of our forefathers, and when viewed from the
Church-yard by the angle of the road-side, or up the double avenue of elms in front, presents,
with its pointed pediments and lofty gables, its bay windows and triangular chimneys, an
object of peculiar attraction. Indeed, every step along the banks of Avon, from Salisbury to
Amesbury, teems with antiquarian relics and historical associations ; and looks, in the midst of
the desert plain around it, like a Fairy Valley, winding through the Hill-Country of the Giants.

PLATE V.

JOINERS' HALL, ST. ANNE'S STREET.

Of the several incorporated Companies which formerly existed by Charter in this City, the
Joiners alone retain any premises entitled to Architectural distinction. The principal building
in the annexed Engraving, bears all the characteristics of the period of Queen Elizabeth. The
interior of the large room presents one uniform surface of the most minute and exquisite carving
on panel, with Corinthian pilasters. The ornamented brackets which support the Oriels without,
have been attributed to the hand of Humphrey Beckham, a native of Salisbury, who exercised
the craft of oak-carving during the reigns of James the First and his successors, and was
interred, under a monument of his own design, beside the Western door of St. Thomas's Church,
in 1671. The glazing of the windows is executed in an unusual pattern, and retains a few
traces of armorial bearings. A hideous sash-window, lately inserted in the centre, it has been
deemed allowable to omit, without further apology.

TRIC-TRAC TABLE.

The game of tric-trac, or trick-tack, is supposed to have come originally from Turkey, and is
still played occasionally by the French. The board itself resembles that now used for back
gammon, but with holes round the border, where the scores are marked with pegs, as in the
scarcely less venerable game of Cribbage. The annexed specimen stands in the Audit-Room ef
Trinity Hospital, with other furniture of antique description.

PLATE VI.

NAVE OF SALISBURY CATHEDRAL.

The original View, from which the present copy is reduced, was engraved by J. S. Muller,
in the year 1754, from a drawing by Mr. James Biddlecombe ; of whose descendant, before
alluded to, a loan of that elaborate performance has been obtained. The Nave is here
exhibited in those characteristic features of simplicity, of which so many have been since
demolished. The incongruous and heavy font has been properly removed to a spot of less
ostentation ; but that convenience has been dearly purchased by the introduction of tombs and
slabs from every quarter of the Church, arranged, like settees, between the columns on either
side, and delineating the spot where the ashes they commemorate are not interred. Of the
old Organ, which has been replaced by a donation of King George the Third, enclosed in a case,
and mounted on a screen, of modern Gothic, a curious engraving was published by Mr. Lyons
about the middle of the last century.

MONUMENT OF BISHOP POORE.

The accompanying woodcut is likewise copied from an etching by Carter, in 1781, prefixed to
the first Edition of "Milner's Dissertation on the Modern Style of altering Ancient Cathedrals ; "
a tract, which every inhabitant of New Sarum should read over once a year. It represents, in
its original state (1237), the Episcopal effigy and tomb of Richard Poore, Founder of
Salisbury Cathedral. In the memorable year of our Lord, 1789, this interesting structure
was taken to pieces by Mr. James Wyatt, the figure removed on its slab, together with a
skeleton found underneath, from the North side of the ancient Altar, below the Lady Chapel,
and deposited in a corner of the N. E. Transept, called the Morning Chapel, where it now lies
in humiliating contrast with its former dignity and beauty.

PLATE VII.

THE WORK-HOUSE

A VIEW OF CRANE STREET.

Almost every house on the left hand side of Crane Street, looking towards the Bridge, bears
evident indications of antiquity. But the Gothic structure at the further extremity, now
occupied as the City Workhouse, claims a more than common degree of observation. There
can be no doubt but this was originally one of those Monastic establishments, of which there
existed at least three, if not more, within the Town, besides the Grey Friars, over the larger
Bridge, in the main Street of Fisherton. It was probably granted, at the dissolution of Religious
Houses, by King Henry the 8th, to the family of Touchet, Barons Audley, and afterwards
Earls of Castlehaven. By one of these it was forfeited by attainder to the Crown, in 1631,
and granted in perpetuity to the Bishop ; by whom it was afterwards presented, for its present
purpose, to the Mayor and Corporation.

ANCIENT HOUSE IN NEW STREET.

New Street, or, at least, the Western half of it, lies within the range of ancient buildings,
which denote the original road, along the High Street, from Old Sarum, to the Western door
of the Cathedral/ The last house upon the Southern side, still distinguished as " Mitre
Corner," appears to occupy the very first patch of ground on which a dwelling was constructed
in the new City ; and from the circumstance of Bishop Poore having resided there, while
superintending the progress of the Cathedral, the custom has ever since continued for each
succeeding Prelate to be invested with his robes of office on the same spot, and thence con
ducted by the Clergy to his installation.
The building here represented may be attributed to the period of Henry the 7th ; and if
restored, even yet, at a very trifling cost, would continue an example, no less beautiful than
curious, of the ordinary dwellings of our forefathers.

fcilffi

PLATE VIII.
HARNHAM MILL.

Of this remarkable and interesting pile, the upper story of the principal front, together with
the roofing, and the whole of the square premises beyond, are of modern introduction.
The rest bears evident testimony to the reign of Henry the 7th or 8th. By many persons
it is supposed to have been attached to some ancient grange, or farm; but the more probable
conjecture assigns it originally to the use of the Dean and Chapter of the Cathedral. The style
of building betrays a remarkable admixture of the domestic with the castellated of an earlier
date ; while a niche, in the upper story of the Northern gable, imparts the additional character
of devotional sanctity and retirement.

CORBEL-HEAD IN WEST HARNHAM CHURCH.

That some portions of this Church are of very early date, may be judged, not only from the
diminutive windows and massy beam-ends, which appear distinctly on the inner walls, but
from a circular arch, supported, on the reverse, by columns with sculptured capitals, which
still communicates with the belfry. The Chancel displays a series of six corbel-heads, similar
to the one here delineated, besides bosses and rosettes at the intersection of the ribs ; and in
the Southern Aisle, remains a piscina, or sink, — the ancient accompaniment of a private shrine,
which is separated by a screen of oak from the main body of the Choir. The substitution of a
low and clumsy Tower, in place of its Norman predecessor, has rendered the Church of Harnham
less attractive, in outward aspect, than any in the immediate vicinity of Salisbury.

PLATE IX.

FOULSTONE AND ODSTOCK CHURCHES.

These rustic edifices, though scarcely of sufficient importance to deserve representation on
a larger scale, are both of them objects of picturesque antiquity, and within an easy walk from
the principal scene of our researches.
Foulstone, or Fuggleston St. Peter, is a Rectorial Parish, adjacent to the town
of Wilton, and celebrated by its Hospital for Lepers, dedicated to St. Giles, by Adeliza, second
wife of King Henry the First, whose remains are said to have been deposited in the chapel
of that establishment. The building itself, which stood, within the memory of the present
generation, on the left of the high road, about a quarter of a mile nearer to the City, has
yielded, at length, to the ravages of time and change. The Living, which conferred on the
Incumbent the honorary title of Prior of the Hospital, was held, for many years, in conjunction
with that of Bemerton, by the late Venerable Archdeacon Coxe; a gentleman, whose literary
renown has thrown an air of classical association over the neighbourhood of his long and
favourite residence. The Village of Odstock is also dignified by a Rectory. The Church, though of less
antiquity than the preceding, exhibits several features of considerable elegance, which are
enhanced by their sequestered situation, and the neatness and cultivation of the surrounding
scenery.

THE BARRACKS, IN BROWN STREET.

We must not always expect to find the name of a building indicative of its character or
object. The Barracks, in Brown Street, (for the same appellation is applied to several ranges
of Cottages in other Streets), are now let out in separate tenements to the poor, and afford
but little idea of military occupation ; except, perhaps, by republican marauders, who lodged
themselves, and their beasts of burden too, as caprice or accident suggested, in a hovel, a
palace, or a cathedral. The present structure, however, is evidently one of considerable
antiquity; and, independent of its claim on our attention, as once the actual property of Oliver
Cromwell, (a fact, attested by his signature to the title-deeds, in possession of the present owner),
preserves, as will be hereafter noticed, in its internal, no less than outward arrangements,
more than one object of attraction to the eye of the antiquary and virtuoso.

;-U»

PLATE X.

WEST END OF SALISBURY CATHEDRAL, RESTORED.

Those who derive gratification, however mingled with regret, from the spectacle of a
venerable city in the days of her departed splendour, can hardly fail to value the Western
view of Salisbury Cathedral, as preserved by Dugdale from the burin of Hollar. Every niche
is here occupied by its statue ; on the North side of the nearer Transept stands the Porch,
now deposited in the Garden of St. Edmund's College ; and at a little distance from the great
Western door remains the base of a sepulchral Cross, the upper portion of which must have
gone to decay several centuries ago.
But the principal feature which distinguishes the ancient from the modern view, is the
preservation of the Belfry Tower. This remarkable pile was certainly coeval with the Cathedral.
The centre was supported, like that of the Chapter-House, by a single shaft of Purbeck marble,
embedded in its natural soil, regularly deposited according to the strata of the quarry from which
it was derived. The Spire, — probably a subsequent erection, and composed of timber-frames,
covered with lead, — was taken down and repaired in the year 1758. Mr. Price had proposed a
restoration, which may be seen engraved by the side of the original in his description of the
Church ; but which was happily rejected. In the fatal repairs, however, of Mr. Wyatt, the
whole mass was demolished at one fell swoop ; and whether we regard the singularity, the
scientific construction, or the picturesque beauty of the structure, it must be owned that in that
act of desecration one of the architectural glories of Salisbury was lost for ever.

ORIEL WINDOW, IN HIGH STREET.

1 ins beautiful window was some years ago supplanted, for the late proprietor of the dwelling,
by a French sash, of approved symmetry and proportions. It is to be hoped that internal
comfort has derived something from the sacrifice of outward decoration.

PLATE XI.
FISHERTON CHURCH.

That both the Village and Church of Fisherton existed at an earlier period than the City of
Salisbury, we need go no farther than Leland and Camden to ascertain. And notwithstanding
the transformations of later times, exemplified in all the varieties of Churchwarden masonry and
carpentry, traces of very remote architecture may be yet discerned about the Church, especially
in the massive square tower, — with its lower window, hewn, rather than carved, into a triple
light,— contrasting remarkably with the delicate and polished style of the Cathedral.
Near the principal Bridge, on the spot now occupied by the Sun Inn, stood the Dominican
House of Black Friars, or Friars Preachers (and not of Grey Friars, as was inadvertently stated
in the description ofthe Work-House, Plate VII.) ; founded, says Tanner, according to Bishop
Godwin, by Robert Kilwardby, who was Archbishop of Canterbury from 1272 to 1278.

PANEL-MOULDING, IN HIGH STREET.

This elegant, though unassuming, specimen of Gothic carving, was removed from the same
house with the window just mentioned. Many remains were at the same time destroyed within
doors, to make room for domestic improvements.
For drawings of both these relics, the Editor stands indebted, no less than his Subscribers,
to the zeal and taste of Miss E. Wickens, of the Close.

bSSkn \\\/Zw/m

IotIo

fKjs^JM

/^^rr\

s^^^H

Ski

l^i^^^%l

dp ' "^kJ
" :Tll
1
PLATE XII.
ANCIENT REFECTORY ON THE CANAL.

Whether the building here delineated ever formed a portion of any Conventual or Monastic
Establishment, appears, at this time, to say the least, extremely doubtful. That it was always
designed for the purpose of a Hall or Banqueting-Room, every feature that remains, — its
shape and dimensions, its position from North to South, the character of the windows and roof,
the entrance-door and fire-place, — all combine to certify beyond a moment's question.
Thus much we also know ; that enough remains, among other devices, in the painted
glass, to display most conspicuously, in the central compartments, the arms of the Earldoms
of Salisbury and Montacute on one shield, and of Warwick and Montacute on another. Now,
the father of Richard Neville, second and last Earl of Salisbury of that name, married the
heiress of Montacute, or Montagu, the last Earl of that family ; and this same Richard
Neville was also the first and only Earl of Warwick of that name. Consequently, it may be
well supposed, that both these coats of arms belonged to one and the same person in his two
distinct characters, as Earl of Salisbury and Earl of Warwick. And as this coincidence held good
only from 1462, the year of his creation, to 1471, when he was slain at the Battle of Barnet, we
thus find the date of the windows reduced to a period exactly coinciding with the architecture
of the fabric itself.
On a later shield appear the arms of the See of Winchester, impaling those of James
Montagu, brother of Edward Lord Montagu, who held that Bishoprick from the year 1616 to
1618. From the Merchant's mark, which so frequently occurs in this place as well as in the
Parish Church, the building has been sometimes assigned, probably without authority, to an
ancient Company of Clothiers.
It only remains to add, that the restoration of this splendid and interesting room, which
is now entirely choked with modern apartments, is the result of most careful survey and admea
surement, without any alteration whatever, beyond the removal of temporary and incongruous
obstructions. The furniture is, of course, imaginary.

GOTHIC GATE-WAY ON THE CANAL.

1 nis is an arch of wood, now forming the entrance to a court, or passage, about fifty
yards to the West ofthe Refectory. Possibly it may once have had some connexion with the
former building, which was approached, in the memory of many now alive, by a pointed gate-way
in front. Similar arches with the present, though on a smaller scale, will be found on the West
side of Castle Street, and near the corresponding end of the Blue-Boar Row ; and probably in
many less public situations throughout the older portions ofthe city.

PLATE XIII.
THE POULTRY-CROSS, RESTORED.

The Poultry-Cross, formerly styled the Yarn-Market, as distinguished from Bernard's Cross,
and the Cheese-Market, independent of its intrinsic beauty, has been made an object of con
siderable dispute among antiquaries with respect to its origin and identity. The result of their
inquiries, as deduced from the conflicting testimonies of Walsingham of St. Alban's Chronicle,
and Fox's Martyrology, may be thus briefly detailed : —
In the reign of Richard II., 1377-99, Lawrence de St. Martin, of Wardour Castle,
Knight of the Shire of Wilts, — a friend of Wickliffe, and, as a Lollard, peculiarly suspicious
in the sight of Bishop Ergham, — incurred the censure of that Prelate by a breach of eccle
siastical discipline ; for which he was condemned to erect a Cross of stone in Salisbury, where
the story of his disgrace should be narrated ; and to come every Friday of his life to the
spot, in his shirt, bare-footed and bare-headed, and there upon his knees do penance for the
offence. The fact may admit of some hesitation, but so it is, perhaps because this is the
only Cross now standing, it is supposed to be the one recorded in the preceding narrative: and
Mr. H. Wansey, in a paper inserted in the Archeeologia of 1789, even conjectures that
the six angels, clustered round the central column, and facing the six arches that encircle
it, may have formerly held the labels or inscriptions alluded to above.
The Poultry-Cross has materially suffered from the lapse of time and alternations of
the weather ; its niches and pinnacles are curtailed to less than half their fair proportions, and
the canopy and cross are supplanted by a ball and sun-dial. The restorations here proposed
are simple and appropriate : would it be thought extravagant to hope, that something of the
kind might at no distant day be carried into execution ?
A conspicuous figure in the fore-ground will be recognised by many an old inhabitant of
Salisbury as that of Mr. Edmund Sutton, better known by the title of "Alderman Sutton," an
amiable but eccentric character, who died in 1821, after having carried on the joint professions
of baker and chirurgeon for nearly fifty years, in the house represented at the left hand corner
of Minster Street and Silver Street.

GABLE-ENDS IN SILVER STREET.

Ihe Houses, of which the upper stories here appear, are mentioned in a deed of the 15th
Century, preserved in the Parish chest of St. Thomas. Their decorated beams and figured
tiles were swept away some years ago, to make room for the more convenient substitution
of square parapets and sash windows.
Two other Houses of considerable curiosity in Minster Street, scarcely perceptible in the
back-ground of the Poultry-Cross, are also noticed in documents of very early date.
Almost every row of building in the city furnishes examples of carved gables : in the
upper part of Trinity Street are several deserving of particular attention.

\^y^Jl£^€s^r\^^cu\rj^^,.e<jvj^^'^>iriA i-Li\M

PLATE XIV.
ST. THOMAS'S CHURCH,
FROM THE RIVER.

The Parish Church of St. Thomas a. Becket, erected, about the year 1240, as a Chapel of Ease
to the Cathedral, forms a splendid ornament to the centre ofthe City. It consists of a Nave
and Choir, with Clerestory, two Side-Aisles with Chancels, a Vestry-Room, and a quadrangular
Tower, rising on the South side from the ground. This Tower is probably the work of a period
not much earlier than the close ofthe 15th Century. In the lower compartment remain two
niches, with a pair of headless and mutilated effigies ; one of them supposed to represent
the Virgin and Child, the arms of the Cathedral ; the other the Martyr of Canterbury,
to whose commemoration the building was dedicated by Bishop Bingham.
It is impossible to help regretting that this noble structure, instead of terminating a
view of the Market-Place, as was no doubt originally intended, should be now entirely enclosed
and obstructed by a dense mass of surrounding houses. Even from the spot selected for the
annexed view, some liberty is unavoidably taken, to display the great West Window, which
has been most accurately restored by Mr. Osmond. Indeed, much credit is due to those con
cerned in the general repairs of St. Thomas's, for having answered the desires of good taste
and propriety out of very limited resources.

PUBLIC-HOUSE AND BRIDGE AT FISHERTON.

The Bridge here represented crosses a little wandering stream, which flows out of the Avon,
above the Town Mill, into the united Rivers of the Wily and the Nadder, about the middle of
the main Street of Fisherton. Of the Public-House little need be said, beyond what is con
veyed to the passing traveller by the sign of " The Waggon and Horses." It is an old and
curious relic, nevertheless ; and whether delineated on a block of wood, or met face to face in
a walk along the water-side from the meadows below, may be deemed not unworthy its present
position among the "Picturesque Memorials" ofthe suburbs.

PLATE XV.

COURT YARD OF THE WORK-HOUSE;

THE GEORGE INN, HIGH STREET.

The Work-House has already been described in Plate VII. The beautiful arrangement ofthe
paved Court can hardly fail to strike the most ordinary observer. The interior is well worthy
an attentive examination, by which the vestiges of the ancient Refectory, with other remains of
domestic antiquity, may be distinctly identified.
The George Inn, though now in most dilapidated condition, still exhibits, with its
panelled bay-windows and carved gate-way, an object of melancholy attraction to the eye of the
connoisseur. The house was certainly, in former days, a resort of jovial repute among the
cavaliers and gallants of fashion. It was from hence that Robert Hungerford, second Lord
Moleyns, or Molines, in his way to join the English army at Blaye, in Guienne, commanded
by his relation, the famous Talbot, Earl of Shrewsbury, in 1454, issued forth with his
retainers to break sconces with the quiet citizens of New Sarum : and it was here that Mr.
Pepys records his welcome, in 1668, to " a silken bed and very good diet,'' as well as to a most
unwelcome bill of charges at his departure ; " at which," adds the gentleman, " I was mad,
and resolve to trouble the Mistress about it, and get something for the poor ; and come away
in that humour." (Diary, vol. ii. p. 237.)

DOOR-WAY IN THE YARD OF THE GEORGE INN.

1ms is a very curious entrance-door, not easily assignable to any precise period of archi
tecture : but whoever may happen to have seen its counterpart in the Chancel of Alderbury
Church, might incline to attribute the building to which it is attached to the period of Edward
II. or III. Houses for the accommodation of pilgrims visiting the shrines of England are
said to have been dedicated, like that of Glastonbury, to her patron Saint. Two old gables at
the opposite end of the yard add to the ruinous, but not unseemly, aspect of the place.
As a spot of no less interest, though in a somewhat different way, may be here noticed a
house, lately repaired with considerable judgment, and still known as the King's Arms, St.
John Street. This is said to be the very Inn, at which the scheme was planned, in 1655, for
rescuing the fugitive Charles from Boscobel, in Staffordshire, where he had taken shelter after
the Battle of Worcester, and depositing him in safe concealment at Col. Wyndham's, in Dor
setshire, till a vessel should be ready on the coast to convey him over to Normandy.

erm'

¦ ¦¦1

F.nnii_ .

, eiiia

C k..Lij'

tu tail'

Er"

IT. IT, l_:
L!™'.- I
l*"fcj
: «6|
!! Q " "
"ill
i irrn'
CD EIO ¦
EG HE L " fc'J
jlhUL,,
(HEiB.
¦ cmL-'ii '
rx
inpzJ; ¦
jipom.-}: ||
PLATE XVI.
THE BISHOP'S PALACE.

T.he Metropolitan Residence of the See of Salisbury, situated at the South- Eastern corner of
the Close, was begun by Bishop Poore, and probably completed just before his translation to the
See of Durham, in 1228. A variety of improvements, including the addition of the principal Hall,
were executed about the middle of the 15th century, by Bishop Beauchamp. In the disorders of
the great Rebellion, it was sold by the Cromwellian Parliament to two brothers, of the name of
Barter, who demolished a part of the Hall, and converted the rest of the building into an Inn.
On the restoration of Charles the 2nd, these dilapidations were restored, but with the usual
incongruity of the times, by Bishop Ward ; and the whole edifice was further repaired by Bishop
Sherlock (1734-48). At last, under the auspices of Bishop Barrington, the Palace was sentenced
to the same system of liberal, but tasteless, innovation with the adjoining Church; when the
Porch and Windows in the Western wing, seen towards the right-hand of the present View,
were inserted according to a fantastic design of Sir Robert Taylor. From the Gallery above,
which contains a valuable series of Episcopal Portraits, a most beautiful survey may be obtained
of the Cathedral, Chapter-House, and Cloisters. The House and Gardens are nearly surrounded
by the embattled Wall, before described, and are approached by a plain, but not inelegant,
Gate-way, about the middle of Exeter Street.

CANON BOWLES'S HOUSE.

As an Ecclesiastical Mansion of great antiquity, — but, still more, as the successive abode of
two of the literary constellations of Modern Wilts, — the building here delineated has an acknow
ledged claim to public observation. The portion now used as a scullery exhibits the plainest
traces of a Chapel, coeval with the style of the Cathedral. The outer walls, on the sides, are
also original ; the front is a recent adaptation, devised by the present Proprietor.
In a recess of the Garden stands a monumental Tablet, with the following Inscription
to the honour of the late Archdeacon Coxe ; an author justly celebrated in the walks of
History and Biography : — " * M. Gulmi- Coxe, Uteris per Europam illustris, W. L. B., Successor
his iEdibus Canonicis, P. — m.dcccxxx."
In the same Garden appears a Dial, thus inscribed : — " f Quamjucundi prseteriere dies !
W. L. B. Jan. 8, 1829. Obiit ." Society will have lost an accomplished poet, and
a benevolent man, when the space left for the concluding date is filled up.
* Erected to the Memory of William Coxe, famous throughout Europe in the pursuit of literature, by William
Lisle Bowles, his successor in this Canonical Residence. 1830.
t What pleasant days have passed away !

<K''y-'''''*'i¥\i

¦ ¦¦'• ¦ ¦ ¦¦ -". ¦.. . lit

PLATE XVII.
COLLEGE DE VAUX, HARNHAM.

The whole of this edifice, which formerly stood in a meadow between the Cathedral and the
River, is now demolished, and its place supplied by a row of modern houses. For the Drawing,
from which the annexed Etching was engraved, the writer is happy to express his obligations to
a gentleman, the least of whose regards for his native city are expressed in the zeal and ability
with which he fulfils the office of Deputy Recorder.
The College of Valle, or Vaulx, was founded by Bishop Bridport, about the year 1260,
for a Warden, four Fellows, two Chaplains, and twenty Scholars, under the patronage of the
Dean and Chapter. It appears that, in consequence of an impost laid on the University of
Oxford, in 1238, for an insult offered to Otho, the Papal Legate, and of disturbances which had
arisen out of a disagreeable visit from Prince Edward, son of Henry III., in 1255, many of the
Students had been induced to withdraw, and pursue their studies in the College here provided
expressly for their retreat. The restoration of tranquillity at Oxford, and the subsequent
celebrity of Bishop Wykeham's School, at Winchester, conduced to the gradual decline of the
establishment at New Sarum, which is described by Leland, in 1540-53, as dwindled to the
maintenance of only eight poor Scholars.

ANCIENT COLUMN IN WINCHESTER STREET.

I his is precisely one of those insulated and heterogeneous fragments, of which it seems impos
sible to ascertain the proper age or origin. It is carved in solid oak, and occupies the chimney-
corner of a little old-fashioned house, just opposite the Black Horse, in Winchester Street.
Tradition assigns it to some religious structure in that neighbourhood ; but whether the vicissi
tudes of two or of ten centuries may have brought it to its present aspect and situation, must
henceforth remain, in all probability, a matter of antiquarian conjecture.

4

PLATE XVIII.
HUNGERFORD AND BEAUCHAMP CHAPELS,
FORMERLY ATTACHED TO SALISBURY CATHEDRAL.

Of these beautiful examples of the monumental Chancels of our forefathers, the former was
removed from the Northern, the latter from the Southern side of the Lady Chapel, in the general
work of devastation, in 1789. The engravings here given are borrowed from that splendid and
elaborate work, the Sepulchral Monuments of Mr. Gough.
The first, to the memory of Robert, Lord Hungerford, who died in 1459, was erected
by his widow. In the middle of the wall, upon the right, appears the full-length figure of a
Gallant, dressed according to the fashion of Henry the 6th, in a short doublet, with slashed
sleeves, a cord and bow at his waist, black collar and pantaloons, piked shoes, a high hat and
feather, a dagger at his girdle, rings on his fingers, and a staff in his left hand ; the right held
np in alarm at the approach of Death, who stands before him in a shroud, with an open coffin
at his feet. A little nearer, on the same wall, and nearly over the entrance door, appears a half
figure, in a Doctor's gown, with a mutilated inscription underneath. Still nearer, and not
visible in the present View, was another painting of Death and a Pilgrim ; the former almost
obliterated. And, finally, the Western wall was occupied with sketches of the Salutation of
Elizabeth, and of St. Christopher wading through the ford with our Lord upon his shoulder. This
Chapel is not to be confounded with that of Walter, the preceding Lord Hungerford, formerly
standing on the North side of the Nave, but now removed to the South side of the Choir,
opposite to that of Bishop Audley, and fitted up as a Pew for the Earl of Radnor's family.
The other was built and endowed by Richard Beauchamp, Bishop of Salisbury, some
years before his death, which took place in 1481. Out of the remains of both these Chapels
were formed the modern Organ-screen, and likewise the Altar-piece and Seats which surround
the Lady Chapel.

CATHEDRAL PORCH, IN MR. WYNDHAM'S GARDEN.

T-here cannot be the slightest ground for .assigning this elegant structure to an earlier, if,
indeed, so early a date as that of the present Cathedral. The Spire and Pinnacles, and some
fragments of the sides, are modern ; for the rest, the history of its transplantation from the
entrance of the North Transept may be best told in the Inscription by which the event is
recorded, from the pen of its late proprietor : —
" iEdem hane, quae, olim in Sorbioduno Urbe extructa, et postea, Urbem Novam transvecta,
portam, plus quingentos annos, Ecclesias Cathedralis borealem, jam nunc occlusam, vestibuli
loco adumbraverat, Decani Capitulique assensu, hic demum collocari curavit *
H. P. W.— A. D. 1791."
* This building, originally constructed in the City of Old Sarum, and afterwards transferred to the New Cily,
where, for upwards of five hundred years, it served as a Vestibule to the Northern Door of the Cathedral, now closed up,
was placed on this spot, with consent of the Dean and Chapter, by Henry Penruddoche Wyndham, in the year 1791.

PLATE XIX.

CLOSE-GATE, IN HIGH STREET, WITH THE COLLEGE OF MATRONS.

Although the position of the opposite Gate, in the direct line from Old Sarum to the Cathedral,
would naturally denote it to have been the first of those erected round the Close, yet the present
aspect of the structure is evidently of later fashion than the rest. The decorations are indeed
remarkably rich and elegant, particularly the spandrils at the angles of the arch, and the row
of quatrefoils above. The arms are those of England, in the reign of Charles the Second, whose
statue appears on the other side, — a dwarfish, clownish figure, with huge head and bandy legs,
more resembling crook-backed Richard than the Merry Monarch of the House of Stuart.
The Matrons' College, seen through the Arch, was erected and endowed in 1682, by
Seth Ward, Bishop of Sarum, for the maintenance often Widows of Clergymen of the Established
Church, The endowment was considerably augmented, in 1796, by a bequest of William
Benson Earle, Esq., and now affords to its inmates a most respectable and comfortable retreat.

HARNHAM GATE.

This is another entrance to the Close, communicating with De Vaux Place. It partakes some
what more than usual of a military character, and has the advantage of retaining its original
proportions, while all the others have been more or less curtailed in height by the accumulation
of soil round the bases of the arch.

fcjy s mi

PLATE XX.
THE KING'S HOUSE;
THE LATE RESIDENCE OF GENERAL SIR JOHN SLADE.

There are few towns of importance, especially in the South of England, or in the vicinity of
the Royal Forests, which have not a King's House to boast of. These are, generally, as in the
present instance, an ancient style of mansion, built or purchased for the abode ofthe Monarch,
during his periodical progress through the Country. Such Visitations, under Elizabeth and
James the First, were long famous for their splendour ; but it is only from Charles the
Second that Salisbury derives her claim to this distinction. The pile of building, as it now
stands, has been parcelled out, at different times, into a range of smaller tenements, and again
united into one ; losing, in every alteration, much of its early form and arrangement, but still
retaining, under its thick mantle of evergreens, a picturesque and venerable appearance.

PORCH OF THE KING'S HOUSE.

The form of the arch, and groining of the roof, were thought to merit a separate representa
tion for the Porch, as supplementary to the House itself. Both are excellent examples of their
kind, and of a better age than most of those we find attached to ordinary residences.

¦'¦ .-.

^mm

ivateg

Mfc

^m

assi:

wATC1

' i^7v9flw
all i

flisifflj:

*!m =

¦ ,.v. . ..,-. iSB!^3&y 9t8B

if»ite^i

' , ' ' i, i i -' ; i i l»Ii1;HafJ
. ii. ¦ tr .,•¦:',- \ .¦-.¦.¦. .¦¦„¦-¦: fit- - -¦¦¦„' ¦> . ..[¦ i--.:Vi '¦" ¦¦¦"li. ¦.-¦¦-"¦¦'¦ \ PI JTTlP, ¦• , 'I'M '¦ ¦ -V ' *¦ i'lliiJMBiwHfflffllBlHin-
PLATE XXI.

THE MUNIMENT-ROOM, IN SALISBURY CATHEDRAL.

It is a circumstance somewhat remarkable, that in the Cathedral of Salisbury should exist one
of the most curious apartments in England, which has never before been either engraved or
described, nor, apparently, either noticed or known to a single inhabitant. But the fact is, the
Muniment-Room is a store-house of Records, of so great importance to the owners of the property
of the Church, as to impose the strictest necessity for seclusion, and of so little interest to any
one else, as to offer no temptation to the curiosity of intruders. The room itself can only be
visited under the personal superintendance of the appointed officer : but by those who can
obtain that privilege, the opportunity should not be lost. An idea of massive strength and
simplicity pervades every feature of the place. Door within door guards the approach from the
Southern Transept. The windows are small, and strongly barricaded. The oaken rafters
appear as fresh as when they were first wedged together. And for the furniture, it is, no doubt,
as old, and certainly as strange, as the habitation which it occupies. Here are chests and
cupboards, crammed with ancient deeds ; the very stools and benches savouring of the monastic
ages. One of the principal repositories is an oblong box, the lid secured by seven locks,
answering to the number of Residentiaries who compose the Chapter, and raised by a pulley
and wheel, affixed -to the central column. On a table are the implements for affixing the
official seal ; and on the floor a hearth intended for a charcoal fire. Many an Antiquary would
give his ears for a few weeks' forage among the parchments, which lie, at present, in most
irregular repose, — " blattarum ac tinearum epulse,* " — a feast for moths and spiders.
* Hor. Sat. 2. iii. 119.

REGAL CHAIR, IN THE CLOSE.

Salisbury abounds in old Chairs, many of them richly and curiously carved. As a specimen
of the whole, the present is selected, not as surpassing all in beauty, but as, probably, of native
workmanship, and, perhaps, from the figure of the crown, connected with the King's House,
already noticed. It is now in the possession of Miss E. Wickens, by whose consent the accom
panying sketch was taken ; and to whom the Editor desires to make this tardy acknowledgment
for the representation of the curious Gable-ends exhibited on the reverse of Plate xiii.

El-.-b,,/.!.,,' i ,¦,.!¦!

PLATE XXII.
ST. ANNE'S STREET.

From the upper end of St. Anne's Street we obtain one of the best views of the Cathedral ; to
which the gradual descent from Milford Hill forms a favourable approach : but the extraordi
nary height of the Spire can never be duly estimated, unless when it is seen over some of the
masses of high ground, by which the City is surrounded.

TOMB OF THE DUKE OF BUCKINGHAM, IN BR1TFORD CHURCH.

Such is the distinction conferred, after a variety of conjectures, on this beautiful relic of
monumental sculpture. We know that Edward, the last of the Staffords who bore the title of
Buckingham, having promoted an insurrection in the West of England against the Duke of
Gloucester, whom, but the year before, he had succeeded in raising to the throne under the
name of Richard the 3rd, was carried prisoner to Salisbury, and there summarily condemned, —
" Off with his head ; — so much for Buckingham !"
The unfortunate Nobleman was accordingly executed, one Sunday morning, in the year 1483, in
the Court-yard of the Blue Boar Inn, — the spot now occupied by Mr. Sparshatt's house, in the
Market-place, — and his remains conveyed for interment to a Village Church within a mile or
two of the City. That Britford was that Church, and that this is the monument of unhappy
Buckingham, is confidently argued by Sir Richard Colt Hoare.
The present Church is a massive pile of modern masonry, in the form of a cross, with a
tower at the intersection. Attached to the northern side is a spacious Mausoleum, belonging
to the family of Earl Radnor, whose curious mansion, Longford Castle, stands within the
Parish.

PLATE XXIII.

ST. JOHN'S CHAPEL, HARNHAM.

Of the ruinous structure here delineated, as it stands on a small island between the two bridges,
no records whatever have hitherto been published. It is generally known by the title of " The
Chapel of St. John the Baptist," and is said to have been founded by Bishop Bingham ; but
whether parochially connected with the Village of East Harnham, which is known to have existed
before the commencement of the New City, or whether an endowment only of private charity,
must continue unknown, unless the researches, now in progress, into the ecclesiastical and
municipal archives of the place shall have supplied more ample materials for a History of
Salisbury than those hitherto collected.

THE HOSPITAL OF ST. NICHOLAS, HARNHAM.

St. Nicholas Hospital (called, by Holingshed, St. Migell's) may be considered, both for its
antiquity and its beauty, as one of the most important " Memorials of Salisbury." It is here
represented only on a humble scale ; but a highly finished copper-plate, representing nearly the
same view, has been lately published by Mr. Wainwright, Master of the National School, to
which it would be an indifferent compliment to say, that it ought to be bound up with the
present volume.
The Hospital stands on the Northern side of the River Avon, opposite to the Chapel of
St. John, and separated by the high road from the site of the College of De Vaux. It was
founded and endowed about the year 1220, at the instigation of Bishop Poore, by Ela, wife of
William Longspee, sixth Earl of Salisbury, natural son of Henry the 2nd and Fair Rosamond, for
six poor men, and six poor women. On the dissolution of Religious Houses, the College of De
Vaux fell to the Master of St. Nicholas, for whom a residence was afterwards contrived by a
curtailment of the dimensions of the Chapel, as may be seen from the line of arches of the Nave
which still appear along the outer walls of the house. In the kitchen, formerly a Chancel,
appears a beautiful piscina, or altar-sink.
The Bridge, designed by Bishop Poore, was constructed by his successor, Bishop Bing
ham, in 1244 ; and, by forming a more direct communication with the South- Western parts of
England, materially injured the commerce and prosperity ofthe neighbouring town of Wilton.

PLATE XXIV.

BIRD'S-EYE VIEW OF THE CATHEDRAL, CHAPTER-HOUSE, AND CLOISTERS.

Ihe scene here given is engraved from a drawing by Mr. Cattermole. The draftsman
took his station at one of the Clerestory windows, over the southern Aisle of the Nave ; and
has succeeded in representing a picturesque combination of outlines, including the Southern
Transept, the Cloisters, and the Chapter-House ; with the Bishop's Palace and Garden in the
back-ground. It may be noticed, as a matter of much regret, that the Round Table, exhibited in the
Chapter-House for five hundred years, as that on which the labourers, who constructed the
beautiful fabric of Bishop Poore, were paid their penny-a-day, has lately fallen a sacrifice to
injudicious renovation. This was, perhaps, the most curious specimen of domestic furniture in
England. But a few years ago, it was as perfect as at the day when it was made ; and, if
allowed to stand untouched, might have lasted five centuries more, in a condition firm enough
for all the purposes for which it was ever likely to be wanted.
Representations of this Table will be found in the Cathedral Histories of Dodsworth and
Britton, and, to still better effect, in a recent Number of the Gentleman's Magazine.
The Cloisters, which have long been suffering from the injuries of time and weather, are
now in the course of careful repair and restoration.

ANCIENT HORN, IN THE COUNCIL-HOUSE.

This is one of the few relics preserved from the destruction ofthe old Council-House,— an event
which will be duly noticed hereafter. It was formerly used by the night-watch, in case of fire,
or other cause of alarm in the City.

PLATE XXV.
ST. EDMUND'S CHURCH.

The College or St. Edmuxd, * Sarum, was founded by Bishop Walter de la Wyle, or Wyvil,
in the year 1268, for the maintenance of a Provost and twelve Secular Canons. At the dis
solution, under Henry the 8th, it was vested in the crown ; but after passing, by royal grant,
through a variety of hands, it finally came into possession of Sir Wadham Wyndham, Knt., in
1660. The house has continued in that family ever since ; but the patronage of the Church has
lapsed to the Bishop of the Diocese.
Of the original Church, it is certain that not an atom now remains, f On Sunday,
June 26th, 1653, just at the close of evening service, the tower gave way with a tremendous
crash, and so materially injured the rest of the fabric, as to suggest the necessity of rebuilding
altogether. Indeed, the old foundation can still be traced, considerably to the west of the
present pile.
The present Church is a remarkably handsome specimen of the architecture of an
indifferent age ; and stands in one of the most spacious Church-yards in England. The interior
is excellently arranged for public worship, and furnished with a beautiful organ. It was in the
former building, and in the year 1632, that the Recorder of the City, Henry Sherfield, Esq., in
a fit of puritanical enthusiasm, destroyed the painted windows, in which the six days' work of
the Creation was represented, with some remarkable errors of chronology. For this offence, he
was fined 500Z., by the Star-Chamber, at the instigation of the Primate Laud, and compelled
to make apology before the Bishop. The windows of the modern Chancel (the principal of
which represents the Ascension, after Raphael, with Landscape, by Poussin) were executed by
Egington, at the sole expense of the late Samuel Whitchurch, Esq.
* St. Edmund was born at Abingdon, in Berkshire. He was Treasurer of the Cathedral of Salisbury, and afterwards
Archbishop of Canterbury.
-f By a strange oversight, the present building (every moulding of which bespeaks a modern hand) is ascribed, in the
Gentleman's Magazine (May, 1830), to the 14th century. The Vestry-Room, built by the present generation, is also
called a modernised Chapel. Every line of this description, as well as that of the other Churches in Salisbury, is full of
similar mistakes.

PULPIT OF ST. MARTIN'S CHURCH.

This is by far the best of all the pulpits in Salisbury, though made up at several periods of
art ; it is therefore given as a favourable specimen of the whole. That in St. Thomas's is mostly
of a later period, with a sounding-board of preposterous dimensions. The carved oak and
composition mouldings ofthe Cathedral are modern, and full of incongruities.

''''¦'¦Mf'^^^^^^^'^^^^^^^^^^^^^S^^^^ry^,

PLATE XXVI.
HOUSES OF CANON HUME AND JAMES LACY, ESQ.

The Canonical Residence, in the fore-ground, has, of late years, lost some of its more
primitive features, and especially the bay-window of the projecting front, which is supplanted by
a square sash. The Gothic structure, represented in the rear, now occupied by Dr. Grove, was
repaired, with great judgment and effect, by its late owner, Mr. James Lacy. It has been
known, from time immemorial, by the title of " The Wardrobe," and is conjectured to have
served in that capacity as an adjunct to the King's House, already noticed.
Another specimen of Mr. Lacy's taste and knowledge of architectural adaptation may be
seen in the Elizabethan School-House, just completed at Laverstock, at the expense of the
Lord Bishop of Salisbury.

FIRE-PLACE, AT THE BARRACKS, IN BROWN-STREET.

This is, probably, the oldest fire-place in Salisbury. The form is singular, and the pattern, —
that of the Tudor age, — executed in stone, with remarkable boldness and simplicity. Of a later
date, we find a considerable variety, most elaborately carved in wood. Two of these remain in
the Friary, at Bugmore ; another, in the King's House, in the Close ; a third, in the Antelope
Hotel ; and a fourth, in a house near the Old George Inn, High Street. Another, in stone, was
removed some years ago from the Deanery, and is now in possession of Mr. Osmond, the mason ;
and another, discovered in the demolition of the old Council Chamber, is engraved in the
Gentleman's Magazine, for 1788.
For the pen and ink drawing, from which the subjoined wood-cut was executed, the
Editor is again indebted to the kindness of Miss E. Wickens.

PLATE XXVII.
INTERIOR OF ST. THOMAS'S CHURCH.

We have here a correct view of the interior of this splendid structure. The main arches of
the Nave are of the finest character ; the windows equally bold and elegant ; the tracery and
foliage particularly chaste and light ; and the roof most curiously carved with historical and
emblematic devices. Some portions of the southern Gallery are as old as the reign of Queen
Elizabeth, and rest on sculptured figures.
The Altar-piece occupies the whole of the large window of the Chancel. It was painted,
and presented to the Church, in 1809, by Mr. Douglas Guest, and represents the Transfigura
tion ; but is certainly deficient in many of the most important characteristics of decorative art.
Under an altar-tomb, in the Chancel, it was long supposed that the remains of Henry,
Duke of Buckingham, were interred. But since the satisfactory discoveries at Britford Church,
the monument here alluded to has been assigned to William Ludlow, butler to Henry the 4th,
5th, and 6th ; at whose expense the ceiling of the North Aisle was put up. On the South side
is the Chantry of the family of Swayne, long connected with the civic honours of Salisbury.
Not many years ago, a curious painting of the Judgment of the twelve Tribes of Israel
was discovered on the wall, over the great arch which separates the Nave and Chancel. An
incorrect etching of it may be seen in one of the early Numbers of Sir R. C. Hoare's Modern
Wiltshire. The original was soon washed over, as well as two other figures, representing Henry
the 2nd, and Thomas a Becket, which were before visible at the bases of the same arch.
Many parts of this Church will remind the scientific and antiquarian visitor, of that of
St. Mary Redcliffe, Bristol.

CHANCEL-SCREEN, IN ST. THOMAS'S CHURCH.

The Chantries, on either side of the Chancel, are portioned off by arches ; and the space of
the arch, nearest the Eastern wall on either side, is occupied by a low Screen, one of which is
here delineated. The sculpture is very beautiful, and probably the scrolls, held by the Angels,
once contained the Pater-noster, or some other devotional or monitory inscription. The beam-
ends and bosses of the roof are likewise elegantly sculptured with heads, and other figures.

PLATE XXVIII.

THE OLD COUNCIL-HOUSE, WITH MR. WHEELER'S SHOP.

Mr. Grose, in his Antiquities of England, compares the Council-House of Salisbury to a Dutch
or German Stad-House. It appears to have been erected in the year 1573, on the site of
a venerable elm, somewhat to the North of the present building. It was constructed princi
pally of timber, and consisted of four stories, surmounted by a heavy cupola or lantern. The
lower part was occupied by the Law and Criminal Courts ; the upper part by the Council-
Chamber, and other offices. This curious pile was destroyed by fire, on the night of November
the 17th, 1780, after the annual feast, provided for the citizens by the Mayor elect.
The new Council-House was commenced in 1788, and completed in 1795, after a design
by Sir Robert Taylor, and at the expense of Jacob, late Earl of Radnor, Recorder of the City.
Besides other pictures, there is here deposited a whole-length portrait of Queen Anne, by Dahl,
formerly belonging to the October Club, at Westminster. There are also two splendid chairs,
appropriated to the Mayor ; the former of them presented in the mayoralty of Robert Bower,
1585 ; the latter, a more recent gift of one of the City Members.
It is remarkable, that Mr. Wheeler's house, which appears upon the right hand, was also
destroyed by fire, not many years ago. It was a valuable specimen of the style ofthe 14th and
15th centuries, and was rendered still more conspicuous by a front of shining white, with the
intersecting ribs and beams painted a deep red.

THE OLD GUILDHALL.

The present wood-cut is taken from a drawing, kindly communicated by a lady, and executed
after an original sketch in the possession of W. Boucher, Esq., the Chapter-Clerk.
This ancient building stood behind the old Council-House, — occupying, in fact, the
precise spot where the present pile was subsequently erected. Besides the Guildhall, it comprised
also the Debtor's Court, and other offices of public convenience. It was saved from the fire of
1780, but removed a few years afterwards.

CORRECTIONS AND ADDITIONS.

Page 2, line 26 — Sunning, near Reading ; now generally spelt Sonning or Soiling. ¦
Page 6, line 3 — For Edrick, read Edric.
Page 9, line 28 — The City-Gates were probably set up about the year 1443. The Green-Croft was levelled in
1625.
Page 13, line 12 — The miracle of St. Nicholas, in the restoration of three children, who had been burked and
pickled in a pork-tub, will be found in Hone's E very-Day-Book (vol. 1, p. 1556).
Page 17, line 39 — For Strasbourgh read Strasburg.
Page 24, line 31 — These canals are supposed to have been dug about the year 1384.
Page 25, line 5 — To the charities here enumerated might be added Mr. Hussey's tenements, in Castle-street,
and several others.

Plate 1, line 2 — For Choral-Vicar read Lay -Vicar.
Plate 2, line 3 — The apartment over St. Anne's Gate-way was Mr. Harris's music-room. Hereabouts (perhaps
in the house now occupied by the Misses Noyes) was originally the Common Hall of the Dean and Chapter.
Vignette 2, line 4. — Query, for .ffirfread Fid? though no such name occurs upon the list of Canons, preserved
in the " History of the Churches of Salisbury and Bath," 1719, Svo.
Plate 3, line 3 — On further consideration of this subject, the writer is much inclined to suspect, that the present
residence of the Master of St. Nicholas' Hospital (decidedly of Norman origin) was the desecrated barn
pointed out to Leland, as the remains of Old St. Martin's.
Plate 6, lines 5, 9— The old Cathedral organ was built, in 1710, by the celebrated Renatus Harris, who made
another, out of the refuse of the materials, for the Church of St. Andrew's, Holborn.
Plate 12, line 22 — This beautiful room, the property of Mr. Sampson Payne, is now in the course of careful
restoration, under the superintendence of Mr. Beare. When completed, for the exhibition of china, glass,
and other wares, it will form the most curious and splendid shop in Wiltshire, — perhaps in England.
Such are the early results of an attention to local topography !
Plate 13, line 1.— It seems more probable, on reference to p. 20 of the preceding History, that the Yarn-Market
was never held on the spot where the Poultry-Cross now stands, but under the elm-tree, which was removed
to make way for the former Council-House.' — Line 6. If this story is intended to establish the first existence
of a Cross on this spot, the whole narrative is overthrown at once by the fact, that the Cross is mentioned
in the Chapter-Records as early as 1335 : though it is by no means unlikely, that an older and less elaborate
structure may have given way to the peace-offering of the penitent Knight. — Line 17. The Editor regrets
to say, that apian which he ventured to suggest a twelvemonth ago for the restoration ofthe Poultry-Cross,
was not so fortunate as to excite attention. He sincerely hopes that some person, of more influence than
himself, will suggest a better, and wipe away the reproach incurred by the city at large in the present
condition of that fabric.
Vignette 15, line 2  There is another door, of similar form, in the north aisle of West Grimstead Church, near
Farley.

CORRECTIONS AND ADDITIONS.
Plate 18, line 15  The legend of St. Christopher occurs again in a small compartment of a painted window, in
the inner vestry of St. Thomas's. St. Christopher was the patron of Tailors ; and the Tailors' Company of
Salisbury (who were incorporated in 1456) still bring out their Giant and Hob-nob to perform their parts on
the occasion of civic and national festivities.
Plate 19, line 6. — This statue is said by some to he that of James the 1st, and to have been executed from the
life by Humphrey Beckham, at one of his Majesty's visits to the City. It is also supposed, that the niche
originally held an image of Henry the 3rd. The gate-way, like St. Anne's, has a few traces of Norman
sculpture intermixed.
Plate 20, line 5.— The King's House, now occupied by Lieutenant-General Shrapnel, is supposed to have
been the residence of Richard the 3rd, at the time when Buckingham was brought up for insurrection.
About fifteen years before this event (in 1468), Thomas Hungerford, son of Lord Molines, and Henry
Courtney, son of the Earl of Devon, had been tried and condemned before the Duke of Gloucester for a
similar offence, and suffered the " full cruel death " upon the gallows-tree, at Bemerton. It is remarkable,
that the fathers of both of these delinquents were attainted.
Vignette 21  The tomb has been thus described by Sir R. C. Hoare : — " The first shield, bearing a cheveron,
denotes the arms of Stafford, Duke of Buckingham. The second shield, bearing a fesse engrailed, represents
the arms of Widvile, Earl Rivers, whose daughter, Katherine, was wedded to Henry Stafford, Duke of
Buckingham  No inscription appears ever to have been placed on this tomb, probably out of delicacy to the
event which occasioned its erection ; but the sad tale is as fully told by the figures on the base, as by letters.
There are six niches, richly decorated with finials, &c. The first is left vacant, as a kind of cenotaph for
the unfortunate Duke. I imagine that the second, a female figure, having a crown on her head, represents
his Duchess. The third is a Bishop* deploring the Duke's fate. The fourth is another female, crowned,
and holding in one hand the Duke's bonnet or cap, and in the other his sword. The fifth figure is evidently
the executioner. The sixth is a female with an infant in her arms, and deploring the sad event  Thus, in
these figures, we find a full explanation of the event from which this monument originated ; and amongst
the numerous altar-tombs which I have seen, I do not recollect a, similar one, recording facts ; as the
different compartments are usually filled by angels, monks, or knights holding shields of arms, &c."  The
inscription on the brass over the back of the tomb is modern : — " Henricus Stafford, Dux Buckingham.
.decapitat. apud Salisburi. 1 Rich. III. A.D. 1483."
• Lionel Woodvill, or Widvile, was Bishop of Sarum at this period.

V The St'al> which appears on the Title-page, is that of the Dean and Chapter. It represents the Virgin and
Child under a canopy, surmounted by a rude design, perhaps intended for the Cathedral. The following
is the inscription round the edge :— " S(igillum) S(an)C(t)E MARIE SARESBIRIENSIS ECC(lesi)E AD
PETICIONES ET AD C(aus)AS."

8933